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NEW MEXICO

DEPARTMENT OF

AGRICULTURE
Notice of Hearing

New Mexico Department of Agriculture

will hold a public hearing on the following

rules:

* 21 NMAC 16.5 Bonding and

Registration of Service Technicians and

Service Establishments for Commercial

Weighing or Measuring Devices under the

Weights and Measures Law (57-17-1

through 19, NMSA, 1978 Compilation)

* 19 NMAC 15.108 Bonding and

Registration of Service Technicians and

Service Establishments for Commercial

Weighing or Measuring Devices, under the

Petroleum Products Standards Act (Chapter

57, Article 19, Sections 25 through 37,

NMSA 1978) 

* 21 NMAC 16.8 Weighmasters

and Deputy Weighmasters License Fees

under the Weighmasters Act (Chapter 57-

18-1 through 26, NMSA 1978 Compilation,

as amended by Chapter 80, Laws of 1979)

NMDA is proposing to repeal 21 NMAC

16.8 and amend 21 NMAC 16.5 and 19

NMAC 15.108 for the purpose of allowing

the department to establish fees by external

policy.

A hearing in Las Cruces will be held at the

New Mexico Department of Agriculture

building, 3190 South Espina (SE corner of

Gregg and Espina), beginning at 1:30 p.m.

on September 27, 2006.

Written statements in support or opposition,

signed by the submitting person, will be

accepted if received prior to 5:00 p.m.,

September 27, 2006.  Written statements,

inquiries, or requests for copies of the rule

should be directed to Raymond Johnson or

Joe Gomez, New Mexico Department of

Agriculture, Consumer Services Bureau,

PO Box 30005, MSC 3170, Las Cruces,

NM 88003 or at (505) 646-1616.

New Mexico Department of Finance and

Administration

The Department of Finance and

Administration (“DFA”) hereby gives

notice that DFA will conduct a public hear-

ing in Room 317, State Capitol Building,

415 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, New

Mexico, 87503, on October 2, 2006 at 10:00

a.m. concerning amendments to 2.110.2.7

NMAC, 2.110.11 NMAC, 2.110.17 NMAC,

2.110.18 NMAC, 2.110.19 NMAC and

2.110.26 NMAC Small Cities Community

Development Block Grants (hereinafter

referred to as the “CDBG Rule”).

Interested individuals may testify at the

public hearing or submit written comments

no later than 5:00 p.m. on September 29,

2006, to the Office of the Secretary, DFA,

Bataan Memorial Building, Room 180,

Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87501.  All written

and oral testimony will be considered prior

to adoption of the amendments. Copies of

the text of the proposed CDBG Rule are

available from Ms. Dolores Gonzales,

Local Government Division, Bataan

Memorial Building, Santa Fe, New Mexico,

87501 or at 505-827-4972 or from the DFA

internet website

http//www.state.nm.us/clients/dfa/index.

html.

These are amendments to 2.110.2.7,

2.110.11, 2.110.17, 2.110.18, 2.110.19 and

2.110.26 NMAC effective XX,XX,XXXX.

2.110.2.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Council” means the

New Mexico community development

council.

B. “Department” means

the department of finance and administra-

tion.

C. “Division” means the

local government division.

D. “Low and moderate

income person” is a member of a household

whose income would qualify as “very low

income” under the Section 8 housing assis-

tance payments program. Section 8 limits

are based on 50 percent of the county medi-

an income.  Similarly, CDBG moderate

income is based on Section 8 “lower

income” limits, which are generally tied to

80 percent of the county median income.

E. “CDBG” means the

small cities community development block

grant program.

F. “Rural” means a county

with a population of less than 25,000 and an

incorporated municipality with a population

of less than 3,000.

G. “Program income”

means amounts earned by a unit of general

local government or its subrecipient that

were generated from the use of CDBG

funds.

H. “Slum area” as used in

the Community Development Law (3-60-1

to 3-60-37 NMSA 1978) means an area in

which there is a predominance of buildings

or other improvements which are found by

the local governing body by reason of 1)

dilapidation, 2) deterioration, 3) age, or 4)

obsolescence, 5) inadequate provision for

ventilation, light, air, sanitation or open

spaces, 6) overcrowding, 7) the existence of

conditions which endanger life or property,

or 8) any combination of such factors, to

contribute to either ill health, the transmis-

sion of disease, infant mortality, juvenile

delinquency or crime, and to be detrimental

to the public health, safety, morals or wel-

fare.

I. “Blighted area” as used

in the Community Development Law (3-60-

1 to 3-60-37 NMSA 1978) means an area,

other than a slum area, which is found by

the local governing body by reason of the

presence of a substantial number of slum,

deteriorated or deteriorating structures, pre-

dominance of defective or inadequate street

layout, faulty low layout in relation to size,

adequacy, accessibility or usefulness,

unsanitary or unsafe conditions, deteriora-

tion of site or other improvements, diversi-

ty of ownership, tax or special assessment

delinquency exceeding the fair value of the

land, defective or unusual conditions of

title, improper subdivisions or obsolete plat-

ting, or the existence of conditions which

endanger life or property, or any combina-

tion of such factors to substantially impair

or arrest the sound growth of the municipal-

ity, retard the provision of housing accom-

modations or constitute an economic or

social liability and is a menace to the public

health, safety, morals or welfare in its pres-

ent conditions and use.

J. “Units of local govern-

ment”: Any incorporated municipality or

county.

K. “Councils of govern-

ments”: A regional association of munici-

palities, counties and special districts

formed to provide planning and other serv-

ices to its member organization.

L. “Water association”:

Political subdivisions of the state organized

under Section 3-29-1 through Section 3-29-

20, NMSA 1978, the “Sanitary Projects

Act” or Section 73-21-1 through Section

73-21-55, NMSA 1978, the “Water and

Sanitation District Act”.

( M. “Land Grant/Meced

(political subdivision of the state organized

under section 49-1-1 through 49-1-23,

NMSA 1978, Land Grants General

NEW MEXICO

DEPARTMENT OF

FINANCE AND
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LOCAL GOVERNMENT DIVISION
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Provisions).)

[2.110.2.7 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.7,

08-30-01 xx-xx-06]

2.110.2.11 ELIGIBLE ACTIVI-

TIES/CATEGORIES

A. Applicants may apply

for funding assistance under the follow-

ing categories:

(1) community infrastructure;

(2) housing;

(3) public facility capital outlay;

(4) economic development;

(5) emergency;

(6) colonias;

(7) planning.

B. Eligible activities

under each of the categories are listed

below.

C. Community infra-

structure: Eligible activities may include,

but are not limited to, the following:

(1) real property acquisition

(2) construction and/or rehabilita-

tion of the following:

(a) water systems;

(b) sewer systems;

(c) municipal utilities;

(d) roads;

(e) streets;

(f) highways;

(g) curbs;

(h) gutters;

(i) sidewalks;

(j) storm sewers;

(k) street lighting;

(l) traffic control devices;

(m) parking facilities;

(n) solid waste disposal facilities.

D. Housing: Eligible

activities may include, but are not limited

to, the following:

(1) real property acquisition;

(2) rehabilitation;

(3) clearance;

(4) demolition and removal of

privately-owned or acquired property for

use or resale in the provision of assisted

housing;

(5) provision of public facilities

to increase housing opportunities;

(6) financing the repair, rehabili-

tation and in some cases reconstruction of

privately-owned residential or other proper-

ties through either loan or grant programs;

(7) certain types of housing mod-

ernization;

(8) temporary relocation assis-

tance;

(9) code enforcement;

(10) historic preservation activi-

ties;

(11) an average of $30,000 in

CDBG funds per home can be used on

home rehabilitation/repair activities.

E. Public facility capital

outlay: Eligible activities may include, but

are not limited to, such items as:

(1) real property acquisition;

(2) construction or improvement

of community centers;

(3) senior citizen centers;

(4) nonresidential centers for the

handicapped such as sheltered workshops;

(5) other community facilities

designed to provide health, social, recre-

ational or similar community services for

residents.

F. Economic develop-

ment: The economic development catego-

ry is established to assist communities in the

promotion of economic development and is

described in detail in Section 26.

G. Emergency: The

emergency fund provides funding for emer-

gency projects which address life threaten-

ing situations resulting from disasters or

imminent threats to health and safety.

(1) Applications under this cate-

gory will be accepted throughout the year.

(2) An appropriate state agency

must concur and provide written verifica-

tion and adequate documentation with the

applicant’s assessment of the life threaten-

ing situation and the need for the emergency

project.

(3) An applicant for emergency

funding must verify that it does not have

sufficient local resources to address the life

threatening condition; and that other federal

or state resources have been explored and

are unavailable to alleviate the emergency.

H. Planning: In addition

to municipalities and counties, water associ-

ations, including water and sanitation dis-

tricts, (land grants) as defined in Section

2.110.2.7, Subsection L; are eligible to

apply directly for planning grants only.

Grant assistance from the CDBG program

must be used for a comprehensive plan, if a

community or county does not have a cur-

rent comprehensive plan (adopted or updat-

ed within the last five years) that includes at

a minimum the following:

(1) elements:

(a) land use;

(b) housing;

(c) transportation;

(d) infrastructure;

(e) economic development;

(f) water;

(g) hazards; and

(h) implementation, a compila-

tion of programs and specific actions to be

completed in a stated sequence;

(2) development of additional ele-

ments of a comprehensive plan may include

but are not limited to:

(a) drainage;

(b) parks, recreation and open

space;

(c) tourism;

(d) growth management;

(e) fiscal impact analysis;

(f) intergovernmental coopera-

tion;

(g) social services;

(h) historic preservation.

(3) if the entity has a current com-

prehensive plan, it may apply for funding

assistance for any of the following:

(4) data gathering analysis and

special studies;

(5) base mapping, aerial photog-

raphy, geographic information systems, or

global positioning satellite studies;

(6) improvement of infrastructure

capital improvement plans and individual

project plans;

(7) development of codes and

ordinances, to further refine the implemen-

tation of the comprehensive plan;

(8) other functional or compre-

hensive planning activities;

(9) related citizen participation or

strategic planning processes;

(10) applicants may apply for

funding assistance throughout the year as

long as funds are available;

(11) preliminary engineering

reports will follow the USDA/RUS guide-

lines.

I. Colonias:

(1) The colonias category

is established in the amount of 10% of the

annual CDBG allocation for specific activi-

ties  including water, sewer and housing

improvements, which are the three condi-

tions which qualify communities for desig-

nation to be carried out in areas along the

U.S. - Mexican border.

(2) Eligible applicants for the

colonias setaside are municipalities and

counties located within 150 miles of the

U.S. - Mexico border.

(3) Colonias must be designated

by the municipality or county in which it is

located.  The designation must be on the

basis of objective criteria, including:

(a) lack of potable water supply;

(b) lack of adequate sewage sys-

tems;

(c) lack of decent, safe and sani-

tary housing;

(d) must have been in existence as

a colonia prior to November, 1990.

(4) Appropriate documentation to

substantiate these conditions must be pro-

vided along with the application for fund-

ing.

[2.110.2.11 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.11,

08-30-01; A, 08-13-04; A, 08-15-05, , xx-

xx-06 ]

2.110.2.17 A P P L I C A T I O N

REQUIREMENTS

A. Number of applications

- All eligible applicants may submit one

application for CDBG funding assistance in

the infrastructure, housing, public facility

capital outlay, or colonias categories.
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(1) Planning applicants may sub-

mit an additional application for funding.

(2) Requests for assistance from

eligible applicants in the economic develop-

ment, emergency and planning categories

can be submitted at any time, subject to

funding availability.

(3) Counties may submit multiple

applications for planning grants for water

associations.

B. Single purpose applica-

tion -An application for CDBG funding

must be limited to a project specific activity

or set of activities which address a particu-

lar need in a designated target area of a unit

of local government.  The target area may

not be the entire municipality or county.

C. Joint applications -

Joint applications will be allowed when two

or more eligible applicants within reason-

able proximity of each other wish to address

a common problem.

(1) One community will be desig-

nated to serve as the lead applicant and will

be subject to administrative requirements

and to the application limit requirements.

(2) However, other parties to the

joint application may submit another appli-

cation.

(3) Joint applications must satisfy

certain federal criteria and must receive

division approval prior to submitting an

application for funding assistance.

(4) It should be noted that satisfy-

ing the required criteria, which is available

from the division upon request, may take a

significant period of time.

D. Applications limit -

Applications are limited to the amount of

funding necessary to complete a basic,

meaningful and targeted project within a 24

month period.

(1) Applications may not exceed

$500,000 and planning applications may

not exceed $50,000.

(2) If, after conducting the

required public hearing, an applicant deter-

mines that the previous year’s CDBG appli-

cation is still a priority, the applicant [may

ask the council to reconsider the previous

year’s application] must submit an applica-

tion in its new form.

(3) The applicant need only sub-

mit a current year’s resolution, updated

project budget and schedule and any other

information required by division staff.

E. Threshold requirements

- To encourage timely completion of proj-

ects and to maximize participation the fol-

lowing threshold requirements shall be met

prior to the application deadline.

(1) All projects for the eligible

activities in the categories listed in

Subsections C, D, E, and I of 2.110.2.11

NMAC must be completed at the time of

application. (certificate of occupancy and/or

certification of operation must be in place).

(2) Audit and monitoring find-

ings, especially in general program admin-

istration for CDBG projects, must be

resolved.

(3) The following setaside cate-

gories are exempt from threshold require-

ment: planning, economic development,

and emergency.

F. Matching requirements

- In order to assist the council in making

funding resources go further and to ensure

there is a local investment in applications

submitted to the council for funding consid-

eration, the following will be required.

(1) Rural applicants must provide,

at a minimum, a 5% cash match during the

project period from local, state, federal or

other resources, this cannot include local

work force or local equipment.

(2) Non-rural applicants must

provide, at a minimum, a 10% cash match

during the project period from local, state,

federal or other resources, this cannot

include local work force or local equipment.

(3) Consistent with Section 26 of

these regulations, all applications in the

economic development category must pro-

vide at least two private dollars for each

dollar of CDBG funds requested.

(4) Local funds expended by eli-

gible applicants for engineering, architec-

tural design or environmental reviews prior

to project approval can be applied towards

the required match.

(5) Applicants may request a

waiver of the matching requirement from

the council if documentation can be provid-

ed which demonstrates the absence of local

resources to meet the required match.

Criteria used to recommend approval/disap-

proval will be as follows:

(a) the required match must

exceed 5% of the applicant’s general fund

budget;

(b) the required match must equal

or exceed the non-earmarked balance of

funds in the applicant’s budget.

G. Matching loan fund - In

order to assist communities who do not

have the resources to comply with the

matching requirement for their project, a

matching fund is available to provide

money at appropriate interest rates.

(1) The council will use NMCA

reversions as a funding source for the loan

fund.

(2) Payment schedules will be

developed by the division with appropriate

payment amounts and due dates.

H. Other funding commit-

ments - If other funding is necessary to

make a proposed project feasible, funding

commitments or commitments subject to

CDBG approval, must be in place and let-

ters of commitments from the funding

agency must be submitted with the applica-

tion.

I. Water conservation and

drought commitments - In order to make the

state’s water supplies go further and to

ensure proper levels of preparations are

taken locally for periodic droughts, the fol-

lowing is encouraged:

(1) Applicants develop, adopt and

submit to the state engineer a comprehen-

sive water conservation ordinance.

(2) Applicants develop, adopt and

submit to the state engineer a drought man-

agement plan.

(3) The ordinance and plan shall

be accompanied by a program for its imple-

mentation.

(a) in developing a water conser-

vation ordinance pursuant to this section:

applicants shall adopt ordinances and codes

to encourage water conservation measures;

they shall identify and implement best man-

agement practices in their operations to

improve conservation of the resources; and

(b) applicants shall consider and

incorporate into its plan if appropriate, at

least the following:

(i) water-efficient fix-

tures and appliances, including toilets, uri-

nals, showerheads and faucets;

(ii) low-water-use land-

scaping and efficient irrigation;

(iii) water-efficient

commercial and industrial water-use

processes;

(iv) water reuse sys-

tems for both potable and non-potable

water;

(v) distribution system

leak repair;

(vi) dissemination of

information regarding water-use efficiency

measures, including public education pro-

grams and demonstrations of water-saving

techniques;

(vii) water rate struc-

tures designed to encourage water-use effi-

ciency and reuse in a fiscally responsible

manner; and

(viii) incentives to

implement water-use efficiency techniques,

including rebates to customers or others, to

encourage the installation of water-use effi-

ciency and reuse measures.

(c) the council shall encourage

the applicant to submit a copy of its water

conservation plan with applications for con-

struction of any facility.

J. Asset management - In

order to support the long term operation,

maintenance, repair and replacement of sys-

tem facilities, infrastructure, public facili-

ties, or other eligible activities the following

will be required.

(1) In order to ensure water and

wastewater infrastructure is managed with-
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in a strategic framework driven by program

and service deliver needs, communities that

implement a rate analysis based upon an

asset management program will be credited

in the application process for their achieve-

ment.  The model for the asset management

program is the EPA publication “Asset

Management: A Handbook for Small Water

Systems (EPA 816-R-03-0160 September

2003).

(2) For community infrastructure

and public facilities, or other eligible activ-

ities an asset management plan will be

required to be submitted at the time of

application (EPA 816-R-03-0160

September 2003).

[2.110.2.17 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.17,

08-30-01; A, 08-13-04; A, 08-15-05; A, xx-

xx-06]

2.110.2.18 A P P L I C A T I O N

PROCEDURES AND CONTENT: The

application packet provided by local gov-

ernment division will be used for infrastruc-

ture, housing, public facility, capital outlay,

colonias, emergency categories, economic

development and planning.

A. An applicant must sub-

mit an original and [four] two copies of

each application to the Department of

Finance and Administration, Local

Government Division, Bataan Memorial

Building, Suite 201, Santa Fe, New Mexico

87501, and one copy to the appropriate

council of governments.

B. Applications must be

received at the local government division by

5 p.m. of the designated application dead-

line.  Applications received after that time

will be returned to the applicant

unprocessed.

[2.110.2.18 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.18,

08-30-01; A, 08-13-04; A, xx-xx-06]

2.110.2.19 A P P L I C A T I O N

REVIEW AND EVALUATION

PROCESS

A. Upon receipt of appli-

cations, division staff will review them for

eligibility, completeness, feasibility, and

compliance and to ensure that all other

funding necessary to make the project func-

tional is in place. Applications that are

found to be incomplete, ineligible, not fea-

sible or do not have other funding necessary

to make the project functional, will be

returned to the applicant and will not be

considered for funding.

B. Applications will be

forwarded to [councils of governments and]

appropriate state agencies for technical

review and comment.  Review agencies

include the environment department, ener-

gy, minerals and natural resources depart-

ment, state highway and transportation

department, department of health, state

engineer’s office, state agency on aging,

economic development department, depart-

ment of human services, and state fire mar-

shal.

C. Applicants will be

allowed to make presentations to the coun-

cil and division staff at an official council

hearing.  Testimony related to the applica-

tion will be presented by an official or

designee of the applying entity who may be

assisted by technical staff.

D. Division staff will

receive comments from state agencies and

councils of governments regarding specific

projects.

E. The council and divi-

sion have developed the following rating

criteria for evaluation of CDBG applica-

tions submitted for funding consideration:

infrastructure, housing, public facility, capi-

tal outlay and colonias applications.

(1) Description and need — (5

points) extent to which the project is need-

ed.  The more severe the need as document-

ed in the application, the higher the score.

Colonias applicants must provide documen-

tation to substantiate that a majority of the

following conditions exist in the project

area:

(a) lack of potable water;

(b) lack of an adequate sewage

system;

(c) lack of safe, sanitary housing;

(d) source documentation must

also be provided.

(2) Benefit to low and moderate

and appropriateness - (20 points) extent to

which the CDBG application:

(a) documents the number and

percentage of low and moderate income

beneficiaries, also include race and gender;

(b) addresses the prevention or

removal of slum or blighting conditions;

(c) addresses conditions which

pose a serious and immediate threat to the

health and welfare of the community (for

emergency applications only).

(3) Leveraging — (15 points)

extent to which federal, state, and local

resources, in addition to the required match,

are being used by the applicant for the pro-

posed project.  The greater the leveraging,

in addition to the required match, the high-

er the score.

(4) Citizen participation - [(15

points)] (10 points) extent to which the

applicant:

(a) has provided opportunities for

public participation in the identification of

community development needs;.

(b) pledges opportunities for

active citizen participation during the proj-

ect, where applicable; and;

(c) pledges opportunities for

active citizen participation in the implemen-

tation of the project, where applicable.

(5) Planning - [(15 points)] (10

points) extent to which the applicant:

(a) (3) points:  Applicant has

adopted a local infrastructure capital

improvement plan, which has qualified for

publication in the most recent local infra-

structure capital improvement plan (ICIP)

published prior to the CDBG application

deadline.

(b) (3) points:  The proposed proj-

ect has qualified for publication in the most

recent ICIP prior to the CDBG application

deadline and applicant has selected CDBG

as one of its possible funding sources.

(c) (2) points:  Degree to which

applicant’s proposed project shows consis-

tency with applicant’s comprehensive plan.

(d) (2) points:  Adopting a

drought contingency plan, setting in place

various drought management stages and

accompanying restrictions on water use.

(e) (3) points:  Adopting a water

conservation ordinance, setting in place var-

ious methods for conserving potable water.

(f) (2) points:  Implementing a

water conservation ordinance, accompanied

by evidence of exercising at least two vari-

ous methods for conserving potable water.

(6) Feasibility/readiness - (20

points) extent to which the project is techni-

cally and economically feasible and ready

to be implemented. (examples of actions

that can be taken prior to submission of the

application to receive maximum points are:

(a) acquire necessary property;

(b) secure professional services;

(c) complete plans, specifications,

or preliminary engineering report, etc.

(d) complete the environmental

review process.

(7) Cost benefit - (10 points)

number of direct beneficiaries of the project

compared to the amount of funds requested.

The higher the number of beneficiaries

compared to the amount of funds requested,

the higher the score.

(8) User fees and revenues - (10

points) What best demonstrates the rates or

revenues that support the long term opera-

tion, maintenance, repair, and replacement

of the system or facility?

(a) Rates developed by asset

management as presented by the environ-

mental finance committee (EFC). (10

points)

(b) rates developed rate analysis,

excluding asset management and/or

allowance for replacement of reserve funds.

(5 points)

(c) rates developed by other. (1

point)

(9) Non-funded applicants - (10

points) - Applicants that were not funded in

the prior year.

F. Planning criteria cate-

gory

(1) Consistency (25 points):

Document the degree to which the proposed

planning project is consistent with the appli-
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cants current version of its comprehensive

plan, its infrastructure capital improvement

plan, and its planning region’s consolidated

plan.

(2) Appropriateness (25 points):

Describe the impact the proposed project

will have on at least one of the three nation-

al objectives of the CDBG program.

(3) Public involvement (25

points): Describe how the planning process

will involve citizens in the preliminary

identification of community needs, in the

development and active participation in the

planning process, and in the implementation

of the plan.

(4) Implementation strategy (25

points): Describe the local commitment of

resources to the planning process; commit-

ment to adopt the plan, either by resolution,

rule, policy or ordinance; and commitment

to use the results of the planning process in

the decision making process.

G. Economic development

rating criteria is included in Section

2.110.2.26.

H. Site visits will be con-

ducted as needed during the application

review process to verify the information

presented in an application.

I. Division staff will pres-

ent its evaluations in high, medium and low

groupings to the council at least seven days

prior to the allocation meeting.

J. Because emergency,

economic development, and rural planning

projects are received throughout the year,

formal staff rating may not be necessary if

all other federal and state requirements are

met and other applications are not compet-

ing for funding assistance.

[2.110.2.19 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.19,

08-30-01; A, 08-13-04; A, xx-xx-06]

2.110.2.26 E C O N O M I C

DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM GUIDE-

LINES: Within the context of the CDBG

Program and for purposes of meeting its

goals and objectives, economic develop-

ment can typically be defined as improving

a community’s economic base by using pri-

vate and public investments that provide

expanded business activity, jobs, personal

income and increased local revenues in a

defined geographic area.

A. Goals and objectives:

The state’s CDBG economic development

goals and objectives include:

(1) creating or retaining jobs for

low- and moderate-income persons;

(2) preventing or eliminating

slums and blight;

(3) meeting urgent needs;

(4) creating or retaining business-

es owned by community residents;

(5) assisting businesses that pro-

vide goods or services needed by, and

affordable to low - and moderate-income

residents;

(6) providing technical assistance

to promote any of the activities under 26.1.1

through 26.1.5 above.

B. Eligible activities:

CDBG eligible activities authorized under

Sections 570.200, 570.201, 570.202,

570.203, 570.204, 570.482 and 570.483 of

24 CFR Part 570 of the federal rules and

regulations governing the Community

Development Block Grant Program and

directly affecting the creation or retention of

employment opportunities, the majority of

which are made available to low and mod-

erate income persons, may include activities

which are carried out by public, private

nonprofit, or private for-profit entities when

such activities are appropriate.

(1) To meet the needs and objec-

tives of the  community economic develop-

ment plan, a project may include; acquisi-

tion of real property, construction, recon-

struction rehabilitation, or installation of

public facilities, site improvements, and

utilities, and commercial or industrial build-

ings or structures and other commercial or

industrial real property improvements and

planning.

(2) Grantees and nonprofit subre-

cipients may carry out for the purpose of

economic development, a wide range of

activities such as those listed in Section

570.203.

(3) The for-profit businesses,

however, may carry out only the activities

listed in that section and rehabilitation

activities listed in Section 570.202.

C. Financing policies and

techniques: The New Mexico CDBG pro-

gram, as a development tool, can provide

flexibility and take greater risks in its lend-

ing policies and financing techniques.  For

example, the program may:

(1) offer a negotiated period for

repayment of principal and interest;

(2) take greater risk than banks

are traditionally prepared to take, provided

substantial economic development benefits

will result if the loan is granted;

(3) leverage capital by reducing

risk for commercial lenders and by taking a

subordinate;

(4) security/collateral position;

(5) provide more favorable rates

and terms than are generally available

through conventional sources.

D. Project requirements:

Project requirements for eligible CDBG

economic development assistance include,

but are not limited to:

(1) specific employment commit-

ments for low and moderate income resi-

dents, generally with no more than $15,000

in CDBG funds being used for each job cre-

ated or retained;

(2) [the creation of jobs within a

reasonable time frame, usually not more

than six months from grant approval] at

least 51% of the jobs created/retained must

be held or made available to persons of low

to moderate income persons;

(3) within six (6) months of com-

pletion of the project, the grantee is required

to report to LGD, documentation to reflect

the total number of jobs created;

[(3)] (4) a firm commitment for

private financial participation in carrying

out the proposed project, contingent on

award of CDBG funding only, must be

included with the application;

[(4)] (5) a minimum leveraging

ratio of 2 new private investment dollars to

1 CDBG dollar is required, {additional

leveraging will enhance a project’s compet-

itiveness};

[(5)] (6) an “appropriate” deter-

mination that there is a well documented

need for CDBG assistance to make the proj-

ect financing feasible and that the level of

assistance requested is commensurate with

the public benefits expected to be derived

from the economic development project;

[(6)] (7) evidence of project feasi-

bility including a business plan which con-

tains financial statements, project pro forma

(cash flow projections) and specific source

and intended use of all funds or assets used

in the project;

[(7)] (8) generally, projects that

directly assist in the relocation of a business

or industry from one community to another,

intrastate or interstate, will be disqualified;

[(8)] (9) prior to submission of an

application, applicants should thoroughly

review the credit worthiness of the proposed

borrower and should obtain appropriate

credit reports, audited financial statements,

tax returns and verify collateral.

E. Program income: The

community development council has adopt-

ed a policy of strongly encouraging and,

when possible, requiring applicants in the

economic development category to return

program income to the state for use in fos-

tering critical economic development

opportunities that occur throughout the

state. By pooling program income at the

state level more of an impact can be made

on the overall economic conditions of the

state.  The Housing and Urban Rural

Recovery Act which amended the Housing

and Community Development Act of 1974,

provides, relative to economic develop-

ment, specifically the following:

(1) states may require program

income to be returned to the state but local

governments must be allowed to keep pro-

gram income when used for the same activ-

ity which generated the income (104(i)2);

(2) if the applicant intends to

retain program income, a program income
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utilization plan must be submitted with the

application for approval.

F. Application cycle:

Applications for economic development

can be made at any time, and the division

staff have thirty days to review the them.

G. Pre-application con-

ference: It is recommended that a preappli-

cation conference be held prior to the sub-

mission of the final application to insure

that all elements are adequately addressed.

The preapplication conference will also pro-

vide an opportunity to review any new fed-

eral guidelines that may be issued which

relate to economic development activities.

Contact the LGD, economic development

representative for information.  More

detailed and extensive financial and project

data may be required depending on the spe-

cific project.  In addition, meeting the

national objective to benefit low and mod-

erate income requires documentation certi-

fying that the majority of the jobs go to low

and moderate income persons or the major-

ity of jobs are considered available to them.

Please contact the local government divi-

sion for a copy of the HUD guidelines.

H. A P P L I C A T I O N

REQUIREMENTS: (These must be

included along with the regular CDBG

Application, and should be submitted in lieu

of question #2 in the regular application.)

(1) Economic development

plan: The applicant must submit as an

attachment to the application a short (5 page

maximum) description of its plan for

encouraging local economic development.

The plan, incorporating references to the

proposed project, should include a discus-

sion of the following elements

(a) Need - What are the commu-

nity’s underlying economic problems?

Need might include recent major industry

shutdowns or extended layoffs, substantial

increases in population without a corre-

sponding increase in job opportunities, sub-

stantial population decreases due to lack of

available or appropriate job opportunities, a

lack of industrial diversification, the exis-

tence of large numbers of workers in the

area with obsolete skills or skills for which

there is no current demand, or other prob-

lems unique to the applicant’s community.

(b) Goals - What is the communi-

ty attempting to accomplish through its

overall economic development program

(not just that activity for which CDBG

funding is sought)?  Goals might include

trying to preserve existing businesses or

industries, attempting to encourage commu-

nity growth, attempting to foster industrial

diversification, revitalizing the central busi-

ness district, or creating complementary

industries which would provide jobs in the

off-season for workers now only seasonally

employed.

(c) Resources - What public and

private resources, both financial and techni-

cal, does the community have available to it

to help carry out its economic development

program?  Resources may be of a wide vari-

ety.  For example, does the community have

a local development corporation or similar

body?  Has any agency organization

assigned staff member(s) to work on eco-

nomic development activities for a major

portion of their time? Has the financial

community demonstrated its willingness to

participate in development activities?  Is

there an adequate available labor force to

meet the demands of new or expanding

businesses and industries?  Does the com-

munity have some unique development

advantages, e.g., location, transportation

facilities, industrial park or other plant sites,

available raw materials, abundant power

supplies, employee training capabilities, a

locally-administered revolving loan fund to

assist growing businesses or industries,

technical assistance programs to help busi-

ness persons deal with marketing, manage-

ment, or financial planning problems

(d) Strategy - What strategy is

the community using to pursue its econom-

ic development goals?  Strategy might

include a description of the specific activi-

ties that have been identified as components

of the community’s strategy for encourag-

ing local economic development.  For

example, which has been assigned first, sec-

ond, and third priority?  How much will

each cost?  What funding sources have been

identified for each?  What can or will the

local government do to support those activ-

ities?

(e) Results - What actions has the

community already undertaken to imple-

ment its economic development plan?

What sources of funding were used?  What

were the results?  Results might include a

discussion of actions the community has

taken to encourage development.  For

example, has it offered property tax reduc-

tions to new or expanding industries?  Has

it formed a local development corporation

or prepared industrial or tourism promotion

packages?  What results have been

achieved?  How many new jobs have been

created or existing jobs retained?  How

many new firms have begun operations in

the community?  How many existing firms

have undertaken expansion activities?

(2) Hiring and training plan:

(a) Applicants must establish pro-

cedures for the project to ensure preferential

recruitment, hiring, and training of local

workers, particularly those of low and mod-

erate income.

(b) In the event of a grant award,

the applicant’s commitment to the hiring

plan will be considered binding and will be

incorporated by reference in the grant

agreement between the local governing

body and the local government division.

(3) Private sector commit-

ments:

(a) Applicants must provide evi-

dence of firm commitments of financial

resources from the private sector.

(b) Such commitments should be

binding, contingent only upon receipt of

CDBG funds.

(c) Investments made or costs

incurred prior to the grant application are

not eligible for use as matching funds or

leverage but should be referenced as related

to the total project, if applicable.

(4) Public sector commitments:

(a) If public sector resources are

to be involved in the proposed economic

development project, applicants must

demonstrate evidence of a firm commit-

ment of public funds and/or other resources.

(b) Such commitments should be

binding, contingent only upon receipt of

CDBG funds to the project.

(c) Evidence may include resolu-

tions or ordinances passed by the local gov-

erning body and other appropriate local

groups.

(5) Use of CDBG funds for eco-

nomic development loans (if applicable):

(a) Any project that includes a

loan should provide an explanation of the

proposed interest rate, terms and rationale

for the proposed financing structure.

(b) Any loan made by a local gov-

erning body with CDBG funds as a part of

an approved CDBG economic development

project must be adequately secured.

(c) Subordinated loans may be

made when justifiable and appropriate.

(d) The applicant must include a

detailed description of the proposed use of

program income.  (principal and interest).

Applicants are encouraged to designate pro-

gram income to be returned to the state for

future economic development setaside-eli-

gible activities.

(6) Viability of assisted enter-

prises: Any for-profit entity to be assisted

with CDBG funds must document that with-

out participation of CDBG funds the pro-

posed activity would not be feasible and

that after receipt of CDBG assistance the

enterprise will be viable and self-sustaining.

All applicants proposing an economic

development activity shall submit the fol-

lowing for any entity to be assisted with

CDBG funds.

(a) a business plan which consists

of at least a description of the history of the

firm, background, and experience of the

principals, organizational structure, a

description of its major products or servic-

es, market area and market share, goals, and

planned expansions or changes in opera-

tions; the plan should also describe the

impact the CDBG project, if funded, would

have on the firm’s activities;

(b) a three-year to five-year oper-
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ating plan forecast (profit and loss projec-

tion); applicants may use U.S. small busi-

ness administration (SBA) forms or equiva-

lent;

(c) a monthly cash flow analysis,

SBA forms or equivalent.

(d) for any existing business, the

two most recent year-end financial state-

ments, including an income statement and

balance sheet.

I. RATING CRITERIA:

The selection criteria in the rating and rank-

ing system will give priority to projects

which firmly demonstrate the following:

need, appropriateness, impact, and benefit

to low and moderate income persons.  These

factors are discussed below and are intend-

ed to provide additional information.  Since

each application will be a unique response

to particular community-specific needs,

there are no “right” or “wrong” activities or

solutions.  The ranking of “appropriateness”

(and later, of “impact”) will necessarily be

in part subjective, with the division taking

into account not only how well each appli-

cant addresses the problems it has defined,

but also how its problems and responses

compare with those of other applicants.

Responses may vary considerably depend-

ing upon the size and location of the com-

munity and the type of project proposed.

(1) NEED - (200 points) - In ana-

lyzing an applicant’s need for a project, the

division will use statistical information pro-

vided by the New Mexico department of

labor and the U.S. bureau of the census

which is uniformly available for all thirty-

three (33) counties.  Since similar data is

not accumulated at the municipal level,

cities and towns will be scored with the fig-

ures for the county in which they are locat-

ed.  The three factors which will be consid-

ered are:  the average number of unem-

ployed persons in the county during the last

calendar year; the percent of unemployment

(average) in the county during the last cal-

endar year; long-term unemployment

(measured by average unemployment rates

in the county for the last five calendar

years).

(a) The data will be calculated

and each applicant assigned a relative score.

(b) The division will consider

assigning a different score in exceptional

cases, where an applicant can conclusively

demonstrate that the first two factors used to

measure economic need are not reflective of

local economic conditions (such as major

recent plant closings) and the situation is

substantiated by the New Mexico depart-

ment of labor. A request for consideration of

local economic data must be submitted with

the CDBG application. The applicant

should identify sources of data and define

methodologies.

(2) APPROPRIATENESS -

(200 points) - Two major factors will be

weighted in this ranking category: the

soundness of the applicant’s economic

development plan and the related project for

which CDBG funding is sought; the

strength of the applicant’s hiring and train-

ing plan for ensuring that local residents,

particularly those of low and moderate

income, will be hired to fill the stated num-

ber of jobs created or retained as a result of

CDBG-funded activities.  These two factors

will be ranked as follows:

(a) Plan and program - (140

points) - Some factors which might con-

tribute to the achievement of an “outstand-

ing” score are:

(i) that the applicant has

developed a complete, well reasoned,

appropriate, and achievable plan for dealing

with its total economic development needs,

taking into consideration all available pub-

lic and private resources and local capacity;

(ii) that the local gov-

erning body has officially adopted the eco-

nomic development plan as a matter of pub-

lic policy;

(iii) that the proposed

project for which CDBG funding is sought

is an integral part of that plan;  (it need not

be the first priority item identified in the

overall plan if other, more appropriate,

resources are available and already being

used to meet higher priority items);

(iv) that the applicant

has made substantial local efforts to deal

with its economic development problems;

(v) that the proposed

CDBG project is realistic and workable, and

the job savings or creation expected to

result from its implementation will occur

within a reasonable time following the date

of grant award;

(vi) that if income is to

be generated by CDBG-funded activities,

and retained locally, a plan for the use of

that money has been developed and submit-

ted with the application; this plan must

include mechanisms established for admin-

istration of the funds, (if a revolving loan

fund is to be established with program

income, procedures must be outlined cover-

ing local application processing, time

frames, approval, negotiation, pricing,

packaging, servicing, etc.);

(vii) that there has been

active citizen participation in the develop-

ment of the economic development plan and

in the selection of the CDBG project.

(b) Hiring and training plan -

(60 points) - Since a primary goal of

CDBG-funded economic development

grants is to increase job opportunities for

local residents, particularly persons of low

and moderate income, it is essential that

applicants take every measure to bring

about that result.  Each applicant must

include in its application an employment

and training plan to be used in filling jobs

created or saved as a result of CDBG activ-

ities.  Factors which would most likely con-

tribute to the achievement of a high score

are:

(i) that the applicant’s

employment and training plan provides

clear, complete procedures for outreach,

recruitment, screening, selection, training,

and placement of workers which will ensure

maximum access of local residents, particu-

larly persons of low and moderate income,

to jobs created or saved by the project;

(ii) that attention has

been given to necessary supportive services

for trainees needing them;

(iii) that a complete

training curriculum has been developed and

all training resources identified;

(iv) that responsibility

has been assigned for all phases of the train-

ing program;

(v) that a written agree-

ment to follow the plan has been obtained

from each firm expected to benefit directly

from the program.

(3) IMPACT - (200 points) - In

weighing the anticipated impact of the

applicant’s proposed CDBG grant activities

on the community’s identified problems, the

following four factors will be considered

and evaluated:

(a) Leverage - (50 points) - In

preparing its proposed project budget, the

applicant is required to identify all sources

of funds to be used and the amounts to be

contributed by each.  To be eligible for con-

sideration, an applicant must provide at

least two private non-CDBG dollars for

each dollar of CDBG funds requested (a 2:1

ratio).  The non-CDBG funds may come

from a variety of private sources, such as

new investment by a firm to be assisted,

bank loans, or local development corpora-

tion loans and debentures.  Applicants will

be ranked against each other.  If, for

instance, community A has the highest

leverage ratio ($6 of non-CDBG funds for

each $1 of CDBG funds, a 6:1 ratio) and

community B has a 2:1 leverage, communi-

ty A would receive the maximum score and

community B and all other applicants would

be relatively scored against community.

(b) CDBG dollars per job - (50

points) - The applicant is required to speci-

fy the number of permanent full-time jobs

to be created or retained as a result of the

requested CDBG program. In determining

an applicant’s score in this category, the

total CDBG funds to be used (exclusive of

administrative funds) will be divided by the

total number of full-time jobs expected to

result.  NOTE:  In evaluating an applicant’s

job creation projections, the local govern-

ment division will consider the historical

New Mexico Register / Volume XVII, Number 16 / August 31, 2006 795



relationships of sales, space, and machines

to jobs.  It will also look at typical ratios for

the industry of which the firm to be assisted

is a part.  Applicants should be prepared to

justify job creation claims which substan-

tially exceed industry norms or $15,000 per

job created or retained.

(c) Type of jobs - (50 points) -

Although all new or retained jobs provide

some measure of economic benefit to the

community, full-time, skilled or semi-

skilled positions are more desirable for most

workers than part-time jobs or those requir-

ing unskilled labor. One objective of CDBG

economic development activities is to foster

the creation and retention of permanent,

full-time employment with growth potential

for persons of low and moderate income,

which offers those workers an opportunity

for advancement in a firm or industry.

Applicants are required to indicate the per-

centage of jobs to be created or retained

which are full-time or part-time, skilled,

semi skilled, or unskilled.

(d) Overall economic impact -

(50 points) - The applicant must discuss

both the direct and indirect effects the

CDBG program is expected to have on the

community’s economy.  Some of the factors

which will be considered in evaluating

impact are:

(i) the size of the addi-

tional payroll expected to be generated for

the jobs created or retained by the program;

(ii) the total number of

jobs to be created or retained;

(iii) whether the firm to

be assisted is a primary industry (producing

goods or services mainly to be sold outside

the area or state, thereby importing dollars

into the community and state);

(iv) whether local prop-

erty tax revenues will be significantly

increased as a result of the proposed busi-

ness start-up, expansion, retention, etc.;

(v) the applicant

demonstrating the greatest positive impact

will be scored highest.  All other applicants

will be ranked correspondingly;

(vi) when applications

have been scored in all four categories

(leverage, dollars per job, types of jobs, and

overall economic impact), those scores will

be totaled.

(4) BENEFIT TO LOW AND

MODERATE INCOME PERSONS -

(200 points)

(a) This ranking criterion assesses

the extent to which persons of low and mod-

erate income will directly benefit from the

expenditure of CDBG grant funds.  To

determine this score, the number of jobs to

be created or retained and made available to

low and moderate income persons will be

divided by the total number of jobs to be

created or retained as a result of the CDBG

program.

(b) The highest score will receive

up to a maximum of 200 points and all other

applicants will be scored accordingly.

(c) To be eligible for considera-

tion a project must demonstrate that it will

benefit principally persons of low and mod-

erate income.

[2.110.2.26 NMAC - Rp 2 NMAC 110.2.26,

08-30-01; A, xx-xx-06]

HOISTING OPERATORS

LICENSURE EXAMINING

COUNCIL

HOISTING OPERATOR’S LICENSURE

EXAMINING COUNCIL
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NEW MEXICO

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES

DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The New Mexico Department of Health will

hold a public hearing on 7.20.4 NMAC

“Behavioral Health Capital Fund Program”.

The Hearing will be held on Monday,

October 16, 2006 at 9:00 a.m. in the Harold

Runnels Building Auditorium, located at

1190 St. Francis Drive, Santa Fe, New

Mexico.

The public hearing will be conducted to

establish standards and procedures for regu-

lating programs under the Behavioral

Health Capital Funding Act.

A copy of the proposed regulation can be

obtained from:

Richard Tavares, Deputy Director

Behavioral Health Services Division

P.O. Box 26110

Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110

(505) 827-2662

Please submit any written comments

regarding the proposed regulation to:

Richard Tavares, Deputy Director

Behavioral Health Services Division

P.O. Box 26110

Santa Fe, NM  87502-6110

The Department will accept public com-

ment through the close of the hearing.

If you are an individual with a disability

who is in need of special services to attend

or participate in the hearing, please contact

Nicholas Ossorgin by telephone at 505-827-

0116.  The Department requests at least ten

(10) days advance notice to provide request-

ed special accommodations.

NEW MEXICO HUMAN

SERVICES DEPARTMENT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION

NOTICE

The New Mexico Human Services

Department (HSD) will hold a public hear-

ing at 9:00 a.m., on September 14, 2006, at

the State Personnel building, large confer-

ence room (2600 Cerrillos Road), Santa Fe,

New Mexico.  The subject of the hearing

will be Foster Care Medicaid.

The Department is proposing to raise the

age limit for Foster Care Medicaid from 18

to 21 years of age.

Interested persons may submit written com-

ments no later than 5:00 p.m., September

14, 2006, to Pamela S. Hyde, J.D.,

Secretary, Human Services Department,

P.O. Box 2348, Santa Fe, New Mexico

87504-2348.  All written and oral testimony

will be considered prior to issuance of the

final regulation.

If you are a person with a disability and you

require this information in an alternative

format or require a special accommodation

to participate in any HSD public hearing,

program or services, please contact the NM

Human Services Department toll-free at 1-

888-997-2583, in Santa Fe at 827-3156, or

through the department TDD system, 1-

800-609-4833, in Santa Fe call 827-3184.

The Department requests at least 10 days

advance notice to provide requested alterna-

tive formats and special accommodations.

Copies of the Human Services Register are

SPECIAL MEETING

Notice is hereby given that the Hoisting

Operator Licensure Examining Council will

hold a special meeting on Friday, August

25, 2006.  The meeting will commence at

1:30 p.m. in the Construction Industries

Division at 5200 Oakland Avenue NE in

Albuquerque, New Mexico.  Council

Members will consider proposing and

adopting a rule change to Subsection H of

Section 16.43.2.24 NMAC:  Law and

Safety Examination Fee of the Hoisting

Operator Safety.  A copy of the Agenda will

be available at the office of the Executive

Director prior to said meeting.

Anyone needing special accommodations is

requested to notify the Executive Director at

505-222-9809 at the above address of such

needs at least 3 days prior to the meeting.



available for review on our Website at

www.state.nm.us/hsd/register.html . or by

sending a self-addressed stamped envelope

to Medical Assistance Division, Program

Oversight & Support Bureau, P.O. Box

2348, Santa Fe, NM. 87504-2348.

NEW MEXICO BOARD OF

SOCIAL WORK

EXAMINERS

LEGAL NOTICE

Public Rule Hearing and Regular Board

Meeting

The New Mexico Board of Social Work

Examiners will hold a Rule Hearing on

October 6, 2006. Following the Rule

Hearing the New Mexico Board of Social

Work Examiners will convene a regular

meeting to adopt the rules and take care of

regular business.  The Rule Hearing will

begin at 9:00 a.m. and the Regular Meeting

will convene following the rule hearing.

The meetings will be held at the Nativo

Lodge, 6000 Pan American Freeway NE,

Albuquerque, NM 87109.

The purpose of the rule hearing is to con-

sider adoption of proposed amendments to

the following Board Rules and Regulations

in 16.21 NMAC: Part 3 Application for

Licensure, Part 4 Examinations, Part 6

Licensure by Credentials. Part 7 Provisional

License, Part 8 Fees, Part 9 Baccalaureate

Social Worker, Part 10 Master Social

Worker, Part 11 Independent Social Worker,

Part 12 Continuing Education, Part 15

Retirement. The Board will also consider

adoption of a Part 17 Temporary licensure.

Persons desiring to present their views on

the proposed rules may write to request

draft copies from the Board office at the

Toney Anaya Building located at the West

Capitol Complex, 2550 Cerrillos Road in

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504, or call (505)

476-4890 after September 6, 2006. In order

for the Board members to review the com-

ments in their meeting packets prior to the

meeting, persons wishing to make comment

regarding the proposed rules must present

them to the Board office in writing no later

then September 18, 2006. Persons wishing

to present their comments at the hearing

will need (10) copies of any comments or

proposed changes for distribution to the

Board and staff.

If you have questions, or if you are an indi-

vidual with a disability who wishes to

attend the hearing or meeting, but you need

a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language

interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary

aid or service to participate, please call the

Board office at (505) 476-4890 at least tw o

weeks prior to the meeting or as soon as

possible.

Vadra Baca, Administrator

PO Box 25101- Santa Fe, New Mexico

87504
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NEW MEXICO HUMAN

SERVICES DEPARTMENT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION

NOTICE

The New Mexico Human Services

Department (HSD) will hold a public hear-

ing at 11:00 a.m., on October 2, 2006, at the

HSD Law Library at Pollon Plaza, 2009 S.

Pacheco Street, Santa Fe, New Mexico.

The subject of the hearing will be Program

of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly

(PACE).

In 2004, CMS required states that had a Pre-

PACE pilot program in place, to apply for

authorization to become a full PACE pro-

gram state. New Mexico did apply and

CMS approved its Agreement Application

for PACE effective July 1, 2004.   New

Mexico is revising its Pre-PACE rules to

reflect the program’s CMS approved, full

provider status as PACE.

Interested persons may submit written com-

ments no later than 5:00 p.m., October 2,

2006, to Pamela S. Hyde, J.D., Secretary,

Human Services Department, P.O. Box

2348, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348.

All written and oral testimony will be con-

sidered prior to issuance of the final regula-

tion.

If you are a person with a disability and you

require this information in an alternative

format or require a special accommodation

to participate in any HSD public hearing,

program or services, please contact the NM

Human Services Department toll-free at 1-

888-997-2583, in Santa Fe at 827-3156, or

through the department TDD system, 1-

800-609-4833, in Santa Fe call 827-3184.

The Department requests at least 10 days

advance notice to provide requested alterna-

tive formats and special accommodations.

Copies of the Human Services Register are

available for review on our Website at

www.state.nm.us/hsd/register.html . or by

sending a self-addressed stamped envelope

to Medical Assistance Division, Program

Oversight & Support Bureau, P.O. Box

2348, Santa Fe, NM. 87504-2348.

End of Notices and 

Proposed Rules Section
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NEW MEXICO

DEPARTMENT OF

AGRICULTURE

This is an amendment to 21.17.47 NMAC,

Section 8, effective 08/31/2006.

21.17.47.8 ASSESSMENT:

A. The committee assess-

ment rate is set forth at [15 dollars ($15)] 10

dollars ($10) per bale of cotton for all cotton

producers in the control district.  The

assessment will be collected at the cotton

gins.

B. Payment of the assess-

ment levied by a local control committee

against a cotton producer will be due and

payable when the cotton producer receives

an assessment statement from the control

committee.

C. Failure to comply with

payment of assessment to the committee

may result in the recording of a lien on the

cotton crop and/or property in the county

clerk’s office where the property is located.

The lien will remain in effect until foreclo-

sure or balance subject to the lien is paid in

full.  Interest may be assessed at a rate of

8½ percent per annum on the balance

unpaid after 30 days.

[21.17.47.8 NMAC - N, 06/15/2000; A,

08/31/2006]

NEW MEXICO CHILDREN,

YOUTH AND FAMILIES

DEPARTMENT
FAMILY SERVICES DIVISION

8.17.2 NMAC, Requirements Governing

Registration of Non-Licensed Family Child

Care Homes, filed February 1, 2005 is

repealed and replaced by 8.17.2 NMAC,

Requirements Governing Registration of

Non-Licensed Family Child Care Homes,

effective August 31, 2006.

8.17.2.4 D U R A T I O N :

Permanent.

[8.17.2.4 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.4 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

August 31, 2006, unless a later date is cited

at the end of a section.

[8.17.2.5 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.5 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.6 OBJECTIVE: The

objective of 8.17.2 NMAC is to establish

standards and procedures to permit inde-

pendent caregivers who are not required to

be licensed as family child care homes

under state regulation 8.16.2 NMAC to par-

ticipate in the federal child and adult care

food program (CACFP) and the state and

federal child care assistance programs

(CCAP) through self-certification and reg-

istration.

[8.17.2.6 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.6 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Child” means any per-

son twelve (12) years old or younger; chil-

dren of migrant workers fifteen (15) years

old or younger, any person with certain dis-

abilities who is eligible under federal child

and adult care food program standards; or

any person eligible under state and federal

child-care assistance programs standards.

B. “Child care assistance

program (CCAP)” means the state of New

Mexico’s child care services bureau which

administers the federal child care and devel-

opment fund (CCDF).

C. “Child and adult care

food program (CACFP)” means the state of

New Mexico’s family nutrition bureau

which administers the federal child and

adult care food program.

D. “Emergency caregiver”

means someone 18 years of age or older

who is authorized by the primary caregiver

to provide care on an emergency basis, 48

hours or less, on behalf of the primary care-

giver.

E. “Exempt provider”

means a family day care home provider who

is exempt from participating in the CACFP

because he or she is caring only for resident

children or does not provide child care dur-

ing the hours when a meal (breakfast, lunch

or dinner) is served.

F. “Infant” means a child

from birth to one-year-old.

G. “Nonresident child”

means any child who does not reside in the

caregiver’s home.

H. “Notifiable diseases”

means confirmed or suspected
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Adopted Rules

NEW MEXICO OFFICE OF

THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

OFFICE OF THE NEW MEXICO

ATTORNEY GENERAL

REPEAL OF RULE CONCERNING

SMALL LOANS

The Attorney General is repealing the rule

concerning the extension of credit for small

loans in the amount of two thousand five

hundred dollars ($2,500.00) or less in its

entirety.  This repeal of the rule is being

published by the authority vested in the

Attorney General pursuant to NMSA 1978,

Section 57-12-13 (1967).  The rule being

repealed is entitled “Extension of Credit for

Small Loans” and is found at Title 12,

Chapter 2, and Part 10, 12.2.10 NMAC.

The repeal is effective on August 31, 2006.

NEW MEXICO CHILDREN,

YOUTH AND FAMILIES

DEPARTMENT
FAMILY SERVICES DIVISION

TITLE 8 SOCIAL SERVICES

CHAPTER 17 N O N - L I C E N S E D

CHILD CARE

PART 2 REQUIREMENTS

GOVERNING REGISTRATION OF

NON-LICENSED FAMILY CHILD

CARE HOMES

8.17.2.1 ISSUING AGENCY:

Children, Youth and Families Department.

[8.17.2.1 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.1 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.2 SCOPE: All non-

licensed family child care homes within the

state of New Mexico who are intending to

participate in the child and adult care food

program or the child care assistance pro-

gram.

