NEW
MEXICO
REGISTER

Volume XIV
Issue Number 11
June 13, 2003







New Mexico Register

Volume X1V, Issue Number 11
June 13, 2003

The official publication for all notices of rulemaking and filings of
adopted, proposed and emergency rules in New Mexico

The Commission of Public Records
Administrative Law Division
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2003



COPYRIGHT © 2003
BY
THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED



New Mexico Register
Volume XIV, Number 11
June 13, 2003
Table of Contents

Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules

Albuquerque / Bernalillo County Air Quality Control Board

Notice of Hearing and Regular Meeting . . .. ... ... e e e e e 277
Environmental Improvement Board

Public Hearing Before the New Mexico Environmental Improvement Board to Consider Proposed

Revision of 20.3.1, 20.3.3, 20.3.4, 20.3.12, 20.3.13,and 20.3. 15 NMAC. . . . . ..ottt e 277
Oil Conservation Commission

Notice of Rulemaking . . . . . ..o e 278
Racing Commission

Notice of Rulemaking and Public Hearing. . . ... ... . .. e e 278

Adopted Rules and Regulations
Effective Date and Validity of Rule Filings

Rules published in this issue of the New Mexico Register are effective on the publication date of this issue unless otherwise
specified. “No rule shall be valid or enforceable until it is filed with the records center and published in the New Mexico reg-
ister as provided by the State Rules Act. Unless a later date is otherwise provided by law, the effective date of a rule shall be
the date of publication in the New Mexico register.” Section 14-4-5 NMSA 1978.

A=Amended, E=Emergency, N=New, R=Repealed, Rn=Renumbered

DNA Identification System Oversight Committee

10.14.200 NMAC A DNA Identification System . . .. ...ttt 279
Medical Examiners, Board of

16.10.2 NMAC A Physicians: Licensure Requirement . . . ......... ... . i 280
Racing Commission

15.2.5 NMAC A Horse Race - Rules Of The Race. . . ....... ... i 282

Regulation and Licensing Department
Construction Industries Division

14.5.6 NMAC A Classifications and SCOPE . . . ... .ttt e 283
Securities Division

12.11.1 NMAC  Rn & A Securities - General Provisions .. ............. ittt 284
Taxation and Revenue Department

3.6.5 NMAC A Classification of Property .. ....... ..ottt e e 284

Workers' Compensation Administration
11.4.4 NMAC Rn & A Claims Resolution. .. ... ... ... e e 285

il



The New Mexico Register
Published by
The Commission of Public Records
Administrative Law Division
1205 Camino Carlos Rey
Santa Fe, NM 87507

The New Mexico Register is available free at http:/www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmregister

The New Mexico Register is published twice each month by the Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division.
The cost of an annual subscription is $270.00, except the first subscription from each New Mexico state agency may be
ordered at $85.00. Individual copies of any Register issue may be purchased for $12.00. Subscription inquiries should be
directed to: The Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division, 1205 Camino Carlos Rey, Santa Fe, NM
87507.

Telephone: (505) 476-7907; Fax (505) 476-7910; E-mail rules@rain.state.nm.us.

iv



New Mexico Register / Volume XIV, Number 11 / June 13, 2003 277
Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules
ALBUQUERQUE / Hearings and meetings of the Board are | NMAC
open to the public and all interested persons
BERNALILLO COUNTY are encouraged to participate. All persons | The New  Mexico Environmental
AIR QUALITY CONTROL wishing to testify regarding the subject of | Improvement Board will hold a public hear-
BOARD the hearing may do so at the hearing and | ing on August 5, 2003, in conjunction with

ALBUQUERQUE/BERNALILLO
COUNTY AIR QUALITY CONTROL
BOARD-

NOTICE OF HEARING AND
REGULAR MEETING

On July 16, 2003, at 5:15 PM, the
Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Air Quality
Control Board (Board) will reopen the pub-
lic hearing regarding the proposal to repeal
and replace the Fugitive Dust Control
Regulation (20.11.20 NMAC). The hearing
will be held in the Council/Commission
Chambers of the Albuquerque/Bernalillo
County Government Center, 400 Marquette
Avenue NW, Albuquerque, NM  87102.
This hearing will only address the possible
inclusion of a high wind event “safe harbor”
provision in the regulation. Testimony,
exhibits and comments will be limited to the
proposed “safe harbor” provision. No other
portions of the proposed regulation will be
involved in the hearing. The proposed “safe
harbor” provision will establish how the Air
Quality Division for the City of
Albuquerque will enforce the regulation in
relationship to high wind events.
Mandatory controls may be proposed that
must be implemented during high wind
events. Ifthe mandatory controls are imple-
mented, the person(s) performing active
operations may be exempted from enforce-
ment actions, even if some fugitive dust is
leaving the property where active opera-
tions have been or are occurring. The pro-
posal to exempt a person from enforcement
as a result of implementing mandatory con-
trols during a high wind event will not
change the person’s potential liability for
any damages caused by fugitive dust leav-
ing the property.

Following this hearing, the Board will hold
it’s regular monthly meeting and will con-
sider the proposed changes to 20.11.20
NMAC heard on March 12, 2003 and on
July 16, 2003 and the proposal to incorpo-
rate these changes into the SIP.

The Air Quality Control Board is the feder-
ally delegated air quality authority for
Albuquerque and Bernalillo County. Local
delegation authorizes the Board to adminis-
ter and enforce the Clean Air Act and the
New Mexico Air Quality Control Act, and
to require local air pollution sources to
comply with air quality standards.

will be given a reasonable opportunity to
submit relevant evidence, data, views, and
arguments, orally or in writing, to introduce
exhibits and to examine witnesses in accor-
dance with the Joint Air Quality Control
Board Ordinances, Section 9-5-1-6 ROA
1994 and Bernalillo County Ordinance 94-
5, Section 6.

Anyone intending to present technical testi-
mony is asked to submit a written notice of
intent to: Attn: December Hearing Record,
Mr. Dan Warren, Albuquerque
Environmental Health Department, P.O.
Box 1293, Albuquerque, NM 87103, or in
person in Room 3023, 400 Marquette
Avenue NW, in advance of the hearing. The
notice of intent should identify the name,
address, and affiliation of the person.

In addition, written comments to be incor-
porated into the public record should be
received at the above P.O. Box, or
Environmental Health Department office,
before 5:00pm on July 9, 2003. The com-
ments shall include the name and address of
the individual or organization submitting
the statement. Written comments may also
be submitted electronically to
dwarren@cabg.gov and shall include the
required name and address information.
Interested persons may obtain a copy of the
proposed regulation at the Environmental
Health Department Office, or contact Mr.
Neal Butt electronically at nbutt@cabg.gov
or by phone (505) 768-2660.

NOTICE TO PERSONS WITH DISABILI-
TIES: If you have a disability and require
special assistance to participate in this meet-
ing, please contact Mr. Neal Butt,
Environmental Health Department, Room
3023, A/BCGC, 768-2600 (Voice), 768-
2617 (FAX); or 768-2482 (TTY); as soon as
possible prior to the meeting date. Public
documents, including agendas and minutes,
can be provided in various accessible for-
mats.

NEW MEXICO
ENVIRONMENTAL
IMPROVEMENT BOARD

PUBLIC HEARING BEFORE THE NEW
MEXICO ENVIRONMENTAL
IMPROVEMENT BOARD

To Consider Proposed Revision of 20.3.1,
20.3.3,20.3.4,20.3.12,20.3.13, and 20.3.15

their regularly scheduled August meeting.
The meeting will begin at 9:30 A.M. in
Room 317 of the State Capitol Building in
Santa Fe, New Mexico. At this hearing, the
Board will consider amendments to 20.3.1
NMAC, “Radioactive Materials and
Radiation Machines-General Provisions”;
20.3.3 NMAC, “Licensing of Radioactive
Material”; 20.3.4 NMAC, “Standards for
Protection Against Radiation”; 20.3.12
NMAC, “Radiation Safety Requirements
for Wireline Service Operations and
Subsurface Tracer Studies”; 20.3.13
NMAC, “Licensing Requirements for Land
Disposal of Radioactive Waste”; and
20.3.15 NMAC, “Licenses and Radiation
Safety Requirements for Irradiators.”

