NEW
MEXICO
REGISTER

Volume XXV
Issue Number 23
December 15, 2014







New Mexico Register

Volume XXV, Issue Number 23
December 15, 2014

The official publication for all notices of rulemaking and filings of
adopted, proposed and emergency rules in New Mexico

The Commission of Public Records
Administrative Law Division
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2014



COPYRIGHT © 2014
BY
THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED



New Mexico Register
Volume XXV, Number 23
December 15, 2014

Table of Contents

Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules

Health, Department of

Notice of PUDIIC HEAriNg . . . ..o e 753
Regulation and Licensing Department
Construction Industries Division

Notice of PUDIIC HEAriNg . . . ..o e 753
Real Estate Appraisers Board
Notice of PUDIIC HEAriNg . . . ..ot e 753

Adopted Rules

Effective Date and Validity of Rule Filings

Rules published in this issue of the New Mexico Register are effective on the publication date of this issue unless otherwise
specified. “No rule shall be valid or enforceable until it is filed with the records center and published in the New Mexico
register as provided by the State Rules Act. Unless a later date is otherwise provided by law, the effective date of a rule shall
be the date of publication in the New Mexico register.” Section 14-4-5 NMSA 1978.

A=Amended, E=Emergency, N=New, R=Repealed, Rn=Renumbered

Game and Fish Department

19.35.6 NMAC A Authorized Uses of Wildlife for Education,
Law Enforcement, Research and Scientific Purposes. . ......................... 755
19.35.7 NMAC A Importation of Live Non-Domestic Animals, Birdsand Fish. .................... 755

Regulation and Licensing Department
Real Estate Appraisers Board

16.62.18 NMAC N Licensure for Military Members, Spouses and Veterans . ....................... 757
16.62.1 NMAC A General ProvisSions . ... ...t 757
16.62.2 NMAC A Application for Apprentice . . ... ... 760
16.62.3 NMAC A Application for LICENSE. . . . . ..o 761
16.62.4 NMAC A Application for Residential Certificate. . .......... ... ... ... .. ... 762
16.62.5 NMAC A Application for General Certificate. .. ............ .. i 764
16.62.6 NMAC A EXaminations. . . .. ... o 766
16.62.7 NMAC A Issuance/Renewal of Apprentice Registration

JLicenses/CertifiCates . . . ... 766
16.62.8 NMAC A Educational Programs/Continuing Education. .. ........... ... ... .. ... ....... 766
16.62.9 NMAC A Certificate of Good Standing .. ... ...t 768
16.62.10 NMAC A Temporary PractiCe. . .. ... 768
16.62.11 NMAC A Application for ReCIprocCity .. ........ .. 770
16.62.12 NMAC A FOBS . o 770
16.62.13 NMAC A Disciplinary Proceedings . . ... ..ot 771
16.62.15 NMAC A Retirement and Reinstatement . ............ . 772
16.62.16 NMAC A AAVEITISING . . o 773
16.62.17 NMAC A Unlicensed Practice/Penalties. . . ... 774
16.65.1 NMAC A General ProvisSions . .. ...t 774
16.65.2 NMAC A Registration RequIrements . . .. ... ... 775




The New Mexico Register
Published by
The Commission of Public Records
Administrative Law Division
1205 Camino Carlos Rey
Santa Fe, NM 87507

The New Mexico Register is available free at http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmregister

The New Mexico Register is published twice each month by the Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division. The cost of
an annual subscription is $270.00. Individual copies of any Register issue may be purchased for $12.00. Subscription inquiries should be
directed to: The Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division, 1205 Camino Carlos Rey, Santa Fe, NM 87507. Telephone:
(505) 476-7875 Fax: (505) 476-7910 E-mail: staterules@state.nm.us.



New Mexico Register / Volume XXV, Number 23 / December 15, 2014

753

Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules

NEW MEXICO
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The New Mexico Department of Health
will hold a public hearing on the proposed
repeal and replacement of 7.34.2 NMAC
(“Advisory Board Responsibilities and
Duties”), 7.34.3 NMAC (“Registry
Identification Cards”), and 7.34.4 NMAC
(“Licensing Requirements for Producers,
Production Facilities and Distribution”).
The hearing will be held on Monday,
December 29th at 9:00 a.m. in the Harold
Runnels Building auditorium, located

at 1190 St. Francis Drive in Santa Fe,
New Mexico. The public hearing will

be conducted to receive public comment
regarding proposed changes to these rules.

A copy of these materials may be obtained
from, and written comments may be
submitted to:

Andrea Sundberg, Program Coordinator
Medical Cannabis Program

New Mexico Department of Health

P.O. Box 26110

1190 St. Francis Dr., Suite S-3400
Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110

(505) 827-2451

If you are an individual with a disability
who is in need of special assistance or
accommodations to attend or participate

in the hearing, please contact Andrea
Sundberg at the above address or telephone
number. The Department requests at least
ten (10) days’ advance notice for special
accommodations requests.

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES
DIVISION

STATE OF NEW MEXICO
CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES
COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Construction Industries Commission
will convene a public hearing on proposed
changes to NMAC 14.8.2 New Mexico
Plumbing Code, NMAC 14.8.3 New
Mexico Swimming Pool, Spa and Hot
Tub Code, NMAC 14.9.2 New Mexico
Mechanical Code, and NMAC 14.9.6
New Mexico Solar Energy Code before
its designated hearing officer, at which

any interested person is invited submit
data, views or arguments on the proposed
changes, either orally or in writing, and to
examine witnesses testifying at the hearing.
The public hearing is scheduled as follows:

9:00 a.m., January 15, 2015 at the NM
Regulation and Licensing Department
(Main Conference Room), located at 5200
Oakland Avenue NE, in Albuquerque, NM.

Please Note: All persons wishing to
participate in the public hearing remotely
may do so telephonically dialing into:

Dial-in Number: 712-432-1212

Meeting ID: 788-223-117
Interested persons may secure copies of the
proposed changes by accessing the CID
website (www.rld.state.nm.us/construction)
or by request from the Santa Fe CID

Office - Toney Anaya Building, 2550
Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505. If you
cannot attend the hearing, you may send
your written comments to: Construction
Industries Division, 2550 Cerrillos Road,
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505, Attention:
Public Comments. Written comments

may also be faxed to (505) 476-4702. All
comments must be received no later than
5:00 p.m., on January 14, 2015. If you
require special accommodations to attend
the hearing, please notify CID by phone,
email, or fax, of such needs no later than
January 12, 2015. Telephone: 505-476-

4700 (option “0”). Email: jerome.baca@
state.nm.us; Fax No. (505) 476-4702.

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Public Rule Hearing and Regular Board
Meeting

The New Mexico Real Estate Appraisers
Board (“Board”) will hold a public rule
hearing to consider proposed rules to

the Real Estate Appraisers Rules and

the Appraisal Management Company
Rules. The hearing will be held on
Wednesday, January 21, 2015, at the City
of Albuquerque City Council Committee
Room, 9" Floor in the City/County Building
located at One Civic Plaza, Albuquerque,
New Mexico 87102. The rule hearing will

begin at 9:00 a.m. followed by the regular
scheduled Board Meeting in which the
Board will adopt the rules and discuss items
on the agenda.

The purpose of the rule hearing is to
consider adoption of proposed amendments
and addition, to the following Real Estate
Appraisers Board Rules and Regulations

in 16.62.1 NMAC General Provisions and
the Appraisal Management Company Rules
and Regulations in 16.65.1 NMAC General
Provisions.

The Board may enter into Executive
Session pursuant to § 10-15-1.H of the
Open Meetings Act, to discuss matters
related to the issuance, suspension, renewal
or revocation of licenses.

The Board’s proposed rules will be
available by December 21, 2014, on the
Board’s website at: www.rld.state.nm.us/
boards/Real_Estate_Appraisers.aspx.
Individuals requesting copies of proposed
rules may also contact the Real Estate
Appraisers Board, Toney Anaya Building,
2550 Cerrillos Road, P.O. Box 25101, Santa
Fe, New Mexico 87505, or by calling (505)
476-4622. A copy of the agenda for the
regular board meeting will be available at
least seventy-two (72) hours prior to the
meeting and will be posted on the board’s
website. The agenda may also be obtained
by contacting the Board Office.

In order for the Board Members to review
public comments in their meeting packets
prior to the meeting, individuals who do
not wish to attend the hearing may submit
written or recorded comments. Written
or recorded comments must be received
no later than January 11, 2015, by 5:00
P.M. Individuals wishing to present their
comments at the hearing need to provide
eight (8) copies of any comments or
proposed changes for distribution to the
Board and staff.

Persons with a disability who need a
reader, amplifier, qualified sign language
interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary
aid or service to attend or participate in
the hearing or meeting may contact the
Board Office at (505) 476-4622 at least
ten (10) days in advance notice to provide
requested alternative formats and special
accommodations.

End of Notices and Proposed
Rules Section
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Adopted Rules

NEW MEXICO
DEPARTMENT OF GAME
AND FISH

This is an amendment to 19.35.6 NMAC,
Sections 7 and 9, effective 12-15-2014.
19.35.6.7 DEFINITIONS:

A “Applicant”: A person
who has submitted an application for a
permit pursuant to this rule.

B. “Apprentice”: A person
who is over the age of 14 and is in training
under the direct supervision of a permittee
or sub-permittee, who assists in the use
of wildlife for scientific and educational
purposes.
animal within the order carnivora.

[€:1D. “Department”: The
New Mexico department of game and fish.

[B-]1E. “Director”: Shall mean
the director of the department of game and
fish.

[EE]E “Designated
cooperator”: Shall mean a person
designated in writing by the director of the
department of game and fish, as an official
cooperator of the agency.

[F1G. “Educational
purposes”: Shall mean the possession or
take of protected wildlife as specimens for
educational programs and instructional
display as approved by the department.

[&s]1H. “Permit”: A document
issued pursuant to this rule that authorizes
a person to conduct specific activities
involving protected wildlife.

[H]1.  “Protected wildlife”:
Shall mean those taxonomic groups listed
in Chapter 17, NMSA 1978, including
any species that are listed as either state or
federally threatened or endangered.

[¥]13.  “Scientific purposes”:
Shall mean the possession or take of
protected wildlife for conducting research
or monitoring for management purposes, as
approved by the department.

[FF1 K. “Sub-permittee”: Shall
mean a person authorized by a permit to
conduct specified activities in the absence
of a permit holder.

[K] L. “Take”: Shall mean
the act of killing, capturing, pursuing,
harassing, salvaging, retaining, or
sacrificing protected wildlife by any means
or device including attempting to take by
the use of any method.

[19.35.6.7 NMAC - Rp, 19 NMAC 35.6.7
& 19 NMAC 36.2.7, 12/30/2013; A,
12/15/2014]
19.35.6.9 PERMIT ISSUANCE:
A. Permits may be issued

or denied under the authority of the director
or his/her designee.

B. Authorizations and
permits shall only be issued to individuals
and not to parties or organizations.

C. Only those individuals
that the applicant intends to utilize to take
or possess protected wildlife when outside
the immediate oversight and supervision
of the permittee will be listed as sub-
permittees.

D. A permit shall not
be issued to applicants who cannot
demonstrate sufficient wildlife handling
qualifications and containment and
confinement facilities to ensure the humane
care of captive wildlife.

E. Applicant must obtain
a permit prior to conducting requested
activities.

F. Upon issuance of
a permit, containment and confinement
facilities shall be subject to random
inspection by department employees.

G. Initial permits shall be
issued for one year. Permit renewals may
be approved for up to three years subject to
director approval.

H. Each permit shall
specify the number and species of protected
wildlife the permittee shall be authorized to
collect, possess, or handle for scientific or
educational purposes.

l. Applications for permits
or permit renewals shall not be considered if
the applicant is subject to pending criminal
charges or violations of any municipal, state
or federal law relating to wildlife or other
animal violations.

J. The state game
commission must review any permit
application for the possession or use of
any carnivore that is held, possessed or
released on private property for the purpose
of recovery, reintroduction, conditioning,
establishment or reestablishment in New
Mexico. The director shall only issue a
department permit in accordance with
commission direction following their
review of an application submitted under
this section of rule.

[19.35.6.9 NMAC - Rp, 19.35.6.8 NMAC,
12/30/2013; A, 12/15/2014]

NEW MEXICO
DEPARTMENT OF GAME
AND FISH

This is an amendment to 19.35.7 NMAC,
Sections 7, 8 and 19, effective 12/15/2014.

19.35.7.7 DEFINITIONS:

A “Accredited laboratory”

A lab recognized for CWD testing by the
New Mexico department of game and fish.

B. “Animal health
emergency” A situation in which people or
animals are at risk of exposure to infectious
or contagious diseases as determined by the
director.

C. “APHIS” Animal and
plant health inspection service, United
States department of agriculture.

D. “Applicant” Any
person or entity that causes or submits a
department application for importation.

E. “Carnivore” Any animal
within the order carnivora.
[E]E “Certificate of

compliance” An official department
document declaring an applicant’s ability to
resume importation application eligibility.

[F]1G. “Certified Herd” A herd
that has attained certified status as defined
in the current USDA chronic wasting
disease program standards.

[&]H. “Closed herd sales”
Sales of animals from a herd directly to the
buyer in a manner that allows the buyer to
transport the animals from the producer’s
premises directly to the buyer’s premises
without contact with animals from another
herd, and without contact with other pens or
transport facilities used by any other herd.

[H]1.  “Chronic Wasting
Disease” or “CWD” is a transmissible
spongiform encephalopathy of cervids.

[+]J. “CWD-Exposed
Animal” is an animal that is part of a CWD-
positive herd, or that has been exposed to
a CWD-positive animal or contaminated
premises within the previous 60 months.

[F] K. “CWD-Exposed herd”
is a herd in which a CWD-positive animal
resided within 60 months prior to that
animal’s diagnosis as CWD-positive.

[kl L. “CWD-Positive herd”
is a herd in which a CWD-positive animal
resided at the time it was diagnosed
and which has not been released from
quarantine.

