# TITLE 16OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSINGCHAPTER 4CHIROPRACTIC PRACTIONERSPART 23LICENSURE FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, SPOUSES AND VETERANS

**16.4.23.1 ISSUING AGENCY:** New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department. [16.4.23.1 NMAC - N, 1/30/15]

**16.4.23.2 SCOPE:** This part sets forth application procedures to expedite licensure for military service members, spouses and veterans. [16.4.23.2 NMAC; N, 1/30/15]

**16.4.23.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:** These rules of practice and procedure govern the practice of chiropractic in New Mexico and are promulgated pursuant to and in accordance with the Chiropractic Physicians Act, Section 61-4-5 NMSA 1978. [16.4.23.3 NMAC; N, 1/30/15]

**16.4.23.4 DURATION:** Permanent. [16.4.23.4 NMAC; N, 1/30/15]

**16.4.23.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:** January 30, 2015 unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. [16.4.23.5 NMAC; N, 1/30/15]

**16.4.23.6 OBJECTIVE:** The purpose of this part is to expedite licensure for military service members, spouses and veterans pursuant to Chapter 61, Articles 4 through 17 NMSA 1978. [16.4.23.6 NMAC; N, 1/30/15]

## **16.4.23.7 DEFINITIONS:**

A. Military service member: means a person who is serving in the armed forces of the United States or in an active reserve component of the armed forces of the United States, including the national guard.

B. Recent veteran: means a person who has received an honorable discharge or separation from military service within the two years immediately preceding the date the person applied for an occupational or professional license pursuant to this section.

C. Spouse: means any partner of a "military service member" or "recent veteran" who has been legally recognized by any state or country.

[16.4.23.7 NMAC; N, 1/30/15]

#### 16.4.23.8 APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS:

A. In accordance with the section of the Uniform Licensing Act entitled "Expedited Licensure Military service members, spouses of military service members and Veterans" the board shall expedite the issuance of a license to practice chiropractic in New Mexico doctors who provide evidence of meeting the following minimal requirements. Applications for registration shall be completed on a form provided by the board.

- B. The information shall include:
  - (1) Completed application and fee pursuant to 16.4.23 NMAC.

(2) Satisfactory evidence that the applicant holds a license that is current and in good standing, issued by another jurisdiction, including a branch of armed forces of the United States, that has met the minimal licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to the licensing requirements for the occupational or professional license the applicant applies for pursuant to Chapter 61, Article 4, NMSA 1978.

(3) Proof of honorable discharge (DD214) or military ID card or accepted proof of military

spouse status. [16.4.23.8 NMAC; N, 1/30/15]

**16.4.23.9 FEES:** Applicant must complete the application for Expedited Licensure, pay a non-refundable fee of \$350.00, and pay a licensing fee of \$350.00 once the applicant is accepted for licensure. [16.4.23.9 NMAC; N, 1/30/15]

#### 16.4.23.10 RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS:

16.4.23 NMAC

A. A license issued pursuant to this section shall not be renewed unless the license holder satisfies the requirements for the issuance and for the renewal of a license pursuant to Chapter 61, Article 4, NMSA 1978.
B. A license issued pursuant to this section shall be required to meet the provisions stated in 16.4.9

B. A license issued pursuant to this section shall be required to meet the provisions stated in 16.4.9 NMAC for the renewal of the granted license. [16.4.23.10 NMAC; N, 1/30/15]

## HISTORY OF 16.4.23 NMAC: [RESERVED]