
New Mexico Register
The official publication for all official notices of rulemaking

 and filing of proposed, adopted and emergency rules.

Volume XXXII - Issue 17 - September 14, 2021



COPYRIGHT © 2021
BY

THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED



The New Mexico Register
Published by the Commission of Public Records, 

Administrative Law Division
1205 Camino Carlos Rey, Santa Fe, NM 87507

The New Mexico Register is published twice each month by the Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division.  
The cost of an annual subscription is $270.00. Individual copies of any Register issue may be purchased for $12.00. Subscription 

inquiries should be directed to: The Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division, 1205 Camino Carlos 
Rey, Santa Fe, NM 87507. 

Telephone: (505) 476-7941; Fax: (505) 476-7910; E-mail: staterules@state.nm.us.
The New Mexico Register is available free at http://www.srca.nm.gov/new-mexico-register/



New Mexico Register
Volume XXXII, Issue 17

September 14, 2021
Table of Contents

Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules

ARCHITECTS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR
 Notice of Public Hearing....................................................................................................................................1037

DENTAL HEALTH CARE, BOARD OF
 Notice of Public Rule Hearing and Regular Board Meeting..............................................................................1038

EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION AND CARE DEPARTMENT
 Notice of Rulemaking and Public Rule Hearing................................................................................................1039
 Notice of Rulemaking and Public Rule Hearing................................................................................................1042
 Notice of Rulemaking and Public Rule Hearing................................................................................................1048

GAME AND FISH DEPARTMENT
 State Game Commission Meeting and Rulemaking Notice...............................................................................1052
 State Game Commission Meeting and Rulemaking Notice...............................................................................1053

HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT
CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT DIVISION
 Notice of Rulemaking Hearing...........................................................................................................................1053

PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY, BOARD OF
 Public Rule Hearing and Regular Board Meeting..............................................................................................1055

REGULATION AND LICENSING DEPARTMENT
COUNSELING AND THERAPY PRACTICE BOARD
 Public Rule Hearing and Regular Board Meeting..............................................................................................1056
PHARMACY, BOARD OF
 Notice of Regular Board Meeting and Rule Hearing.........................................................................................1059

SUPERINTENDENT OF INSURANCE, OFFICE OF
 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking........................................................................................................................1060
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Adopted Rules
A = Amended, E = Emergency, N = New, R = Repealed, Rn = Renumbered

REGULATION AND LICENSING DEPARTMENT
PHARMACY, BOARD OF
 16.19.4 NMAC  A Pharmacist.................................................................................................1063
 16.19.20 NMAC  A Controlled Substances...............................................................................1066
 16.19.30 NMAC  A Compounding of Non-Sterile Pharmaceuticals.........................................1074
 16.19.31 NMAC  A Emergency Provisions...............................................................................1077

STATE ETHICS COMMISSION
 1.8.3 NMAC  A State Ethics Commission Administrative Hearings..................................1078

WORKFORCE SOLUTIONS, DEPARTMENT OF
 11.3.300 NMAC  A Claims Administration..............................................................................1088
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

iii



iv

Other Material Related to Administrative Law
HEALTH, DEPARTMENT OF
 Amended Public Health Order 8/22/2021..........................................................................................................1091

STATE ETHICS COMMISSION
 Notice of Minor, Nonsubstantive Correction......................................................................................................1092

_________________________________________________________________________________________________



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXII, Issue 17/ September 14, 2021 1037

Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules
ARCHITECTS, BOARD OF 

EXAMINERS FOR

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Public Notice. The New Mexico 
Board of Examiners for Architects 
(NMBEA) gives notice that it will 
conduct a public hearing and regular 
meeting of the Board virtually on 
October 22, 2021 at 10:00am.  The 
purpose of the public hearing is to 
receive public input on the proposed 
amendment to 16.30.1 NMAC- 
General Provisions, 16.30.3 NMAC- 
Registration and Renewal, Duplicate 
Certificates, Seal Specifications and 
Document Identification, 16.30.4 
NMAC- Code of Conduct, 16.30.5 
NMAC- Enforcement, and 16.30.7 
NMAC- Licensure for Military 
Service Members, Spouses and 
Veterans.  The board will hold a 
regular board meeting following the 
public hearing.

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/867328755
54?pwd=MnNoMHFuRVEyY3dBcT
AxTC9DSmZxZz09

Meeting ID: 867 3287 5554
Passcode: 043113
One tap mobile
+12532158782,86732875554#,*0431
13# US (Tacoma) 
+13462487799,86732875554#,*0431
13# US (Houston)

Dial by your location
        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
        +1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)
        +1 301 715 8592 US 
(Washington DC)
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
        +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

Meeting ID: 867 3287 5554
Passcode: 043113
Find your local number: https://
us02web.zoom.us/u/kevzW8Mvyi

Purpose.  The purpose of the 
proposed change to 16.30.1.7 is to 
clarify the standard that would qualify 

as misconduct for unauthorized use of 
an architect’s seal.  The purpose of the 
proposed change to 16.30.3.8 NMAC 
serve to add a list of disqualifying 
criminal convictions for registrants 
and potential registrants pursuant to 
Section 61-1-36 NMSA 1978.  The 
purpose of the proposed changes to 
16.30.3.10 NMAC is to adjust the 
timeframe for an applicant seeking 
registration through reciprocity to 
one year and enable Board staff to 
raise issues with potential registrants 
for consideration by the enforcement 
subcommittee.  The purpose of the 
proposed changes to 16.30.3.12 is to 
adjust the fee schedule and reporting 
requirements for those registrants who 
fail to timely complete continuing 
education.  The purpose of the 
proposed change to 16.30.4.11 is to 
add a reference to the enumerated list 
in 16.30.3.8 in the list of potential 
areas of discipline for a registrant.  
The purpose of the proposed change 
to 16.30.5.8 is to adjust the manner in 
which a complaint shall be initiated 
to include a reference to allegations 
being made under penalty of perjury.  
The purpose of the proposed change 
to 16.30.5.7 is to update the reference 
to the Parental Responsibility Act to 
the correct statute, Section 40-5A-1 
through 13NMSA 1978.The purpose 
of the proposed changes to 16.30.7.8 
is to bring the board into compliance 
with Section 61-1-34, NMSA 1978.

The statutory authorization.  
Section 61-15-4 NMSA 1978 grants 
the board authority to make rules 
not inconsistent with law in order 
to promote the public welfare and 
protect the citizens of New Mexico.

No technical information serves as a 
basis for this proposed rule change.

Public comment.  Interested parties 
may provide comment on the 
proposed amendments of this state 
rule at the public hearing or may 
submit written comments to Melarie 
Gonzales, New Mexico Board of 
Examiners for Architects, P. O. Box 
509, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504, 
or by electronic mail at nmbea@state.

nm.us, or fax to (505) 476-4829.  All 
written comments must be received 
no later than 5:00 p.m. (MDT) on 
the date of the public hearing.   The 
public comment period is from 
September 14, 2021 to October 18, 
2021 at 5:00 p.m. (MDT).

Copies of the proposed rules.  
Copies of proposed rules may be 
accessed through the New Board of 
Examiners for Architect’s website at 
https://www.bea.state.nm.us, or may 
be obtained from Melarie Gonzales 
by contacting her at (505) 476-4833 
during regular business hours.

Individuals with disabilities who 
require the above information in an 
alternative format, or who need any 
form of auxiliary aid to attend or 
participate in the public hearing are 
asked to contact Melarie Gonzales at 
(505) 476-4833 as soon as possible 
before the date set for the public 
hearing.  The NMBEA requires at 
least ten (10) calendar days advance 
notice to provide any special 
accommodations requested.

Summary of Proposed Changes.  
The Board summarizes its proposed 
changes to its administrative rules as 
follows: 

16.30.1.7 NMAC – General 
Provisions 
As a general summary, the proposed 
changes to 16.30.1.7 NMAC adjust 
the qualifications of misconduct for 
unauthorized use of a registration 
seal.  The changes now reflects a 
“knowingly” standard, in place of 
the previous standard which used 
the term “all reasonable measures. 
is to clarify language and to add a 
new provision to the definition of 
misconduct to account for the misuse 
of an architectural seal. 

16.30.3.8 NMAC– General 
Qualifications
As a general summary, the proposed 
changes to 16.30.3.8 NMAC serve 
to add a list of disqualifying criminal 
convictions pursuant to Section 61-1-
36 NMSA 1978.  This list enumerates 
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those felonies for which convictions 
could result in denial of an application 
or disciplinary action. 

16.30.3.10 NMAC– Registration 
through Reciprocity
As a general summary, the proposed 
changes to 16.30.3.10 NMAC adjust 
the timeframe from six months 
to one year for a reciprocity and 
enables board staff to raise issues 
with reciprocity applications with the 
enforcement subcommittee.

16.30.3.12 NMAC- Continuing 
Education
As a general summary, the proposed 
changes to 16.30.3.12 NMAC is to 
update the fee schedule for licensees 
who fail to timely complete the 
required continuing education hours.  
The adjusted fee schedule permits the 
reporting of excessive violations to 
the National Council of Architectural 
Registration Boards (“NCARB”).

16.30.4.11 NMAC- Compliance with 
Laws
As a general summary, the proposed 
changes to 16.30.4.11 NMAC is to 
add a reference to the enumerated 
crimes listed in 16.30.3.8 that 
would disqualify an architect from 
practicing.

16.30.5.7 NMAC- Definitions
As a general summary, the proposed 
changes to 16.30.5.7 NMAC 
update the reference to the Parental 
Responsibility Act to the correct 
statute, Section 40-5A-1 through 
13NMSA 1978.

16.30.5.8 NMAC- Complaints
As a general summary, the proposed 
changes to 16.30.5.8 is to clarify 
language to include language for 
complaints signed under penalty of 
perjury.

16.30.7.8 NMAC- Expedited 
Licensure 
As a general summary, the proposed 
changes to 16.30.7.8 NMAC add a 
reference to Section 61-1-34 NMSA 
and mandate that the Board comply 
with the provisions of this section.
______________________________

DENTAL HEALTH CARE, 
BOARD OF

NOTICE OF PUBLIC RULE 
HEARING AND REGULAR 

BOARD MEETING

The New Mexico Board of Dental 
Health Care will hold a rule hearing 
on Friday, October 22, 2021, at 8:30 
a.m.  Following the rule hearing, the 
Board will convene a regular board 
meeting to adopt the rules and take 
care of regular business.  The rule 
hearing and board meeting will be 
held at the Regulation and Licensing 
Department, 2550 Cerrillos Road, 
Santa Fe, NM, in the Rio Grande 
Conference Room for those desiring 
to attend in person.

Face masks are required to be worn 
in the Toney Anaya Building for all 
in-person attendees.

The meeting will also be held via 
Cisco Webex Meetings for those 
desiring to attend virtually.

https://nmrld.webex.com/nmrld/
onstage/g.php?MTID=ed033715e113
3f11efaff9466b3065126

To join the meeting by phone:  1-415-
655-0002 United States Toll

Access Code:  146 906 6180

The purpose of the rule hearing is to 
consider proposed amendments to the 
following rules:
16.5.1 NMAC   – General Provisions 
16.5.59 NMAC – Licensure for 
Military Service Members, Spouses, 
Dependent Children and Veterans

To obtain and review copies of 
the proposed changes and public 
comments, you may go to the Board’s 
website at:  https://www.rld.nm.gov/
boards-and-commissions/individual-
boards-and-commissions/dental-
health-care-overview/dhc-board-
information/dhc-board-meetings/ or 
contact the Boards and Commissions 
Division at (505) 476-4622.

The Board is currently accepting 
public written comments on the 
proposed amendments.  Please submit 
written comments on the proposed 
changes to Roberta Perea, Board 
Administrator, via electronic mail 
at:  Dental.Board@state.nm.us, or 
by regular mail at P.O. Box 25101, 
Santa Fe, NM 87504, no later than 
Thursday, October 21, 2021.  Written 
comments received prior to the rule 
hearing will be posted to the RLD 
website at:  https://www.rld.nm.gov/
boards-and-commissions/individual-
boards-and-commissions/dental-
health-care-overview/dhc-laws-rules-
and-policies/.  Persons will also be 
given the opportunity to present their 
written or oral comments at the public 
rule hearing.

The agenda for the board meeting will 
be posted and available at least 72 
hours before the meeting on the Board 
website at https://www.rld.nm.gov/
boards-and-commissions/individual-
boards-and-commissions/dental-
health-care-overview/dhc-board-
information/dhc-board-meetings/.  
Copies of the rules or the agenda 
may also be obtained by contacting 
Roberta Perea, Board Administrator at 
(505) 476-4622.

An individual with a disability who is 
in need of a reader, amplifier, qualified 
sign language interpreter, or other 
form of auxiliary aid or service to 
attend or participate in the hearing, 
please contact Roberta Perea, Board 
Administrator (505) 476-4622.

Statutory Authority:  The Dental 
Health Care Act, NMSA 1978, 
Sections 61-5A-10(B) (1) and (5).

Purpose of the Proposed Rules:  
The purpose of the rule hearing is to 
receive written and oral comments 
from the public on proposed rules 
amending 16.5.59 NMAC - Licensure 
for Military Service Members, 
Spouses, Dependent Children and 
Veterans to comply with 2021 
legislative changes made during the 
regular session in HB 120 Military 
Spouses Expedited Licensure signed 
into law by Governor Lujan Grisham 
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on April 6, 2021 and amending 16.5.1 
NMAC - General Provisions to 
comply with 2021 legislative changes 
made during the special session in 
SB2 Expungement of Certain Records 
signed into law by the Governor 
Lujan Grisham on April 12, 2021.
 
Summary of Proposed Changes:

16.5.1 NMAC - General Provisions
The amendments to this part is to 
add a new section to the rule to be in 
compliance with the 2021 legislative 
change regarding SB2 Expungement 
of Certain Records.  The proposed 
rule sets out what criminal felony 
convictions directly relate to the 
particular employment, trade, 
business or profession of dentistry 
or hygienist that may disqualify the 
applicant or licensee from holding a 
license.  The rule also defines how 
the conviction may and may not be 
used when reviewing an application 
for licensure or for violation of Board 
statute or rules by a current licensee.

16.5.59 NMAC - Licensure for 
Military Service Members, Spouses, 
Dependent Children and Veterans
The amendments to this part includes 
a repeal and replace due to the 
2021 legislative change regarding 
HB120 Military Spouses Expedited 
Licensure.  The proposed rule changes 
the time for approving an application 
for license from sixty days to thirty 
days and removes “recent” from the 
definition of veteran.  The rule also 
sets out application and renewal 
requirements.
______________________________

EARLY CHILDHOOD 
EDUCATION AND CARE 

DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING AND 
PUBLIC RULE HEARING

The New Mexico Children, Youth 
and Families Department (CYFD) 
and the Early Childhood Education 
and Care Department (ECECD) 
hereby gives notice as required under 
Section 14-4-5.2 NMSA 1978 and 
1.24.25.11 NMAC that it proposes to 

adopt amendments to the following 
rules regarding SOCIAL SERVICES 
CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD 
CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS 
FOR CLIENT AND CHILD CARE 
PROVIDERS as authorized by 
Section 9-2A-1 to 9-2A-16, NMSA 
1978 and 9-29-6, NMSA 1978:

8.15.2.6 NMAC OBJECTIVE
8.15.2.7 NMAC DEFINITIONS
8.15.2.9 NMAC PRIORITIES FOR 
ASSISTANCE
8.15.2.10 NMAC APPLICATION 
PROCESS
8.15.2.11 NMAC ELIGIBILITY 
REQUIREMENTS
8.15.2.12 NMAC 
RECERTIFICATION
8.15.2.13 NMAC CLIENT 
RESPONSIBILITIES
8.15.2.14 NMAC CASE 
SUSPENSIONS AND CLOSURES
8.15.2.15 NMAC PROVIDER 
REQUIREMENTS
8.15.2.17 NMAC PAYMENT FOR 
SERVICES
8.15.2.21 NMAC SANCTIONS

No technical scientific information 
was consulted in drafting these 
proposed rules.

Purpose and summary of proposed 
rules:  The purpose of the rulemaking 
is to promulgate permanent 
amendments to 8.15.2 NMAC, 
which were initially published as 
emergency amendments effective July 
1, 2021, and August 1, 2021, along 
with additional necessary changes.  
Due to the COVID-19 health crisis 
and the resulting executive orders 
and declarations, along with the 
federal Child Care Development 
Fund (CCDF) grant, there was an 
emergency need for amendments 
to 8.15.2 NMAC in order to protect 
the public from an imminent peril to 
public health, safety and welfare of 
children and families in New Mexico 
and ensure continued federal funding. 
In summary, the proposed rules will 
update necessary health and safety 
changes for the provision of child care 
services in New Mexico as well as 
make changes required by the CCDF 

grant. A summary of the proposed 
amendments is attached to this notice.

As part of the amendment process, 
ECECD will hold a public rule 
hearing for the proposed amendments 
on October 28, 2021 from 1:00 to 
4:00 p.m.  The deadline for submittal 
to the New Mexico Register is on 
August 26, 2021, with a publication 
date of September 14, 2021.
Copies of the proposed amended rules 
may be found at ECECD’s website at 
https://www.newmexicokids.org/ no 
later than September 14, 2021.

Notice of public rule hearing:  The 
public rule hearing will be held on 
Thursday, October 28, 2021 at 1:00 
p.m. to 4:00 p.m. The hearing will 
be held in Apodaca Hall of the Old 
PERA building located at 1120 Paseo 
de Peralta, Santa Fe, New Mexico 
87502 and via virtual web platform 
(Zoom), email, and telephonic means. 
The public hearing will be conducted 
in a fair and equitable manner by an 
ECECD agency representative or 
hearing officer and shall be recorded. 
Any interested member of the public 
may attend the hearing and will be 
provided a reasonable opportunity to 
offer public comments, either orally 
or in writing, including presentations 
of data, views or arguments, on the 
proposed rules during the hearing. 
Individuals with disabilities who need 
any form of auxiliary aid to attend or 
participate in the public hearing are 
asked to contact ECECD at ECECD-
ECS-PublicComment@state.nm.us 
or call (505) 231-5820. ECECD will 
make every effort to accommodate 
all reasonable requests but cannot 
guarantee accommodations of a 
request that is not received at least 
ten calendar days before the schedule 
hearing.

Notice of acceptance of written 
public comment:  Written public 
comments, including presentation of 
data, views, or arguments about the 
proposed rules, from any interested 
member of the public, may be 
submitted via email to ECECD-
ECS-PublicComment@state.nm.us 
with the subject line “8.15.2 NMAC 
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Public Comment” or via first class 
mail to P.O. Drawer 5619, Santa Fe, 
New Mexico 87502-5619. Written 
comments may be delivered to the 
Old PERA building at 1120 Paseo 
de Peralta on Thursday, October 28, 
2021 from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
The comment period ends at the 
conclusion of the public hearing 
October 28, 2021.

Any interested member of the public 
may attend the hearing in person 
or via the virtual web platform or 
telephone, and offer public comments 
on the proposed rule during the 
hearing. To access the hearing by 
telephone: place call 1-720-707-2699, 
access code 823 7497 1518. You 
will be able to hear the fille hearing 
and your telephone comments will 
be recorded. To access the hearing 
via the internet: please go to htttps://
zoom.us/82374971518, and follow 
the instructions indicated on the 
screen – Meeting ID (access code): 
823 7497 1518#. This will be a live 
stream of the hearing. You may also 
provide comments via Chat during the 
live stream.

THE EARLY CHILDHOOD 
EDUCATION AND CARE 
DEPARTMENT’S (ECECD) 
SUMMARY OF PROPOSED 
AMENDMENTS TO 8.15.2 NMAC

8.15.2.6 NMAC OBJECTIVE: 
ECECD proposes amendments that 
include non-discrimination language 
and an objective related to the federal 
Child Care and Development Block 
Grant (CCDBG) and the Child Care 
Development Fund (CCDF).

8.15.2.7 NMAC DEFINITIONS: 
ECECD proposes updates to the 
definitions of various terms (“Job 
Training and Educational Program,” 
“Temporary Change of Activity,” 
and “Family, Friend, or Neighbor 
(FFN)”) and includes new proposed 
terms (“Essential Worker” and 
“Termination”).

8.15.2.9 NMAC PRIORITIES FOR 
ASSISTANCE: ECECD proposes 
updates to the child care priorities for 

assistance requirements that include 
the provision of a new category, 
“priority four plus,” for increased 
eligibility.

8.15.2.10 NMAC APPLICATION 
PROCESS: ECECD proposes 
updates to the child care assistance 
application process requirements that 
include a list of acceptable documents 
for eligibility and related issues.

8.15.2.11 NMAC ELIGIBILITY 
REQUIREMENTS: ECECD 
proposes updates to the eligibility 
requirements for child care assistance 
in order to clarify the eligibility 
period, placement agreements and 
related issues.

8.15.2.12 NMAC 
RECERTIFICATION: ECECD 
proposes updates to the recertification 
process for child care assistance in 
order to increase eligibility based on 
income and for essential workers.

8.15.2.13 NMAC CLIENT 
RESPONSIBILITIES: ECECD 
proposes updates to the requirements 
related to client responsibilities to 
remove restrictions placed on the co-
payment for child care.

8.15.2.14 NMAC CASE 
SUSPENSIONS AND CLOSURES: 
ECECD proposes updates to 
the requirements related to case 
suspensions and closures to clarify 
that the eligibility period for child 
care assistance lasts for 12 months.

8.15.2.15 NMAC PROVIDER 
REQUIREMENTS: ECECD 
proposes updates to the provider 
requirements that removes the five 
dollar registration/education fee paid 
to providers, clarifies that owners and 
licensees cannot receive child care 
assistance for their own children, 
and requires updated policies and 
procedures.

8.15.2.17 NMAC PAYMENT FOR 
SERVICES: ECECD proposes 
updates to the requirements related 
to the payment for services that 
increases the child care subsidy rates 

paid to providers, based on a cost 
estimation model, makes related 
updates, and removes outdated 
requirements.

8.15.2.21 NMAC SANCTIONS: 
ECECD proposes updates to the 
requirements related to sanctions and 
removes the provision that requires 
placement on a conditional eligibility 
status for clients who fail to update 
non-temporary changes in status.

NOTIFICACIÓN DE 
ELABORACIÓN DE 
REGLAMENTOS Y 

AUDIENCIA PÚBLICA SOBRE 
REGLAMENTOS

El Departamento de Niños, Jóvenes y 
Familias (CYFD) y el Departamento 
de Educación y Cuidado en la Primera 
Infancia (ECECD) de Nuevo México 
notifican por el presente, según lo 
establecido por la Sección 14-4-5.2 
NMSA 1978 y 1.24.25.11  NMAC 
que se proponen adoptar enmiendas 
a las siguientes reglas relativas a 
SERVICIOS SOCIALES AYUDA 
PARA CUIDADO INFANTIL 
REQUISITOS PARA PROGRAMAS 
DE AYUDA PARA CUIDADO 
INFANTIL PARA CLIENTES Y 
PROVEEDORES DE CUIDADO 
INFANTIL, según lo autorizado por 
las Secciones 9-2A-1 a 9-2A-16, 
NMSA 1978 y 9-29-6, NMSA 1978:

8.15.2.6 NMAC OBJETIVO
8.15.2.7 NMAC DEFINICIONES
8.15.2.9 NMAC PRIORIDADES 
PARA CONCEDER AYUDA
8.15.2.10 NMAC PROCESO DE 
SOLICITUD
8.15.2.11 NMAC REQUISITOS DE 
ELEGIBILIDAD
8.15.2.12 NMAC 
RECERTIFICACIÓN
8.15.2.13 NMAC 
RESPONSABILIDADES DEL 
CLIENTE
8.15.2.14 NMAC SUSPENSIONES 
Y CIERRES DE CASOS
8.15.2.15 NMAC REQUISITOS 
DEL PROVEEDOR
8.15.2.17 NMAC PAGO DE 
SERVICIOS
8.15.2.21 NMAC SANCIONES
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Para la redacción de las reglas 
propuestas no se consultó ninguna 
información técnico científica.

El propósito y resumen de las 
reglas propuestas:  El propósito 
de la elaboración de reglamentos es 
promulgar enmiendas permanentes 
a la sección 8.15.2 del NMAC, 
que inicialmente fueron publicadas 
como enmiendas de emergencia 
con validez al 1 de julio de 2021 y 
el 1 de agosto de 2021, junto con 
los cambios necesarios adicionales. 
Debido a la emergencia para la salud 
planteada por el COVID-19 y a la 
orden ejecutiva y las declaraciones 
resultantes, junto con la subvención 
del Fondo para el Desarrollo y 
Cuidado Infantil (CCDF), hubo una 
necesidad de emergencia de enmendar 
el 8.15.2 del NMAC con el fin de 
proteger al público de un peligro 
inminente para la salud pública, 
la seguridad y el bienestar de los 
niños y familias de Nuevo México 
y garantizar la continuidad del 
financiamiento federal. En resumen, 
las reglas propuestas actualizarán 
los cambios de salud y seguridad 
necesarios para la prestación de 
servicios de cuidado infantil en 
Nuevo México, así como también 
realizarán los cambios requeridos por 
la subvención de CCDF.  Se adjunta a 
la presente comunicación un resumen 
de las modificaciones propuestas.

Como parte del proceso de enmienda, 
ECECD llevará a cabo una audiencia 
pública de reglas para las enmiendas 
propuestas el 28 de octubre de 2021 
de 1:00 a 4:00 p.m.  La fecha límite 
para la presentación al Registro de 
Nuevo México es el 26 de agosto de 
2021, con fecha de publicación el 14 
de septiembre de 2021.
Puede encontrar copias de las 
propuestas leyes administrativas en el 
sitio web de ECECD en https://www.
newmexicokids.org/  a más tardar el 
14 de septiembre de 2021.

Anuncio de audiencia pública 
sobre reglamentos:  La audiencia 
pública sobre reglamentos se 
celebrará el jueves, 28 de octubre 
de 2021, de 1:00 p.m. a 4:00 p.m. 

La audiencia se llevará a cabo en 
el Apodaca Hall del edificio Old 
PERA situado en 1120 Paseo de 
Peralta, Santa Fe, Nuevo México 
87502 y a través de una plataforma 
web a distancia (Zoom), de correo 
electrónico y de medios telefónicos. 
La audiencia pública la conducirá 
de manera imparcial y equitativa 
un representante del ECECD o un 
funcionario de audiencias, y esta 
será grabada. Cualquier persona 
del público que tenga interés podrá 
asistir a la audiencia y se le dará 
una oportunidad razonable de dar 
sus comentarios públicamente, ya 
sea de manera oral o por escrito, 
incluyendo la presentación de datos, 
perspectivas o argumentos sobre las 
reglas propuestas. A los individuos 
con discapacidades que necesiten 
cualquier forma de apoyo auxiliar 
para poder asistir o participar en 
la audiencia pública, se les solicita 
que contacten al ECECD a través de 
ECECD-ECS-PublicComment@state.
nm.us o llamando al teléfono (505) 
231-5820. El ECECD hará todo lo 
posible por adaptarse a las solicitudes 
razonables, pero no puede garantizar 
que se adaptará a solicitudes que no 
se reciban cuando menos diez días 
calendario antes de la audiencia 
programada.

Anuncio de aceptación de 
comentarios públicos por escrito:  
Los comentarios públicos por 
escrito, incluyendo la presentación 
de datos, perspectivas o argumentos 
sobre las reglas propuestas, de 
parte de cualquier interesado del 
público, pueden presentarse por 
correo electrónico a ECECD-ECS-
PublicComment@state.nm.us con 
el asunto “8.15.2 NMAC Public 
Comment” o por correo postal de 
primera clase al apartado postal 
Drawer 5619, Santa Fe, New Mexico 
87502-5619. Los comentarios por 
escrito se pueden entregar el jueves, 
28 de octubre de 2021 de 1:00 p.m. 
a 4:00 p.m. en el edificio Old PERA, 
en 1120 Paseo De Peralta. El período 
para presentar comentarios termina al 
concluir la audiencia pública el 28 de 
octubre de 2021.

Cualquier persona del público que 
esté interesada puede asistir a la 
audiencia de manera presencial o a 
través de la plataforma web o por 
teléfono, y ofrecer sus comentarios 
públicos sobre las reglas propuestas. 
Para participar por teléfono: llame al 
1-720-707-2699, usando el código 
de acceso 823 7497 1518. Usted 
podrá escuchar toda la audiencia y 
sus comentarios telefónicos quedarán 
grabados. Para participar por Internet: 
visite https://zoom.us/j/82374971518 
y siga las instrucciones indicadas 
en la pantalla – ID de la reunión 
(código de acceso): 823 7497 1518#. 
Esta será una transmisión en vivo de 
la audiencia. También puede hacer 
sus comentarios por medio del chat 
durante la transmisión en vivo.

RESUMEN DEL ECECD (EARLY 
CHILDHOOD EDUCATION 
AND CARE DEPARTMENT) 
DE MODIFICACIONES 
PROPUESTAS PARA EL NMAC 
8.15.2

8.15.2.6 OBJETIVO DE NMAC: 
El ECECD propone modificaciones 
que incluyen un lenguaje de no 
discriminación y un objetivo 
relacionado con la Subvención federal 
para el desarrollo y el cuidado infantil 
(CCDBG, por sus siglas en inglés) 
y el Fondo para el desarrollo del 
cuidado infantil (CCDF, por sus siglas 
en inglés).

8.15.2.7 DEFINICIONES DE 
NMAC: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones a las definiciones de 
varios términos (“Programa educativo 
y de capacitación laboral”, “Cambio 
temporal de actividad” y “Familiar, 
amigo o vecino (FFN, por sus sigla en 
inglés)”) e incluye nuevos términos 
propuestos (“Trabajador esencial” y 
“Rescisión”).

8.15.2.9 PRIORIDADES DE 
NMAC PARA CONCEDER 
ASISTENCIA: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones a las prioridades de 
cuidado infantil para los requisitos de 
asistencia que incluyen la provisión 
de una nueva categoría, “prioridad 
cuatro más”, para una mayor 
elegibilidad.
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8.15.2.10 NMAC PROCESO DE 
SOLICITUD: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones a los requisitos del 
proceso de solicitud de asistencia para 
el cuidado infantil que incluyen una 
lista de documentos aceptables para la 
elegibilidad y asuntos relacionados. 

8.15.2.11 REQUISITOS DE 
ELEGIBILIDAD DE NMAC: El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones a 
los requisitos de elegibilidad para 
la asistencia de cuidado infantil 
con el fin de aclarar el período 
de elegibilidad, los acuerdos de 
colocación y asuntos relacionados.

8.15.2.12 RECERTIFICACIÓN 
DE NMAC: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones al proceso de 
recertificación para la asistencia de 
cuidado infantil con el fin de aumentar 
la elegibilidad según los ingresos y 
para los trabajadores esenciales.

8.15.2.13 RESPONSABILIDADES 
DEL CLIENTE DE NMAC: El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones de 
los requisitos relacionados con las 
responsabilidades del cliente para 
eliminar las restricciones impuestas al 
copago del cuidado infantil.

8.15.2.14 SUSPENSIONES Y 
CIERRES DE CASOS DE NMAC: 
El ECECD propone actualizaciones 
a los requisitos relacionados con las 
suspensiones y cierres de casos para 
aclarar que el período de elegibilidad 
para la asistencia de cuidado infantil 
dura 12 meses.

8.15.2.15 REQUISITOS DEL 
NMAC PARA PROVEEDORES: 
El ECECD propone actualizaciones 
a los requisitos para proveedores 
que eliminan la tarifa de inscripción/
educación de cinco dólares que se 
paga a los proveedores, aclara que los 
propietarios y los titulares de licencias 
no pueden recibir asistencia de 
cuidado infantil para sus propios hijos 
y exige políticas y procedimientos 
actualizados. 

8.15.2.17 PAGO DE NMAC POR 
SERVICIOS: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 

relacionados con el pago de servicios 
que aumentan las tarifas de subsidio 
de cuidado infantil pagadas a los 
proveedores, según un modelo 
de estimación de costos, realiza 
actualizaciones relacionadas y elimina 
requisitos obsoletos.