The proponent of these regulatory changes
is the New Mexico Environment
Department.

The purpose for revising Parts 1, 3, 4, 12, 13
and 15 of the New Mexico Radiation
Protection Regulations is that those Parts
require revision to maintain compatibility
with the corresponding Parts of The U.S.
Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s (NRC)
revisions in recent years. The New Mexico
Radiation Control Bureau licenses users of
radioactive material in accordance with
New Mexico’s Agreement with the NRC to
license and regulate radioactive materials.
The regulations are of statewide applica-
tion.

The proposed revision may be reviewed
during regular business hours at the office
of the Environmental Improvement Board,
Harold Runnels Building, 1190 St. Francis
Drive, Room N-2150, Santa Fe, NM.
Copies of the proposed rule may be
obtained by contacting Bill Floyd at (505)
476-3236 or by visiting the Department’s
web site at www.nmenv.state.nm.us.
Follow the link to the Radiation Control
Bureau’s page. Questions or comments
about the Department’s proposed amend-
ments may be addressed to Bill Floyd,
Radiation Protection Program Manager,
Radiation Control Bureau, 1190 St. Francis
Drive, P.O. Box 26110, Room S2100, Santa
Fe, NM 87502 —6110, telephone number
(505) 476-3236.

The hearing will be conducted in accor-
dance with 20.1.1 NMAC (Rulemaking
Procedures)- Environmental Improvement
Board, the Environmental Improvement
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Act, Section 74-1-9 NMSA 1978, the
Radiation Protection Regulations, Section
74-3-5 NMSA 1978 and other applicable
procedures.

All interested persons will be given a rea-
sonable opportunity at the hearing to submit
relevant evidence, data, views, and argu-
ments, orally or in writing, to introduce
exhibits, and to examine witnesses. Persons
wishing to present technical testimony must
file with the Board a written notice of intent
to do so. The notice of intent shall:

Identify the person for whom the witness
(es) will testify;

Identify each technical witness the person
intends to present and state the qualifica-
tions of that witness, including a description
of their educational and work background;
Summarize or include a copy of the direct
testimony of each technical witness and
state the anticipated duration;

Include the text of any recommended mod-
ifications to the proposed regulatory
change; and

List and describe, or attach, all exhibits
anticipated to be offered by that person at
the hearing.

Notices of intent for the hearing must be
received in the Office of the Environmental
Improvement Board not later than 5:00 P.M.
on July 24, 2003 and should reference the
name of the regulation and the date of the
hearing. Notices of intent to present techni-
cal testimony should be submitted to:

Geraldine Madrid-Chavez

New Mexico Boards and Commissions
1190 St. Francis Drive, Room N-2150
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502

Any person who wishes to submit a non-
technical written statement in lieu of oral
testimony may do so at or before the hear-
ing.

If you are an individual with a disability and
you require assistance or an auxiliary aid.
(e.g.-a sign language interpreter) to partici-
pate in any aspect of this process, please
contact Cliff Hawley by July 18, 2003. Mr.
Hawley’s telephone number (505) 827-
2844. He is Chief of the Program Support
Bureau, New Mexico Environment
Department, at 1190 St. Francis Drive,
Santa Fe, NM, 87502. (TDD or TDY users
please access his number via the New
Mexico Relay Network. Albuquerque TDD
users: (505) 275-7333. Outside of
Albuquerque 1-800-659-1779.)

The Board may make a decision on the pro-
posed regulatory change at the conclusion
of the hearing, or the Board may convene a

meeting after the hearing to consider action
on the proposal.

NEW MEXICO OIL
CONSERVATION
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF RULE MAKING

STATE OF NEW MEXICO
OIL CONSERVATION COMMISSION
SANTA FE, NEW MEXICO

The State of New Mexico, through its Oil
Conservation Commission, hereby gives
notice that the Commission will conduct a
public hearing at 9:00 A.M. on July 17,
2003 in Porter Hall, 1220 South St. Francis
Drive, Santa Fe, New Mexico concerning
the repeal of 19.15.1.18, 19.15.3.105,
19.15.5.313 NMAC, Commission Order
numbers R-3221, Case No 3551; Order No.
R-3221-A, Case No. 3644; Order No. R-
3221-B, Case No. 3806; Order No. R-3221-
B-1, Case No. 3806; and Order No. R-7940-
C which is existing material in 19.15.2
NMAC, and the adoption of replacement
rules to be codified in a new Part 2 of Title
19, Chapter 15 of the New Mexico
Administrative Code. The proposed regula-
tion and amendments are designed to regu-
late the construction, operation and closing
of pits in the interest of protection of ground
and surface water and public health, safety
and the environment. If you are an individ-
ual with a disability who is in need of a
reader, amplifier, qualified sign language
interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary
aid or service to attend or participate in the
hearing, please contact Florene Davidson at
505-476-3458 or through the New Mexico
Relay Network, 1-800-659-1779 immedi-
ately. Copies of the text of proposed regu-
lation and amendments are available from
Ms. Davidson at 505-476-3458 or from the
Division's  Internet web  site at
http://www.emnrd.state.nm.us/ocd/what-
snew.htm

Given under the Seal of the State of New
Mexico QOil Conservation Commission at
Santa Fe, New Mexico on this 29th day of
May, 2003.

STATE OF NEW MEXICO
OILCONSERVATION DIVISION

Lori Wrotenbery, Director

S E AL

NEW MEXICO RACING
COMMISSION

NEW MEXICO RACING
COMMISSION
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING
AND PUBLIC HEARING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN
that a rulemaking and public hearing will be
held in the Commission Conference Room,
300 San Mateo N.E., Albuquerque, New
Mexico, commencing in executive session
at 8:00 o’clock a.m. on Wednesday, June 25,
2003. The public session will begin at
10:00 o’clock a.m. on Wednesday, June 25,
2003. The Commission will consider adop-
tion of proposed amended rule for incorpo-
ration into the Rules Governing Horse
Racing in New Mexico No. 16.47.1.8
NMAC (regarding temporary licenses), No.
16.47.1.9 NMAC (regarding owner’s
licenses), No. 15.2.7.12 NMAC (regarding
wagering pools) and other matters of gener-
al business.

Copies of these proposed rules
may be obtained from India Hatch, Agency
Director, New Mexico Racing Commission,
300 San Mateo N.E., Suite 110,
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87108, (505)
841-6400. Interested persons may submit
their views on the proposed rules to the
Commission at the above address and/or
may appear at the scheduled meeting and
make a brief verbal presentation of their
view.

Anyone who requires special
accommodations is requested to notify the
Commission of such needs at least five days
prior to the meeting.

India Hatch
Agency Director

Dated: May 22. 2003

End of Notices and
Proposed Rules Section
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Adopted Rules and Regulations

NEW MEXICO DNA
IDENTIFICATION SYSTEM
OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

Explanatory paragraph: The purpose of
these changes are to effect the amending of
Sections 10.14.200.1, 10.14.200.2,
10.14.200.3, 10.14.200.6, Subsection J of
10.14.200.7, Name and Subsection E of
Section 10.14.200.8, Subsections A, D, E
and K of Section 10.14.200.9, Paragraph 2
of Subsection A, Subsection B, Name of
Subsection D and Paragraphs 2 and 3 of
Subsection E of Section 10.14.200.11,
Subsections A and B of Section
10.14.220.16, renumbering and amendment
of Subsections A, B, C, D, F, G and H of
Section 10.14.200.10, and Subsections A
through K of Section 10.14.200.12 all to be
effective on 7/1/2003.

