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Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules
HUMAN SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT
INCOME SUPPORT DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The New Mexico Human Services 
Department (HSD) will hold a public 
hearing to allow public comment to 
adopt the Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families (TANF) State Plan for 
FY2024 to FY2026. HSD is required 
by Federal Law to file a State Plan 
that describes how the Department 
will administer the State’s TANF-
funded cash assistance programs.  
The State Plan must be submitted 
every two years to the United States 
Department of Health and Human 
Services (DHHS) and Administration 
for Children and Families (ACF).  
The Department is required to offer 
a 45-day comment period for the 
TANF State Plan prior to submittal.  
The TANF State plan was combined 
with Workforce Innovation and 
Opportunity Act (WIOA).

A public hearing to receive testimony 
on the TANF State Plan will be held 
on October 6, 2023 from 11:00 am to 
12:00 pm.  The hearing will be held 
in a hybrid setting: in person you may 
attend at 1474 Rodeo Road, Santa 
Fe, NM  87505 in the Administrative 
Services Division (ASD) Large 
Conference Room-first floor or 
you may attend virtually through a 
GoTo Meeting at https://meet.goto.
com/779756645.  A phone number is 
provided for individuals who would 
like to participate by phone: United 
States: +1 (312) 757-3121, Access 
Code: 779-756-645.

The Human Services Register Vol. 
46 No. 8 outlining the proposed 
regulations are available on the 
HSD’s website https://www.hsd.state.
nm.us/lookingforinformation/income-
support-division-registers-2/.

Individuals wishing to testify or 
to request a copy of the proposed 
regulation should contact the Income 
Support Division, P.O. Box 2348, 

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348, 
or by calling 505-819-8118.

Individuals who do not wish to attend 
the hearing may submit written or 
recorded comments.  Written or 
recorded comments must be received 
by 5:00 p.m. on the date of the 
hearing, October 6, 2023.  Please 
send comments to Human Services 
Department, P.O. Box 2348,
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348.

If you are a person with a disability 
and you require this information 
in an alternative format, or you 
require a special accommodation 
to participate in any HSD public 
hearing, program, or service, please 
contact the American Disabilities 
Act Coordinator, at 505-709-5468 
or through the New Mexico Relay 
system, at #711.  The Department 
requests at least a 10-day advance 
notice to provide requested alternative 
formats and special accommodations.

You may send comments 
electronically to: HSD-isdrules@hsd.
nm.gov

All written comments will be posted 
on the Human Services Department 
Website at https://www.hsd.state.
nm.us/lookingforinformation/income-
support-division-registers-2/
within 3 days of receipt.
______________________________

HUMAN SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
DIVISION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

The Human Services Department (the 
Department), through the Medical 
Assistance Division (MAD), is 
proposing to repeal and replace the 
New Mexico Administrative Code 
(NMAC) rule 8.308.12, Managed 
Care Program, Community Benefit.  
This amendment implements a 
change of approved cost limits for 

Environmental Modifications and 
Community Transition Services, as 
well as adding additional language 
clarifying Electronic Visit Verification 
(EVV) requirements for respite 
services under the community benefit 
program.

Section 9-8-6 NMSA 1978, 
authorizes the Department Secretary 
to promulgate rules and regulations 
that may be necessary to carry out 
the duties of the Department and its 
divisions.

Notice Date:  July 31, 2023
Hearing Date:  August 30, 2023
Adoption Date:  Proposed as 
December 1, 2023
Technical Citations:  New Mexico 
Section 1115 Demonstration Waiver 
Amendment #2

The Department is proposing to 
amend the rule as follows:
Section 8.308.12.8 is updated to 
include the department’s current 
mission statement.

Section 8.308.12.13.D.3 is updated 
to reflect the change in cost limits for 
Community Transition Services.

Section 8.308.12.13.G.5 is updated 
to reflect the change in cost limits for 
Environmental Modifications.

Section 8.308.12.13.L is updated to 
add additional language clarifying 
Electronic Visit Verification 
requirements for respite services.