[8.17.2.2 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.2 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.3 S T A T U T O R Y

AUTHORITY: The requirements (regula-

tions) set forth herein, are established pur-

suant to the federal regulations at 7 CFR

Part 226 CACFP, 45 CFR Part 98 CCDBG,

Parts 255, 256, 257 Title 4-E, the New

Mexico Public Health Act, Sections 24-1-2

and 24-1-5 NMSA 1978, and the New

Mexico Children’s Codes, Section 32A-15-

2-3 NMSA 1978. These regulations are

promulgated by authority 9-2A-7 NMSA

1978. Child care homes registered pursuant

to these regulations for participation in the

child and adult care food program (CACFP)

and child care assistance programs (CCAP)

are health facilities within the scope of

Sections 24-1-2, 24-1-5 NMSA 1978, and

Section 32A-15-3 NMSA 1978.

[8.17.2.3 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.3 NMAC,

08/31/06]



diseases/conditions as identified by the

New Mexico department of health which

require immediate reporting to the office of

epidemiology which include but are not

limited to: measles, pertussis, food borne

illness, hepatitis and acquired immune defi-

ciency syndrome.

I. “Primary caregiver”

means a family day care home provider 18

years of age or older who is personally pro-

viding care to non- resident children, less

than 24 hours a day, in his/her own resi-

dence and has completed a self certification

registration form and paid the required fee.

J. “Registered family

child care home” means the residence of an

independent caregiver who registers the

home under these regulations to participate

in the child and adult care food program or

as a vendor in the state and federal child

care assistance programs.

K. “Resident child” means

any child who resides in the home, such as

provider’s own children by birth or adop-

tion, foster children, grandchildren, or

cohabitant’s children who are part of the

residential unit.

L. “Second caregiver”

means someone 18 years of age or older

who is authorized by the primary

caregiver and the day care home sponsoring

organization to provide care in the absence

of the primary caregiver and is required to

complete all the items required of primary

caregivers, including background check

clearance in accordance with the most cur-

rent provisions of 8.8.3 NMAC Governing

Background Checks and Employment

History Verification provisions, annual

training hours and initial orientation and

training for participation in the CACFP

and/or the child care assistance program.

[8.17.2.7 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.7 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.8 APPLICATION: An

independent caregiver who wants to partic-

ipate in the federal child and adult care food

program and state and federal child care

assistance programs must register as a fam-

ily child care home provider by submitting

a completed self-certification and registra-

tion agreement and paying the processing

charge. One provider per household can be

registered. All registered homes receiving

child care assistance subsidies must be

enrolled and participate in the CACFP,

unless they are exempt.

[8.17.2.8 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.8 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.9 C A R E G I V E R

REQUIREMENTS:

A. All caregivers, includ-

ing primary, second and emergency care-

givers must be at least 18 years of age, and

must be mentally, physically and emotional-

ly able to provide appropriate care for chil-

dren.

B. Emergency caregivers

may provide care on unforeseen, unforesee-

able and rare occasions.  Anyone who pro-

vides care repeatedly and/or in reasonably

foreseeable circumstances is a second care-

giver and must have the required back-

ground checks.

C. In the event care is pro-

vided by an emergency caregiver, all par-

ents/guardians must be notified as promptly

as possible.

D. All caregivers are

responsible for immediately reporting to the

appropriate authorities any symptoms of

child abuse or neglect.

E. Primary and secondary

caregivers are required to attend six (6)

hours of training annually.  Training docu-

mentation must be maintained for three (3)

years and include the caregiver’s name, the

date of training, instructor’s name and sig-

nature, topic of training and number of

hours completed.  

F. Primary caregivers car-

ing for infants shall receive two hours of

infant specific training within six-months of

registration.

G. Primary caregivers are

required to attend first aid training during

their first year of registration.

H. Remaining hours of

training shall be within the seven competen-

cy areas. The competency areas are: 1) child

growth, development and learning; 2)

health, safety, nutrition and infection con-

trol; 3) family and community collabora-

tion; 4) developmentally appropriate con-

tent; 5) learning environment and curricu-

lum implementation; 6) assessment of chil-

dren and programs; and 7) professionalism.

[8.17.2.9 NMAC – N, 08/31/06]

8.17.2.10 B A C K G R O U N D

CHECKS:

A. All background checks

shall be conducted in accordance with the

most current provisions of 8.8.3 NMAC

Governing Background Checks and

Employment History Verification provi-

sions as promulgated by the children, youth

and families department. All non-licensed

child care providers must adhere to these

provisions to maintain their registration sta-

tus.

B. Child abuse and neglect

screens.  All adult members of the regis-

tered provider’s household, the registered

provider as primary caregiver, and all sec-

ond caregivers, must undergo a child abuse

and neglect screen.  Any person who is

present in the registered provider’s home

for significant periods while children are in

care, or who commences being present in

the registered provider’s home for signifi-

cant periods, may be required by the depart-

ment to obtain a child abuse and neglect

screen.

C. Criminal records

checks.

(1) If the registered provider is

caring only for relative children, the regis-

tered provider as primary caregiver must

undergo a state criminal records check.

Second caregivers who are caring only for

relative children also must undergo a state

criminal records check.

(2) If the registered provider is

caring for any non-relative children, the

registered provider as primary caregiver

must undergo federal as well as state crimi-

nal records checks. Second caregivers who

are caring for non-relative children also

must undergo a federal as well as a state

criminal records check.

D. The registered provider

must maintain documentation of all applica-

tions, correspondence and clearances relat-

ing to the background checks required in

this section.

[8.17.2.10 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.10 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.11 R E N E W A L :

Caregivers must renew registration annual-

ly, and only after receiving an onsite inspec-

tion by the sponsoring organization, by sub-

mitting a self-certification registration

agreement and paying the processing charge

with cashier’s check or a money order.

Providers who fail to renew registration by

the expiration date will not be eligible to

receive program benefits from either the

child and adult care food program or the

child care assistance program.

[8.17.2.11 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.11 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.12 ANNUAL CERTIFI-

CATION: Independent caregivers shall

certify upon renewal that they, or any other

adult living in the home, have not been con-

victed of a disqualifying offense during the

last twelve months.

[8.17.2.12 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.14 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.13 VISITS BY THE

SPONSORING AGENCY AND

DEPARTMENT REPRESENTATIVES:

Caregivers must consent to visits by the

children, youth and families department or

the child and adult care food program spon-

soring agency any time nonresident chil-

dren are present and/or, for relative care

only providers, during the provider’s stated

normal hours of operation.

[8.17.2.13 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.12 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.14 NON-TRANSFER-

ABILITY OF REGISTRATION:

A. The caregiver’s regis-
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tration agreement is personal, and not trans-

ferable to any other person or location.

B. If the caregiver moves

to a new location or has a change of name,

the caregiver must register again and pay

the processing charge.

[8.17.2.14 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.26 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.15 I N C I D E N T

REPORTS: Registered providers shall

notify CYFD immediately by phone of any

incident which results in significant harm to

a child or which places the child in immedi-

ate danger, such as but not limited to:

A. a lost or missing child;

B. the death of a child; or

C. the abuse or neglect of

a child.

[8.17.2.15 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.15 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.16 COMPLIANCE: By

completing and submitting the self-certifi-

cation registration agreement and annual

renewals, the independent caregiver certi-

fies the caregiver’s home complies with

these regulations.  The caregiver also agrees

to continue to meet these requirements, to

correct deficiencies promptly and to take

prompt action to resolve problems cited in

complaints filed with state agencies and

referred to the caregiver.

[8.17.2.16 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.9 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.17 N O N - C O M P L I -

ANCE:

A. Complaints received by

the children, youth and families department

shall be investigated promptly.

B. The children, youth and

families department may deny, suspend,

revoke or decline to renew registration at

any time it is reasonably determined that the

caregiver is not in compliance with registra-

tion standards, or is unable to maintain

compliance with registration standards.

C. Grounds to suspend,

revoke or decline to renew registration

include:

(1) failure to comply with the

group size and/or capacity requirement;

(2) health and safety violations

which place the children in immediate dan-

ger, including:

(a) a dwelling infested with ver-

min, including rodents, with no effort to

correct the problem;

(b) lack of basic sanitary facili-

ties, such as an open cesspool or open sewer

line draining onto the ground surface; and

(c) unlocked or unsecured

firearms in the home;

(3) background check denial;

(4) failure to timely obtain

required background checks;

(5) substantiated fraudulent activ-

ity in the CACFP or the CCAP;

(6) failure to allow access to the

registered home by authorized representa-

tives of the department or sponsor, at any

time that children are present in the regis-

tered home;

(7) substantiated non-compliance

with provider requirements to care for chil-

dren in the registered home as defined in the

enrollment documents;

(8) substantiated abuse and/or

neglect of children as determined by the

protective services division of CYFD or a

law enforcement agency;

(9) situations where the children

in care are placed in unreasonable and/or

unnecessary danger, including but not limit-

ed to:  evidence of illegal drug use in the

home, evidence of domestic violence in the

home, a convicted sex offender maintaining

residence in the home, accusations of sexu-

al child abuse against a household member,

or pending the outcome of a child protective

services referral; and

(10) any serious violation or other

circumstance which reasonably leads the

department to determine that the caregiver

cannot reliably safeguard the health and/or

safety of children.

D. Commencement of a

children, youth and families department or

law enforcement investigation may be

grounds for immediate suspension of regis-

tration pending the outcome of the investi-

gation.  Upon receipt of the final results of

the investigation, the department may take

such further action as is supported by the

investigation results.

E. The children, youth and

families department notifies the registered

provider in writing when registration is

denied, suspended or revoked, or if renewal

is declined.  The notification shall include

the reasons for the department’s action.  The

registered provider may obtain an adminis-

trative appeal of the department’s action.

F. The child care services

bureau notifies the family nutrition bureau

of any revocation or suspension of registra-

tion for a provider participating in the child

care assistance programs.

G. Providers whose regis-

tration has previously been suspended or

revoked may re-apply for registration.  The

child care services bureau may consider the

reasons for the previous action, as well as

changed and current circumstances, in

determining whether to allow the new appli-

cation.  The children, youth and families

department may require the registered

provider to implement specific actions, or to

agree to specific conditions, in order to

obtain re-registration.

H. The children, youth and

families department may require the regis-

tered provider to implement specific

actions, or to agree to specific conditions, in

order to maintain registered status.  Such

specific actions or conditions may be

required if the department has reasonable

grounds to determine they are needed to

assure the continued safe operation of the

registered home.  Examples:

(1) The department may require

caregiver(s) to complete additional training

if it appears that the caregiver has used

inappropriate discipline, and revocation is

not necessary under the circumstances.

(2) The department may require

that certain person(s) not be permitted to

enter the premises while care is being pro-

vided, if it reasonably appears that that per-

son(s) may pose a threat to health and/or

safety, or otherwise create a risk of harm to

children.

I. Registered providers

who are required to implement actions or to

agree to conditions pursuant to subsections

G or H, are notified in writing, and shall

have the opportunity for administrative

appeal.

[8.17.2.17 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.13 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.18 ADMINISTRATIVE

APPEAL RIGHTS:

A. Any registered provider

who receives notice that registration is

denied, revoked, suspended or that renewal

is denied, has a right to an administrative

appeal of the decision.  Any registered

provider who is required by the department

to implement specific actions, or to agree to

specific conditions, in order to maintain

registered status, has a right to administra-

tive appeal.

B. Administrative appeals

shall be conducted by a hearing officer

appointed by the department’s secretary.

C. If the suspension or

revocation is to take effect immediately, or

if required conditions of continued opera-

tion are to take effect immediately, the

department affords the registered provider

the opportunity for an administrative appeal

within 5 working days.  If registration is

suspended pending the results of an investi-

gation, the provider may elect to postpone

the hearing until the investigation has been

completed.

D. If the contemplated

action does not take immediate effect, and

the registered home provider is given

advance notice of the contemplated action,

the registered provider is allowed 10 work-

ing days from date of notice to request an

administrative appeal.

E. For any action taken by

the department pursuant to section

8.17.2.19 of this regulation, the applicable
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hearing procedure shall be that contained in

section 8.17.2.19.

[8.17.2.18 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.27 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.19 PROBABLE CAUSE

OF IMMINENT DANGER:

A. In circumstances in

which Public Health Act NMSA 1978 sec-

tion 24-1-5(N) (2005) may apply, and in

which other provisions of this regulation are

not adequate to protect children from immi-

nent danger of abuse or neglect while in the

care of a provider, the provisions of section

24-1-5(N) shall apply as follows:

(1) The department shall consult

with the owner or operator of the child care

facility.

(2) Upon a finding of probable

cause, the department shall give the owner

or operator notice of its intent to suspend

operation of the child care facility and pro-

vide an opportunity for a hearing to be held

within three working days, unless waived

by the owner or operator.

(3) Within seven working days

from the day of notice, the secretary shall

make a decision, and, it if is determined that

any child is in imminent danger of abuse or

neglect in the child care facility, the secre-

tary may suspend operation of the child care

facility for a period not in excess of fifteen

days.

(4) Prior to the date of the hear-

ing, the department shall make a reasonable

effort to notify the parents of children in the

child care facility of the notice and opportu-

nity for hearing given to the owner or oper-

ator.

(5) No later than the conclusion of

the fifteen day period, the department shall

determine whether other action is warranted

under this regulation.

B. Nothing in this section

of the regulation shall be construed to

require registration that is not otherwise

required in this regulation.

[8.17.2.19 NMAC - N, 08/31/06]

8.17.2.20 GROUP COMPOSI-

TION REQUIREMENTS:

A. A caregiver will care

for no more than four (4) non-resident chil-

dren at any one time.

B. A caregiver will care

for no more than two (2) children under two

(2) years old at any one time, including the

provider’s own children.

C. A caregiver will care

for no more than six (6) children under six

(6) years old at any one time, including the

provider’s own children.

D. Shifts are allowed pro-

vided there are never more than four (4)

non-resident children present at any one

time, including change of shifts.

E. The primary caregiver

will be physically present and actively

involved in the care of nonresident children

during the designated hours of child care as

noted in the child enrollment forms, except

for short absences when another approved

caregiver is present, or emergencies.

Regular outside employment is not consid-

ered a short absence.

[8.17.2.20 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.21 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.21 HEALTH AND

SAFETY REQUIREMENTS:

A. A caregiver will main-

tain the home, grounds and equipment in

safe condition. The home and grounds must

be clean and free of debris or other poten-

tially dangerous hazards. All equipment

must be in good repair.

B. All electrical outlets

within reach of children will have safety

outlets or have protective covers.

C. A caregiver will not use

multiple plugs or gang plugs unless surge

protection devices are used.

D. A caregiver will keep

the temperature of inside areas used by chil-

dren at no less than 68 degrees (fahrenheit)

and no more than 82 degrees (fahrenheit). A

home may use portable fans if the fans are

secured and inaccessible to children and do

not present any tripping, safety or fire haz-

ard.

E. The home must be ade-

quately ventilated at all times.

F. All gas-fired equipment

and water heaters must have a 100% cutoff

valve and be city/county inspected and

approved.

G. All homes will have hot

and cold running water. Water coming from

a faucet will be below 110 degrees (fahren-

heit) in all areas accessible to children.

H. A caregiver must pro-

vide safe playing areas inside and outside

the home.

I. A caregiver will keep

all poisons, toxic materials, cleaning sub-

stances, alcohol, and sharp and pointed

objects in a storage area inaccessible to chil-

dren.

J. The home provider

must have a working telephone in the home

at all times when non-resident children are

present. The caregiver must have the tele-

phone within sixty (60) days of registration.

The CYFD may waive the telephone

requirement if the caregiver lives in a rural

area where phone service is not available or

for other circumstances as approved by

CYFD.

K. A caregiver will post

emergency numbers for the police, fire

department, ambulance, and poison control

center  by the telephone.

L. A caregiver will fence

the outside play area when it is next to a

highway, busy street, ditch or arroyo, or

other hazardous area. The fence will have

one latched gate for emergency exits.

M. A caregiver will install

at least one working smoke detector in an

appropriate area in the home.

N. A caregiver will store

all firearms, such as rifles and handguns, in

a locked area inaccessible to children.

O. A caregiver will prohib-

it smoking and the consumption of alco-

holic beverages or illegal drugs when non-

resident children or, for relative care only

providers, when related children are pres-

ent.

P. The home will have at

least one 2A-10BC fire extinguisher mount-

ed near the exit of the kitchen. It must be

visible and readily available for use and in

operable condition at all times.

Q. A caregiver will store

combustible and flammable materials in a

safe area away from water heater rooms,

furnace rooms, or laundry rooms.

R. In case of fire, the care-

giver’s first responsibility is to evacuate the

children to safety. An up to date emergency

evacuation and disaster preparedness plan

must be available.

S. A home will have two

(2) major exits readily accessible to chil-

dren.

T. Toys and objects

(including high chairs) are safe, durable,

easy to clean and nontoxic.

U. Children will not use a

common towel or wash cloth. All toilet

rooms used by children will have toilet

paper, soap and disposable towels.

V. The home will have a

first aid kit stored in a convenient place

inaccessible to children. The kit will contain

at least band-aids, gauze pads, adhesive

tape, scissors, soap, non-porous latex

gloves, and a thermometer.

W. A caregiver will ensure

that all pets in the home are inoculated as

required by law and will keep proof of inoc-

ulations.

X. A caregiver will change

wet and soiled diapers and clothing prompt-

ly. A caregiver will not change a diaper in a

food preparation area. Caregivers will disin-

fect the diaper-changing surface and wash

their hands and the child’s hands after every

diaper change.

Y. Children may be trans-

ported only in vehicles that have current

registration and insurance coverage.  All

drivers must have current driver’s license

and comply with motor vehicle and traffic

laws. A child shall only be transported if the

child is properly secured in an age appropri-

ate restraining device.

[8.17.2.21 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.22 NMAC,

08/31/06]
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8.17.2.22 MEAL REQUIRE-

MENTS:

A. Children will not use

common eating or drinking utensils.

B. A caregiver will pro-

vide readily accessible drinking water in

sanitary cups or glasses.

C. Meals must meet age-

appropriate USDA requirements, including

the following meal components: one (1)

serving of meat or alternate; two (2) serv-

ings of fruits or vegetables; one (1) serving

of bread or alternate and one (1) serving of

fluid milk. A caregiver must serve whole

milk to children one to two years old.

D. A caregiver must keep a

daily menu.

E. Caregivers will serve

meals family style and allow children to

assist in the preparation and serving of food

and snacks.

F. Caregivers will feed

children a meal or snack every three (3)

hours.

G. Caregivers and children

will wash their hands regularly and before

each meal time.

H. Caregivers will keep

food requiring refrigeration, including for-

mula, at 41 degrees fahrenheit or below.

I. Refrigerators shall have

working thermometers.

[8.17.2.22 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.23 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.23 RECORD KEEPING

REQUIREMENTS: Caregivers must keep

an information card for each child with:

A. the child’s full name;

B. the child’s birth date;

C. any known food or drug

allergies or unusual physical condition;

D. the name, telephone

number, and location of a parent or other

responsible adult to be contacted in any

emergency;

E. the name and telephone

number of the child’s physician;

F. authorization from a

parent or guardian for the caregiver to seek

professional medical care in an emergency;

G. written permission

from a parent or guardian for the caregiver

to administer medication prescribed by a

physician or requested by the parent; and,

H. an immunization record

showing current, age-appropriate immu-

nizations for each child or a written waiver

for immunizations granted by the depart-

ment of health.

[8.17.2.23 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.24 NMAC,

08/31/06]

8.17.2.24 C A R E G I V I N G

RESPONSIBILITIES:

A. A caregiver will use

discipline that is positive, consistent and

age-appropriate. The caregiver will not use:

(1) physical punishment of any

type;

(2) withdrawal of food;

(3) restriction of rest or bathroom

opportunities;

(4) any form of public or private

humiliation, including yelling or threats of

physical punishment;

(5) isolation or unsupervised sep-

aration; or

(6) any other type of punishment

that is hazardous to the physical, emotional

or mental state of the child.

B. Each home must offer

children activities and experiences that are

developmentally appropriate, allow chil-

dren choices, and promote positive social,

emotional, physical and intellectual growth

and well being. Caregivers will schedule

activities in these areas. A caregiver will

schedule routine activities such as meals,

snacks, rest periods, and outdoor play to

provide structure to the children’s daily rou-

tine. Other activities should be flexible

based on changes in the children’s interests.

A caregiver will also provide a variety of

indoor and outdoor equipment to meet the

children’s developmental interests and

needs. Equipment will encourage large and

fine muscle activity, solitary and group play

and active and quiet play. Television, video-

tapes and video games should be limited to

two hours a day and should be age-appro-

priate.

C. Caregivers of infants

will allow them to creep, crawl or toddle

and will hold them for bottle-feeding and at

other times. Caregivers will allow infants to

eat and sleep on their own schedules.

[8.17.2.24 NMAC - Rp, 8.17.2.25 NMAC,

08/31/06]

HISTORY OF 8.17.2 NMAC:
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ISD CCAP 500, Provider Selection and

Payment, 11/4/91

History of Repealed Material:

8 NMAC 17.2, Requirements Governing

Registration of Non-Licensed Family Child

Care Homes - repealed 8/1/00.

8.17.2 NMAC, Requirements Governing

Registration of Non-Licensed Family Child

Care Homes - repealed 11/30/01.

8.17.2 NMAC, Requirements Governing

Registration of Non-Licensed Family Child

Care Homes - repealed 11/1/02.

8.17.2 NMAC, Requirements Governing

Registration of Non-Licensed Family Child
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Care Homes - repealed 8/31/06.
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NEW MEXICO CHILDREN,

YOUTH AND FAMILIES

DEPARTMENT
FAMILY SERVICES DIVISION

This is an amendment to sections 8.15.2.7,

8.15.2.8, 8.15.2.10, 8.15.2.16, 8.15.2.17,

and 8.15.2.21 of 8.15.2 NMAC, effective

8/31/06. Section 8.15.2.15 is under consid-

eration and will be amended at a later date.

8.15.2.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Attending a job train-

ing or educational program” means being

physically present and actively participating

in a job training or educational program.

B. “Child with special

needs” means a child with a medically doc-

umented condition, which results in physi-

cal or mental incapacity requiring care and

supervision by an adult.

C. “Closure” means the

child care case is closed due to the client no

longer having a need for child care assis-

tance in accordance with program policy,

being determined ineligible due to receipt of

income in excess of the income guideline,

moving out of state, failing to recertify in

accordance with program procedures, com-

pleting or withdrawing from an educational

or training program or being disqualified

from participation in the program.

D. “Co-payment” means

the portion of the approved and agreed upon

monthly child care cost for clients receiving

child care assistance that the client is

required to pay to the child care provider.

The department’s payment to the provider is

reduced by the co-payment amount.

E. “Department” means

the New Mexico children, youth and fami-

lies department.

F. “Earned income”

means income received as wages from

employment or as profit from self-employ-

ment.

G. “Star level” means a

license indicating the level of quality of an

early childhood program. A greater number

of stars indicates a higher level of quality.

The AIM HIGH essential elements, as

approved by the child development board,

are the criteria that will be used for deter-

mining the number of stars.

H. “Incidental money”

means earnings of a minor child for occa-

sional work performed such as baby-sitting,

cutting lawns, and other similar activities.

I. “Infant, toddler, pre-



school, school age” means the age cate-

gories used for assigning child care provider

reimbursement rates, defined as follows:

(1) infant: 0-23 months;

(2) toddler: 24 -35 months;

(3) preschool: 3 to 5 year olds;

and

(4) school age: 6 year olds and

older.

J. “Job training and edu-

cational program” means participation in a

short or long term educational or training

program which provides specific job skills

which allow the participant to enter the

workforce and/or directly relate to enhanc-

ing job skills, including but not limited to

the acquisition of a general equivalency

diploma (GED), English as a second lan-

guage, literacy training, vocational educa-

tion training, secondary education including

adult basic education and accredited high

school programs, and post secondary insti-

tutions.

K. “National accreditation

status” means the achievement and mainte-

nance of accreditation status by an accredit-

ing body that has been approved by CYFD.

Approval of an applicant accrediting body

by CYFD is pursuant to procedures estab-

lished by CYFD and requires, at a mini-

mum, that the applicant accrediting body

meets the following criteria: 1) is national in

scope and practice; 2) has a process to

ensure that interim quality is maintained by

the accredited entity; 3) meets or exceeds

the standards of one of the following nation-

al accrediting bodies: the national associa-

tion for the education of young children

(NAEYC); the national early childhood

program accreditation (NECPA); the

American Montessori society (AMS); the

Montessori school accreditation commis-

sion (MSAC); the national association of

family child care (NAFCC); the council of

accreditation (COA);  the national after

school association (NAA);  or the associa-

tion of Christian schools international

(ACSI);  and 4) promotes indicators of qual-

ity which address, at a minimum, the fol-

lowing: staff training, director and staff

qualifications, curriculum and environment,

program administration, and staff/child

ratios.

L. “Non-traditional hours

of care” means care provided between the

after hours of 7 p.m. and 7 a.m. Monday

through Friday and/or care provided during

weekend hours between 12:00 a.m.

Saturday morning and 12:00 a.m. Monday

morning.

M. “Open case” means a

case that has not been closed as a result of a

failure to recertify, or that has not been

closed due to becoming otherwise ineligible

for child care assistance benefits.

N. “Overpayment” means

a payment of child care assistance benefits

received by a client or provider for which

they are ineligible based on incomplete or

inaccurate information provided by either

the client or the provider, or agency error.

O. “Protective services

child care” means child care services for

children placed in the custody of the protec-

tive services of the department.

P. “Provider types” means

the characteristics of child care providers,

which determine their approved reimburse-

ment rate, capacity, staffing levels etc. as

follows:

(1) “In-home” care means care

provided in the child’s own home.

(2) “Registered home” means

child care provided in the home of a

provider who is registered with the depart-

ment’s child and adult care food program to

care for up to four (4) children. All regis-

tered homes receiving child care assistance

subsidies must be enrolled and participate in

the child and adult care food program

(CACFP), unless they are ineligible.

(3) “Licensed family child care

home” means child care provided in the

home of a provider who is licensed by the

department to care for up to six (6) children.

(4) “Licensed group child care

home” means child care provided in the

home of a provider who is licensed by the

department to care for up to twelve (12)

children.

(5) “Licensed center” means child

care provided in a non-residential setting,

which is licensed by the department to pro-

vide such care.

(6) “Out of school time care”

means child care provided to a school age

child up to age thirteen immediately before

and/or immediately after a regularly sched-

uled school day and/or when regular school

is not in session.

[(7)    “Provisional provider”

means a child care provider selected by the

parent who is not already registered or

licensed. The provider is allowed a 45 cal-

endar day grace period in which to become

registered or licensed.]

Q. “ R e c e r t i f i c a t i o n ”

means the process by which a client’s eligi-

bility to continue to receive child care assis-

tance benefits are determined.

R. “Registration/educa-

tional fee” means a fee charged to private

pay and families receiving child care assis-

tance for materials and supplies.

S. “Residing with” means

living in a household which provides shelter

and care to a child during the non-working

hours of the child’s parent or guardian.

T. “Suspension” means

that the child care case is kept open, but

benefits are not paid.

U. “TANF” means the

temporary assistance to needy families pro-

gram administered by the U.S. department

of health and human services.  TANF is the

successor to the aid to families with depend-

ent children (AFDC) program and provides

cash assistance to qualified low-income

families with dependent children.

V. “Teen parent” means a

biological parent under the age of 20 who is

attending high school or working towards a

general equivalency diploma (GED).

W. “Termination” means

the child care case is terminated due to

cause.

X. “ U n d e r p a y m e n t ”

means a payment made by the department

for services provided which did not fully

reimburse the client or provider.

Y. “Unearned income”

means income in the form of benefits such

as TANF, workmen’s compensation, social

security, supplemental security income;

child support, pensions, contributions, gifts,

loans, and grants which does not meet the

definition of earned income.

Z. “Waiting list” means a

list of families who have applied for child

care services during a period of lack of

funding.

AA. “Working” means

employment of any type, including self-

employment.  For TANF recipients, this

includes work experience and/or communi-

ty service or any other activity that meets

the TANF work activity requirements.

BB. “CACFP” means the

child and adult care food program, adminis-

tered by the children, youth and families

department.

[8.15.2.7 NMAC - Rp, 8.15.2.7 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 09/15/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.15.2.8 TYPES OF CHILD

CARE: These policies apply to child care

assistance benefits provided to eligible chil-

dren for the following types of child care to

ensure that parents have a variety of child

care services from which to choose:

A. child care programs

administered by public schools and post-

secondary institutions that provide on-site

care for the children of students;

B. child care programs

administered by tribal entities;

C. child care programs

administered by church or religious organi-

zations;

D. in-home care;

E. child care in licensed

centers;

F. child care in registered

family childcare homes;

G. child care in licensed

family and group childcare homes;

H. out of school time pro-

grams; and

I. programs operated by

employers for their employees[; and

J. provisional providers].
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[8.15.2.8 NMAC - Rp, 8.15.2.8 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.15.2.10 A P P L I C A T I O N

PROCESS: Clients apply for child care

assistance benefits by presenting the fol-

lowing documents to establish eligibility in

person, or by mail, at the local child care

office:

A. a completed signed

application form;

B. proof of earned income

or participation in the temporary assistance

to needy families (TANF) program or the

food stamp employment and/or training

(E&T) program; social security numbers

may be used to establish TANF participa-

tion or receipt of child care support;

C. school schedule, if

applicable;

[D. social security numbers

for all members of the household;]

[E.] D. birth certificates for all

applicant children;

[F.] E. proof of unearned

income;

[G.] F. proof of residency; and

[H.] G. the name, address,

phone number, and social security number

of the provider selected to care for the chil-

dren;

[I.] H. assistance is provided

effective the first day of the month of appli-

cation if all of the following apply:

(1) the client is utilizing child care

services;

(2) the client is employed, attend-

ing school or a training program; and

(3) the provider to be paid was

providing care from the first day of the

month forward.

[8.15.2.10 NMAC - Rp, 8.15.2.10 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.15.2.16 D E P A R T M E N T

RESPONSIBILITIES:

A. The department pays

child care providers who provide child care

services to department clients in a timely

manner.

B. Child care assistance

workers perform all casework functions in a

timely manner, including the processing of

payments and notifications of case actions.

C. Child care assistance

workers notify clients and providers in writ-

ing of all actions, which affect services,

benefits, or provider payments or status, cit-

ing the applicable policy.

D. Child care assistance

workers determine eligibility for all child

care assistance programs except for TANF

and E&T.  Eligibility for TANF and food

stamp E&T program is determined by the

New Mexico human services department.

E. Child care assistance

workers must inform parents of their right

to choose their child care providers and pro-

vide information on how to look for quality

child care in a provider.

F. The department and

other organizations approved by the depart-

ment provide information and orientation

programs regarding child care assistance

benefits, quality child care issues, and the

impact of child care on the child’s physical,

mental, social and emotional development

to parents and providers.

G. The department and

other organizations approved by the depart-

ment offers provider education programs

consisting of training on program participa-

tion requirements, parent and provider

responsibilities, licensing and registration

requirements, payment issuance and [crimi-

nal records] background check processing,

the competency areas for child care

providers as outlined by the office of child

development, or the department, the impor-

tance of providing quality child care, and

other topics of interest to parents and

providers. These education programs count

toward the continuing education hours

required of providers by registration and

licensing regulations.

[8.15.2.16 NMAC - Rp, 8.15.2.16 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.15.2.17 PAYMENT FOR

SERVICES: The department pays child

care providers on a monthly basis, accord-

ing to standard practice for the child care

industry.  Payment is based upon the child’s

enrollment with the provider as reflected in

the child care placement agreement, rather

than daily attendance.  As a result, most

placements reflect a month of service provi-

sion and are paid on this basis. However,

placements may be closed at any time dur-

ing the month. The following describes cir-

cumstances when placements may be

closed and payment discontinued at a time

other than the end of the month:

A. When the eligibility

period as indicated by the child care place-

ment agreement expires during the month,

including the end of a school semester; or

when the provider requests that the client

change providers or the provider discontin-

ues services; payment will be made through

the last day that care is provided.

B. When the client

requests a change of provider, regardless of

the reason, payment will be made through

the final day of the expiration of the four-

teen (14) calendar day notice issued to the

provider. Payment to the new provider

begins on the day care begins.

C. The amount of the pay-

ment is based upon the average number of

hours per week needed per child during the

certification period. The number of hours of

care needed is determined with the parent at

the time of certification and is reflected in

the provider agreement. Providers are paid

according to the units of service needed

which are reflected in the child care agree-

ment covering the certification period.

D. The department pays

for care based upon the following units of

service:
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E. Out of school time care provided by licensed child care providers who provide care for 6-19 hours per week are paid at

the 75% rate (part time 1).

F. Out of school time care provided by licensed child care providers who provide care for 20 or more hours per week are

paid at the 100% rate (full time).

G. Out of school time care provided for 5 hours or less per week are paid at the 25% rate (part time 3) regardless of provider

type.

H. Monthly reimbursement rates
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Full time  Part time 1  Part time 2  Part time 3  

Care provided for 
an average of 30 or 

more hours per 

week per month  

Care provided 
for an average of 

20-29 hours per 

week per month  

Care provided 
for an average 

of 6 -19 hours 

per week per 

month 

Care provider 
for an average 

of 5 or less 

hours per week 

per month 

Pay at 100% of full 
time rate 

Pay at 75 % of 
full time rate  

Pay at 50 % of 
full time rate  

Pay at 25% of 
full time rate  

 
 

 

Licensed child care centers  

 
 
 

 
Full time 

 
Part time 1  

 
Part time 2  

 
Part time 3  

 
 

 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural  

Infant 
 
$467.84 $410.22 

 
$350.88 

 
$307.67 

 
$233.92 

 
$205.11 

 
$116.96 

 
$102.56  

Toddler 
 
$417.19 

 
$381.10 

 
$312.89 

 
$285.82 

 
$208.60 

 
$190.55 

 
$104.30 

 
$95.27  

Pre-

school 

 
 

$386.48 

 
 

$354.49 

 
 

$289.86 

 
 

$265.87 

 
 

$193.24 

 
 

$177.25 

 
 

$96.62 

 
 

$88.62  
School 

age 

 
 

$337.11 

 
 

$324.43 

 
 

$252.83 

 
 

$243.32 

 
 

$168.56 

 
 

$162.22 

 
 

$84.28 

 
 

$81.11  
 

 
 

Licensed group homes (capacity: 7 -12)  
 

 
Full time 

 
Part time 1  

 
Part time 2  

 
Part time 3   

 
 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural  

Infant 
 
$370.48 $347.43 

 
$277.86 

 
$260.57 

 
$185.24 

 
$173.72 

 
$92.62 

 
$86.86  

Toddler 
 
$335.40 

 
$327.70 

 
$251.55 

 
$245.78 

 
$167.70 

 
$163.85 

 
$83.85 

 
$81.93  

Pre-

school 

 
 

$329.55 

 
 

$322.28 

 
 

$247.16 

 
 

$241.71 

 
 

$164.78 

 
 

$161.14 

 
 

$82.39 

 
 

$80.57 

School 

age 

 
 
$325.00 

 
 
$315.00 

 
 
$243.75 

 
 
$236.25 

 
 
$162.50 

 
 
$157.50 

 
 
$81.25 

 
 
$$78.75  

 

Licensed family homes (capacity: 6 or less)  

 
 
Full time 

 
Part time 1  

 
Part time 2  

 
Part time 3   

 
 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural  

Infant 
 
$365.20 $342.60 

 
$273.90 

 
$256.95 

 
$182.60 

 
$171.30 

 
$91.30 

 
$85.65  

Toddler 
 
$325.08 

 
$320.04 

 
$243.81 

 
$240.03 

 
$162.54 

 
$160.02 

 
$81.27 

 
$80.01  

Pre-

school 

 
 

$324.17 

 
 

$317.09 

 
 

$243.13 

 
 

$237.81 

 
 

$162.09 

 
 

$158.54 

 
 

$81.04 

 
 

$79.27  
School 
age 

 
 
$319.28 

 
 
$309.64 

 
 
$239.46 

 
 
$232.23 

 
 
$159.64 

 
 
$154.82 

 
 
$79.82 

 
 
$77.41   



I. The department pays a differential rate according to the location of the provider, license or registration status of the

provider, national accreditation status of the provider if applicable, Star level status of the provider if applicable, and in accordance with the

rate established for metro or rural location of the provider.  Providers located in the metropolitan statistical areas of the state as determined

by the U.S. census bureau receive the metropolitan rate. These include Bernalillo, Sandoval, Valencia, Santa Fe, Los Alamos, Dona Ana,

and San Juan counties.  All other providers receive the rural rate.

J. [The department pays a differential rate to former gold and silver licensed providers and providers holding national

accreditation status. Former gold and silver licensed providers receive an additional $100.00 per month and $33.00 per month, respective-

ly, for full time care above the base reimbursement standard.  In order to continue at these reimbursement rates a provider must meet and

maintain former gold and silver licensing requirements. If a former gold or silver licensed provider fails to meet the former gold and silver

licensing requirements this could result in the provider reimbursement reverting to a lower level of reimbursement.]  Providers holding

national accreditation status receive an additional [$100.00] $120.00 per child per month for full time care above the metro rate for type of

child care (licensed center, group home or family home) and age of child.  All licensed nationally accredited providers will be paid at the

metro rates for the appropriate age group and type of care.  In order to continue at this accredited reimbursement rate, a provider holding

national accreditation status must meet and maintain licensing standards and maintain national accreditation status without a lapse. If a

provider holding national accreditation status fails to maintain these requirements, this will result in the provider reimbursement reverting

to a lower level of reimbursement. The provider is required to notify the department immediately when a change in accreditation status

occurs.

K. The department pays a differential rate to providers achieving higher Star levels as follows:  2-Star at [$25.00] $45.00

per month per child for full time care above the base reimbursement rate; 3-Star at [$50.00] $70.00 per month per child for full time care

above the base reimbursement rate; 4-Star at [$75.00] $95.00 per month per child for full time care above the base reimbursement rate, and

5-Star at [$100.00] $120.00 per child per month for full time care above the base reimbursement rate.  In order to continue at these reim-

bursement rates, a provider must maintain and meet most recent star criteria and basic licensing requirements. If the provider fails to meet

the requirements, this will result in the provider reimbursement reverting to the level demonstrated. 

L. The department pays a differential rate equivalent to 5, 10, or 15% of the applicable full-time/part-time rate to providers

who provide care during non-traditional hours. Non-traditional care will be paid according to the following charts:

M. If a significant change occurs in the client’s circumstances, (for example, an increase or decrease in income, or a change

in work schedule) the child care placement agreement is modified and the rate of payment is adjusted.  The department monitors attendance

and reviews the placement at the end of the certification period when the child is re-certified.

N. The department may conduct provider or parent audits to assess that the approved service units are consistent with

usage.  Providers found to be defrauding the department are sanctioned.  Providers must provide all relevant information requested by the

department during an audit.

O. Payments are made to the provider for the period covered in the placement agreement or based on the availability of

funds, which may be shorter than the usual six month certification period. The client’s certification period may be established for a period

less than six months, if applicable to their need for care.

[8.15.2.17 NMAC - Rp, 8.15.2.17 NMAC, 02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.15.2.21 SANCTIONS: Sanctions may be imposed on clients/providers for failing to meet programmatic requirements which
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Registered homes and in -home child care   

 
 
Full time 

 
Part time 1  

 
Part time 2  

 
Part time 3   

 
 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural 

 
Metro 

 
Rural  

Infant 
 
$278.74 

 
$258.00 

 
$209.06 

 
$193.50 

 
$139.37 

 
$129.00 

 
$69.69 

 
$64.50  

Toddler 
 
$264.00 

 
$217.69 

 
$198.00 

 
$163.27 

 
$132.00 

 
$108.85 

 
$66.00 

 
$54.42  

Pre-

school 

 
 

$242.00 

 
 

$220.00 

 
 

$181.50 

 
 

$165.00 

 
 

$121.00 

 
 

$110.00 

 
 

$60.50 

 
 

$55.00  
School 

age 

 
 

$242.00 

 
 

$198.00 

 
 

$181.50 

 
 

$148.50 

 
 

$121.00 

 
 

$99.00 

 
 

$60.50 

 
 

$49.50 

 1-10 hrs/wk 11-20 hrs/wk 21 or more hrs/wk  

After hours  5% 10% 15% 

 1-10 hrs/wk 11-20 hrs/wk 21 or more hrs/wk  

Weekend hours  5% 10% 15% 



affect benefits and result in an overpayment.

Sanctions are imposed according to the

severity of the infraction as determined by

the department and as detailed below.

A. Providers or clients

who fail to make timely payments in the

case of recoupment of overpayments are

disqualified from the program until pay-

ment is brought current.

B. Providers or clients

who fail to report in a timely manner that a

child is not in attendance for ten consecu-

tive, scheduled days will have the payment

recoupment process initiated.

C. Providers who allow

their registration or license to lapse without

renewal will not be paid during the periods

for which the license or registration is not

current. Providers who lose national accred-

itation status or lose eligibility for payment

at any level of reimbursement for failure to

maintain the standards required to be paid at

that level of reimbursement, will not be paid

at that level of reimbursement beginning

with the first day of the month during which

the loss of accreditation or eligibility

occurred. Payment recoupment will be

sought for any period for which excessive

benefits have been paid.

D. Clients who fail to pay

co-payments may be disqualified until the

co-payment is paid and/or until an agree-

ment is made between the client and the

provider to bring the co-payment current.

The department assists the provider in col-

lecting the co-pay only if the co-pay has

been in arrears 30 calendar days or less.

E. Clients who fail to

timely report changes that affect their eligi-

bility resulting in an overpayment will be

sanctioned and payment recoupment will be

sought for the entire amount accruing from

the end of the 14 calendar days allowed for

notification through the date the client pro-

vides notice of the change to the depart-

ment. A first offense results in a written

warning and recoupment; a second offense

results in a 3-month suspension and recoup-

ment; and a subsequent offense results in

permanent disqualification.

[8.15.2.21 NMAC - Rp, 8.15.2.21 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Abuse” means any act

or failure to act, performed intentionally,

knowingly or recklessly, which causes or is

likely to cause harm to a child, including:

(1) physical contact that harms or

is likely to harm a child;

(2) inappropriate use of a physical

restraint, isolation, medication or other

means that harms or is likely to harm a

child; and

(3) an unlawful act, a threat or

menacing conduct directed toward a child

that results and/or might be expected to

result in fear or emotional or mental distress

to a child.

B. “Activity area” means

space for children’s activities where related

equipment and materials are accessible to

the children.

C. “Adult” means a person

who has a chronological age of 18 years or

older.

D. “AIM HIGH” is a vol-

untary quality child care improvement pro-

gram that is open to all registered and

licensed child care providers.

E. “Assessment of chil-

dren’s progress” means children’s progress

is assessed informally on a continuous basis

using a series of brief anecdotal records

(descriptions of the child’s behavior or

skills in given situations). Children’s

progress also can be assessed formally at

least twice a year using a developmental

checklist (checklist of behaviors that indi-

cate physical, motor, language, cognitive,

social and emotional

development/progress).

F. “Attended” means the

physical presence of a caregiver supervising

children under care.  Merely being within

eyesight or hearing of the children does not

meet the intent of this definition (See

Supervision, [Subsection PP] Subsection

FFF, 8.16.2.7 NMAC).

G. “Capacity” means the

maximum number of children a licensed

child care facility can care for at any one

time.

H. “Caregiver” means an

adult who directly cares for, serves, and

supervises children in a licensed child care

facility.

I. “Child” means a person

who is under the chronological age of eight-

een (18) years.

J. “Child care center”

means a facility required to be licensed

under these regulations that provides care,

services, and supervision for less than 24-

hours a day to children.  A child care center

is in a non-residential setting and meets the

applicable state and local building and safe-

ty codes.

K. “Class A deficiency”

means any violation or a group of viola-

tions, which have potential to cause injury

or harm if not corrected.

L. “Class B deficiency”

means any substantiated abuse or neglect of

a child or staff or exploitation which results

in injury or harm; or a violation or group of

violations which presents direct substantial

risk of harm.

M. “Class C deficiency”

means any substantiated abuse or neglect of

a child or staff or violation which results in

death, great physical or psychological harm.

N. “Core hours” means the

daily hours of operation of the center.

O. “Curriculum” is what

happens every day in the classroom and on

the playground. It includes every aspect of

the daily program. Curriculum derives from

the program’s mission statement, philoso-

phy (which, in turn, is based on assumptions

about young children’s development and

learning), and program goals and objec-

tives. It includes how materials and equip-

ment are used, activities that children and

adults participate in, and interactions among

children and between children and adults.

P. “Deficiency” means a

violation of these regulations.

Q. “Director” means the

person in charge of the day-to-day operation

and program of a child care center.

R. “Discipline” means

guidance, which fosters the child’s ability to

become self-disciplined. Disciplinary meas-

ures will be consistent and developmentally

appropriate (See Punishment).

S. “Environment” means

that the environment meets all required

local, state, and federal regulations. It

includes space (both indoors and outdoors)

with appropriate equipment and materials

that encourage children to engage in hands-

on learning. 

T. “Drop-in” means a

child who attends a child care facility on an

occasional or unscheduled basis.

U. “Facility” means any

premises licensed under these regulations

where children receive care, services, and

supervision (can be a center, home, pro-

gram, or other site where children receive

childcare).

V. “Family child care

home” means a private dwelling required to

be licensed under these regulations that pro-

vides care, services and supervision for a

period of less than twenty-four (24) hours of

any day for at least five (5) but no more than

six (6) children.  The licensee will reside in

the home and be the primary care giver.

W. “Star level” means a

license indicating the level of quality of an

early childhood program. A greater number

of stars indicates a higher level of quality.

X. “Group child care

home” means a home required to be

licensed pursuant to these regulations,
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which provides care, services, and supervi-

sion for at least seven (7) but not more than

twelve (12) children.  The licensee will

reside in the home and be the primary care

giver.

Y. “Home” means a pri-

vate residence and its premises licensed

under these regulations where children

receive care, services, and supervision. The

licensee will reside in the home and be the

primary care giver.

Z. “Infant” means a child

age six (6) weeks to twelve (12) months.

AA. “License” means a doc-

ument issued by CYFD to a child care facil-

ity licensed and governed by these regula-

tions and granting the legal right to operate

for a specified period of time, not to exceed

one year.

BB. “Licensee” means the

person(s) who, or organization which, has

ownership, leasehold, or similar interest in

the child care facility and in whose name

the license for the child care facility has

been issued and who is legally responsible

for compliance with these regulations.

CC. “Licensing authority”

means the child care services bureau -

licensing section of the family services divi-

sion of the New Mexico children, youth and

families department which has been granted

the responsibility for the administration and

enforcement of these regulations by author-

ity of Children, Youth and Families

Department Act, Section 9-2A-1 to 9-2A-16

NMSA 1978, as amended.

DD. “Mission statement,”

describes what the program aspires to do

and whom the program aspires to serve. 

EE. “Moral turpitude”

means conduct defined as such in the most

current version of the [Criminal Records]

Background Checks and Employment

History Verification provisions pursuant to

8.8.3 NMAC.

FF. “National accreditation

status” means the achievement and mainte-

nance of accreditation status by an accredit-

ing body that has been approved by CYFD.

Approval of an applicant accrediting body

by CYFD is pursuant to procedures estab-

lished by CYFD and requires, at a mini-

mum, that the applicant accrediting body

meets the following criteria: 1) is national in

scope and practice; 2) has a process to

ensure that interim quality is maintained by

the accredited entity; 3) meets or exceeds

the standards of one of the following nation-

al accrediting bodies: the national associa-

tion for the education of young children

(NAEYC); the national early childhood

program accreditation (NECPA); the

American Montessori society (AMS); the

Montessori school accreditation commis-

sion (MSAC); the national association of

family child care (NAFCC), the national

child care association (NCCA); the council

of accreditation (COA); the national after-

school association (NAA); or the associa-

tion of Christian schools international

(ACSI); and 4) promotes indicators of qual-

ity which address, at a minimum, the fol-

lowing: staff training, director and staff

qualifications, curriculum and environment,

program administration, and staff/child

ratios. 

GG. “Night care” means the

care, services and supervision provided by a

licensed child care facility to children

between the hours of 10:00 p.m. to 6:00

a.m.

HH. “Neglect” means the

failure to provide the common necessities

including but not limited to: food, shelter, a

safe environment, education, emotional

well-being and healthcare that may result in

harm to the child.

II. “Notifiable diseases”

means confirmed or suspected

diseases/conditions as itemized by the New

Mexico department of health which require

immediate reporting to the office of epi-

demiology which include but are not limit-

ed to:  measles, pertussis, food borne ill-

ness, hepatitis and acquired immune defi-

ciency syndrome.

JJ. “Orientation” means a

process by which the employer informs

each new employee, volunteer and substi-

tute, in advance of assuming their duties, of

the mission, philosophy, policies, and pro-

cedures of the program, including clear

direction about performance expectations.

KK. “Parent handbook” is a

written communication tool that provides

valuable information to families of the chil-

dren the program serves. It includes all mat-

ters of relevance to family members regard-

ing the program and is updated annually, or

as needed.

LL. “Pest” means any living

organism declared a pest pursuant to the

Pesticide Control Act.

MM. “Pesticide” means any

chemical substance or mixture of sub-

stances intended for preventing, destroying,

repelling or mitigating any pest.

NN. “Philosophy statement”

describes how the program’s mission will

be carried out. It reflects the values, beliefs,

and convictions of the program  about how

young children learn and describes the com-

ponents of the program that contribute to

that learning. It provides the program’s per-

spective on early care and education and the

nature of how children learn. The program’s

philosophy is implemented through the cur-

riculum.

OO. “Plan of correction”

means the plan submitted by the licensee

addressing how and when identified defi-

ciencies will be corrected.

PP. “Policy” is a written

directive that guides decision-making.

Policies form the basis for authoritative

action.

QQ. “Premises” means all

parts of the buildings, grounds, and equip-

ment of a child care facility licensed pur-

suant to these regulations.

RR. “Procedure” is a series

of steps to be followed, usually in a specif-

ic order, to implement policies.

SS. “Professional develop-

ment” is an on-going plan for continued

professional development for each staff

member, including the director.

TT. “Program administra-

tor” means the person responsible for plan-

ning or implementing the care of children in

the program. This includes but is not limit-

ed to making contact with parents, keeping

appropriate records, observing and evaluat-

ing the child’s development, supervising

staff members and volunteers, and working

cooperatively with the site director and

other staff members toward achieving pro-

gram goals and objectives. (This definition

applies only to the out of school time pro-

grams child care regulations.)

UU. “Punishment” means

the touching of a child’s body with the

intent of inducing pain.  This includes but is

not limited to pinching, shaking, spanking,

hair or ear pulling.  It also includes any

action which is intended to induce fear,

shame or other emotional discomfort.

VV. “Requirements” means

the criteria and regulations developed by

children, youth and families department in

8.16.2 NMAC; to set minimum standards of

care, education and safety for the protection

and enhancement of the well-being of chil-

dren receiving care, services or supervision.

WW. “Restriction” means to

control enrollment, service type, capacity,

activities, or hours of operation.

XX. “Revocation” means

the act of making a license null and void

through its cancellation. 

YY. “Sanction” means a

measure imposed by the licensing authority

for a violation(s) of these standards.

ZZ. “Staff evaluation”

means that each staff member is evaluated

by the director, using criteria from the indi-

vidual’s job description. The individual

being evaluated knows ahead of time the

criteria and procedures (which may include

self-evaluation) for which they are being

evaluated. The director discusses evaluation

results with each staff member, and results

are considered when determining salary

increments and are incorporated into the

individual’s professional development plan.

AAA. “Substitute” means an

adult who directly cares for, serves, and

supervises children in a licensed child care
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facility, who works in place of the regular

caregiver, and who works less than an aver-

age of forty (40) hours per month in a six

(6) month period.

[AAA.] BBB. “Suspension”

means a temporary cancellation of a license

pending an appeal hearing and/or correction

of deficiencies.

[BBB.] CCC. “Out of

school time program” means a school age

program at a specific site, usually a school

or community center, offering on a consis-

tent basis a variety of developmentally

appropriate activities that are both educa-

tional and recreational.

[CCC.] DDD. “Site direc-

tor” means the person at the site having

responsibility for program administration

and supervision of an out of school time

program.  This applies to out of school time

programs only.

[DDD.] EEE.

“Substantiated complaint” means a com-

plaint determined to be factual, based on an

investigation of events.

[EEE.] FFF.

“Supervision” means the direct observation

and guidance of children at all times and

requires being physically present with them.

The only exception is school-age children

who will have privacy in the use of bath-

rooms.

[FFF.] GGG. “ S u r v e y ”

means a representative of the licensing

authority enters a child care facility,

observes activity, examines the records and

premises, interviews parents and staff mem-

bers and records deficiencies.

[GGG.] HHH. “ T o d d l e r ”

means a child age twelve (12) months to

twenty-four (24) months.

[HHH.] III. “U/L” means

the underwriters laboratory, which is a stan-

dards organization which tests electrical and

gas appliances for safety.

[III.] JJJ. “Unattended” means a

caregiver is not physically present with a

child or children under care.

[JJJ.] KKK.

“Unsubstantiated complaint” means a com-

plaint not determined to be factual based on

an investigation of events.

[KKK.] LLL. “ Va r i a n c e ”

means an allowance granted by the licens-

ing authority to permit non-compliance

with a specified regulation for the period of

licensure. The granting of variances is at the

sole discretion of the licensing authority.

[LLL.] MMM. “ W a i v e r ”

means an allowance granted by the licens-

ing authority to permit non-compliance

with a specified regulation for a specified,

limited period of time. The granting of

waivers is at the sole discretion of the

licensing authority.

[8.16.2.7 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.7 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.8 RELATED REGU-

LATIONS AND CODES: Facilities sub-

ject to these regulations are also subject to

the current versions of the following regula-

tions and codes:

A. New Mexico health

[and environment] department regulations,

Control of Disease and Conditions of Public

Health Significance, 7.4.3 NMAC.