8.15.2.21 SANCIONES DE NMAC: 
El ECECD propone actualizaciones 
de los requisitos relacionados con 
sanciones y elimina la disposición que 
exige la colocación de un estado de 
elegibilidad condicional para clientes 
que no actualicen cambios de estado 
no temporales.
______________________________

EARLY CHILDHOOD 
EDUCATION AND CARE 

DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING AND 
PUBLIC RULE HEARING

The New Mexico Children, Youth 
and Families Department (CYFD) 
and the Early Childhood Education 
and Care Department (ECECD) 
hereby gives notice as required 
under Section 14-4-5.2 NMSA 
1978 and 1.24.25.11 NMAC that it 
proposes to adopt amendments to the 
following rules regarding CHILD 
CARE LICENSING CHILD CARE 
CENTERS, OUT OF SCHOOL TIME 
PROGRAMS, FAMILY CHILD 
CARE HOMES, AND OTHER 
EARLY CARE AND EDUCATION 
PROGRAMS as authorized by 
Sections 9-2A-1 to 9-2A-16, NMSA 
1978 and 9-29-6, NMSA 1978:
8.16.2.6 NMAC -   OBJECTIVE
8.16.2.7 NMAC - DEFINITIONS
8.16.2.11 NMAC - LICENSING
8.16.2.12 NMAC - 
LICENSING ACTIONS AND 
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS
8.16.2.17 NMAC - SURVEYS FOR 
CHILD CARE FACILITIES
8.16.2.21 NMAC - LICENSURE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS
8.16.2.22 NMAC - 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS
8.16.2.23 NMAC - 

PERSONNEL AND STAFFING 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS
8.16.2.24 NMAC - SERVICES 
AND CARE OF CHILDREN IN 
CENTERS
8.16.2.25 NMAC - FOOD 
SERVICE REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS
8.16.2.26 NMAC - HEALTH AND 
SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS
8.16.2.27 NMAC - ILLNESS 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS
8.16.2.28 NMAC - 
TRANSPORTATION 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS
8.16.2.29 NMAC - BUILDING, 
GROUNDS AND SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS
8.16.2.31 NMAC - LICENSURE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES
8.16.2.32 NMAC - 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES
8.16.2.33 NMAC - 
PERSONNEL AND STAFFING 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES
8.16.2.34 NMAC - SERVICES AND 
CARE OF CHILDREN IN HOMES
8.16.2.35 NMAC - FOOD 
SERVICE REQUIREMENTS FOR 
HOMES
8.16.2.36 NMAC - HEALTH AND 
SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR 
HOMES
8.16.2.37 NMAC - 
TRANSPORTATION 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES
8.16.2.38 NMAC - BUILDING, 
GROUND AND SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES
8.16.2.40 NMAC - LICENSURE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE
8.16.2.41 NMAC - 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE
8.16.2.42 NMAC - 
PERSONNEL AND STAFFING 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE
8.16.2.43 NMAC - SERVICES AND 
CARE OF CHILDREN IN OUT 
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OF SCHOOL TIME CARE
8.16.2.44 NMAC - FOOD 
SERVICE REQUIREMENTS FOR 
OUT OF SCHOOL TIME CARE
8.16.2.45 NMAC - HEALTH AND 
SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR 
OUT OF SCHOOL TIME CARE
8.16.2.46 NMAC - 
TRANSPORTATION 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE
8.16.2.47 NMAC - BUILDING, 
GROUND AND SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE

No technical scientific information 
was consulted in drafting these 
proposed rules.

Purpose of proposed rules:  The 
purpose of the rulemaking is to 
promulgate permanent amendments 
to 8.16.2 NMAC, which were initially 
published as emergency amendments 
effective July 1, 2021, along with 
additional necessary changes.  Due 
to the COVID-19 health crisis 
and the resulting executive orders 
and declarations, along with the 
federal Child Care Development 
Fund (CCDF) grant, there was an 
emergency need for amendments 
to 8.16.2 NMAC in order to protect 
the public from an imminent peril to 
public health, safety and welfare of 
children and families in New Mexico 
and ensure continued federal funding. 
In summary, the proposed rules will 
update necessary health and safety 
changes for the provision of child care 
services in New Mexico as well as 
make changes required by the CCDF 
grant. A summary of the proposed 
amendments is attached to this notice.

As part of the amendment process, 
ECECD will hold a public rule 
hearing for the proposed amendments 
on October 14, 2021, from 1:00 to 
4:00 p.m.  The deadline for submittal 
to the New Mexico Register is on 
August 26, 2021, with a publication 
date of September 14, 2021.

Copies of the proposed amended rules 
may be found at ECECD’s website at 
https://www.newmexicokids.org/ no 
later than September 14, 2021.

Notice of public rule hearing:  The 
public rule hearing will be held on 
October 14, 2021, at 1:00 p.m.  The 
hearing will be held in Apodaca 
Hall of the PERA Building located 
at 1120 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, 
New Mexico 87502 and via virtual 
web platform (Zoom), email, and 
telephonic means.  The public 
hearing will be conducted in a fair 
and equitable manner by an ECECD 
agency representative or hearing 
officer and shall be recorded.  Any 
interested member of the public 
may attend the hearing and will be 
provided a reasonable opportunity to 
offer public comment, either orally 
or in writing, including presentation 
of data, views, or arguments, on the 
proposed rules during the hearing.  
Individuals with disabilities who need 
any form of auxiliary aid to attend or 
participate in the public hearing are 
asked to contact ECECD at ECECD-
ECS-PublicComment@state.nm.us 
or call (505) 231-5820.  ECECD will 
make every effort to accommodate 
all reasonable requests, but cannot 
guarantee accommodation of a 
request that is not received at least ten 
calendar days before the scheduled 
hearing.

Notice of acceptance of written 
public comment:  Written public 
comment, including presentation of 
data, views, or arguments about the 
proposed rules, from any interested 
member of the public, may be 
submitted via email to ECECD-
ECS-PublicComment@state.nm.us 
with the subject line “8.16.2 NMAC 
Public Comment” or via first class 
mail to P.O. Drawer 5619, Santa Fe, 
New Mexico 87502 – 5619.  Written 
comments may be delivered to the 
Old PERA building at 1120 Paseo De 
Peralta on October 14, 2021, from 
1:00 pm to 4:00 pm. The comment 
period ends at the conclusion of the 
public hearing on October 14, 2021.

Any interested member of the public 
may attend the hearing in person, 
or via the virtual web platform or 
telephone, and offer public comments 
on the proposed rule during the 
hearing.  To access the hearing by 

telephone:  place call 1-346-248-
7799, access code 810 8092 8793.  
You will be able to hear the full 
hearing and your telephone comments 
will be recorded.  To access the 
hearing via the internet:  please 
go to https://nmececdorg.zoom.
us/j/81080928793, and follow the 
instructions indicated on the screen – 
Meeting ID (access code):  810 8092 
8793#.  This will be a live stream of 
the hearing.  You may also provide 
comment via Chat during the live 
streaming.

THE EARLY CHILDHOOD 
EDUCATION AND CARE 
DEPARTMENT’S (ECECD) 
SUMMARY OF PROPOSED 
AMENDMENTS TO 8.16.2 NMAC

8.16.2.6 NMAC -   OBJECTIVE: 
ECECD’s proposes amendments that 
include non-discrimination language.

8.16.2.7 NMAC - DEFINITIONS: 
ECECD proposes amendments to the 
definitions of various terms (“Aim 
High” and “Home”) and includes new 
proposed terms (“Cease and Desist,” 
“Media” and “Pacifier.”). 

8.16.2.11 NMAC – LICENSING: 
ECECD proposes updates to the types 
of licenses that it issues, including 
a new “Military License” and other 
related updates.

8.16.2.12 NMAC - 
LICENSING ACTIONS AND 
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS: 
ECECD proposes updates to this 
section to include ECECD’s authority 
to issue a “Cease and Desist” letter 
and other related amendments. 

8.16.2.17 NMAC - SURVEYS FOR 
CHILD CARE FACILITIES: 
ECECD proposes updates to the 
survey process for child care facilities, 
including provisions related to access 
and the use of video cameras.

8.16.2.21 NMAC - LICENSURE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS: ECECD proposes 
updates to the licensure requirements 
for child care centers, including 
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provisions for unlicensed areas of 
centers, unattended children and the 
reporting of incidents.

8.16.2.22 NMAC - 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS: ECECD proposes 
updates to the administrative 
requirements for child care centers, 
including the necessary elements for 
the various handbooks.

8.16.2.23 NMAC - 
PERSONNEL AND STAFFING 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS: ECECD proposes 
updates to the personnel and 
staffing requirements for child care 
centers, including requirements 
for the director’s time on site, the 
maintenance of staff/child ratios, and 
training requirements.

8.16.2.24 NMAC - SERVICES 
AND CARE OF CHILDREN 
IN CENTERS: ECECD proposes 
updates to the requirements related 
to the services and care of children in 
centers that are necessary to ensure 
the protection of children’s health and 
safety.

8.16.2.25 NMAC - FOOD 
SERVICE REQUIREMENTS 
FOR CENTERS: ECECD proposes 
updates to the food services 
requirements for child care centers 
that ensure the health and safety of 
children in care.

8.16.2.26 NMAC - HEALTH AND 
SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS: ECECD proposes 
necessary updates to the health 
and safety requirements for child 
care centers, including sanitation 
procedures and first aid requirements. 

8.16.2.27 NMAC - ILLNESS 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS: ECECD proposes 
updates to the illness requirements 
for child care centers to require 
all centers to perform daily health 
checks/screenings of children. 

8.16.2.28 NMAC - 
TRANSPORTATION 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS: ECECD proposes 
updates to the transportation 
requirements for child care centers 
that are necessary to protect the health 
and safety of children in care.

8.16.2.29 NMAC - BUILDING, 
GROUNDS AND SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CENTERS: ECECD proposes 
various updates to the building, 
grounds, and safety requirements for 
child care centers that are necessary 
to protect the health and safety of 
children in care.

8.16.2.31 NMAC - LICENSURE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES: 
ECECD proposes updates to the 
licensure requirements for homes, 
including requirements for outdoor 
play, reporting requirements, and 
other related provisions. 

8.16.2.32 NMAC - 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES: 
ECECD proposes updates to the 
administrative requirements for 
homes, including the necessary 
elements for the various handbooks.

8.16.2.33 NMAC - 
PERSONNEL AND STAFFING 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES: 
ECECD proposes updates to the 
personnel and staffing requirements 
for homes, including requirements for 
headcounts and training.

8.16.2.34 NMAC - SERVICES 
AND CARE OF CHILDREN IN 
HOMES: ECECD proposes updates 
to the requirements for services and 
care of children in homes that are 
necessary to protect the health and 
safety of children in care.

8.16.2.35 NMAC - FOOD 
SERVICE REQUIREMENTS FOR 
HOMES: ECECD proposes updates 
to the food service requirements in 
homes that are necessary to protect 
the health and safety of children in 
care.

8.16.2.36 NMAC - HEALTH AND 
SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR 
HOMES: ECECD proposes updates 
to the health and safety requirements 
for homes to include sanitation 
procedures.

8.16.2.37 NMAC - 
TRANSPORTATION 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES: 
ECECD proposes updates to the 
transportation requirements for 
homes, including requirements 
for training, headcounts, and the 
maintenance of proper temperatures.

8.16.2.38 NMAC - BUILDING, 
GROUND AND SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS FOR HOMES: 
ECECD proposes various updates 
to the building, grounds, and safety 
requirements for homes that are 
necessary to protect the health and 
safety of children in care.

8.16.2.40 NMAC - LICENSURE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE: ECECD 
proposes updates to the licensure 
requirements for out of school time 
care, including provisions to cover 
unlicensed areas and reporting 
requirements.

8.16.2.41 NMAC - 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE: ECECD 
proposes updates to the administrative 
requirements for out of school time, 
including the necessary elements 
for the various handbooks and 
requirements for the maintenance of 
certain personnel records.

8.16.2.42 NMAC - 
PERSONNEL AND STAFFING 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE: ECECD 
proposes updates to the personnel and 
staffing requirements for out of school 
time, including requirements related 
to headcounts and training.

8.16.2.43 NMAC - SERVICES AND 
CARE OF CHILDREN IN OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE:  ECECD 
proposes updates to the requirements 
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related to the services and care of 
children in out of school time care 
that are necessary to protect the health 
and safety of children in care. 

8.16.2.44 NMAC - FOOD 
SERVICE REQUIREMENTS FOR 
OUT OF SCHOOL TIME CARE: 
ECECD proposes updates to the 
food service requirements for out of 
school time care to include sanitation 
procedures.

8.16.2.45 NMAC - HEALTH AND 
SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR 
OUT OF SCHOOL TIME CARE: 
ECECD proposes updates to the 
health and safety requirements for 
out of school time care that include 
sanitation procedures and training 
requirements.

8.16.2.46 NMAC - 
TRANSPORTATION 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE: ECECD 
proposes updates to the transportation 
requirements for out of school time 
care, including requirements related to 
headcounts, training, and other health 
and safety issues.

8.16.2.47 NMAC - BUILDING, 
GROUND AND SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS FOR OUT OF 
SCHOOL TIME CARE: ECECD 
proposes updates to the building, 
ground, and safety requirements 
for out of school time care that are 
necessary to protect the health and 
safety of children in care.

NOTIFICACIÓN DE 
ELABORACIÓN DE 
REGLAMENTOS Y 

AUDIENCIA PÚBLICA SOBRE 
REGLAMENTOS

El Departamento de Niños, Jóvenes y 
Familias (CYFD) y el Departamento 
de Educación y Cuidado en la 
Primera Infancia (ECECD) de Nuevo 
México notifican por el presente, 
según lo establecido por la Sección 
14-4-5.2 NMSA 1978 y 1.24.25.11  
NMAC que se proponen adoptar 
enmiendas a las siguientes reglas 
relativas a LICENCIAS PARA 

CUIDADO INFANTIL, CENTROS 
DE CUIDADO INFANTIL, 
PROGRAMAS DE TIEMPO FUERA 
DE LA ESCUELA, HOGARES 
FAMILIARES DE CUIDADO 
INFANTIL Y OTROS PROGRAMAS 
DE EDUCACIÓN Y CUIDADO DE 
LA PRIMERA INFANCIA, según lo 
autorizado por las Secciones 9-2A-1 
a 9-2A-16, NMSA 1978 y 9-29-6, 
NMSA 1978:
8.16.2.6 NMAC OBJETIVO
8.16.2.7 NMAC - DEFINICIONES: 
8.16.2.11 NMAC - CONCESIÓN 
DE LICENCIAS
8.16.2.12 NMAC - 
CONCESIÓN DE LICENCIAS 
Y APELACIONES 
ADMINISTRATIVAS
8.16.2.17 NMAC - ENCUESTAS 
PARA CENTROS DE CUIDADO 
INFANTIL
8.16.2.21 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE LICENCIAS PARA LOS 
CENTROS
8.16.2.22 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
ADMINISTRATIVOS PARA LOS 
CENTROS
8.16.2.23 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE PERSONAL Y 
DOTACIÓN DE PERSONAL 
PARA LOS CENTROS
8.16.2.24 NMAC - SERVICIOS Y 
CUIDADO DE NIÑOS EN LOS 
CENTROS
8.16.2.25 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE SERVICIO DE 
ALIMENTOS PARA LOS 
CENTROS
8.16.2.26 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE SALUD Y SEGURIDAD 
PARA LOS CENTROS
8.16.2.27 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE ENFERMEDADES PARA 
LOS CENTROS
8.16.2.28 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE TRANSPORTE PARA 
LOS CENTROS
8.16.2.29 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE EL EDIFICIO, EL 
TERRENO Y LA SEGURIDAD 
PARA LOS CENTROS
8.16.2.31 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE LICENCIAS PARA LOS 
HOGARES
8.16.2.32 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
ADMINISTRATIVOS PARA LOS 
HOGARES

8.16.2.33 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE PERSONAL Y 
DOTACIÓN DE PERSONAL 
PARA LOS HOGARES
8.16.2.34 NMAC - SERVICIOS Y 
CUIDADO DE NIÑOS EN LOS 
HOGARES
8.16.2.35 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE SERVICIO DE 
ALIMENTOS PARA LOS 
HOGARES
8.16.2.36 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE SALUD Y SEGURIDAD 
PARA LOS HOGARES
8.16.2.37 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE TRANSPORTE PARA 
LOS HOGARES
8.16.2.38 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE EL EDIFICIO, EL 
TERRENO Y LA SEGURIDAD 
PARA LOS HOGARES
8.16.2.40 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE LICENCIAS PARA 
PROGRAMAS DE CUIDADO 
EN TIEMPO FUERA DE LA 
ESCUELA
8.16.2.41 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
ADMINISTRATIVOS PARA 
PROGRAMAS DE CUIDADO 
EN TIEMPO FUERA DE LA 
ESCUELA
8.16.2.42 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE PERSONAL Y 
DOTACIÓN DE PERSONAL 
PARA PROGRAMAS DE 
CUIDADO EN TIEMPO FUERA 
DE LA ESCUELA
8.16.2.43 NMAC - SERVICIOS 
Y CUIDADO DE NIÑOS EN 
PROGRAMAS DE CUIDADO 
EN TIEMPO FUERA DE LA 
ESCUELA
8.16.2.44 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SERVICIOS DE ALIMENTOS 
PARA PROGRAMAS DE 
CUIDADO EN TIEMPO FUERA 
DE LA ESCUELA
8.16.2.45 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SERVICIOS DE SALUD 
Y SEGURIDAD PARA 
PROGRAMAS DE CUIDADO 
EN TIEMPO FUERA DE LA 
ESCUELA
8.16.2.46 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE TRANSPORTE PARA 
PROGRAMAS DE CUIDADO 
EN TIEMPO FUERA DE LA 
ESCUELA
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8.16.2.47 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
SOBRE EL EDIFICIO, EL 
TERRENO Y LA SEGURIDAD 
PARA PROGRAMAS DE 
CUIDADO EN TIEMPO FUERA 
DE LA ESCUELA

Para la redacción de las reglas 
propuestas no se consultó ninguna 
información técnico científica.

El propósito y resumen de las 
reglas propuestas:  El propósito 
de la elaboración de reglamentos es 
promulgar enmiendas permanentes 
a la sección 8.16.2 del NMAC, que 
inicialmente fueron publicadas como 
enmiendas de emergencia con validez 
al 1 de julio de 2021, junto con los 
cambios necesarios adicionales.  
Debido a la crisis para la salud 
planteada por el COVID-19 y a las 
órdenes ejecutivas y las declaraciones 
resultantes, junto con la subvención 
del Fondo para el Desarrollo y 
Cuidado Infantil (CCDF), hubo una 
necesidad de emergencia de enmendar 
el 8.16.2 del NMAC con el fin de 
proteger al público de un peligro 
inminente para la salud pública, 
la seguridad y el bienestar de los 
niños y familias de Nuevo México 
y garantizar la continuidad del 
financiamiento federal. En resumen, 
las reglas propuestas actualizarán 
los cambios de salud y seguridad 
necesarios para la prestación de 
servicios de cuidado infantil en 
Nuevo México, así como también 
realizarán los cambios requeridos por 
la subvención de CCDF.  Se adjunta a 
la presente comunicación un resumen 
de las modificaciones propuestas.

Como parte del proceso de enmienda, 
ECECD llevará a cabo una audiencia 
pública de reglas para las enmiendas 
propuestas el 14 de octubre de 2021 
de 1:00 a 4:00 p.m.  La fecha límite 
para la presentación al Registro de 
Nuevo México es el 26 de agosto de 
2021, con fecha de publicación el 14 
de septiembre de 2021.
Puede encontrar copias de las 
propuestas leyes administrativas en el 
sitio web de ECECD en https://www.
newmexicokids.org/  a más tardar el 
14 de septiembre de 2021.

Anuncio de audiencia pública sobre 
reglamentos:  La audiencia pública 
se celebrará el 14 de octubre de 2021 
a la 1:00 p.m.  La audiencia se llevará 
a cabo en el Apodaca Hall del edificio 
Old PERA situado en 1120 Paseo 
de Peralta, Santa Fe, Nuevo México 
87502 y a través de una plataforma 
web a distancia (Zoom), de correo 
electrónico y de medios telefónicos.  
La audiencia pública la conducirá 
de manera imparcial y equitativa 
un representante del ECECD o un 
funcionario de audiencias, y esta 
será grabada.  Cualquier persona 
del público que tenga interés, podrá 
asistir a la audiencia y se le dará 
una oportunidad razonable de dar 
sus comentarios públicamente, ya 
sea de manera oral o por escrito, 
incluyendo la presentación de datos, 
perspectivas o argumentos sobre las 
reglas propuestas.  A los individuos 
con discapacidades que necesiten 
cualquier forma de apoyo auxiliar 
para poder asistir o participar en 
la audiencia pública, se les solicita 
que contacten al ECECD a través 
de ECECD-ECS-PublicComment@
state.nm.us o llamando al teléfono 
(505) 231-5820.  El ECECD hará 
su mejor esfuerzo por adaptarse a 
las solicitudes razonables, pero no 
puede garantizar que se adaptará a 
solicitudes que no se reciban cuando 
menos diez días calendario antes de la 
audiencia programada.

Anuncio de aceptación de 
comentarios públicos por escrito:  
Los comentarios públicos por 
escrito, incluyendo la presentación 
de datos, perspectivas o argumentos 
sobre las reglas propuestas, de 
parte de cualquier interesado del 
público, pueden presentarse por 
correo electrónico a ECECD-ECS-
PublicComment@state.nm.us con 
el asunto “8.16.2 NMAC Public 
Comment” o por correo postal de 
primera clase al apartado postal 
Drawer 5619, Santa Fe, New México 
87502 – 5619.  Los comentarios por 
escrito se pueden entregar el 14 de 
octubre de 2021 de 1:00 p.m. a 4:00 
p.m. en el edificio Old PERA en 1120 
Paseo De Peralta. El período para 
presentar comentarios termina al 

concluir la audiencia pública el 14 de 
octubre de 2021.

Cualquier persona del público que 
esté interesada puede asistir a la 
audiencia de manera presencial o a 
través de la plataforma web o por 
teléfono, y ofrecer sus comentarios 
públicos sobre la regla propuesta.  
Para participar por teléfono: llame al 
1-346-248-7799, usando el código 
de acceso 810 8092 8793.  Usted 
podrá escuchar toda la audiencia y 
sus comentarios telefónicos quedarán 
grabados.  Para participar por 
Internet: visite https://nmececdorg.
zoom.us/j/81080928793 y siga las 
instrucciones indicadas en la pantalla 
– ID de la reunión (código de acceso):  
810 8092 8793#.  Esta será una 
transmisión en vivo de la audiencia.  
También puede hacer sus comentarios 
por medio del chat durante la 
transmisión en vivo.

RESUMEN DEL ECECD (EARLY 
CHILDHOOD EDUCATION 
AND CARE DEPARTMENT) 
DE MODIFICACIONES 
PROPUESTAS PARA EL NMAC 
8.16.2

8.16.2.6 NMAC - OBJETIVO: El 
ECECD propone modificaciones 
que incluyen un lenguaje de no 
discriminación.

8.16.2.7 NMAC - DEFINICIONES: 
El ECECD propone modificaciones 
en las definiciones de varios términos 
(“Apuntar alto” y “Hogar”) e incluye 
nuevos términos propuestos (“Cesar y 
desistir”, “Medios de comunicación” 
y “Chupón”). 

8.16.2.11 NMAC – LICENCIA: 
El ECECD propone actualizaciones 
para los tipos de licencias que emite, 
incluida una nueva “Licencia militar” 
y otras actualizaciones relacionadas.

8.16.2.12 NMAC - ACCIONES DE 
LICENCIA Y APELACIONES 
ADMINISTRATIVAS: El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones de esta 
sección para incluir la autoridad 
del ECECD para emitir una carta 
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de “Cesar y desistir” y otras 
modificaciones relacionadas. 

8.16.2.17 NMAC - ENCUESTAS 
PARA INSTALACIONES DE 
CUIDADO INFANTIL: El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones del proceso 
de encuesta para las instalaciones 
de cuidado infantil, incluidas 
disposiciones relacionadas con el 
acceso y el uso de cámaras de video.

8.16.2.21 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE LICENCIA PARA CENTROS: 
El ECECD propone actualizaciones 
de los requisitos de licencia para los 
centros de cuidado infantil, incluidas 
disposiciones para áreas de centros 
sin licencia, niños desatendidos y 
notificaciones de incidentes.

8.16.2.22 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
ADMINISTRATIVOS PARA 
CENTROS: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 
administrativos para los centros 
de cuidado infantil, incluidos los 
elementos necesarios para los 
diversos manuales.

8.16.2.23 NMAC - PERSONAL Y 
REQUISITOS DE DOTACIÓN 
DE LOS CENTROS: El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones para el 
personal y los requisitos de dotación 
de personal para los centros de 
cuidado infantil, incluidos requisitos 
de tiempo del director en el sitio, 
mantenimiento de la proporción 
de personal respecto de niños y 
requisitos de capacitación.

8.16.2.24 NMAC - SERVICIOS 
Y CUIDADO DE NIÑOS EN 
CENTROS: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 
relacionados con los servicios y el 
cuidado de los niños en los centros 
que son necesarios para garantizar la 
protección de la salud y la seguridad 
de los niños.

8.16.2.25 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SERVICIO DE ALIMENTOS 
PARA CENTROS: El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones de los 
requisitos de servicios de alimentos 
para centros de cuidado infantil que 

aseguran la salud y la seguridad de los 
niños cuidados.

8.16.2.26 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SALUD Y SEGURIDAD 
PARA LOS CENTROS: El 
ECECD propone las actualizaciones 
necesarias de los requisitos de salud y 
seguridad para los centros de cuidado 
infantil, incluidos procedimientos de 
saneamiento y requisitos de primeros 
auxilios. 

8.16.2.27 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
PARA CENTROS EN RELACIÓN 
CON ENFERMEDADES: El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones 
de los requisitos relativos a 
enfermedades para exigir que todos 
los centros de cuidado infantil hagan 
controles/exámenes médicos diarios 
de los niños. 

8.16.2.28 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE TRANSPORTE PARA 
CENTROS: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos de 
transporte para los centros de cuidado 
infantil que son necesarias para 
proteger la salud y seguridad de los 
niños cuidados.

8.16.2.29 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE CONSTRUCCIÓN, TERRENO 
Y SEGURIDAD DE LOS 
CENTROS: El ECECD propone 
varias actualizaciones de los edificios 
y terrenos y los requisitos de 
seguridad para los centros de cuidado 
infantil que son necesarios para 
proteger la salud y la seguridad de los 
niños cuidados.

8.16.2.31 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE LICENCIA PARA HOGARES: 
El ECECD propone actualizaciones 
de los requisitos de licencia para 
los hogares, incluidos requisitos 
relacionados con juegos al aire 
libre, requisitos de informes y otras 
disposiciones relacionadas. 

8.16.2.32 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
ADMINISTRATIVOS PARA 
HOGARES: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 
administrativos para los hogares, 
incluidos los elementos necesarios 
para los diversos manuales.

8.16.2.33 NMAC - PERSONAL Y 
REQUISITOS DE PERSONAL 
PARA HOGARES: El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones para el 
personal y los requisitos de dotación 
de personal para los hogares que 
incluyen requisitos de cantidad de 
personal y capacitación.

8.16.2.34 NMAC - SERVICIOS 
Y CUIDADO DE NIÑOS EN 
HOGARES: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 
de servicios y cuidado de niños en 
hogares que son necesarios para 
proteger la salud y la seguridad de los 
niños cuidados.

8.16.2.35 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SERVICIO DE ALIMENTOS 
PARA HOGARES: El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones de los 
requisitos del servicio de alimentos en 
los hogares que son necesarias para 
proteger la salud y la seguridad de los 
niños cuidados.

8.16.2.36 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SALUD Y SEGURIDAD 
PARA LOS HOGARES: El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones de 
los requisitos de salud y seguridad 
para los hogares para incluir 
procedimientos de saneamiento.

8.16.2.37 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE TRANSPORTE PARA 
HOGARES: El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 
de transporte para los hogares que 
incluyen requisitos de capacitación, 
cantidad de personal y mantenimiento 
de temperaturas adecuadas.

8.16.2.38 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
RELATIVOS A EDIFICIOS, 
TERRENOS Y SEGURIDAD 
DE LOS HOGARES: El ECECD 
propone diferentes actualizaciones en 
edificios y terrenos, y requisitos de 
seguridad para los hogares que son 
necesarios para proteger la salud y la 
seguridad de los niños cuidados.

8.16.2.40 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE LICENCIA PARA EL 
CUIDADO FUERA DEL 
HORARIO ESCOLAR: El ECECD 
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propone actualizaciones de los 
requisitos de licencia para el cuidado 
fuera del horario escolar, incluidas 
disposiciones para cubrir áreas sin 
licencia y requisitos de informes.

8.16.2.41 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
ADMINISTRATIVOS PARA EL 
CUIDADO DE TIEMPO FUERA 
DEL HORARIO ESCOLAR: El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones 
de los requisitos administrativos 
fuera del horario escolar, incluidos 
elementos necesarios para los 
diversos manuales y requisitos para el 
mantenimiento de ciertos registros de 
personal.

8.16.2.42 NMAC - PERSONAL Y 
REQUISITOS DE PERSONAL 
PARA EL CUIDADO FUERA 
DEL HORARIO ESCOLAR: El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones 
para el personal y los requisitos de 
personal fuera del horario escolar 
que incluyen requisitos relacionados 
con la cantidad de personal y la 
capacitación.

8.16.2.43 NMAC - SERVICIOS Y 
CUIDADO DE NIÑOS FUERA 
DEL HORARIO ESCOLAR:  El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones de 
los requisitos relacionados con los 
servicios y el cuidado de los niños 
fuera del horario escolar que son 
necesarios para proteger la salud y la 
seguridad de los niños cuidados. 

8.16.2.44 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SERVICIO DE ALIMENTOS 
PARA EL CUIDADO FUERA DEL 
HORARIO ESCOLAR: El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones de los 
requisitos del servicio de alimentos 
para el cuidado fuera del horario 
escolar para incluir procedimientos de 
saneamiento.

8.16.2.45 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SALUD Y SEGURIDAD 
PARA EL CUIDADO FUERA 
DEL HORARIO ESCOLAR: El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones de 
los requisitos de salud y seguridad 
para el cuidado fuera del horario 
escolar que incluyen procedimientos 

de saneamiento y requisitos de 
capacitación.

8.16.2.46 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE TRANSPORTE PARA 
EL CUIDADO FUERA DEL 
HORARIO ESCOLAR: El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones de 
los requisitos de transporte para el 
cuidado fuera del horario escolar, 
incluidos requisitos relacionados 
con la cantidad de personal, la 
capacitación y otros temas de salud y 
seguridad.

8.16.2.47 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
RELATIVOS A EDIFICIOS, 
TERRENOS Y SEGURIDAD 
PARA EL CUIDADO FUERA 
DEL HORARIO ESCOLAR: El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones de 
los requisitos relativos a edificios, 
terrenos y seguridad para el cuidado 
fuera del horario escolar que son 
necesarias para proteger la salud y la 
seguridad de los niños cuidados.
______________________________

EARLY CHILDHOOD 
EDUCATION AND CARE 

DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING AND 
PUBLIC RULE HEARING

The New Mexico Children, Youth 
and Families Department (CYFD) 
and the Early Childhood Education 
and Care Department (ECECD) 
hereby gives notice as required under 
Section 14-4-5.2 NMSA 1978 and 
1.24.25.11 NMAC that it proposes to 
adopt amendments to the following 
rules regarding SOCIAL SERVICES 
NON-LICENSED CHILD CARE – 
REQUIREMENTS GOVERNING 
REGISTRATION OF NON-
LICENSED FAMILY CHILD CARE 
HOMES as authorized by Sections 
9-2A-1 to 9-2A16, NMSA 1978 and 
9-29-6, NMSA 1978, Section 9-2A-7 
NMSA 1978:

8.17.2.6 NMAC - OBJECTIVE
8.17.2.7 NMAC -  
DEFINITIONS
8.17.2.8 NMAC - APPLICATION
8.17.2.10 NMAC - CAREGIVER 

REQUIREMENTS
8.17.2.11 NMAC - BACKGROUND 
CHECKS
8.17.2.12 NMAC - ANNUAL 
REGISTRATION
8.17.2.13 NMAC - VISITS BY THE 
SPONSORING AGENCY AND 
REGISTERED AUTHORITY
8.17.2.14 NMAC - NON-
TRANSFERABILITY OF 
REGISTRATION
8.17.2.15 NMAC - INCIDENT 
REPORTS
8.17.2.17 NMAC - NON-
COMPLIANCE
8.17.2.20 NMAC - PROBABLE 
CAUSE OF IMMINENT DANGER
8.17.2.22 NMAC - HEALTH AND 
SAFETY REQUIREMENTS
8.17.2.23 NMAC - MEAL 
REQUIREMENTS
8.17.2.24 NMAC - RECORD 
KEEPING REQUIREMENTS
8.17.2.25 NMAC - CAREGIVER’S 
RESPONSIBILITIES

No technical scientific information 
was consulted in drafting these 
proposed rules.

Purpose and summary of proposed 
rules:  The purpose of the rulemaking 
is to promulgate permanent 
amendments to 8.17.2 NMAC, which 
were initially published as emergency 
amendments effective July 1, 2021, 
along with additional necessary 
changes.  Due to the COVID-19 
health crisis and the resulting 
executive orders and declarations, 
along with the federal Child Care 
Development Fund (CCDF) grant, 
there was an emergency need for 
amendments to 8.17.2 NMAC in 
order to protect the public from an 
imminent peril to public health, 
safety and welfare of children and 
families in New Mexico and ensure 
continued federal funding.  In 
summary, the proposed rules will 
update necessary health and safety 
changes for the provision of child care 
services in New Mexico as well as 
make changes required by the CCDF 
grant. A summary of the proposed 
amendments is attached to this notice.

As part of the amendment process, 
ECECD will hold a public rule 
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hearing for the proposed amendments 
on October 21, 2021 from 1:00 to 
4:00 p.m.  The deadline for submittal 
to the New Mexico Register is on 
August 26, 2021, with a publication 
date of September 14, 2021.
Copies of the proposed amended rules 
may be found at ECECD’s website at 
https://www.newmexicokids.org/ no 
later than September 14, 2021.

Notice of public rule hearing:  The 
public rule hearing will be held on 
October 21, 2021, at 1:00 p.m.  The 
hearing will be held in Apodaca 
Hall of the PERA Building located 
at 1120 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, 
New Mexico 87502 and via virtual 
web platform (Zoom), email, and 
telephonic means.  The public 
hearing will be conducted in a fair 
and equitable manner by an ECECD 
agency representative or hearing 
officer and shall be recorded.  Any 
interested member of the public 
may attend the hearing and will be 
provided a reasonable opportunity to 
offer public comment, either orally 
or in writing, including presentation 
of data, views, or arguments, on the 
proposed rules during the hearing.  
Individuals with disabilities who need 
any form of auxiliary aid to attend or 
participate in the public hearing are 
asked to contact ECECD at ECECD-
ECS-PublicComment@state.nm.us 
or call (505) 231-5820.  ECECD will 
make every effort to accommodate 
all reasonable requests, but cannot 
guarantee accommodation of a 
request that is not received at least ten 
calendar days before the scheduled 
hearing.

