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Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules
ENERGY, MINERALS AND 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT

ENERGY CONSERVATION 
AND MANAGEMENT 

COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
AND RULEMAKING

The State of New Mexico, Energy, 
Minerals and Natural Resources 
Department (EMNRD) hereby gives 
notice of the following proposed 
rulemaking. EMNRD proposes to 
amend 3.3.14 NMAC, New Solar 
Market Development Tax Credit.

Purpose of Rules. In 2022, the 
Legislature passed the amendments to 
the New Solar Market Development 
Tax Credit, which is established in the 
Income Tax Act. The amendments to 
the act require EMNRD to promulgate 
and amended rule that is compliant 
with the amendments.

3.3.14 NMAC, New Solar Market 
Development Tax Credit. EMNRD 
proposes to increase the annual 
aggregate amounts of the state tax 
credit available to applicants owning 
certified solar energy systems from 
$8,000,000 to $12,000,000 per 
calendar year. EMNRD also proposes 
amendments to the application 
requirements meant to simplify 
and streamline the process for both 
applicants and EMNRD.

Legal Authority. EMNRD proposes 
the rules under the authority of 
the Income Tax Act, NMSA 1978, 
Section 7-2-18.32.

The full text of the proposed 
rules are available from the 
EMNRD, Energy Conservation and 
Management Division, 1220 S. Saint 
Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505; 
at https://www.emnrd.nm.gov/ecmd/
ecmd-public-notices/ or by contacting 
Daren Zigich at darenk.zigich@state.
nm.us; telephone (505) 795-2381.

Public Hearing and Comment. 
EMNRD will hold a virtual public 
hearing on the proposed rules at 9:30 
am on October 18, 2022. The public 
may join the hearing virtually through 
WebEx using one of the following:

New Solar Market Development 
Tax Credit Amendments, 2022 Rule 
Hearing Event Link:
https://nmemnrd.webex.com/
nmemnrd/j.php?MTID=mc3755f1751
d0498fc7601e62f3541cd1
Webinar number (access code): 2492 
599 2615
Webinar password: Solartaxcredit22 
(76527820 from phones) 
Or enter to join from a mobile device:
1-844-992-
4726,,24925992615#76527820# 
United States Toll Free
+1-408-418-
9388,,24925992615#76527820# 
United States Toll

Those wishing to comment on 
the proposed rules may make 
oral comments or submit written 
comments at the hearing or may 
submit written comments by October 
18, 2022, by 5:00 p.m. by mail or 
e-mail. Please mail written comments 
to Harold Trujillo, EMNRD, Energy 
Conservation and Management 
Division, 1220 South Saint Francis 
Drive, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 
or submit them by e-mail to harold.
trujillo@state.nm.us.

If you are an individual with a 
disability who needs a reader, 
amplifier, qualified sign language 
interpreter, or any other form of 
auxiliary aid or service to attend or 
participate in the hearing, please 
contact Daren Zigich at (505) 795-
2381 or the New Mexico Relay 
Network at 1-800-659-1779 two 
weeks prior to the hearing. Public 
documents can be provided in various 
accessible formats. Please contact 
Daren Zigich at (505) 795-2381, if a 
summary or other type of accessible 
format is needed.

Technical Information. There is no 
technical information for the proposed 
rule amendments.
______________________________

GAME AND FISH 
DEPARTMENT

STATE GAME COMMISSION 
MEETING AND RULE MAKING 

NOTICE

The New Mexico State Game 
Commission (“Commission”) will be 
hosting a meeting and rule hearings 
on Friday October 14, 2022 beginning 
at 9:00 a.m. at the Farm and Ranch 
Museum, 4100 Dripping Springs 
Rd, Las Cruces, NM 88011.  The 
purpose of this meeting is to hear and 
consider action as appropriate on the 
presentation of proposed changes to 
the following five rules: Turkey, Deer, 
Elk, Manner and Method of Taking, 
and Licensing and Application.

Synopsis:
The proposal is to amend the 
following rules: 1) Turkey Rule 
19.31.16 NMAC, which will become 
effective April 1, 2023.  The most 
recent version of the rule will expire 
on March 31, 2023;  2) Deer Rule 
19.31.13 NMAC, which will become 
effective April 1, 2023.  The most 
recent version of the rule will expire 
on March 31, 2023;  3) Elk Rule, 
19.31.14 NMAC, which will become 
effective April 1, 2023.  The most 
recent version of the rule will expire 
on March 31, 2023;  4) Manner and 
Method of Taking 19.31.10 NMAC, 
which will become effective on April 
1, 2023.  This rule does not expire;  
and 5) Licensing and Application 
19.31.3 NMAC, which will become 
effective April 1, 2023.  This rule does 
not expire.

PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE 
TURKEY RULE: 1) Extend the 
spring season, including Entry 
Permit hunts, to close on May 15; 
2) Adjust hunt dates by calendar 
date; 3) Evaluate the potential to 
open certain closed GMUs based on 
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turkey population status; 4) Add a 
once-in-a-lifetime Entry Permit hunt 
for Gould’s Turkey in GMU 26 and 
27 with up to 5 permits.  The hunt 
will occur from May 1 - 30 to reduce 
potential impacts of hunting on 
breeding activity and to accommodate 
later breeding activity of Gould’s 
turkeys compared to other NM turkey 
subspecies; 5) Remove W.S. Huey 
WMA youth hunt due to low turkey 
numbers; 6) Define dates and permit 
numbers for the Washington Ranch 
Youth Hunt and add BLM Black 
River Management Area to the hunt 
area; 7) Add the LBar acquisition to 
the Marquez WMA entry hunt; 8) 
Prohibit shooting turkeys on the roost.

PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE 
DEER RULE: 
General Statewide Proposed Changes: 
1) Modify the definition of a muzzle-
loader only hunts to include only 
those muzzle-loading firearms that 
do not have a scope (for all big game 
species); 2) Adjust season dates 
to account for calendar shift. For 
example, if a hunt normally starts 
on a Saturday, this date shift would 
be maintained throughout the rule 
so the hunts continue to start on a 
Saturday; 3) Adjust some hunts to 
minimize overlap of weapons used or 
species hunted; 4) Adjust draw license 
numbers based on biological data and 
management goals: a) Reductions in 
GMUs: 2B, 12, 29, 30, 31, 32, 34, 37, 
38, 39, and 55; b) Slight increases in 
GMUs: 5B, 6A/6C, 7, 8, 9, 14, 19, 20, 
21, 23, 24, 26, 27, 40, 42, 43, 45, 47, 
48, 49, 53, 56, 58, 59.
Specific Proposed Changes: 5) 
Create an October youth hunt in 
GMUs 2A and 2B; move most of the 
youth licenses from November into 
October: a) GMU 2A: 25 licenses in 
October, 15 licenses in November; b) 
GMU 2B: 125 licenses in October, 
25 licenses in November 6) Create 
a November rifle hunt on L Bar/
Marquez WMA in GMU 9 (10 
licenses); 7) Designate GMU 8 as a 
Quality Unit; 8) Add a second hunt 
code for White Sands Missile Range 
(Rhodes Canyon and Stallion Range 
hunts; 5 licenses each); 9) Create 
new hunts where deer populations 

have increased: a) January FAD 
archery hunts in GMUs 7 and 9 (15 
licenses each); b) December FAWTD 
rifle hunts in GMUs 21 and 26 (25 
licenses each); c) September FAMD 
and FAWTD archery hunts in GMU 
27 (30 FAMD and 15 FAWTD 
licenses); d) November ESWTD hunt 
in GMU 55A, 55B (private land, 
unlimited licenses); 10) Open River 
Ranch, Double E, and Pipkin Ranch 
WMAs to deer hunting for those 
with valid licenses for the GMU; 11) 
Remove language “Excluding Fort 
Stanton” for the GMU 36 deer hunts; 
12) Reduce youth licenses on Huey 
WMA in GMU 33 from 2 hunts of 10 
licenses each to 2 hunts of 5 licenses 
each. 

PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE 
ELK RULE:
General Statewide proposed changes:  
1) Modify the definition of a muzzle-
loader only hunt to include those 
muzzle-loading firearms that do 
not have a scope (for all big game 
species); 2) Adjust season dates 
to account for calendar shift. For 
example, if a hunt normally starts 
on a Saturday, this date shift would 
be maintained throughout the rule 
so the hunts continue to start on a 
Saturday; 3) Adjust some hunts to 
minimize overlap of weapons used or 
species hunted; 4) Adjust draw license 
numbers based on biological data and 
management goals: a) Reductions in 
GMUs: 9, 16A, 16B/22, 16C, 16E, 
19, 50, 53, 54 (Colin Neblett), & 55A 
(Valle Vidal); b) Slight increases in 
GMUs: 2, 4, 6B, 13, 23, 30, 34, 36, 
42/47/59, 51, & 57/58.
Specific Proposed changes: 5) 
Increase antlerless elk licenses in 
GMU 2 to address expanding elk 
population; 6) Increase antlerless 
elk licenses on the Rio Chama 
WMA to address a more resident elk 
population; 7) Increase antlerless elk 
licenses in GMU 6B in the Valles 
Caldera and eliminate the mobility 
impaired hunt because it has not 
been drawn in the last 4 years and 
will not be in the next 4 years; 8) 
Increase elk licenses on Marquez 
WMA and combine the hunt with 
the newly acquired LBar property: a) 

Acquisition of the LBar by NMDGF 
shifts public ownership from 65% 
to 69% of Primary Management 
Zone within GMU 9; 9) Decrease 
elk licenses overall in GMU 9; 
10) Shift late season antlerless elk 
hunt in GMU 10 to begin earlier 
in December; 11) Expand Primary 
Management Zone boundary in 
GMU 13 to reflect elk use: a) This 
expansion would shift public land 
ownership proportion from 58% to 
63%; public license numbers will 
increase slightly to reflect this change; 
12) Expand Primary Management 
Zone boundary in GMU 17, to reflect 
elk use; a) This expansion would shift 
public land ownership proportion 
from 86% to 83%; however, 
public license numbers will remain 
unchanged; 13) Decrease some mid 
and late-October mature bull rifle 
hunts in GMUs 16A, 16B/22, 16C, 
and 16E; 14) Eliminate the elk hunt of 
3 licenses in GMU 19 (White Sands 
Missile Range); 15) Create a new 
antlerless elk hunt in GMU 23 south 
of NM highway 7; 16) Shift a hunt to 
later dates in GMU 24; 17) Increase 
licenses in GMU 30 and open GMU 
29 to be hunted in conjunction; 18) 
Create two new antlerless elk hunts in 
GMU 34 to occur in late January and 
early February, and increase Youth 
Encouragement licenses; 19) Create 
a new antlerless elk hunt in GMU 36 
in late January and increase Youth 
Encouragement licenses. Additionally, 
change all MB bag limits to ES; 20) 
Increase licenses in the combined elk 
hunts in GMUs 42/47/59 to address 
an increase in public land access; 
21) Include GMU 39 with GMU 
43 in a draw hunt - this would not 
increase licenses; 22) Shift the zone 
designation in GMU 46 from Special 
Management Zone to Secondary 
Management Zone; 23) Shift 25 
archery licenses in GMU 48 into the 
muzzleloader and rifle hunts; 24) Re-
distribute the Youth Encouragement 
licenses in GMU 50 to GMU 51; 
25) Eliminate the antlerless hunt 
north of Sunshine Valley Road in 
GMU 53; 26) Decrease licenses on 
Colin Neblett WMA; 27) Decrease 
licenses on Valle Vidal; 28) Establish 
an archery hunt in the combined 
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GMU 57/58 area; 29) Re-define 
“Encouragement Hunts” to be 
available to resident youth who did 
not draw a big game hunt in the draw 
for the first 14-days of availability, 
then offer to any youth after the 
first 14-days.  This recommendation 
would remove the ability for seniors 
to purchase encouragement hunt 
licenses.

PROPOSED CHANGES TO 
THE MANNER AND METHOD 
RULE:  Several changes will be 
made to conform with changes to 
other NMAC Rules, or to codify 
changes that were agreed upon during 
those rule development processes.  
The changes are:  1) Change the 
requirement that female ibex with 
horns that are 15 inches or longer 
retain the external genitalia naturally 
attached to the hide or carcass and  be 
visible until arriving at a residence, 
taxidermist, meat processing facility 
or place of final storage, to female 
ibex with horns 20 inches or longer;  
2) Include a requirement that female 
Barbary sheep with horns 18 inches 
or longer retain the external genitalia 
naturally attached to the hide or 
carcass and  be visible until arriving 
at a residence, taxidermist, meat 
processing facility or place of final 
storage; 3) Change the definition of 
muzzle loader hunts to preclude the 
use of scopes; 4) Prohibit shooting 
turkeys from a roost.

PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE 
LICENSING AND APPLICATION 
RULE: Change the requirement 
for proving veteran status prior to 
applying for the new veteran-only 
oryx draw hunt.

A full text of changes for all rules 
will be available on the Department’s 
website at: www.wildlife.state.nm.us.

Interested persons may submit 
comments on the proposed changes to 
the rules as follows:1) Turkey Rule at 
DGF-Gamebird@state.nm.us; 2) Deer 
Rule at DGF-Deer-Rule@state.nm.us; 
3) Elk Rule at DGF-Elk-Rule@state.
nm.us; 4) Manner and Method of 
Taking Rule and 5) Licensing and 

Application Rule at Elise.Goldstein@
state.nm.us.  Individuals may also 
submit written comments to the 
physical address below.  Comments 
are due by 8:00 a.m. on October 13, 
2022.  The final proposed rules will be 
voted on by the Commission during a 
public meeting on October 14, 2022.  
Interested persons may also provide 
data, views or arguments, orally or in 
writing, at the public rule hearings to 
be held on October 14, 2022.

Full copies of text of the proposed 
new rules, technical information 
related to proposed rule changes, and 
the agenda can be obtained from the 
Office of the Director, New Mexico 
Department of Game and Fish, 1 
Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, New Mexico 
87507, or from the Department’s 
website at www.wildlife.state.
nm.us/commission/proposals-under-
consideration/.  This agenda is subject 
to change up to 72 hours prior to 
the meeting.  Please contact the 
Director’s Office at (505) 476-8000, 
or the Department’s website at www.
wildlife.state.nm.us for updated 
information.

If you are an individual with a 
disability who is in need of a 
reader, amplifier, qualified sign 
language interpreter, or any other 
form of auxiliary aid or service to 
attend or participate in the hearing 
or meeting, please contact the 
Department at (505) 476-8000 at 
least one week prior to the meeting 
or as soon as possible.  Public 
documents, including the agenda and 
minutes, can be provided in various 
accessible formats. Please contact 
the Department at 505-476-8000 if a 
summary or other type of accessible 
format is needed.

Legal authority for this rulemaking 
can be found in the General Powers 
and Duties of the State Game 
Commission Sections 17-1-14, et seq. 
NMSA 1978; Commission’s Power 
to establish rules and regulations 
Sections 17-1-26, et seq. NMSA 
1978.
______________________________

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

Public Hearing

The New Mexico Public Education 
Department (PED) gives notice that it 
will conduct a public hearing for the 
proposed new rule 6.63.18 NMAC, 
Licensure for School Behavioral 
Health Counselors, Grades Pre 
K-12, on Monday, October 17, 
2022, from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. (MDT) 
in Mabry Hall, located in the Jerry 
Apodaca Education Building, 300 
Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, New 
Mexico 87501. The location of 
the public hearing is subject to 
change due to concerns surrounding 
COVID-19. Continuous updates on 
hearing changes will be provided on 
the PED website. The PED will give a 
verbal summary statement, on record, 
at the hearing.

The purpose of the public hearing 
is to receive public input on the 
proposed rulemaking. Attendees who 
wish to provide public comment on 
record will be given three minutes 
to make a statement concerning 
the proposed rulemaking. Written 
comment will also be accepted at the 
hearing.

Explanation of Purpose of Text

The purpose of the proposed new 
rule 6.63.18 NMAC, Licensure 
for School Behavioral Health 
Counselors, Grades Pre K-12, 
is to establish a licensure pathway 
for individuals seeking a school 
behavioral health counseling license. 
By creating this pathway, schools 
will be able to bill Medicaid for the 
counseling a school behavioral health 
counselor provides all Medicaid 
eligible students, including students 
without an individualized education 
plan. At present, schools can only 
offer such services to students with an 
individualized education plan. 
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Summary of Text

The proposed new rule 6.63.18 
NMAC, Licensure for School 
Behavioral Health Counselors, 
Grades Pre K-12, creates a new 
pathway for licensed professionals to 
provide behavioral health counseling 
to all students in need of such support. 
The proposed new rule does the 
following: 

·	 lists the requirements an 
individual must meet to become a 
licensed school behavioral counselor;

·	 lists the requirements a 
licensed school behavioral counselor 
must meet before advancing from a 
Level 1 to a Level 2 license and from 
a Level 2 license to a Level 3 license; 

·	 provides the competencies 
a school behavioral health counselor 
shall be able to do; and

·	 notes licensed professional 
counselors and licensed mental 
health counselors are required to be 
supervised by a licensed professional 
clinical mental health counselor 
(LPCC), licensed marriage and 
family therapist (LMFT), licensed 
professional art therapist (LPAT), 
licensed psychologist, licensed 
psychiatrist, or licensed independent 
social worker until they are a LPCC, 
LMFT, or LPAT.

Statutory Authorizations

Sections 9-24-8, 22-2-1, 22-2-2, and 
22-10A-17 NMSA 1978. 

No technical information served as a 
basis for this proposed rule change.

Public Comment

Interested parties may provide 
comment at the public hearing or may 
submit written comments by mail, 
e-mail, or fax.

Mailing Address
Policy and Legislative Affairs 
Division
New Mexico Public Education 
Department
300 Don Gaspar Avenue, Room 121
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501

E-Mail Address
Rule.Feedback@state.nm.us
Fax Number
(505) 827-6520

Written comments must be received 
no later than 5 p.m. (MDT) on 
Monday, October 17, 2022. The PED 
encourages the early submission of 
written comments. 

Public Comment Period

The public comment period is from 
Tuesday, September 13, 2022, to 
Monday, October 17, 2022, at 5:00 
p.m. (MDT). The PED will review 
all feedback received during the 
public comment period and issue 
communication regarding a final 
decision of the proposed rulemaking 
at a later date.

Copies of the proposed rules 
may be obtained from Gregory 
Frostad at (505) 470-5752 during 
regular business hours or may be 
accessed through the PED Police 
and Legislative Affairs webpage 
titled, “Proposed Rules,” at http://
webnew.ped.state.nm.us/bureaus/
policy-innovation-measurement/rule-
notification/,

Individuals with disabilities who 
require the above information in an 
alternative format or need any form of 
auxiliary aid to attend or participate in 
the public hearing are asked to contact 
Gregory Frostad at (505) 470-5752 
as soon as possible before the date 
set for the public hearing. The PED 
requires at least 10 calendar days 
advance notice to provide any special 
accommodations requested.
______________________________

PUBLIC REGULATION 
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

CASE NO. 22-00099-UT

The New Mexico Public Regulation 
Commission (the “commission”) 
gives notice of its initiation of a 
proposed rulemaking to repeal and 

replace Rules 17.1.2 NMAC, Utility 
Applications, 17.3.510 NMAC, 
Uniform Systems of Accounts and 
Annual Report Forms for Electric 
Utilities, and 17.3.610 NMAC, 
Uniform Systems of Accounts and 
Annual Report Forms.  The rules 
which may be adopted as the final 
rules in this proceeding may include 
all, part, or none of the language 
in the proposed rules issued by the 
commission.  The commission may 
also consider alternative proposals 
for amending or replacing the current 
rules.

Summary of the full text of the 
proposed rule and short explanation 
of its purpose:  The commission is 
considering repealing and replacing 
Rule 17.1.2 NMAC, 17.3.510 
NMAC and 17.3.610 NMAC.  The 
commission is considering changes 
to multiple sections of the rules.  
In particular, the commission is 
considering changes to remove 
compliance filing information being 
included with standard new rate 
applications in Rule 17.1.2.10 NMAC 
and to require annual compliance 
reporting by electric utilities by April 
30th of each calendar year in 17.3.510 
NMAC and gas utilities by April 30th 
of each calendar year in 17.3.610 
NMAC.

Legal authority authorizing the 
proposed rule and the adoption of 
the rule:  New Mexico Constitution, 
Article XI, Sec. 2; Paragraph 10 of 
Subsection B of Section 8-8-4 NMSA 
1978 (1998), Section 8-8-15 NMSA 
1978 (1999, amended 2001), and 
Sections 8-8-4, 62-8-3 NMSA 1978.

How a copy of the full text of the 
proposed rule can be obtained:  A 
copy of the full text of the proposed 
rules may be obtained from the 
rulemaking proceedings section of the 
commission’s website at https://www.
nm-prc.org/rulemaking-proceedings/ 
under Case No. 22-00099-UT or by 
calling LaurieAnn Trujillo in the 
office of general counsel at (505) 670-
4830.



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIII, Issue 17/ September 13, 2022 1215
How a person can comment on the 
proposed rule, where comments will 
be received and when comments 
are due:  Written initial comments 
and written response comments 
shall be filed by the deadlines below 
in accordance with NMPRC rules 
of procedure 1.2.2 NMAC.  For 
information as to how to file at the 
time of filing, please contact Melanie 
Sandoval, the commission’s records 
bureau chief at (505) 470-8538 or 
melanie.sandoval@state.nm.us.  
Written initial comments shall be filed 
no later than October 17th, 2022 and 
written response comments shall be 
filed no later than October 28, 2022.  
Comments shall refer to Case No. 
22-00099-UT.  All written comments 
will be posted on the commission’s 
website within three days of their 
receipt by the records bureau.

A public hearing will be held on 
November 4, 2022, beginning at 
2:00 p.m. via Zoom platform.  The 
Commission’s Office of General 
Counsel will email a Zoom invitation 
to the persons on the official service 
list in this matter prior to the hearing.  
The Zoom invitation will include a 
call-in number for those participants 
who are unable to access the 
Zoom platform via computer.  Any 
member of the public who wishes 
to make a comment at the hearing 
must contact LaurieAnn Trujillo 
at (505) 670-4830 or LaurieAnn.
Trujillo1@state.nm.us by no later 
than 12:00 pm on November 
2, 2022 to sign up as a hearing 
participant.  The commission’s 
office of general counsel will email 
a Zoom invitation to all hearing 
participants the day before the 
hearing.  The Zoom invitation will 
include a call-in number for those 
participants who are unable to access 
the Zoom platform via computer.  
The hearing will be held in order 
to receive oral comments.  In the 
interest of administrative efficiency, 
commenters who have submitted 
written comments may be restricted 
from making oral comments at the 
discretion subject to the discretion 
of the commission or its designee.  
In addition, any commenter may 

be limited to five minutes to speak, 
subject to the discretion of the 
commission or its designee.  The 
commission or its designee may also 
determine that a spokesperson should 
be designated to speak on behalf of 
an organization, a group, or a group 
of individuals that shares the same 
message or seeks the same goals, 
in order to maximize the efficiency 
of the public comment hearing.  No 
testimony or other evidence will 
be taken at the hearing as this is a 
rulemaking proceeding.  A court 
reporter will prepare a transcript of 
the hearing for filing the rulemaking 
docket, Docket No. 22-00099-UT.

The record of this case will close 
on November 18, 2022.  From 
that date through the completion 
of this proceeding, rulemaking 
participants will be forbidden from 
communicating with the commission 
or its representatives concerning 
substantive issues in this proceeding.

Any person with a disability 
requiring special assistance in order 
to participate in the hearing should 
contact Renada Peery-Galon at (505) 
467-9116 at least 48 hours prior to the 
commencement of the hearing.

Instructions on how to access 
the complete rulemaking record, 
reports and other items filed in the 
commission’s e-docket system can 
be found at https://www.nm-prc.org/
rulemaking-proceedings/.
______________________________

PUBLIC REGULATION 
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

DOCKET NO. 20-00158-UT

The New Mexico Public Regulation 
Commission (the “Commission”) 
hereby gives notice of its initiation 
of a proposed rulemaking to amend 
rule 17.9.572 NMAC: “Renewable 
Energy for Electric Utilities.”