B. New Mexico health

[and environment] department regulations,

Control of Communicable Disease in

Health Facility Personnel, 7.4.4 NMAC.

C. New Mexico health

[and environment] department regulations,

Governing Public Access to Information in

the Department Records, 7.1.3 NMAC.

D. New Mexico [children,

youth and families department] department

of health regulations, Health Facility

Licensure Fees and Procedures, 7.1.7

NMAC.

E. New Mexico children,

youth and families department regulations,

[Adjudicatory Hearings, 7.1.2 NMAC]

Administrative Appeals, 8.8.4 NMAC.

F. New Mexico [children,

youth and families department] department

of health regulations, Health Facility

Sanctions and Civil Monetary Penalties,

7.1.8 NMAC.

G. New Mexico children,

youth and families department regulations,

Governing [Criminal Records] Background

Check and Employment History of

Licensees and Staff of Child Care Facilities,

[7.1.10 NMAC] 8.8.3 NMAC.

H. New Mexico health

[and environment] department, Food

Service and Food Processing, 7.6.2 NMAC.

I. Latest edition adopted

by the New Mexico state fire board of the

National Fire Protection Association Life

Safety Code Handbook 101.

J. Latest edition of the

Uniform Fire Code.

K. Latest edition adopted

by the New Mexico construction industries

division of the Uniform Building Code

enacted by the international conference of

building officials.

L. Latest edition of the

New Mexico Building,

Plumbing/Mechanical and Electrical codes

adopted by the New Mexico construction

industries division.

M. New Mexico depart-

ment of health Regulations Governing

Immunizations Required for School

Attendance Immunization Requirement,

7.5.2 NMAC.

[N. New Mexico health and

environment department, Regulations

Governing CCFP Family Day Care Home

Registration, effective October 8, 1986,

8.17.2 NMAC.]

[O.] N. Federal Americans with

Disabilities Act (ADA).

[P.] O. New Mexico depart-

ment of agriculture Regulations Pesticide

Control Act, Chapter 76, Article 4, Sections

1 through 39, NMSA 1978 and 21.17.50

NMAC.

P. Latest edition of

Critical Heights of Playground Equipment

for Various Types and Depths of Resilient

Surfaces Based on Information from the

U.S. CONSUMER PRODUCT SAFETY

COMMISSION (CPSC Publication

No.325), Handbook for Public Playground

Safety.

[8.16.2.8 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.8 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.11 LICENSING:

A. TYPES OF LICENS-

ES:

(1) Annual license: An annual

license is issued for a one-year period to a

child care facility that has met all require-

ments of these regulations.

(a) 1-star level requires meeting

minimum licensing requirements.

(b) 2-star level is voluntary and

requires meeting and maintaining minimum

licensing requirements and AIM HIGH

level 2 criteria at all times.

(c) 3-star level is voluntary and

requires meeting and maintaining minimum

licensing requirements and AIM HIGH lev-

els 2 and 3 criteria at all times.

(d) 4-star level is voluntary and

requires meeting and maintaining minimum

licensing requirements and AIM HIGH lev-

els 2, 3, and 4 criteria at all times.

(e) 5-star level is voluntary and

requires meeting and maintaining minimum

licensing requirements and maintaining

approved national accreditation status.

(2) TEMPORARY LICENSE:

The licensing authority will, at its discre-

tion, issue a temporary license when it finds

the child care facility in partial compliance

with these regulations.

(a) A temporary license can, at the

discretion of the licensing authority, be

issued for up to one-hundred-twenty (120)

days, during which time the child care facil-

ity will correct all specified deficiencies.

(b) The licensing authority will

not issue more than two (2) consecutive

temporary licenses.

(c) After a second temporary

license has been issued, a new application

and the required application fee must be

submitted in order to renew the license.

(3) AMENDED LICENSE: A

child care facility will submit a new appli-

cation to the licensing authority before

modifying information required to be stated

on the license; such as dates, capacity,

director, [address,] number of stars, etc.

(a) A child care facility will apply

to the licensing authority for an amended
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license in order to change the director.  The child care facility must notify the licensing authority within 24 hours after the child care facil-

ity becomes aware of the need to name a new director, submit an application (Fee $20.00) and, if necessary, appoint a temporary acting

director with the minimum requirements of a high school diploma or GED and 3 yrs of experience.  The temporary acting director’s appoint-

ment is valid for 30 days.

(b) A notarized application must be submitted for a change of capacity. (Fee $20.00) Application for an increase or decrease of

capacity will not be approved nor an amended license issued until an on-site visit has been made by the licensing authority to determine that

the child care facility meets all applicable codes and regulations.  A child care facility must not accept additional children or change the lay-

out of the child care facility until the licensing authority has approved and issued the amended license.

(c) A child care facility will apply to the licensing authority for an amended license in order to change the number of stars. An

application for a different star level will not be approved nor an amended license issued until on-site visits have been made and it has been

determined that the child care facility meets all applicable criteria. 

(4) RENEWAL OF LICENSE:

(a) A licensee will submit a notarized renewal application,  indicating the number of stars requested, on forms provided by the

licensing authority, along with the required fee, at least thirty (30) days before expiration of the current license. [Gold and] CYFD-approved

nationally accredited centers, homes and out of school time programs will submit copies of their current accreditation certificates along with

their renewal application. Applications postmarked less than thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date will be considered late and a twen-

ty five dollar ($25.00) late fee must be submitted with the renewal fee.

(b) The licensing authority will conduct an annual children’s protective services division screening for all center owners and direc-

tors, and all licensed homes caregivers and any other adults over the age of 18 living in the licensed homes.  Centers must maintain an orig-

inal criminal record check (CRC) clearance letter for all current employees and applicable volunteers, including a signed statement annual-

ly by each staff person certifying that they would not be disqualified as a direct provider of care under the most current version of the

[Criminal Records] Background Checks and Employment History Verification provisions pursuant to 8.8.3 NMAC.  This will include all

adults and teenage children living in a family child care or group child care home operated in a private residence.

(c) Upon receipt of a notarized renewal application, the required fee and the completion of an on-site survey, the licensing author-

ity will issue a new license effective the day following the date of expiration of the current license, if the child care facility is in compliance

with these regulations.

(d) If a licensee fails to submit a notarized renewal application with the required fee before the current license expires, the licens-

ing authority may require the agency to cease operations until all licensing requirements are completed.

[B. GRANDFATHERED SILVER AND GOLD LICENSES: Effective July 1, 2006, the department will not recognize

grandfathered gold and silver licenses. Those currently holding grandfathered silver licenses have the option to become accredited through

a nationally recognized body on their own and receive the accredited rate by July 2006, join AIM HIGH as a priority participant and strive

for whichever level desired to be reimbursed at the level they are performing on July 1, 2006; or revert to the base rate as of July 1, 2006.

Grandfathered gold licenses will be designated as AIM HIGH level five as long as accreditation is maintained. Accredited centers must meet

and maintain all licensing standards and their CYFD-approved national accreditation without a lapse in order to continue to receive aug-

mented child care reimbursement rates. The licensing authority may, at its option, notify the center’s accrediting body of the center’s fail-

ure to meet and maintain licensing standards.  Up until June 30, 2006 a silver level licensee must meet and maintain the following indica-

tors of quality in addition to the minimum licensing requirements:

(1) The director, site director (if applicable), and all care givers working with children in a class will verify successful completion

of the forty-five (45) hour entry level course or a higher level of training, e.g. child development associate (CDA), certified child care pro-

fessional credential (CCP), a Montessori teacher certification, a national administrator credential (NAC) or an associates of arts, bachelors

or higher degree.

(2) A child care center must be in self-study for CYFD approved national accreditation or have a well developed and written pro-

gram curriculum document reflecting developmentally appropriate practices. There must be daily written curriculum plans that reflect the

implementation of the curriculum.

(3) Program and operational goals will be developed, published and posted at least annually.

(4) Staff/child ratios where children are grouped by age:

                    (5)     Staff/child ratios where age groups are combined:
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Age in Group  

 

Staffing  

Six (6) weeks through twenty - 
four (24) months  

 

One (1) adult for every five (5) children or fraction of group  
thereof.  

Two (2) year s 

 

One (1) adult for every eight (8) children or fraction of group  
thereof.  

Three (3) years  

 

One (1) adult for every ten (10) children or fraction of group  
thereof.  

Four (4) years  

 

One (1) adult for every ten (10) children or fraction of group  

thereof.  

Five (5) years  

 

One adult for every twelve (12) children or fraction of group  

thereof.  

Six (6) years  

 

One (1) adult for every twelve ( 12) children or fraction of group thereof.  



(6) Group size is the number of children in an area supervised by a care giver(s). The definition of area as it pertains to group size

is a space delineated by a structure consisting of, but not limited to, a wall, folding door, shelving or other barriers. Barriers do not need to

limit an adult’s view of a larger area, but should provide children with a sense of separation from other groups, including sound attenuation,

visual barriers, and physical barriers which would limit free movement of children to other group areas.

(7) Maximum group:

(a) 6 weeks to 24 months old 10

(b) 2 year olds 16

(c) 3, 4 & 5 year olds 24

(d) 6 years + 24

(8) Children must be in the same group on a consistent basis. They will not be moved from group to group during the day except

during the early morning and late afternoon, a maximum of two (2) hours in the morning and two (2) hours in the afternoon. Staff/child

ratios must be met for each group.

(9) A grandfathered gold level licensee must provide a copy of current accreditation awarded by NAEYC, NECPA, affiliation with

a nationally recognized Montessori association, NCCA, NAFCC, the council of accreditation; NAA, ACSI or a comparable body which has

been approved by the children, youth and families department.

(10) A grandfathered gold licensee must meet the staff/child and group size ratios specified above for silver licensees.]

[C.] B. POSTING OF LICENSE: A child care facility will post the license on the licensed premises in an area readily visible

to parents, staff members, and visitors.

[D.] C. NON-TRANSFERABLE RESTRICTIONS OF LICENSE: A licensee will not transfer a license by assignment or oth-

erwise to any other person or location.  The license will be void and the licensee will return it to the licensing authority when:

(1) the owner of the child care facility changes;

(2) the child care facility moves;

(3) the licensee of the child care facility changes; or

(4) the child care facility closes.

[E.] D. AUTOMATIC EXPIRATION OF LICENSE: A license will expire automatically at midnight on the expiration date

noted on the license unless earlier suspended or revoked, or:

(1) on the day a child care facility closes;

(2) on the day a child care facility is sold, leased, or otherwise changes ownership or licensee;

(3) on the day a child care facility moves.

[F. REVOCATION OR SUSPENSION OF LICENSE WITHOUT PRIOR HEARING: In accordance with Section 24-1-5

NMSA 1978, the licensing authority will suspend or revoke a license immediately if action is required to protect human health and safety.

Under emergency circumstances, when the licensing authority has reason to believe that the health, safety or welfare of a child is at risk,

the licensing authority may immediately revoke or suspend a license.  The licensing authority will hold a hearing within three (3) working

days of the emergency suspension unless a hearing is waived by the licensee.  Otherwise, the licensing authority may revoke a license pur-

suant to the procedure set forth in 7.1.2. NMAC.  Upon a determination that a child care facility is not in compliance with any licensing

requirement of the department, the department may impose sanctions or civil monetary penalties as established and in accordance with 24-

1-5.2 NMSA 1978 Amended.  Intermediate sanctions; civil penalty may consist of:

(1) Emergency suspension or revocation of license or emergency intermediate sanction(s) for a class C deficiency.

(2) Sanction with the issuance of a temporary license for a class B deficiency.

(3) Temporary license with a directed plan of correction for a class A deficiency.

G. GROUNDS FOR ACTIONS AGAINST LICENSEE OR APPLICANT: The licensing authority may revoke, suspend or

restrict a license or deny an initial or renewal application, or impose monetary or other sanctions, or reduce to a base level of child care

assistance reimbursement those providers who are in receipt of a higher than base level of child care assistance reimbursement, pursuant to

procedures after notifying the licensee and providing them with the opportunity for a hearing, for any of the following reasons:

(1) violation of any provision of these regulations, especially when the licensing authority has reason to believe that the health,

safety or welfare of a child is at risk; 

(2) failure to allow access to the licensed premises by authorized representatives of the licensing authority;

(3) misrepresentation or falsification of any information on an application form or any other form or record required by the licens-

ing authority;

(4) allowing any person to be active in the child care facility who would be disqualified as a direct provider of care under the most

current version of the criminal records checks and employment history verification provisions pursuant to 8.8.3 NMAC.  This will include

all adults and teenaged children living in a family child care or group child care home operated in a private residence;

(5) hiring or continuing to employ any person whose health or conduct impairs the person’s ability to properly protect the health,

safety, and welfare of the children;

(6) allowing the number of children in the child care facility to exceed its licensed capacity;
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AGE IN GROUP  

 

                                         STAFFING   

Six (6) weeks through twenty - 
four (24) months  

 

One (1) adult to every five (5) children or fraction thereof.  

 

Two (2) Three (3) and Four  
(4) years 

 

One (1) adult to every ten (10) children or fraction thereof.  

 

Three (3) Four (4 ) and Five  
(5) years 

 

One (1) adult to every twelve (12) children or fraction thereof.  

 

Six (6) years  

 

One (1) adult to every twelve (12) children or fraction thereof.  



(7) failure to comply with provi-

sions of the other related regulations listed

in these regulations;

(8) discovery of repeat violations

of the regulations or failure to correct defi-

ciencies of survey findings in current or past

contiguous or noncontiguous licensure peri-

ods; 

(9) discovery of prior revocations

or suspensions that may be considered when

reviewing a facility’s application for licen-

sure or license renewal;

(10) loss of accreditation as

defined in Subsection Z of 8.16.2.7 NMAC,

regardless of reason, will result in a lower

level of reimbursement; or

(11) possessing or knowingly per-

mitting non-prescription controlled sub-

stances or illegal drugs to be possessed

and/or sold on the premises at any time,

regardless of whether children are present.]

[8.16.2.11 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.11 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 09/15/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.12 [HEARING PROCE-

DURES]

[A. Unless otherwise speci-

fied in these regulations, hearing procedures

for adverse action taken by the licensing

authority against a child care facility license

are held in accordance with children, youth

and families department regulations

Adjudicatory Hearings, 7.1.2 NMAC.

B. The licensing authority

will provide the child care facility with a

copy of the relevant regulations when an

adverse action is taken against its license or

a child care facility may request a copy at

any time from the licensing authority.]

LICENSINGACTIONS AND ADMINIS-

TRATIVE APPEALS:

A. The licensing authority

may revoke, suspend, or restrict a license or

deny an initial or renewal license applica-

tion, or impose monetary sanctions pursuant

to 7.1.8 NMAC, or impose other sanctions

or requirements against a licensee, or

reduce to a base level of child care assis-

tance reimbursement a licensee who is in

receipt of a higher than base level of child

care assistance reimbursement, for any of

the following reasons:

(1) violation of any provision of

these regulations, especially when the

licensing authority has reason to believe

that the health, safety or welfare of a child is

at risk, or has reason to believe that the

licensee cannot reasonably safeguard the

health and/or safety of children;

(2) failure to allow access to the

licensed premises by authorized representa-

tives of the licensing authority;

(3) misrepresentation or falsifica-

tion of any information on an application

form or any other form or record required

by the licensing authority;

(4) allowing any person to be

active in the child care facility who is or

would be disqualified as a direct provider of

care under the most current version of the

Background Checks and Employment

History Verification provisions pursuant to

8.8.3 NMAC; this will include all adults and

teenaged children living in a family child

care or group child care home operated in a

private residence;

(5) failure to timely obtain

required background checks;

(6) hiring or continuing to employ

any person whose health or conduct impairs

the person’s ability to properly protect the

health, safety, and welfare of the children;

(7) allowing the number of chil-

dren in the child care facility to exceed its

licensed capacity;

(8) failure to comply with provi-

sions of the other related regulations listed

in these regulations;

(9) discovery of repeat violations

of the regulations or failure to correct defi-

ciencies of survey findings in current or past

contiguous or noncontiguous licensure peri-

ods;

(10) discovery of prior revoca-

tions or suspensions that may be considered

when reviewing a facility’s application for

licensure or license renewal;

(11) loss of accreditation, regard-

less of reason, will result in a lower level of

reimbursement; or

(12) possessing or knowingly per-

mitting non-prescription controlled sub-

stances or illegal drugs to be present and/or

sold on the premises at any time, regardless

of whether children are present.

B. Commencement of a

children, youth and families department or

law enforcement investigation may be

grounds for immediate suspension of licen-

sure pending the outcome of the investiga-

tion.  Upon receipt of the final results of the

investigation, the department my take such

further action as is supported by the investi-

gation results.

C. The children, youth and

families department notifies the licensee in

writing of any action taken or contemplated

against the license/licensee.  The notifica-

tion shall include the reasons for the depart-

ment’s action.

D. The licensee may

obtain administrative review of any action

taken or contemplated against the

license/licensee.

E. The administrative

review shall be conducted by a hearing offi-

cer appointed by the department’s secretary.

F. If the action is to take

effect immediately, the department affords

the licensee the opportunity for an adminis-

trative appeal within 5 working days.  If the

license is suspended pending the results of

an investigation, the licensee may elect to

postpone the hearing until the investigation

has been completed.

G. If the contemplated

action does not take immediate effect, and

the licensee is given advance notice of the

contemplated action, the licensee is allowed

10 working days from date of notice to

request an administrative appeal.

H. In circumstances in

which Public Health Act NMSA 1978

Subsection N of Section 24-1-5 (2005) may

apply, and in which other provisions of this

regulation are not adequate to protect chil-

dren from imminent danger of abuse or neg-

lect while in the care of a provider, the pro-

visions of Subsection N of Section 24-1-5

shall apply as follows:

(1) The department shall consult

with the owner or operator of the child care

facility.

(2) Upon a finding of probable

cause, the department shall give the owner

or operator notice of its intent to suspend

operation of the child care facility and pro-

vide an opportunity for a hearing to be held

within three working days, unless waived

by the owner or operator.

(3) Within seven working days

from the day of notice, the secretary shall

make a decision, and, it if is determined that

any child is in imminent danger of abuse or

neglect in the child care facility, the secre-

tary may suspend operation of the child care

facility for a period not in excess of fifteen

days.

(4) Prior to the date of the hear-

ing, the department shall make a reasonable

effort to notify the parents of children in the

child care facility of the notice and opportu-

nity for hearing given to the owner or oper-

ator.

(5) No later than the conclusion of

the fifteen day period, the department shall

determine whether other action is warranted

under this regulation.

(6) Nothing in Subsection H of

8.16.2.12 NMAC shall be construed to

require licensure that is not otherwise

required in this regulation.

[8.16.2.12 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.12 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.18 [ C R I M I N A L

RECORDS] BACKGROUND CHECKS:

[Criminal background] Background checks

will be conducted in accordance with the

most current regulations related to

[Criminal Records] Background Checks

and Employment History Verification pro-

visions as promulgated by the children,

youth and families department pursuant to

8.8.3 NMAC. All licensed child care facili-

ties must adhere to these provisions to

maintain their licensing status.

[8.16.2.18 NMAC - Rp 8.16.2.18 NMAC,
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02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.20 LICENSURE:

A. L I C E N S I N G

REQUIREMENTS:

(1) APPLICATION FORM:  An

applicant will complete an application form

provided by the licensing authority and

include payment for the non-refundable

application fee.

(2) [CRIMINAL RECORDS]

BACKGROUND CHECK: The licensing

authority will provide a copy of the most

current version of the department’s

[Criminal Records] Background Check and

Employment History Verification provi-

sions, fingerprint cards and instructions for

completing them, and forms for recording

an employment history.  The licensee will

be responsible for obtaining [criminal

records] background checks on all staff,

volunteers, and prospective staff as per the

requirements outlined in the department’s

most current version of the [Criminal

Records] Background Check and

Employment History Verification provi-

sions. All requirements of the current

[Criminal Records] Background Check and

Employment History Verification provi-

sions pursuant to 8.8.3 NMAC must be met

prior to the issuance of an initial license.

(3) ZONING, BUILDING AND

OTHER APPROVALS:  An applicant will

have: current written zoning approval from

the appropriate city, county or state authori-

ty; current written building approval, such

as a certificate of occupancy, from the

appropriate city, county or state authority;

current written approval of the state fire

marshal office or other appropriate city,

county or state fire-prevention authority;

current written approval from the New

Mexico environment department or other

environmental health authority for:

(a) a kitchen, if meals are pre-

pared on site and served in the center;

(b) private water supply, if appli-

cable;

(c) private waste or sewage dis-

posal, if applicable; and

(d) a swimming pool, if applica-

ble.

(4) ACCESS REQUIREMENTS

FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILI-

TIES IN NEW CENTERS:

(a) Accessibility to individuals

with disabilities is provided in all new cen-

ters and will include the following:

(i) main entry into the

center is level or has a ramp to allow for

wheelchair access;

(ii) building layout

allows for access to the main activity area;

(iii)    access to at least

one bathroom is required to have a door

clearance of 32 inches;  the toilet unit also

provides a 60-inch diameter turning radius;

(iv) if ramps are provid-

ed to the building, the slope of each ramp is

at least a 12-inch horizontal run for each

inch of vertical rise; and

(v) ramps exceeding a

six-inch rise are provided with handrails.

(b) Requirements contained here-

in are minimum and additional disability

requirements may apply depending on the

size and complexity of the center.

(5) SCHEDULE: All applications

for a new license will include a description

of the center’s proposed activities and

schedule.

(6) INITIAL SURVEY: The

licensing authority will schedule a survey

for a center when it receives a complete

application with all supporting documents.

B. CAPACITY OF CEN-

TERS:

(1) The number of children in a

center, either in total or by age, will not

exceed the capacity stated on the license.

(2) The licensing authority will

count all children in the care of the licensed

facility, including school-age children and

the children of staff members and volun-

teers, in the capacity of the facility, even if

the children are on a field trip or other out-

ing outside the licensed premises.  The

licensed capacity must not be exceeded by

the presence of school-age children.

(3) A center must meet the fol-

lowing space requirements:

(a) Thirty-five (35) square feet of

indoor activity space measured wall to wall

on the inside for each child in a center,

excluding single-use areas, such as rest-

rooms, kitchens, halls and storage areas,

and excluding offsets and built-in fixtures.

(b) Seventy-five (75) square feet

of outdoor activity space for each child

using the area at one time. The center will

post the maximum capacity of the play-

ground on the premises.

C. INCIDENT REPORT-

ING REQUIREMENTS: A center will

report immediately by phone to the licens-

ing authority and follow-up in writing any

incident that has threatened or could threat-

en the health and safety of children and staff

members, such as, but not limited to:

(1) a lost or missing child;

(2) the death of a child;

(3) the abuse or neglect of a child;

(4) accidents, illness, or injuries

that require medical care beyond on-site

first aid;

(5) fire, flood, or other natural

disaster that creates structural damages to a

center or poses a health hazard;

(6) any of the illnesses on the cur-

rent list of notifiable diseases and commu-

nicable diseases published by the office of

epidemiology of the New Mexico depart-

ment of health;

(7) any legal action against a cen-

ter or staff members related to the care and

custody of children; and

(8) any declaration of intention or

determination to inflict punishment, loss,

injury or pain on child or staff member by

the commission of an unlawful act, such as,

but not limited to, a bomb threat.

D. A center will notify par-

ents or guardians in writing of any incident

including, notifiable illnesses, that have

threatened or could threaten the health or

safety of children in the center.  Incidents

include, but are not limited to those listed in

Subsection C of  8.16.2.20 NMAC.

E. Incident reports involv-

ing suspected child abuse and neglect must

be reported immediately by the licensing

authority to children’s protective services

and local law enforcement.  The licensing

authority follows written protocols/proce-

dures for the prioritization, tracking, inves-

tigation and reporting of incidents, as out-

lined in the complaint investigation proto-

col and procedures.

[8.16.2.20 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.20 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.21 ADMINISTRATIVE

REQUIREMENTS:

A. ADMINISTRATION

RECORDS:  A licensee will display in a

prominent place:

(1) all licenses, certificates, and

most recent inspection reports of all state

and local government agencies with juris-

diction over the center;

(2) the current child care regula-

tions;

(3) dated weekly menus for meals

and snacks;

(4) the [discipline] guidance poli-

cy; and,

(5) the current list of notifiable

diseases and communicable diseases pub-

lished by the office of epidemiology of the

New Mexico department of health.

B. MISSION, PHILOSO-

PHY AND CURRICULUM STATEMENT:

All licensed facilities must have a:

[(1) mission statement; that

describes:

(a) services the program aspires

to provide; and

(b) whom the program aspires to

serve.

(2) philosophy statement; that

includes:

(a) beliefs about children’s

growth, development and behavior;

(b) what and how children learn;

(c) adults roles in children’s

learning, specifically how adults guide or

control the teaching and learning process;

and

(d) a description of the environ-

ment and how it contributes to learning.

(3) curriculum statement; which
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includes:

(a) play as the primary mode of

learning;

(b) active engagement of chil-

dren;

(c) opportunities to make choices;

(d) opportunities to experiment

and explore; and

(e) promotion of children’s social

emotional development.]

(1) mission statement;

(2) philosophy statement; and

(3) curriculum statement.

C. POLICY AND PRO-

CEDURES:  All facilities using these regu-

lations must have written policies and pro-

cedures covering the following areas:

(1) actions to be taken in case of

accidents or emergencies involving a child,

parents or staff members;

(2) policies and procedures for

admission and discharge of children;

(3) policies and procedures for

the handling of medications;

(4) policies and procedures for

the handling of complaints received from

parents or any other person;

(5) policies and procedures for

actions to be taken in case a child is found

missing from the center;

(6) policies and procedures for

the handling of children who are ill;

(7) an up to date emergency evac-

uation and disaster preparedness plan

approved annually by the licensing authori-

ty;  the department will provide guidance on

developing these plans.

D. PARENT HAND-

BOOK: All facilities using these regulations

must have a parent handbook which

includes the following:

(1) GENERAL INFORMATION:

(a) mission statement;

(b) philosophy statement;

(c) program information (loca-

tion, [licensing status] license information,

days and hours of operation, services

offered);

(d) name of director and how

he/she may be reached;

(e) meals, snacks and types of

food served (or alternatively, guidelines for

children bringing their own food);

(f) daily schedule;

(g) expectations for parent

involvement (e.g. participating as a volun-

teer in classroom, home visits, parent con-

ferences, meetings/speakers, parent library

or other information, etc.);

(h) appropriate dress for children,

including request for extra change of

clothes; and

(i) celebrating holidays, birthdays

and parties.

(2) POLICIES AND PROCE-

DURES:

(a) enrollment procedures;

(b) disenrollment procedures;

(c) fee payment procedures,

including penalties for tardiness;

(d) notification of absence;

(e) fee credits, if any (e.g. for

vacations, absences, etc.);

(f) field trip policies;

(g) health policies (program’s

policies on admitting sick children, when

children can return after an illness, adminis-

tering medication, and information on com-

mon illnesses);

(h) emergency procedures and

safety policies;

(i) snow days and school closure;

(j) confidentiality policy;

(k) child abuse/neglect reporting

procedure; and

(l) guidance policy [; and]

[(m) copies of all forms identified

in section E below].

E. C H I L D R E N ’ S

RECORDS: A center will maintain a com-

plete record for each child, including drop-

ins, completed before the child is admitted.

Records will be kept at the center for twelve

(12) months after the child’s last day of

attendance.  Records will contain at least:

(1) PERSONAL INFORMA-

TION:

(a) name of the child; date of

birth, sex; home address, mailing address

and telephone number;

(b) names of parents or guardians,

parents or guardians current places of

employment, addresses, pager, cellular

and/or work telephone numbers;

(c) a list of people authorized to

pick up the child and an authorization form

signed by parent or guardian;

(d) date the child first attended the

center and the date of the child’s last day at

the center;

(e) a copy of the child’s up-to-

date immunization record or a public health

division approved exemption from the

requirement;

(f) a record of any accidents,

injuries or illnesses which require first aid

or medical attention [and any observations

of recent bruises, bites or signs of potential

abuse or neglect ]which must be reported to

the parent or guardian;

(g) a record of observations of

recent bruises, bites or signs of potential

abuse or neglect, which must be reported to

CYFD;

[(g)] (h) written authorization

from the child’s parent or guardian to

remove a child from the premises to partic-

ipate in off-site activities;

[(h)] (i) a record of the time the

child arrived and left the center and dates of

attendance initialed by a parent, guardian,

or person authorized to pick up the child;

[and]

[(i)] (j) an enrollment agreement

form which must be signed by a parent or

guardian with an outline of the services and

the costs being provided by the facility; and

[(j)] (k) a signed acknowledgment

that the parent or guardian has read and

understands the parent handbook.

(2) EMERGENCY INFORMA-

TION:

(a) Information on any allergies

or medical conditions suffered by the child.

(b) The name and telephone num-

ber of two (2) people in the local area to

contact in an emergency when a parent or

guardian cannot be reached. Emergency

contact numbers must be kept up to date at

all times.

(c) The name and telephone num-

ber of a physician or emergency medical

center authorized by a parent or guardian to

contact in case of illness or emergency.

(d) A document giving a center

permission to transport the child in a med-

ical emergency and an authorization for

medical treatment signed by a parent or

guardian.

(e) Documentation of the legal

status of the child, if applicable, such as, but

not limited to: restraining orders, guardian-

ship, powers of attorney, court orders, cus-

tody by children’s protective services, etc.

F. P E R S O N N E L

RECORDS:

(1) A licensee will keep a com-

plete file for each staff member, including

substitutes and volunteers working more

than eight (8) hours of any week and having

direct contact with the children.  A center

will keep the file for one (1) year after the

caregiver’s last day of employment.

Records will contain at least the following:

(a) name, address and telephone

number;

(b) position;

(c) current and past duties and

responsibilities;

(d) dates of hire and termination;

(e) documentation of a [criminal

records] background check and employ-

ment history verification;  all persons pro-

viding care are required to sign a statement

that they have, or have never had, an arrest

or substantiated referral to a child protective

services agency;  if the person has had an

arrest or a substantiated referral, they must

provide the [licensing authority] CYFD

with a written statement concerning the cir-

cumstances and disposition of the arrest

and/or substantiated referral;  an employer

will not allow any employee involved in an

incident which would disqualify that

employee under the department’s most cur-

rent version of the [Criminal Records]

Background Check and Employment

History Verification provisions pursuant to
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8.8.3 NMAC to continue to work directly

and/or unsupervised with children;

(f) documentation of current first-

aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation

training;

(g) documentation of all appropri-

ate training by date, time, hours and area of

competency;

(h) emergency contact number;

(i) universal precaution acknowl-

edgment form;

(j) personnel action form;

(k) confidentiality form;

[(l) W-4 and I-9;]

[(m)] (l) results of performance

evaluations;

[(n)] (m) administrative actions or

reprimands;

[(o)] (n) professional develop-

ment plan[;] or a written plan for each staff

member, based on the seven areas of com-

petency that is consistent with the career lat-

tice based on the individual’s goals; and

[(p)] (o) signed acknowledgment

that the staff have read and understand the

personnel handbook[; and

(q) a written plan for each staff

member, based on the seven areas of com-

petency that is consistent with the career lat-

tice based on the individual’s goals].

(2) A center will maintain dated

weekly work schedules for the director, all

staff, all care givers and volunteers and keep

the records on file for at least twelve (12)

months.  The record will include the time

the workers arrived at and left work and

include breaks and lunch.

G. PERSONNEL HAND-

BOOK: The center will give each employee

a personnel handbook that covers all mat-

ters relating to employment and includes the

following critical contents:

(1) organizational chart;

(2) job descriptions of all employ-

ees by title;

(3) benefits, including vacation

days, sick leave, professional development

days, health insurance, break times, etc.

(4) yearly calendar, including

meetings, holidays, professional develop-

ment, etc.

(5) code of conduct;

(6) training requirements, career

lattice, professional development opportu-

nities;

(7) procedures and criteria for

performance evaluations;

(8) policies on absence from

work;

(9) grievance procedures;

(10) procedures for resignation or

termination;

(11) copy of licensing regula-

tions;

(12) policy on parent involve-

ment;

(13) health policies related to

both children and staff; and

(14) policy on sexual harassment. 

[8.16.2.21 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.21 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.22 PERSONNEL AND

STAFFING:

A. GENERAL PERSON-

NEL AND STAFFING REQUIREMENTS:

(1) All care givers will have the

capability to care for and supervise chil-

dren.

(2) In addition to the basic

requirements in 8.16.2.18 NMAC of the

general provisions the licensee will be

responsible for obtaining [criminal records]

background checks on all staff, volunteers,

and prospective staff and volunteers.  The

licensing authority will provide a copy of

the regulations, fingerprint cards and

instructions, and forms for recording an

employment history.  Care givers who work

directly with children and who are counted

in the staff/child ratios must be eighteen

(18) years of age or older.

(3) Clerical, cooking and mainte-

nance personnel who also care for children

and are included in the staff/child ratio will

have a designated schedule showing their

normal hours in each role.  Care givers

counted in the staff/child ratios will not

have as their primary responsibility cook-

ing, clerical or cleaning duties while caring

for children.

(4) Substitutes, volunteers, and

part-time care givers counted in the

staff/child ratios will meet the same require-

ment as regular staff members except for

training requirements.  Substitutes, volun-

teers, and care givers routinely employed in

a center but working twenty (20) hours or

fewer a week will complete half the

required training hours.  Such employees

working more than twenty (20) hours a

week will meet full training requirements.

See Paragraph (2) of Subsection B of

8.16.2.32 NMAC for additional training

requirements.

B. STAFF QUALIFICA-

TIONS AND TRAINING:

(1) DIRECTOR QUALIFICA-

TIONS:

(a) Unless exempted under

Subparagraph (b) below, a child care center

will have a director who is at least twenty-

one (21) years old and has proof of a cur-

rent: 1) child development associate (CDA)

certificate, certified child care professional

credential (CCP), Montessori teacher certi-

fication, national administrator credential

(NAC), one-year vocational certificate, or

an associate of arts (AA) or applied science

(AAS) degree in child development or early

childhood education, and at least two (2)

years of experience in an early childhood

growth and development setting;  or 2) a

bachelor’s degree or higher in early child-

hood education  or a related field with at

least one (1) year of experience in an early

childhood growth and development setting.

Early childhood growth and development

settings include, but are not limited to,

licensed or registered family child care pro-

grams, licensed center-based early child-

hood education and development programs,

and family support programs.

(b) Current directors in a licensed

center not qualified under these regulations

will continue to qualify as directors as long

as they continuously work as a director.

Current directors having a break in employ-

ment of more than one (1) year must meet

the requirements as specified in

Subparagraph (a) above.

(2) TRAINING:

(a) The director will develop and

document an orientation and training plan

for new staff members and volunteers and

will provide information on training oppor-

tunities. The director will have on file a

signed acknowledgment of completion of

orientation by employees, volunteers and

substitutes as well as the director. New staff

members will participate in an orientation

before working with children.  Initial orien-

tation will include training on the following:

(i) scope of services,

activities, and the program offered by the

center;

(ii) emergency first aid

procedures, recognition of childhood illness

and indicators of child abuse;

(iii) fire prevention

measures and emergency evacuation plans;

(iv) review of licensing

regulations;

(v) policies regarding

discipline, child abuse reporting, and han-

dling of complaints;

(vi) review of written

policies and procedures as defined in

Subsection C of 8.16.2.21 NMAC;

(vii) center/parental

agreement;

(viii) sanitation proce-

dure;

(ix) written goals of the

program;

(x) personnel hand-

book;

(xi) parent handbook;

(xii) names and ages of

children;

(xiii) names of parents;

(xiv) tour of the facili-

ty; and

(xv) introduction to

other staff and parents.

(b) Effective July 1, 2005, new

staff members working directly with chil-

dren regardless of the number of hours per

week will complete the 45-hour entry level

course or approved 3-credit early care and

education course or an equivalent approved
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by the department prior to or within six

months of employment. Existing staff will

meet this requirement by December 31,

2005. Substitutes are exempt from this

requirement.

(c) All staff members working

directly with children and more than 20

hours per week, including the director will

have at least twenty-four (24) hours of train-

ing each year.  Training must address first

aid, CPR, infection control and at least three

(3) competency areas within one year and

all seven areas within two (2) years.  The

competency areas are 1) child growth,

development, and learning; 2) health, safe-

ty, nutrition, and infection control; 3) fami-

ly and community collaboration; 4) devel-

opmentally appropriate content; 5) learning

environment and curriculum implementa-

tion; 6) assessment of children and pro-

grams; and 7) professionalism.  Training

must be delivered by people who have rele-

vant education or experience in the compe-

tency area (or areas) in which they train.

Employees or relatives of employees who

provide training must have prior approval

by the department.

(d) Directors may count hours in

personnel and business training toward the

training requirement.

(e) Infant and toddler care givers

must have at least four (4) hours of training

in infant and toddler care within six (6)

months of starting work.  The four (4) hours

will count toward the 24-hour requirement.

(f) A center will keep a training

log on file with the employee’s name, date

of hire, and position. The log must include

date of training, clock hours, competency

area, source of training, and training certifi-

cate. A college credit hour in a field relevant

to the competency areas listed above will be

considered equivalent to a minimum of 15

clock hours. See Paragraph (4) of

Subsection A of 8.16.2.22 NMAC for

requirements for centers that operate less

than 20 hours per week.

C. S T A F F I N G

REQUIREMENTS:

(1) A director is responsible for

one center only.  Directors who are respon-

sible for more than one center on the date

these regulations are promulgated shall con-

tinue in that capacity. The director or co-

director must be on the site of the center for

a minimum of 50% of the center’s core

hours of operation.

(2) During any absence, the direc-

tor will assign a person to be in charge and

will post a notice stating the assignment.

(3) A program will maintain

staff/child ratios at all times.  Children must

never be left unattended whether inside or

outside the facility. Staff will be onsite,

available and responsive to children during

all hours of operation.

(4) A center will have a minimum

of two staff members present at all times.  If

the center has less than 7 children, the sec-

ond caregiver may conduct other activities

such as cooking, cleaning, or bookkeeping,

etc.

A center will keep a list of at least two (2)

people who can substitute for any staff

member.  The list will include the people’s

names, telephone numbers,[criminal

records] background check, health certifi-

cates and record of orientation.

D. S T A F F / C H I L D

RATIOS:

(1) Centers where children are

grouped by age:

(a) Age in group:  Six (6) weeks

through twenty- four (24) months. -

Staffing:  One (1) adult for every six (6)

children or fraction of group thereof.

(b) Age in group:  Two (2) years.

- Staffing:  One (1) adult for every ten (10)

children or fraction of group thereof.

(c) Age in group:  Three (3) years.

- Staffing:  One ( 1) adult for every twelve

(12) children or fraction of group thereof.

(d) Age in group:  Four (4) years.

B Staffing:  One (1) adult for every twelve

(12) children or fraction of  group thereof.

(e) Age in group:  Five (5) years.

B Staffing:  One (1) adult for every fifteen

(15) children or fraction of group thereof,

(f) Age in group:  Six (6) years. B

Staffing:  One (1) adult for every fifteen

(15) children or fraction of group thereof.

(2) CENTERS WHERE AGE

GROUPS ARE COMBINED

(a) Age in group: Six (6) weeks

through twenty-four (24) months. B

Staffing:  One (1) adult to every six (6) chil-

dren or fraction of group thereof.

(b) Age in group: Two (2) through

Four (4) years. B Staffing:  One (1) adult to

every twelve (12) children or fraction of

group thereof.

(c) Age in group: Three (3)

through Five (5) B Staffing: One (1) adult to

every fourteen (14) children or fraction

thereof.

(d) Age in group: Six (6) years

and older. B Staffing:  One (1) adult to

every fifteen (15) children or fraction of

group thereof.

(i) A center will sched-

ule staff to minimize the number of primary

care givers a child has during the day and

the week.  A child will have no more than

three (3) primary, consecutive care givers in

any day including care givers in the early

morning and late afternoon.

(ii) The same staff

member who cares for the children under

age two (2) years will supervise those chil-

dren when they play with [older children]

children over two (2) years. 

(iii) If a center groups

toddlers ages eighteen (18) to twenty-four

(24) months with children ages twenty-four

(24) through thirty-five (35) months, the

staff/child ratio shall be maintained at 1

staff per 6 children.

[8.16.2.22 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.22 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.23 SERVICES AND

CARE OF CHILDREN

A. DISCIPLINE:

(1) A center will have written

policies and procedures clearly outlining

disciplinary practices.  Centers will give

this information to all parents and staff who

will sign a form to acknowledge that they

have read and understand these policies and

procedures.

(2) Discipline will be consistent

and age appropriate.

(3) Discipline will include posi-

tive guidance, redirection, and clear limits

that encourage the child’s ability to become

self-disciplined.

(4) A center will not use the fol-

lowing disciplinary practices:

(a) physical punishment of any

type, including shaking, biting, hitting,

pinching or putting anything on or in a

child’s mouth;

(b) withdrawal of food, rest, bath-

room access, or outdoor activities;

(c) abusive or profane language,

including yelling;

(d) any form of public or private

humiliation, including threats of physical

punishment, and/or

(e) unsupervised separation.

B. NAPS OR REST PERI-

OD: A center will provide physical care

appropriate to each child’s developmental

needs that will include a supervised rest

period.

(1) Children under the age of six

(6) years in the centers for more than five

(5) hours will have a rest period.

(2) A center will allow children

who do not sleep to get up and participate in

quiet activities that do not disturb the other

children.

(3) Cribs, cots or mats will be

spaced at least 30 inches apart to permit

easy access by adults to each child without

moving cribs, cots or mats.

(4) Each child will have an indi-

vidual bed, cot, mat or linens clearly labeled

to ensure each child uses the same items

between washing.

(5) Cots or mats will have a non-

absorbent, cleanable surface.  Mats will be

at least three-fourths (3/4) of an inch thick.

Mats, cots and linens will be laundered

before being used by another child.

(6) The center will provide a crib

for each infant and, when appropriate, for a

toddler.  No child will be allowed to sleep in
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a playpen, car seat, stroller or swings.

Children under the age of twelve (12)

months shall be placed on their backs when

sleeping unless otherwise authorized in

writing by a physician. Nothing shall be

placed over the head or face of a child aged

twelve (12) months or younger when the

child is laid down to sleep. Children with

disabilities or medical conditions that

require unusual sleeping arrangements will

have written authorization from a parent or

physician justifying the sleeping arrange-

ment.

(7) Staff must be physically avail-

able to sleeping children at all times.

Children must not be isolated for sleeping

or napping in an unilluminated room unless

attended by a caregiver.

(8) Illumination equivalent to that

cast by a soft night light shall be operational

in areas that are occupied by children who

are napping or sleeping.

C. ENVIRONMENT:

(1) Environment is organized into

identifiable learning centers/spaces.

(2) Each center is clearly defined,

using shelves and furniture.

(3) Adults can visually supervise

all centers at all times.

(4) The capacity of each room

will be posted in an area of the room that is

readily visible to parents, staff members and

visitors.

D. EQUIPMENT AND

PROGRAM:

(1) A child care center will pro-

vide activities that encourage children to be

actively involved in the learning process

and to experience a variety of developmen-

tally appropriate activities and materials.

(2) A center will provide suffi-

cient equipment, materials, and furnishings

for both indoor and outdoor activities so

that at any one time each child can be indi-

vidually involved.

(3) Each child at a center will

have a designated space for storage of cloth-

ing and personal belongings.

(4) A center will store equipment

and materials for children’s use within easy

reach of the children, including those with

disabilities.  A center will store the equip-

ment and materials in an orderly manner so

children can select and replace the materials

by themselves or with minimal assistance.

(5) A center will provide children

with toys and other materials that are safe

and encourage the child’s creativity, social

interaction, and a balance of individual and

group play.

(6) A center will post a daily

activity schedule.  A center will follow a

consistent pattern for routine activities such

as meals, snacks and rest.

(7) Children will not watch televi-

sion, videotapes, or play video games for

more than one (1) hour a day.

(8) Equipment and program

requirements apply during all hours of oper-

ation of the licensed facility.

E. OUTDOOR PLAY

AREAS:

(1) Outdoor play equipment will

be safe and securely anchored.

(2) A center will enclose the out-

door play area with a fence at least four (4)

feet high and with at least one (1) latched

gate available for an emergency exit.

(3) A center will place sufficient

energy absorbing surfaces beneath climbing

structures, swings and slides (as determined

by Subsection P of 8.16.2.8 NMAC).

(4) An outdoor play area for chil-

dren under age two (2) years will have an

area protected from the general traffic

where the children can crawl in safety.

F. SWIMMING, WAD-

ING AND WATER:

(1) Each child will have written

permission from a parent or guardian before

the child enters the pool.

(2) If a center has a portable wad-

ing pool:

(a) a center will drain and fill the

wading pool with fresh water daily and dis-

infect pool before and after each use;

(b) a center will empty a wading

pool when it is not in use and remove it

from areas accessible to children;

(c) a center will not use a portable

wading pool placed on concrete or asphalt.

(3) If a center has a built in or

above ground swimming pool, ditch, fish-

pond or other water hazard:

(a) the fixture will be constructed,

maintained and used in accordance with

applicable state and local regulations;

(b) the fixture will be constructed

and protected so that, when not in use, it is

inaccessible to children;

(c) when in use, children will be

constantly supervised and the number of

adults present will be proportional to the

ages and abilities of the children and type of

water hazard in use.

[8.16.2.23 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.23 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.25 HEALTH AND

SAFETY REQUIREMENTS:

A. HYGIENE:

(1) Children and staff members

will wash their hands with soap and warm

running water as needed.  Staff and children

will wash their hands whenever hands are

contaminated with body fluids and always:

(a) after using a toilet, assisting a

child with toilet use, or changing a diaper;

(b) before and after caring for a

sick child;

(c) before any food service activ-

ity, including setting the table;

(d) before and after eating;

(e) before and after feeding a

child; and

(f) after handling pets or animals.

(2) A center will label with the

child’s name and store separately any item

used for an individual child’s personal

hygiene.

(3) If a center promotes tooth

brushing activities, the center will store

toothbrushes so that they do not drip on

other toothbrushes and so that they are sep-

arate from one another, with bristles

exposed to the air to dry, labeled and not in

contact with any other surface.

B. FIRST AID REQUIRE-

MENTS:

(1) A center will have on duty at

all times one (1) staff member or caregiver

currently certified in first aid and cardiopul-

monary resuscitation (CPR).

(2) A center will keep a first-aid

kit and a first-aid manual together in the

center in a location inaccessible to children

and easily accessible to adults.  The first aid

kit will contain, at a minimum, band aids,

gauze pads, adhesive tape, scissors, soap,

nonporous [latex] gloves, and a thermome-

ter.

(3) A center will treat blood spills

cautiously and promptly disinfect the area.

Staff members will wear non-porous, sin-

gle-use gloves when handling a blood spill,

bloody diarrhea, bloody nose, or any other

blood.  A center will clean contaminated

surfaces first with hot soapy water then with

a disinfecting solution effective against HIV

and hepatitis B.

C. MEDICATION:

(1) All staff and children’s med-

ications must be labeled. A center will keep

all medications in a locked and identified

container inaccessible to children and will

refrigerate medications when necessary.  If

the refrigerator is inaccessible to children,

medications do not need to be in a locked

container in the refrigerator.

(2) Facilities will give medication

only with written permission from a parent

or guardian, to be administered according to

written directions from the prescribing

physician.  In the case of non-prescription

medication, written instructions must be

provided by the parent or guardian.

(3) A designated staff member

will be responsible for giving medication to

children.  The designated staff member will

ensure non-prescription and prescription

medications have a label with the child’s

name and the date the medication was

brought to the center.  A center will keep

non-prescription and prescription medica-

tion in the original container with written

instructions, including the name of medica-

tion, the dosage, and the hours and dates the

child should receive the medicine.

(4) The designated staff member

will keep and sign a written record of the

dosage, date and time a child is given med-
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ication with the signature of the staff who

administered the medication.  This informa-

tion will be provided to the parent or

guardian who will initial/date acknowledg-

ment of information received on the day the

medication is given.

(5) When the medication is no

longer needed, it shall be returned to the

parents or guardians or destroyed.  The cen-

ter shall not administer expired medication.

[8.16.2.25 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.25 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.27 OTHER:

A. TRANSPORTATION:

(1) When a center provides trans-

portation to children, it is responsible for

the care of children from the time of pick up

to delivery to a responsible adult.  All vehi-

cles used for transportation of children will

have an operable fire extinguisher, first-aid

kit, first-aid manual, water and blanket.

(2) A center will license all vehi-

cles used for transporting children and will

meet all applicable state vehicle laws.  A

child shall be transported only if the child is

properly secured in a child passenger

restraint device or by a safety belt as fol-

lows.

(a) Children less than one year of

age shall be properly secured in a rear-fac-

ing child passenger restraint device that

meets federal standards, in the rear seat of a

vehicle that is equipped with a rear seat. If

the vehicle is not equipped with a rear seat,

the child may ride in the front seat of the

vehicle if the passenger-side air bag is deac-

tivated or if the vehicle is not equipped with

a deactivation switch for the passenger-side

air bag.

(b) Children one year of age

through four years of age, regardless of

weight, or children who weigh forty

pounds, regardless of age, shall be properly

secured in a child passenger restraint device

that meets federal standards.

(c) Children five years of age

through six years of age, regardless of

weight, or children who weigh less than

sixty pounds, regardless of age, shall be

properly secured in either a child booster

seat or an appropriate child passenger

restraint device that meets federal stan-

dards.

[c] (d) Children [five] seven years

of age through twelve years of age shall be

secured in a child passenger restraint device

or by a seat belt.

(3) Vehicles used for transporting

children will be enclosed and properly

maintained.  Vehicles shall be cleaned and

inspected inside and out [at least weekly].

(4) Vehicles operated by the cen-

ter to transport children shall be air-condi-

tioned whenever the outside air temperature

exceeds 82 degrees fahrenheit.  If the out-

side air temperature falls below 50 degrees

fahrenheit the center will ensure the vehicle

is heated.

(5) A center will load and unload

children at the curbside of the vehicle or in

a protected parking area or driveway.  The

center will ensure children do not cross a

street unsupervised after leaving the vehi-

cle.

(6) No one will smoke in a vehi-

cle used for transporting children.

(7) A second adult will accompa-

ny the driver of the vehicle when a center

transports five (5) or more children under

age five (5) years.

(8) Children may be transported

only in vehicles that have current registra-

tion and insurance coverage.  All drivers

must have current driver’s license and com-

ply with motor vehicle and traffic laws.

Persons who have been convicted in the last

seven years of a misdemeanor or felony

DWI/DUI cannot transport children under

the auspices of a licensed facility/program.

B. FIELD TRIPS:

(1) A center will ensure the chil-

dren’s safety on field trips and excursions.

See Subparagraph (g) of Paragraph (1) of

Subsection C of 8.16.2.21 NMAC for

requirements for permission slips.

(2) Children will not go to a pri-

vate residence unless accompanied by two

(2) adults.

C. PETS:

(1) A center will inform parents or

guardians before pets are allowed in the

center.

(2) A center will not allow pets in

the kitchen, food serving, food storage

areas, bathrooms, or infant room.

(3) A center will inoculate any

pets as prescribed by a veterinarian and

keep a record of proof of inoculation prior

to the pet’s presence in the center.

(4) A center will not allow on the

premises pets or other animals that are

undomesticated, dangerous, contagious or

vicious.

D. CARE AND SER-

VICES FOR CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL

NEEDS:

(1) Child care facilities are

responsible for staff awareness of commu-

nity resources for families of children with

disabilities, including children under the

age of five (5) years as well as those of

school age.  If a child is suspected of having

a disability, at the director’s discretion, staff

must inform parents of possible resources

for referral and assistance.  Family

Education Right and Privacy Act (FERPA)

will be respected in that no referral for spe-

cial needs services to an outside agency will

be made without a parent’s written informed

consent.

(2) A child with a known disabili-

ty may be admitted to a center as instructed

by parents, service, educational and/or med-

ical plans that address emergency situations

under the guidance of a primary service

provider (early interventionist, school, or

licensed specialist).

E. INFANTS AND TOD-

DLERS:

(1) A center will not admit any

child under the age of six (6) weeks except

with the written approval of a licensed

physician.

(2) A center will care for children

under age two (2) years in rooms separate

from those used by older children.  Children

age six (6) weeks to twelve (12) months

may be in the same room with children age

thirteen (13) to twenty-four (24) months,

when they are physically separated from the

older children.  A center may group toddlers

ages eighteen (18) to twenty-four (24)

months with children ages twenty-four (24)

through thirty-five (35) months.

(3) Throughout the day, a caregiv-

er will give each infant and toddler physical

contact and attention.  A caregiver will hold,

talk to, sing to and take inside and outside

walks with the child.  A caregiver will

respond immediately to all cries of infants

and to the cries of all children within two

(2) minutes.

(4) A caregiver will use routine

activities such as nap time, feeding, diaper-

ing and toileting as opportunities for lan-

guage development and other learning.

(5) Each infant shall be allowed to

form and observe his/her own pattern of

feeding, sleeping and waking periods.

(6) A center will arrange the

sleeping and play areas so that children in

the play area do not disturb sleeping chil-

dren.

(7) Infants shall either be held or

fed sitting up for bottle-feeding.  Infants

unable to sit shall always be held for bottle-

feeding.  Bottle propping or allowing a

child to sleep with a bottle in their mouth

shall not be permitted.  The carrying of bot-

tles and sipper cups by young children

throughout the day and/or night shall not be

permitted.

(8) Foods served will meet the

nutritional needs of the infant or toddler.

Foods will have the proper texture and con-

sistency for each infant served.

F. DIAPERING AND

TOILETING:

(1) A caregiver will plan toilet

training with a parent so the toilet routine is

consistent.  A center will not attempt to toi-

let train a child who is not developmentally

ready.

(2) A center will change wet and

soiled diapers and clothing promptly.  Staff

members will wear non-porous, single-use

gloves when changing a diaper and wash
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their hands after changing a diaper.