[E] M. “CWD-Suspect animal”
is an animal for which unofficial CWD
test results, laboratory evidence, or clinical
signs suggest a diagnosis of CWD, but
for which laboratory results have been
inconclusive or not yet conducted.

[ N. “CWD-Suspect herd”
is a herd for which laboratory evidence or
clinical signs suggest a diagnosis of CWD,
but for which laboratory results have been
inconclusive or not yet conducted.

[N] O. “CWD-Trace-Back
herd” is an exposed herd in which a CWD-
positive animal has resided during the 60
months prior to the diagnosis.

[&-]P. “CWD-Trace-Forward
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herd” is a CWD-exposed herd that has
received CWD-exposed animals from a
CWD-positive herd during the 60 months
prior to the diagnosis of CWD in the CWD-
positive herd.

[F]1Q. “Dangerous animal” An
animal that due to its nature, biology or its
behavior, including predatory or venomous
animals, that may present a risk to the
health, safety or well-being of the public
or other animals including native wildlife,
domestic pets or livestock.

[€&]1R. “Department” Shall
mean New Mexico department of game and
fish.

[R:]1S. “Director” Shall mean
the director of the department of game and
fish.

[S]1T.  “Importer” Any person
or entity that causes an animal to be
brought, transported or shipped into New
Mexico with the exception of common
mail carriers and delivery service providers
during the course of their regular duties.

[F]U. “Invasive animal”

Any non-native animal, except protected
wildlife, including any aquatic invasive
species (AlS), whose introduction into
New Mexico may cause or is likely to
cause harm to the economy, environment,
protected wildlife, human health or safety.

[B-]1 V. “Isolation” A period of
time imported animals are separated and
observed. The observation pen must have
fences at least eight feet high. The isolation
pen must prevent nose-to-nose contact with
all wild ungulates during the observation
period.

[M]W. “Mixed herd” A herd
comprised of animals from different sources
and held to allow contact or commingling.

[W] X.  “Mixed herd sales”
Sales from sale barns, auctions, private
arrangements, or other facilities that allow
joint penning or adjacent penning of
animals from more than one closed herd, or
otherwise facilitate or permit commingling,
direct contact, or holding, boarding, or
sharing the premises by more than one herd
simultaneous or successively in time.

[>]Y. “Non-domesticated
animal” For the purposes of this rule, any
animal species that is wild by nature not
listed as semi-domesticated or protected
under chapter 17 NMSA, 1978.

[¥]1Z. “NPIP” National
poultry improvement program.

[Z] AA. “Official Animal
Identification” A device or means of
animal identification approved by USDA
to uniquely identify individual animals
nationally. The animal identification must
include a nationally unique identification
number that adheres to one of the following:

1) national
uniform ear tagging system.
(2) animal

identification number (AIN)

3) premises-
based number system using a premises
identification number (PIN) in conjunction
with a livestock production numbering
system

4) any other
numbering system approved by USDA for
the identification of animals in commerce.

[A4A<] BB. “Protected
wildlife” Shall mean those taxonomic
groups of mammals, birds and fish listed
in Chapter 17 NMSA, 1978, including
any species that are listed as either state or
federally threatened or endangered.

[BB:] CC. “Release from
captivity” For the purpose of this rule, the
act of removing from confinement, letting
go, liberating or setting free any imported,
live non-domesticated animal into the wild.

[e€:] DD. “Semi-
domesticated animal” For the purpose of
this rule, the director may designate an
animal species as semi-domesticated in
those instances where individual members
of such species are commonly tamed,
raised, bred or sold in captivity.

[BB-] EE. “Species
importation list” A list containing protected,
non-game and semi-domesticated animal
species established, maintained, updated or
amended by the director of the New Mexico
department of game and fish. The species
importation list may contain importation
requirements, restrictions and conditions for
each animal species listed.

[EE] EE. “Qualified
expert” Only a person officially designated
by the director to import a specific non-
domesticated animal.

[FF] GG. “Undesirable
animal” An animal that may have adverse
impacts to health, management or safety.

[66:] HH. “USDA”
United States department of agriculture.
[19.35.7.7 NMAC - Rp, 19.35.7.7 NMAC,
1-31-14; A, 12/15/2014]

19.35.7.8 IMPORTATION

OF LIVE NON-DOMESTICATED
ANIMALS: It shall be unlawful to import
any live non-domesticated animal into New
Mexico without first obtaining appropriate
permit(s) issued by the director except
those animals identified within the species
importation list group I. The state game
commission must review any permit
application for the importation of any
carnivore that will be held, possessed or
released on private property for the purpose

of recovery, reintroduction, conditioning,
establishment or reestablishment in New
Mexico. The director shall only issue a
department permit in accordance with

issued when all application requirements
and provisions have been met. Failure to
adhere to or violation of permit provisions
may result in the applicant/importer
becoming ineligible for importation(s).
The pendency or determination of any
administrative action or the pendency or
determination of a criminal prosecution for
the same is not a bar to the other.
[19.35.7.8 NMAC - Rp, 19.35.7.8 NMAC,
1-31-14; A, 12/15/2014]

19.35.7.19 RELEASE FROM
CAPTIVITY FOR IMPORTED
ANIMALS: No person shall release from
captivity an imported animal into New
Mexico except by obtaining a release
permit from the director. The transfer of an
imported animal from one person to another
person does not constitute a release from

captivity.
A Prior to approval by the
director an applicant must:
Q) submit a plat
of the release area;
2 submit

verification that landowners, tribal officials,
state officials, federal officials and county
officials that may be directly affected by the
release have been notified of the potential
release in writing and have been given 20
days to respond to the release; responses
must be submitted with the application;

it is the responsibility of the applicant to
notify the above and submit responses to
the department; failure to notify as indicated
herein or to submit responses will result

in the application being rejected until this
condition is met and any compliance fees
are paid;

3) demonstrate
that the intended release is provided for
in state or federal resource or species
management plans or strategies (CWCS).

B. Any individual or
group of isolated animals in which signs
of infectious or contagious disease is
evident will not be released, will remain in
isolation, and, at the recommendation of the
state veterinarian:

Q) the animals
shall be treated and restored to health until
they no longer pose a threat of infection
to wild, free ranging wildlife or to other
captive animals in the facility; or

2 the isolated
animals shall be destroyed and remains
will be disposed in a manner conforming to
state, federal or local rules and regulations.

C. The director shall not
approve any release permit that conflicts
with current conservation management.

D. The state game
commission must review any permit

commission direction following their
review of an application submitted under

application for any carnivore that
will be held, possessed or released on

this section of rule. Permits will only be

private land for the purpose of recovery,
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reintroduction, conditioning, establishment
or reestablishment in New Mexico. The
director shall only issue a department
permit in accordance with commission
direction following their review of an
application submitted under this section of
rule.

[19.35.7.19 NMAC - Rp, 19.35.7.19
NMAC, 1-31-14; A, 12/15/2014]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

TITLE 16 OCCUPATIONAL
AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

CHAPTER 62 REAL ESTATE
APPRAISERS
PART 18 LICENSURE FOR

MILITARY MEMBERS, SPOUSES AND
VETERANS

16.62.18.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
New Mexico Regulation and Licensing
Department.

[16.62.18.1 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

16.62.18.2 SCOPE: This part sets
forth application procedures to expedite
licensure for military service members,
spouses and veterans.

[16.62.18.2 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

16.62.18.3 STATUTORY
AUTHORITY: These rules are
promulgated pursuant to Section 61-1-34
of the Uniform Licensing Act, NMSA
1978, Section 61-1-1 to 34 (1957, as
amended through 2013) and the Real Estate
Appraisers Act, Sections 61-30-1 to 24
NMSA 1978.

[16.62.18.3 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

16.62.18.4
Permanent.
[16.62.18.4 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

DURATION:

16.62.18.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
January 1, 2015, unless a later date is cited
at the end of a section.

[16.62.18.5 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

16.62.18.6 OBJECTIVE: The
purpose of this part is to expedite licensure
for military service members, spouses and
veterans pursuant to Chapter 61, Article 30
NMSA 1978.

[16.62.18.6 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

16.62.18.7 DEFINITIONS:

A “Military service
member” means a person who is serving in
the armed forces of the United States or in
an active reserve component of the armed

forces of the United States, including the
national guard.

B. “Recent veteran” means
a person who has received an honorable
discharge or separation from military
service within the two years immediately
preceding the date the person applied for
an occupational or professional license
pursuant to this section.
[16.62.18.7 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

16.62.18.8 APPLICATION
REQUIREMENTS:
A Applications for

registration shall be completed on a form
provided by the board.

B. The information shall
include:

1) completed
application and fee;

2) satisfactory
evidence that the applicant holds a license
that is current and in good standing, issued
by another jurisdiction, including a branch
of armed forces of the United States, that
has met the minimal licensing requirements
that are substantially equivalent to the
licensing requirements for the occupational
or professional license the applicant applies
for pursuant to Chapter 61, Article 30
NMSA 1978;

3) proof of
honorable discharge (DD214) or military 1D
card or accepted proof of military spouse
status.

[16.62.18.8 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

16.62.18.9 RENEWAL
REQUIREMENTS: A license issued
pursuant to this section shall not be renewed
unless the license holder satisfies the
requirements for the issuance set forth in
16.62.2 NMAC and for the renewal of a
license set forth in 16.62.7 NMAC.
[16.62.18.9 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.1 NMAC,
Sections 1, 2, 7, 8 and 12, effective
01/01/2015.

16.62.1.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department, NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board [;[P-O-Bex
25101-SantaFe, vt 87504].

[1/14/00; 16.62.1.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC
62.1.1, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.1.2 SCOPE: All

[apptentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential

certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[1/14/00; 16.62.1.2 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.1.2, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.1.7 DEFINITIONS: The
following rules and regulations are for the
purpose of implementing the provisions of
the New Mexico Real Estate Appraisers
Act.

A Terms starting with the
letter ‘A’ are defined as follows:
Q) “Acceptable”

appraisal experience includes, but is not
limited to the following: fee and staff
appraisal, ad valorem tax appraisal, review
appraisal, market analysis, real estate
counseling/consulting, highest and best
use analysis and feasibility analysis. All
experience claimed must be obtained

after January 30, 1989, and must be in
conformance with applicable national
uniform standards of professional appraisal
practice (USPAP). Appraisal experience
acceptable toward licensing or certification
must have been gained under the
supervision of an appraiser who is certified
at a level equal to or greater than the license
or certificate the applicant is seeking.

2 “Appraisers
act” or “act” means the New Mexico Real
Estate Appraisers Act as defined in Section
61-30-1 NMSA 1978.

3) “Appraisal
management company (AMC)”
means a corporation, partnership, sole
proprietorship, subsidiary, limited liability
company or other business entity that:

(@)
contracts with independent appraisers to
perform real estate appraisal services for
clients;

(b)
receives requests for real estate appraisal
services from clients and for a fee paid by
client, enters into an agreement with one of
more independent appraisers to perform the
real estate appraisal services contained in
the request;

(©
otherwise serves as a third-party broker
of appraisal management service between
clients and appraiser.

4) “Appraisal
review” is the act or process of developing
and communicating an opinion about the
quality of another appraiser’s work that
was performed as part of an appraisal, or an
appraisal review [;-or-appraisat-consttting
assignhment].

(5) “Assignment”
means one or more real estate appraisals
and written appraisal report(s) covered by a
single contractual agreement for a specified
number of properties.

B. Terms starting with the
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letter ‘B’. [RESERVED] forms-approved-by-the-board-or-on-another 4) “Experience”
C. Terms starting with the approved-form,ifreetirec:] will be submitted to the board in the form
letter ‘C’ are defined as follows: (1) a completed of a log, which indicates assignment
Q) “Complaint application on the form provided by the information and type, compensation status,

committee” shall be appointed by the
board. The chairperson of the committee
shall be an appraiser board member. The
board appointed complaint committee is
for the purpose of review of complaints
and shall make recommendations to the
board as to its findings. No real estate
appraiser organization shall have a majority
membership on the committee.

2) “Complex”
means a one to four family residential
property appraisal in which the property to
be appraised, the form of ownership, or the
market conditions are atypical.

?3) “Content
approval for distance education” non-
academic credit college courses provided by
a college shall be approved by the appraiser
qualifications board (AQB) and the New
Mexico real estate appraisers board.

D. Terms starting with the
letter ‘D’ are defined as follows:
[ (bH—"birect
Sipervision™means that & supervising
APPFAISer 15p |53|sa_lly ; FESE ttodi E.EEEI' ¢

2) ] “Duly

made application” means an application
to the New Mexico real estate appraisers
board including Subparagraphs (a) through
(9) set out below, in addition to any other
requirements of the board:
[ B —e

| eati F .

r - ol F

board; the form must be signed by the
applicant attesting to the truthfulness of the

information provided in the application;
electronic signatures shall be acceptable;
(2) letters of
verification from at least three individuals
who are not related to the applicant
but who are acquainted personally and
professionally with him/her and who can
attest that the applicant is of good moral
character; and is competent;
(3) a statement
attesting that he/she is a native, a
naturalized citizen or a legal resident of the

United States;

(4) transcripts
or certificates or statements showing
successful completion of the required

appraisal courses;

(5) a recent
photograph of the applicant in which
the applicant clearly is discernible; the
photograph must be at least two inches by
three inches in size;

(6) a check
or money order for the fees set out in
16.62.12.8 NMAC;

7 an appraiser
experience log recorded on the forms
approved by the board or on another
approved form, if required.

E. Terms starting with the
letter ‘E” are defined as follows:
1) “Education

advisory committee” shall be appointed

by the board for the purpose of review

of applications for course approval

and sponsorship approval of appraiser
educational offerings and shall make
recommendations to the board as to its
findings. Membership in a professional
organization or association shall not be a
prerequisite to serve on the committee. No
real estate appraiser organization shall have
a majority membership on the committee.

2) “Ethics rule”
emphasizes the personal and professional
obligations and responsibilities of the
individual appraiser.