Summary of the full text of the 
proposed rule and short explanation of 

its purpose:  The Commission intends 
to amend Rule 17.9.572 NMAC to 
correct and address grammatical, 
technical and other issues that exist in 
the current rule language. In addition, 
the Commission proposes to clarify 
the term “average annual levelized 
cost” by providing a definition; 
address the issue relating to renewable 
energy certificates associated with 
renewable energy from the public 
utility’s New Mexico customers’ 
distributed energy resources that is 
produced and consumed by customers 
on-site and behind the meter; 
address an issue relating to the use 
of renewable energy rate riders for 
costs associated with complying with 
this Rule; and address issues relating 
to a public utility’s application for a 
financial or other incentive to produce 
or to acquire renewable energy.

Legal authority authorizing the 
proposed rule and the adoption of 
the rule:  The Commission has the 
authority to promulgate and adopt 
the proposed rule under the New 
Mexico Constitution, Article XI, Sec. 
2, the New Mexico Public Regulation 
Commission Act, NMSA 1978, 
Sections 8-8-15 (2001) and 8-8-4 
(1998); the Public Utility Act, Section 
62-31 et seq., including Section 62-6-
4 (2003); and the Renewable Energy 
Act, NMSA 1978, Section 62-16-1 et 
seq.

How a copy of the full text of the 
proposed rule can be obtained:  A 
copy of the full text of the proposed 
rule and instructions for accessing 
the complete rulemaking record can 
be obtained from the rulemaking 
page on the Commission’s website at 
https://www.nm-prc.org/rulemaking-
proceedings/ or by calling Robert 
Lundin of the Commission’s office at 
(505)216-8569.

How a person can comment on the 
proposed rule, where comments will 
be received and when comments are 
due:  Any person wishing to comment 
on the Proposed Rules may do so by 
submitting written initial comments 
no later than October 14, 2022.  Any 
person wishing to respond to initial 
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comments may do so by submitting 
written response comments no 
later than October 25, 2022.  Any 
person wishing to reply to response 
comments maybe do so by submitting 
written reply comments no later than 
October 28, 2022.  Comments can 
be electronically filed by sending 
them in PDF format to prc.records@
state.nm.us.  Comments must refer to 
Docket No. 20-00158-UT.  All written 
comments will be posted on the 
Commission’s website within three 
days of their receipt by the records 
bureau.  The record closure date for 
this proceeding is November 4, 2022.  
From that date through the completion 
of this proceeding, rulemaking 
participants will be forbidden from 
communicating with the Commission 
or its representatives concerning 
substantive issues in this proceeding.

When and where a public rule hearing 
will be held and how a person can 
participate in the hearing:  A public 
hearing on the Proposed Rules and 
any additional issues to be addressed 
in formal comment process, to be 
presided over by the Commission or 
its designee, shall be held beginning 
at 1:00 p.m. on October 20, 2022.  
Any member of the public who 
wishes to make a comment at the 
hearing shall contact Robert Lundin 
at (505)216-8569 or Robert.lundin@
state.nm.us by no later than 5:00 p.m. 
on October 19, 2022, to sign up as a 
hearing participant.  The Commission 
shall email a Zoom invitation to all 
hearing participants on October 20, 
2022.  The invitation shall include a 
call-in number for those participants 
who are unable to access the hearing 
via computer.  The hearing will 
be held in order to receive oral 
comments.  Commenters who have 
not submitted written comments 
or responses and commenters who 
have submitted written comments 
or responses will be allowed to 
speak.  In addition, any commenter 
may be limited to five minutes to 
speak, subject to the discretion of 
the Commission or its designee.  The 
Commission or its designee may also 
determine that a spokesperson should 
be designated to speak on behalf of 

an organization, a group, or a group 
of individuals that shares the same 
message or seeks the same goals, 
in order to maximize the efficiency 
of the public comment hearing.  No 
testimony or other evidence will 
be taken at the hearing as this is a 
rulemaking proceeding.  A court 
reporter will prepare a transcript of 
the hearing for filing the rulemaking 
docket, Docket No. 20-00158-
UT.  Any person with a disability 
requiring special assistance in order 
to participate in the hearing should 
contact Renada Peery-Galon at (505) 
467-9116 at least 48 hours prior to the 
commencement of the hearing.

Technical information that served 
as a basis for the proposed rule and 
how the information can be obtained:  
None.
______________________________

PUBLIC REGULATION 
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

DOCKET NO. 21-00258-UT

The New Mexico Public Regulation 
Commission (the “commission”) 
hereby gives notice of its initiation 
of a proposed rulemaking to consider 
and potentially to adopt amendments 
to 17.11.10 NMAC, “State Rural 
Universal Service Fund.”

Summary of the full text of the 
proposed rule and short explanation 
of its purpose:  The commission 
is considering amending its rule 
regulating the state rural universal 
service fund (“SRUSF”).  The 
commission proposes amendments 
and will consider alternative 
amendments for the purpose of 
conforming the rule to three bills 
adopted in the 2021 legislative session 
– (1) House Bill 10 - enacting the 
“Connect New Mexico Act,” NMSA 
1978, Sections 63-9K-1 et seq. (the 
“CNMA”), and amending the Rural 
Telecommunications Act of New 
Mexico, NMSA 1978, Sections 63-
9H-1 et seq. (the “RTA”); (2) Senate 
Bill 93  - enacting the “Broadband 

Access and Expansion Act,” NMSA 
1978, Sections 63-9J-1 et seq. (the 
“BAEA”); and Senate Bill 204 - 
amending the RTA.  The commission 
further proposes amendments and 
will consider alternative amendments 
for the purpose of aligning the 
commission’s broadband program 
with the requirements and goals of 
the 2021 legislation.  In addition 
to amendments serving either 
or both of these two purposes, 
the commission will consider a 
recommendation made by the 
commission’s telecommunications 
bureau staff to move language 
currently located at 17.11.10.22(C) 
NMAC to 17.11.10.31G(1) NMAC 
and will consider comments and 
recommendations closely related to 
this recommendation.

Legal authority authorizing the 
proposed rule and the adoption of 
the rule:  The commission has the 
authority to promulgate and adopt the 
proposed rule under the New Mexico 
Constitution, Article XI, Sec. 2, under 
Paragraph 10 of Subsection B of 
Section 8-8-4, NMSA 1978, Section 
63-9H-6, NMSA 1978.

How a copy of the full text of the 
proposed rule can be obtained:  A 
copy of the full text of the proposed 
rule and instructions for accessing 
the complete rulemaking record can 
be obtained from the rulemaking 
page on the commission’s website at 
https://www.nm-prc.org/rulemaking-
proceedings/ or by contacting Laurie 
Ann Trujillo of the commission’s 
office of general counsel at (505) 670-
4830.

How a person can comment on the 
proposed rule, where comments will 
be received and when comments are 
due:  Any person wishing to comment 
on the proposed rule may do so by 
submitting written initial comments 
no later than October 20, 2022.  Any 
person wishing to respond to initial 
comments may do so by submitting 
written response comments no later 
than October 31, 2022.  Comments 
can be electronically filed by sending 
them in PDF format to prc.records@
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state.nm.us.  Comments must refer 
to Docket No. 21-00258-UT.  All 
written comments will be posted on 
the commission’s website within 
three days of their receipt by the 
records bureau.  The record closure 
date for this proceeding is November 
11, 2022.  From that date through 
the completion of this proceeding, 
rulemaking participants will be 
forbidden from communicating with 
the commission or its representatives 
concerning substantive issues in this 
proceeding.

When and where a public rule hearing 
will be held and how a person can 
participate in the hearing:  A public 
hearing on the proposed rule and any 
proposed alternative amendments 
to the rule, to be presided over by 
the commission or its designee, 
will be held beginning at 10:00 
a.m. on November 8, 2022, via the 
Zoom online platform.  Any person 
who wishes to make a comment 
at the hearing must contact Laurie 
Ann Trujillo at (505) 670-4830 or 
laurieann.trujillo1@state.nm.us by no 
later than 12:00 noon on November 
4, 2022 to sign up as a hearing 
participant.  The commission’s office 
of general counsel will email a Zoom 
invitation to all hearing participants 
the day before the hearing.  In the 
interest of administrative efficiency, 
only commenters who have not 
submitted written comments will 
be allowed to speak.  In addition, 
any commenter may be limited to 
five minutes to speak, subject to the 
discretion of the commission or its 
designee.  No testimony or other 
evidence will be taken at the hearing 
as this is a rulemaking proceeding.  
A court reporter will prepare a 
transcript of the hearing for filing 
the rulemaking docket, Docket No. 
21-00258-UT.  Any person with a 
disability requiring special assistance 
in order to participate in the hearing 
should contact Renada Peery-Galon at 
(505) 467-9116 at least 48 hours prior 
to the commencement of the hearing.

Instructions on how to access 
the complete rulemaking record, 
reports and other items filed in the 

commission’s e-docket system can 
be found at https://www.nm-prc.org/
rulemaking-proceedings/.
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES 

DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

The Construction Industries 
Commission will convene a public 
hearing on the following proposed 
changes to the administrative code 
to include amendments to its rules 
14.5.2 NMAC PERMITS, 14.6.3 
NMAC CONTRACTOR’S LICENSE 
REQUIREMENTS, 14.6.4 NMAC 
JOURNEYMAN CERTIFICATION 
and 19.15.40 NMAC NEW MEXICO 
LIQUIFIED PETROLEUM GAS 
STANDARD. The hearing will be 
held before a hearing officer, at which 
time any interested person is invited 
to submit data, views or arguments on 
the proposed changes, either orally or 
in writing and to examine witnesses 
testifying at the hearing. The hearing 
is scheduled for October 26, 2022. 

The purpose of this public rule 
hearing is to receive public comments 
regarding amendments and changes 
to the Permitting and New Mexico 
Liquified Petroleum Gas Standard 
rules that update provisions in the 
rules to reflect statutory changes in 
law, amendments to the Contractor’s 
License Requirements rules that allow 
the division to expedite licensing by 
accepting the National Association of 
State Contractors Licensing Agencies 
(“NASCLA”) written examination, 
and amendments to Journeyman 
Certification that clarify language in 
work experience requirements and 
corrects one typographical error.

The statutory authority for 
this rulemaking is found in the 
Construction Industries Licensing 
Act, NMSA 1978 Sections 60-13-1 
through 59, specifically Sections 60-
13-9, 60-13-10.3, 60-13-12, 60-13-14, 
60-13-18, 60-13-33, 60-13-36-60-13-

38, 60-39, 60-13-44, 60-13-45, 60-
13-46, 60-13-47, LPG and CNG Act, 
NMSA 1978 Section 70-5-1 through 
23, specifically Sections 70-5-6, 70-5-
9, 70-5-12, 70-5-17, and the Parental 
Responsibility Act, 40-5A-1 through 
9 NMSA. 

The hearing is scheduled as follows:

An in-person hearing shall be held 
on Wednesday, October 26, 2022, 
at the Toney Anaya Building, 2550 
Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM, second 
floor, Rio Grande Conference Room, 
starting at 9:30 a.m. The hearing will 
remain open until 10:00 a.m. or until 
participants have an opportunity to 
make public comment, whichever is 
longer. 

Those desiring to participate via 
video/telephonic may do so by remote 
participation by following these 
instructions:

Join via Video: 
https://nmrld.webex.com/nmrld/j.ph
p?MTID=m53bc56c7ceffe1f319a09a
bd640666d5.  Once you join through 
the above link you will be provided 
instructions for accessing the meeting. 
Event password not required. 
Join via telephone: 
+1-415-655-0002
Access Code: 2496 844 1122
No password required. 

Interested persons may obtain 
copies of the proposed rule changes 
by logging onto the Construction 
Industries Division website (https://
www.rld.nm.gov/construction-
industries) to download the proposed 
rules or by written request to the 
Albuquerque CID Office – Regulation 
and Licensing Department, 5500 San 
Antonio Drive NE, Albuquerque, NM 
87109, attention:  Eliza Casados.

You may send written comments to: 
Construction Industries Division, 
– Regulation and Licensing 
Department, 5500 San Antonio 
Drive NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109, 
Attention: Public Comments.  Written 
comments may also be faxed to 
(505) 476-4685/ (505) 629-3835 or 
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submitted to Eliza Casados at her 
email address: eliza.casados@state.
nm.us.  All written comments must 
be received no later than 5:00 p.m., 
on Tuesday, October  25, 2022.  You 
may also review submitted comments 
by requesting copies from Eliza 
Casados at her email address above.  
Public comments will be posted on 
the division’s website (https://www.
rld.nm.gov/construction-industries). 
Written comments may also be 
received by the Commission at the 
in-person hearing until the hearing is 
closed. All public comment received 
shall be admitted into the record 
during the public hearing. 

If you require special 
accommodations to attend the 
hearing, please notify CID by phone, 
email, or fax, of such needs as 
soon as possible to ensure adequate 
accommodations.  Telephone: (505) 
629-3835.  Email: eliza.casados@
state.nm.us; Fax No. (505) 476-4702.

Summary of the Proposed Changes to 
the Administrative Codes:

14.5.2 NMAC -- Permits, Sections 
10 and 13, Section 10 is amended to 
update the rules involving state owned 
building built on land designated as a 
flood plain. These changes ensure that 
the rules comply with HB 168 passed 
by the New Mexico Legislature 
during its 2021 regular legislative 
session.  One typographical error 
correction to made to Section 13.

14.6.3 NMAC -- Contractor’s 
License Requirements, Section 8 
is amended to allow the division to 
waive the written exam and accept 
the National Association of State 
Contractors Licensing Agencies’ 
exam for the purpose of meeting 
the state’s written licensure exam 
requirements.  

14.6.4 NMAC -- Journeyman 
Certification, Section 8 is amended 
to strike “four years” from paragraph 
14.6.4.8(C) to more accurately reflect 
the work experience requirements in 
subsections (E) and (F) of this part.

19.15.40 NMAC -- New Mexico 
Liquified Petroleum Gas Standard, 
Sections 7 and 15 are being amended 
to add definitions for “disqualifying 
criminal conviction”, “military 
service member” and “substantially 
equivalent” and add regulations to 
ensure compliance with expedited 
licensure for military applicants 
pursuant to HB 120 passed by the 
New Mexico Legislature during its 
2021 regular legislative session and to 
ensure compliance with disqualifying 
felony convictions pursuant to HB 
196 passed by the New Mexico 
Legislature during its 2021 regular 
legislative session.
______________________________

WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION 

ADMINISTRATION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

The New Mexico Workers’ 
Compensation Administration 
(“WCA”) will conduct an in-person 
public hearing on the adoption of new 
WCA Rules on:

Friday, October 21, 2022, 1:30 
p.m., Workers’ Compensation 
Administration, 2410 Centre Avenue 
SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106

A copy of the proposed changes may 
be found on the WCA website at:  
http://www.workerscomp.nm.gov/.  
For a copy by e-mail, contact the 
WCA General Counsel Office at 
gc.clerk@state.nm.us.  For a copy by 
mail, please submit a self-addressed, 
stamped envelope with your request 
to WCA General Counsel Office, 
2410 Centre Ave. SE, Albuquerque, 
NM  87106.  Comments should be 
sent to WCA General Counsel Office, 
2410 Centre Ave. SE, Albuquerque, 
NM 87106.

Comments may be made at the public 
hearing and written comments will 
be accepted until 5:00pm on October 
28, 2022.  The Director will take all 
comments into consideration.

Purpose and summary of the Proposed 
Rule:
The WCA is proposing new rules 
regarding Part 1, General Provisions 
(minor changes); Part 4, Claims 
Resolution (being repealed and 
replaced to allow for changes to 
electronic filing requirements; 
revised mediation procedures and 
requirements; and revisions to 
admissibility of evidence standards 
in adjudicated cases); Part 5, 
Enforcement and Administrative 
Investigation (revisions to 
admissibility of evidence standards 
and service of summons procedures); 
Part 6, Judicial Selection (revisions 
to processes in selecting workers’ 
compensation judges); Part 7, 
Payments for Health Care Services 
(being repealed and replaced to 
add definitions; revise provider and 
payer ground rules; revise out-of-
state provider approval qualification 
process; revise utilization review 
referral process; revise processes 
applicable to non-clinical services 
including a request for medical 
records); Part 12, Uninsured 
Employers’ Fund (raising UEF 
current indemnity and medical cap 
with effective dates, other language 
changes applicable to the UEF; and 
Part 13, Controlled Insurance Plans 
(minor changes).  All proposed rules 
will take effect January 1, 2023.

The Director of the WCA has authority 
to adopt reasonable rules pursuant to 
Section 52-5-4 NMSA 1978 (2003).

If you are an individual with a disability 
who is in need of a reader, amplifier, 
qualified sign language interpreter, or 
any form of auxiliary aide or service to 
attend or participate in the hearing or 
meetings, please contact the General 
Counsel Office at gc.clerk@state.
nm.us.  Or you may inquire about 
assistance through the New Mexico 
relay network at 1-800-659-1779 or 
https://newmexico.networkofcare.
org/.
______________________________

End of Notices of 
Rulemaking and Proposed 

Rules
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ENVIRONMENT 
DEPARTMENT

WATER QUALITY CONTROL 
COMMISSION

This is an amendment to 20.6.4 
NMAC, Section 9 effective 
09/24/2022.

20.6.4.9	 	 OUTSTANDING 
NATIONAL RESOURCE 
WATERS:
	 A.	 Procedures for 
nominating an ONRW:  Any 
person may nominate a surface 
water of the state for designation as 
an ONRW by filing a petition with 
the commission pursuant to 20.1.6 
NMAC, Rulemaking Procedures - 
Water Quality Control Commission.  
A petition to designate a surface 
water of the state as an ONRW shall 
include:
		  (1)	 a map 
of the surface water of the state, 
including the location and proposed 
upstream and downstream boundaries;
		  (2)	 a written 
statement and evidence based on 
scientific principles in support of 
the nomination, including specific 
reference to one or more of the 
applicable ONRW criteria listed in 
Subsection B of this section;
		  (3)	 water 
quality data including chemical, 
physical or biological parameters, 
if available, to establish a baseline 
condition for the proposed ONRW;
		  (4)	 a 
discussion of activities that might 
contribute to the reduction of water 
quality in the proposed ONRW;
		  (5)	 any 
additional evidence to substantiate 
such a designation, including a 
discussion of the economic impact 
of the designation on the local and 
regional economy within the state of 

New Mexico and the benefit to the 
state; and
		  (6)	 affidavit of 
publication of notice of the petition 
in a newspaper of general circulation 
in the affected counties and in a 
newspaper of general statewide 
circulation.
	 B.	 Criteria for 
ONRWs:  A surface water of the 
state, or a portion of a surface water 
of the state, may be designated as 
an ONRW where the commission 
determines that the designation is 
beneficial to the state of New Mexico, 
and:
		  (1)	 the water 
is a significant attribute of a state 
special trout water, national or state 
park, national or state monument, 
national or state wildlife refuge or 
designated wilderness area, or is part 
of a designated wild river under the 
federal Wild and Scenic Rivers Act; 
or
		  (2)	 the water 
has exceptional recreational or 
ecological significance; or
		  (3)	 the 
existing water quality is equal to 
or better than the numeric criteria 
for protection of aquatic life and 
contact uses and the human health-
organism only criteria, and the water 
has not been significantly modified 
by human activities in a manner that 
substantially detracts from its value as 
a natural resource.
	 C.	 Pursuant to a 
petition filed under Subsection A of 
this section, the commission may 
classify a surface water of the state 
or a portion of a surface water of the 
state as an ONRW if the criteria set 
out in Subsection B of this section are 
met.
	 D.	 Waters classified as 
ONRWs:  The following waters are 
classified as ONRWs:

		  (1)	 Rio Santa 
Barbara, including the west, middle 
and east forks from their headwaters 
downstream to the boundary of the 
Pecos Wilderness; and
		  (2)	 the waters 
within the United States forest service 
Valle Vidal special management unit 
including:
			   (a)	
Rio Costilla, including Comanche, 
La Cueva, Fernandez, Chuckwagon, 
Little Costilla, Powderhouse, 
Holman, Gold, Grassy, LaBelle and 
Vidal creeks, from their headwaters 
downstream to the boundary of the 
United States forest service Valle 
Vidal special management unit;
			   (b)	
Middle Ponil creek, including the 
waters of Greenwood Canyon, from 
their headwaters downstream to the 
boundary of the Elliott S. Barker 
wildlife management area;
			   (c)	
Shuree lakes;
			   (d)	
North Ponil creek, including 
McCrystal and Seally Canyon creeks, 
from their headwaters downstream 
to the boundary of the United States 
forest service Valle Vidal special 
management unit; and 
			   (e)	
Leandro creek from its headwaters 
downstream to the boundary of the 
United States forest service Valle 
Vidal special management unit.
		  (3)	 the named 
perennial surface waters of the 
state, identified in Subparagraph (a) 
below, located within United States 
department of agriculture forest 
service wilderness.  Wilderness 
are those lands designated by the 
United States congress as wilderness 
pursuant to the Wilderness Act.  
Wilderness areas included in this 
designation are the Aldo Leopold 
wilderness, Apache Kid wilderness, 

Adopted Rules
Effective Date and Validity of Rule Filings

Rules published in this issue of the New Mexico Register are effective on the publication date of this issue unless 
otherwise specified. No rule shall be valid or enforceable until it is filed with the records center and published in the New 
Mexico Register as provided in the State Rules Act. Unless a later date is otherwise provided by law, the effective date of 

the rule shall be the date of publication in the New Mexico Register. Section 14-4-5 NMSA 1978.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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Blue Range wilderness, Chama River 
Canyon wilderness, Cruces Basin 
wilderness, Dome wilderness, Gila 
wilderness, Latir Peak wilderness, 
Pecos wilderness, San Pedro Parks 
wilderness, Wheeler Peak wilderness, 
and White Mountain wilderness.
			   (a)	
The following waters are designated 
in the Rio Grande basin:
				    (i)	
in the Aldo Leopold wilderness: Byers 
Run, Circle Seven creek, Flower 
canyon, Holden Prong, Indian canyon, 
Las Animas creek, Mud Spring 
canyon, North Fork Palomas creek, 
North Seco creek, Pretty canyon, Sids 
Prong, South Animas canyon, Victorio 
Park canyon, Water canyon;
			                (ii)	
in the Apache Kid wilderness Indian 
creek and Smith canyon;
		                             (iii)          
in the Chama River Canyon 
wilderness: Chavez canyon, Ojitos 
canyon, Rio Chama;
			               (iv)	
in the Cruces Basin wilderness: 
Beaver creek, Cruces creek, Diablo 
creek, Escondido creek, Lobo creek, 
Osha creek;
			                (v)	
in the Dome wilderness: Capulin 
creek, Medio creek, Sanchez canyon/
creek;
			               (vi)	
in the Latir Peak wilderness: Bull 
creek, Bull Creek lake, Heart lake, 
Lagunitas Fork, Lake Fork creek, Rito 
del Medio, Rito Primero, West Latir 
creek;
			              (vii)	
in the Pecos wilderness: Agua 
Sarca, Hidden lake, Horseshoe lake 
(Alamitos), Jose Vigil lake, Nambe 
lake, Nat lake IV, No Fish lake, North 
Fork Rio Quemado, Rinconada, 
Rio Capulin, Rio de las Trampas 
(Trampas creek), Rio de Truchas, Rio 
Frijoles, Rio Medio, Rio Molino, Rio 
Nambe, Rio San Leonardo, Rito con 
Agua, Rito Gallina, Rito Jaroso, Rito 
Quemado, San Leonardo lake, Santa 
Fe lake, Santa Fe river, Serpent lake, 
South Fork Rio Quemado, Trampas 
lake (East), Trampas lake (West);
			             (viii)	
in the San Pedro Parks wilderness: 