Notice of acceptance of written 
public comment:  Written public 
comment, including presentation of 
data, views, or arguments about the 
proposed rules, from any interested 
member of the public, may be 
submitted via email to ECECD-
ECS-PublicComment@state.nm.us 
with the subject line “8.17.2 NMAC 
Public Comment” or via first class 
mail to P.O. Drawer 5619, Santa Fe, 
New Mexico 87502 – 5619.  Written 
comments may be delivered to the 
Old PERA building at 1120 Paseo 

De Peralta on October 21, 2021 from 
1:00 pm to 4:00 pm. The comment 
period ends at the conclusion of the 
public hearing on October 21, 2021.

Any interested member of the public 
may attend the hearing in person, 
or via the virtual web platform or 
telephone, and offer public comments 
on the proposed rule during the 
hearing.  To access the hearing by 
telephone:  place call 1-346-248-
7799, access code 824 7328 6769#.  
You will be able to hear the full 
hearing and your telephone comments 
will be recorded.  To access the 
hearing via the internet:  please 
go to https://nmececdorg.zoom.
us/j/82473286769, and follow the 
instructions indicated on the screen – 
Meeting ID (access code): 824 7328 
6769. This will be a live stream of 
the hearing.  You may also provide 
comment via Chat during the live 
streaming.

THE EARLY CHILDHOOD 
EDUCATION AND CARE 

DEPARTMENT’S (ECECD) 
SUMMARY OF PROPOSED 

AMENDMENTS TO 8.17.2 NMAC

8.17.2.6 NMAC – OBJECTIVE:  
ECECD proposes amendments that 
include non-discrimination language.

8.17.2.7 NMAC - 
 DEFINITIONS:  ECECD proposes 
updates to the definitions of various 
terms (“Family, Friend, or Neighbor 
(FFN)” and “home”) and includes 
new proposed terms (“attended”, 
“care”, “cease and desist”, 
“clean conditions of operation”, 
“corrective action plan” , “disinfect”, 
“exploitation”, “in-homecare”, 
“media”, “pacifier”, “premises”, 
“significant amount of time”, 
“toddler”).

8.17.2.8 NMAC – APPLICATION:  
ECECD proposes administrative 
updates to the application 
requirements for registered homes.

8.17.2.10 NMAC - CAREGIVER 
REQUIREMENTS:  ECECD 
proposes updates to the caregiver 

requirements for registered homes, 
including provisions related to 
background checks and training.

8.17.2.11 NMAC - BACKGROUND 
CHECKS:  ECECD proposes 
updates to the background check 
requirements for registered homes, 
including provisions related to family 
members and visitors. 

8.17.2.12 NMAC - ANNUAL 
REGISTRATION: ECECD proposes 
updates to the annual registration 
requirements related to in-home care 
and individuals required to be listed 
on the registration.

8.17.2.13 NMAC - VISITS BY THE 
SPONSORING AGENCY AND 
REGISTERED AUTHORITY:  
ECECD proposes updates to the 
requirements related to visits by the 
sponsoring agency and registered 
authority and includes provisions for 
visits and annual surveys of registered 
homes.

8.17.2.14 NMAC - NON-
TRANSFERABILITY OF 
REGISTRATION:  ECECD 
proposes updates to the requirements 
related to the non-transferability of 
registration and includes a provision 
that a caregiver with only a change 
in name will not need to pay a fee or 
processing charge.

8.17.2.15 NMAC - INCIDENT 
REPORTS: ECECD proposes 
updates to the requirements related 
to incident reports and includes 
provisions for unattended children 
and the notification of parents or 
guardians.

8.17.2.17 NMAC - NON-
COMPLIANCE:  ECECD proposes 
updates to the requirements related 
to non-compliance that include the 
issuance of a “cease and desist letter” 
and other related provisions. 

8.17.2.20 NMAC - PROBABLE 
CAUSE OF IMMINENT 
DANGER:  ECECD proposes 
updates to the requirements related to 
probable cause of imminent danger 



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXII, Issue 17/ September 14, 20211050
and includes changes to the manner in 
which parents or guardians of children 
in care are notified of hearings.

8.17.2.22 NMAC - HEALTH AND 
SAFETY REQUIREMENTS:  
ECECD proposes updates to the 
health and safety requirements 
for homes that are necessary to 
protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of children in care and 
include provisions related to 
home maintenance, outdoor play, 
transportation, and other issues.

8.17.2.23 NMAC - MEAL 
REQUIREMENTS:  ECECD 
proposes updates to the meal 
requirements for homes that are 
necessary for sanitation and to protect 
the health and safety of children in 
care. 

8.17.2.24 NMAC - RECORD 
KEEPING REQUIREMENTS:  
ECECD proposes updates to the 
record keeping requirements that 
include for the provision of an 
attendance log for children in care.

8.17.2.25 NMAC - CAREGIVER’S 
RESPONSIBILITIES:  ECECD 
proposes updates to the caregiver’s 
responsibilities requirements that are 
necessary to protect the health, safety, 
and welfare of children in care. 

AVISO DE PROMULGACION DE 
LEYES ADMINISTRATIVAS Y 

AUDIENCIA PÚBLICA

El Departamento de Niños, Jóvenes y 
Familias de Nuevo México (CYFD) 
y el Departamento de Educación 
y Cuidado de la Primera Infancia 
(ECECD) por este medio da aviso 
como se requiere bajo la Sección 
14-4-5.2 de los Estatutos Anotados 
de Nuevo México (NMSA) 1978 y 
1.24.25.11 del Código Administrativo 
de Nuevo México (NMAC), que 
propone adoptar enmiendas a las 
siguientes leyes administrativas 
con respecto a los CUIDADO 
DE NIÑOS SIN LICENSIA-
REQUISITOS GOVERDANDO LA 
REGSTRACION DE CASAS DE 
CUIDADO DE NIÑOS EN CASAS 

FAMILIARES SIN LICENCIA según 
lo autorizado por la sección 9-2A-1 
a 9-2A-16, NMSA 1978,  9-29-6, 
NMSA, y 9-2A-7 del NMSA 1978:

8.17.2.6 NMAC - OBJETIVO
8.17.2.7 NMAC -  
DEFINICIONES
8.17.2.8 NMAC - SOLICITUD
8.17.2.10 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DEL CUIDADOR
8.17.2.11 NMAC - 
VERIFICACIONES DE 
ANTECEDENTES
8.17.2.12 NMAC – REGISTRO 
ANUAL
8.17.2.13 NMAC - VISITAS DE LA 
AGENCIA PATROCINADORA Y 
AUTORIDAD REGISTRADA
8.17.2.14 NMAC - NO 
TRANSFERIBILIDAD DEL 
REGISTRO
8.17.2.15 NMAC - INFORMES DE 
INCIDENTES
8.17.2.17 NMAC - 
INCUMPLIMIENTO
8.17.2.20 NMAC - CAUSA 
PROBABLE DE PELIGRO 
INMINENTE
8.17.2.22 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SALUD Y SEGURIDAD
8.17.2.23 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE COMIDA
8.17.2.24 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE MANTENIMIENTO DE 
REGISTROS
8.17.2.25 NMAC - 
RESPONSABILIDADES DEL 
CUIDADOR

No se consultó información científica 
o técnica cuando se redactaron estas 
leyes administrativas propuestas.

Propósito y resumen de las leyes 
administrativas propuestas:  El 
propósito de las leyes administrativas 
es promulgar permanentemente 
enmiendas a la sección 8.17.2 
del NMAC, que se publicaron 
inicialmente como enmiendas de 
emergencia a partir del 1 de Julio 
de 2021, junto con los cambios 
adicionales necesarios. Debido a la 
crisis de salud del COVID-19 y las 
órdenes ejecutivas y declaraciones 
resultantes, junto con la subvención 
federal Child Care Development 

Fund (CCDF), hubo una necesidad 
de emergencia de realizar enmiendas 
a la 8.17.2 del NMAC para proteger 
al público de un peligro inminente 
para la salud pública, la seguridad y 
el bienestar de los niños y las familias 
de Nuevo México y garantizar la 
financiación federal continua. En 
resumen, las reglas propuestas 
actualizarán los cambios de salud 
y seguridad necesarios para la 
prestación de servicios de cuidado 
infantil en Nuevo México, así como 
también realizarán los cambios 
requeridos por la subvención de 
CCDF.
Se adjunta a la presente 
Comunicación un resumen de las 
modificaciones propuestas.

Como parte del proceso de enmienda, 
ECECD llevará a cabo una audiencia 
pública de reglas para las enmiendas 
propuestas el 21 de octubre de 2021 
de 1:00 a 4:00 p.m.  La fecha límite 
para la presentación al Registro de 
Nuevo México es el 26 de agosto de 
2021, con fecha de publicación el 14 
de septiembre de 2021.
Puede encontrar copias de las 
propuestas leyes administrativas en el 
sitio web de ECECD en https://www.
newmexicokids.org/ a más tardar el 
14 de septiembre de 2021.

Aviso de Audiencia Pública de 
leyes administrativas:  La audiencia 
pública de leyes administrativas 
tendrá lugar el 21 de octubre de 
2021 a la 1:00 p.m. en 1120 Paseo 
de Peralta, Santa Fe, Nuevo Mexico 
87502 en la sala Apodoca Hall y a 
través de plataforma virtual (Zoom).  
La audiencia pública se llevará a 
cabo de manera justa y equitativa 
por un representante de la agencia 
de ECECD o el funcionario de 
audiencias y será grabada.  Cualquier 
miembro del público interesado 
puede asistir a la audiencia y 
se le brindará una oportunidad 
razonable para ofrecer comentarios 
al público, oralmente o por escrito, 
incluso una presentación de datos, 
puntos de vistas o argumentos, 
sobre las propuestas.  Las personas 
con discapacidades que necesiten 
cualquier forma de ayuda auxiliar 
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para asistir o participar en la 
audiencia pública deben comunicarse 
con el ECECD en ECECD-ECS-
PublicComment@state.nm.us o 
llamar al (505) 231-5820. El ECECD 
hará todos los esfuerzos posibles 
para acomodar todas solicitudes 
razonables, pero no puede garantizar 
acomodar solicitudes que no sean 
recibidas por lo menos diez días 
antes de la fecha programada para la 
audiencia.

Aviso de aceptación de comentarios 
públicos por escrito:  Los 
comentarios públicos por escrito, 
incluso las presentaciones de datos, 
puntos de vista o argumentos de 
cualquier miembro del público 
interesado, sobre las propuestas leyes 
administrativas, pueden ser enviados 
a través de correo electrónico a 
ECECD-ECS-PublicComment@
state.nm.us, especificando en la línea 
de Asunto:  “8.17.2 NMAC Public 
Comment,” o por correo de primera 
clase a P.O. Drawer 5619, Santa Fe, 
New Mexico 87502 – 5619.  Los 
comentarios escritos se pueden 
entregar en el edificio Old PERA 
en 1120 Paseo De Peralta el 21 de 
octubre de 2021 de 1:00 p.m. a 4:00 
p.m.  El período de comentarios 
termina a la conclusión de la 
audiencia pública el 21 de octubre de 
2021.

Cualquier miembro del público 
interesado puede asistir a la 
audiencia a través de plataforma 
virtual o por teléfono y ofrecer 
comentarios públicos sobre las 
leyes administrativas propuestas 
durante la audiencia.  Para acceder 
a la audiencia por teléfono llame al 
1-346-248-7799, código de acceso 
824 7328 6769#.  Podrá escuchar 
la audiencia completa y se grabarán 
sus comentarios telefónicos.  Para 
acceder a la audiencia a través de 
Internet vaya a https://nmececdorg.
zoom.us/j/82473286769 y siga las 
instrucciones que se indican en la 
pantalla (ID de la reunión - código 
de acceso: 824 7328 6769 #).  Esta 
será una transmisión en directo 
de la audiencia.  También puede 
proporcionar comentarios a través del 

chat durante la transmisión en directo.

RESUMEN DEL ECECD (EARLY 
CHILDHOOD EDUCATION 
AND CARE DEPARTMENT) 
DE MODIFICACIONES 
PROPUESTAS PARA EL NMAC 
8.17.2

8.17.2.6 NMAC – OBJETIVO:  El 
ECECD propone modificaciones 
que incluyen un lenguaje de no 
discriminación.

8.17.2.7 NMAC - 
 DEFINICIONES:  El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones a las 
definiciones de varios términos 
(“Familiar, amigo o vecino (FFN por 
sus siglas en inglés)” y “hogar”) e 
incluye nuevos términos propuestos 
(“atendido”, “cuidado”, “cesar y 
desistir”, “condiciones limpias 
de funcionamiento”, “plan de 
medidas correctivas”, “desinfectar”, 
“explotación”, “cuidado en el 
hogar”, “medios de comunicación”, 
“chupón”, “instalaciones”, “cantidad 
significativa de tiempo” y “niño 
pequeño”).

8.17.2.8 NMAC – SOLICITUD:  
El ECECD propone actualizaciones 
administrativas en los requisitos de 
solicitud para hogares registrados.

8.17.2.10 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DEL CUIDADOR:  El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones de los 
requisitos de los cuidadores para 
los hogares registrados, incluidas 
disposiciones relacionadas con la 
verificación de antecedentes y la 
capacitación.

8.17.2.11 NMAC - 
VERIFICACIONES DE 
ANTECEDENTES:  El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones de los 
requisitos de verificación de 
antecedentes para los hogares 
registrados, incluidas disposiciones 
relacionadas con familiares y 
visitantes.

8.17.2.12 NMAC - INSCRIPCIÓN 
ANUAL:  El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos de 

registro anual relacionados con la 
atención domiciliaria y las personas 
que deben figurar en el registro.

8.17.2.13 NMAC - VISITAS DE LA 
AGENCIA PATROCINADORA Y 
AUTORIDAD REGISTRADA:  El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones de 
los requisitos relacionados con las 
visitas de la agencia patrocinadora 
y la autoridad registrada e incluye 
disposiciones para visitas y encuestas 
anuales de hogares registrados.

8.17.2.14 NMAC - NO 
TRANSFERIBILIDAD DEL 
REGISTRO:  El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 
relacionados con la no transferibilidad 
del registro e incluye una disposición 
de que un cuidador con solo un 
cambio de nombre no tendrá 
que pagar una tarifa o cargo de 
procesamiento.

8.17.2.15 NMAC - INFORMES DE 
INCIDENTES:  El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 
relacionados con los informes de 
incidentes e incluye disposiciones 
para los niños desatendidos y la 
notificación a los padres o tutores.

8.17.2.17 NMAC - 
INCUMPLIMIENTO: El ECECD 
propone actualizaciones de los 
requisitos relacionados con el 
incumplimiento que incluyen la 
emisión de una “carta de cese y 
desistimiento” y otras disposiciones 
relacionadas. 

8.17.2.20 NMAC - CAUSA 
PROBABLE DE PELIGRO 
INMINENTE:  El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 
relacionados con la causa probable de 
peligro inminente e incluye cambios 
en la manera en que los padres o 
tutores de los niños cuidados son 
notificados respecto de las audiencias.

8.17.2.22 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE SEGURIDAD Y SALUD:  El 
ECECD propone actualizaciones de 
los requisitos de salud y seguridad 
para los hogares que son necesarias 
para proteger la salud, la seguridad y 
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el bienestar de los niños cuidados e 
incluyen disposiciones relacionadas 
con el mantenimiento del hogar, 
juegos al aire libre, transporte y otros 
asuntos.

8.17.2.23 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
RELATIVOS A LAS COMIDAS:  
El ECECD propone actualizaciones 
de los requisitos relativos a las 
comidas en los hogares que son 
necesarias para el saneamiento y para 
proteger la salud y la seguridad de los 
niños cuidados. 

8.17.2.24 NMAC - REQUISITOS 
DE MANTENIMIENTO DE 
REGISTROS:  El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos 
de mantenimiento de registros que 
incluyen la provisión de un registro de 
asistencia de los niños cuidados.

8.17.2.25 NMAC - 
RESPONSABILIDADES DEL 
CUIDADOR:  El ECECD propone 
actualizaciones de los requisitos de 
responsabilidades del cuidador que 
son necesarias para proteger la salud, 
la seguridad y el bienestar de los 
niños cuidados.
______________________________

GAME AND FISH 
DEPARTMENT

STATE GAME COMMISSION 
MEETING AND RULE MAKING 

NOTICE

The New Mexico State Game 
Commission (“Commission”) will 
be hosting a hybrid virtual meeting 
and rule hearing on Friday, October 
22, 2021 beginning at 9:00 a.m.  
For instructions on how to attend 
this meeting either in person or 
virtually, visit the Department’s 
website at http://www.wildlife.state.
nm.us/commission/webcast/.  The 
purpose of this meeting is to hear and 
consider action as appropriate on the 
following: proposed changes for the 
Fisheries Rule, proposed changes to 
the Hunting and Fishing Manner and 
Method of Taking Rule, and proposed 
changes to the Commercial Use of 

Fish Rule.

Synopsis for the Fisheries Rule, 
Hunting and Fishing Manner 
and Method of Taking Rule, and 
Commercial Use of Fish Rule:

The proposal is to adopt a new 
Fisheries Rule, 19.31.4 NMAC, 
which will include changes from 
the existing rule and will become 
effective April 1, 2022.  There are 
also fisheries related amendments 
proposed to the Hunting and Fishing 
Manner and Method of Taking Rule, 
19.31.10 NMAC, and an amendment 
proposed to the Commercial Use of 
Fish Rule, 19.31.9 NMAC.

Proposed amendments to the Fisheries 
Rule will clarify kokanee snagging 
season dates, remove Abiquiu Lake 
from the list of waters with a kokanee 
snagging season, add a definition of 
daily bag limit, remove a definition 
of trout water, remove fishing hour 
restrictions for specific waters, clarify 
age and individual with disabilities 
restrictions for some waters, increase 
the cutthroat trout possession limit, 
add Trees Lake and Harris Pond to 
the list of Summer Catfish Waters 
with reduced daily limits for channel 
catfish, remove smallmouth bass 
length limit in the upper Rio Grande, 
remove the statewide walleye length 
limit, open McKenna Creek and 
Pinelodge Creek to angling, increase 
the daily bag limit for trout in the 
Rio Grande below Elephant Butte, 
Red River City Ponds, Red River 
Hatchery Pond, and Goose Lake, 
open Rock Lake settling ponds to 
fishing by children ages 11 and under, 
and increase the daily bag limit for 
cutthroat trout at Seven Springs Kids 
Pond from 2 to 5 fish per day.

Proposed amendments to the Hunting 
and Fishing Manner and Method 
of Taking Rule include adding a 
definition of drainage, adding shad as 
an approved bait species in the Pecos 
drainage, and adding a list of waters 
approved for trotline use.

Proposed amendments to the 
Commercial Use of Fish Rule include 

removing the reference to trout water.

A full text of changes is available on 
the Department’s website at: www.
wildlife.state.nm.us.

Interested persons may submit 
comments on the proposed changes 
to the Fisheries Rule at: DGF-
FisheriesRule@state.nm.us; or 
individuals may submit written 
comments to the physical address 
below.  Comments are due by 5:00 
p.m. on October 20, 2021.  The final 
proposed rules will be voted on by the 
Commission during a hybrid virtual 
public meeting on October 22, 2021.  
Interested persons may also provide 
data, views or arguments, orally or in 
writing, at the hybrid virtual public 
rule hearing to be held October 22, 
2021.

Full copies of the text of the proposed 
new rule, technical information 
related to proposed rule changes, and 
the agenda can be obtained from the 
Office of the Director, New Mexico 
Department of Game and Fish, 1 
Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 
87507, or from the Department’s 
website at https://www.wildlife.
state.nm.us/commission/proposals-
under-consideration/.  This agenda 
is subject to change up to 72 hours 
prior to the meeting.  Please contact 
the Director’s Office at (505) 476-
8000, or the Department’s website at 
www.wildlife.state.nm.us for updated 
information.

If you are an individual with a 
disability who needs a reader, 
amplifier, qualified sign language 
interpreter, or any other form of 
auxiliary aid or service to attend or 
participate in the hearing or meeting, 
please contact the Department at 
(505) 476-8000 at least one week 
prior to the meeting or as soon 
as possible.  Public documents, 
including the agenda and minutes, 
can be provided in various accessible 
formats.  Please contact the 
Department at (505) 476-8000 if a 
summary or other type of accessible 
format is needed.

Legal authority for this rulemaking 
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can be found in the General Powers 
and Duties of the State Game 
Commission 17-1-14, et seq. NMSA 
1978; Commission’s Power to 
establish rules and regulations 17-1-
26, et seq. NMSA 1978.
______________________________

GAME AND FISH 
DEPARTMENT

STATE GAME COMMISSION 
MEETING AND RULE MAKING 

NOTICE

The New Mexico State Game 
Commission (“Commission”) will 
be hosting a virtual and in-person 
meeting and rule hearing on Thursday 
October 22, 2021 beginning at 9:00 
a.m. at the New Mexico Farm and 
Ranch Heritage Museum, 4100 
Dripping Springs Rd., Las Cruces, 
NM.  Please check the Department’s 
website at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us 
for potential venue changes due 
to the COVID-19 pandemic.  The 
purpose of this meeting is to hear and 
consider action as appropriate on the 
following:  presentation of proposed 
changes to 1) the Upland Game rule; 
and 2) the Furbearers rule.

Synopsis:
1) The proposal is to amend the 
Upland Game rule, 19.31.5 NMAC, 
which will become effective April 1, 
2022.  The current Upland Game rule 
will expire on March 31, 2022.  The 
proposed new rule includes expanding 
boundaries of the Bernardo youth 
pheasant hunt to include adjacent 
WMAs in the middle Rio Grande 
Valley, adjusting dusky grouse and 
squirrel seasons to close December 
31, adjusting hunt dates based 
on calendar dates, and removing 
language duplicated in 19.31.10 
NMAC Hunting and Fishing- Manner 
and Method and 19.31.3 NMAC 
Hunting and Fishing Licenses and 
Application.
2) The proposal is to amend 
the Furbearers rule, 19.32.2 NMAC, 
which will become effective April 1, 
2022. The current Furbearer rule will 
expire on March 31, 2024.  Senate 
Bill 32, the Wildlife Conservation 

and Public Safety Act (17-11-1 to 
5 NMSA 1978), passed the 2021 
Legislative session and was signed 
into law.  The proposed amendment 
will conform with new statutory 
changes.

A full text of changes for both rules 
will be available on the Department’s 
website at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us.

Interested persons may submit 
comments on the proposed changes 
to the Upland Game rule at DGF-
Gamebird@state.nm.us, or the 
Furbearer rule at DGF-Furberarer-
Rules@state.nm.us; individuals may 
also submit written comments to the 
physical address below.  Comments 
are due by 8:00 a.m. on October 21, 
2021.  The final proposed rules will be 
voted on by the Commission during a 
public meeting on October 22, 2021.  
Interested persons may also provide 
data, views or arguments, orally or in 
writing, at the public rule hearing to 
be held on October 22, 2021.

Full copies of text of the proposed 
new rules, technical information 
related to proposed rule changes, and 
the agenda can be obtained from the 
Office of the Director, New Mexico 
Department of Game and Fish, 1 
Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, New Mexico 
87507, or from the Department’s 
website at www.wildlife.state.
nm.us/commission/proposals-
under-consideration/.  This agenda 
is subject to change up to 72 hours 
prior to the meeting.  Please contact 
the Director’s Office at (505) 476-
8000, or the Department’s website at 
www.wildlife.state.nm.us for updated 
information.

If you are an individual with a 
disability who is in need of a 
reader, amplifier, qualified sign 
language interpreter, or any other 
form of auxiliary aid or service to 
attend or participate in the hearing 
or meeting, please contact the 
Department at (505) 476-8000 at 
least one week prior to the meeting 
or as soon as possible.  Public 
documents, including the agenda and 
minutes, can be provided in various 

accessible formats. Please contact 
the Department at 505-476-8000 if a 
summary or other type of accessible 
format is needed.

Legal authority for this rulemaking 
can be found in the General Powers 
and Duties of the State Game 
Commission 17-1-14, et seq. NMSA 
1978; Commission’s Power to 
establish rules and regulations 17-1-
26, et seq. NMSA 1978.
______________________________

HUMAN SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT
CHILD SUPPORT 

ENFORCEMENT DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Human Services Department 
through the Child Support 
Enforcement Division (CSED), 
is proposing amendments to rules 
8.50.100.13 NMAC, Confidentiality; 
8.50.100.14 NMAC, Authorized 
Release of Information; 8.50.100.15 
NMAC, Written Statements of 
Collection Provided to Recipients of 
IV-D Services; 8.50.100.16 NMAC, 
Controls and Reporting; 8.50.100.17 
NMAC, Change of Address; 
8.50.106.2 NMAC, Scope; 8.50.106.3 
NMAC, Statutory Authority; 
8.50.106.9 NMAC, Time Frames For 
Parent Locate; 8.50.106.10 NMAC, 
Verification of Location; 8.50.106.11 
NMAC, The State Parent Locator 
Service; 8.50.106.12 NMAC, Federal 
Parent Locator Service (FPLS); 
8.50.106.13 NMAC, Deseased 
Parties; 8.50.106.14 NMAC, State 
Case Registry; 8.50.106.15 NMAC, 
Locator Information from Interstate 
Networks; 8.50.106.16 NMAC, State 
Directory of New Hires; 8.50.107.2 
NMAC, Scope; 8.50.107.3 NMAC, 
Statutory Authority; 8.50.107.6 
NMAC, Objective; 8.50.107.8 
NMAC, Determination of Parentage; 
8.50.107.9 NMAC, Parentage 
Involving Minor Fathers and Mothers; 
8.50.107.11 NMAC, Long Arm 
Statue Cases; 8.50.107.12 NMAC, 
Genetic Testing; 8.50.108.3 NMAC, 
Statutory Authority; 8.50.108.12 
NMAC, Modification of Child 
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Support Orders; 8.50.109.2 NMAC, 
Scope; 8.50.109.3 NMAC, Statutory 
Authority; 8.50.109.6 NMAC, 
Objective; 8.50.109.8 NMAC, 
Establishment of Medical Support; 
8.50.109.10 NMAC, Availability of 
Medical Care Coverage; 8.50.109.11 
NMAC, Providing Custodial Parents 
With Medical Care Coverage 
Information; 8.50.109.12 NMAC, 
Monitoring and Enforcing Coverage; 
8.50.109.13 NMAC, Medical 
Support; 8.50.109.14 NMAC, 
Communication With the Medical 
Assistance Division; 8.50.109.15 
NMAC, Ordering Specific Amounts 
for Medical Support; 8.50.109.17 
NMAC, Fees; 8.50.110.2 NMAC, 
Scope; 8.50.110.3 NMAC, Statutory 
Authority; 8.50.110.8 NMAC, Income 
Withholding; 8.50.110.9 NMAC, 
Termination of Income Withholding; 
8.50.110.10 NMAC, Withholding 
of Unemplyment Compensation; 
8.50.110.11 NMAC, Withholding of 
Workman’s Compensation; 8.50.111.2 
NMAC, Scope; 8.50.111.3 NMAC, 
Statutory Authority; 8.50.111.8 
NMAC, General Enforcement of 
Support Obligations; 8.50.111.9 
NMAC, Persons Owing Overdue 
Support; 8.50.111.10 NMAC, Interest 
Calculations; 8.50.111.12 NMAC, 
Contempt Proceedings; 8.50.111.13 
NMAC, Garnishment; 8.50.111.15 
NMAC, Post of Bond, Guarantee, 
or Other Security; 8.50.111.16 
NMAC, State or Federal Criminal 
Prosecutions; 8.50.112.2 NMAC, 
Scope; 8.50.112.3 NMAC, Statutory 
Authority; 8.50.112.8 NMAC, 
Parental Responsibility Act (License 
Suspension); 8.50.112.9 NMAC, 
Consumer Reporting Agencies 
(Credit Bureaus); 8.50.112.10 
NMAC, Full Collection Services 
by the Secretary of the Treasury; 
8.50.112.11 NMAC, Collection of 
Past Due Support by Federal Tax 
Refund Offset; 8.50.112.12 NMAC, 
Collection of Past Due Support by 
New Mexico Taxation and Revenue 
Department by State Tax Refund 
Offset; 8.50.112.13 NMAC, Denial 
of Passports for Nonpayment of 
Child Support; 8.50.112.14 NMAC, 
Lottery; 8.50.112.15 NMAC, 
Gaming; 8.50112.16 NMAC, 

Administrative Offset by the 
Secretary of the Treasury; 8.50.114.2 
NMAC, Scope; 8.50.114.3 NMAC, 
Statutory Authority; 8.50.114.8 
NMAC, Agreements With Financial 
Institutions; 8.50.114.9 NMAC, 
Freeze Order; 8.50.114.10 NMAC, 
Sieze Order; 8.50.114.12 NMAC, 
Seized Assets; 8.50.114.13 NMAC, 
Distribution of FIDM Collections in 
Multiple Cases; 8.50.125.2 NMAC, 
Scope; 8.50.125.3 NMAC, Statutory 
Authority; 8.50.125.8 NMAC, 
Child Support Payments; 8.50.125.9 
NMAC, State Disbursement Unit; 
8.50.125.10 NMAC, Collection 
of fees/Recoupments; 8.50.125.11 
NMAC, Distribution of Collections 
(Except For Federal Income Tax 
refund Offsets); 8.50.125.14 
NMAC, Assigned Medical Support 
Collections; 8.50.125.15 NMAC, 
Child Level Accounting; 8.50.125.16 
NMAC, Child Support Received 
Directly From Payors; 8.50.125.18 
NMAC, Child Suport Case Services; 
8.50.125.19 NMAC, Issuance of 
Replacement Warrants; 8.50.130.2 
NMAC, Scope; 8.50.130.3 NMAC, 
Statutory Authority; 8.50.130.8 
NMAC, Administrative Hearings; 
8.50.130.9 NMAC, In General; 
8.50.130.10 NMAC, Notice of 
Administrative Enforcement Action; 
8.50.130.11 NMAC, Time Frames 
For Requesting an Administrative 
Hearing; 8.50.130.12 NMAC, 
Contesting Tax Refund Intercept in 
Interstate Cases; 8.50.130.14 NMAC, 
Contesting The Denial of Payment 
of an Undistributed Collection; 
8.50.130.15, Initiation of Hearing 
Process; 8.50.130.16 NMAC, 
Denial/Dismissal of Request For 
Hearing; 8.50.130.17 NMAC, Notice 
of Hearing; 8.50.130.18 NMAC, 
Appelliant’s Rights; 8.50.130.19 
NMAC, Title IV-D Agency 
Responsibility; 8.50.130.20 NMAC, 
Pre-Hearing Activity; 8.50.130.21 
NMAC, Conduct of Hearing; 
8.50.130.22 NMAC, Desisin Making; 
8.50.130.23 NMAC, Implementation 
of Decisions; 8.50.130.24 NMAC, 
Right of Appeal; 8.50.130.25 NMAC, 
State Directory of New Hires Penalty 
Assessment Hearings.

Changes in the rule are to update 
language, incorporate standardized 
rule language, and to provide 
additional clarification of the rules.  
Additional changes include updating 
statute citation format, replacing 
insurance to health care coverage to 
include public coverage, updating 
address, deceased persons and income 
withholding policies.  The register for 
these proposed amendments to these 
rules will be available 9/14/2021 on 
the HSD web site at http://www.hsd.
state.nm.us/LookingForInformation/
registers.aspx.  If you do not have 
Internet access, a copy of the 
proposed rules may be requested by 
contacting CSED at (505) 795-3251.

A public hearing to receive testimony 
on these proposed rules will be held 
at 9:00am on Monday, October 
18, 2021, in the ASD/HSD Large 
Conference Room on the 1st floor, 
1474 Rodeo Rd, Santa Fe, New 
Mexico, or

Please join my meeting from your 
computer, tablet or smartphone.
https://global.gotomeeting.com/
join/834239293

You can also dial in using your 
phone.
United States: +1 (646) 749-3122

Access Code: 834-239-293

Join from a video-conferencing 
room or system.
Dial in or type: 67.217.95.2 or 
inroomlink.goto.com
Meeting ID:  834 239 293
Or dial directly:  
834239293@67.217.95.2 or 
67.217.95.2##834239293

New to GoToMeeting? Get the 
app now and be ready when your 
first meeting starts: https://global.
gotomeeting.com/install/834239293

Interested parties may submit written 
comments directly to:  Human 
Services Department, Office of the 
Secretary, ATTN: Child Support 
Enforcement Division Public 
Comments, P.O. Box 2348, Santa 
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Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348.  
Recorded comments may be left by 
calling (505) 709-5755.  Electronic 
comments may be submitted to 
john.lujan2@state.nm.us.  Written, 
electronic and recorded comments 
will be given the same consideration 
as oral testimony made at the public 
hearing.  All comments must be 
received no later than 5:00 p.m. 
October 18, 2021.  All written 
comments will be posted on the 
agency’s website within three days of 
receipt.

