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Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules
NEW MEXICO CHILDREN,

YOUTH AND FAMILIES
DEPARTMENT

FAMILY SERVICES DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The New Mexico Children, Youth and
Families Department, Family Services
Licensing and Certification Authority will
hold a formal public hearing on Tuesday,
February 15, 2005 from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m., in
the conference room at the Family Services
Offices at 1920 5th Street; Santa Fe, New
Mexico, to receive public comments regard-
ing an amendment of 7.20.12 NMAC
Licensing Requirements for Child and
Adolescent Mental Health Facilities.  This
regulation sets forth the licensing require-
ments for residential and day treatment
facilities.  The proposed amendment to
7.20.12 NMAC will eliminate licensing
requirements for day treatment facilities.

The proposed amendment may be reviewed,
or a copy obtained during the regular busi-
ness hours of Family Services; 1920 5th
Street; Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505.
Please address inquiries to the attention of
Kurt Johnson.

Interested persons may testify at the hearing
or submit written comments at the above
address no later than 9:00 a.m. February 15,
2005.  Written comments will be given the
same consideration as oral testimony given
at the hearing.

If you are a person with a disability and you
require this information in an alternative
format or require special accommodations
to participate in the public hearing, please
contact Family Services at 505-827-9932.
Family Services requests at least 10 days
advance notice to provide requested alterna-
tive formats and special accommodations.

Care Facility Loan Act, at 8.16.3 NMAC.
This regulation sets forth the eligibility and
application requirements, and evaluation
process, for obtaining a loan from the child
care facility revolving loan fund.

The proposed amendment may be reviewed,
or a copy obtained during the regular busi-
ness hours of Family Services; 1920 5th
Street; Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505.
Please address inquiries to the attention of
Kurt Johnson.

Interested persons may testify at the hearing
or submit written comments at the above
address no later than 3:00 p.m. February 15,
2005.  Written comments will be given the
same consideration as oral testimony given
at the hearing.

If you are a person with a disability and you
require this information in an alternative
format or require special accommodations
to participate in the public hearing, please
contact Family Services at 505-476-0465.
Family Services requests at least 10 days
advance notice to provide requested alterna-
tive formats and special accommodations.

432-6217, TDD 1-800-609-4TDD (4833),
or through the New Mexico Relay System
toll free at 1-800-659-8331.  The
Department requests at least a 10-day
advance notice to provide requested alterna-
tive formats and special accommodations.

Individuals wishing to testify or requesting
a copy of the proposed regulation should
contact the Income Support Division, P.O.
Box 2348, Pollon Plaza, Santa Fe, NM
87505-2348, or by calling toll free 1-800-
432-6217.

Individuals who do not wish to attend the
hearing may submit written or recorded
comments.  Written or recorded comments
must be received by 5:00 PM on the date of
the hearing.  Please send comments to:

Pamela S. Hyde, J.D., Secretary
Human Services Department
P.O. Box 2348  Pollon Plaza
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348

You may send comments electronically to:
Ted.Roth@state.nm.us

NEW MEXICO CHILDREN,
YOUTH AND FAMILIES

DEPARTMENT
FAMILY SERVICES DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The New Mexico Children, Youth and
Families Department, Family Services,
Child Care Licensing Authority will hold a
formal public hearing on Tuesday, February
15, 2005 from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m., in the con-
ference room at the Family Services Offices
at 1920 5th Street; Santa Fe, New Mexico,
to receive public comments regarding the
new regulation implementing the Child

NEW MEXICO HUMAN
SERVICES DEPARTMENT

INCOME SUPPORT DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Human Services Department will hold
a public hearing to consider adopting
revised rules in the New Mexico General
Assistance Program.  The hearing will be
held at 9:00 am on Monday, February 14,
2005. The hearing will be held at the
Income Support Division conference room,
2009 S. Pacheco St., Santa Fe, NM.  The
conference room is located in Room 120 on
the lower level.

The Department proposes to revise General
Assistance regulations at 8.106 NMAC.
The Department has identified a contradic-
tion in the rules at 8.106 NMAC concerning
the right to apply.  The Department propos-
es to amend the rules at 8.106.120.9 B,
8.106.420.12 B and 8.106.420.15 E to clar-
ify establishing certification periods, appli-
cation processing procedures for failure to
meet established contingency requirements,
and caseworker responsibilities for a dis-
ability determination for time-limited dis-
ability.

If you are a person with a disability and you
require this information in an alternative
format or require a special accommodation
to participate in the public hearing, please
contact the Department toll free at 1-800-

NEW MEXICO MEDICAL
BOARD

NEW MEXICO MEDICAL BOARD

Notice

The New Mexico Medical Board
will convene a regular Board Meeting on
Thursday, February 17, 2005 at 8:00 a.m.
and Friday, February 18, 2005 at 8:00 a.m.
in the Conference Room, 2055 S. Pacheco,
Building 400, Santa Fe, New Mexico.  A
Public Rule Hearing will be held on
Thursday, February 17, 2005 at 1:30 p.m.
The Board will reconvene after the Hearing
to take action on the proposed rules.  The
Board may enter into Executive Session
during the meeting to discuss licensing or
limited personnel issues.

The purpose of the Rule Hearing
is to consider amending 16.10.1 NMAC
(General Provisions), 16.10.2 NMAC
(Physicians:  Licensure Requirements),
16.10.4 NMAC (Continuing Medical
Education), 16.10.5 NMAC (Disciplinary
Power of the Board), 16.10.7 NMAC
(License Expiration, Renewal, and
Reinstatement), 16.10.9 NMAC (Fees) and
16.10.14 (Management of Chronic Pain
with Controlled Substances.)  These
changes will correct the titles of the board
officers, amend the initial licensing process,
change license expiration policy, delete the
requirement for payment of costs in disci-
plinary cases, add language related to online



renewals, increase specific fees, establish
guidelines for the treatment of physicians in
chronic pain, and make other minor editing
changes.

A final agenda for the board meet-
ing will be available at the board office on
February 16, 2005.  Persons desiring to
present their views on the proposed amend-
ments may appear in person at said time and
place or may submit written comments no
later than 5:00 p.m., February 11, 2005, to
the board office, 2055 S. Pacheco, Building
400, Santa Fe, NM, 87505.  Copies of the
proposed rules are available on request from
the Board office at the address listed above,
by phone (505) 476-7220, or on the Internet
at www.nmmb@state.nm.us.

If you are an individual with a
disability who is in need of a reader, ampli-
fier, qualified sign language interpreter, or
any other form of auxiliary aid or service in
order to attend or participate in the hearing
or meeting, please contact Lynnelle Tipton,
Administrative Assistant at 2055 S.
Pacheco, Building 400, Santa Fe, NM at
least one week prior to the meeting.  Public
documents, including the agenda and min-
utes, can be provided in various accessible
formats.  Please contact the Executive
Director if a summary or other type of
accessible format is needed.
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NEW MEXICO 
DEPARTMENT OF

FINANCE AND 
ADMINISTRATION

This is an amendment to 2.40.2 NMAC,
Sections 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 15 and
16, effective January 14, 2005.  This rule
was also reformatted and renumbered from
2 NMAC 40.2 to comply with current
NMAC requirements.

TITLE 2 PUBLIC FINANCE
CHAPTER 40 EXPENDITURE OF
PUBLIC FUNDS
PART 2 GOVERNING THE
APPROVAL OF CONTRACTS FOR
THE PURCHASE OF PROFESSIONAL
SERVICES

2.40.2.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Department of Finance and Administration.
[5-15-97; 2.40.2.1 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC
40.2.1, 1-14-2005]

2.40.2.2 SCOPE:
A. The contracts review

bureau of the department of finance and
administration shall review and approve all
professional services contracts which result
in expenditures equal to or greater than fif-
teen hundred dollars ($1500), excluding
gross receipts tax, and all amendments to
those contracts for all state agencies except
as provided in Subsections B and C of
Section 2.40.2.2 NMAC of this rule.
Contracts expending public funds in accor-
dance with the Procurement Code, Sections
13-1-28 to 13-1-199 NMSA 1978 as amend-
ed are included within the scope of this rule.

B. The following state
agencies are currently exempt from submit-
ting professional services contracts and
amendments through the contracts review
bureau of the department of finance and
administration:

(1) state agencies within the judi-
cial branch of government as defined by the
New Mexico Constitution, Article VI;

(2) state agencies within the leg-
islative branch of government as defined by
the New Mexico Constitution, Article IV;

(3) state educational institutions
as defined by the New Mexico Constitution,
Article XII, Section 11 and Chapter 21,
Articles 13, 14, 16 and 17 NMSA 1978;

(4) the state fair pursuant to
Section 16-6-8 NMSA 1978;

(5) the New Mexico public school
insurance authority pursuant to Sections
[22-2-6.6 (F) and 22-2-6.8] 22-29-6 (F) and
22-29-8 NMSA 1978 for contracts for
procuring goods or services and paying for

insurance or insurance-related services;
(6) the New Mexico mortgage

finance authority pursuant to Section 58-18-
20 NMSA 1978;

[(7) the peanut commission pur-
suant to Section 76-17-8 NMSA 1978;]

[(8)] (7) the livestock board pur-
suant to Section 77-2-10 NMSA 1978; and

[(9)] (8) other state agencies
exempt by statute.

C. Pursuant to Section 6-
5-9 NMSA 1978, the secretary of the
department of finance and administration
may exempt a state agency’s contracts from
contracts review bureau review and
approval when the secretary of the depart-
ment of finance and administration deter-
mines that efficiency or economy so
requires. A state agency seeking an exemp-
tion must:

(1) apply in writing to the secre-
tary of the department of finance and
administration; and

(2) meet all of the following
requirements:

(a) issue its own warrants;
(b) be exempt from prior submis-

sion of vouchers or purchase orders to the
financial control division of the department
of finance and administration;

(c) receive the majority of its
money from non-general fund sources;

(d) maintain pre-audit and post-
audit fiscal accounting controls;

(e) maintain and operate its own
administrative unit for procurement and
controls its own encumbrance of funds
available for professional service contracts;

(f) provide administrative control
and review of professional services con-
tracts through its own administrative unit;
and

(g) employs in-house counsel to
prepare, review, and approve professional
services contracts for form and legal suffi-
ciency and to advise the state agency with
respect to all applicable laws and regula-
tions; provided, however, that the attorney
general shall also review and approve all
contracts subject to [Subparagraphs (a) or
(b) of] Paragraph (1) of Subsection C of
2.40.2.10 NMAC of this rule prior to
approval and execution by the state agency.
[7-1-76, 8-15-77, 7-1-78, 7-1-84, 7-10-85,
7-1-87, 12-20-89, 5-15-97, 7-1-01; 2.40.2.2
NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC 40.2.2, 1-14-
2005]

2.40.2.3 S T A T U T O R Y
AUTHORITY:

A. Sections 13-1-118 and
13-1-125 NMSA 1978 authorize the depart-
ment of finance and administration to
review professional services contracts of
state agencies as to form, legal sufficiency,

and budgetary requirements if required by
its regulations.

B. Section 6-5-3 NMSA
1978 provides that before any state agency
enters into a contract expending public
funds, the financial control division of the
department of finance and administration
shall determine the authority for such pro-
posed expenditure.  After the authority for
the expenditure is determined, the appropri-
ate fund shall be shown by the financial
control division to be encumbered to the
extent of the proposed expenditure.  The
financial control division may request, and
the state agency shall provide, such docu-
mentation and other information as the
financial control division deems necessary
to justify the state agency’s determination of
authority. The financial control division
may disapprove the proposed expenditure if
it determines that the justification is inade-
quate or is not substantiated by law.

C. Section 6-5-6 NMSA
1978 requires the financial control division
of the department of finance and adminis-
tration to determine that the proposed
expenditure does not exceed the state
agency’s appropriation, does not exceed the
periodic allotment made to the state agency
or the unencumbered balance of funds at its
disposal [, and is for a purpose included
within the appropriation or otherwise
authorized by law].  The state agency shall
determine that a proposed expenditure is for
a public benefit and purpose consistent with
the related appropriation and is necessary to
carry out the statutory mission of the state
agency prior to committing the state to the
transaction.

D. Sections 9-1-5(E) and
9-6-5(E) NMSA 1978 provide that after
notice and hearing, the secretary of the
department of finance and administration
may make and adopt such reasonable
administrative and procedural rules and reg-
ulations as necessary to carry out the duties
of the department of finance and adminis-
tration and its divisions.
[7-1-76, 7-1-78, 7-1-84, 7-10-85, 7-1-87,
12-20-89, 5-15-97; 2.40.2.3 NMAC - Rn &
A, 2 NMAC 40.2.3, 1-14-2005]

2.40.2.4 D U R A T I O N :
Permanent.
[5-15-97; 2.40.2.4 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC
40.2.4, 1-14-2005]

2.40.2.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
May 15, 1997 unless a [different] later date
is cited at the end of a section [or para-
graph].
[7-1-76, 8-15-77, 7-1-78, 7-1-84, 7-10-85,
7-1-87, 12-20-89, 5-15-97, 6-15-98;
2.40.2.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC 40.2.5,
1-14-2005]
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2.40.2.6 OBJECTIVE: The
purpose of this rule is to establish the pro-
cedures state agencies must follow and the
requirements state agencies must meet in
drafting, entering into, and seeking
approval of professional services contracts.
These procedures ensure compliance with
Sections 6-5-3, 6-5-6, 13-1-118 and 13-1-
125 NMSA 1978 as amended.
[7-1-87, 5-15-97; 2.40.2.6 NMAC - Rn, 2
NMAC 40.2.6, 1-14-2005]

2.40.2.7 DEFINITIONS:
A. “Bureau” means the

contracts review bureau of the administra-
tive services division of the department of
finance and administration.

B. “Contract” means any
agreement for the provision of professional
services.

C. “Contract brief” means
the bureau paper form or electronic version
which shall accompany all professional
services contracts and amendments submit-
ted to the bureau.

D. “Contractor” as defined
in Section 13-1-43 NMSA 1978 means any
business having a contract with a state
agency.

E. “Department or DFA”
means the department of finance and
administration.

F. “Form” means, at a
minimum, that all contracts and amend-
ments contain the provisions required by the
bureau, including but not limited to, a scope
of work consistent with the request for pro-
posals issued by the state agency if the con-
tract was procured by a request for propos-
als and performance measures as defined by
and in accordance with the Accountability
in Government Act, Sections 6-3A-1
through 6-3A-9 NMSA 1978 and subse-
quent amendments.

G. “Legal sufficiency”
means, at a minimum, that all contracts and
amendments contain the provisions
required by law and that all required signa-
tures have been obtained.

H. “Procurement” as
defined by Section 13-1-74 NMSA 1978
means purchasing, renting, leasing, lease
purchasing or otherwise acquiring items of
personal property, services or construction
and includes all procurement functions,
including but not limited to, preparation of
specifications, solicitation of sources, qual-
ification or disqualification of sources,
preparation and award of the contract, and
contract administration.

I. “Procurement Code”
means Sections 13-1-28 to 13-1-199 NMSA
1978, as amended.

J. “Professional services”
as defined by Section 13-1-76 NMSA 1978
means the services of architects, archaeolo-
gists, engineers, surveyors, landscape archi-

tects, medical arts practitioners, scientists,
management and systems analysts, certified
public accountants, registered public
accountants, lawyers, psychologists, plan-
ners, researchers, and persons or businesses
providing similar services, except informa-
tion system resources professional services
as defined by Paragraph (2) of Subsection B
of GSD Rule 1.4.1.7 NMAC.

K. “Regulation” as defined
by Section 13-1-80 NMSA 1978 means any
rule, order, statement or policy, as amended,
issued by a state agency or a local public
body that affects persons not members or
employees of the issuer.

L. “Retroactive approval
to a contract or a contract amendment”
means approval of a contract or contract
amendment that was submitted to the
bureau and approved by the DFA secretary
or his designee pursuant to 2.40.2.13
NMAC of this rule after the contractor has
begun work pursuant to a request to perform
work from a state agency employee or pub-
lic officer with authority to make such a
request.

M. “DFA secretary” means
the secretary of the department of finance
and administration.

N. “Sole source contract or
amendment to sole source contract” means
a contract or amendment which fulfills the
requirements of Sections 13-1-118 and 13-
1-126 NMSA 1978, as amended. [; and]

O. “State agency” means
any department, agency, commission, coun-
cil, board, advisory board, committee, or
institution of the state of New Mexico, and
does not include local public bodies.
[7-1-76, 8-15-77, 7-1-78, 7-1-84, 7-10-85,
7-1-87, 12-20-89, 5-15-97, 6-15-98;
2.40.2.7 NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC 40.2.7,
1-14-2005]

2.40.2.8 DELEGATION OF
APPROVAL AUTHORITY:

A. The bureau shall review
all contracts and contract amendments for
professional services with state agencies as
to form, [legal sufficiency] and budgetary
requirements.

B. The bureau shall con-
sult with the department’s legal counsel as
needed regarding any issues of legal suffi-
ciency of a state agency’s contracts and con-
tract amendments for professional services.

[B.] C. The DFA secretary
shall delegate, in writing to certain mem-
bers of the bureau, the authority to approve
professional services contracts which result
in expenditures equal to or greater than fif-
teen hundred dollars ($1500), excluding
gross receipts tax, and all amendments to
those contracts except retroactive approval
to contracts and contract amendments and
sole source contracts and amendments to
sole source contracts as provided herein.

[7-1-78, 7-1-84, 7-10-85, 7-1-87, 12-20-89,
5-15-97, 6-15-98, 7-1-01; 2.40.2.8 NMAC -
Rn & A, 2 NMAC 40.2.8, 1-14-2005]

2.40.2.9 FORM AND SUB-
MISSION:

A. All contracts and subse-
quent amendments shall be in a form and
contain such provisions as required by the
bureau, including but not limited to, a scope
of work consistent with the request for pro-
posals issued by the state agency if the con-
tract was procured by a request for propos-
als and performance measures as defined by
and in accordance with the Accountability
in Government Act, Sections 6-3A-1
through 6-3A-9 NMSA 1978 and subse-
quent amendments.

B. All contracts and
amendments shall:

(1) be accompanied by a contract
brief being in such form and containing
such information as may be required by the
bureau;

(2) be accompanied by a docu-
ment prescribed by the financial control
division of the department showing that
funds have been encumbered to the extent
of the contract, including any amendments
to that contract; if the contract term includes
more than one fiscal year, the contract must
be accompanied by an encumbrance for the
current fiscal year amount or, up to the total
amount of the current appropriation avail-
able for that contract;

(3) be accompanied by a written
request for approval from the secretary of
the contracting state agency or his designee
if the contract is subject to [Subparagraphs
(a) or (b) of] Paragraph (1) of Subsection C
of 2.40.2.10 NMAC of this rule; and

(4) comply with Procurement
Code regulations, GSD Rule 1.4.1 NMAC
and subsequent regulations regarding
indemnification and insurance.
[7-1-76, 7-1-78, 7-1-84, 7-10-85, 7-1-87,
12-20-89, 5-15-97, 6-15-98; 2.40.2.9
NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC 40.2.9, 1-14-
2005]

2.40.2.10 REVIEW PROCE-
DURES:

A. State agencies must
submit to the bureau for review:

(1) sole source contracts;
(2) amendments to sole source

contracts;
(3) retroactive approval to con-

tracts; and
(4) retroactive approval to con-

tract amendments.
B. Bureau review:
(1) The bureau shall review all

contracts or contract amendments for form,
[legal sufficiency,] budgetary requirements
and compliance with the requirements pre-
scribed on the contract brief.
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(2) No contract or contract
amendment shall become binding or effec-
tive until signed and dated by a member of
the bureau with contract approval authority.

C. Other review:
(1) Prior to the bureau’s review,

the attorney general shall review [and
approve the following:

(a)] all contracts which may vio-
late conflict of interest provisions of the
Governmental Conduct Act, Sections 10-
16-1 to 10-16-18 NMSA 1978. [; or

(b) all contracts or contract
amendments which, in the aggregate, cause
expenditures under the contract to equal or
exceed two hundred thousand dollars
($200,000), excluding gross receipts tax.]

(2) The bureau may submit any
contract or amendment to the attorney gen-
eral or other legal counsel for review if the
bureau is aware of legal issues concerning
the contract or the amendment.
[7-1-76, 8-15-77, 7-1-78, 7-1-84, 7-10-85,
7-1-87, 12-20-89, 5-15-97; 2.40.2.10
NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC 40.2.10, 1-14-
2005]

2.40.2.11 SMALL PURCHAS-
ES: A contract for professional services
having a value over $1500 but not exceed-
ing $20,000 excluding applicable gross
receipts taxes, except for the services of
architects, landscape architects engineers,
or surveyors for state public works projects,
may be procured in accordance with the
Procurement Code, Sections 13-1-28 to 13-
1-199 NMSA 1978 and Procurement Code
Regulations, GSD Rule [1 NMAC 5.2]
1.4.1 NMAC or subsequent GSD regula-
tions.
[7-10-85, 7-1-87, 5-15-97, 6-15-98, 7-1-01;
2.40.2.11 NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC
40.2.11, 1-14-2005]

2.40.2.12 SOLE SOURCE
CONTRACT OR AMENDMENT TO
SOLE SOURCE CONTRACT

A. A contract may be
awarded without competitive sealed pro-
posals, regardless of the estimated cost,
when a central purchasing office of a con-
tracting state agency makes a written deter-
mination, signed by the secretary of the
contracting state agency or his designee,
which states that a good-faith review of
available sources has been conducted and
that there is only one source for the required
professional services. The written determi-
nation and an estimate of the dollar amount
of the contract shall be submitted to the
bureau for review and approval by the DFA
secretary or his designee and shall include
the following information:

(1) a detailed, sufficient explana-
tion of the reasons, qualifications, propri-
etary rights, or unique capabilities that
make the prospective contractor a sole

source;
(2) an explanation of the criteria

developed and specified by the state agency
as necessary to perform the contract and
upon which the state agency reviewed avail-
able sources;

(3) a description of the proce-
dures used by the state agency in conduct-
ing a good faith review of available sources,
including without limitation, a narrative
description of all steps taken by the state
agency as evidence of the good-faith review
performance such as:

(a) researching trade publications
and industry newsletters;

(b) reviewing telephone books or
other advertisements;

(c) reviewing current contract;
(d) contacting similar service

providers; and
(e) reviewing the state purchasing

agents vendor list; and
(4) a list of all businesses contact-

ed and an explanation of why those busi-
nesses could not perform the contract, or, a
reasonable explanation of why the state
agency has determined that no businesses,
besides the prospective contractor, exist.