10.14.200.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
DNA Identification System Oversight
Committee & Administrative Center,
%Albuquerque Police Department, [400
Rema;] 5350 Second Street, N.W.
Albuquerque, NM [8H02]_87107. (505)
823-4634.

10.14.200.2 SCOPE: Department
of Public Safety, Department of
Corrections, Attorney General, state

Medical Investigator, local New Mexico
law__enforcement agencies. City of

Albuquerque, Covered Offenders.

10.14.200.3 STATUTORY
AUTHORITY: Section 29-16-4.B.6
NMSA 1978, [and] 29-16-5.B NMSA 1978
and 29-16-5.E NMSA 1978.

10.14.200.6 OBJECTIVE: To
establish a DNA Identification system for
covered offenders, unidentified persons and
unidentified human remains. [ard—te] To
facilitate the use of DNA records by local,
state and federal law enforcement agencies
and the state medical investigator in the
identification, detection or exclusion of per-
sons in connection with criminal investiga-
tions or in the identification of unidentified

persons or unidentified human remains pur-
suant to the DNA Identification Act.

10.14.200.7 DEFINITIONS:

J. "DNA Identification
Act" means Sections 29-16-1 to 29-16-13
NMSA 1978, and any subsequent amend-
ments or additions to these sections, the law
that authorizes the DNA Identification
System and the DNA Oversight Committee.

10.14.200.8 COLLECTION AND

TRANSFER OF OFFENDER SAM-
PLES AND FEES:

E. The routine method of
sample collection shall be by buccal cell
swabbing and transfer to a FTA collection
card using the standardized sample collec-
tion kit as supplied by the Administrative
Center. In non-routine circumstances,
including a refusal by a covered offender,
the collection shall be referred to the
Administrative Center, require a written
consent or court order, and shall be collect-
ed and coordinated by trained persons des-
ignated by the Administrative Center pur-
suant to Sections [29—+6-3d9] 29-16-3.K
and 29-16-9 NMSA 1978.

10.14.200.9 HANDLING AND
SECURITY OF SAMPLES:
A. DNA records and sam-

ples are confidential and shall not be dis-
closed except as authorized by the DNA
Oversight Committee and as governed by
[Seetions—29+6+—to—29+613—NMSA
4978] the DNA Identification Act.

D. Any person who will-
fully discloses, seeks to obtain or use infor-
mation from the DNA Identification System
for purposes not authorized in these Rules
[erd—Regtdations] and in violation of
Section 29-16-12 NMSA 1978 shall be sub-
ject to the penalties thereof.

E. All samples received by
the Administrative Center for DNA analysis
shall be considered potentially bio-haz-
ardous. Universal safety precaution proce-
dures shall be followed when handling bio-
logical samples.

K. The FTA card shall be
returned to the FTA Card Envelope affixed
to the inside of the kit and placed into
secured storage until processed for analysis.
The sample checklist/flow sheet is then
securely filed in the Administrative Center
[enti-thesampleispr see-foranalysis:|
via hardcopy or electronic means.

10.14.200.10 SAMPLE PROCESS-
ING AND ANALYSIS:

A. All samples received by
the Administrative Center for DNA analysis
should be considered potentially bio-haz-
ardous. Universal safety precaution proce-
dures shall be followed when handling bio-
logical samples.

B. The mechanism of sam-
ple collection authorization for samples col-
lected pursuant to 29-16-6.B NMSA 1978
shall be documented and a copy or that

authorization maintained by the
Administrative Center.

[B:] C. These samples shall be
handled, examined, and processed individu-
ally to avoid possible cross-contamination

from another biological sample or from the
examiner.

traelthe-samples:|

D. Samples tested shall
follow DNA testing procedures approved
by the [Adbueguerque—Pelice—Department
o by i
Administrative Center. Remaining samples
shall be returned to secured storage [end-the

semple—eheeldistlowsheet—shall-be—ecom-
pleted-and-refiled].
F. Excess extracted or

amplified offender DNA shall be destroyed
within thirty (30) days after completion of
analysis.

G Excess DNA collected

or extracted pursuant to Section 29.16.2.C
NMSA 1978 shall be retained by the
Administrative Center, the analyzing labo-
ratory or the submitting agency at the dis-
cretion of the submitting agency. Excess
amplified DNA generated pursuant to
Section 29.16.2.C NMSA 1978 shall be
destroyed within thirty (30) days after com-

pletion of analysis.
[&] H. No written reports shall

be released on any specific DNA sample
except as authorized by the DNA
Identification Act and these Rules [end
Regalations].

10.14.200.11 ACCESS TO DNA
SAMPLE INFORMATION, RECORDS
AND SAMPLES:

A. Access to or disclosure
of DNA records and samples collected shall
be authorized only in the following circum-
stances:

(2) For identification, compari-
son, and investigative purposes, to local,
state, and federal law enforcement agencies
and the state medical investigator in
response to official inquiries as authorized
by Sections 29-16-2, 29-16-8.B NMSA
1978 and these Rules [and-Regulations]; or,

B. Access to the DNA
Identification System by authorized law
enforcement agencies and the state medical
investigator shall be through their servicing
forensic DNA laboratory or by direct
request to the Head of the Administrative
Center.

D. DNA [B]
searches:

E. Database hits:

(2) A written report indicating the
match shall be forwarded to the requesting
agency through their servicing laboratory or

directly by the Head of the Administrative
Center. Release of personal identifying

database
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information shall be made only after com-
pliance with Subsection C of 10.14.200.11
NMAC.

(3) Should a profile not be con-
firmed or if a hit does not occur, a written
report to that effect shall be forwarded to
the requesting agency through their servic-

ing laboratory or directly by the Head of the
Administrative Center.

10.14.200.12 EXPUNGEMENT OF
INFORMATION:
A. A person may request

expungement of his offender DNA sample
and DNA records from the DNA
Identification System on the ground that the
conviction that led to the inclusion of his
sample and DNA records in the DNA
Identification System has been reversed.

B. The Head of the
Administrative Center shall expunge a per-
son's offender DNA sample and DNA
records from the DNA Identification
System when the person provides the
Administrative Center with the following
materials:

C. Before expungement of
an offender DNA sample, an independent
review of the court order shall be conducted
by the Attorney General's Office. The
Attorney General shall confirm or reject the
expungement request in writing within thir-
ty (30) days from the receipt of the written
request by the Attorney General's Office. If
no action is taken by the Attorney General
after thirty (30) days from receipt, expunge-
ment shall automatically occur.

D. A person may request
expungement of his DNA sample and DNA
records from the missing persons DNA
Identification System at any time.

E. The Head of the
Administrative Center shall expunge a per-
son's sample and DNA records from the
missing persons DNA Identification System
when the person  provides  the

Administrative Center with the following
materials:

(1) A written request for expunge-
ment of his sample and DNA records.

(2) A certified copy of a court
order overturning any original search war-
rant or court order that led to the inclusion
of his sample and DNA records in the miss-
ing persons DNA Identification System, if

applicable.
F. Before expungement of

a DNA sample collected for the missing
persons DNA Identification System, a
review of the mechanism of sample collec-
tion authorization shall be conducted by the
Administrative Center. The Administrative
Center shall confirm or reject the expunge-
ment request in writing within thirty (30)
days from the receipt of the written request
by the Administrative Center.

G Rejection of requests
for expungement shall not be made without
cause.

H. Should a request for
expungement be rejected, the written notifi-
cation shall include information as to the
reason for rejection and that the rejection
may be appealed to the Oversight
Committee.

