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Effective Date and Validity of Rule Filings

Rules published in this issue of the New Mexico Register are effective on the publication date of this issue unless otherwise 
specifi ed.  “No rule shall be valid or enforceable until it is fi led with the records center and published in the New Mexico 
register as provided by the State Rules Act.  Unless a later date is otherwise provided by law, the effective date of a rule shall 
be the date of publication in the New Mexico register.”  Section 14-4-5 NMSA 1978.

A=Amended, E=Emergency, N=New, R=Repealed, Rn=Renumbered

No Repeals, Amendments, or New Rules were fi led in this issue of the New Mexico Register.

Human Services Department
Medical Assistance Division
 Notice of Public Hearing  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 751



iv

The New Mexico Register
Published by

The Commission of Public Records
Administrative Law Division

1205 Camino Carlos Rey
Santa Fe, NM 87507

The New Mexico Register is available free at http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmregister

The New Mexico Register is published twice each month by the Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division.  The cost of 
an annual subscription is $270.00. Individual copies of any Register issue may be purchased for $12.00.  Subscription inquiries should be 
directed to: The Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division, 1205 Camino Carlos Rey, Santa Fe, NM 87507.  Telephone: 
(505) 476-7875 Fax: (505) 476-7910 E-mail: staterules@state.nm.us.



New Mexico Register / Volume XXV, Number 22 / November 26, 2014 751

Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules

The Human Services Department (the 
Department), Medical Assistance Division 
(MAD), is proposing to amend a rule that 
is part of the New Mexico Administrative 
Code (NMAC): 8.314.5 Developmental 
Disabilities Home and Community-Based 
Services Waiver (DDW). The register for 
the proposed amendments to this rule will 
be available November 13, 2014 on the 
HSD website at http://www.hsd.state.nm.us/
LookingForInformation/registers.aspx.  If 
you do not have Internet access, a copy 
of the proposed rule may be requested by 
contacting MAD at (505) 827-7743.
Specifi cally:
1) Section 8.314.5.10 C.

HSD is proposing to add new 
language to this Section in order 
to delete repetitive and lengthy 
standard language throughout the 
rule and replace it with one sentence 
in corresponding Sections and 
Subsections of the rule.  
Example – 
8.314.5.10 C   MAD through 
its designee, DDSD, follows a 
subcontractor model for certain DDW 
services.  A provider agency, following 
the DDS D model, must ensure the 
subcontractors or employees meet all 
required qualifi cations.  A provider 
agency must provide oversight of 
subcontractors and employees to 
ensure subcontractors or employees 
meet all required MAD and DDSD 
qualifi cations.  There must be 
oversight of subcontractors and 
employees by the provider agency 
to ensure the services are delivered 
in accordance with all requirements 
set forth by DDSD DDW service 
defi nition, all requirements outlined 
in the DDW services standards, 
applicable NMAC rules, MAD 
supplement, and as applicable, his 
or her New Mexico licensing board’s 
scope of practice and licensure.  
Pursuant to federal regulations, an 
agency may not employ or subcontract 
with the spouse of an eligible recipient 
or the parent of an eligible recipient 
under 18 years of age receiving MAD 
services to provide direct care services 
for the eligible recipient.

Case management providers, their case 
managers, whether subcontractors or 
employees must comply with Section 
10 of this rule.

Impact:  HSD does not anticipate a 
service or fi nancial impact to eligible 
recipients and their healthcare 
providers based on the amendments to 
the DDW rule.

2) 8.314.5.12 K.(5) Column 3
HSD is proposing to delete Section 
13 Subsection K’s third column from 
the table, Development Disabilities 
Waiver Groups A through G.  HSD 
is proposing to no longer use the SIS 
sum ABE National Percentile as part 
of the DDW Standard Decision Rules. 
DOH does not rely on the SIS sum 
ABE National Percentile as part of 
the Standard Decision Rules therefore 
HSD would remove this language from 
the rule.
Impact:  HSD does not anticipate a 
service or fi nancial impact to eligible 
recipients and their healthcare 
providers based on the amendment to 
the DDW rule.

3) Section 8.314.5.20 Continuation of 
Benefi ts Pursuant to Timely Appeal 
HSD revised 8.352.2 NMAC Claimant 
Hearing rule earlier this year.  In this, 
the timeframe to request a continuation 
of existing benefi ts was set at 10 
calendar days.  HSD is proposing to 
align this rule to 8.352.2 NMAC for 
consistency.  
Impact:  HSD does not anticipate 
a service or fi nancial impact to 
impact to eligible recipients and their 
healthcare providers based on the 
amendments to the DDW rule.
 

4) Overall, HSD is taking this opportunity 
to standardize language throughout the 
rule, such as  replacing ‘individual’ or 
‘participant’ with eligible recipient. 
These changes do not alter the manner 
or intent of the current application 
of the rule for providers and eligible 
recipients. 
Impact:  HSD does not anticipate a 
service or fi nancial impact to eligible 
recipients and their healthcare 
providers based on the amendments to 
the DDW rule.

A public hearing to receive testimony on 
this proposed rule will be held in the Rio 
Grande Conference Room, Toney Anaya 
Building, 2550 Cerrillos Road Santa Fe on 
December 29, 2014 at 10 a.m. Mountain 
Standard Time (MST).

Interested parties may submit written 
comments directly to:  Sidonie Squier, 
Secretary, Human Services Department, 

P.O. Box 2348, Santa Fe, New Mexico 
87504-2348.  Recorded comments may be 
left by calling (505) 827-7743.  Electronic 
comments may be submitted to Cecelia.
Salazar@state.nm.us.  Written, electronic 
and recorded comments will be given the 
same consideration as oral testimony made 
at the public hearing.  All comments must 
be received no later than December 29, 
2014, 5:00 p.m. MST.

If you are a person with a disability and you 
require this information in an alternative 
format or require a special accommodation 
to participate in the public hearing, please 
contact MAD toll free at 1-888-997-2583 
and ask for extension 7-7743.  In Santa Fe 
call 827-7743.  The Department’s TDD 
system may be accessed toll-free at 1-800-
659-8331 or in Santa Fe by calling 827-
3184.  The Department requests at least 10 
working days advance notice to provide 
requested alternative formats and special 
accommodations.

Copies of all comments will be made 
available by the MAD upon request by 
providing copies directly to a requestor 
or by making them available on the MAD 
website or at a location within the county of 
the requestor.

NEW MEXICO HUMAN 
SERVICES DEPARTMENT

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION

End of Notices and Proposed 
Rules Section
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