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NEW MEXICO

DEPARTMENT OF

AGRICULTURE

Notice of Hearing

The Pecos Valley Cotton Boll Weevil

Control District will hold a public hearing

under the Cotton Boll Weevil Control Act,

76-6A-1 to 76-6A-16, NMSA 1978, to

reduce the assessment rate to $2 per bale.

The hearing will be held at the NMSU Ag

Center located at 67 E. Four Dinkus Road,

Artesia, New Mexico, beginning at 2:00

p.m. on August 13, 2008.  Written state-

ments in support or opposition, signed by

the submitting person, will be accepted if

received prior to 5:00 p.m. on August 13,

2008.  Written statements, inquiries, or

requests for copies of the rule should be

directed to Mr. Dwight Menefee, P.O. Box

595, Artesia, New Mexico 88211-0595.

submitted, at anytime, even if the applicant

has not completed other CDBG projects.

[(5) Counties may submit multi-

ple applications for planning grants for

water associations.]

B. Single purpose applica-

tion -An application for CDBG funding

must be limited to a project specific activity

or set of activities which address a particu-

lar need in a designated target area of a unit

of local government.  The target area may

not be the entire municipality or county.

C. Joint applications -

Joint applications will be allowed when two

or more eligible applicants within reason-

able proximity of each other wish to address

a common problem.

(1) One community will be desig-

nated to serve as the lead applicant and will

be subject to administrative requirements

and to the application limit requirements.

(2) However, other parties to the

joint application may submit another appli-

cation.

(3) Joint applications must satisfy

certain federal criteria and must receive

division approval prior to submitting an

application for funding assistance.

(4) It should be noted that satisfy-

ing the required criteria, which is available

from the division upon request, may take a

significant period of time.

D. Application require-

ments for the following minimum require-

ments apply to all applications for CDBG

funding:

(1) applications must involve a

project that will be fully functional on a

stand-alone basis once awarded CDBG and

other committed funds have been expended

and;

(2) projects shall be completed

within twenty-four months of an award of

funding;

(3) applications may not exceed

$500,000;

(4) if the applicant, after conduct-

ing the required public hearing, determines

that the previous year’s CDBG unfunded

application is still a priority, the applicant

must submit the original along with a cur-

rent year’s resolution, updated project

budget and schedule and any other informa-

tion required by division staff.

E. Threshold requirements

- To encourage timely completion of proj-

ects and to maximize participation the fol-

lowing threshold requirements shall be met

prior to the application deadline.

(1) All projects for the eligible

activities in the categories listed in

Subsections C, D, E, and I of 2.110.2.11

NMAC must be completed at the time of

application. (certificate of occupancy or

ANY OTHER FORM OF AUXILIARY

AID OR SERVICES TO ATTEND OR

PARTICIPATE IN THE HEARING,

PLEASE CONTACT OUR OFFICES ONE

WEEK PRIOR TO THE MEETING, OR

AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

2.110.2.10 ELIGIBLE APPLI-

CANTS

A. All counties, incorpo-

rated municipalities, and New Mexico

mortgage finance authority (MFA) are eligi-

ble to apply except:  the city of

Albuquerque, the city of Farmington, the

city of Las Cruces, the city of Santa Fe and

the city of Rio Rancho who cannot apply

since they receive funding directly from the

department of housing and urban develop-

ment (Title I, Section 106) as entitlement

cities.

B. Other entities such as

water associations, sanitation districts, land

grants, public nonprofit groups, etc., cannot

apply directly for assistance, other than

planning grants.

C. However, these entities

may be involved in the execution of an

approved CDBG project if the eligible

applicant chooses to operate the program

through such an entity under a contractual

agreement.

D. Indian pueblos and

tribes receive funding directly from the

department of housing and urban develop-

ment (Title I, Section 107). Native

American tribes are encouraged to submit

applications to the Albuquerque HUD

Office of Native American Programs, 201

3rd St., N.W., Suite 1830, Albuquerque,

New Mexico 87102-3368, (505) 346-6923.

[2.110.2.10 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.10,

08-30-01; A, 08-13-04 A, 09-28-07; A, xx-

xx-08]

2.110.2.17 A P P L I C A T I O N

REQUIREMENTS

A. Number of applications

- All eligible applicants may submit one

application for CDBG funding assistance in

the infrastructure, housing, public facility

capital outlay, or colonias categories.

(1) Planning applicants may sub-

mit at anytime an additional application for

funding and shall not exceed fifty thousand

dollars ($50,000).

(2) Applicants in the economic

development, emergency may be submitted

at any time and shall not exceed five hun-

dred thousand dollars ($500,000), subject to

funding availability.

(3) Counties may submit multiple

applications for planning grants for water

associations.

(4) Planning, economic develop-

ment and emergency applications may be

NEW MEXICO

DEPARTMENT OF

FINANCE AND

ADMINISTRATION
LOCAL GOVERNMENT DIVISION

The Department of Finance and

Administration, Local Government

Division (“DFA”) hereby gives notice that

DFA will conduct a public hearing in Room

309, State Capitol Building, 415 Old Santa

Fe Trail, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87503, on

August 26, 2008 at 10:00 a.m. concerning

amendments to 2.110.2.10 NMAC,

2.110.2.17 NMAC, 2.110.2.18 NMAC and

2.110.2.19 NMAC of the Small Cities

Community Development Block Grants

Rule (hereinafter referred to as the “CDBG

Rule”).

Interested individuals may testify at the

public hearing or submit written comments

no later than 5:00 p.m. on August 25, 2008,

to the Office of the Secretary, DFA, Bataan

Memorial Building, Room 180, Santa Fe,

New Mexico, 87501.  All written and oral

testimony will be considered prior to adop-

tion of the amendments. Copies of the text

of the proposed CDBG Rule are available

from Ms. Ariana Vigil, Local Government

Division, Bataan Memorial Building, Santa

Fe, New Mexico, 87501 or at 505-827-4975

or from the DFA internet website

http://nmdfa.state.nm.us

IF YOU ARE AN INDIVIDUAL WITH A

DISABILITY WHO IS IN NEED OF A

READER, AMPILIFER, QUALIFIED

SIGN LANGUAGE INTERPRETER OR



certification of operation must be in place).

(2) All audit and monitoring find-

ings, for CDBG projects, must be resolved.

(3) The current fiscal operating

budget for any local public body applying

for CDBG funds must be approved.

(4) The local government division

financial management bureau will verify

that financial quarterly/ monthly reports are

current before CDBG applications deadline.

(5) The following set aside cate-

gories are exempt from threshold require-

ment: planning, economic development,

and emergency.

F. Matching requirements

- In order to assist the council in making

funding resources go further and to ensure

there is a local investment in applications

submitted to the council for funding consid-

eration, the following will be required.

(1) Rural applicants must provide,

at a minimum, a 5% cash match during the

project period from local, state, federal or

other resources, this cannot include local

work force or local equipment.

(2) Non-rural applicants must

provide, at a minimum, a 10% cash match

during the project period from local, state,

federal or other resources, this cannot

include local work force or local equipment.

(3) Consistent with [Section 26 of

these regulations] 2.110.2 NMAC, all appli-

cations in the economic development cate-

gory must provide at least [two private dol-

lars] one private dollar for each dollar of

CDBG funds requested.

(4) Local funds expended by eli-

gible applicants for engineering, architec-

tural design or environmental reviews prior

to project approval can be applied towards

the required match.

(5) Applicants may request a

waiver of the matching requirement from

the council if documentation can be provid-

ed which demonstrates the absence of local

resources to meet the required match.

Criteria used to recommend approval/disap-

proval will be as follows:

(a) the required match must

exceed 5% of the applicant’s general fund

budget;

(b) the required match must equal

or exceed the non-earmarked balance of

funds in the applicant’s budget.

G. Other funding commit-

ments - If other funding is necessary to

make a proposed project feasible, funding

commitments or commitments subject to

CDBG approval, must be in place and let-

ters of commitments from the funding

agency must be submitted with the applica-

tion.

H. Water conservation and

drought commitments - In order to make the

state’s water supplies go further and to

ensure proper levels of preparations are

taken locally for periodic droughts, the fol-

lowing is encouraged:

(1) Applicants develop, adopt and

submit to the state engineer a comprehen-

sive water conservation ordinance.

(2) Applicants develop, adopt and

submit to the state engineer a drought man-

agement plan.

(3) The ordinance and plan shall

be accompanied by a program for its imple-

mentation.

(a) in developing a water conser-

vation ordinance pursuant to this section:

applicants shall adopt ordinances and codes

to encourage water conservation measures;

they shall identify and implement best man-

agement practices in their operations to

improve conservation of the resources; and

(b) applicants shall consider and

incorporate into its plan if appropriate, at

least the following:

(i) water-efficient fix-

tures and appliances, including toilets, uri-

nals, showerheads and faucets;

(ii) low-water-use land-

scaping and efficient irrigation;

(iii) water-efficient

commercial and industrial water-use

processes;

(iv) water reuse sys-

tems for both potable and non-potable

water;

(v) distribution system

leak repair;

(vi) dissemination of

information regarding water-use efficiency

measures, including public education pro-

grams and demonstrations of water-saving

techniques;

(vii) water rate struc-

tures establishing rates or revenues that sup-

port the long term operation, maintenance,

repair, and replacement of the system or

facility and are designed to encourage

water-use efficiency and reuse in a fiscally

responsible manner  and

(viii) incentives to

implement water-use efficiency techniques,

including rebates to customers or others, to

encourage the installation of water-use effi-

ciency and reuse measures.

(c) the council shall encourage

the applicant to submit a copy of its water

conservation plan with applications for con-

struction of any facility.

I. Asset management - In

order to support the long term operation,

maintenance, repair and replacement of sys-

tem facilities, infrastructure, public facili-

ties, or other eligible activities the following

will be required.

(1) In order to ensure water and

wastewater infrastructure is managed with-

in a strategic framework driven by program

and service deliver needs, communities that

implement a rate analysis based upon an

asset management program will be credited

in the application process for their achieve-

ment.  The model for the asset management

program is the EPA publication “Asset

Management: A Handbook for Small Water

Systems (EPA 816-R-03-0160 September

2003).

(2) For community infrastructure

and public facilities, or other eligible activ-

ities an asset management plan will be

required to be submitted at the time of

application (EPA 816-R-03-0160

September 2003).

[2.110.2.17 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.17,

08-30-01; A, 08-13-04; A, 08-15-05; A, 12-

14-06; A, 09-28-07; A, xx-xx-08]

2.110.2.18 A P P L I C A T I O N

PROCEDURES AND CONTENT: The

application packet provided by local gov-

ernment division will be used for infrastruc-

ture, housing, public facility, capital outlay,

colonias, emergency categories, economic

development and planning.

A. An applicant must sub-

mit an original and [three] two copies of

each application to the Department of

Finance and Administration, Local

Government Division, Bataan Memorial

Building, Suite 201, Santa Fe, New Mexico

87501, and one copy to the appropriate

council of governments.

B. Applications must be

received at the local government division by

5 p.m. of the designated application dead-

line.  Applications received after that time

will be returned to the applicant

unprocessed.

[2.110.2.18 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.18,

08-30-01; A, 08-13-04; A, 12-14-06; A, 09-

28-07; A, xx-xx-08]

2.110.2.19 A P P L I C A T I O N

REVIEW AND EVALUATION

PROCESS

A. Upon receipt of appli-

cations, division staff will review them for

eligibility, completeness, feasibility, and

compliance and to ensure that all other

funding necessary to make the project func-

tional is in place. Applications that are

found to be incomplete, ineligible, not fea-

sible or do not have other funding necessary

to make the project functional, will be

returned to the applicant and will not be

considered for funding.

B. Applications will be

forwarded to appropriate state agencies for

technical review and comment.  Review

agencies may include, but are not limited to,

the environment department, department of

transportation,, department of health, state

engineer’s office, state agency on aging,

economic development department, state

fire marshal and governor’s commission on

disability

C. Applicants will be

allowed to make presentations to the coun-

cil and division staff at an official council

New Mexico Register / Volume XIX, Number 13 / July 16, 2008544



hearing.  Testimony related to the applica-

tion will be presented by an official or

designee of the applying entity who may be

assisted by technical staff.

D. Division staff will

receive comments from state agencies

regarding specific projects.

E. The council and divi-

sion have developed the following rating

criteria for evaluation of CDBG applica-

tions submitted for funding [consideration]

in the following categories: infrastructure,

housing, public facility, capital outlay and

colonias [applications] application cate-

gories.  For infrastructure, housing, public

facility, capital outlay and colonia applica-

tion categories, the following nine (9) crite-

ria are used to score the application.  In

addition, for colonias applications, the

applicant needs to fulfill the four conditions

in Subsection G of 2.110.2.19 NMAC.

(1) Description and need - (5

points) extent to which the project is need-

ed.  The more severe the need as document-

ed in the application, the higher the score.

[Colonias applicants must provide docu-

mentation to substantiate that a majority of

the following conditions exist in the project

area:

(a) lack of potable water;

(b) lack of an adequate sewage

system;

(c) lack of safe, sanitary housing;

(d) source documentation must

also be provided.]  It is only necessary to

answer the questions on the application that

pertain to the appropriate application cate-

gory and do not answer questions on the

application that pertain to other categories.

(2) Benefit to low and moderate

and appropriateness - (20 points) extent to

which the CDBG application:

(a) documents the number and

percentage of low and moderate income

beneficiaries, also include race and gender;

or

(b) addresses the prevention or

removal of slum or blighting conditions; or

(c) addresses conditions which

pose a serious and immediate threat to the

health and welfare of the community (for

emergency applications only).

(3) Leveraging - (15 points)

extent to which federal, state, and local

resources, in addition to the required match,

are being used by the applicant for the pro-

posed project.  The greater the leveraging,

in addition to the required match, the high-

er the score.

(4) Citizen participation - (10

points) extent to which the applicant:

(a) has provided opportunities for

public participation in the identification of

community development needs;.

(b) pledges opportunities for

active citizen participation during the proj-

ect, where applicable; and;

(c) pledges opportunities for

active citizen participation in the implemen-

tation of the project, where applicable.

(5) Planning - (10 points) extent

to which the applicant:

(a) (3) points:  Applicant has

adopted a local (ICIP), which has qualified

for publication in the most recent local

(ICIP) published prior to the CDBG appli-

cation deadline.

(b) (3) points:  The proposed proj-

ect has qualified for publication in the most

recent ICIP prior to the CDBG application

deadline and applicant has selected CDBG

as one of its possible funding sources.

(c) 1 point:  Degree to which

applicant’s proposed project shows consis-

tency with applicant’s comprehensive plan.

(d) 1 point:  Adopting a drought

contingency plan, setting in place various

drought management stages and accompa-

nying restrictions on water use.

(e) 1 point:  Adopting a water

conservation ordinance, setting in place var-

ious methods for conserving potable water.

(f) 1 point:  Implementing a water

conservation ordinance, accompanied by

evidence of exercising at least two various

methods for conserving potable water.

(6) Feasibility/readiness - (20

points) extent to which the project is techni-

cally and economically feasible and ready

to be implemented. Examples of actions

that can be taken prior to submission of the

application to receive maximum points are:

(a) [acquire necessary property]

necessary real property or easements

acquired; (5)

(b) [secure professional services]

professional services contract executed; (5)

(c) [complete plans, specifica-

tions, or preliminary engineering report,

etc.] completed plans, specifications, bid

documents, or preliminary engineering

reports; (5)

(d) complete the environmental

review process (5).

(7) Cost benefit - (10 points)

number of direct beneficiaries of the project

compared to the amount of funds requested.

The higher the number of beneficiaries

compared to the amount of funds requested,

the higher the score.

(8) User fees and revenues - (10

points) What best demonstrates the rates or

revenues that support the long term opera-

tion, maintenance, repair, and replacement

of the system or facility?

(a) Rates developed by asset

management as presented by the New

Mexico Tech, environmental finance center

(EFC). (10 points)

(b) rates developed by a rate

analysis, excluding asset management or

allowance for replacement of reserve funds.

(5 points)

(c) rates developed by other. (1

point)

(9) Non-funded applicants - (10

points) - Applicants that were not funded in

the prior year.

F. Planning criteria cate-

gory

(1) Consistency (25 points):

Document the degree to which the proposed

planning project is consistent with the appli-

cants current version of its comprehensive

plan, its infrastructure capital improvement

plan, and its planning region’s consolidated

plan, or its planning documents or studies.

(2) Appropriateness (25 points):

Describe the impact the proposed project

will have on at least one of the three nation-

al objectives of the CDBG program, i.e.,

(a) documents the number and

percentage of low and moderate income

beneficiaries, also include race and gender;

or

(b) addresses the prevention or

removal of slum or blighting conditions; or

(c) addresses conditions which

pose a serious and immediate threat to the

health and welfare of the community (for

emergency applications only).

(3) Public involvement (25

points): Describe how the planning process

will involve citizens in the preliminary

identification of community needs, in the

development and active participation in the

planning process, and in the implementation

of the plan, including a minimum of one

public hearing with proper notice in accor-

dance with law.

(4) Implementation strategy (25

points): Describe the local commitment of

resources to the planning process; commit-

ment to adopt the plan, either by resolution,

rule, policy or ordinance; and commitment

to use the results of the planning process in

the decision making process.

G. Colonias criteria cate-

gory - When submitting a colonias catego-

ry application, the applicant shall provide

documentation to substantiate that a major-

ity of the following conditions exist in the

project area:

(1) lack of potable water;

(2) lack of an adequate sewage

system;

(3) lack of safe, sanitary housing;

(4) source documentation must

also be provided.

[G.] H. Economic development

rating criteria is included in Section

2.110.2.26.

[H.] I. Site visits will be con-

ducted as needed during the [application

review process] life time of the project to

verify [the] or review information presented

[in an application].

[I.] J. Division staff will pres-
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ent its recommendations in high, medium

and low groupings to the council at least

seven days prior to the allocation meeting.

[J.] K. Because emergency,

economic development, and rural planning

projects are received throughout the year,

formal staff rating may not be necessary if

all other federal and state requirements are

met and other applications are not compet-

ing for funding assistance.

[2.110.2.19 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.19,

08-30-01; A, 08-13-04; A, 12-14-06; A, 09-

28-07; A, xx-xx-08]

* Importation of Live Non-

Domestic Animals, Birds, and Fish,

(19.35.7, NMAC);

* Adoption of the 2008-2009

Resident Upland Game Rule (19.31.5,

NMAC), and Migratory Game Bird Rule

(19.31.6, NMAC); and

* Proposed GAIN Rule (19.34.3,

NMAC) Change Regarding Dogs and Other

Domestic Animals on Commission-owned

Properties.

A copy of the agenda or any of the affected

rules can be obtained from the Office of the

Director, New Mexico Department of Game

and Fish, P.O. Box 25112, Santa Fe, New

Mexico 87504 or on the Department’s web-

site.  This agenda is subject to change up to

24 hours prior to the meeting.  Please con-

tact the Director’s Office at (505) 476-8008,

or the Department’s website at

www.wildlife.state.nm.us for updated infor-

mation.

If you are an individual with a disability

who is in need of a reader, amplifier, quali-

fied sign language interpreter, or any other

form of auxiliary aid or service to attend or

participate in the hearing or meeting, please

contact Shirley Baker at (505) 476-8029.

Please contact Ms. Baker at least 3 working

days before the set meeting date.  Public

documents, including the Agenda and

Minutes can be provided in various accessi-

ble forms.  Please contact Shirley Baker if a

summary or other type of accessible form is

needed.

The Department proposes to implement

these regulations effective October 1, 2008.

A public hearing to receive testimony on

these proposed regulations will be held

August 19, 2008 at 10:00 AM.  The hearing

will be held in the Law Library at Pollon

Plaza, 2009 S. Pacheco St., Santa Fe, NM

87505.  Parking accessible to persons with

physical impairments will be available.

If you are a person with a disability and you

require this information in an alternative

format or require a special accommodation

to participate in any HSD public hearing,

program, or service, please contact the NM

Human Services Department toll free at 1

800 432-6217 or through the Relay New

Mexico system, toll free at 1 800 659-8331.

The Department requests at least ten-day

advance notice to provide requested alterna-

tive formats and special accommodations.