Several changes have been made 
throughout the NMAC to align with 
formatting requirements.

The register for these proposed 
amendments to this rule will be 
available July 31, 2023 on the 
HSD web site at https://www.hsd.
state.nm.us/lookingforinformation/
registers/ and https://www.hsd.
state.nm.us/public-information-
and-communications/opportunity-
for-public-comment/public-
notices-proposed-waiver-changes-
and-opportunities-to-comment/
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comment-period-open/.  If you do 
not have internet access, a copy of 
the proposed register and rule may 
be requested by contacting MAD at 
(505) 827-1337.

The Department proposes to 
implement this rule effective 
December 1, 2023.  A public hearing 
to receive testimony on this proposed 
rule will be held via conference call 
on August 30, 2023, at 9:00 a.m., 
Mountain Time (MT).  Conference 
phone number:  1-800-747-5150.  
Access code:  2284263.

Interested parties may submit written 
comments directly to:  Human 
Services Department, Office of the 
Secretary, ATT: Medical Assistance 
Division Public Comments, P.O. Box 
2348, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-
2348.

Recorded comments may be left at 
(505) 827-1337.  Interested persons 
may also address comments via 
electronic mail to: HSD-madrules@
state.nm.us.  Written mail, electronic 
mail and recorded comments must 
be received no later than 5 p.m. MT 
on August 30, 2023.  Written and 
recorded comments will be given the 
same consideration as oral testimony 
made at the public hearing.  All 
written comments received will be 
posted as they are received on the 
HSD website at https://www.hsd.
state.nm.us/public-information-
and-communications/opportunity-
for-public-comment/public-
notices-proposed-waiver-changes-
and-opportunities-to-comment/
comment-period-open/ along with 
the applicable register and rule.  The 
public posting will include the name 
and any contact information provided 
by the commenter.

If you are a person with a disability 
and you require this information in 
an alternative format or require a 
special accommodation to participate 
in the public hearing, please contact 
MAD in Santa Fe at 505-827-1337.  
The Department requests at least ten 
(10) days advance notice to provide 

requested alternative formats and 
special accommodations.

Copies of all comments will be made 
available by the MAD upon request 
by providing copies directly to a 
requestor or by making them available 
on the MAD website or at a location 
within the county of the requestor.
______________________________

PUBLIC EMPLOYEES 
RETIREMENT 
ASSOCIATION

NOTICE OF PERA 
RULEMAKING

The Public Employees Retirement 
Association (“PERA”) will consider 
changes to its rules promulgated 
under the Public Employees 
Retirement Act (“ PERA Act”).  
Changes are proposed for the 
following rules:

1. Rule 2.80.1000 NMAC - 
“Disability Retirement Benefits”;
2. Rule 2.80.700 NMAC - 
“Normal Retirement”;
3. Rule 2.80.900 NMAC - 
“Pre-Retirement Survivor Pensions”;
4. Rule 2.83.700 NMAC – 
“Retirement”;
5. Rule 2.83.800 NMAC - 
“Survivor Pension”;
6. Rule 2.84.700 NMAC – 
“Retirement”; and,
7. Rule 2.84.800 NMAC - 
“Survivor Pension”

Rule 2.80.1000 NMAC would 
be amended to allow a Doctor of 
Osteopathic Medicine, a Certified 
Nurse Practitioner or Physician’s 
Assistant to complete an examining 
physician’s statement for disability 
retirement applicants and to allow 
more time for applicants to obtain 
additional medical records requested 
by the disability review committee.

Rules 2.80.700 NMAC, 2.80.900 
NMAC, 2.83.700 NMAC, 2.83.800 
NMAC, 2.84.700 NMAC, and 
2.84.800 NMAC would be amended 
to allow members to name a 
supplemental needs trust as a survivor 

beneficiary in response to the passage 
of House Bill 304 during the 2023 
New Mexico legislative session and to 
ensure compliance with recent federal 
changes to the Internal Revenue 
Code which altered the age that a 
member of a qualified pension plan 
is required to take a distribution from 
their retirement.  Each rule would be 
reformatted as necessary.