[B<] L.  When a person's sample
and DNA records are expunged from the
DNA Identification System, the Head of the
Administrative Center shall ensure that the
person's sample and DNA records are
expunged from CODIS within sixty (60)
days after confirmation of the expungement
request.

[#=]J. Written confirmation of
expungement shall be sent to the requesting
party and a record of the confirmation shall
be kept by the Head of the Administrative
Center.

[#] K. For purposes of this
section, expungement means the complete
destruction of all samples, records, personal
identification and information concerning
that person.

10.14.200.16 MISCELLANEOUS
PROVISIONS:
A. Savings Clause. These

Rules [and—Regtlations]| shall be read and

interpreted consistent with the provisions of
the DNA Identification Act. If a topic is not
addressed in these Rules and Regulations,
reference shall be made to the DNA
Identification Act.

B. Annual Review. The
Rules [endRegutattons] shall be reviewed
on, at least, an annual basis by the DNA
Oversight Committee.

NEW MEXICO BOARD OF
MEDICAL EXAMINERS

This is an amendment to 16.10.2 NMAC,
Sections 1, 9, 10 and 13

16.10.2.1 ISSUING AGENCY.
New Mexico [Beard-ofMedieal Examiners|
medical board, hereafter called the board.
[16.10.2.1 NMAC - Rp 16 NMAC 10.2.1,
4/18/02; A, 7/1/03]

16.10.2.9 MEDICAL LICENSE
BY EXAMINATION.
A. Prerequisites for

licensure. Each applicant for a license to
practice as a medical doctor in New Mexico
must possess the following qualifications:

(1) graduated and received a
diploma from a board approved school;

(2) successfully passed one of the
examinations or combinations of examina-
tions defined in 16.10.3 NMAC; and

(3) completed two years of post-
graduate training or been approved by the
board in accordance with the provisions of
Section 61-6-11, C NMSA 1978;

(4) When the board has reason to
believe that an applicant for licensure is not
competent to practice medicine it may
require the applicant to complete a special
competency examination or to be evaluated
for competence by other means that have
been approved by the board; and

(5) A qualified applicant who has
not been actively and continuously in prac-
tice for more than 2 years prior to applica-
tion may be required to successfully com-
plete a special examination or evaluation
such as, but not limited to, the SPEX
(Special Purpose Examination), the PLAS
(Post-Licensure Assessment System of the
Federation of State Medical Boards), or
specialty re-certification.

B. Required documenta-
tion for all applicants. Each applicant for
a license must submit the required fees as
specified in 16.10.9.8 NMAC and the fol-
lowing documentation:

(1) a completed application
signed and notarized with a passport-quali-
ty photo taken within the previous 6
months. Applications are valid for 1 year
from the date of receipt by the board;

(2) verification of licensure in all
states or territories where the applicant
holds or has held a license to practice med-
icine, or other health care profession.
Verification must be sent directly to the
board office from the other state board(s),
must include a raised seal, and must attest to
the status, issue date, license number, and
other information requested and contained
on the form. This information will be pro-
vided by HSC for applicants using that serv-
ice, or directly to the New Mexico [Beard-of
Medieal—Examiners] medical board for
applicants using FCVS or applying directly
to the board,

(3) two recommendation forms
from physicians, chiefs of staff or depart-
ment chairs or equivalent with whom the
applicant has worked and who have person-
al knowledge of the applicant’s character
and competence to practice medicine. The
recommending physicians must have per-
sonally known the applicant and have had
the opportunity to personally observe the
applicant’s ability and performance. Forms
must be sent directly to the board from the
recommending physician. This information
will be provided by HSC for applicants
using that service, or directly to the New
Mexico [Beard—ef—Medieal—Eaminers]
medical board for applicants using FCVS or
applying directly to the board;

(4) verification of all hospital
affiliations in the last five years, if applica-
ble, not to include postgraduate training.
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This information will be provided by HSC | board from the medical school; BY ENDORSEMENT
for applicants using that service, or directly (3) notarized copy of diploma; A. Prerequisites for

to the New Mexico [Beard—ef—Mediest
Examiners| medical board for applicants
using FCVS or applying directly to the
board;

(5) a copy of all ABMS specialty
board certifications, if applicable. This
information will be provided by HSC for
applicants using that service, or directly to
the New Mexico [Beard—ef—Medieat
Examiners| medical board for applicants
using FCVS or applying directly to the
board; and

(6) The board may request that
applicants be investigated by the biographi-
cal section of the American medical associ-
ation, the drug enforcement administration,
the federation of state medical boards, the
national practitioner data bank, and other
sources as may be deemed appropriate by
the board.

(7) Applicants who have graduat-
ed from a medical school not located in the
United States must provide proof that they
are in compliance with the immigration
laws of the United States.

C. Additional documen-
tation for applicants using the FCVS.
Applicants are encouraged to use the FCVS
as once a credential file is created future
applications for medical licensure will be
streamlined. However, application through
FCVS is not required. Applicants using the
FCVS must submit a completed application
to the FCVS, who will provide primary
source documentation to the board. Only
the documents required in 16.10.2.9.B are
required in addition to the FCVS report.

D. Additional documen-
tation for applicants using HSC.

(1) status report of ECFMG cer-
tification sent directly to the board from
ECFMGQ, if applicable;

(2) copy of ECFMQG interim let-
ter documenting additional postgraduate
training for international medical graduates
applying through the fifth pathway process,
if applicable;

(3) certified transcripts of exam
scores as required in 16.10.3 NMAC sent
directly to the board from the testing
agency.

(4) proof of identity must be pre-
sented at the personal interview.
Acceptable documents include birth certifi-
cate, passport, naturalization documents,
and visas.

E. Additional documen-
tation for applicants applying directly to
New Mexico and not using FCVS or
HSC.

(1) verification of medical educa-
tion form with school seal or notarized, sent
directly to the board from the school,;

(2) transcripts sent directly to the

(4) status report of ECFMG certi-
fication sent directly to the board from
ECFMGQ, if applicable.

(5) copy of ECFMG interim let-
ter documenting additional postgraduate
training for international medical graduates
applying through the fifth pathway process,
if applicable;

(6) postgraduate training form
sent to the board directly from the training
program;

(7) certified transcripts of exam
scores as required in 16.10.3 NMAC sent
directly to the board from the testing
agency; and

(8) proof of identity must be pre-
sented at the personal interview.
Acceptable documents include birth certifi-
cate, passport, naturalization documents,
and visas.

(9) certified copies of source doc-
uments obtained directly from another state
licensing jurisdiction who has the original
document on file will be accepted in lieu of
original documents when the originals can-
not be obtained for a valid cause.

F. Licensure  process.
Upon receipt of a completed application,
including all required documentation and
fees, the applicant [w+H may be scheduled
for a personal interview before the board,
[ex} a board member designated by the
board, or an agent of the board and must
present original documents as requested by
the board.

; i , Loats

edteitre:]
The initial license will be issued following
completion of any required interview,

and/or approval by a member or agent of the
board.

G Initial license expira-
tion. Medical licenses expire on July 1 of
every third year. Initial licenses are valid
for a period of [net-mere-thanthirty-seven
menths-ertess-then-thirty-menths] not more

than three years or less than two years.
[16.10.2.9 NMAC - N, 5/1/02; A, 1/20/03;

A, 7/1/03]

16.10.2.10 MEDICAL LICENSE

licensure. Each applicant for a license to
practice as a medical doctor in New Mexico
by endorsement must be of good moral
character, hold a full and unrestricted
license to practice medicine in another state,
and possess the following qualifications:

(1) successfully passed one of the
examinations or combinations of examina-
tions defined in 16.10.3 NMAC within three
attempts per step/level and within a seven
year time period from the date the first step
is passed;

(2) be free of disciplinary history,
license restrictions, or pending investiga-
tions in all jurisdictions where a medical
license is or has been held;

(3) graduated from an approved
medical school or hold current educational
commission for foreign medical graduates
(ECFMQ) certification; and

(4) completion of three years of
progressive postgraduate training in an
accredited program; or

(5) current certification from a
medical specialty board recognized by the
American board of medical specialties
(ABMS). Lifetime certificate holders who
have not passed a written specialty recertifi-
cation examination must demonstrate suc-
cessful completion of the Special Purpose
Examination (SPEX) or applicable recertifi-
cation examination.