B. The bureau must obtain
written approval of the agency’s sole source
determination from the DFA secretary or his
designee prior to approving a sole source
contract or amendment to a sole source con-
tract.
[7-10-85, 7-1-87, 12-20-89, 5-15-97;
2.40.2.12 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 40.2.12,
1-14-2005]

2.40.2.13 R E T R O A C T I V E
APPROVAL FOR A CONTRACT OR
CONTRACT AMENDMENT:

A. The [New Mexico]
Procurement Code, Section 13-1-102,
NMSA 1978, as amended, requires that all
non exempt procurement (Section 13-1-98,
NMSA 1978) by state agencies shall be
achieved by competitive sealed bids or
competitive sealed proposals except for
small purchases, sole source procurements,
emergency procurements, existing contracts
and procurements from antipoverty pro-
gram business. For professional services,
the proposal and procurement process are
not complete until a written contract or con-
tract amendment is signed by the agency
and the contractor and is approved by the
DFA secretary or his designee and approved
by the bureau.

B. For retroactive
approval of contracts and contract amend-
ments which fulfill all of the requirements
of this rule and the Procurement Code, DFA
will approve the date requested in writing
by the agency on the brief accompanying
the document as long as the requested
approval date is within thirty days of [the
date the document was received and date-

stamped by the bureau] the first day of each
fiscal year.

C. For retroactive
approval of contracts and contract amend-
ments apart from the approval given pur-
suant to the provisions [of Subsection B of]
2.40.2.13 NMAC of this rule, DFA may
grant additional retroactive approval to a
contract or contract amendment, based upon
rare and exceptional circumstances, where
all of the following conditions are met:

(1) the professional services per-
formed without DFA’s prior approval of the
contract did not occur as the result of
repeated agency mistakes or willful miscon-
duct;

(2) the failure to obtain DFA’s
retroactive approval will prevent the state
agency from fulfilling its statutory obliga-
tions;

(3) the state agency provides to
DFA a written, factual, detailed explanation
of the matters described in Paragraphs (1)
and (2) of Subsection C of 2.40.2.13
NMAC, certified to be true by signature of
the head of the state agency;

(4) the state agency requested,
through a public officer or employee with
authority to make such a request, the con-
tractor to perform professional services that
were then actually performed by the con-
tractor in good faith reliance that it would
be paid for those professional services.

D. The Procurement Code,
Section 13 -1-182, NMSA 1978, as amend-
ed, governs situations in which DFA has
denied a request for retroactive approval of
a contract or contract amendment due to the
state agency’s failure to meet the require-
ments of Subsections B or C of 2.40.2.13
NMAC of this rule.
[7-10-85, 7-1-87, 12-20-89, 5-15-97, 6-15-
98; 2.40.2.13 NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC
40.2.13, 1-14-2005]

2.40.2.14 EMERGENCY PRO-
CUREMENT: An emergency procurement
of professional services may be made under
the conditions provided in the Procurement
Code and 1.4.1 NMAC or subsequent GSD
regulations. Records of any emergency pro-
curement of professional services, including
the written determination of the basis for the
emergency procurement being relied on by
the state agency as justification for the
emergency procurement, shall be main-
tained by the state agency for a minimum of
three years and shall be made available by
the state agency to the financial control
division upon request.
[7-10-85, 7-1-87, 5-15-97, 6-15-98;
2.40.2.14 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 40.2.14,
1-14-2005]

2.40.2.15 C O M P L I A N C E :
State agencies must comply with federal
and state statutes, rules, regulations and
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policies and [are encouraged to] shall have
their state agency’s legal counsel review all
contracts and contract amendments certify-
ing in writing that they are legally sufficient
prior to submission to the bureau. Wrongful
or mistaken approval by the bureau shall not
be a defense to an action brought by or
against the state agency on a contract.
[7-1-84, 7-10-85, 7-1-87, 12-20-89, 5-15-
97; 2.40.2.15 NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC
40.2.15, 1-14-2005]

2.40.2.16 RECORDS:
A. Record inspection,

record retention and record destruction
relating to contracts shall be conducted in
accordance with the Inspection of Public
Records Act, Sections 14-2-1 to 14-2-12
NMSA 1978; the Public Records Act,
Sections 14-3-1 to 14-3-23 NMSA 1978;
and with Section 13-1-128 NMSA pertain-
ing to sole source and emergency procure-
ment; and Section 13-1-116 NMSA 1978 of
the Procurement Code.

B. The bureau will retain
original contracts, any subsequent amend-
ments, and contract briefs in accordance
with provisions of the Inspection of Public
Records and Public Records Act.
[5-15-97; 2.40.2.16 NMAC - Rn & A, 2
NMAC 40.2.16, 1-14-2005]

2.40.2.17 RULE FILING: This
rule shall be filed in accordance with the
State Rules Act, Sections 14-3-24, 14-3-25,
and 14-4-1 to 14-4-11 NMSA 1978 and
shall become effective upon publication in
the New Mexico Register.
[5-15-97; 2.40.2.17 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC
40.2.17, 1-14-2005]

HISTORY OF 2.40.2 NMAC:
Pre-NMAC History:  The material in this
Part was derived from that previously filed
with the State Records Center and Archives:
DFA 76-3, Technical and Professional
Services and State Highway Department
Contracts, June 25, 1976, filed 7-13-76.
DFA 77-6, Technical and Professional
Service Contracts, August 15, 1977, filed 8-
22-77.
DFA 78-2.1, Governing the Approval of
Contracts for the Purchase of Professional
Services, filed 6-30-78.
DFA Rule No. 84-3, Governing the
Approval of Contracts for the Purchase of
Professional Services, filed 6-28-84.
DFA Rule No. 85-1, Governing the
Approval of Contracts for the Purchase of
Professional Services, filed 7-10-85.
DFA 87-1, Governing the Approval of
Contracts for the Purchase of Professional
Services, filed 6-30-87.

History of Repealed Material:
[RESERVED]

applicant to the commission.
C. “Apparatus” means

any device used with the intention of pro-
ducing artificial changes in the composi-
tion, motions and resulting behavior of the
atmosphere.

D. “Commission” means
the New Mexico interstate stream commis-
sion.

E. “Hearing participant”
means an applicant, any person or entity fil-
ing a protest of an application or the com-
mission’s staff.

F. “License” means a spe-
cific written authorization issued by the
commission to an operator that has met
specified qualifications authorizing such
operator to engage in operations pursuant to
a specified project scope in the state of New
Mexico.

G. “Operation” means
the performance of any weather control
activity undertaken for the purpose of pro-
ducing or attempting to produce any form or
modifying effect upon the weather in the
state.  An operation does not include:

(1) research, development and
experimental weather control activities by
state or federal agencies or institutions of
higher learning, expected to last no longer
than six (6) months;

(2) laboratory research and exper-
iments;

(3) activities engaged in for pur-
poses other than producing or attempting to
produce any form of modifying effect upon
the weather;

(4) emergency activities conduct-
ed by public entities for the purposes of fire
control; and

(5) religious or cultural cere-
monies, rites or acts that do not utilize arti-
ficial methods to alter weather phenomena.

H. “Operations area”
means the area in which an operation is con-
ducted to produce or attempt to produce the
desired effects within the target area.

I. “Operations director”
means the person, identified in a valid
license, who has the knowledge, experience
and qualifications necessary to design, man-
age, evaluate and take overall responsibility
for an operation.

J. “Operator” means any
individual, firm, partnership, association,
company, corporation, business or public
trust, federal agency, state agency, the state
or any political subdivision thereof, munic-
ipalities and any other duly constituted legal
entity, as identified in a license.

K. “Research and devel-
opment” means the exploration, field
experimentation and extension of investiga-
tive findings and theories of a scientific or
technical nature for purposes that may lead
to practical application for experimental or
demonstration purpose, including the exper-
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TITLE 19 N A T U R A L
RESOURCES AND WILDLIFE
CHAPTER 17 WEATHER MODIFI-
CATION
PART 2 WEATHER CON-
TROL AND PRECIPITATION
ENHANCEMENT

19.17.2.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
New Mexico Interstate Stream
Commission.
[19.17.2.1 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.2 SCOPE: This rule
governs the licensing and application
process for weather control operations,
research, and development pursuant to the
New Mexico Weather Control Act.
[19.17.2.2 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.3 S T A T U T O R Y
AUTHORITY: Section 75-3-1 et seq.,
NMSA 1978, as amended by House Bill 78,
2003 Legislative Session.
[19.17.2.3 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.4 D U R A T I O N :
Permanent.
[19.17.2.4 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
January 15, 2005, unless a later date is cited
at the end of a section.
[19.17.2.5 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.6 OBJECTIVE: The
objective of this rule is to provide a consis-
tent licensing and application process for
weather control activities, establish addi-
tional rules and procedures that govern pro-
ceedings before the commission, and to
insure the expeditious and orderly handling
of all administrative matters consistent with
all requirements of state, tribal and federal
law.
[19.17.2.6 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.7 D E F I N I T I O N S :
Unless defined below or in a specific sec-
tion, all other words used in these regula-
tions shall be given their customary and
accepted meanings.

A. “Applicant” means
any individual, firm, partnership, associa-
tion, company, corporation, business or
public trust, federal agency, state agency,
the state or any political subdivision there-
of, municipalities and any other duly consti-
tuted legal entity that applies for a license.

B. “Application” means
an application for a license submitted by an



imental production and testing of models,
agents, apparatus and processes.

L. “Sponsor” means any
person who enters into an agreement with
an operator to support weather control
activities.

M. “Suspension criteria”
means criteria developed for a specific
operation to avoid weather control during
undesirable periods.  Examples include
excess snow pack accumulation, excess
rainfall forecasts and national weather serv-
ice forecasts of severe weather.

N. “Target area” means
the surface area within which the effects of
an operation are expected.

O. “Weather control”
means changing or attempting to change by
artificial methods, the composition, motions
and resulting behavior of the atmosphere.

P. “Weather control
committee” means a three-member panel
comprised of commission members or com-
mission staff as designated by the commis-
sion.

Q. “Weather control
hypothesis” means a statement of expecta-
tions, which systematically describes cer-
tain assumptions and predicts an outcome in
terms of operation effects, given specifics
such as seeding mode and a project location
and duration.
[19.17.2.7 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.8 VIOLATIONS AND
PENALTIES: As provided by Sections 75-
3-15, NMSA 1978, any person violating any
of the provisions of the Weather Control Act
or this rule shall be guilty of a misdemeanor
and a continuing violation shall be punish-
able as a separate offense for each day dur-
ing which a violation occurs.
[19.17.2.8 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.9 CERTAIN LIABILI-
TIES NOT IMPOSED OR RIGHTS
AFFECTED: Nothing in the Weather
Control Act or this rule shall be construed to
impose or accept any liability or responsi-
bility on the part of New Mexico or any
state officials, agents or employees for any
weather control activities of any private per-
son or group, or to affect in any way any
contractual, tortuous or other legal or equi-
table rights, duties or liabilities between any
private persons or groups.
[19.17.2.9 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.10 COMMISSION AS
OPERATOR: The commission may
administer or carry on operations, subject to
this rule, by its own officials, agents or
employees.
[19.17.2.10 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.11 WEATHER CON-
TROL COMMITTEE: In the perform-

ance of the functions authorized in the
Weather Control Act, the commission may
establish a weather control committee to
advise and make recommendations to the
commission concerning licenses and other
matters as provided in this rule.  Members
of the commission or its staff may serve on
this committee.  The commission shall
appoint one member of the committee
chairman or chairwoman (chair).  In the
event that the commission does not estab-
lish a weather control committee, all duties
of the weather control committee specified
in this rule shall be borne by the commis-
sion.
[19.17.2.11 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.12 OTHER JURISDIC-
TIONS: Operations conducted in the state
which are intended to affect the weather in
a target area in another state are prohibited
except upon full compliance with the laws
of that state as well as the provisions of the
Weather Control Act and this rule.
[19.17.2.12 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.13 L I C E N S E
REQUIRED: Any person desiring to
engage in operations in the state of New
Mexico shall be required to make applica-
tion for and receive a license prior to com-
mencing operations.
[19.17.2.13 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.14 LICENSE APPLICA-
TION PROCEDURES AND REQUIRE-
MENTS: In order to apply for a license an
applicant must complete the part A applica-
tion demonstrating professional qualifica-
tions for conducting operations and must
complete part B of the application present-
ing a detailed project scope of the operation
to be conducted.

A. Part A of the applica-
tion includes the following requirements:

(1) an application fee of one hun-
dred dollars ($100.00) with the completed
application form;

(2) designation of an operations
director having the minimum professional
and education requirements of two (2) years
of supervisory experience with weather
control projects and one of the following
four (4) additional requirements:

(a) a masters of science degree in
meteorology or related field; or

(b) a bachelor’s degree in meteor-
ology, plus two (2) additional years of
recent experience in weather control field
operations within the last five (5) years; or

(c) a bachelor’s degree in engi-
neering, mathematics or applicable physical
or natural sciences including at least twen-
ty-five (25) semester hours of meteorologi-
cal course work plus two (2) additional
years of experience in weather control field
operations within the last five (5) years; or

(d) a bachelor’s degree in meteor-
ology and a manager certification by the
weather modification association;

(3) a resume of the operations
director and a resume from each individual
who will significantly participate in the
operation; each resume shall demonstrate
sufficient knowledge and competence in the
field of meteorology and cloud physics; if
the operator is an organization, any individ-
ual and individuals who significantly partic-
ipate in the operation shall meet the require-
ments of this subparagraph;

(4) proof of financial responsibil-
ity (see 19.17.2.15 NMAC).

B. Part B of the applica-
tion shall include identification of the fol-
lowing:

(1) the name and address of the
applicant;

(2) name and address of the oper-
ations director;

(3) the sponsor(s) on whose
behalf(s) the operation is to be conducted;

(4) the operations area and the tar-
get area;

(5) the weather control hypothe-
sis, and a detailed operational plan for
implementing the hypothesis;

(6) the intended effect of the oper-
ation;

(7) the materials and apparatus to
be used in conducting the operation;

(8) suspension criteria;
(9) the period of operation,

including starting and ending date (the oper-
ation need not be continuous);

(10) a plan, acceptable to the
commission, for quantitatively and critical-
ly assessing the effects of the proposed
operation;

(11) a completed notice of inten-
tion for license; a completed notice of inten-
tion shall accompany each application and
shall be filed on a form furnished by the
commission; and

(12) any additional information as
the commission or the weather control com-
mittee may deem appropriate.

C. Part A and Part B of the
application shall be submitted at least one
hundred twenty (120) days prior to the pro-
posed commencement date of the operation
for which the license is being sought, to
allow time to publish the notice of intention,
hold a hearing in the event the application is
protested or if the applicant requests a hear-
ing after the commission’s staff recom-
mends license denial, review the operation
information presented, and allow action by
the commission prior to the proposed com-
mencement date of the operation.  The com-
mission may waive the one hundred twenty
(120) day period in part or whole for good
cause and at the sole discretion of the com-
mission.

D. A license is neither
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assignable nor transferable.
E. Any operation for

which a license is granted shall be conduct-
ed under the personal direction of the oper-
ations director listed on the license.

F. The applicant shall
notify the commission’s staff in writing
within fifteen (15) days of any substantive
changes to any of the information submitted
in the application.
[19.17.2.14 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.15 F I N A N C I A L
RESPONSIBILITY REQUIREMENT
UNDER LICENSE: All applicants shall
have on file, prior to license issuance, proof
of ability to respond to damages for liabili-
ty that might reasonably be attached to or
result from any operations.  This proof shall
be in the form of a surety bond in the
amount of one million dollars ($1,000,000)
minimum for each license to be issued or
such other proof of financial responsibility
as the commission or the weather control
committee may require.
[19.17.2.15 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.16 P R E L I M I N A R Y
RECOMMENDATION BY COMMIS-
SION STAFF: Within thirty (30) days of
receipt of a completed application, commis-
sion staff shall evaluate the application for
the purpose of making a recommendation to
the weather control committee.  The appli-
cant shall be notified in writing of the com-
mission staff’s recommendation.

A. Recommendation of
approval:

(1) Commission staff may recom-
mend approval of the application only if the
operation meets all requirements of this
rule, is in conformity with all applicable
provisions of New Mexico law and pro-
motes the public welfare.

(2) If the commission staff recom-
mends approval, it shall publish a notice of
intention pursuant to 19.17.2.17 NMAC.

B. Recommendation of
denial:

(1) The commission’s staff shall
recommend a denial of the application if the
application does not meet the criteria for
approval set forth in the Weather Control
Act and this rule.

(2) If the commission’s staff
determines that it will recommend denial of
the application to the commission, the staff
shall notify the applicant within ten (10)
days of such determination by mail.  The
applicant has fifteen (15) days from the date
of mailing to request further consideration
by the weather control committee pursuant
to 19.17.2.18 NMAC.  An applicant’s fail-
ure to request further consideration under
this paragraph shall be deemed as intention
to abandon the application.
[19.17.2.16 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.17 PUBLICATION OF
NOTICE OF INTENTION FOR
LICENSE: The commission staff shall
publish the notice of intention once a week
for two (2) consecutive weeks in a newspa-
per or newspapers having general circula-
tion in each county or counties of the pro-
posed operations area and target area.  The
applicant may either pay publication costs
directly to the publisher or may pay such
costs to the commission in advance of pub-
lication.
[19.17.2.17 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.18 FURTHER CONSID-
ERATION BY THE WEATHER CON-
TROL COMMITTEE:

A. The weather control
committee shall consider the merits of an
application and otherwise determine if the
requirements of the Weather Control Act
and this rule have been met and may hold a
hearing on such application at its discretion
or in the event of either:

(1) written protest of the applica-
tion by at least five (5) interested parties
received in the offices of the commission
(address in Paragraph (2) of Subsection A of
19.17.2.18 NMAC herein) within ten (10)
days after last publication of the notice of
intention; or

(2) written request by the appli-
cant in accordance with Paragraph (2) of
Subsection B of 19.17.2.16 NMAC; com-
mission address for mailing of written
protests of any application:  Attn:  Weather
Control Committee, New Mexico Interstate
Stream Commission, Post Office Box
25102 Santa Fe, New Mexico  87504-5102.

B. All hearings may be
held before the weather control committee,
at the commission’s sole discretion.

C. Notice of hearing.  At
least twenty (20) days prior to a hearing by
the weather control committee or the com-
mission on an application, the commission’s
staff shall notify in writing all hearing par-
ticipants of the hearing date and location.  If
an applicant requests a hearing after a rec-
ommendation of denial by commission
staff, the applicant shall first publish the
notice of intention in accordance with
19.17.2.17 NMAC of this rule.

D. Hearing is optional.
At the discretion of the weather control
committee, it may elect to provide a weath-
er control committee recommendation in
accordance with Subsection H of 19.17.2.19
NMAC of this rule without a hearing.
[19.17.2.18 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.19 HEARING PROCE-
DURES:

A. Weather control com-
mittee chair. The chair of the weather con-
trol committee shall preside over hearings
on any contested application.  The chair,

with advice and consent from the other
weather control committee members, shall
have the power to regulate the hearing; to
perform all acts and take all measures nec-
essary to conduct such hearing, including
the authority to administer oaths and affir-
mations; to explain the events and require-
ments of the hearing process to all hearing
participants; to hear all relevant issues dur-
ing the hearing; to request and receive a
proper administrative record and to other-
wise regulate the conduct and course of the
hearing.  The chair may limit testimony to
those matters reasonably noticed by the
application or by any letter of protest filed
pursuant to Paragraph (1) of Subsection A
of 19.17.2.18 NMAC of this rule.

B. Pre-hearing discovery.
No pre-hearing discovery shall be required
by or from any hearing participant.  At least
ten (10) days prior to the hearing, the weath-
er control committee shall make available to
any hearing participant any application to
be considered at the hearing, and any
protest thereof, previously filed with the
commission.

C. Location of hearings.
The weather control committee shall hold
all hearings in Santa Fe, unless the weather
control committee decides in its sole discre-
tion that a hearing should be held elsewhere
to facilitate participation.