Interested persons may address written or

recorded comments to:

Pamela S. Hyde, J.D., Secretary

Human Services Department

P.O. Box 2348

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348

Interested parties may also address com-

ments by electronic mail to:

loretta.williams@state.nm.us These com-

ments must be received no later than 5:00

P.M., on August 19, 2008.  Written and

recorded comments will be given the same

consideration as oral comments made at the

public hearing.

Publication of these proposed regulations

approved on July 1, 2008 by:

PAMELA S. HYDE, J.D., SECRETARY
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NEW MEXICO GAME

COMMISSION

STATE GAME COMMISSION

PUBLIC MEETING

AND RULE MAKING NOTICE

On Wednesday, July 23, 2008, beginning at

9:00 a.m., at New Mexico Highlands

University, Leveo Sanchez Lecture Hall (G-

35), Thomas C. Donnelly Library-Ground

Floor, 802 National Avenue (Corner 8th &

National), Las Vegas, NM   87701, the State

Game Commission will meet in Public

Session to hear and consider action as

appropriate on the following:  Revocations

Review for 4 Individuals: Review of the

Hearing Record; Revocations; Catch-a-

Dream Non-Profit Organization;

Reservation of 2 Elk Licenses for Non-

Profit Wish-Granting Organizations;

Update on Opportunities Available Pursuant

to the Governor’s Special Events

Authorizations; Update on Progress of Big

Game Rule Development Process; General

Public Comments; Legislative Initiatives

Discussion and Approval for 2009 Session;

Budget Status, Revenue Review, and Initial

FY10 Budget Preparation Discussion;

Approach to Enhancing Public Awareness

of Department Conservation and

Management Planning Actions;

Conservation Populations; Gila River

Assessment; Closed Executive Session to

discuss litigation, personnel, acquisition or

disposal of real property or water rights, and

pursuant to Section 10-15-1(H)(1), NMSA,

1978, to discuss matters related to the deter-

mination of sending “Notice of

Commission Contemplated Action” for out-

fitter and/or guide registration to any identi-

fied individual(s) that may have violated

regulating procedures and conduct as per

19.30.8, and 19.31.2, NMAC; Notice of

Commission Contemplated Action; and

Land Conservation Opportunities through

State Wildlife Grant Partnerships.

The following rules will be opened for pub-

lic comment and consideration for adoption

by the Commission:

NEW MEXICO HUMAN

SERVICES DEPARTMENT
INCOME SUPPORT DIVISION

Notice of Public Hearing

This Human Services Register requests

public comments on the annual LIHEAP

State Plan.  Each year, the LIHEAP State

Plan is submitted to the Federal administer-

ing agency, the Department of Health and

Human Services (DHHS).  The LIHEAP

State Plan will be amended to reflect the

administration of the LIHEAP program in

Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2009 and to

make required adjustments to the LIHEAP

Federal poverty guidelines (FPG) as

required by federal statute.

The Department proposes to administer the

LIHEAP program in FFY 2009 using the

most recently issued FPG.  No other

changes are proposed for FFY 2009.  The

current LIHEAP State Plan can be viewed

on the HSD website at

http://www.hsd.state.nm.us/isd/ISDPlans.ht

ml.

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC

EDUCATION

DEPARTMENT

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC EDUCATION

DEPARTMENT

The Public Education Department

(“Department”) hereby gives notice that the

Department will conduct a public hearing at

Mabry Hall, Jerry Apodaca Education

Building, 300 Don Gaspar, Santa Fe, New

Mexico, 87501-2786, on Monday, August

18, 2008 from 9:00 A.M. until 11:00 A.M.

The purpose of the public hearing will be to

obtain input on the following rule:



Interested individuals may testify at the public hearing or submit written comments to

Charter Schools Division, Public Education Department, 5600 Eagle Rock Ave. N.E.,

Albuquerque, N.M., 87113, Tel.: (505) 222-4762; Fax: (505) 222-4769

(don.duran@state.nm.us)  Written comments must be received no later than 5 p.m. on

August 18, 2008.  However, the submission of written comments as soon as possible is

encouraged.  Written comments shall suggest specific reasons for any suggested amend-

ments or comments and include any proposed amendatory language.

Copies of the proposed rules may be accessed on the Department’s website

(http://ped.state.nm.us/) or obtained from Michael C de Baca, Administrative Assistant,

Charter Schools Division, Public Education Department, 5600 Eagle Rock Ave. N.E.,

Albuquerque, N.M., 87113, and Tel.: (505) 222-4762 michael.cdebaca@state.nm.us.  The

proposed rule will be made available at least thirty days prior to the hearings.

Individuals with disabilities who require this information in an alternative format or need

any form of auxiliary aid to attend or participate in this meeting are asked to contact Mr. C

de Baca, as soon as possible.  The Department requests at least ten (10) days advance notice

to provide requested special accommodations.

respond to a call for service.”  Thus the pro-

posed changes to the introductory sentence

would (a) strike the requirement of develop-

ing mutual aid plans with “all” appropriate

entities (while leaving in the basic require-

ment that ambulance services develop

mutual aid plans); and (b) delete the state-

ment that mutual aid plans must cover situ-

ations in which an ambulance service can-

not respond to a call in the event of a “dis-

aster or emergency,” substituting a more

general provision that such plans must

cover situations in which an ambulance

service cannot respond to a call for service.

2. Paragraph 18.3.14.9.A

NMAC now reads: “Mutual aid may be pro-

vided . . . in an emergency or disaster situa-

tion when requested by state or local author-

ities.”  It would be changed to: “Mutual aid

may be provided . . .  in a mass casualty or

disaster situation when requested by state or

local authorities.”  This proposed amend-

ment would narrow the type of situation

addressed in this particular paragraph in

which mutual aid may be provided at the

request of state or local authorities from

“emergency” or disaster situations to “mass

casualty” or disaster situations.

3. Paragraph 18.3.14.9.D

NMAC now reads:  “Mutual aid may be

provided . . . when requested by an official

of a political subdivision of the state.”  It

would be changed to:  “Mutual aid may be

provided . . . when requested by an execu-

tive official or a political subdivision of the

state.”  This change would limit the types of

local officials who may call for mutual aid

under this paragraph to high level officials.

4. A new Paragraph

18.3.14.9.E NMAC would be added stating,

“Mutual aid may be provided: . . . in a non-

emergency, when the responsible local

provider’s resources are exhausted, pur-

suant to arrangements made by the respon-

sible local provider for, and its coordination

of, such necessary mutual aid.” This change

would expand mutual aid provided for in

the rule to include non-emergency situa-

tions when the responsible provider is

unable to meet the need, but assures that

such non-emergency mutual aid will be pro-

vided only under the control of the respon-

sible local provider.

In order to achieve consistency

with the proposed amendment adding new

Paragraph 18.3.14.9.E NMAC (relating to

the provision of mutual aid in non-emer-

gency situations when the responsible local

provider’s resources are exhausted), the

Commission also proposes to amend the

definition of “mutual aid” in 18.3.14.7.K

NMAC.  Currently, the term “mutual aid” is

defined as, “a written agreement between
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Rule Number  Rule Name Proposed 

Action 

6.22.3 NMAC  CHARTER SCHOOL 

STIMULUS FUND  

NEW RULE 

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION
TRANSPORTATION DIVISION

BEFORE THE NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION

IN THE MATTER OF THE ADOPTION )

OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO )

THE COMMISSION’S AMBULANCE )

SERVICES RULES, )

) Case 08-00016-TRP

TRANSPORTATION DIVISION STAFF OF )

THE PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION, )

Petitioner. )

)

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

NOTICE is hereby given that the New Mexico Public Regulation Commission

(the “Commission”) is commencing a rulemaking proceeding for the purpose of addressing

proposed amendments to NMPRC Rule 18.3.14.9 NMAC governing mutual aid ambulance

services (“Mutual Aid Rule”) and a conforming amendment to Rule 18.3.14.7, Definitions.

The proposed rule amendments would be promulgated under authority granted to the

Commission by the New Mexico Constitution, Article XI, Section 2 (1996), and by the

Legislature pursuant to NMSA 1978 Sections 8-8-4, 8-8-15, and 65-2A-4.  The proposed

amendments are Attachment A to this Notice.

On January 17, 2008, the Commission’s Transportation Division Staff (“Staff”)

filed a Motion to Initiate Rulemaking.  Staff requested the Commission to commence a rule-

making proceeding to amend the Commission’s Mutual Aid Rule, 18.3.14.9 NMAC.  In its

Motion, Staff stated that its proposed amendments were reviewed and approved by the

Commission’s Ambulance Advisory Committee.  At its regular open meetings of June 5 and

June 19, 2008, the Commission considered the amendments to the Mutual Aid Rule that

Staff had proposed and made certain changes to Staff’s proposed amendments.

The changes to the Mutual Aid Rule, 18.3.14.9, that the Commission now pro-

poses are as follows:

1. The introductory sentence of 18.3.14.9 NMAC now reads: “Ambulance

services shall develop mutual aid plans with all appropriate entities that may be implement-

ed anytime an ambulance service cannot respond to a call or if a disaster or emergency

occurs.” It would be changed to read: “Ambulance services shall develop mutual aid plans

with appropriate entities that may be implemented any time an ambulance service cannot



one municipality, county or emergency

medical service and other municipalities,

counties or emergency medical services for

the purpose of ensuring that adequate emer-

gency medical services exist throughout the

state.”  The Commission proposes amend-

ing the definition to read: “a written agree-

ment between one municipality, county or

emergency medical service and other

municipalities, counties or emergency med-

ical services for the purpose of ensuring that

adequate emergency medical services, and

non-emergency medical transportation

services when local resources are exhaust-

ed, exist throughout the state.” This amend-

ment involves expanding the stated purpos-

es of mutual aid to include the provision of

mutual aid in non-emergency situations

when the local provider’s resources are

exhausted, in conformance with the amend-

ment adding proposed Paragraph

18.3.14.9.E.

Any person wishing to comment

on the proposed amendments may do so by

submitting written comments to the

Commission no later than August 1, 2008.

Any person wishing to respond to com-

ments may do so by submitting written

response comments no later than August 15,

2008.  Comments suggesting changes to the

rule amendments as proposed shall state and

discuss the particular reasons for the sug-

gested changes and shall include all specif-

ic language necessary or appropriate to

effectuate the changes being suggested.

Specific proposed language changes to the

draft rule should be provided in legislative

format.

All pleadings, including com-

ments, shall bear the caption and case num-

ber set forth at the top of this notice.

Additional copies of the proposed amend-

ments to Rule 18.3.3 NMAC can be

obtained from, and comments on the pro-

posed rule, shall be sent to:

Docketing Office

NMPRC-Transportation Division

PERA Bldg. Room 406

1120 Paseo de Peralta  87501

PO Box 1269

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-1269

Telephone: (505) 827-4526

A public hearing will begin at

2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 in

the Fourth Floor Hearing Room, PERA

Bldg, 1120 Paseo del Peralta, Santa Fe,

New Mexico to receive oral comment and

to clarify or supplement the written com-

ments.  No testimony or other evidence will

be taken at the hearing as this is a rulemak-

ing proceeding.

Pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section

8-8-15.B, this notice, including Attachment

A shall be mailed at least 30 days prior to

the hearing to all persons who have made a

written request for advance notice.  Also

pursuant to Section 8-8-15.B, this notice

shall be published (without Attachment A)

in at least two newspapers of general circu-

lation in the state and in the New Mexico
Register at least 30 days prior to the hearing

date.  This Notice also should be posted on

the Commission’s website.

Copies of any Final Order in this

case, along with any amended rule adopted

by the Commission in this case, will be sent

to all affected certificated ambulance serv-

ice providers, the PRC’s Ambulance

Advisory Committee and other interested

persons.

ISSUED under the Seal of the

Commission at Santa Fe, New Mexico,

this 19th day of June, 2008.

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULA-

TION COMMISSION

______________________________

JASON A. MARKS, CHAIRMAN

______________________________

SANDY JONES, VICE CHAIRMAN

______________________________

DAVID W. KING, COMMISSIONER

______________________________

BEN R. LUJAN, COMMISSIONER

______________________________

CAROL K. SLOAN, COMMISSIONER

Albuquerque, New Mexico 87113, (505)

222-0700.  Interested persons may submit

their views on the proposed rules to the

commission at the above address and/or

may appear at the scheduled meeting and

make a brief verbal presentation of their

view.

Anyone who requires special

accommodations is requested to notify the

commission of such needs at least five days

prior to the meeting.

______________________

Julian Luna

Agency Director

Dated:  July 1, 2008
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NEW MEXICO RACING

COMMISSION

NEW MEXICO RACING

COMMISSION

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING AND

PUBLIC HEARING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN

that a rulemaking and public hearing will be

held at the Racehorse Hall of  Fame at

Ruidoso Downs Racetrack and Casino,

1461 Highway 70 West, Ruidoso Downs,

New Mexico. The public session will begin

at 9:30 o’clock a.m. on Wednesday, July 16,

2008.  The Commission will consider adop-

tion of the proposed amended rule for incor-

poration into the Rules Governing Horse

Racing in New Mexico No. 16.47.1.8(C)

(regarding age requirement), No.

16.47.1.11(7)  (regarding authorized agent’s

age requirement), No. 16.47.1.13(C)

(regarding jockey agent age requirement)

and 15.2.6.9 (regarding medications and

prohibited substances).

Copies of the proposed rules may

be obtained from Julian Luna, Agency

Director, New Mexico Racing Commission,

4900 Alameda Blvd NE, Suite A,

NEW MEXICO

REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
PRIVATE INVESTIGATIONS

ADVISORY BOARD

The New Mexico Private Investigations

Advisory Board will hold a Rule Hearing on

August 20, 2008 and will convene at 10:00

a.m. Following the rule Hearing the New

Mexico Private Investigations Advisory

Board will convene a regular board meeting

to adopt the rules and take care of regular

business. The meetings will be held at the

Regulation and Licensing Department,

2550 Cerrillos Road, 2nd floor Rio Grande

room Santa Fe, NM.

If you would like a copy of the proposed

rules you may access the website at

www.rld.state.nm.us after May 5, 2008 to

get a draft copy.  In order for Board mem-

bers to review the comments in their meet-

ing packets prior to the meeting, public

comments must be received in writing no

later than July 25, 2008. Persons wishing to

present their comments at the hearing will

need to bring (10) copies of any comments

or proposed changes for distribution to the

Board and staff.

If you have questions, or if you are an indi-

vidual with a disability who wishes to

attend the hearing or meeting, but you need

a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language

interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary

aid or service to participate, please call the

Board office at (505) 476-4909 at least two

weeks prior to the meeting or as soon as

possible.

End of Notices and 

Proposed Rules Section



NEW MEXICO

ENVIRONMENTAL

IMPROVEMENT BOARD

20.2.7 NMAC, Air Quality (Statewide) -

Excess Emissions During Malfunction,

Startup, Shutdown, or Scheduled

Maintenance (filed 10/16/2002) repealed

08/01/08.

[20.2.7.6 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.6 NMAC,

08/01/08]

20.2.7.7 DEFINITIONS. In

addition to the terms defined in 20.2.2

NMAC (Definitions), as used in this part,

the following definitions apply.

A. “Air pollution control

equipment” means any apparatus, includ-

ing acid plants, afterburners, baghouses,

cyclones, electrostatic precipitators, flares,

incinerators, and particulate or gaseous

scrubbers, utilized to control the emission

of a regulated air contaminant, including a

fugitive emission.

B. “Air quality regula-

tion or permit condition” means any regu-

lation adopted by the board, including a fed-

eral new source performance standard

adopted by reference, or any condition of an

air quality permit issued by the department.

National emission standards for hazardous

air pollutants and maximum achievable

control technology standards are not includ-

ed in this definition.

C. “Bypass” means the

diversion of a regulated air contaminant

around air pollution control equipment or

process equipment.

D. “Excess emission”

means the emission of an air contaminant,

including a fugitive emission, in excess of

the quantity, rate, opacity or concentration

specified by an air quality regulation or per-

mit condition.

E. “Malfunction” means

any sudden and unavoidable failure of air

pollution control equipment or process

equipment beyond the control of the owner

or operator, including malfunction during

startup or shutdown.  A failure that is caused

entirely or in part by poor maintenance,

careless operation, or any other preventable

equipment breakdown shall not be consid-

ered a malfunction.

F. “Part” means an air

quality regulation under Title 20, Chapter 2

of the New Mexico Administrative Code.

G. “Regular business

day” means any day on which state govern-

ment offices are open for normal business.

Saturdays, Sundays, and official federal and

state holidays are not regular business days.

H. “Shutdown” means the

cessation of operation of any air pollution

control equipment or process equipment.

I. “Startup” means the

setting into operation of any air pollution

control equipment or process equipment.

[20.2.7.7 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.7 NMAC,

08/01/08]

20.2.7.8 AMENDMENT OR

SUPERSESSION OF PRIOR REGULA-

TIONS.  This part supersedes New Mexico

Administrative Code (“NMAC”) 20.2.7 —

Excess Emissions During Malfunction,

Startup, Shutdown, or Scheduled

Maintenance last filed October 30, 1995.

[20.2.7.8 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.8 NMAC,

08/01/08]

20.2.7.9 DOCUMENTS. No

documents are cited in this part.

[20.2.7.9 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.10 SEVERABILITY.  If

any provision of this part, or the application

of such provision to any person or circum-

stance, is held invalid, the remainder of this

part, or the application of such provision to

any person or circumstance other than those

as to which it is held invalid, shall not be

affected thereby.

[20.2.7.10 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.11 CONSTRUCTION.

This part shall be liberally construed to

carry out its purpose.

[20.2.7.11 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.12 SAVINGS CLAUSE.

Repeal or supersession of a prior version of

this part shall not affect any administrative

or judicial action initiated under that prior

version.

[20.2.7.12 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.13 C O M P L I A N C E

WITH OTHER REGULATIONS.

Compliance with this part does not relieve a

person from the responsibility to comply

with any other applicable federal, state, or

local statute or regulation.

[20.2.7.13 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.14 REQUIREMENTS

REGARDING ROUTINE OR PRE-

DICTABLE EMISSIONS DURING

STARTUP, SHUTDOWN, AND MAIN-

TENANCE.

A. The owner or operator

of a source subject to a permit or to the noti-

fication requirement under section 15 of this

part, shall establish and implement a plan to

minimize emissions during routine or pre-

dictable startup, shutdown, and scheduled

maintenance through work practice stan-

dards and good air pollution control prac-

tices.  This requirement shall not apply to

any affected facility defined in and subject

to an emissions standard and an equivalent

plan under 40 CFR Part 60 (NSPS), 40 CFR

Part 63 (MACT), or an equivalent plan

under 20.2.72 NMAC - Construction

Permits, 20.2.70 NMAC - Operating

Permits, 20.2.74 NMAC - Permits -

Prevention of Significant Deterioration
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Adopted Rules

NEW MEXICO

ENVIRONMENTAL

IMPROVEMENT BOARD

TITLE 20 ENVIRONMENTAL

PROTECTION

CHAPTER 2 AIR QUALITY

(STATEWIDE)

PART 7 EXCESS EMIS-

SIONS

20.2.7.1 ISSUING AGENCY.

Environmental Improvement Board.

[20.2.7.1 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.1 NMAC,

08/01/08]

20.2.7.2 SCOPE. All geograph-

ic areas within the jurisdiction of the envi-

ronmental improvement board.

[20.2.7.2 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.2 NMAC,

08/01/08]

20.2.7.3 S T A T U T O R Y

AUTHORITY. Environmental

Improvement Act, NMSA 1978, section 74-

1-8(A)(4) and (7), and Air Quality Control

Act, NMSA 1978, sections 74-2-1 et seq.,

including specifically, section 74-2-5(A),

(B) and (C).

[20.2.7.3 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.3 NMAC,

08/01/08]

20.2.7.4 D U R A T I O N .

Permanent.

[20.2.7.4 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.4 NMAC,

08/01/08]

20.2.7.5 EFFECTIVE DATE.

08/01/08, unless a later date is cited at the

end of a section.

[20.2.7.5 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.5 NMAC,

08/01/08]

20.2.7.6 OBJECTIVE.

A. Establish requirements

for a source whose operation results in an

excess emission.