B. Required documenta-
tion for all applicants. Each applicant for
a license must submit the required fees as
specified in 16.10.9.8 NMAC and the fol-
lowing documentation:

(1) a completed application
signed and notarized with a passport-quali-
ty photo taken within the previous 6
months. Applications are valid for 1 year
from the date of receipt by the board;

(2) verification of licensure in all
states or territories where the applicant
holds or has held a license to practice med-
icine, or other health care profession.
Verification must be sent directly to the
board office from the other state board(s),
must include a raised seal, and must attest to
the status, issue date, license number, and
other information requested and contained
on the form.

(3) two recommendation forms
from physicians, chiefs of staff or depart-
ment chairs or equivalent with whom the
applicant has worked and who have person-
al knowledge of the applicant’s character
and competence to practice medicine. The
recommending physicians must have per-
sonally known the applicant and have had
the opportunity to personally observe the
applicant’s ability and performance. Forms
must be sent directly to the board from the
recommending physician. This information
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will be provided by HSC for applicants
using that service, or directly to the New
Mexico [Beard—efMediealIxaminers|
medical board;

(4) verification of all hospital
affiliations in the last five years, if applica-
ble, not to include postgraduate training.
This information will be provided by HSC
for applicants using that service, or directly
to the New Mexico [Besard—ef—Mediest
Examiners| medical board;

(5) a copy of all ABMS specialty
board certifications, if applicable. This
information will be provided by HSC for
applicants using that service, or directly to
the New Mexico [Beard—ef—Medieat
Examirers| medical board; and

(6) The board may request that
applicants be investigated by the biographi-
cal section of the American medical associ-
ation, the drug enforcement administration,
the federation of state medical boards, the
national practitioner data bank, and other
sources as may be deemed appropriate by
the board.

(7) Applicants who are not U.S.
citizens must provide proof that they are in
compliance with the immigration laws of
the United States.

C. Licensure  process.
Upon receipt of a completed application,
including all required documentation and
fees, the applicant [w+#H may be scheduled
for a personal interview before the board,
[ex} a board member designated by the
board, or an agent of the board and must
present original documents as requested by
the board.

i ; , Loats

The initial license will be issued following
completion of any required interview,

and/or approval by a member or agent of the
board.

D. Initial license expira-
tion. Medical licenses expire on July 1 of
every third year. Initial licenses are valid
for a period of [net-ere-thanthirty-seven
renths-ertess-than-thirty-rmenths] not more

than three years or less than two years.
[16.10.2.10 NMAC - N, 1/20/03; A, 7/1/03]

16.10.2.13 PUBLIC SERVICE

LICENSE. A resident physician may apply
for a public service license, which enables
him to practice medicine outside the train-
ing program. The resident physician must
be continuing in the board approved train-
ing program.

A. Prerequisites for
licensure. Each applicant for a public serv-
ice license shall have graduated from an
approved medical school, passed all
required examinations as defined in 16.10.3
NMAC, and completed one year of post-
graduate training. In addition, the applicant
shall have completed an application for
licensure including all required documenta-
tion required in 16.10.2.9.B through
16.10.2.9.E as applicable. Other require-
ments include:

(1) written approval from his
training program director.

(2) a postgraduate training license
issued by the New Mexico [Beard—ef
Medieal-Examiners] medical board.

(3) A resident physician with one-
year postdoctoral training may only apply
for a public service license when he is under
the direct supervision of a New Mexico
physician or when employed in a medically
underserved area.

(4) If a physician is not being
supervised directly, there must be proce-
dures in place for a licensed New Mexico
physician to review, on at least a quarterly
basis, prescriptions written and dispensed
for controlled substances and operative pro-
cedures performed.

B. Required documenta-
tion. Each applicant for a public service
license shall submit the required fee as
specified in 16.10.9.8 NMAC and the fol-
lowing documentation:

(1) completed application, signed
and notarized with a passport quality photo
taken within the previous 6 months.
Applications are valid for 1 year from the
date of receipt;

(2) letter of approval from the
training program director.

C. Licensure  process.
Upon receipt of a completed application,
including all required documentation and
fees, the applicant [w+H] may be scheduled
for a personal interview before the board,
[ex} a board member designated by the
board, or an agent of the board and must
present original documents as requested by
the board.

; ; , Loats

The initial license will be issued following
completion of any required interview,

and/or approval by a member or agent of the
board.

D. License expiration.
Public service licenses expire on July 1.
Initial licenses are valid for a period of not
more than 13 months or less than 8 months,
or until completion of the training program.
Public service licenses may be renewed
annually as long as the applicant remains
eligible.
[16.10.2.13 NMAC - Rp 16 NMAC 10.3.9,
4/18/02; 16.10.2.13 NMAC — Rn & A,
16.10.2.12 NMAC, 1/20/03; A, 7/1/03]

NEW MEXICO RACING
COMMISSION

Explanatory Paragraph: This is an amend-
ment to Paragraph 8 of Subsection B of
15.2.5.8 NMSA changing the procedure for
declaring permitted medications and creat-
ing a new Paragraph 9 for the second por-
tion of what was formerly Paragraph 8.
This amendment is effective 06/13/2003.

15.2.5.8
NOMINATIONS:

B. PROCEDURE:

(1) Entries and nominations shall
be made with the racing secretary and shall
not be considered until received by the rac-
ing secretary, who shall maintain a record of
time of receipt of them for a period of one
year.

ENTRIES AND

(2) An entry shall be in the name
of the horse's licensed owner and made by
the owner, trainer or a licensed designee of
the owner or trainer. Any horse which is in
a race or on the also-eligible list may not be
sold or transferred until that obligation is
completed, except with permission of the
stewards.

(3) Numbered races printed in the
condition book shall have preference over
extra races. Should any race fail to draw
seven (7) separate wagering interests, it
may be called off.

(4) An entry must be in writing,
by telephone, electronically or facsimile
machine to the racing secretary. The entry
must be confirmed in writing should the
stewards or the racing secretary so request.

(5) The person making an entry
shall clearly designate the horse so entered.

(6) No alteration may be made in
any entry after the closing of entries, but an
error may be corrected with permission of
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the stewards.

(7) No horse may be entered in
more than one race (with the exception of
stakes races) to be run on the same day at
the same track on which pari-mutuel wager-
ing is conducted. If a horse is entered in
more than one stakes race to be run on the
same day, at the time of draw, the trainer
must declare which race the horse will run
in.

(8) Any permitted medication [e¥]
must be declared on the original entry at
each race meet. No further declaration will
be required at that meet unless there is a
change.

(9) Any approved change of
equipment must be declared at time of entry.

Any changes after that time must be
approved by the stewards.

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES
DIVISION

This is an amendment to 14.5.6 NMAC,
Section 14

14.5.6.14 GENERAL
MECHANICAL AND PLUMBING
LICENSE INFORMATION:

A. Journeyman Certificate

of Competence Required:
A journeyman Certificate of Competence in
the proper trade classification for the work
being performed is required of all individu-
als performing mechanical and/or plumbing
work. Journeyman Certifications shall be
issued such that the certificates parallel the
mechanical and plumbing license classifica-
tion numbers and scopes.