D. Testimony and evi-
dence. During a hearing, evidence shall be
presented only by (1) the applicant, (2) any
person filing a letter of protest filed pur-
suant to Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of
19.17.2.18 NMAC of this rule, and (3) the
commission’s staff.  No other person or
entity may give evidence or argument.  Any
person or entity giving evidence or argu-
ment must provide the commission and all
other hearing participants with a copy of
any document or exhibit submitted as evi-
dence.  The New Mexico rules of evidence
are not binding on presentation of evidence.
The hearing shall be taped or transcribed.

E. Administrative notice.
The weather control committee may take
administrative notice of all judicially cog-
nizable facts (i.e., all facts that may be
noticed by a judge), and of generally recog-
nized technical or scientific facts, published
reports of governmental and state agencies
and studies and conclusions within the com-
mission’s specialized knowledge.

F. Continuance/post -
ponement. At the discretion of the chair, a
scheduled hearing may be continued with
notice, prior the hearing or may be recessed
during the hearing and reconvened at a later
date.  Any statement of continuance or
recess shall be made a part of the record.  A
hearing participant may request postpone-
ment or continuance of a hearing for good
cause shown subject to approval by the
chair.  Grounds for postponement or contin-
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uance may include, but are not limited to,
the unavailability of witnesses, unfair hard-
ship by a hearing participant or economic
use of commission resources.

G. Weather control com-
mittee recommendations. Within thirty
(30) days after the weather control commit-
tee either completes its hearing delibera-
tions or elects not to hold a hearing pursuant
to Subsection D of 19.17.2.18 NMAC, it
shall deliver to the commission a recom-
mended decision including findings of fact
and conclusions of law.  The commission’s
staff shall serve a copy on each hearing par-
ticipant by U.S. first-class mail, postage
prepaid within ten (10) days of issuance
thereof.

H. Final decision. At the
next regularly scheduled commission meet-
ing occurring at least fifteen (15) days after
the weather control committee serves its
recommended decision on the hearing par-
ticipants, the commission shall consider the
recommended decision on the hearing par-
ticipants, the commission shall consider the
recommended decision and issue a final
decision or remand to the weather control
committee for further administrative pro-
ceedings.

I. A d m i n i s t r a t i v e
record. The administrative record shall
include or otherwise reflect, at a minimum,
all filings with the commission, all staff rec-
ommendations, all evidence received or
considered, offers of proof and objections
and rulings thereon, any recommended
decision including findings of fact and con-
clusions of law submitted by the weather
control committee, the transcript or tape of
the oral proceedings as well as any decision,
opinion or report by the commission.
[19.17.2.19 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.20 EXPIRATION AND
RENEWAL OF LICENSE: Each license
shall expire twelve (12) months after the
issuance date thereof.  Such license may,
upon application, be renewed if the operator
fulfills all the necessary qualifications and
requirements stated in this rule.  The appli-
cation for renewal shall be accompanied by
the application fee and by any appropriate
modifications to the application.  A license
shall not be renewed if the applicant no
longer qualifies for such license, if the
license is no longer in compliance with
applicable state, tribal or federal law, if
renewal of the license does not promote the
public welfare or if the applicant has violat-
ed any provisions of the Weather Control
Act or this rule.  Thirty (30) days after the
applicant requests a renewal and submits
any changes to the application, the weather
control committee shall recommend to the
commission whether to renew a license.  If
there are any significant changes to the
application, the weather control committee

shall first give notice and opportunity for
hearing as provided in Paragraph (2) of
Subsection A of 19.17.2.16 NMAC of this
rule before renewing any license.
[19.17.2.20 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.21 LICENSE SUSPEN-
SION, MODIFICATION OR REVOCA-
TION:

A. The commission may
suspend or revoke or refuse to renew a
license for any one or any combination of
the following causes:

(1) incompetence;
(2) dishonest practice;
(3) false or fraudulent representa-

tion in obtaining a license under this rule;
(4) failure to comply with any of

the provisions of the Weather Control Act,
this rule or applicable state, tribal or federal
law; or

(5) aiding other persons who fail
to comply with any of the provisions of the
Weather Control Act, this rule or applicable
state, tribal or federal law.

B. When it appears to the
weather control committee that a threat to
life or property exists or is imminent, or the
commission or its staff has been notified of
a probable impending emergency or the
operation fails to maintain compliance with
this rule, the weather control committee
may summarily order the operator to imme-
diately suspend, terminate or modify all
operations within the area affects by such
operations.

(1) Notification of suspension,
modification or termination of an operation
shall be given in the most expeditious man-
ner under the circumstances.

(2) Regardless of the manner of
initial notification, it is to be followed with-
in two (2) business days by facsimile or a
certified letter of particulars addressed to
the licensed holder stating the time and
place for holding a hearing on the question
of taking permanent action to modify or
cancel the license.

(3) In the event that the weather
control committee summarily suspends or
modifies a license, it shall issue a report to
the commission for its consideration at its
next regularly scheduled meeting.  The
commission may hold an informal hearing
on the matter to allow any person who
would qualify as a hearing participant a rea-
sonable opportunity to be heard on this
issue.

(4) Whether or not the commis-
sion reinstates operations, and when such
reinstatement may take place, will depend,
among other things, upon the conditions
that develop within the operations area and
target area and if the requirements of the
Weather Control Act, this rule, applicable
state, trial and federal law and the commis-
sion are met.

(5) The commission or the weath-
er control committee may initiate any nec-
essary actions in a court of competent juris-
diction in the event that the operator fails to
adhere to any order under this section.

C. Each license issued will
include suspension criteria regarding opera-
tions that shall be applied to protect life and
property.

D. Failure of the operator
to notify the commission’s staff of an exist-
ing or impending or reasonably foreseeable
emergency threat to life or property is
grounds for cancellation of the license and
immediate termination of the operation.
[19.17.2.21 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.22 O P E R A T I O N
RECORDS: The operator shall maintain
the following records during an operation
and provide them to the commission pur-
suant to 19.17.2.23 NMAC of this rule:

A. Daily log: Each opera-
tor must maintain a daily log of weather
control activities for each unit of equipment
and apparatus used during an operation.
The log shall include at a minimum:

(1) date of weather control activi-
ty;

(2) each aircraft flight track and
location of each item or apparatus used dur-
ing each mission; use of maps is required;

(3) local time when weather con-
trol activity began and ended; for non-con-
tinuous activities, the start and end of a total
sequence of activity is acceptable;

(4) amount of time each apparatus
is in operational use;

(5) type of weather control
agent/material used in each apparatus;

(6) rate of dispersal and dispersal
location of each seeding agent/material dur-
ing actual use of each apparatus; the infor-
mation is to be provided both in the form of
maps and in computer-readable form for
possible subsequent analysis;

(7) total amount of seeding
agent/material used; if more than one
agent/material is used, list totals for each
type of agent separately;

(8) local time when any type of
monitoring (e.g., radar) was operational and
computer readable archives of monitoring
date;

(9) type(s), estimated moisture
content and size of cloud(s) modified (i.e.,
stratiform, isolated cumuliform, organized
cumuliform, etc.);

(10) narrative indicating such
operational problems as equipment failure,
personnel problems, weather conditions,
etc.; and

(11) monthly totals from the daily
logs listing the following:

(a) days during the month in
which operation(s) were conducted;

(b) time of operation(s);
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(c) amount of each kind of seed-
ing agent/material used;

(d) average rate of dispersal of
each kind of seeding agent/material used;

(e) time of operation of any mon-
itoring equipment; and

(f) days of each type of cloud
treated.

B. Weather records.
Each operator must obtain and retain copies
of all daily precipitation total records avail-
able from the national weather service sta-
tions in the operations area and target area
and from any other reliable sources.

C. Participants. Each
operator must keep a current listing of
names and addresses of all participants in
any operation for which the commission
issues the operator a license.
[19.17.2.22 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.23 O P E R A T O R
REPORTS: At a minimum, the operator
shall maintain and provide the following
reports to the commission’s staff:

A. Tri-monthly report.
Every ninety (90) days after the commence-
ment of an operation, the operator shall sub-
mit a report to the commission that shall
consist of:

(1) a summary of the records pre-
pared under 19.2.7.22 NMAC of this rule;

(2) a copy of the roster of all par-
ticipants associated with the operation
which was prepared according to Section 22
of this rule; and

(3) a narrative account of the
manner and extent in which the operation
did or did not conform to the intended effect
as described in Subsection B of 19.17.2.14
NMAC of this rule.

B. Summary report. A
summary report on observed results of each
operation must be submitted ninety (90)
days after conclusion of the operation.
These summary reports shall consist of all
information required in Subsection A of
19.17.2.23 NMAC, plus a narrative evalua-
tion and quantitative analysis of the opera-
tion and its effects on the operations area in
form and content acceptable to the commis-
sion staff.

C. Reports to sponsors.
The operator shall file with the commission
a copy of all reports made by the operator to
sponsors.

D. Federal reporting.
The operator is responsible for complying
with all applicable federal reporting require-
ments as set forth in Public Law 92-205, 15
U.S.C. 330b, as amended, including report-
ing to the national oceanic and atmospheric
administration.  The commission’s staff
maintains a copy of the reporting form
required by federal law.
[19.17.2.23 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.24 RELEASE OF
INFORMATION TO PUBLIC: All oper-
ational information for an operation shall be
filed with the commission before such
information is released to the public.
Scientific and other information concerning
an operation shall also be filed with the
commission as it becomes available and
before being released to the public.
[19.17.2.24 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.25 M O N I T O R I N G :
When an operator conducts an operation in
an area where the United States government
or its agent is conducting weather control
research, then said operator shall submit to
monitoring by the United States govern-
ment or its agent.
[19.17.2.25 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.26 LIABILITY: Except
as provided in 19.17.2.8 NMAC and
19.17.2.9 NMAC of this rule, nothing in
this rule shall present any person adversely
affected by an operation or any research and
development activity from recovery dam-
ages otherwise available under applicable
law.
[19.17.2.26 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.27 SUITS TO RECOV-
ER FEES: The commission shall have
power to commence suit for the recovery of
any fees due under the provisions of this
rule.  All fees collected under the provisions
of this rule shall inure to the commission.
[19.17.2.27 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

19.17.2.28 LIBERAL CON-
STRUCTION: This rule shall be liberally
construed to carry out its purpose.
[19.17.2.28 NMAC - N, 01-15-2005]

HISTORY OF 19.17.2 NMAC:
[RESERVED]

CHAPTER 9 ELECTRIC SER-
VICES
PART 572 R E N E W A B L E
ENERGY FOR ELECTRIC UTILITIES

17.9.572.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
New Mexico Public Regulation
Commission.
[17.9.572.1 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.1
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.2 SCOPE:
A. All electric public utili-

ties are subject to 17.9.572.1 through
17.9.572.19 NMAC.

B. Rural electric coopera-
tives are subject to 17.9.572.1 through
17.9.572.6, and 17.9.572.20 NMAC.
[17.9.572.2 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.2
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.3 S T A T U T O R Y
AUTHORITY: NMSA 1978 Sections 62-
16-7 and 62-16-9.
[17.9.572.3 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.3
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.4 D U R A T I O N :
Permanent.
[17.9.572.4 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.4
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
January 14, 2005, unless a later date is cited
at the end of a section.
[17.9.572.5 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.5
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.6 OBJECTIVE: The
purpose of this rule is to implement the
Renewable Energy Act, NMSA 1978
Section 62-16-1 et seq.
[17.9.572.6 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.6
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.7 D E F I N I T I O N S :
Unless otherwise specified, as used in this
rule:

A. procure means to gen-
erate or purchase renewable energy and/or
renewable energy certificates or to commit
to generate or purchase renewable energy
and/or renewable energy certificates;

B. public utility means an
entity certified by the commission to pro-
vide retail electric service in New Mexico
pursuant to the Public Utility Act but does
not include rural electric cooperatives;

C. reasonable cost
threshold means the cost established by the
commission above which a public utility
shall not be required to add renewable ener-
gy to its electric energy supply portfolio
pursuant to the renewable portfolio stan-
dard;

D. renewable energy
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means electrical energy generated by means
of a low or zero emissions generation tech-
nology with substantial long-term produc-
tion potential and  generated by use of
renewable energy resources that may
include solar, wind, hydropower, geother-
mal, fuel cells that are not fossil fueled and
biomass resources; biomass resources are
fuels, such as agriculture or animal waste,
small diameter timber, salt cedar and other
phreatophyte or woody vegetation removed
from river basins or watersheds in New
Mexico, landfill gas and anaerobically
digested waste biomass; renewable energy
does not include fossil fuel or nuclear ener-
gy;

E. renewable energy cer-
tificate means a document evidencing that
the enumerated renewable energy kilowatt-
hours have been generated from a renew-
able energy generating facility;

F. renewable portfolio
standard means the percentage of retail
sales by a public utility to electric con-
sumers in New Mexico that is required to be
supplied by renewable energy.
[17.9.572.7 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.7
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.8 LIBERAL CON-
STRUCTION: This rule shall be liberally
construed to carry out its intended purposes.
If any provision of this rule, or the applica-
tion thereof to any person or circumstance,
is held invalid, the remainder of the rule, or
the application of such provision to other
persons or circumstances, shall not be
affected thereby.
[17.9.572.8 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.8
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.9 RELATIONSHIP TO
OTHER COMMISSION RULES:
Unless otherwise specified, this rule does
not supersede any other rule of the commis-
sion but supplements rules applying to pub-
lic utilities.
[17.9.572.9 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.9
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.10 R E N E W A B L E
PORTFOLIO STANDARD:

A. Each public utility must
develop a reasonable cost renewable energy
portfolio.  The portfolio shall be diversified
as to type of renewable resource, taking into
consideration the overall reliability, avail-
ability, dispatch flexibility and cost of the
various renewable resources made available
by providers and generators.  Renewable
energy resources that are in a public utility’s
electric energy supply portfolio on July 1,
2004 shall be counted in determining com-
pliance with this rule.  However, renewable
energy sold to customers through a premi-
um-priced renewable energy tariff shall not
be counted in determining compliance with

this rule.  Other factors being equal, prefer-
ence shall be given to renewable energy
generated in New Mexico.

B. By January 1, 2006, the
renewable portfolio standard shall be no
less than five percent (5%) of annual retail
jurisdictional energy sales for calendar year
2006, except as modified by Subsection C
of this section.  Thereafter, the renewable
portfolio standard will increase by one per-
cent (1%) per year for each year until the
renewable portfolio standard of ten percent
(10%) is attained for the calendar year 2011.
Upon and after January 1, 2011, the renew-
able portfolio standard will remain fixed at
ten percent (10%) of all retail jurisdictional
energy sales.

C. The renewable portfo-
lio standard will be reduced, as necessary, to
limit the kilowatt-hours of renewable ener-
gy procured by a public utility for non-
governmental customers at a single location
or facility, regardless of the number of
meters, with consumption exceeding ten
million kilowatt-hours per year.  A public
utility shall limit the amount of its renew-
able portfolio standard so that the addition-
al cost of the standard, inclusive of all inter-
connection and transmission costs, to each
customer on and after January 1, 2006, does
not exceed the lower of one percent of that
customer’s annual electric charges or forty-
nine thousand dollars ($49,000).  This pro-
curement limit will increase by one-fifth
percent or ten thousand dollars ($10,000)
per year until January 1, 2011, when the
procurement limit will remain fixed at the
lower of two percent of that customer’s
annual electric charges or ninety-nine thou-
sand dollars ($99,000).  After January 1,
2012, the commission may adjust the nine-
ty-nine thousand dollar ($99,000) limit for
inflation.

D. In determining the
amount of the reduction specified in para-
graph C of this section, a public utility shall
assume that electric rates in effect on the
day of the procurement plan filing will be in
effect for the year during which the pro-
curement reduction will apply.  A public
utility with a fuel and purchased power cost
adjustment clause (FPPCAC) shall also
assume that FPPCAC charges to the cus-
tomer during the year immediately preced-
ing its procurement plan filing will be in
effect, in identical amounts, during the year
for which the procurement reduction will
apply.

E. A public utility that, as
of July 1, 2004, has an all-requirements
contract which would not reasonably permit
it to procure renewable energy for purposes
of meeting the renewable portfolio stan-
dard, may apply to be exempted from the
renewable portfolio standard until the earli-
er of the date of their next contract forward
or the first date on which the all-require-

ments contract is amended or renegotiated,
at which time such public utility shall be
subject to the renewable portfolio standard.
A public utility seeking such exemption
shall file with the commission a petition for
exemption no later than January 31, 2005.
The petition shall include a copy of the pub-
lic utility’s all-requirements contract as well
as testimony and exhibits demonstrating
that the public utility is unable, with due
diligence, to procure renewable resources
needed to meet the renewable portfolio
standard.  The public utility shall serve a
copy of the petition on staff, the attorney
general, and all parties to the public utility’s
last general rate case.
[17.9.572.10 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.10
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.11 R E A S O N A B L E
COST THRESHOLD:

A. A public utility shall
not be required to add renewable energy to
its electric energy supply portfolio, pursuant
to the renewable portfolio standard, above
the reasonable cost threshold established by
the commission.

B. As changing circum-
stances warrant, and after notice and hear-
ing, the commission may prospectively
modify the reasonable cost threshold appli-
cable to new contracts, but not the threshold
applicable to existing contracts which have
been previously approved by the commis-
sion as part of a procurement plan to meet a
public utility’s renewable portfolio stan-
dard.  In establishing and modifying the rea-
sonable cost threshold, the commission will
take into account:

(1) the price of renewable energy
at the point of sale to the public utility;

(2) transmission and interconnec-
tion costs required for the delivery of
renewable energy to retail customers;

(3) the impact of the cost for
renewable energy on retail customer rates;

(4) overall diversity, reliability,
availability, dispatch flexibility, cost per
kilowatt-hour and life cycle cost on a net
present value basis of renewable energy
resources available from suppliers; and

(5) other factors, including public
benefits, the commission deems relevant.

C. In any given year, if the
cost to procure renewable energy is greater
than the reasonable cost threshold, a public
utility will not be required to incur that cost
or to procure that resource, provided that
the condition excusing performance under
the renewable portfolio standard in any
given year will not operate to delay the
annual increases in the renewable portfolio
standard in subsequent years.  A public util-
ity that believes its procurement will exceed
the reasonable cost threshold shall file with
the commission a request for waiver of the
renewable portfolio standard for the appli-
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cable calendar year.  The request shall
explain in detail why the public utility can-
not procure resources at a cost less than the
reasonable cost threshold and shall include
an explanation and evidence of all efforts
the public utility undertook to procure
resources at a cost within the reasonable
cost threshold.  Waiver requests shall be
deemed granted if not acted upon within
sixty (60) days.
[17.9.572.11 NMAC - N, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.12 COST RECOVERY
FOR RENEWABLE ENERGY: A public
utility shall recover the reasonable costs of
complying with the renewable portfolio
standard through the rate making process.
A public utility shall also recover its reason-
able interconnection and transmission costs
to deliver renewable energy to retail New
Mexico customers.  Costs that are consis-
tent with commission-approved procure-
ment plans or transitional procurement
plans are deemed to be reasonable.  A pub-
lic utility that is permitted to defer the
recovery of renewable energy costs pur-
suant to commission order may, through the
ratemaking process, recover from cus-
tomers that are not subject to the rate impact
limitations of Subsection C of 17.9.572.10
NMAC the cumulative sum of those
deferred amounts, plus a carrying charge on
those amounts.  For customers that are sub-
ject to the rate impact limitations of
Subsection C of 17.9.572.10 NMAC, a pub-
lic utility may, through the ratemaking
process, recover from those customers the
cumulative sum of those Subsection C of
17.9.572.10 NMAC limited deferred
amounts, plus carrying charges on those
amounts.
[17.9.572.12 NMAC - N, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.13 R E N E W A B L E
ENERGY CERTIFICATES: Each public
utility shall annually establish its compli-
ance with the renewable portfolio standard
through the filing of renewable energy cer-
tificates with the commission, consistent
with the kilowatt-hour values established in
17.9.572.14 NMAC.

A. Renewable energy cer-
tificates shall contain the following infor-
mation:

(1) the name and contact informa-
tion of the renewable energy generating
facility owner and/or operator;

(2) the name and contact informa-
tion of the public utility purchasing the
renewable energy certificate;

(3) the type of generator technol-
ogy and fuel type;

(4) the generating facility’s phys-
ical location, nameplate capacity in MW,
location and ID number of revenue meter,
and date of commencement of commercial
generation;

(5) the public utility to which the
generating facility is interconnected;

(6) the control area operator for
the generating facility; and

(7) the quantity in kWh and the
date of the renewable energy certificate
transaction.