If you are a person with a disability 
and you require this information in an 
alternative format or require a special 
accommodation to participate in the 
public hearing, please contact the 
Division toll free at 1-800-432-6217.  
The Department’s TDD system may 
be accessed toll-free at 1-800-659-
8331 or in Santa Fe by calling (505) 
827-3184.  The Department requests 
at least ten (10) days advance notice 
to provide requested alternative 
formats and special accommodations.

Copies of all comments will be made 
available by the CSED upon request 
by providing copies directly to a 
requestor or by making them available 
on the CSED website or at a location 
within the county of the requestor.
______________________________

PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY, 
BOARD OF

PUBLIC RULE HEARING AND 
REGULAR BOARD MEETING

The New Mexico Public Accountancy 
Board (“Board”) will hold a rule 
hearing on Tuesday, October 26, 
2021 at 9:00 a.m.  Following the rule 
hearing, the Board will convene a 
board meeting to consider adoption 
of the rules and address regular 
business.  The rule hearing and board 
meeting will be held at the Regulation 
and Licensing Department, 5500 
San Antonio Dr. NE, Albuquerque, 
NM 87109 (dependent upon the 
current public health order), and 
online via Cisco Webex Meetings in 
Albuquerque, New Mexico.  

To join the meeting online by Cisco 
Webex Meeting, please use the 
following link:

https://nmrld.webex.com/nmrld/j.php
?MTID=eb2ef8911d72d7790b01d9f8
384cadfe9

Event Code: 146 572 6875

The purpose of the rule hearing is to 
consider proposed amendments to the 
following rules:

16.60.1.7 NMAC – Definitions;
16.60.3.9 NMAC – Initial Certificate/
License Requirements;
16.60.3.12 NMAC – Reinstatement 
Requirements;
16.60.3.14 NMAC- Substantial 
equivalency/intent to practice 
requirements;
16.60.3.15 NMAC – Continuing 
Professional Education (CPE) 
Required to Obtain or Maintain an 
“Active” CPA License;
16.60.4.8 NMAC – Firm Permit 
Application, Renewal, Reinstatement 
and Notification Requirements;
16.60.5.11 NMAC – Rules of 
Conduct; and

The purpose of the rule hearing is to 
consider the creation of the following 
rule:

16.60.5.15 NMAC – Criminal 
Convictions.

To obtain and review copies of the 
proposed changes you may go to the 
Board’s website at: http://www.rld.
state.nm.us/boards/Accountancy.aspx  
or contact the New Mexico Public 
Accountancy Board by email at 
Accountancy.Board@state.nm.us.

The Board is currently accepting 
public comments on the proposed 
amendments.  Please submit written 
comments on the proposed changes 
to Noel Davis, Board Executive 
Director, via electronic mail at 
Accountancy.Board@state.nm.us or 
by regular mail at 5500 San Antonio 
Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109, 
no later than Monday, October 25, 
2021.  Persons will also be given 

the opportunity to drop off their 
comments prior to the rule hearing.  
An NMPAB staff member will be 
present between 8:00a.m – 9:00a.m. 
on the day of the rule hearing 
at the Regulation and Licensing 
Department, 5500 San Antonio Dr. 
NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109, to 
accept public comment in written 
form. The NMPAB staff will then 
present the public comment during the 
rules hearing.
All written comments will be posted 
to the Board’s website at: http://www.
rld.state.nm.us/boards/Accountancy.
aspx, no more than three business 
days following receipt to allow for 
public viewing.

An individual with a disability who 
is in need of a reader, amplifier, 
qualified sign language interpreter, or 
other form of auxiliary aid or service 
to attend or participate in the hearing, 
please contact Jeanette Contreras, 
Board Executive Director by email at 
Noel.Davis1@state.nm.us.

Statutory Authority:  The 1999 
New Mexico Public Accountancy 
Act, Sections 61-28B-5, NMSA 1978, 
among other provisions, specifically 
authorizes the Board to “adopt and 
file rules necessary to carry out 
the provisions of the 1999 Public 
Accountancy Act.”

Summary of Proposed Changes:
In addition to making minor 
clarification changes, the proposed 
rules are summarized as follows:

16.60.1.7 NMAC - Definitions
The amendments to this section 
clarify and create new definitions that 
will create better understanding of the 
Act.

16.60.3.9 NMAC - Initial 
Certificate/License Requirements
The amendments to this section will 
update licensing requirements to meet 
the Criminal Record Expungement 
Act pursuant to Sections 29-3A-1 
through 29-3A-7 NMYSA 1978 and 
the Expedited Licensure for Military 
Families pursuant to 61-1-34 NMSA 
1978. 
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16.60.3.12 NMAC - Reinstatement 
Requirements
The amendments to this section will 
update licensing requirements to meet 
the Criminal Record Expungement 
Act pursuant to Sections 29-3A-1 
through 29-3A-7 NMYSA 1978. 

16.60.3.14 NMAC – Substantial 
Equivalency/Intent to Practice 
Requirements
The amendments to this section will 
update licensing requirements to meet 
the Criminal Record Expungement 
Act pursuant to Sections 29-3A-1 
through 29-3A-7 NMYSA 1978.

16.60.3.15 NMAC - Continuing 
Professional Education (CPE) 
Required to Obtain or Maintain an 
“Active” CPA License
The amendments to this section will 
clarify the process to request an 
extension to meet the CPE renewal 
requirements; add community service 
as an alternative option to a fine; 
update licensing requirements to meet 
the Criminal Record Expungement 
Act pursuant to Sections 29-3A-1 
through 29-3A-7 NMYSA 1978.

16.60.4.8 NMAC - Firm 
Permit Application, Renewal, 
Reinstatement and Notification 
Requirements
The amendment to this section defines 
the firm permit expiration date. 

16.60.5.11 NMAC - Rules of 
Conduct
The amendment to this section will 
update licensing requirements to meet 
the Criminal Record Expungement 
Act pursuant to Sections 29-3A-1 
through 29-3A-7 NMYSA 1978.

16.60.5.14 NMAC – Criminal 
Convictions
This new section details the 
applicable criminal convictions that 
may disqualify an applicant from 
receiving or retaining a license in 
regards to the Criminal Record 
Expungement Act pursuant to 
Sections 29-3A-1 through 29-3A-7 
NMYSA 1978; defines the board will 
not disseminate criminal records that 

are unrelated to the disqualifying 
event.
______________________________

REGULATION AND 
LICENSING DEPARTMENT

COUNSELING AND THERAPY 
PRACTICE BOARD

PUBLIC RULE HEARING AND 
REGULAR BOARD MEETING

The New Mexico Counseling and 
Therapy Practice Board will hold a 
rule hearing on Friday, October 15, 
2021, at 9:00 a.m.  Following the rule 
hearing, the Board will convene a 
Board meeting to consider adoption 
of the rules and address regular 
business.  The rule hearing and Board 
meeting will be held via Cisco Webex 
Meetings.

The purpose of the rule hearing is to 
receive input and public comment 
for proposed amendments to the 
following rules:

16.27.1 NMAC   – General 
Provisions;
16.27.2 NMAC   – Mental Health 
Core Curriculum Requirements;
16.27.3 NMAC   – Application 
Procedures, Initial Licenses, and 
License Period;
16.27.4 NMAC   – Requirements for 
Licensure as a Professional Clinical 
Mental Health Counselor;
16.27.6 NMAC   – Requirements for 
Licensure as a Marriage and Family 
Therapist;
16.27.7 NMAC   – Requirements 
for Licensure as a Professional Art 
Therapist;
16.27.9 NMAC   – Requirements 
for Licensure as a Mental Health 
Counselor;
16.27.11 NMAC – Requirements for 
Licensure with Examination as an 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor;
16.27.13 NMAC – Requirements 
for Licensure as a Substance Abuse 
Associate;
16.27.14 NMAC – Temporary 
License; 
16.27.15 NMAC – Examinations;  
16.27.16 NMAC – Continuing 
Education;

16.27.17 NMAC – Fees;
16.27.18 NMAC – Code of Ethics;
16.27.19 NMAC – Approved 
Supervision;
16.27.20 NMAC – Parental 
Responsibility Act Compliance;
16.27.21 NMAC – Emergency 
Licensure;
16.27.22 NMAC – Requirements for 
Licensure as an Associate Marriage 
and Family Therapist;
16.27.23 NMAC – Licensure as an
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor
(LADAC) for Current Credential 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor
(CADAC); and 
16.27.24 NMAC – Licensure for 
Military Service Members, Spouses, 
and Veterans

To obtain and review copies of the 
proposed changes you may go to the 
Board’s website at  https://www.rld.
nm.gov/boards-and-commissions/
individual-boards-and-commissions/
counseling-and-therapy-practice-
overview/ct-laws-rules-and-
policies/, or contact the Boards and 
Commissions Division at (505) 476-
4622.

The Board is currently accepting 
public comments on the proposed 
amendments.  Please submit written 
comments on the proposed changes 
to Lori Sciacca, Board Administrator, 
via electronic mail at Counseling.
Board@state.nm.us or by regular 
mail at P.O. Box 25101, Santa Fe, 
NM 87504, no later than Thursday, 
October 14, 2021.  Persons will 
also be given the opportunity to 
present their comments at the rule 
hearing.  All written comments will 
be posted to the Board’s website at:  
https://www.rld.nm.gov/boards-and-
commissions/individual-boards-and-
commissions/counseling-and-therapy-
practice-overview/ct-laws-rules-and-
policies/, no more than three business 
days following receipt to allow for 
public view. 

An individual with a disability who 
is in need of a reader, amplifier, 
qualified sign language interpreter, or 
other form of auxiliary aid or service 
to attend or participate in the hearing, 
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please contact Lori Sciacca, Board 
Administrator at (505) 476-4622.

Statutory Authority:  The 
Counseling and Therapy Practice 
Act, Sections 61-9A-1 to -30, NMSA 
1978, and specifically Section 61-9A-
9, NMSA 1978, authorizes the Board 
to “adopt and file rules necessary 
to carry out the provisions of the 
Counseling and Therapy Practice 
Act.”  

Summary of Proposed Changes:
The changes to Parts 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 
9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19. 20, 
21, 22, 23, and 24 of the Board’s 
rules are primarily intended to 
address the significant changes to 
the Counseling and Therapy Practice 
Act, Sections 61-9A-1 to -30, 1978 
(1991, as amended through 2019) 
(the “Act”), which occurred this 
past Legislative Session. See S.B. 
2, 56th Leg., 1st Sess. (N.M. 2019), 
available at https://www.nmlegis.
gov/Sessions/19%20Regular/
final/SB0200.pdf. Additionally, 
amendments to the rules are intended 
to update and clarify licensing 
requirements, definitions and the 
rules of ethics.  The amendments are 
also intended to clean up language, 
statutory and rule citations and 
grammar currently existing in the 
rules to ensure uniformity in the 
application of the rules.  

16.27.1 NMAC – General 
Provisions 
The amendments to General 
Provisions are generally minor and 
include adjustments intended to make 
the definitions of common terms 
more clear, an update to calculations 
for quarter hours to align with most 
common educational programs, and 
updated language to include electronic 
work (counseling and therapy, 
supervision, and board activities) 
within definitions. A provision 
that requires license number and 
designation on a web page is added. 
The elected positions on the board are 
reduced to only chairperson and vice 
chairperson. The minimum number 
of members to serve on committees 
is reduced from three to one. And, a 

section regarding criminal convictions 
has been added, as required by the 
Act.

16.27.2 NMAC – Mental Health 
Core Curriculum Requirements
The amendments to Part 2 are very 
minor, they adjust the quarter and 
semester hour requirements to 
meet current educational program 
guidelines, and make minor 
grammatical changes.

16.27.3 NMAC – Application 
Procedures, Initial Licenses, and 
License Period
The amendments to Part 3 are 
generally minor, they make changes 
to grammar and sentence structure 
and remove language about 
notarization. More substantially, a 
section on renewal requirements is 
added, including new requirements 
for a minimum of 12 CEUs 
(previously 6) related to ethics and a 
minimum of 6 CEUs (previously 3) 
related to supervision (if providing 
supervision). The board believes these 
changes were necessary to ensure 
that licensees are more informed of 
these important topics, and hopefully 
to stem the durge of complaints filed 
related to ethics and to supervision.

16.27.4 NMAC – Requirements for 
Licensure as a Professional Clinical 
Mental Health Counselor (LPCC)
The amendments to Part 4 remove 
language pertaining to supervision 
which is not required for the LPCC, 
and qualifies that the board may 
request syllabi rather than requiring 
them to be sent in initially. Also added 
is a process by which applicants who 
have just graduated can verify degree 
completion prior to their school 
certifying transcripts, so that new 
professionals may seek employment 
without being delayed by college 
and university timetables. And, the 
requirement for an applicant by 
credentials’ years of independent 
experience was changed from 5 to 
2 to help to eliminate barriers for 
experienced practitioners entering the 
state.  

16.27.6 NMAC – Requirements 
for Licensure as a Marriage and 
Family Therapist (LMFT)
The amendments to Part 6 remove 
language pertaining to supervision 
which is not required for the LMFT 
and updates the semester and quarter 
hour requirements to meet current 
educational program standards. 
Additionally, a mechanism for degree 
verification prior to a degree being 
conferred is outlined so that new 
professionals may seek employment 
without being delayed by college 
and university timetables. And, the 
requirement for an applicant by 
credentials’ years of independent 
experience was changed from 5 to 
2 to help to eliminate barriers for 
experienced practitioners entering the 
state.  

16.27.7 NMAC – Requirements 
for Licensure as a Professional Art 
Therapist (LPAT)
The amendments to Part 7 removes 
language pertaining to supervision 
which is not required for LPAT, 
clarifies the educational levels 
required for entering the field, 
outlines the core curriculum with 
a description of each area, and 
adds a process by which applicants 
who have just graduated can verify 
degree completion prior to their 
school certifying transcripts so 
that new professionals may seek 
employment without being delayed 
by college and university timetables. 
The requirement to submit syllabi 
is replaced with a statement that 
says the board can request them if 
needed. And, the number of years 
that a license must have been in good 
standing for licensure by credentials is 
changed from five to two, to eliminate 
barriers for experienced practitioners 
entering the state.

16.27.9 NMAC – Requirements 
for Licensure as a Mental Health 
Counselor (LMHC, Practice under 
Supervision)
The amendments to Part 9 are of 
note. They remove mention of 
marriage and family therapist, as 
they have a separate part regarding 
their licensure under supervision. 
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Additionally, the terms under which 
supervised hours would become 
invalid is now specified to be five 
years. Updates to the semester and 
quarter hour requirements were 
made to meet current educational 
program standards. And, the process 
and requirements for applying for 
licensure by credential were added.

16.27.11 NMAC – Requirements for
Licensure with Examination as
an Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Counselor (LADAC) Effective 
July 1, 2005
The amendments to Part 11 are minor, 
and update the language to clarify 
that supervision is not required for 
the LADAC license since it is an 
independent license. Also, language 
about the educational requirements 
is updated for greater clarity and to 
specify the ways that semester credit 
hours are calculated for clock hours. 
And, outdated language that related 
to grandfathered licenses is removed 
since it is no longer relevant.

16.27.13 NMAC – Requirements 
for Licensure as a Substance Abuse 
Associate (LSAA) Effective July 1, 
2005
The amendments to Park 13 are minor 
and include the addition of LCSWs 
as well as LISWs as appropriate 
supervisors, change in language 
from ‘drug and alcohol counseling’ 
to ‘substance abuse counseling’, and 
addresses minor grammatical issues. 
Outdated language about reciprocity 
is also removed, since it covers 
something that was repealed in 2004.

16.27.14 NMAC – Temporary 
License
The amendments to Part 14 are 
substantial. There are changes that 
serve to update the language to 
include associate marriage and family 
therapists in addition to LMHCs, 
and to clean up the grammar. The 
guidelines regarding issuance of a 
temporary license are of note, as 
they no longer prohibit someone 
from testing for 1 year if they fail to 
pass their examination three times. 
Additionally, clinical and supervision 
hours that were obtained during 

the period that the applicant held a 
temporary license will not expire, 
and may be used after the candidate 
passes their exam and is ready to 
apply for independent licensure.

16.27.15 NMAC – Examinations
The amendments to Part 15 are minor 
grammatical changes to improve 
clarity, particularly with regard to the 
process of re-taking an exam. 

16.27.16 NMAC – Continuing 
Education
The amendments to Part 16 make 
minor changes in grammar, are clarify 
the activities that will count for CEUs, 
how CEUs are calculated, and what 
the procedures are for registering 
as a CEU provider. Specifically the 
changes; describe how semester and 
quarter hours are calculated, add a 
policy on how pro bono work can be 
counted for CEUs, and details what 
happens if a licensee’s CEUs are not 
accepted. 

16.27.17 NMAC – Fees
The amendments to Part 17 are 
generally minor and include changes 
in grammar, and the addition of a 
fee for a late CEU extension request, 
a fee for CEUs that are incorrectly 
issued, and a fee for CEU providers.

16.27.18 NMAC – Code of Ethics
Part 18 was repealed and replaced. 
The most notable change is the 
addition of ethical expectations 
related to electronic therapy.  

16.27.19 NMAC – Approved 
Supervision
The amendments to Part 19 are 
substantial and include provisions to 
better protect both supervisors and 
supervisees. The major amendments 
are: listing out the licensures that are 
appropriate to provide supervision, 
a definition of virtual supervision, 
some grammatical updates, and a 
limit on the number of supervision 
hours that can be completed per week 
(40). There is a proposed change to 
eliminate the requirement to have 
three years’ experience, and instead 
to specify that a supervisor must 
be independently licensed, to help 

remove some barriers that the state 
can face of having too few qualified 
supervisors. And, the supervisory role 
is updated to include requirements 
that supervisors track supervisees’ 
professionalism and ethical conduct, 
as well as to maintain documentation 
such as a supervisory contract and a 
supervision log to include notes. A 
supervisor designation is outlined, to 
help ensure a supervisor meets and 
maintains the minimum standards for 
supervising.

16.27.20 NMAC – Parental 
Responsibility Act Compliance
The amendments to Part 20 include 
minor changes to update the 
numbering of the rules, and the 
addition of a delegation of authority 
clause. These are all to adopt 
language found in the Act.

16.27.21 NMAC – Emergency 
Licensure
The amendments to Part 21 involved 
minor numbering changes, and 
the removal of the requirement for 
notarization, to be in compliance with 
the Act.

16.27.22 NMAC – Requirements for 
Licensure as an Associate Marriage 
and Family Therapist (LAMFT)
The amendments to Part 22 are of 
note. They specify that LCSWs or 
LISWs may supervise LAMFTs as 
long as they have received the CTPB 
supervisor designation. Also, terms 
under which supervised hours would 
become invalid is now specified to be 
five years. Additionally, a mechanism 
for degree verification prior to a 
degree being conferred is outlined 
so that new professionals may seek 
employment without being delayed by 
college and university timetables.

16.27.23 NMAC – Licensure as an 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor 
(LADAC) for Current Credential 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor
(CADAC)
Part 23 was removed, as it has been 
repealed.

16.27.24 NMAC – Licensure for 
Military Service Members, Spouses, 
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and Veterans
The amendments for Part 24 were to 
repeal and replace, following changes 
to the Act.
______________________________

REGULATION AND 
LICENSING DEPARTMENT

PHARMACY, BOARD OF

NOTICE OF REGULAR BOARD 
MEETING AND RULE HEARING

The New Mexico Board of Pharmacy 
will convene for the purpose of 
conducting a regular board meeting 
and rule hearing on October 21, 
2021.  The meeting will continue 
until finished.  If the meeting agenda 
items are not finished by 5:00 p.m., 
the Board will convene on October 
22nd at 9:00 a.m. and continue until 
finished.  Given the declared public 
health emergency due to COVID-19, 
the meeting will be held virtually via 
Cisco WebEx.

Location: Virtual meeting

October 21, 2021
Meeting link https://nmrld.webex.
com/nmrld/onstage/g.php?MTID=
e53bb0ac59f31b17815c692d6324e
b0a5
Meeting number:  146 766 2710
Password:  R3zESYCCC72

Join by phone  +1-415-655-0002 
United States Toll
Access code: 146 766 2710

October 22, 2021
Meeting link https://nmrld.webex.
com/nmrld/onstage/g.php?MTID=
e81c50dac9952a2971a5973b547ca
a78a
Meeting number: 146 694 4364
Password:  4qYxUAunC22

Join by phone  +1-415-655-0002 
United States Toll
Access code: 146 694 4364

The agenda is posted 72 hours prior 
to the scheduled meeting.  You may 
view and download a copy of the 
agenda through the board’s website: 
https://www.rld.nm.gov/boards-and-

commissions/individual-boards-and-
commissions/pharmacy/pharmacy-
board-information/pharmacy-board-
meetings/.  All proposed language 
regarding rule hearings is linked to 
the Agenda, the Notice to the Public 
on our website and the New Mexico 
Sunshine Portal.

Individuals petitioning the board 
regarding requests/waivers and/
or interested persons wishing to 
comment on proposed language 
regarding rule hearings must submit 
documentation for presentation; via 
fax (505) 222-9845, mail or email to 
the Board Administrator, Gabriella 
Romero, gabriella.romero@state.
nm.us at least one week in advance 
of the scheduled meeting, as public 
comment is allowed during the 
rule hearing. On the morning of 
the hearing beginning at 8:00 a.m. 
and ending when the rule hearing 
adjourns, a Board of Pharmacy 
representative will be stationed at 
the board office, located at 5500 San 
Antonio Drive NE, Albuquerque, NM 
87109, to receive written comments 
regarding the rule hearings and also 
to convey them to the Board. Public 
attendance will be limited to remote 
participation. Oral participation by 
members of the public will be limited 
to those comments and discussion 
through audiovisual means.

The board may go into Executive 
Session to discuss items pursuant to 
Section 10-15-1H(1), Section 10-
15-1H(2), Section 10-15-1H(3) or 
Section 10-15-1H(7) of the Open 
Meeting Act.  Agenda items may 
be executed at any time during the 
meeting to accommodate hearings. 

If you are an individual with a 
disability who is in need of a reader, 
amplifier, qualified sign language 
interpreter, or any other form of 
auxiliary aid or service to attend or 
participate in the hearing or meeting, 
please contact Gabriella Romero 505-
222-9835 at least one week prior to 
the meeting or as soon as possible.  
Public documents, including the 
agenda and minutes, can be provided 
in various accessible formats.  

Please contact Gabriella Romero, at 
505-222-9835 or e-mail gabriella.
romero@state.nm.us if a summary 
or other type of accessible format is 
needed. 

The Board will address:

All Board Matters:

Rule Hearings:  October 21, 2021 
9:10 a.m.

16.19.4 NMAC – PHARMACIST:  
Section 1, administrative update.  
Section 3, update to statutory 
authority.  Section 8, defining 
gross immorality and enumerating 
disqualifying criminal convictions 
that may result in license suspension, 
or refusal to grant or renew a license 
issued by the board.  The board is not 
barred from denying an application 
or disciplining a licensee for conduct 
in violation of the Pharmacy Act 
(Chapter 61, Article 11 NMSA 1978), 
the Drug Device and Cosmetic 
Act (Chapter 26, Article 1 NMSA 
1978), the Controlled Substances Act 
(Chapter 30, Article 31 NMSA 1978), 
the Imitation Controlled Substances 
Act (Chapter 30, Article 31A NMSA 
1978), or the Drug Precursor Act 
(Chapter 30, Article 31B NMSA 
1978), or similar act of another state 
or of the United States, or pursuant 
to the Impaired Health Care Provider 
Act (Chapter 61, Article 7 NMSA 
1978), or the Impaired Pharmacists 
Act (Chapter 61, Article 11 NMSA 
1978).  Section 11, update citation 
and add allowance for custodial care 
facilities to stock naloxone for opioid 
overdose (rescue).  
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
Subsection B of Section 61-1-36 
NMSA 1978, Subsection B of Section 
28-2-3 NMSA 1978, Section 28-
2-4 NMSA 1978, and Paragraph 1 
of Subsection A of Section 61-11-6 
NMSA 1978.

16.19.12 NMAC – FEES:  Section 3, 
update to statutory authority.  Section 
9, waive registration fees for United 
States military service members, 
spouses, dependent children, and 
veterans who are applying for 
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pharmacist licensure by reciprocity.  
Section 12, waive initial renewal 
fees for United States military 
service members, spouses, dependent 
children, and veterans who obtained 
pharmacist licensure by reciprocity. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  Section 
61-1-34 NMSA 1978

16.19.22 NMAC – SUPPORT 
PERSONNEL AND PHARMACY 
TECHNICIANS:  Sections 1 and 3, 
administrative updates.  New section 
16, allowing pharmacy technician 
administration of vaccines under 
outlined requirements.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
Subsection A of Section 61-11-6 
NMSA 1978

16.19.27 – DISHONORABLE 
CONDUCT:   Section 1, 
administrative update.  Section 
3, update to statutory authority.  
Section 7, defining and enumerating 
disqualifying criminal convictions 
that may result in license or 
registration suspension, or refusal to 
grant or renew a license or registration 
issued by the board.  The board is not 
barred from denying an application 
or disciplining a licensee (including a 
registrant) for conduct in violation of 
the Pharmacy Act (Chapter 61, Article 
11 NMSA 1978), the Drug Device 
and Cosmetic Act (Chapter 26, Article 
1 NMSA 1978), the Controlled 
Substances Act (Chapter 30, Article 
31 NMSA 1978), the Imitation 
Controlled Substances Act (Chapter 
30, Article 31A NMSA 1978), or 
the Drug Precursor Act (Chapter 30, 
Article 31B NMSA 1978), or similar 
act of another state or of the United 
States, or pursuant to the Impaired 
Health Care Provider Act (Chapter 
61, Article 7 NMSA 1978), or the 
Impaired Pharmacists Act (Chapter 
61, Article 11 NMSA 1978).  
STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  
Subsection B of Section 61-1-36 
NMSA 1978, Subsection B of Section 
28-2-3 NMSA 1978, and Section 28-
2-4 NMSA 1978

Executive Director’s Report:

Disciplinary Hearing(s): October 

21, 2021, 1:30 p.m. William Gardner 
CS00019456, Case # 2021-002 Order 
to Show Cause

October 21, 2021, 2:15 p.m. Teerada 
Sujithamrak, pharmacist license 
applicant, Case # 2020-064

Additional hearing(s), if scheduled, 
will be included in the agenda

Published in NM Register September 
14, 2021
Published in Albuquerque Journal 
September 17, 2021
______________________________

SUPERINTENDENT OF 
INSURANCE, OFFICE OF

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that 
the Superintendent of Insurance, in 
his capacity as Custodian of the New 
Mexico Patient’s Compensation Fund 
(“Custodian”), proposes to repeal 
and replace Parts 1 and 2 of 13.21 
NMAC, amend Parts 3 and 4 of 13.21 
NMAC, and adopt a new Part 5 of 
13.21 NMAC. 

PURPOSE OF THE PROPOSED 
ACTIONS: The purpose of this 
rulemaking is to bring the current 
Patient’s Compensation Fund (“PCF”) 
rules into conformity with the House 
Bill 75 amendments to the New 
Mexico Medical Malpractice Act that 
were adopted in the Regular Session 
of the 2021 Legislature.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 
Section 41-5-25 NMSA 1978.

Copies of the proposed rule will be 
available on the PCF Website or the 
New Mexico Sunshine Portal, or 
by contacting Melissa Gutierrez at 
melissa.gutierrez@state.nm.us. 

OSI will hold a public video/
telephonic hearing on the proposed 
replacements, amendments, and new 
rules on October 18, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.

Join via Video: https://us02web.zoom.
us/j/2916274744
Join via telephone:   1 312 626 6799 
Meeting ID: 2916274744

The Custodian designates Robert 
Desiderio as hearing officer for this 
rulemaking.  Mr. Desiderio will 
accept oral comments at the video/
telephonic hearing from members of 
the public and any interested parties.

Written comments and proposals 
will be accepted through 4:00 pm 
on October 18, 2021.  Responses to 
written comments or oral comments 
will be accepted through 4:00 pm 
on October 28, 2021.  Comments 
may be submitted via email to Freya.
tschantz2@state.nm.us or may be 
filed by sending original copies to:

Freya Tschantz, PCF Records and 
Docketing,
1120 Paseo de Peralta, P.O. Box 1689, 
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1689

Docket No.: 21-0005-PCF 
IN THE MATTER OF ADOPTION 
OF RULES FOR THE PATIENT’S 
COMPENSATION FUND  

Only signed statements, proposals, 
or comments will be accepted. 
Scanned or electronic signatures 
conforming to federal and state court 
requirements will be accepted with 
the understanding that if there is 
any dispute regarding a signature, 
OSI reserves the right to require that 
original signatures be provided to 
verify the electronic signature. 

SPECIAL NEEDS:  Any person 
with a disability who needs a reader, 
amplifier, qualified sign language 
interpreter, or other auxiliary aid or 
service to attend or participate in 
the hearing should contact Melissa 
Gutierrez at 505-476-0333 at least 
ten (10) business days prior to the 
hearing. 

The Custodian will consider all oral 
comments and will review all timely 
submitted written comments and 
responses.
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ISSUED this 14th day of September, 
2021 
/S/RUSSELL TOAL
______________________________

End of Notices of 
Rulemaking and 
Proposed Rules
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REGULATION 
AND LICENSING  

DEPARTMENT
PHARMACY, BOARD OF

This is an amendment to 16.19.4 
NMAC, Sections 1, 3 and 17, 
effective 9/14/2021

16.19.4.1 ISSUING 
AGENCY:  [Regulation and 
Licensing Department ] Board of 
Pharmacy 
[, Albuquerque, NM].
[2/15/1996; 16.19.4.1 NMAC - 
Rn, 16 NMAC 19.4.1, 3/30/2002; 
A, 12/15/2002; A, 8/16/2010; A, 
9/14/2021]

16.19.4.3 STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection A of Section [61-11-
6.A.(1)] 61-11-6 NMSA, 1978 
authorizes the board of pharmacy to 
adopt, regularly review and revise 
rules and regulations necessary 
to carry out the provisions of the 
Pharmacy Act, Sections 61-11-1, 
61-11-2, 61-11-4 to 61-11-28 NMSA 
1978.  Those provisions include the 
authority to: [(i)]
 A. deny or take 
disciplinary action with respect to 
any certificate of registration or 
license held or applied for under the 
Pharmacy Act, [Sections] Section 61-
11-20 NMSA 1978; [(ii)]
 B. require and 
establish criteria for continuing 
education as a condition of renewal 
of a pharmacist license, Paragraph 
(4) of Subsection A of [Sections 61-
11-6.A.(4)] Section 61-11-6 NMSA 
1978; (iii)
 C. issue permits or 
licenses, as defined and limited by 
board regulation, to nursing homes, 
industrial and public health clinics 
and home care services, Paragraph (6) 
of Subsection A of Section 61-11-6 

[.A.(6),] and 61-11-14 NMSA 1978; 
[(iv)]
 D. provide for the 
[annual] issuance and renewal of 
licenses for pharmacists, Paragraph 
(3) of Subsection A of [Sections 61-
11-6.A.(3)] Section 61-11-6, and 61-
11-13 NMSA 1978; [(v)]
 E. provide for the 
registration of pharmacist interns, 
their certification, annual renewal of 
certification, training, supervision, 
and discipline, Paragraph (5) of 
Subsection A of Section 61-11-6 
[.A.(5)] NMSA 1978; and [(vi)]
 F. adopt rules and 
regulations that establish patient 
counseling requirements,  Paragraph 
(18) of Subsection A of [61-11-
6.A.(18)] 61-11-6 NMSA 1978.  
Under the Pharmacist Prescriptive 
Authority Act, Sections 61-11B-1 
to 61-11B-3 NMSA 1978, the board 
is required to establish regulations 
governing certification as a 
pharmacist clinician.  The Impaired 
Pharmacists Act, Sections 61-11A-1 
to 61-11A-8 NMSA 1978, requires the 
establishment by the board of a plan 
for treatment and rehabilitation of 
impaired pharmacists.
[3/14/1998; 16.19.4.3 NMAC - Rn, 
16 NMAC 19.4.3, 3/30/2002; A, 
9/14/2021]

16.19.4.17 PHARMACIST 
CLINICIAN:
 A. Purpose:  The 
purpose of these regulations is 
to implement the Pharmacist 
Prescriptive Authority Act, Sections 
61-11B-1 through 61-11B-3 NMSA 
1978 by providing minimum 
standards, terms and conditions for 
the certification, registration, practice, 
and supervision of pharmacist 
clinicians.  These regulations are 
adopted pursuant to Section 61-11B-
3 NMSA 1978 of the Pharmacist 
Prescriptive Authority Act.