3) “Experience”
is defined as verifiable time spent in
performing tasks in accordance with the
definition of “appraisal” and “appraisal
assignment”, as stated in the act, Section
61-30-3, NMSA 1978. Such tasks include
inspecting and analyzing properties;
assembling and analyzing relevant market
data; forming objective opinions as to the
value, quality or utility of such properties;
and preparing reports or file memoranda
showing data, reasoning and conclusions.
Professional responsibility for the valuation
function is essential for experience credit.

time spent on the assignment and whether
the applicant signed the report. Experience
credit claimed on the log must be attested
to by the supervising appraiser. Experience
logs are subject to review and request for
supporting documentation.

(5) “Experience
review process” is the method by which
appraiser experience is approved for
credit toward licensure or certification.

The process includes the review of the
experience log submitted by the applicant;
selection of three or more entries for
review of the reports and any additional file
memoranda; and approval of experience
hours claimed and conformance of reports
with applicable national uniform standards
of professional appraisal practice (USPAP)
standards.

F. Term starting with the
letter ‘F’ is defined as follows: “FIRREA”
means the Financial Institutions Reform,
Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989,
and its amendments.

G. Terms starting with the
letter ‘G”. [RESERVED]
H. Terms starting with the

letter ‘H’. [RESERVED]

l. Terms starting with the
letter ‘I’. “IDECC” - international distance
education certification center.

J. Terms starting with the
letter ‘J°. [RESERVED]

K. Terms starting with the
letter ‘K’. [RESERVED]

L. Terms starting with the
letter ‘L’ are defined as follows:

Q) “Licensee”
means [ar-apprentice] a trainee, license,
residential certificate or general certificate.

2 “Location”
means the offices of the New Mexico real
estate appraisers board will be located in
Santa Fe, New Mexico.

M. Term starting with the
letter “M” is defined as follows: “Module”
is an appraisal subject matter area (and
required hours of coverage) as identified
in the required core curriculum. All
modules identified in the required core
curriculum for a specific classification must
be successfully completed to satisfy the
educational requirements as set forth in the
appraiser qualifications board (AQB) real
property appraiser qualification criteria.

N. Term starting with
the letter ‘N’ is defined as follows:
“Nonresident appraiser” for the purpose of
61-30-20 of the New Mexico Real Estate
Appraisers Act, nonresident applicants;
reciprocity, means an individual who holds
a current [apprentice] trainee registration,
license, or certificate, and is in good
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standing, in another state. 06/13/08; A, 11/15/08; A, 10/16/2009; A, the-stpervisormust-also-inform-the-board-

0. Terms starting with the 08/21/2010; A, 7/10/2011; A, 01/01/2015] withir-ten-days-when-a-trainee-isno-tonger
letter ‘O’. [RESERVED] workingtnder-his-stpervision:

P. Terms starting with the 16.62.1.8 STANDARDS ————(@)—actively-and-
letter ‘P’ are defined as follows: OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE, personaty-supervises-the-trainee:

1) “Practicing CODE OF PROFESSIONAL {a)
appraiser” means a state licensed or certified | RESPONSIBILITY AND ADOPTION when-training-forresidentiatHicense-or-
appraiser in good standing, engaged in OF FIRREA: residentiat-certification-the-supervisormust
performing appraisal assignments. A The national uniform accompany-the-tratnee-on-inspections-of-the-

2) “Primary standards of professional appraisal stthject property-on-the-first 75-assignments:
business location” means the geographical practice (USPAP) as promulgated by the after-that-point-the-trainee-may-perform-
location of a business where the supervisor appraisal standards board of the appraisal the-inspections-withott-the-presence-of the-
and trainee spend the majority of their foundation, and adopted and incorporated stpervisor-provided-the-trainee-is-competent
time. Atrainee may perform work only in by reference are the minimum requirements. | to-perform-these-inspectionsinaceordance-
areas where the supervising appraiser has The appraisal standards board’s code of with-the-competeney-rute-of the-national-
competency [in-the-geographicaHocation- professional responsibility, [as-fited-n- tniform-standards-ef professionat-appraisal-
and-property-type] pursuant to USPAP. the-federat-register;] are the minimum practice(USPAP)-for-the-property-type-ane-

Q. Terms starting with the professional and ethical standards that provided-the-property-istessthan-100-miles
letter ‘Q’. [RESERVED] will govern appraisers practicing in New from-the-supervisor’sprimary business

R. Term starting with the Mexico. tocationthe-stpervisor-must-accompany-
letter ‘R’ is defined as follows: “Required B. The Financial the-tratnee-on-atHnspections-of subject
core curriculum” is a set of appraisal subject | Institutions Reform, Recovery and properties-that-are-tocated-more-than-
matter (known as ‘modules’) which require | Enforcement Act (FIRREA, 12 U.S.C. 106-mies-from-the-stpervisor’sprimary-

a specified number of educational hours 3351) and its current amendments are btstresslocation-the-supervisor-and-tratnee
at each credential level; as set forth in the adopted and incorporated into these must-have-primary-businesstoeation-in-the-
appraiser qualifications board (AQB) real regulations by reference. sarme-state;

property appraiser qualification criteria. C. Pursuant to Title XI of {b)

S. Term starting with the FIRREA, as amended by the Dodd-Frank when-training-for-general-certification-the-
letter S’ is defined as follows: “Supervisor” | Act of 2010, the board shall: Stpervisor-must-accompany-the-trainee-
means a certified residential or certified (1) designate on-inspections-of the-subject property-on-
general appraiser in good standing in the a high ranking officer, such as a board the-first 50-nen-residential-asstgnments:
training jurisdiction and not subject to any administrator, who will serve as the state’s after-that-point-the trainee-may-perform-
disciplinary action within the last [two(2)] authorized reqistry official (SARO), the-inspections-withott-the-presence-of the-
three (3) years that affects the supervisor’s and must ensure that non-public data is stpervisor-provided-the-trainee-is-competent
legal ability to engage in appraisal practice. | appropriately protected; to-perform-those-inspectionsin-aceordance-

T. Term starting with the (2) provide to with-the-competeney-rule-of the-national-
letter “T” is defined as follows: “Trainee” the ASC, in writing, information regarding tniform-standards-ef professionat-appraisal-
means an individual taught to become a the selected authorized reqistry official, practice(USPAP)-for-the-property-type-ane-
state licensed or certified appraiser under and any individual(s) authorized to act on market-area;-the-stpervisor-and-trainee-must
the direct supervision of a supervising their behalf, and should ensure that the have-primary-businesstoeationtn-the-same-
appraiser. authorization information provided to the state;

u. Term starting with the ASC is kept current; and —————————(4)——teviewsal
letter ‘U’ is defined as follows: “Uniform (3) adopt and appraisat-reports-and-supporting-tdata-tsed-
standards of professional appraisal practice” | implement a written policy to adequately in-connection-with-appraisals-in-which-
(USPAP) means the uniform standard or protect the right of access. the-services-of atrainee-areutilized:—the-
the profession standard promulgated by the | [1/14/00; 16.62.1.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 trainee’s-supervisorisreguired-to-sign-the-
appraisal standards board of the appraisal NMAC 62.1.8, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06; A, | appraisatreportand-certifiesthereportisin-
foundation and adopted by rules pursuant 01/01/2015] comphance-with-the-uniform-standards-of-
to the Real Estate Appraiser Act and deals professional-appraisat-practice (USPAP):-
with the procedures to be followed in H6-62+-12—SUPERWVSING- the-stpervisor-isregtired-to-sign-the-
which an appraisal, analysis, or opinion is APPRAISERARANNEE: appraisat-experiencetog-atieastevery-36-
communicated. —A——Supervision-of-trainees— | days;

V. Terms starting with the Ar-appraiser-may-engage-atectared- ————(5)——mustattend-
letter “V’. [RESERVED] trainee-to-assistin-the-perfermance-of real- a-stpervisorftrainee-education-program-

W. Term starting with the estate-appraisals-and-related-activities approved-by-the-appraisat-board-regareing
letter ‘W’ is defined as follows: “Work provided-the-supervising-certified-reat-estate | therole-ofasupervisorpriorto-the-
file” is documentation necessary to support | appraiser: dectaration-of the-first new-trainee-or within
an appraiser’s analyses, opinions, and ———()——hasbeen 90-days-aftersuch-supervision-beginsifthe-
conclusions. certified-for-ateast-two-years: stpervisor-dees-nottake-the-class-within-90-

X. Terms starting with the ——————(2y—hasne-mere- days-afterthe-stpervisionbeginsthe-trainee
letter “X’. [RESERVED] than-three-trainees-working-tnaer-his- mayno-tongerwork-tnder-the-supervision-

Y. Terms starting with the stpervision-at-one-time;prior-to-the-date- of that-supervisor-tnti-the-classis-taken:-
letter “Y’. [RESERVED] any-trainee-beginsperformingreal-estate- thereafter-the-supervisor-mustattentd-the-

Z. Terms starting with the appraisal-and-retated-activities underhisor- | classevery-otherticensing-eyete;
letter ‘Z2’. [RESERVED] her-stupervision;-the-supervisormustinform- | ——————————(6)———shattnetbe-
[1/14/00; 16.62.1.7 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 the-board-of the-name-of the- trainee-onthe- | employed-by-atrainee-orby-acompany,
NMAC 62.1.7, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06; A, | dectaration-form-preseribeed-by-the-boare:- firm-or-partnership-in-which-the-tratnee-has-
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acontroting-interest year period preceding the application,
——B——TFrainee—Al-trainees NEW MEXICO prove successful completion of real estate
shat-perform-at-reat-estate-appraisat-and- REGULATION AND appraisal education of at least 75 board-

- sion of & LICENSING DEPARTMENT | 20 e o e complted
active;-ant-personat-supervision-ofa
certified-reat-estate-appraiser—AH-appraisat- REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS for credit toward this requirement shall
reperts-mustbe-signee-by-the-trainees BOARD include coverage of the following topics,
dectared-supervisor—By-sighing-the- with emphasis on ethics, and basic
appraisat report. the certified appraiser This is an amendment to 16.62.2 NMAC, | appraisal principles and procedures in:
accepts responsibility with the trainee for Sections 1,2, 6,7, 8, and 9, effective basic appraisal principles - 30 hours; basic
the-content of and-conchusionsof the-report- | 01/01/2015. appraisal procedures - 30 hours; and the
Artratnee-may-assistinthe-performanceof- 15-hour national USPAP course or its
real estate appraisals provided the trainee: | 166221 ISSUING AGENCY: | equivalent;
— {1 aintains Regulation and Licensing Department, NM D. comply with the
alog on a form prescribed by the board Real Estate Appraisers Board [[P-O-Box- competency rule of [the-rationat-uniform-
that includes. bt isnotHimited-to_each. | 2520% Santa-Fe NM 87504] ; : ice]
appraisal performed by the trainee, the type [1/14/00; 16.62.2.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC (USPAP).
of the-property-appraised type-of-appraisal- | 62.2.1, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015] E. courses taken in
performed-complete-streetaddress-of the- satisfying the qualifying education
subject property, the date the report was 16.62.2.2 SCOPE: All requirements shall not be repetitive in
signed, the number of hours claimed, the- [apprentice] trainee real estate appraisers, nature; each course credited toward the
name of the supervisor for that appraisal, licensed real estate appraisers, residential required number of qualifying education
the supervisor’s certificate number, and- certified real estate appraisers, general hours shall represent a progression in which
whether the supervisor accompanied the- certified real estate appraisers and the appraiser’s knowledge is increased and
trainee-on-the-inspection-of- the-subject:the- | temporary licensed real estate appraisers. none may be taken on-line;
fog must show all appraisals and related [1/14/00; 16.62.2.2 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 F. demonstrate to the
activities-performed-by-the trainee-and-must | NMAC 62.2.2, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015] | hoard that he/she is honest, trustworthy and
be-tipdated-and-signed-by-the-supervisor- competent;
at least every 30 days; a trainee can only 16.62.2.6 OBJECTIVE: This G. successful completion
receive-credit for half-of the-hours-elaimed- | Part provides requirements for making of a written examination on the New
within the performed appraisal. application for apprenticeship as a real Mexico Real Estate Appraisers Act,
(2 mustatiend estate appraiser trainee. administered by the board;
a supervisor/trainee education program: [1/14/00; 16.62.2.6 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 H. pay the fees set out in
approved-by the-appraisal-board-either- NMAC 62.2.6, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015] | 16.62.12.8 NMAC:
before-supervisionbeginsor-within-90-days- l. submit a duly made
after such supervision begins; if the trainee | 16.62.2.7 DEFINITIONS: Prior | application to the board office;
doesnot take the-classwithin90-days- to 09/13/2004, all “apprentice real estate J. [dectared] declare a
after-supervision-begins, the trainee-shall- appraisers” were designated as “registered supervisor; and
notreceive-appraisal-experience-credit for- | real estate appraisers”. After 01/01/2015 K. successfully complete
appraisalsperformed-tntil-the-class-is-taken: | all “apprentice real estate appraisers” were |  supervisor/trainee course consistent with
— {3}ttt asstire- designated “trainee real estate appraisers”. AQB criteria.
that the-stupervisor-has-properly-completed- | [1/14/00; 16.62.2.7 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 [1/14/00; 16.62.2.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
and-sentthe-deelaration-form-to-the- NMAC 62.2.7, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015] | NMAC 62.2.8, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06;
appraisalt-board-on-orbefore-the-gay-the- A, 06/13/08; A, 08/21/10; A, 7/10/2011; A,
trainee begins assisting the supervising 16.62.2.8 [APPRENTEE] 01/01/2015]
appraiser: TRAINEE: A holder of [anapptentice]
—— {4y traineesshall- | atrainee registration, but not a license 16.62.2.9 SUPERVISING
notreceive-appraisal-experience-creditfor- | OF certificate, is authorized to prepare APPRAISER/TRAINEE:
appraisal-and-relatechactivitiesperformeg- | appraisals of all types of real estate or real A. Supervision of trainees:
in-vietation-of SubsectionB-of 16:62-4-12 | Property, provided such appraisals are not An appraiser may engage a declared trainee
NMAC | described or referred to as “state licensed” | o assist in the performance of real estate
[RESERVED] or “state certified” and provided further, appraisals and related activities, provided

[16.62.1.12 NMAC - N, 06/13/08; A,
10/16/2009; A, 08/21/2010; Repealed,
01/01/2015]

the [apprentice] trainee appraiser does not
assume or use any title, designation or
abbreviation likely to create the impression
that he/she is a state-licensed or state-
certified real estate appraiser. [Apprentices]
Trainees are not qualified to perform

under FIRREA, Title XI. An applicant for
[apptentice] trainee real estate appraiser
registration in the state of New Mexico
must:

A be a legal resident of
the United States;

B. have reached the age of
majority;

C. within the five (5)

the supervising real estate appraiser:

(1) is in good
standing and has been certified for at least
three years;

(2) has no more
than three trainees working under his/her
supervision at one time;

(3) actively
supervises the trainee by either being
physically present or by a form of electronic
communication; and

(4) is competent
pursuant to USPAP in all appraisals

supervised.
B. Prior to the date any
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trainee begins performing real estate
appraisal and related activities under his/her

(4) description of

work performed by the trainee appraiser and

supervision, the supervisor must:
(1) inform the

the scope of the review and supervision of
the supervisory appraiser;

board of the name of the trainee on the
declaration form prescribed by the board;

(5) number of
actual work hours by the trainee appraiser

the supervisor must also inform the board

on the assignment; and

within ten days when a trainee is no longer

(6) the signature

working under his/her supervision; and
(2) attend a

supervisor/trainee education program

approved by the appraisal board regarding

and state certification number of the
supervising appraiser.