B. Renewable energy cer-
tificates:

(1) are owned by the generator of
the renewable energy unless:

(a) the renewable energy certifi-
cates are transferred to the purchaser of the
energy through specific agreement with the
generator;

(b) the generator is a qualifying
facility, as defined by the federal Public
Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978, in
which case the renewable energy certifi-
cates are owned by the public utility pur-
chaser of the renewable energy unless
retained by the generator through specific
agreement with the public utility purchaser
of the energy; or

(c) a contract for the purchase of
renewable energy is in effect prior to
January 1, 2004, in which case the purchas-
er of the energy owns the renewable energy
certificates for the term of such contract;

(2) may be traded, sold or other-
wise transferred by their owner to any other
party; such transfers and use of the certifi-
cate by a public utility for compliance with
the renewable energy portfolio standard do
not require physical delivery of the electric
energy represented by the certificate to a
public utility; the renewable energy shall be
contracted for delivery in New Mexico
unless the commission determines that there
is a regional market for exchanging renew-
able energy certificates; if the commission
has not made a determination that a region-
al renewable energy market or trading sys-
tem is generally available for all public util-
ities in the state, any public utility may seek
approval from the commission of individual
renewable energy certificates that represent
energy generated by a renewable energy
resource within a regional renewable energy
market or trading system in any region
where the public utility is located;

(3) that are used once by a public
utility to satisfy the renewable portfolio
standard and are retired or that are traded,
sold or otherwise transferred by the public
utility shall not be further used by the pub-
lic utility; and

(4) that are not used by a public
utility to satisfy the renewable portfolio
standard or that are not traded, sold or oth-
erwise transferred by the public utility may
be carried forward for up to four (4) years
from the date of issuance and, if not used by
that time, shall be retired by the public util-
ity.

C. Public utilities are
responsible for demonstrating that a renew-

able energy certificate used for compliance
with the renewable portfolio standard is
derived from eligible renewable energy
resources and has not been retired, traded,
sold or otherwise transferred to another
party.  A public utility shall maintain
records sufficient to meet the demonstration
requirement of this subsection.
[17.9.572.13 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.10
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.14 R E N E W A B L E
ENERGY VALUATION: For purposes of
complying with the renewable portfolio
standard the kilowatt-hour value of renew-
able energy certificates shall be varied by
renewable energy resource or technology as
follows:

A. each kilowatt-hour of
electricity generated by wind or hydroelec-
tric technologies, plants, or sources repre-
sents one (1) kilowatt hour toward compli-
ance with the renewable portfolio standard;

B. each kilowatt hour of
electricity generated by biomass, geother-
mal, landfill gas, or fuel cell technologies,
plants, or sources represents two (2) kilo-
watt hours toward compliance with the
renewable portfolio standard; and

C. each kilowatt-hour of
electricity generated by solar technologies,
plants or sources represents three (3) kilo-
watt hours toward compliance with the
renewable portfolio standard.
[17.9.572.14 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.10
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.15 V O L U N T A R Y
RENEWABLE TARIFFS:

A. Each public utility shall
offer a voluntary renewable energy tariff for
those customers who want the option to pur-
chase additional renewable energy.

B. The voluntary renew-
able tariff may also include provisions to
enable consumers to purchase renewable
energy within certain energy blocks and by
source of renewable energy.  Additionally,
each public utility must develop an educa-
tional program on the benefits and avail-
ability of its voluntary renewable energy
program.  The tariff, along with the details
of the consumer education program, shall
be on file with the commission.
[17.9.572.15 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.10
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.16 ANNUAL RENEW-
ABLE ENERGY PORTFOLIO PRO-
CUREMENT PLAN:

A. By September 1 of each
year until 2012, and thereafter as deter-
mined necessary by the commission, each
public utility must file with the commission
an annual portfolio procurement plan.  The
portfolio procurement plan is to include:

(1) the cost of procurement in the
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next calendar year for any new renewable
energy resource required to comply with the
renewable portfolio standard;

(2) the amount of renewable ener-
gy the public utility plans to provide in the
calendar year commencing sixteen (16)
months later, to satisfy the percentages
specified in this rule, less any reductions
authorized by this rule or by law;

(3) an explanation and exhibits
demonstrating how the amount specified in
Paragraph (2) was determined;

(4) the reductions, if any, to the
renewable portfolio standard for procure-
ments for nongovernmental customers with
consumption exceeding ten (10) million
kilowatt hours per year and/or due to the
reasonable cost threshold, including an
explanation and exhibits demonstrating
how the reduction was determined;

(5) testimony and exhibits that
demonstrate that the proposed procurement
is reasonable as to its terms and conditions
considering price, costs of interconnection
and transmission, availability, dispatchabil-
ity, any renewable energy certificate values
and diversity of the renewable energy
resource; or

(6) demonstration that the plan is
otherwise in the public interest.

B. A public utility may file
a transitional procurement plan requesting
that the commission determine that the costs
of renewable energy resources that the pub-
lic utility has committed to or may commit
to, prior to the establishment of a reasonable
cost threshold, are reasonable and recover-
able.  A transitional procurement plan is
subject to the same filing requirements as an
annual portfolio procurement plan.

C. A public utility shall
serve notice and a copy of its annual portfo-
lio procurement plan filing by first class
mail on renewable resource providers
requesting such notice from the commis-
sion, the New Mexico attorney general, and
the intervenors in the public utility’s most
recent rate case.  A public utility shall also
post on its website the most recent and the
pending renewable energy portfolio pro-
curement plans.
[17.9.572.16 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.11
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.17 ANNUAL RENEW-
ABLE ENERGY PORTFOLIO
REPORT: By September 1 of each year
until 2012, and thereafter as determined
necessary by the commission, each public
utility must file with the commission a
report on its renewable energy generation or
purchases of renewable energy during the
prior calendar year.  This report shall:

A. itemize all renewable
energy generation and/or renewable energy
certificate purchases and sales;

B. list, and include copies

of, all renewable energy certificates, includ-
ing acquired, issued or retired certificates;

C. state, for each purchase
or sale of a renewable energy certificate,
including those to be applied in future
years:

(1) the seller’s name, address,
telephone number, and electronic mail
address;

(2) the purchaser’s name, address,
telephone number, and electronic mail
address;

(3) the dates and terms of each
transaction involving renewable energy cer-
tificates;

(4) the quantity of renewable
energy certificates purchased or sold;

(5) the purchase price;
(6) the type of renewable energy

resource used to generate the renewable
energy and its valuation pursuant to
17.9.572.14 NMAC; and

(7) other data useful to the com-
mission in evaluating the public utility’s
efforts to acquire renewable energy in
accordance with its portfolio procurement
plan; if the acquired renewable energy was
not acquired in accordance with a public
utility’s portfolio procurement plan, the
public utility must demonstrate that the
renewable energy was acquired at the low-
est reasonable price consistent with reliabil-
ity, availability, and portfolio requirements,
including renewable resource diversity; and

D. describe and quantify
the implementation of the voluntary renew-
able tariff requirements in 17.9.572.15
NMAC.
[17.9.572.17 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.11
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.18 REVIEW BY COM-
MISSION: The commission shall approve
or modify annual portfolio procurement
plans and transitional procurement plans
within sixty (60) days and may approve
such plans without a hearing, unless a
protest is filed that demonstrates to the com-
mission’s reasonable satisfaction that a
hearing is necessary.  The commission may
modify a plan after notice and hearing, and
may, for good cause, extend the time to
approve a procurement plan for an addition-
al sixty (60) days.  If the commission has
not acted within the sixty-day period, a pro-
curement plan or transitional plan is deemed
approved.  The commission may reject a
procurement plan or transitional plan if the
commission finds that the plan does not
contain the required information; upon such
rejection the public utility’s obligation to
procure additional resources will be sus-
pended for the time necessary to file a
revised plan.  In such instances, the total
amount of renewable energy to be procured
by the public utility will not change.
[17.9.572.18 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.11

NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.19 EXEMPTION AND
VARIANCE: Any interested person may
file an application for an exemption or a
variance from the requirements of this rule.
Such application shall:

A. identify the section of
this rule for which the exemption or vari-
ance is requested;

B. describe the situation
that necessitates the exemption or variance;

C. set out the effect of
complying with this rule on the public utili-
ty and its customers if the exemption or
variance is not granted;

D. define the result the
request will have if granted;

E. state how the exemp-
tion or variance will be consistent with the
purposes of this rule;

F. state why no other rea-
sonable alternative is preferable; and

G. state why the proposed
alternative is in the public interest.
[17.9.572.19 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.12
NMAC, 1-14-05]

17.9.572.20 RURAL ELECTRIC
COOPERATIVES: Rural electric cooper-
atives must offer a voluntary renewable
energy tariff to the extent that their suppli-
ers under their all-requirements contracts
make such renewable resources available.
Rural electric cooperatives must report to
the commission by April 30 of each year
concerning the availability to them of
renewable energy and the annual demand
for renewable energy pursuant to their vol-
untary tariff.
[17.9.572.20 NMAC - Rp, 17.9.572.14
NMAC, 1-14-05]

HISTORY OF 17.9.572 NMAC:
Pre-NMAC History: None.

History of Repealed Material:
17 NMAC 10.572, Renewable Energy
Development Program (filed 11-30-98)
repealed 7-1-03.
17.9.572 NMAC, Renewable Energy as a
Source of Electricity (filed 6-16-03)
repealed 1-14-05.

Other History:
17 NMAC 10.572, Renewable Energy
Development Program (filed 11-30-98)
replaced by 17.9.572 NMAC, Renewable
Energy as a Source of Electricity, effective
7-1-03.
17.9.572 NMAC, Renewable Energy as a
Source of Electricity (filed 6-16-03)
replaced by 17.9.572, Renewable Energy
for Electric Utilities, effective 1-14-05.
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NEW MEXICO 
RESPIRATORY CARE

ADVISORY BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.23.12 NMAC
effective February 4, 2005.  It amends
Section 11; adds two reserved Sections,
15 and 16; and adds a new Section, 17 to
16.23.12 NMAC.

16.23.12.11 OTHER EDUCA-
TIONAL OFFERINGS.  The department,
in consultation with the board, [have] has an
informal arrangement with the New Mexico
society for respiratory care (NMSRC) in
which NMSRC will review for approval
other continuing education offerings, for
individual licensees or continuing education
sponsors.

A. Any continuing educa-
tion (CE) activity that is not covered by
16.23.12.8 NMAC through 16.23.12.10
NMAC must be submitted to NMSRC for
review and approval.

(1) Approval must be granted by
the NMSRC before the CE may be consid-
ered applicable toward meeting the continu-
ing education renewal requirement for res-
piratory care practitioners licensed in New
Mexico. Any deadlines for submission of
these requests to the NMSRC will be estab-
lished by the NMSRC as needed.

(2) Approval must be granted by
NMSRC before the continuing education
can be submitted to the department and the
board to meet the licensee’s continuing edu-
cation renewal requirement.

B. The request for
approval of an educational seminar or
course must include the following, at a min-
imum.  The NMSRC may require addition-
al information to process the request.

(1) Name of the seminar or
course.

(2) Sponsoring party.
(3) Objective of the seminar.
(4) Format and subjects of semi-

nar or course.
(5) Number of clock hours credit-

ed for the offering.
(6) Sample “proof of attendance”

certificate.
(7) Name and qualifications of

the instructor.
(8) Evaluation mechanism to be

used.
C. Any processing fee

established by the NMSRC for the continu-
ing education review service must be
payable to the NMSRC and must accompa-
ny the request to the NMSRC for approval
of an educational offering.

D. The NMSRC will give
written notification to the sponsor or licens-
ee of the approval or denial of the educa-
tional program or seminar.

16.23.12.15 [RESERVED]

16.23.12.16 [RESERVED]

16.23.12.17 E X T E N U A T I N G
CIRCUMSTANCES - DEFERRAL OR
WAIVER OF CONTINUING EDUCA-
TION REQUIREMENT

A. Licensees generally
have twenty-four (24) months to complete
the continuing education requirement for
renewal, which is sufficient time to meet the
continuing education requirement.

B. In the event a licensee
experiences and extenuating circumstance
such as a prolonged debilitating personal ill-
ness; or a prolonged debilitating illness of
an immediate family member; or being
mobilized to active duty by the national
guard or other branch of service in the
United States armed forces, which makes it
impossible to meet the continuing education
requirement for license renewal, the indi-
vidual may request an emergency deferral
or a waiver of the continuing education
requirement by submitting one of the fol-
lowing items to the board before the license
expiration date.

(1) A written request for deferral
or waiver explaining the circumstances that
made it impossible for the licensee to meet
the requirement in the twenty-four months
prior to the expiration date of the license.

(2) Documentation accompany-
ing the request for deferral or waiver that
verifies the extenuating circumstances, such
as a signed affidavit from a physician or
medical provider, or a copy of the mobiliza-
tion orders from the branch of government
calling the person to active duty; etc.

C. A licensee mobilized
for active military duty, but who is still in
training when the license renewal comes
due, is required to renew his/her license and
meet the continuing education require-
ments, but the license renewal fee will not
be assessed.

D. A licensee mobilized
into active military duty, and who is in mil-
itary action at the time the license renewal
comes due, is not required to renew his/her
license or meet the continuing education
requirements.  However, upon return to
civilian status, the licensee shall renew the
license without having to pay the renewal or
late penalty fee.

E. The license of a respira-
tory therapist who does not earn the
required continuing education for renewal
due to his/her call to active military duty
will not lapse for failure to earn continuing
education hours provided the licensee sub-
mits a copy of the mobilization orders to the
board office prior to the expiration of the
license.

F. The license renewal

extension authorized by this regulation shall
end one month after deployment is conclud-
ed.

G. Upon return to civilian
status, the licensee shall resume earning
continuing education prorated as follows
after the deployment ends.

(1) If the deployment ends in
October of the odd-numbered year through
March of the even-numbered year, the
licensee will accrue twenty (20) hours of
continuing education for the next renewal
cycle.

(2) If the deployment ends in
April of the even-numbered year through
September of the even-numbered year, the
licensee will accrue fifteen (15) hours of
continuing education for the next renewal
cycle.

(3) If the deployment ends in
October of the even-numbered year through
March of the odd-numbered year, the
licensee will accrue ten (10) hours of con-
tinuing education for the next renewal
cycle.

(4) If the deployment ends in
April of the odd-numbered year through
July of the odd-numbered year, the licensee
will accrue zero (0) hours of continuing
education for the that year’s renewal cycle.
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This is an amendment to 16.23.14 NMAC
effective February 4, 2005.  It amends
Section 7; adds two reserved Sections, 22
and 23; and adds a new Section, 24.

16.23.14.7 DEFINITIONS:
A. “Department” means

the New Mexico regulation and licensing
department.

[A.] B. [Reserved]“DME or
DME company” refers to durable medical
equipment or companies that provide
durable medical equipment in the health
care industry.

C. [Reserved]
D. “Gratuitous” means to

receive no form of payment or remunera-
tion.

E. “Home care setting”
as it applies to respiratory care, means any
facility, including a patient’s home that
would usually not employ respiratory care
practitioners, specifically those facilities
visited by a person from outside the facility
to provide respiratory care services.

F. [Reserved]
G. “License” means the

legal privilege and authorization to practice
within a professional category.

H. [Reserved]



I. “Prescription” means
an order given individually for the person
for whom prescribed, either directly from
the prescriber to the person licensed to fill
the prescription or indirectly by means of a
written order signed by the prescriber

H. “Medical direction” as
applied to respiratory care, means a pre-
scription or order by a physician authorized
to practice medicine or by any other person
authorized to prescribe under the laws of
New Mexico.

16.23.14.22 [RESERVED]

16.23.14.23 [RESERVED]

16.23.14.24 U N L I C E N S E D
PRACTICE OF RESPIRATORY CARE
- DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES.   In
accordance with the provisions contained
within the Uniform Licensing Act, the
department may take disciplinary action as
provided in Section 61-1-3.2, NMSA 1978,
(2003 Repl. Pamp.) if the department, in
consultation with the board, determines that
the respondent has violated the Respiratory
Care Act or the department’s rules and reg-
ulations governing respiratory care (16.23
NMAC) by practicing respiratory care in
New Mexico without a valid New Mexico
license.

A. The department, in con-
sultation with the board, may impose a civil
penalty in an amount not to exceed one
thousand dollars ($1,000) against a person
who, without a license, engages in the prac-
tice of respiratory care.

B. The department, in con-
sultation with the board, may impose a civil
penalty in an amount not to exceed one
thousand dollars ($1,000) against a compa-
ny or other business entity that requires an
unlicensed person to engage in the practice
of respiratory care without a license.  The
penalty shall be imposed in the amount of
one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each indi-
vidual that the company or business entity
employs and who is performing respiratory
care scope of practice procedures and/or
protocols without benefit of a valid New
Mexico respiratory care license or permit.

C. In addition, the depart-
ment, in consultation with the board may
assess the person, company, or other busi-
ness entity for administrative costs, includ-
ing investigative costs and the cost of con-
ducting a hearing.
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16.23.16.19 U N L I C E N S E D
PRACTICE OF RESPIRATORY CARE
- DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES.  In
accordance with the provisions contained
within the Uniform Licensing Act, the
department may take disciplinary action as
provided in Section 61-1-3.2, NMSA 1978,
(2003 Repl. Pamp.) if the department, in
consultation with the board, determines that
the respondent has violated the Respiratory
Care Act or the department’s rules and reg-
ulations governing respiratory care (16.23
NMAC) by practicing respiratory care in
New Mexico without a valid New Mexico
license.

A. The department, in con-
sultation with the board, may impose a civil
penalty in an amount not to exceed one
thousand dollars ($1,000) against a person
who, without a license, engages in the prac-
tice of respiratory care.

B. The department, in con-
sultation with the board, may impose a civil
penalty in an amount not to exceed one
thousand dollars ($1,000) against a compa-
ny or other business entity that requires an
unlicensed person to engage in the practice
of respiratory care without a license.  The
penalty shall be imposed in the amount of
one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each indi-
vidual that the company or business entity
employs and who is performing respiratory
care scope of practice procedures and/or
protocols without benefit of a valid New
Mexico respiratory care license or permit.

C. In addition, the depart-
ment, in consultation with the board may
assess the person, company, or other busi-
ness entity for administrative costs, includ-
ing investigative costs and the cost of con-
ducting a hearing.

NEW MEXICO 
RESPIRATORY CARE

ADVISORY BOARD

This amendment to 16.23.16 NMAC adds
a new Section, 19, effective February 4,
2005.

giving specific information in the interest of
the traveling public are authorized under
Sections 66-7-101, [1988] Most current
adopted edition of the manual on uniform
traffic control devices or latest approved
edition; 66-7-102, 67-3-16, 67-12-4, 67- 12-
5 and 67-14-1 NMSA 1978 et seq.

B. All rules and regula-
tions set forth herein are subject to revision
by the New Mexico [state highway and
transportation department] department of
transportation with the approval of the New
Mexico state [highway] transportation com-
mission.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.3 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.3, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
September 30, 1998, unless a later date is
cited at the end of a section [or paragraph].
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.5, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.7 DEFINITIONS: As
used in these rules unless the context clear-
ly indicates otherwise.

A. “As-built plans”
means detailed plans showing the configu-
ration and location of specific information
“panels” and trailblazer signs after the ini-
tial construction is completed on an inter-
change by interchange basis.

B. “Business sign” means
a separately affixed sign attached to a
motorist informational “panel,” showing the
name, brand or trademark of a qualified
motorist service business.

C. “Commission” means
the New Mexico state [highway] transporta-
tion commission.

D. “Department” means
the New Mexico [state highway and trans-
portation department] department of trans-
portation.

E. “Department secre-
tary” means the secretary of the New
Mexico [state highway and transportation
department] department of transportation or
his designated representative.

F. “District” means any
one of six sub-districts of the [NMSH&TD]
NMDOT responsible for construction and
maintenance activities in a defined geo-
graphical area.

G. “Eligible highway”
means those sections of controlled access
highways determined by the [NMSH&TD]
NMDOT to be eligible for the specific
information “panel” program.

H. “Eligible interchange”
means those interchanges within the eligi-
ble sections of highways where the specific
information “panel” program may be pro-
vided.

I. “Exit gore” means the
earliest point at which the exit roadway
becomes fully separated from the mainline

NEW MEXICO
DEPARTMENT OF

TRANSPORTATION

This is an amendment to 18.21.3 NMAC,
Sections 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, and 15 through
20.  This action also renumbers and refor-
mats 18 NMAC 21.3 to 18.21.3 NMAC in
conformance with current NMAC require-
ments, effective 1/14/2005.

18.21.3.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
New Mexico [State Highway and
Transportation Department] Department of
Transportation Post Office Box 1149 Santa
Fe, New Mexico 87504-1149  (505) 827-
0714.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.1 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.1, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.3 S T A T U T O R Y
AUTHORITY:

A. Regulations for signs



roadway.
J. “Interstate system” or

“interstate highway” means every state
highway that is a part of a national system
of interstate and defense highways estab-
lished pursuant to Section 103(b), Title 23,
United States Code. This definition also
includes fully controlled access freeways on
the primary highway system.

K. “Logo” means a sym-
bol or design used by a qualified traveler
service business that may consist of an eas-
ily recognizable identification symbol,
name brand, trademark, or combination
thereof.

L. “Main traveled way”
means the through traffic lanes of interstate
systems or access controlled routes, exclu-
sive of frontage roads, auxiliary lanes and
ramps.

M. “Specific service sign”
means a “specific informational panel”
bearing separately affixed individual busi-
ness signs, indicating the presence of one or
more gas, food, lodging, camping or attrac-
tion, and erected in advance of exit ramps
on interstate systems or access controlled
roadways. In appropriate context only, it
also means a supplemental direction panel.

N. “Separate traveler
informational sign” means a traveler infor-
mation panel which indicates the presence
of only one type of tourist service, namely,
gas, food, lodging, or camping. The phrase
“traveler information sign” when not quali-
fied means “separate traveler informational
panel.”

O. “Combination travel-
er informational sign” means a traveler
informational panel which indicates the
presence of more than one type of tourist
service.  No traveler informational panel
may indicate the presence of more than
three types of tourist services in any event.