(3) A center will have a change of

clothes on hand, including dry, clean cloth-

ing and diapers sufficient to meet the needs

of each child.  A center will label diapers

and diapering supplies for each child and

store them properly.  Diaper bags will be

inaccessible to children.  Soiled diapers will

be stored in a secure container with a tight-

fitting lid to assure proper hygiene and con-

trol of odors.

(4) A caregiver will change a

child’s diaper on a clean, safe, waterproof

surface and discard any disposable cover

and disinfect the surface after each diaper

change.

G. EQUIPMENT:

(1) Cribs will meet federal stan-

dards and be kept in good repair.  The cen-

ter will not use plastic bags or lightweight

plastic sheeting to cover a mattress and will

not use pillows in cribs.

(2) Toys and equipment must be

safe, durable, and easy to clean, non-toxic

and disinfected daily.  Toys that are

mouthed by infants and toddlers will be

cleaned after mouthing by one child before

other children do the same.

(3) A center will not use accor-

dion-style baby gates.

H. NIGHT CARE:

(1) A center that provides night

care will have fifty (50) square feet of activ-

ity area per child for night care.

(2) Staff will be awake and imme-

diately available to children who need atten-

tion during the night.

(3) The beds and cots provided

for children shall be completely furnished

with mattress, waterproof mattress protec-

tors, sheets under and over the child, blan-

ket, pillow and pillowcase.

(4) Linens shall be changed

immediately in case of soiling.

(5) The same menu shall not be

used for lunch and supper.

[I. SILVER AND GOLD

CENTERS:  Silver and gold centers must

meet all basic licensing standards.

Providers that had silver and gold licenses

with no sanctions on June 30, 1999 must

continue to conform to the standards for sil-

ver and gold licensing dated March 31,

1997 in order to receive augmented child

care reimbursement rates.]

[J.] I. ACCREDITED CEN-

TERS: Accredited centers must meet and

maintain all licensing standards and their

CYFD-approved national accreditation

without a lapse in order to continue to

receive augmented child care reimburse-

ment rates. The licensing authority may, at

its option, notify the center’s accrediting

body of the center’s failure to meet and

maintain licensing standards.

[8.16.2.27 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.27 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.30 LICENSURE:

A. L I C E N S I N G

REQUIREMENTS:

(1) APPLICATION FORM: An

applicant will complete an application form

provided by the licensing authority and

include payment for the non-refundable

application fee.

(2) A home will submit a new

application to the licensing authority before

changing anything required to be stated on

the license such as dates, capacity, operator,

address, etc.

(3)    [CRIMINAL RECORDS]

BACKGROUND CHECK: In addition to

the basic requirements at 8.16.2.18 NMAC

of the general provisions an applicant will

apply for a national criminal records check.

The licensing authority will provide a copy

of the most current version of the depart-

ment’s [Criminal Records] Background

Check and Employment History

Verification provisions (8.8.3 NMAC), reg-

ulations, fingerprint cards and instructions,

and forms for recording an employment his-

tory.  The licensee will be responsible for

obtaining [criminal records] background

checks on all staff, volunteers, and prospec-

tive staff and volunteers, and all adults

residing in the home as per the requirements

outlined in the department’s most current

version of the [Criminal Records]

Background Check and Employment

History Verification provisions. All require-

ments of the current [Criminal Records]

Background Check and Employment

History Verification provisions pursuant to

8.8.3 NMAC must be met prior to the

issuance of an initial license.

(4) ZONING AND OTHER

APPROVALS:  An applicant will have:

(a) current written zoning

approval from the appropriate city, county

or state authority;

(b) current written approval of the

state fire marshal office or other appropriate

city, county or state fire-prevention authori-

ty if applicable;

(c) current written approval from

the New Mexico environment department

or other environmental health authority for:

1.  Private water supply, if applicable; 2.

Private waste or sewage disposal, if appli-

cable; and 3.  A swimming pool, if applica-

ble.

(5) SCHEDULE:  All applica-

tions for a new license will include a

description of the home’s proposed activi-

ties and schedule.

(6) INITIAL SURVEY: The

licensing authority will schedule a survey

for a home when it receives a complete

application with all supporting documents.

B. CAPACITY OF A

HOME:

(1) The number of children in a

home, either in total or by age, will not

exceed the capacity stated on the license.

(2) The licensing authority will

count all children in the care of the licensed

home, including the caregiver’s own chil-

dren under the age of six (6), in the capaci-

ty of a home, even if the children are on a

field trip or other outing outside the home.

The licensed capacity must not be exceeded

by the presence of school age children.

(3) A home may be licensed for

up to twelve (12) children.

(4) A home licensed as a family

day care home under these regulations pro-

viding care for a maximum capacity of six

(6) children may care for up to four (4) chil-

dren under the age of two (2) providing a

second caregiver is present in the home and

the home is licensed to provide such care. A

home licensed as a group day care home

under these regulations providing care for a

maximum of twelve (12) children may care

for up to four (4) children under age two (2)

providing a second caregiver is present in

the home and the home is licensed to pro-

vide such care.

(5) A home must have thirty-five

(35) square feet of activity and sleeping

space per child, excluding bathrooms,

kitchens, halls and other built-in fixtures

and offsets, with total capacity limited to no

more than twelve (12) children.  A home

must have at least one bathroom with a toi-

let and sink.

(6) The home will have an out-

door play area, which must be fenced in.

C. NOTIFICATIONS:

(1) INCIDENT REPORTS:  A

home will report immediately by phone to

the licensing authority and follow-up in

writing any incident that has or could threat-

en the health and safety of children and staff

members, such as but not limited to:

(a) a lost or missing child;

(b) the death of a child;

(c) the abuse or neglect of a child;

(d) accidents, illness, or injuries

that require medical care beyond on-site

first aid;

(e) fire, flood, or other natural dis-

aster that creates structural damages to a

home or poses a health hazard;

(f) any of the illnesses on the cur-

rent list of Notifiable Diseases and

Communicable Diseases published by the

office of epidemiology of the New Mexico

department of health; or,

(g) any legal action against a

home or staff members related to the care

and custody of children.

(2) A home will notify parents or

guardians in writing of any incident, includ-

ing notifiable illnesses, that will or could

threaten the health or safety of children in

the home.  Incidents include, but are not

limited to, those listed in Paragraph (1) of

Subsection C of 8.16.2.30 NMAC.
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(3) Incident reports involving sus-

pected child abuse and neglect must be

reported immediately by the licensing

authority to children’s protective services

and local law enforcement.  The licensing

authority follows written protocols/proce-

dures for the prioritization, tracking, inves-

tigation and reporting of incidents, as out-

lined in the complaint investigation proto-

col and procedures.

[8.16.2.30 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.30 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.31 ADMINISTRATIVE

REQUIREMENTS:

A. ADMINISTRATIVE

RECORDS:   A licensee will post the child

care home license in an area readily visible

to parents and visitors.  The licensee will

also keep on file:

(1) all licenses, certificates, and

most recent inspection reports of all state

and local government agencies with juris-

diction over the home;

(2) the current child care regula-

tions;

(3) the [discipline] guidance poli-

cy;

(4) the current list of notifiable

diseases and communicable diseases pub-

lished by the office of epidemiology of the

New Mexico department of health; and

(5) an up to date emergency evac-

uation and disaster preparedness plan

approved annually by the licensing authori-

ty;  the department will provide guidance on

developing these plans.

B. MISSION, PHILOSO-

PHY AND CURRICULUM STATEMENT:

All licensed facilities must have a:

[(1) mission statement; that

describes:

(a) services the program aspires

to provide; and

(b) whom the program aspires to

serve.

(2) philosophy statement; that

includes:

(a) beliefs about children’s

growth, development and behavior;

(b) what and how children learn;

(c) adults roles in children’s

learning, specifically how adults guide or

control the teaching and learning process;

and

(d) a description of the environ-

ment and how it contributes to learning.

(3) curriculum statement; which

includes:

(a) play as the primary mode of

learning;

(b) active engagement of chil-

dren;

(c) opportunities to make choices;

(d) opportunities to experiment

and explore; and

(e) promotion of children’s social

emotional development.]

(1) mission statement;

(2) philosophy statement; and

(3) curriculum statement.

C. PARENT HAND-

BOOK: All facilities using these regulations

must have a parent handbook which

includes the following:

(1) GENERAL INFORMATION:

(a) mission statement;

(b) philosophy statement;

(c) program information (loca-

tion, [licensing status] license information,

days and hours of operation, services

offered);

(d) name of [director] licensee

and how he/she may be reached;

(e) meals, snacks and types of

food served (or alternatively, guidelines for

children bringing their own food);

(f) daily schedule;

(g) expectations for parent

involvement (e.g. participating as a volun-

teer in classroom, home visits, parent con-

ferences, meetings/speakers, parent library

or other information, etc.);

(h) appropriate dress for children,

including request for extra change of

clothes; and

(i) celebrating holidays, birthdays

and parties.

(2) POLICIES AND PROCE-

DURES:

(a) enrollment procedures;

(b) disenrollment procedures;

(c) fee payment procedures,

including penalties for tardiness;

(d) notification of absence;

(e) fee credits, if any (e.g. for

vacations, absences, etc.);

(f) field trip policies;

(g) health policies (program’s

policies on admitting sick children, when

children can return after an illness, adminis-

tering medication, and information on com-

mon illnesses);

(h) emergency procedures and

safety policies;

(i) snow days and school closure;

(j) confidentiality policy;

(k) child abuse/neglect reporting

procedure; and

(l) guidance policy[; and

(m) copies of all forms identified

in subsection D below].

D. C H I L D R E N ’ S

RECORDS: A home will maintain a com-

plete record for each child, including drop-

ins, completed before the child is admitted

and kept at the home for twelve (12) months

after the child’s last day of attendance.

Records will contain at least:

(1) PERSONAL INFORMA-

TION:

(a) name of the child, date of

birth,  sex, home address, mailing address

and telephone number;

(b) names of the parents or

guardians, the parents or guardians current

places of employment, addresses, pager,

cellular and/or work telephone numbers;

(c) a list of people authorized to

pick up the child and an authorization form

signed by parent or guardian;

(d) date the child first attended the

home and the date of the child’s last day at

the home;

(e) a copy of the child’s up-to-

date immunization record or a public health

division-approved exemption from the

requirement;

(f) a record of any accidents,

injuries or illnesses that require first aid or

medical attention and any observations of

recent bruises, bites or potential signs of

abuse or neglect, both of which must be

reported to a parent or guardian;

(g) written authorization from the

child’s parent or guardian to remove a child

from the premises to participate in off-site

activities;

(h) a record of the time the child

arrived and left the home and dates of atten-

dance initialed by a parent, guardian, or per-

son authorized to pick up the child; and 

(i) an enrollment agreement must

be signed by a parent or guardian with an

outline of the services and the costs being

provided by the home.

(2) EMERGENCY INFORMA-

TION:

(a) information on any allergies or

medical conditions suffered by the child;

(b) the name and telephone num-

ber of two (2) people to contact in the local

area in an emergency when a parent or

guardian cannot be reached;  emergency

contact numbers must be kept up to date at

all times.

(c) the name and telephone num-

ber of a physician or emergency medical

center authorized by a parent or guardian to

contact in case of illness or emergency;

(d) a document giving a home

permission to transport the child in a med-

ical emergency and an authorization for

medical treatment signed by a parent or

guardian; and

(e) documentation of the legal

status of the child, if applicable, such as, but

not limited to: restraining orders, guardian-

ship, powers of attorney, court orders cus-

tody by children’s protective services, etc.

E. P E R S O N N E L

RECORDS: A home will keep the following

records on file and make them available to

the licensing authority.

(1) Documentation of a [criminal

records] background check and employ-

ment history verification for all care givers

and all adults living in the home.  All per-

sons providing care are required to sign a
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statement that they have or have never had

an arrest or substantiated referral to a child

protective services agency.  If the person

has had an arrest or a substantiated referral,

they must provide the licensing authority

with a written statement concerning the cir-

cumstances and disposition of the arrest

and/or substantiated referral. An employer

will not allow any employee or any other

adult living in the home to be involved in an

incident which would disqualify that

employee under the department’s most cur-

rent version of the [Criminal Records]

Background Check and Employment

History Verification provisions pursuant to

8.8.3 NMAC to continue to work directly

and/or unsupervised with children.

(2) A record of the time the sec-

ond care givers arrived at and left work, to

include breaks and lunch.

F. PERSONNEL HAND-

BOOK: The provider will give each non-

resident employee a personnel handbook

that covers all matters relating to employ-

ment and includes the following critical

contents:

[(1) organizational chart;]

[(2)](1) job descriptions of all

employees by title

[(3)](2) benefits, if provided,

including vacation days, sick leave, profes-

sional development days, health insurance,

break times, etc.;

[(4)](3) yearly calendar, including

meetings, holidays, professional develop-

ment, etc.;

[(5)](4) code of conduct;

[(6)](5) training requirements,

[career lattice,] professional development

opportunities;

[(7)](6) procedures and criteria

for performance evaluations;

[(8)](7) policies on absence from

work;

[(9) grievance procedures;]

[(10)](8) procedures for resigna-

tion or termination;

[(11)](9) copy of licensing regula-

tions;

[(12)](10) policy on parent

involvement;

[(13)](11) health policies related

to both children and staff; and

[(14)](12) policy on sexual

harassment.

[8.16.2.31 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.31 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 09/15/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.32 PERSONNEL AND

STAFFING REQUIREMENTS:

A. GENERAL PERSON-

NEL AND STAFFING REQUIREMENTS:

(1) All care givers will have the

capability to care for and supervise chil-

dren.

(2) In addition to the basic

requirements in 18.16.2.18 NMAC of the

general provisions, the licensee will be

responsible for obtaining [criminal records]

background checks on all staff, volunteers,

and prospective staff and volunteers, and all

adults residing in the home.  The licensing

authority will provide a copy of the regula-

tions, fingerprint cards and instructions, and

forms for recording an employment history.

Care givers who work directly with children

and who are counted in the staff/child ratios

must be eighteen (18) years of age or older.

(3) Substitutes, volunteers, and

part-time care givers counted in the

staff/child ratios will meet the same require-

ment as regular staff members except for

training requirements.  Substitutes and care

givers routinely employed in a home but

working twenty (20) hours or less a week

will complete half the required training

hours.  Such employees working more than

twenty (20) hours a week will meet full

training requirements.

B. STAFF QUALIFICA-

TIONS AND TRAINING:

(1) A home will keep a training

log on file including the date of the training,

name of caregiver, hours earned,

subject/competency area, source of training,

and training certificates.

(2) Care givers working for a

home will receive at least twelve (12) docu-

mented hours of training during each year,

including six (6) hours in child growth and

development and three (3) hours in health,

safety, nutrition, and infection control.  The

three remaining training hours must be

within the seven competency areas.  The

competency areas are: 1) child growth,

development and learning; 2) health, safety,

nutrition and infection control; 3) family

and community collaboration; 4) develop-

mentally appropriate content; 5) learning

environment and curriculum implementa-

tion; 6) assessment of children and pro-

grams; and 7) professionalism. A caregiver

cannot count more than three (3) hours in

first aid or CPR training toward the total

hours required.  Training must be delivered

by people who have education and/or expe-

rience in the competency area (or areas) in

which they train.  Employees or relatives of

employees who provide training must have

prior approval by the department.  See

Paragraph (3) of Subsection A of 8.16.2.32

NMAC for requirements for part-time

employees.

(3) Infant and toddler care givers

must have at least two (2) hours of training

in infant and toddler care within six (6)

months of starting work.  The two (2) hours

will count toward the 12-hour requirement

in [subsection] paragraph (2).

(4) Effective July 1, 2005, the pri-

mary caregiver will complete the 45-hour

entry level course or approved 3-credit early

care and education course or an equivalent

approved by the department prior to or

within six months of employment.

(5) A home must have at least one

(1) person on duty at all times who is certi-

fied in first aid and cardio-pulmonary resus-

citation (CPR).

C. S T A F F I N G

REQUIREMENTS:

(1) A home licensed to provide

care for six (6) or fewer children will have

at least one (1) caregiver in the home at all

times. A home licensed to provide care for

more than two (2) children under the age of

two (2) will have at least two (2) caregivers

in the home at all times.

(2) A home licensed for seven (7)

to twelve (12) children will have at least

two (2) care givers at the home when more

than six (6) children are present or when

more than two (2) children under the age of

two (2) are present.

(3) Children will never be left

unattended.  A caregiver will be with the

children at all times whether activities are

inside or outside of the home. Providers will

be onsite, available and responsive to chil-

dren during all hours of operation.

[8.16.2.32 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.32 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.33 SERVICES AND

CARE OF CHILDREN:

A. DISCIPLINE:

(1) A home will have written poli-

cies and procedures clearly outlining disci-

plinary practices.  Care- givers will give this

information to all parents and staff who will

sign a form to acknowledge that they have

read and understand these policies and pro-

cedures.

(2) Discipline will be consistent

and age appropriate.

(3) Discipline will include posi-

tive guidance, redirection, and clear limits

that encourage the child’s ability to become

self-disciplined.

(4) A home will not use the fol-

lowing disciplinary practices:

(a) physical punishment of any

type, including shaking, biting, hitting,

pinching or putting anything on or in a

child’s mouth;

(b) withdrawal of food, rest, bath-

room access, or outdoor activities;

(c) abusive or profane language,

including yelling;

(d) any form of public or private

humiliation, including threats of physical

punishment; and

(e) unsupervised separation.

B. NAPS OR REST PERI-

OD:

(1) A home will provide physical

care appropriate to each child’s develop-

mental needs that will include a supervised

rest period.

(2) Each child will have an indi-

vidual bed, cot, mat or linens.
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(3) Cribs, cots or mats will be

spaced at least 30 inches apart to permit

easy access by adults to each child. Cots or

mats will have a nonabsorbent, cleanable

surface.  Mats will be at least three-fourths

(3/4) of an inch thick.  Mats, cots and linens

must be laundered before being used by

another child.

(4) The home will provide a crib

for each infant and, when appropriate, for a

toddler.  No child will be allowed to sleep in

a playpen, car seat, stroller or swing.

Children with disabilities or medical condi-

tions that require unusual sleeping arrange-

ments will have written authorization from

a parent or physician justifying the sleeping

arrangement.

(5) Illumination equivalent to that

cast by a soft night light shall be operational

in areas that are occupied by children who

are napping or sleeping.

C. ENVIRONMENT:

(1) Environment is organized into

identifiable learning centers/spaces.

(2) Each center is clearly defined,

using shelves and furniture.

(3) Adults can visually supervise

all centers at all times.

[(4) The capacity of each room

will be posted in an area of the room that is

readily visible to parents, staff members,

and visitors.]

D. EQUIPMENT AND

PROGRAM:

(1) A home will provide sufficient

equipment, materials, and furnishings for

both indoor and outdoor activities so that at

any one time each child can be individually

involved.

(2) A home will store equipment

and materials for children’s use within easy

reach of the children, including those with

disabilities.  A home will store the equip-

ment and materials in an orderly manner so

children can select and replace the materials

by themselves or with minimal assistance.

(3) A home will provide children

with toys and other materials that are safe,

developmentally appropriate, and encour-

age the child’s creativity, social interaction,

and a balance of individual and group play.

(4) A home will post a daily activ-

ity schedule. A home will follow a consis-

tent pattern for routine activities such as

meals, snacks and rest.

(5) Children will not watch televi-

sion, videotapes, or play video games for

more than one (1) hour a day.

(6) Equipment and program

requirements apply during all hours of oper-

ation of the licensed facility.

E. OUTDOOR PLAY

AREAS:

(1) Outdoor play equipment will

be safe and securely anchored.

(2) A home will enclose the out-

door play area with a fence at least four (4)

feet high and with at least one (1) latched

gate available for an emergency exit.

(3) A home will place sufficient

energy absorbing surfaces beneath climbing

structures, swings and slides (as determined

by Subsection P of 8.16.2.8 NMAC).

F. SWIMMING, WAD-

ING AND WATER:

(1) Each child will have written

permission from a parent or guardian before

the child enters a pool.

(2) If a home has a portable wad-

ing pool:

(a) a home will drain and fill the

wading pool with fresh water daily and dis-

infect the pool regularly;

(b) a home will empty a wading

pool when it is not in use and remove it

from areas accessible to children;

(c) a home will not use a portable

wading pool placed on concrete or asphalt.

(3) If a home has a built in or

above ground swimming pool, ditch, fish-

pond or other water hazard:

(a) the fixture will be constructed,

maintained and used in accordance with

applicable state and local regulations;

(b) the fixture will be constructed

and protected so that, when not in use, it is

inaccessible to children; and

(c) when in use, children will be

constantly supervised and the number of

adults present will be increased to ensure

adequate safety for the ages, abilities and

type of water hazard in use.

[8.16.2.33 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.33 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.34 FOOD SERVICE:

A. MEAL PATTERN

REQUIREMENTS: All foods prepared by

the home will conform to the schedule for

meal patterns and supplemental feedings of

the USDA’s child care food program.

B. MEALS AND

SNACKS:

(1) A home will provide a child a

meal or snack at least every three (3) hours

except when the child is sleeping at night.

(2) A home will serve if necessary

a child a therapeutic or special diet with a

written prescription/diet order from a physi-

cian or a registered or licensed dietician.

Diet orders must be complete and descrip-

tive, and not subject to interpretation by the

care givers.

(3) A home will serve on a daily

basis:

(a) full-strength, 100-percent nat-

ural juice;  the use of fruit drinks containing

less than 100% juice or artificially flavored

drinks for meals and/or snacks is prohibited;

(b) only whole, pasteurized fluid

milk shall be served to children younger

than 24 months of age who are not on for-

mula or breast milk;  reduced fat, low fat, or

skim milk may be served to children who

are 2 years and older; and

(c) a home will include a variety

of fruits and vegetables on their menus;

homes serving main meals must include a

vitamin C fruit/vegetable or juice daily and

a vitamin A rich fruit/vegetable or juice at

least 3 times a week.

(4) A home will vary snacks each

day and will include a selection of two (2)

different food group components from the

four (4) food group components.

C. MENUS:  Weekly

menus must be dated and posted in an area

easily visible to parents.

D. KITCHENS:

(1) A home will not allow chil-

dren in the kitchen except under careful

supervision.

(2) A food preparer will thorough-

ly wash all raw fruits and vegetables before

cooking or serving.

(3) A home will serve food

promptly and refrigerate immediately after

use. Foods served will meet the nutritional

needs of the infant or toddler.  Foods will

have the proper texture and consistency for

each infant served.

(4) A home will protect food and

drink by properly storing items in an airtight

container or by wrapping them.  A home

will label and date all leftover food.

(5) If food is brought from the

child’s home, a home will label it with the

child’s name and refrigerate if necessary.  A

home will label and refrigerate bottles of

infant formula or breast milk. Labeling is

not necessary if only one child is using bot-

tles.

(6) A home will keep food requir-

ing refrigeration, including formula, at 41

degrees (fahrenheit) or below, and frozen

food at 0 degrees (fahrenheit) or below.

(7) Refrigerators and separate

freezers will have working thermometers.

(8) A home will protect all food

from insects, rodents and other vermin.

(9) A home will discard any left-

over milk or formula, rinse bottles after use

and disinfect bottles before reuse.

(10) A home will sanitize eating

utensils, dishes and cups before re-use by

washing them in a dishwasher or by com-

pleting the following steps: 1) wash with

soapy water; 2) rinse with clean warm

water; and 3) sanitize using two ounces of

bleach to one gallon of water or a bleach-

equivalent product approved by CYFD.

(11) A home will use cleaning

materials for the kitchen and food prepara-

tion areas only in the kitchen and will store

the materials separately from food.

E. MEAL TIMES:

(1) A home will equip dining

areas with tables, chairs, eating utensils and
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dishes appropriate to the age of the children

served.  Areas will be disinfected before and

after each use.

(2) A home will provide sanitary

cups or glasses or a drinking fountain for

drinking water. Infants and toddlers shall be

offered water from a cup.  Toddlers shall be

encouraged to hold and drink from a cup,

use a spoon, and to use their fingers for self-

feeding.  A home will not allow children to

share drinking or eating utensils.

(3) Time allowed for meals shall

enable children to eat at a reasonable rate.

[8.16.2.34 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.34 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.35 HEALTH AND

SAFETY REQUIREMENTS:

A. HYGIENE:

(1) Children and staff members

will wash their hands with soap and warm

running water as needed.  Staff and children

will wash their hands whenever hands are

contaminated with body fluids and always:

(a) after using a toilet, assisting a

child with toilet use, or changing a diaper;

(b) before and after caring for a

sick child;

(c) before any food service activ-

ity, including setting the table;

(d) before and after eating or

feeding a child; and

(e) after handling pets or animals.

(2) A home will label with the

child’s name and store separately any item

used for an individual child’s personal

hygiene.

B. FIRST AID REQUIRE-

MENTS:

(1) A home will keep a first-aid

kit and a first-aid manual together in the

home in a location inaccessible to children

and easily accessible to adults.  The first aid

kit will contain, at a minimum: band aids,

gauze pads, adhesive tape, scissors, soap,

non-porous [latex] gloves, and a thermome-

ter.

(2) A home will treat blood spills

cautiously and promptly disinfect the area.

Staff members will wear non-porous, sin-

gle-use gloves when handling a blood spill,

bloody diarrhea, bloody nose, or any other

blood.  A home will clean contaminated sur-

faces first with hot soapy water then with a

disinfecting solution, which is effective

against HIV and hepatitis B.

C. MEDICATION:

(1) A home will keep all medica-

tions in a locked and identified container

inaccessible to children and will refrigerate

medications when necessary.  If the refrig-

erator is inaccessible to children, medica-

tions do not need to be in a locked contain-

er in the refrigerator.

(2) Homes will give medication

only with written permission from parents

or guardian, to be administered according to

written directions from the prescribing

physician.  In the case of non-prescription

medication, written instructions must be

provided by the parent or guardian.

(3) A designated staff member

will be responsible for giving medication to

children.  The designated staff member will

ensure non-prescription and prescription

medications have a label with the child’s

name and the date the medication was

brought to the home.  A home will keep

non-prescription and prescription medica-

tion in the original container with written

instructions, including the name of medica-

tion, the dosage, and the hours and dates the

child should receive the medicine.

(4) The designated staff member

will keep and sign a written record of the

dosage, date and time a child is given med-

ication. This information will be provided

to the parent or guardian who will

initial/date acknowledgment of information

received on the day the medication is given.

(5) When the medication is no

longer needed, it shall be returned to the

parents or guardians or destroyed.  The

home shall not administer expired medica-

tion.

D. ILLNESS AND NOTI-

FIABLE DISEASES:

(1) Children or staff members

absent due to any notifiable disease will not

return to the home without a signed state-

ment from a physician.

(2) A home will separate and con-

stantly observe a child who becomes sick at

the home and promptly notify a parent or

guardian of the child’s illness.

(3) A home will send a child home

when:

(a) the child’s oral temperature is

101 degrees (fahrenheit) or greater or

armpit temperature is 100.4 degrees

(fahrenheit) or greater and the child shows

signs of illness; or

(b) the caregiver observes signs

of contagious disease or severe illness.

[8.16.2.35 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.35 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.36 OTHER:

A. TRANSPORTATION:

(1) When a home provides trans-

portation to children, it is responsible for

the care of children from the time of pick up

to delivery to a responsible adult.  All vehi-

cles used for transportation of children will

have an operable fire extinguisher, first-aid

kit, first-aid manual, water and blanket.

(2) A home will license all vehi-

cles used for transporting children and will

meet all applicable state vehicle laws. A

child shall be transported only if the child is

properly secured in a child passenger

restraint device or by a safety belt as fol-

lows:

(a) Children less than one year of

age shall be properly secured in a rear-fac-

ing child passenger restraint device that

meets federal standards, in the rear seat of a

vehicle that is equipped with a rear seat. If

the vehicle is not equipped with a rear seat,

the child may ride in the front seat of the

vehicle if the passenger-side air bag is deac-

tivated or if the vehicle is not equipped with

a deactivation switch for the passenger-side

air bag.

(b) Children one year of age

through four years of age, regardless of

weight, or children who weigh forty

pounds, regardless of age, shall be properly

secured in a child passenger restraint device

that meets federal standards.

(c) Children five years of age

through six years of age, regardless of

weight, or children who weigh less than

sixty pounds, regardless of age, shall be

properly secured in either a child booster

seat or an appropriate child passenger

restraint device that meets federal stan-

dards.

[(c)](d) Children [five] seven

years of age through twelve years of age

shall be secured in a child passenger

restraint device or by a seat belt.

(3) Vehicles used for transporting

children will be enclosed and properly

maintained.  Vehicles shall be cleaned and

inspected inside and out [at least weekly].

(4) A home will load and unload

children at the curbside of the vehicle or in

a protected parking area or driveway.  The

home will ensure children do not cross a

street unsupervised after leaving the vehi-

cle.

(5) No one will smoke in a vehi-

cle used for transporting children.

(6) Children may be transported

only in vehicles that have current registra-

tion and insurance coverage.  All drivers

must have current driver’s license and com-

ply with motor vehicle and traffic laws.

Persons who have been convicted in the last

seven years of a misdemeanor or felony

DWI/DUI cannot transport children under

the auspices of a licensed facility.

B. FIELD TRIPS:

(1) A home will ensure the chil-

dren’s safety on field trips and excursions.

See Subparagraph (g) of Paragraph (1) of

Subsection B of 8.16.2.31 NMAC for infor-

mation on permission slips.

(2) Children will not go to a pri-

vate residence other than the licensed home

unless accompanied by two (2) adults.

C. PETS:

(1) A home will inform parents or

guardians before pets are in the home.

(2) A home will inoculate any pets

as prescribed by a veterinarian and keep a

record of proof of inoculation prior to the

pet’s presence in the home.

(3) A home will not allow on the

premises pets or other animals that are
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undomesticated, dangerous, contagious or

vicious.

[8.16.2.36 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.36 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.40 LICENSURE:

A. L I C E N S I N G

REQUIREMENTS:

(1) APPLICATION FORM:  An

applicant will complete an application form

provided by the licensing authority and

include payment for the non-refundable

application fee.

(2) A program will submit a new

application to the licensing authority before

changing anything that is stated on the

license such as dates, capacity, director,

address, etc.

(3) [CRIMINAL RECORDS]

BACKGROUND CHECK: In addition to

the basic requirements at 8.16.2.18 NMAC

of the general provisions an applicant will

apply for a national criminal records check.

The licensing authority will provide a copy

of the most current version of the depart-

ment’s [Criminal Records] Background

Check and Employment History

Verification provisions (8.8.3 NMAC), reg-

ulations, fingerprint cards and instructions,

and forms for recording an employment his-

tory.  The licensee will be responsible for

obtaining [criminal records] background

checks on all staff, volunteers, and prospec-

tive staff and volunteers, and all adults

residing in the home as per the requirements

of the most current version of the depart-

ment’s [Criminal Records] Background

Check and Employment History

Verification provisions. All requirements of

the current [Criminal Records] Background

Check and Employment History

Verification provisions pursuant to 8.8.3

NMAC must be met prior to the issuance of

an initial license.

(4) ZONING, BUILDING AND

OTHER APPROVALS: An applicant will

use the approvals provided to the schools

and community centers as long as the

approvals are current according to the appli-

cable department’s requirements.

Acceptable documents will be provided to

the licensing authority before licensure.

Otherwise, an applicant will have:

(a) current written zoning

approval from the appropriate city, county

or state authority;

(b) current written building

approval, such as a certificate of occupancy,

from the appropriate city, county or state

authority;

(c) current written approval of the

state fire marshal office or other appropriate

city, county or state fire-prevention authori-

ty; and

(d) current written approval from

the New Mexico environment department

or other environmental health authority for:

(i) a kitchen, if meals

are prepared and served on site in the pro-

gram;

(ii) private water sup-

ply, if applicable;

(iii) private waste or

sewage disposal, if applicable; and,

(iv) a swimming pool,

if applicable.

(5) ACCESS REQUIREMENTS

FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILI-

TIES IN NEW FACILITIES:  Accessibility

for individuals with disabilities is provided

in all new facilities and will include the fol-

lowing.

(a) Main entry into the facility is

level or has a ramp to allow for wheelchair

access.

(b) Building layout allows for

access to the main activity area.

(c) Access to at least one bath-

room is required to have a door clearance of

32 inches.  The toilet unit also provides a

60-inch diameter turning radius.

(d) If ramps are provided to the

building, the slope of each ramp is at least a

12-inch horizontal run for each inch of ver-

tical rise.

(e) Ramps exceeding a six-inch

rise are provided with handrails.

(f) Requirements contained here-

in are minimum and additional disability

requirements may apply depending on the

size and complexity of the facility.

(6) SCHEDULE: All applications

for a new license will include a description

of the programs proposed activities and

schedule.

(7) INITIAL SURVEY: The

licensing authority will schedule a survey

for a program when it receives a complete

application with all supporting documents.

B. CAPACITY OF A

PROGRAM:

(1) The number of children in a

program, either in total or by age, will not

exceed the capacity stated on the license.

(2) The licensing authority will

count all children in the care of the program

even if the children are on a field trip or

other outing outside the program site.

(3) A program must meet the fol-

lowing space requirements:

(a) Thirty-five (35) square feet of

indoor activity space measured wall to wall

on the inside for each child in a program,

excluding single-use areas, such as rest-

rooms, kitchens, halls and storage areas,

and excluding offsets and built-in fixtures.

(b) A program must have an out-

door activity space.

C. NOTIFICATIONS:

(1) INCIDENT REPORTS: A

program will report immediately by phone

to the licensing authority and follow-up in

writing any incident that has or could threat-

en the health and safety of children and staff

members, such as but not limited to:

(a) a lost or missing child;

(b) the death of a child;

(c) the abuse or neglect of a child;

(d) accidents, illness, or injuries

that require medical care beyond on-site

first aid;

(e) fire, flood, or other natural dis-

aster that creates structural damages to a

program or poses a health hazard;

(f) any of the illnesses on the cur-

rent list of Notifiable Diseases and

Communicable Diseases published by the

office of epidemiology of the New Mexico

department of health; or

(g) any legal action against a pro-

gram or staff members related to the care

and custody of children.

(2) A program will notify parents

and guardians in writing of any incident,

including notifiable illnesses that has or

could threaten the health or safety of chil-

dren in the program.  Incidents include, but

are not limited to, those listed in Paragraph

(1) of Subsection C of 8.16.2.40 NMAC.

(3) Incident reports involving sus-

pected child abuse and neglect must be

reported immediately by the licensing

authority to children’s protective services

and local law enforcement.  The licensing

authority follows written protocols/proce-

dures for the prioritization, tracking, inves-

tigation and reporting of incidents, as out-

lined in the complaint investigation proto-

col and procedures.

[8.16.2.40 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.40 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.41 ADMINISTRATIVE

REQUIREMENTS:

A. ADMINISTRATION

RECORDS:  A licensee will keep on file,

post in a clearly visible location and make

available to the licensing authority:

(1) all licenses, certificates, and

most recent inspection reports of all state

and local government agencies with juris-

diction over the program;

(2) the current child care regula-

tions;

(3) dated weekly menus for meals

and snacks;

(4) the [discipline] guidance poli-

cy; and

(5) the current list of notifiable

diseases and communicable diseases pub-

lished by the office of epidemiology of the

New Mexico department of health.

B. MISSION, PHILOSO-

PHY AND CURRICULUM STATEMENT:

All licensed facilities must have a:

[(1) mission statement; that

describes:

(a) services the program aspires
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to provide; and

(b) whom the program aspires to

serve.

(2) philosophy statement; that

includes:

(a) beliefs about children’s

growth, development and behavior;

(b) what and how children learn;

(c) adults roles in children’s

learning, specifically how adults guide or

control the teaching and learning process;

and

(d) a description of the environ-

ment and how it contributes to learning.

(3) curriculum statement; which

includes:

(a) play as the primary mode of

learning;

(b) active engagement of chil-

dren;

(c) opportunities to make choices;

(d) opportunities to experiment

and explore; and

(e) promotion of children’s social

emotional development.]

(1) mission statement;

(2) philosophy statement; and

(3) curriculum statement.

C. PARENT HAND-

BOOK: All facilities using these regulations

must have a parent handbook which

includes the following.

(1) GENERAL INFORMATION:

(a) mission statement;

(b) philosophy statement;

(c) program information (loca-

tion, [licensing status] license information,

days and hours of operation, services

offered);

(d) name of director and how

he/she may be reached;

(e) meals, snacks and types of

food served (or alternatively, guidelines for

children bringing their own food);

(f) daily schedule;

(g) expectations for parent

involvement (e.g. participating as a volun-

teer in classroom, home visits, parent con-

ferences, meetings/speakers, parent library

or other information, etc.);

(h) appropriate dress for children,

including request for extra change of

clothes; and

(i) celebrating holidays, birthdays

and parties.

(2) POLICIES AND PROCE-

DURES:

(a) enrollment procedures;

(b) disenrollment procedures;

(c) fee payment procedures,

including penalties for tardiness;

(d) notification of absence;

(e) fee credits, if any (e.g. for

vacations, absences, etc.);

(f) field trip policies;

(g) health policies (program’s

policies on admitting sick children, when

children can return after an illness, adminis-

tering medication, and information on com-

mon illnesses); 

(h) emergency procedures and

safety policies;

(i) snow days and school closure;

(j) confidentiality policy;

(k) child abuse/neglect reporting

procedure; and

(l) guidance policy[; and

(m) copies of all forms identified

in subsection D below].

D. C H I L D R E N ’ S

RECORDS:  A program will maintain a

complete record for each child, including

drop-ins, to be completed before the child is

admitted. Records will be kept at the pro-

gram for twelve (12) months after the

child’s last day of attendance. Records will

contain at least:

(1) PERSONAL INFORMA-

TION:

(a) name of the child; date of

birth, sex; home address, mailing address

and telephone number;

(b) names of the parents or

guardians, the parents or guardian’s current

places of employment, addresses, and

pager, cellular and/or work telephone num-

bers;

(c) a list of people authorized to

pick up the child and an authorized form

signed by parent or guardian;

(d) date the child first attended the

program and the date of the child’s last day

at the program; 

(e) a record of any accidents,

injuries or illnesses that require first aid or

medical attention and any observations of

recent bruises, bites or signs of abuse or

neglect, both of which must be reported to a

parent or guardian;

(f) written authorization from the

child’s parent or guardian to remove a child

from the premises to participate in off-site

activities;

(g) a record of the time the child

arrived and left the program and dates of

attendance initialed by a parent, guardian,

or person authorized to pick up the child;

and

(h) an enrollment agreement;  this

form will be signed by a parent or guardian

with an outline of the services and the costs.

(2) EMERGENCY INFORMA-

TION:

(a) information on any allergies or

medical conditions suffered by the child;

the name and telephone number of two (2)

people in the local area to contact in an

emergency when a parent or guardian can-

not be reached; emergency contact numbers

must be kept up to date at all times;

(b) the name and telephone num-

ber of a physician or emergency medical

facility authorized by a parent or guardian

to contact in case of illness or emergency;

(c) a document giving a program

permission to transport the child in a med-

ical emergency and an authorization for

medical treatment signed by a parent or

guardian;

(d) documentation of the legal

status of the child, if applicable, such as, but

not limited to: restraining orders, guardian-

ship, powers of attorney, court orders, cus-

tody by children’s protective services, etc.;

and

(e) all licensed child care pro-

grams must maintain an up to date emer-

gency evacuation and disaster preparedness

plan approved annually by the licensing

authority;  the department will provide

guidance on developing these plans.

E. P E R S O N N E L

RECORDS:

(1) A licensee will keep a com-

plete file for each staff member, including

substitutes and volunteers having direct

contact with the children.  A program will

keep the file for one (1) year after the care-

giver’s last day of employment.  Records

will contain at least the following:

(a) name, address and telephone

number;

(b) position;

(c) current and past duties and

responsibilities;

(d) dates of hire and termination;

(e) documentation of a [criminal

records] background check and employ-

ment history verification;  all persons pro-

viding care are required to sign a statement

that they have or have never had an arrest or

substantiated referral to a child protective

services agency;  if the person has had an

arrest or a substantiated referral, they must

provide the licensing authority with a writ-

ten statement concerning the circumstances;

an employer will not allow any employee

involved in an incident which would dis-

qualify that employee under the depart-

ment’s most current version of the

[Criminal Records] Background Check and

Employment History Verification provi-

sions pursuant to 8.8.3 NMAC to continue

to work directly and/or unsupervised with

children;

(f) documentation of first-aid and

cardiopulmonary resuscitation training;

(g) documentation of all appropri-

ate training by date, time, hours and area of

competency; and

(h) emergency contact number.

(2) A program will maintain dated

weekly work schedules for the director, all

staff and all care givers and keep the records

on file for at least twelve (12) months.  The

record will include the time the employee

arrived at and left work and include breaks

and lunch.

F. PERSONNEL HAND-

BOOK: The provider will give each non-

resident employee a personnel handbook
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that covers all matters relating to employ-

ment and includes the following critical

contents:

(1) organizational chart;

(2) job descriptions of all employ-

ees by title;

(3) benefits, including vacation

days, sick leave, professional development

days, health insurance, break times, etc.;

(4) yearly calendar, including

meetings, holidays, professional develop-

ment, etc.;

(5) code of conduct;

(6) training requirements, career

lattice, professional development opportu-

nities;

(7) procedures and criteria for

performance evaluations;

(8) policies on absence from

work;

(9) grievance procedures;

(10) procedures for resignation or

termination;

(11) copy of licensing regula-

tions;

(12) policy on parent involve-

ment;

(13) health policies related to

both children and staff; and

(14) policy on sexual harassment.

[8.16.2.41 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.41 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 09/15/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.42 PERSONNEL AND

STAFFING:

A. PERSONNEL AND

STAFFING REQUIREMENTS GENER-

AL:

(1) All care givers will have the

capability to care for and supervise chil-

dren.

(2) In addition to the basic

requirements in 8.16.2.18 NMAC of the

general provisions an applicant will apply

for a national criminal records check. The

licensing authority will provide a copy of

the regulations, fingerprint cards and

instructions, and forms for recording an

employment history.  The licensee will be

responsible for obtaining [criminal records]

background checks on all staff, volunteers,

and prospective staff and volunteers.  Care

givers (staff members) who work directly

with children and who are counted in the

staff/child ratios must be eighteen (18)

years of age or older.

(3) Clerical, cooking and mainte-

nance personnel included in the staff/child

ratio will have a designated schedule show-

ing their normal hours in each role.  Care

givers counted in the staff/child ratios will

not be responsible for cooking, clerical or

cleaning duties while caring for children.

(4) Substitutes, volunteers and

part-time care givers counted in the

staff/child ratios will meet the same require-

ment as regular staff members except for

training requirements.  Substitutes and care

givers routinely employed in a facility but

working twenty (20) hours or fewer a week

will complete half the required training

hours.  Such employees working more than

twenty (20) hours a week will meet full

training requirements. See Paragraph (3) of

Subsection C of 8.16.2.42 NMAC for addi-

tional training requirements.

B. STAFF QUALIFICA-

TIONS:

(1) Unless exempted under

Paragraph 3 below, an out of school time

program will have an administrator/director

who is at least twenty-one (21) years old

and has proof of a current copy of:

(a) a child development associate

(CDA) certificate, a certified child care pro-

fessional credential (CCP), a Montessori

teacher, a national administrator credential

(NAC) or an associate of arts or applied sci-

ence degree in child development or early

childhood education and at least two (2)

years of experience in an early childhood

growth and development setting; a school-

age child care growth and development set-

ting; or

(b) a bachelor’s degree or higher

in early childhood education or a related

field with at least one (1) year of experience

in an early childhood growth and develop-

ment setting or a school-age child care

growth and development setting;  early

childhood growth and development settings

include, but are not limited to, licensed or

registered family child care programs,

licensed center-based early childhood edu-

cation and development programs, and fam-

ily support programs.

(2) Every site of an out of school

time program will have a site director who

has at least a high school diploma or GED

and proof of at least three (3) years of expe-

rience working with children.

(3) Program administrators and

site directors employed in a licensed pro-

gram on the date these regulations become

effective but who are not qualified will con-

tinue to qualify in their positions as long as

they continuously work as program admin-

istrators or site directors.  Current program

administrators and site directors having a

break in employment of more than one (1)

year must meet the requirements.

C. TRAINING:

(1) The program administrator

will develop and document an orientation

and training plan for new staff members and

will provide information on training oppor-

tunities.  New staff members will partici-

pate in an orientation before working with

children. Initial orientation will include

training on the following areas: a) scope of

services and activities offered by the pro-

gram; b) emergency first aid procedures; c)

indicators of child abuse and neglect; d) fire

prevention measures and emergency evacu-

ation plan; e) review of licensing regula-

tions; f) review of policies regarding disci-

pline; g) child abuse and neglect reporting;

h) handling of incidents and complaints; i)

health and safety, including infection and

injury prevention and control.

(2) A program will keep a training

log on file with the employee’s name, date

of hire and position.  The log must also

include the date, hours of training, subject,

training source and training certificate.

(3) All care givers will have at

least twenty-four (24) hours of training each

year.  Training must address at least three

(3) competency areas within one (1) year

and all seven areas within two (2) years.

The competency areas are:

(a) child growth, development,

and learning;

(b) health, safety, nutrition, and

infection control;

(c) family and community collab-

oration;

(d) developmentally appropriate

content;

(e) learning environment and cur-

riculum implementation;

(f) assessment of children and

programs; and 

(g) professionalism.

(4) Training  must be delivered by

people who have education and/or experi-

ence in the competency area (or areas) in

which they train.  Employees or relatives of

employees who provide training must have

prior approval by the department.  See

Paragraph (4) of Subsection A of this sec-

tion for requirements for part-time employ-

ees.

(5) Program administrators may

count hours in personnel and business train-

ing toward the training requirement.

D. S T A F F I N G

REQUIREMENTS:

(1) Each site will have a site

director.

(2) A program will maintain

staff/child ratios at all times. Children must

never be left unattended whether inside or

outside the facility.

(3) A program will have a mini-

mum of 2 staff members present at all times.

If the program has less than 7 children, the

2nd caregiver may be engaged in other

duties.

(4) Each site will have one (1)

adult for every fifteen (15) children age five

(5) or older.

[8.16.2.42 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.42 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.43 SERVICES AND

CARE OF CHILDREN:

A. DISCIPLINE:
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(1) A program will have written

policies and procedures clearly outlining

disciplinary practices.   Facilities will give

this information to all parents and staff who

will sign a form to acknowledge that they

have read and understand these policies and

procedures.

(2) Discipline will be consistent

and age appropriate.

(3) Discipline will include posi-

tive guidance, redirection, and clear limits

that encourage the child’s ability to become

self-disciplined.

(4) A program will not use the fol-

lowing disciplinary practices:

(a) physical punishment of any

type, including shaking, biting, hitting or

putting anything on or over a child’s mouth;

(b) withdrawal of food, rest, bath-

room access, or outdoor activities;

(c) abusive or profane language,

including yelling;

(d) any form of public or private

humiliation, including threats of physical

punishment; or

(e) unsupervised separation.

B. EQUIPMENT AND

PROGRAM:

(1) A program will provide suffi-

cient equipment, materials, and furnishings

for both indoor and outdoor activities so

that at any one time each child can be indi-

vidually involved.

(2) Each child at a program will

have a designated space for storage of cloth-

ing and personal belongings.

(3) A program will store equip-

ment and materials for children’s use within

easy reach of the children, including those

with disabilities.  A program will store the

equipment and materials in an orderly man-

ner so children can select and replace the

materials by themselves or with minimal

assistance.

(4) A program will provide chil-

dren with toys, educational materials,

equipment and other materials and activities

that are safe, developmentally appropriate,

and encourage the child’s educational

progress, creativity, social interaction, and a

balance of individual and group activity.

Program staff must be onsite, available and

responsive to children during all hours of

operation.

(5) A program will post a daily

activity schedule.  A program will follow a

consistent pattern for routine activities such

as meals, snacks and rest.

(6) Children will not watch televi-

sion, video tapes or play video games for

more than one (1) hour a day. 

(7) Equipment and program

requirements apply during all hours of pro-

gram operation.

C. OUTDOOR PLAY

AREAS: 

(1) Outdoor play equipment will

be safe and securely anchored.

(2) A program will place suffi-

cient energy absorbing surfaces beneath

climbing structures, swings and slides (as

determined by Subsection P of 8.16.2.8

NMAC).

D. ENVIRONMENT:

(1) Environment is organized into

identifiable learning centers/spaces.

(2) Each center is clearly defined,

using shelves and furniture.

(3) Adults can visually supervise

all centers at all times.

(4) The capacity of each room

will be posted in an area of the room that is

readily visible to parents, staff members,

and visitors.

E. SWIMMING, WAD-

ING AND WATER:

(1) Each child will have written

permission from a parent or guardian before

the child enters the pool.

(2) If a program has a portable

wading pool:

(a) a program will drain and fill

the wading pool with fresh water daily and

disinfect the pool regularly;

(b) a program will empty a wad-

ing pool when it is not in use and remove it

from areas accessible to children;

(c) a program will not use a

portable wading pool placed on concrete or

asphalt.

(3) If a program has a built in or

above ground swimming pool, ditch, fish-

pond or other water hazard:

(a) the fixture will be constructed,

maintained and used in accordance with

applicable state and local regulations;

(b) the fixture will be constructed

and protected so that, when not in use, it is

inaccessible to children; and

(c) when in use, children will be

constantly supervised and the number of

adults present will be proportional to the

ages and abilities of the children and type of

water hazard in use.

[8.16.2.43 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.43 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.45 HEALTH AND

SAFETY REQUIREMENTS:

A. HYGIENE:  Children

and staff members will wash their hands

with soap and warm running water as need-

ed.  Staff and children will wash their hands

whenever hands are contaminated with

body fluids and always:

(1) after using a toilet;

(2) before and after caring for a

sick child;

(3) before any food service activ-

ity, including setting the table;

(4) before and after eating; and

(5) after handling pets or animals.

B. FIRST AID REQUIRE-

MENTS:

(1) A program will have on duty

at all times one (1) staff member or caregiv-

er currently certified in first aid and car-

diopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).

(2) A program will keep a first-aid

kit and a first-aid manual together in the

program in a location inaccessible to chil-

dren and easily accessible to adults.  The

first aid kit will contain, as a minimum,

band aids, gauze pads, adhesive tape, scis-

sors, soap, non-porous [latex] gloves, and a

thermometer.

(3) A program will treat blood

spills cautiously and promptly decontami-

nate the area.  Staff members will wear non-

porous, single-use gloves when handling a

blood spill, bloody diarrhea, bloody nose, or

any other blood.  A program will clean con-

taminated surfaces first with hot soapy

water then with a disinfecting solution

which is effective against HIV and hepatitis

B.

C. MEDICATION:

(1) A program will keep all med-

ications in a locked and identified container

inaccessible to children and will refrigerate

medications when necessary.   If the refrig-

erator is inaccessible to children, medica-

tions do not need to be in a locked contain-

er in the refrigerator.

(2) Programs will give medica-

tion only with written permission from par-

ents or guardian, to be administered accord-

ing to written directions from the prescrib-

ing physician.  In the case of non-prescrip-

tion medication, written instructions must

be provided by the parent or guardian.

(3) A designated staff member

will be responsible for giving medication to

children. The designated staff member will

ensure non-prescription and prescription

medications have a label with the child’s

name and the date the medication was

brought to the program.  A program will

keep non-prescription and prescription

medication in the original container with

written instructions, including the name of

medication, the dosage, and the hours and

dates the child should receive the medicine.

(4) The designated staff member

will keep a written record of the dosage,

date, and time a child is given medication

with the signature of the staff who adminis-

tered the medication.  This information will

be provided to the parent or guardian who

will initial/date acknowledgment of the

information received on the day the medica-

tion is given.

(5) When the medication is no

longer needed, it shall be returned to the

parents or guardians or destroyed.  The pro-

gram shall not administer expired medica-

tion.

D. ILLNESSES:

(1) Children or staff members

absent due to any notifiable disease will not

return to the program without a signed state-
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ment from a physician.

(2) A program will separate and

constantly observe a child who becomes

sick at the program and promptly notify a

parent or guardian of the child’s illness.

(3) A program will send a child

home when:

(a) the child’s oral temperature is

101 degrees (fahrenheit) or greater or

armpit temperature is 100.4 degrees

(fahrenheit) or greater and the child shows

signs of illness; or

(b) a caregiver observes signs of

contagious disease or severe illness.

(4) The program will have a cot or

mat available for sick children and it will be

cleaned and disinfected thoroughly after

use.

[8.16.2.45 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.45 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

8.16.2.46 OTHER:

A. TRANSPORTATION:

(1) All vehicles used for trans-

portation of children will have an operable

fire extinguisher, first-aid kit, first-aid man-

ual, water and blanket.

(2) A program will load and

unload children at the curbside of the vehi-

cle or in a protected parking area or drive-

way. The program will ensure children do

not cross a street unsupervised after leaving

the vehicle.

(3) No one will smoke in a vehi-

cle used for transporting children.

(4) A program will license all

vehicles used for transporting children and

will meet all applicable state vehicle laws.

Children five years of age through eighteen

years of age shall be secured in a child pas-

senger restraint device or by a seat belt.

(5) Vehicles used for transporting

children will be enclosed and properly

maintained.  Vehicles shall be cleaned and

inspected inside and out at least weekly.

(6) Vehicles operated by the pro-

gram to transport children shall be air-con-

ditioned whenever the outside air tempera-

ture exceeds 82 degrees fahrenheit.  If the

outside air temperature falls below 50

degrees fahrenheit the program will ensure

the vehicle is heated.

(7) Children may be transported

only in vehicles that have current registra-

tion and insurance coverage.  All drivers

must have current driver’s license and com-

ply with motor vehicle and traffic laws.

Persons who have been convicted in the last

seven years of a misdemeanor or felony

DWI/DUI cannot transport children under

the auspices of a licensed facility/program.