Agua Sarca, Cañon Madera, Cave 
creek, Cecilia Canyon creek, Clear 
creek (North SPP), Clear creek (South 
SPP), Corralitos creek, Dove creek, 
Jose Miguel creek, La Jara creek, Oso 
creek, Rio Capulin, Rio de las Vacas, 
Rio Gallina, Rio Puerco de Chama, 
Rito Anastacio East, Rito Anastacio 
West, Rito de las Palomas, Rito de las 
Perchas, Rito de los Pinos, Rito de los 
Utes, Rito Leche, Rito Redondo, Rito 
Resumidero, San Gregorio lake;
			               (ix)	
in the Wheeler Peak wilderness: 
Black Copper canyon, East Fork Red 
river, Elk lake, Horseshoe lake, Lost 
lake, Sawmill creek, South Fork lake, 
South Fork Rio Hondo, Williams lake.
			   (b)	
The following waters are designated 
in the Pecos River basin:
			                 (i)	
in the Pecos wilderness: Albright 
creek, Bear creek, Beatty creek, 
Beaver creek, Carpenter creek, 
Cascade canyon, Cave creek, El 
Porvenir creek, Hollinger creek, 
Holy Ghost creek, Horsethief creek, 
Jack’s creek, Jarosa canyon/creek, 
Johnson lake, Lake Katherine, Lost 
Bear lake, Noisy brook, Panchuela 
creek, Pecos Baldy lake, Pecos river, 
Rio Mora, Rio Valdez, Rito Azul, 
Rito de los Chimayosos, Rito de los 
Esteros, Rito del Oso, Rito del Padre, 
Rito las Trampas, Rito Maestas, Rito 
Oscuro, Rito Perro, Rito Sebadilloses, 
South Fork Bear creek, South Fork 
Rito Azul, Spirit lake, Stewart lake, 
Truchas lake (North), Truchas lake 
(South), Winsor creek;
			                (ii)	
in the White Mountain wilderness: 
Argentina creek, Aspen creek, Bonito 
creek, Little Bonito creek, Mills 
canyon/creek, Rodamaker creek, 
South Fork Rio Bonito, Turkey 
canyon/creek.
			   (c)	
The following waters are designated 
in the Gila River basin:
		                               (i)	
in the Aldo Leopold wilderness: 
Aspen canyon, Black Canyon creek, 
Bonner canyon, Burnt canyon, 
Diamond creek, Falls canyon, 
Fisherman canyon, Running Water 
canyon, South Diamond creek;

			                (ii)	
in the Gila wilderness: Apache creek, 
Black Canyon creek, Brush canyon, 
Canyon creek, Chicken Coop canyon, 
Clear creek, Cooper canyon, Cow 
creek, Cub creek, Diamond creek, 
East Fork Gila river, Gila river, 
Gilita creek, Indian creek, Iron creek, 
Langstroth canyon, Lilley canyon, 
Little creek, Little Turkey creek, 
Lookout canyon, McKenna creek, 
Middle Fork Gila river, Miller Spring 
canyon, Mogollon creek, Panther 
canyon, Prior creek, Rain creek, 
Raw Meat creek, Rocky canyon, 
Sacaton creek, Sapillo creek, Sheep 
Corral canyon, Skeleton canyon, 
Squaw creek, Sycamore canyon, Trail 
canyon, Trail creek, Trout creek, 
Turkey creek, Turkey Feather creek, 
Turnbo canyon, West Fork Gila river, 
West Fork Mogollon creek, White 
creek, Willow creek, Woodrow 
canyon.
			   (d)	
The following waters are designated 
in the Canadian River basin: in the 
Pecos wilderness Daily creek, Johns 
canyon, Middle Fork Lake of Rio 
de la Casa, Middle Fork Rio de la 
Casa, North Fork Lake of Rio de 
la Casa, Rito de Gascon, Rito San 
Jose, Sapello river, South Fork Rio 
de la Casa, Sparks creek (Manuelitas 
creek).
			   (e)	
The following waters are designated 
in the San Francisco River basin:
				    (i)	
in the Blue Range wilderness: Pueblo 
creek;
			                (ii)	
in the Gila wilderness: Big Dry creek, 
Lipsey canyon, Little Dry creek, 
Little Whitewater creek, South Fork 
Whitewater creek, Spider creek, 
Spruce creek, Whitewater creek.
			   (f)	
The following waters are designated 
in the Mimbres Closed basin: in the 
Aldo Leopold wilderness Corral 
canyon, Mimbres river, North Fork 
Mimbres river, South Fork Mimbres 
river.
			   (g)	
The following waters are designated 
in the Tularosa Closed basin: in the 
White Mountain wilderness Indian 
creek, Nogal Arroyo, Three Rivers.
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			   (h)	
The wetlands designated are identified 
on the Maps and List of Wetlands 
Within United States Forest Service 
Wilderness Areas Designated as 
Outstanding National Resource 
Waters published at the New Mexico 
state library and available on the 
department’s website.
		  (4)	 The 
following waters are designated in the 
headwaters Pecos river watershed:
			   (a)	
The Pecos river from Dalton Canyon 
creek to the Pecos wilderness 
boundary;
			   (b)	
In the Dry Gulch-Pecos river 
subwatershed, Dalton Canyon creek 
from the Pecos river upstream to 
the headwaters, Wild Horse creek 
from Dalton Canyon creek upstream 
to the headwaters, Macho Canyon 
creek from the Pecos river upstream 
to the headwaters and Sawyer creek 
from the Pecos river upstream to the 
headwaters;
			   (c)	
In the Indian creek-Pecos river 
subwatershed, Indian creek from 
the Pecos river upstream to the 
headwaters, Holy Ghost creek from 
the Pecos river upstream to the Pecos 
wilderness boundary, Doctor creek 
from Holy Ghost creek upstream 
to the headwaters, Davis creek 
from the Pecos river upstream to 
the headwaters and Willow creek 
from the Pecos river upstream to the 
headwaters;
			   (d)	 In 
the Rio Mora subwatershed, Rio Mora 
from the Pecos river upstream to the 
Pecos wilderness boundary and Bear 
creek from the Rio Mora upstream to 
the Pecos wilderness boundary;
			   (e)	
In the Rio Mora-Pecos river 
subwatershed, Carpenter creek from 
the Pecos river upstream to the Pecos 
wilderness boundary, Winsor creek 
from the Pecos river upstream to the 
Pecos wilderness boundary and Jack’s 
creek from the Pecos river upstream 
to the Pecos wilderness boundary; 
and,
			   (f)	
In the Panchuela creek subwatershed, 

Panchuela creek from the Pecos river 
upstream to the Pecos wilderness 
boundary;
			   (g)	
Unnamed tributaries to waters in 
Subparagraphs (a) through (f), 
Paragraph (4) of this Subsection 
(D) as identified in the Maps and 
Lists for Unnamed Tributaries to 
Perennial Waters and Wetlands in the 
Headwaters Pecos River Watershed, 
published at the New Mexico 
state library and available on the 
department’s website.
			   (h)	
Unnamed wetlands adjacent to waters 
in Subparagraphs (a) through (f), 
Paragraph (4) of this Subsection 
(D) as identified in the Maps and 
Lists for Unnamed Tributaries to 
Perennial Waters and Wetlands in the 
Headwaters Pecos River Watershed, 
published at the New Mexico 
state library and available on the 
department’s website.
		  (5)	 the Rio 
Grande from directly above the Rio 
Pueblo de Taos to the New Mexico-
Colorado state border.
		  (6)	 the Rio 
Hondo from the Carson National 
Forest boundary to its headwaters; 
and Lake Fork creek from the Rio 
Hondo to its headwaters.
		  (7)	 the East 
Fork Jemez river from San Antonio 
creek to its headwaters; San Antonio 
creek from the East Fork Jemez river 
to its headwaters; and Redondo creek 
from Sulphur creek to its headwaters.
[20.6.4.9 NMAC - Rn, Subsections 
B, C and D of 20.6.4.8 NMAC, 
5/23/2005; A, 5/23/2005; A, 
7/17/2005; A, 2/16/2006; A, 
12/1/2010; A, 1/14/2011; A, 
4/23/2022; A, 09/24/2022]
______________________________

GAME AND FISH 
DEPARTMENT

The State Game Commission at 
its 8/19/2022 meeting, repealed 
its rule 19.34.5 NMAC, Wildlife 
Management Areas, filed 6/27/2013, 
and replaced it with 19.34.5 NMAC, 
Wildlife Management Areas, adopted 

on 8/19/2022 and becomes effective 
4/1/2023.
______________________________

GAME AND FISH 
DEPARTMENT

TITLE 19	 NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND WILDLIFE
CHAPTER 34	 WILDLIFE 
HABITAT AND LANDS
PART 5  	 WILDLIFE 
MANAGEMENT AREAS

19.34.5.1	 ISSUING 
AGENCY:  New Mexico department 
of game and fish.
[19.34.5.1 NMAC - Rp, 19.34.5.1 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.34.5.2	 SCOPE:  
Department staff, licensed hunters, 
anglers and trappers and other users 
as allowed by rule.
[19.34.5.2 NMAC - Rp, 19.34.5.2 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.34.5.3	 STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Sections 17-1-14 
and 17-1-26 NMSA 1978 provide 
that the New Mexico state game 
commission has the authority to 
identify game refuges and to establish 
rules and regulations that it may deem 
necessary to carry out the purposes of 
Chapter 17 NMSA 1978.
[19.34.5.3 NMAC - Rp, 19.34.5.3 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.34.5.4	 DURATION:  
Permanent.
[19.34.5.4 NMAC - Rp, 19.34.5.4 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.34.5.5	 EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  April 1, 2023, unless a 
different date is cited at the end of a 
section.
[19.34.5.5 NMAC - Rp, 19.34.5.5 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.34.5.6	 OBJECTIVE:  To 
identify wildlife management areas 
created by the state game commission.
[19.34.5.6 NMAC - Rp, 19.34.5.6 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]
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19.34.5.7	 DEFINITIONS:
	 A.	 “Department” 
shall mean the New Mexico 
department of game and fish.
	 B.	 “Wildlife 
management area” shall mean an 
area of land owned or controlled 
by the state game commission and 
designated by the commission or 
department as a wildlife management 
area.
[19.34.5.7 NMAC - Rp, 19.34.5.7 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.34.5.8	 WILDLIFE 
MANAGEMENT AREAS:
	 A.	 Bear Canyon lake 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 2 miles north of 
Mimbres and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in Grant county and 
with the department.
	 B.	 Belen wildlife 
management area is part of the Ladd 
S. Gordon complex and is located 
approximately 2 miles south of Belen 
and is more fully described in deeds 
on file in Valencia county and with the 
department.
	 C.	 Bernardo wildlife 
management area, part of the Ladd 
S. Gordon complex, is located 
approximately 15 miles south of 
Belen and is more fully described in 
deeds on file in Socorro county and 
with the department.
	 D.	 Bernardo wildlife 
management area, Simms donation, 
part of the Ladd S. Gordon complex, 
is located approximately 16 miles 
south of Belen and is more fully 
described in deeds on file in Socorro 
county and with the department.
	 E.	 Bert Clancy 
wildlife management area is located 
between Pecos and Cowles and is 
more fully described in deeds on file 
in San Miguel county and with the 
department.
	 F.	 Bill Evans lake 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 8 miles south of Cliff 
and is more fully described in deeds 
on file in Grant county and with the 
department.
	 G.	 Bluebird wildlife 
management area is located 
approximately 6 miles southeast 

of Cuba on state road 126 and is 
more fully described in deeds on 
file in Sandoval county and with the 
department.
	 H.	 Casa Colorada 
wildlife management area, part of the 
Ladd S. Gordon complex, is located 
approximately 7 miles southeast of 
Belen on the east side of the Rio 
Grande and is more fully described in 
deeds on file in Valencia county and 
with the department.
	 I.	 Charette lakes 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 23 miles southwest of 
Springer and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in Mora county and 
with the department.
	 J.	 Clayton lake 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 15 miles north of 
Clayton and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in Union county and 
with the department.
	 K.	 Colin Neblett 
wildlife management area is located 
immediately east of the village of 
Eagle Nest and Eagle Nest lake and 
is more fully described in deeds on 
file in Colfax county and with the 
department.
	 L.	 Double E wildlife 
management area is located 
approximately 6 miles northeast of 
Gila and is more fully described in 
deeds on file in Grant county and with 
the department.
	 M.	 Eagle Nest lake 
wildlife management area is located 
immediately south of the village 
of Eagle Nest and is more fully 
described in deeds on file in Colfax 
county and with the department.
	 N.	 Edward Sargent 
wildlife management area is located 
immediately north of Chama and is 
more fully described in deeds on file 
in Rio Arriba county and with the 
department.
	 O.	 Elliott Barker 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 15 miles northwest of 
Cimarron and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in Colfax county and 
with the department.
	 P.	 Fenton lake 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 9 miles north of Jemez 

Springs and is more fully described in 
deeds on file in Sandoval county and 
with the department.
	 Q.	 Glenwood Allred 
wildlife management area is located 
immediately south of Glenwood and 
is more fully described in deeds on 
file in Catron county and with the 
department.
	 R.	 Hammond Tract 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 2 miles east of Blanco 
and is more fully described in deeds 
on file in San Juan county and with 
the department.
	 S.	 Heart Bar 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 36 miles north 
of Silver City and is more fully 
described in deeds on file in Grant 
and Catron counties, and with the 
department.
	 T.	 Jackson lake 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 8 miles northwest of 
Farmington along the La Plata river 
and includes management of state 
land office section 16 and bureau 
of land management section 21 and 
is more fully described in deeds on 
file in San Juan county and with the 
department.
	 U.	 La Joya wildlife 
management area, part of the Ladd 
S. Gordon complex, is located 
approximately 20 miles south of 
Belen and is more fully described in 
deeds on file in Socorro county and 
with the department.
	 V.	 Lake Roberts 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 20 miles north 
of Silver City and is more fully 
described in deeds on file in Grant 
county and with the department.
	 W.	 Marquez wildlife 
management area is located 
approximately 25 miles north of 
Laguna and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in McKinley and 
Sandoval counties and with the 
department.
	 X.	 McAllister lake 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 7 miles southeast of 
Las Vegas and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in San Miguel county 
and with the department.



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIII, Issue 17/ September 13, 2022 1223

	 Y.	 Marquez/LBar 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 25 miles north of 
Laguna and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in Cibola, McKinley 
and Sandoval counties and with the 
department.
	 Z.	 Mimbres Tract 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 1 mile southeast of 
Mimbres, and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in Grant county and 
with the department.
	 AA. 	 Navajo wildlife 
management areas are located 
approximately 10 miles northeast 
of Navajo Lake and are more fully 
described in deeds on file in San Juan 
county, Rio Arriba county and with 
the department.
	 BB.	 Pine river 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 1 mile south of the 
Colorado border off state road 511 
and is more fully described in deeds 
on file in San Juan county and with 
the department.
	 CC.	 Prairie-chicken 
wildlife management areas are located 
throughout Chaves, DeBaca, Lea 
and Roosevelt counties and are more 
fully described in deeds on file in said 
counties and with the department.
	 DD.	 Red Rock wildlife 
management area is approximately 
26 miles north of Lordsburg and is 
more fully described in deeds on 
file in Grant county and with the 
department.
	 EE.	 Retherford 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 3 miles southeast 
of Bloomfield and is more fully 
described in deeds on file in San Juan 
county and with the department.
	 FF.	 Rio Chama 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 14 miles south of 
Chama, bordering El Vado reservoir 
and the Chama river, and is more 
fully described in deeds on file in 
Rio Arriba county and with the 
department.
	 GG.	 Rio de los Pinos 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 10 miles southwest 
of Antonito, Colorado and is more 
fully described in deeds on file in 

Rio Arriba county and with the 
department.
	 HH.	 River Ranch 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 24 miles northwest of 
Deming and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in Grant county, Luna 
county, and with the department.
	 II.	 San Simon Cienega 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 16 miles northwest of
Animas and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in Hidalgo county and 
with the department.
	 JJ.	 Socorro-Escondida 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 3 miles northeast of 
Socorro and is more fully described 
in deeds on file in Socorro county and 
with the department.
	 KK.	 Tres Piedras 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 5 miles southeast 
of Tres Piedras and is more fully 
described in deeds on file in Taos 
county and with the department.
	 LL.	 Tucumcari lake 
wildlife management area is located 
immediately east of Tucumcari and 
is more fully described in deeds on 
file in Quay county and with the 
department.
	 MM.	 Urraca wildlife 
management area is located 
approximately 12 miles north of 
Questa and is more fully described in 
deeds on file in Taos county and with 
the department.
	 NN.	 Wagon Mound 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 1 mile north of Wagon 
Mound and is more fully described in 
deeds on file in Mora county and with 
the department.
	 OO.	 Water canyon 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 18 miles northeast 
of Grants by Mount Taylor and is 
more fully described in deeds on 
file in Cibola county and with the 
department.
	 PP.  	 William A. 
Humphries wildlife management area 
is located approximately 10 miles 
west of Chama, south of US highway 
64/84 and is more fully described in 
deeds on file in Rio Arriba county and 
with the department.

	 QQ.	 William S. Huey 
wildlife management area is located 
approximately 2 miles north of 
Artesia and is more fully described in 
deeds on file in Eddy county and with 
the department.
[19.34.5.8 NMAC - Rp, 19.34.5.8 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

HISTORY OF 19.34.5 NMAC:
Pre-NMAC History:  The material 
in this Part was derived from that 
previously filed with the State 
Records Center and Archives:
DGF 67-10, Order No. 14-67, 
Creating Miller Mesa Game Refuge, 
No. 319, 9/22/67.
DGF 70-7, Order No. 4-70, Creating 
Alcalde Refuge, No. 320, 8/24/70.
DGF 70-7, Amendment No. 1, Order 
No. 2-74, Re-Creating the Alcalde 
Game Refuge, No. 320, 3/6/74.
DGF 70-10, Order No. 9-70, 
Amending the Artesia Game Refuge, 
No. 318, 12/9/70.
DGF 81-3, Order No. 5-81, New 
Boundaries for the Artesia Game 
Refuge, No. 318, 5/27/81.
Order No. 5-85, New Boundaries for 
the Artesia Waterfowl Management 
Area No. 318, 9/11/85.
Order No. 1-86, Changing the Name 
of the Artesia Waterfowl Management 
Area No. 318 to the William S. Huey 
Waterfowl Management Area No. 
318, 3/25/86.
DGF 72-10, Order No. 6-72, 
Amending the Bernardo State Game 
Refuge, No. 314, 8/15/72.
DGF 72-10, Amendment No. 1, Order 
No. 2-76, Amending the Bernardo 
State Game Refuge, No. 314, 5/25/76.
DGF 72-10, Amendment No. 2, Order 
No. 6-79, Amending Boundaries of 
Bernardo State Game Refuge, No. 
314, and Providing for Retriever 
Trial and Training on a Portion of the 
Refuge, 7/27/79.
Order No. 4-83, Amending 
Boundaries of Bernardo State Game 
Refuge, No. 314, and Providing for 
Retriever Trials and Training on a 
Portion of the Refuge, 9/7/83.
DGF 72-13, Order No. 8-72, 
Regulating Hunting on Certain State 
Lands, 9/26/72.
DGF 74-1, Order No. 16-73, 
Amending the La Cueva State Game 
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Refuge, No. 300, 1/3/74.
DGF 75-10, Order No. 7-74, Creating 
the Mary S. Sprague State Game 
Refuge, No. 321, 10/28/75.
DGF 79-5, Order No. 4-79, 
Amendment to No. 3 to the Boundary 
Description of the Big Hatchet Game 
Refuge, No. 10, 6/27/79.
Order No. 11-81, Amending Fort 
Bayard Game Refuge, 8/19/81.
Order No. 2-82, Creating the Casa 
Colorada State Game Refuge, No. 
322, 3/2/82.
Order No. 1-83, Hunting on State 
Game Refuges, 3/9/83.
Order No. 7-86, Creating the Ladd S. 
Gordon Wildlife Management Area, 
1/5/87.

History of Repealed Material:
DGF 73-5, Order No. 7-73, 
Abolishing the La Huerta State Game 
Refuge, No. 311, 5/31/73.
Order No. 15-81, Abolishing the La 
Cueva State Game Refuge No. 300, 
9/4/81.
Order No. 3-82, Abolishing the Organ 
Mountains and San Simon State 
Game Refuges, 3/2/82.
Order No. 14-82, Abolishing the San 
Juan State Game Refuge, 12/15/82.
Order No. 1-87, Abolishing the Miller 
Game Refuge - Repealed 6/4/87.
19.34.5 NMAC, Wildlife 
Management Areas, filed 12/1/99 - 
Repealed effective 7/15/13.
19.34.5 NMAC, Wildlife 
Management Areas, filed 6/27/2013 - 
Repealed effective 4/1/2023.
______________________________

GAME AND FISH 
DEPARTMENT

TITLE 19	 NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND WILDLIFE
CHAPTER 31	 HUNTING AND 
FISHING
PART 17	 BIGHORN 
SHEEP

19.31.17.1	 ISSUING 
AGENCY:  New Mexico department 
of game and fish.
[19.31.17.1 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.1 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.2	 SCOPE:  
Sportspersons interested in bighorn 
sheep management and hunting. 
Additional requirements may be 
found in Chapter 17 NMSA 1978, and 
Chapters 30, 31, 32 and 33 of Title 19 
NMAC.
[19.31.17.2 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.2 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.3	 STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Sections 17-1-14 and 
17-1-26 NMSA 1978 provide that the 
New Mexico state game commission 
has the authority to establish rules 
and regulations that it may deem 
necessary to carry out the purpose of 
Chapter 17 NMSA 1978 and all other 
acts pertaining to protected mammals, 
birds, and fish.
[19.31.17.3 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.3 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.4	 DURATION:  
April 1, 2023 through March 31, 
2025.
[19.31.17.4 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.4 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.5	 EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  April 1, 2023 unless a later 
date is cited at the end of a section.
[19.31.17.5 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.5 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.6	 OBJECTIVE:  
Establishing open hunting seasons 
and regulations, rules, and procedures 
governing the distribution and 
issuance of bighorn sheep licenses by 
the department.
[19.31.17.6 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.6 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.7	 DEFINITIONS:
	 A.	 “Department” 
shall mean the New Mexico 
department of game and fish.
	 B.	 “Director” shall 
mean the director of the New Mexico 
department of game and fish.
	 C.	 “Either sex” or 
“ES” shall mean any one animal of 
the species.
	 D.	 “Ewe” shall mean 
any female bighorn sheep.
	 E.	 “Game 
management unit” or “GMU” 

shall mean those areas as described 
in 19.30.4 NMAC Boundary 
Descriptions for Game Management 
Units.
	 F.	 “Ram” shall mean 
any male bighorn sheep.
	 G.	 “Wildlife 
management areas” or “WMAs” 
shall mean those areas as described in 
19.34.5 NMAC Wildlife Management 
Areas.
[19.31.17.7 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.7 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.8	 ADJUSTMENT 
OF LICENSES:  The director, with 
the verbal concurrence of the New 
Mexico state game commission 
chairperson or their designee, may 
adjust the number of bighorn licenses 
to address significant changes in 
population levels or to address critical 
department management needs.  
The director may change or cancel 
any or all hunts on military lands 
to accommodate closures on those 
lands; if changed, the season length 
and bag limit shall remain the same as 
assigned on the original hunt code.
[19.31.17.8 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.8 
NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.9	 BIGHORN 
SHEEP LICENSE APPLICATION 
REQUIREMENTS AND 
RESTRICTIONS:
	 A.	 Rocky mountain 
bighorn sheep ram once-in-a-
lifetime hunts: It shall be unlawful 
for anyone to apply for a Rocky 
mountain bighorn sheep ram license 
if one has previously held a license to 
hunt a Rocky mountain bighorn sheep 
ram in New Mexico, except those 
who have held a youth-only, private 
land-only (not obtained through the 
public draw), population management 
license for ram or ES that the director, 
with verbal concurrence of the 
chairperson or their designee, has 
decided does not qualify as once-in-a-
lifetime, auction, and/or raffle bighorn 
ram license(s). A person that has 
received the youth-only ram license 
is eligible for this hunt only once 
as a youth (under age 18), but may 
apply for the other Rocky mountain 
and desert bighorn once-in-a lifetime 
hunts as long as they are eligible.
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	 B.	 Desert bighorn sheep ram once-in-a-lifetime hunts:  It shall be unlawful for anyone to apply for 
a desert bighorn sheep ram license if one has previously held a license to hunt a desert bighorn sheep ram in New 
Mexico, except those who have held a youth-only, private land-only (not obtained through the public draw), population 
management license for ram or ES that the director, with verbal concurrence of the chairperson or their designee, has 
decided does not qualify as once-in-a-lifetime, auction, and/or raffle bighorn ram license(s). A person that has received 
the youth-only ram license is eligible for this hunt only once as a youth (under age 18), but may apply for the other 
Rocky mountain and desert bighorn once-in-a lifetime hunts as long as they are eligible.
	 C.	 Rocky mountain bighorn sheep ewe hunts:  This hunt is not a once-in-a-lifetime hunt. A person that 
has previously held a license to hunt Rocky mountain bighorn rams or ewes is eligible to apply for this hunt.
[19.31.17.9 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.9 NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.10	 SEALING OF RAM HORNS:  A seal shall be affixed to a horn of every bighorn sheep ram head 
taken in New Mexico, imported into New Mexico, or found in the field in New Mexico subsequent to August 17, 1973. 
Bighorn sheep heads found in the field within New Mexico shall remain the property of the state until disposed of by 
permit from the director. The seal shall authorize possession and transportation of the head within New Mexico.
	 A.	 Such sealing shall be done within ten days after the bighorn sheep ram head is taken, imported, or 
found in the field and before the bighorn sheep head is exported from New Mexico. Bighorn sheep ram heads not so 
declared shall be seized. Only legally taken and possessed bighorn sheep ram heads from New Mexico shall be sealed.
	 B.	 Bighorn sheep ram heads legally sealed in other countries, states, tribal entities, provinces, and 
territories, and possessing a valid visible seal attached, are exempted.
	 C.	 It shall be unlawful to possess any bighorn sheep ram head which has not been sealed as described in 
this section.
[19.31.17.10 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.10 NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.11	 BIGHORN SHEEP HUNTING SEASONS:  The 2023-24 through 2026-27 hunting seasons shall 
be as indicated below, listing the GMUs or areas open, eligibility requirements or restrictions, hunt dates, hunt codes, 
sporting arms, number of licenses, and bag limit. Additional eligibility requirements and restrictions are defined in 
Section 9 of 19.31.17 NMAC above.
	 A.	 Rocky mountain bighorn ram hunt for any big game sporting arms (BHS-1-201). Hunters applying for 
BHS-1-201 will be allowed to select and rank up to three open areas/hunt dates. The number of licenses available for 
BHS-1-201 will be up to 60 with a bag limit of one ram.