P. “ [ N M S H & T D ]
NMDOT program administrator” means
that person assigned by the [NMSH&TD]
NMDOT to oversee and coordinate the
LOGOS sign program and when applicable
the program manager’s activity.

Q. “Owner” means the
holder of fee title, or holder of leasehold
estates from the owner of the real property.

R. “Permit” means for-
mal approval by the NMDOT or when
applicable the program manager for work
performed within the highway right-of-way
and processed on forms provided by the
NMDOT or when applicable the program
manager for that purpose.

S. “Program manager”
or “contractor” means, when applicable,
that person, firm, or organization selected
by the [NMSH&TD] NMDOT for the pur-
pose of administering, marketing, con-
structing, refurbishing, and maintaining the
existing and future specific service sign pro-

gram in New Mexico.
T. “Qualified motorist

business” means a business furnishing gas,
food, lodging, camping or attraction related
tourist services.

U. “Responsible opera-
tor” means a person or entity other than an
owner who operates an independent
motorist service business, and who has
authority to enter into agreements relevant
to matters covered by these requirements.

V. “Mainline specific
information panel” means a background
sign-panel with border and copy upon
which one (1) or more separate business
signs may be attached and are located adja-
cent to the mainline and exit ramps of the
eligible highway.

W. “Ramp supplemental
directional sign” means a motorist infor-
mational panel located on, opposite or at the
terminus of an exit ramp from the interstate
system, bearing business signs and direc-
tional information for a qualified motorist
service business.

X. “Trailblazer sign”
means a business sign with an appropriate
directional arrow sign mounted along the
route leading from the interchange to the
business for traffic direction purposes.

Y. “Visible” means the
location of the business can be readily iden-
tified by traffic approaching the termini of
the highway exit ramp serving the business
or approaching an intersection along the
route from the exit ramp to the business.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.7 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.7, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.9 LOCATION:
A. [Intended for use in

rural areas:  The specific information panels
are designed for application at rural inter-
changes and are permitted whether a busi-
ness is or is not visible to the traveling pub-
lic from the highway. Specific information
panels may be installed within suburban or
urban areas only where the roadside devel-
opment does not appear to the traveler to be
urban in character.]  The use of specific
service signs should be limited to areas pri-
marily rural in character or to areas where
adequate sign spacing can be maintained.

B. Limitation of specific
information panels and individual business
signs:

(1) Where there are sufficient
qualified applicants, a separate specific
information panel shall be erected for each
type of traveler service. The GAS, FOOD,
LODGING, CAMPING and ATTRAC-
TION specific information panels shall
carry no more than six individual business
signs each.

(2) Combination motorist infor-
mation signs may be used at an interchange
at the discretion of the department or con-

tractor.
C. Relationship to exit

gore and right-of-way line:  The specific
information panels shall be erected between
the previous interchange and 1/2 mile in
advance of the exit gore for the approaching
interchange. These panels shall be located
outside of the clear zone and readable from
the main traveled way. The last panel shall
be erected no closer than 1/2 mile to the exit
gore of the approaching interchange with at
least 800 foot spacing between the informa-
tion panels. In the direction of traffic, the
successive panels shall be those of
“ATTRACTION”, “CAMPING”, “LODG-
ING”, “FOOD”, “GAS” in that order.

D. Not to be used where
re-entry to freeway is Inconvenient:  The
specific information panel shall not be
erected at an interchange at which an exit
from the freeway is provided but at which
no entrance ramp exists at that interchange
or at another reasonably convenient loca-
tion that would permit a traveler to proceed
in the desired direction of travel without
undue indirection or use of poor connection
roads.

E. Continuity of signing
along exit ramp:  The traveler services
information, shown on the specific informa-
tion panels, shall be repeated on the panels
located along the interchange ramp where
distance allows or at the ramp terminal
where the service installations are not visi-
ble from the ramp terminal. In addition,
appropriate trailblazer assemblies or direc-
tion information panels may also be provid-
ed along the crossroad, as required, to ade-
quately direct travelers to the respective
service facilities. These signs shall be the
same in shape, color, and message as those
shown on the specific information panels,
together with a supplemental arrow sign
(M6 series) showing the directions for the
different services and, where needed, the
mileage to the service installation.
Normally, this signing will not be necessary
at double-exit interchanges. The legends or
symbols on these signs shall be smaller
(minimum 4-inch letter height, except that
any legend on a symbol shall be in propor-
tion to the size of the symbol) than those
shown on the specific information panels.

F. General traveler service
signs:  There is no need for a general travel-
er service sign to confirm the specific infor-
mation panels erected for any of the five
services. A general traveler service sign car-
rying any of the legends or symbols not
contained on the specific information pan-
els and also the symbols for phone and hos-
pital, when applicable, may be erected. If so
used, it shall be erected in conjunction with
the ground mounted exit direction signs, or
may be a separate sign with appropriate
directional information erected a minimum
of 800 feet following the last advance guide
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sign. Figures 1 through 5 are prepared from
the standards and are included for informa-
tional purposes.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.9, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.10 CRITERIA TO
DETERMINE SPECIFIC INFORMA-
TION PERMITTED:

A. Location of service
establishments from interchange:  The max-
imum distance that the “ATTRACTION”,
“GAS”, “FOOD”, “LODGING” or
“CAMPING” services can be located from
the main traveled way to qualify for a busi-
ness sign shall not exceed 3 miles in either
direction. If within that 3-mile limit one or
more of the service types considered is not
available, continue in 3-mile increments of
consideration up to 15-mile maximum, if
necessary, to find an available service of the
type being considered. Services beyond the
15-mile limit do not qualify for signing.

B. Types of services per-
mitted:  [The] Subsequent to the date of this
rule, the types of services permitted shall be
limited to “gas”, “food”, “lodging”, “camp-
ing” and “attraction”.  Requirements to
qualify for display on a specific information
panel are as follows:

(1) “gas” and associated services
to qualify for erection on a panel shall
include:

(a) vehicle services such as fuel,
oil and water;

(b) [continuous operation at least
12 hours per day, 6 days a week, which
must include Saturday and Sunday] contin-
uous operation at least 16 hours per day, 7
days per week for freeways and express-
ways, and continuous operation at least 12
hours per day, 7 days per week for conven-
tional roads;

(c) modern sanitary facilities;
(d) public telephone;
(e) drinking water.
(2) “food” to qualify for erection

on a panel shall include:
(a) where required, licensing or

approval by state or political subdivision;
(b) [continuous operation to serve

food and beverages during normal meal
times (7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.), 6 days a
week, which must include Saturday and
Sunday.] continuous operations to serve
three meals per day at least 6 days per week;

(c) modern sanitary facilities;
(d) public telephone.
(3) “lodging” to qualify for erec-

tion on a panel shall include:
(a) where required, licensing or

approval by state or political subdivision;
(b) adequate sleeping accommo-

dations;
(c) public telephone;
(d) modern sanitary facilities.
(4) “camping” to qualify for erec-

tion on a panel shall include:
(a) licensing or approval by

appropriate public agency;
(b) adequate parking accommo-

dations;
(c) modern sanitary facilities,

drinking water and showers;
(d) continuous operation seven

days a week;
(e) public telephone;
(f) provisions for removal or cov-

ering of the business signs during off-sea-
sons if operated on a seasonal basis.

(5) “attraction” to qualify for
erection on a panel shall include:

(a) regional significance;
(b) adequate parking accommo-

dations.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.10 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.10, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.12 SIZE:
A. Business signs:
(1) The business signs displayed

on the information panel shall be contained
within a 48-inch wide and 36-inch high rec-
tangular background area, including border.

(2) The existing business signs
measuring 60-inch by 36-inch on “FOOD,”
“LODGING” and “CAMPING” specific
information panels shall be replaced, at the
logo client’s expense, with 48-inch wide by
36-inch high business signs. New 48 inch
wide by 36 inch high business signs must be
provided by the participating business as
new specific information panels are being
installed or existing specific information
panels are being overlayed or refurbished.

B. Information panel - sin-
gle-exit interchange:

(1) The maximum size of the spe-
cific information panel should be 15-feet
wide and 10-feet high, including border; the
minimum size should be 15-feet wide and
6-feet high, including border.

(2) The size of existing “FOOD,”
“LODGING” and “CAMPING” specific
information panels are 18-feet wide and 10-
feet high or 13-feet wide and 6- feet high,
including border. These specific informa-
tion panels should be replaced with 15-feet
wide and 10-feet high or 15-feet wide and
6-feet high respectively, as appropriate, dur-
ing routine re-construction projects or by,
when applicable, the program manager/con-
tractor. The department or contractor may
choose to refurbish the existing sign and
provide spacing between business signs as
approved by the department.

C. Information panel -
double-exit interchange:

(1) For double-exit interchanges
where the same type of motorist services are
to be signed for each exit, the specific infor-
mation panels shall consist of two 15-foot
wide and 6-foot high sections, one for each
exit.

(a) Existing “FOOD,” “LODG-
ING” and “CAMPING”, specific informa-
tion panels, consist of two 13-foot wide and
6-foot high sections, one for each exit.
These specific information panels shall be
replaced with two 15-feet wide and 6-feet
high during routine re-construction projects
or as needed by the contractor.

(b) Each section shall be capable
of accommodating a maximum of either
three gas, FOOD, LODGING, CAMPING
or ATTRACTION business signs.

(2) For double-exit interchanges
where a type of motorist service is to be
signed for only one exit, only one specific
information panel may be used.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.12 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.12, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.15 PROCEDURES TO
BE FOLLOWED BY THE DEPART-
MENT:

A. Eligibility of funds:
Federal funds may be eligible to participate
in the cost and erection of these panels in
the same manner that such funds are eligible
for other highway signs to the national high-
way system, except that federal funds are
not eligible to participate in the cost of
procuring and installing the business signs.

B. Programming, project
authorization and other actions:  The proce-
dures for obtaining approval for program-
ming, project authorizations and other
actions for federal projects including these
panels shall follow the same procedures in
use for other national highway system proj-
ects. If the department desires to erect these
panels on the interstate highway system or
other controlled access routes on the nation-
al highway system without federal fund par-
ticipation, it shall provide a design consis-
tent with standards in the MUTCD and stan-
dards herein. No panels shall be approved
which do not conform to the requirements
of these standards. Programming of a trav-
eler informational panel project shall be at
the discretion of the department and/or,
when applicable, the program manager/con-
tractor.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.15 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.15, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.16 ELIGIBILITY:
A. Intended primarily for

rural interchanges:  Traveler information
panels shall be erected and maintained at
rural interchanges whether a business is or
is not visible to the traveling public from the
highway and at suburban or urban inter-
changes where [roadside business develop-
ments are not visible to the highway travel-
er due to the surrounding terrain and topog-
raphy. If a traveler business is located at or
near an urban or suburban interchange
where commercial roadside development is
visually obvious to a passing traveler the
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owner of that business shall be eligible to
apply for a business or logo sign only if
other qualified businesses not visible from
the highway do not apply] spacing allows.

B. Types of services and
criteria:  Types of services and criteria are
set forth in Subsection B of 18.21.3.10
NMAC.

C. Conformity with civil
rights laws:  The owner or responsible oper-
ator of a qualified traveler business must
give written assurance of its conformity
with all applicable laws concerning the pro-
visions of public accommodations without
regard to race, religion, sex, handicap or
national origin.

D. Mileage limits - who
may apply. (See Subsection A of 18.21.3.10
NMAC)

E. Rules applicable to
business signs:

(1) The owner or responsible
operator of the business must file an appli-
cation for placement of its business sign on
all traveler informational panels erected at
the interchange on which it is eligible for
such placement, and if it is not visible from
the exit ramp, on any supplemental direc-
tional panel on the exit ramp or at its termi-
nus, on a form specified by the department
or when applicable, the program
manager/contractor.

(2) The applicant must also agree
to furnish the necessary number of its busi-
ness signs to be affixed to the traveler infor-
mational panels. [The program
manager/contractor may provide these signs
under agreement with the business owner.]

(3) The applicant must also
acknowledge that the permit is revocable
for his failure to comply with those require-
ments of  Subsection J of 18.21.3.16
NMAC of this section; that revocation
under this paragraph forfeits applicant’s
paid rental and permit fees, there being no
allowance for a pro rata refund for the
remainder of the year.

(4) The applicant expressly agrees
to waive all claims against the department
and when applicable, its contractor, includ-
ing claims for damage to its business signs
by the department’s or contractor installa-
tion, maintenance removal and replacement
as required in Subsection B of 18.21.3.18
NMAC. Applicant further agrees to indem-
nify the department and when applicable,
the contractor and save them harmless from
all claims arising out of the erection, main-
tenance and existence of applicant’s busi-
ness and logo signs within department’s
right of way. Such claims to be indemnified
include, but are not limited to, damages
caused as a result of relying upon the repre-
sentations made by the business and logo
signs to the detriment of the traveling pub-
lic.

F. Conformity with laws:

All signs or advertising on the premises
must be in full compliance with all other
state and federal laws and regulations.

G. Priority of business
sign application:  If applications are
received for any one interchange from more
than the maximum allowable businesses to
be placed on any one panel, only six appli-
cations for gas, food, lodging, camping and
attraction shall be granted. The order of pri-
ority shall be the six businesses closest to
the interchange that have applied for a per-
mit prior to the closing date set by the
department or the contractor for receipt of
applications except as stated in Subsection
A of 18.21.3.16 NMAC of this requirement.

H. Length of time of per-
mit:  Any grant of a new or renewal appli-
cation shall entitle the applicant to place-
ment of its business sign(s) on traveler
information panel(s) for the interchange(s)
for the paid rental period.

I. Permit renewed annual-
ly:  Eligibility of qualified traveler service
businesses for continued placement of their
business sign on a traveler information
panel may be reviewed annually before a
grant of renewal permit, on the same basis
as for an original permit, but no new appli-
cation shall be deemed to have higher prior-
ity than a renewal application unless it is
received at least sixty (60) days before the
permit is scheduled to expire under
Subsection H of 18.21.3.16 NMAC.

J. Causes for removal of
business signs:  Notwithstanding
Subsection I of 18.21.3.16 NMAC of this
section, the business sign of a traveler serv-
ice business shall be removed from all trav-
eler informational panels and may be
replaced by the business sign of another
qualified applicant for failure to comply
with Subsection B of 18.21.3.10 NMAC, as
follows:

(1) If it fails on a sufficient num-
ber of occasions or over a sufficient period
of time to provide all of the services
required by Subsection B of 18.21.3.10
NMAC, so as to justify a finding by the
department or when applicable the program
manager that the business is not in substan-
tial compliance with that paragraph.

(2) If it fails to open for business
for more than seven consecutive days or for
more than ten days cumulatively during any
one-year period, unless the department or
when applicable the program manager finds
that closure for such period was beyond the
control of the owner or responsible opera-
tor, or that the closure was justified by
extenuating circumstances.

(3) If it fails to comply with
Subsection C of 18.21.3.16 NMAC of this
section, except in isolated instances without
the knowledge of the owner, responsible
operator or manager of the business, or on
any occasion unless steps are promptly

taken to insure to the fullest extent reason-
ably possible that such instances will not
recur.

(4) If it willfully fails to comply
with Subsection F of 18.21.3.16 NMAC of
this section, or if it fails to take immediate
steps to comply promptly after it is notified
or becomes aware that it is not in compli-
ance.

K. Removal caused by fire
or accident:  If due to fire, accident or simi-
lar causes, a qualified traveler service busi-
ness becomes inoperable for an extended
period of time, exceeding seven days, but
not more than ninety days, its business sign
shall be temporarily removed from or cov-
ered on all motorist informational panels,
but the business shall not lose its priority.
Further extension may be granted on good
cause shown. However, failure of the owner
or responsible operator to proceed with nec-
essary repairs within a reasonable time shall
cause the loss of right to continued place-
ment of the business sign and require a new
application.

L. Waiver:  Upon petition
by an applicant showing a significant busi-
ness disadvantage to it which would arise
under strict enforcement of these regula-
tions, or showing a substantial benefit to the
public if a variance is granted, the depart-
ment or when applicable the program man-
ager may authorize a waiver of any require-
ments of Subsection J of 18.21.3.16
NMAC:

(1) that it will not derogate from
the purposes of these requirements;

(2) that the applicant will suffer a
significant business disadvantage if the
waiver is not granted, or that a substantial
benefit to the public will be realized if the
waiver is granted;

(3) that the waiver will not be
contrary to any provisions of state law, or
federal law or regulations.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.16 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.16, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.17 APPLICATION AND
APPEAL PROCEDURES:

A. Application proce-
dures:

(1) Upon selection of a particular
interchange, individually or as part of a
selected segment of the Interstate or access
controlled national highway system, for
erection of traveler informational panels for
one or more types of qualified traveler serv-
ice businesses, the department or when
applicable the program manager may secure
applications from owners or responsible
operators of eligible businesses for place-
ment of their business signs on such panels.

(2) The department or when
applicable the program manager shall issue
permits to each eligible applicant, up to the
maximum number permissible.
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B. Appeal procedure:  Any
order of the department or when applicable
the program manager denying an applica-
tion under these rules or for removal of a
business sign pursuant to Subsection J of
18.21.3.16 NMAC, may be appealed by the
applicant or permittee to the department
secretary or when applicable the program
manager within fifteen calendar days after
knowledge of the facts or occurrences giv-
ing rise to the appeal. Any person who has
been sent written notice of any fact or
occurrence is presumed to have knowledge
of the fact or occurrence. Appeals shall be in
writing and contain the name and address of
the party appealing, a concise statement of
the grounds for the appeal, including any
supporting evidence to substantiate the
appeal, if available, and specify the ruling
requested from the secretary or when appli-
cable the program manager. The department
or when applicable the program manager
shall notify applicants or permittees
promptly on any application denial or deci-
sion to remove a sign pursuant to
Subsection J of 18.21.3.16 NMAC.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.17 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.17, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.18 ERECTION AND
MAINTENANCE:

A. Erect and maintain
informational signs:  The department or
when applicable the program manager shall
furnish, erect and maintain traveler infor-
mational panels at locations specified by the
department or when applicable the program
manager, or it may agree or contract with
any city, county, or other governmental
agency of this state, or with an independent
contractor, to erect and maintain such pan-
els at specified locations. In the event the
department chooses to use an independent
contractor for program management, the
department may allow the contractor to
fully administer the program, including
marketing, issuing permits and collecting
fees as well as providing, erecting informa-
tional panels, installing business signs and
maintaining all logo informational sign pan-
els. Compensation to the contractor may
consist of the fees generated by the pro-
gram. All existing sign panels as well as all
sign panels provided and installed by the
contractor will remain the property of the
department and the state of New Mexico.

B. Erect and maintain
business signs:  The department or when
applicable the program manager shall per-
form all required installation, maintenance,
and removal and replacement of all business
signs upon specific information panels
within the right-of-way or as stated in
Subsection A of 18.21.3.18 NMAC.

C. Business sign damage
and new signs:  The department or when
applicable the program manager shall not be

responsible for damages to business signs
caused by acts of vandalism or natural caus-
es requiring repair or replacement of busi-
ness signs. Permittees in such event shall
provide a new or renovated business sign
together with payment of the appropriate
service charge to the department or when
applicable the program manager to replace
such damaged business signs. A service fee
for each mainline and/or each ramp supple-
ment and/or each trailblazer business sign
shall be assessed in accordance with the
current, approved LOGO fee schedule.

D. Business sign approval
actions:  Promptly upon the approval of
applications for business signs to be affixed
to traveler informational panels, the depart-
ment or when applicable the program man-
ager shall notify the party with which it has
contracted, so that the panels may be erect-
ed. The department or when applicable the
program manager shall furnish the party
with which it has contracted with all neces-
sary information in order to permit the
department or when applicable the program
manager to erect the panels.

E. Furnishing business
signs:  The department or when applicable
the program manager shall notify business-
es to which applications have been
approved sufficiently in advance of the date
the panels will be erected, or business signs
will be affixed to them, to permit such busi-
nesses to furnish the necessary number and
detail of their business signs to allow when
applicable the program manager to fabricate
and install the business signs. If the depart-
ment or when applicable the program man-
ager is notified that a motorist service busi-
ness has failed to timely furnish detailed
information of its business signs, or that the
signs furnished are not in compliance with
these requirements and, if the department or
when applicable the program manager finds
that the permittee has not shown due dili-
gence, it may cancel the permit and forfeit
the permit fee.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.18 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.18, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.19 FEES:
A. Application fees:  All

application fees are a one-time charge and
are payable on application approval. The
application fee for each business sign
placed on a motorist informational panel
shall be in accordance with the current,
approved logo fee schedule. A separate fee
in accordance with the current, approved
logo fee schedule, shall be applicable for
each business sign placed on a supplemen-
tal ramp directional panel. A separate fee, in
accordance with the current, approved logo
fee schedule, shall be applicable for each
business sign installed as trailblazer at a
crossroads between the ramp terminus and
the location of the business. If a business is

not visible from the exit ramp terminal, the
motorist services information, shown on the
specific information panels shall be repeat-
ed on the supplemental panels located along
the interchange ramp where distance allows
or at the ramp terminal.