 B. Initial certification 
and registrants.
  (1) The 
board may certify and register a 
pharmacist as a pharmacist clinician 
upon completion of an application 
for certification and satisfaction of 
the requirements set forth in these 
regulations.
  (2) 
A pharmacist who applies for 
certification and registration as a 
pharmacist clinician shall complete 
application forms as required by the 
board and shall pay a fee.  The fee 
shall be set by the board to defray the 
cost of processing the application, 
which fee is not returnable.
  (3) To obtain 
initial certification and registration as 
a pharmacist clinician, the following 
must be submitted:
   (a) 
proof of completion of 60 hour board 
approved physical assessment course, 
followed by a 150 hour, 300 patient 
contact preceptorship supervised by 
a physician or other practitioner with 
prescriptive authority, with hours 
counted only during direct patient 
interactions;
   (b) 
the applicant will submit a log of 
patient encounters as part of the 
application;
   (c) 
patient encounters must be initiated 
and completed within two years of the 
application;
   (d) 
a pharmacist clinician requesting 
a controlled substance registration 
to prescribe controlled substance 
in schedule II or schedule III shall 
be trained in responsible opioid 
prescribing practices.  Educational 
programs shall include an 
understanding of the pharmacology 
and risks of controlled substances, a 
basic awareness of the problems of 

Adopted Rules
Effective Date and Validity of Rule Filings

Rules published in this issue of the New Mexico Register are effective on the publication date of this issue unless 
otherwise specified. No rule shall be valid or enforceable until it is filed with the records center and published in the New 
Mexico Register as provided in the State Rules Act. Unless a later date is otherwise provided by law, the effective date of 

the rule shall be the date of publication in the New Mexico Register. Section 14-4-5 NMSA 1978.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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abuse, addiction, and diversion, and 
awareness of the state and federal 
regulations of the prescribing of 
controlled substances.
  (4) The board 
shall register each pharmacist certified 
as a pharmacist clinician.
  (5) Upon 
certification and registration by the 
board, the name and address of the 
pharmacist clinician, (name of the 
supervising physician if applicable), 
and other pertinent information shall 
be enrolled by the board on a roster of 
pharmacist clinicians.
 C. Biennial renewal of 
registration.
  (1) Renewal 
applications shall be submitted prior 
to the license expiration.
  (2) 
Applications for renewal must 
include:
   (a) 
after January 1, 2013, documentation 
of continuing education hours, 
including proof of completion of 2.0 
CEU 20 contact hours of live CPE or 
continuing medical education (CME) 
approved by (ACPE) or AACME 
(live programs provided by other 
continuing education providers may 
be submitted for review and approval 
to the board), beyond the required 
hours in 16.19.4.10 NMAC (as 
amended), as required by the board; 
and
   (b) 
effective January 1, 2015, a 
pharmacist clinician with a controlled 
substance registration to prescribe 
controlled substances listed in 
schedule II or schedule III shall 
complete a minimum of 0.2 CEU (two 
contact hours) per renewal period in 
the subject area of responsible opioid 
prescribing practices, and
   (c) 
a current protocol of collaborative 
practice signed by the supervising 
physician (if prescriptive authority is 
sought); and
   (d) 
a copy of the pharmacist clinicians 
registration with the supervising 
physicians board (if prescriptive 
authority is sought); and

   (e) 
other additional information as 
requested by the board.
 D. Prescriptive 
authority, guidelines or protocol.
  (1) Only a 
registered pharmacist clinician with 
current protocols, registered with the 
New Mexico medical board or the 
New Mexico board of osteopathic 
medical examiners, may exercise 
prescriptive authority.
  (2) A 
pharmacist clinician seeking to 
exercise prescriptive authority shall 
submit an application to the board.  
The application must include the 
supervising physicians’ name and 
current medical license, protocol 
of collaborative practice and other 
information requested by the board.  
A pharmacist may submit the 
application with the initial application 
for certification or as a separate 
application after becoming certified 
and registered as a pharmacist 
clinician.
  (3) The 
protocol will be established and 
approved by the supervising physician 
as set forth in these regulations and 
will be kept on file at each practice 
site of the pharmacist clinician and 
with the board.
  (4) The 
protocol must include:
   (a) 
name of the physician(s) authorized to 
prescribe dangerous drugs and name 
of the pharmacist clinician;
   (b) 
statement of the types of prescriptive 
authority decisions the pharmacist 
clinician is authorized to make, 
including, but not limited to:
    (i) 
types of diseases, dangerous drugs or 
dangerous drug categories involved 
and the type of prescriptive authority 
authorized in each case;
                (ii) 
ordering lab tests and other tests 
appropriate for monitoring of drug 
therapy;
               (iii) 
procedures, decision criteria or 
plan the pharmacist clinician is to 
follow when exercising prescriptive 
authority;

                 (c) 
activities to be followed by the 
pharmacist clinician while exercising 
prescriptive authority, including 
documentation of feedback 
to the authorizing physician 
concerning specific decisions made; 
documentation may be made on the 
prescriptive record, patient profile, 
patient medical chart or in a separate 
log book;
                (d) 
description of appropriate 
mechanisms for consulting with the 
supervising physician, including a 
quality assurance program for review 
of medical services provided by the 
pharmacist clinician, (this quality 
assurance program will be available 
for board review); and
   (e) 
description of the scope of practice of 
the pharmacist clinician.
  (5) 
Pharmacist clinicians shall not 
prescribe dangerous drugs including 
controlled substances for self-
treatment or treatment of immediate 
family members, except under 
emergency situations.  This will not 
apply to medications that may be 
prescribed under 16.19.26 NMAC.  
[Pharmacist clinicians shall not write 
a recommendation for the use of 
medical cannabis.]
 E. Scope of practice.
  (1) A 
pharmacist clinician shall perform 
only those services that are delineated 
in the protocol and are within the 
scope of practice of the supervising 
physician or alternate supervising 
physician(s).
  (2) A 
pharmacist clinician may practice in 
a health care institution within the 
policies of that institution.
  (3) A 
pharmacist clinician may prescribe 
controlled substances provided that 
the pharmacist clinician:
   (a) 
has obtained a New Mexico 
controlled substances registration 
and a drug enforcement agency 
registration, and
   (b) 
prescribes controlled substances 
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within the parameters of written 
guidelines or protocols established 
under these regulations and 
Subsection A of 61-11B-3 NMSA 
1978 of the Pharmacist Prescriptive 
Authority Act.
  (4) The 
board may, in its discretion after 
investigation and evaluation, 
place limitations on the tasks a 
pharmacist clinician may perform 
under the authority and direction of 
a supervising physician or alternate 
supervising physician(s).
 F. Prescription 
monitoring program:
  (1) A 
pharmacist clinician exercising 
prescriptive authority in the 
prescribing of a controlled substance;
   (a) 
shall register with the board to 
become a regular participant in PMP 
inquiry and reporting;
   (b) 
may authorize delegate(s) to 
aceess the PMP report consistent 
with 16.19.29 NMAC; while a 
pharmacist clinician’s delegate 
may obtain a report from the states’ 
PMP, pharmacist clinician is solely 
responsible for reviewing the PMP 
report and documenting the receipt 
and review of a report in the patient’s 
medical record;
   (c) 
before a pharmacist clinician 
prescribes for the first time, a 
controlled substance in schedule II, III 
or IV to a patient for a period greater 
than four days, or if there is a gap in 
prescribing the controlled substance 
for 30 days or more, the pharmacist 
clinician shall review a PMP report 
for the patient for the preceeding 
12 months; when available, the 
pharmacist clinicain shall review 
similar reports from adjacent states; 
the pharmacist clinicain shall 
document the receipt and review of 
such reports in the patient’s medical 
record;
   (d) a 
PMP report shall be;
    (i) 
reviewed a minimum of once every 
three months during the continuous 
use of an opioid, benzodiazepine, or 

carisoprodol for each patient; and
                (ii) 
reviewed a minimum of once every 
six months during the continuous use 
of a controlled substance in schedule 
II, III or IV which is not an opioid, 
benzodiazepine, or carisoprodol for 
each patient; and
                            (iii)   
the pharmacist clinician shall 
document the review of these reports 
in the patient’s medical record; 
nothing in this section shall be 
construed as preventing a pharmacist 
clinician from reviewing PMP reports 
with geater frequency than that 
required by this section;
   (e) 
a pharmacist clinician does not have 
to obtain and review a PMP report 
before prescribing, ordering, or 
dispensing a controlled substance in 
schedule II, III or IV;
    (i) 
to a patient in a nursing facility; or
                (ii) 
to a patient in hospice care.
   (f) 
upon review of a PMP report for a 
patient, the pharmacist clinician shall 
identify and be aware of a patient 
currently receiving:
    (i) 
opioids from multiple prescribers;
                (ii) 
opioids and benzodiazepines 
concurrently;
               (iii) 
opioids for more than 12 consecutive 
weeks;
               (iv) 
more than one controlled substance 
analgesic;
                (v) 
opioids totaling more than 90 
morphine milligram equivalents per 
day;
               (vi) 
exhibiting potential for abuse of 
misuse of opiods and other controlled 
substances, such as over-utilization, 
requests to fill early, requests for 
specific opioids, requests to pay cash 
when insurance is available, receiving 
opioids from multiple pharmacies.
   (g) 
upon recognizing any of the above 
conditions described in Subparagraph 

(f) of Paragraph (1) of Subsection F 
of 16.19.4.17 NMAC, the pharmacist 
clinician using professional 
judgement based on prevailing 
standards of practice, shall take action 
as appropriate to prevent, mitigate, 
or resolve any potential problems or 
risks that may result in opioid misuse, 
abuse, or overdose; these steps may 
involve counseling the patient on 
known risks and realistic benefits 
of opioid therapy, prescription and 
training for naloxone, consultation 
with or referral to a pain management 
specialist, offering or arranging 
treatment for opioid or substance use 
disorder; the pharmacist clinician 
shall document actions taken to 
prevent, mitigate, or resolve the 
potential problems or risks.
  (2) Pharmacist 
clinician’s licensed to practice in an 
opioid treatment program, as defined 
in 7.32.8 NMAC, shall review a 
PMP report upon a patients’ initial 
enrollement into the opioid treatment 
program and every three months 
thereafter while prescribing, ordering, 
administering, or dispensing opioid 
treatment medications in schedule II 
for the purpose of treating opioid use 
disorder.  The pharmacist clinician 
shall document the receipt and review 
of a report in the patients’ medical 
record.
 G. Complaints and 
appeals.
  (1) The 
chair of the board will appoint two 
members of the board, and the 
president of the supervising physician 
respective board will appoint two 
members of the respective board to 
the oversight committee; the oversight 
committee will review complaints 
concerning the pharmacist clinician 
practice; the oversight committee 
will make a report that may include 
non-binding recommendations 
to both the board and respective 
board(s) regarding disciplinary action.  
Each board can accept or reject the 
recommendations.
  (2) Any 
applicant for certification or any 
pharmacist clinician may appeal a 
decision of the board in accordance 
with the provisions of the Uniform 
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Licensing Act, Sections 61-1-1 to 61-
1-33 NMSA 1978.
[3/14/1998; 16.19.4.17 NMAC - 
Rn, 16 NMAC 19.4.17, 3/30/2002; 
16.19.4.17 NMAC - Rn, 16.19.4.18 
NMAC, 12/15/2002; A, 9/30/2003; 
A, 1/31/2007; A, 5/14/2010; 
A, 8/16/2010; A, 10/25/2012; 
A, 3/23/2013; A, 6/29/2013; A, 
8/12/2013; A, 10/19/2019; A 
9/14/2021]
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING  

DEPARTMENT
PHARMACY, BOARD OF

This is an amendment to 16.19.20 
NMAC, Sections 65, 68 and 69, 
effective 9/14/2021.

16.19.20.65 SCHEDULE I:
 A. Section 30-31-
6 NMSA 1978, schedule I shall 
consist of the following drugs and 
other substances, by whatever name, 
common or usual name, chemical 
name or brand name designated, listed 
in this section; OPIOIDS, unless 
specifically exempt or unless listed in 
another schedule, any of the following 
opioids, including its isomers, esters, 
ethers, salts and salts of isomers, 
esters, and ethers, whenever the 
existence of such isomers, esters, 
ethers, and salts is possible within the 
specific chemical designation.
  (1) 
Acetylmethadol;
  (2) 
Allylprodine;
  (3) 
Alphacetylmethadol;
  (4) 
Alphameprodine;
  (5) 
Alphamethadol;
  (6) Alpha-
methyl fentanyl;
  (7) 
Benzethidine;
  (8) 
Betacetylmethadol;
  (9) 
Betameprodine;
  (10) 
Betamethadol;

  (11) 
Betaprodine;
  (12) 
Clonitazene;
  (13) 
Desmethyltramadol;
  (14) 
Dextromoramide;
  (15) 
Diampromide;
  (16) 
Diethylthiambutene;
  (17) 
Dimethylthiambutene;
  (18) Difenoxin;
  (19) 
Dimenoxadol;
  (20) 
Dimepheptanol;
  (21) 
Dimethylthiambutene;
  (22) 
Dioxaphetyl Butyrate;
  (23) 
Dipipanone;
  (24) 
Ethylmethylthiambutene;
  (25) 
Etonitazene;
  (26) 
Etoxeridine;
  (27) 
Furethidine;
  (28) 
Hydroxypethidine;
  (29) 
Isotonitazene;
  [(29)] (30) 
Ketobemidone;
  [(30)] (31) 
Levomoramide;
  [(31)] (32) 
Levophenacylmorphan;
  [(32)] (33) 
Morpheridine;
  [(33)] (34) 
Noracymethadol;
  [(34)] (35) 
Norlevorphanol;
  [(35)] (36) 
Normethadone;
  [(36)] (37) 
Norpipanone;
  [(37)] (38) 
Phenadoxone;
  [(38)] (39) 
Phenampromide;
  [(39)] (40) 

Phenomorphan;
  [(40)] (41) 
Phenoperidine;
  [(41)] (42) 
Piritramide;
  [(42)] (43) 
Proheptazine;
  [(43)] (44) 
Properidine;
  [(44)] (45) 
Propiram;
  [(45)] (46) 
Racemoramide;
  [(46)] (47) 
Tilidine;
  [(47)] (48) 
Trimeperidine
  [(48)] (49) 
U-48800; (2-(2,4-dichlorophenyl)-
N-((1S,2S)-2-(dimethylamino)
cyclohexyl)-N-methylacetamide, 
monohydrochloride;
  [(49)] (50) 
U-49900; (trans-3,4-dichloro-N-[2-
(diethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-methyl-
benzamide;
  [(50)] (51) 
Beta-Hydroxy-3-Methylfentanyl;
  [(51)] (52) 
3-Methylthiofentanyl;
  [(52)] (53) 
Acetyl-Alpha-Methyl fentanyl ;
  [(53)] (54) 
Alpha-Methylthiofentanyl ;
  [(54)] (55) 
Beta-hydroxfentanyl ;
  [(55)] (56) 
Para-Fluoro fentanyl;
  [(56)] (57) 
Thiofentanyl;
  [(57)] (58) 
Acetyl fentanyl;
  [(58)] (59) 
Butyryl fentanyl;
  [(59)] (60) 
Betahydroxythiofentanyl;
  [(60)] (61) 
Furanyl fentanyl;
  [(61)] (62) 
AH-7921; (3,4-dichloro-N-[(1-
dimethylamino)cyclohexylmethyl]
benzamide);
  [(62)] (63) 
U47700; (trans-3,4-dichloro-N-(2-
(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl)-N-
methylbenzamide);
  [(63)] (64) 
MT-45; (1-(4-Nitrophenylethyl)
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piperidylidene-2-(4-chlorophenyl)
sulfonamide);
                [(64)] (65) 
W-15; (4-chloro-N-[1-(2-
phenylethyl)-2-piperidinylidene]-
benzenesulfonamide);
  [(65)] (66) 
W-18; (1-(4-Nitrophenylethyl)
piperidylidene-2-(4-chlorophenyl)
sulfonamide);
  [(66)] (67) 
U-50488; (2-(3,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-
methyl-N-[(1R,2R)-2-pyrrolidin-1-
ylcyclohexyl]acetamide);
  [(67)] (68) 
U50488H; ((-)(trans)-3,4-dichloro-N-
methyl-N-[2-(1-pyrrolidiny)cyclo-
hexyl]benzeneacetamide).
  [(68)] (69) 
Fentanyl-related substances, their 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 
salts of isomers, esters and ethers.  
Fentanyl-related substance means 
any substance, unless specifically 
exempted or unless listed in another 
schedule, that is structurally related 
to fentanyl by one or more of the 
following modifications:
   (a) 
replacement of the phenyl portion 
of the phenethyl group by any 
monocycle, whether or not further 
substituted in or on the monocycle;
   (b) 
substitution in or on the phenethyl 
group with alkyl, alkenyl, alkoxyl, 
hydroxyl, halo, haloalkyl, amino or 
nitro groups;
   (c) 
substitution in or on the piperidine 
ring with alkyl, alkenyl, alkoxyl, 
ester, ether, hydroxyl, halo, haloalkyl, 
amino or nitro groups;
   (d) 
replacement of the aniline ring with 
any aromatic monocycle whether or 
not further substituted in or on the 
aromatic monocycle; or
   (e) 
replacement of the N-propionyl group 
by another acyl group; or 
   (f) 
any combination of the above 
substances include, but are not limited 
to, the following substances:
    (i) 
Acrylfentanyl;

                (ii) 
4F-butyrfentanyl;
               (iii) 
4-methoxybutyrfentanyl;
               (iv) 
Fluorobutyrfentanyl;
                (v) 
Fluorofentanyl;
               (vi) 
FIBF; (Para Fluoro Isobutyryl 
Fentanyl); 
              (vii) 
Cyclopropyl fentanyl;
             (viii) 
Thiofuranyl fentanyl (Thiophene 
fentanyl);
               (ix) 
3-methylfentanyl (N-3-methyl-1-
(2-phenyl-ethyl)-4-Piperidyl)-N-
phenylpropanamide, its optical and 
geometric isomers, salts and salts of 
isomers.
                                                        (x) 
crotonyl fentanyl ((E)-N-(1-
phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-
phenylbut-2- enamide);
                                          (xi)                   
valeryl fentanyl (N-(1-
phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-
phenylpentanamide).
 B. OPIUM 
DERIVATIVES:  Unless specifically 
exempt or unless listed in another 
schedule, any of the following 
opium derivatives, its salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers whenever the 
existence of such salts, isomers and 
salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation.
  (1) 
Acetorphine;
  (2) Acetyl 
dihydrocodeine;
  (3) Benzyl 
morphine;
  (4) Codeine 
methylbromide;
  (5) Codeine-
N-Oxide;
  (6) 
Cyprenorphine;
  (7) 
Desomorphine;
  (8) Dehydro 
morphine;
  (9) Etorphine;
  (10) Heroin;

  (11) 
Hydromorphinol;
  (12) 
Methyldesorphine;
  (13) 
Methyldihydromorphine;
  (14) Morphine 
methylbromide;
  (15) Morphine 
methylsulfonate;
  (16) Morphine-
N-Oxide;
  (17) 
Myrophine;
  (18) 
Nicocodeine;
  (19) 
Nicomorphine;
  (20) 
Normorphine;
  (21) 
Pholcodine;
  (22) Thebacon;
  (23) 
Drotebanol;
  (24) 6AM; 
(6-acetylmorphine).
 C. STIMULANTS:  
Unless specifically exempted or 
unless listed in another schedule, 
any material, compound, mixture 
or preparation which contains any 
quantity of the following substances 
having a stimulant effect on the 
central nervous system, including its 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers.
  (1) 
Fenethylline;
  (2) 
N-ethylamphetamine;
  (3) cis-4-
methylaminorex;
  (4) N, 
N-dimethylamphetamine;
  (5) 
(BZP), 1-benzylpiperazine; 
N-benzylpiperazine;
  (6) (DCPP); 
2,3-dichlorophenylpiperazine;
  (7) (DBZP); 
dibenzylpiperazine;
  (8) (MBZP); 
methylbenzylpiperazine;
  (9) (mCPP); 
meta-chlorophenylpiperazine;
  (10) (MDBZP); 
methylenedioxybenzylpiperazine;
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  (11) (meOPP); 
para-methoxyphenylpiperazine;
  (12) (pCPP); 
para-chlorophenylpiperazine;
  (13) (pFPP); 
para-fluorophenylpiperazine;
  (14) 
(2-DPMP), desoxypipradrol; 
2-diphenylmethylpiperidine;
  (15) D2PM, 
diphenylprolinol; diphenyl-2-
pyrrolidinemethanol;
  (16) HDMP-28; 
methylnaphthidate;
  (17) Nocaine, 
(+)-CPCA; 3α-carbomethoxy-4β-(4-
chlorophenyl)-N-methylpiperidine;
  (18) BTQ or 
butyltolylquinuclidine; (2-Butyl-3-(p-
tolyl)quinuclidine.
 D. DEPRESSANTS:  
Unless specifically exempt or 
unless listed in another schedule, 
any material, compound, mixture 
or preparation which contains any 
quantity of the following substances 
having a depressant effect on the 
central nervous system, including its 
salts, isomers and salts of isomers 
whenever the existence of such 
salts, isomers and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical 
designation:
  (1) 
Mecloqualone;
  (2) 
Methaqualone;
  (3) 
Benzodiazepines;
   (a) 
Bromazepam;
   (b) 
Camazepam;
   (c) 
Cloxazolam;
   (d) 
Delorazepam;
   (e) 
Ethylloflazepate;
   (f) 
Fudiazepam;
   (g) 
Flunitrazepam;
   (h) 
Haloxazolam;
   (i) 
Ketazolam;

   (j) 
Loprazolam;
   (k) 
Lormetazepam;
   (l) 
Medazepam;
   (m) 
Nimetazepam;
   (n) 
Nitrazepam;
   (o) 
Nordiazepam;
   (p) 
Oxazolam;
   (q) 
Phenazepam
   (r) 
Pinazepam;
   (s) 
Tetrazepam;
   (t) 
Flubromazepan;
   (u) 
Diclazepam
  (4) Gamma 
hydroxybutyric acid and any chemical 
compound that is metabolically 
converted to GHB;
  (5) Gamma 
butyrolactone and any chemical 
compound that is metabolically 
converted to GHB;
  (6) 1-4 butane 
diol and any chemical compound that 
is metabolically converted to GHB
  (7) GHV or 
4-methyl-GHB; γ-hydroxyvaleric 
acid;
  (8) GVL; 
γ-valerolactone;
  (9) MMQ; 
methylmethaqualone;
  (10) MBQ; 
mebroqualone.
              E.      HALLUCINOGENIC 
SUBSTANCES:  Unless specifically 
exempt or unless listed in another 
schedule, any material, compound, 
mixture or preparation, which 
contains any quantity of the following 
hallucinogenic substances, or which 
contains any of its salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers whenever the 
existence of such salts, isomers and 
salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation (for 
purpose of this sub-section only, the 
term “isomers” includes the optical, 

positional, and geometric isomers).
  (1) 3,4 
-methylenedioxy amphetamine;
  (2) 
5 - methoxy - 3,4-methylenedioxy 
amphetamine;
  (3) 3,4,5 
-trimethoxy amphetamine;
  (4) 
Bufotenine;
  (5) DET; 
(Diethyltryptamine);
  (6) DMT; 
(Dimethyltryptamine);
  (7) DOM 
or STP; (4-methyl-2,5-dimethoxy 
amphetamine);
  (8) Lysergic 
acid amide;
  (9) Lysergic 
acid diethylamide;
  [(10) 
Marijuana;]
  [(11)] (10) 
Mescaline;
  [(12)] (11) 
Peyote;
  [(13)] (12) 
N-ethyl-3-piperidyl benzilate;
  [(14)] (13) 
N-methyl-3-piperidyl benzilate;
  [(15)] (14) 
Psilocybin;
  [(16)] (15) 
Psilocyn;
  [(17) 
Tetrahydrocannabinols;]
  [(18)] (16) 
Parahexyl (synthetic analog of 
delta-9-tetra hydrocannabinol) [(THC) 
an active ingredient of cannabis)];
  [(19) Hashish;]
  [(20)] (17) 
2, 5 -dimethoxyamphetamine; 2, 
5-DMA;
                             [(21)] (18)        
4-bromo-2, 5-dimethoxy-
amphetamine; 2, 5-DMA;
  [(22)] (19) 
PMA; 4-methoxyamphetamine;
  [(23)] (20) 
PCE; (Ethylamine N-ethyl-1-
phenylcyclohexylamine);
  [(24)] (21) 
Pyrrolidine 1-(1-phenylcyclohexyl)-
pyrrolidine (PCPy), (PHP) analog of 
the drug phencyclidine;
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  [(25)] (22) 
Thiophene (analog of phencyclidine) 
TCP or TPCP;
  [(26)] (23) 
Alpha-ethyltryptamine;
  [(27)] (24) 2, 
5-dimethoxy-4-ethylamphet-amine;
  [(28)] (25) 
Ibogaine;
  [(29)] (26) 
2C-T-7; (2,5-dimethoxy-4-(n)-
propylthiophenethylamine);
  [(30)] (27) 
AMT; (Alpha-methyltryptamine);
  [(31)] (28) 
5-MeO-DIPT; (5-methoxy-N,N-
diisopropyltryptamine);
  [(32)] (29) 
25B-NBOMe;  (2-(4-bromo-
2.5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-
methoxybenzyl)ethanamine);
  [(33)] (30) 
25C-NBOMe; (2-(4-chloro-
2.5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-
methoxybenzyl)ethanamine);
  [(34)] (31) 
25I-NBOMe; (2-(4-iodo-2.5-
dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-
methoxybenzyl)ethanamine).
  [(35)] (32) 
Synthetic cannabinoids:  Unless 
specifically exempted or unless listed 
in another schedule, any material, 
compound, mixture or preparation 
which contains any quantity of the 
following synthetic cannabinoids 
which demonstrates binding activity 
to the cannabinoid receptor or analogs 
or homologs with binding activity.  
Substances include but are not limited 
to:
   (a) 
CP 55,244 ((hydroxymethyl)-4-[2-
hydroxy-4-(2-methyloctan-2-yl)
phenyl] 1,2,3,4,4a,5,6,7,8,8a-
decahydronaphthalen-2-ol);
   (b) 
CP 55,940 (5-hydroxy-2-(3-
hydroxypropyl) cyclohexyl]-5-(2-
methyloctan-2-yl)phenol);
   (c) 
JWH-081 (1-pentyl-3-[1-(4-
methoxynaphthoy)]indole);
   (d) 
JWH-122 (1-pentyl-3-(4-methyl-1-
naphthoyl)indole);
   (e) 
JWH-133 3-(1,1-dimethylbutyl)-

6a,7,10,10a-tetrahydro 
-6,6,9-trimethyl-6H dibenzo[b,d]
pyran;
                 (f)       
JWH 203 1-pentyl-3-(2-
chlorophenylacetyl)indole);
   (g) 
JWH 210 4-ethylnaphthalen-1-yl-(1-
pentylindol-3-yl)methanone;
   (h) 
AM-694 (1-(5-fluoropentyl)-3-(2-
iodobenzoyl)indole);
   (i) 
AM-1221 (1-(N-methylpiperdin-2-yl)
methyl-2-methyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)-6-
nitroindole;
   (j) 
AM-2201 (1-(5-fluoropentyl)-3-(1-
naphthoyl)indole);
   (k) 
RCS-4 or SR-19 (1-pentyl-3-[(4-
methoxy)-benzoyl]indole);
   (l) 
RCS-8 or SR-18 (1-cyclohexylethyl-
3-(2-methoxyphenylacetyl)indole);
               (m)          
JWH-210 (1-pentyl-3-(4-
ethylnaphthoyl)indole);
                (n) 
WIN-49,098 (Pravadoline) 
(4-methoxyphenyl)-[2-methyl-1-
(2-morpholin-4-ylethyl)indol-3-yl]
methanone;
   (o) 
WIN-55,212-2 (2,3-dihydro-5-
methyl-3-(4-morpholinylmethyl)
pyrrolo-1,4-benzooxazin6- yl)-1-
naphthalenylmethanone);
   (p) 
any of the following synthetic 
cannabinoids, their salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers, unless specifically 
excepted, whenever the existence 
of these salts, isomers, and salts of 
isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation;
    (i) 
naphthoylindoles:  any compound 
containing a 3-(1- naphthoyl) indole 
structure with substitution at the 
nitrogen atom of the indole ring 
by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, 
cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 
1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl) methyl, 
or 2-(4-morpholinyl) ethyl group, 
whether or not further substituted 
in the indole ring to any extent and 
whether or not substituted in the 

naphthyl ring to any extent including, 
but not limited to, JWH-015, JWH-
018, JWH-019, JWH-073, JWH-081, 
JWH-122, JWH-200, JWH-210, 
JWH-398 and AM-2201;
                (ii) 
naphthylmethylindoles:  any 
compound containing a1Hindol- 
3-yl-(1-naphthyl) methane 
structure with substitution at the 
nitrogen atom of the indole ring 
by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, 
cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 
1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl) methyl, 
or 2-(4-morpholinyl) ethyl group, 
whether or not further substituted 
in the indole ring to any extent and 
whether or not substituted in the 
naphthyl ring to any extent including, 
but not limited to, JWH-175, JWH-
184, and JWH-199;
               (iii) 
naphthoylpyrroles:  any compound 
containing a 3-(1- naphthoyl) 
pyrrole structure with substitution 
at the nitrogen atom of the pyrrole 
ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, 
cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 
1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl) methyl, 
or 2-(4-morpholinyl) ethyl group, 
whether or not further substituted 
in the pyrrole ring to any extent and 
whether or not substituted in the 
naphthyl ring to any extent including, 
but not limited to, JWH-307;
                            (iv) 
naphthylmethylindenes:  any 
compound containing a 
naphthylideneindene structure with 
substitution at the 3-position of the 
indene ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, 
alkenyl,
cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 
1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl) methyl, 
or 2-(4-morpholinyl) ethyl group, 
whether or not further substituted 
in the indene ring to any extent and 
whether or not substituted in the 
naphthyl ring to any extent including, 
but not limited to, JWH-176;
                (v) 
phenylacetylindoles:  any compound 
containing a 3- phenylacetylindole 
structure with substitution at the 
nitrogen atom of the indole ring 
by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, 
cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 
1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl) methyl, 
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or 2-(4-morpholinyl) ethyl group, 
whether or not further substituted 
in the indole ring to any extent and 
whether or not substituted in the 
phenyl ring to any extent including, 
but not limited to, JWH-203, JWH-
250, JWH-251, and RCS-8;
               (vi) 
cyclohexylphenols:  any compound 
containing a 2-(3- hydroxycyclohexyl) 
phenol structure with substitution 
at the 5- position of the phenolic 
ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, 
cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 
1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl) methyl, 
or 2-(4-morpholinyl) ethyl group, 
whether or not substituted in the 
cyclohexyl ring to any extent 
including, but not limited to, 
Cannabicyclohexanol (CP 47,497 
C8 homologue), CP 47,497 and CP 
55,490;
              (vii) 
benzoylindoles:  any compound 
containing a 3-(benzoyl) [ 5 ] 
OTS-3833.4 indole structure with 
substitution at the nitrogen atom 
of the indole ring by an alkyl, 
haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, 
cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-
2-piperidinyl) methyl, or 2-(4- 
morpholinyl) ethyl group, whether or 
not further substituted in the indole 
ring to any extent and whether or not 
substituted in the phenyl ring to any 
extent including, but not limited to, 
AM-694, Pravadoline (WIN 48,098), 
RCS-4, and AM-1241;
   (q) 
UR-144 1-(pentyl-1H-indol-3-yl)
(2,2,3,3-tetramethylcyclopropyl)
methanone;
   (r) 
XLR11  1-(5-fluoro-pentyl)-1H-indol-
3-yl(2,2,3,3-tetramethylcyclopropyl)
methanone;
   (s) 
AKB48  N-(1-adamantyl)-1-pentyl-
1H-indazole-3-carboxamide;
   (t) 
QUPIC; Quinolin-8-yl 1-pentyl-1H-
indole-3-carboxylate;
   (u) 
5-fluoro-PB22; 5F-PB22; Quinolin-
8-yl 1-(5-fluropentyl-1H-indole-3-
carboxylate;
   (v) 
AB-FUBINACA; N-(1-amino-

3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-
(4-flurobenzyl)-1H-indazole-3-
carboxamide;
   (w) 
ADB-PINACA; N-(1-amino-3,3-
dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-pentyl-
1H-indazole-3-carboxamine;
   (x) 
AB-CHMINACA; N-(1-amino-
3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-
(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indazole-3-
carboxamide;
   (y) 
AB-PINACA; N-(1-amino-3-methyl-
1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-pentyl-1H-
indazole-3-carboxamide;
   (z) 
THJ-2201; [1-(5-fluropentyl)-1H-
indazol-3-yl](naphthalen-1-yl)
methanone;
   (aa) 
FDU-PB-22 IUPAC:  1-Naphthyl 
1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3 
carboxylate;
   (bb) 
5-fluoro ABICA:  N-(1-amino-
3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-
(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-
carboxamide;
   (cc) 
FUB-144 or FUB-UR-144; 
[1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indol-3-yl]
(2,2,3,3-tetramethylcyclopropyl)
methanone;
   (dd) 
MN-18; N-(1-Naphthyl)-1-pentyl-1H-
indazole-3-carboxamide;
   (ee) 
FUB-PB-22; Quinolin-8-yl 
1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-
carboxylate;
                 (ff) 
ADB-CHMINACA (N-[1-
(aminocarbonyl)-2,2-dimethylpropyl]-
1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indazole-3-
carboxamide);
   (gg) 
AMB-FUBINACA or FUB-AMB 
(methyl(1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-
indazole-3-carbonyl)-L-valinate);
                              (hh)       
5-fluoro-AMB (N-[[1-(5-
fluoropentyl)-1H-indazol-3-yl]
carbonyl]-L-valine, methyl ester);
                               (ii)  
5-fluoro-ADB (N-[[1-(5-
fluoropentyl)-1H-indazol-3-yl]
carbonyl]-3-methyl-D-valine, methyl 
ester);