A formal rulemaking hearing will be 
held on September 12, 2023, at 9:00 
a.m. in the Fabian Chavez Jr. Board 
Room of the PERA Building, 33 Plaza 
La Prensa, Santa Fe, New Mexico, 
87507.  The rulemaking hearing will 
also be accessible through Zoom.  The 
Zoom access link will be published 
on PERA’s website listed below prior 
to the hearing.  Oral comments will 
be taken at the public hearing.  Final 
action on the rules will occur at the 
September 2023 meeting of the PERA 
Board which will be held in the 
Fabian Chavez Jr. Board Room of the 
PERA Building, 33 Plaza La Prensa, 
Santa Fe, New Mexico at a date and 
time specified in the Board’s Public 
Meeting Notice.  The purpose of the 
rulemaking hearing is to obtain public 
input on the proposed amendment 
to the above-referenced rules.  The 
public hearing allows members of 
the public an opportunity to submit 
data, testimony, and arguments on the 
proposed rule changes.

The purpose of the proposed rules 
change to the disability rule is to 
maintain a rigorous review process for 
disability applicants while addressing 
the current issues with access to 
health care in New Mexico.  The 
purpose of the proposed rule change 
to the retirement rule is to align the 
rule with the requirements of House 
Bill 304 and allow members to 
name a supplemental needs trust as a 
survivor beneficiary and to identify 
the documents required by PERA 
for the same.  The purpose of the 
proposed rule change to the benefit 
payment rule is to ensure that PERA 
rules relating to required distributions 
comply with what is required under 
federal law for all qualified retirement 
plans.
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The authority for the proposed 
rule changes is, Section 10-11-
130, NMSA 1978 of the PERA Act 
and Rule 20.80.200.10 NMAC, 
which authorizes the adoption and 
promulgation of rules and regulations 
necessary to carry out the purposes of 
the PERA Act.

Copies of the draft rules are available 
in PERA’s Office of General Counsel.  
Written comments, inquiries or 
requests for copies should be directed 
to Geraldine Garduno at PERA’s 
Office of General Counsel, 33 Plaza 
La Prensa, Santa Fe, N.M., 87507, 
or geraldine.garduno@pera.nm.gov 
or 505-476-9351. Written comments 
should be submitted by the close of 
business on September 12, 2023.  The 
full text of the proposed rule changes, 
as well as the Zoom access link for 
the public hearing, can be found here: 
https://www.nmpera.org/about/rule-
proposal/.

Any person with a disability who 
needs a reader, amplifier, qualified 
sign language interpreter, or any other 
form of auxiliary aid or service to 
attend or participate in the hearing 
or meeting, please contact Patricia 
Winter at 505-795-0712 or patriciab.
winter@pera.nm.gov at least one 
week prior to the public hearing, or as 
soon as possible.  Public documents, 
including the agenda and minutes, 
can be provided in various accessible 
formats.  Please contact Ms. Winter if 
a summary or other type of accessible 
format is needed.
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
CANNABIS CONTROL 

DIVISION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
HEARING

Public Hearing. The New Mexico 
Regulation and Licensing Department 
(RLD), Cannabis Control Division 
(CCD), will hold a public rule hearing 
on August 31, 2023, at 9:00am.  The 

rule hearing will be held at the Rio 
Grande Conference Room in the 
Toney Anaya State Office Building 
located at 2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa 
Fe, New Mexico.  The hearing will 
be live-streamed via Internet-based 
video and via telephone for those 
wishing to observe the hearing.  
Individuals wishing to participate and 
offer comment on the proposed rules 
will appear in-person at the hearing 
location.  A PDF of the proposed rule 
and meeting details may be accessed 
through the Cannabis Control 
Division website: https://www.rld.
nm.gov/cannabis/ or from Victoria 
Kaniatobe at the contact information 
listed below.