G. Separate appraisal logs
shall be maintained for each supervising

the role of a supervisor; if continuously
supervising trainees, supervisors must
attend the class at least every four years.

C. When training for
residential license or residential certification

appraiser, if applicable.
H. The supervising
appraiser shall not be employed by a trainee

or by a company, firm or partnership in
which the trainee has a controlling interest.

the supervisor must accompany the trainee

l. Trainees: All trainees

on complete interior inspections of the
subject property on the first 50 assignments;

shall perform all real estate appraisal and
related activities under the immediate,

after that point, the trainee may perform

active, and personal supervision of a

the inspections without the presence of the

certified real estate appraiser.

supervisor provided the trainee is competent

1) All appraisal

to perform those inspections in accordance

reports must be signed by the trainee’s

with the competency rule of USPAP for the

declared supervisor. By signing the

property type.
D. When training for

general certification the supervisor must

appraisal report, the certified appraiser
accepts responsibility with the trainee for
the content of and conclusions of the report.

accompany the trainee on inspections of

(2) A trainee

the subject property on the first 25 non-
residential assignments; after that point, the

may assist in the performance of real
estate appraisals and claim full credit for

trainee may perform the inspections without

the actual hours worked on an appraisal,

the presence of the supervisor provided
the trainee is competent to perform
those inspections in accordance with the

provided the trainee maintains a log on a
form prescribed by the board.
(a) The

competency rule of USPAP for the property

log must detail all appraisals and related

type and market area; the supervisor and

activities performed by the trainee. The

trainee must have their primary business

hours claimed on the log must be verifiable

location in New Mexico.
E. The supervising

appraiser shall:

(1) review all

by either signature on the report or by other
written documentation in the work file.

(b)
The log must be updated and signed by the

appraisal reports and supporting data used

supervisor at least every 30 days.

in connection with appraisals in which the

(c) The

services of a trainee are utilized;

log must contain a statement affirming that

(2) certify that both the supervising appraiser and trainee
the report is in compliance with USPAP; have competence as defined by USPAP.
3) maintain an (3) Trainees

experience log jointly with the appraiser

must attend a supervisor/trainee education

trainee to ensure the experience log is
accurate, current and complies with the
requirements of the trainee appraiser’s
credentialing jurisdiction;

(4) sign the
appraisal experience log at least every
30 days and use the title “supervising
appraiser” when signing;

(5) review the

program approved by the appraisal board
before supervision begins. The trainee shall

not receive appraisal experience credit for
appraisals performed until the class is taken.

(4) Trainees
shall assure that the supervisor has properly

completed and sent the declaration form
to the appraisal board on or before the day
the trainee begins assisting the supervising

hours claimed on the log and address any

appraiser.

discrepancies.
F. Appraisal experience

(5) Trainees shall

not receive appraisal experience credit for

logs shall include:

(1) type of
property;

(2) date of report;

3) address of

appraised property;

appraisal and related activities performed in

violation of this section.
[16.62.2.9 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.3 NMAC,
Sections 1, 2 and 8, effective 01/01/2015.

16.62.3.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box-
25101 -SantaFe, NM-87504:]

[10/1/97; 16.62.3.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC
62.3.1, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.3.2 SCOPE: All
[apprentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[10/1/97; 16.62.3.2 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.3.2, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.3.8 LICENSE: A holder of
a license may appraise complex residential
or nonresidential real estate provided such
appraisals are not described or referred to as
meeting the requirements of FIRREA. The
holder of a license may not assume or use
any title, designation or abbreviation likely
to create the impression of certification.

A For federally related
transactions, the licensed real estate
appraiser classification applies to the
appraisal of non-complex one to four
residential units having a transaction value
less than $1,000,000 and complex one to
four residential units having a transaction
value less than $250,000.

B. Complex one-to four-
family residential property appraisal means
one in which the property to be appraised,
the form of ownership, or the market
conditions are atypical. For non-federally
related transaction appraisals, transaction
value shall mean market value.

C. All licensed real
estate appraisers must comply with the
competency rule of the national uniform
standards of professional appraisal practice
(USPAP)

D. Applicants for licensure
in the state of New Mexico must.

1) be a legal
resident of the United States;

) have reached
the age of majority;

3) prove
successful completion of real estate
appraisal education of at least 150 board-
approved classroom hours as outlined in the
required core curriculum of the appraiser
qualifications board (AQB); real estate
appraisal education programs completed for
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credit toward this requirement shall include coverage of the following modules (no more than 50% of the courses from courses (d) through
(9) may be from courses offered over the internet or distance learning modalities):

[ : sal-orinciol
: - e |
: omal .
- ol oot :
: : ol - - e
r : ot-sal : :
—(g)—residential-report writing-and-case studies 15-hetirs]
(a) basic appraisal principles 30 hours
(b) basic appraisal procedures 30 hours
(c) the 15 hour national USPAP course and examination 15 hours
(d) residential market analysis and highest and best use 15 hours
(e) residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach 15 hours
(f) residential sales comparison and income approaches 30 hours
(q) residential report writing and case studies 15 hours
4) successfully complete the appraiser qualifications board (AQB) approved licensed real estate appraiser

examination; there is no alternative to successful completion of the examination; successful completion of the examination is valid for a
period of 24 months, and the applicant must meet the requisite experience requirement within 24 months;

(5) courses taken in satisfying the qualifying education requirements shall not be repetitive in nature; each course
credited toward the required number of qualifying education hours shall represent a progression in which the appraiser’s knowledge is

increased;

(6) demonstrate to the board that he/she is honest, trustworthy and competent;

7) successfully complete a written examination on the New Mexico Real Estate Appraisers Act, administered by
the board;

(8) pay the fee set out in 16.62.12.8 NMAC;

9) meet the minimum criteria for state licensure issued by the appraisers qualifications board of the appraisal
foundation;

(20) submit a duly made application to the board office;
(11) completion of thirty (30) semester hours of college-level education from an accredited college or university.

(Effective January 1, 2015, the appraiser qualifications board of the appraisal foundation adopted changes of the real property appraiser

qualification criteria.)

E. Trainee appraisers wishing to change to the licensed appraiser classification must also satisfy the college-level
education requirements.
F. Appraisers holding a valid trainee appraiser credential may satisfy the educational requirements of 75 board-approved
hours for the licensed residential real property appraiser credential by completing the following additional educational hours:
(1) residential market analysis and highest and best use 15 hours
(2) residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach 15 hours
(3) residential sales comparison and income approaches 30 hours
(4) residential report writing and case studies 15 hours
G Appraisers holding a valid residential or general certified appraiser credential satisfy the educational requirements for

the licensed appraiser credential.
[E]H.

Experience: Applicants for state licensure must have a minimum of 2,000 hours of experience obtained in no fewer

than twelve (12) months in real property appraisal as defined in 16.62.1 NMAC, submitted on a form prescribed by the board and attested
to by the supervising appraisers under whose supervision the experience was obtained.
[10/1/97; 16.62.3.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 62.3.8, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06; A, 06/13/08; A, 08/21/10; A, 01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.4 NMAC,
Sections 1, 2 and 8, effective 01/01/2015.

16.62.4.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box-
25101 SantaFeNM-87504:]

[10/1/97; 16.62.4.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC
62.4.1, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.4.2 SCOPE: All
[apptentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[10/1/97; 16.62.4.2 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.4.2,09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.4.8 RESIDENTIAL
CERTIFICATION: Aholder of a
residential certificate is eligible to prepare
appraisals of all residential real estate

for federally related transactions or other
uses. He/she may appraise nonresidential
real estate provided such appraisals are
not described or referred to as meeting the

requirements of FIRREA. The holder of
a residential certificate may not assume or
use any title, designation or abbreviation
likely to create the impression of general
certification.

A. The certified residential
real estate appraiser classification qualifies
the appraiser to appraise one to four
residential units without regard to value
or complexity. The classification includes
the appraisal of vacant or unimproved
land that is utilized for one to four family
purposes or for which the highest and best
use is for one to four family purposes. The
classification does not include the appraisal
of subdivisions for which a development
analysis/appraisal is necessary.
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B. All certified residential real estate appraisers must comply with the competency rule of the national uniform standards
of professional appraisal practice (USPAP).
C. Applicants for certification in residential appraisal in the state of New Mexico must:
Q) be a legal resident of the United States;
2) have reached the age of majority;
?3) prove successful completion of real estate appraisal education of at least 200 board-approved classroom hours

as outlined in the required core curriculum of the appraiser qualifications board (AQB); real estate appraisal education programs completed
for credit toward this requirement shall include coverage of the following modules (no more than 50% of the courses from courses (d)
through (j). may be from courses offered over the internet or distance learning modalities):

[ : sal-orinciol
: - o |
: omal .
- ol oot :
: : ol - - e
r : ot-sal : :
- il ", :
: istics, ? q
i : o eati -
—(j)—appraisat-subject matter electives 20-hetirs]
(a) basic appraisal principles 30 hours
(b) basic appraisal procedures 30 hours
(c) the 15 hour national USPAP course and examination 15 hours
(d) residential market analysis and highest and best use 15 hours
(e) residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach 15 hours
(f) residential sales comparison and income approaches 30 hours
(q) residential report writing and case studies 15 hours
(h) statistics, modeling and finance 15 hours
(i) advanced residential applications and case studies 15 hours

0] appraisal subject matter electives 20 hours

an accredlted college or university: (Effectlve January 1, 2015, the appraiser quallflcatlons board of the appraisal foundation adopted
changes of the real property appraiser qualification criteria);

[€9] (5) pass examination: the appraiser qualifications board (AQB) approved certified real estate appraiser
examination must be successfully completed; there is no alternative to successful completion of the examination; the requisite experience
requirement must be met within 24 months, successful completion of the examination is valid for a period of 24 months;

[€8)] (6) assure courses taken in satisfying the qualifying education requirements are not repetitive in nature; each
course credited toward the required number of qualifying education hours shall represent a progression in which the appraiser’s knowledge
is increased;

[€9)] (7) demonstrate to the board that he/she is honest, trustworthy and competent;
[€26)] (8) successfully complete a written examination on the New Mexico Real Estate Appraisers Act, administered by

the board;
[€21)] (9) pay the fee set out in 16.62.12.8 NMAC;
[€22)] (10) meet the minimum criteria for the state residential certificate classification issued by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation;
[€3)] (11) submit a duly made application to the board office.
D. Trainee and licensed appraisers wishing to change to the residential certified appraiser classification must also satisfy

the college degree requirement.
E. Appraisers holding a valid general certified appraiser credential satisfy the educational requirements for the residential
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certified appraiser credential.

F. Appraisers holding a valid trainee appraiser credential may satisfy the educational requirements of 125 board-approved
hours for the certified residential real property appraiser credential by completing the following additional educational hours:
(1) residential market analysis and highest and best use 15 Hours
(2) residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach 15 Hours
(3) residential sales comparison and income approaches 30 Hours
(4) residential report writing and case studies 15 Hours
(5) statistics, modeling and finance 15 Hours
(6) advanced residential applications and case studies 15 Hours
(7 appraisal subject matter electives 20 Hours
G. Appraisers holding a valid licensed residential real property appraiser credential may satisfy the educational

requirements of 50 board-approved hours for the certified residential real property appraiser credential by completing the following
additional educational hours:

(1) statistics, modeling and finance 15 Hours
(2) advanced residential applications and case studies 15 Hours
(3) appraisal subject matter electives 20 Hours

[B]H. Experience: applicants for state residential certification must have a minimum of 2,500 hours of experience in real
property appraisal obtained during no fewer than twenty-four (24) months as defined in 16.62.1 NMAC, submitted on a form prescribed by
the board and attested to by the supervising appraiser under whose supervision the experience was obtained.

[10/1/97; 16.62.4.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 62.4.8, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06; A, 06/13/08; A, 08/21/10; A, 01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO REGULATION AND LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.5 NMAC, Sections 1, 2 and 8, effective 01/01/2015.