B. Implementation of new
license classifications; renewal of existing
license classifications:

(1) The mechanical and plumbing
license and journeyman Certificate of
Competence classifications specified imme-
diately below become effective on
November 1, 1998. Thus, all licenses and
Certificates of Competence tested for on or
after, November 1, 1998 will be issued pur-
suant to the classifications set forth below.

(2) All licenses and journeyman
Certificate of Competence tested for and/or
issued prior to November 1, 1998 under the
prior license and journeyman classifications
will be issued under the renewed under the
prior classifications until the license or
Certificate of Competence ceases to exist.
However, if a licensee or journeyman fails
to renew his license or Certificate of
Competence in a timely manner as required
in the Construction Industries Licensing Act
or the Construction Industries Division

Rules and Regulations, or otherwise allows
his license or Certificate of Competence to
lapse, be voided and/or canceled, the licens-
ee and/or journeyman will be required to
obtain the proper license under the new
classification system becoming effective on
November 1, 1998. Obtaining the proper
license and/or journeyman Certificate of
Competence under the new license classifi-
cation system in these circumstances will
require that the licensee and/or journeyman
take the appropriate examination and make
application to the Division.

C. Mechanical and

Plumbing contracting defined:
The definition of contracting is set forth in
Section 60-13-3 of the Construction
Industries Licensing Act. Nothing in this
rule shall be construed to conflict with the
Act’s definition. However, for the purpose
of clarity in this rule, contracting is under-
stood to include: installations, alterations,
repairs, servicing and maintenance involv-
ing plumbing and/or mechanical work.

D. [RESERVED]

E. GENERAL
MECHANICAL AND PLUMBING
LICENSE CLASSIFICATIONS:

(1) MM-1. Plumbing. (Requires
four years experience.)

A contractor under this classification is
authorized to install, alter, repair or service
plumbing, fixtures and water conditioners
as defined under Section 60-13-32 B, C and
E of the Act. He may perform piping which
carries fuel, oil, gasoline in the service sta-
tion installation. Also, he may perform all
piping associated with solar water heating
and cooling systems. The following are
some sample types of work included under
this classification (this list is for illustrative
purpose, and is not exhaustive): 1. plumb-
ing, fixtures and water conditioners, as
defined under Section 60-13-32 (B)(C) and
(E) of the Construction Industries
Licensing Act; hot water heating systems
not exceeding 30 p.s.i.; fixture and softener
installations, and accessories; piping asso-
ciated with solar water heating and cooling
systems; contractor may not perform natu-
ral gas fitting except as described in the
subsection below; 2. cesspools, septic
tanks, manholes and sewer lines, starting at
a point of five (5) feet beyond the outside
wall of a building, including excavating,
trenching, backfilling and grading neces-
sary to make the authorized installation. 3.
lawn sprinklers which are connected to a
potable water supply, including necessary
excavation and backfilling, the plug-in type
electrical control panels and apparatus, and
control wiring up to 24 volts; 4. piping,
fixtures or equipment which is an integral
part of swimming pool filters or heating
systems (water side only); drain piping to
an approved sand trap; make up water pip-

ing of potable water line; does not include
installation of natural gas fired appliances
or natural gas piping, 5. piping, fittings
and equipment for the treatment of water,
including necessary concrete supports for
water and conditioning systems, plug-in
electrical control panels and apparatus up to
24 volts necessary for the operation of the
water conditioning system; 6. indirect
waste piping to the point of disposal; and 7.
pneumatic systems and electrical control
wiring up to 24 volts, provided all electrical
work over 24 volts shall be installed by a
properly licensed electrical contractor, and
pneumatic tube systems.

(2) MM-2. Natural Gas Fitting.
(Requires four years experience.)
A contractor under this classification is
authorized to install, alter, repair or service
natural gas fittings as defined in Section 60-
13-32.D. of the Act. He may install hot
water heating systems not exceeding 30
p.s.i. working pressure or 400,000
B.T.U./hour input. NOTE: This classifica-
tion does not allow the installation of LP
Gas systems.
The following are some sample types of
work included under this classification (this
list is for illustrative purpose, and is not
exhaustive): 1. natural gas fitting and con-
sumer natural gas piping downstream of the
gas meter or property line; 2. warm air
heating appliances; 3. freestanding gas
appliances and built-in ranges and ovens,
including all venting and existing valved
outlets. 4. steam and hot water boilers,
including chimney connections, flues,
refactories, burners, fittings, valves, thermal
insulation, controls, accessories and inci-
dental piping, and natural gas piping from
the main boiler cutoff to the burner; and 5.
pneumatic control systems and electrical
wiring up to 24 volts, provided all electri-
cal work over 24 volts shall be installed by
a properly licensed electrical contractor, and
pneumatic tube systems. 6. contractor may
bid and contract for a complete boiler instal-
lation, provided all electrical work over 24
volts shall be installed by a properly
licensed electrical contractor.

(3) MM-3. Heating, Ventilation
& Air Conditioning (HVAC). (Requires
four years experience.)
A contractor under this classification is
authorized to install, alter, repair or service
HVAC air handling and refrigeration cycle,
consisting of and including fans, coils,
evaporative cooling units, self-contained
packaged air conditioning and/or heating
units, air handling units, condensing units,
duct work and accessories, including solar
air heating and cooled mechanical air han-
dling and ventilation applications. He is not
authorized to perform piping, other than
refrigerant piping, except as allowed below.
The following are some sample types of
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work included under this classification (this
list is for illustrative purpose, and is not
exhaustive): 1. evaporative coolers, includ-
ing circulating pumps, controls, control
wiring up t 24 volts and duct work for the
evaporative cooler installations, and con-
necting water to existing valved outlets;
Structural work and electrical work not
specifically described herein must be per-
formed by properly licensed contractors,
however this work may be included in the
bid or contract of the evaporative cooler
contractor if incidental to the evaporative
cooler installation; and 2. pneumatic con-
trol systems or electrical wiring up to 24
volts, provided all electrical work and con-
trol systems over 24 volts shall be installed
by a properly licensed electrical contractor,
and pneumatic tube systems.

(4) MM-4. Heating, Cooling and
Process Piping. (Requires four years expe-
rience.)
A contractor under this classification is
authorized to install, alter, repair or service
hydronic heating, cooling and process pip-
ing consisting of and including steam hot
water systems of any temperature pressure
range, chilled water systems, condensing
water systems and process piping systems,
including pressure vessels, heat exchangers,
boilers, refrigeration water chillers, cooling
towers, fuel oil tanks and fuel oil piping. He
may install natural gas piping from the main
boiler cut-off to the burner. He may install
high pressure and process piping solar ener-
gy systems and components of any temper-
ature or any pressure conveying gas or flu-
ids other than potable water.-
In addition to the above, the contractor
under this classification is authorized to
install pneumatic or electric controls and
control wiring up to 24 volts, provided elec-
trical wiring over 24 volts shall be installed
by a properly licensed electrical contractor,
and pneumatic tube systems.

®)] MM-98. Mechanical.
(Requires four years experience.)
A contractor under this classification is
authorized to perform all work described
under MM-1, 2, 3 and 4, and all specialty
mechanical licenses. He may bid and con-
tract as the prime contractor of an entire
project provided the mechanical contrac-
tor’s part of the project, based on dollar
amounts, is the major portion of the contract
and further provided that all subcontracted
work is awarded to and performed by prop-
erly licensed and classified contractors.

F. MECHANICAL AND
PLUMBING SPECIALTY LICENSES:

(1) MS-3. Cesspools, Septic
Tanks & Sewer. (Requires two years expe-
rience.)
A contractor under this classification is
authorized to install, alter, repair or service
cesspools, septic tanks, manholes and sewer

lines, starting at a point five (5) feet beyond
the outside wall of a building. He may exca-
vate, trench, backfill and grade as necessary
for the authorized installation. He shall not
represent himself as a plumbing contractor.
A contractor under this classification may
install or repair plug-in type electrical con-
trol panels and apparatus and may install

control wiring up to 24 volts.
(2) MS-6. Lawn Sprinklers.