open GMUs or areas for BHS-1-201 2023-2024 
hunt dates

2024-2025 
hunt dates

2025-2026 
hunt dates

2026-2027 
hunt dates

6 8/10-8/24 8/10-8/24 8/10-8/24 8/10-8/24
9/1-9/15 9/1-9/15 9/1-9/15 9/1-9/15

14, 18 TBD TBD TBD TBD
16B, 22, 23, 24: including Double E WMA 1/1-1/31 1/1-1/31 1/1-1/31 1/1-1/31
45 8/4-8/13 8/9-8/18 8/8-8/17 8/7-8/16

8/18-8/27 8/23-9/1 8/22-8/31 8/21-8/30
45, youth only 8/18-8/27 8/23-9/1 8/22-8/31 8/21-8/30
53 south of NM 38 and east of NM 522 8/6-8/15 8/6-8/15 8/6-8/15 8/6-8/15

9/1-9/10 9/1-9/10 9/1-9/10 9/1-9/10
53 north of NM 38 and east of NM 522; 55 south of 
NM 196/FS Rd 1950

8/4-8/13 8/9-8/18 8/8-8/17 8/7-8/16
8/18-8/27 8/23-9/1 8/22-8/31 8/21-8/30

49, 50, 53 west of NM 522 8/10-8/24 8/10-8/24 8/10-8/24 8/10-8/24
9/1-9/15 9/1-9/15 9/1-9/15 9/1-9/15
11/1-11/15 11/1-11/15 11/1-11/15 11/1-11/15

55 north of NM 196/FS Rd 1950 8/15/2023-
1/15/2024

8/15/2024-
1/15/2025

8/15/2025-
1/15/2026

8/15/2026-
1/15/2027

58 8/15/2023-
1/15/2024

8/15/2024-
1/15/2025

8/15/2025-
1/15/2026

8/15/2026-
1/15/2027
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	 B.	 Private land Rocky mountain bighorn ram hunt for any big game sporting arms. The number of 
licenses available will be up to 6 with a bag limit of one ram.

open GMUs or areas 2023-2024 
hunt dates

2024-2025 
hunt dates

2025-2026 
hunt dates

2026-2027 
hunt dates

55 north of NM 196/FS Rd 1950 8/15/2023-
1/15/2024

8/15/2024-
1/15/2025

8/15/2025-
1/15/2026

8/15/2026-
1/15/2027

58 8/15/2023-
1/15/2024

8/15/2024-
1/15/2025

8/15/2025-
1/15/2026

8/15/2026-
1/15/2027

	 C.	 Rocky mountain bighorn ewe hunt for any big game sporting arms (BHS-1-202). Hunters applying 
for BHS-1-202 will be allowed to select and rank up to three open areas/hunt dates. The number of licenses available for 
BHS-1-202 will be up to 150 with a bag limit of one ewe.

open GMUs or areas for BHS-1-202 2023-2024 
hunt dates

2024-2025 
hunt dates

2025-2026 
hunt dates

2026-2027 
hunt dates

45 9/16-9/20 9/21-9/25 9/20-9/24 9/19-9/23 

9/30-10/4 10/5-10/9 10/4-10/8 10/3-10/7 

45, youth only 9/30-10/4 10/5-10/9 10/4-10/8 10/3-10/7 

49, 50, 53 west of NM 522 10/14-10/22 10/12-10/20 10/11-10/19 10/10-10/18 

11/18-11/26 11/16-11/24 11/15-11/23 11/21-11/29 

12/9-12/17 12/14-12/22 12/13-12/21 12/12-12/20

49, 50, 53 west of NM 522, youth only 11/18-11/26 11/16-11/24 11/15-11/23 11/21-11/29

53 south of NM 38 and east of NM 522 9/23-9/27 9/21-9/25 9/20-9/24 9/19-9/23 
10/7-10/11 10/5-10/9 10/4-10/8 10/3-10/7 

53 south of NM 38 and east of NM 522, youth 
only

9/23-9/27 9/21-9/25 9/20-9/24 9/19-9/23 

53 north of NM 38 and east of NM 522; 55 south 
of NM 196/FS Rd 1950

9/16-9/20 9/21-9/25 9/20-9/24 9/19-9/23 

53 north of NM 38 and east of NM 522; 55 south 
of NM 196/FS Rd 1950, youth only

9/16-9/20 9/21-9/25 9/20-9/24 9/19-9/23 

	 D.	 Rocky mountain bighorn ewe hunt for bow only (BHS-2-203). Hunters applying for BHS-2-203 will 
be allowed to select and rank up to three open areas/hunt dates. The number of licenses available for BHS-2-203 will be 
up to 60 with a bag limit of one ewe.

open GMUs or areas for BHS-2-203 2023-2024 
hunt dates

2024-2025 
hunt dates

2025-2026 
hunt dates

2026-2027 
hunt dates

45 9/1-9/10 9/6-9/15 9/5-9/14 9/4-9/13

49, 50, 53 west of NM 522 9/16-9/30 9/16-9/30 9/16-9/30 9/16-9/30 

53 south of NM 38 and east of NM 522 9/11-9/17 9/11-9/17 9/11-9/17 9/11-9/17

53 north of NM 38 and east of NM 522; 55 south of 
NM 196/FS Rd 1950

9/2-9/15 9/7-9/20 9/6-9/19 9/5-9/18

53 north of NM 38 and east of NM 522; 55 south of 
NM 196/FS Rd 1950, youth only

9/2-9/15 9/7-9/20 9/6-9/19 9/5-9/18

	 E.	 Desert bighorn ram hunt for any big game sporting arms (BHS-1-204). Hunters applying for BHS-1-
204 will be allowed to select and rank up to three open areas/hunt dates. The number of licenses available for BHS-1-
204 will be up to 60 with a bag limit of one ram.
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open GMUs or areas for BHS-1-204 2023-2024 
hunt dates

2024-2025 
hunt dates

2025-2026 
hunt dates

2026-2027 
hunt dates

13, 17
12/1-12/15 12/1-12/15 12/1-12/15 12/1-12/15
12/16-12/31 12/16-12/31 12/16-12/31 12/16-12/31

19
12/14-12/21 12/14-12/21 12/14-12/21 12/14-12/21
12/27/2023-
1/3/2024

12/27/2024-
1/3/2025

12/27/2025-
1/3/2026

12/27/2026-
1/3/2027

20: south of NM 51
11/16-11/30 11/16-11/30 11/16-11/30 11/16-11/30
12/1-12/15 12/1-12/15 12/1-12/15 12/1-12/15

20: north of NM 51
8/18-8/27 9/13-9/22 8/15-8/24 9/11-9/20

10/11-10/20 10/9-10/18

20: north of NM 51, youth only 11/17-11/26 11/21-11/30

26, west of NM 81
9/15-9/30 9/15-9/30 9/15-9/30 9/15-9/30
10/1-10/15 10/1-10/15 10/1-10/15 10/1-10/15

26, east of NM 81
9/15-9/30 9/15-9/30 9/15-9/30 9/15-9/30
10/1-10/15 10/1-10/15 10/1-10/15 10/1-10/15

27
11/1-11/15 11/1-11/15 11/1-11/15 11/1-11/15
11/16-11/30 11/16-11/30 11/16-11/30 11/16-11/30

	 F.	 Private land desert bighorn ram hunt for any big game sporting arms. The number of licenses available 
will be up to 6 with a bag limit of one ram.

open GMUs or areas 2023-2024 
hunt dates

2024-2025 
hunt dates

2025-2026 
hunt dates

2026-2027 
hunt dates

20: north of NM 51
9/15-9/24 8/16-8/25 9/12-9/21 8/14-8/23
10/13-10/22 11/22-12/1 10/10-10/19 11/20-11/29

[19.31.17.11 NMAC - Rp, 19.31.17.11 NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.12	 SPECIAL BIGHORN SHEEP HUNTING OPPORTUNITIES:  Bighorn sheep enhancement 
program:
	 A.	 Program description:  The director shall collect all proceeds generated through the auction and 
lottery of special bighorn sheep permits, and such monies shall be deposited in the game protection fund.  These 
monies shall be made available for expenditure by the department solely for programs and projects to benefit bighorn 
sheep and for costs incurred in carrying out these programs.  These monies shall be used to augment, and not replace, 
monies appropriated from existing funds available to the department for the conservation, restoration, utilization, and 
management of bighorn sheep.
	 B.	 Requirements for issuance of special bighorn sheep licenses:
		  (1)	 The state game commission authorizes the director to issue not more than four special 
bighorn sheep licenses in any one license year to take one ram per license.  The director shall allow the sale of one 
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep authorization and one desert bighorn sheep authorization through auction to the 
highest bidder, and one Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep authorization and one desert bighorn sheep authorization to a 
person selected through a random drawing of a lottery ticket.  The drawing will be conducted by the department or an 
incorporated, non-profit organization dedicated to the conservation of bighorn sheep.
		  (2)	 Unless their hunting privileges have been revoked pursuant to law, any person is eligible to 
submit a bid for the special bighorn sheep auction authorization or purchase lottery tickets in an attempt to be selected 
for the special bighorn sheep lottery authorization.
		  (3)	 The special bighorn sheep authorizations issued through auction and lottery may be 
transferred, through sale, barter or gift by the successful individuals only to other individuals qualified to hunt.
		  (4)	 Special bighorn sheep licenses granted through auction or lottery, as described above, shall 
not be considered ‘once-in-a-lifetime’ licenses.
	 C.	 Enhancement hunts: These licenses shall be valid for any big game sporting arms statewide where 
hunting is allowed.  The bag limit shall be one ram.
		  (1)	 Holders of the auction licenses must declare their exclusive hunt area by June 30 annually to 
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hunt the designated subspecies in one 
of the open hunt areas. Each holder 
of the raffle license must declare 
their exclusive hunt area by July 
20 annually to hunt the designated 
subspecies in one of the open hunt 
areas not declared by the auction 
hunter.
		  (2)	 The 
remaining hunt units open to bighorn 
hunting not declared by the auction 
or raffle hunter as their exclusive hunt 
area, may be hunted by either the 
auction or raffle hunter.
		  (3)	 The 
hunt dates for the auction and raffle 
licenses shall be 8/1-12/31 annually, 
except GMU 53 south of NM 38 and 
east of NM 522 is closed 8/16 to 8/31 
annually to all bighorn sheep hunters.
[19.31.17.12 NMAC - Rp, 
19.31.17.12 NMAC, 4/1/2023]

19.31.17.13	 BIGHORN 
SHEEP POPULATION 
MANAGEMENT HUNTS:
	 A.	 The director, with 
verbal concurrence of the chairperson 
of the New Mexico state game 
commission or their designee, may 
authorize population management 
hunts for bighorn sheep when 
justified in writing by department 
personnel and must be based on 
biological information or a potential 
to compromise population viability.
	 B.	 The director shall 
designate the sporting arms, season 
dates, season lengths, bag limits, hunt 
boundaries, specific requirements or 
restrictions, and number of licenses to 
be issued.
	 C.	 In the event that an 
applicant is not able to hunt on the 
dates specified, the applicant’s name 
shall be moved to the bottom of the 
list and another applicant may be 
contacted for the hunt.
	 D.	 In those instances 
where a population management 
hunt is warranted on deeded private 
lands, the landowner may suggest 
eligible hunters of their choice by 
submitting a list of prospective 
hunters’ names to the department for 
licensing consideration. No more 
than one-half of the total number of 
licenses authorized shall be available 

to landowner identified hunters. The 
balance of prospective hunters shall 
be identified by the department.
	 E.	 The director, 
with verbal concurrence of the 
chairperson of the New Mexico state 
game commission or their designee, 
may deem some ram or either sex 
population management licenses 
not once-in-a-lifetime; a person that 
has held a once-in-a-lifetime ram 
license(s) is not disqualified from this 
hunt.
[19.31.17.13 NMAC - Rp, 
19.31.17.13 NMAC, 4/1/2023]

HISTORY OF 19.31.17 NMAC:
Pre-NMAC History: The material 
in this part was derived from that 
previously filed with the State 
Records Center and Archives under:
Regulation No. 482, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Bear, Turkey, Elk, 
Antelope, Dusky Grouse, Tassel-
Eared And Chickaree Squirrel, And 
Barbary Sheep, filed 5/31/1967;
Regulation No. 487, Establishing 
1967 Seasons On Javelina And 
Barbary Sheep, filed 12/15/1967;
Regulation No. 489, Establishing 
Turkey Seasons For The Spring of 
1968, filed 3/1/1968;
Regulation No. 491, Establishing Big 
Game Seasons For 1968 For Jicarilla 
Reservation, filed 3/1/1968;
Regulation No. 492, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Bear, Turkey, Elk, 
Antelope, Dusky Grouse, Tassel-
Eared And Chickaree Squirrel, And 
Barbary Sheep, filed 6/6/1968;
Regulation No. 495, Establishing 
A Season On Bighorn Sheep, filed 
10/2/1968;
Regulation No. 496, Establishing An 
Elk Season In The Tres Piedras Area, 
Elk Area P-6, filed 12/11/1968;
Regulation No. 502, Establishing 
Turkey Seasons For The Spring Of 
1969, filed 3/5/1969;
Regulation No. 503, Establishing 
1969 Deer Seasons For Bowhunting 
Only And Big Game Seasons For 
The Jicarilla Indian Reservation, filed 
3/5/1969;
Regulation 504, Establishing Seasons 
on Deer, Bear, Turkey, Dusky Grouse, 
Chickaree And Tassel-Eared Squirrel, 
And Barbary Sheep, filed 6/4/6199;

Regulation No. 507, Establishing 
A Season On Bighorn Sheep, filed 
8/26/1969;
Regulation No. 512, Establishing 
Turkey Season For The Spring Of 
1970, filed 2/20/1970;
Regulation No. 513, Establishing 
Deer Season For Bowhunting Only 
In Sandia State Game Refuge, filed 
2/20/1970;
Regulation No. 514, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Bear, Turkey, Elk, 
Antelope, Dusky Grouse, Tassel-
Eared And Chickaree Squirrel, 
Barbary Sheep And Bighorn Sheep, 
filed 6/9/1970;
Regulation No 520, Establishing 
Turkey Seasons For The Spring Of 
1971, filed 3/9/1971;
Regulation No. 522, Establishing 
1971 Seasons On Deer, Bear, Turkey, 
And Elk On The Jicarilla Apache 
Indian Reservation, filed 3/9/1971;
Regulation No. 523, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Turkey, Bear, 
Cougar, Dusky Grouse, Tassel-
Eared And Chickaree Squirrel, 
Elk, Antelope, Barbary Sheep And 
Bighorn Sheep, filed 6/9/1971;
Regulation No. 531, Establishing A 
Season On Javelina, filed 12/17/1971;
Regulation No. 532, Establishing 
Turkey Seasons For The Spring Of 
1972, filed 3/20/1972;
Regulation No. 534, Establishing 
1972 Seasons On Deer, Bear, Turkey, 
And Elk On The Jicarilla Apache 
Indian Reservation, filed 3/20/1972;
Regulation No. 536, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Turkey, Bear, 
Cougar, Dusky Grouse, Chickaree 
And Tassel-Eared Squirrel, Elk, 
Antelope, Barbary Sheep And 
Bighorn Sheep, filed 6/26/1972;
Regulation No. 542, Establishing A 
Season On Javelina, filed 12/1/1972;
Regulation No. 545, Establishing 
Turkey Seasons For The Spring Of 
1973, filed 2/26/1973;
Regulation No. 546, Establishing 
1973 Seasons On Deer, Bear, Turkey, 
And Elk On The Jicarilla Apache 
Indian Reservation, filed 2/26/1973;
Regulation No. 547, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Turkey, Bear, 
Cougar, Dusky Grouse, Chickaree 
And Tassel-Eared Squirrel, Elk, 
Antelope, Barbary Sheep And 
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Bighorn Sheep, And Javelina, filed 
5/31/1973;
Regulation No. 554, Establishing 
Special Turkey Seasons For The 
Spring of 1974, filed 3/4/1974;
Regulation No. 556, Establishing 
1974 Seasons On Deer, Bear, Turkey, 
And Elk On The Jicarilla Apache 
Indian Reservation, filed 3/14/1974;
Regulation No. 558, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Turkey, Bear, 
Cougar, Dusky Grouse, Tassel-
Eared And Chickaree Squirrel, Elk, 
Antelope, Barbary Sheep, Bighorn 
Sheep, Javelina, Oryx, And Ibex, filed 
5/29/1974;
Regulation No. 565, Establishing 
Special Turkey Seasons For The 
Spring Of 1975, filed 3/24/1975;
Regulation No. 567, Establishing 
1975 Seasons On Deer, Bear, And 
Turkey On The Jicarilla Apache And 
Navajo Indian Reservations And On 
Elk On The Jicarilla Apache Indian 
Reservation, filed 3/24/1975;
Regulation No. 568, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Turkey, Bear, 
Cougar, Dusky Grouse, Chickaree 
And Tassel-Eared Squirrel, Elk, 
Antelope, Barbary Sheep, Bighorn 
Sheep, Javelina, Oryx And Ibex, filed 
6/25/1975;
Regulation No. 573, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Turkey, Bear, 
Cougar, Dusky Grouse, Tassel-
Eared And Chickaree Squirrel, Elk, 
Antelope, Barbary Sheep, Bighorn 
Sheep, Javelina, Oryx And Ibex, filed 
2/23/1976;
Regulation No. 583, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Turkey, Bear, 
Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex, filed 2/11/1977;
Regulation No. 590, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Turkey, Bear, 
Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex, filed 2/15/78;
Regulation No. 596, Establishing 
Seasons On Deer, Turkey, Bear, 
Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex, filed 2/23/1979;
Regulation No. 603, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 

And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1980 through March 31, 1981, filed 
2/22/1980;
Regulation No. 609, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1981 through March 31, 1982, filed 
3/17/1981;
Regulation No. 614, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Bear, Cougar, 
Elk, Antelope, Barbary Sheep, 
Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1982 through March 31, 1983, filed 
3/10/1982;
Regulation No. 622, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1983 through March 31, 1984, filed 
3/9/1983;
Regulation No. 628, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1984 through March 31, 1985, filed 
4/2/1984;
Regulation No. 634, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1985 Through March 31, 1986, filed 
4/18/1985;
Regulation No. 640, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1986 through March 31, 1987, filed 
3/25/1986;
Regulation No. 645, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1987 through March 31, 1988, filed 
2/12/1987;
Regulation No. 653, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1988 through March 31, 1989, filed 

12/18/1987;
Regulation No. 663, Establishing 
Opening Spring Turkey For The 
Period April 1, 1989 through March 
31, 1990, filed 3/28/1989;
Regulation No. 664, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1989 through March 31, 1990, filed 
3/20/1989;
Regulation No. 674, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, Oryx 
And Ibex For The Period April 1, 
1990 through March 31, 1991, filed 
11/21/1989;
Regulation No. 683, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, 
Oryx, And Ibex For The Period April 
1, 1991 through March 31, 1992, filed 
2/8/1991;
Regulation No. 689, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, 
Oryx, And Ibex For The Period April 
1, 1992 through March 31, 1993, filed 
3/4/1992;
Regulation No. 700, Establishing 
Open Seasons On Deer, Turkey, 
Bear, Cougar, Elk, Antelope, Barbary 
Sheep, Bighorn Sheep, Javelina, 
Oryx, And Ibex For The Period April 
1, 1993 through March 31, 1995, filed 
3/11/1993.

History of Repealed Material:
19.31.8 NMAC, Big Game, filed 3-1-
2001 - duration expired 3/31/2003.
19.31.8 NMAC, Big Game and 
Turkey, filed 3/3/2003 - duration 
expired 3/31/2005.
19.31.8 NMAC, Big Game and 
Turkey, filed 12/15/2004 - duration 
expired 3/31/2007.
19.31.17 NMAC, Bighorn Sheep, 
filed 12/1/2006 - duration expired 
3/31/2009.
19.31.17 NMAC, Bighorn Sheep, 
filed 2/26/2009 - duration expired 
3/31/2011.
19.31.17 NMAC, Bighorn Sheep, 
filed 9/15/2010 - duration expired 
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3/31/2015.
19.31.17 NMAC, Bighorn Sheep, 
filed 3/17/2015 - duration expired 
3/31/2019.
19.31.17 NMAC, Bighorn Sheep, 
filed 5/31/2018 - duration expired 
3/31/2023.
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
PHARMACY, BOARD OF

This is an amendment to 16.19.4 
NMAC, Section 9, 11, 12, 16 and 17, 
effective 9/13/2022

16.19.4.9	 DEFINING 
UNPROFESSIONAL OR 
DISHONORABLE CONDUCT:
	 A.	 Preamble:  In 
defining “unprofessional conduct” the 
definitions of professional conduct 
and a pharmacist’s duty should be 
considered.
	 B.	 Professional 
conduct may be defined as complying 
with all the laws and regulations that 
apply to a given professional activity.
	 C.	 Definition:  
Unprofessional or dishonorable 
conduct by a pharmacist shall mean, 
among other things, but not be limited 
to.
		  (1)	 Violation 
of any provision of the Pharmacy Act 
as determined by the board.
		  (2)	 Violation 
of the board of pharmacy regulations 
as determined by the board.
		  (3)	 Violation 
of the Drug and Cosmetic Act as 
determined by the board.
		  (4)	 Violation 
of the Controlled Substances Act as 
determined by the board.
		  (5)	 Failure 
of the pharmacist to conduct himself 
professionally in conformity with 
all applicable federal, state and 
municipal laws and regulations to 
his relationship with the public, 
other health professions and fellow 
pharmacists.
		  (6)	 Failure 
to keep his pharmacy and/or area of 
professional practice clean, orderly, 

maintained and secured for the proper 
performance of his professional 
duties.
		  (7)	 Acquiring 
prescription stock from unlicensed 
sources.
		  (8)	 Failure to 
hold on the strictest confidence all 
knowledge concerning patrons, their 
prescriptions, and other confidence 
entrusted or acquired of by him; 
divulging in the interest of the patron 
only by proper forms, or where 
required for proper compliance with 
legal authorities.
		  (9)	
Participation in a plan or agreement 
which compromises the quality or 
extent of professional services, or 
facilities at the expense of public 
health or welfare.
		  (10)	 The 
solicitation of prescription business 
by providing prescribers with 
prescription blanks with the name of 
any licensed pharmacy or pharmacist 
printed thereon.
		  (11)	 [the] The 
solicitation of prescription business 
by providing a prescriber with pre-
selected medication on a prescription 
blank.  This does not apply to:
			   (a)	
the inpatient, or institutional setting 
(i.e. long term care or correctional 
facility) by an in-house or contracted 
pharmacy; or
			   (b)	
a request for therapeutic interchange 
of a medication prescribed for the 
patient.
		  (12)	 [the] The 
solicitation of a prescription whereby 
the initial prescription request was not 
initiated by the patient or practitioner.  
This does not apply to a request 
for therapeutic interchange of a 
medication prescribed for the patient.