16.62.5.1 ISSUING AGENCY: Regulation and Licensing Department - NM Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box25161-
Santate, NM-87504]
[10/1/97; 16.62.5.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 62.5.1, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.5.2 SCOPE: All [apprentice] trainee real estate appraisers, licensed real estate appraisers, residential certified real estate
appraisers, general certified real estate appraisers and temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[10/1/97; 16.62.5.2 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 62.5.2, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.5.8 GENERAL CERTIFICATE: A holder of a general certificate may prepare appraisals on all real estate and may
indicate that such appraisals are state certified.
A All certified general real estate appraisers must comply with the competency rule of the national uniform standards of

professmnal practlce (USPAP)




New Mexico Register / Volume XXV, Number 23 / December 15, 2014 765
{e) appraiser-guatifications-board(AQB)-of the- (2) basic
MAcro-econormies; appraisat-foundation;] appraisal procedures
(e {H4)——submita-duly- 30 hours
finanee: mate-application-to-the board-office: (3) the 15 hour
{e) ——€——Experience:—applicants | national USPAP course and examination
atgebra,-geometry-or-highermathematies; for-state-generat-certification-musthavea 15 hours
() mintmum-of-3,000-hours-ofexperience-in- (4) general
statisties; reat-property-appratsal-obtained-during-ne- appraiser market analysis and highest and
o) fewer-than-thirty (30)-menths,-ef-which;- best use 30 hours
comptter-seiences; one-thotusane-five-hundred{1,500) hotrs- (5) general
{h) mustbe-t-nen-residential-appraisat-work- appraiser sales comparison approach
business-ertreal-estatetaw: as-definedHn-Part-1-submitted-en-aform- 30 hours
{H) two- | preseribee-by-the boare-and-attested-to- (6) general
by-the-dtty-certified-generat-supervising- appraiser site valuation and cost approach
appraiser-tnaerwhose-stpervision-the- 30 hours
experience-was-obtained:] (7) general
B. Applicants for the appraiser income approach
general certificate in the state of New 60 hours
Mexico must: (8) general
(1) be a legal appraiser report writing and case studies
resident of the United States; 30 hours
(2) have reached (9) appraisal
the age of majority; subject matter electives
(3) submit a duly 30 hours
made application to the board office. D. Appraisers holding
(4) hold a a valid trainee appraiser credential may

bachelor’s degree or higher from an
accredited college or university;
(5) demonstrate

satisfy the educational requirements of
225 board-approved hours for the certified
general real property appraiser credential

to the board that he/she is honest,
trustworthy and competent;
(6) successfully

by completing the following additional
educational hours:

(1) general

complete a written examination on the
New Mexico Real Estate Appraisers Act,

appraiser market analysis and highest and
best use 30 hours

administered by the board; (2) statistics,
(7 pay the fee set | modeling and finance
outin 16.62.12.8 NMAC; 15 hours
(8) meet (3) general
the minimum criteria for state general appraiser sales comparison approach
certification classification issued by the 30 hours
appraiser gualifications board (AQB) of the (4) general
appraisal foundation; (Effective January 1, appraiser site valuation and cost approach
2015, the appraiser qualifications board of 30 hours
the appraisal foundation adopted changes (5) general
of the real property appraiser qualification appraiser income approach
criteria). 60 hours
(9) successfully (6) general
complete the appraisal qualifications board appraiser report writing and case studies
(AQB) approved general certified real 30 hours
estate appraiser examination; there is no (7 appraisal
alternative to successful completion of subject matter electives
the examination; successful completion of 30 hours
the examination is valid for a period of 24 E. Appraisers holding

months; and

(10) successfully

a valid licensed residential real property
appraiser credential may satisfy the

complete the real estate appraisal core
curriculum educational requirements with

educational requirements of 150 board-
approved hours for the certified general real

a particular emphasis on non-residential

property appraiser credential by completing

properties.
C. Applicants shall

successfully satisfy the core curriculum

the following additional educational hours:
(1) general
appraiser market analysis and highest and

educational requirement of 300 board-

best use 15 hours

approved courses by completing the (2) statistics,
following: modeling and finance

(1) basic 15 hours
appraisal principles (3) general

30 hours

appraiser sales comparison approach
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15 hours “ | %:pg?egjee] " SC|OPtE; All _ NEW MEXICO
general rainee real estate appraisers,
appraiser site valuation and cost approach licensed real estate appraisers, residential REGULATION AND
15 hours certified real estate appraisers, general LICENSING DEPARTMENT
(5) general certified real estate appraisers and REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
appraiser income approach temporary licensed real estate appraisers. BOARD
45 hours [1/14/00; 16.62.6.2 NMAC - Rn &
(6) general A, 16 NMAC 62.61.2, 09/13/2004; A, .
appraiser report writing and case studies 01/01/2015] Th's_ is an amendment to 16.62.8 NMAC,
15 hours Sections 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15
(7) appraisal NEW M EXICO effective 01/01/2015.
subject matter electives
30 hours REGULATION AND 16.62.8.1 ~ ISSUING AGENCY:
F. Appraisers holding LICENSING DEPARTMENT | Regulation and Licensing Department - NM

a valid certified residential real property
appraiser credential may satisfy the
educational requirements of 100 board-
approved hours for the certified general real

property appraiser credential by completing

the following additional educational hours:

(1) general
appraiser market analysis and highest and
best use 15 hours

(2) general
appraiser sales comparison approach
15 hours
3) general
appraiser site valuation and cost approach
15 hours
(4) general
appraiser income approach
45 hours
(5) general
appraiser report writing and case studies
10 hours
G. Experience: applicants

for state general certification must have a
minimum of 3,000 hours of experience in
real property appraisal obtained during no
fewer than thirty (30) months, of which,
one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours
must be in non-residential appraisal work,
submitted on a form prescribed by the
board and attested to by the duly certified
general supervising appraiser under whose
supervision the experience was obtained.
[10/1/97; 16.62.5.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.5.8, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06; A,
08/21/10; A, 01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.6 NMAC,
Sections 1 and 2, effective 01/01/2015.

16.62.6.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box-
25101, -Santate, NM-87504]

[1/14/00; 16.62.6.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC
62.61.1, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.7 NMAC,
Sections 1, 2, 14 and 15, effective
01/01/2015.

16.62.7.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-6-Box-
25101 SantaFe NM-87504]

[10/1/97; 16.62.7.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC
62.7.1, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.7.2 SCOPE: All
[apptentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[10/1/97; 16.62.7.2 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.7.2, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.7.14 REINSTATEMENT
OF EXPIRED LICENSE: An expired
license may be reinstated within 90 days
after expiration upon submission of an
application, payment of the required
renewal administrative reinstatement

fee, proof of compliance with continuing
education requirements, and payment of
the reinstatement fee. The board may, in
its discretion, treat the former [apprentice]
trainee, license or certificate holder as a
new applicant and further require that the
applicant be reexamined as a condition to
reissue a license or certificate.

[10/1/97; 16.62.7.14 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.7.14, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.7.15 CHANGE OF
ADDRESS: [An-apprentice] A trainee,
license or certificate holder shall report to
the board in writing any change of business
address. Failure to do so within 30 days is
grounds for [apprentice] trainee, license or
certificate suspension.

[10/1/97; 16.62.7.15 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.7.15, 09/13/2004; A, 06/13/08;
A, 01/01/2015]

Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box-
25101, -Santa-Fe N 87504:]

[3/14/00; 16.62.8.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC
62.8.1, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.8.2 SCOPE: All
[apprenticereal-estate-appraisers]

trainees, licensed real estate appraisers,
residential certified real estate appraisers,
general certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[3/14/00; 16.62.8.2 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.8.2, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.8.6 OBJECTIVE: This
part provides requirements for approval of
educational courses for [pre-apprentiee]
pre-trainee, pre-licensing, and pre-
certification and continuing education
credit. It establishes requirements for
continuing education courses and sponsors.
It establishes an education advisory
committee to approve courses and sponsors
[ant-makerecommendations-to-the-board].
[3/14/00; 16.62.8.6 NMAC - Rn, 16
NMAC 62.8.6, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.8.8 ACCEPTABLE
COURSEWORK: All coursework for
original [apprentiee] trainee registration,
licensing and certification shall be given

in fifteen hour segments and have an
examination administered at the end of

the course. Successful completion of the
examination is a requirement to submit

the course for original [apprentice] trainee
registration, licensure or certification credit.
[3/14/00; 16.62.8.8 NMAC - Rn, 16
NMAC 62.8.8, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.8.9 RELEVANCE OF
COURSEWORK: All coursework for
original [apprenticeship] trainee, licensing
or certification shall be in courses closely
related to real estate appraisal. The board
will not accept an applicant’s completion
of a course of a kind, which is designed

to prepare students for examination,
commonly known as a “cram course”. All
real estate appraisal coursework credited

toward original [apprenticeship] trainee,
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licensure or certification shall have been
completed no more than ten (10) years prior
to the date of the application filed with the
board.

[3/14/00; 16.62.8.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.8.9, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.8.11 ACCEPTABLE
CONTINUING EDUCATION: Courses
approved for continuing education credit
shall have significant intellectual or
practical content and shall deal primarily
with matters directly related to appraisal
practice or to the ethical obligations of
[apprentices] trainees, licensees and
certificate holders. The primary objective
of such courses shall be consistent with the
board’s charge to protect the public and

to increase the professional competence
of [apprentices] trainees, licensees and
certificate holders. No more than fourteen
(14) of the hours may be from courses
offered over the internet or other distance
learning modalities.

[3/14/00; 16.62.8.11 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.8.11, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06;
A, 08/21/2010; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.8.12 CONTINUING
EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:
Thirty-two (32) hours of continuing
education are required each biennial
renewal period. Continuing education
requirements for initial [apprentices]
trainees, licenses and certificates issued
for less than two full years are pro-rated as
defined in 16.62.7.12 NMAC.

A Individuals must
successfully complete the seven (7) hour
national uniform standards of professional
appraisal practice (USPAP) update
course, or its equivalent as approved by
the appraiser qualifications board (AQB).
Successful completion includes passing
an exam if required by the appraiser
qualifications board (AQB).

B. Successful completion
of the AQB approved seven (7) hour
national USPAP update course and the
four (4) hour board approved renewal
update course will be required of every
[apptentice] trainee, licensee and certificate
holder as a condition of renewal in each
biennial renewal.

[3/14/00; 16.62.8.12 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.8.12, 09/13/2004; A,
11/25/2006; A, 08/21/2010; A, 1/16/2011;
A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.8.13 EDUCATION

ADVISORY COMMITTEE: The

board will appoint an education advisory

committee for the purpose of reviewing

courses and sponsors of education. [Fhe-
. i .

the-board as te-its findings:]

A A committee
[recommendation-of] approval shall go into
effect immediately upon the committee’s
decision [ane-shalnotbe-stbjectto-reversat
by-the-board].

B. [A-committee-

. i Fshall
committee’sfinding:] The board maintains
the ability to review all approvals or
disapprovals made by the committee.
[3/14/00; 16.62.8.13 NMAC - Rn,

16 NMAC 62.8.13, 09/13/2004; A,
08/21/2010; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.8.14 APPROVAL OF
SPONSORS: The board may approve
individuals or organizations as course
sponsors. Colleges and universities offering
credit courses in real estate appraisal are
also considered approved sponsors.

A Requests for approval
must be made on board approved forms and
include a data storage device (CD or USB)
containing an outline and a code of conduct
for instructors.

B. The instructor selection
and retention policy will include, at a
minimum, the following requirements:

1) instructors
of qualifying education courses must be
licensed by exam or certified at the same or
a higher category than the level of classes
they are engaged to teach.

2) instructors
engaged to teach the national uniform
standards of professional appraisal practice
(USPAP) course must qualify under the
instructor evaluation policy for instructor
selection for the national USPAP course
developed by the appraisal foundation;

3) instructors
must teach only the appraisal foundation-
approved national uniform standards of
professional appraisal practice (USPAP)
course;

4) student
critiques must be requested and maintained
for each class given;

(5) a summary of
the critiques and the pass rate of the class
must be submitted to the board within 30
days after the course is completed;

(6) the sponsor
shall provide a procedure for periodic
monitoring of instructors in the classroom
setting along with the sponsor application.

C. Approved sponsors
shall comply with the following
requirements to maintain approved status;
the school must be conducted in accordance
with these rules:

1) to permit the
board or its representative access to the
school or classes being conducted
and to make available to the board, upon
request, all information pertaining to the

activities of the school required for the
administration of the rules and regulations,
including its financial condition;

2 to advertise
the school at all times in a form and manner
free from misrepresentation, deception or
fraud;

3) assure that all
representations made by anyone authorized
by the school to act as its agent or solicitor
for prospective students are free from
misrepresentation, deception or fraud;

4) when a school
closes, all student records shall be submitted
to the board within 30 days;

(5) to maintain
current, complete, and accurate student
records and instructor critiques or
summaries which shall be accessible at
all times to the board or its authorized
representative; these records shall include,
in addition to other information, a record of
payments made, a record of attendance, and
a record of units of work completed,;

(6) to conduct
all courses in accordance with outlines
submitted to and approved by the board;

@) to only certify
course completion for students who have
successfully taken and passed the course;
credit cannot be given for students who pass
a course by challenging the course;

(8) sponsors will
be subject to renewal of approval every
three (3) years or on a renewal period as
determined by the AQB expiration date; the
board assumes no responsibility for renewal
courses not received from the sponsor for
any reason; it is the sponsor’s responsibility
to make timely request(s) for the renewal of
course(s) for board approval;

9) sponsors must
assure that all instructors:

(@)
conduct all classes in accordance with board
rules;

(b)
ensure that all instruction is free from
misrepresentation;

(©
instruct only from board-approved outlines;

(d)
allow access to any class being instructed
to any duly appointed representative of the
board; and

(€
certify to his/her sponsor a true and correct
record of students’ attendance in his/her
classes;

(10) failure to
comply with this rule may result in the loss
of approval of the sponsor; and

(11) the board
reserves the right to disapprove an
instructor.

D. Sponsors may also be
approved for seminars, conferences and
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one-time courses. Approval is limited to the

dates of the course and may not be renewed.
[3/14/00; 16.62.8.14 NMAC - Rn, 16
NMAC 62.8.14, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/2006;
A, 01/16/2011; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.8.15 APPROVAL OF
COURSES:
A All real estate appraisal

courses except the appraisal qualifications
board (AQB) approved fifteen (15) hour
and seven (7) hour national USPAP
courses, must have prior approval by the
board if they are to be approved for credit
towards continuing education or qualifying
education. Beginning January 1, 2008,

all qualifying education courses for [pre-
apprentiee] pre-trainee, pre-licensing and
pre-certification must have been approved
through the AQB course approval program.
The AQB approved fifteen (15) hour
national USPAP course and the seven (7)
hour national USPAP update course do not
require prior approval by the board with
proof that the course was taught by an
AQB certified national USPAP instructor
who is also a residential or general certified
appraiser. The course sponsor may certify
in the form of a certificate provided to the
student that the instructor meets the above
board criteria.