Purpose of Rule Hearing. The 
purpose of the public rule hearing 
is to receive public commentary 
regarding the proposals for 
amendments to rules related to 
licensing requirements and complaint 
procedures.

Any technical information used to 
inform the proposed rules will be 
accessible by visiting: https://www.
rld.nm.gov/cannabis/.

Statutory Authority. Legal authority 
for this rulemaking may be found the 
Cannabis Regulation Act, Section 
26-2C-1 through Section 26-2C-
42 NMSA 1978 (2021). Additional 
authority may be found at Section 
9-16-6 NMSA 1978 (2021).

Public Comment. The Division will 
begin accepting public comment 
on the proposed rules beginning 
July 31, 2023.  Please submit 
written comments on the proposed 
rules to Robert Sachs, Division 
Counsel for the Cannabis Control 
Division, via electronic mail at ccd.
publiccomment@state.nm.us.  Written 
comment may also be submitted 
by visiting the Division website at 
https://www.rld.nm.gov/cannabis/ 
or by mailing the comment to the 
following address:

Cannabis Control Division Public 
Comment
c/o Robert Sachs

P.O. Box 25101 
Santa Fe, NM 87504

All public comments must be received 
by the close of the public rule hearing 
on August 31, 2023.  Persons will also 
be given the opportunity to present 
their comments at the rule hearing.  
Comments received prior to the rule 
hearing will be posted to the RLD 
website at: https://www.rld.nm.gov/
cannabis/.

No later than July 31, 2023, interested 
parties may obtain and review copies 
of the proposed rules and public 
comments by going to the Cannabis 
Control Division website at https://
www.rld.nm.gov/cannabis/ or by 
contacting the Cannabis Control 
Division at RLD.CannabisControl@
rld.nm.gov or (505) 476-4995.

Any individual with a disability 
who is in need of a reader, amplifier, 
qualified sign language interpreter, or 
other form of auxiliary aid or service 
to attend or participate in the hearing 
should contact Victoria Kaniatobe, 
Legal Clerk for the Cannabis Control 
Division at Victoria.Kaniatobe2@rld.
nm.gov or (505) 476-4577 at least 
seven (7) days prior to the hearing.

Summary of Proposed Amended 
Rules.

16.8.2 NMAC:  LICENSING 
AND OPERATIONAL 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CANNABIS ESTABLISHMENTS
Part 2 provides the requirements 
necessary for issuance of a license 
under the Cannabis Regulation Act. 
Part 2 also governs the licensing and 
operational requirements for licenses.  
Amendments to this part will strike 
conditional licenses and variances 
to licenses.  Additional amendments 
will change the requirements for the 
issuance and renewal of a license.  
Some of these changes include but are 
not limited to, adding that inspections 
will be required prior to the issuance 
of a license as well as requiring the 
completion of training courses prior 
to the issuance of a license.
______________________________
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REGULATION 

AND LICENSING 
DEPARTMENT

CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES 
DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Construction Industries 
Commission will convene a public 
hearing for amendments to New 
Mexico Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Standard, 19.15.40 NMAC.  The 
hearing will be held before a hearing 
officer, at which time any interested 
person is invited to submit data, 
views or arguments on the proposed 
changes, either orally or in writing 
and to examine witnesses testifying at 
the hearing.  The hearing is scheduled 
for September 8, 2023.

The purpose of this public rule 
hearing is to receive public comments 
regarding the amendments to New 
Mexico Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Standard, 19.15.40 NMAC.

The statutory authority for 
this rulemaking is found in the 
Construction Industries Licensing 
Act, Subsection F of Section 60-13-9 
NMSA 1978 and Liquefied Petroleum 
Gas Standard Act, Section 70-5-5 
NMSA 1978.

Summary of the Proposed Changes 
to the Rule:  Adoption of the 2021 
national fuel gas code, referred to as 
NFPA 54; 2020 liquefied petroleum 
gas code, referred to as NFPA 58; and 
2021standard on recreational vehicles, 
referred to as NFPA 1192.