(13)	 Failure 
to report a theft or loss of controlled 
substances in accordance with 
16.19.20.36 NMAC.
		  (14)	 Failure 
to report an impaired licensee in 
compliance with Subparagraph (a) 
of Paragraph (1) of Subsection C of 
16.19.4.12 NMAC.

		  (15)	 Failure 
to train or supervise adequately 
supportive personnel or the use of 
supportive personnel in activities 
outside the scope of their permitted 
activities.
		  (16)	
Conviction, plea of nolo contendere, 
or entering into any other legal 
agreements for any violation of the 
Pharmacy Act, Controlled Substances 
Act, Drug Device and Cosmetic Act 
or any similar act of another state or 
territory of the United States.
		  (17)	
Suspension, revocation, denial, 
or forfeiture of license to practice 
or similar disciplinary action by a 
licensing agency of another state or 
territory of the United States.
		  (18)	 Dispensing 
a prescription for a dangerous drug 
to a patient without an established 
practitioner-patient relationship:
			   (a)	
except for the provision of treatment 
of partners of patients with sexually 
transmitted diseases when this 
treatment is conducted in accordance 
with the expedited partner therapy 
guidelines and protocol published 
by the New Mexico department of 
health;
			   (b)	
except for on-call practitioners 
providing services for a patient’s 
established practitioner;
			   (c)	
except for delivery of dangerous 
drug therapies to patients ordered by 
a New Mexico department of health 
physician as part of a declared public 
health emergency;
			   (d)	
except for dispensing the dangerous 
drug naloxone or other opioid 
antagonist as authorized in Section 
24-23-1 NMSA 1978;

(e)	
except for the prescribing or 
dispensing and administering for 
immunizations programs.
		  (19)	 Dispensing 
a prescription order for a dangerous 
drug to a patient if the pharmacist 
has knowledge, or reasonably should 
know under the circumstances, 
that the prescription order was 
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issued on the basis of an internet-
based questionnaire or an internet-
based consultation without a valid 
practitioner-patient relationship.
		  (20)	 Failure to 
perform a prospective drug review 
as described in Subsection D of 
16.19.4.17 NMAC and document 
steps taken to resolve potential 
problems.
[3/1/1993; 16.19.4.9 NMAC - Rn, 
16 NMAC 19.4.9, 3/30/2002; 
A, 7/15/2002; A, 1/15/2008; 
A, 9/16/2011; A, 8/31/2012; A, 
3/23/2016; A, 10/19/2019; A, 
11/13/2018; A, 9/13/2022]

16.19.4.11	 CONSULTANT 
PHARMACIST:
	 A.	 Duties and 
responsibilities:
		  (1)	 To abide 
by the code of ethics of the American 
society of consultant pharmacists.  
Must be qualified to practice as a 
consultant pharmacist and is to be 
aware of all federal and state drug 
laws, rules and regulations related to 
pharmacy services, and to provide 
the facility with current information 
pertaining to drug service.
		  (2)	 Ensure 
that drugs are handled in the facility 
in which he/she is the consultant 
pharmacist, in a manner that protect 
the safety and welfare of the patient.
		  (3)	 Set the 
policy and procedures in the facility 
as related to all [facits] facets of 
drug handling and distribution; 
these policies and procedures to be 
reviewed and updated on an annual 
basis.
		  (4)	 To visit the 
facility, commensurate with his duties, 
as specified by board regulations 
relative to the facility or by written 
contract with the administration of the 
facility not inconsistent with board 
regulations.
		  (5)	 His/her 
primary goal and objective shall be 
the health and safety of the patient, 
and he/she shall make every effort to 
assure the maximum level of safety 
and efficacy in the provision of 
pharmaceutical services.

		  (6)	 The 
consultant pharmacist shall not 
condone or participate in any 
transaction with any practitioner of 
another health profession, or any 
other persons whosoever under 
which fees are divided, or rebates 
or kickbacks paid or caused to 
be paid, or which may result in 
financial exploitation of patients or 
their families in connection with the 
provision of drugs and medication or 
supplies or pharmaceutical services.
	 B.	 Consultant 
pharmacist serving skilled nursing 
facilities and intermediate care 
facilities - upper level care - long 
term care facilities by any other 
title:
		  (1)	 The 
consultant pharmacist’s agreement 
with the facility shall include but is 
not limited to the following duties and 
responsibilities.
			   (a)	
Serve as a member of appropriate 
committees, and attend these 
meetings.
			   (b)	
Development of the drug control 
procedures manual.
			   (c)	
Monitor on a routine basis all aspects 
of the total drug distribution system 
- to be accomplished in a manner 
designed to monitor and safeguard all 
areas of the drug distribution system.
			   (d)	
Maintain active pharmacist status 
registration in the state.
			   (e)	
Assume responsibility for the 
destruction or removal of unwanted 
dangerous drugs and any controlled 
substances as prescribed by law and 
regulations.
			   (f)	
Maintain a log of all visits and 
activities in the facility indicating 
dates and other pertinent data; such 
logs are to be available to inspection 
by state drug inspectors upon request.
			   (g)	
Furnish and replenish emergency 
drug supply in acceptable containers.  
Maintain a log of use and replacement 
of drugs in the emergency tray.

			   (h)	
Make routine inspections of drug 
storage areas, patient health records, 
and review drug regimen of each 
patient at least once a month.  Report 
irregularities, contraindication, drug 
interactions, etc., to the medical staff.
			   (i)	
Provide or make arrangements for 
provision of pharmacy services to the 
facility on a 24-hour, seven days a 
week basis, including stat orders.
			   (j)	
Provide in-service training of 
staff personnel as outlined in the 
procedures manual.
			   (k)	
Meet all other responsibilities of a 
consultant pharmacist as set forth in 
the board regulations and federal or 
state laws and which are consistent 
with quality patient care.
			   (l)	
The contract consultant pharmacist to 
a SNF or ICF facility, that is required 
to review patients’ drug regimen as set 
forth in Subparagraph h of Paragraph 
(1) of Subsection B of 16.19.4.11 
NMAC, who is under contract as sole 
supplier of unit-doses/state of the art 
medications, shall be exempt from 
charges of unprofessional conduct 
under Paragraph (10) of Subsection B 
of 16.19.4.9 NMAC.
			   (m)	
The consultant pharmacist to a SNF 
or ICF facility who delivers drugs in 
a unit-dose system, approved by an 
agent of the board, which is a tightly 
sealed, unopened, individual dose, 
shall be exempt from the requirements 
of 16.19.6.14 NMAC.  The regulation 
shall not prohibit the return to the 
pharmacy stock, where partial credit 
may be given in accordance with any 
federal or state law or regulation, to 
the patient for such medication, when 
the physician discontinues the drug 
therapy, the patient expires or for any 
other reason, other than an outdated 
drug.
			   (n)	
Customized patient medication 
packages;  In lieu of dispensing one, 
two, or more prescribed drug products 
in separate containers or standard 
vial containers, a pharmacist may, 
with the consent of the patient, the 
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patient’s care-giver, the prescriber, 
or the institution caring for the 
patient, provide a customized patient 
medication package.  The pharmacist 
preparing a patient medication 
package must abide by the guidelines 
as set forth in the current edition of 
the U.S.  pharmacopoeia for labeling, 
packaging and record keeping.
			   (o)	
Repackaging of patient medication 
packages;  In the event a drug 
is added to or discontinued from 
a patient’s drug regimen, when 
a container within the patient 
medication package has more than 
one drug within it, the pharmacist 
may repackage the patient’s patient 
medication package and either add to 
or remove from the patient medication 
packaged as ordered by the physician.  
The same drugs returned by the 
patient for repackaging must be 
reused by the pharmacist in the design 
of the new patient medication package 
for the new regimen, and any drug 
removed must either be destroyed, 
returned to the DEA or returned to 
the patient properly labeled.  Under 
no circumstances may a drug within 
a container of a patient medication 
package which contains more than 
one drug be returned to the pharmacy 
stock.
			   (p)	
Return of patient medication package 
drugs.
			                 (i)
Patient medication [package’s] 
packages with more than one 
drug within a container:  Patient 
medication packages with more than 
one drug within a container may not 
under any circumstances be returned 
to a pharmacy stock.
			                (ii)	
Patient medication [package’s] 
packages with only one drug within 
a container:  1 Non-Institutional:  A 
patient medication package stored 
in a non-institutional setting where 
there is no assurance of storage 
standards may not be returned to 
pharmacy stock. 2  Institutional:  A 
patient medication package stored 
in an institutional setting where the 
storage and handling of the drugs are 
assured and are consistent with the 

compendia standards may be returned 
to the pharmacy stock provided the 
following guidelines are followed:  
(1) the drug is to be kept within the 
patient medication package and it is 
to remain sealed and labeled until 
dispensed; (2) the expiration date 
of drug shall become fifty percent 
of the time left of the expiration for 
the drug; and (3) no schedule II - V 
drugs may be returned to inventory [; 
and (4) proper record keeping for the 
addition of other scheduled drugs into 
inventory must be done].
		  (2)	 When a 
consultant pharmacist enters into a 
written contractual agreement with a 
facility to which he/she will provide 
service.
			   (a)	
The consultant pharmacist whose 
practice is not in the immediate 
vicinity of the facility for which he 
has entered into a written service 
agreement, shall have a written 
agreement with a local pharmacist to 
be available on any emergency basis.  
The consultant pharmacist shall be 
responsible for the proper training and 
instruction of such local pharmacist.  
Said local pharmacist shall be known 
as a “co-consultant”.  The vendor 
shall be responsible for the safety and 
efficacy of back-up pharmaceutical 
services he provides.
			   (b)	
A copy of these agreements must 
be filed with the board of pharmacy 
and the facility.  Any termination 
of such agreement shall be reported 
in writing, within 10 days, of 
termination to the board and to the 
administrator.
			   (c)	
Should a local pharmacist (co-
consultant) not be available, the 
consultant pharmacist must provide 
an alternative procedure approved 
by the board.  If the consultant is 
also the vendor, then such alternative 
procedure must reasonably assure 
rapid delivery of drugs; medical 
supplies and pharmacy service to the 
facility
	 C.	 Consultant 
pharmacist - clinic facility:
		  (1)	 The 
consultant pharmacist providing 
services to a clinic shall.

			   (a)	
Assume overall responsibility for 
clinic pharmacy services, for clinic 
pharmacy supportive personnel, 
and for procedures as outlined in 
the procedures manual, including 
all records of drugs procured, 
administered, transferred, distributed, 
repackaged or dispensed from the 
clinic.
			   (b)	
Assume responsibility for the 
destruction or removal of unwanted or 
outdated dangerous drugs, including 
controlled substances, as required by 
laws and regulations.
			   (c)	
Develop the pharmacy services 
procedures manual for the clinic 
establishing the system for control 
and accountability of pharmaceuticals.
			   (d)	
Provide in-service education and 
training to clinic staff, as applicable.
			   (e)	
Report in writing to the board within 
10 days, any termination of services 
to the clinic.  Report in writing to 
the board the names and places 
of employment of any pharmacy 
technicians under the supervision of 
the consultant pharmacist.
			   (f)	
Comply with all other provisions 
of Part 10, limited drug clinics, as 
applicable to the individual clinic 
facility.
			   (g)	
The consultant pharmacist shall 
personally visit the clinic on the 
minimum basis described in Items 
(i) through (iv) of Subparagraphs (a) 
through (c) to ensure that the clinic is 
following set policies and procedures.  
Visitation schedules are as follows.
			                 (i)	
Class A clinics shall have the 
on-site services of a consultant 
pharmacist for the dispensing or 
distribution of dangerous drugs.  The 
consultant pharmacist shall comply 
with Paragraphs (4), (5) and (7) of 
Subsection A of 16.19.4.16 NMAC.
			                (ii)	
Class B clinics shall have the services 
of a consultant pharmacist as listed 
below:  1.  Category 1 clinics 
shall be visited by the consultant 
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pharmacist at least bi-monthly.  2.  
Category 2 clinics shall be visited 
by the consultant pharmacist at least 
monthly.  3.  Category 3 clinics 
shall be visited by the consultant 
pharmacist at least bi-weekly.
			               (iii)	
Class C clinics shall be visited by the 
consultant pharmacist at least every 
three months.
			               (iv)	
Class D clinic shall be reviewed 
at least once yearly during school 
session.
			                (v)	
Class E clinic shall be visited by the 
consultant pharmacist at least weekly 
for a clinic with a patient census of 
150 or more or with a mobile narcotic 
treatment program, and at least bi-
weekly for a clinic with a patient 
census of less than 150.
			   (h)	
The consultant pharmacist shall 
review the medical records of not 
less than five percent of a Class B 
clinics patients who have received 
dangerous drugs (as determined 
by the dispensing or distribution 
records) since the consultant 
pharmacist’s last visit.  Such review 
shall be for the purpose of promoting 
therapeutic appropriateness, 
eliminating unnecessary drugs, and 
establishing the medical necessity 
of drug therapy, by identifying 
over-utilization or under-utilization, 
therapeutic duplication, drug-
disease contraindications, drug-drug 
contraindications, incorrect drug 
dosage or duration of drug treatment, 
drug-allergy interactions, appropriate 
medication indication, and/or clinical 
abuse/misuse.  Upon recognizing 
any of the above, the consultant 
pharmacist shall take appropriate 
steps to avoid or resolve the problem 
which shall, if necessary, include 
consultation with the prescriber.
			   (i)	
The consultant pharmacist shall 
maintain a log or record of all visits 
and activities in the clinic.  Such 
record shall include a log of all 
medical records reviewed, along with 
a record of all consultant pharmacist 
interventions and/or consultations.  
This log or record shall be available 

for inspection by state drug inspectors 
upon request.
			   (j)	
Consultant pharmacist serving a Class 
D school based emergency medicine 
clinic shall:
			                 (i)	
review records at least annually; 
this review shall include a review 
of the self-assessment form, receipt 
and disposition records, and storage 
records; this annual review does 
not require an on-site visit by the 
consultant pharmacist;
			                (ii)
oversee the removal of expired 
or unwanted dangerous drugs; 
removal options are transfer to 
another licensed location, return to 
the legitimate source of supply or 
to a reverse distributor; remaining 
portions of used dangerous drugs 
may be destroyed by the consultant 
pharmacist;
		                            (iii)	
review dangerous drug administration 
records within 72 hours of 
administration; this review shall 
be documented and available for 
inspection at the licensed location 
for three years; review shall include 
verification of compliance with 
procedures and protocols, including 
administration by properly trained 
personnel.
			               (iv)	
ensure required records are available 
for inspection at the licensed location 
for three years, including a log of 
comments and activities of consultant 
pharmacist;
			                (v)	
verify a current list of trained staff, 
in accordance with New Mexico 
department of health requirements, 
is maintained at the licensed location 
and available for inspection;
			               (vi)
approve a policy and procedures 
manual outlining procedures for 
the receipt, storage, record keeping, 
administration and accountability 
of all dangerous drugs; this 
includes policies and procedures 
for the removal and destruction 
of unwanted, unused, outdated or 
recalled dangerous drugs; must verify 
compliance with all training and 

protocols required by the NewMexico 
department of health.
			   (k)	
The consultant pharmacist of a Class 
E clinic shall review dispensing, 
distribution, and supplying records 
since the consultant pharmacist’s 
last visit, to ensure records are 
maintained accurately and in proper 
form.  The consultant pharmacist shall 
also review the medical records of 
all clinic patients prior to initiation 
of take home dosing, and medical 
records of not less than five percent 
of clinic patients who have received 
dangerous drugs (as determined by the 
dispensing, distribution, or supplying 
records) since the consultant 
pharmacist’s last visit.  Such review 
shall be for the purpose of promoting 
therapeutic appropriateness, 
eliminating unnecessary drugs, and 
establishing the medical necessity 
of drug therapy, by identifying 
over-utilization or under-utilization, 
therapeutic duplication, drug-
disease contraindications, drug-drug 
contraindications, incorrect drug 
dosage or duration of drug treatment, 
drug-allergy interactions, appropriate 
medication indication, and/or clinical 
abuse/misuse.  Upon recognizing 
any of the above, the consultant 
pharmacist shall take appropriate 
steps to avoid or resolve the problem 
which shall, if necessary, include 
consultation with the prescriber.  A 
log or record will be maintained in 
accordance with Subparagraph (i) of 
Paragraph (1) of Subsection (C) of 
16.19.4.11 NMAC.
		  (2)	 A clinic 
may petition the board for an 
alternative visitation schedule as set 
forth in Subsection R of 16.19.10.11 
NMAC.
	 D.	 Consultant 
pharmacists serving custodial care 
facilities:
		  (1)	 Custodial 
care facility as used in this regulation 
includes:  Any facility which provides 
care and services on a continuing 
basis, for two or more in-house 
residents, not related to the operator, 
and which maintains custody of the 
residents’ drugs.
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		  (2)	 Any 
facility which meets the requirements 
outlined in Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection D of 16.19.4.11 NMAC 
shall be licensed by the board of 
pharmacy, engage a consultant 
pharmacist, whose duties and 
responsibilities are indicated in 
16.19.4 and 16.19.11 NMAC.
		  (3)	
Procurement of drugs or medications 
for residents will be on the 
prescription order of a licensed 
physician - written or by oral 
communication, which order shall be 
reduced to writing by the pharmacist 
as required by law.  Refills shall 
be as authorized by the physician.  
When refill authorization is indicated 
on the original prescription, a refill 
for a resident may be requested by 
the administrator of the licensed 
facility or his designee by telephone 
to the consultant pharmacist, or the 
providing pharmacy.
		  (4)	 The 
administrator or a designated 
employee of the facility will sign a 
receipt for prescription drugs upon 
delivery.
		  (5)	 All 
prescription drugs will be stored in 
a locked cabinet or room and the 
key will be assigned to a designated 
employee or the administrator as 
indicated in the procedures manual.
		  (6)	 Proper 
storage as stipulated in the official 
compendium USP/NF will be the 
responsibility of the licensed facility.
		  (7)	 Records 
- the consultant pharmacist shall be 
responsible for the following records:
			   (a)	
incoming medications - including 
refills;
			   (b)	
record of administration;
			   (c)	
waste or loss;  This accountability 
record shall be maintained on a 
patient log, on forms provided to the 
consultant pharmacist by the board of 
pharmacy.
		  (8)	 All 
prescription containers shall be 
properly labeled as required in 
16.19.11 NMAC.  No bulk containers 

of legend drugs will be kept on the 
premises, except in a facility with 
a 24-hour per day and 365 day per 
year on-site licensed nurse.  Only the 
following stock dangerous drugs may 
be kept:
			   (a)	
tuberculin testing solution; and
			   (b)	
vaccines as recommended by the 
centers for disease control (CDC) 
and prevention’s advisory committee 
on immunization practices and 
appropriate for the facility population 
served; and
			   (c)	
naloxone for opioid overdose.
		  (9)	 Consultant 
pharmacist shall include in the 
procedures manual the name of 
individual(s) responsible for the 
assistance with the medication.
		  (10)	 It shall be 
the responsibility of the pharmacist 
to give proper training/instruction to 
the person(s) at the facility who have 
day-to-day responsibility for receipt 
and administration of medications 
to resident when adverse reactions, 
special diet, or any other information 
relative to the administration of a drug 
is needed by the staff.
		  (11)	 The 
consultant pharmacist shall be 
required to maintain a patient profile 
on each individual, if applicable to the 
facility and individual.
		  (12)	 The 
consultant pharmacist shall visit the 
facility no less than once a quarter 
or more often, commensurate with 
patient drug regimen and shall be 
available in emergencies, when 
needed.  A log shall be maintained 
indicating all visits to the facility and 
noting any activities or irregularities 
to be recorded or reported.  This 
log shall be available for state drug 
inspectors’ review upon request.
		  (13)	 The 
consultant shall be responsible for the 
preparation of a procedures manual 
outlining procedures for the receipt, 
storage, record keeping, maintenance 
of patient profiles, administration and 
accountability of all legend drugs 
and procedures for the removal and 
destruction of unwanted, unused, 

outdated or recalled drugs - controlled 
substances shall be handled pursuant 
to state and federal regulations.
	 E.	 No drug that 
has been dispensed pursuant to 
a prescription and has left the 
physical premises of the facility 
licensed by the board shall be 
dispensed or reused again except 
the re-labeling and reuse of 
pharmaceuticals may be permitted 
in the following situations:  in a 
correctional facility, licensed by 
the board, under the following 
circumstances dangerous drugs, 
excluding controlled substances, may 
be re-used:
		  (1)	 the patients 
must reside in the same facility;
		  (2)	 the 
reused medication must have been 
discontinued from the original 
patient’s drug regimen;
		  (3)	 the drug 
was never out of the possession 
of the licensee “keep on person 
pharmaceuticals may never be 
reused”;
		  (4)	 the 
drugs were originally dispensed in 
packaging that is unopened, single-
dose or tamper-evident containers;
		  (5)	 the patient 
receiving the re-labeled medication 
must have a valid prescription/order 
for the medication that is to be reused;
		  (6)	
repackaging and re-labeling may only 
be completed on site by the consultant 
pharmacist designated for that facility.
	 F.	 The consultant 
pharmacist must maintain 
records at the facility for three 
years containing the following 
information:
		  (1)	 date when 
the re-labeling occurred;
		  (2)	 the name 
and ID of the patient for whom the 
medication was originally intended 
for and the date in which it was 
discontinued from his or her drug 
regimen;
		  (3)	 the name 
and ID of the patient who will receive 
the reused medication;
		  (4)	 the name, 
strength and amount of the medication 
being reused;
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		  (5)	 the 
name of pharmacist re-labeling the 
medication;
		  (6)	 pursuant 
to 16.19.10.11 NMAC the pharmacist 
must label the reused pharmaceutical 
and maintain a dispensing log for 
all such re-issued pharmaceuticals 
and the expiration date for such re-
issued drugs shall be no greater than 
fifty percent of the time remaining 
from the date of repackaging until 
the expiration date indicated on the 
original dispensing label or container.
[8/27/1990; 16.19.4.11 NMAC - 
Rn, 16 NMAC 19.4.11, 3/30/2002; 
A, 6/30/2006; A, 10/24/2014; A, 
12/13/2015; A, 11/30/2021; A, 
9/13/2022]

16.19.4.12	 IMPAIRED 
PHARMACIST:
	 A.	 Definitions;  For 
the purpose of this section:
		  (1)	 Chemical 
dependence - repeated use of alcohol 
or drugs culminating in a pattern of 
chemical need.
		  (2)	
Disciplinary authority - the board 
which may discipline pharmacists.
		  (3)	 Diversion 
- illicit dispensing, distribution 
or administration of a scheduled 
controlled substance not in the normal 
course of professional practice.
		  (4)	 Drug - 
a chemical substance alone or in 
combination including alcohol.
		  (5)	 Drug abuse 
- improper or excessive use of a drug 
to the detriment of the individual and/
or society.
		  (6)	 Impaired 
pharmacist - a pharmacist who is 
unable to practice pharmacy with 
reasonable skill, competence or 
safety to the public because of drug 
abuse, and/or mental illness, the aging 
process or loss of motor skills, sight 
or hearing.
		  (7)	 Licensing 
authority - authority that licenses/
registers pharmacists.
		  (8)	 Recovering 
- a term used to describe an impaired 
pharmacist who has successfully 
completed the approved treatment 

program and is being rehabilitated 
in accordance with a professionally 
prescribed aftercare treatment.  
(Use of “recovering” rather than 
“recovered” is intended to indicate 
that recovery is a continuous process 
with no finite end point).
		  (9)	
Reinstatement - the process whereby 
the recovering impaired pharmacist 
is permitted to resume the practice of 
pharmacy.
		  (10)	 Treatment 
- the therapeutic interruption of the 
disease process by competent and 
skilled professional resources.
	 B.	 Applicability:  
This regulation is applicable to all 
licensed/registered externs, interns, 
pharmacists, and any other board 
licensee/registrant.  For the purpose 
of this regulation, the word “licensee” 
shall include all persons licensed/
registered by the board of pharmacy.
	 C.	 Procedures:
		  (1)	 I m p a i r e d 
pharmacist reporting:
			   (a)	
If any person knows or suspects that a 
licensee is impaired, that person shall 
report any relevant information either 
to the impaired pharmacist program or 
to the board of pharmacy (“board”).
			   (b)	
When the board receives an initial 
report relating to an alleged impaired 
board licensee, that authority may:
				    (i)	
refer the licensee to the impaired 
pharmacist program for verification, 
intervention and subsequent 
evaluation and/or treatment; or
			                (ii)	
verify the information provided on the 
alleged impaired licensee and assume 
the responsibility for intervention 
and referral for evaluation and/or 
treatment; or
			               (iii)	
file a complaint to initiate disciplinary 
action.
		  (2)	
Intervention:  board approved 
intervenors shall:
			   (a)	
Respond to information from 
concerned individuals.