B. All board approved real
estate courses except the AQB approved
fifteen (15) hour national USPAP course and
the seven (7) hour national USPAP update
course, as defined in Subsection A of this
section, accepted for [pre-apprentice] pre-
trainee, pre-licensing and pre-certification
credit must: be a minimum length of at least
fifteen (15) hours and include successful
completion of an approved closed-book
examination pertinent to that educational
offering.

C. Application for course
approval must be made to the board. No
classes for credit may commence prior to
board approval. The education advisory
committee will review the application [ane-
make-arecommendation-to-the-board] in
accordance with 16.62.8.13 NMAC.

D. All course outlines
approved by the board for [pre-
apprenticeship] pre-trainee, pre-licensing,
pre-certification [ef] and continuing
education credit shall become the property
of the board and the outlines shall be
available to all those board approved
sponsors wishing to teach said courses.

E. All existing courses
are subject to periodic review by the board.
The board may at any time change the
approval status of any course.

[3/14/00; 16.62.8.15 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.8.15, 09/13/2004; A,
11/25/2006; A, 01/16/2011; A, 7/10/2011;
A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.8.16 ONE-ON-ONE
APPROVAL: The [boaretpon-
recommendation-of-the] education advisory
committee may approve continuing
education credit on a one-on-one basis

for courses that do not conform fully with
16.62.8.14 NMAC or 16.62.8.15 NMAC.
[3/14/00; 16.62.8.16 NMAC - Rn, 16
NMAC 62.8.16, 09/13/2004 A, 01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.9 NMAC,
Sections 1, 2 and 8, effective 01/01/2015.

16.62.9.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box-
25101 -SantaFe; NIVH-87504]

[3/15/00; 16.62.9.1 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC
62.9.1, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.9.2 SCOPE: All
[apprenticereal-estate-appraisers]

trainees, licensed real estate appraisers,
residential certified real estate appraisers,
general certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[3/15/00; 16.62.9.2 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.9.2, 09/13/2004; A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.9.8 CERTIFICATE OF
GOOD STANDING/FEE: The board
shall issue a certificate of good standing to
any state [apprentice] trainee, licensed [of]
and certified real estate appraiser who is
currently or has been credentialed under the
act by virtue of having met the following
requirements.

A The [apprenticeship]
trainee, license [ef] and certificate of the
applicant must pay the required fees in full.

B. The applicant’s
appraiser [apprenticeship] trainee, license
[et] and certificate must not be under
suspension or revocation as a result of
disciplinary action by the board, and the
[apprenticeship] trainee, license [ef] and
certificate holder must not be the subject
of a pending notice of contemplated action
issued by the board.

C. The certificate of good
standing shall specify the current license
status and license history of the applicant.
Verification of license history and good
standing may also be obtained from the
national registry of real estate appraisers.

D. The applicant must
submit a written request and pay a fee set
by the board for issuance of the certificate
of good standing.

[2/28/94; 3/15/00; 16.62.9.8 NMAC - Rn
& A, 16 NMAC 62.9.8, 09/13/2004; A,
11/25/06; A, 01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.10
NMAC, Sections 1, 2, 7, 8 and 9, effective
01/01/2015.

16.62.10.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box-
25101 -Santa-Fe N 87504:]

[3/15/00; 16.62.10.1 NMAC - Rn,

16 NMAC 62.10.1, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.10.2 SCOPE: All
[apprentice] trainee real-estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[3/15/00; 16.62.10.2 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.10.2, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.10.7 DEFINITIONS:
[RESERVED] “Assignment” means one
or more real estate appraisals and written
appraisal report(s) covered by a single
contractual agreement for a specified
number of properties.

[16.62.10.79 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

16.62.10.8 TEMPORARY
PRACTICE PERMITS:
A. All persons who engage

in the business of, act in the capacity of,
advertise or display in any manner or
otherwise assume to engage in the business
of, or act as, a state real estate appraiser
must have a board license or permit.

B. A temporary permit
may be issued to non-resident appraiser
licensed and certified appraiser for the
purpose of performing an appraisal or an
appraisal review.
[—€——Appticantsshat-submit

JARY A\ ifinat:
L) vermeaauon
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in-which-they-are-ticensed-or-certified;

YA a ctat +
7)) a StatcIeTIc

of a real estate appraiser issued by another
state.

(2) The
temporary permit may only be issued on
an assignment basis. A single assignment
may include one or more properties under a

single contract with a single client.
3) The out
of state appraiser must comply with the

the declared disaster with the same level

of licensure they currently hold at no cost

upon satisfying the following requirements:
Q) receipt

by the board of a completed application

which has been signed and notarized and

which is accompanied by proof of identity,

which may include a copy of a [erivers]

driver’s license, passport or other photo

national USPAP and with the board’s
statutes and rules.

(4) The out of
state appraiser is subject to the board’s
jurisdiction.

E. Applicants shall submit

a form approved by the board to include the

following:
(1) verification
of license history and good standing as

9 temporary obtained from the national registry of real
permitextension-may be-obtaineduponthe- | estate appraisers; the board may obtain
wittenreguest submitted-to-the-board-office | verification and certification from the ASC
by-the-temporary-permit-holdera-36-tay- website;
extension-withkbe-granted-to-the-established- (2) the
expiration-date-to-complete-the-specified- classification of the license or certification
asstgnment: they hold;
——bB——In-appraisatreview (3) whether they
of aNew-Mexicoreal-propertythe- are subject to disciplinary action in the state
reviewingappraiser musthave-aNew- in which they are licensed or certified; if
Mexicoresidentiat-certification-or-general subject to disciplinary action, submittal of
certification-from-the-state-of New-Mexico: | afinal order and letter of closer should also
———(h)——1Intheease be submitted;
of a-temporary practice-permit-for-that-one- (4) a statement
asstgnment;-the-temporary-permit-must certifying that the applicant’s business in
be-aresidentiat-certification-or-generat- New Mexico is temporary and will not
certification-thatis-the-same-or-greater exceed 180 days;
certification-than-that-of the-eriginal- (5) a statement
appraiser-of the-appraisat: and accompanying contract identifying the
—(2)——1nthecaseof | specific assignment to which the temporary
ateview-appraiserwith-on-opinten-of-vatue; | permit will apply;
thereview appraiser musthave-geographic- (6) an irrevocable
competency-ant-dSPAP-compliance-with- statement consenting that suits and actions
this-competency-in-the-report:] may be commenced against him/her in the

C. Temporary practice for proper court of any county of New Mexico

an appraisal review of a New Mexico real

arising from the applicant’s actions as a

property:

state licensed or certified appraiser;

(1) The (7) the fee
reviewing appraiser must have a New specified in 16.62.12 NMAC.
Mexico residential certification or general F. A temporary permit

certification.
(2) The
temporary permit must be a New Mexico

extension may be obtained upon the written

request submitted to the board office by the
temporary permit holder; a one-time 30-day

residential certification or general
certification that is the same or greater
certification than that of the original
appraiser of the appraisal.

3) In the case of
a review appraiser with an opinion of value,
the review appraiser must have national
USPAP compliance with competency in the

report.

D. Temporary practice for
an appraisal assignment of a New Mexico

real property

(1) Pursuant to
Title XI, the board shall recognize, on a
temporary basis, the certification or license

extension will be granted to complete the
specified assignment.

[3/15/00; 16.62.10.8 NMAC - Rn, 16
NMAC 62.10.8, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06;
A, 10/16/09; A, 08/21/10; A, 01/01/15]

16.62.10.9 PROVISIONS FOR
EMERGENCY LICENSURE:

A. Licensed real estate
appraisers currently licensed and in
good standing, or otherwise meeting the
requirements for New Mexico licensure
in a state in which a federal disaster has
been declared, may be licensed in New
Mexico during the four months following

identification issued by a governmental
entity;

2 refer to
16.62.2.8 NMAC, [apprentice] trainee;
16.62.3.8 NMAC, licensed; 16.62.4.8
NMAC, residential; and 16.62.5.8 NMAC,
general;

3) other
required verification will be to contact the
[appticants] applicant’s prior licensing
board by email, mail or telephone.

B. The board may waive
the following requirements for licensure:
Q) application
fees;
2 taking and

passing the NM state exam; the applicant
will be required to take and pass the NM
state exam within 60 days from the date the
emergency license is issued.

C. The board may waive
the specific forms required under 16.62.2.8,
16.62.3.8, 16.62.4.8 and 16.62.5.8
NMAC if the applicant is unable to obtain
documentation from the federal declared
disaster areas.

D. Nothing in this section
shall constitute a waiver of the requirements
for licensure contained in 16.62.2.8,
16.62.3.8, 16.62.4.8 and 16.62.5.8 NMAC.

E. Licenses issued
under (the emergency provision) shall
expire on April 30 following the date of
issue, unless the board or an agent of the
board approves a renewal application.
Application for renewal shall be made on
or before April 30 following the date of
issue to avoid late renewal fees. The board
reserves the right to request additional
documentation, including but not limited
to, recommendation forms and work
experience verification forms prior to
approving license renewal.

[16.62.10.9 NMAC - N/E, 11/10/05; A,
11/25/06; A, 01/01/2015]
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NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.11 NMAC,
Sections 1, 2 and 8, effective 01/01/2015.

16.62.11.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department, NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board [;P-6-Box-
25161-Santafe, NM-87504].

[16.62.11.1 NMAC - N, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.11.2 SCOPE: All
[apptentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[16.62.11.2 NMAC - N, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.11.8 APPLICATION FOR
RECIPROCITY:
A Applications for New

Mexico state licensed appraiser, residential

or general certified appraisers must hold

an appraisers license or certificate in

another state [ant-that-state-mtst-extend-the-
it i et

oo ti - isers].
B. Applicants for

reciprocity in the state of New Mexico
must:

(1) come from
a home state where the credentialing
requirements meet or exceed the New
Mexico board of real estate appraisers
requirements;

) complete
an application for New Mexico state
licensed appraiser or certified appraiser,
including the first page, the personal history
questionnaire, three letters of verification, a
2” X 2” photograph;

?3) verification
of license history and good standing as
obtained from the national registry of real
estate appraisers;

4) submit copy
of current license;

(5) pay the
appropriate fee by check or money order;
[—————————FA6—Hilean-

: I ) .

the ple. “.'S.'a' sof H. ASALI .8 Section 61
30-20-B-in that suits & d aelt_la Smayne
process-so-deseribed:]

[€A] (6) comply with
all the New Mexico board of real estate
appraisers statutes, rules and regulations;

and

(7) rely on a
credential from a home state that complies
with Title X1 as determined by the appraisal

subcommittee;

C. A reciprocal license
shall expire two years after issuance.
D. Renewal requirements

shall be in the same manner and with
the same requirements as for the same
classification of certified or licensed
appraiser as stated in 16.62.7 NMAC
[16.62.11.8 NMAC - N, 09/13/2004; A,
11/25/06; A, 01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.12
NMAC, Sections 1, 2 and 8, effective
01/01/2015.

16.62.12.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-6-Box-
25101 SantaFe, NM-87504]

[2/29/96; 16.62.12.1 NMAC - Rn,

16 NMAC 62.12.1, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.12.2 SCOPE: All
[apptentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[2/29/96; 16.62.12.2 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.12.2, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.12.8 FEES: All fees
required under the Real Estate Appraiser
Act or these regulations are non-refundable
unless otherwise noted.

A. Application fee for

[apptrenticeship] a trainee is $200, which
includes the initial [apprenticeship] trainee
period.

B. Application fee for a
license is $300, which includes the initial
licensing period.

C. Application fee for
residential certification is $300, which
includes the initial licensing period.

D. Application fee for
general certification is $400, which includes
the initial licensing period.

E. The fee for all
examinations will be paid directly to the
company who provides the exam.

F. The biennial renewal

fee for [apprentice] trainee appraisers is

$200. During the implementation of the
biennial renewal schedule, renewals issued
for less than a two-year period will be pro-
rated at $55 per year or portion of a year.
Any renewal issued for less than six months
will be charged $30.

G. The biennial renewal
fee for licensed appraisers is $300. During
the implementation of the biennial renewal
schedule, renewals issued for less than a
two-year period will be pro-rated at $110
per year or portion of a year. Any renewal
issued for less than six months will be
charged $55.

H. The biennial renewal
fee for residential certified appraisers is
$300. During the implementation of the
biennial renewal schedule, renewals issued
for less than a two-year period will be pro-
rated at $110 per year or portion of a year.
Any renewal issued for less than six months
will be charged $55.

l. The biennial renewal
fee for general certified appraisers is $355.
During the implementation of the biennial
renewal schedule, renewals issued for less
than a two-year period will be pro-rated
at $155 per year or portion of a year. Any
renewal issued for less than six months will
be charged $80.

J. The current fee for
listing on the federal registry as charged by
the appraisal subcommittee (ASC).

K. The application fee for
a temporary practice [eertificate] permit is
[$356] $250.

L. The fee for replacement

of [apprentice] trainee, license or certificate
is $50.

M. The fee for a certificate
of good standing is $25.
N. Administrative
reinstatement fee is $200.
0. Administrative late fee
is $100.00.
P. Administrative fees as
follows:
Q) approved
continuing education course is $50;
2 approval of
continuing education sponsorship is $75;
3) licensee list is
$150;
4) miscellaneous

is $25 up to a max of $100.

[2/29/96; 16.62.12.8 NMAC - Rn,

16 NMAC 62.12.8, 09/13/2004; A,
08/21/2010; A, 01/16/2011; A, 7/10/2011;
A, 01/01/2015]
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NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.13
NMAC, Sections 1, 2, 6, 7, 8,9, 10, 12 and
14, effective 01/01/2015.