   (jj) 
Bk-DMBDB or dibutylone; 
1-(Benzo[d][1,3]dioxol-5-yl)-2-
(dimethylamino)butan-1-one;
   (kk) 
MMB-FUBINACA; methyl 
(1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-3-
carbonyl)-L-valinate;
   (ll) 
MDMB-CHMICA; methyl (S)-2-
(1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-
carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate;
               (mm) 
NM2201; Naphthalen-1-yl 
1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-
carboxylate;
   (nn) 
5-Fluoro-AKB48 or 5F-APINACA; 
N-((3s,5s,7s)-adamanta-1-yl)-1-
(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-
carboxamide;
   (oo) 
5-Fluoro-ADB; Methyl(S)-2-[1-
(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-
carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate;
                (pp)    
5-Fluoro-AMB; N-[[1-(5-
fluoropentyl)-1H-indazol-3-yl]
carbonyl]-L-valine,methyl ester;
   (qq) 
MAB-CHMINACA; N-[1-
(aminocarbonyl)-2,2-dimethylpropyl]-
1-(cycohexylmethyl)-1H-indazole-3-
carboxamide;
   (rr) 
SDB-006; N-benxyl-1-pentyl-1H-
indole-3-carboxamide;
   (ss) 
Cumyl-PINACA; 1-pentyl-N-(2-
phenylpropan-2-yl)-1H-indazole-3-
carboxamide;
   (tt) 
Cumyl-PICA; 1-pentyl-N-(2-
phenylpropan-2-yl)-1H-indole-3-
carboxamide.
  [(36)] (33) 
Substances determined by the board 
to have the pharmacological effect of 
the substance, the risk to the public 
health by abuse of the substance 
and the potential of the substance 
to produce psychic or physiological 
dependence liability is similar to the 
substances described in Paragraph 
(1) or (2) of 30-31-23C NMSA 1978.  
Substances include but are not limited 
to:
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   (a) 
Salvia divinorum;
                                           (b)
Salvinorin A (methyl 
(2S,4aR,6aR,7R,9S,10aS,10bR)-9-
(acetyloxy)-2-(furan-3-yl)-6a,10b-
dimethyl-4,10-dioxododecahydro-2H-
benzo[f]isochromene-7-carboxylate);
  [(37)] (34) 
(4-MEC); 4-methyl-ethylcathinone;
  [(38)] (35) 
(4-EMC); 4-ethyl-methcathinone;
  [(39)] (36) 
Ethcathinone; 2-ethylamino-1-phenyl-
propan-1-one;
                            [(40)] (37)            
Ethylone; 
3’,4’-methylenedioxyethcathinone;
              [(41)] (38)
Bk-MBDB, butylone; 
beta-keto-N-methyl-3,4-
benzodioxyolybutanamine;
             [(42)] (39)       (NRG-
1), naphyrone; naphthylpyrovalerone;
                           [(43)] (40) 
Metamfepramone; N,N-
dimethylcathinone;
              [(44)] (41) 
Alpha-PPP; alpha-
pyrrolidinopropiophenone;  
                           [(45)] (42)          
(α-PBP); alpha-
pyrrolidinobutiophenone;
               [(46)] (43) 
(MOPPP); 4’-methoxy-alpha-
pyrrolidinopropiophenone;
                             [(47)] (44)
(MαPPP); 4’-methyl-α-
pyrrolidinopropiophenone;
  [(48)] (45) 
(MDPPP); 3’,4’-methylenedioxy-
alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone;
  [(49)] (46) 
(MDPBP); 3’,4’-methylenedioxy-
alpha-pyrrolidinobutiophenone;
               [(50)] (47) 
(MPBP); 4’-methyl-α-
pyrrolidinobutiophenone;
                [(51)] (48) 
Alpha-PVP; alpha-
pyrrolidinovalerophenone;
  [(52)] (49) 
(MDAI); 5,6-methylenedioxy-2-
aminoindane;
  [(53)] (50) 
Buphedrone; alpha-methylamino-
butyrophenone;

                             [(54)] (51) 
Eutylone; beta-keto-
ethylbenzodioxolylbutanamine;
  [(55)] (52) 
beta-keto-
ethylbenzodioxolylpentanamine;
  [(56)] (53) 
beta-keto-
methylbenzodioxolylpentanamine 
(pentylone);
  [(57)] (54) 
4-Bromo-2,5-
dimethoxyphenethylamine (2c-B, 
Nexus);
  [(58)] (55) 
N-hydroxy-3,4-
methylenedioxyamphetamine (also 
known as N-hydroxy-alphamethyl-
3,4(methylenedioxy)-phenethylamine, 
and N-hydroxy MDA;
  [(59)] (56) 
5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine 
(5-methoxy-3-[2-(dimethylamino)
ethyl]indole; 5-MeO-DMT;
  [(60)] (57) 
Mephedrone; 4-methylmethcathinone;
  [(61)] (58) 
(MDPV); 
3,4-methylenedioxypyrovalerone;
  [(62)] (59) 
(2C-E); 2-(2,5-Dimethoxy-4-
ethylphenyl)ethanamine;
  [(63)] (60) 
(2C-D); 2-(2,5-Dimethoxy-4-
methylphenyl)ethanamine;
  [(64)] (61) 
(2C-T-2); 2-[4-(Ethylthio)-2,5-
dimethoxyphenyl]ethanamine;
  [(65)] (62) 
(2C-T4); 2-[4-(Isopropylthio)-2,5-
dimethoxyphenyl]ethanamine;
  [(66)] (63) 
(2C-H); 2-(2,5-Dimethoxyphenyl)
ethanamine;
  [(67)] (64) 
(2C-N); 2-(2,5-Dimethoxy-4-nitro-
phenyl)ethanamine;
  [(68)] (65) 
(2C-P); 2-(2,5-Dimethoxy-4-(n)-
propylphenyl)ethanamine;
  [(69)] (66) 
Methylone; 3,4-Methylenedioxy-N-
methylcathinone;
  [(70)] (67) 
Aminorex (2-amino-5-phenyl-2-
oxazoline);
  [(71)] (68) 
Pentedrone;

  [(72)] (69) 
4-FMC or flephedrone; 4-fluro-N-
methylcathinone;
  [(73)] (70) 
(3-FMC); 3-fluro-N-methylcathinone;
  [(74)] (71) 
(3-MMC); 3-methylmethcathinone;
  [(75)] (72) 
(3,4 DMMC); 
3,4-Dimethylmethcathinone;
  [(76)] (73) 
(3-MEC); 3-Methyl-N-
ethylcathinone;
  [(77)] (74) 
4-methylbuphedrone or 4-MeBP; 
2-methylamino-1-(4-methylphenyl)
butan-1-one
  [(78)] (75) (4 
MTA); 4-methylthioamphetamine;
  [(79)] (76) 
(5-Me MDA); 5-methyl-3,4-
methylenedioxyamphetamine;
  [(80)] (77) 
(6-APB); 6-benzofuran;
  [(81)] (78) 
(PMA); 4-methoxyamphetamine;
  [(82)] (79) 
(2C-B); 2,5-dimethoxy-4-
bromophenethylamine;
  [(83)] (80) 
(2C-C); 2,5-dimethoxy-4-
chlorophenethylamine;
  [(84)] (81) 
(2C-D); 4-methyl-2,5-
dimethoxyphenethylamine;
  [(85)] (82) 
(2C-E, aquarust, cindy); 
2,5-dimethoxy-4-
ethylphenethylamine;
  [(86)] (83) 
(2C-G); 3,4-dimethyl-2,5-
dimethoxyphenethylamine;
  [(87)] (84) 
(2C-I); 2,5-dimethoxy-4-
iodophenethylamine;
  [(88)] (85) 
(2C-T21); 2-[2,5-dimethoxy-4-(2-
fluoroethylthio)phenyl]ethanamine;
  [(89)] (86) 
(2C-B-FLY); 2-(8-bromo-2,3,6,7-
tetrahydrofuro [2,3-f][1]benzofuran-
4-yl)ethanamine;
  [(90)] (87) 
Bromo-DragonFLY or 3C-Bromo-
Dragonfly or DOB-Dragonfly; 
1-(4-Bromofuro[2,3-f][1]benzofuran-
8-yl)propan-2-amine;
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  [(91)] (88) 
(DOB); 2,5-Dimethoxy-4-
bromoamphetamine;
  [(92)] (89 
(DOC); 2,5-Dimethoxy-4-
chloroamphetamine;
  [(93)] (90) 
(DOM); 2,5-Dimethoxy-4-
methylamphetamine;
  [(94)] (91) 
(TMA2); 
2,4,5-trimethoxyamphetamine;
  [(95)] (92) 
(TMA6); 
2,4,6-trimethoxyamphetamine;
  [(96)] (93) 
(MDAT); 6,7-methylenedioxy-2-
aminotetralin;
  [(97)] (94) 
(4-acetoxy DiPT, ipracetin); 
4-acetoxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine;
  [(98)] (95) 
(4-acetoxy DMT, psilacetin;) 
O-Acetylpsilocin;
  [(99)] (96) 
4-HO MET, metocin; 4-hydroxy-N-
methyl-N-ethyltryptamine;
  [(100)] (97) 
4-HO MiPT, hats; 4-hydroxy-N-
methyl-N-isopropyltryptamine;
  [(101)] (98) 
5-MeO-aMT, Alpha-O; 5-methoxy-α-
methyltryptamine;
  [(102)] (99) 
(5-MeO-MiPT); N-[2-(5-
methoxy-1H-indol-3-yl)ethyl]-N-
methylpropan-2-amine;
  [(103)] (100) 
(DiPT); N,N-diisopropyltryptamine;
  [(104)] (101) 
(DPT); dipropyltryptamine;
  [(105)] (102) 
(5-MeO-DALT); N,N-diallyl-5-
methoxytryptamine;
  [(106)] (103) 
(3-MeO PCP); 
3-methoxyphencyclidine;
  [(107)] (104) 
(4-MeO PCP); 
4-methoxyphencyclidine;
  [(108)] (105) 
(MK-801); dizocilpine;
  [(109)] (106) 
(PCE, perchloroethylene, 
perchloroethene), Perc; 
tetrachloroethylene;
  [(110)] (107) 
(PCE, perchloroethylene, 

perchloroethene), Perc; 
tetrachloroethylene;
  [(111)] (108) 
(PCPr); phencyclamine, N-(1-
phenylcyclohexyl)propanamine;
  [(112)] (109) 
(Tenocyclidine); 1-(1-(2-thienyl)
cyclohexyl)piperidine
  [(113)] (110) 
(3-MeO PCE); 3-methoxyeticyclidine, 
N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)
cyclohexanamine;
  [(114)] (111) 
(ETH-LAD); 6-ethyl-6-nor-lysergic 
acid diethylamide;
  [(115)] (112 
(AL-LAD); 6-allyl-6-nor-LSD;
  [(116)] (113) 
(PRO-LAD); 10-didehydroergoline-8-
carboxamide.
 F. Any material, 
compound, mixture or preparation 
which contains any quantity of the 
following substances.
  (1) 3, 
4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine 
(MDMA), its optical, positional and 
geometric isomers, salts and salts of 
isomers;
  (2) 
(MPPP); 1-methyl-4-phenyl-4-
proprionoxypiperidine its optical 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers;
  (3) 
1-(-2-phenylethyl)-4-phenyl-4-
acetoxy piperidine (PEPAP), its 
optical isomers, salts and salts of 
isomers;
  (4) Cathinone;
  (5) 
Methcathinone;
  (6) 
Tianeptene.
[16.19.20.65 NMAC - Rp 16.19.20.65 
NMAC, 6/26/2018; A, 12/17/2019; A, 
9/14/2021]

16.19.20.68 SCHEDULE IV:  
Shall consist of the drugs and other 
substances, by whatever official name, 
common or usual name, chemical 
name, or brand name designated, 
listed in this section.
 A. DEPRESSANTS:  
Unless specifically exempt or 
unless listed in another schedule, 
any material, compound, mixture 
or preparation which contains any 

quantity of the following substances, 
including its salts, isomers, and salts 
of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers and salts of 
isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation:
  (1) 
Alfaxalone;
  (2) 
Alprazolam;
  (3) Barbital;
  (4) Chloral 
Betaine;
  (5) Chloral 
Hydrate;
  (6) 
Chlordiazepoxide;
  (7) Clobazam;
  (8) 
Clonazepam;
  (9) 
Clorazepate;
  (10) 
Clotiazepam
  (11) Diazepam;
  (12) Estazolam;
  (13) 
Ethchlorvynol;
  (14) 
Ethinamate;
  (15) 
Flurazepam;
  (16) 
Fospropofol;
  (17) 
Halazepam;
  (18) 
Lorazepam;
  (19) 
Mebutamate;
  (20) 
Meprobamate;
  (21) 
Methohexital;
  (22) 
Methylphenobarbital;
  (23) 
Midazolam;
  (24) Oxazepam;
  (25) 
Paraldehyde;
  (26) 
Petrichloral;
  (27) 
Phenobarbital;
  (28) Prazepam;
  (29) Quazepam;
  (30) 
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Remimazolam;
  [(30)] (31) 
Suvorexant;
  [(31)] (32) 
Temazepam;
  [(32)] (33) 
Triazolam.
 B.         FENFLURAMINE:  
Any material, compound, mixture 
or preparation which contains any 
quantity of the following substance, 
including its salts, isomers (whether 
optical, positional, or geometric) and 
its salts, or such isomers, whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible:  
Fenfluramine.
 C. LORCASERIN:  
Any material, compound, mixture 
or preparation which contains any 
quantity of the following substance, 
including its salts, isomers (whether 
optical, positional, or geometric) and 
its salts, or such isomers, whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible:  
Lorcaserin.
 D. STIMULANTS:  
Unless specifically exempt or 
unless listed in another schedule 
any material, compound, mixture 
or preparation which contains any 
quantity of the following substances 
having a stimulant effect on the 
central nervous system, including 
its salts, isomers (whether optical, 
positional, or geometric) and salts of 
such isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers and salts of 
isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation:
  (1) 
Diethylpropion;
  (2) 
Phentermine;
  (3) Pemoline 
(including organometallic complexes 
and chelates thereon);
  (4) Pipradrol;
  (5) 
SPA ((-)-1-dimethyl amino-1,2-
diphenylmethane);
  (6) Mazindol;
  (7) Cathine;
  (8) 
Fencamfamin;
  (9) 
Fenproporex;

  (10) 
Mefenorex;
  (11) Modafinil;
  (12) 
Sibutramine.
 E. OTHER 
SUBSTANCES:  Unless specifically 
exempt or unless listed in another 
schedule, any material, compound, 
mixture or preparation which 
contains any quantity of the following 
substances, including its salts:
  (1) 
Dextropropoxyphene(Alpha-(+)-
4-dimethylamino-1,2-diphenyl-3-
methyl-2-propionoxybutane);
  (2) 
Pentazocine;
  (3) 
Carisoprodol;
  (4) 
Nalbuphine Hydrochloride;
  (5) 
Butorphanol Tartrate;
  (6) Dezocine;
  (7) 
Dichloralphenazone;
  (8) Zaleplon;
  (9) Zolpidem;
  (10) 
Eszopiclone;
  (11) Tramadol;
  (12) 
Eluxadoline (5-[[[(2S)-2-amino-3-[4-
aminocarbonyl)-2,6-dimethylphenyl]-
1-oxopropyl][(1S)-1-(4-phenyl-1H-
imidazol-2-yl)ethyl]amino]methyl]-2-
methoxybenzoic acid) (including its 
optical isomers) and its salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers.
 F. NARCOTIC 
DRUG:  Unless specifically exempt 
or unless listed in another schedule, 
any material, compound, mixture 
or preparation containing limited 
quantities of any of the following 
narcotic drugs or any salts thereof:  
Not more than one milligram of 
difenoxin and not less than 25 
micrograms of atropine sulfate per 
dosage unit.
 G. EXEMPTION 
OF CHLORAL:  When packaged in 
a sealed, oxygen-free environment, 
under nitrogen pressure, safeguarded 
against exposure to the air.  Chloral 
when existing under the above 
conditions is a substance which is not 

intended for general administration 
to a human being or another animal, 
and contains no narcotic controlled 
substances and is packaged in such 
a form that the package quantity 
does not present any significant 
potential for abuse.  All persons who 
engage in industrial activities with 
respect to such chloral are subject to 
registration; but shall be exempt from 
Section 30-31-16 through 19 of the 
New Mexico Controlled Substances 
Act and 16.19.20.19 NMAC through 
16.19.20.52 NMAC of the board of 
pharmacy regulations.
 H. EXEMPT 
COMPOUNDS:  Librax and 
Menrium are preparations which 
contain chlordiazepoxide, a 
depressant listed in schedule IV, 
Paragraph (6) of Subsection A 
of 16.19.20.68 NMAC and other 
ingredients in such combinations, 
quantity, preparation or concentration 
as to vitiate the potential for abuse 
of chlordiazepoxide, and are hereby 
exempt preparations.
  (1) Librax;
  (2) Menrium, 
5-2;
  (3) Menrium, 
4-5;
  (4) Menrium, 
10-4.
[16.19.20.68 NMAC - Rp 16.19.20.68 
NMAC, 6/26/2018; A, 9/14/2021]

16.19.20.69 SCHEDULE V:
 A. Narcotic drugs 
containing non-narcotic active 
medicinal ingredients.  Any 
compound, mixture, or preparation 
containing any of the following 
narcotic drugs, or their salts 
calculated as the free anhydrous base 
or alkaloid, in limited quantities as set 
forth below, which shall include one 
or more non-narcotic active medicinal 
ingredients in sufficient proportion to 
confer upon the compound, mixture, 
or preparation valuable medicinal 
qualities other than those possessed 
by narcotic drugs alone.
  (1) Not more 
than 200 milligrams of codeine per 
100 milliliters or per 100 grams.
  (2) Not 
more than 100 milligrams of 
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dihydrocodeine per 100 milliliters or 
per 100 grams.
  (3) Not more 
than 100 milligrams of ethylmorphine 
per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams.
  (4) Not more 
than two and five-tenths milligrams 
of diphenoxylate and not less than 25 
micrograms of atropine sulfate per 
dosage unit.
  (5) Not more 
than 100 milligrams of opium per 100 
milliliters or per 100 grams.
  (6) Not 
more than five-tenths milligrams 
of difenoxin and not less than 25 
micrograms of atropine sulfate per 
dosage unit.
 B. Stimulants.  Unless 
specifically exempted or excluded 
or unless listed in another schedule, 
any material, compound, mixture 
or preparation which contains any 
quantity of the following substances 
having a stimulant effect on the 
central nervous system, including its 
salts, isomers and salts of isomers.
  (1) 
Pyrovalerone.
  (2) 
Pseudoephedrine as a drug 
that includes any compound, 
mixture, or preparation that 
contains any detectable quantity 
of pseudoephedrine, its salts or 
its optical isomers, or salts of its 
optical isomers.  Pursuant to 30-31-
10.C the following substances are 
excluded from schedule V controlled 
substances:  pseudoephedrine 
products in liquid form including 
liquid filled gel caps and 
pseudoephedrine products already 
classified as dangerous drugs.
 C. Depressants.  
Unless specifically exempted or 
excluded or unless listed in another 
schedule, any material, compound, 
mixture, or preparation which 
contains any quantity of the following 
substances having a depressant 
effect on the central nervous system, 
including its salts:
  (1) 
Lacosamide [(R)-2acetoamido-N-
benzyl-3-methoxy-propionamide]
  (2) 
Pregabalin [(S)-3-(aminomethyl)-5-

methylhexanoic acid]
  (3) Ezogabine 
[N-[2-amino-4-(4-flurobenzylamino-
phenyl]-carbamic acid ethyl ester]
  (4) 
Brivaracetam
  (5) 
Cenobamate
[16.19.20.69 NMAC - Rp 16.19.20.69 
NMAC, 6/26/2018; A, 12/17/2019, A, 
12/15/2020; A, 9/14/2021]
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING  

DEPARTMENT
PHARMACY, BOARD OF

This is an amendment to 16.19.30 
NMAC, Sections 7, 8 and 9, 
effective 9/14/2021.

16.19.30.7 DEFINITIONS:  
In addition to the definitions for 
specific license classifications, the 
following words and terms, when 
used in this section, shall have the 
following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise.
 A. “Active 
pharmaceutical ingredient 
(API)” any substance or mixture 
of substances intended to be used 
in the compounding of a drug 
preparation, thereby becoming the 
active ingredient in that preparation 
and furnishing pharmacological 
activity or other direct effect in the 
diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, 
or prevention of disease in humans 
and animals or affecting the structure 
and function of the body.
 B. “Beyond-use 
date (BUD)” the date after which a 
compounded preparation should not 
be used and is determined from the 
date the preparation was compounded.
 C. “Component” 
any ingredient intended for use in 
the compounding of a drug product, 
including those that may not appear in 
such product labeling.
 D. “Compounding” 
the preparation, mixing, assembling, 
packaging, or labeling of a drug or 
device (reconstitution of commercial 
products is not considered 
compounding for purposes of this 
article).

  (1) as the 
result of a practitioner’s prescription 
order, based on the practitioner-
patient-pharmacist relationship in the 
course of professional practice;
  (2) preparing 
limited quantities of prescription 
orders based upon a history of 
receiving valid prescriptions issued 
within an established practitioner-
patient-pharmacist relationship in the 
course of professional practice;
  (3) 
reconstitution of commercial products 
is not considered compounding for 
purpose of this article.
 E. “FDA” Food and 
Drug administration.
 F. “SOP’s” standard 
operating procedures.
 G. “USP/NF” the 
current edition of the United States 
Pharmacopeia/National Formulary.
[16.19.30.7 NMAC - N, 9/15/2006; A, 
12/13/2015; A, 9/14/2021]

16.19.30.8 PERSONNEL:
 A. Pharmacist-in-
charge.  The pharmacist-in-charge 
shall have the responsibility for, at a 
minimum, the following concerning 
non-sterile compounding:
  (1) 
determining that all personnel 
involved in non-sterile compounding 
possess the education, training, and 
proficiency necessary to properly and 
[as] safely perform compounding 
duties undertaken or supervised;
  (2) 
determining that all personnel 
involved in non-sterile compounding 
obtain continuing education 
appropriate for the type of 
compounding done by the personnel;
  (3) 
assuring that the equipment used in 
compounding is properly maintained;
  (4) 
maintaining an appropriate 
environment in the area where non-
sterile compounding occurs [and];
  (5) assuring 
that effective quality control 
procedures are developed and 
followed; and
  (6) assuring 
availability of current reference 
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source for the type of compounding 
conducted.
 B. Pharmacists.  
Special requirements for non-sterile 
compounding;
  (1) all 
pharmacists engaged in compounding 
shall:
   (a) 
possess the education, training and 
proficiency necessary to properly and 
safely perform compounding duties 
undertaken or supervised and
   (b) 
obtain continuing education for the 
type of compounding done by the 
pharmacist.
  (2) A 
pharmacist shall inspect and approve 
all components, drug product 
containers, closures, labeling and 
any other material involved in the 
compounding process.
  (3) 
A pharmacist shall review all 
compounding records for accuracy 
and conduct in-process and final 
checks to assure that errors have not 
occurred in the compounding process.
  (4) A 
pharmacist is responsible for the 
proper maintenance, cleanliness 
and use of all equipment used in the 
compounding process.
 C. Pharmacy 
technicians.  All technicians engaged 
in compounding shall:
  (1) possess the 
education, training and proficiency 
necessary to properly and safely 
perform compounding duties 
undertaken;
  (2) obtain 
continuing education for the type of 
compounding done by the pharmacy 
technician; and
  (3) perform 
compounding duties under the direct 
supervision of and responsible to a 
pharmacist.
 D. Training.  All 
personnel involved in non-sterile 
compounding shall be trained and 
must participate in continuing 
relevant training programs.
[16.19.30.8 NMAC - N, 9/15/2006; A, 
9/14/2021]

16.19.30.9 OPERATIONAL 
STANDARDS:
 A. General 
requirements.
  (1) Non-sterile 
drug products may be compounded 
in licensed pharmacies as a result of 
a practitioner’s prescription order 
based on the practitioner-patient-
pharmacist relationship in the course 
of professional practice.
  (2) Preparing 
limited quantities of prescription 
drug orders in anticipation based 
upon a history of receiving valid 
prescriptions issued within an 
established practitioner-patient-
pharmacist relationship in the course 
of professional practice.
   (a) 
The beyond-use date should be 
based on the criteria outlined in USP 
Chapter <795>.
   (b) 
Any product compounded in 
anticipation of future prescription 
drug or medication orders shall be 
labeled.  Each label shall contain:
                 (i) 
name and strength of the compounded 
medication or list of the active 
ingredient and strengths;
                (ii) 
facility’s lot number;
               (iii) 
beyond-use date;
               (iv) 
quantity or amount in the container.
  (3) 
Commercially available product 
may be compounded for dispensing 
to individual patients provided the 
following conditions are met:
   (a) 
the commercial product is not 
reasonably available from normal 
distribution channels in a timely 
manner to meet patient’s needs; and
   (b) 
the prescribing practitioner 
has requested that the drug be 
compounded; or
   (c) 
if the compounded product is 
changed to produce for that patient a 
significant difference, as authorized 
by the prescriber, between the 
compounded drug and the comparable 

commercially available drug product, 
or if use of the compounded product 
is in the best interest of the patient; 
“significant difference” would include 
the removal of a dye for medical 
reason such as an allergic reaction; 
when a compounded product is to be 
dispensed in place of a commercially 
available product, the prescriber and 
patient shall be informed that the 
product will be compounded.
  (4) 
Compounding [veterinarian] 
veterinary preparations.
   (a) 
Preparations for animals may be 
compounded based on an order or 
prescription from a duly authorized 
veterinarian.
   (b) 
These preparations are to be handled 
and filled the same as the human 
prescriptions.
   (c) 
Compounding of drugs for animals 
must be in accordance with the 
Animal Medicinal Drug Use 
Clarification Act of 1994 or successor 
Act.
   (d) 
A licensed pharmacy may compound 
veterinary [non-controlled substance] 
drug preparations in reasonable 
quantities, in accordance with 
Paragraph (5) of Subsection DDD 
of 16.19.8.7 NMAC to be used 
by veterinarians in their office for 
administration to patients (“office use 
preparations”).
   (e) 
Compounded office use preparations 
may be dispensed by a veterinarian 
to clients only under the following 
conditions:
                 (i) 
a valid veterinarian client patient 
relationship exists; 
                (ii) 
the patient has an emergency 
condition that the compounded drug 
is necessary to treat; 
               (iii) 
dispensed amount is for use in a 
single course of treatment, not to 
exceed a 120-hour supply;
                   (iv) 
timely access to a compounding 
pharmacy is not available; and
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                (v) 
the medication is not a controlled 
substance; [and]
   (f) 
Compounded controlled substance 
veterinary office use preparations may 
be distributed by a pharmacy under 
the following conditions:
    (i) 
the preparation is not readily available 
from an outsourcing facility;
                (ii) 
ordering and distribution occur in 
compliance with applicable state and 
federal law;
               (iii) 
the pharmacy shall be registered with 
the DEA as a manufacturer; and
               (iv) 
in addition to other required labeling, 
such preparations shall bear a 
statement “For administration only.  
Not for dispensing or resale.”
   [(f)] (g) 
Prohibition on wholesaling:
                 (i) 
Office use preparations will not be 
distributed by a person other than 
the pharmacy that compounded such 
veterinary drug preparations.
                (ii) 
This does not prohibit administration 
or dispensing pursuant to a 
prescription drug order executed in 
accordance with federal and state law; 
and the conditions of this Paragraph 
(4).
   [(g)] (h) 
Providing samples of compounded 
veterinary preparations is prohibited.
  (5) 
Compounding pharmacies/
pharmacists may advertise and 
promote the fact that they provide 
non-sterile prescription compounding 
services which may include specific 
drug products and classes of drugs.
 B. Environment.
  (1) 
Pharmacies regularly engaging in 
compounding shall have a designated 
and adequate area for the safe 
and orderly compounding of drug 
products including the placement of 
equipment and materials.  Pharmacies 
involved in occasional compounding 
shall prepare an area prior to each 
compounding activity, which is 

adequate for safe and orderly 
compounding.
  (2) Only 
personnel authorized by the 
responsible pharmacist shall be in 
the immediate vicinity of a drug 
compounding operation.
  (3) A sink 
with hot and cold running water, 
exclusive of rest room facilities, shall 
be accessible to the compounding 
areas and be maintained in a sanitary 
condition.
  (4) When 
drug products that require special 
precautions to prevent contamination, 
such as penicillin, are involved in a 
compounding operation, appropriate 
measures, including dedication of 
equipment for such operations or the 
meticulous cleaning of contaminated 
equipment prior to its’ use for the 
preparation of other drug products, 
must be used in order to prevent 
cross-contamination.
 C. Equipment and 
supplies.  The pharmacy shall:
  (1) have a 
Class A prescription balance, or 
analytical balance and weights when 
necessary which shall be properly 
maintained and subject to inspection 
by the New Mexico board of 
pharmacy; and
  (2) have 
equipment and utensils necessary 
for the proper compounding of 
prescription or medication drug 
orders; such equipment and utensils 
used in the compounding process 
shall be:
   (a) 
of appropriate design and capacity, 
and be operated within designated 
operational limits;
   (b) of 
suitable composition so that surfaces 
that contact components, in-process 
material or drug products shall not be 
reactive, additive, or absorptive so as 
to alter the safety, identity, strength, 
quality or purity of the drug product 
beyond the desired result;
   (c) 
cleaned and sanitized appropriately 
prior to each use; and
   (d) 
routinely inspected, calibrated when 

necessary or checked to ensure proper 
performance.
 D. Labeling.  In 
addition to the labeling requirements 
of the pharmacy’s specific license 
classification, the label dispensed or 
distributed pursuant to a prescription 
or medication drug order shall contain 
the following:
  (1) the generic 
name(s) or the designated name 
and the strength of the compounded 
preparation;
  (2) the 
quantity dispensed;
  (3) the date on 
which the product was compounded;
  (4) a lot or 
batch number; and
  (5) the 
beyond-use date after which the 
compounded preparation should not 
be used;
   (a) 
in the absence of stability information 
applicable for a specific drug or 
preparation in the USP/NF the 
preparation shall adhere to the 
following maximum beyond-use date 
guidelines:
    (i) 
for non-aqueous formulations - the 
BUD is not later than the time 
remaining until the earliest expiration 
date of any API or six months, 
whichever is earlier;
                (ii) 
for water-containing oral formulations 
- the BUD is not later than 14 days 
when stored at controlled cold 
temperatures;
               (iii) 
for water-containing topical/dermal 
and mucosal liquid and semisolid 
formulations - the BUD is not later 
than 30 days.
   (b) 
beyond-use date limits may be 
exceeded when supported by valid 
scientific stability information for the 
specific compounded preparation; 
the BUD shall not be later than the 
expiration date on the container of 
any component.
 E. Drugs, components 
and material used in non-sterile 
compounding.
  (1) Drugs 
used in non-sterile compounding 
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shall preferably be a USP/NF grade 
substance manufactured in a FDA 
registered facility.
  (2) In the 
event that USP/NF grade substances 
are not available, documentation 
of stability and purity must be 
established and documented.
  (3) A 
pharmacy may not compound a drug 
product which has been withdrawn or 
removed from the market for safety 
reasons.
 F. Compounding 
process.  The safety, quality and 
performance of compounded 
prescriptions depend on correct 
ingredients and calculations, 
accurate and precise measurements, 
appropriate formulation conditions 
and procedures, and prudent 
pharmaceutical judgment.  Each 
pharmacy shall develop and follow 
written SOP’s based on established 
compounding procedures as outlined 
in chapter 795 of the USP/NF 
concerning pharmacy compounding 
of non-sterile preparations designed 
to ensure accountability, accuracy, 
quality, safety, and uniformity in the 
compounding process.
 G. Quality control.
  (1) The 
safety, quality, and monitoring is 
used to insure that the output of 
compounded drug products for 
uniformity and consistency such as 
capsule weight variations, adequacy 
of mixing, clarity or pH of solutions 
are met.  When developing these 
procedures, pharmacy personnel shall 
consider the provisions of Chapter 
795 of the USP/NF concerning 
pharmacy compounding of non-
sterile preparations, chapter 1075 
of the USP/NF concerning good 
compounding practices, and chapter 
1160 of the USP/NF concerning 
pharmaceutical calculations in 
prescription compounding.  Such 
procedures shall be documented and 
be available for inspection.
  (2) 
Compounding procedures that are 
routinely performed, including batch 
compounding, shall be completed 
and verified according to written 
procedures.  The act of verification of 

a compounding procedure involves 
checking to ensure that calculations, 
weighing and measuring, order of 
mixing, and compounding techniques 
were appropriate and accurately 
performed.
  (3) Unless 
otherwise indicated or appropriate, 
compounded preparations are to 
be prepared to ensure that each 
preparation shall contain not less than 
90.0 percent and not more than 110.0 
percent of the theoretically calculated 
and labeled quantity of active 
ingredient per unit volume and not 
less than 90.0 percent and not more 
than 110.0 percent of the theoretically 
calculated weight or volume per unit 
of the preparation.
[16.19.30.9 NMAC - N, 9/15/2006; 
A, 6/29/2013; A, 12/19/2013; A, 
12/13/2015; A, 12/15/2020; A, 
9/14/2021]
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING  

DEPARTMENT
PHARMACY, BOARD OF

This is an amendment to 16.19.31 
NMAC, Sections 1, 2, 3, and 11, 
effective 9/14/2021.