			   (b)	
Ascertain validity of the information 
received.
			   (c)	
Perform additional necessary 
investigations to arrive at an accurate 
position prior to contacting the 
alleged impaired licensee; and, if 
necessary, to perform intervention.
			   (d)	
Contact the alleged impaired licensee.  
After intervention, referral may be 
made to evaluation/treatment center at 
licensee’s expense.  (Contact shall be 
made as planned intervention).
			   (e)	
Reduce all reports in writing 
and place in permanent file for 
preservation of the report until the 
situation is satisfied.
		  (3)	 Treatment:
			   (a)	
Structured treatment - an approved 
treatment plan which shall include 
inpatient and/or outpatient therapy 
as recommended/required.  With the 
consent of the treatment provider, the 
plan may include, but is not limited 
to, individualized inpatient and/or 
outpatient care.  Following either an 
intensive inpatient or outpatient care, 
after treatment may be prescribed by 
the provider with the approval of the 
board and/or Impaired Pharmacist 
Committee.
			   (b)	
Supervised treatment - treatment 
which is prescribed by the treatment 
provider and approved by the board 
and/or impaired pharmacist program.
		  (4)	
Disciplinary sanctions:  board 
authority referral to the impaired 
pharmacist program - when an 
impaired licensee who has been 
reported to the board successfully 
completes a board/committee 
approved treatment program, that 
licensee must appear before the board 
as a condition of consideration for 
reinstatement.  The licensee must 
provide documentary evidence from 
the approved treatment program, 
stating that the licensee has reached 
recovery and may be allowed to 
practice without endangering the 
public.  The board may suspend the 
registration/license, stay the execution 



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIII, Issue 17/ September 13, 20221236
of the suspension and impose a 
period of probation during which the 
following conditions shall be met:
			   (a)	
the licensee shall strictly adhere to the 
aftercare program; and
			   (b)	
during the probationary period, the 
licensee shall comply with the general 
and special conditions of probation 
imposed by the board, including but 
not limited to, monitoring and drug 
screens where applicable.
		  (5)	
Confidentiality;  The names of 
voluntary participants in the 
program and records relating to 
their referral and treatment are 
confidential pursuant to Section 61-
11A-3 and Section 61-11A-7 NMSA 
1978, provided, however, that this 
information may be disclosed:
			   (a)	
in a disciplinary hearing before the 
board and in court proceedings arising 
therefrom;
			   (b)	
to the board and to the pharmacist’s 
licensing/disciplinary authorities of 
other jurisdictions in accordance with 
law;
			   (c)	
pursuant to an order of a court of 
competent jurisdiction;
			   (d)	
injunctive proceedings brought by the 
board; and
			   (e)	 as 
otherwise provided by law.
		  (6)	 Civil 
immunity;  No member of the board 
or the committee or any board-
approved intervenor shall be liable 
for any civil damages because of acts 
or omissions which may occur while 
acting in good faith pursuant to the 
Impaired Pharmacists Act (61-11A-1 
to 61-11A-8 NMSA, 1978).
[8/27/1990; 16.19.4.12 NMAC - Rn, 
16 NMAC 19.4.12, 3/30/2002; A, 
9/13/2022]

16.19.4.16	
RESPONSIBILITIES OF 
PHARMACIST AND 
PHARMACIST INTERN:
	 A.	 The following 
responsibilities require the use of 

professional [judgement] judgment 
and therefore shall be performed only 
by a pharmacist or pharmacist intern:
		  (1)	 receipt of 
all new verbal prescription orders and 
reduction to writing;
		  (2)	 initial 
identification, evaluation and 
interpretation of the prescription 
order and any necessary clinical 
clarification prior to dispensing;
		  (3)	
professional consultation with a 
patient or his agent regarding a 
prescription;
		  (4)	 evaluation 
of available clinical data in patient 
medication record system;
		  (5)	 oral 
communication with the patient or 
patient’s agent of information, as 
defined in this section under patient 
counseling, in order to improve 
therapy by ensuring proper use of 
drugs and devices;
		  (6)	
professional consultation with the 
prescriber, the prescriber’s agent, or 
any other health care professional 
or authorized agent regarding a 
patient and any medical information 
pertaining to the prescription;
		  (7)	 drug 
regimen review, as defined in Section 
61-11-2L NMSA 1978;
		  (8)	
professional consultation, without 
dispensing, will require that the 
patient be provided with the 
identification of the pharmacist 
or pharmacy intern providing the 
service.
	 B.	 Only a pharmacist 
shall perform the following duties:
		  (1)	 final 
check on all aspects of the completed 
prescription including sterile products 
and cytotoxic preparations, and 
assumption of the responsibility for 
the filled prescription, including, 
but not limited to, appropriateness 
of dose, accuracy of drug, strength, 
labeling, verification of ingredients 
and proper container;
		  (2)	 evaluation 
of pharmaceuticals for formulary 
selection within the facility;

		  (3)	 supervision 
of all supportive personnel activities 
including preparation, mixing, 
assembling, packaging, labeling and 
storage of medications;
		  (4)	 ensure 
that supportive personnel have been 
properly trained for the duties they 
may perform;
		  (5)	 any verbal 
communication with a patient or 
patient’s representative regarding a 
change in drug therapy or performing 
therapeutic interchanges (i.e. drugs 
with similar effects in specific 
therapeutic categories); this does 
not apply to substitution of generic 
equivalents;
		  (6)	 any other 
duty required of a pharmacist by any 
federal or state law.
	 C.	 Patient records.
		  (1)	 A 
reasonable effort must be made to 
obtain, record and maintain at least 
the following information:
			   (a)	
name, address, telephone number, 
date of birth (or age) and gender of 
the patient;
			   (b)	
individual medical history, if 
significant, including disease state 
or states, known allergies and drug 
reactions and a comprehensive list of 
medications and relevant devices; and
			   (c)	
pharmacists comments relevant to the 
individuals drug therapy.
		  (2)	 Such 
information contained in the patient 
record should be considered by the 
pharmacist or pharmacist intern in 
the exercise of their professional 
[judgement] judgment concerning 
both the offer to counsel and the 
content of counseling.
	 D.	 Prospective drug 
review.
		  (1)	 Prior 
to dispensing any prescription, a 
pharmacist shall review the patient 
profile for the purpose of identifying:
			   (a)	
clinical abuse/misuse;
			   (b)	
therapeutic duplication;
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			   (c)	
drug-disease contraindications;
			   (d)	
drug-drug interactions;
			   (e)	
incorrect drug dosage;
			   (f)	
incorrect duration of drug treatment;
			   (g)	
drug-allergy interactions;
			   (h)	
appropriate medication indication.
		  (2)	 Upon 
recognizing any of the above, a 
pharmacist, using professional 
judgment, shall take appropriate 
steps to avoid or resolve the 
potential problem.  These steps may 
include requesting and reviewing 
a controlled substance prescription 
monitoring report or another states’ 
reports if applicable and available, 
and consulting with the prescriber 
and counseling the patient.  The 
pharmacist shall document steps taken 
to resolve the potential problem.
	 E.	 Prescription 
monitoring program (PMP) report 
for opioid prescriptions.  When 
presented with an opioid prescription 
for a patient, obtaining and reviewing 
a PMP report for that patient can 
be an important tool that assists the 
pharmacist in identifying issues or 
problems that put his or her patient 
at risk of prescription drug abuse, 
overdose, or diversion.  A pharmacist 
shall use professional judgment based 
on prevailing standards of practice 
in determining whether to obtain 
and review a PMP report before 
dispensing an opioid prescription to 
that patient, and shall document his or 
her action regarding such reports.
		  (1)	 A 
pharmacist shall request and review 
a PMP report covering at least a one 
year time period and another states’ 
report, where applicable and available 
if;
			   (a)	
a pharmacist becomes aware of a 
person currently exhibiting potential 
abuse or misuse of opioids (i.e. over-
utilization, early refills, multiple 
prescribers, appears overly sedated 
or intoxicated upon presenting 
a precription for an opioid or an 

unfamiliar patient requesting an 
opioid by specific name, street name, 
color, or identifying marks, or paying 
cash when the patient has prescription 
insurance);
			   (b)	
a pharmacist receives an opioid 
prescription issued by a prescriber 
with whom the pharmacist is 
unfamiliar (i.e. prescriber is located 
out-of-state or prescriber is outside 
the usual pharmacy geographic 
prescriber care area);
			   (c)	
a pharmacist receives an opioid 
prescription for an unfamiliar 
patient who resides outside the 
usual pharmacy geographic patient 
population area;
			   (d)	
a pharmacist receives an initial 
prescription for any long-acting 
opioid formulations, including oral 
and transdermal dosage forms (e.g 
fentanyl or methadone);
			   (e)	
a pharmacist becomes aware 
of a patient receiving an opioid 
concurrently with a benzodiazepine or 
carisoprodol;
		  (2)	 The 
pharmacist shall document the review 
of these PMP reports.
		  (3)	 Upon 
recognizing any of the above 
conditions described in Paragraph (1 ) 
of Subsection E of 16.19.4.16 NMAC, 
a pharmacist, using professional 
[judgement] judgment, shall take 
appropriate steps to avoid or resolve 
the potential problem.  These steps 
may include consulting with the 
prescriber and counseling the patient.  
The pharmacist shall document steps 
taken to resolve the potential problem.
		  (4)	 After 
obtaining an initial PMP report on 
a patient, a pharmacist shall use 
professional judgment base on 
prevailing standards of practice, in 
deciding the frequency of requesting 
and reviewing further prescription 
monitoring reports and other states’ 
reports for that patient.  Except that 
PMP reports shall be reviewed a 
minimum of once every three months 
during the continuous use of opioids 
for each established patient.  The 

pharmacist shall document the review 
of these reports.
		  (5)	 In the 
event a report is not immediately 
available, the pharmacist shall use 
professional judgment in determining 
whether it is appropriate and in the 
patient’s best interest to dispense 
the prescription prior to receiving a 
report.
		  (6)	 A 
prescription for an opioid written for 
a patient in a long term care facility 
(LTCF) or for a patient with a medical 
diagnosis documenting a terminal 
illness is exempt from Subsection 
E of 16.19.4.16 NMAC.  If there is 
any question whether a patient may 
be classified as having a terminal 
illness, the pharmacist shall contact 
the practitioner.  The pharmacist 
shall document whether the patient is 
“terminally ill” or an “LTCF patient”.
	 F.	 Counseling.
		  (1)	 Upon 
receipt of a new prescription drug 
order and following a review of the 
patient’s record, a pharmacist or 
pharmacist intern shall personally 
offer to counsel on matters which 
will enhance or optimize drug 
therapy with each patient or the 
patient’s agent.  Upon receipt of 
a refill prescription drug order a 
pharmacy technician may query the 
patient or patient’s agent regarding 
counseling by the pharmacist or 
pharmacist intern concerning drug 
therapy.  Such counseling shall be 
in person, whenever practicable, 
or by telephone, and shall include 
appropriate elements of patient 
counseling which may include, 
in their professional [judgement] 
judgment, one or more of the 
following:
			   (a)	
the name and description of the drug;
			   (b)	
the dosage form, dosage, route of 
administration, and duration of drug 
therapy;
			   (c)	
intended use of the drug and expected 
action;
			   (d)	
special directions and precautions for 
preparation, administration and use by 
the patient;
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		                 (e)	
common severe side or adverse 
effects or interactions and therapeutic 
contraindications that may be 
encountered, including their 
avoidance and the action required if 
they occur;
			   (f)	
techniques for self-monitoring drug 
therapy;
			   (g)	
proper storage;
			   (h)	
prescriptions refill information;
			   (i)	
action to be taken in the event of a 
missed dose;
			   (j)	
the need to check with the pharmacist 
or practitioner before taking other 
medication; and
			   (k)	
pharmacist comments relevant to the 
individual’s drug therapy, including 
any other information peculiar to the 
specific patient or drug.
		  (2)	
[REPEALED]
		  (3)	 Alternative 
forms of patient information may be 
used to supplement patient counseling 
when appropriate.  Examples include, 
but not limited to, written information 
leaflets, pictogram labels and video 
programs.
		  (4)	 Patient 
counseling, as described above 
and defined in this regulation shall 
not be required for in-patients of a 
hospital or institution where other 
licensed health care professionals are 
authorized to administer the drug(s).
		  (5)	 A 
pharmacist shall in no way attempt 
to circumvent or willfully discourage 
a patient or patient’s agent from 
receiving counseling.  However, a 
pharmacist shall not be required to 
counsel a patient or patients’s agent 
when the patient or patients’s agent 
refuses such consultation.
		  (6)	 When 
the patient or agent is not present 
when the prescription is dispensed 
including, but not limited to, a 
prescription that was shipped by the 
mail, the pharmacist shall ensure 
that the patient receives written 

notice of available counseling.  Such 
notice shall include days and hours 
of availability, and:  (a) of his or 
her right to request counseling; and 
(b) a toll-free telephone number in 
which the patient or patient’s agent 
may obtain oral counseling from a 
pharmacist who has ready access to 
the patient’s record.  For pharmacies 
delivering more than fifty percent 
of their prescriptions by mail or 
other common carrier, the hours of 
availability shall be a minimum of 
60 hours per week and not less than 
six days per week.  The facility must 
have sufficient toll-free phone lines 
and personnel to provide counseling 
within 15 minutes.
		  (7)	 In every 
pharmacy there shall be prominently 
posted in a place conspicuous to 
and readable by prescription drug 
consumers a notice concerning 
available counseling.
	 G.	 [REPEALED]
	 H.	 Regulatory 
assessment.  Profiles, either electronic 
or hard copy, shall be available for 
inspection, and shall provide the 
capability of storing the described 
historical information.  The profiles 
must demonstrate that an effort is 
being made to fulfill the requirements 
by the completion of the detail 
required.  A patient record shall be 
maintained for a period of not less 
than three years from the date of the 
last entry in the profile record.
[8/27/1990; 16.19.4.16 NMAC - 
Rn, 16 NMAC 19.4.16, 3/30/2002; 
16.19.4.16 NMAC - Rn, 16.19.4.17 
NMAC, 12/15/2002; A, 2/1/2004; 
A, 11/30/2004; A, 1/15/2005; 
A, 1/31/2007; A, 8/31/2012; A, 
10/25/2012; A, 10/19/2019; A, 
9/13/2022]

16.19.4.17	 PHARMACIST 
CLINICIAN:
	 A.	 Purpose:  The 
purpose of these regulations is 
to implement the Pharmacist 
Prescriptive Authority Act, Sections 
61-11B-1 through 61-11B-3 NMSA 
1978 by providing minimum 
standards, terms and conditions for 
the certification, registration, practice, 
and supervision of pharmacist 

clinicians.  These regulations are 
adopted pursuant to Section 61-11B-
3 NMSA 1978 of the Pharmacist 
Prescriptive Authority Act.
	 B.	 Initial certification 
and registrants.
		  (1)	 The 
board may certify and register a 
pharmacist as a pharmacist clinician 
upon completion of an application 
for certification and satisfaction of 
the requirements set forth in these 
regulations.
		  (2)	
A pharmacist who applies for 
certification and registration as a 
pharmacist clinician shall complete 
application forms as required by the 
board and shall pay a fee.  The fee 
shall be set by the board to defray the 
cost of processing the application, 
which fee is not returnable.
		  (3)	 To obtain 
initial certification and registration as 
a pharmacist clinician, the following 
must be submitted:
			   (a)	
proof of completion of 60 hour board 
approved physical assessment course, 
followed by a 150 hour, 300 patient 
contact preceptorship supervised by 
a physician or other practitioner with 
prescriptive authority, with hours 
counted only during direct patient 
interactions;
			   (b)	
the applicant will submit a log of 
patient encounters as part of the 
application;
			   (c)	
patient encounters must be initiated 
and completed within two years of the 
application;
			   (d)	
a pharmacist clinician requesting 
a controlled substance registration 
to prescribe controlled substance 
in schedule II or schedule III shall 
be trained in responsible opioid 
prescribing practices.  Educational 
programs shall include an 
understanding of the pharmacology 
and risks of controlled substances, a 
basic awareness of the problems of 
abuse, addiction, and diversion, and 
awareness of the state and federal 
regulations of the prescribing of 
controlled substances.
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		  (4)	 The board 
shall register each pharmacist certified 
as a pharmacist clinician.
		  (5)	 Upon 
certification and registration by the 
board, the name and address of the 
pharmacist clinician, (name of the 
supervising physician if applicable), 
and other pertinent information shall 
be enrolled by the board on a roster of 
pharmacist clinicians.
	 C.	 Biennial renewal of 
registration.
		  (1)	 Renewal 
applications shall be submitted prior 
to the license expiration.
		  (2)	
Applications for renewal must 
include:
			   (a)	
after January 1, 2013, documentation 
of continuing education hours, 
including proof of completion of 2.0 
CEU 20 contact hours of live CPE or 
continuing medical education (CME) 
approved by (ACPE) or [AACME]  
ACCME (live programs provided by 
other continuing education providers 
may be submitted for review and 
approval to the board), beyond the 
required hours in 16.19.4.10 NMAC 
(as amended), as required by the 
board; and
			   (b)	
effective January 1, 2015, a 
pharmacist clinician with a controlled 
substance registration to prescribe 
controlled substances listed in 
schedule II or schedule III shall 
complete a minimum of 0.2 CEU (two 
contact hours) per renewal period in 
the subject area of responsible opioid 
prescribing practices, and
			   (c)	
a current protocol of collaborative 
practice signed by the supervising 
physician (if prescriptive authority is 
sought); and
			   (d)	
a copy of the pharmacist clinicians 
registration with the supervising 
physicians board (if prescriptive 
authority is sought); and
			   (e)	
other additional information as 
requested by the board.
	 D.	 Prescriptive 
authority, guidelines or protocol.

		  (1)	 Only a 
registered pharmacist clinician with 
current protocols, registered with the 
New Mexico medical board [or the 
New Mexico board of osteopathic 
medical examiners], may exercise 
prescriptive authority.
		  (2)	 A 
pharmacist clinician seeking to 
exercise prescriptive authority shall 
submit an application to the board.  
The application must include the 
supervising physicians’ name and 
current medical license, protocol 
of collaborative practice and other 
information requested by the board.  
A pharmacist may submit the 
application with the initial application 
for certification or as a separate 
application after becoming certified 
and registered as a pharmacist 
clinician.
		  (3)	 The 
protocol will be established and 
approved by the supervising physician 
as set forth in these regulations and 
will be kept on file at each practice 
site of the pharmacist clinician and 
with the board.
		  (4)	 The 
protocol must include:
			   (a)	
name of the physician(s) authorized to 
prescribe dangerous drugs and name 
of the pharmacist clinician;
			   (b)	
statement of the types of prescriptive 
authority decisions the pharmacist 
clinician is authorized to make, 
including, but not limited to:
				    (i)	
types of diseases, dangerous drugs or 
dangerous drug categories involved 
and the type of prescriptive authority 
authorized in each case;
			                (ii)	
ordering lab tests and other tests 
appropriate for monitoring of drug 
therapy;
			               (iii)	
procedures, decision criteria or 
plan the pharmacist clinician is to 
follow when exercising prescriptive 
authority;
		                 (c)	
activities to be followed by the 
pharmacist clinician while exercising 
prescriptive authority, including 

documentation of feedback 
to the authorizing physician 
concerning specific decisions made; 
documentation may be made on the 
prescriptive record, patient profile, 
patient medical chart or in a separate 
log book;
			   (d)	
description of appropriate 
mechanisms for consulting with the 
supervising physician, including a 
quality assurance program for review 
of medical services provided by the 
pharmacist clinician, (this quality 
assurance program will be available 
for board review); and
			   (e)	
description of the scope of practice of 
the pharmacist clinician.
		  (5)	 Pharmacist 
clinicians shall not prescribe 
dangerous drugs including controlled 
substances for self-treatment or 
treatment of immediate family 
members, except under emergency 
situations.  This will not apply to 
medications that may be prescribed 
under 16.19.26 NMAC.
	 E.	 Scope of practice.
		  (1)	 A 
pharmacist clinician shall perform 
only those services that are delineated 
in the protocol and are within the 
scope of practice of the supervising 
physician or alternate supervising 
physician(s).
		  (2)	 A 
pharmacist clinician may practice in 
a health care institution within the 
policies of that institution.
		  (3)	 A 
pharmacist clinician may prescribe 
controlled substances provided that 
the pharmacist clinician:
			   (a)	
has obtained a New Mexico 
controlled substances registration 
and a drug enforcement agency 
registration, and
			   (b)	
prescribes controlled substances 
within the parameters of written 
guidelines or protocols established 
under these regulations and 
Subsection A of 61-11B-3 NMSA 
1978 of the Pharmacist Prescriptive 
Authority Act.
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		  (4)	 The 
board may, in its discretion after 
investigation and evaluation, 
place limitations on the tasks a 
pharmacist clinician may perform 
under the authority and direction of 
a supervising physician or alternate 
supervising physician(s).
	 F.	 Prescription 
monitoring program:
		  (1)	 A 
pharmacist clinician exercising 
prescriptive authority in the 
prescribing of a controlled substance;
			   (a)	
shall register with the board to 
become a regular participant in PMP 
inquiry and reporting;
			   (b)	
may authorize delegate(s) to 
aceess the PMP report consistent 
with 16.19.29 NMAC; while a 
pharmacist clinician’s delegate 
may obtain a report from the states’ 
PMP, pharmacist clinician is solely 
responsible for reviewing the PMP 
report and documenting the receipt 
and review of a report in the patient’s 
medical record;
			   (c)	
before a pharmacist clinician 
prescribes for the first time, a 
controlled substance in schedule II, III 
or IV to a patient for a period greater 
than four days, or if there is a gap in 
prescribing the controlled substance 
for 30 days or more, the pharmacist 
clinician shall review a PMP report 
for the patient for the preceeding 
12 months; when available, the 
pharmacist [clinicain] clinician shall 
review similar reports from adjacent 
states; the pharmacist [clinicain] 
clinician shall document the receipt 
and review of such reports in the 
patient’s medical record;
			   (d)	 a 
PMP report shall be;
				    (i)	
reviewed a minimum of once every 
three months during the continuous 
use of an opioid, benzodiazepine, or 
carisoprodol for each patient; and
			                (ii)	
reviewed a minimum of once every 
six months during the continuous use 
of a controlled substance in schedule 
II, III or IV which is not an opioid, 

benzodiazepine, or carisoprodol for 
each patient; and
			               (iii)  
the pharmacist clinician shall 
document the review of these reports 
in the patient’s medical record; 
nothing in this section shall be 
construed as preventing a pharmacist 
clinician from reviewing PMP reports 
with geater frequency than that 
required by this section;
			   (e)	
a pharmacist clinician does not have 
to obtain and review a PMP report 
before prescribing, ordering, or 
dispensing a controlled substance in 
schedule II, III or IV;
				    (i)	
to a patient in a nursing facility; or
			                (ii)	
to a patient in hospice care.
			   (f)	
upon review of a PMP report for a 
patient, the pharmacist clinician shall 
identify and be aware of a patient 
currently receiving:
				    (i)	
opioids from multiple prescribers;
			                (ii)	
opioids and benzodiazepines 
concurrently;
			               (iii)	
opioids for more than 12 consecutive 
weeks;
			               (iv)	
more than one controlled substance 
analgesic;
			                (v)	
opioids totaling more than 90 
morphine milligram equivalents per 
day;
			               (vi)	
exhibiting potential for abuse [of] or 
misuse of opioids and other controlled 
substances, such as over-utilization, 
requests to fill early, requests for 
specific opioids, requests to pay cash 
when insurance is available, receiving 
opioids from multiple pharmacies.
			   (g)	
upon recognizing any of the above 
conditions described in Subparagraph 
(f) of Paragraph (1) of Subsection F 
of 16.19.4.17 NMAC, the pharmacist 
clinician using professional 
[judgement] judgment based on 
prevailing standards of practice, shall 
take action as appropriate to prevent, 

mitigate, or resolve any potential 
problems or risks that may result in 
opioid misuse, abuse, or overdose; 
these steps may involve counseling 
the patient on known risks and 
realistic benefits of opioid therapy, 
prescription and training for naloxone, 
consultation with or referral to a pain 
management specialist, offering or 
arranging treatment for opioid or 
substance use disorder; the pharmacist 
clinician shall document actions taken 
to prevent, mitigate, or resolve the 
potential problems or risks.
		  (2)	 Pharmacist 
clinician’s licensed to practice in an 
opioid treatment program, as defined 
in 7.32.8 NMAC, shall review a 
PMP report upon a patients’ initial 
enrollment into the opioid treatment 
program and every three months 
thereafter while prescribing, ordering, 
administering, or dispensing opioid 
treatment medications in schedule 
II or III for the purpose of treating 
opioid use disorder.  The pharmacist 
clinician shall document the receipt 
and review of a report in the patients’ 
medical record.
	 G.	 Complaints and 
appeals.
		  (1)	 The 
chair of the board will appoint two 
members of the board, and the 
president of the supervising physician 
respective board will appoint two 
members of the respective board to 
the oversight committee; the oversight 
committee will review complaints 
concerning the pharmacist clinician 
practice; the oversight committee 
will make a report that may include 
non-binding recommendations 
to both the board and respective 
board(s) regarding disciplinary action.  
Each board can accept or reject the 
recommendations.
		  (2)	 Any 
applicant for certification or any 
pharmacist clinician may appeal a 
decision of the board in accordance 
with the provisions of the Uniform 
Licensing Act, Sections 61-1-1 to 61-
1-33 NMSA 1978.
[3/14/1998; 16.19.4.17 NMAC - 
Rn, 16 NMAC 19.4.17, 3/30/2002; 
16.19.4.17 NMAC - Rn, 16.19.4.18 
NMAC, 12/15/2002; A, 9/30/2003; 
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A, 1/31/2007; A, 5/14/2010; 
A, 8/16/2010; A, 10/25/2012; 
A, 3/23/2013; A, 6/29/2013; A, 
8/12/2013; A, 10/19/2019; A 
9/14/2021; A, 9/13/2022]
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
PHARMACY, BOARD OF