16.62.13.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box-
25101, Santa Fe, NM 87504.]

[10/1/97; 16.62.13.1 NMAC - Rn,

16 NMAC 62.13.1, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.13.2 SCOPE: All
[apptrentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[10/1/97; 16.62.13.2 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.13.2, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.13.6 OBJECTIVE: This
part lists actions which can be the cause of
disciplinary action by the board against [an-
apprentice] a trainee, licensee or certificate
holder and provides a procedure for a
respondent to accept a letter of reprimand
pursuant to violations of law or regulations.
[10/1/97; 16.62.13.6 NMAC - Rn, 16
NMAC 62.13.6, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06,
A, 01/01/2015]

16.62.13.7 DEFINITIONS:
“Complaint committee” shall be appointed
by the board. Complaint committee
chairperson shall be an appraiser board
member. The complaint committee
is for the purpose of [reviewof]
evaluating complaints [-ane-shat-make-
. .
;_eee_ |]e. dation(s) to-the-board as to-its
[10/1/97; 16.62.13.7 NMAC - Rn &
A, 16 NMAC 62.13.7, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.13.8 FILING

COMPLAINT: Upon receipt of a sworn
complaint against any person who is [af-
apprentiee] a trainee, licensed or certified
under the Real Estate Appraisers Act, the

board [shaH-catise-an-investigation-to-be-
tnitiateet] may administratively evaluate the

receipt of a complaint, the board may:

A. evaluate or investigate
the alleged violations;

B. refer the matter to a
peer committee; or

C. dispose of a complaint
if it determines that there is insufficient
information, lack of probable cause,
lack of jurisdiction or if the complaint is
determined to be frivolous.
[10/1/97; 16.62.13.8 NMAC - Rn &
A, 16 NMAC 62.13.8, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.13.9 REVIEW OF
COMPLAINT: The chairman of the

board shall appoint at least one appraiser
member of the board to [review-the-restits
ofinvestigation-of] evaluate each complaint
filed with the board.

A The board member
appointee/[reviewer] evaluator shall also
be chairperson of the complaint committee.
The administrative review of complaints
shall be completed by this person.

B. The complaint
committee may perform a regulatory review

of an appraisal that is the subject of a
complaint. Complaint committee members
shall be competent to review an appraisal.
C. The complaint
committee may refer the appraisal that is the

within time frame specified, may result

in disciplinary action up to and including
revocation of license at the discretion of the
board.

[16.62.13.10 NMAC - N, 11/25/06; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.13.12 REPRIMAND
PUBLIC RECORD: The fact that [an-
apprentiee] a trainee appraiser, license or
certificate holder has received a letter of
reprimand is a matter of public record.
[10/1/97; 16.62.13.12 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.13.12, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.13.14 REFUSAL,
SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION:
A Disciplinary

proceedings may be instituted by the
sworn complaint of any person, including
members of the board, filed with the board.
The complaint shall conform with the
provisions of the Uniform Licensing Act,
Section 61-1-1 et seq., NMSA 1978.

B. In accordance with
the procedures contained in the Uniform
Licensing Act, the board may deny, revoke
or suspend any [apprentiee] trainee, license
or certificate held or applied for upon
finding, after a hearing, that the [apprentice]
trainee appraiser, licensee, certificate holder

subject of a complaint to a peer committee
to perform a Standard 3 review of the
appraisal.

[B)] D. Upon completion
and review of the investigation initiated
pursuant to this regulation, the board
member appointee/[reviewer] evaluator
along with the complaint committee shall
either recommend the case be closed or
shall submit to the board a recommendation
for further disciplinary action.

E. If the board member
appointee/evaluator and board counsel
determine that there is insufficient
information, lack of probable cause,
lack of jurisdiction or if the complaint is
determined to be frivolous, an investigation
shall not be initiated and the complaint
shall be deemed invalid and closed without
further incident.

[10/1/97; 16.62.13.9 NMAC - Rn &
A, 16 NMAC 62.13.9, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.13.10
COMPLAINT:
A [Oponreeeiptof-

asworr-comptaint] In response to an
investigation against any person who is [af-

RESPONDING TO

complaint to determine whether sufficient
information of a potential violation of board

statute or rules, or the national uniform
standards of professional appraisal practice
(USPAP) exists to pursue investigation and
possible formal disciplinary action. Upon

apprentiee] a trainee, licensed or certified
under the Real Estate Appraisers Act, the
respondent must respond within ten (10)
days of receipt as allowed by the Uniform
Licensing Act.

B. Failure to respond

or applicant has violated any provision of
the Real Estate Appraisers Act (Section 61-
30-1 et seq., NMSA 1978) or regulations
or continually or repeatedly or persistently
or willfully violated any of the prohibitions
found hereinafter:

Q) obtaining or
attempting to obtain any fee through fraud,
misrepresentation, or other dishonesty;

2 impersonating
another person [apprenticed] trainee,
licensed or certified to practice real estate
appraisal or permitting or allowing any
person to use his/her registration, license or
certificate;

3) aiding or
abetting the practice of real estate appraisal
by a person not [apprenticed] a trainee,
licensed or certified by the board;

4) the
suspension or revocation by another state of
[an-apprentiee] a trainee registration, license
or certificate to practice real estate appraisal
based upon acts by the [apprentice] trainee
appraiser, certificate holder or licensee
similar to acts described in the section;

(5) the
solicitation of any person either by [ar-
apprentiee] a trainee appraiser, licensee
or certificate holder or by one in his/her
employ or under his/her control under
circumstances suggesting that the appraiser
or other person was taking advantage of
the person being solicited from making a
rational independent decision as to whether
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or not to obtain the services of an appraiser,
or any particular appraiser;

(6) falsifying of
real estate appraisal records, whether or not
for personal gain;

@ practicing
beyond the scope of the [apprenticeship]
trainee, license or certificate as defined by
state law and/or regulations;

(8) advertising
in any manner that violates the board’s
regulation on advertising, as provided in
16.62.16 NMAC; or

9) making
false statements in any application for
[apprenticeship] trainee, licensure or
certification.

C. If the complaint
committee, following an investigation and
review, believes there is sufficient evidence
that would justify denying, revoking
or suspending a professional license or
taking other disciplinary action, it will
recommend to the board to issue a notice of

contemplated action (“NCA”).

D. Based on the board’s
decision, board staff will send a request
for an NCA to the litigation division of
the attorney general’s office. The NCA
request must include a description of the
licensee’s allegedly improper conduct
and the provisions of the board’s practice
act and rules that the conduct allegedly
violated. If the respondent is an applicant,
the NCA must include an explanation as
to why the board is contemplating denying
licensure. An assistant attorney general
in the litigation division, referred to as the
“administrative prosecutor,” will review
the file. Based on his/her review, the
administrative prosecutor may return the
file to the board for additional investigation
or information or will draft an NCA.

E. Constitutional due
process principles require a board to
conduct an administrative hearing at the
timely request of a respondent who has
been served with an NCA. The respondent
is entitled to:

(1) a statement of
the charge(s);

(2) notice of the
time and place of the hearing;

(3) a hearing
before an impartial decision maker;

(4) the right to

cross-examine witnesses who testify against

him/her;

(5) the right to
present his or her own witnesses, and
(6) the right to

be represented by an attorney or a licensed
member of the profession or both.
[10/1/97; 16.62.13.14 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 62.13.14, 09/13/2004; A, 11/25/06;
A, 01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.15
NMAC, Sections 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, and
12, effective 01/01/2015.

16.62.15.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-6-—Box-
25101-SantaFe, NM-87504]

[3/15/00; 16.62.15.1 NMAC - Rn,

16 NMAC 62.15.1, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.15.2 SCOPE: All
[apprentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[3/15/00; 16.62.15.2 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.15.2, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.15.6 OBJECTIVE: This
part provides for inactive status, retirement
and reinstatement of [an-apprentice] a_
trainee, license or certificate under certain
circumstances.

[3/15/00; 16.62.15.6 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.15.6, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.15.8 RETIREMENT: Any
appraiser who wishes to retire from practice
shall notify the board in writing prior to the
expiration of [the-apprenticeship] trainee,
license or certificate. The notice will be
recorded in the minutes of the board. The
appraiser shall be exempt from payment of
the yearly renewal fees during the period of
retirement.

A. No request for
retirement status will be accepted if the
appraiser is under investigation or facing
disciplinary proceedings.

B. An appraiser does not
have to meet an age requirement in order to

request retirement status.
C. Licensees on retirement

status will be reported to the national
registry.

[3/15/00; 16.62.15.8 NMAC - Rn &
A, 16 NMAC 62.15.8, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.15.9 REINSTATEMENT:
Any appraiser who has retired as
provided in 16.62.15.8 NMAC, may,
within two years from the date the active

[apptrenticeship] trainee, license or

certificate expired, [notify-the-board-of-hist
i i ice] apply

to the board for reinstatement of license or

certificate.

[3/15/00; 16.62.15.9 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.15.9, 09/13/2004; A,

01/01/2015]

16.62.15.10 APPLICATION
FOR REINSTATEMENT: [Uponteeeipt

i i - i . . .
oF w 'H’E otice |55t||||55 i 16:62:15 E.
aaFa aser & a_aahs_atllal_ for rei SEE'EE.F. © t.]

A The application for the
reinstatement of [an-apprentice] a license
or certificate shall provide space for the
applicant to provide the board the following
information:
(1) the [seriat]

license number of the former [apprentice]
trainee, license or certificate;

2 the full name
of the applicant;
3) the date of the
original issue;
4) the date of the
applicant’s retirement.
B. The application must

be completed and returned to the board
with a check or money order in an amount
equivalent to all lapsed renewal fees. In
addition, the applicant for reinstatement

of [apprenticeship] trainee, license or
certificate must offer proof sufficient to
satisfy the board that he/she has taken in
the calendar year immediately [proceeding]
preceding the application for reinstatement,
a minimum of fourteen clock hours per year
missed in refresher courses in addition to
any hours of continuing education units the
applicant might have been delinquent prior
to retirement. Prior to reinstatement, the
applicant must show proof that he or she is
current with all continuing education hours
required for each year in retirement status.

C. [Any-appraiser-who-
may-apply-at-any-time:] The application
must be completed within two (2) years
from the date the active trainee, license or
certificate expired. The application will be
reviewed by the board at its next regularly
scheduled meeting. If the board finds the
application in order and is satisfied that the
applicant for reinstatement has fulfilled the
requirements as specified, the board shall
issue the applicant a registration, license or
certificate.

D. No appraiser who has
retired shall reactivate his/her practice until
a new [apprentiee] trainee registration,
license or certificate is received. The
appraiser shall not prepare an appraisal
while in retirement status.
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istnderinvestigation-or-facing-diseiptinary- | original issue; (d)
proceedings:] (4) the date of the | residential sales comparison and income
[3/15/00; 16.62.15.10 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 applicant’s inactive status. approaches;

NMAC 62.15.10, 09/13/2004; A, 06/13/08; B. The application (e)
A, 01/01/2015] must be completed and returned to the residential report writing and case studies.
board with a check or money order in an (2) general
16.62.15.11 INACTIVE STATUS: amount described in 16.62.12 NMAC. In certified appraisers:
A. The following criteria addition, the applicant for reinstatement (a) 15
must be met for inactive status eligibility: of trainee, license or certificate must hour national USPAP;
(1) the licensee provide satisfactory proof of completion (b)
must be in good standing; and of the continuing education requirements general appraiser market analysis and
(2) the license described in 16.62.8 NMAC. highest and best use;

must be current.
B. A licensee who fails to

C. The application will be

(c)

reviewed by the board at its next reqularly

general appraiser site valuation and cost

renew a license by April 30 of any year,

scheduled meeting. If the board finds the

approach;

shall renew the license in accordance with

application is in order and is satisfied that

(d)

the Appraisal Act before the licensee can be

the applicant for reinstatement has fulfilled

general appraiser sales comparison and

considered for inactive status.

the requirements as specified, the board

income approaches;

C. A licensee who wishes shall issue the applicant a registration, (e)
to be placed on inactive status shall: license or certificate. general appraiser report writing and case
(1) Notify the in D. No appraiser who has studies;
writing prior to the expiration of the license | an inactive status shall reactivate his/her (H
or certificate. The notice will be recorded in | practice until a new trainee registration, general appraiser income approach.
the minutes of the board; and license or certificate is received. H. The application will be

(2) Pay the fees

E. No application for

established by the board to be placed on

inactive status will be accepted if the

inactive status.
D. A licensee on inactive

appraiser is under investigation or facing

reviewed by the board at its next regularly
scheduled meeting. If the board finds the
application in order and is satisfied that the

disciplinary proceedings.

status shall not engage in any activity for

F. If the inactive licensee

applicant for reinstatement has fulfilled the
requirements as specified, the board shall

which registration is required.
E. Rendering or offering to

applies for reinstatement to active status

issue the applicant a registration, license or

more than three (3) years after trainee,

render in appraisal services or engaging in

license or certificate has been placed on

certificate.
. No appraiser who has

the any appraisal activity while on inactive

inactive status, the applicant shall:

status shall be considered sufficient grounds

(1) complete an

an inactive status shall reactivate his/her
practice until a new trainee registration,

for disciplinary action by the board.