16.19.31.1 ISSUING 
AGENCY:  [Regulation and 
Licensing Department -] Board of 
Pharmacy.
[16.19.31.1 NMAC - N, 4/3/2006; A, 
9/14/2021]

16.19.31.2 SCOPE:  All 
pharmacies, resident and non-resident, 
as defined in Subsections S and Z 
of Section [61-11-2(S), (Y)] 61-11-
2 NMSA 1978, and all persons or 
entities that own or operate, or are 
employed by, a pharmacy for the 
purpose of providing pharmaceutical 
products or services.  Pharmacists 
and technicians subject to licensure, 
registration, and regulation by the 
board of pharmacy.  Practitioners 
subject to registration by the board of 
pharmacy pursuant to Section 30-31-
12 of the Controlled Substances Act.  
[16.19.31.1 NMAC - N, 4/3/2006; A, 
9/14/2021]

16.19.31.3 STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Paragraph (1) 
of Subsection A of Section [61-
11-6.A.(1)] 61-11-6 NMAC 1978 
authorizes the board of pharmacy to 
adopt, regularly review and revise 
rules and regulations necessary 
to carry out the provisions of the 
Pharmacy Act, Sections 61-11-1, 
61-11-2, 61-11-4 to 61-11-28 NMSA 
1978.  Paragraph (3) of Subsection 
A of Section [61-11-6.A.(3)] 61-
11-6 NMSA 1978 provides for the 
issuance and renewal of licenses 
for pharmacists.  Paragraph (4) of 
Subsection A of Section 61-11-6 
authorizes the board of pharmacy 
to require and establish criteria 
for continuing education as a 
condition of renewal of licensure 
for pharmacists.  Paragraph (16) 
of Subsection A of Section [61-
11-6.A.] 61-11-6 NMSA 1978 
authorizes the board of pharmacy to 
register and regulate qualifications, 
training and permissible activities 
of pharmacy technicians.  Paragraph 
(6) of Subsection A of Section 
[61-11-6.A.(6)] 61-11-6 NMSA 
1978 requires that the board of 
pharmacy provide for the licensing 
of retail pharmacies and nonresident 
pharmacies and for the inspection of 
their facilities and activities.  Section 
30-31-11 NMSA 1978 authorizes the 
board of pharmacy to promulgate 
regulations and charge reasonable 
fees for the registration and control 
of the manufacture, distribution and 
dispensing of controlled substances.  
Section 30-31-12 NMSA 1978 
requires board registration to engage 
in activities relating to controlled 
substances including possession, 
dispensing, prescribing or conducting 
research.
[16.19.31.1 NMAC - N, 4/3/2006; A, 
9/14/2021]

16.19.31.11 PROVISIONS 
FOR PHARMACIST OR 
PHARMACY TECHNICIAN, 
UNAVAILABLE TESTING OR 
TRAINING:
 A. During a declared 
civil or public health emergency 
resulting in unavailable required 
testing or training, the board may 
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authorize a temporary extension for a:
  (1) temporary 
pharmacist license under reciprocity 
issued pursuant to 16.19.3 NMAC;
  (2) pharmacy 
technician registration;
  (3) pharmacist 
to exercise prescriptive authority 
pursuant to 16.19.26 NMAC (e.g. 
current live basic life support/
cardiopulmonary resuscitation).
 B. Pharmacists 
and technicians are to complete 
required testing or training as soon as 
practicable.
[16.19.31.11 NMAC - N, 9/14/2021]
______________________________

STATE ETHICS 
COMMISSION

This is amendment to 1.8.3 NMAC 
amending Sections 1, 7, 9, 10, 11, 
renumbered 13, 14 15 and 16; 
and adding new Section 12; and 
renumbering subsequent existing 
sections after new Section 12, 
effective 9/14/2021.

1.8.3.1 ISSUING AGENCY:  State 
ethics commission (the commission), 
800 Bradbury Dr. SE, Ste. [217] 215, 
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87106.
[1.8.3.1 NMAC-N, 01/01/2020; A, 
09/14/2021]

1.8.3.7  DEFINITIONS:  
The following terms apply to these 
rules unless their context clearly 
indicates otherwise:
 A. “Appellant” 
is a party who requests that the 
commission review and change the 
decision of the hearing officer.
 B. “Appellee” is a 
party to an appeal arguing that the 
hearing officer’s decision is correct 
and should stand.
 C. “Blackout period” 
means the period beginning 60 days 
before a primary or general election 
in which a person against whom a 
complaint is filed is a candidate, and 
ending on the day after that election.
 D. “Brief” is a 
document summarizing the facts and 
points of law of a party’s case. It 
may be offered to or requested by a 

hearing officer or filed in an appeal 
to the commission.  For example, 
a “brief in chief” is filed with the 
commission by the appellant.  An 
“answer brief” is filed by the appellee 
in response to the brief-in-chief.
 E. “Candidate” 
as used in this part, has the same 
meaning as it does in Subsection G 
of Section 1-19-26 NMSA 1978 of 
the Campaign Reporting Act, Section 
1-19-25 NMSA 1978.
 F. “Case 
management system” is the 
commission’s electronic filing and 
notification system for complaints, 
which may be accessed at https://
proceedings.sec.state.nm.us.
 [E] G. “Claim” is a 
complainant’s allegation that a 
respondent violated a particular 
provision of law.
 [F] H. “Designated 
district court judge” is an active or 
pro tempore district judge who has 
been appointed by the chief justice 
of the supreme court to consider 
the issuance and enforcement 
of subpoenas applied for by the 
commission.
 [G] I. “Discriminatory 
practice,” as used in this part, has the 
same meaning as it does in Subsection 
L of Section 28-1-2 of the Human 
Rights Act, Section 28-1-1 NMSA 
1978.
 [H] J. “Lobbyist’s 
employer” as used in this part, 
has the same meaning as it does in 
Subsection F of Section 2-11-2 of 
the Lobbyist Regulation Act, Section 
2-11-1 NMSA 1978.
 [I] K. “Meeting” means 
a meeting of the commission duly 
noticed and conducted in compliance 
with the requirements of the Open 
Meetings Act, Section 10-15-1 NMSA 
1978.
 [J] L. “Party” and 
“Parties” means the named 
persons in a proceeding before the 
commission or a hearing officer.
 [K] M. “Person” means 
any individual or entity.
 [L] N. “Pleading” means 
any written request, motion, or 
proposed action filed by a party with 
the hearing officer or commission.

 [M] O. “Qualified hearing 
officer” means an official appointed 
by the director in accordance 
with these rules to conduct an 
administrative hearing to enable the 
commission to exercise its statutory 
powers.
 [N] P. “Records” means 
all documents, papers, letters, books, 
maps, tapes, photographs, recordings 
and other materials, regardless of 
physical form or characteristics, 
whether or not the records are 
required by law to be created or 
maintained.
[1.8.3.7 NMAC-N, 01/01/2020; A, 
09/14/2021]

1.8.3.9  COMPLAINTS: 
FILING REQUIREMENTS AND 
LIMITATIONS; AMENDMENTS; 
NOTICE; TIME LIMITATIONS; 
CONSOLIDATION; 
COMMISSION-INITIATED 
COMPLAINTS:
 A. The commission 
shall investigate allegations of 
violations of any statutes or 
constitutional provisions over which 
the legislature gives it jurisdiction. 
Such complaints may be filed against 
any public official, public employee, 
candidate, person subject to the 
Campaign Reporting Act, government 
contractor, lobbyist, [or] lobbyist’s 
employer, or a restricted donor subject 
to the Gift Act.
  (1) The 
commission may initiate a proceeding 
before the commission concerning an 
alleged violation:
   (a) 
through the filing of a complaint with 
the commission by any person which 
alleges that the complainant has actual 
knowledge of the alleged violation 
of such statutes or constitutional 
provisions;
   (b) 
by initiating its own complaint 
alleging a violation of any statute or 
constitutional provision over which 
the commission has jurisdiction 
against a person subject to the 
jurisdiction of the commission, 
pursuant to Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection C of Section 10-16G-5 
NMSA 1978; or
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   (c) 
by accepting a complaint filed with 
another public agency or legislative 
body and forwarded by that agency 
or legislative body to the commission 
pursuant to Subsection B or E of 
Section 10-16G-9 NMSA 1978.
  (2) 
A complaint filed pursuant to 
Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection A of 1.8.3.9 NMAC, shall:
   (a) 
be filed electronically on the 
commission’s case management 
system, or on a form prescribed by the 
commission and provided at no cost to 
the complainant or in a substantially 
equivalent form, which the director 
or the director’s designee shall record 
electronically on the commission’s 
case management system;
   (b) 
state the name and, to the extent 
known to the complainant, the 
respondent’s mailing address, email 
address, telephone number, and public 
office or other position [of the person 
against whom the complaint is filed];
   (c) 
set forth in detail the specific 
claims against the respondent 
and the supporting factual 
allegations, including, if known to 
the complainant, any law that the 
respondent has allegedly violated;
   (d) 
include any evidence that the 
complainant has that supports the 
complaint, which may include 
documents, records and names of 
witnesses; and
   (e) 
be signed and sworn to by the 
complainant, under penalty of false 
statement.
  (3) The 
director shall reject any complaint 
filed pursuant to Subparagraph (a) 
of Paragraph (1) of Subsection A 
of 1.8.3.9 NMAC that fails to state 
either the respondent’s mailing 
address or email address, or is not 
signed [, notarized] and sworn to 
by the complainant, under penalty 
of false statement [, shall be 
dismissed without prejudice,] and the 
complainant will have the opportunity 
to refile the complaint.

  (4) 
A complaint filed pursuant to 
Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (1) 
of Subsection A of 1.8.3.9 NMAC 
may be amended once as a matter of 
course at any time before a responsive 
pleading is served.  Otherwise, 
the complainant may amend the 
complaint by leave of the director.  
An amended complaint must be filed 
within seven days of the director’s 
determination under Paragraph (3) of 
Subsection A of 1.8.3.10 NMAC that 
the commission has jurisdiction over 
the complaint.
  (5) Unless 
the director grants the complainant 
leave, the commission shall not accept 
a complaint filed by a complainant 
who, within the previous calendar 
year, filed two complaints that were 
subsequently dismissed.  In applying 
for leave to file a third or subsequent 
complaint within the same calendar 
year, the complainant shall explain 
how, as compared to the dismissed 
complaints, the proposed complaint 
concerns different facts, asserts 
different claims, or asserts claims 
against different respondents.
  (6) By 
registering and filing a complaint 
through the commission’s case 
management system, a party agrees 
to accept electronic service of 
subpoenas, notices, and other filings 
as a condition of submitting filings 
with the commission.
  [(4)] (7)   
Any party may represent themselves 
or may be represented by a licensed 
attorney.  Corporations and other non-
natural persons must be represented 
by counsel.
   (a) 
Any [legal counsel] attorney 
representing [any] party shall enter 
an appearance with the commission 
and register on the commission’s case 
management system.  Upon receipt 
of the appearance, the commission 
shall direct all official notices and 
correspondence to the attorney 
named in the written appearance, 
at the address or location stated 
therein.[, and a]  Any official notice, 
[including a subpoena issued pursuant 
to Subsection J of Section 10-16G-

10 NMSA 1978], received by any 
named attorney shall be deemed to 
have been received by the represented 
party.  An attorney may withdraw 
from representing a party before the 
commission only with leave of the 
director and for a reason provided for 
by Section B of Rule 16-116 NMRA.
   (b) 
If the respondent is a public official 
or state public employee subject to a 
complaint alleging a violation made 
in the performance of the respondent’s 
duties, the respondent [shall be] is 
entitled to representation by the risk 
management division of the general 
services department.  “Respondent’s 
duties,” within the meaning of 
Subsection K of Section 10-16G-10 
NMSA 1978 and this rule, excludes: 
                 (i) 
conduct undertaken by an elected 
public official in furtherance of 
his or her campaign for election or 
reelection; and
                (ii) 
any duty or obligation that by law 
is personal, rather than official, in 
nature.
  [(5)] (8)   
The commission may proceed with 
any complaint [, irrespective of 
whether the complaint is notarized,] 
that is forwarded to the commission 
by another [state] public agency, or 
by the legislature or a legislative 
committee pursuant to Subparagraph 
(c) of Paragraph (1) of Subsection 
A of 1.8.3.9 NMAC, according 
to the terms of any agreement for 
shared jurisdiction between the 
commission and the referring agency 
or the legislative body, pursuant to 
Subsection E of Section 10-16G-9 
NMSA 1978.
  [(6)] (9) No 
complaint may be accepted or 
considered by the commission unless 
the date on which the complaint is 
received by the commission, or the 
date on which the commission votes 
to initiate a complaint, falls within the 
later of two years from the date:
   (a) on 
which the alleged conduct occurred; 
or
   (b) 
the alleged conduct could reasonably 
have been discovered.
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  [(7)] (10) 
For the purpose of applying the two-
year statute of limitations established 
in Subsection A of Section 10-16G-
15 NMSA 1978, the date on which 
a complaint is filed with a public 
agency that refers the complaint to the 
commission under the law, or under 
an agreement for shared jurisdiction, 
shall be deemed the date of filing with 
the commission.
 B. The commission 
shall not adjudicate a complaint filed 
against a candidate, except under the 
Campaign Reporting Act or Voter 
Action Act, fewer than 60 days before 
a primary or general election.
  (1) This 
paragraph does not preclude during 
the blackout period:
                 (a) 
the dismissal of frivolous or 
unsubstantiated complaints, or 
dismissal or referral of complaints 
outside the jurisdiction of the 
commission, as provided by these 
rules; or
   (b) 
an investigation related to the 
commission’s discretion to file a 
court action to enforce the civil 
compliance provisions of any statute 
or constitutional provision over which 
the commission has jurisdiction.
  (2) For 
complaints filed during and subject to 
the blackout period, the director, or 
the director’s designee, shall notify 
the complainant:
   (a) 
of the provisions of this section 
regarding the blackout period;
   (b) 
that the complainant may refer 
allegations of criminal conduct to the 
attorney general or appropriate district 
attorney at any time; and
   (c) of 
the deferral of commission action on 
the complaint for the duration of the 
blackout period.
  (3) The 
director, or the director’s designee, 
shall within five days notify a [person 
]candidate named as a respondent in a 
complaint filed during the 60-day pre-
election blackout period of:

   (a) 
the filing of the complaint;
   (b) 
the specific allegations and violations 
charged in the complaint; and
   (c) 
the deferral of commission action on 
the complaint for the duration of the 
blackout period.
 C. The commission 
shall not adjudicate a complaint that 
alleges conduct occurring only before 
July 1, 2019.  Any complaint filed 
with the commission or referred to 
the commission that alleges conduct 
occurring only before July 1, 2019 
shall be [either] dismissed [or] and, if 
applicable, returned to the referring 
entity.
 D. The director may 
consolidate a complaint with any 
other pending complaint involving 
related questions of fact or laws; 
provided that the consolidation 
will not unduly delay resolution 
of an earlier-filed complaint, 
unduly prejudice any complainant, 
or compromise the right of any 
complainant or respondent to 
confidentiality under these rules.
 E. The Commission 
may initiate a complaint alleging 
a violation of any statute or 
constitutional provision over which 
the commission has jurisdiction 
against a public official, public 
employee, candidate, person subject 
to the Campaign Reporting Act, 
government contractor, lobbyist,  
lobbyist’s employer, or a restricted 
donor subject to the Gift Act, if:
  (1) any 
commissioner or the director presents 
to the commission information or 
documents showing a violation of 
any statute or constitutional provision 
over which the commission has 
jurisdiction;
  (2) the 
director determines that the complaint 
would be within the commission’s 
jurisdiction; and
  (3) five 
commissioners vote to initiate the 
complaint. 
  (4) A 
commissioner’s vote to initiate a 
complaint pursuant to this Subsection 

E is not grounds for recusal pursuant 
to Subsection A of 1.8.2.8 NMAC.
 F. If the commission 
initiates any complaint under 
Paragraph (1) of Subsection C of 
Section 10-16G-5 NMSA 1978 and 
Subsection E of 1.8.3.9 NMAC, then 
the director shall:
  (1) provide 
the respondent with notice of the 
complaint in accordance with 
Subsection A of 1.8.3.10 NMAC; and
  (2) forward the 
complaint to the general counsel to 
initiate an investigation in accordance 
with 1.8.3.11 NMAC.
 G. If the director 
determines that the complaint, either 
in whole or in part, is subject to 
referral to another state or federal 
agency in accordance with Subsection 
D of Section 10-16G-9 NMSA 1978, 
the terms of an agreement entered into 
pursuant to the terms of Subsection 
E of Section 10-16G-9 NMSA 1978, 
Subsection D of Section 10-16-14 
NMSA 1978, Subsection C of Section 
1-19-34.4 NMSA 1978, or Subsection 
B of Section 2-11-8.2 NMSA 1978, 
the director shall refer some or all 
claims within the complaint to the 
appropriate agency and, within ten 
days of the referral, provide notice to 
the respondent of the referral.
 H. When the 
commission initiates its own 
administrative complaint, the 
commission may serve in an appellate 
role after a hearing officer decision, 
and the commission will be limited 
to reviewing the record developed 
at the hearing.  As such, except as 
provided in Subsection E of 1.8.3.9 
NMAC, Subsections I & J of Section 
10-16G-10 NMSA 1978, Subsection 
A of Section 10-16G-11 NMSA 1978, 
Subsection A of 1.8.3.12 NMAC, or 
Subsection J of 1.8.3.14 NMAC,  the 
commission shall not receive any 
information related to a complaint 
filed pursuant to Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection C of Section 10-16G-5 
NMSA 1978 and Subsection E of 
1.8.3.9 NMAC until an appeal is 
made pursuant to 1.8.3.15 NMAC.
[1.8.3.9 NMAC-N, 01/01/2020; A, 
09/14/2021]
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1.8.3.10  DIRECTOR’S 
RESPONSIBILITIES 
UPON RECEIVING A 
COMPLAINT; RESPONDENT’S 
OPPORTUNITY TO RESPOND; 
JURISDICTIONAL REVIEW; 
REFERRALS; NOTIFICATION 
TO PARTIES:
 A. Within seven days 
of receiving a complaint, the director 
shall notify the respondent of the 
filing of the complaint; provided 
that, for any complaint filed pursuant 
to Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph 
(1) of Subsection A of 1.8.3.9 
NMAC, the director shall ensure 
that the complaint satisfies the filing 
requirements set forth in Paragraph 
(1) of Subsection A of 1.8.3.9 NMAC 
before notifying the respondent of the 
filing of the complaint.
  [(1) The 
respondent may file with the 
commission a responsive pleading 
within 15 days from the date of 
receiving the director’s notification 
and serve the same upon the 
complainant.  Also, within 15 days 
from the date of receiving the 
director’s notification, the respondent 
may file with the commission, and 
serve upon the complainant, a motion 
to dismiss the complaint for:
   (a) 
lack of subject matter jurisdiction;
   (b)  
lack of personal jurisdiction; or
   (c) 
failure to state a claim upon which 
relief may be granted.
  (2) The 
complainant may file a response to the 
respondent’s motion.  A response to a 
motion is due 15 calendar days from 
the date of the filing of the motion.
   (3) If 
the respondent fails to submit a 
responsive pleading or motion within 
15 days from the date of receiving 
the director’s notification, then the 
director shall review the complaint 
for jurisdiction, and if jurisdiction 
lies, shall refer the complaint to the 
general counsel.]
 B. Upon receiving a 
complaint pursuant to Subparagraph 
(a) or (c) of Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection A of 1.8.3.9 NMAC, 

[and any responsive pleading, or 
motion and corresponding response,] 
the director shall, within 10 days, 
review the [submissions] complaint 
to determine whether [the complaint] 
it is within the commission’s 
jurisdiction.
 C. If the director 
determines that a complaint 
lies wholly or in part within the 
jurisdiction of the commission, unless 
otherwise provided below, the director 
shall:
  (1) provide 
the complainant with notice that the 
commission has jurisdiction for the 
complaint;
  (2) provide 
the respondent with notice of the 
complaint and inform the respondent 
that the respondent may file with the 
commission a responsive pleading 
within 15 days from the date of 
receiving the director’s notification 
and serve the same upon the 
complainant; and
  (3) forward 
the complaint to the general counsel 
to initiate an investigation.  Upon 
receiving the respondent’s responsive 
pleading, the general counsel may 
request the complainant to file a 
response, which, if requested, is due 
within 15 days from the date of the 
respondent’s responsive pleading.  
The response may answer the 
complaint’s assertion of facts and 
present arguments that the complaint 
is frivolous, unsubstantiated or not 
supported by probable cause.
 D. If the director 
determines that the complaint, either 
in whole or in part, is [not wholly 
within the commission’s jurisdiction, 
or is within the jurisdiction of] subject 
to referral to another state or federal 
agency [either in whole or in part], 
pursuant to Subsection D of Section 
10-16G-9, the terms of an agreement 
entered into pursuant to the terms 
of Subsection E of Section 10-16G-
9 NMSA 1978, [or] Subsection D 
of Section 10-16-14 NMSA 1978, 
Subsection C of Section 1-19-34.4 
NMSA 1978, or Subsection B of 
Section 2-11-8.2 NMSA 1978, 
the director shall refer some or all 
claims within the complaint to the 

appropriate agency and, within ten 
days of the referral, provide notices to 
the complainant and the respondent of 
the referral.
 E. If the director 
determines that the complaint 
is within the jurisdiction of the 
commission and recommends that the 
commission should not act on some 
or all aspects of the complaint, then 
the commission shall decide whether 
to dismiss some or all aspects of the 
complaint under Subsection C of 
Section 10-16G-9 NMSA 1978.
 [E] F. If the director 
determines that the complaint is 
neither within the jurisdiction of the 
commission nor subject to referral to 
another agency [under the terms of 
an agreement entered into pursuant 
to Subsection E of Section 10-16G-9 
NMSA 1978], the commission shall 
dismiss the complaint.
 [F] G. Subject to 
Subsection E of Section 1.8.3.15 
NMAC, the director shall notify 
the complainant and respondent in 
writing of any action taken under 
Subsections B through E of 1.8.3.10 
NMAC, unless notification has been 
delayed by the commission pursuant 
to Subsection H of Section 10-16G-
10 NMSA 1978 and Subsection 
E of 1.8.3.15 NMAC. Neither the 
complaint nor the action taken on the 
complaint shall be made public by the 
commission or any staff member or 
contractor of the commission, but the 
complainant or respondent shall not 
be prevented from making public the 
complaint or any action taken on the 
complaint.
 [G] H. The director shall 
consult with the attorney general, an 
appropriate district attorney or the 
United States attorney if:
  (1) when 
reviewing a complaint for jurisdiction, 
the director determines that the 
complaint alleges conduct on the 
part of the respondent or another that 
appears reasonably likely to amount 
to a criminal violation; or
  (2) the 
commission, any commission 
staff member, or any commission 
hearing officer finds at any time 
that a respondent’s conduct appears 
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reasonably likely to amount to a 
criminal violation.
  (3) Nothing in 
Section 10-16G-14 NMSA 1978 or in 
this section prevents the commission 
from taking any action authorized by 
the State Ethics Commission Act or 
deciding to suspend an investigation 
pending resolution of any criminal 
charges.
[1.8.3.10 NMAC-N, 01/01/2020; A, 
09/14/2021]

1.8.3.11  GENERAL 
COUNSEL’S [RESPONSIBILITY 
TO INVESTIGATE 
COMPLAINTS; DISCOVERY 
AND SUBPOENAS; PROBABLE 
CAUSE DETERMINATIONS 
AND CONSEQUENCES; 
SETTLEMENT AUTHORITY] 
INVESTIGATION:
 A. Upon receiving 
notice of the director’s determination 
that the commission has full or partial 
jurisdiction over the complaint, the 
general counsel shall determine 
whether the complaint is frivolous 
or unsubstantiated, or supported by 
probable cause.
 [B. If the respondent 
moves to dismiss a complaint, either 
in whole or in part, for failure to 
state a claim for which relief can be 
granted, and if the director determines 
that the commission has jurisdiction 
over the claim that is the subject of 
the respondent’s motion to dismiss, 
the general counsel shall review 
the motion and any corresponding 
response.  After reviewing the motion 
and any corresponding response, 
the general counsel shall make a 
recommendation on the disposition 
of the motion.  Based on the general 
counsel’s recommendation, the 
hearing officer may either:
  (1) grant the 
motion, either in whole or in part, 
dismiss the complaint or part of the 
complaint that fails to state a claim 
upon which relief can be granted, and 
notify the complainant and respondent 
in writing of the decision and the 
reasons for dismissal; or
  (2) deny 
the motion and notify the parties in 
writing of the denial. In that event, 

the general counsel shall initiate 
an investigation into whether the 
complaint is supported by probable 
cause.]
 [C] B. To perform the 
investigation into whether probable 
cause supports the complaint, the 
general counsel, or the general 
counsel’s designee, may administer 
oaths, interview witnesses under 
oath, and examine books, records, 
documents and other evidence 
reasonably related to the complaint.  
The general counsel, or the general 
counsel’s designee, may:
  (1) [The 
general counsel, or the general 
counsel’s designee, may send to any 
party requests for production of] 
Request to inspect books, records, 
documents and other evidence 
reasonably related to a complaint; 
[requests for admission] request 
the complainant or respondent to 
admit certain facts; and serve written 
interrogatories, to be responded to 
under oath at a time therein specified;
   [(a) 
The general counsel shall serve a 
copy of the request for production of 
books, records, documents and other 
evidence and interrogatories on the 
respondent.
   (b) 
If a claim is made that documents 
responsive to a request made under 
this subparagraph are privileged, the 
party asserting the claim of privilege 
must, within 14 days after making the 
claim of privilege, provide the general 
counsel with a written description 
of each document withheld that 
is sufficient to permit the general 
counsel to assess the applicability of 
the asserted privilege.]
  (2) Interview 
a witness under oath and outside the 
presence of the parties; and
  [(2)] (3) [The 
general counsel, or the general 
counsel’s designee, may] Notice and 
take the deposition of any person, 
including any party, subject to the 
following provisions:
   (a) 
The general counsel, or the general 
counsel’s designee, may put the 
witness on oath or affirmation and 

shall personally, or by someone acting 
at the general counsel’s direction, 
record the testimony of the witness.
   (b) 
Any objection during a deposition 
shall be stated concisely in a non-
argumentative and non-suggestive 
manner.  Objections to form or 
foundation may only be made 
by stating “objection—form” or 
“objection—foundation”.  [It is 
not grounds for objection that 
the information sought will be 
inadmissible at the hearing if 
the information sought appears 
reasonably calculated to lead to the 
discovery of admissible evidence.]  
When a question is pending, or a 
document has been presented to the 
witness, no one may interrupt the 
deposition until the answer is given, 
except when necessary to preserve a 
privilege.
   (c) 
All objections shall be noted by 
the general counsel or the general 
counsel’s designee upon the record of 
the deposition; but the examination 
shall proceed, with the testimony 
being taken subject to the objections, 
except where the objection is based 
on an assertion of privilege made in 
good faith.
   (d) 
The general counsel, or the general 
counsel’s designee, shall certify on 
the deposition that the witness was 
duly sworn by the general counsel or 
the general counsel’s designee and 
that the deposition is a true record of 
the testimony given by the witness. 
   [(e) 
If a party refuses to respond to 
discovery requests, to attend a 
deposition, or to answer questions 
at a deposition noticed under this 
subsection, unless the party’s refusal 
is based on an assertion of privilege 
made in good faith, the general 
counsel, when deciding whether a 
complaint is supported by probable 
cause, may draw an adverse inference 
against the party refusing to testify.  If 
a party fails to provide information 
or identify a witness in response to 
a request by the general counsel, 
the party is not allowed to use that 
information or witness to supply 
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evidence on a motion, at a hearing, 
or on appeal, unless the failure was 
substantially justified or is harmless.
  (3) If the 
general counsel determines it is 
necessary, the director shall request 
the commission’s authority to petition 
a district court:
   (a) to 
issue a subpoena to obtain testimony 
of a person or the production of 
books, records, documents or other 
evidence reasonably related to an 
investigation;
   (b) 
to order enforcement if the person 
subpoenaed neglects or refuses to 
comply; or
   (c) to 
resolve any assertion of privilege.]
 C. It is not grounds for 
objection that the information sought 
will be inadmissible at the hearing 
if the information sought appears 
reasonably calculated to lead to the 
discovery of admissible evidence.  If a 
party refuses to respond to the general 
counsel’s request for information 
or discovery requests, to attend a 
deposition, or to answer questions 
at a deposition noticed under this 
subsection, unless the party’s refusal 
is based on an assertion of privilege 
made in good faith, the general 
counsel, when deciding whether a 
complaint is supported by probable 
cause, may draw an adverse inference 
against the party refusing to testify.  
If a party fails to provide information 
or identify a witness in response to 
a request by the general counsel, 
the party is not allowed to use that 
information or witness to supply 
evidence on a motion, at a hearing, 
or on appeal, unless either a hearing 
officer or the commission determines 
the failure was substantially justified 
or is harmless.
 [D. Upon the 
commission’s approval, the director, 
or the director’s designee, may 
petition the designated district court 
judge, or another district court 
judge if the designated judge is not 
available, for a subpoena pursuant 
to the previous subsection. If a 
person neglects or refuses to comply 
with a subpoena, the director or 

the director’s designee, upon the 
commission’s approval, may apply to 
a district court for an order enforcing 
the subpoena and compelling 
compliance.
 E. If the general 
counsel finds probable cause to 
support the allegations of the 
complaint, the director shall promptly 
notify both the complainant and the 
respondent:
  (1) of the 
specific claims and allegations in the 
complaint that were the subject of the 
general counsel’s investigation;
  (2) of the 
finding of probable cause as to 
specific claims; and
  (3) that a 
public hearing before a hearing 
officer will be set, provided that the 
notification has not been delayed by 
order of the commission pursuant to 
Subsection H of Section 10-16G-10 
NMSA 1978.
 F. If, after completing 
the investigation, the general counsel 
determines that a complaint is 
not supported by probable cause, 
a hearing officer must dismiss 
the complaint.  In that event, the 
complainant and the respondent shall 
be notified in writing of the decision 
and the reasons for the dismissal.  
Neither the complaint nor the action 
taken on the complaint shall be made 
public by the commission or any 
staff member or contractor of the 
commission, but the complainant or 
respondent shall not be prevented 
from making public the complaint or 
any action taken on the complaint.
 G. The general 
counsel may at any time enter into 
a proposed settlement agreement of 
the complaint with the respondent.  
The proposed settlement agreement 
shall be presented to the commission 
for approval.  If the complaint 
alleges, or the general counsel has 
found probable cause to support, 
a discriminatory practice or action 
by the respondent against the 
complainant, no settlement agreement 
may be reached without prior 
consultation with the complainant.  
If approved by the commission, the 
settlement agreement shall be subject 
to public disclosure.