B. Establish criteria for a

source whose operation results in an excess

emission to claim an affirmative defense in

an administrative or judicial enforcement

action from a civil penalty.



(PSD), or 20.2.79 NMAC - Permits -

Nonattainment Areas.

B. The owner or operator

shall maintain the plan at the location

authorized by the permit, at the facility, or at

the nearest occupied facility, and provide

the plan to the department upon written

request.

C. This requirement shall

become effective 180 days after the effec-

tive date of this part.

[20.2.7.14 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.14 NMAC,

08/01/08]

20.2.7.15 TEMPORARY PRO-

VISIONS FOR ROUTINE OR PRE-

DICTABLE EMISSIONS DURING

STARTUP, SHUTDOWN, AND SCHED-

ULED MAINTENANCE.

A. If the inclusion of emis-

sions during routine or predictable startup,

shutdown, or scheduled maintenance in

addition to the potential emission rate or

potential to emit of a source could exceed

an applicable emissions limitation, or would

cause the source to exceed an applicability

threshold in 20.2.72 NMAC - Construction

Permits, 20.2.70 NMAC - Operating

Permits, 20.2.74 NMAC - Permits -

Prevention of Significant Deterioration

(PSD), or 20.2.79 NMAC - Permits -

Nonattainment Areas, the owner or operator

shall notify the department in writing no

later than 180 days after the effective date

of this part.  The notice shall include a pre-

liminary estimate of emissions by pollutant

to the extent practicable and identify the

nature of permitting action likely to be

required.

B. The owner or operator

shall submit the necessary permit applica-

tion no later than 120 days after receiving a

request from the department.

C. If a timely notice is

submitted under Subsection A of 20.2.7.15

NMAC for any excess emission during rou-

tine or predictable startup, shutdown, or

scheduled maintenance, the owner or oper-

ator shall comply only with Paragraph (2) of

Subsection A of 20.2.7.110 NMAC - Final

Report, until the permit is issued or denied.

D. At the request of the

department, the owner or operator of a

source that does not submit a notification

under Subsection A of 20.2.7.15 NMAC

shall submit the basis for its determination

and supporting analysis.

[20.2.7.15 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.16 to 20.2.7.107

[RESERVED]

20.2.7.108 APPLICABILITY.

A. Any source:

(1) whose operation results in an

emission of an air contaminant, including a

fugitive emission, in excess of the quantity,

rate, opacity or concentration specified by

an air quality regulation or permit condi-

tion; or

(2) subject to the requirements of

20.2.73 NMAC - Notices of Intent and

Emissions Inventory Requirements, 20.2.72

NMAC - Construction Permits, 20.2.70

NMAC - Operating Permits, 20.2.74 -

Permits - Prevention of Significant

Deterioration (PSD), or 20.2.79 - Permits -

Nonattainment Areas.

B. Deviations under

20.2.70 NMAC - Operating Permits that do

not result in excess emissions are not sub-

ject to the provisions of 20.2.7 NMAC.

C. This part does not cre-

ate a separate cause of action for failure to

obtain a permit under 20.2.72 NMAC -

Construction Permits, 20.2.70 NMAC -

Operating Permits, 20.2.74 - Permits -

Prevention of Significant Deterioration

(PSD), or 20.2.79 - Permits - Nonattainment

Areas.

[20.2.7.108 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.109 O P E R A T I O N

RESULTING IN AN EXCESS EMIS-

SIONS.  The emission of an air contami-

nant in excess of the quantity, rate, opacity,

or concentration specified in an air quality

regulation or permit condition that results in

an excess emission is a violation of the air

quality regulation or permit condition and

may be subject to an enforcement action.

The owner or operator of a source having an

excess emission shall, to the extent practi-

cable, operate the source, including associ-

ated air pollution control equipment, in a

manner consistent with good air pollution

control practices for minimizing emissions.

[20.2.7.109 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.109

NMAC, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.110 NOTIFICATION.

A. The owner or operator

of a source having an excess emission shall

report the following information to the

department on forms provided by the

department. The department may authorize

the submittal of such reports in electronic

format.

(1) Initial report:  the owner or

operator shall file an initial report, no later

than the end of the next regular business day

after the time of discovery of an excess

emission that includes all available infor-

mation for each item in Subsection B of

20.2.7.110 NMAC.  

(2) Final report:  the owner or

operator shall file a final report that contains

specific and detailed information for each

item in Subsection B of 20.2.7.110 NMAC,

no later than ten (10) days after the end of

the excess emission.

B. The report shall include

the following information.

(1) The name of the source.

(2) The name of the owner and

operator of the source.

(3) The name and title of the per-

son preparing the report.

(4) Identifying information such

as permit and database numbers.

(5) The specific date(s) and

time(s) the excess emission occurred.

(6) Identification of the equip-

ment involved and the emission point(s)

(including bypass) from which the excess

emission occurred.

(7) The air quality regulation or

permit condition that was exceeded.

(8) Identification of the air con-

taminant(s) and the magnitude of the excess

emission expressed in the units of the air

quality regulation or permit condition.

(9) The method for determining

the magnitude and duration of the excess

emission.

(10) The cause and nature of the

excess emission.

(11) The steps taken to limit the

duration and magnitude of the excess emis-

sion.

(12) The corrective action(s)

taken to eliminate the cause of the excess

emission. If one or more corrective actions

are required, the report shall include a

schedule for implementation of those

actions, with associated progress reports.  If

no corrective actions are required, the report

shall include a detailed explanation for that

conclusion.

(13) The corrective action(s)

taken to prevent a recurrence of the excess

emission.

(14) Whether the owner or opera-

tor attributes the excess emission to mal-

function, startup or shutdown.

(15) Whether the owner or opera-

tor will claim an affirmative defense under

Sections 111, 112, or 113 of 20.2.7 NMAC.

If claiming an affirmative defense, an analy-

sis with and the supporting evidence for

each criterion shall be submitted no later

than thirty (30) days after submittal of the

final report required by this subsection

(Subsection B of 20.2.7.110 NMAC).  Upon

the department’s receipt of a written request

by the owner or operator no later than thirty

(30) days after submittal of the final report,

the department may grant an extension to

complete the analysis not to exceed thirty

(30) additional days.

(16) The contents of the final

report shall contain a signed certification of

truth, accuracy, and completeness.  This cer-

tification shall be signed by the person who

is reporting the excess emission.

C. The department may

request that the owner or operator of a

source provide additional information.  This

information shall be reported within a time

period specified by the department.

D. If the period of an
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excess emission extends beyond the dead-

line specified in Paragraph (2) of

Subsection A of 20.2.7.110 NMAC, the

owner or operator shall notify the depart-

ment in writing within seventy-two (72)

hours of the date and time when the excess

emission ceased.  This notification shall

include all items required in Subsection B

of 20.2.7.110 NMAC.

[20.2.7.110 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.110

NMAC, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.111 A F F I R M A T I V E

DEFENSE FOR AN EXCESS EMIS-

SION DURING MALFUNCTION.

A. The owner or operator

of a source subject to this part may claim an

affirmative defense for an excess emission

during malfunction for a civil penalty in an

administrative or judicial enforcement

action, except for an action to enforce a fed-

eral new source performance standard.

There shall be no affirmative defense for an

excess emission during malfunction for the

owner or operator’s liability or the depart-

ment’s claim for injunctive relief for the

excess emission.  The owner or operator

claiming an affirmative defense for an

excess emission during   malfunction shall

bear the burden of proof to demonstrate the

following criteria.

(1) The excess emission was

caused by a malfunction.

(2) The excess emission:

(a) did not stem from any activity

or event that could have been foreseen and

avoided, or planned for; and

(b) could not have been avoided

by better operation and maintenance prac-

tices.

(3) To the maximum extent prac-

ticable the air pollution control equipment

or processes were maintained and operated

in a manner consistent with good practice

for minimizing emissions.

(4) Repairs were made in an expe-

ditious fashion when the operator knew or

should have known that applicable emission

limitations were being exceeded.  Off-shift

labor and overtime must have been utilized,

to the extent practicable, to ensure that such

repairs were made as expeditiously as prac-

ticable.

(5) The amount and duration of

the excess emission (including any bypass)

were minimized to the maximum extent

practicable during periods of such emis-

sions.

(6) All possible steps were taken

to minimize the impact of the excess emis-

sion on ambient air quality.

(7) All emission monitoring sys-

tems were kept in operation if at all possi-

ble.

(8) The excess emission was not

part of a recurring pattern indicative of

inadequate design, operation, or mainte-

nance.

(9) The owner or operator com-

plied with the notification requirements in

Section 110 of 20.2.7 NMAC.

(10) The owner or operator’s

actions in response to the excess emission

were documented by properly signed, con-

temporaneous operating logs, or other rele-

vant evidence.

B. The department may

request that the owner or operator of a

source provide additional information

beyond what is required in this section

(20.2.7.111 NMAC).  This additional infor-

mation shall be reported within the time

period specified by the department.

[20.2.7.111 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.112 A F F I R M A T I V E

DEFENSE FOR AN EXCESS EMIS-

SION DURING STARTUP OR SHUT-

DOWN.

A. The owner or operator

of a source subject to this part may claim an

affirmative defense for an excess emission

during startup or shutdown for a civil penal-

ty in an administrative or judicial enforce-

ment action, except for an action to enforce

a federal new source performance standard.

There shall be no affirmative defense for an

excess emission during startup or shutdown

for the owner or operator’s liability or the

department’s claim for injunctive relief for

the excess emission.  The owner or operator

claiming an affirmative defense for an

excess emission during startup or shutdown

shall bear the burden of proof to demon-

strate the following criteria.

(1) The excess emission occurred

during a startup or shutdown.

(2) The duration of the excess

emission that occurred during startup and

shutdown was short and could not have

been prevented through careful planning

and design.

(3) The excess emission was not

part of a recurring pattern indicative of

inadequate design, operation, or mainte-

nance.

(4) If the excess emission was

caused by a bypass (an intentional diversion

of control equipment), then the bypass was

unavoidable to prevent loss of life, personal

injury, or severe property damage.

(5) At all times, the source was

operated in a manner consistent with good

practices for minimizing emissions.

(6) The frequency and duration of

operation in startup or shutdown mode was

minimized to the maximum extent practica-

ble.

(7) All possible steps were taken

to minimize the impact of the excess emis-

sion on ambient air quality.

(8) All emissions monitoring sys-

tems were kept in operation if at all possi-

ble.

(9) The owner or operator com-

plied with the notification requirements in

Section 110 of 20.2.7 NMAC.

(10) The owner or operator’s

actions during the period of the excess

emission were documented by properly

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or

other relevant evidence.

B. The department may

request that the owner or operator of a

source provide additional information

beyond what is required in this section

(20.2.7.112 NMAC).  This additional infor-

mation shall be reported within the time

period specified by the department.

C. An excess emission due

to malfunction during a period of startup or

shutdown which is authorized by permit

shall be treated as a malfunction under

20.2.7.111 NMAC.

[20.2.7.112 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.112

NMAC, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.113 A F F I R M A T I V E

DEFENSE FOR AN EMERGENCY.

A. An “emergency” means

any situation arising from sudden and rea-

sonably unforeseeable events beyond the

control of the permittee, including acts of

God, which situation requires immediate

corrective action to restore normal opera-

tion, and that causes the source to exceed a

technology-based emission limitation due

to unavoidable increases in emissions

attributable to the emergency.  An emer-

gency shall not include noncompliance to

the extent caused by improperly designed

equipment, lack of preventive maintenance,

or careless or improper operation.

B. An emergency consti-

tutes an affirmative defense to an action

brought for noncompliance with the tech-

nology-based emission limitation if the

owner or operator of the source demon-

strates through properly signed, contempo-

raneous operating logs, or other relevant

evidence that:

(1) an emergency occurred and

that the owner or operator can identify the

cause(s) of the emergency;

(2) the source was at the time

being properly operated;

(3) during the period of the emer-

gency the owner or operator took all rea-

sonable steps to minimize levels of emis-

sions that exceeded the technology-based

emission limitation; and

(4) the owner or operator fulfilled

the notification requirements under

Subsection A of 20.2.7.110 NMAC, includ-

ing a description of the emergency, any

steps taken to mitigate emissions, and cor-

rective actions taken.

C. In any enforcement
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proceeding, the owner or operator seeking

to establish the occurrence of an emergency

has the burden of proof.

D. The department may

request that the owner or operator of a

source provide additional information

beyond what is required in this section

(20.2.7.113 NMAC).  This additional infor-

mation shall be reported within the time

period specified by the department.

[20.2.7.113 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.114 ROOT CAUSE AND

CORRECTIVE ACTION ANALYSIS.

A. The owner or operator

of a source having an excess emission, upon

written request of the department, shall pre-

pare an analysis that uses appropriate ana-

lytical tools and contains the following

information.

(1) an analysis describing the root

cause and all contributing causes of the

excess emission;

(2) an analysis of the corrective

actions implemented or available to reduce

the likelihood of a recurrence of the excess

emission resulting from the causes identi-

fied under Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of

20.2.7.114 NMAC, including, as applica-

ble:

(a) identification of implemented

or available corrective action alternatives,

such as changes in design, operation and

maintenance;

(b) the estimated cost associated

with each corrective action alternative;

(c) the probable effectiveness of

each corrective action alternative;

(d) if no corrective action alterna-

tives are available, a clear explanation pro-

viding an adequate justification for that con-

clusion; and

(e) if one or more corrective

actions are identified, a schedule for imple-

mentation and progress reports.

B. The department shall

make the request no later than ninety (90)

days after receipt of the final report under

Subsection A of 20.2.7.110 NMAC.

C. The department may

request the analysis specified in Subsection

A of 20.2.7.114 NMAC after considering

relevant factors.  Examples of such relevant

factors may include but are not limited to

the significance of the excess emission, the

nature or pattern of excess emissions, or the

history of the source, as well as other factors

determined to be relevant by the depart-

ment.

D. The completed analysis

shall be submitted to the department no later

than sixty (60) days after the request for

submittal pursuant to Subsection A of

20.2.7.114 NMAC.  The department may

grant an extension to submit the analysis for

good cause shown.

E. The owner or operator

of a source complying with this section may

assert a claim for confidential information

protection pursuant to 20.2.1.115 NMAC.

[20.2.7.114 NMAC - N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.115 REVIEW OF THE

DEPARTMENT’S DETERMINATIONS

UNDER SECTIONS 111, 112, AND 113.

The department may issue a determination

regarding an owner or operator’s assertion

of the affirmative defense under Section

111, 112, or 113 of 20.2.7 NMAC on the

basis of any relevant information, including

but not limited to information submitted

pursuant to this part or obtained through an

inspection.  Any such determination is not a

final action and is not reviewable, shall not

be a prerequisite to the commencement of

an administrative or judicial enforcement

action, does not constitute a waiver of lia-

bility pursuant to Section 116 of 20.2.7

NMAC, and shall not preclude an enforce-

ment action by the federal government or a

citizen pursuant to the federal Clean Air

Act.  A source may not assert an affirmative

defense under Section 111, 112, or 113 of

20.2.7 NMAC in an administrative or judi-

cial enforcement action unless it asserted

such defense pursuant to Subsection B of

20.2.7.110 NMAC.

[20.2.7.115 NMAC - Rp, N, 08/01/08]

20.2.7.116 FUTURE ENFORCE-

MENT ACTION. The department may

commence an administrative or judicial

enforcement action against the owner or

operator of a source for an excess emission

for which it has made a determination pur-

suant to Section 115 of 20.2.7 NMAC if the

department determines that the excess emis-

sion is related to a pattern of excess emis-

sion events, poor maintenance, careless or

marginal operation, or other appropriate

reason.

[20.2.7.116 NMAC - Rp, 20.2.7.116

NMAC, 08/01/08]

HISTORY OF 20.2.7 NMAC:

Pre- NMAC History: The material in this

part was derived from that previously filed

with the commission of public records -

state records center and archives.

HSSD 70-1, Ambient Air Quality Standards

And Air Quality Control Regulations,

01/27/70.

ACQR 801, Air Quality Control Regulation

801 - Excess Emissions During

Malfunction, Startup, Shutdown, or

Scheduled Maintenance, 04/29/81.

History of Repealed Material: 20.2.7

NMAC, Excess Emissions during

Malfunction, Startup, Shutdown, or

Scheduled Maintenance (filed 10/16/02)

repealed 08/01/08/

Other History:

ACQR 801, Air Quality Control Regulation

801 - Excess Emissions During

Malfunction, Startup, Shutdown, or

Scheduled Maintenance, filed 04/29/81was

renumbered into first version of the New

Mexico Administrative Code as 20 NMAC

2.7, Air Quality  (Statewide) - Excess

Emissions During Malfunction, Startup,

Shutdown, or Scheduled Maintenance, filed

10/30/95.

20 NMAC 2.7, Air Quality  (Statewide) -

Excess Emissions During Malfunction,

Startup, Shutdown, or Scheduled

Maintenance, filed 10/30/95 was renum-

bered, reformatted and replaced by 20.2.7

NMAC, Excess Emissions During

Malfunction, Startup, Shutdown, or

Scheduled Maintenance, effective 10/31/02.

Excess Emissions during Malfunction,

Startup, Shutdown, or Scheduled

Maintenance (filed 10/16/02) was replaced

by 20.2.7 NMAC, Excess Emissions, effec-

tive 08/01/08.
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NEW MEXICO

ENVIRONMENTAL

IMPROVEMENT BOARD

This is an amendment to 20.2.70

NMAC, Sections 302, 304, and 403 effec-

tive 8/01/08.

20.2.70.302 PERMIT CONTENT:

A. Permit conditions.

(1) The department shall specify

conditions upon a permit, including emis-

sion limitations and sufficient operational

requirements and limitations, to assure

compliance with all applicable require-

ments at the time of permit issuance or as

specified in the approved schedule of com-

pliance.  The permit shall:

(a) for major sources, include all

applicable requirements for all relevant

emissions units in the major source;

(b) for any non-major source sub-

ject to 20.2.70.200 NMAC - 20.2.70.299

NMAC, include all applicable requirements

which apply to emissions units that cause

the source to be subject to this part;

(c) specify and reference the ori-

gin of and authority for each term or condi-

tion, and identify any difference in form as

compared to the applicable requirement

upon which the term or condition is based;

(d) include a severability clause

to ensure the continued validity of the vari-

ous permit requirements in the event of a

challenge to any portions of the permit;

(e) include a provision to ensure

that the permittee pays fees to the depart-

ment consistent with the fee schedule in

20.2.71 NMAC (Operating Permit

Emission Fees); and

(f) for purposes of the permit

shield, identify any requirement specifically



identified in the permit application or sig-

nificant permit modification that the depart-

ment has determined is not applicable to the

source, and state the basis for any such

determination.

(2) Each permit issued shall, addi-

tionally, include provisions stating the fol-

lowing.

(a) The permittee shall comply

with all terms and conditions of the permit.

Any permit noncompliance is grounds for

enforcement action.  In addition, noncom-

pliance with federally enforceable permit

conditions constitutes a violation of the fed-

eral act.

(b) It shall not be a defense for a

permittee in an enforcement action that it

would have been necessary to halt or reduce

the permitted activity in order to maintain

compliance with the conditions of the per-

mit.

(c) The permit may be modified,

reopened and revised, revoked and reissued,

or terminated for cause in accordance with

20.2.70.405 NMAC.

(d) The filing of a request by the

permittee for a permit modification, revoca-

tion and reissuance, or termination, or of a

notification of planned changes or anticipat-

ed noncompliance shall not stay any permit

condition.

(e) The permit does not convey

any property rights of any sort, or any

exclusive privilege.

(f) Within the period specified by

the department, the permittee shall furnish

any information that the department may

request in writing to determine whether

cause exists for reopening and revising,

revoking and reissuing, or termination of

the permit or to determine compliance with

the permit.  Upon request, the permittee

shall also furnish to the department copies

of records required by the permit to be

maintained.

(3) The terms and conditions for

all alternative operating scenarios identified

in the application and approved by the

department:

(a) shall require that the permittee

maintain a log at the permitted facility

which documents, contemporaneously with

any change from one operating scenario to

another, the scenario under which the facil-

ity is operating; and

(b) shall, for each such alternative

scenario, meet all applicable requirements

and the requirements of this part.