(Requires two years experience.)

A contractor under this classification is
authorized to install, alter, repair or service
sprinkler systems which are connected to a
potable water supply. He may excavate and
backfill as necessary for proper installation
of the system. A contractor under this clas-
sification may install or repair plug-in type
electrical control panels and apparatus and
may install control wiring up to 24 volts.

(3) MS-12.  Fire Protection

Sprinkler Systems. (Requires four years
experience.)
A contractor under this classification is
authorized to install, alter, repair or service
fire protection systems using water, includ-
ing any pressure or storage tanks required,
including control wiring of 24 volts or less.
He may excavate and backfill and install
piping from structure to off-premise water
supply adjacent to property involving a fire
protection system. He may bid or contract
structural alterations, painting, electrical
wiring, etc., incidental to the system instal-
lation, provided such work is performed by
a properly licensed contractor.

(4) MS-14. Dry Chemical Fire
Protection. (Requires four years experi-
ence.)

A contractor under this classification is
authorized to install, alter, repair or service
fire protection systems using gas or chemi-
cal, including CO, halon, etc. Included are
pressurized storage tanks, valves, appurte-
nances, temperature sensing devices and
other incidental control wiring of 24 volts or
less. This contractor is not authorized to
install solenoid or shut-off valve devices in
any natural or LP gas supply piping. He
may bid or contract for only the complete
dry chemical fire suppression system
including the mounting of tanks and secur-
ing of piping arrangements. Any architec-
tural or structural work shall be done by
properly licensed contractors.

[14.5.6.14 NMAC - Rp, 14 NMAC 5.6.14,
12-1-00; A, 6-20-03]

to implement the statutory change effected
by Senate Bill 596. See S.B. 596, 46th Leg.,
Ist Sess., 2003 N.M. Laws 247 (providing
that the annual licensing fees for sales rep-
resentatives and investment adviser repre-
sentatives would be “an amount not to
exceed fifty dollars”). The fee is being set
at $40, which represents an increase of $5
over the amount previously set by statute.
Section 12.11.1.5 is being amended to
reflect that some sections may have a dif-

ferent effective date (i.e., section
12.11.1.11).
12.11.1.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

[Renumbering-onby-effeetive] May 1, 1999,
unless a later date is cited at the end of a
section.

[12 NMAC 11.1.1.3, 12-30-95; 12 NMAC
11.1.1.5, 5-1-99; 12.11.1.5 NMAC - Rn &
A, 12 NMAC 11.1.1.5, 07-01-2003]

12.11.1.11 FEES:
E. Sales _representative

and investment adviser representative
licensing fees. Pursuant to Section 58-13B-
9A NMSA 1978 sales representatives and
investment adviser representatives shall pay

an annual licensing fee of $40.00.
[12 NMAC 11.1.2, 12-30-95; 12

NMACI1.1.2, 5-1-99; 12.11.1.11 NMAC -
Rn & A, 12 NMAC 11.1.2, 07-01-2003]

NEW MEXICO REGULA-
TION AND LICENSING

DEPARTMENT
SECURITIES DIVISION

Explanatory paragraph: Subsection E is
being added to Section 12.11.1.11 in order

NEW MEXICO TAXATION
AND REVENUE
DEPARTMENT

This is an amendment to Section 3.6.5.23
NMAC.

3.6.5.23 RESPONSIBILITY
OF COUNTY ASSESSORS TO DETER-
MINE AND MAINTAIN CURRENT
AND CORRECT VALUES OF PROP-
ERTY

A. COST SHARING
PROVISIONS IN VALUATION MAIN-
TENANCE CONTRACTS: The depart-
ment will not enter a contract pursuant to
Subsection C of Section 7-36-16 NMSA
1978 which provides for sharing of the costs
of valuation maintenance programs with
counties unless the department has a report
from the secretary of finance and adminis-
tration showing the amount of county funds
available or which could be made available
for a valuation maintenance program. In the
event the report indicates that the county
has available sufficient funds for a valuation
maintenance program, the contract will pro-
vide for only a minimal amount as the
department's share of the program costs.

B. SALES RATIO
REPORT: The written report which asses-
sors are required to provide under
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Subsection E of Section 7-36-16 NMSA
1978 includes “ ... the relationship of sales
prices of property sold to values for proper-
ty taxation purposes ...”. This portion of the
report is referred to as the “sales ratio
report.” The sales ratio report is prepared in
accordance with the instructions of the divi-
sion. In its instruction or by its order to par-
ticular county assessors, the division may
permit the sales ratio report to be prepared
on the basis of sampling. The division
instruction will provide for a “uniform sales
data card” to be used by each county asses-
sor in recording sales. These cards, or
copies of these cards, will be provided the
division by the county assessor upon direc-
tion by the division.

C. CURRENT AND
CORRECT VALUES OF PROPERTY

DEFINED: [Hhe-phtase—eurrent-and—eor-

erty-texyearsr-the-valaationtevelin-the-pre-

5

; -4 Assessors shall
re-appraise properties either once per year
one-year reappraisal cycle), or once eve
two years (two-year reappraisal cycle).
Assessor’s may only change the current
reappraisal cycle in their respective county
after written approval is granted by the
director. The phrase “‘current and correct

values of property” as used in Section 7-36-
16 NMSA 1978 means:

1) For residential property pur-
chased in the year prior to the current tax
year the phrase means its market value dur-
ing the year of purchase;

2) For residential property not
purchased in the year prior to the current tax
year, when utilizing a one year reappraisal
cycle, the phrase means its” market value of
the year prior to the current tax year, and

3) For residential property not
purchased in the year prior to the current tax
year, and non-residential locally assessed
property. when utilizing a two year reap-
praisal cycle, the phrase means its market
value in the tax year 2001 and, for each of
the following odd-numbered tax year, its
market value during the preceding odd-

numbered tax year.
[3/23/83, 11/5/85, 5/10/93, 12/29/94,

8/31/96; 3.6.5.23 NMAC - Rn & A, 3
NMAC 6.5.23, 4/30/01; A, 6/13/03]

NEW MEXICO WORKERS’
COMPENSATION
ADMINISTRATION

Explanatory paragraph: This is an amend-
ment to 11.4.4 sections 9 and 14. This rule
is also renumbered and reformatted from 11

NMAC 4.4 to comply with current NMAC
requirements. This rules promulgation
amends an existing medical release form
and creates an entirely new procedure for
resolution of disputes concerning release of
medical information. The name of the
release is corrected in section 9 and is the
only amendment to that section. The parties
potentially affected are employers, insurers
and workers covered by the Workers'
Compensation Act and healthcare providers
who provide services to workers under the
Workers' Compensation Act. The replace-
ment medical release form contains the
same operative language as the form that it
replaces but adds notices and advices of
rights required under the Health Insurance
Portability and Accountability Act
(HIPAA), 45 CFR Parts 160 and 164. The
medical information dispute rule provides a
mechanism for a worker, employer, their
insurer or healthcare provider to file a peti-
tion for expedited court review of any dis-
pute arising from a medical records release
issue under HIPAA. The full text of the rule
can be found at www.state.nm.us/wca and
the effective date of the rule is June 13,
2003.

11.4.4.9 FORMS, FILING
AND HEARING PROCEDURES:

R. WCA mandatory
forms:

(1) The forms adopted by this rule
have been designed to maximize retrieval of
information required by the Act.