The hearing is scheduled as follows:

An in-person hearing shall be held 
on Friday, September 8, 2023, at 
the Toney Anaya Building, 2550 
Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM, second 
floor, Rio Grande Conference Room, 
starting at 9:30 a.m.  The hearing will 
remain open until 10:00 a.m. or until 
participants have an opportunity to 
make public comment, whichever is 
longer.

Interested persons may obtain 

copies of the proposed rule changes 
by logging onto the Construction 
Industries Division website (https://
www.rld.nm.gov/construction-
industries) to download the proposed 
rules or by written request to the 
Albuquerque CID Office – Regulation 
and Licensing Department, 5500 San 
Antonio Drive NE, Albuquerque, 
NM 87109, attention:  Quindi Otero-
Robertson.

You may send written comments to: 
Construction Industries Division, 
– Regulation and Licensing 
Department, 5500 San Antonio 
Drive NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109, 
Attention: Public Comments.  Written 
comments may also be faxed to (505) 
765-5670 or submitted to Quindi 
Otero-Robertson at her email address:  
Quindi.Otero@rld.nm.gov.  All 
written comments must be received 
no later than 5:00 p.m., on Thursday, 
September 7, 2023.  You may also 
review submitted comments by 
requesting copies from Quindi Otero-
Robertson at her email address above.  
Public comments will be posted on 
the division’s website (https://www.
rld.nm.gov/construction-industries).  
Written comments may also be 
received by the Commission at the 
in-person hearing until the hearing is 
closed.  All public comment received 
shall be admitted into the record 
during the public hearing. 

If you require special 
accommodations to attend the 
hearing, please notify CID by phone, 
email, or fax, of such needs as 
soon as possible to ensure adequate 
accommodations.  Telephone: (505) 
629-3835.  Email: eliza.casados@rld.
nm.gov; Fax No. (505) 765-5670.
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
HOME INSPECTORS BOARD

NOTICE OF PUBLIC RULE 
HEARING AND BOARD 

MEETING

The Regulation and Licensing 
Department (Department) in 
consultation with the New Mexico 
Home Inspectors Board (Board), and 
pursuant to Board authority at Section 
61-24D-3(F) NMSA 1978, will hold 
a rule hearing on Monday, September 
11, 2023, at 9:00 a.m., to include 
a Special meeting of the Board to 
discuss and consider adoption of 
the proposed rules listed below. The 
rule hearing and subsequent Board 
meeting will be held at the Regulation 
and Licensing Department, 5500 San 
Antonio Drive NE, Albuquerque, NM 
87109.

The hearing and subsequent board 
meeting may also be accessed via 
Cisco Webex Meetings by using the 
following link: https://nmrld.webex.
com/nmrld/j.php?MTID=m45ea6c4ad
ee4b6445c0b7de9f724396f

Join by meeting number
Meeting number (access code): 2488 
161 7481
Meeting password: WjMkdGWk779 
(95653495 from video systems)

Join from a video system or 
application
Dial 24881617481@nmrld.webex.
com
You can also dial 173.243.2.68 and 
enter your meeting number.
The purpose of the rule hearing is 
to receive public comments related 
to proposed amendments of the 
following rules that address changes 
to Board rules:

 1. Title 16 Chapter 66 
Part 1- General Provisions
  a. 16.66.1.7 
Definitions
 2. Title 16 Chapter 66 
Part 2 – Fees
  a. 16.66.2.8 
Fees
 3. Title 16 Chapter 66 
Part 3 – Applications and Licenses
  a. 16.66.3.8 
Application for Licensure by Training 
and Examination
  b. 16.66.3.9 
Application for Licensure by 
Experience and Examination
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  c. 16.66.3.10 
Application for Licensure by 
Credentials
  d. 16.66.3.11 
Examinations
  e. 16.66.3.12 
Expedited Licensure for Military 
Service Members Spouses, Children 
and Veterans
  f. 16.66.3.13 
Initial License Length (Rules in Effect 
Until December 31, 2021
  g. 16.66.3.14 
Licensure Procedure
  h. 16.66.3.15 
Criminal Convictions
 4. Title 16 Chapter 
66 Part 4 – License Renewals and 
Reactivation
  a. 16.66.4.8 
License Renewal
  b. 16.66.4.10 
Reactivation of Expired or Inactive 
Licenses
 5. Title 16 Chapter 66 
Part 5 – Continuing Education
  a. 16.66.5.8 
Continuing Education
  b. 16.66.5.10 
Continuing Education Audits
 6. Title 16 Chapter 66 
Part 8 – Disciplinary Proceedings
  a. 16.66.8.8 
Grounds for Disciplinary Action
  b. 16.66.8.9 
Complaints and Responses
  c. 16.66.8.10 
Review of Complaint

On July 31, 2023 copies of the 
proposed rules may be obtained by 
going to the Boards and Commissions 
Division, Home Inspectors Board 
website at: https://www.rld.nm.gov/
boards-and-commissions/individual-
boards-and- commissions/home-
inspectors/board-information/, or by 
contacting the Board Administrator 
for the Board, Roxanne Romo, at 
(505) 222-9820.

The Department and the Board will 
begin accepting public comments 
on the proposed rules beginning 
July 31, 2023. Please submit written 
comments on the proposed changes to 
Roxanne Romo, Board Administrator, 
via electronic mail at: home.

inspectors@rld.nm.gov , or by regular 
mail at 5500 San Antonio Drive NE, 
Albuquerque, NM 87109 no later than 
September 11, 2023 8:00 a.m.

Written comments received during the 
public comment period will be posted 
to the Board’s website page linked 
above. Any person in attendance will 
be given the opportunity to present 
their comments at the rule hearing.

An individual with a disability who 
is in need of a reader, amplifier, 
qualified sign language interpreter, or 
other form of auxiliary aid or service 
to attend or participate in the hearing 
or the special board meeting, please 
contact Ms. Roxanne Romo, Board 
Administrator (505) 222-9820 at 
least 7 days prior to the rule hearing 
and special board meeting. Public 
documents, including the proposed 
rules, meeting agenda and minutes, 
can be provided in various accessible 
formats.

Purpose of Proposed Rules:

The above proposed rules by the 
Board at 16.66.1 through 16.66.5 
NMAC govern the application 
requirements and process for licensure 
and licensure renewal and establish 
the requirements for reactivation of 
licensure for individual applicants 
and licensees. The proposed 
rules intend to create consistency 
between the Board’s rules and recent 
legislative amendments to the Home 
Inspector Licensing Act, improve 
Board efficiency, and improve the 
functioning of the profession for the 
benefit of the public.

The above proposed rules by the 
Board at 16.66.8 NMAC govern 
disciplinary proceedings against 
licensees.

Summary of Proposed Changes:

The proposed amendments to the 
rules previously promulgated by the 
Board at 16.66.1 through 16.66.5 
and at 16.66.8 NMAC would (1) 
amend the requirements for board 
examination and licensure to comport 

with recent legislative amendments, 
(2) define and incorporate “ancillary 
services” “pre-inspection agreements” 
and “business relationship,”
(3) repeal state of emergency 
provisions, (4) amend the continuing 
education provisions to require 
minimum Board meeting attendance, 
(5) mandate exclusive three-year 
license periods, (6) amend the 
grounds for discipline to include 
failure to comply with continuing 
education requirements or the Board’s 
code of ethics, and (7) require 
satisfactory evidence of E&O 
insurance as a condition of renewal.
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 

BOARD

NOTICE OF PUBLIC RULE 
HEARING AND BOARD 

MEETING

The Regulation and Licensing 
Department (Department) in 
consultation with the New Mexico 
Real Estate Appraiser Board (Board) 
will hold a rule hearing on Thursday, 
August 31, 2023 at 9:00 a.m. pursuant 
to Subsection A of Section 61-30-7, 
NMSA 1978, immediately followed 
by a Special meeting of the Board 
to discuss and consider adoption of 
the proposed rules listed below.  The 
rule hearing and subsequent Board 
meeting will be held at the Regulation 
and Licensing Department, 5500 San 
Antonio Drive NE, Albuquerque, NM 
87109.  