F. When an appraiser
holds an inactive license and represents
himself/herself in public statements that

application for reinstatement to include the

license or certificate is received.

following:
(a)

J. No application for
inactive status will be accepted if the

the license number of the former trainee,

appraiser is under investigation or facing

include but are not limited to, paid or

license or certificate;

disciplinary proceedings.

unpaid advertising, brochures, printed (b) the K. A licensee on inactive
matter, directory listings, personal full name of the applicant; status shall not render or offer to render
resumes or curricula vitae, interviews or (c) the appraisal services or otherwise engage in
comments for use in media, statements date of the original issue; the any appraisal practice until the board
in legal proceedings, lectures, and public (d) the issues a new license.
oral presentations, must disclose that with date of the applicant’s inactive status; [16.62.15.12 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]
an inactive license, and shall not provide (2) take and pass
appraisal consulting. the state examination. NEW MEXICO

G. Licensees on inactive G. The application REGULATION AND
status will be reported to the national must be completed and returned to the

registry.
[16.62.15.11 NMAC - N, 01/01/2015]

board with a check or money order in an
amount described in 16.62.12 NMAC. In
addition, the applicant for reinstatement

16.62.15.12 REINSTATEMENT of traineeship, license or certificate must
FROM INACTIVE STATUS: provide satisfactory proof of completion
A. The inactive licensee of the continuing education requirements

may apply for reinstatement to active status

described in 16.62.8 NMAC in addition to

within three (3) years after trainee, license

classroom hours:

or certificate has been placed on inactive (1) Licensed and
status. The applicant shall complete an residential certified appraisers:
application for reinstatement to include the (a) 15

following:
(1) the license

hour national USPAP;

(b)

number of the former apprentice/trainee,

residential market analysis and highest and

license or certificate;
(2) the full name

best use;

()

of the applicant;
3) the date of the

residential appraiser site valuation and cost
approach;

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.16
NMAC, Sections 1, 2, 6 and 8, effective
01/01/2015.

16.62.16.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box-

25101-SantaFe; NM-87504]

[3/15/00; 16.62.16.1 NMAC - Rn,

16 NMAC 62.16.1, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.16.2 SCOPE: All
[apprentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
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licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general
certified real estate appraisers and
temporary licensed real estate appraisers.
[3/15/00; 16.62.16.2 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.16.2, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.16.6 OBJECTIVE: This
part provides requirements for advertising
by [apprentices] trainees, licensees and
certificate holders.

[3/15/00; 16.62.16.6 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.16.6, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.16.8 REQUIREMENTS/
LIMITATIONS
A No appraiser shall

advertise or procure another to advertise,
nor personally solicit or procure another to
personally solicit on his/her behalf or on the
behalf of another, in a manner that is false,
fraudulent or misleading.

B. No firm, group or
association may advertise as being [af-
apprentiee] a trainee, licensed or certified.
The individual members of the firm, group
or association must be listed along with
the scope of their apprenticeship, licenses
or certifications. Sole practitioners must
include their name and the scope of their
apprenticeship, license or certificate in
every advertisement.

C. Advertisement for
appraiser individuals or firms shall conform
to the ethics provisions of the uniform
standards of professional appraisal practice.
[3/15/00; 16.62.16.8 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.16.8, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.62.17
NMAC, Sections 1 and 2, effective
01/01/2015.

16.62.17.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
Regulation and Licensing Department - NM
Real Estate Appraisers Board. [P-O-Box-
25101 SantaFe NV-87504]

[3/15/00; 16.62.17.1 NMAC - Rn,

16 NMAC 62.17.1, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

16.62.17.2 SCOPE: All
[apptrentice] trainee real estate appraisers,
licensed real estate appraisers, residential
certified real estate appraisers, general

certified real estate appraisers, temporary
licensed real estate appraisers and members
of the general public.

[3/15/00; 16.62.17.2 NMAC - Rn &

A, 16 NMAC 62.17.2, 09/13/2004; A,
01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND
LICENSING DEPARTMENT

REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.65.1 NMAC,
Section 7, effective 01/01/2015.

16.65.1.7 DEFINITIONS: All
words and terms defined in the Appraisal
Management Company Registration Act

have the same meaning in these rules.

A Terms starting with the
letter ‘A’ are defined as follows.
1) “Act” means

the Real Estate Appraisal Management
Company Registration Act.

2) “Applicant”
means a company who has submitted
an application to the board seeking
registration.

(3) “Appraisal”
means the act or process of developing
an opinion of the value of real property in
conformance with the uniform standards for
professional appraisal practice published by
the appraisal foundation.

(4) “Appraisal
foundation” means the appraisal foundation
incorporated as an Illinois not-for-profit
corporation on November 30, 1987, and
which reference is made in the federal
Financial Institutions Examination Council
Act of 1978, as amended by Title 11, Real
Estate Appraisal Reform Amendments.”

(5) “Appraisal
management company (AMC)”
means a corporation, partnership, sole
proprietorship, subsidiary, limited liability
company or other business entity that:

(a)
contracts with independent appraisers to
perform real estate appraisal services for
clients;

(b)

receives requests for real estate appraisal
services from clients and for a fee paid by
client, enters into an agreement with one or
more independent appraisers to perform the
real estate appraisal services contained in
the request;
(©)

otherwise serves as a third-party broker
of appraisal management service between
clients and appraiser.

(6) “Appraisal

management services” means the process of
receiving a request for the performance of
real estate appraisal services from a client,
and for a fee paid by the client, entering into
an agreement with one or more independent
appraisers to perform the real estate
appraisals services contained in the request.

(7 “Appraisal
review” the act or process of developing
and communicating an opinion about the
quality of another appraiser’s work that
was performed as part of an appraisal, or
an appraisal review [er-appraisat-consutting
assignment].

(8) “Appraisal
review report” is a report that develops
or communicates an opinion about the
quality of another appraiser work that was
performed as part of an appraisal.

9) “Appraisers
Act” means the New Mexico Real Estate
Appraisers Act as defined in NMSA 1978,
Section 61-30-1 (1990).

(10) “Assignment”
means one or more real estate appraisals
and written appraisal report(s) covered by a
single contractual agreement for a specified
number of properties.

B. Terms starting with the
letter ‘B’ are defined as follows.
Q) “Board”

means the New Mexico real estate
appraisers board.

2 “Board
file” means all documents that an AMC
is required to create and maintain for the
board.

C. Terms starting with the
letter ‘C’ are defined as follows.
(@) “Client”

means a person or entity that contracts
with, or otherwise enters into an agreement
with an appraisal management company
for the performance of real estate appraisal
services.

2 “Complaint
committee” is a board appointed committee
that is composed for the purpose of
reviewing complaints and making
recommendation to the board as to its
findings.

3) “Controlling
person” (CP) means:

@) an
owner, officer or director of a corporation,
partnership, limited liability company
or other business entity seeking to offer
appraisal management services in this state;

(b)
an individual employed, appointed or
authorized by an appraisal management
company that has the authority to enter into
a contractual relationship with clients for
the performance of appraisal management
services and that has the authority to enter
into agreements with independent for
the performance of real estate appraisal
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Services; or

(c)
an individual who possesses, directly or
indirectly, the power to direct or cause the
direction of the management or polices of
appraisal management companies.

4) “Clerical
review” is a non-standard three review of
the completeness of the appraisal.

D. Terms starting with the
letter ‘D’. [RESERVED]

E. Term starting with the
letter ‘E” is defined as follows:

(1) “employee in
charge (EIC)” means a designated employee
of the appraisal management company, with
the responsibilities and obligations to the
board set forth with these rules.

(2) “evaluation”
is a valuation permitted by the board’s
appraisal regulations for transactions
that qualify for the appraisal threshold
exception, business loan exception, or
subsequent transaction exception.

F. Term starting with the
letter ‘F’ is defined as follows: “FIRREA”
means the Financial Institutions Reform,
Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989,
and its amendments.

G. Terms starting with the
letter ‘G’ [RESERVED]
H. Terms starting with the

letter ‘H’ [RESERVED]
l. Terms starting with the
letter ‘I’ [RESERVED]

J. Terms starting with the
letter *J’ [RESERVED]

K. Terms starting with the
letter ‘K’ [RESERVED]

L. Terms starting with the
letter ‘'L’ [RESERVED]

M. Terms starting with the
letter ‘M [RESERVED]

N. Term starting with

the letter ‘N’ is defined as follows:
“nonresident appraiser” means an individual
or entity that holds a current registration or
license in another state.

0. Term starting with the
letter “‘O’ is defined as follows: “outsourced
appraisal review” is an appraisal review
conducted by a licensed appraiser who is
not an employee of the AMC.

P. Terms starting with the
letter ‘P’ are defined as follows.
1) “Panel”

means a group of independent appraisers
that have been selected by an appraisal
management company to perform real
estate appraisal services for the appraisal
management company.

2) “Peer review”
is an opinion as to the completeness
of [an-othef] another appraiser’s work;
completed by a licensed appraiser of
similar experience and qualifications for the
purpose of making a recommendation to the

board as to its findings.

Q. Terms starting with the
letter ‘Q” [RESERVED]

R. Terms starting with the
letter ‘R” [RESERVED]

S. Term starting with
the letter ‘S’ is defined as follows: “staff
appraiser” is an appraiser hired by an AMC
as an employee, who is licensed by the
board, to act as an appraiser and is subject
to these rules.

T. Terms starting with the
letter “T’ [RESERVED]
u. Term starting with the

letter ‘U’ is defined as follows: “uniform
standards of professional appraisal practice
(USPAP)” means the uniform standards or
professional appraisal practice promulgated
by the appraisal foundation and adopted by
rules pursuant to the Real Estate Appraiser
Act. USPAP deals with the procedures to be
followed in which an appraisal, analysis, or
opinion is communicated.

V. Terms starting with the
letter vV’ [RESERVED]
W. Term starting with the

letter ‘W’ is defined as follows: “work
file” is documentation necessary to support
an appraiser’s analyses, opinions, and
conclusions.

X. Terms starting with the
letter ‘X’ [RESERVED]

Y. Terms starting with the
letter “Y” [RESERVED]

Z. Terms starting with the
letter ‘2’ [RESERVED]
[16.65.1.7 NMAC - N, 10/16/09; A,
01/01/2015]

NEW MEXICO
REGULATION AND

LICENSING DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.65.2 NMAC,
Sections 8 and 12, effective 01/01/2015.

16.65.2.8 AMC
REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS:
Each AMC applying to the board for
registration shall:

A. designate one
controlling person (CP) that will submit to
service of process;

B. designate one employee
in charge (EIC) that will be the main contact
for all communication between the board
and the AMC (CP may be designated as the
EIC, if that person meets all qualifications
required by the board);

C. specify all entities
doing business as (DBA) under the AMC;
D. certify that all

appraisers added to the panel of the AMC

hold a New Mexico license and certificate
in good standing as an appraiser;

E. the AMC shall evaluate
all appraisers within the renewal period to
ensure that the real estate appraisal services
are being conducted in accordance with the
uniform standards of professional appraisal
practices and board rules;

F. maintains a board file,
containing:

Q) a detailed
record of each service request and the
independent appraiser that performs the real
estate appraisal services for the AMC;

2 certification
and evaluation of all appraisers, as required
under Subsections C and D;

3) list of all non-
taxable transaction certificates issued;
4) a detailed

record of the process and criteria that the
AMC has in place to review the work of
appraisers; and

(5) written
procedure for contracting with and paying
appraisers.

G. maintain a bond or
other equivalent means of surety:

Q) a bond of
[ter-theusane-doHars{$10,000)] twenty-
five thousand dollars ($25,000) shall
be underwritten by a corporate surety
authorized to transact business in New
Mexico; such bond shall meet the following
conditions:

(@)
payments from a bond required pursuant
to this section shall only be used to cure
violations caused by a registrant, confirmed
by the board;

(b)
claims against the bond shall be made
within two years following the board’s final
decision and order, finding a violation;

(c)
bonds shall be construed so that the
corporate surety may pay claimants directly,
upon approval by the board;

[te)] (d) the
total aggregate liability of the surety for all

claims shall be limited to the face amount of
the board;

[teh] (e) the
bond carrier shall provide to the board and
to the AMC thirty [elay’s] days prior written
notice of intent to cancel a bond required
pursuant to this section; the surety for
such a bond shall remain liable under the
provisions of the bond for all obligations of
the principal pertaining to bond terms that
occur before the bond is canceled, expires
or otherwise becomes ineffective;

[te)] ()
failure to maintain the bond for the period
required by law is cause for revocation of
the AMC registration; and

[H] (@ if
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the bond is canceled, expires or otherwise
becomes ineffective during the period of
the registration, the AMC shall immediately
notify the board; if the AMC has not
provided proof of a new bond before the
fortieth day after the date on which the bond
was canceled, expired or otherwise became
ineffective, the AMC shall be subject to
revocation of its registration for failure to
maintain a bond;

2) asan
equivalent means of surety, an AMC may
maintain an agreement of cash collateral
assignment executed with a state or
national bank or federally insured savings
association authorized to do business
in New Mexico as trustee; interest, if
any, accumulating on the cash collateral
assignment shall accrue to the AMC.
[16.65.2.8 NMAC - N, 10/16/09; A,
01/16/11; A, 01/01/2015]

16.65.2.12 LETTERS OF
ENGAGEMENT: Prior to placing an
assignment for real estate appraisal services,
the AMC shall give the appraiser a written
letter of engagement that shall include the
following minimum requirements. The
written letter may be in electronic format.

A An AMC must clearly
indicate on each engagement letter that it
is a requirement for an appraiser to be both
product and geographically competent to
complete the assignment. The acceptance of
an assignment will serve as the appraiser’s
attestation that they are competent to accept
the assignment. An AMC must clearly
disclose its registration number on each
engagement letter sent to an appraiser.

B. An AMC must disclose
the following fees within the engagement
letter sent to an appraiser;

Q) the total fee
that will be collected by the AMC for the
assignment; [anet]

2) the total
amount that the AMC will retain from the
fee charged, disclosed as a dollar amount;
and

3) direct the
appraiser who performs the real estate
appraisal activity to disclose in the body of
the appraisal report:

(@)
the total compensation, stated as a dollar
amount, paid to the appraiser or, if the
appraiser is employed by an appraisal
company, to the appraiser’s employer; and

(b) the
total compensation retained by the AMC
in connection with the real estate appraisal
activity, stated as a dollar amount.

C. An AMC shall
provide an NTTC to New Mexico licensed
appraisers who perform appraisal services
for an AMC who will subsequently resell
the appraiser services to lenders. In order

to execute NTTC’s to appraisers, an

AMC must register with the New Mexico
taxation and revenue department and
obtain a combined reporting system (CRS)

identification number for tax reporting
purposes.

[16.65.2.12 NMAC - N, 10/16/09;
16.65.2.12 NMAC - N, 01/16/11; A,
01/01/2015]

End of Adopted Rules Section
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