This amendment to 16.19.10 
NMAC, Sections 1, 3, 7, 10, and 11, 
effective 9/13/2022

16.19.10.1	 ISSUING 
AGENCY:  [Regulation and 
Licensing Department]] Board of 
Pharmacy, [Albuquerque, NM.]
[2/15/1889...2/15/1996; 16.19.10.1 
NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 19.10.1, 
3/30/2002; A, 8/12/2013; A, 
9/13/2022]

16.19.10.3	 STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Paragraph (6) of 
Subsection A of Section 61-11-6 
NMSA 1978 requires the Board of 
Pharmacy to provide for the licensing 
of industrial and public health 
clinics and for the inspection of their 
facilities and activities.  Pursuant to 
Paragraphs (6), (7), (12), and (13) 
of Subsection B of Section 61-11-14 
NMSA 1978, the Board is authorized 
to issue drug permits, as defined 
and limited by Board regulation, for 
industrial health clinics, community 
health clinics, animal control 
facilities, and wholesalers, retailers 
and distributors of veterinary 
drugs.  Subsection (A) of Section 
26-1-16 NMSA 1978 prohibits the 
sale, disposal or possession of any 
dangerous drug except by individuals 
and entities identified in the statute, 
including clinics licensed by the 
Board.
[2/15/1996; A, 3/31/1998; 16.19.10.3 
NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 19.10.3, 
3/30/2002; A, 9/13/2022]

16.19.10.7	 DEFINITIONS:  
All terms defined in the Pharmacy Act 
or elsewhere in the Board Regulations 
shall have the same meanings in this 

regulation unless otherwise defined 
below:
	 A.	 “Clinic”, means 
any facility where one or more 
licensed practitioners diagnose and 
treat patients, and where drugs are 
stored, dispensed, distributed or 
administered for the diagnosis and 
treatment of the facility’s patients; 
provided that this definition shall not 
include the privately owned practice 
of any licensed practitioner or group 
of licensed practitioners exempt under 
Section 61-11-22 NMSA 1978, of the 
Pharmacy Act.
	 B.	 “Dispensing Unit”, 
means a container or containers of 
a drug entity, either prepackaged 
(repackaged per Board requirements) 
or the manufacturer’s original 
container(s), containing a quantity 
suitable for the prescribed treatment 
or condition.
	 C.	 “Distribute” means 
delivery of a dispensing unit (as 
defined in this section) by a licensed 
practitioner to a patient of the clinic 
by means other than dispensing.
	 D.	 “Drug Storage 
Area”, means an area restricted to the 
storage, dispensing and distribution of 
dangerous drugs.
	 E.	 “Medical Records”, 
means the medical information 
gathered and maintained for a clinic’s 
patient, including but not restricted 
to the patients weight, height, sex, 
D.O.B., allergies, diagnosis and 
treatments.
	 F.	 [“Transfer”, 
means the direct delivery, physically 
or electronically, of dangerous 
drug stock unopened containers, 
except samples, from a clinic or 
the clinic’s supplier to a pharmacy 
to be dispensed by the pharmacy 
to patients of the clinic.]  “Mobile 
narcotic treatment program”  means 
a narcotic treatment program (NTP) 
operating from a motor vehicle, as 
defined in this section, that serves as a 
mobile component (conveyance) and 
is operating under the registration of 
the NTP, and engages in maintenance 
and/ or detoxification treatment with 
narcotic drugs in schedules II–V, at a 
location or locations remote from, but 
within the same state as, its registered 

location.  Operating a mobile NTP is a 
coincident activity of an existing NTP.
	 G.	 Motor vehicle 
means a vehicle propelled under its 
own motive power and lawfully used 
on public streets, roads, or highways 
with more than three wheels in 
contact with the ground.  This term 
does not include a trailer.
	 H	 “Transfer”, means 
the direct delivery, physically or 
electronically, of dangerous drug 
stock unopened containers, except 
samples, from a clinic or the 
clinic’s supplier to a pharmacy to be 
dispensed by the pharmacy to patients 
of the clinic.
[02-15-96; 16.19.10.7 NMAC - Rn, 
16 NMAC 19.10.7, 03-30-02; A, 
9/13/2022]

16.19.10.10	 ANIMAL 
CONTROL CLINICS:
	 A.	 The New Mexico 
Board of Pharmacy acknowledges 
the establishment of animal control 
clinics. In order to protect the people 
who utilize such clinics, laws and 
safeguards pertaining to drugs 
must be observed. Medications 
must occasionally be used and 
therefore require Board of Pharmacy 
supervision.
	 B.	 The veterinarian 
in charge of and responsible for the 
clinic must specify the dangerous 
drugs to be used in such clinic. In 
order to purchase and stock any 
controlled substances, the clinic must 
obtain a separate controlled substance 
registration to be issued under the 
name of the clinic.
	 C.	 All dangerous 
drugs must be under lock when the 
veterinarian or his designee is not in 
attendance. Extra precautions should 
be provided for security of controlled 
substances.
	 D.	 A record indicating 
the following information shall be 
kept to account for the administration 
of all dangerous drugs:
		  (1)	 Date of 
administration;
		  (2)	 Type of 
animal;
		  (3)	 Name of 
medication;
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		  (4)	 Dosage 
administered;
		  (5)	 Name of 
veterinarian responsible for the order;
		  (6)	 Name of 
individual administering the dose.
	 E.	 SCHEDULE II - 
Controlled substances administration 
records must be kept in a separate 
record with the same information 
recorded.
	 F.	 SCHEDULE 
III, [AND] IV, and V controlled 
substances may be kept in the same 
record in which dangerous drugs are 
recorded provided a mechanism is 
employed to identify these entries 
(such as a red “C” marked in the 
margin of these entries).
	 G.	 The record must 
be kept up-to-date at all times and is 
subject to inspection by the Board of 
Pharmacy Drug inspectors.
	 H.	 Any clinic licensed 
by the Board of Pharmacy is required 
to have a consultant pharmacist.
		  (1)	 If the 
animal control facility does not 
use any controlled substance in its’ 
operation, a consultant pharmacist 
should visit the facility at least 
annually.
		  (2)	 If the 
animal control facility uses any 
controlled substance in its’ operation, 
a consultant pharmacist should visit 
the facility at least quarterly.
[3/7/1980; 7/29/1993; 16.19.10.10 
NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 19.10.10, 
3/30/2002; A, 9/13/2022]

16.19.10.11	 PUBLIC HEALTH 
CLINICS:
	 A.	 Clinic Licensure:  
All clinics where dangerous drugs 
are administered, distributed or 
dispensed shall obtain a limited drug 
permit as described in Paragraph (7) 
of Subsection B of Section 61-11-14 
NMSA 1978 of the Pharmacy Act 
which consists of the following types:
		  (1)	 Class A 
clinic drug permit for clinics where:
			   (a)	
dangerous drugs are administered to 
patients of the clinic;
			   (b)	
more than 12,500 dispensing units 

of dangerous drugs are dispensed or 
distributed annually;
			   (c)	
clinics dispensing only one class 
of dangerous drug or controlled 
substance, such as oral contraceptives 
[or methadone], may be approved by 
the board as a Class B3 clinic;
		  (2)	 Class B 
clinic drug permit for clinics where 
dangerous drugs are:
			   (a)	
administered to patients of the clinic; 
and
			   (b)	
dispensed or distributed to patients 
of the clinic. Class B drug permits 
shall be issued by categories based 
on the number of dispensing units 
of dangerous drugs to be dispensed 
or distributed annually, as follows:  
1. CATEGORY 1  up to 2,500 
dispensing units; 2. CATEGORY 
2  from 2,501 - 7,500 dispensing 
units; 3. CATEGORY 3  from 7,501 - 
12,500 dispensing units;
		  (3)	 Class C 
clinic drug permit for clinics where 
dangerous drugs are administered to 
patients of the clinic.
		  (4)	 Class D 
clinic drug permit for school based 
emergency medicine (SBEM) clinic 
(which does not include a Class A, 
B, or C school based health clinic) 
- any school based facility that 
chooses to possess a stock supply 
of emergency dangerous drugs; 
these emergency dangerous drugs 
are albuterol aerosol canisters with 
spacers and epinephrine standard-dose 
and pediatric-dose auto-injectors; 
these emergency dangerous drugs are 
for administration to students of the 
school; these emergency dangerous 
drugs shall be the property of the 
facility; these facilities will not stock 
of any other dangerous drug.
		  (5)	 Class E 
Narcotic Treatment Program (NTP) 
clinic drug permit for clinics where 
opioid agonist treatment medications 
that are approved by the Food and 
Drug Administration under section 
505 of the Federal Food, Drug, and 
Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. 355) for use 

in the treatment of opioid use disorder 
are used.  An NTP shall be licensed 
and certified as required by state and 
federal law, including registration 
under 21 USC 823(g)(1) and certified 
as an Opioid Treatment Program 
by the Substance Abuse and Mental 
Health Services Administration in 
accordance with 42 CFR 8.11.
	 B.	 Formularies:
		  (1)	 For all 
clinic types, drug procurement 
and storage is limited to the drugs 
listed in the dispensing formulary 
for the clinic. The formulary shall 
be developed by the pharmacy and 
therapeutics committee of the facility, 
or if no such committee exists, by the 
pharmacist and medical director of the 
clinic. The formulary drugs shall be 
appropriate for the scope of medical 
services provided at the clinic facility. 
A dangerous drug with the same 
generic name is considered one drug 
within the formulary (ie) all dosage 
forms and packages of ampicillin are 
considered one drug.
		  (2)	 For all 
clinic types, drug procurement and 
storage is limited to the drugs listed 
in the administration formulary for 
on-site administration. The formulary 
shall be developed by the pharmacy 
and therapeutics committee of the 
facility, or if no such committee 
exists, by the pharmacist and medical 
director of the clinic. The formulary 
drugs shall be appropriate for the 
scope of medical services provided 
at the clinic facility. A dangerous 
drug with the same generic name 
is considered one drug within the 
formulary (ie) all dosage forms and 
packages of ampicillin are considered 
one drug.
		  (3)	 For Class 
D, (SBEM) clinic may only stock the 
approved dangerous drugs; albuterol 
aerosol canisters with spacers and 
epinephrine standard-dose and 
pediatric-dose auto-injectors.
		  (4)	 A clinic 
may petition the board for an 
alternative dispensing formulary as set 
forth in Subsection R of 16.19.10.11 
NMAC.
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	 C.	 Consultant 
Pharmacist:
		  (1)	 Any 
facility licensed as a clinic by the 
board which does not employ a 
staff pharmacist must engage the 
services of a consultant pharmacist, 
whose duties and responsibilities 
are described in Subsection C of 
16.19.4.11 NMAC.
		  (2)	 The 
consultant pharmacist shall wear an 
identification badge listing his name 
and job title while on duty in the 
clinic.
	 D.	 Pharmacy 
Technicians and Support Personnel:
		  (1)	 Pharmacy 
technicians, working in a clinic under 
the supervision of the pharmacist, 
may perform activities associated with 
the preparation and distribution of 
medications, including prepackaging 
medications and the filling of a 
prescription or medication order.  
These activities may include counting, 
pouring, labeling and reconstituting 
medications.
		  (2)	 The 
pharmacist shall ensure that the 
pharmacy technician has completed 
the initial training required in 
Subsection A of 16.19.22.9 NMAC.
		  (3)	 A written 
record of the initial training and 
education will be maintained by the 
clinic pursuant to requirements of 
Subsection C of 16.19.22.9 NMAC.
		  (4)	 The 
permissible ratio of pharmacy 
technicians to pharmacists on duty is 
to be determined by the pharmacist in 
charge or consultant pharmacist.
		  (5)	 Support 
personnel may perform clerical duties 
associated with clinic pharmacy 
operations, including computer data 
entry, typing of labels, processing of 
orders for stock, duties associated 
with maintenance of inventory and 
dispensing records.
		  (6)	 The 
pharmacist is responsible for the 
actions of personnel; allowing actions 
outside the limits of the regulations 
shall constitute unprofessional 
conduct on the part of the pharmacist.

		  (7)	 Name tags 
including job title, shall be required 
of all personnel while on duty in the 
clinic.
	 E.	 Procurement or 
Receipt of Dangerous Drugs:
		  (1)	 The system 
of procurement for all drugs shall be 
the responsibility of the pharmacist.
		  (2)	 Records 
of receipt of dangerous drugs and 
inventories of controlled substances 
shall be maintained as required by the 
Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act 26-
1-16 and the Controlled Substances 
Act 30-31-16 and board of pharmacy 
regulation 16.19.20 NMAC.
	 F.	 Repackaging:
		  (1)	
Repackaging from bulk containers 
to dispensing units for distribution 
at locations other than the site 
of repackaging requires FDA 
registration, whether or not the 
repackaged drugs enter interstate 
commerce. (See FDA Regulations 
Title 21, Sections 207, 210 and 211).
		  (2)	
Repackaging of drug from bulk 
containers into multiple dispensing 
units for future distribution to clinic 
patients at the site of repackaging 
may be done by a physician, dentist, 
pharmacist, or by a pharmacy 
technician under the supervision 
of the pharmacist as defined in 
Subsection B of 16.19.22.7 NMAC.  
All drugs repackaged into multiple 
dispensing units by a pharmacy 
technician must undergo a final check 
by the pharmacist.
		  (3)	 A record of 
drugs repackaged must be maintained, 
to include the following.
			   (a)	
Date of repackaging.
			   (b)	
Name and strength of drug.
			   (c)	
Lot number or control number.
			   (d)	
Name of drug manufacturer.
		                (e)	
Expiration date (per USP 
requirements).
			   (f)	
Total number of dosage units (tabs, 
caps) repackaged (for each drug).

			   (g)	
Quantity per each repackaged unit 
container.
			   (h)	
Number of dosage units (tabs, caps) 
wasted.
			   (i)	
Initials of repackager.
			   (j)	
Initials of person performing final 
check.
		  (4)	 All 
dispensing units of repackaged 
medication must be labeled with the 
following information.
			   (a)	
Name, strength, and quantity of the 
drug.
			   (b)	
Lot number or control number.
			   (c)	
Name of manufacturer.
			   (d)	
Expiration date.
			   (e)	
Date drug was repackaged.
			   (f)	
Name or initials of repackager.
			   (g)	
Federal caution label, if applicable.
		  (5)	
Repackaged units must be stored 
with the manufacturer’s package 
insert until relabeled for dispensing. 
as specified under Subsection G of 
16.19.10.11 NMAC.
	 G.	 Clinic Dispensing 
or Distributing:
		  (1)	 Drugs 
shall be dispensed or distributed only 
to clinic patients on the order of a 
licensed practitioner of the clinic.
		  (2)	 The clinic 
practitioner shall record the prescribed 
drug therapy on the patient medical 
record indicating the name, strength, 
quantity and directions for use of the 
prescribed drug. This information 
shall be initialed or signed by the 
practitioner. A separate prescription 
form in addition to the medical record 
may be used.
		  (3)	 The 
prescription order may then be 
prepared by the practitioner, 
pharmacist or technician under the 
supervision of the pharmacist and 
a dispensing label affixed to the 
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dispensing unit of each drug. The 
following information shall appear 
on the label affixed to the dispensing 
unit.
			   (a)	
Name of patient.
			   (b)	
Name of prescriber.
			   (c)	
Date of dispensing.
			   (d)	
Directions for use.
			   (e)	
Name, strength, and quantity of the 
drug.
			   (f)	
Expiration date.
			   (g)	
Name, address and phone number of 
the clinic.
			   (h)	
Prescription number, if applicable.
		  (4)	 The 
pharmacist or practitioner must 
then provide a final check of the 
dispensing unit and sign or initial the 
prescription or dispensing record.
		  (5)	 Refill 
prescription orders must also be 
entered on the patient’s medical 
record and the dispensing record.
	 H.	 Patient Counseling:
		  (1)	 Each 
clinic licensed by the board shall 
develop and provide to the board 
policies and procedures addressing 
patient counseling which are at least 
equivalent to the requirements of 
Subsection F of 16.19.4.16 NMAC.
		  (2)	 If the 
consultant pharmacist is absent at 
the time of dispensing or distribution 
of a prescription from clinic drug 
stock to a clinic patient, the patient 
shall be provided written information 
when appropriate on side effects, 
interactions, and precautions 
concerning the drug or device 
provided.  Alternative forms of 
patient information may be used to 
supplement patient counseling when 
appropriate.  Examples include, but 
not limited to, written information 
leaflets, pictogram labels and video 
programs.  The clinic shall make the 
consultant pharmacist’s phone number 
available to patients for consultation 
on drugs provided by the clinic.

	 I.	 Dispensing 
Records:  A record shall be kept of the 
dangerous drugs dispensed indicating 
the date the drug was dispensed, 
name and address of the patient, 
the name of the prescriber, and the 
quantity and strength of the drug 
dispensed.  The individual recording 
the information and the pharmacist or 
clinic practitioner who is responsible 
for dispensing the medication shall 
initial the record.
	 J.	 Sample Drugs:  
Samples of medications which are 
legend drugs or which have been 
restricted to the sale on prescription 
by the New Mexico board of 
pharmacy are subject to all the 
record keeping, storage and labeling 
requirements for prescription drugs 
as defined by Section 26-1-16 NMSA 
1978 and other applicable state and 
federal laws.
	 K.	 Drug Storage:
		  (1)	 Space for 
the storage and dispensing of drugs 
shall have proper ventilation, lighting, 
temperature controls, refrigeration 
and adequate security as defined by 
the board or its’ agent.  Minimum 
space requirements for main drug 
storage areas are as follows:
			   (a)	
for Class A clinics - 240 square foot 
room;
			   (b)	
for Class B clinics;
				    (i)	
categories 1, and 2 - 48 square foot 
room; and
			                (ii)	
category 3 - 96 square foot room;
			   (c)	
for Class C clinics - an area adequate 
for the formulary.
			   (d)	
for Class D clinics - an area adequate 
for the formulary:
		                               (i)	
medication is stored in its original 
packaging until the time of 
administration, and secured in a 
secondary tamper-evident container;
			                (ii)	
the dangerous drug is stored in a 
restricted area, secure but unlocked, 
and readily accessible to authorized,  
trained personnel;

			               (iii) 
for Class D clinics only, the pre-
licensing inspection may be 
completed by a New Mexico board 
of pharmacy state drug inspector’s 
approval of record keeping 
procedures; the policy and procedure 
manual; any other required forms or 
documents; and photographs of the 
proposed dangerous drug storage area, 
secondary tamper-evident container, 
and drug storage area thermometer; 
this pre-licensing inspection may not 
require an onsite inspection.
			   (e)	
for Class E clinics – 96 square foot 
room.
		  (2)	 Controlled 
substances must be stored as defined 
in 16.19.20.48 NMAC.
		  (3)	 All drug 
containers in the facility shall be 
clearly and legibly labeled as required 
under Subsection F of 16.19.10.11 
NMAC – (REPACKAGING and 
Sections 26-1-10 and 26-1-11 of the 
Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act).
		  (4)	 Purchase, 
storage and control of drugs shall be 
designed to prevent having outdated, 
deteriorated, impure or improperly 
standardized drugs in the facility.
		  (5)	 Access 
to the drug storage area shall be 
limited to clinic practitioners, the 
pharmacist, and supportive personnel 
who are performing pharmacy-related 
functions.
		  (6)	 Clinics 
licensed by the board prior to 
adoption of this regulation are 
exempt from the minimum space 
requirements set forth in Paragraph 
(1) of Subsection K of 16.19.10.11 
NMAC. When these facilities change 
ownership, remodel the drug storage 
area, or relocate after May 15, 1996, 
the requirements of Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection K of 16.19.10.11 NMAC 
shall apply.
	 L.	 Dispositon of 
Unwanted or Outdated Drugs:
		  (1)	 The 
pharmacist shall be responsible 
for removal of recalled, outdated, 
unwanted or otherwise unusable drugs 
from the clinic inventory.
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		  (2)	 Options 
for disposal are destruction under 
the supervision of the pharmacist 
or return to the legitimate source 
of supply.  Controlled substance 
disposition shall occur in accordance 
with 16.19.20.38 NMAC.
	 M.	 Reference Material:  
Adequate reference materials are to 
be maintained in the clinic. These 
shall include a current product 
information reference such as USPDI, 
facts and comparisons, or American 
hospital formulary service; a copy of 
the state drug laws and regulations 
and a poison treatment chart with 
the regional poison control center’s 
telephone number.
	 N.	 Procedures Manual:
		  (1)	 Written 
policies and procedures shall be 
developed by the pharmacy and 
therapeutics committee, or if none, by 
the pharmacist-in-charge and clinic’s 
executive director, and implemented 
by the pharmacist-in-charge.
		  (2)	 The policy 
and procedure manual shall include 
but not be limited to the following:
			   (a)	
a current list of the names and 
addresses of the pharmacist-in-
charge, consultant-pharmacist, staff 
pharmacist(s), supportive personnel 
designated to provide drugs and 
devices, and the supportive personnel 
designated to supervise the day-to-
day pharmacy related operations 
of the clinic in the absence of the 
pharmacist;
			   (b)	
functions of the pharmacist-in-
charge, consultant pharmacist, 
staff pharmacist(s) and supportive 
personnel;
			   (c)	
clinic objectives;
			   (d)	
formularies;
			   (e)	 a 
copy of the written agreement, if any, 
between the pharmacist and the clinic;
			   (f)	
date of the last review or revision of 
policy and procedure manual; and
			   (g)	
policies and procedures for