The hearing and subsequent board 
meeting may also be accessed via 
Cisco Webex Meetings by using the 
following link:

https://nmrld.webex.com/nmrld/j.php
?MTID=m4f611ffbd19a65dfee93e52
dc2bd2c98
Meeting Number: 2496 715 9640; 
Meeting password: vmWUPXkM639
Join by Phone: 1+ (415) 655-0002
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The purpose of the rule hearing is to 
receive public comments related to 
proposed amendments, repeal, and/
or replacement of the following rules 
that address changes to:

16.62.1   NMAC - General 
Provisions
16.62.2   NMAC – Application for 
Trainee
16.62.3   NMAC – Application for 
Licensed Residential
16.62.4   NMAC – Application for 
Residential Certificate
16.62.5   NMAC – Application for 
General Certificate
16.62.6   NMAC - Examinations
16.62.7   NMAC – Issuance/
Renewal of Apprentice 
Registration/Licenses/Certificates
16.62.8   NMAC – Educational 
Programs/Continuing Education
16.62.9   NMAC – Certificate of 
Good Standing
16.62.10 NMAC – Temporary 
Practice
16.62.11 NMAC – Application for 
Reciprocity
16.62.12 NMAC – Fees
16.62.13 NMAC – Disciplinary 
Proceedings
16.62.15 NMAC – Retirement and 
Reinstatement
16.62.16 NMAC – Advertising
16.62.17 NMAC – Unlicensed 
Practice/Penalties
16.65.2   NMAC – Registration 
Requirements
16.65.3   NMAC -  Application for 
Registration
16.65.4   NMAC - Discipline
16.65.5   NMAC -  Fees

On July 31, 2023 copies of the 
proposed rules may be obtained by 
going to the Boards and Commissions 
Division, Real Estate Appraiser Board 
website at: https://www.rld.nm.gov/
boards-and-commissions/individual-
boards-and-commissions/real-estate-
appraisers/statutes-rules-and-rule-
hearings/ or by contacting the Board 
Administrator for the Board at (505) 
222-9882.

The Department and the Board will 
begin accepting public comments on 
the proposed rules beginning July 

31, 2023.  Please submit written 
comments on the proposed changes to 
Sarah McGeath, Board Administrator, 
via electronic mail at: NM.REAB@
rld.nm.gov, or by regular mail at 5500 
San Antonio Drive NE, Albuquerque, 
NM 87109 no later than August 31, 
2023 8 a.m.  

Written comments received during the 
public comment period will be posted 
to the Board’s website page linked 
above. Any person in attendance will 
be given the opportunity to present 
their comments at the rule hearing.

An individual with a disability who 
is in need of a reader, amplifier, 
qualified sign language interpreter, 
or other form of auxiliary aid or 
service to attend or participate in the 
hearing or the special board meeting, 
please contact Sarah McGeath, Board 
Administrator (505) 222-9882 at 
least 7 days prior to the rule hearing 
and special board meeting. Public 
documents, including the proposed 
rules, meeting agenda and minutes, 
can be provided in various accessible 
formats.

Statutory Authority:   Subsection A 
of Section 61-30-7, NMSA 1978

Purpose of Proposed Rules:

The above proposed rules by the Real 
Estate Appraisers’ Board at 16.62.1 
through 16.62.17 NMAC govern the 
application requirements and process 
for licensure and training, establish 
the continuing education requirements 
for licensees, and define an ethics 
rule for licensees, and establish the 
requirements for reinstatement of 
licensure for individual applicants and 
licensees.