B. Annual rental fees:  In
addition to the application fee, an annual
rental fee, in accordance with the current,
approved logo fee schedule, for each busi-
ness sign affixed to a traveler informational
panel, not including supplemental ramp
signs and/or trailblazers shall be paid annu-
ally. The advertiser shall be notified when
the traveler information panel is erected and
the logo installed and the rental fee is then
due. Rental fees shall be reviewed periodi-
cally to determine their relationship to the
cost of operation of this program. Rental
fees not received within thirty (30) days of
notification to the applicant by the depart-
ment shall subject applicant’s application to
revocation and removal of his sign without
application fees being refunded.

C. Fee schedule prepara-
tion:  In the event the department chooses to
use an independent contractor, the contrac-
tor will prepare a logo sign fee schedule that
shall be included as part of his proposal and
is, therefore, subject to approval by the
department. At the end of four years the
logo sign fee schedule should be reviewed
by the department and the contractor, at
which time any necessary changes can be
made. If the department does not choose to
use an independent contractor, the depart-
ment will prepare the logo sign fee sched-
ule.

D. Retention and refund-
ing fees.

(1) If an application for a permit
is, for any reason not granted or renewed,
all fees tendered with the application shall
be refunded. If the permit is revoked under
Subsection J of 18.21.3.16 NMAC, or if the
rental is not timely tendered under
Subsection B of 18.21.3.19 NMAC, the
department or when applicable the program
manager shall not refund any application
fees.

(2) If an application is approved
and contract has been awarded for the erec-
tion of the sign, no part of the permit fee
shall be refunded. If a permit has been
renewed, no part of the permit fee shall be
refunded. If the business sign is subsequent-
ly removed by a taking of eminent domain
of the business being advertised, a propor-
tional refund of the permit fee may be
made; however, in case of any removal, the
rental fee for any months or major portion
(16 days or more) of a month remaining to
the anniversary date of placement of the
business sign may be refunded. There shall
be no refund of rental fees for any business
sign temporarily removed or covered pur-
suant to Subsection K of 18.21.3.16
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NMAC.
E. Department adminis-

tered logo sign program:  If the department
chooses to continue the administration of
the logo sign program, the department shall
fully administer the program, including
marketing, issuing permits and collecting
fees as well as providing, erecting informa-
tional panels, installing business signs and
maintaining all logo informational sign pan-
els. A separate logo signing program
account shall be established to receive any
and all fees from the program. All funds in
this account shall be used to furnish, erect
and maintain traveler informational panels
as needed as well as to pay costs associated
with the administration of the logo sign pro-
gram.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.19 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.19, 1/14/2005]

18.21.3.20 MISCELLANEOUS:
A. The department or

when applicable the program manager shall
adopt all necessary forms, accounting meth-
ods and other necessary procedures to carry
out the full intent of these regulations.

B. These regulations shall
be effective on the day they are filed with
the New Mexico records and archives cen-
ter, and any regulation heretofore affecting
the subject matter hereof is hereby super-
seded.
[9/30/98; 18.21.3.20 NMAC - Rn & A, 18
NMAC 21.3.20, 1/14/2005]

11.4.7.9 PROCEDURES FOR
ESTABLISHING THE MAXIMUM
AMOUNT OF REIMBURSEMENT
DUE

A. All hospital and FASC
services, except as provided in Subsection
B of this temporary rule, shall be reim-
bursed at the rate of 80% of the hospital
ratios assigned during calendar year 2004
for all services rendered from January 15,
2005 through December 31, 2005.  Any new
hospital or FASC shall be assigned a ratio
pursuant to Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph
(4) of Subsection F of 11.4.7.9 NMAC of
these rules, and the services provided  by
that facility will be reimbursed through
December 31, 2005 at the rate of 80% of the
assigned ratio for that facility.

B. The following services
and items will be reimbursed as specified,
commencing with services provided on or
after 12:01 A.M. January 1, 2005:

(1) Implants and hardware
implanted or installed during surgery in the
setting of a hospital or FASC shall be reim-
bursed at invoice cost times 1.25 plus ship-
ping and handling for the implant or hard-
ware and NMGRT.

(2) The professional and technical
charges for radiology services provided in a
hospital or FASC shall be paid at rates
equivalent to those set forth in the most cur-
rent version of the MAP.  The hospital or
FASC shall provide a detailed billing break-
down of the professional and technical com-
ponents of the services provided, and shall
be paid pursuant to the procedures set forth
at Paragraph (7) of Subsection G of 11.4.7.9
NMAC of these rules.

C. All hospitals and
FASCs shall provide to the WCA:

(1) the most recent audited finan-
cial statement prepared on behalf of the
organization, by February 1, 2005 and with-
in 30 days of the date of preparation of any
subsequently produced audited financial
statement;

(2) the most recent HCFA/CMS
2552 form prepared by or on behalf of the
organization by February 1, 2005 and with-
in 30 days of the date of preparation of any
subsequently produced form;

(3) the most recent AHA annual
survey health form, L.L.C. prepared by or
on behalf of the organization, by February
1, 2005 and within 30 days of the date of
preparation of any subsequently produced
AHA annual survey health form, L.L.C.;

(4) any hospital or FASC may
specifically designate pages of the required
audit documents and forms as proprietary
and confidential; any pages specifically
designated as proprietary and confidential
in good faith shall be deemed confidential
pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 52-5-21
and the rules promulgated pursuant to that
provision.
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more than a 30 day supply and shall be
generic, if available, unless otherwise pre-
scribed by a physician.  There shall contin-
ue to be no charge for an initial copy of
medical records, but, under the new rule,
health care providers may charge for second
and subsequent copies pursuant to fees set
forth in the rules.  Changes to the anesthesia
reimbursement schedule were also included
in this rules promulgation.  The parties
potentially affected are employers, insurers
and workers covered by the Workers’
Compensation Act and healthcare providers
who provide services to workers under the
Workers’ Compensation Act.  The full text
of the rule can be found at
www.state.nm.us/wca and the effective date
of the amendment is  January 14, 2005.

11.4.7.7 DEFINITIONS: For
the purposes of these rules, the following
definitions apply to the provision of all
services:

A. “ASA Relative Value
Guide” means a document published by the
American society of anesthesiologists
which includes basic relative unit values for
each procedure code listed in the edition of
the American medical association’s Current
Procedural Terminology adopted in the
director’s annual order and unit values for
anesthesia modifiers and qualifying circum-
stances.  [The edition of the ASA Relative
Value Guide adopted by the director in his
order, applies to these rules.]  The current
calendar year edition of the ASA Relative
Value Guide applies to these rules.

V. “Health care provider
(HCP)” means any person, entity, or facility
authorized to furnish health care to an
injured or disabled worker pursuant to
NMSA 1978, Section 52-4-1, including any
provider designated pursuant to NMSA
1978, Section 52-1-49, and may include a
provider licensed in another state if
approved by the director, as required by the
Act.  The director has determined that certi-
fied registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs)
and certified nurse specialists (CNSs) who
are licensed in the state of New Mexico are
automatically approved as health care
providers pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section
52-4-1(O).

QQ. “Services” means
health care services, the scheduling of the
date and time of the provision of those serv-
ices, procedures, drugs, products or items
provided to a worker by an HCP, pharmacy,
supplier, caregiver, or freestanding ambula-
tory surgical center which are reasonable
and necessary for the evaluation and treat-
ment of a worker with an injury or occupa-
tional disease covered under the New
Mexico Workers’ Compensation Act or the
New Mexico Occupational Disease
Disablement Law.

NEW MEXICO WORKERS’
COMPENSATION

ADMINISTRATION

Explanatory paragraph:  This is an amend-
ment to 11.4.7 NMAC Sections 7, 9, 10, 11,
12 and 14.  This rules promulgation amends
the existing rules governing payments for
health care services.  The largest substantive
change in the rule is contained in
Subsections A through E of Section 9,
which set reimbursement to hospitals at
80% of the hospital ratio assigned with two
specific areas of service that are reimbursed
subject to a different methodology:
implants and technical and professional
radiology services.  The rule also requires
hospitals to submit verifying information to
the WCA for use in analyzing cost patterns.
The rule is temporary in nature and expires
on December 31, 2005.   Some of the
amendments are technical in nature elimi-
nating language that references WCA con-
tractors where contractors are no longer uti-
lized.   The rule recognizes certified regis-
tered nurse anesthetists and certified nurse
specialists as health care providers.  The
scheduling of treatment is also included
under the “services” definition.
Prescriptions for medication shall be for no



D. All provisions of 11.4.7
NMAC contrary to the provisions set forth
in this temporary rule are deemed void and
inoperative during the effective period of
this rule.

E. Subsections A-D of
11.4.7.9 NMAC, inclusive, shall be
repealed effective 11:59 P.M. December 31,
2005, and shall be of no force or effect with
respect to any services provided thereafter.

[A.] F. Assigned ratio discount
method for hospitals and FASCs

[B.] G. Maximum allowable
payment method

(5) [Special physical medicine
(SPM) services] Physical medicine and
rehabilitation services

(a) [All special physical medicine
services must be authorized by the claims
payer prior to their scheduling and perform-
ance.]  It shall be the responsibility of the
physical medicine/rehabilitation provider to
notify the claims payer of a referral prior to
commencing treatment.

(7) Service component modifiers
--radiology and pathology/laboratory

(a) Use of the technical and pro-
fessional component modifier codes are
required for the billing of all radiology and
pathology/laboratory procedures.  The CPT
code followed by “TC” is the appropriate
billing code for the technical component.

(b) The dollar value listed as the
MAP for a specific radiology or patholo-
gy/laboratory procedure represents the
combined maximum allowable payment for
both the technical and professional compo-
nents of that procedure:

(i) The entity billing for
the technical component shall be paid at no
more than 60% of the MAP for the proce-
dure when the service is provided on an
inpatient or outpatient basis.

[(ii) If the procedure is per-
formed on an inpatient basis, the service is
reimbursed according to the assigned ratio.

(iii)] (ii) The entity
billing for the professional component shall
be paid at no more than 40% of the MAP for
the billed procedure, whether the service
was provided on an inpatient or an outpa-
tient basis.

[C.] H. Pharmacy maximum
allowable payment (Pharm MAP) is based
upon the maximum payment that a pharma-
cy or authorized HCP is allowed to receive
for any prescription drug, not including
NMGRT.

(1) Basic provisions
(e) No more than a 30-day supply

of medication shall be dispensed, unless
authorized by the payer.  Where possible, a
generic equivalent shall be prescribed over
brand name medication, unless specifically
ordered by an HCP.

[D.] I. Qualification of out of
state health care providers

11.4.7.10 BILLING PROVI-
SIONS AND PROCEDURES

D. Medical records
(2) No charge shall be made to

any party to the claim for the initial copy of
required information.  Second copies pro-
vided shall be charged and paid pursuant to
Subsection A of 11.4.7.15 NMAC.

11.4.7.11 PAYMENT PROVI-
SIONS AND PROCEDURES

C. Payer’s explanation of
benefits (EOB) for contested bills

(3) [A separate EOB] An EOB
shall be attached and shall be clearly related
to each payment disposition by procedure
and date of service.

11.4.7.12 ANESTHESIA
A. The MAP for the CPT

code series 00100-01999 (which is specific
to the field of anesthesia), shall be deter-
mined by including a monetary conversion
factor of [$43.57] $44.94 which shall be
multiplied by the basic unit values, time
units, and any physical status and/or quali-
fying circumstances modifiers to determine
the maximum allowable payment. The units
need to be separate in this equation.

B. The “basic unit value”
assigned to each procedure in the CPT code
series 00100-01999 in the ASA Relative
Value Guide adopted by the director in his
annual order shall be used when billing.

C. “Time units” shall be
recorded and billed in 15-minute incre-
ments and fractions of units rounded to the
nearest fraction (1/15th) of a unit.  For
example, 19 minutes is billed as follows:

19 minutes = 1 unit (15 minutes)
+ 4/15 of a unit (4 minutes)

1 unit = [$43.57] $44.94
4 minutes = [$43.57 / 15 = $2.90]

$44.94 / 15 = $2.99
[$2.90 x 4 = $11.60] $2.99 x 4 =

$11.96
19 minutes = [$43.57 + $11.60 =

$55.17] $44.94 + $11.96 = $56.90
D. Physical status modi-

fiers may be used in billing, as appropriate,
and shall adhere to the coding and unit
value assignments in the ASA Relative
Value Guide adopted by the director is his
annual order.

E. Qualifying circum-
stances modifiers may be used in billing, as
appropriate, and shall adhere to the coding
and unit value assignments in the ASA
Relative Value Guide adopted by the direc-
tor in his annual order.

11.4.7.14 U T I L I Z A T I O N
R E V I E W / C A S E
MANAGEMENT/PEER REVIEW

B. Inpatient admissions
(1) Reporting requirements for

planned/elective hospital admissions:  Any

practitioner, excluding hospitals, ordering
the admission of a worker for evaluation or
treatment of their injury or occupational dis-
ease disablement shall call the WCA [or its
contractor, if any,] at least forty-eight (48)
hours prior to the admission.  All of the
information in Subsection C of 11.4.7.14
NMAC must be reported.

(2) Inter-facility or intra-facility
transfers:  Any practitioner or hospital dis-
charge planner ordering or arranging a
transfer of a worker to another facility shall
report to the WCA [or its contractor, if any,]
at least twenty four (24) hours prior to any
transfer.

(a) All of the information in
Subsection C of 11.4.7.14 NMAC must be
reported.

(b) The hospital discharge plan-
ner has primary responsibility for this.

(3) Review for emergency hospi-
tal admissions

(a) Every hospital, as defined in
NMSA 1978, 52-4-1(A) shall provide to the
WCA [or its contractor, if any,] before the
close of business the next business day fol-
lowing any emergency overnight admission
of a worker, all the information required by
these rules.

(b) The WCA [or its contractor, if
any,] shall provide a verbal certification or
denial concerning the medical necessity and
appropriateness of the emergency admis-
sion service and the assigned length of stay
to the hospital, practitioner, and the payer.

(c) The WCA [or its contractor, if
any,] shall confirm its verbal certification or
denial, in writing, within twenty-four (24)
hours.

(4) Concurrent review:
Throughout the period of time in which
inpatient services are being provided, the
WCA [or its contractor, if any,] shall moni-
tor the worker’s treatment regime, including
treatments, procedures, and length of stay.

D. Notification of the
WCA’s [or its contractor’s, if any,] decision

(1) Upon receipt of the informa-
tion, the WCA [or its contractor, if any,]
shall determine if it has been provided with
all the necessary information, as cited in
Subsection C of 11.4.7.14 NMAC, to render
its decision concerning the necessity, appro-
priateness, and length of stay of the pro-
posed service.  The WCA’s authorization
does not constitute a guarantee of payment
or compensability.

(2) If adequate information has
been provided, the WCA [or its contractor,
if any,] shall:

(a) render a decision concerning
the necessity, appropriateness, and length of
stay of the proposed admission based upon
medically accepted standards and an objec-
tive evaluation of the circumstances of the
proposed admission;

(b) verbally notify the hospital,

New Mexico Register / Volume XVI, Number 1 / January 14, 2005 21



payer, and practitioner ordering the admis-
sion of its decision prior to the commence-
ment of the proposed admission;

(c) transmit written notification to
the hospital, payer, and practitioner within
twenty-four (24) hours of its decision; and,

(d) advise the hospital, practition-
er, employer, insurer, and third party admin-
istrator that, in the case of a compensable
injury or disability, the employer or its
insurer retains all financial responsibility
for all services that are provided pursuant to
the Act.

ing ability to pay, as they become due, all
existing and future obligations, including
workers’ compensation benefits to which it
is or becomes obligated under the Act.

F. “Financially insolvent”
means an employer’s current or imminent
inability to pay its obligations as they come
due as demonstrated by evidence of failure
to pay obligations timely or any other indi-
cators suggesting that financial failure is
probable or likely.

[F.] G. “Guarantee fund”
means the fund created by NMSA 1978,
Section 52-8-7(A) to provide benefits to
workers and the families of workers of pri-
vate individual self-insurers who become
insolvent or otherwise unable to meet their
financial obligations.

[G.] H. “Paid losses” means all
monies paid to, or on behalf of, an injured
worker as a result of the workers on-the-
job-injury. For the purposes of assessments
to the guarantee fund established by NMSA
1978, Section 52-8-7[, paid losses are
defined in 11 NMAC 4.8.9.7.1.].

[H.] I. “Parent” means owner-
ship of a subsidiary entity of greater than 50
percent.

[I.] J. “Risk management pro-
gram” means an entity’s safety and loss pre-
vention program, claims management pro-
gram, and excess insurance.

[J.] K. “Tangible net worth”
means net worth less intangible assets.
[8/1/96, 10/1/98; 11.4.8.7 NMAC - Rn & A,
11 NMAC 4.8.7, 1/14/05]

11.4.8.8 INDIVIDUAL SELF-
INSURANCE:

A. Eligibility criteria; to be
eligible to apply for, and as a continuing
obligation to maintain, a certificate of self-
insurance, an employer must meet and
maintain compliance with the following
requirements to the satisfaction of the direc-
tor:

(1) For all applications filed on or
after October 1, 1998, the employer shall
provide an audited financial statement
demonstrating a tangible net worth of at
least two and one half million dollars
($2,500,000).  [The audited financial state-
ment shall not be more than six months old,
except as approved by the director.]  For all
applications filed or approved on or before
September 30, 1998, the employer shall
provide an audited financial statement
demonstrating a tangible net worth of at
least one million dollars ($1,000,000). [The
audited financial statement] Audited finan-
cial statements shall not be more than six
months old, except as approved by the
director.

(2) The employer shall have been
in business for a period of not less than
three (3) years. This requirement may be
waived by the director under circumstances

where the form of business organization has
changed within the three (3) year period
while the management of the business enti-
ty stays substantially the same.

(3) The employer shall [be finan-
cially solvent] demonstrate a strong trend of
financial health and financial solvency.

[(4) The employer shall demon-
strate to the satisfaction of the director com-
pliance with the following requirements:

(a) a risk management program;
(b) workers’ compensation spe-

cific occurrence or aggregate insurance,
with retention of $250,000 and statutory
upper limits;

(c) security, in the form of a sure-
ty bond or irrevocable letter of credit, drawn
on a New Mexico financial institution in the
amount specified by the director and issued
in favor of the director. This amount shall
include the incurred but not reported
(IBNR) workers’ compensation benefit esti-
mate. The issuer of the surety bond or letter
of credit shall not be in the control of the
self-insured. Security shall be used for the
payment of claims and related expenses in
the event of default by the employer.

(d) Any other reasonable criteria
deemed necessary by the director to guaran-
tee payment of workers’ compensation
claims to injured employees.]

(4) An acceptable risk manage-
ment program including acceptable claims
administration personnel, policies and pro-
cedures.

(5) Workers’ compensation spe-
cific or aggregate insurance from a carrier
approved and regulated by the New Mexico
department of insurance with a rating that is
within the parameters of acceptability set
forth in an order published by the director,
with retention of $250,000 or less per
occurrence.  An acceptable policy of excess
insurance shall  provide coverage for all
provisions of the Act and shall contain no
exclusion of such coverage.

(6) An irrevocable letter of credit
or a surety bond in the amount and on a
form specified by the director and issued in
favor of the New Mexico self-insurers’
guarantee fund.  The issuer of the surety
bond or letter of credit shall not be in the
control of the self-insured and shall have a
rating that is within the parameters of
acceptability set forth in an order published
by the director.  Security shall be used for
the payment of claims and related expenses
in the event of default by the employer and
for reimbursement to the New Mexico self-
insurers’ guarantee fund for any benefits
paid by the fund on behalf of the employer.

[(5)] (7) A bona fide employment
relationship shall exist between the employ-
er and the employees which it proposes to
self-insure.  Employees under the control of
any other entity with respect to the day to
day supervision of the work may not come
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NEW MEXICO WORKERS’
COMPENSATION

ADMINISTRATION

This is an amendment to 11.4.8 NMAC
Sections 3, 5, 7 and 8, effective 1/14/05.
This rule was also reformatted and
renumbered from 11 NMAC 4.8 to com-
ply with current NMAC requirements.

11.4.8.3 S T A T U T O R Y
AUTHORITY: [Chapter 52] NMSA 1978,
Chapter 52 [(Repl. Pamp. 1991)].
[8/1/96; 11.4.8.3 NMAC - Rn & A, 11
NMAC 4.8.3, 1/14/05]

11.4.8.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
August 1, 1996, unless a later date is cited at
the end of a section.
[8/1/96; 11.4.8.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 11
NMAC 4.8.5, 1/14/05]

11.4.8.7 DEFINITIONS:
A. “Allocated loss expens-

es” means all costs, charges or expenses
incurred which are properly chargeable to a
claim or loss including, without limitation,
court costs, fees and expenses of attorneys,
investigators, vocational rehabilitation ven-
dors, experts and witnesses and other relat-
ed costs.

B. “Brother-sister relation-
ship” means two corporations with a com-
mon owner.

C. “Completed applica-
tion” means that all elements specified in
[Section 8.2.3.A-H] Subparagraphs (a)
through (g) of Paragraph (3) of Subsection
B of 11.4.8.8 NMAC have been submitted
to the self-insurance bureau for evaluation
and assessment in support of the request for
permission to self-insure. The elements
specified in [Section 8.2.3 I and J]
Subparagraphs (h) and (i) of Paragraph (3)
of Subsection B of 11.4.8.8 NMAC shall be
required before a certificate of insurance is
issued by the director.