(2) The forms adopted by this rule
are mandatory and must be fully and legibly
completed by the filing party. Items on the
mandatory forms may not be deleted, but
additional information may be provided at
the end of the text or by additional pages
with clear reference to the paragraph being
supplemented. The format for the forms is
provided in an Attachment A to this rule.
The forms listed below have been adopted
as mandatory forms:

(a) workers’ compensation com-
plaint;

(b) summons for workers’ com-
pensation complaint;

(c) authorization to release med-
ical information (HIPAA Compliant);

(d) form letter to health care
provider (also referred to as form letter to
HCP);

(e) response;

(f) notice of acceptance or rejec-
tion of recommended resolution;

(g) notice of disqualification;

(h) application to workers’ com-
pensation judge;

(i) summons for application to
workers’ compensation judge;

(j) subpoena or subpoena duces
tecum,;

(k) request for setting and notice
of hearing;

(1) HCP disagreement form; and

(m) petition for lump sum pay-
ment.
[5/26/87, 6/20/89, 10/28/93, 3/3/94, 6/1/96,
9/25/96; 10/1/98; 11.4.4.9 NMAC - Rn &
A, 11 NMAC 4.4.9, 6/13/03]

11.4.4.14 MEDICAL RECORD
DISPUTE RULES: Any party or any
authorized health care provider (HCP) may
file a petition for court authorization to
release _medical records. Such petitions
shall be allowed notwithstanding the provi-
sions of any other rule, and shall be dis-
posed of separate and apart from all rule
provisions and procedures pertaining to res-
olution of other disputes arising from a
claim for benefits.

A. The assigned workers'
compensation judge (judge) shall decide
medical record disputes. If no judge has
been assigned, a judge shall be appointed by

the clerk upon the filing of a petition for
court authorization to release medical

records for the resolution of that matter

only.

B. The judge appointed by
the clerk is not assigned pursuant to NMSA
1978, Section 52-5-5(C) (1990). The
peremptory right to disqualify a judge
allowed by NMSA 1978, Section 52-5-5(D)

1993) does not apply. No party or author-
ized HCP may disqualify a judge appointed
to hear a petition for court authorization to
release medical records.

C. The judge will deter-
mine whether the protected health informa-
tion in controversy is material to the resolu-
tion of any matter presently at issue or like-
ly to be at issue in the administration of the
claim, and shall order the release of protect-
ed health information upon a finding of
materiality by a preponderance of evidence.

D. If a petition for court
authorization to release medical records is
filed with the clerk, the judge shall hear the
petition within seven (7) calendar days from
the filing of the petition. The judge may
issue a minute order at the conclusion of the
hearing on the petition. If the judge does
not issue a minute order, the judge shall
issue an order not later than three (3) work-
ing days after the conclusion of the hearing.
A minute or formal order resolving the peti-
tion shall have the force of law with respect
to the parties and to the authorized HCP.

E. If, after a judge has
ordered the release of records pursuant to

this rule, an HCP fails to provide records to
a payer, the party which is to receive the

records shall give the HCP (1) written
notice of the obligation to produce the
records and (2) an endorsed copy of the
judge's order or minute order. If the records
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are not produced within five (5) working days of the actual delivery of the notice, the payer’s obligation to timely pay shall be tolled until
the actual production of the records.

F. If any judge involved in the adjudication of the claim finds that the withholding of records of health information after
an order to produce has obstructed the efficient administration or adjudication of a claim, then:

(1) Notice shall be given to the authorized HCP who has withheld records that have been ordered disclosed and a hearing shall be
scheduled to determine if the withholding of records was unreasonable.

(2) If the judge finds after notice to the HCP and an opportunity to be heard that the continued withholding of records by the HCP
is unreasonable, the director may find the HCP in violation of this rule and penalize pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 52-1-61 (1990).
[11.4.4.14 NMAC — N, 6/13/03]

WORKER’S AUTHORIZATION FOR DISCLOSURE OF PROTECTED HEALTH
INFORMATION FOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION PURPOSES (HIPAA COMPLIANT)

I, (Print Worker’s Name) ., hereby authorize the use or disclosure of my health
information as described in this authorization.

1. INFORMATION WCA No.
Date of Birth Date of Injury SSN
Address Phone
Worker’s representative, if any: Phone
Address:

2. RELEASE

I authorize the Health Care Provider (HCP) or any member or employee of its office or association who has examined or treated me. as well

as any hospital or treatment facility in which I have been a patient, to disclose and release complete and legible copies of any and all infor-

mation concerning my  physical or __ psychiatric condition care and  treatment to my employer,

and/or its insurance carrier,

and/or their attorneys. and/or duly authorized representatives of the New

Mexico Workers’ Compensation Administration and its current medical cost containment contractor or their duly authorized agents. Copies

of all documentation released pursuant to this authorization shall be sent to the agency requesting the information and to me or my repre-
sentative as listed above.

3. I understand the following information will be released pursuant to a work-related/occupational injury or illness/workers’ com-
pensation claim: medical reports; clinical notes: nurses’ notes; patient’s history of injury: subjective and objective complaints; x-rays: test
results; interpretation of x-rays or other tests (including a copy of the report): diagnosis and prognosis; hospital bills: bills for services the
HCP has rendered: payments received: and any other relevant and material information in the HCP’s possession. This Authorization also
includes, if applicable, any hospital operational logs, emergency logs. tissues committee reports, psychiatric reports and records. physical
therapy records. and all outpatient records. This release may also be used to request a Form Letter to HCP as approved by the Workers'

Compensation Administration. I understand that [ have the right to restrict the information that may be provided by signing this authoriza-
tion to the extent provided by law.

CONDITIONS
4. I understand the purpose of this request is to determine the proper level of workers’ compensation benefits and may include infor-

mation regarding any of the following: to determine my occupational injury or illness status: to determine my eligibility for workers’ com-

pensation benefits; to determine my current and future medical status after occupational injury: to determine my current medical status
and/or return-to-work capability.

5. Right to revoke: I understand I have the right to revoke this authorization at any time by notifying the company named in
Paragraphs 1 and 2. I understand that the revocation is only effective after it is received and logged by that company and that any use or

disclosure made prior to the revocation under this authorization will not be affected by the revocation. I further understand that my revo-
cation of this authorization may affect my ability to receive occupational injury or workers’ compensation benefits governed by this revo-
cation.

6. I understand that after this information is disclosed, the recipient may continue to use it pursuant to my prior authorization, regard-
less of my subsequent revocation of this authorization. I further understand that different protections may be available pursuant to state and
federal law.

7. I understand that information to be released pursuant to a work-related/occupational injury or illness/workers’ compensation claim
may also be released to WCA and its current medical cost containment contractor or their duly authorized agents.
8. I hereby expressly waive any regulations and/or rules of ethics that might otherwise prevent any hospital, health care provider or

other person who has treated me or examined me in a professional capacity from releasing such records.
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9. A photostatic or other copy of this Release, which contains my signature, shall be considered as effective and valid as the origi-
nal, and shall be honored by those to whom it is sent or provided for a period of six (6) months from the date it was signed.

10. This Release does not authorize any personal or telephonic conferences or correspondence directly between any health care
provider and a representative of my employer, its attorney or insurance carrier to discuss my case and is solely for the release of medical
documentation as set forth herein. Brief communication for the limited purpose of obtaining medical records is permitted.

11. I understand I am entitled to a copy of this authorization and to any records provided hereunder. I am requesting a copy of this
authorization Yes No — If Yes, I have received a copy (initial)

L understand this authorization will expire within six (6) months of the date I signed it, unless I revoke it earlier, pursuant to Paragraph 5.

Signature of Employee Date

Witness Signature (REQUIRED)
This form cannot be accepted without a witness signature.

Witness Name (Print or type) Date

Personal Representative Section:

If a personal representative executes this form, that representative warrants that he or she has authorization to sign this form on the basis of
(print detailed basis for representation):

Signature of Personal Representative Date

End of Adopted Rules Section
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