B. FIELD TRIPS:

(1) A program will ensure the

children’s safety on field trips and excur-

sions.  See Subparagraph (f) of Paragraph

(1) of Subsection B of 8.16.2.41 NMAC for

requirements concerning field trip permis-

sion slips.

(2) Children will not go to a pri-

vate residence unless accompanied by two

(2) adults.

C. PETS:

(1) A program will inform parents

or guardians before pets are at the program

site.

(2) A program will not allow pets

in the kitchen, food serving, food storage

areas, or bathrooms.

(3) A program will inoculate any

pets as prescribed by a veterinarian and

keep a record of proof of inoculation prior

to the pet’s presence at the program.

(4) A program will not allow on

the premises pets or other animals that are

undomesticated, dangerous, contagious or

vicious.

D. HOUSEKEEPING:

(1) A program will keep the prem-

ises, including furniture, fixtures, toys and

equipment clean, safe, disinfected, and free

of debris and potential hazards.

(2) Materials dangerous to chil-

dren must be secured in a manner making

them inaccessible to children and away

from food storage or preparation areas.

(3) All garbage and refuse recep-

tacles will have a tight fitting lid, be

durable, and constructed of materials that

will not absorb liquids.

E. PEST CONTROL:

(1) All licensed programs must

use a New Mexico licensed applicator

whenever applying pesticides in or on the

program’s buildings and grounds.

(2) The applicator may not apply

pesticides when children are on the premis-

es.

(3) Parents, guardians, and staff

must be notified at least two days prior to

spraying or applying pesticides.

(4) All food storage, preparation,

and serving areas must be covered and pro-

tected from spraying or application of pesti-

cides.

F. MECHANICAL SYS-

TEMS:

(1) A program will maintain com-

fortable temperatures (68 degrees fahren-

heit through 82 degrees fahrenheit) in all

rooms used by children.  A program may

use portable fans if the fans are secured and

inaccessible to children and do not present

any tripping, safety or fire hazards.  In the

event air temperature in a program exceeds

the 82 degrees fahrenheit in the summer

months because of evaporative cooler tem-

perature limitations, it will be verified that

cooling equipment is functioning, is being

maintained, and that supplemental aides

have been employed, such as, but not limit-

ed to: ceiling fans, portable fans, or portable

evaporative coolers.

(2) A program must maintain all

heating and cooling equipment so that it is

in good working order.

(3) A program will not use

unvented heaters, open flame heaters or

portable heaters.  A program will install bar-

riers or take other steps to ensure heating

units, are inaccessible to children.  Heating

units include hot water pipes, hot water

baseboard heaters hotter than 110 degrees

(fahrenheit), fireplaces, fireplace inserts and

wood stoves.

(4) A program will provide fresh

air and control odors by either mechanical

or natural ventilation. If a program uses a

window for ventilation, it will have a

screen. If a door is used for ventilation, it

must have a screen door.

(5) Water stored in a water heater

will be above 124 degrees (fahrenheit) and

water coming from a faucet will be below

110 degrees (fahrenheit).  A program will

install a tempering valve ahead of all

domestic water-heater piping.

(6) All food preparation areas,

sinks, washrooms, laundries and bathrooms

will have hot and cold running water under

pressure.

G. LIGHTING, LIGHT-

ING FIXTURES AND ELECTRICAL:

(1) All areas will have sufficient

glare-free lighting with shatterproof or

shielded bulbs.

(2) A program will have emer-

gency lighting that turns on automatically

when electrical service is disrupted.

(3) Use of electrical cords and

outlets:

(a) A program will use U/L

approved equipment only and will properly

maintain this equipment.

(b) The use of multi-prong or

gang plugs is prohibited.

H. EXITS AND WIN-

DOWS:  When an activity area does not

have a door directly to the outside, at least

one (1) window in each activity area must

be able to be opened for emergency egress

with a minimum net clear opening of 5.7

square feet.  The minimum net clear open-

ing for height dimension must be twenty-

four (24) inches.  The minimum net clear

opening width dimension must be twenty

(20) inches, and the finished sill height must

not be more than forty-four (44) inches

above the floor.

(1) Activity areas for children

must have windows and/or skylight area of

at least 1/20th of the floor area.

(2) There must be at least two (2)

exits remote from each other on each floor

of the program.

(3) Exit ways must be kept free

from obstructions at all times.

(4) If a door is used for fresh air

ventilation, it must have a screen door.
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I. TOILET AND

BATHING FACILITIES:

(1) All toilet rooms will have toi-

let paper, soap and disposable towels at a

height accessible to children.  A program

will not use a common towel or wash cloth.

(2) All closets and bathroom

locks must have an outside release. A pro-

gram will enclose all bathrooms.

(3) Toilets and lavatories must be

provided in the following ratios:

(a) one (1) toilet and one (1) lava-

tory for one (1) to twelve (12) children;

(b) two (2) toilets and two (2)

lavatories for thirteen (13) through twenty-

five (25) children;

(c) one (1)toilet and one (1) lava-

tory for each additional fifteen (15) children

or fraction thereof;

(d) when a program’s capacity

exceeds (30) children the program must

have a separate toilet room for staff.

J. SAFETY COMPLI-

ANCE:

(1) A program will conduct at

least one (1) fire drill each month. A pro-

gram will:

(a) hold the drills at different

times of the day;

(b) use the fire alarm or detector

system;

(c) emphasize an orderly evacua-

tion rather than speedy; and

(d) a program will keep on file a

record of the fire drills with the date, time,

number of adults and children participating,

and any problems encountered during the

fire drill; records will be kept for one year.

(2) A program shall request an

annual fire inspection from the fire authori-

ty having jurisdiction.  If the policy of the

fire authority having jurisdiction does not

provide for an annual inspection of the pro-

gram, the program must document the date

the request was made and to whom.  A copy

of the latest inspection must be posted in the

program.

(3) A program will post evacua-

tion plans for each room used by children in

the appropriate room.

(4) A program will keep a work-

ing telephone in an easily accessible place

for calling for help in an emergency and

will post emergency phone numbers for

fire, police, ambulance and the poison con-

trol center next to the phone.  A pay phone

will not fulfill this requirement.

(5) A program must be equipped

with smoke detectors approved in writing

by the fire authority having jurisdiction as

to number, type, and placement.

(6) A program must have a mini-

mum of two (2) 2A10BC fire extinguishers,

one (1) located in the kitchen or food prepa-

ration area, and one (1) centrally located in

the center.

(7) Fire extinguishers, alarm sys-

tems, automatic detection equipment, and

other fire fighting must be properly main-

tained and inspected on a least yearly basis;

fire extinguishers must be tagged noting the

date of inspection;  see Paragraph (2) of

Subsection E of 8.16.2.28 NMAC for emer-

gency lighting requirements.

K. S M O K I N G ,

FIREARMS, ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES,

ILLEGAL DRUGS AND CONTROLLED

SUBSTANCES: A program will prohibit

smoking in all areas, including vehicles, and

will not allow any alcoholic beverages,

firearms or non-prescription controlled sub-

stances (drugs) on the premises or in vehi-

cles.  Possessing or knowingly permitting

illegal drugs or non-prescription controlled

substances to be possessed or sold on the

premises at any time regardless of whether

children are present is prohibited.

L. ACCREDITED PRO-

GRAMS: Accredited programs must meet

and maintain all licensing standards and

their CYFD-approved national accredita-

tion without a lapse in order to continue to

receive augmented child care reimburse-

ment rates. The licensing authority may, at

its option, notify the program’s accrediting

body of the program’s failure to meet and

maintain licensing standards.

[8.16.2.46 NMAC - Rp, 8.16.2.46 NMAC,

02/14/05; A, 08/31/06]

with the commission, or its employees,

within two years of the date of the incident.

C. Application for repara-

tion must be made directly to employees of

the commission. Only the commission’s

employees are authorized to accept applica-

tions.

D. In no event shall repa-

ration be given unless application has been

made within two years after the injury or

death except for minors as described in

Subsection A of 10.40.2.9 NMAC of these

regulations.

E. The word “eligible”, as

stated in Section 31-22-3 H (2) NMSA

1978, includes Victims of Crime Act eligi-

ble programs.

F. [RESERVED]

G. After receipt of the

application, the commission’s staff may

request additional information or documen-

tation. If the victim/claimant fails to

respond to any request of the commission’s

staff for additional documents or informa-

tion, the victim’s application [shall] may be

presented to the commission board for

denial.

[1/20/89, 11/7/91; 3/14/98; 10.40.2.8

NMAC - Rn & A, 10 NMAC 40.2.8,

08/31/06]

10.40.2.9 DATE OF INCI-

DENT:

A. For all purposes of

administering applications, the date of the

injury or death shall be the date of incident.

The only exception to this is when the vic-

tim is a minor and the application is for an

alleged violation of Section 30-6-1 NMSA

1978, Abandonment or Abuse of a Child,

Section 30-9-11 NMSA 1978, Criminal

Sexual Penetration or Section 30-9-13

NMSA 1978, Criminal Sexual Contact of a

Minor when the injury or death was report-

ed to law enforcement after July 1, 1991.

The date of incident for these violations

shall be the first day the victim attains the

age of eighteen or the date the violation is

reported to a law enforcement agency,

whichever occurs first. The victim must

report the crime to a law enforcement

agency within thirty days of attaining the

age of eighteen.  However, in cases of

domestic violence or sexual assault, the vic-

tim must report to law enforcement within

180 days of occurrence of the crime or in

the case of a victim who is a minor of crim-

inal sexual penetration or criminal sexual

contact of a minor, the victim must report to

law enforcement within 180 days of their

eighteenth birthday.

B. Effective date of

statutes: The effective date of statute

changes shall be that which is prescribed by

the constitution of the state of New Mexico.

C. The date of incident as

stated in Subsection A of 10.40.2.9 NMAC
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NEW MEXICO CRIME

VICTIMS REPARATION

COMMISSION

This is an amendment to 10.40.2 NMAC,

Sections 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12, effective

August 31, 2006.

This rule has been reformatted and renum-

bered to comply with current NMAC

requirements.

10.40.2.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

March 14, 1998, unless a [different] later

date is cited at the end of a section [or para-

graph].

[4/30/97, 3/14/98; 10.40.2.5 NMAC - Rn &

A, 10 NMAC 40.2.5, 08/31/06]

10.40.2.8 A P P L I C AT I O N S

FOR REPARATION:

A. Applications shall be

filed on forms provided by the commission.

B. Application for repara-

tion must be made to the crime victims

reparation commission within two years of

the date of the incident giving rise to the

application. Filing of the application pro-

vided by the commission shall be consid-

ered received when the application is post-

marked delivered or faxed within the two

year time limit to the commission’s offices.

However, upon approval by the director, the

director may find, in his discretion, that the

application was received upon oral contact



of these regulations shall determine which

statutes govern administering and payment

of the application. No changes in statute

shall affect an application unless the date of

incident occurs on or after the effective date

of the statute.

[11/7/91, 3/14/98; 10.40.2.9 NMAC - Rn &

A, 10 NMAC 40.2.9, 08/31/06]

10.40.2.10 LIMITATIONS:

A. If expenses incurred by

any victim/claimant exceed the maximum

amount allowed by statute on the date of

incident, the commission board shall decide

the most appropriate method of distribution

of reparations awarded, pursuant to the fol-

lowing guidelines.

B. A victims/claimant may

shall be compensated in full, to the greatest

extent possible, for debts for which they

have expended personal funds, and reason-

able compensation for lost wages unless

requested otherwise by the victim/claimant.

Unpaid service providers may receive a pro-

rata distribution of any funds remaining

after victims/claimant have been compen-

sated in full for personal expenditures. The

commission board may in its sole discretion

determine that fair reparation has been paid

to any service provider.

C. All victims/claimants

[must] should provide all necessary docu-

mentation to commission staff for the veri-

fication of all reimbursable expenses. This

documentation must provide the name of

payee, the name of payer, the amount paid,

date of services, and indicate what service

was provided. This documentation may

include invoices, receipts and canceled

checks. Affidavits and letters shall not be

considered proper documentation.

[D. Sick leave shall be used

as a collateral source only to offset applica-

tions for compensation for lost wages.

E.] D. Restitution and civil

judgments may be considered a collateral

source only when there is verification of

payment by the offender or responsible

party.

[F.] E. The commission may

award reparation for funeral related expens-

es occasioned by an act or omission which

includes a crime enumerated in Section 31-

22-8 A NMSA 1978. Awards for funeral

expenses shall not exceed [three thousand

five hundred dollars ($3,500.00)] six thou-

sand dollars ($6,000.00).  Items not to be

included for reimbursement are: food,

clothing, items of value such as jewelry,

saddles, etc. At the board’s discretion, a

restricted item may be waived.

[G.] F. The commission may

award reparation for the loss of eyeglasses

or contact lenses damaged as a result of an

act or omission which includes a crime enu-

merated in Section 31-22-8 A NMSA 1978.

Awards for eyeglasses or contact lenses

shall not exceed three hundred fifty dollars

($350.00).

[H.] G. Loss of wages shall not

be paid pursuant to this section unless the

individual requesting loss of wages is

employed at the time of the incident. A vic-

tim may be paid loss of wages for the time

he/she is unable to work due to his/her

injuries as certified by a licensed physician,

psychologist, psychiatrist, dentist, master

level therapist, nurse practitioner or physi-

cian’s assistant. A victim or if the victim is

a minor, loss of wages may be paid to a vic-

tim, parent, guardian, etc., who must take

time off from their employment to transport

himself or the victim to a physician, dentist,

counselor or therapist or for investigative

interviews and criminal justice proceedings.

Loss of wages may be paid to the victim,

claimant, and/or, in the case of a minor vic-

tim, guardian, for up to [ten days] fourteen

calendar days after the crime for a recovery

period. Also, in the case of a deceased vic-

tim, [ten days] up to fourteen calendar days

will be allowed for the individual responsi-

ble for making funeral arrangements. No

certification from a physician will be

required for this period of time. Relatives,

as defined in Section 31-22-3 G, of a homi-

cide victim are eligible for loss of wages for

a recovery period of [ten days] up to four-

teen calendar days following the date of

incident. An individual who assumes the

duties of providing home health care to the

victim, when this care is required by physi-

cian order, may be considered for loss of

wages. In all instances of payment of loss of

wages, Paragraph (1) of Subsection [H] G

of 10.40.2.10 NMAC of these regulations

must be followed. The board may consider

special circumstances when payment of loss

of wages will be in the best interest of the

victim and/or claimant.  Loss of wages may

also be considered for the parent or

guardian or caregiver of a minor if the board

determines that it is in the best interest of

the victim.  [No award shall be allowed for

use of accumulated sick leave during the

disability period.]  If loss of wages are

claimed, the following must be submitted

for verification.

(1) Except as indicated above, a

copy of a doctor’s statement certifying that

the victim is unable to work; or a doctor’s

statement included in a medical document,

or medical documentation showing the

inability of the victim to work.

Hospitalization shall constitute grounds for

paying loss of wages.

[(2) One of the following verifi-

cations must be provided:]

[(a)] (2) a statement from the

employer providing:

[(b)] (a) the dates of work missed

due to the incident;

[(c)] (b) hourly wage;

[(d)] (c) the average number of

hours worked weekly; and

[(e)] (d) any type of compensa-

tion received, such as sick leave, annual

leave, unemployment, etc.; or

[(f)] (3) if self-employed, or in the

opinion of the commission staff, additional

verification is required, the individual

requesting loss of wages [must] may sign a

request for federal income tax account

information to be sent directly to the

agency; this request form will be provided

by the crime victims reparation commis-

sion.

[I.] H. When any award of

reparation is made by the commission, and

said award is less than the maximum

amount allowed by statute on the date of

incident, the director may award additional

reparation. Any additional reparation so

awarded shall stem from the offense for

which the original award was given. The

commission board shall be informed of any

additional reparation granted pursuant to

this subsection at the next regular meeting.

[J.] I. Any victim/claimant

that incurs expenses that are covered by a

collateral source(s) as defined in Section

31-22-3 B NMSA 1978 including but not

limited to automobile insurance, home own-

ers/rental insurance, health insurance, indi-

gent funds, medicaid, medicare or veterans

administration shall submit covered expens-

es to the source(s) for payment. Only those

expenses not covered by the collateral

source(s) will be considered for reparation.

[K.] J. Mental health counsel-

ing and care means the assessment, diagno-

sis, and treatment of an individual’s mental

and emotional functioning that is actually

and reasonably incurred as a result of the

victim’s injury or death. Evaluation and

counseling shall be performed by a provider

licensed in accordance with the New

Mexico Counseling and Therapy Practice

Act or licensed to practice in the state where

treatment is being provided. Those

providers awaiting licensure approval must

be under the direct supervision of a licensed

professional. This requirement may be

waived at the discretion of the commission

board. If it is apparent that treatment is

addressing issues not related to the crime,

the commission may pay for only that per-

centage of treatment which is addressing the

victimization.

(1) All counselors shall provide

the commission staff with the following:

(a) detailed patient evaluation

describing the effect of the victimization;

(b) presentation of complaints:

functional impairment, i.e., employment,

school, interpersonal relationships, emo-

tional/behavioral, etc.;

(c) pre-existing conditions: a
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diagnosis of any pre-existing conditions and

their potential effect on the condition result-

ing from the incident;

(d) treatment goal (PLAN):

describe in measurable behavioral terms the

goals of treatment as they relate to the func-

tional impairment of the victim; that is,

describe the specific behavioral, emotional,

and/or interpersonal changes to be achieved

as the criteria for termination of treatment;

note: treatment plans must be fully docu-

mented in a “problem” and “intervention”

type of format; detail must be provided for

both symptoms and intervention; [Single

word descriptors such as “nightmares” or

supportive “counseling” will not suffice.

These insufficient treatment plans will be

returned and the case deferred until revised.

Periodic review will be requested for any

unusual activity or charges;] incomplete

treatment plans may delay review and pay-

ment until additional and/or correct infor-

mation is received;

(e) method of accomplishing

treatment goals: for each treatment goal,

please explain the therapeutic approach(es)

you anticipate using;

(f) medication prescribed and rea-

son;

(g) treatment sessions: estimated

length of treatment, (number, frequency and

duration of treatment sessions to achieve

treatment goals;

(h) explanation of what percent-

age of treatment is related to the victimiza-

tion;

(i) itemized statement for services

(including a copy of your agency’s sliding

fee scale evaluation);

(j) state license number;

(k) the commission may waive

any of the above in the interest of the vic-

tim.

(2) When the victim is a minor, a

therapist shall be prohibited from receiving

reparation if entering into a dual relation-

ship whereby they are providing treatment

to the minor victim as well as to the offend-

er.

(3) Inpatient hospitalization may

[only] be considered in life-threatening sit-

uations when the treatment has been recom-

mended, in writing, by the victim’s physi-

cian or mental health provider.

(4) The commission shall not con-

sider payment to health providers for the

following: missed appointments, report

writing, telephone consultation, court

appearance, therapist travel time costs,

interest charged, telephone calls to the

crime victims reparation commission office,

or sessions which include the offender.

(5) At any time during treatment,

the commission may require a follow-up

report or prognosis notes from the provider

detailing the results of the treatment and

stating any need for additional therapy. The

commission shall [only approve for pay-

ment up to thirty total sessions per applica-

tion submitted] approve up to thirty sessions

per person deemed eligible under the appli-

cation submitted unless approval for addi-

tional therapy has been granted by the com-

mission. The provider shall furnish the

commission with a detailed report stating

that continuing treatment is necessary due

to problems created as a direct result of the

victimization. The commission may at any

time request an independent evaluation.

[L.] K. The commission may

consider payment of Native American med-

icine man treatment fees.

(1) Since a reasonable and cus-

tomary schedule of charges has not been

established, the commission may require

that the following be submitted:

(a) a written description of each

procedure, function, and/or activity per-

formed and its benefit to the victim;

(b) a written description of

charges and dates for each procedure, func-

tion, and/or activity;

(c) the location that each proce-

dure, function, and/or activity was per-

formed;

(d) the time involved to perform

such services;

(e) a summary outlining the qual-

ifications and experiences which allows the

service provider to perform the services of a

medicine man;

(f) a detailed list of materials used

in the ceremonies and an explanation as to

the use of those materials.

(2) In all cases of medicine man

care, the commission board shall only

approve up to $3,000.00 per application

unless prior approval has been granted by

the commission board for additional treat-

ment.

[M.] L. The provisions of

Section 31-22-10 A NMSA, 1978, prohibit

reparation if the victim is a member of the

offender’s family relationship group where

payment would unjustly enrich the offender.

Unjust enrichment shall be when the

offender benefits from payments by either

personally receiving compensation or by

having compensation reduce the offender’s

financial obligation of medical payment,

funeral expense, or other expenses incurred

as a result of the crime. Payments to victims

which benefits offenders in only a minimal

or inconsequential manner would not be

considered unjust enrichment. The victim

and/or claimant must cooperate with law

enforcement in the prosecution of the

offender.

[N.] M. Gas expenses to trans-

port the victim to a health provider may be

considered if the travel is over thirty miles

one way from the victim’s residence. This

travel shall be verified by the health

provider’s billing and reports for the travel

requested. The gas will be reimbursed at the

rate of [ten cents] twenty cents per mile.

[O.] N. Gas expenses to trans-

port the victim to a law enforcement agency

for the purpose of official business relating

to the incident for which the application is

filed may be considered. The distance trav-

eled shall be more than thirty miles one way

from the victim’s residence and the gas will

be reimbursed at the rate of [ten cents]

twenty cents per mile.

[P.] O. The commission board

may consider travel expenses related to the

identification of the deceased victim by an

individual who has assumed responsibility

for making arrangements for the deceased.

[Q.] P. The following expenses

shall not be considered for reimbursement:

(1) phone bills;

(2) copying fees;

(3) postage costs.

[R.] Q. [The commission board

may consider gas expenses, at the reim-

bursement of ten cents per mile, or airfare

for the victim or responsible party who

because of the severity of his injuries is

transported to a medical facility. Lodging

and meal expenses, at the reimbursement

rate consistent with DFA rules in effect at

the time of travel, may be considered. One

car rental may also be considered for the

responsible party. These expenses shall only

be considered while the victim is at a med-

ical facility and the distance must be more

than fifty miles from the victim’s resi-

dence.]  If a victim is transported to a med-

ical facility due to the severity of the vic-

tim’s injuries, gas expenses may be consid-

ered for reimbursement at the rate of twen-

ty cents per mile for relatives, a member of

the victim’s family relationship group, or a

dependent of the victim.  Lodging and meal

expenses for these individuals may also be

considered at the reimbursement rate con-

sistent with DFA rules in effect at the time

of the travel.  A car rental at a reasonable

rate may also be considered for reimburse-

ment.  These expenses shall only be consid-

ered while the victim is at a medical facility

and the distance must be more than fifty

miles one way from the victim’s residence.

[11/7/91, 3/14/98; 10.40.2.10 NMAC - Rn

& A, 10 NMAC 40.2.10, 08/31/06]

10.40.2.11 REDUCTIONS AND

DENIALS:

A. The commission board

shall consider that the purpose of the New

Mexico Crime Victims Reparation Act, as

stated in Section 31-22-2 NMSA 1978, is to

promote cooperation with law enforcement

efforts and promote the public health, wel-

fare, and safety of the citizens of New

Mexico. In accordance with Section 31-22-

7 C NMSA 1978, the commission board in

determining whether to make an award may

consider any circumstances it determines to
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be relevant.

(1) Also, as required by the

statute, the commission board shall consid-

er the behavior of the victim. This shall be

applied equally and consistently to all per-

sons. In considering the behavior of the vic-

tim, the commission board may reduce or

deny an application under any relevant cir-

cumstances, including, but not limited to the

following:

(a) knowing or willing involve-

ment in the commission of a crime as

defined in Section 30-1-4 NMSA 1978 at

the time of incident;

(b) behavior constituting provo-

cation or incitement;

(c) illegal drug use;

(d) gang-related crime or activity;

(e) knowingly or willingly riding

in a vehicle operated by a person who is

under the influence of alcohol or a con-

trolled substance;

(f) operating a vehicle while

legally intoxicated;

(g) failure to wear a seat belt as

required by statute;

(h) victim/claimant knowingly

falsifying application;

[(i) no automobile insurance as

required by statute;]

[(j)] (i) intoxication where the

judgment of a person would be impaired; or

[(k)] (j) knowingly engaging in a

physical altercation.

(2) In cases where the victim is

under eighteen years of age or the victim is

mentally or physically incapable of adher-

ing to these requirements, the commission

board may waive the above. In addition, the

board may waive any of the above in the

case of intimidation.

B. In accordance with the

Crime Victims Reparation Act, Section 31-

22-7 D (3) NMSA 1978, the commission,

upon finding that a claimant or victim has

not cooperated with law enforcement agen-

cies or with investigators, agents, or repre-

sentatives of the commission, may deny

reparation.

(1) The claimant or victim may be

considered uncooperative based on, but not

limited to, the following acts:

(a) refusal to discuss the crime

with the investigating police agencies;

(b) refusal to respond to questions

posed by the investigating police agency

regarding the crime on which the applica-

tion is based;

(c) withholding or secreting infor-

mation from the agency investigating the

crime regarding the description, the identity,

or the whereabouts of the offender; or

refusal to act as a witness before a court

with respect to the crime on which the

application is based;

(d) refusal to prosecute the

alleged [offender] suspect or pursue charges

against the [offender] suspect of the crime

on which the application is based;

(e) refusal or neglect to provide

the information required by the commission

to determine the validity of an application;

(f) impeding the progress of a

criminal investigation of the crime on which

the application is based; or

(g) advising other persons to

refuse to cooperate with law enforcement

agencies or with the commission in the con-

duct of their investigations.

(2) In cases where the victim is

under eighteen years of age or the victim is

mentally or physically incapable of adher-

ing to these requirements, the commission

board may waive the above.

C. Any application that

has been denied by the commission may be

reopened at the discretion of the commis-

sion.

[11/7/91, 3/14/98; 10.40.2.11 NMAC - Rn

& A, 10 NMAC 40.2.11, 08/31/06]

10.40.2.12 APPEAL PROCE-

DURE: If a victim/claimant feels that the

commission board’s decision on their appli-

cation is incorrect, they may file an appeal

with the agency. The appeal procedure is as

follows:

A. The victim/claimant

shall write a letter to the director requesting

the director to review the commission

board’s decision. Any new or additional rel-

evant information should be provided at this

time. The director shall review the applica-

tion file and additional information submit-

ted and make a determination as to whether

or not reconsideration of the original deci-

sion by the commission board is warranted.

If the director feels the commission board

should reconsider, the director shall present

the application to the commission board and

request a review of the decision. If the

director concurs with the commission

board, the director shall notify the

victim/claimant of the decision.

B. The victim/claimant

may request in writing a meeting between

the victim/claimant and the director, staff

[investigator] to whom the application is

assigned, and an independent victim advo-

cate to discuss the issues. The director, staff

[investigator] to whom the application is

assigned, and advocate shall then make a

recommendation to the commission board.

C. If the victim/claimant

disagrees with the results of steps one and

two of the appeal procedure, then he/she

may request in writing an appearance before

the commission board. The director shall

schedule the appearance before the commis-

sion board for the appeal. The

victim/claimant may present any informa-

tion he/she thinks is relevant. The commis-

sion board shall review the information pre-

sented and make a determination on the

application. The decision of the commission

board is final.

[11/7/91; 11/7/97; 3/14/98; 10.40.2.12

NMAC - Rn & A, 10 NMAC 40.2.12,

08/31/06]
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NEW MEXICO

ENVIRONMENTAL

IMPROVEMENT BOARD

This is an amendment to 20.2.3 NMAC, the

addition of text in Section 9 effective on

9/6/06.

20.2.3.9 LIMITATION OF

APPLICABILITY TO 20.2.70 NMAC.

The requirements of this part are not appli-

cable requirements under 20.2.70 NMAC,

as defined by that part. This section does not

limit the applicability of this part to sources

required to obtain a permit under 20.2.72

NMAC, nor does it limit which terms and

conditions of permits issued pursuant to

20.2.72 NMAC are applicable requirements

for permits issued pursuant to 20.2.70

NMAC.

[20.2.3.9 NMAC - N, 9/6/06]

[20.2.3.9] 20.2.3.10 to 20.2.3.107

[RESERVED]

NEW MEXICO

ENVIRONMENTAL

IMPROVEMENT BOARD

This is an amendment to 20.2.70 NMAC,

Sections 5, 7, 201, 300, 302 and 304 effec-

tive on 9/6/06.

20.2.70.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

11/30/95, except where a later date is cited

at the end of a section.

[11/30/95; 20.2.70.5 NMAC - Rn, 20

NMAC 20.2.70.I.104, 06/14/02; A, 9/6/06]

[The latest effective date of any section in

this Part is 9/6/06.]

20.2.70.7 DEFINITIONS: In

addition to the terms defined in 20.2.2

NMAC (definitions), as used in this part[:]

the following definitions shall apply.

A. “Acid rain source” has

the meaning given to “affected source” in

the regulations promulgated under Title IV

of the federal act, and includes all sources

subject to Title IV of the federal act.

B. “Affected programs”

means all states, local air pollution control

programs, and Indian tribes and pueblos,

that are within 50 miles of the source.

C. “Air pollutant” means

an air pollution agent or combination of



such agents, including any physical, chemi-

cal, biological, radioactive (including

source material, special nuclear material,

and byproduct material) substance or matter

which is emitted into or otherwise enters the

ambient air.  Such term includes any pre-

cursors to the formation of any air pollutant,

to the extent the administrator has identified

such precursor or precursors for the particu-

lar purpose for which the term “air pollu-

tant” is used.  This excludes water vapor,

nitrogen (N2), carbon dioxide (CO2), oxy-

gen (O2), methane and ethane.

D. “Air pollution control

equipment” means any device, equipment,

process or combination thereof, the opera-

tion of which would limit, capture, reduce,

confine, or otherwise control regulated air

pollutants or convert for the purposes of

control any regulated air pollutant to anoth-

er form, another chemical or another physi-

cal state.  This includes, but is not limited

to, sulfur recovery units, acid plants, bag-

houses, precipitators, scrubbers, cyclones,

water sprays, enclosures, catalytic convert-

ers, and steam or water injection.

E. “Applicable require-

ment” means all of the following, as they

apply to a Part 70 source or to an emissions

[units] unit at a Part 70 source (including

requirements that have been promulgated or

approved by the board or US EPA through

rulemaking at the time of permit issuance

but have future-effective compliance

dates)[:].

(1) Any standard or other require-

ment provided for in the New Mexico state

implementation plan approved by US EPA,

or promulgated by US EPA through rule-

making, under Title I of the federal act to

implement the relevant requirements of the

federal act, including any revisions to that

plan promulgated in 40 CFR, Part 52[;].

(2) Any term or condition of any

preconstruction permit issued pursuant to

regulations approved or promulgated

through rulemaking under Title I, including

Parts C or D, of the federal act, unless that

term or condition is determined by the

department to be no longer pertinent[;].

(3) Any standard or other require-

ment under Section 111 of the federal act,

including Section 111(d)[;].

(4) Any standard or other require-

ment under Section 112 of the federal act,

including any requirement concerning acci-

dent prevention under Section 112(r)(7) of

the federal act[;].

(5) Any standard or other require-

ment of the acid rain program under Title IV

of the federal act or the regulations promul-

gated thereunder[;].

(6) Any requirements established

pursuant to Section 504(b) or Section

114(a)(3) of the federal act[;].

(7) Any standard or other require-

ment governing solid waste incineration

under Section 129 of the federal act[;].

(8) Any standard or other require-

ment for consumer and commercial prod-

ucts under Section 183(e) of the federal

act[;].

(9) Any standard or other require-

ment for tank vessels under Section 183(f)

of the federal act[;].

(10) Any standard or other

requirement of the regulations promulgated

to protect stratospheric ozone under Title VI

of the federal act, unless the administrator

has determined that such requirements need

not be contained in a Title V permit[;].

(11) Any national ambient air

quality standard[;].

(12) Any increment or visibility

requirement under Part C of Title I of the

federal act, but only as it would apply to

temporary sources permitted pursuant to

Section 504(e) of the federal act[; and].

(13) Any regulation adopted by

the board pursuant to the New Mexico Air

Quality Control Act, Section 74-2-5(B)

NMSA 1978.

F. “CFR” means the

Code of Federal Regulations.

G. “Draft permit” means

a version of a permit which the department

offers for public participation or affected

program review.

H. “Emission limitation”

means a requirement established by US

EPA, the board, or the department, that lim-

its the quantity, rate or concentration, or

combination thereof, of emissions of regu-

lated air pollutants on a continuous basis,

including any requirements relating to the

operation or maintenance of a source to

assure continuous reduction.

I. “Emissions allowable

under the permit” means:

(1) any state or federally enforce-

able permit term or condition that establish-

es an emission limit (including a work prac-

tice standard) requested by the applicant

and approved by the department or deter-

mined at issuance or renewal to be required

by an applicable requirement; or

(2) any federally enforceable

emissions cap that the permittee has

assumed to avoid an applicable requirement

to which the source would otherwise be

subject.

J. “Emissions unit”

means any part or activity of a stationary

source that emits or has the potential to emit

any regulated air pollutant or any air pollu-

tant listed pursuant to Section 112(b) of the

federal act.  This term is not meant to alter

or affect the definition of the term “unit” for

purposes of Title IV of the federal act.

K. Federally enforce-

able” means all limitations and conditions

which are enforceable by the administrator,

including those requirements developed

pursuant to 40 CFR Parts 60 and 61,

requirements within the New Mexico state

implementation plan, and any permit

requirements established pursuant to 40

CFR 52.21 or under regulations approved

pursuant to 40 CFR Part 51, Subpart I,

including 40 CFR 51.165 and 40 CFR

51.166.

L. “Final permit” means

the version of an operating permit issued by

the department that has met all review

requirements of 20.2.70.400 NMAC -

20.2.70.499 NMAC.

M. “Fugitive emissions”

are those emissions which could not reason-

ably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or

other functionally-equivalent opening.

N. “General permit”

means an operating permit that meets the

requirements of 20.2.70.303 NMAC.

O. “Hazardous air pollu-

tant” means an air contaminant that has

been classified as a hazardous air pollutant

pursuant to the federal act.

P. “Insignificant activi-

ties” means those activities which have

been listed by the department and approved

by the administrator as insignificant on the

basis of size, emissions or production rate.

Q. “Major source”

means any stationary source (or any group

of stationary sources that are located on one

or more contiguous or adjacent properties,

and are under common control of the same

person(s)) in which all of the pollutant emit-

ting activities at such source belong to the

same major group (i.e., all have the same

two-digit code), as described in the standard

industrial classification manual, 1987, and

that is described in Paragraphs (1), (2) or (3)

below.

(1) A major source under Section

112 of the federal act, which is defined as

the following.[:]

(a) For pollutants other than

radionuclides, any stationary source or

group of stationary sources located within a

contiguous area and under common control

that emits or has the potential to emit, in the

aggregate, 10 tons or more per year of any

hazardous air pollutant which has been list-

ed pursuant to Section 112 (b) of the feder-

al act, 25 or more tons per year of any com-

bination of such hazardous air pollutants

(including any major source of fugitive

emissions of any such pollutant, as deter-

mined by rule by the administrator), or such

lesser quantity as the administrator may

establish by rule.  Notwithstanding the pre-

ceding sentence, hazardous emissions from

any oil or gas exploration or production

well (with its associated equipment) and

hazardous emissions from any pipeline

compressor or pump station shall not be

aggregated with hazardous emissions from

other similar units, whether or not such

units are in a contiguous area or under com-

mon control, to determine whether such
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units or stations are major sources.

(b) For radionuclides, “major

source” shall have the meaning specified by

the administrator by rule.

(2) A major stationary source of

air pollutants that directly emits or has the

potential to emit, 100 or more tons per year

of any air pollutant (including any major

source of fugitive emissions of any such

pollutant, as determined by rule by the

administrator).  The fugitive emissions of a

stationary source shall not be considered in

determining whether it is a major stationary

source for the purposes of this paragraph,

unless the source belongs to one of the fol-

lowing categories of stationary sources:

(a) coal cleaning plants (with

thermal dryers);

(b) kraft pulp mills;

(c) portland cement plants;

(d) primary zinc smelters;

(e) iron and steel mills;

(f) primary aluminum ore reduc-

tion plants;

(g) primary copper smelters;

(h) municipal incinerators capa-

ble of charging more than 250 tons of refuse

per day;

(i) hydrofluoric, sulfuric, or nitric

acid plants;

(j) petroleum refineries;

(k) lime plants;

(l) phosphate rock processing

plants;

(m) coke oven batteries;

(n) sulfur recovery plants;

(o) carbon black plants (furnace

process);

(p) primary lead smelters;

(q) fuel conversion plant;

(r) sintering plants;

(s) secondary metal production

plants;

(t) chemical process plants;

(u) fossil-fuel boilers (or combi-

nation thereof) totaling more than 250 mil-

lion British thermal units per hour heat

input;

(v) petroleum storage and transfer

units with a total storage capacity exceeding

300,000 barrels;

(w) taconite ore processing

plants;

(x) glass fiber processing plants;

(y) charcoal production plants;

(z) fossil fuel-fired steam electric

plants of more than 250 million British ther-

mal units per hour heat input;

(aa) any other stationary source

category, which as of August 7, 1980 is

being regulated under Section 111 or 112 of

the federal act.

(3) A major stationary source as

defined in Part D of Title I of the federal act,

including:

(a) for ozone non-attainment

areas, sources with the potential to emit 100

tons or more per year of volatile organic

compounds or nitrogen oxides in areas clas-

sified as “marginal” or “moderate,” 50 tons

or more per year in areas classified as “seri-

ous,” 25 tons or more per year in areas clas-

sified as “severe,” and 10 tons or more per

year in areas classified as “extreme”; except

that the references in this paragraph to 100,

50, 25, and 10 tons per year of nitrogen

oxides shall not apply with respect to any

source for which the administrator has made

a finding, under Section 182(f)(1) or (2) of

the federal act, that requirements under

Section 182(f) of the federal act do not

apply;

(b) for ozone transport regions

established pursuant to Section 184 of the

federal act, sources with the potential to

emit 50 tons or more per year of volatile

organic compounds;

(c) for carbon monoxide non-

attainment areas (1) that are classified as

“serious,” and (2) in which stationary

sources contribute significantly to carbon

monoxide levels as determined under rules

issued by the administrator, sources with the

potential to emit 50 tons or more per year of

carbon monoxide; and

(d) for particulate matter (PM10)

non-attainment areas classified as “serious,”

sources with the potential to emit 70 tons or

more per year of PM10.

R. “Operating permit” or

“permit” (unless the context suggests oth-

erwise) means any permit or group of per-

mits covering a source that is issued,

renewed, modified or revised pursuant to

this part.

S. “Operator” means the

person or persons responsible for the over-

all operation of a facility.

T. “Owner” means the

person or persons who own a facility or part

of a facility.

U. “Part” means an air

quality control regulation under Title 20,

Chapter 2 of the New Mexico

Administrative Code, unless otherwise

noted; as adopted or amended by the board.

V. “Part 70 source”

means any source subject to the permitting

requirements of this part, as provided in

20.2.70.200 NMAC - 20.2.70.299 NMAC.

W. “Permit modification”

means a revision to an operating permit that

meets the requirements of significant permit

modifications, minor permit modifications,

or administrative permit amendments, as

defined in 20.2.70.404 NMAC.

X. “Permittee” means the

owner, operator or responsible official at a

permitted Part 70 source, as identified in

any permit application or modification.

Y. “Portable source”

means any plant that is mounted on any

chassis or skids and which can be moved by

the application of a lifting or pulling force.

In addition, there shall be no cable, chain,

turnbuckle, bolt or other means (except

electrical connections) by which any piece

of equipment is attached or clamped to any

anchor, slab, or structure, including

bedrock, that must be removed prior to the

application of a lifting or pulling force for

the purpose of transporting the unit.

Portable sources may include sand and

gravel plants, rock crushers, asphalt plants

and concrete batch plants which meet this

criteria.

Z. “Potential to emit”

means the maximum capacity of a station-

ary source to emit any air pollutant under its

physical and operational design.  Any phys-

ical or operational limitation on the capaci-

ty of a source to emit an air pollutant,

including air pollution control equipment

and restrictions on hours of operation or on

the type or amount of material combusted,

stored, or processed, shall be treated as part

of its design if the limitation is federally

enforceable.  The potential to emit for nitro-

gen dioxide shall be based on total oxides of

nitrogen.

AA. “Proposed permit”

means the version of a permit that the

department proposes to issue and forwards

to the administrator for review in compli-

ance with 20.2.70.402 NMAC.

AB. “Regulated air pollu-

tant” means the following:

(1) nitrogen oxides, total suspend-

ed particulate matter, or any volatile organ-

ic compounds;

(2) any pollutant for which a

national ambient air quality standard has

been promulgated;

(3) any pollutant that is subject to

any standard promulgated under Section

111 of the federal act;

(4) any class I or II substance sub-

ject to any standard promulgated under or

established by Title VI of the federal act; or

(5) any pollutant subject to a stan-

dard promulgated under Section 112 or any

other requirements established under

Section 112 of the federal act, including

Sections 112(g), (j), and (r), including the

following;

(a) any pollutant subject to

requirements under Section 112(j) of the

federal act; if the administrator fails to

promulgate a standard by the date estab-

lished pursuant to Section 112(e) of the fed-

eral act, any pollutant for which a subject

source would be a major shall be considered

to be regulated on the date 18 months after

the applicable date established pursuant to

Section 112(e) of the federal act; and

(b) any pollutant for which the

requirements of Section 112(g)(2) of the

federal act have been met, but only with
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respect to the individual source subject to a

Section 112(g)(2) requirement.

AC. “Renewal” means the

process by which a permit is reissued at the

end of its term.

AD. “Responsible official”

means one of the following.

(1) For a corporation: a president,

secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the

corporation in charge of a principal business

function, or any other person who performs

similar policy or decision-making functions

for the corporation, or a duly authorized

representative of such person if the repre-

sentative is responsible for the overall oper-

ation of one or more manufacturing, pro-

duction, or operating facilities applying for

or subject to a permit and either a) the facil-

ities employ more than 250 persons or have

gross annual sales or expenditures exceed-

ing $25 million (in second quarter 1980 dol-

lars), or b) the delegation of authority to

such representative is approved in advance

by the department.

(2) For a partnership or sole pro-

prietorship: a general partner or the propri-

etor, respectively.

(3) For a municipality, state, fed-

eral or other public agency: either a princi-

pal executive officer or ranking elected offi-

cial.  For the purposes of this part, a princi-

pal executive officer of a federal agency

includes the chief executive officer having

responsibility for the overall operations of a

principal geographic unit of the agency

(e.g., a regional administrator of US EPA).

(4) For an acid rain source: the

designated representative (as defined in

Section 402(26) of the federal act) in so far

as actions, standards, requirements, or pro-

hibitions under Title IV of the federal act or

the regulations promulgated thereunder are

concerned, and for any other purposes

under 40 CFR, Part 70.

AE. “Section 502(b)(10)

changes” are changes that contravene an

express permit term.  Such changes do not

include changes that would violate applica-

ble requirements or contravene permit

terms and conditions that are monitoring

(including test methods), recordkeeping,

reporting, or compliance certification

requirements.

AF. “Shutdown” means the

cessation of operation of any air pollution

control equipment, process equipment or

process for any purpose.

AG. “Solid waste incinera-

tion unit” means a distinct operating unit of

any facility which combusts any solid waste

material from commercial or industrial

establishments or the general public

(including single and multiple residences,

hotels, and motels).  The term “solid waste

incineration unit” does not include:

(1) incinerators or other units

required to have a permit under Section

3005 of the federal Solid Waste Disposal

Act;

(2) materials recovery facilities

(including primary or secondary smelters)

which combust waste for the primary pur-

pose of recovering metals;

(3) qualifying small power pro-

duction facilities, as defined in Section

3(17)(C) of the Federal Power Act (16

U.S.C. 796(17)(C)), or qualifying cogenera-

tion facilities, as defined in Section

3(18)(B) of the Federal Power Act (16

U.S.C. 796(18)(B)), which burn homoge-

neous waste (such as units which burn tires

or used oil, but not including refuse-derived

fuel) for the production of electric energy or

in the case of qualifying cogeneration facil-

ities which burn homogeneous waste for the

production of electric energy and steam or

forms of useful energy (such as heat) which

are used for industrial, commercial, heating

or cooling purposes; or

(4) air curtain incinerators, pro-

vided that such incinerators only burn wood

wastes, yard wastes and clean lumber and

that such air curtain incinerators comply

with opacity limitations established by the

administrator by rule.

AH. “Startup” means the

setting into operation of any air pollution

control equipment, process equipment or

process for any purpose.

AI. “Stationary source” or

“source” means any building, structure,

facility, or installation, or any combination

thereof that emits or may emit any regulat-

ed air pollutant or any pollutant listed under

Section 112(b) of the federal act.

AJ. “Subsidiary” means a

business concern which is owned or con-

trolled by, or is a partner of, the applicant or

permittee.

AK. “Temporary source”

means any plant that is situated in one loca-

tion for a period of less than one year, after

which it will be dismantled and removed

from its current site or relocated to a new

site.  A temporary source may be semi-per-

manent, which means that is does not have

to meet the requirements of a portable

source.  Temporary sources may include

well head compressors which meet this cri-

teria.

AL. “Title I modification”

means any modification under Sections 111

or 112 of the federal act and any physical

change or change in method of operations

that is subject to the preconstruction regula-

tions promulgated under Parts C and D of

the federal act.

[11/30/95; 20.2.70.7 NMAC - Rn, 20

NMAC 2.70.I.107, 06/14/02; A, 11/07/02;

A, 9/6/06]

20.2.70.201 R E Q U I R E M E N T

FOR A PERMIT:

A. A Part 70 source may

operate after the time that it is required to

submit a timely and complete application

under this part only if:

(1) the source is in compliance

with an operating permit issued by the

department or EPA; or

(2) a timely permit (including

permit renewal) application has been sub-

mitted consistent with 20.2.70.300 NMAC;

the ability to operate under these circum-

stances shall cease if the applicant fails to

submit by the deadline specified in writing

by the department any additional informa-

tion identified as being needed to process

the application.

B. Revocation or termina-

tion of a permit by the department termi-

nates the permittee’s right to operate.

C. The submittal of a com-

plete operating permit application shall not

protect any source from any applicable

requirement, including any requirement that

the source have a preconstruction permit

under Title I of the federal act or state regu-

lations.

D, Requirement for permit

under 20.2.72 NMAC.

(1) Part 70 sources that have an

operating permit and do not have a permit

issued under 20.2.72 NMAC or 20.2.74

NMAC shall submit a complete application

for a permit under 20.2.72 NMAC within

180 days of September 6, 2006. The depart-

ment shall consider and may grant reason-

able requests for extension of this deadline

on a case-by-case basis.

(2) Part 70 sources that do not

have an operating permit or a permit under

20.2.72 NMAC upon the effective date of

this subsection shall submit an application

for a permit under 20.2.72 NMAC within 60

days after submittal of an application for an

operating permit.

(3) Paragraphs 1 and 2 of this sub-

section shall not apply to sources that have

demonstrated compliance with both the

national and state ambient air quality stan-

dards through dispersion modeling or other

method approved by the department and

that have requested incorporation of condi-

tions in their operating permit to ensure

compliance with these standards.

[11/30/95; 20.2.70.201 NMAC - Rn, 20

NMAC 2.70.II.201, 06/14/02; A, 9/6/06]

20.2.70.300 PERMIT APPLICA-

TIONS:

A. Duty to apply[:]. For

each Part 70 source, the owner or operator

shall submit a timely and complete permit

application in accordance with this part.

B. Timely application.  A

timely application for a source applying for

a permit under this part is:

(1) for first time applications, one

that is submitted within twelve (12) months

after the source commences operation as a
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Part 70 source, or as established in the tran-

sition schedule outlined in Paragraph (4) of

Subsection B of 20.2.70.300 NMAC;

(2) for purposes of permit renew-

al, one that is submitted at least twelve (12)

months prior to the date of permit expira-

tion[.];

(3) for the acid rain portion of

permit applications for initial phase II acid

rain sources under Title IV of the federal

act, by January 1, 1996 for sulfur dioxide,

and by January 1, 1998 for nitrogen

oxides[.];

[(4) Transition schedule.  A time-

ly application for a Part 70 source which is

in operation on or before December 19,

1995 is one that is submitted:

(a) For sources, except natural

gas processing plants, which have been

issued a permit, including a permit modifi-

cation, pursuant to 20.2.72 NMAC, 20.2.74

NMAC, or 20.2.79 NMAC on or after

January 1, 1987, by February 2, 1995,

except that persons owning more than one

source in this category may submit applica-

tions for half of their sources by February 2,

1995 and submit the remaining applications

by March 19, 1995;

(b) For sources, except natural

gas processing plants, which were issued a

permit, including a permit modification,

pursuant to 20.2.72 NMAC, 20.2.74

NMAC, or 20.2.79 NMAC prior to January

1, 1987, by June 19, 1995;

(c) For all other sources, by

December 19, 1995.]

C. Completeness of

[A]application[:].

(1) To be deemed complete, an

application must provide all information

required pursuant to Subsection D of

20.2.70.300 NMAC, except that applica-

tions for permit modifications need supply

such information only if it is related to the

proposed change.

(2) If, while processing an appli-

cation, regardless of whether it has been

determined or deemed to be complete, the

department determines that additional infor-

mation is necessary to evaluate or take final

action on that application, it may request

such information in writing and set a rea-

sonable deadline for a response.

(3) Any applicant who fails to

submit any relevant facts or who has sub-

mitted incorrect information in a permit

application or in a supplemental submittal

shall, upon becoming aware of such failure

or incorrect submittal, promptly submit

such supplementary facts or corrected infor-

mation.  In addition, an applicant shall pro-

vide further information as necessary to

address any requirements that become

applicable to the source after the date it filed

a complete application but prior to release

of a draft permit.

(4) The applicant’s ability to oper-

ate without a permit, as set forth in

Paragraph (2) of Subsection A of

20.2.70.201 NMAC, shall be in effect from

the date a timely application is submitted

until the final permit is issued or disap-

proved, provided that the applicant ade-

quately submits any requested additional

information by the deadline specified by the

department.

D. Content of applica-

tion[:]. Any person seeking a permit under

this part shall do so by filing a written appli-

cation with the department.  The applicant

shall submit three (3) copies of the permit

application, or more, as requested by the

department.  An applicant may not omit

information needed to determine the appli-

cability of, or to impose, any applicable

requirement, or to evaluate the fee amount

required under 20.2.71 NMAC (operating

permit emission fees).  Fugitive emissions

shall be included in the permit application

in the same manner as stack emissions,

regardless of whether the source category in

question is included in the list of sources

contained in the definition of major source.

All applications shall[:] meet the following

requirements.

(1) Be made on forms furnished

by the department, which for the acid rain

portions of permit applications and compli-

ance plans shall be on nationally-standard-

ized forms to the extent required by regula-

tions promulgated under Title IV of the fed-

eral act[;].

(2) State the company’s name and

address (and, if different, plant name and

address), together with the names and

addresses of the owner(s), responsible offi-

cial and the operator of the source, any sub-

sidiaries or parent companies, the compa-

ny’s state of incorporation or principal reg-

istration to do business and corporate or

partnership relationship to other permittees

subject to this part, and the telephone num-

bers and names of the owners’ agent(s) and

the site contact(s) familiar with plant opera-

tions[;].

(3) State the date of the applica-

tion[;].

(4) Include a description of the

source’s processes and products (by stan-

dard industrial classification code) includ-

ing any associated with alternative scenar-

ios identified by the applicant, and a map,

such as the 7.5 minute topographic quad-

rangle map published by the United States

geological survey or the most detailed map

available showing the exact location of the

source.  The location shall be identified by

latitude and longitude or by UTM coordi-

nates[;].

(5) For all emissions of all air pol-

lutants for which the source is major and all

emissions of regulated air pollutants, pro-

vide all emissions information, calculations

and computations for the source and for

each emissions unit, except for insignificant

activities (as defined in 20.2.70.7 NMAC).

This shall include:

(a) a process flow sheet of all

components of the facility which would be

involved in routine operations and emis-

sions;

(b) identification and description

of all emissions points in sufficient detail to

establish the basis for fees and applicability

of requirements of the state and federal acts;

(c) emissions rates in tons per

year, pounds per hour and in such terms as

are necessary to establish compliance con-

sistent with the applicable standard refer-

ence test method;

(d) specific information such as

that regarding fuels, fuel use, raw materials,

or production rates, to the extent it is need-

ed to determine or regulate emissions;

(e) identification and full descrip-

tion, including all calculations and the basis

for all control efficiencies presented, of air

pollution control equipment and compli-

ance monitoring devices or activities;

(f) the maximum and standard

operating schedules of the source, as well as

any work practice standards or limitations

on source operation which affect emissions

of regulated pollutants;

(g) [An]if requested by the

department, an operational plan defining the

measures to be taken to mitigate source

emissions during startups, shutdowns and

emergencies;

(h) other relevant information as

the department may reasonably require or

which are required by any applicable

requirements (including information related

to stack height limitations developed pur-

suant to Section 123 of the federal act); and

(i) for each alternative operating

scenario identified by the applicant, all of

the information required in Subparagraphs

(a) through (h) above, as well as additional

information determined to be necessary by

the department to define such alternative

operating scenarios[;].

(6) Provide a list of insignificant

activities (as defined in 20.2.70.7 NMAC)

at the source, their emissions, to the extent

required by the department, and any infor-

mation necessary to determine applicable

requirements[;].

(7) Provide a citation and descrip-

tion of all applicable air pollution control

requirements, including:

(a) sufficient information related

to the emissions of regulated air pollutants

to verify the requirements that are applica-

ble to the source; and

(b) a description of or reference to

any applicable test method for determining

compliance with each applicable require-
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ment[;].

(8) Provide an explanation of any

proposed exemptions from otherwise appli-

cable requirements[;].