D. “Director” means the
director of the workers’ compensation
administration.

E. “Financially solvent”
means an employer’s current and continu-



under an individual self-insurance program.
[(6) The employer shall provide

the director with all records of New Mexico
workers’ compensation claims for the last
three (3) years.]

[(7)] (8) Every private individual
self-insurer must pay assessments as speci-
fied in NMSA 1978, Section 52-8-7(B), to
the self-insurers’ guarantee fund.

[(8) Two corporations in a broth-
er-sister relationship may self-insure under
a single certificate, subject to all other eligi-
bility and application criteria.]

(9) A parent company may self-
insure its subsidiaries under one certificate
in the name of the parent provided the par-
ent meets all eligibility criteria and provides
parental guarantees for the subsidiaries and
guarantees by each subsidiary for the
other(s).

(10) Any other reasonable criteria
deemed necessary by the director to guaran-
tee payment of workers’ compensation
claims to injured workers.

B. Application [criteria]
requirements:

(1) An employer seeking to be
certified as a self-insurer under the Act shall
make application on a form prescribed by
the director.

(2) The director may request
information regarding the employer’s busi-
ness, financial circumstances, history and
any other such information deemed relevant
or necessary.

(3) The application shall be
accompanied by the following:

(a) a one hundred fifty dollar
($150) non-refundable filing fee made out
to the workers’ compensation administra-
tion; and

(b) proof of valid workers’ com-
pensation insurance in force for the three
years preceding the date of application and
continuing in force up to the approved date
of self-insurance.

(c) a certified copy of the employ-
er’s most recent audited financial statement
which may not be more than six months old,
except as approved by the director; the
audited financial statements shall be pre-
sented in accordance with generally accept-
ed accounting principles (GAAP) [except as
approved by the director]; additionally, the
employer’s previous two years financial
statements shall be provided;

(d)    if the employer is a corpora-
tion, its board of directors must adopt a res-
olution, as prescribed by the director,
authorizing and directing the corporation to
undertake to self-insure itself and to comply
with the provisions of the Act and the rules
of the director; a similar official ratification
is required from the governing body of any
governmental entity;

(e) if the employer is a subsidiary,
a parental guarantee from the subsidiary’s

upper-most parent in a form acceptable to
the director [or if the employer is a brother-
sister corporation applying under one cer-
tificate, mutual guarantees from each corpo-
ration in a form acceptable to the director];

(f) a detailed summary of the
employer’s workers’ compensation loss his-
tory for the last three (3) years and experi-
ence modifiers for the same period;  records
shall include all claims covered under a
claims “buy-back” program;

[(g) resumes of all persons
responsible in an administrative or profes-
sional capacity for the adjusting and admin-
istration of claims under the act; or if a third
party administrator or claims administration
service is to be used, equivalent information
regarding the administrator or service com-
pany and its employees;]

[(h)] (g) an explanation of the
safety program, a copy of the safety manu-
al, and resumes of all personnel responsible
for the New Mexico safety program;

[(i)] (h) the employer is required
to carry worker’s compensation excess
insurance coverage, provided by an insur-
ance carrier not controlled by the self-
insured; the employer shall submit a copy of
the proposed policy or binder, including the
declaration page of such policy, and all
endorsements providing or limiting cover-
age; excess insurance shall include statuto-
ry limits, specific occurrence retention, and
the current New Mexico amendatory
endorsement with a retention of $250,000
or less; the insurance shall be written by a
company that has a rating that is within the
parameters of acceptability set forth in an
order published by the director; the compa-
ny shall be approved and regulated by the
New Mexico department of insurance or be
otherwise approved by the director;

[(j)] (i) a letter of intent from an
approved [carrier] surety to issue a surety
bond, or a letter of intent from a New
Mexico financial institution to issue an
irrevocable letter of credit, in an amount
and form to be specified by the director, but
not less than $200,000; the surety company
shall have a rating that is within the param-
eters of acceptability set forth in an order
published by the director.

(4) By signing and submitting the
application and, as a condition of the con-
tinuing privilege of certification as a self-
insurer under the Workers’ Compensation
Act, the employer agrees:

(a) to promptly discharge all the
employer’s liabilities to injured employees
or their dependents in accordance with the
requirements of the Workers’ Compensation
Act, as amended, and to comply with any
rules of the director adopted thereunder;

(b) to notify the director prior to
liquidation, sale or transfer of ownership, or
any material change in New Mexico opera-
tions and to arrange for the payment of all

existing liability, and any disability or lia-
bility arising thereafter, by guarantee bond
or letter of credit, or as otherwise required
by the director;

(c) to obtain the director’s
approval prior to making any material
change in any excess insurance policy or
security; evidence of renewal must be pro-
vided to the director sixty (60) days prior to
the date of expiration;

(d) to notify the director prior to
any change in the provider or scope of
claims management services;

(e) to promptly notify the director
of any material change in the employer’s
financial condition;

(f) to cooperate fully with admin-
istration representatives in any evaluation
or audit of the self-insurance program, and
to resolve in good faith any issues raised in
those evaluations or audits [such evaluation
or audit issues may include notice of the
inadvertent or mistaken failures to pay ben-
efits which were not paid when due, where
no apparent ground existed at the time to
contest the payment in good faith; any dis-
pute concerning issues raised shall be
referred by the self-insurance bureau chief
to the director for determination if not first
informally resolved];

(g) unless otherwise approved by
the director, to have at least one claims rep-
resentative within New Mexico, licensed as
a New Mexico adjuster, to pay workers’
compensation claims of claimants resident
or located in New Mexico; all claims shall
be paid promptly from accounts in financial
institutions located within New Mexico;
third party administrators must be licensed
in New Mexico; all adjusters responsible for
New Mexico claims shall be licensed in
New Mexico regardless of location;

(h) the self-insured shall be
responsible for compliance with the Act and
these rules by it and its agents and the self-
insured shall be subject to sanctions for any
act or omission by it or its agents;

(i) provide loss runs on a semi-
annual basis;

(j) provide annual audited finan-
cial statements;

(k)    to continue to pay claims as
required by law, maintain acceptable securi-
ty, and provide the workers’ compensation
administration with any information
required to assess claim liability and finan-
cial ability to pay claims, including access
to claim files, after decertification from
self-insurance and continuing until the
director determines that all self-insurance
claims have been fully satisfied;

(l) to provide information
required for verification by the workers’
compensation administration of compliance
with NMSA 1978, Section 52-5-19;

(m) to maintain loss reserves at
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the full undiscounted value of each claim,
including indemnity and medical only
claims.

(5) The director shall notify the
chairman of the board of directors (board)
of the self- insurers’ guarantee fund com-
mission of the identity of any applicant for
self-insurance within fifteen (15) days of
the receipt of the application. The board
shall respond in writing to the director with-
in thirty (30) days of receipt of the notifica-
tion or be deemed to have expressed no
objection to the applicant’s membership in
the commission. The administration’s self-
insurance audit staff shall take any written
objections into account when making its
final recommendation to the director.

C. Evaluation factors: the
director may decline to approve an applica-
tion for self-insurance if not satisfied that
the employer will be able to meet all its
obligations under the Act and these rules. In
determining if an employer can meet these
obligations, the factors to be considered by
the director shall include, but not be limited
to, the following:

[(1)    valuation of assets and lia-
bilities;

(2) ratio of current assets to cur-
rent liabilities;

(3) ratio of debt to tangible net
worth;

(4) profit and loss history;]
(1) financial condition to include

valuation of assets and liabilities, net worth,
asset make-up, profitability, solvency, cur-
rent and projected financial trends for the
company and industry, notes to financial
statements, reliability of financial state-
ments, contingent liabilities, and ongoing
criminal or fraud investigations; 

[(5)] (2) organizational structure
and management background;

[(6)] (3) workers’ compensation
loss history, experience modifiers, trends,
and reliability of information;

[(7) source and reliability of
financial information;]

[(8)] (4) number of employees
and the degree of hazard to which employ-
ees are exposed;

[(9)] (5) proposed excess insur-
ance coverage;

[(10)] (6) proposed surety bond or
other security;

[(11)] (7) claims administration
personnel, policies, and procedures;

[(12)] (8) safety programs and
safety record; and

[(13)] (9) recommendations of the
self-insurers’ guarantee fund commission.

D. Financial responsibili-
ty:

(1) [Every self-insured employer
shall record all claim reserves as a liability
on the financial statements. For purposes of
determining the proper level of security,

reserves must be set for the full undiscount-
ed value of each claim, including indemnity
and medical only claims.]  The employer
will pay claims for which it becomes obli-
gated under the New Mexico Workers’
Compensation Act, in accordance with the
Act.  The payment of such claims will con-
tinue without regard to the self-insurance
status of the employer and without regard to
any amount of security posted whether or
not the security is called.  The employer
shall report to the WCA, on its periodic loss
runs, all claims incurred regardless of type
or cost.  The employer shall maintain a level
of reserves sufficient to pay all claims and
associated expenses, and security in an
amount and form acceptable to the director.
The employer agrees that failure to maintain
minimum financial criteria, and an adequate
risk management program may result in
increased security requirements, termina-
tion of self-insurance status or any other
measure deemed necessary by the director
for the protection of benefits of injured
workers and the New Mexico self-insurers’
guarantee fund.

(2) In addition to any other
requirements under the Act or regulations
governing self-insurance, upon voluntary or
involuntary termination of employer’s self-
insurance status, the employer must:

(a)    provide any information
requested by the director for the purpose of
establishing claims liability and financial
condition;

(b) comply with any requirement
by the director to increase security;

(c) make claims files available to
the director for the performance of any
audit, examination or review, or for admin-
istration of claims in the event of a default;

(d) keep the WCA current of
changes in address/location, pertinent per-
sonnel, claims administration services,
location of claims files and related claims
personnel, and financial condition; and

(e) compliance with the above
will be considered by the director when
making a determination on any security
reduction or release requested by the
employer.

[(2)] (3) All government entities
must have a pre-funded system. All past,
present, and future liabilities existing at any
time shall be fully accounted for by liquid
assets or other assets agreeable to the direc-
tor. No government entity shall be required
to post security.

E. Certification: After
considering the application and all support-
ive documentation, the director shall act
upon a completed application for a certifi-
cate of self-insurance within sixty (60)
days. If, because of the number of applica-
tions pending before him, the director is
unable to act upon an application within that
period, the director shall have an additional

sixty (60) days to act.
(1) Upon approval, the director

shall issue a certificate acknowledging the
employer’s status as a self-insured under the
Act. The certificate shall be effective con-
tinuously until terminated at the request of
the self-insured or revoked by the director.

(2) If there is a change of owner-
ship whereby the controlling interest of a
self-insured changes, the new ownership
shall submit a new application to the direc-
tor for a certificate of self-insurance. A non-
refundable filing fee of one hundred fifty
dollars ($150) must accompany the new
application.

(3) Upon a merger or other com-
bination by two self-insured employers, the
employers may continue to be self-insured
under one certificate provided adequate dis-
closure and guarantees are provided.  The
director’s approval is required for all such
certificates.

[(3)] (4) The director may, using
his/her sole discretion, issue a provisional
certificate, good for not more than one (1)
year, to a self-insurer if the director is con-
vinced that any defects are minor in nature
and can be corrected within the one (1) year
period.

F. [Examinations and
reviews:] Audits and examinations: A self-
insured employer or applicant is subject to
initial or periodic [evaluation] examination
or audit by the WCA [administration] to
determine initial or continued eligibility for
self-insurance. The applicant or self-insured
agrees to bear the costs of any reviews or
evaluations.  Such evaluations may include,
but are not limited to:

(1) audits or reviews of the appli-
cant’s or self-insured’s records regarding
any representation made on its financial
statement;

(2) audits or reviews of the appli-
cant’s or self-insured’s records pertaining to
its loss history, claims administration, or its
loss reserve fund;

(3) audits or reviews of safety
programs;

[(3)] (4) interviewing or taking
the testimony of the applicant or self-
insured, or any of its agents or employees,
regarding any matter pertaining to the obli-
gations of the applicant or self-insured
under the Act or the director’s rules.

G. Denials and decertifica-
tion:

(1) The director shall deny an
application for self-insurance if the employ-
er has failed to demonstrate to the director’s
satisfaction that the employer meets all
requirements of the Act and the director’s
rules or failed to demonstrate its ability to
meet all its obligations under the Act.

(2) A certificate of self-insurance
may be revoked if the director, with good
cause, ceases to be satisfied that the
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employer is able to meet all its obligations
under the Act and these rules. The occur-
rence of any of the following events shall
constitute good cause to revoke a certificate
of self-insurance:

(a) failure of the employer to
comply with any provisions or requirements
of the Act or the director’s rules or with any
lawful order or communication of the direc-
tor;

(b) failure of the employer’s sure-
ty or guarantor to remain financially solvent
or any other impairment of any aspect of the
employer’s financial responsibility require-
ments; [or]

(c) failure to comply with any
other statutes, laws, rules, or regulations of
the state of New Mexico;

(d) failure to cooperate with the
WCA in efforts to mitigate adverse conse-
quences for injured workers caused by  the
filing, by the employer, for protection under
the federal bankruptcy laws;

(e)  failure to maintain member-
ship in the New Mexico self-insurers’ guar-
antee fund commission in good standing.

(3) Any self-insured who
becomes decertified shall maintain security
with the administration in a form and
amount acceptable to the director.  The
employer retains responsibility for payment
of all current and future obligations incurred
while self-insured, including all obligations
to the self-insurers’ guarantee fund.  The
security amount set after decertification
shall account for both known claims and
associated expenses and claims incurred but
not reported (IBNR) and associated expens-
es.  If the employer is still subject to the Act,
proof of coverage must be provided.  No
adjustments to the security will be allowed
until the director has determined that an
adequate time has passed to reasonably
determine the expected long-term liabilities.
At that time, the director may, in his discre-
tion, reduce or return some or all of the
security.

(4) The denial or revocation of a
certificate of self-insurance shall be made
by an order signed by the director or by his
authority. Every such order shall state its
effective date and shall concisely state:
what is ordered; the grounds on which the
order is based; and the provisions of the Act
or rules pursuant to which the action is
taken.

H. Recertification:
(1) Any employer formerly certi-

fied as a self-insurer who ceases to be certi-
fied may not apply for recertification until
three (3) years after decertification.

(2) An employer who seeks to
reinstate its certificate of self-insurance
shall reapply to the director on the form pre-
scribed pursuant to these rules.

(3) A non-refundable filing fee of
one hundred fifty dollars ($150) must

accompany the application for recertifica-
tion.

I. Hearings: Any person
aggrieved by a decision of the director
regarding the denial of any application for a
certificate of self-insurance, or the certifica-
tion or decertification of a party as a self-
insurer, may request in writing a hearing
before the director. The request shall briefly
state the respects in which the party is
aggrieved, the relief sought and the grounds
to be relied upon as the basis of relief. The
administration’s rules of Enforcement and
Administrative Investigations, Part 5, shall
apply.

J. Penalty: In addition to
any other sanctions provided herein, failure
to comply with any of the provisions of
these rules or the Act renders the self-insur-
er or applicant subject to penalties as pro-
vided in NMSA 1978, Section 52-1-61.

K. Waiver: Any require-
ment contained in these rules may be
waived by specific written authorization of
the director. Any interested person may
request such a variance or waiver in writing.
[8/1/96, 10/1/98; 11.4.8.8 NMAC - Rn & A,
11 NMAC 4.8.8, 1/14/05]
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by the New Mexico department of insur-
ance to write excess insurance in the state of
New Mexico, or a company that is other-
wise approved by the director.  The policy
must include the current New Mexico
amendatory endorsement.

(d) The required fidelity bond for
the administrator shall be written at a mini-
mum of two hundred fifty thousand dollars
($250,000).

(e) The required fidelity bond for
the service company providing claims serv-
ice shall be written at a minimum of two
hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000).

(f) A performance bond of two
hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000)
shall be provided for the service company
providing claims service, if requested by the
director.

(g) A fidelity bond for any mem-
ber of the board of trustees of the group
having signatory authority with respect to
the group’s funds or investments, or as a
condition precedent to any board of trustees
action creating or changing such signatory
authority, is required and shall be written at
a minimum of two hundred fifty thousand
dollars ($250,000).

(h) A statement of the type of
business in which employers in the pro-
posed group are engaged and an explanation
of how they meet the criteria of “same or
similar” contained in NMSA 1978, Section
52-6-2(B).

(i) An actuarial report/study based
on at least 3 years loss history of the group’s
proposed members, including loss projec-
tions for the group.

(2) After considering the group’s
application and all supportive documenta-
tion, the director shall act upon a completed
application for a certificate of approval
within sixty (60) business days. If, because
of the number of applications pending, the
director is unable to act upon an application
within that period, the director shall have an
additional sixty (60) days to act.

(3) The definitions in Subsections
A and B of 11.4.9.7 NMAC shall be applied
prospectively only, commencing with the
effective date of this rule. Existing members
of a group which would be ineligible for
membership under this rule shall not be
excluded from membership in the group on
the basis of this rule.

[(a) Each group shall prepare and
deliver to the director a roster identifying
each member of the group as of the close of
business on the last day before the effective
date of the rule.

(b)] In the event that a member’s
coverage is not reinstated within thirty days
of the delivery to the director of the notice
of cancellation or termination required in
NMSA 1978, Section 52-6-9 (B), the former
member will be considered a new applicant
for purposes of qualifying as a member of

NEW MEXICO WORKERS’
COMPENSATION

ADMINISTRATION

This is an amendment to 11.4.9 NMAC
Sections 5 and 8, effective 1/14/05.  This
rule was also reformatted and renum-
bered from 11 NMAC 4.9 to comply with
current NMAC requirements.

11.4.9.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
August 1, 1996, unless a later date is cited at
the end of a section.
[8/1/96; 11.4.9.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 11
NMAC 4.9.5, 1/14/05]

11.4.9.8 GROUP SELF
INSURANCE:

A. Application and main-
tenance:

(1) All the requirements for appli-
cation and maintenance of a certificate of
group self-insurance are contained in
NMSA 1978, Section 52-6-5.  In addition,
the following shall apply:

(a) Submit with the application a
non-refundable filing fee of five hundred
dollars ($500.00).

(b) The application shall contain
the group’s pro forma financial statement,
following generally accepted accounting
principles, presented in a format acceptable
to the director.

(c) Specific excess insurance
shall be written with statutory upper limits.
The insurance shall be written by an accept-
ably rated company approved and regulated



the group.
(4) Each group will screen appli-

cants to their group based upon the defini-
tion of “same or similar type of business”
contained in this rule. No group shall admit
any prospective member that is not in the
same or similar type of business.

(a) Each group will designate in
writing for the director, a general category
from the standard industrial classification
manual, designated as a lettered division
heading, which most closely fits the type of
businesses represented by the sponsoring
trade or professional association.

(b) The director will presume that
businesses properly included in that divi-
sion are in the same or similar type of busi-
ness as are other businesses in the group.

(c) A group may request in writ-
ing that additional two digit major group
codes, three digit industry group codes or
four digit industry codes from the standard
industrial classification manual, other than
those under the group’s designated lettered
division heading [are in the same or similar
type of business as the other members of the
group].

[(d)] (i) The request for
designation of a business as a same or sim-
ilar type of business for a group shall be
accompanied by a written explanation
which must satisfy the director that the busi-
nesses are significantly related to the spon-
soring trade association’s industry.

[(e)] (ii) The director
may consult widely accepted publications
which classify types of businesses for the
purpose of considering the approval or dis-
approval of such requested designations.

[(f)] (d) Upon prior written
approval by the director, a group may add to
its roster an individual business which is not
otherwise clearly eligible for membership.
A request for approval of such individual
business shall be accompanied by a written
explanation demonstrating to the satisfac-
tion of the director that the business,
because of its particular circumstances
should be deemed to be in the same or sim-
ilar type of business as the other members
of the group.

[(g)] (e) The director shall [make
findings on] approve or disapprove such
requests in writing.

(f) The WCA will follow its
established protocol to ensure prompt
response to requests for such designations.

[(h) A protocol will be developed
for insuring quick responses to requests for
such designations.]

(5) Each group will certify to the
director on each report of roster additions
submitted, that any additions to the group’s
roster are in the same or similar type of
business as the other members of the group.

(6)  Groups may offer claims
“buy back” programs to their members pro-

vided:
(a) a written narrative describing

the program shall be provided to the partic-
ipants and the WCA; and,

(b) details of claims bought back
must be provided to the participating mem-
ber, or its designee, or to the WCA upon
request.

B. Evaluation factors:  The
director shall decline to approve an applica-
tion for group self-insurance upon a finding
that the proposed group does not meet all
the requirements of the Group Self-
Insurance Act and the rules thereunder.  In
determining [if] whether a group can meet
[these] the requirements of the Group Self-
Insurance Act (NMSA 1978, Sections 52-6-
1through 52-6-25) and the rules thereunder,
the factors to be considered by the director
shall include, but not be limited to, the fol-
lowing:

(1) organizational structure and
management background;

(2) compliance with NMSA 1978,
Section 52-6-2(B); 

(3) services provided [to] by the
group;

(4) statistical reporting and
expertise;

(5) workers’ compensation loss
history and risk;

(6) source and reliability of finan-
cial information;

(7) sufficiency of premium;
(8) proposed bylaws, underwrit-

ing guidelines, membership application,
and membership agreement;

[(7)] (9) [an equitable spread] the
distribution of group members as to size,
premium and loss exposure;

[(8)] (10) adequacy of reserve
methodology;

[(9)] (11) proposed excess insur-
ance coverage;

[(10) surety bonds and other secu-
rity]

(12) adequacy and form of securi-
ty;

[(11)] (13) claims administration
personnel, policies and procedures;

[(12)] (14) safety program;
[(13)] (15) financial [stability]

condition of proposed members;
(16) results of financial evalua-

tion of the group.
C. Financial responsibili-

ty:
(1) The group shall submit audit-

ed financial statements on an annual basis.
[(1)] (2) Every group self-insured

shall have actuarially determined financial
strength sufficient to meet their obligations.