(4) The department may impose

conditions regulating emissions during

startup and shutdown.

(5) All permit terms and condi-

tions which are required under the federal

act or under any of its applicable require-

ments, including any provisions designed to

limit a source’s potential to emit, are

enforceable by the administrator and citi-

zens under the federal act.  The permit shall

specifically designate as not being federally

enforceable under the federal act any terms

or conditions included in the permit that are

not required under the federal act or under

any of its applicable requirements.

(6) The issuance of a permit, or

the filing or approval of a compliance plan,

does not relieve any person from civil or

criminal liability for failure to comply with

the provisions of the Air Quality Control

Act, the federal act, federal regulations

thereunder, any applicable regulations of

the board, and any other applicable law or

regulation.

(7) The department may include

part or all of the contents of the application

as terms and conditions of the permit or per-

mit modification.  The department shall not

apply permit terms and conditions upon

emissions of regulated pollutants for which

there are no applicable requirements, unless

the source is major for that pollutant.

(8) Fugitive emissions from a

source shall be included in the operating

permit in the same manner as stack emis-

sions, regardless of whether the source cat-

egory in question is included in the list of

sources contained in the definition of major

source.

(9) The acid rain portion of oper-

ating permits for acid rain sources shall

additionally:

(a) state that, where an applicable

requirement of the federal act is more strin-

gent than an applicable requirement of reg-

ulations promulgated under Title IV of the

federal act, both provisions shall be incor-

porated into the permit and shall be enforce-

able by the administrator; and

(b) contain a permit condition

prohibiting emissions exceeding any

allowances that the acid rain source lawful-

ly holds under Title IV of the federal act or

the regulations promulgated thereunder; no

permit modification under this part shall be

required for increases in emissions that are

authorized by allowances acquired pursuant

to the acid rain program, provided that such

increases do not require a permit modifica-

tion under any other applicable require-

ment; no limit shall be placed on the num-

ber of allowances held by the acid rain

source; the permittee may not use

allowances as a defense to noncompliance

with any other applicable requirement; any

such allowance shall be accounted for

according to the procedures established in

regulations promulgated under Title IV of

the federal act.

B. Permit duration.  The

department shall issue operating permits for

a fixed term of five (5) years.

C. Monitoring.

(1) Each permit shall contain all

emissions monitoring requirements, and

analysis procedures or test methods,

required to assure and verify compliance

with the terms and conditions of the permit

and applicable requirements, including any

procedures and methods promulgated by

the administrator.

(2) Where the applicable require-

ment does not require periodic testing or

instrumental or noninstrumental monitoring

(which may consist of recordkeeping

designed to serve as monitoring), the permit

shall require periodic monitoring sufficient

to yield reliable data from the relevant time

period that are representative of the source’s

compliance with the permit, as reported

pursuant to Subsection E of 20.2.70.302

NMAC.  Such monitoring requirements

shall assure use of terms, test methods,

units, averaging periods, and other statisti-

cal conventions consistent with the applica-

ble requirement.

(3) The permit shall also contain

specific requirements concerning the use,

maintenance, and, when appropriate, instal-

lation of monitoring equipment or methods.

D. Recordkeeping.

(1) The permit shall require

recordkeeping sufficient to assure and veri-

fy compliance with the terms and conditions

of the permit, including recordkeeping of:

(a) the date, place as defined in

the permit, and time of sampling or meas-

urements;

(b) the date(s) analyses were per-

formed;

(c) the company or entity that per-

formed the analyses;

(d) the analytical techniques or

methods used;

(e) the results of such analyses;

and

(f) the operating conditions exist-

ing at the time of sampling or measurement.

(2) Records of all monitoring data

and support information shall be retained

for a period of at least five (5) years from

the date of the monitoring sample, measure-

ment, report, or application.  Supporting

information includes all calibration and

maintenance records and all original strip-

chart recordings for continuous monitoring

instrumentation, and copies of all reports

required by the permit.

E. Reporting.  The permit

shall require reporting sufficient to assure

and verify compliance with the terms and

conditions of the permit and all applicable

requirements, including all of the following.

(1) Submittal of reports of any

required monitoring at least every six (6)

months.  The reports shall be due to the

department within forty-five (45) days of

the end of the permittee’s reporting period.

All instances of deviations from permit

requirements, including emergencies, must
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be clearly identified in such reports.  All

required reports must be certified by a

responsible official consistent with

Subsection E of 20.2.70.300 NMAC.

(2) Prompt reporting of all devia-

tions [(including emergencies)] from permit

requirements, including those attributable to

upset conditions as defined in the permit,

the [date, time, duration and] probable

cause of such deviations, [the quantity and

pollutant type of excess emissions resulting

from the deviation,] and any corrective

actions or preventive measures taken.

[Such reports shall include telephone, ver-

bal or facsimile communication within

twenty-four (24) hours of the start of the

next business day and written notification

within ten (10) days]  The report shall be

contained in the report submitted in accor-

dance with the timeframe given in

Paragraph (1) of this section.

(3) Submittal of compliance certi-

fication reports at least every twelve (12)

months (or more frequently if so specified

by an applicable requirement) certifying the

source’s compliance status with terms and

conditions contained in the permit, includ-

ing emission limitations, standards, or work

practices. The reports shall be due to the

department within thirty (30) days of the

end of the permittee’s reporting period.

Such compliance certifications shall be sub-

mitted to the administrator as well as to the

department and shall include:

(a) the identification of each term

or condition of the permit that is the basis of

the certification;

(b) the compliance status of the

source;

(c) whether compliance was con-

tinuous or intermittent;

(d) the method(s) used for deter-

mining the compliance status of the source,

currently and during the reporting period

identified in the permit; and

(e) such other facts as the depart-

ment may require to determine the compli-

ance status of the source.

(4) Such additional provisions as

may be specified by the administrator to

determine the compliance status of the

source.

F. Portable and temporary

sources.  The department may issue permits

for portable and temporary sources which

allow such sources to relocate without

undergoing a permit modification.  Such

permits shall not apply to acid rain sources

and shall include conditions to assure that:

(1) the source is installed at all

locations in a manner conforming with the

permit;

(2) the source shall comply with

all applicable requirements and all other

provisions of this part at all authorized loca-

tions;

(3) the owner or operator shall

notify the department in writing at least fif-

teen (15) calendar days in advance of each

change in location;

(4) notification shall include a

legal description of where the source is to

be relocated and how long it will be located

there; and

(5) emissions from the source

shall not, at any location, result in or con-

tribute to an exceedance of a national ambi-

ent air quality standard or increment or vis-

ibility requirement under Part C of Title I of

the federal act; the department may require

dispersion modeling to assure compliance

at any location.

G. Compliance.  To assure

and verify compliance with the terms and

conditions of the permit and with this part,

permits shall also include all the following.

(1) Require that, upon presenta-

tion of credentials and other documents as

may be required by law, the permittee shall

allow authorized representatives of the

department to perform the following:

(a) enter upon the permittee’s

premises where a source is located or emis-

sion related activity is conducted, or where

records must be kept under the conditions of

the permit;

(b) have access to and copy any

records that must be kept under the condi-

tions of the permit;

(c) inspect any facilities, equip-

ment (including monitoring and air pollu-

tion control equipment), practices, or opera-

tions regulated or required under the permit;

and

(d) sample or monitor any sub-

stances or parameters for the purpose of

assuring compliance with the permit or

applicable requirements or as otherwise

authorized by the federal act.

(2) Require that sources required

under Paragraph [(12)] (11) of Subsection D

of 20.2.70.300 NMAC to have a schedule of

compliance submit progress reports to the

department at least semiannually, or more

frequently if specified in the applicable

requirement or by the department.  Such

progress reports shall be consistent with the

schedule of compliance and requirements of

Paragraph [(12)] (11) of Subsection D of

20.2.70.300 NMAC and shall contain: 

(a) dates for achieving the activi-

ties, milestones, or compliance required in

the schedule of compliance, and dates when

such activities, milestones or compliance

were achieved; and

(b) an explanation of why any

dates in the schedule of compliance were

not or will not be met, and any preventive or

corrective measures adopted.

(3) Include such other provisions

as the department may require.

H. Operational flexibility.

(1) Section 502(b)(10) changes.

(a) The permittee may make

Section 502(b)(10) changes, as defined in

20.2.70.7 NMAC, without applying for a

permit modification, if those changes are

not title I modifications and the changes do

not cause the facility to exceed the emis-

sions allowable under the permit (whether

expressed as a rate of emissions or in terms

of total emissions).

(b) For each such change, the per-

mittee shall provide written notification to

the department and the administrator at least

seven (7) days in advance of the proposed

changes.  Such notification shall include a

brief description of the change within the

permitted facility, the date on which the

change will occur, any change in emissions,

and any permit term or condition that is no

longer applicable as a result of the change.

(c) The permittee and department

shall attach each such notice to their copy of

the relevant permit.

(d) If the written notification and

the change qualify under this provision, the

permittee is not required to comply with the

permit terms and conditions it has identified

that restrict the change.  If the change does

not qualify under this provision, the original

terms of the permit remain fully enforce-

able.

(2) Emissions trading within a

facility.

(a) The department shall, if an

applicant requests it, issue permits that con-

tain terms and conditions allowing for the

trading of emissions increases and decreas-

es in the permitted facility solely for the

purpose of complying with a federally

enforceable emissions cap that is estab-

lished in the permit in addition to any appli-

cable requirements.  Such terms and condi-

tions shall include all terms and conditions

required under 20.2.70.302 NMAC to deter-

mine compliance.  If applicable require-

ments apply to the requested emissions trad-

ing, permit conditions shall be issued only

to the extent that the applicable require-

ments provide for trading such increases

and decreases without a case-by-case

approval.

(b) The applicant shall include in

the application proposed replicable proce-

dures and permit terms that ensure the emis-

sions trades are quantifiable and enforce-

able.  The department shall not include in

the emissions trading provisions any emis-

sions units for which emissions are not

quantifiable or for which there are no replic-

able procedures to enforce the emissions

trades.  The permit shall require compliance

with all applicable requirements.

(c) For each such change, the per-

mittee shall provide written notification to

the department and the administrator at least

seven (7) days in advance of the proposed

changes.  Such notification shall state when

the change will occur and shall describe the

changes in emissions that will result and
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how these increases and decreases in emis-

sions will comply with the terms and condi-

tions of the permit.

(d) The permittee and department

shall attach each such notice to their copy of

the relevant permit.

I. Off-permit changes.

(1) Permittees are allowed to

make, without a permit modification,

changes that are not addressed or prohibited

by the operating permit, if:

(a) each such change meets all

applicable requirements and shall not vio-

late any existing permit term or condition;

(b) such changes are not subject

to any requirements under Title IV of the

federal act and are not Title I modifications;

(c) such changes are not subject to

permit modification procedures under

20.2.70.404 NMAC; and

(d) the permittee provides con-

temporaneous written notice to the depart-

ment and US EPA of each such change,

except for changes that qualify as insignifi-

cant activities.  Such written notice shall

describe each such change, including the

date, any change in emissions, pollutants

emitted and any applicable requirement that

would apply as a result of the change.

(2) The permittee shall keep a

record describing changes made at the

source that result in emissions of a regulat-

ed air pollutant subject to an applicable

requirement, but not otherwise regulated

under the permit, and the emissions result-

ing from those changes.

J. Permit shield.

(1) Except as provided in this

part, the department shall expressly include

in a Part 70 (20.2.70 NMAC) permit a pro-

vision stating that compliance with the con-

ditions of the permit shall be deemed com-

pliance with any applicable requirements as

of the date of permit issuance, provided

that:

(a) such applicable requirements

are included and are specifically identified

in the permit; or

(b) the department, in acting on

the permit application or significant permit

modification, determines in writing that

other requirements specifically identified

are not applicable to the source, and the per-

mit includes the determination or a concise

summary thereof.

(2) A Part 70 (20.2.70 NMAC)

permit that does not expressly state that a

permit shield exists for a specific provision

shall be presumed not to provide such a

shield for that provision.

(3) Nothing in this section or in

any Part 70 (20.2.70 NMAC) permit shall

alter or affect the following:

(a) the provisions of Section 303

of the federal act — Emergency Powers,

including the authority of the administrator

under that section, or the provisions of the

New Mexico Air Quality Control Act,

Section 74-2-10 NMSA 1978;

(b) the liability of an owner or

operator of a source for any violation of

applicable requirements prior to or at the

time of permit issuance;

(c) the applicable requirements of

the acid rain program, consistent with

Section 408(a) of the federal act; or

(d) the ability of US EPA to

obtain information from a source pursuant

to Section 114 of the federal act, or the

department to obtain information subject to

the New Mexico Air Quality Control Act,

Section 74-2-13 NMSA 1978.

(4) The permit shield shall remain

in effect if the permit terms and conditions

are extended past the expiration date of the

permit pursuant to Subsection D of

20.2.70.400 NMAC.

(5) The permit shield shall extend

to terms and conditions that allow emission

increases and decreases as part of emissions

trading within a facility pursuant to

Paragraph (2) of Subsection H of

20.2.70.302 NMAC, and to all terms and

conditions under each operating scenario

included pursuant to Paragraph (3) of

Subsection A of 20.2.70.302 NMAC.

(6) The permit shield shall not

extend to administrative amendments under

Subsection A of 20.2.70.404 NMAC, to

minor permit modifications under

Subsection B of 20.2.70.404 NMAC, to

Section 502(b)(10) changes under

Paragraph (1) of Subsection H of

20.2.70.302 NMAC, or to permit terms or

conditions for which notice has been given

to reopen or revoke all or part under

20.2.70.405 NMAC.

[11/30/95; A, 11/14/98; 20.2.70.302 NMAC

- Rn, 20 NMAC 2.70.III.302, 06/14/02; A,

9/6/06; A, 08/01/08]

20.2.70.304 EMERGENCY PRO-

VISION:

A. An “emergency” means

any situation arising from sudden and rea-

sonably unforeseeable events beyond the

control of the permittee, including acts of

God, which situation requires immediate

corrective action to restore normal opera-

tion, and that causes the source to exceed a

technology-based emission limitation under

the permit due to unavoidable increases in

emissions attributable to the emergency.  An

emergency shall not include noncompliance

to the extent caused by improperly designed

equipment, lack of preventive maintenance,

or careless or improper operation.

B. An emergency consti-

tutes an affirmative defense to an action

brought for noncompliance with such tech-

nology-based emission limitations if the

permittee has demonstrated through proper-

ly signed, contemporaneous operating logs,

or other relevant evidence that:

(1) an emergency occurred and

that the permittee can identify the cause(s)

of the emergency;

(2) the permitted facility was at

the time being properly operated;

(3) during the period of the emer-

gency the permittee took all reasonable

steps to minimize levels of emissions that

exceeded the emission standards or other

requirements in the permit; and

(4) [The permittee fulfilled notifi-

cation requirements under Paragraph (2) of

Subsection E of 20.2.70.302 NMAC.]  the

permittee submitted notice of the emer-

gency to the department within 2 working

days of the time when emission limitations

were exceeded due to the emergency; this

notice fulfills the requirement of Paragraph

(2) of Subsection E of 20.2.70.302 NMAC;

this notice must contain a description of the

emergency, any steps taken to mitigate

emissions, and corrective actions taken.

C. In any enforcement

proceeding, the permittee seeking to estab-

lish the occurrence of an emergency has the

burden of proof.

D. This provision is in

addition to any emergency or upset provi-

sion contained in any applicable require-

ment.

[11/30/95; 20.2.70.304 NMAC - Rn, 20

NMAC 2.70.III.304, 06/14/02; A, 9/6/06;

A, 08/01/08]

20.2.70.403 PETITIONS FOR

REVIEW OF FINAL ACTION:

A. Hearing before the

board:

(1) Any person who participated

in a permitting action before the department

and who is adversely affected by such per-

mitting action may file a petition for hearing

before the board.  For the purposes of this

section, permitting action shall include the

failure of the department to take final action

on an application for a permit (including

renewal) or permit modification within the

time specified in this part.

(2) The petition shall be made in

writing to the board within thirty (30) days

from the date notice is given of the depart-

ment’s action and shall specify the portions

of the permitting action to which the peti-

tioner objects, certify that a copy of the peti-

tion has been mailed or hand-delivered as

required by this paragraph, and attach a

copy of the permitting action for which

review is sought.  Unless a timely request

for hearing is made, the decision of the

department shall be final.  The petition shall

be copied simultaneously to the department

upon receipt of the appeal notice.  If the

petitioner is not the applicant or permittee,

the petitioner shall mail or hand-deliver a
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copy of the petition to the applicant or per-

mittee.  The department shall certify the

administrative record to the board.

(3) If a timely request for hearing

is made, the board shall hold a hearing with-

in [ninety (90)] sixty (60) days of receipt of

the petition in accordance with New Mexico

Air Quality Control Act section 74-2-7

NMSA 1978.

B. Judicial review:

(1) Any person who is adversely

affected by an administrative action taken

by the board pursuant to subsection A of

20.2.70.403 NMAC may appeal to the

Court of Appeals in accordance with New

Mexico Air Quality Control Act section 74-

2-9 NMSA 1978.  Petitions for judicial

review must be filed no later than thirty (30)

days after the administrative action.

(2) The judicial review provided

for by 20.2.70.403 NMAC shall be the

exclusive means for obtaining judicial

review of the terms and conditions of the

permit.

[11/30/95; 20.2.70.403 NMAC - Rn, 20

NMAC 2.70.403 06/14/02; A, 08/01/08]

county director [or designee] to have insuf-

ficient stability and  warrants an alternative

reporting requirement; an unstable house-

hold may include but is not limited to:

(a) a household that reports an

imminent change in residence to another

state;

[(b) a household that reports

income insufficient to meet ongoing debt

obligations.

(c)] (b) a household that is

assigned to an alternative reporting require-

ment because of instability, shall be certi-

fied for no longer than three months.

B. Certification period:

A household assigned to semiannual report-

ing:

(1) shall be assigned a 12-month

certification period; and

(2) shall remain subject to semi-

annual reporting for the assigned certifica-

tion period.

C. Transition to semian-

nual reporting: A household assigned to

quarterly reporting shall be transitioned to

semiannual reporting in the following man-

ner.

(1) A household whose first quar-

terly report is due in January, February or

March 2004 shall not be required to file a

quarterly report form, but shall be required

to file a semiannual report form in April,

May, and June 2004, respectively.

(2) A household whose second

quarterly report is due in January, February,

or March 2004 shall be required to file a

semiannual report form in January,

February, or March 2004, respectively.

(3) A household that has its third

quarterly report due in January, February, or

March 2004 shall not be required to submit

a quarterly reporting or semiannual report-

ing form.  The household shall be required

to file an application for recertification at

the end of the certification period.

D. Applicant household:

A household that is approved for food stamp

benefits on or after January 1, 2004 and is

assigned to semiannual reporting shall be

assigned a 12-month certification period

that begins in the month of application and

shall have a semiannual report due in the

sixth month of the household’s certification

period.

E. Participating house-

hold: A participating household not

assigned to semiannual reporting that is

subsequently assigned to semiannual

reporting because of a reported change shall

be transitioned at the end of the certification

period in effect when the change occurred.

F. Reporting require-

ments for semiannual reporting house-

holds: A household subject to semiannual

reporting shall be required to file a semian-

nual report no later than the tenth day of the

sixth month of the 12-month certification

period.  The following information, along

with verification, must be provided with the

report:

(1) any change in household com-

position, whether a member has moved in

or out of the home, and the date the change

took place;

(2) the gross monthly income

received from employment by each house-

hold member;

(3) the gross monthly unearned

income received by each household mem-

ber;

(4) changes in countable

resources if the total of all countable

resources for the food stamp household

exceeds the applicable resource limit, such

as but not limited to:

(a) the account number and bal-

ance for a new checking or savings account

belonging to any household member; or

(b) the amount of any new stocks

or bonds or other financial instruments

belonging to any household member.

(5) dependent care expenses;

(6) expenses for shelter, utilities,

and telephone, only if a change has occured

since the last certification,  or a change will

occur in the month following the month the

report is due, including but not limited to:

(a) a change in residence;

(b) a change in shelter expense;

(c) a change in billing for utilities,

but not including variances in utility bills

from month to month for the same service;

or

(d) an increase in shelter expens-

es that will take place in the month follow-

ing the report month; or

(e) a termination of any shelter,

utility, or telephone expense; or

(f) a new shelter or utility

expense.