(9) Provide other specific infor-

mation that may be necessary to implement

and enforce other requirements of the state

or federal acts or to determine the applica-

bility of such requirements, including infor-

mation necessary to collect any permit fees

owed under 20.2.71 NMAC (operating per-

mit emission fees)[;].

[(10) For applications which are

required under the transition schedule in

paragraph (4) of subsection B of

20.2.70.300 NMAC, include a dispersion

modeling analysis, using US EPA approved

models and procedures, showing whether

emissions from the source would cause air

pollutant concentrations in excess of any

national ambient air quality standard.  Air

pollutants which are not emitted in signifi-

cant (as defined in 40 CFR 52.21(b)(23)(i))

amounts during routine operations need not

be modeled.

(a) This requirement shall not

apply to the following:

(i) A Part 70 source

issued a permit under 20.2.72 NMAC,

20.2.74 NMAC, 20.2.79 NMAC after

January 1, 1986; or

(ii) A Part 70 source

subject to 20.2.14 NMAC, 20.2.16 NMAC,

20.2.19 NMAC, 20.2.31 NMAC, 20.2.32

NMAC if no physical or operational modi-

fications that have resulted in increased par-

ticulate matter, sulfur dioxide, or nitrogen

oxide emissions have occurred since the

time modeling was performed for that facil-

ity as part of revisions to those regulations.

(b) The Department may waive

modeling with respect to ozone if the

Department determines that emissions from

the source are not likely to cause ozone con-

centrations in excess of the national ambient

air quality standard.]

[(11)](10) Provide certification of

compliance, including[:] all of the follow-

ing.

(a) A certification, by a responsi-

ble official consistent with Subsection E of

20.2.70.300 NMAC, of the source’s compli-

ance status for each applicable requirement.

For national ambient air quality standards,

certifications shall be based on the follow-

ing.

(i) For first time appli-

cations, this certification shall be based on

modeling submitted with the application for

a permit under 20.2.72 NMAC.

(ii) For permit renewal

applications, this certification shall be based

on compliance with the relevant terms and

conditions of the current operating permit. 

(b) A statement of methods used

for determining compliance, including a

description of monitoring, recordkeeping,

and reporting requirements and test meth-

ods[;].

(c) A statement that the source

will continue to be in compliance with

applicable requirements for which it is in

compliance, and will, in a timely manner or

at such schedule expressly required by the

applicable requirement, meet additional

applicable requirements that become effec-

tive during the permit term[;].

(d) A schedule for submission of

compliance certifications during the permit

term, to be submitted no less frequently

than annually, or more frequently if speci-

fied by the underlying applicable require-

ment or by the department [; and].

(e) A statement indicating the

source’s compliance status with any

enhanced monitoring and compliance certi-

fication requirements of the federal act.

[(12)](11) For sources that are not

in compliance with all applicable require-

ments at the time of permit application, pro-

vide a compliance plan that contains: all of

the following.

(a) A description of the compli-

ance status of the source with respect to all

applicable requirements[;].

(b) A narrative description of how

the source will achieve compliance with

such requirements for which it is not in

compliance[;].

(c) A schedule of remedial meas-

ures, including an enforceable sequence of

actions with milestones, leading to compli-

ance with such applicable requirements.

The schedule of compliance shall be at least

as stringent as that contained in any consent

decree or administrative order to which the

source is subject, and the obligations of any

consent decree or administrative order shall

not be in any way diminished by the sched-

ule of compliance.  Any such schedule of

compliance shall be supplemental to, and

shall not prohibit the department from tak-

ing any enforcement action for noncompli-

ance with, the applicable requirements on

which it is based[;].

(d) A schedule for submission of

certified progress reports no less frequently

than every six (6) months[; and].

(e) For the portion of each acid

rain source subject to the acid rain provi-

sions of Title IV of the federal act, the com-

pliance plan content requirements specified

in this paragraph, except as specifically

superseded by regulations promulgated

under Title IV of the federal act with regard

to the schedule and method(s) the source

will use to achieve compliance with the acid

rain emissions limitations.

E. Certification[:]. Any

document, including any application form,

report, or compliance certification, submit-

ted pursuant to this part shall contain certi-

fication by a responsible official of truth,

accuracy, and completeness.  This certifica-

tion and any other certification required

under this part shall state that, based on

information and belief formed after reason-

able inquiry, the statements and information

in the document are true, accurate, and com-

plete.

[11/30/95; A, 11/14/98; 20.2.70.300 NMAC

- Rn, 20 NMAC 2.70.III.300, 06/14/02; A,

9/6/06]

20.2.70.302 PERMIT CONTENT:

A. Permit conditions[:].

(1) The department shall specify

conditions upon a permit, including emis-

sion limitations and sufficient operational

requirements and limitations, to assure

compliance with all applicable require-

ments at the time of permit issuance or as

specified in the approved schedule of com-

pliance.  The permit shall:

(a) for major sources, include all

applicable requirements for all relevant

emissions units in the major source;

(b) for any non-major source sub-

ject to 20.2.70.200 NMAC - 20.2.70.299

NMAC, include all applicable requirements

which apply to emissions units that cause

the source to be subject to this part;

(c) specify and reference the ori-

gin of and authority for each term or condi-

tion, and identify any difference in form as

compared to the applicable requirement

upon which the term or condition is based;

(d) include a severability clause

to ensure the continued validity of the vari-

ous permit requirements in the event of a

challenge to any portions of the permit;

(e) include a provision to ensure

that the permittee pays fees to the

[D]department consistent with the fee

schedule in 20.2.71 NMAC (Operating

Permit Emission Fees); and

(f) for purposes of the permit

shield, identify any requirement specifically

identified in the permit application or sig-

nificant permit modification that the depart-

ment has determined is not applicable to the

source, and state the basis for any such

determination.

(2) Each permit issued shall, addi-

tionally, include provisions stating [that:]

the following.

(a) The permittee shall comply

with all terms and conditions of the permit.

Any permit noncompliance is grounds for

enforcement action.  In addition, noncom-

pliance with federally enforceable permit

conditions constitutes a violation of the fed-

eral act[;].

(b) It shall not be a defense for a

permittee in an enforcement action that it

would have been necessary to halt or reduce

the permitted activity in order to maintain

compliance with the conditions of the per-

mit[;].

(c) The permit may be modified,

reopened and revised, revoked and reissued,
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or terminated for cause in accordance with

20.2.70.405 NMAC[;].

(d) The filing of a request by the

permittee for a permit modification, revoca-

tion and reissuance, or termination, or of a

notification of planned changes or anticipat-

ed noncompliance shall not stay any permit

condition[;].

(e) The permit does not convey

any property rights of any sort, or any

exclusive privilege[;].

(f) Within the period specified by

the department, the permittee shall furnish

any information that the department may

request in writing to determine whether

cause exists for reopening and revising,

revoking and reissuing, or termination of

the permit or to determine compliance with

the permit.  Upon request, the permittee

shall also furnish to the department copies

of records required by the permit to be

maintained.

(3) The terms and conditions for

all alternative operating scenarios identified

in the application and approved by the

department:

(a) shall require that the permittee

maintain a log at the permitted facility

which documents, contemporaneously with

any change from one operating scenario to

another, the scenario under which the facil-

ity is operating; and

(b) shall, for each such alternative

scenario, meet all applicable requirements

and the requirements of this part.

(4) The department may impose

conditions regulating emissions during

startup and shutdown.

(5) All permit terms and condi-

tions which are required under the federal

act or under any of its applicable require-

ments, including any provisions designed to

limit a source’s potential to emit, are

enforceable by the administrator and citi-

zens under the federal act.  The permit shall

specifically designate as not being federally

enforceable under the federal act any terms

or conditions included in the permit that are

not required under the federal act or under

any of its applicable requirements.

(6) The issuance of a permit, or

the filing or approval of a compliance plan,

does not relieve any person from civil or

criminal liability for failure to comply with

the provisions of the Air Quality Control

Act, the federal act, federal regulations

thereunder, any applicable regulations of

the Board, and any other applicable law or

regulation.

(7) The department may include

part or all of the contents of the application

as terms and conditions of the permit or per-

mit modification.  The department shall not

apply permit terms and conditions upon

emissions of regulated pollutants for which

there are no applicable requirements, unless

the source is major for that pollutant.

(8) Fugitive emissions from a

source shall be included in the operating

permit in the same manner as stack emis-

sions, regardless of whether the source cat-

egory in question is included in the list of

sources contained in the definition of major

source.

(9) The acid rain portion of oper-

ating permits for acid rain sources shall

additionally:

(a) state that, where an applicable

requirement of the federal act is more strin-

gent than an applicable requirement of reg-

ulations promulgated under Title IV of the

federal act, both provisions shall be incor-

porated into the permit and shall be enforce-

able by the administrator[.]; and

(b) contain a permit condition

prohibiting emissions exceeding any

allowances that the acid rain source lawful-

ly holds under Title IV of the federal act or

the regulations promulgated thereunder; no

permit modification under this part shall be

required for increases in emissions that are

authorized by allowances acquired pursuant

to the acid rain program, provided that such

increases do not require a permit modifica-

tion under any other applicable require-

ment; no limit shall be placed on the num-

ber of allowances held by the acid rain

source; the permittee may not use

allowances as a defense to noncompliance

with any other applicable requirement; any

such allowance shall be accounted for

according to the procedures established in

regulations promulgated under Title IV of

the federal act.

B. Permit duration[:]. The

department shall issue operating permits for

a fixed term of five (5) years.

C. Monitoring[:].

(1) Each permit shall contain all

emissions monitoring requirements, and

analysis procedures or test methods,

required to assure and verify compliance

with the terms and conditions of the permit

and applicable requirements, including any

procedures and methods promulgated by

the administrator.

(2) Where the applicable require-

ment does not require periodic testing or

instrumental or noninstrumental monitoring

(which may consist of recordkeeping

designed to serve as monitoring), the permit

shall require periodic monitoring sufficient

to yield reliable data from the relevant time

period that are representative of the source’s

compliance with the permit, as reported

pursuant to Subsection E of 20.2.70.302

NMAC.  Such monitoring requirements

shall assure use of terms, test methods,

units, averaging periods, and other statisti-

cal conventions consistent with the applica-

ble requirement.

(3) The permit shall also contain

specific requirements concerning the use,

maintenance, and, when appropriate, instal-

lation of monitoring equipment or methods.

D. Recordkeeping[:].

(1) The permit shall require

recordkeeping sufficient to assure and veri-

fy compliance with the terms and conditions

of the permit, including recordkeeping of:

(a) the date, place as defined in

the permit, and time of sampling or meas-

urements;

(b) the date(s) analyses were per-

formed;

(c) the company or entity that per-

formed the analyses;

(d) the analytical techniques or

methods used;

(e) the results of such analyses;

and

(f) the operating conditions exist-

ing at the time of sampling or measurement.

(2) Records of all monitoring data

and support information shall be retained

for a period of at least five (5) years from

the date of the monitoring sample, measure-

ment, report, or application.  Supporting

information includes all calibration and

maintenance records and all original strip-

chart recordings for continuous monitoring

instrumentation, and copies of all reports

required by the permit.

E. Reporting[:]. The per-

mit shall require reporting sufficient to

assure and verify compliance with the terms

and conditions of the permit and all applica-

ble requirements, including[:] all of the fol-

lowing.

(1) Submittal of reports of any

required monitoring at least every six (6)

months.  The reports shall be due to the

department within forty-five (45) days of

the end of the permittee’s reporting period.

All instances of deviations from permit

requirements, including emergencies, must

be clearly identified in such reports.  All

required reports must be certified by a

responsible official consistent with

Subsection E of 20.2.70.300 NMAC[;].

(2) Prompt reporting of all devia-

tions (including emergencies) from permit

requirements, including the date, time,

duration and probable cause of such devia-

tions, the quantity and pollutant type of

excess emissions resulting from the devia-

tion, and any corrective actions or preven-

tive measures taken.  Such reports shall

include telephone, verbal or facsimile com-

munication within twenty-four (24) hours

of the start of the next business day and

written notification within ten (10) days[;].

(3) Submittal of compliance certi-

fication reports at least every twelve (12)

months (or more frequently if so specified

by an applicable requirement) certifying the

source’s compliance status with [all permit]

terms and conditions contained in the per-
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mit [and all applicable requirements rele-

vant to the source], including [those related

to] emission limitations, standards, or work

practices. The reports shall be due to the

department within thirty (30) days of the

end of the permittee’s reporting period.

Such compliance certifications shall be sub-

mitted to the administrator as well as to the

department and shall include:

(a) the identification of each term

or condition of the permit that is the basis of

the certification;

(b) the compliance status of the

source;

(c) whether compliance was con-

tinuous or intermittent;

(d) the method(s) used for deter-

mining the compliance status of the source,

currently and during the reporting period

identified in the permit; and

(e) such other facts as the depart-

ment may require to determine the compli-

ance status of the source[; and].

(4) Such additional provisions as

may be specified by the administrator to

determine the compliance status of the

source.

F. Portable and

Temporary Sources[:]. The department may

issue permits for portable and temporary

sources which allow such sources to relo-

cate without undergoing a permit modifica-

tion.  Such permits shall not apply to acid

rain sources and shall include conditions to

assure that:

(1) [T]the source is installed at all

locations in a manner conforming with the

permit;

(2) [T]the source shall comply

with all applicable requirements and all

other provisions of this part at all authorized

locations;

(3) the owner or operator shall

notify the department in writing at least fif-

teen (15) calendar days in advance of each

change in location;

(4) notification shall include a

legal description of where the source is to

be relocated and how long it will be located

there; and

(5) emissions from the source

shall not, at any location, result in or con-

tribute to an exceedance of a national ambi-

ent air quality standard or increment or vis-

ibility requirement under Part C of Title I of

the federal act; the department may require

dispersion modeling to assure compliance

at any location.

G. Compliance[:]. To

assure and verify compliance with the terms

and conditions of the permit and with this

part, permits shall also[:] include all the fol-

lowing.

(1) Require that, upon presenta-

tion of credentials and other documents as

may be required by law, the permittee shall

allow authorized representatives of the

department to perform the following:

(a) enter upon the permittee’s

premises where a source is located or emis-

sion related activity is conducted, or where

records must be kept under the conditions of

the permit;

(b) have access to and copy any

records that must be kept under the condi-

tions of the permit;

(c) inspect any facilities, equip-

ment (including monitoring and air pollu-

tion control equipment), practices, or opera-

tions regulated or required under the permit;

and

(d) sample or monitor any sub-

stances or parameters for the purpose of

assuring compliance with the permit or

applicable requirements or as otherwise

authorized by the federal act.

(2) Require that sources required

under Paragraph (12) of Subsection D of

20.2.70.300 NMAC to have a schedule of

compliance submit progress reports to the

department at least semiannually, or more

frequently if specified in the applicable

requirement or by the department.  Such

progress reports shall be consistent with the

schedule of compliance and requirements of

Paragraph (12) of Subsection D of

20.2.70.300 NMAC and shall contain:

(a) dates for achieving the activi-

ties, milestones, or compliance required in

the schedule of compliance, and dates when

such activities, milestones or compliance

were achieved; and

(b) an explanation of why any

dates in the schedule of compliance were

not or will not be met, and any preventive or

corrective measures adopted.

(3) Include such other provisions

as the department may require.

H. O p e r a t i o n a l

flexibility[:].

(1) Section 502(b)(10) changes.

(a) The permittee may make

Section 502(b)(10) changes, as defined in

20.2.70.7 NMAC, without applying for a

permit modification, if those changes are

not title I modifications and the changes do

not cause the facility to exceed the emis-

sions allowable under the permit (whether

expressed as a rate of emissions or in terms

of total emissions).

(b) For each such change, the per-

mittee shall provide written notification to

the [D]department and the administrator at

least seven (7) days in advance of the pro-

posed changes.  Such notification shall

include a brief description of the change

within the permitted facility, the date on

which the change will occur, any change in

emissions, and any permit term or condition

that is no longer applicable as a result of the

change.

(c) The permittee and department

shall attach each such notice to their copy of

the relevant permit.

(d) If the written notification and

the change qualify under this provision, the

permittee is not required to comply with the

permit terms and conditions it has identified

that restrict the change.  If the change does

not qualify under this provision, the original

terms of the permit remain fully enforce-

able.

(2) Emissions trading within a

facility[:].

(a) The department shall, if an

applicant requests it, issue permits that con-

tain terms and conditions allowing for the

trading of emissions increases and decreas-

es in the permitted facility solely for the

purpose of complying with a federally

enforceable emissions cap that is estab-

lished in the permit in addition to any appli-

cable requirements.  Such terms and condi-

tions shall include all terms and conditions

required under 20.2.70.302 NMAC to deter-

mine compliance.  If applicable require-

ments apply to the requested emissions trad-

ing, permit conditions shall be issued only

to the extent that the applicable require-

ments provide for trading such increases

and decreases without a case-by-case

approval.

(b) The applicant shall include in

the application proposed replicable proce-

dures and permit terms that ensure the emis-

sions trades are quantifiable and enforce-

able.  The department shall not include in

the emissions trading provisions any emis-

sions units for which emissions are not

quantifiable or for which there are no replic-

able procedures to enforce the emissions

trades.  The permit shall require compliance

with all applicable requirements.

(c) For each such change, the per-

mittee shall provide written notification to

the department and the administrator at least

seven (7) days in advance of the proposed

changes.  Such notification shall state when

the change will occur and shall describe the

changes in emissions that will result and

how these increases and decreases in emis-

sions will comply with the terms and condi-

tions of the permit.

(d) The permittee and department

shall attach each such notice to their copy of

the relevant permit.

I. Off-Permit Changes[:].

(1) Permittees are allowed to

make, without a permit modification,

changes that are not addressed or prohibited

by the operating permit, if:

(a) each such change meets all

applicable requirements and shall not vio-

late any existing permit term or condition;

(b) such changes are not subject

to any requirements under Title IV of the

federal act and are not Title I modifications;

(c) such changes are not subject to

permit modification procedures under

20.2.70.404 NMAC; and

(d) the permittee provides con-
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temporaneous written notice to the

[D]department and US EPA of each such

change, except for changes that qualify as

insignificant activities.  Such written notice

shall describe each such change, including

the date, any change in emissions, pollu-

tants emitted and any applicable require-

ment that would apply as a result of the

change.

(2) The permittee shall keep a

record describing changes made at the

source that result in emissions of a regulat-

ed air pollutant subject to an applicable

requirement, but not otherwise regulated

under the permit, and the emissions result-

ing from those changes.

J. Permit Shield[:].

(1) Except as provided in this

part, the department shall expressly include

in a Part 70 (20.2.70 NMAC) permit a pro-

vision stating that compliance with the con-

ditions of the permit shall be deemed com-

pliance with any applicable requirements as

of the date of permit issuance, provided

that:

(a) such applicable requirements

are included and are specifically identified

in the permit; or

(b) the department, in acting on

the permit application or significant permit

modification, determines in writing that

other requirements specifically identified

are not applicable to the source, and the per-

mit includes the determination or a concise

summary thereof.

(2) A Part 70 (20.2.70 NMAC)

permit that does not expressly state that a

permit shield exists for a specific provision

shall be presumed not to provide such a

shield for that provision.

(3) Nothing in this section or in

any Part 70 (20.2.70 NMAC) permit shall

alter or affect the following:

(a) the provisions of Section 303

of the federal act — Emergency Powers,

including the authority of the administrator

under that section, or the provisions of the

New Mexico Air Quality Control Act,

Section 74-2-10 NMSA 1978;

(b) the liability of an owner or

operator of a source for any violation of

applicable requirements prior to or at the

time of permit issuance;

(c) the applicable requirements of

the acid rain program, consistent with

Section 408(a) of the federal act; or

(d) the ability of US EPA to

obtain information from a source pursuant

to Section 114 of the federal act, or the

department to obtain information subject to

the New Mexico Air Quality Control Act,

Section 74-2-13 NMSA 1978.

(4) The permit shield shall remain

in effect if the permit terms and conditions

are extended past the expiration date of the

permit pursuant to Subsection D of

20.2.70.400 NMAC.

(5) The permit shield shall extend

to terms and conditions that allow emission

increases and decreases as part of emissions

trading within a facility pursuant to

Paragraph (2) of Subsection H of

20.2.70.302 NMAC, and to all terms and

conditions under each operating scenario

included pursuant to Paragraph (3) of

Subsection A of 20.2.70.302 NMAC.

(6) The permit shield shall not

extend to administrative amendments under

Subsection A of 20.2.70.404 NMAC, to

minor permit modifications under

Subsection B of 20.2.70.404 NMAC, to

Section 502(b)(10) changes under

Paragraph (1) of Subsection H of

20.2.70.302 NMAC, or to permit terms or

conditions for which notice has been given

to reopen or revoke all or part under

20.2.70.405 NMAC.

[11/30/95; A, 11/14/98; 20.2.70.302 NMAC

- Rn, 20 NMAC 2.70.III.302, 06/14/02; A,

9/6/06]

20.2.70.304 EMERGENCY PRO-

VISION:

A. An “emergency” means

any situation arising from sudden and rea-

sonably unforeseeable events beyond the

control of the permittee, including acts of

God, which situation requires immediate

corrective action to restore normal opera-

tion, and that causes the source to exceed a

technology-based emission limitation under

the permit due to unavoidable increases in

emissions attributable to the emergency.  An

emergency shall not include noncompliance

to the extent caused by improperly designed

equipment, lack of preventive maintenance,

or careless or improper operation.

B. An emergency consti-

tutes an affirmative defense to an action

brought for noncompliance with such tech-

nology-based emission limitations if the

permittee has demonstrated through proper-

ly signed, contemporaneous operating logs,

or other relevant evidence that:

(1) An emergency occurred and

that the permittee can identify the cause(s)

of the emergency;

(2) The permitted facility was at

the time being properly operated;

(3) During the period of the emer-

gency the permittee took all reasonable

steps to minimize levels of emissions that

exceeded the emission standards or other

requirements in the permit; and

(4) The permittee fulfilled notifi-

cation requirements under Paragraph (2) of

Subsection E of 20.2.70.302 NMAC.  This

notice must contain a description of the

emergency, any steps taken to mitigate

emissions, and corrective actions taken.

C. In any enforcement

proceeding, the permittee seeking to estab-

lish the occurrence of an emergency has the

burden of proof.

D. This provision is in

addition to any emergency or upset provi-

sion contained in any applicable require-

ment [, except that Part 70 sources shall not

be subject to the provisions of 20.2.7

NMAC (Excess Emissions during

Malfunction, Startup, Shutdown, or

Scheduled Maintenance) for permit terms

and conditions issued under 20.2.70

NMAC].

[11/30/95; 20.2.70.304 NMAC - Rn, 20

NMAC 2.70.III.304, 06/14/02; A, 9/6/06]
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NEW MEXICO

ENVIRONMENTAL

IMPROVEMENT BOARD

This is an amendment to 20.2.72 NMAC,

Section 216 effective on 9/6/06.

20.2.72.216 NONATTAINMENT

AREA REQUIREMENTS:

A. The requirements of

this section apply to:

(1) a new source or modification

of an existing source that [which] will emit

a regulated air contaminant such that the

ambient impact of the contaminant would

exceed the significant ambient concentra-

tion in 20.2.72.500 NMAC, table 1, at any

location that does not meet the New Mexico

ambient air quality standard for the contam-

inant; [or]

(2) a new source or modification

of an existing source that [which] is not a

major stationary source or major modifica-

tion as defined in 20.2.79 NMAC and

[which] that will emit a regulated air con-

taminant such that the ambient impact of the

contaminant would exceed the significant

ambient concentration in table 1 at any loca-

tion that does not meet the national ambient

air quality standard for the contaminant[.] ;

or

(3) an existing source that does

not propose an increase in emissions and

that will emit a regulated air contaminant

such that the ambient impact of the contam-

inant would exceed the significant ambient

concentration in 20.2.72.500 NMAC (table

1) at any location that does not meet the

national or New Mexico ambient air quality

standard for the contaminant.

B. A new source or modi-

fication of an existing source subject to this

section shall offset the ambient impact of its

emissions by:

(1) obtaining emission offsets for

proposed emissions in an amount greater

than one-to-one such that a net air quality

benefit will occur; and

(2) ensuring emission offsets are

quantifiable, enforceable, and permanent by

meeting the following sections of 20.2.79



NMAC:

(a) 20.2.79.114 NMAC (emission offset baseline);

(b) 20.2.79.115 NMAC (emission offsets); and

(c) 20.2.79.117 NMAC (air quality benefit).

C. An existing source that is subject to this section shall demonstrate a net

air quality benefit of at least a 20 percent reduction in ambient impact for each applicable

contaminant. The 20 percent reduction shall be calculated as the projected source impact

subtracted from the existing source impact divided by the existing source impact. The net

air quality benefit must also meet the requirements of 20.2.79.117 NMAC (air quality ben-

efit).

[11/30/95; 20.2.72.216 NMAC - Rn, 20 NMAC 20.2.72.II.216, 2/2/01; A, 9/6/06]

it written approval of HSD or the collabora-

tive.

(1) Credentialing requirements:

The MCO/SE shall maintain policies and

procedures for verifying that the credentials

of its providers and subcontractors meet

applicable standards.  The MCO/SE shall

assure the prospective subcontractor’s abili-

ty to perform the activities to be delegated.

(2) Review requirements: The

MCO/SE shall maintain a fully executed

original of all subcontracts and make them

accessible to HSD on request.

(3) Minimum requirements:

(a) subcontracts shall be executed

in accordance with applicable federal and

state laws, regulations, policies and rules;

(b) subcontracts shall identify the

parties of the subcontract and the parties’

legal basis of operation in the state of New

Mexico;

(c) subcontracts shall include pro-

cedures and criteria for terminating the sub-

contract;

(d) subcontracts shall identify the

services to be performed by the subcontrac-

tor and the services to be performed under

other subcontracts; subcontracts must

describe how members access services pro-

vided under the subcontract;

(e) subcontracts shall include

reimbursement rates and risk assumption,

where applicable;

(f) subcontractors shall maintain

records relating to services provided to

members for [six] 10 years;

(g) subcontracts shall require that

member information be kept confidential,

as defined by federal or state law, and be

HIPAA compliant;

(h) subcontracts shall provide that

authorized representatives of HSD have rea-

sonable access to facilities, personnel and

records for financial and medical audit pur-

poses;

(i) subcontracts shall include a

provision for the subcontractor to release to

the MCO/SE any information necessary to

perform any of its obligations;

(j) subcontractors shall accept

payment from the MCO/SE for any servic-

es included in the benefit package and can-

not request payment from HSD for services

performed under the subcontract;

(k) if subcontracts include pri-

mary care, provisions for compliance with

PCP requirements delineated in the MCO

contract with HSD apply;

(l) subcontractors shall comply

with all applicable state and federal statutes,

rules and regulations, including the prohibi-

tion against discrimination;

(m) subcontracts shall have a pro-

vision for terminating, rescinding, or can-

celing the contracts for violation of applica-

ble HSD requirements;

(n) subcontracts shall not prohibit
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NEW MEXICO DEPARTMENT OF GAME AND FISH

This is an amendment to 19.31.5 NMAC, Section 11, effective 8-31-2006.

19.31.5.11 HUNT CODES AND PERMITS NUMBERS FOR THE SPECIAL

ESTANCIA VALLEY, MIDDLE RIO GRANDE VALLEY, AND SOUTHWEST NEW

MEXICO SANDHILL CRANE SEASONS:

A. Seven separate Sandhill crane seasons are scheduled with up to a total

of 365 permits available.  The permits will be allocated by season as follows:  2006-2007

season:

B. Hunters who participate in the MRGV and EV seasons shall be required

to check-out at designated check stations when they harvest any sandhill cranes.  Those

hunters participating in the southwest seasons will be requested to check-out only at desig-

nated check stations at the end of each hunt date.  Falconers are required to report to the

department all sandhill cranes harvested in the EV.

[19.31.5.11 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.5.11 NMAC, 7-31-2006; A, 8-31-2006]

Season Dates  Hunt Code  Hunt Location  No. of permits  

 October 28 -29 SCR-0-101 MRGV 75 

 October 28 -29 and November 4 -5 SCR-0-102 EV 50 

 November 18 -19 SCR-0-103 MRGV 65 

 December 9 -10 SCR-0-104 MRGV 55 

 [November 11 -12] November 4 -5, 

2006 and January 6 -7, 2007 SCR-0-105 SW 60 

 January 13 -14, 2007  SCR-0-106 MRGV 55 

October 28 through November 26  SCR-0-107 EV Falconry  5 

NEW MEXICO HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION

This is an amendment to 8.305.3 NMAC, Section 10, which will be effective on September

1, 2006.

8.305.3.10 CONTRACT MANAGEMENT: HSD is responsible for management

of the medicaid contracts issued to MCOs/SE.  HSD shall provide the oversight and admin-

istrative functions to ensure MCO/SE compliance with the terms of the medicaid contract.

The collaborative or its designee shall provide the oversight and administrative functions to

ensure SE compliance with the terms of its contract.  HSD, as a member of the collabora-

tive, shall provide oversight of the SE contract as it relates to medicaid behavioral health

services, providers and members.

A. General contract requirements: The MCOs/SE shall meet all speci-

fied terms of the medicaid contract with HSD and the collaborative as it relates to medicaid

members and services and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act

(HIPAA).  This includes, but is not limited to, insuring confidentiality as it relates to med-

ical records and any other health and enrollment information that identifies a particular

member.  The MCOs/SE shall be held harmless in conversion to HIPAA electronic trans-

mission formats when delays are the result of implementation issues at HSD.

B. Subcontracting requirements: The MCO/SE may subcontract to a

qualified individual or organization the provision of any service defined in the benefit pack-

age or other required MCO/SE functions.  The MCO/SE shall submit boilerplate contract

language and sample contracts for various types of subcontracts.  Any substantive changes

to contract templates shall be approved by HSD or the collaborative prior to issuance.  The

SE may assign, transfer, or delegate to the sub contractual level key management functions

including, but not limited to, care coordination and universal credentialing with the explic-



a provider or other subcontractor from

entering into a contractual relationship with

another MCO;

(o) subcontracts may not include

incentives or disincentives that encourage a

provider or other subcontractor to not enter

into a contractual relationship with another

MCO/SE;

(p) subcontracts shall not contain

any gag order provisions nor sanctions

against providers who assist members in

accessing the grievance process or other-

wise protecting member’s interests; and

(q) subcontracts shall specify the

time frame for submission of encounter data

to the MCO/SE.

(4) Excluded providers: The

MCO/SE shall not contract with an individ-

ual provider, or an entity, or an entity with

an individual who is an officer, director,

agent, or manager who owns or has a con-

trolling interest in the entity, who has been

convicted of crimes specified in Section

1128 of the Social Security Act, excluded

from participation in any other state’s med-

icaid program, medicare, or any other pub-

lic or private health or health insurance pro-

gram, assessed a civil penalty under the pro-

vision of Section 1128, or who has a con-

tractual relationship with an entity convict-

ed of a crime specified in Section 1128.

C. Provider incentive

plans: The MCO/SE shall ensure that

direct or indirect incentives offered in the

subcontract shall not serve as an induce-

ment to reduce or limit medically necessary

services to members.

[8.305.3.10 NMAC - Rp 8.305.3.10

NMAC, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

These newborns are enrolled with the same

MCO the mother had during the birth

month, regardless of where the child is born

(that is, in the hospital or at home).

(2) If the [child’s] newborn’s

mother is not a member of the MCO at the

time of the birth in a hospital or at home, the

[child is enrolled] newborn must be medi-

caid enrolled and shall be MCO eligible

during the next applicable enrollment cycle.

[If such a child is hospitalized at the time of

enrollment, the MCO is not responsible for

the child’s care until discharge]  At the time

of the newborn’s medicaid enrollment, the

MCO shall only be responsible for a current

hospitalization if the mother was an

enrolled MCO member.

B. Hospitalized mem-

bers: If a medicaid-eligible member is hos-

pitalized in a general acute care, a rehabili-

tation or free-standing psychiatric hospital

either at the time the member enters man-

aged care or enters exempt status or vice

versa, the MCO/SE or FFS (exempt), which

was originally responsible for the hospital

inpatient placement, shall remain financial-

ly responsible for the hospital-related

charges until discharge or a change in the

level of care.  Upon discharge or change in

the level of care, the member will then

become the financial responsibility of the

organization or entity receiving capitation

payments.  This does not apply to newborns

born to a member mother, see Subsection A

of 8.305.4.10 NMAC above.  Transition

services, e.g., DME supplies for the home,

shall be the financial responsibility of the

MCO or the SE if applicable to behavioral

health.

C. Native Americans:

Upon identifying himself as Native

American, a Native American shall be

afforded the option of participating in man-

aged care or being covered by medicaid fee-

for-service.  Upon determination of medi-

caid eligibility, a Native American may

choose to participate in managed care by

enrolling in an MCO.  By not enrolling in an

MCO, the Native American chooses not to

participate in a managed care plan and shall

be covered through medicaid fee-for-serv-

ice.  After enrolling in an MCO, a Native

American may opt out during the first 90

days of any 12-month enrollment period

(disenrollment).  Disenrollment is effective

the following month.  At the end of the lock-

in period, a Native American may re-enroll

in an MCO.  A medicaid eligible Native

American may opt-in at any time by

enrolling with an MCO.  If an opt-in request

is made prior to the 20th of the month, the

opt-in shall become effective the following

month.  If the opt-in request is made after

the 20th of the month and before the first

day of the next month, the opt-in shall be

effective on the first day of the second full

month following the request.  Native

American enrollment in the SE is mandato-

ry.

D. Members receiving

hospice services: Members who have

elected to receive hospice services and are

receiving hospice services at the time they

are determined eligible for medicaid will be

exempt from enrolling in managed care

unless they revoke their hospice election.

E. Members placed in

nursing facilities: If a member is placed in

a nursing facility for what is expected to be

a long term or permanent placement, the

MCO or the SE, if the placement relates to

behavioral health, remains responsible for

the member until the member is disenrolled

by HSD.

F. Members in third

trimester of pregnancy: A woman in her

third trimester of pregnancy at the time of

enrollment, who has an established obstetri-

cal provider may continue that relationship.

Refer to Paragraph (4) of Subsection H of

8.305.11.9 NMAC for special payment

requirements.

G. Members placed in

institutional care facilities for the mental-

ly retarded (ICF/MR): If a member is

placed in an ICF/MR for what is expected to

be a long-term or permanent placement, the

MCO/SE remains responsible for the mem-

ber until the member is disenrolled by HSD.

H. In compliance with fed-

eral law and authorizations, HSD may man-

date that a member eligible for medicaid

and medicare (dual eligibles) shall be

enrolled with an MCO/SE to receive bene-

fits from the medicaid benefit package that

are not provided by medicare.  This pro-

gram will be implemented in compliance

with federal law and requirements.

[8.305.4.10 NMAC - Rp 8 NMAC

4.MAD.606.3.2, 7-1-01; A, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-

05; A, 9-1-06]
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NEW MEXICO HUMAN

SERVICES DEPARTMENT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION

This is an amendment to 8.305.4 NMAC,

Section 10, which will be effective on

September 1, 2006.  The Medical

Assistance Division amended the sections

to reflect federal regulations and clarify lan-

guage related to Medicaid managed care

policy.

8.305.4.10 SPECIAL SITUA-

TIONS:

A. Newborn enrollment:

The following provisions apply to new-

borns:

(1) [Newborns are automatically

eligible for a period of six months and are

immediately enrolled with the mother’s

MCO if the mother is a member at the time

of the child’s birth,]  Medicaid eligible and

enrolled newborns of medicaid eligible

enrolled mothers are eligible for a period of

12 months starting with the month of birth.

NEW MEXICO HUMAN

SERVICES DEPARTMENT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION

This is an amendment to 8.305.7 NMAC,

Sections 9, 11, 14, 15, and 16 which will be

effective on September 1, 2006.  The

Medical Assistance Division amended the

sections to reflect federal regulations and

clarify language related to Medicaid man-

aged care policy.

8.305.7.9 BENEFIT PACK-

AGE: This part defines the medicaid bene-

fit package for which the MCO/SE shall be

paid fixed per-member per-month payment

rates.  The MCO/SE shall cover these serv-

ices.  The MCO/SE shall not delete benefits

from the medicaid-defined benefit package.



An MCO [is encouraged to] shall provide

an enhanced benefit package, which could

include health-related educational, preven-

tive, outreach and enhanced physical servic-

es.  The SE shall provide enhanced behav-

ioral health services, including behavioral

health-related educational and preventive

services and outreach.  The MCO/SE may

utilize providers licensed in accordance

with state and federal requirements to deliv-

er services.

[8.305.7.9 NMAC - Rp 8.305.7.9 NMAC,

7-1-04; A, 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

8.305.7.11 SERVICES INCLUD-

ED IN THE MEDICAID BENEFIT

PACKAGE:

A. Inpatient hospital

services (MCO/SE): The benefit package

includes hospital inpatient acute care, pro-

cedures and services for members, as

detailed in 8.311.2 NMAC, Hospital
Services.  The MCO shall comply with the

maternity length of stay in the Health

Insurance Portability and Accountability

Act of 1996.  Coverage for a hospital stay

following a normal, vaginal delivery may

not be limited to less than 48 hours for both

the mother and the newborn child.  Health

coverage for a hospital stay in connection

with childbirth following a caesarian sec-

tion may not be limited to less than 96 hours

for mother and newborn child.

B. Transplant services

(MCO only): The following transplants are

covered in the benefit package as long as

the indications are not considered experi-

mental or investigational: heart transplants,

lung transplants, heart-lung transplants,

liver transplants, kidney transplants, autolo-

gous bone marrow transplants, allogeneic

bone marrow transplants and corneal trans-

plants, as detailed in 8.325.5 NMAC,

Transplant Services.  Also see 8.325.6

NMAC, Experimental or Investigational
Procedures, Technologies or Non-Drug
Therapies for guidance on determining if

transplants are experimental or investiga-

tional.

C. Hospital outpatient

service (MCO/SE): The benefit package

includes hospital outpatient services for

preventive, diagnostic, therapeutic, rehabil-

itative or palliative medical or behavioral

health services as detailed in 8.311.2

NMAC, Outpatient Covered Services.
D. Case management

services (MCO/SE): The benefit package

includes case management services neces-

sary to meet an identified service need as

detailed in 8.326.2 NMAC through 8.326.6

NMAC and 8.320.5 NMAC.

E. Specific case manage-

ment programs: The following are specif-

ic case management programs available to

medicaid members within the MCO, which

meet the requirements specified in policy

manual parts:

(1) case management services

for adults with developmental disabilities

(MCO only): Case management services

provided to adult members (21 years of age

or older) who are developmentally disabled,

as detailed in 8.326.2 NMAC, Case
Management Services for Adults with
Developmental Disabilities;

(2) case management services

for pregnant women and their infants

(MCO only): Case management services

provided to pregnant women up to 60 days

following the end of the month of the deliv-

ery, as detailed in 8.326.3 NMAC, Case
Management Services for Pregnant Women
and Their Infants;

(3) case management services

for the chronically mentally ill (SE only):

Case management services provided to

adults who are 18 years of age or older and

who are chronically mentally ill, as detailed

in 8.326.4 NMAC, Case Management
Services for the Chronically Mentally Ill;

(4) case management services

for traumatically brain injured adults

(MCO only): Case management services

provided to adults who are 21 years of age

or older who are traumatically brain injured,

as detailed in 8.326.5 NMAC, Case
Managed Services for Traumatically Brain
Injured Adults;

(5) case management services

for children up to the age of three (MCO

only): Case management services for chil-

dren up to the age of three who are med-

ically at risk due to family conditions and

not developmentally delayed, as detailed in

8.326.6 NMAC, Case Management
Services for Children Up to Age Three; and

(6) case management services

for the medically at risk (MCO/SE):

Case management services for individuals

who are under 21 who are medically at risk

for physical or behavioral health conditions,

as detailed in 8.320.5 NMAC, EPSDT Case
Management; the benefit package does not

include case management provided to

developmentally disabled children ages 0-3

who are receiving early intervention servic-

es, or case management services provided

by the children, youth and families depart-

ment and defined as protective services case

management or juvenile probation and

parole officer case management; “medically

at risk” is defined as those individuals who

have a diagnosed physical or behavioral

health condition which has a high probabil-

ity of impairing their cognitive, emotional,

neurological, social, behavioral or physical

development.

F. Emergency services

(MCO only): The benefit package includes

inpatient and outpatient services meeting

the definition of emergency services.

Services [must] shall be available 24 hours

per day and 7 days per week.  Services

meeting the definition of emergency servic-

es [must] shall be provided without regard

to prior authorization or the provider’s con-

tractual relationship with the MCO/SE.  If

the services are needed immediately and the

time necessary to transport the member to a

network provider would mean risk of per-

manent damage to the member’s health,

emergency services shall be available

through a facility or provider participating

in the MCO/SE network or from a facility

or provider not participating in the MCO/SE

network.  Either provider type [must] shall

be paid for the provision of services on a

timely basis.  Emergency services include

services needed to evaluate and stabilize an

emergency medical or behavioral condition.

Post stabilization care services means cov-

ered services, related to an emergency med-

ical or behavioral condition, that are provid-

ed after a member is stabilized in order to

maintain this stabilized condition.  This

coverage may include improving or resolv-

ing the member’s condition if either the

MCO/SE has authorized post-stabilization

services in the facility in question, or there

has been no authorization; and

(1) the hospital was unable to

contact the MCO/SE; or

(2) the hospital contacted the

MCO/SE but did not get instructions within

an hour of the request.

G. Physical health servic-

es (MCO only): The benefit package

includes primary (including those provided

in school-based settings) and specialty

physical health services provided by a

licensed practitioner performed within the

scope of practice, as defined by state law

and detailed in 8.310.2 NMAC, Medical
Services Providers; 8.310.10 NMAC,

Midwife Services, including out of hospital

births and other related birthing services

performed by certified nurse midwives or

direct-entry midwives licensed by the state

of New Mexico, who are either validly con-

tracted with and fully credentialed by the

MCO or validly contracted with HSD;

8.310.11 NMAC, Podiatry Services;

8.310.3 NMAC, Rural Health Clinic
Services; and 8.310.4 NMAC, Federally
Qualified Health Center Services.

H. Laboratory services

(MCO or SE): The benefit package

includes laboratory services provided

according to the applicable provisions of

Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act

(CLIA), as detailed in 8.324.2 NMAC,

Laboratory Services.  If an inpatient physi-

cal health facility provider bills for a labo-

ratory service where the attending physician

is a psychiatrist, it shall be covered under

the SE.  Laboratory services provided and

billed by a behavioral health provider affili-

ated with the SE shall be covered under the

SE (e.g., residential treatment center (RTC),

inpatient psych hospital, mental health clin-
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ic, etc.).

I. Diagnostic imaging

and therapeutic radiology services (MCO

or SE): The benefit package includes med-

ically necessary diagnostic imaging and

radiology services, as detailed in 8.324.3

NMAC, Diagnostic Imaging and
Therapeutic Radiology Services.  If an inpa-

tient physical health facility provider bills

for a diagnostic imaging and therapeutic

radiology service where the attending

physician is a psychiatrist, it shall be cov-

ered under the SE.  Diagnostic imaging and

therapeutic services provided and billed by

a behavioral health provider affiliated with

the SE shall be covered under the SE (e.g.,

residential treatment center (RTC), inpatient

psych hospital, mental health clinic, etc.).

J. Anesthesia services

[(MCO/SE)] MCO: The benefit package

includes anesthesia and monitoring services

necessary for the performance of surgical or

diagnostic procedures, as detailed in

8.310.5 NMAC, Anesthesia Services.

Reimbursement for anesthesia related to

electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) shall be

the responsibility of the [SE] MCO.

K. Vision services (MCO

only): The benefit package includes vision

services, as detailed in 8.310.6 NMAC,

Vision Care Services.

L. Audiology services

(MCO only): The benefit package includes

audiology services, as detailed in 8.324.6

NMAC, Hearing Aids and Related
Evaluation.

M. Dental services (MCO

only): The benefit package includes dental

services, as detailed in 8.310.7 NMAC,

Dental Services.

N. Dialysis services

(MCO only): The benefit package includes

medically necessary dialysis services, as

detailed in 8.325.2 NMAC, Dialysis
Services.  Dialysis providers shall assist

members in applying for and pursuing final

medicare eligibility determination.

O. Pharmacy services

(MCO/SE): The benefit package includes

all pharmacy and related services, as

detailed in 8.324.4 NMAC, Pharmacy
Services.  The MCO/SE shall maintain writ-

ten policies and procedures governing its

drug utilization review (DUR) program in

compliance with all applicable federal med-

icaid laws.  The MCO/SE shall use a single

medicaid preferred drug list (PDL).  The

MCO shall coordinate as necessary with the

SE, and the SE shall coordinate with the

MCO and the member’s PCP when admin-

istering pharmacy services.  The SE shall be

responsible for all medications prescribed

by a behavioral health provider, such as

psychiatrists, psychologists certified to pre-

scribe, psychiatric clinical nurse specialists,

psychiatric nurse practitioners, and any

other prescribing practitioner contracted

with the SE and treating a psychiatric disor-

der.

P. Durable medical

equipment and medical supplies (MCO

only): The benefit package includes the

purchase, delivery, maintenance and repair

of equipment, oxygen and oxygen adminis-

tration equipment, nutritional products, dis-

posable diapers, augmentative alternative

communication devices and disposable sup-

plies essential for the use of the equipment,

as detailed in 8.324.5 NMAC, Durable
Medical Equipment and Medical Supplies.

Q. EPSDT services

(MCO/SE): The benefit package includes

the delivery of the federally mandated early

and periodic screening, diagnostic and treat-

ment (EPSDT) services provided by a PCP

and physical or behavioral health specialist,

as detailed in 8.320.2 NMAC, EPSDT
Services.  The SE shall provide access to

early intervention programs/services for

members identified in an EPSDT screen as

being at risk for developing or having a

severe emotional, behavioral or neurobio-

logical disorder.

R. Tot-to-teen health

checks (MCO only): The MCO shall

adhere to the periodicity schedule and

ensure that eligible members receive

EPSDT screens (tot-to-teen health checks).

The services include the following with

respect to treatment follow-up:

(1) education of and outreach to

members regarding the importance of the

health checks;

(2) development of a proactive

approach to ensure that the members

receive the services;

(3) facilitation of appropriate

coordination with school-based providers;

(4) development of a systematic

communication process with MCO network

providers regarding screens and treatment

coordination;

(5) processes to document, meas-

ure and assure compliance with the perio-

dicity schedule; and

(6) development of a proactive

process to insure the appropriate follow-up

evaluation, referral and treatment, including

early intervention for vision and hearing

screening, dental examinations and current

immunizations; the MCO will facilitate

referral to the SE for identified behavioral

health conditions.

S. EPSDT private duty

nursing (MCO only): The benefit package

includes private duty nursing for the

EPSDT population, as detailed in 8.323.4

NMAC, EPSDT Private Duty Nursing
Services.  The services shall either be deliv-

ered in the member’s home or the school

setting.

T. EPSDT personal care

(MCO only): The benefit package includes

personal care services for the EPSDT popu-

lation, as detailed in 8.323.2 NMAC,

EPSDT Personal Care Services.

U. Services provided in

schools (MCO/SE): The benefit package

includes services provided in schools,

excluding those specified in the individual

education plan (IEP) or the individualized

family service plan (IFSP), as detailed in

8.320.6 NMAC, School-Based Services for
Recipients under 21 Years Of Age.

V. Nutritional services

(MCO only): The benefit package includes

nutritional services furnished to pregnant

women and children as detailed in 8.324.9

NMAC, Nutrition Services.

W. Home health services

(MCO only): The benefit package includes

home health services, as detailed in 8.325.9

NMAC, Home Health Services.  The MCO

is required to coordinate home health and

the home and community-based waiver pro-

grams if a member is eligible for both home

health and waiver services.

X. Hospice services

(MCO only): The benefit package includes

hospice services, as detailed in 8.325.4

NMAC, Hospice Care Services.

Y. Ambulatory surgical

services (MCO only): The benefit package

includes surgical services rendered in an

ambulatory surgical center setting, as

detailed in 8.324.10 NMAC, Ambulatory
Surgical Center Services.

Z. Rehabilitation servic-

es (MCO only): The benefit package

includes inpatient and outpatient hospital

and outpatient physical, occupational and

speech therapy services, as detailed in

8.325.8 NMAC, Rehabilitation Services
Providers and licensed speech and language

pathology services furnished under the

EPSDT program as detailed in 8.323.5

NMAC, Licensed Speech And Language
Pathologists.  The MCO is required to coor-

dinate rehabilitation and the home health

and the home and community-based waiver

programs if a member is eligible for reha-

bilitation, home health and waiver services.

AA. Reproductive health

services (MCO only): The benefit package

includes reproductive health services, as

detailed in 8.325.3 NMAC, Reproductive
Health Services.  The MCO will provide

female members with direct access to

women’s health specialists within the net-

work for covered care necessary to provide

women’s routine and preventive health care

services.  This is in addition to the mem-

ber’s designated source of primary care if

that source is not a women’s health special-

ist.

(1) The MCO shall provide medi-

caid members with sufficient information to

allow them to make informed choices
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including the following:

(a) types of family planning serv-

ices available;

(b) a member’s right to access

these services in a timely and confidential

manner; and

(c) freedom to choose a qualified

family planning provider who participates

in the MCO network or from a provider

who does not participate in the MCO net-

work.

(2) If members choose to receive

family planning services from an out-of-

network provider, they shall be encouraged

to exchange medical information between

the PCP and the out-of-network provider for

better coordination of care.

BB. Pregnancy termina-

tion procedures (MCO only): The benefit

package includes services for the termina-

tion of pregnancy and pre- or post-decision

counseling or psychological services [, as

detailed in 8.325.7 NMAC, Pregnancy
Termination Procedures].  The MCO shall

provide coverage of pregnancy terminations

for rape, incest and endangerment to the life

of the mother as allowed per 42 CFR

441.202.  A certification from the provider

shall be provided to the MCO prior to pay-

ment.  Medically necessary pregnancy ter-

minations which do not meet the require-

ments of 42 CFR 441.202 are excluded

from the capitation payment made to the

MCO and shall be reimbursed solely from

state funds.  State funded pregnancy termi-

nation services specified within the medi-

caid benefit package are excluded from 42

CFR 441.202 and shall be covered by the

MCO pursuant to the provisions of 8.325.7

NMAC.

CC. Emergency and non-

emergency transportation services

(MCO only): The benefit package includes

transportation service such as ground ambu-

lance, air ambulance, taxicab and handivan,

commercial bus, commercial air, meal and

lodging services as indicated for medically

necessary physical and behavioral health

services, as detailed in 8.324.7 NMAC,

Transportation Services.  Non-emergency

transportation is covered only when a mem-

ber does not have a source of transportation

available and when the member does not

have access to alternative free sources.  The

MCO/SE shall coordinate efforts when pro-

viding transportation services for medicaid

members/customers requiring physical or

behavioral health services.

DD. Prosthetics and

orthotics (MCO only): The benefit pack-

age includes prosthetic and orthotic servic-

es as detailed in 8.324.8 NMAC,

Prosthetics and Orthotics.

[8.305.7.11 NMAC - Rp 8.305.7.11

NMAC, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

8.305.7.14 B E H A V I O R A L

HEALTH SERVICES INCLUDED IN

THE SALUD! BENEFIT PACKAGE

FOR CHILDREN ONLY: The SE shall

provide the following medicaid services.

The benefit package includes prevention,

screening, diagnostic, ameliorative services

and other medically necessary behavioral

health care and substance abuse treatment

or services for medicaid members under 21

years of age whose need for behavioral

health services is identified by a licensed

health care provider and/or during an

EPSDT screen.  All behavioral health care

services [must] shall be provided in accor-

dance with the current New Mexico

Children’s Code and the Children’s Mental

Health and Developmental Disabilities Act,

NMSA Section 32A-6-1 to 32A-6-22.  The

services include the following:

A. Inpatient hospitaliza-

tion in free standing psychiatric hospi-

tals: The benefit package includes inpatient

services in free standing psychiatric hospi-

tals as detailed in 8.321.2 NMAC, Inpatient
Psychiatric Care in Freestanding
Psychiatric Hospitals.

B. Accredited residential

treatment center services: The benefit

package includes accredited residential

treatment services as detailed in 8.321.3

NMAC, Accredited Residential Treatment
Center Services.

C. Nonaccredited resi-

dential treatment centers and group

homes: The benefit package includes resi-

dential treatment services as detailed in

8.321.4 NMAC, Non-Accredited
Residential Treatment Centers and Group
Homes.

D. Treatment foster care:

The benefit package includes treatment fos-

ter care services as detailed in 8.322.2

NMAC, Treatment Foster Care.

E. Treatment foster care

II: The benefit package includes treatment

foster care II, as detailed in 8.322.5 NMAC,

Treatment Foster Care II.
F. Outpatient and par-

tial hospitalization services in freestand-

ing psychiatric hospital: The benefit

package includes outpatient and partial hos-

pitalization services provided in freestand-

ing psychiatric hospitals, as detailed in

8.321.5 NMAC, Outpatient and Partial
Hospitalization Services in Freestanding
Psychiatric Hospitals.

G. Day treatment servic-

es: The benefit package includes day treat-

ment services, as detailed in 8.322.4

NMAC, Day Treatment Services.

H. Behavior manage-

ment skills development services

(BMSDS): The benefit package includes

behavior management services, as detailed

in 8.322.3 NMAC, Behavior Management
Skills Development Services.

I. School-based services:

The benefit package includes counseling,

evaluation and therapy furnished in a

school-based setting, but not when specified

in the individual education plan (IEP) or the

individualized family service plan (IFSP),

as detailed in 8.320.6 NMAC, School-
Based Services for Recipients under 21
Years of Age.

J. Case management

services for the medically-at-risk: The

benefit package includes case management

services for individuals who are under 21

who are medically-at-risk for behavioral

health conditions, as detailed in 8.320.5

NMAC, EPSDT Case Management.
K. Licensed alcohol and

drug abuse counselors: The benefit pack-

age includes alcohol and drug abuse coun-

seling, as detailed in 8.323.3 NMAC,

Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Counselors.