[(2)] (3) The actuarial opinion and
report required by NMSA 1978, Section 52-
6-12, shall be [supported by the concurrent
filing with the director of] filed annually
and include the actuarial report from which

the reserves for known claims and associat-
ed expenses and claims incurred but not
reported and associated expenses were
obtained.

[(3)] (4) The group shall [use
rates comparable to] set rates utilizing the
advisory loss costs published by the nation-
al council of compensation insurance
[rates], and adhere to uniform classification
system, uniform experience rating plans,
and manual rules filed with the superintend-
ent of insurance, provided, however:

(a) Permission to apply premium
discounts shall be requested by the group,
subject to approval by the director, and shall
be based on the group’s expense levels and
loss experience.

(b) Permission to make and use its
own rates shall be requested by the group,
subject to approval by the director and shall
be based on at least three years of the
group’s experience.

(c) All requests for permission
regarding rates or discounts shall be accom-
panied by an actuarial opinion supporting
the request.

(d) Retroactive rate decreases and
retroactive premium discounts are prohibit-
ed.

(e) All requests for rate reductions
or premium discounts shall be approved or
disapproved by the director within sixty
(60) days after the submission of the request
[and all supporting data deemed necessary
by the director.] and any additional data
requested by the director.

[(4)] (5) Each group shall annual-
ly certify to the director the group’s contin-
ued compliance with Section NMSA 1978,
52-6-5 (B) (1), and, if requested by the
director, each group shall provide to the
administration a compilation of member
assets and liabilities. Such compilation shall
be in a form acceptable to the administra-
tion. No member’s financial statement used
for this compilation shall be more than 12
months old.

[(5)] (6) In any month where the
group’s membership roster changes, each
group shall submit to the administration an
update of additions and deletions to the
group’s membership roster.

(7) Each group shall provide
within 30 days of the end of each calendar
quarter a roster of members including the
number of employees employed by each
member on the last day of the quarter.

[(6)] (8) The group shall prompt-
ly notify the director of insolvencies or
bankruptcies of members.

[(7)] (9) The board of trustees
shall adopt a policy statement regarding the
admission to, or continued membership in,
the group of any prospective member or
current member with negative net worth.
Such statement shall be provided to the
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director and to each member and prospec-
tive member of the group.

(10) Permission to declare and
issue a dividend shall be requested by the
group not less than twelve months after the
end of the fund year, subject to approval by
the director, and shall be based on funds in
excess of the amount necessary to fund all
obligations for that fund year.

(a) All requests for dividend dis-
tributions shall be accompanied by financial
information and an actuarial opinion sup-
porting the request.

[(8)] (b) All dividend refunds
shall be approved or disapproved by the
director within sixty (60) days after the sub-
mission of the request, and any additional
data requested by the director. [No such
submission shall be made until twelve
months after the end of the fund year.]

[(9)] (11) The group shall provide
proof of renewal of all excess insurance
policies, fidelity bonds, or security within
15 days of renewal and copies of all excess
insurance policies, fidelity bonds or securi-
ty within 45 days of renewal.

(12) The group shall provide loss
runs on a semi-annual basis.

D. Certification:  By sign-
ing and submitting an application, and as a
condition of the continuing privilege of cer-
tification as a group self-insurer under the
group self-insurance Act, the group agrees
to:

(1) [to] promptly discharge all of
the group’s liabilities to injured employees
or their dependents in accordance with the
requirements of the Act and to comply with
the Act and any rules of the director adopt-
ed thereunder;

(2) [to] obtain the director’s
approval prior to making any change in any
excess insurance policy, fidelity bond, or
security which results in diminished cover-
age;

(3) [to] notify the director of
changes in the kind or amount of services
provided by any third party claims adminis-
trator;

(4) [to] promptly notify the direc-
tor of any material change in the group’s
financial condition or group operations;

(5) [to] cooperate fully with
administration representatives in any evalu-
ation or audit of the group self-insurance
program, and to resolve, in good faith,
issues raised in those evaluations or audits;
it is specifically contemplated that such
evaluation and audit issues may include
notice of inadvertent or mistaken failures to
pay benefits which were not paid when due,
where no apparent ground existed at the
time to contest the payment in good faith;
failure to correct such inadvertent or mis-
taken failures to pay, after notice, may con-
stitute a failure to resolve such audit issues
in good faith in violation of this rule, and

may result in any sanction appropriate
under the group Self-Insurance Act; any dis-
pute concerning issues raised shall be
referred by the self-insurance bureau chief
to the director for determination if not first
informally resolved;

(6) The group shall be responsible
for compliance with the Act and the rules
and shall be subject to sanction by the
administration for acts or omissions in vio-
lation of the Act or the rules by itself or by
any person or entity acting in an agency
relationship with the group; it shall be a
defense to any sanction proposed that the
group has appropriately fulfilled its duty to
monitor, educate and control its agents;
nothing in this rule is intended to alter the
liability for workers compensation benefits
of groups or their agents.

E. Waiver: Any require-
ment not mandated by statute contained in
these rules may be varied or waived by spe-
cific written authorization of the director.
Any interested person may request such a
variance or waiver in writing.
[6/22/87, 6/23/87, 8/1/96, 11/15/96;
11.4.9.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 11 NMAC 4.9.8,
1/14/05]
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This is an amendment to 11.4.10 NMAC
Sections 5, 8 and 9, effective 1/14/05.  This
rule was also reformatted and renum-
bered from 11 NMAC 4.10 to comply
with current NMAC requirements.

11.4.10.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
November 29, 1997 unless a later date is
cited at the end of a section.
[11/29/97; 11.4.10.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 11
NMAC 4.10.5, 1/14/05]

11.4.10.8 POOL SELF-INSUR-
ANCE:

A. A governmental entity
not insured by an insurance company in the
voluntary market nor certified as an individ-
ually self-insured employer shall be deemed
in compliance with NMSA 1978, Section
52-1-4 if the director has issued a certificate
of pool self-insurance pursuant to these
rules.

B. In order to obtain and
maintain a certificate of pool self-insurance
a governmental entity shall meet the follow-
ing requirements:

(1) Within 30 days of the effective
date of these rules the governmental entities
shall direct the pool’s administrator to pro-
vide the director with a current membership
roster and contact information for each gov-
ernmental entity insured by the pool.  All
governmental entities on the roster will be

deemed to have applied for a certificate of
pool self-insurance.

(2) A governmental entity that has
not applied pursuant to Paragraph (1) of
Subsection B of 11.4.10.8 NMAC shall
apply to the director at least 30 days prior to
the desired effective date of the certificate
for pool self-insurance, on forms approved
by the director.

(3) A governmental entity insured
under a certificate of pool self-insurance
shall be responsible for compliance with the
provisions of Articles 1-5 of the Workers’
Compensation Act, NMSA 1978, Chapter
52 and all rules promulgated thereunder and
shall be subject to sanction by the director
for violations, acts or omissions by itself or
by any person or entity acting in an agency
relationship with the governmental entity,
including its administrator and service com-
pany.

(4) Specific occurrence excess
insurance or specific occurrence reinsur-
ance for all governmental entities insured
through a pool in a form and in an amount
acceptable to the director is required.  The
insurance shall be written by [a] an accept-
ably rated company admitted to write insur-
ance in the state of New Mexico or a com-
pany that is otherwise [acceptable to]
approved by the director.  The policy must
include the New Mexico amendatory
endorsement.

(5) A fidelity bond or commercial
crime policy for any officer, agent or mem-
ber of the board of trustees of the pool hav-
ing signatory authority with respect to the
pool’s funds or investments, or as a condi-
tion precedent to any board of trustees
action creating or changing such signatory
authority, is required and shall be written at
a minimum of two hundred fifty thousand
dollars ($250,000), unless the director pre-
scribe a higher amount.

C. Certification and termi-
nation:

(1) All governmental entities who
have applied for a certificate of pool self-
insurance pursuant to Paragraph (1) of
Subsection B of 11.4.10.8 NMAC shall be
deemed to be eligible for a certificate of
pool self-insurance.

(2) The certificate of pool self-
insurance shall remain in effect until termi-
nated at the request of the governmental
entity or revoked by the director. The direc-
tor shall not grant the request of any gov-
ernmental entity to terminate its certificate
of pool self-insurance unless the govern-
mental entity has insured or reinsured all
incurred workers’ compensation and occu-
pational disease and disablement obliga-
tions or has otherwise secured payment of
their obligation in a manner approved in
writing by the director. Such obligations
shall include both known claims and associ-
ated expenses and claims incurred but not



reported and associated expenses.
[11/29/97; 11.4.10.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 11
NMAC 4.10.8, 1/14/05]

11.4.10.9 I N F O R M A T I O N
REQUIREMENTS:

A. As a condition prece-
dent to maintenance of a certificate of pool
self-insurance, [a governmental entity] each
pool shall compel its administrator and any
service company to provide to the director
the following information and access to
records:

(1) a copy of [all specific and
aggregate] any reinsurance or excess insur-
ance agreements;

(2) an explanation of reserving
methodology and accident year claims data
on an annual basis;

(3) rate change information with-
in thirty days of approval by the board of
directors of the pool;

(4) loss runs in a format accept-
able to the director within 60 days of receipt
by the administrator of the director’s
request; and

(5) an annual actuarial opinion.
(a)    This opinion shall include

actuarially appropriate reserves for (1)
known claims and associated expenses; and
(2) claims incurred but not reported and
associated expenses.

(b) This actuarial opinion shall
also include a rate adequacy evaluation.

(c) The actuarial opinion shall be
given by a member of the American acade-
my of actuaries.

(6) a copy of any rate adequacy
evaluations and reviews of loss and loss
adjustment expenses prepared for the pool
by an actuary who shall be a member of the
American academy of actuaries.

(7) notification to the director of
any additions or deletions to the pool’s
membership roster; additionally, each pool
shall provide within 30 days of the end of
each calendar quarter a roster of members,
including the number of employees
employed by each member on the last day
of the quarter.

B. Examination and
reviews:

(1) The director or his designees
may examine the affairs, transactions,
accounts, records and assets and liabilities
of each governmental entity that has been
issued a certificate of pool self-insurance
pertaining to the entity’s activities under
that certificate, whether considered individ-
ually or through its pool as often as deemed
advisable, whether such information is
maintained by a governmental entity, the
pools administrator or the pool’s service
company.

(a) The governmental entity, pool,
administrator or pool service company shall
cooperate fully with the director’s represen-

tatives in any evaluation or audit of the pool
self-insurance program, and resolve, in
good faith, issues raised in those evalua-
tions or audits.

(b) Failure to resolve such audit
issues in good faith will constitute a viola-
tion of this rule, and may result in sanctions.

(c) Any dispute concerning issues
raised shall be referred by the deputy direc-
tor for compliance to the director for deter-
mination, if not first informally resolved.

(2) In lieu of performing the
examination, the director may request:

(a) financial audits conducted by
a certified public accountant approved by
the state auditor;

(b) audits of claims management
by the pool performed by the pool’s reinsur-
er or other outside claims auditing firm;

(c) loss control audits performed
by the pool’s reinsurer; or

(d) any other independent claims
audit of a scope and by an auditing organi-
zation deemed acceptable by the director.

(3) Each governmental entity that
has been issued a certificate of pool self-
insurance, individually, or collectively
through its pool, shall be reviewed at least
annually by an auditor acceptable to the
director to verify proper classifications,
experience rating, payroll and rates.

C. A governmental entity
that has been issued a certificate of pool
self-insurance under these rules shall assist
the director in any investigation of specific
allegations of unfair claims processing, bad
faith or fraud within the scope of NMSA
1978, Section 52-1-28.1, by directing the
administrator of the pool to make all records
concerning any such claim available to the
director upon written request by the director
or the records.
[11/29/97; 11.4.10.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 11
NMAC 4.10.9, 1/14/05]
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NEW MEXICO HUMAN
SERVICES DEPARTMENT

INCOME SUPPORT DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Human Services Department will
receive public comment  for an amendment
to the State plan for administration of the
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF) and file the amendment with the
Federal Department of Health and Human
services, Administration for Children and
Families (ACF).  The hearing will be held at
10:00 am on Monday, February 14, 2005.
The hearing will be held at the Income
Support Division conference room, 2009 S.
Pacheco St., Santa Fe, NM.   The confer-
ence room is located in Room 120 on the
lower level.

The Department proposes to amend the
TANF State plan to allow for early child-
hood development programs to serve pre-
kindergarten children.  The 30-day com-
ment period will begin January 14, 2005
and end at 5:00 P.M. on February 14, 2005.
All comments received during the comment
period will receive consideration for the
proposed amendment of the TANF State
plan.

Individuals may submit written or recorded
comments to the address below.  Individuals
may also submit comments electronically
to: Ted.Roth@state.nm.us

A copy of the proposed TANF State plan is
available as of January 14, 2005 on the
Department’s web site at:
http://www.state.nm.us/hsd/isd.html.  A
copy of the proposed TANF State Plan can
be requested by calling the Office of the
Director, Income Support Division, in Santa
Fe at 1-800-432-6217 or (505) 827-7250; or
by writing to:

Human Services Department
Income Support Division
P.O. Box 2348
Pollon Plaza;  Room 111
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348

If you are a person with a disability and you
require this information in an alternative
format or require a special accommodation
to participate in the public hearing, please
contact the Department toll free at 1-800-
432-6217, TDD 1-800-609-4TDD (4833),
or through the New Mexico Relay System
toll free at 1-800-659-8331.  The
Department requests at least a 10-day
advance notice to provide requested alterna-
tive formats and special accommodations.

increase will maintain comparability with
other jurisdictions in the region that have
similar reimbursement mechanisms.

One commentator suggested specific lan-
guage to clarify the intent of 11.4.7.9.B (3)
to extend to both inpatient and outpatient
services.  The suggestion was adopted.

One commentator asked that there be spe-
cific mention approving of private contrac-
tual relationships between payers and
providers for fees at levels less than those
provided in the MAP.  The suggested
change was not considered necessary,
because the relations of private parties with-
in the parameters of the MAP have never
been regulated by the WCA.

With respect to the MAP Order, two com-
mentators asked for a general increase of
the entire fee schedule to the 60th percentile
of billed charges.  First, it should be noted
that such a change would actually reduce a
significant number of CPT code reimburse-
ment rates, in many cases to less than the
rate of reimbursement allowed by
Medicare.  The net impact of such a change
would still be a shocking upward impulse
on premium rates, under circumstances
where the current Director has been work-
ing on a publicly announced plan to
increase reimbursements gradually after
years of static rates under a prior adminis-
tration.  Such a precipitous premium
increase is not justifiable when payments
for medical services currently absorb more
than half of every dollar in paid losses and
when the Director has fulfilled his pledge to
adjust reimbursement rates upon a publicly
announced schedule over the course of two
years.

The public record of this rulemaking and
the issuance of the Director’s MAP Order
shall incorporate this Response to Public
Comment and the formal record of the rule-
making proceedings shall close upon execu-
tion of this document.

______________________
Alan M. Varela
Director
N.M. Workers’ Compensation
Administration
December 29, 2004
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Director’s Response to Public Comment
Medical Rules and MAP Order

The proposed Rules governing the
Payments for Medical Services were
opened for public comment on November
30, 2004 for in person comment and
through December 7, 2004 for written com-
ment on the rules and through December
15th for written comment on the MAP
Order.  Several comments were received
from the public at the public hearing.
Several comments were received from the
public in writing.

Several commentators suggested that the
proposal concerning the handling of reim-
bursements for hospital services was not
desirable.  Some of the commentators
offered alternative suggestions, or endorsed
the alternatives offered by another commen-
tator.  The proposal was modified to reflect
the concerns expressed, while retaining
some features of the original.  The rule is
temporary in nature, expiring on December
31st , 2005.  It will continue to require that
surgical implants be reimbursed at the same
rate as durable medical equipment and that
radiology services be reimbursed at the
rates provided in the MAP.  There was evi-
dence that both changes will result in sav-
ings that can be recognized within the trial
period, and that the administrative burden
of those changes was lower than the burden
associated with “carve outs” in other service
areas.  In addition a modifier of .80 will be
applied to the hospital ratio applied during
calendar year 2004, which represents a
compromise from one of the commentator
proposals.  The provisions concerning the
provision of information to the WCA
reflecting fuller financial information con-
cerning the hospitals is necessary to the
transition to a modern system of hospital
cost control as well as to verification of the
affects of the current temporary rule.  The
provisions will be retained despite the
objections of one commentator.

Two commentators suggested that the reim-
bursement rate for anesthesiology be
increased from that which is proposed.  The
assertion that the rates proposed represent
the 60th percentile of current billings is not
supported and research among other juris-
dictions in the region indicated that the pro-
posed rate would be higher than that
allowed in the surrounding states of
Arizona, Texas, Utah, Kansas and
Nebraska.  The current proposal for a 3%



NEW MEXICO WORKERS’
COMPENSATION 
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Director’s Response to Public Comment
Self-Insurance Rules

The proposed rules governing self-insur-
ance were opened for public comment on
November 4, 2004 for in person comment
and through November 15, 2004 for written
comment. Several comments were received
from the public at the public hearing.
Several comments were received from the
public in writing. One comment that was
received after the close of written comment
was determined to be duplicative to com-
ments already received at the public hear-
ing, and was considered as an amplification
of those comments.

One commentator suggested that the inclu-
sion of the concept of intent, in the defini-
tion of solvency, was confusing.  The lan-
guage has been removed.

Several commentators mentioned that
excess carriers were not licensed in New
Mexico, and were merely approved by the
Department of Insurance.  Appropriate
changes to the language were made at
11.4.8.8.A.5, 11.4.8.8.B.3 (h) and
11.4.9.8.A.1(c)

One commentator suggested that the provi-
sions of 11.4.8.8.A.8 more properly
belonged in subsection B of that section.
The suggestion was adopted.

One commentator suggested that the provi-
sions of 11.4.8.8.A.10 were too restrictive
with regard to PRC regulated entities.  No
change in the rule will be made.  The sole
entity that falls within the class of affected
self-insurers may request a waiver of the
rule if necessary.

Commentators suggested that the language
contained in 11.4.8.8.B.3(h) was too restric-
tive, and that the “New Mexico Amendatory
Endorsement” was a “moving target” that
was too hard to track and the retention level
for excess insurance too low.  The language
will not be modified.  The current version of
the New Mexico Amendatory Endorsement
is posted on the WCA website and waivers
of excess retention limits are possible upon
a sufficient showing of cause and financial
responsibility.

One commentator pointed out an alleged
typographical error in 11.4.8.9.A.2 and
another in 11.4.8.9.C.1.  The first is actual-
ly an intentional difference between “days”
and “business days” that is built into the

rule.  The second was corrected.

Several Commentators objected to aspects
of the proposed language concerning “buy-
back” programs contained at 11.4.9.A.6.
Upon further research it was determined
that very few members of self-insured
groups actually participate in such pro-
grams, and modified language was substi-
tuted.

One commentator objected to the provi-
sions of 11.4.8.9.C.7.  The information
requested is needed for a wide variety of
administrative purposes and the additional
administrative burden upon the objecting
group, while regrettable, is not avoidable.

One commentator objected that the use of
the term “statutory upper limits” with
regard to excess policies for individual and
group self-insurers was too restrictive with
regard to layered retention schemes.  The
requirement for statutory upper limits is not
new, and has never been interpreted as the
commentator suggests. The same commen-
tator objected that the same provision was
not present with respect to pools of govern-
mental entities.  While this is correct, and
the failure to include the language is an
oversight, it would not be fair to the affect-
ed entities to add the language at this time
without prior notice and an opportunity to
be heard.

One commentator raised a series of con-
cerns affecting a number of rules that were
all generally objecting to the amount of dis-
cretion left in the hands of the Director with
respect to individual self-insurance pro-
grams.  Each of the comments asked for the
rules to set forth greater specificity and fur-
ther constrain the Director’s statutory plena-
ry control over such programs.  Attention is
drawn to the distinction between the statu-
tory handling of group self-insurance and
individual self-insurance.  In the former,
most of the regulatory requirements are
specified by statute and the area of discre-
tion allowed the Director was intentionally
small.  In the latter the opposite is true, due
to the wider range of program size and cir-
cumstances and the greater danger to
injured workers presented by the possibility
of insolvency.   In the history of the WCA
there have been only a handful of involun-
tary decertifications of self-insurers, and
none have failed to survive court chal-
lenges.  The Director declines the invitation
to unnecessarily constrain his statutory dis-
cretion.

The public record of this rulemaking shall
incorporate this Response to Public
Comment and the formal record of the rule-
making proceedings shall close upon execu-
tion of this document.

_________________________
Alan M. Varela
Director
N.M. Workers’ Compensation
Administration
December 29, 2004
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