(7)  a change in medical expenses;

(8) a change in child support obli-

gations;

(9) student status for anyone liv-

ing in the home over the age of 17 years ,

including but not limited to:

(a) a change in status from non-

college to college student;

(b) a change in status from col-

lege student to non-college status;

(c) a change in post-secondary

curriculum to or from at least halftime; and

(d) participation in or termination

of work study.

(10) a change in immigrant

(alien) status for a household member.

G. Budgeting methodolo-

gy for semiannual reporting at initial

application and recertification:

(1) Prospective budgeting shall be

used for an applicant household at initial

application and at recertification as set forth

at 8.139.500.9 NMAC.

(2) Initial application: At
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NEW MEXICO HUMAN

SERVICES DEPARTMENT
INCOME SUPPORT DIVISION

This is an amendment to 8.139.120

NMAC, Section 9, effective 07/16/2008.

8.139.120.9 S E M I A N N U A L

REPORTING: Semiannual reporting is a

reporting requirement for households that

receive food stamp benefits, unless an

exclusion applies.

A. Excluded from semi-

annual reporting: The following house-

holds are excluded from semiannual report-

ing:

(1) a household in which all mem-

bers are migrant or seasonal farm workers;

(2) a household in which all mem-

bers are homeless;

(3) a household in which all mem-

bers are elderly or disabled [with], that

receive social security or SSI and has no

earned income;

(4) a household in which all mem-

bers are ABAWDs with no earned [income]

or unearned income and reside in a non-

exempt administrative area;

(5) a household in which all adult

members[:] have no history of earned

income in the six months prior to applica-

tion or recertification;

[(a) receive unearned income

from a source other than TANF, GA or

UCB; and

(b) have no history of earned

income in the six months prior to applica-

tion or recertification;]

(6) a household determined by the



approval, eligibility and amount of payment

for the applicant household shall be deter-

mined prospectively for the each of the first

six months of the certification.

(3) Recertification: At approval,

eligibility and amount of payment shall be

determined prospectively for each of the six

months following the last month of the pre-

vious certification period.

H. Budgeting methodolo-

gy for processing a semiannual report:

(1) Processing the semiannual

report: Eligibility and food stamp benefit

amount shall be determined prospectively

for the six months following the month the

semiannual report is due.

(2) Determining a household’s

eligibility and food stamp benefit

amount:

(a) Weekly: For income received

weekly, the household must submit and the

department shall accept as verification [of

income, pay data for any consecutive four

week pay periods that fall within the month]

the income received from any consecutive

past 30 day period that includes 30 days

prior to the month the report is due and the

month the report is due.

(b) Bi-weekly: For income

received bi-weekly, the household must

submit and the department shall accept as

verification [of income, pay data for any

two consecutive pay periods within the

month] the income received from any con-

secutive past 30 day period that includes 30

days prior to the month the report is due and

the month the report is due.

(c) Semi-monthly: For income

received semi-monthly, the household must

submit and the department shall accept as

verification [of income, pay data for any

two consecutive pay periods within the

month] the income received from any con-

secutive past 30 day period that includes 30

days prior to the month the report is due and

the month the report is due.

(d) Monthly: For income

received monthly, the recipient household

must submit and the department shall accept

as verification [of income, pay data for one

pay date within the month] the income

received from any consecutive past 30 day

period that includes 30 days prior to the

month the report is due and the month the

report is due.

(e) Income received more fre-

quently than weekly: For households with

income received more often than weekly:

(i) exact income rather

than averaged and converted income shall

be used to determine eligibility and food

stamp benefit amount; and

(ii) the household must

submit, and the department shall accept as

verification [of income, pay data in any

consecutive 30 day period within the

month] income received from any consecu-

tive past 30 day period that includes 30 days

prior to the month the semiannual report is

due and the month the report is due.

(f) If a determination is made that

the use of the pay data for the budgeting

methods described in (a) through (e), above,

does not give the most accurate estimate of

monthly earnings due to unique circum-

stances; the caseworker shall use whatever

method gives the most accurate estimate of

earnings.

(3) Income received less fre-

quently than monthly: The amount of

monthly gross income that is received less

frequently than monthly shall be deter-

mined by dividing the total income by the

number of months the income is intended to

cover, including but is not limited to income

sources from sharecropping, farming, self-

employment, contract income and income

for a tenured teacher who may not have a

contract.

(4) Self-employment:

(a) Requirements for determina-

tion of net self-employment income are set

forth at Subsection E of 8.139.520.10

NMAC, and the verification standards for

business and self-employment income are

set forth at Subsection B of 8.100.130.14

NMAC.

(b) A household assigned to semi-

annual reporting that has its self-employ-

ment income annualized shall be required to

report changes in self-employment income

on the semiannual report if the household

has filed a tax return after its last approval

or recertification of food stamps.

(c) A household assigned to semi-

annual reporting whose self-employment

income is not annualized must report self-

employment income on the semiannual

report. The income reported on the semian-

nual report will be calculated in the follow-

ing manner.

(i) When a self-employ-

ment enterprise has been in existence for

less than one year, the income from self-

employment shall be averaged over the

period of time the business has been in

operation.  The resulting monthly amount

shall be projected for the six-month period

covered by the semiannual report.

(ii) Seasonal income:

Self-employment income that is intended to

meet a household’s needs for only part of

the year shall be averaged over the time the

income is intended to cover.

(d) A household that fails to pro-

vide verification of an allowable deduction

shall not be allowed the deduction.  The

caseworker shall process the report if all

other mandatory verification has been pro-

vided.

(5) Use of conversion factors:

(a) Conversion factors shall be

used to adjust the monthly income amounts

whenever a full month’s income is received

on a weekly or biweekly basis:

(i) the income shall be

converted to a monthly amount by multiply-

ing weekly averaged amounts by 4.3; and

(ii) biweekly amounts

by 2.15.

(b) Use of the conversion factor

shall negate the necessity to adjust the

monthly income amounts for those months

in which an extra weekly or biweekly pay-

check is received.

(c) Instead, the amount of the

extra paycheck is averaged over the certifi-

cation period.

(6) Rounding of income when

using conversion factors: Averaged

income shall be rounded prior to the appli-

cation of the conversion factor.  If the cents

are $.49 or less, the cents are dropped.  If

the cents are $.50 or more, the amount shall

be rounded up to the next higher dollar.

I. Time limits for pro-

cessing a semiannual report received by

the county office:

(1) The semiannual report form

and all verification provided shall be

reviewed for completeness within ten days

of receipt.

(a) A form that is complete and all

verifications are provided, shall be

processed within ten days of receipt.

(b) A form that is complete, and

all verifications are provided except for ver-

ification of an allowable deduction, shall

not be processed.  The household:

(i) shall be notified that

verification is lacking; and

(ii) shall be given ten

days to provide verification of an allowable

deduction.

(c) A deduction that is verified

within the month the semiannual report is

due shall be processed as part of the semi-

annual report.

(d) A deduction that is verified in

the month after the semiannual report is due

shall be processed as a change reported by

the household.

(e) A deduction that does not have

the required verification shall not be

allowed until verification of the expense is

provided.

(2) Incomplete semiannual

report is received:

(a) A semiannual report form that

is not signed shall be returned to the house-

hold for a signature.

(b) A semiannual report that is

incomplete because required verification is

not provided shall not be returned to the

household.  The household shall be notified

that the form is incomplete and what infor-

mation must be provided to complete the

semiannual report.
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(3) A household must return the

completed semiannual report form by the

end of the month in which the report is due

in order to process the report for the follow-

ing month.

J. A household that fails

to submit a semiannual report by the end of

the month in which the report is due shall

lose its right to uninterrupted benefits and

shall be issued an adequate notice of clo-

sure.

K. Information require-

ments for the semiannual report: The

semiannual report form shall specify:

(1) the deadline date to submit the

form to ensure uninterrupted benefits if the

household is determined eligible;

(2) the consequences of submit-

ting a late or incomplete form;

(3) that verification of an allow-

able expense must be submitted with the

semiannual report, or the household may

not be allowed a deduction;

(4) where to call for help in com-

pleting the form; 

(5) the consequences of providing

incorrect information;

(6) the notice of rights.

L. Disaster victims: A

household participating in the food stamp

program and subject to semiannual report-

ing shall be required to comply with semi-

annual reporting requirements during the

disaster period.  The household remains

responsible for submitting the required

information set forth in 8.139.120.9

NMAC, to the field office that handles its

ongoing case.

M. Reporting require-

ment for semiannual reporting house-

holds: A household assigned to semiannu-

al reporting shall only be required to report

when the household’s income exceeds

130% of the federal poverty guidelines for

the size of the household.  A household is

required to report the change no later than

ten calendar days from the end of the calen-

dar month in which the change occurred.

N. Action on changes

reported between reporting periods for

households assigned to semiannual

reporting:

(1) The department shall not act

on reported changes between reporting peri-

ods that would result in a decrease in bene-

fits with the following exceptions:

(a) a household reports income in

excess of 130% of federal poverty guide-

lines for the size of the household; 

(b) a household reports or HSD

receives documented evidence that the

household has moved or intends to move

out of the state on a specific date;

(c) a household requests closure;

or

(d) HSD receives documented

evidence that the head of household has

died.

(2) A newborn shall be added to

the household effective the month following

the month the change is reported, if the

addition is reported to the agency by the

household or by the hospital for medicaid

purposes.

(3) The loss of earned income

shall be considered for eligibility in the

[second] month after the loss and ongoing

until the next scheduled semiannual report

or end of certification, whichever is first,

provided that:

(a) the loss of income was report-

ed and verified by the household;

(b) the loss of income was not due

to voluntary quit [;

(c) the individual who lost the job

is likely to remain unemployed in the sec-

ond month after the loss of income; and

(d) the individual who lost the

income cannot reasonably anticipate a

replacement source of income by the end of

the second month after the loss, including

but not limited to, UCB, other earned

income, social security (OASDI) or supple-

mental security income (SSI).

(e) If the loss of income has been

replaced with another source of income, or

can reasonably be expected by the end of

the second month after the loss, the replace-

ment income shall be considered for eligi-

bility and benefit amount in the second

month after the loss and for the remainder

of the certification period].

(4) The loss of unearned income

shall be considered for eligibility in the

[second] month after the loss and ongoing

until the next scheduled semiannual report

or end of certification whichever is first,

provided that [:

(a)] the loss of income was

reported to the agency, and verified by the

household [; and

(b) the individual who lost the

unearned income cannot reasonably antici-

pate having the income reinstated or receiv-

ing another type of unearned income or

earned income by the end of the second

month after the loss.

(c) If the loss of income has been

replaced with another source of income, or

can reasonably be expected by the end of

the second month after the loss, the replace-

ment income shall be considered for eligi-

bility and benefit amount in the second

month after the loss and for the remainder

of the certification period].

O. Transitional food

stamps: A household assigned to semian-

nual reporting that is approved for transi-

tional food stamps shall have the semiannu-

al reporting requirements terminated during

the transitional food stamp benefit period.

P. Action on cash assis-

tance applications:

(1) A food stamp household

assigned to semiannual reporting that is

later approved for TANF cash assistance

shall be required to file the scheduled semi-

annual report [and/or] or to recertify eligi-

bility at the intervals set at initial food

stamp application.  The timing of the TANF

certification and semiannual reporting

requirements shall be set to match the

requirements of the food stamp program.

(2) A household assigned to semi-

annual reporting that is approved for TANF,

GA, or EWP a day or more after food stamp

approval shall have food stamp benefits

adjusted in the month following the month

of cash assistance approval.

[02/01/95, 10/01/95, 06/15/96, 09/14/96,

11/01/96, 07/01/98, 06/01/99; 8.139.120.9

NMAC - Rn, 8 NMAC 3 FSP.123,

05/15/2001; 8.139.120.9 - N, 02/14/2002;

A, 01/01/2004; A, 07/16/2008]
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This is an amendment to 8.305.11 NMAC,

Section 9, effective July 16, 2008.

8.305.11.9 REIMBURSEMENT

FOR MANAGED CARE:

A. Payment for services:

HSD shall make actuarially sound pay-

ments under capitated risk contracts to the

designated MCO/SE.  Rates, whether set by

HSD, or negotiated between HSD and the

MCO/SE are considered confidential.

Rates shall be appropriate for the medicaid

populations to be covered and the services

to be furnished under the contract.  The

MCO/SE shall be responsible for the provi-

sion of services for members during the

month of capitation.  Medicaid members

shall not be liable for debts incurred by an

MCO/SE under the MCO’s or SE’s man-

aged care contract for providing health care

to medicaid members.  This shall include,

but not be limited to:

(1) the MCO’s/SE’s debts in the

event of the MCO’s/SE’s insolvency;

(2) services provided to the mem-

ber, that are not included in the medicaid

benefit package and for which HSD does

not pay the MCO/SE, e.g., value added

services;

(3) when the MCO/SE does not

pay the health care provider that furnishes

the services under contractual, referral, or

other arrangement;

(4) payments for covered services

furnished under contract, referral, or other

arrangement to the extent that those pay-

ments are in excess of the amount that the

member would owe if the MCO/SE provid-

ed the service directly; and

(5) if an MCO/SE member loses



eligibility for any reason and is reinstated as

eligible by HSD before the end of the

month, the  MCO/SE shall accept a retro

capitation payment for that month of eligi-

bility and assume financial responsibility

for all medically necessary covered benefit

services supplied to the member.

B. Capitation disburse-

ment requirements: HSD shall pay a cap-

itated amount to the MCO/SE for the provi-

sion of the managed care benefit package at

specified rates.  The monthly rate is based

on actuarially sound capitation rate cells.

The MCO/SE shall accept the capitation

rate paid each month by HSD as payment in

full for all services to be provided pursuant

to the agreement, including all administra-

tive costs associated therewith.  HSD/MAD

will calculate or verify the MCO/SE’s

income at the end of the state fiscal year to

determine if the extent was expended on the

services required under the contract utiliz-

ing reported information and the depart-

ment of insurance reports.  Administrative

costs, to be no higher than the allowable

percent, including all MCO/SE-delegated

entities (if applicable), and other financial

information will be monitored.  The

MCO/SE does not have the option of delet-

ing benefits from the medicaid defined ben-

efit package.  Should the MCO/SE not meet

the required administrative or direct servic-

es costs within the terms of the contract,

sanctions or financial penalties may be

imposed.

C. Payment time frames:

Clean claims as defined in Subsection L of

8.305.1.7 NMAC, Clean Claim, shall be

paid by the MCO/SE to contracted and non-

contracted providers according to the fol-

lowing timeframe:  90 percent within 30

days of the date of receipt and 99 percent

within 90 days of the date of receipt, as

required by federal guidelines in the Code

of Federal Regulations, Section 42 CFR

447.45.  The date of receipt is the date the

MCO/SE first receives the claim either

manually or electronically.  The MCO/SE is

required to date stamp all claims on the date

of receipt.  The date of payment is the date

of the check or other form of payment.  An

exception to this rule may be made if the

MCO/SE and its providers, by mutual

agreement, establish an alternative payment

schedule.  However, any such alternative

payment schedule shall first be incorporated

into the contract between HSD and the

MCO/SE.  The MCO/SE shall be financial-

ly responsible for paying all claims for all

covered emergency and post-stabilization

services that are furnished by non-contract-

ed providers, at no more than the fee-for-

service rate, including medically or clinical-

ly necessary testing to determine if a physi-

cal or behavioral health emergency exists.

(1) An MCO/SE shall pay con-

tracted and noncontracted providers interest

on the MCO’s/SE’s liability at the rate of 1

½ percent per month on the amount of a

clean claim (based upon the current medi-

caid fee schedule) submitted by the partici-

pating provider and not paid within 30 days

of the date of receipt of an electronic claim

and 45 days of receipt of a manual claim.

Interest shall accrue from the 31st day for

electronic claims and from the 46th day for

manual claims.  The MCO/SE shall be

required to report the number of claims and

the amount of interest paid, on a timeframe

determined by HSD/MAD.

(2) No contract between the

MCO/SE and a participating provider shall

include a clause that has the effect of reliev-

ing either party of liability for its actions or

inactions.

(3) If the MCO/SE is unable to

determine liability for, or refuses to pay, a

claim of a participating provider within the

times specified above, the MCO/SE shall

make a good-faith effort to notify the par-

ticipating provider by fax, electronic or

other written communication within 30

days of receipt of the claim, stating specific

reasons why it is not liable for the claim or

request specific information necessary to

determine liability for the claim.

D. Rate setting:

Capitation rates paid by HSD to the

MCO/SE for the provision of the managed

care medicaid benefit package shall be cal-

culated through actuarial analysis, be actu-

arially sound and meet the standards set by

42 CFR 438.6(c).

E. Payment on risk

basis: The MCO/SE is at risk of incurring

losses if its costs of providing the managed

care medicaid benefit package exceed its

capitation payment.  HSD shall not provide

retroactive payment adjustments to the

MCO/SE to reflect the actual cost of servic-

es furnished by the MCO/SE.

F. Change in capitation

rates: HSD shall review the capitation

rates 12 months from the effective date of

the contract and annually thereafter.  HSD

may adjust the capitation rates based on fac-

tors such as the following: changes in the

scope of work; CMS requiring a modifica-

tion of the state’s waiver; if new or amend-

ed federal or state laws or regulations are

implemented; inflation; or if significant

changes in the demographic characteristics

of the member population occur.

G. Solvency require-

ments and risk protections: An MCO/SE

that contracts with HSD to provide medi-

caid physical or behavioral health services

shall comply with, and be subject to, all

applicable state and federal laws and regu-

lations, including solvency and risk stan-

dards.  In addition to requirements imposed

by state and federal law, the MCO/SE shall

be required to meet specific medicaid finan-

cial requirements and to provide to HSD the

information and records necessary to deter-

mine the MCO’s/SE’s financial condition.

Requests for information and records shall

be delivered to HSD, at no cost to HSD, in

a reasonable time after the date of request or

as specified in the contract.

(1) Reinsurance: An MCO par-

ticipating in medicaid managed care shall

purchase reinsurance at a minimum of

$1,000,000.00 in reinsurance protection

against financial loss due to outlier (cata-

strophic) cases.  The MCO shall document

for HSD that reinsurance is in effect

through the term of the contract and that the

amount of reinsurance is sufficient to cover

probable outlier cases or overall member

utilization at an amount greater than expect-

ed.  Pursuant to 42 CFR 438.6(e)(5), con-

tract provisions for reinsurance, stop-loss

limits, or other risk sharing methodologies

shall be computed on an actuarially sound

basis.

(2) Third party liability (TPL):

The MCO/SE shall be responsible for iden-

tifying a member’s third party coverage and

coordinating of benefits with third parties as

required by federal law.  The MCO/SE shall

inform HSD when a member has other

health care insurance coverage.  The MCO

shall have the sole right of subrogration, for

12 months, from when the MCO incurred

the cost on behalf of the members, to initi-

ate recovery or to attempt to recover any

third-party resources available to medicaid

members and shall make records pertaining

to third party collections (TPL) for mem-

bers available to HSD/MAD for audit and

review.  If the MCO has not initiated recov-

ery or attempted to recover any third-party

resources available to medicaid members

within 12 months, HSD will pursue the

member’s third party resources.  The

MCO/SE shall provide to HSD for audit and

review all records pertaining to TPL collec-

tions for members.

(3) Fidelity bond requirement:

The MCO/SE shall maintain a fidelity bond

in the maximum amount specified under the

Insurance Code.

(4) Net worth requirement: The

MCO/SE shall comply with the net worth

requirements of the Insurance Code. 

(5) Solvency cash reserve

requirement: The MCO/SE shall have suf-

ficient reserve funds available to ensure that

the provision of services to medicaid mem-

bers is not at risk in the event of MCO/SE

insolvency.