[8.305.7.14 NMAC - Rp 8.305.7.14

NMAC, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

8.305.7.15 B E H A V I O R A L

HEALTH SERVICES INCLUDED IN

THE BENEFIT PACKAGE FOR

ADULTS ONLY: The following services

[which must] shall be provided in accor-

dance with the New Mexico Mental Health

and Developmental Disabilities Code.  The

SE shall provide these medicaid services.

A. Psychosocial rehabili-

tation: The benefit package includes psy-

chosocial rehabilitation services as detailed

in 8.315.3 NMAC, Psychosocial
Rehabilitation Services.

B. Case management

services for the chronically mentally ill:

The benefit package includes case manage-

ment services as detailed in 8.326.4 NMAC,

Case Management Services for the
Chronically Mentally Ill.
[8.305.7.15 NMAC - Rp 8.305.7.15

NMAC, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

8.305.7.16 ENHANCED SER-

VICES: MCOs/SE [are encouraged to]

shall offer members a package of enhanced

services.  The cost of these services cannot

be included when HSD determines the pay-

ment rates.  Enhanced services shall be

approved by and reported to HSD.

Enhanced services shall be direct services,

not administrative in nature unless

approved by HSD.

A. Potential enhanced

services: The following are suggested

enhanced services:

(1) (MCO/SE) anticipatory guid-

ance provided as a part of the normal course

of office visits or a health education pro-

gram, including behavioral health;

(2) (MCO only) [comprehensive

prenatal services including counseling,]

child birth education, parenting skills [and

referral to other support services] classes;

New Mexico Register / Volume XVII, Number 16 / August 31, 2006846



[(3) (MCO/SE) targeting the

coordination of services necessary to opti-

mize the member’s level of health and func-

tionality;

(4)] (3) (MCO/SE) child abuse

and neglect prevention programs;

[(5)] (4) (MCO/SE) stress control

programs;

[(6)] (5) (MCO only) car seats for

infants and children;

[(7)] (6) (MCO/SE) culturally-

traditional indigenous healers and treat-

ments;

[(8)] (7) (MCO/SE) smoking ces-

sation programs;

[(9)] (8) (MCO only) weight loss

and nutrition programs;

[(10)] (9) (MCO/SE) violence

prevention [and referral for support] servic-

es;

[(11)] (10) (MCO/SE) substance

abuse prevention and treatment, beyond the

benefit package;

[(12)] (11) (MCO/SE) respite

care for care givers; and

[(13) (MCO only) structured

HIV education programs;

(14) (MCO/SE) programs that

educate members on how to most efficient-

ly and effectively use the health care,

including behavioral health care, system;

(15)] (12) (SE only) peer support

services that utilize consumers or survivors

to help persons with behavioral health con-

ditions recover and reach their full poten-

tial; agencies, facilities or groups of

providers that utilize peer supporters shall

carry liability insurance to cover the peer

supporters [; and].

[(16) other enhanced services,

including behavioral health enhanced serv-

ices, at the MCO’s or SE’s discretion.]

B. [Targeted] Member

specific enhanced services: Other services

may be made available to members based

on the MCO’s or SE’s discretion.

Eligibility for enhanced services may be

based upon a set of assessment criteria to be

employed by the MCO/SE.

[8.305.7.16 NMAC - Rp 8.305.7.16

NMAC, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

A. Payment for services:

HSD shall make actuarially sound pay-

ments under capitated risk contracts to the

designated MCOs/SE.  Rates negotiated

between HSD and the MCO/SE are consid-

ered confidential. Rates shall be appropri-

ate for the medicaid populations to be cov-

ered and the services to be furnished under

the contract.  The MCO/SE shall be respon-

sible for the provision of services for mem-

bers during the month of capitation.

Medicaid members shall not be liable for

debts incurred by an MCO/SE under the

MCO’s or SE’s managed care contract for

providing health care to medicaid members.

This shall include, but not be limited to:

(1) the MCO’s/SE’s debts in the

event of the MCO’s/SE’s insolvency;

(2) covered services provided to

the member, for which HSD does not pay

the MCO/SE, e.g., enhanced services;

(3) when HSD or the MCO/SE

does not pay the health care provider that

furnishes the services under contractual,

referral, or other arrangement;

(4) payments for covered services

furnished under contract, referral, or other

arrangement to the extent that those pay-

ments are in excess of the amount that the

member would owe if the MCO/SE provid-

ed the service directly; and

(5) if an MCO/SE member loses

eligibility for any reason and is reinstated as

eligible by HSD before the end of the

month, the MCO/SE shall accept a retro

capitation payment for that month of eligi-

bility and assume financial responsibility

for all medically necessary covered benefit

services supplied to the member.

B. Capitation disburse-

ment requirements: The MCO/SE shall

accept the capitation rate paid each month

by HSD as payment in full for all services to

be provided pursuant to the agreement,

including all administrative costs associated

therewith.  A minimum of eighty-five per-

cent (85%) of all the MCO’s/SE’s income

generated under this agreement, including

but not limited to, third-party recoupments

and interest, shall be expended on the phys-

ical or behavioral health services required

under this agreement to be provided to the

MCO’s/SE’s medicaid members.  If the

MCO/SE does not expend a minimum of

eighty-five percent (85%) on physical or

behavioral health services required under

the agreement, HSD shall withhold an

amount so that the MCO’s/SE’s ratio for

service expenditures is eighty-five percent

(85%).  HSD shall calculate the

MCO’s/SE’s income at the end of the state

fiscal year to determine if eighty-five per-

cent (85%) was expended on the physical or

behavioral services required under the

agreement/contract, utilizing reported infor-

mation from the MCO/SE and the depart-

ment of insurance reports.   Administrative

costs, which shall be no higher than fifteen

percent (15%), and other financial informa-

tion shall be monitored on a regular basis by

HSD.  Members shall be entitled to receive

all covered services for the entire period for

which payment has been made by HSD.

Any and all costs incurred by the MCO/SE

in excess of the capitation payment shall be

borne in full by the MCO/SE.  Interest gen-

erated through investment of funds paid to

the MCO/SE pursuant to this agreement

shall be the property of the MCO/SE.

C. Payment time frames:

Clean claims as defined in Subsection L of

8.305.1.7 NMAC, Clean 
Claim, shall be paid by the MCO/SE to con-

tracted and noncontracted providers accord-

ing to the following timeframe:  90% with-

in 30 days of the date of receipt and 99%

within 90 days of the date of receipt, as

required by federal guidelines in the Code

of Federal Regulations, Section 42 CFR

447.45.  The date of receipt is the date the

MCO/SE receives the claim, as indicated by

the MCO’s/SE’s date stamp on the claim.

The date of payment is the date of the check

or other form of payment.  An exception to

this rule may be made if the MCO/SE and

its providers, by mutual agreement, estab-

lish an alternative payment schedule; how-

ever, any such alternative payment schedule

shall first be incorporated into the contract

between HSD and the MCO/SE.  The

MCO/SE shall promptly pay claims for all

covered emergency and post-stabilization

services that are furnished by non-contract-

ed providers, including medically or clini-

cally necessary testing to determine if a

physical or behavioral health emergency

exists.

(1) An MCO/SE shall pay con-

tracted and noncontracted providers interest

on the MCO’s/SE’s liability at the rate of 1

1/2 % per month on the amount of a clean

claim (based upon the current medicaid fee

schedule) submitted by the participating

provider and not paid within 30 days of the

date of receipt of an electronic claim and 45

days of receipt of a manual claim.  Interest

shall accrue from the 31st day for electron-

ic claims and from the 46th day for manual

claims.

(2) No contract between the

MCO/SE and a participating provider shall

include a clause that has the effect of reliev-

ing either party of liability for its actions or

inactions.

(3) If the MCO/SE is unable to

determine liability for, or refuses to pay, a

claim of a participating provider within the

times specified above, the MCO/SE shall

make a good-faith effort to notify the par-

ticipating provider by fax, electronic or

other written communication within 30

days of receipt of the claim, stating specific
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reasons why it is not liable for the claim or

request specific information necessary to

determine liability for the claim.

D. Rate setting:

Capitation rates paid by HSD to the

MCO/SE for the provision of the managed

care medicaid benefit package shall be cal-

culated through actuarial analysis, be actu-

arially sound and meet the standards set by

42 CFR 438.6(c).

E. Payment on risk

basis: The MCO/SE is at risk of incurring

losses if its costs of providing the managed

care medicaid benefit package exceed its

capitation payment.  HSD shall not provide

retroactive payment adjustments to the

MCO/SE to reflect the actual cost of servic-

es furnished by the MCO/SE.

F. Change in capitation

rates: HSD shall review the capitation

rates 12 months from the effective date of

the contract and annually thereafter.  HSD

may adjust the capitation rates based on fac-

tors such as the following: changes in the

scope of work; CMS requiring a modifica-

tion of the state’s waiver; if new or amend-

ed federal or state laws or regulations are

implemented; inflation; or if significant

changes in the demographic characteristics

of the member population occur.

G. Solvency require-

ments and risk protections: An MCO/SE

that contracts with HSD to provide medi-

caid physical or behavioral health services

shall comply with, and be subject to, all

applicable state and federal laws and regu-

lations, including solvency and risk stan-

dards.  In addition to requirements imposed

by state and federal law, the MCO/SE shall

be required to meet specific medicaid finan-

cial requirements and to provide to HSD the

information and records necessary to deter-

mine the MCO’s/SE’s financial condition.

Requests for information and records shall

be delivered to HSD, at no cost to HSD, in

a reasonable time after the date of request or

as specified in the contract.

(1) Reinsurance: An MCO/SE

participating in medicaid managed care

shall purchase reinsurance at a minimum of

one million dollars ($1,000,000.00) in rein-

surance protection against financial loss due

to outlier (catastrophic) cases.  The

MCO/SE shall document for HSD that rein-

surance is in effect through the term of the

contract and that the amount of reinsurance

is sufficient to cover probable outlier cases

or overall member utilization at an amount

greater than expected.  Pursuant to 42 CFR

438.6(e)(5), contract provisions for reinsur-

ance, stop-loss limits, or other risk sharing

methodologies shall be computed on an

actuarially sound basis.

(2) Third party liability (TPL):

By federal law medicaid is the payer of last

resort.  The MCO/SE shall be responsible

for identifying a member’s third party cov-

erage and coordinating of benefits with

third parties. The MCO/SE shall inform

HSD when a member has other health care

insurance coverage.  The MCO shall have

the sole right of subrogration, for twelve

(12) months, from when the MCO incurred

the cost on behalf of the members, to initi-

ate recovery or to attempt to recover any

third-party resources available to medicaid

members and shall make records pertaining

to third party collections (TPL) for mem-

bers available to HSD/MAD for audit and

review.  If the MCO has not initiated recov-

ery or attempted to recover any third-party

resources available to medicaid members

within twelve (12) months, HSD will pur-

sue the member’s third party resources.  The

MCO/SE shall provide to HSD for audit and

review all records pertaining to TPL collec-

tions for members.

(3) Fidelity bond requirement:

The MCO/SE shall maintain a fidelity bond

in the maximum amount specified under the

Insurance Code.

(4) Net worth requirement: The

MCO/SE shall comply with the net worth

requirements of the Insurance Code. 

(5) Solvency cash reserve

requirement: The MCO/SE shall have suf-

ficient reserve funds available to ensure that

the provision of services to medicaid mem-

bers is not at risk in the event of MCO/SE

insolvency.

(6) Per enrollee cash reserve:

The MCO/SE shall maintain three (3) per-

cent of the monthly capitation payments per

member with an independent trustee during

each month of the first year of the agree-

ment; provided, however, that if this agree-

ment replaces or extends a previous agree-

ment with HSD to provide medicaid man-

aged care, then continued maintenance of

the per member cash reserve established

and maintained by the MCO/SE pursuant to

such previous agreement shall be the agree-

ment.  HSD shall adjust this cash reserve

requirement annually, or as needed, based

on the number of the MCO’s/SE’s mem-

bers. Each MCO/SE shall maintain its own

cash reserve account.  This account may be

accessed solely for payment for services to

the MCO’s/SE’s members in the event that

the MCO/SE becomes insolvent.  Money in

the reserve account remains the property of

the MCO/SE, and any interest earned (even

if retained in the account) shall be the prop-

erty of the MCO/SE.

H. Inspection and audit

for solvency requirements: The MCO/SE

shall meet all requirements for state licen-

sure with respect to inspection and auditing

of financial records.  The MCO/SE shall

cooperate with HSD, or its designee to pro-

vide all financial records required by HSD.

HSD, or their designees may inspect and

audit the MCO’s/SE’s financial records at

least annually, or more frequently, if

deemed necessary.

I. Special payment

requirements: This section lists special

payment requirementsby provider type.

(1) Reimbursement for FQHCs:

Under federal law, FQHCs shall be reim-

bursed at 100% of reasonable cost under a

medicaid fee-for-service or managed care

program.  The FQHC may waive its right to

100% of reasonable cost and elect to receive

a rate negotiated with the MCO/SE.  HSD

shall provide a discounted wrap-around

payment to FQHCs that have waived a right

to 100% reimbursement of reasonable cost

from the MCO/SE.

(2) Reimbursement for

providers furnishing care to Native

Americans: If an Indian health service

(IHS) or tribal 638 provider delivers servic-

es to an MCO/SE member who is Native

American, the MCO/SE shall reimburse the

provider at the rate currently established by

the office of management and budget

(OMB) for specified services for the IHS

facilities, or the medicaid fee-for-service

rate for all other services or at a fee negoti-

ated between the provider and the MCO/SE.

(3) Reimbursement for family

planning services: The MCOs shall reim-

burse out-of-network family planning

providers for services provided to MCO

members at a rate at least equal to the med-

icaid fee-for-service rate for the provider

type.

(4) Reimbursement for women

in the third trimester of pregnancy: If a

woman in the third trimester of pregnancy

at the time of her enrollment in managed

care has an established relationship with an

obstetrical provider and desires to continue

that relationship and the provider is not con-

tracted with the MCO, the MCO shall reim-

burse the out-of-network provider for care

directly related to the pregnancy, including

delivery and a six-week post-partum visit.

(5) Reimbursement for mem-

bers who disenroll while hospitalized: If

a medicaid member is hospitalized at the

time of disenrollment, the organization

MCO/SE or FFS exempt, which was origi-

nally responsible for the hospital impatient

placement, shall remain financially respon-

sible for payment of all covered inpatient

facility and professional services from the

date of admission to the date of discharge,

or upon transfer to a lower level of care.

Upon discharge, the member will then

become the financial responsibility of the

organization receiving capitation payments.

(6)   Sanctions for noncompli-

ance: The department may impose sanc-

tions against an MCO/SE that fails to meet

the financial requirements specified in this

section or additional requirements specified

in the terms of the medicaid managed care

contract or federal medicaid law.

J. Recoupment pay-
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ments: HSD shall have the discretion to

recoup payments for MCO members who

are incorrectly enrolled with more than one

MCO, including members categorized as

newborns or X5; payments made for

MCO/SE members who die prior to the

enrollment month for which payment was

made; and/or payments to the MCO/SE for

members whom HSD later determines were

not eligible for medicaid during the enroll-

ment month for which payment was made.

Any duplicate payment identified by either

the MCO/SE or HSD shall be recouped

upon identification.  HSD periodically shall

recoup capitations for individuals who

should not have been enrolled with the

MCO/SE.  [If the MCO/SE has incurred

provider expense for the individual for the

month of capitation, reconciliation shall be

done.  If no expense has been incurred, the

entire capitation shall be recouped by HSD.

To allow for claim submission lags, HSD

shall not request a payment recoupment

until 120 days have elapsed from the date

on which the enrollment/claims payment

error was made.]  In the event of an error,

which causes payment(s) to the MCO/SE to

be issued by HSD, the MCO/SE shall reim-

burse [the state] HSD within thirty (30)

days of written notice of such error for the

full amount of the payment, subject to the

provisions of Section 5.6 (4) of the agree-

ment.  Interest shall accrue at the statutory

rate on any amounts not paid and deter-

mined to be due after the thirtieth (30th) day

following the notice.  Any process that auto-

mates the recoupment procedures [shall be

mutually agreed upon] shall be discussed in

advance by HSD and the MCO/SE and doc-

umented in writing, prior to implementation

of the new automated recoupment process.

The MCO/SE has the right to dispute any

recoupment request in accordance with

Article 15 (DISPUTES).

K. HSD shall pay interest

at 9% per annum on any capitation payment

due to the MCO/SE that is more than 30

days late.  No interest or penalty shall

accrue for any other late payments or reim-

bursements.

L. HSD may initiate alter-

nate payment methodology for specified

program services or responsibilities.

[8.305.11.9 NMAC - Rp 8 NMAC

4.MAD.606.10, 7-1-01; A, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-

05; A, 9-1-06]

clarify language related to Medicaid man-

aged care policy.

8.305.12.12 APPEALS: An appeal

is a request for review by the MCO/SE of an

MCO/SE action.

A. An action is defined as:

(1) the denial or limited authori-

zation of a requested service, including the

type or level of service;

(2) the reduction, suspension, or

termination of a previously authorized serv-

ice;

(3) the denial, in whole or in part,

of payment for a service;

(4) the failure of the MCO/SE to

provide services in a timely manner, as

defined by HSD; or

(5) the failure of the MCO/SE to

complete the authorization request in a

timely manner as defined in 42 CFR

438.408.

B. Notice of MCO/SE

action: The MCO/SE shall mail a notice of

action to the member and/or provider with-

in 10 days of the date of the action, except

for denial of claims that may result in mem-

ber financial liability, which requires imme-

diate notification.  The notice shall contain,

but not be limited to, the following:

(1) the action the MCO/SE has

taken or intends to take;

(2) the reasons for the action;

(3) the member’s or the

provider’s right to file an appeal of the

MCO/SE action through the MCO/SE;

(4) the member’s right to request

an HSD fair hearing and what the process

would be;

(5) the procedures for exercising

the rights specified;

(6) the circumstances under

which expedited resolution of an appeal is

available and how to request it;

(7) the member’s right to have

benefits continue pending resolution of an

appeal, how to request the continuation of

benefits, and the circumstances under which

the member may be required to pay the

costs of continuing these benefits.

C. A member may file an

appeal of an MCO/SE action within 90 cal-

endar days of receiving the MCO’s/SE’s

notice of action.  The legal guardian of the

member for a minor or an incapacitated

adult, a representative of the member as

designated in writing to the MCO/SE, or a

provider acting on behalf of the member

with the member’s written consent, have the

right to file an appeal of an action on behalf

of the member.  The MCO/SE shall consid-

er the member, representative, or estate rep-

resentative of a deceased member as parties

to the appeal.

D. The MCO/SE has thirty

(30) calendar days from the date the initial

oral or written appeal is received by the

MCO/SE to resolve the appeal.

E. The MCO/SE shall

have a process in place that ensures that an

oral or written inquiry from a member seek-

ing to appeal an action is treated as an

appeal (to establish the earliest possible fil-

ing date for the appeal).  An oral appeal

shall be followed by a written appeal within

10 calendar days that is signed by the mem-

ber.  The MCO/SE shall use its best efforts

to assist members as needed with the writ-

ten appeal.

F. Within five (5) working

days of receipt of the appeal, the MCO/SE

shall provide the grievant with written

notice that the appeal has been received and

the expected date of its resolution.  The

MCO/SE shall confirm in writing receipt of

oral appeals, unless the member or the

provider requests an expedited resolution.

G. The MCO/SE may

extend the 30-day timeframe by 14 calendar

days if the member requests the extension,

or the MCO/SE demonstrates to HSD that

there is need for additional information, and

the extension is in the member’s interest.

For any extension not requested by the

member, the MCO/SE shall give the mem-

ber written notice of the extension and the

reason for the extension within two (2)

working days of the decision to extend the

timeframe.

H. The MCO/SE shall pro-

vide the member and/or the member’s rep-

resentative a reasonable opportunity to

present evidence of the facts or law, in per-

son as well as in writing.

I. The MCO/SE shall pro-

vide the member and/or the representative

the opportunity, before and during the

appeals process, to examine the member’s

case file, including medical or clinical

records (subject to HIPAA requirements),

and any other documents and records con-

sidered during the appeals process.  The

MCO/SE shall include as parties to the

appeal the member and his or her represen-

tative, or the legal representative of a

deceased member’s estate.

J. For all appeals, the

MCO/SE shall provide written notice with-

in the 30-calendar-day timeframe for reso-

lutions to the member or the provider, if the

provider filed the appeal.

(1) The written notice of the

appeal resolution shall include, but not be

limited to, the following information:

(a) the results of the appeal reso-

lution; and

(b) the date it was completed.

(2) The written notice of the

appeal resolution for appeals not resolved

wholly in favor of the member shall

include, but not be limited to, the following

information:
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(a) the right to request an HSD

fair hearing and how to do so;

(b) the right to request receipt of

benefits while the hearing is pending, and

how to make the request; and

(c) that the member may be held

liable for the cost of continuing benefits if

the hearing decision upholds the

MCO’s/SE’s action.

K. The MCO/SE may con-

tinue benefits while the appeal and/or the

HSD fair hearing process is pending.

(1) The MCO/SE shall continue

the member’s benefits if all of the following

are met:

(a) [the member or the provider

files a timely appeal of the MCO/SE action

(within 10 days of the date on the notice of

action from the MCO/SE)] the member or

the provider files a timely appeal of the

MCO/SE action and/or asks for a fair hear-

ing within 13 days from the date on the

MCO/SE notice of action;

(b) the appeal involves the termi-

nation, suspension, or reduction of a previ-

ously authorized course of treatment;

(c) the services were ordered by

an authorized provider;

(d) the time period covered by the

original authorization has not expired; and

(e) the member requests exten-

sion of the benefits.

(2) The MCO/SE shall provide

benefits until one of the following occurs:

(a) the member withdraws the

appeal;

(b) ten days have passed since the

date [the] of the resolution letter, provided

the resolution of the appeal was against the

member and the member has taken no fur-

ther action;

(c) HSD issues a hearing decision

adverse to the member;

(d) the time period or service lim-

its of a previously authorized service has

expired.

(3) If the final resolution of the

appeal is adverse to the member, that is, the

MCO’s/SE’s action is upheld, the MCO/SE

may recover the cost of the services fur-

nished to the member while the appeal was

pending, to the extent that services were

furnished solely because of the require-

ments of this section and in accordance with

the policy in 42 CFR 431.230(b).

(4) If the MCO/SE or HSD

reverses a decision to deny, limit, or delay

services, and these services were not fur-

nished while the appeal was pending, the

MCO/SE shall authorize or provide the dis-

puted services promptly and as expeditious-

ly as the member’s health condition

requires.

(5) If the MCO/SE or HSD

reverses a decision to deny, limit or delay

services and the member received the dis-

puted services while the appeal was pend-

ing, the MCO/SE shall pay for these servic-

es.

[8.305.12.12 NMAC - Rp 8.305.12.12

NMAC, 7-1-04; A. 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

8.305.12.13 EXPEDITED RESO-

LUTION OF APPEALS: An expedited

resolution of an appeal is an expedited

review by the MCO/SE of an MCO/SE

action.

A. The MCO/SE shall

establish and maintain an expedited review

process for appeals when the MCO/SE

determines that allowing the time for a stan-

dard resolution could seriously jeopardize

the member’s life or health or ability to

attain, maintain, or regain maximum func-

tion.  Such a determination is based on:

(1) a request from the member;

(2) a provider’s support of the

member’s request;

(3) a provider’s request on behalf

of the member; or

(4) the MCO’s/SE’s independent

determination.

B. The MCO/SE shall

ensure that the expedited review process is

convenient and efficient for the member.

C. The MCO/SE shall

resolve the appeal within three (3) working

days of receipt of the request for an expe-

dited appeal, if the request meets the defini-

tion of expedited in Subsection A of

8.305.12.13 NMAC.  In addition to written

resolution notice, the MCO/SE shall also

make reasonable efforts to provide and doc-

ument oral notice.

D. The MCO/SE may

extend the timeframe by up to 14 calendar

days if the member requests the extension,

or the MCO/SE demonstrates to HSD  that

there is need for additional information and

the extension is in the member’s interest.

For any extension not requested by the

member, the MCO/SE shall give the mem-

ber written notice of the reason for the

delay.

E. The MCO/SE shall

ensure that punitive action is not taken

against a member or a provider who

requests an expedited resolution or supports

a member’s expedited appeal.

F. The MCO/SE shall pro-

vide an expedited resolution, if the request

meets the definition of an expedited appeal,

in response to an oral or written request

from the member or provider on behalf of

the member.

G. The MCO/SE shall

inform the member of the limited time

available to present evidence and allega-

tions in fact or law.

H. If the MCO/SE denies a

request for an expedited resolution of an

appeal, it shall:

(1) transfer the appeal to the thir-

ty (30)-day timeframe for standard resolu-

tion, in which the 30-day period begins on

the date the MCO/SE received the original

request for appeal;

(2) make reasonable efforts to

give the member prompt oral notice of the

denial, and follow up with a written notice

within two (2) calendar days; and

(3) inform the member in the

written notice of the right to file an appeal

and/or request an HSD fair hearing if the

member is dissatisfied with the

MCO’s/SE’s decision to deny an expedited

resolution.

I. The MCO/SE shall

document in writing all oral requests for

expedited resolution and shall maintain the

documentation in the case file.

[8.305.12.13 NMAC - Rp 8.305.12.12

NMAC, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

8.305.12.15 OTHER RELATED

MCO PROCESSES:

A. Information about

grievance system to providers and sub-

contractors:  The MCO/SE shall provide

information specified in 42 CFR

438.10(g)(1) about the grievance system to

all providers and subcontractors at the time

they enter into a contract.

B. Grievance and/or

appeal files:

(1) All grievance and/or appeal

files shall be maintained in a secure and

designated area and be accessible to HSD ,

upon request, for review.  Grievance and/or

appeal files shall be retained for [six (6)] 10

years following the final decision by the

MCO/SE, HSD, an administrative law

judge, judicial appeal, or closure of a file,

whichever occurs later.

(2) The MCO/SE shall have pro-

cedures for assuring that files contain suffi-

cient information to identify the grievance

and/or appeal, the date it was received, the

nature of the grievance and/or appeal,

notice to the member of receipt of the griev-

ance and/or appeal, all correspondence

between the MCO/SE and the member, the

date the grievance and/or appeal is resolved,

the resolution, the notices of final decision

to the member, and all other pertinent infor-

mation.

(3) Documentation regarding the

grievance shall be made available to the

member, if requested.

[8.305.12.15 NMAC - Rp 8.305.12.15

NMAC, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

8.305.12.16 MCO/SE PROVIDER

GRIEVANCE AND APPEAL

PROCESS: The MCO/SE shall establish

and maintain written policies and proce-

dures for the filing of provider grievances

and appeals.  A provider shall have the right

to file a grievance or an appeal with the

MCO/SE [regarding provider payment

issues].  Provider grievances or appeals
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shall be resolved within 30 calendar days.

If the grievance or appeal is not resolved

within 30 days, the MCO/SE shall request a

14 day extension from the provider.  If the

provider requests the extension, the exten-

sion shall be approved by the MCO/SE. A

provider may not file a grievance or an

appeal on behalf of a member without writ-

ten designation by the member as the mem-

ber’s representative. A provider shall have

the right to file an appeal with the MCO/SE

regarding provider payment issues. See

8.305.12.13 NMAC for special rules for

certain expedited service authorizations.

[8.305.12.16 NMAC - Rp 8.305.12.17

NMAC, 7-1-04; A, 7-1-05; A, 9-1-06]

16.19.30.7 DEFINITIONS: In

addition to the definitions for specific

license classifications, the following words

and terms, when used in this section, shall

have the following meanings unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise.

A. “Beyond-use date” the

date after which a compounded preparation

should not be used and is determined from

the date the preparation was compounded.

B. “Component” any

ingredient intended for use in the com-

pounding of a drug product, including those

that may not appear in such product label-

ing.

C. “Compounding” the

preparation, mixing assembling, packaging,

or labeling of a drug or device (reconstitu-

tion of commercial products is not consid-

ered compounding for purposes of this arti-

cle).

(1) as the result of a practitioner’s

prescription order, based on the practition-

er-patient-pharmacist relationship in the

course of professional practice;

(2) preparing limited quantities of

prescription orders based upon a history of

receiving valid prescriptions issued within

an established practitioner-patient-pharma-

cist relationship in the course of profession-

al practice;

(3) reconstitution of commercial

products not considered compounding for

purpose of this article.

D. “FDA” Food and Drug

Administration.

E. “SOP’s” standard oper-

ating procedures.

F. “USP/NF” the current

edition of the United States

Pharmacopeia/National Formulary.

[16.19.30.7 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

16.19.30.8 PERSONNEL:

A. Pharmacist-in-charge.

The pharmacist-in-charge shall have the

responsibility for, at a minimum, the fol-

lowing concerning non-sterile compound-

ing:

(1) determining that all personnel

involved in non-sterile compounding pos-

sess the education, training, and proficiency

necessary to properly and as safely perform

compounding duties undertaken or super-

vised;

(2) determining that all personnel

involved in non-sterile compounding obtain

continuing education appropriate for the

type of compounding done by the person-

nel;

(3) assuring that the equipment

used in compounding is properly main-

tained;

(4) maintaining an appropriate

environment in the area where non-sterile

compounding occurs and;

(5) assuring that effective quality

control procedures are developed and fol-

lowed.

B. Pharmacists.  Special

requirements for non-sterile compounding;

(1) all pharmacists engaged in

compounding shall:

(a) possess the education, training

and proficiency necessary to properly and

safely perform compounding duties under-

taken or supervised and

(b) obtain continuing education

for the type of compounding done by the

pharmacist.

(2) A pharmacist shall inspect and

approve all components, drug product con-

tainers, closures, labeling and any other

material involved in the compounding

process.

(3) A pharmacist shall review all

compounding records for accuracy and con-

duct in-process and final checks to assure

that errors have not occurred in the com-

pounding process.

(4) A pharmacist is responsible

for the proper maintenance, cleanliness and

use of all equipment used in the compound-

ing process.

C. Pharmacy technicians.

All technicians engaged in compounding

shall:

(1) possess the education, training

and proficiency necessary to properly and

safely perform compounding duties under-

taken;

(2) obtain continuing education

for the type of compounding done by the

pharmacy technician; and

(3) perform compounding duties

under the direct supervision of and respon-

sible to a pharmacist.

D. Training.  All personnel

involved in non-sterile compounding shall

be trained and must participate in continu-

ing relevant training programs.

[16.19.30.8 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

16.19.30.9 O P E R A T I O N A L

STANDARDS:

A. General requirements.

(1) Non-sterile drug products may

be compounded in licensed pharmacies as a

result of a practitioner’s prescription order

based on the practitioner-patient-pharmacist

relationship in the course of professional

practice.

(2) Preparing limited quantities of

prescription drug orders in anticipation

based upon a history of receiving valid pre-

scriptions issued within an established prac-

titioner-patient-pharmacist relationship in

the course of professional practice.

(a) The beyond-use date should

be based on the criteria outlined in USP

Chapter <795>.
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TITLE 16 O C C U PAT I O N A L

AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

CHAPTER 19 PHARMACISTS

PART 30 COMPOUNDING OF

NON-STERILE PHARMACEUTICALS

16.19.30.1 ISSUING AGENCY:

Regulation and Licensing Department -

Board of Pharmacy

[16.19.30.1 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

16.19.30.2 SCOPE: All pharma-

cies as defined in 61-11-2 (S), (Y) NMSA

1978, and all persons or entities that own or

operated, or are employed by a pharmacy

for the purpose of providing pharmaceutical

products or services.

[16.19.30.2 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

16.19.30.3 S T A T U T O R Y

AUTHORITY: Sections 61-11-9(A)(6)

NMSA 1978 requires that the board of phar-

macy provide for the licensing or retail

pharmacies and nonresident pharmacies and

for the inspection of their facilities and

activities.

[16.19.30.3 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

16.19.30.4 D U R A T I O N :

Permanent

[16.19.30.4 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

16.19.30.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

09-15-06, unless a later date is cited at the

end of a section.

[16.19.30.5 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

16.19.30.6 OBJECTIVE: The

objective of part 30 of chapter 19 is to pro-

vide standards for the compounding of non-

sterile pharmaceuticals.  Pharmacies com-

pounding non-sterile pharmaceuticals shall

comply with the requirements of this sec-

tion in addition to all provisions for their

specific license classification. 

[16.19.30.6 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]



(b) Any product compounded in

anticipation of future prescription drug or

medication orders shall be labeled.  Each

label shall contain:

(i) name and strength of

the compounded medication or list of the

active ingredient and strengths;

(ii) facility’s lot num-

ber;

(iii) beyond-use date;

(iv) quantity or amount

in the container.

(3) Commercially available prod-

uct may be compounded for dispensing to

individual patients provided the following

conditions are met:

(a) the commercial product is not

reasonably available from normal distribu-

tion channels in a timely manner to meet

patient’s needs; and

(b) the prescribing practitioner

has requested that the drug be compounded;

or

(c) if the compounded product is

changed to produce for that patient a signif-

icant difference, as authorized by the pre-

scriber, between the compounded drug and

the comparable commercially available

drug product, or if use of the compounded

product is in the best interest of the patient;

“significant difference” would include the

removal of a dye for medical reason such as

an allergic reaction; when a compounded

product is to be dispensed in place of a com-

mercially available product, the prescriber

and patient shall be informed that the prod-

uct will be compounded.

(4) Compounding for a pre-

scriber’s office use.

(a) Pharmacies may prepare com-

pounding drug products for a duly author-

ized prescriber’s office use.

(b) An order by the duly author-

ized prescriber, indicating the formula and

quantity ordered will be filed in the phar-

macy.

(c) The product is to be adminis-

tered in the office.

(d) A record of the compounded

drug product may be kept as a prescription

record in the pharmacy computer or by

hard-copy record.

(e) A label may be generated and

a number assigned by the pharmacy com-

puter for the compounded drug product.

(5) Compounding veterinarian

products.

(a) Prescriptions for animals may

be compounded based on an order or pre-

scription from a duly authorized veterinari-

an.

(b) These prescriptions are to be

handled and filled the same as the human

prescriptions.

( 6 ) C o m p o u n d i n g

pharmacies/pharmacists may advertise and

promote the fact that they provide non-ster-

ile prescription compounding services

which may include specific drug products

and classes of drugs.

B. Environment.

(1) Pharmacies regularly engag-

ing in compounding shall have a designated

and adequate area for the safe and orderly

compounding of drug products including

the placement of equipment and materials.

Pharmacies involved in occasional com-

pounding shall prepare an area prior to each

compounding activity, which is adequate

for safe and orderly compounding.

(2) Only personnel authorized by

the responsible pharmacist shall be in the

immediate vicinity of a drug compounding

operation.

(3) A sink with hot and cold run-

ning water, exclusive of rest room facilities,

shall be accessible to the compounding

areas and be maintained in a sanitary condi-

tion.

(4) When drug products that

require special precautions to prevent con-

tamination, such as penicillin, are involved

in a compounding operation, appropriate

measures, including dedication of equip-

ment for such operations or the meticulous

cleaning of contaminated equipment prior

to its’ use for the preparation of other drug

products, must be used in order to prevent

cross-contamination.

C. Equipment and

Supplies.  The pharmacy shall:

(1) have a class A prescription

balance, or analytical balance and weights

when necessary which shall be properly

maintained and subject to inspection by the

New Mexico board of pharmacy and;

(2) have equipment and utensils

necessary for the proper compounding of

prescription or medication drug orders;

such equipment and utensils used in the

compounding process shall be:

(a) of appropriate design and

capacity, and be operated within designated

operational limits;

(b) of suitable composition so that

surfaces that contact components, in-

process material or drug products shall not

be reactive, additive, or absorptive so as to

alter the safety, identity, strength, quality or

purity of the drug product beyond the

desired result;

(c) cleaned and sanitized appro-

priately prior to each use and;

(d) routinely inspected, calibrated

when necessary or checked to ensure prop-

er performance.

D. Labeling.  In addition to

the labeling requirements of the pharmacy’s

specific license classification, the label dis-

pensed or distributed pursuant to a prescrip-

tion or medication drug order shall contain

the following:

(1) the generic name(s) or the des-

ignated name and the strength of the com-

pounded preparation;

(2) the quantity dispensed;

(3) the date on which the product

was compounded;

(4) a lot or batch number, and;

(5) the beyond-use date after

which the compounded preparation should

not be used;

(a) in the absence of stability

information applicable for a specific drug in

the USP/NF the preparation shall adhere to

the following maximum beyond-use date

guidelines:

(i) non-aqueous liquids

and solid formulations (where the manufac-

tured drug product is the source of active

ingredient) 25% of the time remaining until

the manufacturer’s product’s expiration date

or six (6) months, whichever is earlier;

(ii) water-containing

formulations (prepared from ingredients in

solid form) not later than fourteen (14) days

when refrigerated  between 2-8 degrees

Celsius or 36-46 degrees Fahrenheit;

(iii) all other formula-

tions:  intended duration of therapy or 30

days, whichever is earlier;

(b) beyond-use date limits may be

exceeded when supported by valid scientif-

ic stability information for the specific com-

pounded preparation.

E. Drugs, components and

material used in non-sterile compounding.

(1) Drugs used in non-sterile

compounding shall preferably be a USP/NF

grade substance manufactured in a FDA

registered facility.

(2) In the event that USP/NF

grade substances are not available, docu-

mentation of stability and purity must be

established and documented.

(3) A pharmacy may not com-

pound a drug product which has been with-

drawn or removed from the market for safe-

ty reasons.

F. Compounding Process.

The safety, quality and performance of

compounded prescriptions depend on cor-

rect ingredients and calculations, accurate

and precise measurements, appropriate for-

mulation conditions and procedures, and

prudent pharmaceutical judgment.  Each

pharmacy shall develop and follow written

SOP’s based on established compounding

procedures as outlined in chapter 795 of the

USP/NF concerning pharmacy compound-

ing of non-sterile preparations designed to

ensure accountability, accuracy, quality,

safety, and uniformity in the compounding

process.

G. Quality Control.

(1) The safety, quality, and moni-

toring is used to insure that the output of

compounded drug products for uniformity

and consistency such as capsule weight

variations, adequacy of mixing, clarity or

pH of solutions are met.  When developing
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these procedures, pharmacy personnel shall

consider the provisions of Chapter 795 of

the USP/NF concerning pharmacy com-

pounding of non-sterile preparations, chap-

ter 1075 of the USP/NF concerning good

compounding practices, and chapter 1160 of

the USP/NF concerning pharmaceutical cal-

culations in prescription compounding.

Such procedures shall be documented and

be available for inspection.

(2) Compounding procedures that

are routinely performed, including batch

compounding, shall be completed and veri-

fied according to written procedures.  The

act of verification of a compounding proce-

dure involves checking to ensure that calcu-

lations, weighing and measuring, order of

mixing, and compounding techniques were

appropriate and accurately performed.

(3) Unless otherwise indicated or

appropriate, compounded preparations are

to be prepared to ensure that each prepara-

tion shall contain not less than 90.0 percent

and not more than 110.0 percent of the the-

oretically calculated and labeled quantity of

active ingredient per unit volume and not

less than 90.0 percent and not more than

110.0 percent of the theoretically calculated

weight or volume per unit of the prepara-

tion.

[16.19.30.9 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

16.19.30.10 RECORDS:

A. Maintenance of

records.  Every record required by this sec-

tion shall be kept by the pharmacy for at

least three (3) years.

B. Compounding records.

(1) Formulation records:

(a) provides a consistent source

document for preparing the preparation

(recipe);

(b) is a file of individual com-

pounded preparations;

(c) must list the name, strength,

and dosage form of the preparation com-

pounded;

(d) must list all ingredients and

their quantities;

(e) must list equipment needed to

prepare the preparation, when appropriate,

and mixing instructions;

(f) other environmental controls,

such as the duration of mixing and other

factors pertinent to the replication of the

preparation as compounded; and

(g) must contain beyond-use date

and methodology, the container used in dis-

pensing, the storage requirements, and any

quality control procedures.

(2) Compounding records:

(a) document the actual ingredi-

ents in the preparation and the person

responsible for the compounding activity;

(b) contain the name and strength

of the compounded preparation, the formu-

lation record reference for the preparation,

and the sources and lot numbers of the

ingredients;

(c) contain information on the

total number of dosage units compounded,

the name of the person who prepared the

preparation and the name of the pharmacist

who approved the preparation;

(d) contain the date of the prepa-

ration, the assigned internal identification

number or the prescription number and an

assigned beyond-use date; and

(e) for all compounded prepara-

tions, results of quality control procedures

are to be recorded.

[16.19.30.10 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

History of 16.19.30 NMAC;

[RESERVED]

board to provide for the licensing of all

places where dangerous drugs are stored,

distributed, dispensed or administered

and provide for the inspection of the

facilities and activities.  Section 26-1-

16.A(2) NMSA 1978 authorizes the board

to license any person to sell, dispose of or

possess any dangerous drug.

Appropriate records of receipt and dis-

position must be kept.

[02-15-96; 16.19.17.3 NMAC - Rn, 16

NMAC 19.17.3, 03-30-02; A, 09-15-06]

16.19.17.6 OBJECTIVE: The

objective of Part 17 of Chapter 19 is to pro-

vide notice of the board’s designation of

particular substances as dangerous

drugs[.]and for the licensure of dangerous

drug researchers.  A dangerous drug

researcher will be allowed to possess dan-

gerous drugs for the purpose of conduct-

ing research, including demonstrations

or special projects, after receiving

approval from the board.

[02-15-96; 16.19.17.6 NMAC - Rn, 16

NMAC 19.17.6, 03-30-02; A, 09-15-06]

16.19.17.7 DEFINITIONS:

[A. S y m p a t h o m i m e t i c

means an agent that produces effects similar

to those of impulses conveyed by adrener-

gic fibers of the sympathetic nervous sys-

tem.]

A. “Board” means the

New Mexico board of pharmacy.

B. “Dangerous Drug” as

defined in the New Mexico Drug, Device

and Cosmetic Act 26-1-2F.

(1) The following substance(s)

has(have) been declared by the N.M. board

of pharmacy as “Dangerous Drugs” in

accordance with the Drug, Device and

Cosmetic Act 26-1-18 NMSA and the

Uniform Licensing Act (61-1-1 to 61-1-31

NMSA 1978). The board of pharmacy shall

by regulation declare a substance a “danger-

ous drug” when necessary and notification

shall be sent to all registered pharmacies in

the state within sixty days of the adoption of

the regulation.  Ephedrine, USP, as

ephedrine hydrochloride or ephedrine sul-

fate or as any other salt form. Any com-

pound, mixture, or preparation containing

one-half percent (0.5%) or less of ephedrine

or of any salt form of ephedrine is exempt

from the above. The following drug prod-

ucts containing ephedrine, USP, as

ephedrine hydrochloride or ephedrine sul-

fate are exempted from this schedule:

Bronkaid® Caplets and Primatene®

Tablets.  These products are exempt because

they are approved for sale over the counter

without a prescription under federal law, are

labeled and marketed in a manner consistent

with the pertinent OTC tentative final or

final monograph, are manufactured and dis-
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This is an amendment to 16.19.17

NMAC, change to the part name of Part

17, Sections 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and adding new

Section 8, effective 09-15-06.

TITLE 16 O C C U PAT I O N A L

AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

CHAPTER 19 PHARMACISTS

PART 17 D A N G E R O U S

DRUGS and DANGEROUS DRUG

RESEARCH

16.19.17.1 ISSUING AGENCY:

Regulation and Licensing Department —

Board of Pharmacy. [, 1650 University

Blvd, NE - Ste. 400B, Albuquerque, NM

87102, (505) 841-9102]

[02-15-1889...02-15-96; 16.19.17.1 NMAC

- Rn, 16 NMAC 19.17.1, 03-30-02; A, 09-

15-06]

16.19.17.2 SCOPE: All individu-

als or entities who sell, dispose of or pos-

sess any dangerous drug[.], including insti-

tutions of higher education, private

organizations, or other applicants who do

not possess a pharmacy license, and are

not subject to licensure with any profes-

sional licensing board or the New Mexico

department of health.

[02-15-96; 16.19.17.2 NMAC - Rn, 16

NMAC 19.17.2, 03-30-02; A, 09-15-06]

16.19.17.3 S T A T U T O R Y

AUTHORITY: Section 26-1-18 of the

New Mexico Drug, Device and Cosmetic

Act, Chapter 26, Article 1 NMSA 1978,

authorizes the board of pharmacy to prom-

ulgate regulations for the efficient enforce-

ment of the act and to declare, by regula-

tion, a substance a dangerous drug.  Section

61-11-6.A(6) NMSA 1978 authorizes the



tributed for legitimate medical use in a man-

ner that reduces or eliminates the likelihood

for abuse, and are not marketed, advertised

or labeled for an indication of stimulation,

mental alertness, energy, weight loss,

appetite control, or muscle enhancement.

(2) A dangerous drug shall be dis-

pensed only upon the prescription of a prac-

titioner licensed by law to administer or pre-

scribe such drug.

C. “Drug storage area”

means the area restricted to the storage,

dispensing and distribution of dangerous

drugs.

D. “Research protocol” is

the written documentation stating the

objective, method, means of measure-

ment, and utilization procedure of the

dangerous drug.

[04-19-92; 16.19.17.7 NMAC - Rn, 16

NMAC 19.17.7, 03-30-02; A, 07-15-2004;

A, 09-15-06]

16.19.17.8 R E S E A R C H

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS:

A. Authorized persons to

be licensed:  public agencies, institutions

of higher education and private organiza-

tions, or individuals for the purpose of

conducting research, demonstration or

special projects with the use of a danger-

ous drug.

B. The person applying

for licensure must fill out a license for

dangerous drug research application

prior to purchasing any dangerous drug.

The applicant must provide information

pertinent to the research including:

(1) persons who will be involved

in handling of dangerous drug:

(a) name, address, date of birth,

and if they have been convicted of a

felony;

(2) drug protocol:

(a) formulary of dangerous

drugs for research;

(b) how will the dangerous drug

be utilized;

(c) how much of the dangerous

drug will be used for each administered

dose or experiment;

(d) how much drug will be pur-

chased annually.

(3) policy and procedure manu-

al including:

(a) drug security:  storage area,

list of individuals with access to danger-

ous drugs;

(b) drug procurement:  invoic-

es, receipts, and drug sources;

(c) drug usage:  records or logs

for accountability;

(d) drug waste/destruction:

memorandum report describing account-

ability;

(e) drug storage area;

(f) research protocol:  propri-

etary or trade secrets are confidential

and not subject to public disclosure;

(4) qualifications of the appli-

cant to conduct such research with dan-

gerous drugs which may include:

(a) degrees;

(b) higher education;

(c) specialized training.

C. The board will review

all applicants for licensure for consisten-

cy with the public’s best interest.

[16.19.17.8 NMAC - N, 09-15-06]

(2) all schools served by the

school district have a school locale code of

7 or 8 as determined by the secretary of the

United States department of education in its

small, rural school achievement eligibility

spreadsheet for a given year.

B. “Small rural school

achievement spreadsheet (“SRSA”)” means

that spreadsheet developed by the United

States department of education office of ele-

mentary and secondary education for a

given fiscal year/school year delineating

those New Mexico school districts as eligi-

ble for the SRSA program for that fiscal

year.

[6.34.2.7 NMAC - N, 08-31-06]

6.34.2.8 FLEXIBILITY FOR

RURAL SCHOOLS

A. Unless otherwise pro-

hibited by federal law or regulation, school

districts meeting the definition of rural LEA

and currently employing teachers who teach

multiple subjects but do not meet all the cri-

teria for a highly qualified teacher in each of

the core academic subjects they teach may

have until the end of the 2006-2007 school

year for these teachers to be highly qualified

in each subject that they teach.

B. Newly hired teachers in

school districts meeting the definition of

rural LEA will have three years from the

date of hire to become highly qualified in

each core academic subject that they teach.

C. School districts using

the flexibility described in subsections A

and B of the section must:

(1) ensure that all teachers in core

academic areas are highly qualified in at

least one core academic subject they teach;

(2) provide high-quality profes-

sional development that increases the teach-

ers’ content knowledge in the additional

subjects they teach; and

(3) provide mentoring or a pro-

gram of intensive supervision that consists

of structured guidance  and regular, ongoing

support so that they become highly quali-

fied in the additional core academic sub-

ject(s) they teach.

[6.34.2.8 NMAC - N, 08-31-06]

6.34.2.9 TECHNICAL ASSIS-

TANCE

A. School districts not

included in the annual SRSA listing may

also be assisted through an application

process to the rural education division of the

public education department.  Examples of

assistance include:

(1) school/community revitaliza-

tion program;

(2) filling teacher vacancies;

(3) interpretation of test results;

(4) advice on continuous

improvement programs; and

(5) integrating distance education
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TITLE 6 PRIMARY AND

SECONDARY EDUCATION

CHAPTER 34 RURAL EDUCA-

TION

PART 2 FLEXIBILITY FOR

RURAL SCHOOL DISTRICTS

6.34.2.1 ISSUING AGENCY:

Public Education Department

[6.34.2.1 NMAC - N, 08-31-06]

6.34.2.2 SCOPE: This rule

applies to public schools and school dis-

tricts.

[6.34.2.2 NMAC - N, 08-31-06]

6.34.2.3 S T A T U T O R Y

AUTHORITY: This regulation is promul-

gated pursuant to Section 22-2-1 and 9-24-

8 NMSA 1978.

[6.34.2.3 NMAC - N, 08-31-06]

6.34.2.4 D U R A T I O N :

Permanent

[6.34.2.4 NMAC - N, 08-31-06]

6.34.2.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

August 31, 2006, unless a later date is cited

at the end of a section.

[6.34.2.5 NMAC - N, 08-31-06]

6.34.2.6 OBJECTIVE: This

rule establishes the general provisions and

definitions applicable to rural education.

[6.34.2.6 NMAC - N, 08-31-06]

6.34.2.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Rural local education-

al agency (“rural LEA”)” means a local

school district meeting the following crite-

ria:

(1) the total number of students in

average daily attendance at all schools

served by the school district is fewer than

600, OR all schools in the district are locat-

ed in counties with a population density of

fewer than 10 persons per square mile;

AND



programs.

B. The rural education

division will develop an application for

school districts to use in submitting requests

for assistance.  The application will address

the following components:

(1) percentage of students eligible

for free and reduced price lunch;

(2) percentage of minority enroll-

ment;

(3) migrant student population;

(4) poverty rates;

(5) accessibility to service cen-

ters;

(6) administrator turnover;

(7) ethnicity discrepancies

between students and teachers and students

and principals;

(8) transportation costs; and

(9) property wealth.

[6.34.2.9 NMAC - N, 08-31-06]

HISTORY OF 6.34.2 NMAC:  [Reserved]

H. establishing that all

supplemental educational services

providers and eligible school districts will

submit all relevant student data; and

I. removal of providers

from approved list.

[6.19.6.6 NMAC - N, 08/15/05; A,

08/31/06]

6.19.6.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Department” means

the public education department.

B. “Eligible child or eligi-

ble children” means a child or children from

low income families as determined by a

school district, public school, or charter

school for the purposes of allocating feder-

al funds made available under Title I of the

Elementary and Secondary Education Act

of 1965 (20 U.S.C. 6301 et seq.) as amend-

ed.

C. “Incentives” means any

goods, facilities, services, gifts, coupons,

discounts, rebates, or cash offered or given

to anyone by or on behalf of a supplemental

educational services provider to promote

selection of their services by parents or

guardians of eligible children.

D. “Removal” means

deleting the provider from the list of state-

approved supplemental educational services

providers.

[D.] E. “Rewards” means an

acceptable classroom incentive with no

redeemable monetary value to an eligible

child or that child’s parent or guardian and

that is offered to an eligible child only as a

reward for attendance, continued participa-

tion, or achievement related to a provider’s

services.

[E.] F. “Supplemental educa-

tional services” means tutoring and other

supplemental academic enrichment services

that are in addition to instruction provided

during the school day and are of high qual-

ity, research-based, and specifically

designed to increase the academic achieve-

ment of eligible children on required aca-

demic assessments and attain proficiency in

meeting the state’s academic achievement

standards.

[F.] G. “Timeline” means a

schedule established by the department that

delineates when parental notifications, are

to be issued, when parent notifications are

to be returned, when supplemental educa-

tional services may commence, and approx-

imately how much supplemental education-

al service shall be completed prior to the

state-mandated criterion referenced testing.

H. “Tutor to student ratio”

means the established number of students a

tutor may provide supplemental educational

services to at one time.

[6.19.6.7 NMAC - N, 08/15/05; A,

08/31/06]

6.19.6.8 REQUIREMENTS:

A. All school districts,

public schools, including charter schools

and all state-approved supplemental educa-

tional services providers who offer or plan

to offer supplemental educational services

in New Mexico, shall adhere to timelines as

follows:

(1) Parental notification shall

occur two weeks after school has started.

(2) The enrollment period for sup-

plemental educational services is at a mini-

mum the four week period subsequent to the

beginning of a school year after the issuance

of notification to parents of the availability

of supplemental educational services.

(3) Supplemental educational

services shall begin no later than four weeks

after  the later of the following dates:

(a) the minimum enrollment peri-

od for supplemental educational services

has ended, or

(b) the date the child has enrolled

for supplemental educational services.

(4) Each supplemental education-

al services provider must complete at least

seventy-five percent of services to eligible

children for whom the parent/guardian has

selected the supplemental educational serv-

ice provider prior to the administration of

the state-mandated criterion referenced test-

ing.  If an individual supplemental educa-

tional services provider, due to their own

actions, does not complete seventy-five per-

cent of services to all eligible children who

are enrolled in supplemental educational

services prior to the administration of the

state-mandated criterion referenced testing,

the local education agency administering

supplemental educational services may take

the following actions:

(a) immediately cancel existing

contracts with each supplemental education

services provider that has not met the

requirement of this deadline;

(b) continue the existing contracts

to ensure that all students enrolled in sup-

plemental educational services continue to

receive services; or

(c) renegotiate the existing con-

tracts to ensure that all students enrolled in

supplemental educational services continue

to receive services.