				    (i)	
security;
			                (ii)	
equipment;
			               (iii)	
sanitation;
			               (iv)	
licensing;
			                (v)	
reference materials;
			               (vi)	
drug storage;
			              (vii)	
packaging and repackaging;
			             (viii)	
dispensing and distributing;
			               (ix)	
supervision;
			                (x)	
labeling and relabeling;
			               (xi)	
samples;
			              (xii)	
drug destruction and returns;
			             (xiii)	
drug and device procuring;
			             (xiv)	
receiving of drugs and devices;
			              (xv)	
delivery of drugs and devices;
			             (xvi)	
record keeping; and
			            (xvii)	
scope of practice.
		  (3)	 The 
procedures manual shall be reviewed 
on at least an annual basis.  A copy of 
the manual shall be kept at the clinic 
at all times.
		  (4)	 A 
written agreement defining specific 
procedures for the transfer, storage, 
dispensing and record keeping of 
clinic dangerous drug stock from a 
licensed New Mexico pharmacy will 
be included in the procedures manual. 
The agreement will be signed by a 
clinic official and pharmacy official 
and reviewed annually.
	 O.	 Patient Record:  
clinics shall maintain patient records 
as defined in Subsection C of 
16.19.4.16 NMAC.
	 P.	 Drug Transfer to a 
Pharmacy:
		  (1)	 Dangerous 
drug stock unopened containers, 
except samples, may be transferred 

physically or electronically to a 
pharmacy licensed in New Mexico for 
dispensing to clinic patients.
			   (a)	
record of transfer shall be maintained 
at the clinic and the pharmacy. It will 
include:
				    (i)	
date of transfer or shipment;
			                (ii)	
name and strength of drug;
			               (iii)	
package size;
			               (iv)	
number of packages;
			                (v)	
manufacturer or repackager; and
			               (vi)	
lot number and expiration date, unless 
transferred from a clinic supplier to a 
pharmacy.
			   (b)	
A copy of the transfer or shipment 
record will be provided to the 
pharmacy at the time of transfer. This 
record will be compared with the 
drugs for accuracy and retained by 
the pharmacy as the receipt document 
separate from other receiving records 
of the pharmacy.
			   (c)	
Transferred clinic drugs will be stored 
in the restricted area of the pharmacy 
and physically separated from all 
other pharmacy drugs.
			   (d)	
Drugs returned to the clinic by the 
pharmacy will be documented in 
a transfer record as described in 
Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection P of 16.19.10.11 NMAC. 
A copy will be maintained by the 
pharmacy and the clinic.
		  (2)	 A clinic 
may petition the board for an 
alternative drug transfer system as set 
forth in Subsection Q of 16.19.10.11 
NMAC.
		  (3)	 The 
formulary of transferred drugs for 
pharmacy dispensing is restricted to 
the clinic’s scope of practice.
	 Q.	 Pharmacy 
Dispensing:  Clinic drug stock may 
be transferred to, and maintained by, 
a pharmacy for dispensing to clinic 
patients as provided in this regulation. 
Clinic drug stock may be dispensed 
by the pharmacy if:
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		  (1)	 the drugs 
are dispensed only to a clinic patient 
with a valid prescription from a 
practitioner of that clinic;
		  (2)	 clinic 
prescriptions for clinic drugs are 
maintained separately from other 
prescriptions of the pharmacy;
		  (3)	 the 
prescription is dispensed in a 
container with a label attached which 
reads “DISPENSED FOR (clinic 
name and address) BY (pharmacy 
name and address)”;
		  (4)	 all 
packaging and labeling requirements 
for prescriptions dispensed by a 
pharmacy have been met; and
		  (5)	 patient 
records and counseling requirements 
have been maintained separately for 
all clinic patients whose prescriptions 
were filled by the pharmacy from 
clinic drug stock.
	 R.	 Petition for 
Alternative Plan:
		  (1)	 A 
clinic may petition the board for 
an alternative visitation schedule, 
dispensing formulary, or drug transfer 
system (each an “alternative plan”) as 
follows.
			   (a)	
Prior to implementation of any 
alternative plan, the clinic shall 
provide to the board a written 
petition that describes the proposed 
alternative plan and justifies the 
request. The petition shall include 
an affidavit that states that the clinic 
has a current policy and procedures 
manual on file, has adequate security 
to prevent diversion of dangerous 
drugs, and is in compliance with 
all rules applicable to the clinic. 
The affidavit shall be signed by the 
medical director, the consultant 
pharmacist, and the owner or chief 
executive officer of the clinic.  In 
addition, a petition for an alternative 
drug transfer system must include a 
detailed, written description of the 
proposed alternative transfer system 
in the policy and procedures manual 
describing:
				    (i)	
drug ownership;

			                (ii)	
drug ordering;
			               (iii)	
drug shipping;
			               (iv)	
drug receiving;
			                (v)	
drug accountability system;
			               (vi)	
formulary for transfer; and
			              (vii)	
records of transfer.
			   (b)	
The board may approve or deny the 
petition for an alternative plan, at the 
board’s discretion. The board may 
consider the following:
				    (i)	
degree of compliance by the clinic on 
past compliance inspections;
		                             (ii)	
size and type of the patient 
population;
			               (iii)	
number and types of drugs contained 
in the clinic’s formulary;
			               (iv)	
the clinic’s objectives; and
			                (v)	
impact on the health and welfare of 
the clinic’s patients.
		  (2)	 A copy of 
the board approved alternative plan 
shall be maintained at the clinic’s 
license location for review by the 
board or its agent.
		  (3)	 The 
board may terminate the alternative 
plan if the board determines that the 
clinic’s status or other circumstances 
justifying the alternative plan have 
changed.
	 S.	 Class D (SBEM) 
clinic:
		  (1)	 Only 
trained personnel may administer 
epinephrine.  Trained personnel 
can be a school employee, agent 
or volunteer who has completed 
epinephrine administration 
training documented by the school 
nurse, school principal or school 
leader and approved by the New 
Mexico department of health and 
who has been designated by the 
school principal or school leader 
to administer epinephrine on a 
voluntary basis outside of the 

scope of employment.  Epinephrine 
is administered on the standing 
order of a health care practitioner 
employed or authorized by the New 
Mexico department of health.  If 
administering epinephrine, written 
policies and procedures must be 
maintained on the premises.  These 
policies and procedures must follow 
New Mexico department of health 
requirements as well as any policy 
or procedure requirement listed in 
16.19.10.11 NMAC.  Documentation 
of New Mexico department of health 
required training must be maintained 
on-site for each trained and authorized 
person.
		  (2)	 Only a 
school nurse may administer albuterol 
to a student who is perceived to be in 
respiratory distress.  Written policies 
and procedures must be maintained at 
the licensed location.  Documentation 
of New Mexico department of health 
required training must be maintained 
on-site for each nurse.
		  (3)	 The 
following records must be kept on-site 
and available for inspection for three 
years:
			   (a)	
receipt records;
			   (b)	
destruction or other disposition 
records;
			   (c)	
storage records; storage records 
include daily (on school days) 
documented drug storage area 
temperature; documented verification 
that medication is sealed in its 
original packaging until the time 
of administration, and secured but 
unlocked in a secondary tamper-
evident container; dangerous drugs 
are stored in a restricted area, 
unlocked, and readily accessible 
to trained personnel; policies and 
procedures must be in place to ensure 
proper drug storage conditions on 
non-school days;
			   (d)	
usage records; if a dangerous drug 
is used, a record must be kept; the 
consultant pharmacist must be 
notified within a 72-hour period 
in order to review the record; in 
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addition, all New Mexico department 
of health guidelines must be followed;
			   (e)	
annual self-assessment form; this 
form will be supplied by the New 
Mexico board of pharamcy and 
shall be reviewed by the consultant 
pharmacist at least annually;
			   (f)	
consultant pharmacist record of 
activities and comments;
			   (g)	 a 
current copy of facility’s New Mexico 
board of pharmacy registration and 
the consultant pharmacist’s current 
license will be posted in the drug 
storage area;
			   (h)	
policy and procedure manual.
		  (4)	 Albuterol 
and epinephrine must be stored in a 
secure but unlocked, temper evident, 
container.  This container must be in 
a restricted area but readily accessible 
to trained personnel.  A list of the 
contents, including expiration dates, 
must be posted on the outside of the 
container.
	 T.	 NTP clinic:
		  (1)	
Administering, dispensing, 
distributing or supplying:
			   (a)	
Drugs shall be administered, 
dispensed, distributed, or supplied 
only to clinic patients on the order of 
a licensed practitioner of the clinic.  
This provision does not prohibit 
guest dosing pursuant to policies and 
procedures and in compliance with 
federal law, or supplying an opioid 
antagonist for rescue use.
			   (b)	
The clinic practitioner shall record the 
prescribed drug therapy on the patient 
medical record indicating the name, 
strength, quantity and directions for 
use of the prescribed drug.
			   (c)	
The order may then be prepared 
by the practitioner, pharmacist, or 
technician under the supervision of 
the pharmacist and a dispensing label 
affixed to the dispensing unit of each 
drug.  The pharmacist or practitioner 
must then provide a final check of the 
dispensing unit and sign or initial the 
prescription or dispensing record.

			   (d)	
Methadone for take-home purposes 
may be supplied to a clinic patient 
in a properly labeled dispensing unit 
by a registered nurse or licensed 
practical nurse employed by the 
NTP.  Supplying of methadone in this 
manner is not considered dispensing.
			   (e)	
The following information shall 
appear on the label affixed to the take 
home medication unit:
				    (i)	
name of patient;
			                (ii)	
name of prescriber;
			               (iii)	
date of dispensing;
			               (iv)	
directions for use;
			                (v)	
name, strength, and quantity of the 
drug;
			               (vi)	
expiration date;
			              (vii)	
name, address and phone number of 
the clinic;
			             (viii)	
prescription number, if applicable; 
and
			               (ix)	
additional required information, such 
as federal statement(s).
		  (2)	 Records 
and reports:
			   (a)	
Each NTP clinic, including a mobile 
NTP, shall maintain records with 
the following information for each 
dangerous drug administered, 
dispensed, distributed or supplied 
indicating:
				    (i)	
name of substance;
			                (ii)	
strength of substance;
			               (iii)	
dosage form;
			               (iv)	
date dispensed;
			                (v)	
adequate identification of the patient;
			               (vi)	
the name of the prescriber
			              (vii)	
amount consumed;

			             (viii)	
amount, units, and dosage form taken 
home by patient; and
		                            (ix)
initials of personnel who 
administered, dispensed, distributed 
or supplied.
			   (b)	
These records will be maintained 
in an administration or dispensing, 
distributing or supplying log at the 
NTP site, or in the case of a mobile 
NTP, at the registered site of the NTP.
			   (c)	
As an alternative to maintaining a 
paper administration or dispensing, 
distributing of supplying log, an NTP 
or its mobile component may also 
use an automated/computerized data 
processing system for the storage and 
retrieval of the program’s dispensing 
records, if the following conditions 
are met:
				    (i) 	
The automated system maintains the 
information required in Paragraph (a) 
above;
			                (ii)
the automated system has the 
capability of producing a hard 
copy printout of the program’s 
administration or dispensing, 
distributing or supplying records;
			               (iii)	
the NTP or its mobile component 
prints a hard copy of each day’s 
administration or dispensing, 
distributing or supplying log, which 
is then initialed appropriately by each 
person who administered, dispensed, 
distributed or supplied medication to 
the program’s patients;
			               (iv)	
the automated system is approved by 
DEA;
			                (v)	
the NTP or its mobile component 
maintains an off-site back-up of 
all computer generated program 
information; and 
			               (vi)	
the automated system is capable of 
producing accurate summary reports 
for both the registered site of the 
NTP and any mobile component, for 
any time-frame selected by board 
personnel during an investigation. If 
these summary reports are maintained 
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in hard copy form, they must be kept 
in a systematically organized file 
located at the registered site of the 
NTP. 
			   (d)	
The NTP must retain all records 
for the NTP as well as any mobile 
component for three years from the 
date of execution.
		  (3)	 Patient 
counseling:  Each NTP clinic shall 
develop and provide to the board 
policies and procedures addressing 
patient counseling which are at least 
equivalent to the requirements of 
Subsection F of 16.19.4.16 NMAC.  
When a medication is started, the 
patient should be provided with 
patient information to supplement 
patient counseling.  Examples of 
patient information include, but not 
are limited to, written information 
leaflets, pictogram labels and video 
programs.  The clinic shall maintain 
a mechanism for the patient to be 
provided with medication information 
and counseling as requested.
	 	 (4)	 Policies 
and procedures:  In addition to 
requirements of Subsection N of 
16.19.10.11 NMAC (Procedures 
Manual), NTPs must maintain 
procedures to:
			   (a)	
 ensure appropriate training and 
qualifications of personnel for 
competent performance of assigned 
functions.
			   (b)	
ensure appropriate medication 
administration and supplying,
			   (c)	
ensure appropriate supervision 
consistent with state and federal law.
			   (d)	
support prevention of medication 
errors, including through adequate 
staffing, training, and supervision.
		  (5)	 Controls:  
Each NTP clinic must maintain 
effective controls and procedures to 
ensure maintance of required records 
in proper form and to identify theft 
or diversion of NTP clinic controlled 
substances.
		  (6)	
Responsibility:  While the consultant 
pharmacist is responsible for 

overall clinic pharmacy services, a 
corresponding responsibility rests 
with the NTP clinic, the practitioner, 
and nurses for ensuring proper 
completion of medication related 
functions and record maintenance as 
applicable.
		  (7)	
Prescription monitoring program 
(PMP) utilization:   The consultant 
pharmacist shall request and review 
a PMP report covering at least a 
one year time period and another 
states’ report for each program 
patient receiving an opioid, at least 
quarterly.  The pharmacist will use 
professional judgement to determine 
whether more frequent monitoring is 
appropriate, as in the case of patients 
who are receiving a benzodiazepine 
or carisoprodol, or an opioid 
prescribed outside of the NTP.  The 
pharmacist will use professional 
judgment in taking steps to avoid or 
resolve potential isues identified on 
PMP report review.  The pharmacist 
shall document review of these 
PMP reports, and his or her action 
regarding such reports.
		  (8)	 Moblie 
NTP:  An NTP may operate one or 
more mobile NTPs, subject to:
			   (a) 	
For any NTP intending to operate a 
mobile NTP, the NTP must notify 
the board, in writing, of its intent 
to do so, and the NTP must receive 
written approval from the board prior 
to operating the mobile NTP.  The 
mobile NTP may only operate in New 
Mexico.
			   (b) 	
An NTP clinic is not required to 
obtain a separate clinic license or 
registration for conveyances (mobile 
components) utilized by the NTP 
to transport controlled substances 
away from registered locations for 
administration or provision of take 
home doses at unregistered locations 
as part of a mobile NTP. Vehicles 
must possess valid county/city and 
state information (e.g., a vehicle 
information number (license plate 
number) on file at the registered 
location of the NTP.  
			                 (i)	
 mobile NTP is not permitted to 

reverse distribute, share, or transfer 
controlled substances from one 
mobile component to another mobile 
component while deployed away from 
the registered location.  NTPs with 
mobile components are not allowed to 
modify their registrations to authorize 
their mobile components to act as 
collectors under 21 CFR 1301.51 and 
1317.40. Mobile components of NTPs 
may not function as hospitals, long-
term care facilities, or emergency 
medical service vehicles, and will not 
transport patients.
			                (ii)	
A mobile NTP may operate at any 
remote location or locations within 
the state, including correctional 
facilities, so long as doing so is 
otherwise consistent with applicable 
federal, state, tribal, and local laws 
and regulations, and so long as the 
local DEA office, does not otherwise 
direct.
 			   (c)	
Physical security controls, mobile 
NTP; storage areas:
				    (i)	
For any conveyance operated as a 
mobile narcotic treatment program 
(NTP), a safe must be installed 
and used to store narcotic drugs 
in schedules II–V for the purpose 
of maintenance or detoxification 
treatment, when not located at the 
clinic’s registered location. The safe 
must conform to the requirements set 
forth in 21 CFR 1301.72 (a)(1).
			                (ii)	
The mobile component must also be 
equipped with an alarm system that 
conforms to the requirements set forth 
21 CFR 1301.70 (a)(1)(iii).
			               (iii)	
Accessibility to storage areas. 
The controlled substances storage 
areas shall be accessible only to 
an absolute minimum number of 
specifically authorized employees.  
When it is necessary for employee 
maintenance personnel, nonemployee 
maintenance personnel, business 
guests, or visitors to be present in or 
pass through controlled substances 
storage areas, the NTP shall provide 
for adequate observation of the 
area by an employee specifically 
authorized in writing.  The storage 
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area for controlled substances in a 
mobile component of an NTP must 
not be accessible from outside of 
the vehicle.  Personnel transporting 
the controlled substances on behalf 
of the mobile NTP are required to 
retain control over all controlled 
substances when transferring them 
between the registered location 
and the conveyance, and when 
providing medication to patients at 
remote locations. At all other times 
during transportation, all controlled 
substances must be properly secured 
in the safe.  Upon completion of 
the operation of the mobile NTP on 
a given day, the conveyance must 
be immediately returned to the 
registered location, and all controlled 
substances must be removed from 
the conveyance and secured within 
the registered location.  After the 
conveyance has returned to the 
registered location and the controlled 
substances have been removed, 
the conveyance may be parked 
until its next use at the registered 
location or any secure, fenced-in 
area, once the local DEA office has 
been notified of the location of this 
secure, fenced-in area.  All NTPs with 
mobile components shall be required 
to establish a standard operating 
procedure to ensure, if the mobile 
component becomes inoperable 
(mechanical failure, accidents, fire, 
etc.), that all controlled substances 
on the inoperable conveyance are 
accounted for, removed from the 
inoperable conveyance, and secured at 
the registered location.
			               (iv)	
Upon completion of the operation of 
the mobile NTP on a given day, the 
conveyance must be immediately 
returned to the registered location, 
and all controlled substances must be 
removed from the conveyance and 
secured within the registered location.  
An NTP may apply for an exception 
to this requirement after receiving an 
exception from the DEA.
			   (d)	
Other security controls:  Persons 
enrolled in any NTP, including those 
receiving treatment at a mobile NTP, 
will be required to wait in an area 
that is physically separated from the 

narcotic storage and preparation area 
by a physical entrance such as a door 
or other entryway. Patients must wait 
outside of a mobile NTP component if 
that conveyance does not have seating 
or a reception area that is separated 
from the narcotic storage and 
preparation area. This requirement 
will be enforced by the program 
practitioner and NTP employees.
			   (e)	
Any controlled substances being 
transported for disposal from the 
remote location of a mobile NTP 
shall be secured and disposed of in 
compliance with 21 CFR part 1317, 
and all other applicable federal, state, 
tribal, and local laws and regulations.
			   (f)	 A 
conveyance used as part of a mobile 
NTP may only be supplied with 
narcotic drugs by the registered NTP 
that operates such conveyance.
[5/15/1996; 16.19.10.11 NMAC - 
Rn, 16 NMAC 19.10.11, 3/30/2002; 
A, 8/12/2013; A, 10/24/2014; A, 
12/13/2015; A, 9/13/2022]
______________________________

End of Adopted Rules
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Other Material Related to Administrative Law
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

GOVERNOR,
OFFICE OF THE

EXECUTIVE ORDER 2022-120

RENEWING THE STATE 
OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

EMERGENCY INITIALLY
DECLARED IN EXECUTIVE 

ORDER 2020-004, OTHER 
POWERS INVOKED IN

THAT ORDER, AND ALL 
OTHER ORDERS AND 

DIRECTIVES CONTAINED IN
EXECUTIVE ORDERS TIED 
TO THE ONGOING PUBLIC 

HEALTH EMERGENCY

	 On December 31, 2019, 
several cases of pneumonia with 
an unknown cause were detected 
in Wuhan City, Hubei Province, 
China, and reported to the World 
Health Organization (“WHO”).  The 
underlying virus giving rise to those 
reported instances of respiratory 
illness was later identified as a novel 
coronavirus disease which has been 
referred to as “COVID-19.”
	 By the time the first 
COVID-19 cases had been 
confirmed in New Mexico, on 
March 11, 2020, COVID-19 
had already spread globally and 
throughout the United States.  At 
that time, more than 100,000 people 
had been infected globally and there 
were more than 1,000 cases in the 
United States, spread out over 39 
states.  The President of the United 
States declared a national state of 
emergency for COVID-19 on March 
13, 2020.  As of August 16, 2022 
the Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention (“CDC”) reported 
over 98 million people have been 
infected in the United States, with 
over 1,032,000 related deaths, 
and the New Mexico Department 
of Health has reported 603,450 
positive COVID-19 cases and 8,321 
related deaths in New Mexico.
	 Public health organizations 
have implemented emergency 
measures intended to slow the 

spread of COVID-19.  For 
example, on January 20, 2020, 
the CDC activated its Emergency 
Operations Center in response 
to the COVID-19 outbreak.  The 
WHO declared a Public Health 
Emergency of International Concern 
shortly thereafter.  All of our sister 
states subsequently declared a state 
of emergency and implemented 
significant measures and deployed 
substantial resources to fight the 
spread of COVID-19; many, if 
not most, have kept such states of 
emergency in place.
	 New Mexico has taken 
aggressive measures to reduce 
the spread of COVID-19 and to 
mitigate its impacts.  I have been 
in frequent contact with federal 
and state agencies and officials 
who are coordinating their efforts 
and resources to fight COVID-19.  
Various state agencies have been at 
the forefront of our State’s response 
to COVID-19, particularly the New 
Mexico Department of Health.  
The hard work of a variety of state 
employees has made a difference in 
our fight against COVID-19.  Due to 
the continued spread of COVID-19, 
it is necessary for all branches of 
State government to continue taking 
actions to minimize transmission 
of COVID-19 and to reduce its 
attendant physical and economic 
harms.
	 Therefore, for the reasons 
above, I, Michelle Lujan Grisham, 
Governor of the State of New 
Mexico, by virtue of the authority 
vested in me by the Constitution and 
laws of the State of New Mexico, 
hereby ORDER and DIRECT:
	 1.	 In consultation 
with the New Mexico Department 
of Health, I have determined that the 
statewide public health emergency 
proclaimed in Executive Order 
2020-004, and renewed in Executive 
Orders 2020-022, 2020-026, 2020-
030, 2020-036, 2020-053, 2020-55, 
2020-059, 2020-064, 2020-073, 
2020-080, 2020-085, 2021-001, 
2021-004, 2021-010, 2021-011, 
2021-012, 2021-023, 2021-030, 

2021-044, 2021-049, 2021-054, 
2021-058, 2021-061, 2021-067, 
2022-004, 2022-007, 2022-012, 
2022-016, 2022-024, 2022-067, 
2022-109, and 2022-115 shall be 
renewed and extended through 
September 15, 2022.
	 2.	 All other powers, 
directives, and orders invoked in 
Executive Order 2020-004 remain 
in effect.
	 3.	 All other Executive 
Orders with a duration that was 
tied to the COVID-19 public health 
emergency or that was not explicitly 
stated shall continue with the 
same effect, including any orders 
appropriating emergency funding as 
well as Executive Orders 2020-016, 
2020-020, 2020-021, 2020-025, and 
2020-039.
	 4.	 This Order 
supersedes any previous orders, 
proclamations, or directives in 
conflict.  This Order shall take 
effect on August 17, 2022 and shall 
remain in effect until September 15, 
2022 unless renewed, modified, or 
rescinded.

ATTEST:				  
DONE AT THE EXECUTIVE 
OFFICE
THIS 17TH DAY OF AUGUST 
2022
WITNESS MY HAND AND THE 
GREAT SEAL OF THE STATE 
OF NEW MEXICO

/ S /                                                                                  
MAGGIE TOULOUSE OLIVER
SECRETARY OF STATE

/ S /
MICHELLE LUJAN GRISHAM
GOVERNOR
_____________________________

End of Other Material 
Related to Administrative 

Law
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