 H. At any time, the 
complainant may voluntarily dismiss 
the complaint, either in whole or in 
part, by filing a notice of voluntarily 
dismissal with the commission; 
however, any notice of voluntary 
dismissal does not diminish the 
power of the commission to initiate 
a complaint under Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection C of Section 10-16G-5 
NMSA 1978.  If the general counsel 
has determined the complaint 
is supported by probable cause, 
the complainant may dismiss the 
complaint only on motion and on such 
terms and conditions as the hearing 
officer deems proper.]
[1.8.3.11 NMAC-N, 01/01/2020; A, 
09/14/2021]

1.8.3.12  SUBPOENAS; 
ENFORCEMENT:
 A. If the general 
counsel determines it is necessary, 
the director shall request the 
commission’s authority to file a 
petition with the designated district 
court judge or other judge pro 
tempore as designated pursuant 
to order of the chief judge of the 
supreme court:
  (1) to issue 
a subpoena to obtain testimony of a 
person or the production of books, 
records, documents or other evidence 
reasonably related to an investigation;
  (2) to order 
enforcement if the person subpoenaed 
neglects or refuses to comply; or
  (3) to resolve 
any assertion of privilege.
 B. Upon the 
commission’s approval, the director, 
or the director’s designee, may 
petition the designated district court 
judge, or another district court 
judge if the designated judge is 
not available, for a subpoena.  The 
petition shall be filed ex parte and 
under seal pursuant to procedures for 
filing established by the designated 
district court judge.
 C. If the petition is 
granted, subpoenas shall be issued 
by the general counsel and served as 
follows:
  (1) If the 
subject of the subpoena is the 
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complainant or the respondent, 
by email to the complainant or 
respondent if the complainant or 
respondent has previously agreed 
to receive notice of filings with the 
commission by email;
  (2) On a 
department or agency of the state by 
service on the department or agency’s 
general counsel, or by service in the 
manner set out by law for serving the 
department or agency; and
  (3) On any 
other person by handing it to the 
person or their attorney, leaving it at 
the person’s office or dwelling house 
with some person of suitable age and 
discretion then residing there.
 D. A subpoena 
issued pursuant to this Section 
may command the appearance of a 
witness at a deposition or at a hearing 
pursuant to 1.8.3.14 NMAC.  A 
person who is not a party or an officer 
of a party may not be commanded 
to travel to a place more than one 
100 miles from the place where 
that person resides, is employed, or 
regularly transacts business in person 
unless the subpoena is to attend 
and give testimony at a hearing.  
A subpoena ordering a person to 
attend a deposition via telephone or 
web conference complies with the 
requirements of this subsection.
 E. A party claiming 
an interest in the materials responsive 
to the commission’s subpoena or the 
recipient of the subpoena may serve 
a written objection on the general 
counsel or the general counsel’s 
designee within 14 days after service 
of the subpoena.  If an objection is 
timely served, the person subject to 
a subpoena need not comply with 
the subpoena until the commission 
files a motion to compel compliance 
pursuant to Subsection F of 1.8.3.12 
NMAC and the motion is granted.
 F. If a person, 
including a party, neglects or refuses 
to comply with a subpoena, the 
director or the director’s designee, 
upon the commission’s approval, 
may apply to a district court for 
an order enforcing the subpoena 
and compelling compliance.  The 

designated district judge or other 
district court may impose sanctions 
or other relief permitted by law, 
including contempt, if a person 
neglects or refuses to comply with 
an order enforcing the subpoena and 
compelling compliance.
[1.8.13.12 NMAC-N, 09/14/2021]

[1.8.3.12] 1.8.3.13           GENERAL 
COUNSEL’S PROBABLE 
CAUSE DETERMINATIONS 
AND CONSEQUENCES; 
INVESTIGATION REPORTS 
AND RECOMMENDATIONS TO 
COMMISSION; DISPOSITION 
BY AGREEMENT; NOTICE TO 
PARTIES:
 A. [Upon completion 
of the investigation of a complaint 
found to be supported by probable 
cause, the general counsel shall 
report promptly the general counsel’s 
findings and recommendations to the 
director.
  (1) Upon 
the receipt of the general counsel’s 
findings and recommendations, the 
director will designate a qualified 
hearing officer to conduct a hearing 
on the complaint if so recommended 
by the general counsel.  Based on 
the report of the general counsel, 
the hearing officer will set a public 
hearing as soon as practicable.
  (2) In 
referring a complaint to the hearing 
officer, the director may consolidate 
the complaint with any other 
pending complaint involving related 
questions of law or fact; provided 
that consolidation will not unduly 
delay resolution of an earlier-filed 
complaint, unduly prejudice any 
complaint, or compromise the right 
of any complainant or respondent to 
confidentiality under these rules.]  If 
the general counsel finds probable 
cause to support the allegations of the 
complaint, the general counsel shall 
report promptly the general counsel’s 
findings and recommendations to the 
director, and the director shall: 
  (1) promptly 
notify both the complainant and the 
respondent:
   (a) of 
the specific claims and allegations in 

the complaint that were the subject of 
the general counsel’s investigation;
   (b) 
of the finding of probable cause as to 
specific claims; and
   (c) 
that a public hearing before a hearing 
officer will be set, provided that the 
notification has not been delayed by 
order of the commission pursuant to 
Subsection H of Section 10-16G-10 
NMSA 1978; and
  (2) designate 
a qualified hearing officer to conduct 
a hearing on the complaint if so 
recommended by the general counsel.  
Based on the report of the general 
counsel, the hearing officer will set a 
public hearing as soon as practicable.
 B. If, after completing 
the investigation, the general counsel 
determines that a complaint is 
not supported by probable cause, 
a hearing officer must dismiss 
the complaint.  In that event, the 
complainant and the respondent shall 
be notified in writing of the decision 
and the reasons for the dismissal.  
Neither the complaint nor the action 
taken on the complaint shall be made 
public by the commission or any 
staff member or contractor of the 
commission, but the complainant or 
respondent shall not be prevented 
from making public the complaint or 
any action taken on the complaint.
 C. The general 
counsel may at any time enter into 
a proposed settlement agreement of 
the complaint with the respondent.  
The proposed settlement agreement 
shall be presented to the commission 
for approval.  If the complaint 
alleges, or the general counsel has 
found probable cause to support, 
a discriminatory practice or action 
by the respondent against the 
complainant, no settlement agreement 
may be reached without prior 
consultation with the complainant.  
If approved by the commission, the 
settlement agreement shall be subject 
to public disclosure.
 D. At any time, the 
complainant may voluntarily dismiss 
the complaint, either in whole or in 
part, by filing a notice of voluntarily 
dismissal with the commission; 
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however, any notice of voluntary 
dismissal does not diminish the 
power of the commission to initiate 
a complaint under Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection C of Section 10-16G-5 
NMSA 1978.  If the general counsel 
has determined the complaint 
is supported by probable cause, 
the complainant may dismiss the 
complaint only on motion and on such 
terms and conditions as the hearing 
officer deems proper.
 [B] E. If a hearing has 
not been scheduled concerning the 
disposition of a complaint within 90 
days after the complaint has been 
received from the complainant or 
after referral from another agency, 
whichever is later, the director shall 
report to the commission at a duly 
convened meeting on the status of the 
investigation.  The commission and 
the director shall thereafter proceed in 
accordance with Section 10-16G-11 
NMSA 1978.
 [C] F. At any time before 
or during a hearing, the hearing 
officer may, at a duly convened public 
meeting, approve a disposition of a 
complaint agreed to by the general 
counsel and the respondent, provided 
that:
  (1) the 
complainant shall be consulted on 
the proposed agreement prior to its 
execution, and
  (2) the 
agreement shall be effective upon 
approval by the commission at a 
public meeting.
[1.8.3.12 NMAC-N, 01/01/2020; Rn 
& A, 1.8.3.13 NMAC, 09/14/2021]

[1.8.3.13] 1.8.3.14            HEARING 
OFFICERS; SUMMARY 
DISPOSITION; HEARINGS; 
INTERPRETERS; EVIDENCE:
 A. The commission 
shall authorize the director to 
contract, for reasonable hourly 
compensation, with qualified persons 
to act as hearing officers. Hearing 
officers shall be assigned to act on or 
preside over hearings on complaints. 
Hearing officers must be currently 
licensed attorneys, or retired judges of 
the appellate, district, or metropolitan 
courts of New Mexico or any federal 

court, who are familiar with the 
ethics and election laws enforced by 
the commission.  A hearing officer 
shall conduct a hearing fairly and 
impartially.
 B. All hearings before 
the hearing officer will occur in 
Santa Fe or Albuquerque, or at such 
other location within the state as 
may be determined by the hearing 
officer. In selecting the location of 
a hearing other than in Santa Fe or 
Albuquerque, the hearing officer 
shall consider and give weight to the 
location and reasonable concerns of 
the respective parties, witnesses, and 
representatives in the proceeding.  
Upon a showing by any party of an 
undue burden, the hearing officer 
may move the hearing to a more 
appropriate venue.
 C. If a hearing officer 
has not already notified the parties 
of a hearing through the issuance of 
a scheduling order, the director will 
notify the parties to the hearing by 
mail, directed to the address provided 
by the parties, of the date, time, and 
place scheduled for the hearing, at 
least 15 days before the scheduled 
hearing.
 D. The hearing shall 
be conducted pursuant to the rules of 
evidence governing proceedings in 
the state courts, Rule 11-101 NMRA, 
and these procedural rules.  In the 
event of a conflict between these 
procedural rules and the rules of 
evidence governing proceedings in 
the state courts, these procedural rules 
control.  All hearings shall be open 
to the public in accordance with the 
Open Meetings Act, Section 10-15-1 
NMSA 1978, except for hearings or 
portions thereof exempted from the 
requirements of that Act.
 E. Audio recordings 
shall be made of all hearings 
conducted pursuant to this section.
 F. The parties may 
be represented by counsel, who shall 
enter an appearance at the earliest 
opportunity, pursuant to Paragraph 
[(3)] (7) of Subsection A of 1.8.3.9 
NMAC.
 G. The hearing 
officer shall permit the general 
counsel to intervene upon request.  

If the complaint was initiated by 
the commission under Paragraph 
(1) of Subsection C of Section 10-
16G-5 NMSA 1978 and Subsection 
E of 1.8.3.9 NMAC, then the 
general counsel shall represent the 
commission at the hearing.
 H. The hearing officer 
shall have the duty to conduct fair 
and impartial hearings, to take all 
necessary action to avoid delay in the 
proceedings and to maintain order. 
The hearing officer shall have the 
powers necessary to carry out these 
duties, including the following:
  (1) to 
administer or have administered oaths 
and affirmations;
  (2) to cause 
depositions to be taken;
  (3) to require 
the production or inspection of 
documents and other items;
  (4) to require 
the answering of interrogatories and 
requests for admissions;
  (5) to rule 
upon offers of proof and receive 
evidence;
  (6) to regulate 
the course of the hearings and the 
conduct of the parties and their 
representatives therein;
  (7) to 
issue a scheduling order, schedule 
a prehearing conference for 
simplification of the issues, or any 
other proper purpose;
  (8) to 
schedule, continue and reschedule 
hearings;
  (9) to consider 
and rule upon all procedural and 
other motions appropriate in the 
proceeding;
  (10) to require 
the filing of briefs on specific legal 
issues prior to or after the hearing;
  (11) to cause a 
complete audio record of hearings to 
be made;
  (12) to make 
and issue decisions and orders; and
  (13) to 
reprimand, or with warning in 
extreme instances exclude from the 
hearing, any person for engaging in 
a continuing pattern of disruptive or 
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other improper conduct that interferes 
with the conduct of a fair and orderly 
hearing or development of a complete 
record.
 I. In the performance 
of these adjudicative functions, the 
hearing officer is prohibited from 
engaging in any improper ex parte 
communications about the substantive 
issues with any party on any matter, 
but may communicate with parties 
separately solely on scheduling 
issues if all parties are notified of 
such communications and do not 
object to them.  An improper ex parte 
communication occurs when the 
hearing officer discusses the substance 
of a case without the opposing party 
being present, except that it is not an 
improper ex parte communication 
for the hearing officer to go on the 
record with only one party when the 
other party has failed to appear at 
a scheduled hearing despite having 
received timely notice thereof.
 J. Parties who appear 
at the hearing may:
  (1) request the 
director to request the commission’s 
authority to petition a district court 
to compel the presence of witnesses.  
Subpoenas may be requested by the 
commission from a district court in 
the same manner as provided for in 
Subsection J of Section 10-16G-10 
NMSA 1978 and Subsections C and D 
of 1.8.3.11 NMAC;
  (2) present 
evidence and testimony;
  (3) examine 
and cross-examine witnesses; and
  (4) introduce 
evidentiary material developed by the 
general counsel.  Before the hearing, 
the general counsel shall timely 
disclose to the parties all evidence in 
the possession or within the control 
of the general counsel, other than 
privileged information.
 K. Evidence shall be 
presented by the parties at the hearing 
consistent with the terms agreed to in 
a prehearing conference or as set forth 
in a scheduling order entered under 
Subsection H of 1.8.3.14 NMAC.  
The hearing officer may allow a 
deviation from the agreed-upon 
process for good cause.

  (1) The 
general counsel shall present any 
evidence collected in the investigation 
relating to the complaint that is 
relevant to the matters at issue as set 
forth in the general counsel’s findings 
under Subsection A of 1.8.3.12 
NMAC; evidence that is agreed to be 
relevant by the parties; or evidence 
that is allowed by the hearing officer.
  (2) The 
respondent may present evidence 
that is relevant to the matters at issue 
as set forth in the general counsel’s 
findings under Subsection A of 
1.8.3.12 NMAC; evidence that is 
agreed to be relevant by the parties; or 
evidence that is otherwise allowed by 
the hearing officer.
  (3) The 
general counsel or the general 
counsel’s designee may authenticate 
evidence produced during an 
investigation if the source of the 
evidence declines a request to appear 
and testify about the evidence and the 
hearing officer determines that there 
are no other reasonable means for 
authenticating the evidence.
 [K] L. Any person may 
timely file an amicus brief, not to 
exceed ten pages, with the director, 
for consideration by the hearing 
officer.
 [L] M. Upon reasonable 
notice by the party to the director, a 
party needing language interpreter 
services for translation of one 
language into another, and any 
interpreter required to be provided 
under the American with Disabilities 
Act, shall be provided for by the 
commission. While the person serving 
as an interpreter need not be a court-
certified interpreter in order to provide 
interpretation at a hearing, any person 
serving as an interpreter in a hearing 
before the commission must affirm 
the interpreter’s oath applicable in 
courts across this state.
 [M] N. After the 
termination of the hearing, or in lieu 
of a hearing if, upon a motion by 
a party or the general counsel, the 
hearing officer concludes there is no 
genuine dispute as to any material 
facts, [if] the hearing officer [finds 
by a preponderance of] shall issue 

written findings and conclusions on 
whether the evidence establishes that 
the respondent’s conduct as alleged in 
the complaint [constituted] constitutes 
a violation of any law within the 
jurisdiction of the commission. [,the 
hearing officer]  The hearing officer’s 
written decision:
  (1) may
   (a) 
impose any fines provided for by law; 
and
   (b) 
recommend to the appropriate 
authority commensurate disciplinary 
action against the respondent;
  (2) and must
   (a) 
state the reasons for the hearing 
officer’s decision; and
   (b) 
provide the parties with notice of the 
right of appeal to the commission.
 [N] O. Clear and 
convincing evidence is required to 
support a finding by a hearing officer 
that a respondent’s conduct was 
fraudulent or willful.
 [O] P. If the hearing 
officer finds by a preponderance of 
the evidence that the respondent’s 
conduct as alleged in the complaint 
constituted a violation of the 
Governmental Conduct Act and was 
either unintentional or for good cause, 
then the hearing officer shall give 
the respondent 10 days to correct 
the violation, pursuant to Subsection 
B of Section 10-16-13.1 NMSA 
1978, before taking any action under 
Subsection N of 1.8.3.14 NMAC.
 [P] Q. If the hearing 
officer finds by a preponderance of 
the evidence that the respondent’s 
conduct as alleged in the complaint 
does not constitute a violation of any 
law within the jurisdiction of the 
commission, the hearing officer, in 
a written decision, shall dismiss the 
complaint and inform the complainant 
of their right to appeal to the 
commission.
 [Q] R. [Either] A 
party may request copies of 
[exhibits, documents, records in 
the administrative file,] evidence 
considered by the hearing officer or 
a copy of the audio recording of the 
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[proceeding] hearing by submitting 
a written request to the director.  The 
director may charge a reasonable fee 
for copies made, consistent with its 
fee schedule under the Inspection of 
Public Records Act.  The director may 
also require the requesting party to 
submit a new, sealed computer storage 
device, such as a compact disc, dvd 
disc, or usb drive, or other tangible 
device for copying of any audio or 
video recording that is part of the 
administrative record. Every party is 
responsible for paying the cost of any 
transcription of the audio recording.
[1.8.3.13 NMAC-N, 01/01/2020; Rn 
1.8.3.14 NMAC & A, 09/14/2021]

[1.8.3.14] 1.8.3.15            APPEALS:
 A. [Except as provided 
by Subsections E and F of 1.8.3.14 
NMAC, the] The complainant or 
respondent may appeal the final 
decision of the hearing officer within 
30 days of the issuance of the decision 
to the full commission by filing a 
notice stating:
  (1) each party 
taking the appeal and each party 
against whom the appeal is taken;
  (2) the name, 
address, telephone number and email 
address of counsel for the appellant;
  (3) the 
decision or part of a decision from 
which the party appeals; and
  (4) the specific 
grounds for the appeal, including 
specific references to any evidence or 
law interpreted by the hearing officer.
  (5) If the 
hearing officer issued a final decision 
on a complaint that was initiated by 
the commission under Paragraph 
(1) of Subsection C of Section 10-
16G-5 NMSA 1978 and Subsection 
E of 1.8.3.9 NMAC, or where the 
general counsel has intervened under 
Subsection G of 1.8.3.14 NMAC, 
then the general counsel may appeal 
the hearing officer’s decision within 
30 days of the issuance by filing a 
notice stating the information required 
in Subsections (1) through (4) above.
 B. For the purpose 
of this rule, briefing time shall 
commence from the date the appellant 
files a notice of appeal to the full 

commission.  Unless otherwise 
provided for by the commission,
  (1) The 
appellant shall file and serve a brief in 
chief within 15 days;
  (2) The 
appellee shall file and serve an answer 
brief within 15 days after service of 
the brief of the appellant; and
  (3) Neither 
the brief in chief nor the answer brief 
shall exceed 10 pages.
 C. The commission 
shall schedule oral arguments, if 
requested by either party or ordered 
by the commission within sixty days 
of the notice of appeal.
 D. Any person may 
timely file an amicus brief, not to 
exceed ten pages, with the director for 
consideration by the commission.
 E. The commission 
shall review the whole record of the 
proceeding and shall, within 180 days 
of receiving the notice of appeal, issue 
its decision upholding or reversing 
the decision of the hearing officer. 
The commission may reverse all or 
part of the hearing officer’s decision 
and remand the matter to the hearing 
officer for further proceedings.
 [F. If a hearing 
officer issues a decision granting 
a respondent’s motion to dismiss 
for failure to state a claim and 
dismisses a complaint or part of a 
complaint pursuant to Paragraph 
(1) of Subsection B of 1.8.3.11 
NMAC, then the complainant may 
appeal the hearing officer’s decision 
to the commission as provided in 
these rules.  If, however, a hearing 
officer issues a decision denying 
a respondent’s motion to dismiss 
for failure to state a claim, then 
the respondent has no right to an 
interlocutory appeal of that decision 
to the commission, but may appeal 
any final decision of the hearing 
officer to the commission.]
 [G] F. If a hearing officer 
dismisses a complaint, pursuant to 
Subsection B of 1.8.3.13 NMAC, 
following the general counsel’s 
determination that the complaint is 
not supported by probable cause, 
then the complainant has no right 
to an appeal of that dismissal to the 
commission.

 [H] G. A party may seek 
review of the commission’s final 
decision by filing for a petition of writ 
of certiorari pursuant to Rule 1-075 
NMRA.
[1.8.3.14 NMAC-N, 01/01/2020; Rn 
& A, 1.8.3.15 NMAC, 09/14/2021]

[1.8.3.15] 1.8.3.16                 OPEN
RECORDS AND 
CONFIDENTIALITY:
 A. 30 days after the 
director provides notice pursuant 
to [Subsection F of 1.8.3.11] 
Subsection A of 1.8.3.13 NMAC to 
the respondent of the allegations of 
a complaint, the general counsel’s 
finding of probable cause, and the 
setting of the public hearing:
  (1) the 
director shall make public the specific 
allegations of the complaint, the 
notification to the respondent, [and] 
any response filed by the respondent, 
and any related records, provided that:
  (2) prior to 
the publication of any commission 
records pursuant to the preceding 
subparagraph, any proceedings 
in district court initiated by the 
commission to obtain subpoenas 
shall be sealed, and shall remain so 
until such time as the commission 
notifies the court that the commission 
has made the complaint public or 
the parties enter into an approved 
settlement agreement.
 B. If a complaint 
is dismissed because the general 
counsel has found it to be frivolous 
or unsubstantiated, as provided in 
Subsection E of Section 10-16G-
10 NMSA 1978, the commission 
shall not release to the public the 
complaint, the reason for its dismissal, 
or any related records. Nothing in 
this subsection shall prevent the 
making public of any document by 
a complainant or respondent to the 
proceeding.
 C. Notwithstanding 
any other requirement in these rules 
or the law requiring notification to 
the complainant or respondent of 
commission actions on a complaint, 
the director may delay notifying 
parties or releasing to the public the 
complaint and related information 
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if the director deems it necessary to 
protect the integrity of a criminal 
investigation.
  (1) The 
director shall, within 10 days of 
making the decision to delay release 
of a complaint pursuant to this 
subsection, present to the commission 
the records and information to be 
withheld and the reasons for delaying 
their release.
  (2) The 
commission may, by a majority vote 
pursuant to Subsection H of Section 
10-16G-10 NMSA 1978, confirm the 
director’s decision in a meeting closed 
pursuant to the requirements of the 
Open Meetings Act, Section 10-15-1 
NMSA 1978, and the commission’s 
open meetings resolution.
[1.8.3.15 NMAC-N, 01/01/2020; Rn 
& A, 1.8.3.16 NMAC, 09/14/2021]
______________________________

WORKFORCE 
SOLUTIONS, 

DEPARTMENT OF

This is an amendment to 11.3.300 
NMAC, Section 320, effective 
9/14/2021.

11.3.300.320 WORK SEARCH 
REQUIREMENT:
 A. WORK 
SEARCHES:  To qualify for 
continued benefits, a claimant must:
  (1) be a 
member of a union with a hiring 
hall or a referral hall and meet the 
union requirements for job referral or 
placement;
   (a) 
the claimant must be a member 
in good standing at the time of 
certification; 
   (b) 
the hiring hall or referral hall must be 
actively seeking to place its members 
in employment; or
  (2) actively 
seek work by contacting a minimum 
number of different employers each 
week during the week for which 
benefits are claimed, as directed by 
department representatives.  It is not 
mandatory that the work searches 

occur on different days of the week;
   (a) 
a claimant may contact the same 
employer more than one time during 
a given week, which may count for 
multiple searches if the claimant 
applies for multiple jobs with the 
same employer so long as the 
applications are distinct and separate 
positions;
   (b) 
a claimant may list jobs applied for 
through the New Mexico department 
of workforce solutions workforce 
connection centers, the New Mexico 
state personnel office (SPO), 
America’s job bank, Workforce 
Innovation and Opportunity Act 
(WIOA) partners and similar 
programs as approved from time to 
time by the department as valid work 
search contacts for each week of 
claim certification;
  (3) Other 
unions may apply for work search 
waivers by submitting a request in 
writing to the secretary, who may 
upon discretion make an exception to 
the work search requirements.
 B. in order to qualify 
for continued benefits, interstate, 
if New Mexico is the liable state, 
claimants must seek work within the 
week for which benefits are being 
claimed and actively seek work 
by contacting a minimum of two 
different employers each week, or if 
a union member, actively seek work 
by contacting the union as required 
by the union in order to be eligible for 
job referral or placement
 C. claimants must keep 
a record of the name, address and 
telephone number or electronic mail 
address of each employer contacted in 
the event of an audit and must retain 
a copy of any email confirmation 
received as a result of applying for a 
job on-line;
  (1) This 
information must be provided to 
department representatives upon 
request; 
  (2) the 
claimant must provide the requested 
information no later than 10 calendar 
days from the date of the department’s 
request; 

  (3) the 
claimant must provide sufficient 
information for the department to 
verify the claimant’s work search 
efforts.  If the claimant is able to 
provide specific job numbers or 
requisition numbers for the job 
applied for, this information will be 
considered sufficient to verify the 
contact; 
  (4) failure 
to provide the required information 
without good cause may result in 
a denial of benefits for the week in 
question; 
  (5) if the 
information provided is insufficient to 
verify a valid work search occurred, 
benefits for the week in question will 
be denied; 
  (6) if a denial 
is imposed, the effective period may 
include weeks for which the claimant 
has already been paid benefits.  
Such benefits would constitute 
an overpayment which would be 
recouped pursuant to Section 51-1-38 
NMSA 1978;
  (7) any denial 
imposed for failure to provide the 
required information may be appealed 
pursuant to 11.3.500.9 NMAC;
 D. A claimant whose 
work search is deemed inadequate or 
invalid shall be denied benefits for 
the week in question.  A rebuttable 
presumption that the claimant 
failed to meet the active work-
search requirements for that week 
will be raised in all cases where a 
claimant’s work search is deemed 
inadequate or invalid.  In order to 
overturn the denial of benefits the 
claimant shall provide proof that 
the claimant did meet the active 
work-search requirements for that 
week.  If a denial is imposed, the 
effective period may include weeks 
for which the claimant has already 
been paid benefits.  Such benefits 
would constitute an overpayment 
which would be recouped pursuant 
to Section 51-1-38 NMSA 1978.  
Any denial imposed on the basis 
of an inadequate or invalid work 
search may be appealed pursuant to 
11.3.500.9 NMAC.
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 E. The department may 
waive the work search requirements 
for claimants who the department 
determines are on temporary lay-off 
status from their regular full-time 
employment upon receipt of an 
assurance from the employer that 
the lay-off shall not exceed four 
weeks or upon receipt of an express 
offer in writing of substantially full-
time work which will begin within 
a period not exceeding four weeks.  
Such waivers shall apply only to 
the four-week period covered on 
the determination.  A claimant who 
receives a determination granting 
a waiver for the four-week period 
shall promptly transmit any change 
to the claimant’s recall date or 
start date to the department.  The 
claimant’s eligibility shall then be 
subject to redetermination pursuant to 
Subsection A of 11.3.300.308 NMAC.
 F. In cases where the 
department determines a claimant is 
in a temporary lay-off status due to 
a government furlough or shutdown, 
the department may waive the work 
search requirements during the 
period of the temporary lay-off for all 
affected claimants.
 G. In the event of a 
public health emergency declaration 
issued by the governor, work searches 
shall, to the extent permissible 
by federal law, be waived for all 
claimants at the discretion of the 
secretary until the end of the public 
health crisis.  
[11.3.300.320 NMAC - Rp, 
11.3.300.320 NMAC, 11/1/2018; 
A/E, 1/9/2019 A, 10/29/2019; A, 
7/28/2020; A, 9/14/2021]
______________________________

End of Adopted Rules
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HEALTH,
DEPARTMENT OF

PUBLIC HEALTH ORDER
NEW MEXICO DEPARTMENT 

OF HEALTH
CABINET SECRETARY DR. 

DAVID R. SCRASE, M.D.

AUGUST 22, 2021

Amended Public Health Order 
directing State, Local, and Tribal 

agency personnel to
Develop a Temporary Quarantine 

and Isolation Program utilizing 
Non-Congregate

settings, including Hotels, College 
and University Dormitories, and 

other appropriate sites
to House First Responders, 

homeless individuals and other 
At-Risk Persons as Identified

by the New Mexico Department of 
Health

PREFACE

 The purpose of this 
Public Health Emergency Order 
is to officially authorize and 
promote the use of non-congregate 
settings throughout the state for 
temporary quarantine and isolation 
when deemed appropriate for 
fire fighters, law enforcement, 
medical personnel, ambulance 
and emergency medical response 
personnel, public safety personnel, 
homeless individuals, victims of 
domestic violence, and other at-
risk persons as identified by the 
New Mexico Department of Health 
(“NMDOH”).  It is necessary to 
provide safe placements for these 
at-risk individuals to temporarily 
quarantine and isolate for the safety 
of the individuals and the safety of 
all New Mexicans.

ORDER

 WHEREAS, on March 
11, 2020, Michelle Lujan Grisham, 
the Governor of the State of New 

Mexico, declared in Executive 
Order 2020-004 that a Public Health 
Emergency exists in New Mexico 
under the Public Health Emergency 
Response Act, and invoked her 
authority under the All Hazards 
Emergency Management Act;
 WHEREAS, on August 
16, 2021, Governor Michelle Lujan 
Grisham renewed the declaration of 
a Public Health Emergency, through 
Executive Order 2020-049, due to 
the continued spread of COVID-19 
in New Mexico;
 WHEREAS, the further 
spread of COVID-19 in the State 
of New Mexico poses a threat to 
the health, safety, wellbeing and 
property of the residents in the State 
due to, among other things, illness 
from COVID-19, illness-related 
absenteeism from employment 
(particularly among public safety 
and law enforcement personnel and 
persons engaged in activities and 
businesses critical to the economy 
and infrastructure of the State), 
potential displacement of persons, 
and closures of schools or other 
places of public gathering;
 WHEREAS, COVID-19 
continues to spread in New Mexico 
and nationally.  Since Executive 
Order 2020-004 was issued, 
confirmed COVID-19 infections in 
New Mexico have risen more than 
227,000 and cases in the United 
States have increased from 1,000 
confirmed cases to over 38,000,000 
confirmed cases;
 WHEREAS, New 
Mexico’s first responders continue 
their heroic work to provide 
emergency services and response 
to the COVID-19 emergency while 
following established guidance to 
prevent spread of the infection. 
However, their response work often 
put these persons at a higher risk of 
COVID-19 infection;
 WHEREAS, despite best 
efforts to implement the above 
practices and other NMDOH orders, 
Medical Personnel, Emergency 
Responders, Emergency Operations 
Center(s) personnel, public health 

workers, and other persons have 
become persons under investigation 
for COVID-19 and have tested 
positive to COVID-19. These 
individuals need to be temporarily 
quarantined or isolated to prevent 
the spread the virus. Often, this 
temporary quarantine cannot be 
provided at their homes due to 
a heightened risk of spreading 
COVID-19 to their families or 
communities. In addition, some first 
responders’ response efforts involve 
a high risk of exposure due to their 
public service duties, though those 
responders may not know if they 
have had a positive exposure to 
COVID-19;
 WHEREAS, other 
individuals in New Mexico who 
are persons under investigation for 
COVID-19, or who have tested 
positive for COVID-19 may not 
have a safe place to temporarily 
quarantine or isolate due to a 
variety of circumstances including 
homelessness and domestic 
violence;
 WHEREAS, persons who 
have adverse exposure to the virus 
are being treated and supervised by 
local medical operations throughout 
the State. NMDOH has already 
taken proactive actions to engage 
and/or contract hotels and other 
facilities to assist in this non-
congregate sheltering effort to stop 
the spread of the virus;
 WHEREAS, on May 1, 
2020, then Secretary of NMDOH, 
Kathyleen M. Kunkel, signed a 
Public Health Order declaring 
the need for non-congregate 
sheltering in the state and directing 
the Department of Homeland 
Security Emergency Management 
(“DHSEM”) to submit a statewide 
non-congregate sheltering request 
letter to the Federal Emergency 
Management Administration 
(“FEMA”).  The original order was 
extended through August 22, 2021.  
This order renews that same request 
for another 30 days.
 NOW, THEREFORE, 
I, Dr. David R. Scrase, Acting 
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Cabinet Secretary of the New 
Mexico Department of Health, in 
accordance with the authority vested 
in me by the Constitution and the 
Laws of the State of New Mexico, 
and as directed by the Governor 
pursuant to the full scope of her 
emergency powers under the All 
Hazard Emergency Management 
Act as invoked through Executive 
Order 2020-004, do hereby 
declare the current outbreak of 
COVID-19 a condition of public 
health importance as defined in 
the New Mexico Public Health 
Act, NMSA 1978, Section 24-1-
2(A) as an infection, a disease, a 
syndrome, a symptom, an injury or 
other threat that is identifiable on 
an individual or community level 
and can reasonably be expected 
to lead to adverse health effects in 
the community, and that poses an 
imminent threat of substantial harm 
to the population of New Mexico.
 I HEREBY DIRECT AS 
FOLLOWS:
 (1) All public 
responder, State, Local, and Tribal 
agency personnel shall coordinate 
with the NMDOH to organize “non-
congregate sheltering” to stop the 
spread of COVID-19.  The non-
congregate sheltering will occur 
at the direction of State, Local, or 
Tribal officials with the direction of 
the NMDOH.
 (2) The State, Local 
and Tribal agencies will coordinate 
with the DOH to receive guidance 
and direction for the needs to 
temporarily quarantine or isolate 
designated first responders.  This 
may include first responders who 
are awaiting confirmation of a test 
or are in positions of likely exposure 
who do not want to infect their 
families.  Additional coordination 
and guidance may be necessary 
to determine the circumstances 
and duration of the isolation.  
The activities must follow DOH 
guidance, documentation, and 
tracking procedures.
 (3) The target 
populations for this order are 
firefighters, law enforcement, 
medical personnel, ambulance 

and emergency medical response 
personnel, homeless, domestic 
violence victims, and other highly 
at-risk persons as identified and 
approved by NMDOH.  This is 
usually for individuals who have 
tested positive for COVID-19 or 
have been documented as exposed 
to positive COVID-19 persons 
in the course of their duties and 
do not require medical care.  All 
individuals temporarily quarantined 
under this order must meet the 
health and safety requirements 
for placement as determined by 
NMDOH.  Alternate medical care 
sites and temporary hospitals are 
not considered non-congregate 
sheltering.  This non-congregate 
sheltering must not duplicate the 
services provided by another federal 
agency.
 (4) In addition, I direct 
NMDOH and DHSEM officials to 
develop a statewide noncongregate 
sheltering request letter to FEMA to 
seek reimbursement for expenses of 
non-congregate sheltering, so that 
State agencies, local jurisdictions, 
and Tribes, are coordinated on 
the needs for this program.  This 
statewide effort will reduce the 
burden on State, Local and Tribal 
jurisdictions to independently 
develop approval for noncongregate 
sheltering.
 I FURTHER DIRECT as 
follows:
 (1) This statewide 
order does not preclude Local or 
Tribal jurisdictions from developing 
their own public health orders 
and submitting them for FEMA 
approval, but such actions will 
not be the responsibility of nor be 
fiscally covered by the State of New 
Mexico.
 (2) This Order shall 
be broadly disseminated in English, 
Spanish and other appropriate 
languages to the citizens of the State 
of New Mexico.
 (3) This Order shall 
take effect immediately and remain 
in effect through August 22, 2021 
and shall extend until September 22, 
2021.
 THIS ORDER supersedes 

any other previous orders, 
proclamations, or directives in 
conflict. This Order shall take effect 
immediately and shall remain in effect 
until otherwise rescinded.

ATTEST:   
DONE AT SANTA FE, NEW 
MEXICO
THIS 22nd DAY OF AUGUST 
2021

 /   S   /
DAVID R. SCRASE, M.D.
ACTING SECRETARY OF THE 
NEW MEXICO DEPARTMENT 
OF HEALTH
_____________________________

STATE ETHICS 
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF MINOR, 
NONSUBSTANTIVE 

CORRECTION

The State Ethics Commission gives 
Notice of a Minor, Nonsubstantive 
Correction to 1.8.3 NMAC.

Pursuant to the authority granted 
under State Rules Act, Subsection D 
of Section 14-4-3 NMSA 1978, please 
note that the following minor, non-
substantive corrections to spelling, 
grammar and format have been made 
to all electronic copies of the above 
rule:
 In renumbered Section 
14, Hearing Officers; Summary 
Disposition; Hearings; Interpreters; 
Evidence, within the renumbered 
subsection P, on page 10 of the 
Amendment, the incorrect internal 
citation “…under Subsection M of 
1.8.3.13 NMAC.” has been corrected 
to “…under Subsection N of 1.8.3.14 
NMAC.” to account for the section 
renumbering.

A copy of this Notification will be 
filed with the official version of each 
of the above rules.
______________________________

End of Other Material 
Related to Administrative 

Law
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