(6) Per enrollee cash reserve:

The MCO/SE shall maintain three percent

of the monthly capitation payments per

member with an independent trustee during

each month of the agreement.  If the agree-

ment replaces a previous agreement with
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HSD/MAD to provide medicaid managed

care, then continued maintenance of the per

member cash reserve established and main-

tained by the MCO/SE pursuant to such pre-

vious agreement shall be deemed to satisfy

this requirement. HSD shall adjust this cash

reserve requirement annually, or as needed,

based on the number of the MCO’s/SE’s

members, or the failure of the MCO/SE to

maintain [a cash reserve equal to three per-

cent] the required cash reserve, and shall

notify the MCO/SE of the cash reserve

requirement.  Each MCO/SE shall maintain

its own cash reserve account.  This account

may be accessed solely for payment for

services to the MCO’s/SE’s members in the

event that the MCO/SE becomes insolvent.

Money in the reserve account remains the

property of the MCO/SE, and any interest

earned (even if retained in the account) shall

be the property of the MCO/SE.

H. Inspection and audit

for solvency requirements: The MCO/SE

shall meet all requirements for state licen-

sure with respect to inspection and auditing

of financial records.  The MCO/SE shall

provide to HSD or its designee all financial

records required by HSD.  HSD, or its

designees may inspect and audit the

MCO’s/SE’s financial records at least annu-

ally or at HSD discretion.

I. Special payment

requirements: This section lists special

payment requirements by provider type.

(1) Reimbursement for FQHCs:

Under federal law, FQHCs shall be reim-

bursed at 100 percent of reasonable cost

under a medicaid fee-for-service or man-

aged care program.  The FQHC may waive

its right to 100 percent of reasonable cost

and elect to receive a rate negotiated with

the MCO/SE.  HSD shall provide a dis-

counted wrap-around payment to FQHCs

that have waived a right to 100 percent

reimbursement of reasonable cost from the

MCO/SE. 

(2) Reimbursement for

providers furnishing care to Native

Americans: If an Indian health service

(IHS) or tribal 638 provider delivers servic-

es to an MCO/SE member who is Native

American, the MCO/SE shall reimburse the

provider at the rate established by the office

of management and budget (OMB) for

specified services for the IHS facilities

except as otherwise specified in writing by

HSD.

(3) Reimbursement for family

planning services: The MCOs shall reim-

burse out-of-network family planning

providers for services provided to MCO

members at a rate at least equal to the med-

icaid fee-for-service rate for the provider

type.

(4) Reimbursement for women

in the third trimester of pregnancy: If a

woman in the third trimester of pregnancy

at the time of her enrollment in managed

care has an established relationship with an

obstetrical provider and desires to continue

that relationship and the provider is not con-

tracted with the MCO, the MCO shall reim-

burse the out-of-network provider for care

directly related to the pregnancy, including

delivery and a six-week post-partum visit.

(5) Reimbursement for mem-

bers who disenroll while hospitalized: If

a medicaid member is hospitalized at the

time of disenrollment, the organization

MCO/SE or FFS exempt, which was origi-

nally responsible for the hospital impatient

placement, shall remain financially respon-

sible for payment of all covered inpatient

facility and professional services from the

date of admission to the date of discharge,

or upon transfer to a lower level of care.

Upon discharge, the member will then

become the financial responsibility of the

organization receiving capitation payments.

(6) Sanctions for noncompli-

ance: The department may impose finan-

cial penalties or sanctions against an

MCO/SE that fails to meet the financial

requirements specified in this section or

additional requirements specified in the

terms of the medicaid managed care con-

tract or federal medicaid law.

J. Recoupment pay-

ments: HSD shall recoup payments for

MCO members who are incorrectly

enrolled with more than one MCO, includ-

ing members categorized as newborns or

X5; payments made for MCO/SE members

who die prior to the enrollment month for

which payment was made; or payments to

the MCO/SE for members whom HSD later

determines were not eligible for medicaid

during the enrollment month for which pay-

ment was made.  Any duplicate payment

identified by either the MCO/SE or HSD

shall be recouped upon identification.  In

the event of an error, which causes pay-

ment(s) to the MCO/SE to be issued by

HSD, HSD shall recoup the full amount of

the payment.  Interest shall accrue at the

statutory rate on any amounts not paid and

determined to be due after the 30th day fol-

lowing the notice.  Any process that auto-

mates the recoupment procedures shall be

discussed in advance by HSD and the

MCO/SE and documented in writing, prior

to implementation of the new automated

recoupment process.  The MCO/SE has the

right to dispute any recoupment action in

accordance with contractual provisions.

K. HSD shall pay interest

at 9 percent per annum on any capitation

payment due to the MCO/SE that is more

than 30 days late.  No interest or penalty

shall accrue for any other late payments or

reimbursements.

L. HSD may initiate alter-

nate payment methodology for specified

program services or responsibilities.

[8.305.11.9 NMAC - Rp 8 NMAC

4.MAD.606.10, 7-1-01; A, 7-1-04; A,

71/05; A, 9-1-06; A, 7-1-07; A, 7-1-08; A,

7-16-08]
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This is an amendment to 8.310.8 NMAC,

Sections 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14,

15, 16 and 17, effective July 16, 2008. The

Part name is also amended.

PART 8 [MENTAL] BEHAV-

IORAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL

SERVICES

8.310.8.1 ISSUING AGENCY:

New Mexico Human Services Department

(HSD).

[2/1/95; 8.310.8.1 NMAC - Rn, 8 NMAC

4.MAD.000.1, 11/1/04; A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.3 S T A T U T O R Y

AUTHORITY: The New Mexico medi-

caid program is administered pursuant to

regulations promulgated by the federal

department of health and human services

under Title XIX of the Social Security Act

[, as amended and by the state human serv-

ices department pursuant to state statute.]

as amended or by state statute. See NMSA

1978, section 27-2-12 et. seq. (Repl.

Pamp. 1991).

[2/1/95; 8.310.8.3 NMAC - Rn, 8 NMAC

4.MAD.000.3, 11/1/04; A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.6 OBJECTIVE: The

objective of these [regulations] rules is to

provide [policies] instruction for the serv-

ice portion of the New Mexico [medicaid

program. These policies describe eligible

providers, covered services, noncovered

services, utilization review, and provider

reimbursement] medical assistance pro-

grams.

[2/1/95; 8.310.8.6 NMAC - Rn, 8 NMAC

4.MAD.000.6, 11/1/04; A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.8 MISSION STATE-

MENT: The mission of the New Mexico

medical assistance division (MAD) of

HSD is to maximize the health status of

[medicaid-eligible individuals] eligible

recipients by furnishing payment for qual-

ity health services at levels comparable to

private health plans.

[2/1/95; 8.310.8.8 NMAC - Rn, 8 NMAC

4.MAD.002, 11/1/04; A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.9 [MENTAL] BEHAV-

IORAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL

SERVICES: [The New Mexico medicaid



program (medicaid)] MAD pays for med-

ically necessary behavioral health (mental

health and substance abuse) services fur-

nished to eligible recipients.  To help New

Mexico eligible recipients receive neces-

sary services, [the New Mexico medical

assistance division (MAD)] MAD pays for

covered professional [mental] behavioral

health services [42 CRF Sections 440.40,

440.60(a) and 441.57].  [This part describes

eligible providers, covered services, service

limitations and general reimbursement

methodology.]

[2/1/95; 3/1/99; 8.310.8.9 NMAC - Rn, 8

NMAC 4.MAD.717, 11/1/04; A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.10 E L I G I B L E

PROVIDERS:

A. Upon approval of a

New Mexico medical assistance division

provider participation agreement by MAD

or its designee, licensed practitioners or

facilities that meet applicable requirements

are eligible to be reimbursed for furnishing

covered services to eligible recipients.  A

provider must be enrolled before submitting

a claim for payment to the MAD processing

contractors.  MAD makes available on the

HSD/MAD website, on other program-spe-

cific websites, or in hard copy format, infor-

mation necessary to participate in health

care programs administered by HSD or its

authorized agents, including program rules,

billing instructions, utilization review

instructions, and other pertinent materials.

When enrolled, providers receive instruc-

tion on how to access these documents. It is

the provider’s responsibility to access these

instructions or ask for paper copies to be

provided, to understand the information

provided and to comply with the require-

ments.  The provider must contact HSD or

its authorized agents to request hard copies

of any program rules manuals, billing and

utilization review instructions, and other

pertinent material and to obtain answers to

questions on or not covered by these mate-

rials.  To be eligible for reimbursement, a

provider is bound by the provisions of the

MAD provider participation agreement and

all applicable statutes, regulations and exec-

utive orders.

B. When services are

billed to and paid by a coordinated services

contractor authorized by HSD, the provider

must also enroll as a provider with the coor-

dinated services contractor and follow that

contractor’s instructions for billing and for

authorization of services.

[A.] C. [Upon approval of New

Mexico medical assistance program

provider participation agreements by

MAD,] The following independent

providers are eligible to be reimbursed for

providing [mental] behavioral health pro-

fessional services:

(1) individuals licensed as physi-

cians by the board of medical examiners or

board of osteopathy and who are board-eli-

gible or board-certified in psychiatry, or the

groups they form;

(2) psychologists (Ph.D., Psy.D.

or Ed.D.) licensed as clinical psychologists

by the New Mexico board of psychologist

examiners, or the groups they form;

(3) licensed independent social

workers (LISW) licensed by the New

Mexico board of social work examiners, or

the groups they form;

(4) licensed professional clinical

mental health counselors (LPCC) licensed

by the New Mexico counseling and therapy

practice board, or the groups they form;

(5) licensed marriage and family

therapists (LMFT) who are licensed by the

New Mexico counseling and therapy prac-

tice board, or the groups they form; and

(6) individuals licensed as clinical

nurse specialists or certified nurse practi-

tioners by the board of nursing who are cer-

tified in psychiatric nursing by a national

nursing organization, or the groups they

form, who can furnish services to adults or

children as their certification permits.

[B.] D. [Upon approval of New

Mexico medical assistance program

provider participation agreements by

MAD,] The following agencies are eligible

to be reimbursed for providing [mental]

behavioral health professional services:

(1) community mental health cen-

ters [licensed by the department of health

and/or the children, youth and  families

department];

(2) federally qualified health cen-

ters (FQHCs);

(3) Indian health service (IHS)

hospitals and clinics;

(4) PL 93-638 tribally operated

hospitals and clinics;

(5) children, youth and families

department; and

(6) [schools providing services

identified in individualized education plans

or individualized family services plans]

hospital and outpatient facilities.

[C. Upon approval of New

Mexico medical assistance program

provider participation agreement by MAD,

agencies listed above in Subsection B of

8.310.8.10 NMAC may be reimbursed for

supervised outpatient therapy services as

defined below in Subsection B of

8.310.8.10 NMAC may be reimbursed for

supervised outpatient therapy services, as

defined below in Subsection B of

8.310.8.13 NMAC, provided by:]

[C.] E. When providing servic-

es supervised and billed by agencies listed

above in Subsection D of 8.310.8.10

NMAC, the following practitioners’ outpa-

tient services may be reimbursed when the

services are within their legal scope of prac-

tice and meet the definitions of covered

services in 8.310.8.13 NMAC:

(1) licensed masters level social

workers (LMSW);

(2) licensed professional mental

health counselors (LPC);

(3) licensed mental health coun-

selors (LMHC);

(4) licensed psychologist associ-

ates;

(5) licensed professional art ther-

apists (LPAT); [and]

(6) registered mental health coun-

selors RMHC; and

(7) [registered independent men-

tal health counselors (RIMHC)] licensed

alcohol and drug abuse counselors

(LADAC).

[D.] F. Services must be pro-

vided within the scope of the practice and

licensure for each provider and must be in

compliance with the statutes, rules and reg-

ulations of the applicable practice act.

[E. Once enrolled,

providers receive a packet of information

including medicaid program policies,

billing instructions, utilization review

instructions, and other pertinent material

from MAD.  Providers are responsible for

ensuring that they have received these mate-

rials and for updating them as new materials

are received from MAD.]

[2/1/95; 3/1/99; 8.310.8.10 NMAC - Rn, 8

NMAC 4.MAD.717.1 & A, 11/1/04; A,

11/1/05; A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.11 P R O V I D E R

RESPONSIBILITIES: [Providers who

furnish services to medicaid recipients must

comply with all specified medicaid partici-

pation requirements.  See 8.302.1 NMAC,

General Provider Policies.  Providers must

verify that individuals are eligible for med-

icaid at the time services are furnished and

determine if medicaid recipients have other

health insurance.  See 8.302.1 NMAC for

recipients whose medicaid coverage is

restricted and 8.302.12 NMAC for dual eli-

gible medicaid recipients.  Providers must

maintain records which are sufficient to

fully disclose the extent and nature of the

services provided to recipients.]

A. A provider who fur-

nishes services to medicaid or other health

care program eligible recipients must com-

ply with all federal and state laws, regula-

tions and executive orders relevant to the

provision of services as specified in the

MAD provider participation agreement.  A

provider must also conform to MAD pro-

gram rules and instructions as specified in

the provider rules manual and its appen-

dices, and program directions and billing

instructions, as updated.  A provider is also

responsible for following coding manual
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guidelines and CMS correct coding initia-

tives, including not improperly unbundling

or upcoding services.  When services are

billed to and paid by a coordinated services

contractor authorized by HSD, the provider

must follow that contractor’s instructions

for billing and for authorization of services.

B. A provider must verify

that individuals are eligible for a specific

health care program administered by the

HSD and its authorized agents, and must

verify the eligible recipient’s enrollment

status at the time services are furnished. A

provider must determine if an eligible recip-

ient has other health insurance.  A provider

must maintain records that are sufficient to

fully disclose the extent and nature of the

services provided to an eligible recipient.

See 8.302.1 NMAC, General Provider
Policies.

[2/1/95; 3/1/99; 8.310.8.11 NMAC - Rn, 8

NMAC 4.MAD.717.2, 11/1/04; A, 11/1/05;

A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.12 C O V E R A G E

CRITERIA:

A. [Medicaid] MAD cov-

ers medically necessary [mental] behavioral

health professional services including eval-

uations, therapy, and tests [and reports]

required by the condition of the recipient.

All services must be furnished within the

limits of [medicaid] MAD benefits, within

the scope and practice of the eligible

provider’s respective profession as defined

by state law, and in accordance with appli-

cable federal, state, and local laws and reg-

ulations.

B. Medical necessity: All

services must be provided in compliance

with the current [medicaid] MAD definition

of medical necessity.

[2/1/95; 3/1/99; 8.310.8.12 NMAC - Rn, 8

NMAC 4.MAD.717.3, 11/1/04; A, 11/1/05;

A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.13 C O V E R E D

SERVICES:

A. Inpatient treatment

and evaluations: Except as noted below in

8.310.8.14 NMAC, [medicaid covers men-

tal] MAD covers behavioral health profes-

sional services during an inpatient psychi-

atric admission including admission evalua-

tions, testing, therapy and treatment for the

acute phase of an illness when these servic-

es are furnished by licensed board-eligible

or board-certified psychiatrists, licensed

clinical psychologists (Ph.D., Psy.D., or

Ed.D.), or individuals licensed as clinical

nurse specialists or certified nurse practi-

tioners by the board of nursing who are cer-

tified in psychiatric mental health nursing

by a national nursing organization; and are

consistent with the comprehensive [treat-

ment] service plan in effect at the inpatient

facility.  Acute care psychiatric hospitals

and specialty units of general acute care

hospitals are considered inpatient facilities

for purposes of [medicaid] MAD coverage.

B. Outpatient therapy

services: [Medicaid covers outpatient eval-

uations, testing and therapy.  Services may

require prior authorization from MAD or its

designee and will be reviewed based on cri-

teria approved by HSD.  Any currently

allowable treatment modality (individual,

group, family) in any combination is cov-

ered.  Frequency of services is to be deter-

mined by medical necessity.  Services fur-

nished by eligible providers must be speci-

fied in the client’s treatment plan.  The plan

must be completed by the third (3rd) thera-

py session.  In the treatment of minor-age

clients, the treatment plan must document

involvement of clients, families, and if

applicable, others involved in the child’s

care.  Adult clients, or guardians whenever

appropriate, should participate in the devel-

opment of their treatment plans.  The treat-

ment plan and all supporting documentation

must be available for review in the client

record.  Services must be consistent with

the treatment plan in effect at the time the

services are provided.]  MAD covers outpa-

tient assessments, evaluations, testing and

therapy.  Services may require prior author-

ization from MAD or its designee and will

be reviewed based on criteria approved by

HSD.  Any currently allowable treatment

modality (individual, group, family, multi-

family) in any combination is covered.

Frequency of services is to be determined

by medical necessity.  Services furnished by

eligible providers must be specified in the

eligible recipient’s treatment or service

plan.  Should the eligible recipient be

receiving multiple services, the treatment

plan for the outpatient therapy services shall

be included in the treatment or service plan

developed to address all the eligible recipi-

ent’s needs.  In the treatment of under-age

eligible recipients, the treatment or service

plan must conform with the New Mexico

Children’s Code’s, documenting as neces-

sary the involvement of the eligible recipi-

ent’s family, and if applicable, others

involved in the under-age eligible recipi-

ent’s care.  Adult eligible recipients, or their

personal representative, whenever appropri-

ate, should participate in the development

of their plans.  The treatment or service plan

and all supporting documentation must be

available for review in the eligible recipi-

ent’s record.  Services must be consistent

with the treatment plan in effect at the time

the services are provided.

C. Therapy in partial

hospital settings, [JCAHO- or COA-

accredited RTCs] joint council on accred-

itation of healthcare organizations

(JCAHO), or council on accreditation

(COA)-accredited residential treatment

and group home services (RTC), non-

accredited residential treatment and

group home services and treatment foster

care: Routine [mental] behavioral health

care is covered for eligible recipients under

the age of [twenty-one (21)] 21 in partial

hospitalization programs, JCAHO- or

COA-accredited RTCs, non-accredited resi-

dential treatment and group home services,

and treatment foster care. Additional servic-

es not covered by the fixed rates may be

provided only after obtaining prior authori-

zation from the utilization review agent.

The additional services must be consistent

with the treatment plan.  Services not cov-

ered by fixed rates that would be eligible for

prior authorization may include:

(1) medication management of

psychotropic medications for eligible recip-

ients in accredited residential treatment

services and treatment foster care place-

ment;

(2) psychological testing; which

is not duplicative and is clinically necessary

to meet the “extraordinary and specific,”

complex diagnostic needs of the [client] eli-

gible recipient, (see Paragraph (3) of

Subsection C of 8.310.8.13 NMAC below);

such psychological testing will not replace

the routine psychological testing provided

within the scope of the program;

(3) individual, group and family

therapy; which is additional to the core pro-

gram therapies and is performed by clini-

cians whose specialized training is neces-

sary to treat documented “extraordinary and

specific” [client] eligible recipient needs;

additional group therapy will be reimbursed

only for eligible recipients placed in treat-

ment foster care; conditions and circum-

stances which meet the definition of

“extraordinary and specific need”:

(a) complex diagnoses or symp-

tom presentations such as, but not limited

to, continuing psychotic features, persistent

aggression which does not remit with stan-

dard behavioral interventions, or secondary

encopresis;

(b) diagnostic questions which

are persistent, recurring, or complicated.

(c) clinical situations or condi-

tions which threaten further decompensa-

tion without intensive treatment.

D. Injections: [Medicaid]

MAD covers injections subject to the injec-

tion and pharmacy [policies] rules, See

8.310.2 NMAC, Medical Service Providers
and 8.324.4 NMAC, Pharmacy Services.

E. Medication review

visits: [Medicaid] MAD covers brief office

visits performed by an M.D., D.O, qualified

psychologist, qualified nurse as defined

above in [Paragraph (7) of] Subsection A of

8.310.8.10 NMAC for the sole purpose of

monitoring or changing prescriptions in the

treatment of covered disorders.

F. Treatment for sub-

stance abuse: [Medicaid covers up to
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twelve (12) hours of psychiatric therapy

services for the treatment of alcohol abuse

for recipients over twenty (20) years of

age.]  MAD covers medically necessary

outpatient services for the treatment of alco-

hol and substance abuse for eligible recipi-

ents.

G. Services provided to

recipients under [twenty-one] 21 years of

age: Additional services are covered for

eligible recipients under [twenty-one (21)]

21 years of age. See 8.320.2 NMAC,

EPSDT Services [MAD-740].

H. Disorders covered for

eligible recipients under [twenty-one] 21

years of age: [Medicaid] MAD covers

services for [the following disorders] per-

sonality disorders for eligible recipients

under [twenty-one (21)] 21 years of age

only [;

(1) personality disorders;

(2) substance abuse or depend-

ence].