(5) During the enrollment period

the eligible school district must release

names of students enrolled in supplemental

educational services in a timely manner, at

minimum a list of student names and con-

tact information will be released to the

providers on no less than a weekly basis.

B. [Except for good cause

shown in writing to the department, no]

With written approval from district superin-

tendent, a school district, public school,

including a charter school [shall] may enter

into agreements or otherwise permit supple-
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This is an amendment to 6.19.6 NMAC,

Sections 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10, effective

8/31/2006.

6.19.6.6 OBJECTIVE: This

rule establishes requirements for:

A. supplemental educa-

tional services providers who seek to use

incentives as a method of promoting selec-

tion of their services by parents of eligible

children;

B. allowable rewards to

students to reward attendance, continued

participation and achievement related to the

supplemental educational services;

C. establishing a timeline

to be followed by supplemental educational

services providers and all school districts

and public schools, including charter

schools for commencing and ending supple-

mental educational services during the

school year[.];

D. establishing a sliding

hourly fee schedule a provider may charge a

school district based on the education level

of the tutors being used by the supplemental

educational services provider;

E. establishing the priority

of students for whom supplemental educa-

tional services shall be provided;

F. implementation of

basic program parameters and required

assessments;

G. provision of on-site

audits conducted by supplemental educa-

tional services providers, eligible school

districts and the department;



mental educational services providers to

operate during the mandatory state-mandat-

ed criterion referenced testing.

C. Beginning with the

2005-2006 school year and continuing in

every school year thereafter, supplemental

educational services providers shall not

directly or indirectly use incentives as a

method of promoting selection of their serv-

ices by parents or guardians of eligible chil-

dren.  Provided, however, that rewards may

be offered to eligible children:

(1) to reward attendance, contin-

ued participation, or achievement related to

a provider’s services;

(2) if the reward has no

redeemable monetary value to the eligible

child or his parent/guardian and is otherwise

consistent with accepted classroom incen-

tives, such as pizza parties, ice cream par-

ties, school supplies having nominal value,

or the opportunity to order discounted

instructional material for the eligible child’s

personal use; and

(3) parents or guardians of an eli-

gible child or children consent to the offer-

ing of such incentives.

D. All school districts,

public schools, including charter schools

and all state-approved supplemental educa-

tional services providers who offer or plan

to offer supplemental educational services

in New Mexico, shall adhere to the follow-

ing requirements:

(1) Each supplemental education-

al services provider must use a sliding

hourly fee schedule when invoicing eligible

school districts for services rendered.  The

sliding hourly fee schedule shall compart as

follows:

(a) A supplemental educational

services provider may charge the eligible

school district its full hourly amount if the

tutor has a valid teaching license or a four

year degree or greater from an accredited

university or college, and the per pupil cap

will not be ratably reduced based on the

education level of the tutor providing sup-

plemental educational services.

(b) A supplemental educational

services provider may charge the eligible

school district eighty-five percent of its

hourly amount if the tutor has less than a

four year degree, but more than an associ-

ates of arts degree, or its equivalent of forty-

eight (48) credit hours, from an accredited

post secondary institution, and the per pupil

cap will be ratably reduced by fifteen per-

cent based on the education level of the

tutor providing supplemental educational

services.

(c) A supplemental educational

services provider may charge the eligible

school district seventy-five percent of it

hourly amount if the tutor has less than an

associates of arts degree, or its equivalent of

forty-eight (48) credit hours, from an

accredited post secondary institution but

more than a high school diploma, and the

per pupil cap will be ratably reduced by

twenty-five percent based on the education

level of the tutor providing supplemental

educational services.

(2) Eligible students are students

from low-income families who attend Title

I schools that are in their second year of

school improvement, in corrective action,

or in restructuring.  Eligibility is not

dependent on whether the student is a mem-

ber of a subgroup that caused the school to

not make AYP or whether the student is in a

grade that takes the statewide assessments.

If the funds available are insufficient to pro-

vide supplemental educational services to

each eligible student whose parent requests

those services, the LEA must give priority

to providing services to the lowest-achiev-

ing eligible students.  In this situation, the

LEA shall use objective criteria to deter-

mine the lowest-achieving students.

(3) Supplemental educational

services providers must use a department-

approved pre- and post-assessment instru-

ment to measure the gains that students

achieve through supplemental educational

services.

(4) Only Title I schools that have

received a school designation of school

improvement year 2, corrective action or

restructuring are required to offer supple-

mental educational services.

E. Supplemental educa-

tion services providers must adhere to the

following program parameters:

(1) Supplemental educational

services providers must demonstrate the

capacity to provide an adequate number of

contact hours to contribute to student

achievement within fair market value for

the state approved providers.

(2) Invoices submitted by supple-

mental educational services providers must

accurately reflect the tutor to student ratio

of the tutoring session and the qualifications

of the tutor providing services.  The

invoiceable tutor to student ratios shall

compart as follows:

(a) A supplemental educational

services provider that maintains a tutor: stu-

dent ratio of one tutor to three students or

less may charge the eligible school district

the full hourly amount based on tutor quali-

fications.

(b) A supplemental educational

services provider that maintains a tutor to

student ratio of one tutor to four students,

one tutor to five students, or one tutor to six

students may charge the eligible school dis-

trict eighty-five percent of its hourly

amount based on tutor qualifications.

(c) A supplemental educational

services provider that maintains a tutor to

student ratio of one tutor to seven students

or greater may only charge the eligible

school district fifty percent of its hourly

amount based on tutor qualifications.

(3) The length of any supplemen-

tal educational services session must be

developmentally appropriate considering

the age of the student participating in sup-

plemental educational services.

(4) Each supplemental education-

al services provider must ensure that the

academic services provided to each student

are consistent with the individual school

district curriculum and state performance

standards.

(5) Each student who is enrolled

in supplemental educational services must

have a student improvement plan, with

goals relating to academic improvement

based on state standards in place and

approved by parents or guardians, appropri-

ate school personnel and chosen supple-

mental educational services provider before

any invoice for services rendered may be

paid.

(6) Each student who is enrolled

with an approved supplemental educational

services provider must be pre-and post-test-

ed, with a department-approved instrument.

Students must be pre-tested in order to

determine student achievement goals.

Students must be post-tested when they

have completed the program to document

progress.

(7) Parents or guardians, and

appropriate school personnel must be noti-

fied of student progress in a format that is

easily understandable.

F. Supplemental educa-

tional services providers must conduct on-

site audits of their services.

G. Eligible school districts

must conduct on-site audits of supplemental

educational services providers.

H. The department will

conduct on-site audits of supplemental edu-

cational services providers and eligible

school districts.

I. Each eligible school

district and supplemental educational serv-

ices provider will collect and submit all rel-

evant student data to the department or its

authorized contractor upon request.

J. Each eligible school

district and supplemental educational serv-

ices provider will attend all department

sponsored meetings regarding the imple-

mentation and success of supplemental edu-

cational services.

K. All existing and inter-

ested supplemental educational services

providers must submit an application to

become a supplemental educational servic-

es provider for the 2006-07 school year.  All

successful applicants will apply every four

years to continue to provide supplemental

educational services.  The application

process will be held annually.

L. If a supplemental edu-
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cational services provider is removed from

the approved list, the supplemental educa-

tional services provider must wait a mini-

mum of two years before they may reapply

to become a supplemental educational serv-

ices provider in the state of New Mexico.

[6.19.6.8 NMAC - N, 08/15/05; A,

08/31/06]

6.19.6.9 UNFAIR PRAC-

TICES: Supplemental educational services

funds are funds that have been provided by

grant to the department.  The department

disburses these funds to school districts and

charter schools for purposes of reimbursing

providers for services performed pursuant

to professional services contracts entered

into with providers.  For purposes of per-

forming supplemental educational services

and as a condition of receipt of these public

funds, it shall constitute an unfair practice

for providers to offer or provide any incen-

tive other than those allowed by this rule, to

have school or school district administrators

or charter school administrators work for or

act on the behalf of any supplemental edu-

cational services provider, or to recruit in a

way that is not in accordance with estab-

lished guidelines and the policies of this

rule.

A. School districts or char-

ter school employees who learn that a sup-

plemental educational services provider has

offered to or actually provided an incentive

other than those allowed by this rule, shall:

(1) promptly notify the provider

in writing to cease and desist this practice

immediately,

(2) promptly notify any parent or

guardian that any incentive other than those

allowed by this rule may not be offered by a

provider and may not be accepted by the

parent or guardian, and

(3) notify the department in writ-

ing if a provider fails or refuses to cease or

desist in offering or providing non-allowed

incentives.

B. The department upon

receiving a written notification under this

section or upon receiving a complaint from

any other sources, may, after verifying such

offering:

(1) notify the provider in writing

to cease and desist this practice immediate-

ly because any incentive other than those

allowed by this rule may not be offered by a

provider nor accepted by the parent or

guardian;

(2) notify parents or guardians

that any incentive other than those allowed

by this rule may not be offered by a

provider and may not be accepted by the

parent or guardian;

(3) notify appropriate authorities

of suspected conduct that may constitute

soliciting or receiving illegal kickbacks in

whole or in part with public money.

C. Beginning with the

2006-2007 school year, school district

administrators or charter school administra-

tors may not, under any circumstances, hold

a position or work on behalf of any supple-

mental educational services provider.

D. Beginning with the

2006-2007 school year if a school district or

charter school employee learns that a sup-

plemental educational services provider is

recruiting in a way that is not in accordance

with established guidelines and the policies

of this rule, that person shall:

(1) promptly notify the provider

in writing to cease and desist this practice

immediately; and

(2) notify the department in writ-

ing if a provider fails or refuses to cease or

desist in recruiting non-eligible students for

their program.

E. Eligible school district

personnel may not show favoritism to any

supplemental educational services provider

and must provide parents with information

about all state approved supplemental edu-

cational services providers serving the

school district.

[6.19.6.9 NMAC - N, 08/15/05; A,

08/31/06]

6.19.6.10 REMOVAL OF

PROVIDERS:  Supplemental educational

services providers must strictly adhere to

their approved application and the policies

of this rule.  If any provider demonstrates a

pervasive pattern of violating any aspect of

their application or any part of this rule they

will be removed from the state approved list

of supplemental education services

providers.  Providers will be removed from

the state approved list of supplemental edu-

cational services providers if there are any

violations of test security of the New

Mexico standards based assessment.  In

addition, providers will be removed for fail-

ing to contribute to the academic improve-

ment of students as determined by the state

evaluation.  Each supplemental educational

services provider that is to be removed may

ask for an opportunity to clarify reasons for

dismissal and request an appeal.

[6.19.6.10 NMAC - N, 08/31/06]

New Mexico Register / Volume XVII, Number 16 / August 31, 2006 857

13.10.10.6 OBJECTIVE: The

purpose of this rule is to implement the

[Comprehensive Health] Medical Insurance

Pool Act, Chapter 59A, Article 54 NMSA

1978.

[11-30-98; 13.10.10.6 NMAC - Rn, 13

NMAC 10.10.6, 4-13-01; A, 8-31-06]

13.10.10.7 DEFINITIONS: In

addition to the definitions in Section 59A-

54-3 NMSA 1978, as used in this rule:

A. Act means the

[Comprehensive Health] Medical Insurance

Pool Act, Chapter 59A, Article 54 NMSA

1978.

B. plan or plan of opera-

tion means this rule.

[11-30-98; 13.10.10.7 NMAC - Rn, 13

NMAC 10.10.7, 4-13-01; A, 8-31-06]

13.10.10.9 BOARD OF DIREC-

TORS:

A. Appointed members.

The superintendent shall announce his

appointments to the board at the annual

membership meeting.

B. Elected members.

(1) Prior to the annual member-

ship meeting, the board or its nominating

committee shall select a nominee to succeed

each board director who was elected by the

general membership of the pool and whose

term is scheduled to expire on June 30 of

that year.  If applicable, such nominee will

ensure the required representation as set

forth in Subsection C of Section 59A-54-4

NMSA 1978.  Such nominees shall be made

known to the members of the pool at least

30 days prior to the annual membership

meeting.

(2) The board shall compile a list

of all members of the pool.  At least 30 days

prior to the annual membership meeting, a

notice and proxy shall be sent to all mem-

bers of the pool soliciting votes for mem-

bership on the board.

(3) At the annual membership

meeting, the pool administrator shall tabu-

late the results and prepare a list of the nom-

inees who have received the most votes for

election to the board.  Each pool member

shall be entitled to cast one vote in electing

a member to the board and shall be permit-

ted to cast such vote in person or by proxy.

The members shall be entitled to vote only

for those nominees who would be a repre-

sentative of its type of health insurer.  For

example, only non-profit health care plans

would be eligible to vote in the election for

the board director representing non-profit

health care plans.

[(4) The previously elected board

of directors shall serve until their successors

have been duly elected and qualified to

serve.]

C. Succession. The

appointed members of the board of directors

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC
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shall serve until their successors have been

duly appointed to serve.  The previously

elected members of the board of directors

shall serve until the end of their term, until

they resign, or until they are  no longer eli-

gible under the law to be a member of the

board of directors, whichever occurs first.

[11-30-98; 13.10.10.9 NMAC - Rn, 13

NMAC 10.10.9, 4-13-01; A, 8-31-06]

13.10.10.11 MEETING PROCE-

DURES:

A. Special meetings.

Special meetings of the board may be called

by a majority of the directors or the chair-

man of the board, and will be held at the

time and place fixed by the person calling

the special meeting.

B. Notice. Written notice

stating the time, place and, if a special meet-

ing, the purpose, will be delivered either

personally, by mail, or by telegram at the

direction of the person calling the meeting,

to each director at least 24 hours before the

scheduled date of the meeting.  If mailed or

telegraphed, a notice is deemed delivered

when deposited, postage or charges prepaid,

with the transmitting agency, addressed to

the director.  The board may establish dates

and times for regularly scheduled meetings.

C. Quorum.  [Six direc-

tors present] A majority of the current mem-

bers of the board in attendance either in per-

son or by telephone will constitute a quo-

rum at board meetings.  The act of a major-

ity of directors voting in person or by writ-

ten proxy at a meeting at which a quorum is

present will be the act of the board, except a

two-thirds majority of the entire board is

required for actions dealing with the levy of

assessments, approval and discharge of the

pool administrator, removal of officers, or

for the pool to borrow money or to encum-

ber assets of the pool.  The directors may act

only as a board with each director having

one vote.

D. Proxy. A written proxy

may be given only to other board members

and shall be given to the chair at the time

the vote is taken.  No director shall be

allowed to cast more than one proxy vote.

Pool members selected may have alternates

serve in their place but only if the alternate

member was designated on the same basis

as the original director.  Any action required

or permitted to be taken at a meeting of the

directors may be taken without a meeting if

a consent in writing setting forth the action

so taken is signed by all of the directors.

E. Waiver of notice.

Whenever any notice is required to be given

to any director, a waiver thereof in writing

signed by the person entitled to the notice is

equivalent to the giving of timely notice.

The attendance of a director at a meeting

constitutes a waiver of notice of the meeting

except when attendance is for the sole pur-

pose of objecting because the meeting is not

lawfully called or convened.

F. Record of meetings. A

written record of the proceedings of each

board meeting shall be made.  The original

of this record shall be retained by the secre-

tary of the board and a copy shall be for-

warded to the superintendent.  Copies shall

be available upon request.

G. Participation meth-

ods. Members of the board, or any com-

mittee designated by the board, may partic-

ipate in a meeting of the board, or of any

committee, by means of conference tele-

phone or similar communications equip-

ment by means of which all persons partic-

ipating in the meeting can hear each other,

and such participation in a meeting shall

constitute presence in person at the meeting.

H. Consent required for

action without meeting. Any action

required by the act or this plan to be taken at

a meeting of the board, or any action which

may be taken at a meeting of the board or of

a committee of the board, may be taken

without a meeting if a consent in writing,

setting forth the actions so taken, shall be

signed by all of the directors, or all of the

members of the committee, as the case may

be.  The consent to action without a meeting

shall have the same effect as a unanimous

vote of the board or of the committee taking

the action.

[11-30-98; 13.10.10.11 NMAC -Rn & A, 13

NMAC 10.10.11, 4-13-01; A, 8-31-06]

procedures that are performed in support of

surgery, even if performed on the same day

and at the same surgical site as the surgery.

(3) Appeal of assigned ratio by

hospitals:

(a) A written appeal may be filed

with the director within thirty (30) days of

the assignment of the ratio.  The administra-

tion will review the appeal and respond with

a written determination.  The administration

may require the hospital to provide addi-

tional information prior to a determination.

(b) If the hospital is not satisfied

with the administration’s written determina-

tion, within ten (10) calendar days of the

date of the determination, the hospital may

request that a formal hearing be set and con-

ducted by the director.  The director’s rul-

ings in all such formal hearings shall be

final.

B. The following services

and items will be reimbursed as specified,

commencing with services provided on or

after 12:01 A.M. December 31, [2005]

2006:

(1) Implants and hardware

implanted or installed during surgery in the

setting of a hospital shall be reimbursed at

invoice cost times 1.25 plus shipping and

handling for the implant or hardware and

NMGRT.

(2) The professional and technical

charges for radiology and pathology/labora-

tory services provided in a hospital shall be

paid at rates equivalent to those set forth in

the most current version of the MAP.  The

hospital shall provide a detailed billing

breakdown of the professional and technical

components of the services provided, and

shall be paid pursuant to the procedures set

forth at Paragraph (7) of Subsection G of

11.4.7.9 NMAC of these rules.

C. All hospitals shall pro-

vide to the WCA:

(1) the most recent full year filing

of their HCFA/CMS 2552 G-2 worksheet

prepared on behalf of the organization, by

February 1, [2006] 2007;

(2) any hospital may specifically

designate this worksheet as proprietary and

confidential; any worksheet specifically

designated as proprietary and confidential

in good faith shall be deemed confidential

pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 52-5-21

and the rules promulgated pursuant to that

provision.

(3) Failure to comply may result

in fines and penalties.

D. All provisions of 11.4.7

NMAC contrary to the provisions set forth

in this temporary rule are deemed void and

inoperative during the effective period of

this rule.

E. Method of payment for

FASCs:

(1) All FASCs will provide global

billing by CPT code on a CMS-1500 and
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COMPENSATION

ADMINISTRATION

This is an amendment to 11.4.7 NMAC,

Sections 9 and 10, effective December 31,

2006.

11.4.7.9 PROCEDURES FOR

ESTABLISHING THE MAXIMUM

AMOUNT OF REIMBURSEMENT

DUE

A. All hospitals shall be

reimbursed at the hospital ratio itemized in

the official WCA listing that becomes effec-

tive on December 31, [2005, reflecting a 5%

decrease from the temporary 2005 ratio]

2006 for all services rendered from

December 31, [2005] 2006, through

December 31, [2006] 2007, except as pro-

vided in Subsection B of this temporary

rule.  Any new hospital shall be assigned a

ratio of 67%.

(1) The assigned ratio is applied

toward all charges for compensable services

provided during a hospital inpatient stay,

emergency department visit and outpatient

hospital surgery.

(2) This ratio does not include



shall be paid by the assigned [MAP value

times 1.5] centers for medicare and medi-

caid services (CMS) ambulatory payment

classification (APC) base payment rate

times 1.3 effective for services from

December 31, [2005] 2006, to December

31, [2006] 2007.  [Multiple surgical proce-

dures will be billed in accordance with

Subparagraphs (a) and (b) of Paragraph (8)

of Subsection G of 11.4.7.9 NMAC.]  See

http://www.cms.hhs.gov/HospitalOutpatien

tPPS, under Addendum B.  No adjusted

conversion factors or index values are to be

applied.  Payment will be made in accor-

dance with the APC base payment rate

assigned for that service in the quarter in

which services were rendered.  Absent an

assigned APC base payment rate, services

shall be paid BR.

(a)    Bilateral procedure “-50” 

(i) When performed

during the same operative session, the first

or major procedure shall be coded with the

appropriate CPT code without a modifier

and shall be paid at the lesser of billed

charges or the APC base payment rate times

1.3.

(ii) The second proce-

dure shall be coded with the same CPT code

plus the “-50” modifier code and shall be

paid at no more than 50% of the APC base

payment rate times 1.3.

(b) Multiple procedures “-51”

(i) The primary or

major surgical procedure shall be coded

with the appropriate CPT code without a

modifier and shall be paid at the lesser of

the billed charges or the APC base payment

rate times 1.3.

(ii) The second and

third procedure shall be coded with the

respective CPT code plus the “-51” modifi-

er code and shall be paid at 50% of the APC

base payment rate times 1.3.

(iii) The fourth and sub-

sequent procedures will be paid BR.

(2) Implants and hardware

implanted or installed during surgery in the

setting of a FASC shall be reimbursed at

invoice cost times 1.25 plus shipping and

handling for the implant or hardware and

NMGRT.

(3) The professional and technical

charges for radiology and pathology/labora-

tory services provided in a FASC shall be

paid at rates equivalent to those set forth in

the most current version of the MAP.  The

FASC shall provide a detailed billing break-

down of the professional and technical com-

ponents of the services provided, and shall

be paid pursuant to the procedures set forth

at Paragraph (7) of Subsection G of 11.4.7.9

NMAC of these rules.

F. Subsections A-E of

11.4.7.9 NMAC, inclusive, shall be

repealed effective 11:59 P.M. December 31,

[2006] 2007, and shall be of no force or

effect with respect to any services provided

thereafter.

G. Maximum allowable

payment method

(1) Basic provisions

(a) These rules apply to all

charges for medical and other health care

treatment provided on an outpatient basis,

including procedures that are performed in

support of ambulatory surgery, even on the

same day and at the same site as the surgery.

(b) The MAP is procedure-specif-

ic and provider-neutral.  Any code listed in

the edition of the Physicians Current
Procedural Terminology adopted in the

director’s annual order may be used to des-

ignate the services rendered by any quali-

fied practitioner within the parameters set

by that practitioner’s licensing regulatory

agencies combined with applicable state

laws, rules, and regulations.

(c) For purposes of NMSA 1978,

Section 52-4-5(A) (1990), the director shall

issue an order not less than once per annum

setting the schedule of maximum allowable

payments for medical services.  The order

shall contain the revised fee schedule, a

brief description of the technique used for

derivation of the fee schedule and a reason-

able identification of the data upon which

the fee schedule was based.  The fee sched-

ule shall be released to the public not less

than 30 days prior to the date upon which it

is adopted and public comments will be

accepted during the 30 days immediately

following release.  After consideration of

the public comments the director shall issue

a final order adopting a fee schedule, which

shall state the date upon which it is effec-

tive.  The final fee schedule order shall be

available at the WCA clerk’s office not less

than ten days prior to its effective date.

(2) Evaluation and management

(E/M) services:

(a) The definition for “new

patient” is unique to New Mexico, differing

from the definition presented in the

Physicians’ Current Procedural

Terminology. (See Subsection EE of

11.4.7.7 NMAC)

(b) E/M CPT codes shall not be

pro-rated.

(3) Independent medical exami-

nations

(a) All IMEs and their fees must

be authorized by the claims payer prior to

the IME scheduling and service, regardless

of which party initiates the request for an

IME.  In the event of an IME ordered by a

judge, the judge will set the fee.

(b) In the event a worker fails to

provide 48 hours’ notice of cancellation of

an IME appointment, the HCP may be reim-

bursed either 60% of the pre-approved fee

or up to 60% of the HCP’s usual and cus-

tomary fee if a fee was not pre-approved.

“Missed IME” should be written next to the

code.

(4) Physical impairment ratings

(a) All PIRs and their fees shall be

authorized by the claims payer prior to their

scheduling and performance regardless of

which party initiated the request for a PIR.

The PIR is inclusive of any evaluation and

management code.

(b) Impairment ratings performed

for primary and secondary mental impair-

ments shall be billed using CPT code 90899

(unlisted psychiatric service/procedure) and

shall conform to the guidelines, whenever

possible, presented in the most recent edi-

tion of the AMA Guides to the Evaluation of

Permanent Impairment.

(c) A PIR is frequently performed

as an inherent component of an IME.

Whenever this occurs, the PIR may not be

unbundled from the IME.  The HCP may

only bill for the IME at the appropriate

level.

(d) In the event that a PIR with a

specific HCP is ordered by a judge and the

HCP and claims payer are unable to agree

on a fee for the PIR, the judge may set the

fee or take other action to resolve the fee

dispute.

(5) Physical medicine and reha-

bilitation services

(a) It shall be the responsibility of

the physical medicine/rehabilitation

provider to notify the claims payer of a

referral prior to commencing treatment.

(b) The appropriate CPT code

must be used for billing by practitioners.

(c) Services provided by care-

givers (e.g., technicians, exercise physiolo-

gists) must be pre-authorized and paid pur-

suant to Paragraph (13) of Subsection G of

11.4.7.9 NMAC.

(d) In the event a worker fails to

provide 48 hours notice of cancellation of

an FCE appointment, the practitioner may

be reimbursed up to 60% of the MAP for a

four-hour appointment.

(6) Materials supplied under CPT

code 99070

(a) Supplies and materials must

be itemized.

(b) Supplies and materials are

reimbursed at the practitioner’s invoice cost

plus 25%, plus tax, shipping and handling

charges.

(c) A copy of the invoice shall be

provided either at the time of billing or upon

the payer’s request.

(7) Service component modifiers

— radiology and pathology/laboratory

(a) Use of the technical and pro-

fessional component modifier codes is

required for the billing of all radiology and

pathology/laboratory procedures.  The CPT

code followed by “TC” is the appropriate
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billing code for the technical component.

(b) The dollar value listed as the

MAP for a specific radiology or patholo-

gy/laboratory procedure represents the

combined maximum allowable payment for

both the technical and professional compo-

nents of that procedure:

(i) The entity billing for

the technical component shall be paid at no

more than 60% of the MAP for the proce-

dure when the service is provided on an

inpatient or outpatient basis.

(ii) The entity billing

for the professional component shall be paid

at no more than 40% of the MAP for the

billed procedure, whether the service was

provided on an inpatient or an outpatient

basis.

(8) Surgical modifiers

(a) Bilateral procedure “-50”

(i) When performed

during the same operative session, the first

or major procedure shall be coded with the

appropriate CPT code without a modifier

and shall be paid at the lesser of billed

charges or the MAP.

(ii) The second proce-

dure shall be coded with the same CPT code

plus the “-50” modifier code and shall be

paid at no more than 50% of the MAP.

(b) Multiple procedures “-51”

(i) The primary or

major surgical procedure shall be coded

with the appropriate CPT code without a

modifier and shall be paid at the lesser of

the billed charges or the MAP.

(ii) The second and

third procedure shall be coded with the

respective CPT code plus the “-51” modifi-

er code and shall be paid at 50% of the

MAP.

(iii) The fourth and sub-

sequent procedures will be paid BR.

(c) Assistant surgeon “-80”

(i) The attending sur-

geon shall bill using the appropriate CPT

code(s) and modifiers, if applicable, for the

procedure(s) performed and shall be paid at

the lesser of the billed charges or the MAP,

subject to the percentages for modifiers in

this section.

(ii) The assistant sur-

geon shall bill using the appropriate CPT

codes(s) plus the modifier for the proce-

dures performed and shall be paid at no

more than 25% of the MAP.

(9) Unlisted services or proce-

dures are billable and payable on a BR

basis.

(10) Performance of BR services.

(a) The fee for the performance of

any BR service is negotiated between the

practitioner and the payer prior to delivery

of the service.  Payers should ensure that a

CPT code with an established MAP is not

available.

(b) Performance of any BR serv-

ice requires that the practitioner submit a

written report with the billing to the payer.

(i) The report shall sub-

stantiate the rationale for not using an estab-

lished CPT code.

(ii) The report shall

include pertinent information regarding the

nature, extent, and special circumstances

requiring the performance of that service

and an explanation of the time, effort, per-

sonnel, and equipment necessary to provide

the service.

(iii) Information pro-

vided in the medical record(s) may be sub-

mitted in lieu of a separate report if that

information satisfies the requirements of

Paragraph (1) of Subsection D of 11.4.7.10

NMAC.

(iv) No separate charge

is allowed for the report.

(v) In the event a dis-

pute arises regarding the reasonableness of

the fee for a BR service, the practitioner

shall make a prima facie showing that the

fee is reasonable.  In that event, the burden

of proof shall shift to the payer to show why

the proposed fee is not reasonable.

(vi) Any disputes shall

be submitted pursuant to Section 13 of this

rule.

(11) Special reports shall be billed

with CPT code “99080” and the descriptor

“special report”. The form letter to health

care provider is a special report.  The MAP

is $45.

(12) The use of global fees is

encouraged, however global fee shall not be

used unless payer and provider agree.

Agreement for use of a global fee may be

sought and obtained before, during or after

provision of services.  All services not cov-

ered by the global fee shall be coded and

paid separately, to the extent substantiated

by medical records.  Agreement to use a

global fee creates a presumption that the

HCP will be allowed to continue care

throughout the global fee period.

(13) Caregiver services are sub-

ject to the payer’s pre-authorization prior to

the scheduling and performance of any

service.  All services provided by caregivers

are paid BR.

(14) Durable medical equipment

(DME) shall be pre-authorized by the payer.

However, reasonable and necessary pros-

thetic/orthotics training and/or adjusting is

excluded from the cost of the DME and may

be billed separately.

(a) Rental of DME shall not

exceed 90 days unless it is determined by

the payer to be more cost efficient to do so.

(b) Rental fees shall not exceed

the cost of purchase established in the

Subparagraph, below.  Rental fees paid for

the first 30 days of rent may be applied

against the purchase price.  Subsequent

rental fees may not be applied against the

purchase price.  The decision to purchase

should be made within the first 30 days of

rental.

(c) Purchases of DME are paid at

the practitioner’s invoice cost plus 25% plus

taxes, shipping and handling charges.

(d) A copy of the invoice shall be

provided either at the time of billing or upon

the payer’s request.

(15) Prorating

(a) The prorating of the practi-

tioner’s fees for time spent providing a serv-

ice, as documented in the provider’s treat-

ment notes, is not prohibited by these rules;

provided however, that EOB — 13 is sent to

the practitioner.  (See item (iii) of

Subparagraph (e) of Paragraph (4) of

Subsection C of 11.4.7.11 NMAC).

(b) The practitioner’s fees should

not be prorated to exclude time spent in pre-

and post-treatment activity, such as equip-

ment setup, cleaning, disassembly, etc., if it

is directly incidental to the treatment pro-

vided and is adequately documented.

(16) Referrals

(a) If a referral is made within the

initial sixty (60) day care period as identi-

fied by NMSA 1978, Section 52-1-49(B),

the period is not enlarged by the referral.

(i) When referring the

care of a patient to another provider, the

referring provider shall submit complete

medical records for that patient, upon

request of the referral provider, at no charge

to the patient, referral provider or payer.

(ii) When transferring

the care of a patient to another provider, the

transferring provider shall submit complete

medical records for that patient to the sub-

sequent provider at no charge to the patient,

subsequent provider or payer.

(b) If, subsequent to the comple-

tion of a consultation, a referral is made to

the consultant for the assumption of respon-

sibility for the management of a portion or

all of the patient’s condition(s), the follow-

ing procedures apply:

(i) Follow up consulta-

tion codes shall not be used.

(ii) Evaluation and

management codes shall be used.

(iii) Only established

patient codes shall be used.

(c) If a practitioner who has been

requested to examine a patient assumes

responsibility immediately for primary pro-

vision of the patient’s care, it shall be con-

sidered a referral and not a consultation.

(i) Consultation codes

shall not be used.

(ii) Evaluation and

management codes shall be used.

(iii) For the first visit

only, a new patient code may be used.

(iv) HCPs and care-

givers may negotiate with the payer, prior to

performing the service, regarding the use of
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consultation codes in appropriate circum-

stances.

(17) Physical therapy

(a) New Mexico specific codes

are no longer in use.  Please consult the fee

schedule currently in use for specific codes.

Evaluation and management codes are not

appropriate for this purpose.

(b) Physical therapy bills may

include all codes which are reasonable and

necessary for the evaluation and treatment

of a worker in a single day.

(c) An initial failed appointment,

without providing 48 hours’ notice to the

physical therapist, may be billed at 60% of

the MAP.

(18) Failed appointments

(a) An initial failed appointment,

when the new patient fails to provide 48

hours notice to the HCP, may be billed at the

level of a new outpatient/expanded problem

focused H&E/low to moderate

severity/straightforward medical decision

making/evaluation and management serv-

ice, using CPT code 99202 and annotated as

“FAILED INITIAL APPOINTMENT/NEW

PATIENT”

(b) A failed appointment by an

established patient may not be billed.

(19) Facility fees

(a) Charges for the use of a room

for other than an emergency room visit or

operating and recovery rooms for inpatient

or outpatient hospital surgery are prohibited

by these rules.

(b) For instances of outpatient

services, where two or more HCPs combine

in delivery of the service, the maximum

total payment is based on the MAP for the

specific service.  The HCPs may allocate

the payment among themselves.

(20) Charges for copies of radi-

ographic film (X-rays) may be billed to the

requestor by the X-ray facility following by

report (BR) procedures.

(21) Second medical opinions

requested by a party are deemed medically

reasonable and necessary for payment pur-

poses.

H. Pharmacy maximum

allowable payment (Pharm MAP) is based

upon the maximum payment that a pharma-

cy or authorized HCP is allowed to receive

for any prescription drug, not including

NMGRT.

(1) Basic provisions

(a) Pharmacies and authorized

HCPs must include patient identification

and information. No specific form is

required.

(i) Pharmacies shall not

dispense more than a 30-day supply of med-

ication unless authorized by the payer.

(ii) Only generic equiv-

alent medications shall be dispensed unless

a generic does not exist and unless specifi-

cally ordered by the HCP.

(iii) Compounded med-

ication prepared by pharmacists shall be

paid on a by report (BR) basis.

(b) Any medications dispensed

and administered in excess of a 24-hour

supply to a registered emergency room

patient shall be paid according to the MAP.

(c) [Any nationally recognized

publication, issued not less frequently than

monthly, which lists the AWP, may be used

to determine the AWP.]  Health care

provider dispensed medications shall not

exceed a 10 day supply for new prescrip-

tions only.  The payment for health care

provider dispensed medications shall not

exceed the cost of a generic equivalent.

(d) Any bill that is submitted

without an NDC number will be paid at the

lowest AWP available for the month in

which the drugs were dispensed.

(e) [No more than a 30-day sup-

ply of medication shall be dispensed, unless

authorized by the payer.  Where possible, a

generic equivalent shall be prescribed over

brand name medication, unless specifically

ordered by an HCP.]  The HCP formula for

billing generic and brand name prescription

drugs is:

($)AWP x .90 with no dispensing

fee included.

(2) Average wholesale price

(AWP)

(a) Any nationally recognized

monthly or weekly publication that lists the

AWP may be used to determine the AWP.

[(a)] (b) The date that shall be

used to determine the AWP and calculation

of the Pharm MAP shall be the date on

which the drugs were dispensed, regardless

of AWP changes during the month.

[(b)] (c) Use of a prorated calcu-

lation of AWP will often be necessary in the

formulas.  For each drug dispensed, the pro-

rated AWP shall be based on the AWP for

the “100s ea” quantity of the specific

strength of the drug, as listed in a national-

ly recognized publication, with the follow-

ing exceptions:

(i) If an AWP listed in

the publication is based on the exact quanti-

ty of the drug dispensed, e.g., #15, #60, 15

ml, 3.5 gm, etc., the AWP for the exact

quantity shall be used with no prorating cal-

culation made.

(ii) If the drug is dis-

pensed as a quantity based on volume

(grams, ounces, milliliters, etc.) rather than

single units (“ea”), the prorated AWP shall

be calculated in accordance with the highest

quantity (volume) listed for the specific

strength of drug.

(iii) Subject to items (i)

and (ii) of Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph

(2) of Subsection C of 11.4.7.9 NMAC, in

cases of a conflict between referenced pub-

lications, the lower price shall prevail.

(3) [Formulas

(a) The formula for billing of

brand name prescription drugs is:  Pharm

MAP($) = ($) AWP x 1.04 + $6.50.

(b) The formula for billing of

generic prescription drugs is:  Pharm

MAP($) = ($) AWP x 1.04 + $8.06.]  The

formula for billing generic and brand name

prescription drugs is:

Pharm MAP($) = ($)AWP x .90 +

$5.00.

I. Qualification of out of

state health care providers

(1) An HCP that is not licensed in

the state of New Mexico must be approved

by the director to qualify as an HCP under

the act.

(2) No party shall have recourse

to the billing and payment dispute resolu-

tion provisions of these rules with respect to

the services of an HCP who is not licensed

in New Mexico or approved by the director.

(3) The director’s approval may

be obtained by submitting a written motion

and order, supported by an original affidavit

of the HCP seeking approval, on forms

acceptable to the director.  Nothing in this

rule shall prevent the director from entering

into agreements with any party or HCP to

provide for simplified and expeditious qual-

ification of HCPs in individual cases, pro-

vided, however, that all such agreements

shall be considered public records.

(4) The director’s approval of a

health care provider in a particular case,

pursuant to the provisions of Section 52-4-

1, will be deemed given when an out of state

health care provider provides services to

that injured worker and the employer/insur-

er pays for those services.  The approval

obtained by this method will not apply to

the provision of health care by that provider

to any other worker, except by obtaining

separate approval as provided in these rules.

[01-24-91, 4-1-91, 12-30-91, 12-31-91, 1-

18-92, 10-30-92, 1-15-93, 10-28-93, 2-23-

94, 3-14-94, 12-2-94, 1-31-95, 8-1-96, 9-1-

96, 8-15-97, 4-30-98, 10-01-98, 6-30-99;

11.4.7.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 11.4.7.9 NMAC,

8-07-02; A, 10-25-02; A, 1-14-04; A, 1-14-

05; A, 12-30-05; A, 12-31-06]

11.4.7.10 BILLING PROVI-

SIONS AND PROCEDURES

A. Basic provisions

(1) Balance billing is prohibited.

(2) Unbundling is prohibited.

(a) If a service that is ordinarily a

component of a larger service is performed

alone for a specific purpose it may be con-

sidered a separate procedure for coding,

billing, and payment purposes.

(b) Documentation in the medical

records must justify the reasonableness and

necessity for providing such services alone.
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(3) The patient/worker shall not

be billed for health care services provided

by an authorized HCP as treatment for a

valid workers’ compensation claim except

as provided in Subparagraphs (a) or (b) of

Paragraph (2) of Subsection A of 11.4.7.13

NMAC.

(4) All reasonable and necessary

services provided to a patient/worker with a

valid workers’ compensation claim shall be

paid by the employer or the employer’s rep-

resentative on behalf of the employer.

(5) If a service has been pre-

authorized or is provided pursuant to a treat-

ment plan that has been pre-authorized by

an agent of the payer, it shall be rebuttably

presumed that the service provided was rea-

sonable and necessary.  The presumption

may be overcome by competent evidence

that the payer, in the exercise of due dili-

gence, did not know that the compensabili-

ty of the claim was in doubt at the time that

the authorization was given.

(6) Timeliness

(a) Initial billing of outpatient

services by practitioners, other than hospi-

tals and FASC’s, shall be postmarked no

later than 30 calendar days from the date of

service.

(b) Initial billing of outpatient

services by hospitals and FASCs shall be

postmarked within 30 days from the end of

the month in which services were rendered.

(c) Initial billing of inpatient serv-

ices shall be issued no later than 60 calendar

days from the date of discharge.

(d) Failure of the practitioner to

submit the initial billing within the time

limits provided by these rules shall consti-

tute a violation of these rules but does not

absolve the employer of financial responsi-

bility for the bill.

B. Billing forms have been

adopted from the US department of health

and human services’ health care financing

administration.

(1) Billing for services calculated

according to the ratio discount method must

be on a UB-92 CMS-1450.  This includes

inpatient services, [and] emergency room

services and hospital outpatient surgery.

(2) Billing for services calculated

according to the MAP and provided by hos-

pitals [and FASCs] may be on form UB-92,

CMS-1450 or form CMS-1500.  FASCs

shall bill for services on a CMS-1500.

(3) Billings for all outpatient

services calculated according to the MAP

must be on form CMS-1500.

(4) Pharmacies and authorized

HCPs must include patient identification

and appropriate information. Billings for

pharmaceuticals requires no specific form.

(5) Completion of forms

(a) “WORKERS’ COMPENSA-

TION” or “WORK COMP” shall be clearly

printed or stamped at the top of the billing

form. Any subsequent billing for the same

service(s) must be clearly labeled “TRAC-

ER” or “TRACER BILL” at the top of the

billing form and may be a copy of the orig-

inal bill.

(b) Entry of the applicable CPT

code and a descriptor are mandatory for

each procedure billed, regardless of which

form or itemized statement is utilized.

(c) FORM CMS-1500 (12/90)

information required for completion is self-

explanatory with the following exceptions:

(i) Sections 6, 9, 11a-d,

12, 13, 17a, 19, 22, 23, 24h-k, and 27 are

not applicable.

(ii) Section 1.  Check

“Other”.

(iii) Section 1a.  Enter

patient’s social security number.

(iv) Section 4.  Enter

employer’s name.

(v) Section 7.  Enter

employer’s address and telephone number.

(vi) Section 11.  Name

of workers’ compensation insurance carrier

or self-insured employer or third party

administrator.

(vii) Section 21.  Enter

ICD-9-CM or DSM code and descriptor for

each diagnosis.

(viii) Section 24d.

Entry of a specific CPT code, any applica-

ble modifier and the descriptor is mandato-

ry for each procedure/service billed.

(ix) Section 26.

Optional

(x) Section 28.

Multiple page bills should show the cumu-

lative total in Section 28 of each consecu-

tively numbered page, with the combined

total for all pages on the last page.

(xi) Section 29.  This

section may be used to indicate any agreed

upon discount amount or rate.

(xii) Section 30.  This

section may be used to indicate the amount

due after applying any discounts.

Otherwise, leave it blank.

(xiii) Anesthesiologists

and laboratories may omit Sections 14, 15,

and 16.

(d) Form CMS-1450 (UB-92)

must be completed by health care facilities:

(i) Locators that are

optional on the UB-92 are 8, 9, 10, 11, 31,

33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 48, 49, 51, 52, 53, 54,

55, 57, 59, 64, 79, and 84.

(ii) The following loca-

tors on the UB-92 must be completed by the

health care facilities:  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 12,

14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 22, 23, 24-30, 32,

42, 43, 44, 47, 50, 56, 58, 60, 65, 67, 76, 78,

80.

(iii) Locator 1.

Practitioner name, address, and telephone

number.

(iv) Locator 2.  Site of

service - name and address.

(v) Locator 3.  Account

number or invoice number.

(vi) Locator 4.  Enter

Code 111, 115, 117, 121, 125, 127, 851,

855, or 857 for inpatient; 131, 135, 137 for

outpatient and for emergency room; 831 for

FASC.  (Note: if Locator 42 contains an

entry beginning with “45”, then the service

was emergency room, not outpatient.)

(vii) Locator 5.

Hospital federal tax identification number.

(viii) Locator 6.

Statement coverage dates must be provided.

(ix) Locator 7.  Covered

days - the days during the billing period

applicable to the cost report.

(x) Locator 12.  Injured

worker’s name.

(xi) Locator 14.  Injured

worker’s birth date.

(xii) Locator 17.  Date

of admission to hospital or facility.

(xiii) Locator 19.  Type

of admission., code values:1 = emergency, 2

= urgent, 3 = elective, 5 = trauma center, 9

=  information unavailable.

(xiv) Locator 20.

Source of admission code values: 1 = physi-

cian referral, 2 = clinic referral, 3 = HMO

referral, 4 = hospital transfer, 6 = transfer

from HCF, 7 = ER, 8 = law enforcement, 9

= unavailable, A = transfer from (CAH).

(xv) Locator 22.

Patient status: code values (01-76).

(xvi) Locator 23.

Health care provider medical record num-

ber.

(xvii) Locators 24-30.

Use condition code 02 for employment

related injury.

(xviii) Locator 42.

Revenue codes for services billed.  (Note:

revenue code (0001) must be provided in

column 42 for total charges.)

(xix) Locator 43.  Lists

and describes each medical service and item

being billed corresponding to revenue code

applicable.

(xx) Locator 44.

Accommodation rate for applicable services

provided.

(xxi) Locator 47.

Billed charges.  Information based on serv-

ice provided (revenue code).  (note: last rev-

enue code in column 42 must be 0001 for

non-electronic filers.)

(xxii) Locator 50.

Insurance carrier, self-insurer or TPA

(claims administrator).

(xxiii) Locator 56.

DRG (diagnosis related group).  Code used

by Medicare to group medical services pro-

vided by inpatient hospital services.

Required for type of bill = 111, 115, 117,

121, 125, 127, or inpatient for CAH codes

851, 855 and 857.
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(xxiv) Locator 58.

Insured’s name - patient’s name or employ-

er’s name.  

(xxv) Locator 60.  SSN

of injured worker or worker’s identification

number.

(xxvi) Locator 65.

Employer’s Name.

(xxvii) Locator 67.

Principle diagnosis code must be based on

ICD-9-CM.  Code must include all five dig-

its.

(xxviii) Locator 68-75.

Other diagnosis codes are based on ICD-9-

CM.  These codes are sent to payer if avail-

able.

(xxix) Locator 78.  The

health care facilities current workers’ com-

pensation ratio.

(xxx) Locator 80.

Principle procedure code and date:  The

HCP enters the ICD-9-CM code for the

inpatient principle procedure.  The principle

procedure is the procedure performed for

definitive treatment rather than for diagnos-

tic or exploratory purposes, which is neces-

sary to take care of a complication.  The

code should relate closely to the principle

diagnosis. A date should also be provided.

(6) The health care facility is

required to submit all requested data to the

payer.  Failure to do so could result in fines

and penalties imposed by the WCA.  All

payers are required to notify the economic

research bureau of unreported data fields

within 10 days of payment of any inpatient

bill.

C. New Mexico gross

receipts tax (NMGRT): Practitioners whose

corporate tax status requires them to pay

NMGRT shall bill for NMGRT in one of the

following ways:

(1) Indicate via a printed or

stamped statement adjacent to the combined

“total charges” that the individual charges

and total charges include NMGRT at the

specific percentage applicable to the practi-

tioner.

(2) Make no mention of NMGRT,

in which case the bill shall be paid at the

lesser of the MAP or the billed amount.

(3) Itemize the actual amount of

the NMGRT below the combined “total

charges” amount for all billed services and

items, indicating the specific tax rate (per-

cent) applicable to the municipality or coun-

ty location of the practitioner; and, add this

amount to the combined “total charges” to

derive a “total amount billed”.

D. Medical records

(1) Initial bills for every visit shall

be accompanied by appropriate office notes

(medical records) which clearly substantiate

the service(s) being billed and are legible.

(2) No charge shall be made to

any party to the claim for the initial copy of

required information.  Second copies pro-

vided shall be charged and paid pursuant to

Subsection A of 11.4.7.15 NMAC.

(3) A charge may be made to the

requesting party to the claim for second and

subsequent copies of any medical records.

(4) No charge shall be made for

provision of medical records to the WCA’s

utilization review/case management/peer

review contractor for required information.

(5) Records for hospitals and

FASCs shall have a copy of the admission

history and physical examination report and

discharge summary, hospital emergency

department medical records, ambulatory

surgical center medical records or outpa-

tient surgery records.

[4-1-91, 12-31-91, 11-18-92, 1-15-93, 10-

28-93, 3-14-94, 12-2-94, 11-18-94, 12-31-

94, 8-1-96, 10-01-98; 11.4.7.10 NMAC -

Rn, 11 NMAC 4.7.10, 8-30-02; A, 10-25-

02; A, 1-14-04; A, 1-14-05; A, 12-30-05; A,

12-31-06]

New Mexico Register / Volume XVII, Number 16 / August 31, 2006 863

End of Adopted Rules Section



New Mexico Register / Volume XVII, Number 16 / August 31, 2006864

This page intentionally left blank.



NEW MEXICO LIVESTOCK

BOARD

NEW MEXICO LIVESTOCK BOARD

NOTICE OF REGULAR BOARD

MEETING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a

regular board meeting will be held on

Thursday, September 14, 2006, at the New

Mexico Livestock Board, 300 San Mateo

Blvd. NE, Suite 1000, Albuquerque, New

Mexico, at 9:00 a.m.  The Board will dis-

cuss matters of general business.

Copies of the agenda can be obtained by

contacting Daniel Manzanares, Executive

Director, New Mexico Livestock Board,

300 San Mateo Blvd. NE, Suite 1000,

Albuquerque, NM 87108-1500, (505) 841-

6161.

Anyone who requires special accommo-

dations is requested to notify the New

Mexico Livestock Board office at (505)

841-6161 of such needs at least five days

prior to the meeting.

One commenter addressed the question of a

conflict with rule 11.4.7.7D. Proposed rule

11.4.7.9H(1)(a)iii is deleted.

Twenty-five commenters addressed draft

rule 11.4.7.9E(1) requesting Freestanding

Ambulatory Surgical Center (FASC) reim-

bursement be changed to Ambulatory

Payment Classification (APC) 1.6.

Commenters objected that payment levels

are too low and that ASCs are taking the

largest reduction in the system.   The com-

menters and speakers recommend that the

Task Force recommendation of 160% of

Medicare be implemented and one com-

menter suggested that it be implemented by

September 1, 2006.  The Task Force pro-

posal for capping hospital fees was not

addressed in rule.  The commenters asserted

that ASCs are more cost effective and effi-

cient, particularly since hospitals charge

more than ASCs, and that the WCA should

reimburse hospital outpatient surgery cen-

ters and ASCs the same.  A speaker at the

hearing stated that the economics of outly-

ing areas are different than in Albuquerque

and that some accommodation should be

made.  Several responders commented that

the ASCs may have to discontinue their par-

ticipation in the workers’ compensation sys-

tem.  Comments were also received sup-

porting the rule recommendation for

implants and for an APC based payment

system.

Based on data submitted, the WCA position

is that APC 1.6 would be an unacceptable

increase of 31% over current MAP x 1.5

whereas the proposed reimbursement of

APC 1.3 is a 7% increase.  Research of pay-

ments to FASCs in border states shows that

the Texas method of reimbursement by

Grouper rate x 213.3% is less than the New

Mexico proposed APC 1.3.   Arizona has no

fee schedule for FASCs while Oklahoma

pays at APC 1.5.  The Colorado reimburse-

ment is based on their own calculated fee

schedule.  The WCA recognizes that reim-

bursement to FASCs at the current CMS

authorized Grouper rate is inadequate for

the efficient and rapid delivery of health

care services they offer and has chosen to

increase their reimbursement to APC which

is the higher rate paid to hospitals for the

same service.

Varying comments were received pertaining

to 11.4.7.9H(1)(c).  Commenters respond-

ing to 11.4.7.9H stated that there was no

need for dispensing large quantities of pain

medications over a long period of time but

that it is vital to dispense antibiotics for at

least 10 days and that 7 days is not ade-

quate.  Another commenter stated that med-

ications are prepackaged in 10 day supplies

and that antibiotics in particular should not

be divided.  One commenter proposed that

30 days be allowed while another believed a

4 day limit should apply.  One commenter

asserted that sometimes the brand name is

cheaper than a generic and that occasional-

ly a generic drug may not be as effective as

a brand name.  The commenter also sug-

gested that the HCP should determine the

drug administered.  The WCA believes that

10 days is a sufficient amount of time for

the HCP to address the efficacy of any new

medication and the rule will be changed to

reflect a 10 day limit.

Comments received in response to

11.4.7.9H(3) suggest that the proposed draft

rule is too steep and the dispensing fee is

inadequate.  One commenter asserted that

doctors should be given a reasonable dis-

pensing fee for assuming the risk of dis-

pensing medications.  Other comments stat-

ed that workers’ compensation pharmacy

and the associated billing system is more

work intensive than other claims and that

the dispensing fee should be increased since

reduced payment could have an adverse

impact on access to care by workers.

Another responder suggested decreasing the

draft .90 of AWP to .71 with a $3.00 dis-

pensing fee to replace the $5.00 dispensing

fee in the draft rules and agreed that the

pharmaceutical reimbursement change is in

line with other states’ reimbursements.

Other commenters supported compounded

medications.  Research conducted by the

WCA of other states shows the lowest reim-

bursement percentage of AWP to be .88

with an $8.70 dispensing fee.

One responder addressed existing rule

11.4.7.9H(2)(a) suggesting a rephrasing to

read:  “Any nationally recognized monthly

or weekly publication that lists the AWP

may be used to determine the AWP.”  The

suggested rephrasing appears more fluid

and will be adopted in the new publication

of the rules.

The public record of this rulemaking shall

incorporate this Response to Public

Comment and the formal record of the rule-

making proceedings shall close upon execu-

tion of this document.

______________________________

Alan M. Varela

Director

N.M. Workers’ Compensation

Administration

August 15, 2006
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Other Material Related to Administrative Law

NEW MEXICO WORKERS’

COMPENSATION

ADMINISTRATION

Director’s Response to Public Comment

on Changes to Part 7

The proposed amendments to Part 7 of the

WCA Rules were opened for public com-

ment on July 5, 2006, and through July 28,

2006, for written comment.  Several in-per-

son and written comments were received

from the public at the rules hearing and in

writing after the hearing.

One commenter proposed that a 10% reduc-

tion in the hospital ratio would be more con-

sistent with market rates and further that

keeping 2006 ratios in effect for 2007 will

result in increasing insurance rates because

hospitals can increase their charges.  It fur-

ther stated that a reduction in the hospital

ratio is necessary or it could adversely

affect rate reductions filed with the

Department of Insurance.  In the Rules

Governing Payment for Health Care

Services effective 1/14/05 all hospital ratios

were reduced 20%.  Additionally, there

were changes in payment for implants, radi-

ology and laboratory which further reduced

previous payment standards.  In the rules

effective 12/30/05 the hospital ratios were

further reduced an additional 5%.  At this

time, the WCA is studying the impact of

these changes on the entire workers’ com-

pensation community.
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