2/1/95; 3/1/99; 8.310.8.13 NMAC - Rn, 8

NMAC 4.MAD.717.4 & A, 11/1/04; A,

11/1/05; A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.14 N O N C O V E R E D

SERVICES: [Mental] Behavioral health

professional services are subject to the lim-

itations and coverage restrictions which

exist for other [medicaid] MAD services.

See 8.301.3 NMAC, General Noncovered
Services [MAD-602].  [Medicaid] MAD

does not cover the following [mental]

behavioral health specific services:

A. hypnotherapy;

B. biofeedback;

C. [conditions] services

which do not meet the standard of medical

necessity as defined in [medicaid regula-

tions] MAD rules;

D. [conditions defined

only by V-codes in the current version of the

international classification of diseases

(however diagnoses which arise from con-

ditions defined by V-codes and which meet

the medicaid definition of medical necessi-

ty are covered);] conditions defined only by

V-codes in the current version of the inter-

national classification of diseases that are

not treatable conditions and do not meet the

MAD definition of medical necessity are

not covered;

E. treatment for personali-

ty disorders for adults age 21 and older;

F. treatment provided for

adults 21 and older in alcohol or drug [reha-

bilitation units] residential centers;

G. milieu therapy;

H. educational or voca-

tional services related to traditional academ-

ic subjects or vocational training;

I. experimental or investi-

gational procedures, technologies or non-

drug therapies and related services;

J. activity therapy, group

activities and other services which are pri-

marily recreational or diversional in nature; 

K. electroconvulsive ther-

apy;

L. services provided by

non-licensed counselors, therapists [and/or]

or social workers, except where exempted

by law; and

M. treatment of mental

retardation alone.

[2/1/95; 3/1/99; 8.310.8.14 NMAC - Rn, 8

NMAC 4.MAD.717.5, 11/1/04; A, 11/1/05;

A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.15 P R I O R

AUTHORIZATION AND

UTILIZATION REVIEW: All [medicaid]

MAD services may be subject to utilization

review for medical necessity and program

compliance.  Reviews may be performed

before services are furnished, after services

are furnished [and], before payment is

made, or after payment is made.  See

8.302.5 NMAC, Prior Authorization and
Utilization Review.  [Once enrolled,

providers receive instructions and docu-

mentation forms necessary for prior author-

ization and claims processing.] The

provider must contact HSD or its authorized

agents to request utilization review instruc-

tions.  It is the provider’s responsibility to

access these instructions or ask for paper

copies to be provided, to understand the

information provided, to comply with the

requirements, and to obtain answers to

questions not covered by these materials.

When services are billed to and paid by a

coordinated services contractor authorized

by HSD, the provider must follow that con-

tractor’s instructions for authorization of

services.

A. Prior authorization:

Certain procedures or services may require

prior authorization from MAD or its

designee.  [Any service may be reviewed

prospectively, concurrently or retrospec-

tively.] Services for which prior authoriza-

tion was obtained remain subject to utiliza-

tion review at any point in the payment

process, including after payment has been

made. See Subsection A of 8.311.2.16

NMAC, Covered Emergency Services
[MAD-721.71].

B. Eligibility determina-

tion: Prior authorization of services does

not guarantee that individuals are eligible

for medicaid or other health care programs.

Providers must verify that individuals are

eligible [for medicaid at the time services

are furnished and determine if medicaid

recipients have other health insurance] for a

specific program at the time services are

furnished and must determine if the eligible

recipient has other health insurance.

C. R e c o n s i d e r a t i o n :

Providers who disagree with prior authori-

zation request denials or other review deci-

sions can request a re-review and a recon-

sideration.  See 8.350.2 NMAC,

Reconsideration of Utilization Review
Decisions [MAD-953].

[2/1/95; 3/1/99; 8.310.8.15 NMAC - Rn, 8

NMAC 4.MAD.717.6, 11/1/04; A, 11/1/05;

A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.16 REIMBURSEMENT:

A. [Mental] Behavioral

health professional service providers must

submit claims for reimbursement on the

HCFA-1500 claim form or its successor.

See 8.302.2 NMAC, Billing for Medicaid
Services.  Once enrolled, providers receive

instructions on documentation, billing, and

claims processing.  Reimbursement to

providers for covered services is made at

the lesser of the following:

(1) the provider’s billed charge;

or

(2) the MAD fee schedule for the

specific service or procedure.

B. The provider’s billed

charge must be their usual and customary

charge for services.

C. “Usual and customary

charge” refers to the amount which the indi-

vidual provider charges the general public

in the majority of cases for a specific proce-

dure or service.

D. For [mental] behavioral

health professional service providers who

are members of a practice plan affiliated

with a state operated teaching hospital,

reimbursement will equal the lesser of the

provider’s billed charge or the average rate

paid for the service by commercial insurers

as established by MAD.  Providers eligible

to be paid under this part will be paid on an

interim claims-specific basis through the

MAD claims processing system.  The final

payment for services provided will be made

through a supplemental payment made in a

specified time period that reflects any dif-

ference between the interim payment

amounts and the average rate paid by com-

mercial insurers for the services.

E. [Mental] Behavioral

health [practitioners] providers requiring

supervision (see Subsection [C] E of

8.310.8.10 NMAC) cannot bill [medicaid]

MAD directly.  Services furnished by these

licensed [master’s level] providers are

billed by the eligible agencies identified in

Subsection [B] D of  8.310.8.10 NMAC,

above, whether they are employed or

whether they furnish services under con-

tract.

F. [Mental] Behavioral

health professional services must be provid-

ed directly to the eligible recipient by the

licensed [mental] behavioral health profes-

sionals listed in Subsection A of 8.310.8.10
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NMAC, above.  Services performed by

supervised master’s level providers, nurses,

bachelor’s level and other health profes-

sionals cannot be billed by the licensed

supervisors even though the services may

have been furnished under their direction.

G. Separate professional

component billing is allowed for [mental]

behavioral health services performed within

a hospital setting by psychiatrists and

licensed psychologists (Ph.D., Psy.D., or

Ed. D.).

H. For facility-based

providers, costs billed separately as a pro-

fessional component must be excluded from

the facility cost report prior to cost settle-

ment or rebasing.

[2/1/95; 3/1/99; 8.310.8.16 NMAC - Rn, 8

NMAC 4.MAD.717.7, 11/1/04; A, 11/1/05;

A, 7/16/08]

8.310.8.17 REIMBURSEMENT

FOR HOSPITAL-BASED SERVICES:

Reimbursement for office visits, diagnostic

procedures, or surgical services furnished in

hospital settings that are ordinarily fur-

nished in a provider’s office is paid at sixty

percent [(60%)] of the fee schedule-allowed

amount for each professional service.

[Medicaid] MAD follows medicare princi-

ples in determining which procedures are

subject to this payment reduction.

[8.310.8.17 NMAC - N, 11/1/05; A,

7/16/08]

B. By the end of the month

in which the certified list is received, the

board shall report to HSD the names of

board applicants and licensees who are on

the certified list and the action the board has

taken in connection with such applicants

and licensees.

C. Upon determination

that an applicant or licensee appears on the

certified list, the board shall issue a formal

letter giving the licensee until the next cer-

tified list is received from HSD to provide

the board with a statement of compliance

from HSD.  If the applicant or licensee fails

to provide this statement in the specified

time, the board shall, upon its own motion,

issue a notice of contemplated action

(NCA) in accordance with the Uniform

Licensing Act.

D. If an applicant or

licensee disagrees with the determination of

non-compliance, or wishes to come into

compliance, the applicant or licensee shall

contact the HSD child support enforcement

division.

E. In any hearing under

this section, relevant evidence is limited to

the following:  A statement of non-compli-

ance from HSD is conclusive evidence that

requires the board to take the appropriate

action under the Parental Responsibility

Act, unless the applicant or licensee pro-

vides the board with a statement of compli-

ance from HSD, which shall preclude the

board from taking action under this section.

F. When a disciplinary

action is taken under this section solely

because the applicant or licensee is not in

compliance with a judgment and order for

support, the board order shall state that the

application or license shall be reinstated

upon presentation of a subsequent statement

of compliance from HSD.  The board may

also include any other conditions necessary

to comply with board requirements for reap-

plications or reinstatement of lapsed licens-

es.

[16.10.6.29 NMAC - N, 7/22/08]

supervision of a licensed physician.

Licensed practitioners, including registered

nurses and physician assistants, are not con-

sidered to be medical assistants pursuant to

this rule.

C. [“Medical therapeutic

or cosmetic device” means a federal food

and drug administration approved prescrip-

tion device that uses waveform energy,

including, but not limited to lasers or

intense pulsed light, to alter human tissue.]

“Medical therapeutic or cosmetic med-

ical procedure, device, or treatment”

means a treatment or procedure that uses

any of the following, if the procedure or

treatment alters or damages or is capable of

altering or damaging living tissue, to

improve the patient’s appearance or to

achieve an enhanced aesthetic result:

(1) injection or insertion of a bio-

logic or synthetic substance for soft tissue

augmentation;

(2) application of a chemical sub-

stance;

(3) application of microwave

energy; or

(4) application of a federal food

and drug administration approved prescrip-

tion device that uses waveform energy of

any kind, including, but not limited to lasers

or intense pulsed light.

D. “Certified” means the

medical assistant has been awarded a cer-

tificate of completion of training by a physi-

cian trained to use the equipment, by a cer-

tified representative of the medical equip-

ment company, or [other] by another entity

qualified to offer the required training.

[16.10.13.7 NMAC - Rp 16 NMAC

10.13.7, 4/18/02; A, 12/30/05; A, 7/22/08]

16.10.13.8 USE OF MEDICAL

THERAPEUTIC AND COSMETIC

DEVICES.  Medical therapeutic or cosmet-

ic devices penetrate and alter human tissue

and can result in complications such as

visual impairment, blindness, inflammation,

burns, scarring, [hypopigmentation and

hyperpigmentation] hypo-pigmentation and

hyper-pigmentation.  The use of medical

therapeutic and cosmetic devices is the

practice of medicine as defined in Section

61-6-1 NMSA 1978.

A. Limitations.

(1) Medical assistants are limited

to using medical therapeutic and cosmetic

devices that are non-incisive and non-abla-

tive.

(2) Medical therapeutic and cos-

metic devices may only be used by a med-

ical assistant who is certified pursuant to

Subsection D of 16.10.13.7 NMAC and

when the supervising physician is immedi-

ately available on the premises.

B. Responsibility of the

supervising physician. A physician who is

trained in the safety and use of medical ther-
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NEW MEXICO MEDICAL

BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.10.6 NMAC,

Section 29, Effective July 22, 2008.

16.10.6.29 P A R E N T A L

RESPONSIBILITY ACT COMPLI-

ANCE. This section is adopted pursuant to

the Parental Responsibility Act Sections 40-

5A-1 through 40-5A-13 NMSA 1978.  If an

applicant for licensure or a licensee is iden-

tified by the state of New Mexico human

services department (HSD) as not in com-

pliance with a judgment and order for sup-

port relating to child support proceedings,

the board shall have grounds to deny an

application for a license, deny the renewal

of a license or to suspend or revoke a

license and shall initiate a notice of contem-

plated action (NCA) in accordance with the

Uniform Licensing Act, Sections 61-1-1

through 61-1-33 NMSA 1978, subject to the

following procedures.

A. Upon receipt of HSD’s

certified list of obligors not in compliance

with a judgment and order for support, the

board shall match the obligors’ names

against the board’s list of licensees and

applicants.

NEW MEXICO MEDICAL

BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.10.13

NMAC, Sections 7 and 8, Effective July

22, 2008.

16.10.13.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Supervising physi-

cian” means a physician licensed to prac-

tice in New Mexico who is responsible for

the patient’s care and will provide oversight

and guidance of the medical assistant.

B. “Medical assistant”

means any individual who is not licensed as

a healthcare practitioner in New Mexico

and is working under the direction and



apeutic or cosmetic devices may supervise

medical assistants who perform hair

removal and other therapeutic or cosmetic

procedures using devices that use waveform

energy consistent with the following

requirements.

(1) The supervising physician

must provide the following services before

treatment by a medical assistant is initiated:

patient history, physical examination, diag-

nosis, treatment protocol, and preparation

of medical record.

(2) The supervising physician

shall review any adverse outcomes or

changes in the treatment protocol.

(3) The supervising physician

shall assure the patient is informed and

aware that the individual performing the

procedure is a medical assistant and is under

the physician’s supervision.

(4) The supervising physician

shall provide the patient instructions for

emergency and follow-up care.

(5) The supervising physician

shall prepare a written protocol for the med-

ical assistant to follow when using the med-

ical therapeutic or cosmetic [devise] device.

The protocol may include pre and post care

treatment related to the procedure as long as

the treatment is topical and non-injectable.

The physician is responsible for ensuring

that the medical assistant uses the medical

therapeutic or cosmetic device only in

accordance with the written protocol and

does not exercise independent medical

judgment when using the device.

(6) The supervising physician

shall assure compliance with the training

and reporting requirements of this rule.

(7) The supervising physician is

ultimately responsible for the safety of the

patient, regardless of who performs the

treatment using the medical therapeutic or

cosmetic device or procedure.

C. Training require-

ments. Medical assistants who use medical

therapeutic or cosmetic devices must have

training and be certified on each device they

will use.  The training on each device must

include the following:

(1) physics and safety of the med-

ical therapeutic or cosmetic device;

(2) basic principle of the planned

procedure;

(3) clinical application of the

medical therapeutic or cosmetic device,

including wavelengths to be used;

(4) indications and contraindica-

tions for the use of the medical therapeutic

or cosmetic device;

(5) pre-operative and post-opera-

tive care;

(6) recognition and acute man-

agement of complications that may result

from the procedure; and

(7) infectious disease control pro-

cedures required for each procedure.

D. Reporting require-

ments. The supervising physician shall

complete a “certificate of training” form

and submit it to the board prior to the use of

a medical therapeutic or cosmetic device by

the medical assistant.  The form will be

device-specific and document training for

each medical therapeutic or cosmetic device

used by the medical assistant.

E. Public communica-

tion. Any public communication offering

the performance or administration of a cos-

metic medical procedure or treatment shall

identify the physician or surgeon responsi-

ble for the provision of, or the direct super-

vision of the procedure or treatment.

[16.10.13.8 NMAC - Rp 16 NMAC

10.13.8, 4/18/02; A, 12/30/05; A, 7/22/08]

cian-patient relationship.

[F. “Limitations” means

medications distributed by a physician

assistant shall be restricted to patients under

the direct care of the physician assistant and

shall be limited only to those medications

included in the formulary approved by the

Board of Medical Examiners and pertaining

to the scope of practice of the supervising

physician.]

F. “Established physi-

cian-patient relationship” means a rela-

tionship between a physician and a patient

that is for the purpose of maintaining the

patient’s well-being.  At a minimum, this

relationship is established by an interactive

encounter between patient and physician

involving an appropriate history and physi-

cal or mental status examination sufficient

to make a diagnosis and to provide, pre-

scribe or recommend treatment, with the

informed consent from the patient and

availability of the physician or coverage for

the patient for appropriate follow-up care.

A medical record must be generated by the

encounter.

G. “Licensed physician”

means a medical doctor licensed under the

Medical Practice Act to practice medicine in

New Mexico.

H. “Physician assistant”

means a health professional who is licensed

by the board to practice as a physician assis-

tant and who provides services to patients

under the supervision and direction of a

licensed physician.

[16.10.16.7 NMAC - Rp 16 NMAC

10.16.7, 7/15/01; A, 7/22/08]

16.10.16.8 ADMINISTERING

AND PRESCRIBING DANGEROUS

DRUGS

A. Physician assistants

may administer [dangerous drugs] formula-

ry drugs; including Schedule II-V con-

trolled substances, where there is an estab-

lished physician-patient relationship, under

the direction of the supervising physician [,

subject to the following:]. Physician assis-

tants must comply with all other state and

federal laws regulating the administration

and prescribing of controlled substances.

[(1) Physician assistants may only

administer those drugs designated in a

board-approved formulary.  The supervising

physician, based upon the physician’s spe-

cialty and scope of practice, may request

from the board additions to or deletions

from the formulary.

(2) Physician assistants may

administer dangerous drugs other than con-

trolled substances in Schedule I of the

Controlled Substances Act (30-31-1 et seq.

NMSA 1978).

(3) Physician assistants must

comply with all other state and federal laws

New Mexico Register / Volume XIX, Number 13 / July 16, 2008 565

NEW MEXICO MEDICAL

BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.10.16

NMAC, Sections 1, 7, 8 and 9, Effective

July 22, 2008.

16.10.16.1 ISSUING AGENCY:

New Mexico [Board of Medical Examiners]

Medical Board, hereafter called the board.

[16.10.16.1 NMAC - Rp 16 NMAC

10.16.1, 7/15/01; A, 7/22/08]

16.10.16.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Prescribe” means to

issue an order individually for the person

for whom prescribed, either directly from

the prescriber to the pharmacist or indirect-

ly by means of a written order signed by the

prescriber, bearing the name and address of

the prescriber, license classification, the

name and address of the patient, the name of

the drug prescribed, direction for use and

the date of issue.

B. “Administer” means to

apply a prepackaged drug directly to the

body of a patient by any means.

C. “Dispense” means to

deliver a drug directly to a patient and

includes the compounding, labeling and

repackaging of a drug from a bulk or origi-

nal container.

D. “Distribute” means to

administer or supply to a patient under the

direct care of the distributing physician

assistant one or more doses of drugs

prepackaged by a licensed pharmacist and

excludes the compounding or repackaging

from a bulk or original container.

E. “Formulary” means

[the list of drugs] any dangerous drugs;

including Schedule II-V controlled sub-

stances, physician assistants may use in the

care of patients [as determined by the

Board] where there is an established physi-



regulating the administration and prescrib-

ing of controlled substances.

(4) The board, by motion, may

delegate the decision to add to or subtract

from a physician assistant’s formulary

under this section to the president or to the

secretary-treasurer of the board.]

B. Physician assistants

may prescribe [dangerous drugs] formulary

drugs; including Schedule II-V controlled

substances, where there is an established

physician-patient relationship, under the

direction of the supervising physician, [sub-

ject to the following:] and may telephone

prescriptions to pharmacies for any drug

they are authorized to prescribe.

[(1) Physician assistants may only

prescribe those drugs designated in a board-

approved formulary.  Additions to or dele-

tions from the formulary may be requested

by the supervising physician based upon the

physician’s specialty and scope of practice.

(2) Physician assistants may pre-

scribe dangerous drugs other than con-

trolled substances in Schedule I of the

Controlled Substances Act (30-31-1 et seq.

NMSA 1978).

(3) Physician assistants may tele-

phone prescriptions to pharmacies for any

drug they are authorized to prescribe.

(4) The board, by motion, may

delegate the decision to add to or subtract

from a physician assistant’s formulary

under this section to the president or to the

secretary-treasurer of the board.]

C. Physician assistants

may prescribe on a prescription pad that

shall contain the following:

(1) the name, business address

and telephone number of the supervising

physician;

(2) the name, title and New

Mexico license number of the physician

assistant;

(3) if the signature line is without

MD, PA, or PA-C printed after it, the PA or

PA-C must add the designation “PA” or

“PA-C” at the end of the signature line when

signing a prescription; if the PA or PA-C

must of necessity use a prescription pre-

printed with “MD” at the end of the line, the

designation “MD” must be clearly crossed

out and “PA” or “PA-C” must be added;

(4) when the physician assistant

leaves the supervision [and/or] or employ of

the supervising physician, or there is a

change in the supervising or alternate physi-

cians, the supervising physician shall imme-

diately notify the board.

[16.10.16.8 NMAC - Rp 16 NMAC

10.16.8, 7/15/01; A, 7/22/08]

16.10.16.9 DISTRIBUTION OF

MEDICATIONS

A. It must be clear to the

physician and to the physician assistant that

the intent of the legislature and of the board

is that a physician assistant is not to func-

tion as a pharmacist in the general sense of

that licensee’s duties.  Dispensing, as

defined by statute and this document, is not

a physician assistant’s job and is prohibited.

Distribution of a limited supply of medica-

tion to facilitate the medical needs of a

patient may be done by a physician assistant

under the direction of the supervising physi-

cian.  Physician assistants may distribute

dangerous drugs [other than controlled sub-

stances in schedule I of the Controlled

Substances Act] where there is an estab-

lished physician-patient relationship;

including Schedule II-V controlled sub-

stances.

B. Distribution of a med-

ication shall be restricted to medications

repackaged by a licensed pharmacist or a

pharmaceutical manufacturer or re-pack-

ager.  Physician assistants may request,

receive and sign for professional sample

medications and may distribute sample

medications to patients.  A log must be kept

of distributed medications in accordance

with board of pharmacy regulations.

Samples requested/received would be

appropriate to the scope of the supervising

physician’s practice and would be consis-

tent with [the BOME approved drug formu-

lary] board of pharmacy regulations.

C. Any medication distrib-

uted to a patient will be properly labeled

with the following: patient name, date of

issue, drug name and strength, instructions

for use, drug expiration date, number dis-

tributed, name of prescriber, address and

phone number of prescriber, and pharmacist

or manufacturer/repackager identification.

D. Labeling may be via

hand-written or pre-printed fill-in labels.

The above information shall also be proper-

ly documented in the patient’s medical

record, including the amount of medication

provided.

[16.10.16.9 NMAC - Rp 16 NMAC

10.16.9, 7/15/01; A, 7/22/08]

shall apply to school districts and charter

schools.

[6.30.10.2 NMAC - N, 7-16-08]

6.30.10.3 S T A T U T O R Y

AUTHORITY: Sections 22-2-1, 22-2-2,

and 22-13-1.1.

[6.30.10.3 NMAC - N, 7-16-08]

6.30.10.4 D U R A T I O N :

Permanent.

[6.30.10.4 NMAC - N, 7-16-08]

6.30.10.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

July 16, 2008, unless a later date is cited at

the end of a section.

[6.30.10.5 NMAC - N, 7-16-08]

6.30.10.6 OBJECTIVE: The

purpose of this rule is to establish minimal

requirements for those school districts and

charter schools that seek to permit changes

to a student’s final course grades, and to

require that school districts and charter

schools adopt written policies for any

change to a student’s grade.  While a change

in a final course grade should be the excep-

tion and not the rule once a classroom

teacher has issued a final course grade, the

enactment of written policies coupled with

consistent application of those policies

should result in the changing of grades only

when warranted and should lead to

increased public confidence in the process.

[6.30.10.6 NMAC - N, 7-16-08]

6.30.10.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Department” means

the New Mexico public education depart-

ment and is identified by the acronym, PED.

B. “FERPA” means rights,

pursuant to 20 U.S. Code 1232g and 34

CFR Part 99, afforded to parents and stu-

dents over 18 years of age with respect to

the student’s education records, that include

the right to inspect and review the student’s

education records within 45 days, the right

to request amendment to the student’s edu-

cation records for various reasons, the right

to consent or refuse to consent to disclo-

sures of personally identifiable information

in the student’s records except for those

records FERPA authorizes disclosure with-

out consent, and the right to file a complaint

with the U. S. department of education con-

cerning non-compliance with FERPA.

[6.30.10.7 NMAC - N, 7-16-08]

6.30.10.8 REQUIREMENTS:

A. Nothing in this rule is

intended to prevent a school district or char-

ter school from permitting a teacher who

has issued a course grade from changing or

directing the changing of that grade due to

clear mistake or clerical error.  Such grade

changes involving corrections of clerical

errors should be authorized, documented
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TITLE 6 PRIMARY AND

SECONDARY EDUCATION

CHAPTER 30 E D U C A T I O N A L

STANDARDS - GENERAL REQUIRE-

MENTS

PART 10 FINAL COURSE

AND OTHER STUDENT GRADE

CHANGES

6.30.10.1 ISSUING AGENCY:

Public Education Department

[6.30.10.1 NMAC - N, 7-16-08]

6.30.10.2 SCOPE: This rule



and conducted in the manner determined by

the district or charter school in a duly adopt-

ed written policy.

B. Except as provided in

Subsection A of Section 6.30.10.8 NMAC,

no school district or charter school shall

permit the changing of a student’s final

course grade until a course grade change

policy is adopted or amended by the local

school board or governing authority of a

charter school as set forth below.  A local

school board or governing authority of a

charter school that permits or seeks to per-

mit the changing of a student’s final course

grade shall adopt a policy that includes the

following minimum components:

(1) the policy permits a course

grade change upon receipt of a signed writ-

ten request from a student’s parent(s) or

legal guardian or student of legal age that

states the reasons for the requested grade

change;

(2) the policy requires a written

response to the grade change request by a

set deadline that states, among other things,

whether the request is denied or allowed

and the grade entered if allowed;

(3) a grade change is based on

articulated reasons that are stated in the

response such as extenuating circum-

stances, additional graded work submitted

by the student, additional or make-up test-

ing, or any other meaningful criteria that

can be verified;

(4) a grade change is equally

available to all students who are similarly

situated;

(5) the policy requires strict

adherence to FERPA;

(6) the policy requires a good

faith attempt to obtain the written input of

the student’s classroom teacher who issued

the grade in dispute, who shall state reasons

to support or oppose the requested grade

change and shall not be pressured into or

retaliated against for making a certain rec-

ommendation;

(7) the policy requires the final

written response to be made and signed in

each case by a clearly designated person or

group of persons who approve(s) a final

course grade change and shall bear respon-

sibility for ensuring that the local school

board or governing authority’s policy was

followed;

(8) the policy requires, unless a

student is still enrolled in the school district

or charter at the time of the grade change

request, the request to be within a reason-

able period of time after the student has

exited the school unless extenuating cir-

cumstances permit consideration of a longer

time;

(9) determines if course grade

change documents are to be maintained in a

student’s permanent record or maintained in

a separate file that is destroyed after the stu-

dent graduates, transfers from, or otherwise

leaves the school; and

(10) in no way limits or elimi-

nates the rights afforded to parents under

federal regulations 34 CFR Sections

300.618 through 300.621 under the

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act,

and 34 CFR Sections 99.20 through 99.22

under FERPA, both as they relate to amend-

ment of a student’s educational records.

C. A school district or

charter school can impose stricter measures

than provided for in this section or elect not

to permit any final course grade changes.

Stricter measures may include the conven-

ing of a grade change committee or address-

ing verbal input from parents.  Additionally,

a school district or charter school that per-

mits final course grade changes can adopt or

amend their employee discipline policies to

address violations of or non-compliance

with those policies.  Any bargaining unit

agreements for adopting policies that affect

conditions of employment or licensed

employee discipline should be followed.

D. A local school board or

governing authority of a charter school that

seeks to permit the changing of a student’s

grade on a test or class assignment shall

adopt a policy that establishes criteria to be

applied and the procedures to be followed.

No such policy shall permit changing any

test results on statewide tests used to deter-

mine adequate yearly progress or gradua-

tion from high school.  However, where

there is a need to change such a grade due to

a clearly clerical mistake as where a student

has been misidentified, the district or char-

ter school shall promptly notify the assess-

ment and accountability division of the

department for guidance.

[6.30.10.8 NMAC - N, 7-16-08]

6.30.10.9 UNPROFESSIONAL

CONDUCT:

A. It shall be considered

unprofessional conduct pursuant to

Paragraph (23) of Subsection C of 6.60.9.9

NMAC for anyone holding or seeking to

renew their licensure issued by the depart-

ment to:

(1) permit the changing of a stu-

dent’s final course grade contrary to the

course grade change policy adopted by a

local school board or governing authority of

a charter school;

(2) knowingly withhold material

information when asked on whether a stu-

dent’s grade should or should not be

changed; or

(3) provide written recommenda-

tion for, or make a final written response

allowing, a final course grade change know-

ing that a grade change under the circum-

stances is not warranted or that there has

been a material non-compliance with the

district’s or charter school’s grade change

policy.

B. Any adverse licensure

proceeding commenced by the department

under this rule shall be conducted pursuant

to the Uniform Licensure Act [Sections 61-

1-1 through 61-1-31 NMSA 1978] together

with any applicable rule of the department.

[6.30.10.9 NMAC - N, 7-16-08]

HISTORY OF 6.30.10 NMAC:

[Reserved]
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Notice of Repeal

1.18.770 NMAC, ERRDS, Corrections

Department, filed May 16, 2001, is hereby

repealed and replaced with the new

1.18.770 NMAC, ERRDS, Corrections

Department, effective July 21, 2008.

NEW MEXICO

COMMISSION OF PUBLIC

RECORDS

Leo R. Lucero, Agency Analysis Bureau

Chief

NM Commission of Public Records

1205 Camino Carlos Rey

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87507

Mr. Lucero:

You recently requested to publish a synop-

sis in lieu of publishing the full content of

the following rules:

* 1.18.446 NMAC E R R D S ,

New Mexico Medical Board, and 

* 1.18.770 NMAC E R R D S ,

Corrections Department.

A review of the rules shows that their

impact is limited to the individual agency to

which it pertain, and it is “unduly cumber-

some, expensive or otherwise inexpedient”

to publish.  Therefore, your request to pub-

lish a synopsis for it is approved.

Sincerely,

Sandra Jaramillo

State Records Administrator

SJ/lrl



NEW MEXICO

COMMISSION OF PUBLIC

RECORDS

SYNOPSIS

1.18.770 NMAC   ERRDS, Corrections

Department

1.  Subject matter: 1.18.770 NMAC,

Executive Records Retention and

Disposition Schedule for the Corrections

Department.  This rule is new and replaces

1.18.770 NMAC ERRDS, Corrections

Department an outdated version that was

filed on 5/16/2001.  This records retention

and disposition schedule is a timetable for

the management of specific records series

for the Corrections Department.  It

describes each record series by record

name, record function, record content,

record filing system, and record retention.

The record retention is the life cycle of each

records series.  It indicates the retention or

length of time a record series must be main-

tained by the office as well as its final dis-

position.  The retention and disposition

requirements in this rule are based on the

legal and use requirements of the records as

well as on their administrative, fiscal and

archival value.  This rule was developed by

the Records Management Division of the

State Records Center and Archives (New

Mexico Commission of Public Records)

and approved by the State Records

Administrator, the New Mexico

Commission of Public Records and the

Corrections Department.

2.  Persons affected: The persons affected

are the record producing and record keeping

personnel of the Corrections Department.

Persons and entities normally subject to the

rules and regulations of the Corrections

Department may also be directly or indi-

rectly affected by this rule.

3.  Interests of persons affected: Interests

include the records produced and main-

tained by the Corrections Department.

4.  Geographical applicability:

Geographical applicability is limited to

areas within the State of New Mexico cov-

ered by the Corrections Department.  Any

person or entity outside the covered geo-

graphical area that conducts business with

or through the Corrections Department may

also be affected by this rule.

5.  Commercially published materials

incorporated: The New Mexico Statutes

Annotated 1978 were used as reference in

the development of this rule.  However, they

do not constitute a substantial portion of this

rule.

6.  Telephone number and address of

issuing agency: New Mexico State

Records Center and Archives, 1205 Camino

Carlos Rey, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87507.

Telephone number:  (505) 476-7900.

7.  Effective date of this rule: July 21,

2008.

Certification

As counsel for the State Commission of

Public Records, I certify that this synopsis

provides adequate notice of the content of

1.18.770 NMAC   ERRDS, Corrections

Department.

______________________________

Stephen Vigil Date

Assistant Attorney General

3.  Interests of persons affected: Interests

include the records produced and main-

tained by the New Mexico Medical Board.

4.  Geographical applicability:

Geographical applicability is limited to

areas within the State of New Mexico cov-

ered by the New Mexico Medical Board.

Any person or entity outside the covered

geographical area that conducts business

with or through the New Mexico Medical

Board may also be affected by this rule.

5.  Commercially published materials

incorporated: The New Mexico Statutes

Annotated 1978 were used as reference in

the development of this rule.  However, they

do not constitute a substantial portion of this

rule.

6.  Telephone number and address of

issuing agency: New Mexico State

Records Center and Archives, 1205 Camino

Carlos Rey, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87507.

Telephone number:  (505) 476-7900.

7.  Effective date of this rule: July 21,

2008.

Certification

As counsel for the State Commission of

Public Records, I certify that this synopsis

provides adequate notice of the content of

1.18.446 NMAC   ERRDS, New Mexico

Medical Board.

______________________________

Stephen Vigil Date

Assistant Attorney General
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1.18.446 NMAC   ERRDS, New Mexico

Medical Board

1.  Subject matter: 1.18.446 NMAC,

Executive Records Retention and

Disposition Schedule for the New Mexico

Medical Board.  This records retention and

disposition schedule is a timetable for the

management of specific records series for

the New Mexico Medical Board.  It

describes each record series by record

name, record function, record content,

record filing system, and record retention.

The record retention is the life cycle of each

records series.  It indicates the retention or

length of time a record series must be main-

tained by the office as well as its final dis-

position.  The retention and disposition

requirements in this rule are based on the

legal and use requirements of the records as

well as on their administrative, fiscal and

archival value.  This rule was developed by

the Records Management Division of the

State Records Center and Archives (New

Mexico Commission of Public Records)

and approved by the State Records

Administrator, the New Mexico

Commission of Public Records and the New

Mexico Medical Board.

2.  Persons affected: The persons affected

are the record producing and record keeping

personnel of the New Mexico Medical

Board.  Persons and entities normally sub-

ject to the rules and regulations of the New

Mexico Medical Board may also be directly

or indirectly affected by this rule.

NEW MEXICO

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC

SAFETY
STATE POLICE DIVISION

This is an amendment to 10.5.400 NMAC,

Sections 5 and 8, effective July 16, 2008.

This rule was also renumbered and refor-

matted to comply with current NMAC

requirements.

10.5.400.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

June 1, 1987, unless a later date is cited at

the end of a section [or paragraph.

Repromulgated in NMAC format effective

December 31, 1998].

[6/1/87, 12/31/98; 10.5.400.5 NMAC - Rn

& A, 10 NMAC 5.400.5, 7/16/2008]

10.5.400.8 VEHICLES AND

EQUIPMENT:

A. All personnel will prop-

erly care for and use any state vehicles

issued for their use and will also be



acquainted with, and will follow established

procedures dealing with the proper opera-

tion and care of automobiles.

B. The vehicle and all

equipment will be kept orderly, accessible

and clean.

C. All department vehicles

will be used strictly for official business,

except as specified in Paragraph (2) of

Subsection C of 10.5.400.8 NMAC below.

(1) Permission must be obtained

from the district/bureau commander in each

instance in which unauthorized, non-depart-

mental or non-police personnel are riding in

police cars.

(a) This applies to both marked

and unmarked units.

(b) Authorized personnel include

those who are in contact with department

personnel and must ride in the vehicles due

to the nature of the department business.

(2) Employees while on official

business who are away from their assigned

duty station for a 24 hour minimum period

may use the department vehicle for person-

al purposes on a reasonable basis during

off-duty hours.  Consumption of alcohol to

any degree in conjunction with use of

departmental vehicle is prohibited.

(3) Vehicles will not be transport-

ed across international borders without per-

mission from the district/section command-

er unless the officer is a captain in which

case he must secure permission from his

immediate supervisor.  Those at rank above

captain may use own discretion.

D. When vehicles are

being used, the employee will maintain a

legal speed.  When required to exceed the

speed limit, the officer will assure that the

emergency lights and siren are on unless the

existing circumstances would make this

procedure inadvisable.

[E. An officer is not per-

mitted to use the department vehicle to

commute from his/her home to his/her per-

manently assigned station when the dis-

tance between home and station is more

than 25 miles, unless the officer is required

to travel out-of-town away from his/her sta-

tion or the officer is on-call for a specific

purpose.

F.] E. When any

major or minor repairs are necessary, every

effort will be made to have the repairs com-

pleted at the headquarters garage (for head-

quarters, district 1 and district 7 personnel)

or district garage (for district personnel) or

nearest state police garage.  When it is nec-

essary to complete repairs through a private

garage as determined by an employee’s

immediate supervisor, an itemized invoice

properly signed by the employee will be

mailed to the financial banagement bureau

at headquarters by the vendor at the end of

the month.

(1) Supervisors may authorize

repairs under $150.00 and only fleet man-

agement may authorize repairs costing over

$150.00.

(2) All supervisors must be famil-

iar with warranty provisions of the vehicle

being repaired.

[G.] F. Equipment that is not

state property may be affixed to departmen-

tal vehicles but only upon written authority

of the chief.  The equipment will be

attached to the vehicle in such a manner so

as not to leave damage to the vehicle upon

removal of the equipment.

[H.] G. All departmental vehi-

cles shall be equipped with the following

items at all times:

(1) flashlight, axe, shovel, first

aid kit, flares, jack, fuses and fire extin-

guisher;

(2) the fire extinguisher must be

refilled within a reasonable time after each

use and first aid kit kept complete at all

times;

(3) the above items are optional

with vehicles assigned to C.I.D. except for

fire extinguisher.

[I.] H. Specific equipment in

addition to those listed above are assigned

to certain employees.  The following lists

some of that equipment and identifies the

disposition of the equipment when certain

instances arise.

(1) The operation of the radio

must adhere to departmental procedures as

well as federal communication commission

(FCC) rules and regulations with those

vehicles which are equipped with mobile

radio equipment.

(2) The employee who is respon-

sible for the vehicle equipped with a mobile

radio, must assure that the trunk of the vehi-

cle is kept clean and that other equipment is

not on top of the radio set.

(3) The radio communications

bureau of GSD is responsible for the proper

maintenance and periodic inspections of all

mobile and fixed radio equipment.

(4) All officers operating citizens

band radios in state police vehicles must

properly care for and maintain these radios

and use according to FCC rules and regula-

tions. Approval for installation must be

secured from the chief if Subsection G of

10.5.400.8 NMAC applies.

[J.] I. Tactical, diving and

explosive ordnance teams are issued equip-

ment relative to the functions of those

teams.  The commander of each team is

responsible for assuring proper mainte-

nance and storage of equipment issued.

[K.] J. The baton is a defen-

sive weapon that will be used at the discre-

tion of the officer and method of use

according to instruction received.

[L.] K. All broken or damaged

equipment will be delivered or shipped to

the general services bureau at headquarters.

[M.] L. When any employee

loses any state equipment through either

misplacement or theft that employee may be

required to reimburse the department as

determined in the following and must

immediately report the loss to the office of

the chief.

(1) The office of professional

standards and internal affairs may conduct

an investigation into all instances of report-

ed lost or stolen property.  If the employee

is scheduled for release from employment,

the investigation will be conducted by the

last day of the employee’s employment.

(2) If the loss is determined to

have been a result of negligence on the part

of the employee, the employee will reim-

burse the department at the replacement

cost.

(a) If the employee is still

employed with the department the employ-

ee must make reimbursement within 60

days after the employee has been notified of

the determination of negligence.

(b) If the employee is scheduled

for retirement or has resigned or has been

terminated, the employee must make imme-

diate reimbursement.

(3) If the property is subsequently

recovered at any time, and the employee

was required to make reimbursement, the

employee’s payment may be returned.  The

amount of reimbursement to the employee

will be determined by the extent of damage,

if any, and the operable condition of the

equipment.

[12/31/98; 10.5.400.8 NMAC - Rn &A, 10

NMAC 5.400.8, 7/16/2008]
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NEW MEXICO BOARD OF

EXAMINERS FOR

ARCHITECTS

New Mexico Board of Examiners for

Architects

PO Box 509

Santa Fe, NM

505-982-2869

Regular Meeting

The New Mexico Board of

Examiners for Architects will hold a regular

open meeting of the Board in Santa Fe, New

Mexico on Friday, August 1, 2008.  The

meeting will be held in the Conference

Room of the Board office, #5 Calle Medico,

Ste. C in Santa Fe beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Disciplinary matters may also be discussed.

If you are an individual with a

disability who is in need of a reader, ampli-

fier, qualified sign language interpreter, or

other form of auxiliary aid or service to

attend or participate in the meeting, please

contact the Board Office at 982-2869 at

least one week prior to the meeting.  Public

documents, including the agenda and min-

utes can be provided in various accessible

formats.  Please contact the Board Office if

a summary or other type of accessible for-

mat is needed.
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