The above proposed rules by the Real 
Estate Appraisers’ Board at 16.65.1 
through 16.65.5 NMAC govern the 
application requirements and process 
for registration for Real Estate 
Appraisal Management Companies.

Summary of Proposed Changes:  
The proposed amendments to the 
rules previously promulgated by 

the Real Estate Appraisers’ Board 
at 16.62.1 through 16.62.17 NMAC 
would amend the experience and 
training requirements for board 
examination and licensure, amend the 
continuing education requirements 
for licensees, would add a criminal 
background check for applicants, 
amend the reinstatement requirements 
for licensees (16.62.7 NMAC only) 
and reciprocity requirements for 
applicants (16.62.11 NMAC only).  
The proposed amendments would 
also allow for online payment of fees 
by applicants and licensees.  The 
proposed amendments also would 
amend the statement of statutory 
authority in each current rule.  

The proposed amendments to the 
rules previously promulgated by 
the Real Estate Appraisers’ Board 
at 16.65.1 through 16.65.5 NMAC 
would amend the application, 
registration, and fee requirements for 
Real Estate Appraisal Management 
Companies, and eliminate for such 
companies the costs of disciplinary 
proceedings.
______________________________

TAXATION AND 
REVENUE DEPARTMENT 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

The New Mexico Taxation and 
Revenue Department hereby gives 
notice as required under Section 14-
4-5.2 NMSA 1978 and 1.24.25.11 
NMAC that it proposes to repeal 
rules regarding income taxes, gross 
receipts taxes, and certain credits that 
are associated with statutes that were 
repealed during the 2023 and 2018 
legislative session as authorized by 
Section 9-11-6.2 NMSA 1978:

Summary of Proposed Changes:

The New Mexico Taxation and 
Revenue Department proposes to 
repeal the following rule(s):

Income Tax Act:
Section 7-2-18.4 NMSA 1978 
- Qualified business facility 
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rehabilitation credit; income tax credit 
(Repealed 07/01/2023)
3.3.13.11 NMAC - Qualified Business 
Facility Rehabilitation Credit

Corporate Income and Franchise 
Tax Act:
Section 7-2A-15 NMSA 1978 
- Qualified business facility 
rehabilitation credit; income tax credit 
(Repealed 07/01/2023)
3.4.14.10 NMAC - Qualified Business 
Facility Rehabilitation Credit

Gross Receipts and Compensating 
Tax Act:
Section 7-9-16 NMSA 1978 - 
Exemptions; gross receipts tax; 
certain nonprofit facilities (Repealed 
07/01/2023)
Repeal of entire part - Title 3: 
Taxation, Chapter 2: Gross Receipts 
Tax, Part 104: Exemption - Gross 
Receipts Tax -Certain Nonprofit 
facilities
3.2.104.1 - Issuing Agency
3.2.104.2 - Scope
3.2.104.3 - Statutory Authority
3.2.104.4 - Duration
3.2.104.5 - Effective Date
3.2.104.6 - Objective
3.2.104.7 - Definitions
3.2.104.8 - Nonprofit status to be 
determined by department
3.2.104.9 - Payments made by the 
health and environment department
3.2.104.10 - Sales by auxiliaries

Section 7-9-44 NMSA 1978 
(Repealed 2018), Suspension of the 
right to use a nontaxable transaction 
certificate (Repealed 03/02/2018)
Repeal of entire part - Title 3: 
Taxation, Chapter 2: Gross Receipts 
Tax; Part 202: Suspension of the 
right to use a nontaxable transaction 
certificate 
3.2.202.1 - Issuing Agency
3.2.202.2 - Scope
3.2.202.3 - Statutory Authority
3.2.202.4 - Duration
3.2.202.5 - Effective Date
3.2.202.6 - Objective
3.2.202.7 - Definitions
3.2.202.8 - NMAC - Suspension of 
right to issue nontaxable transaction 
certificates

Other Tax Credits:
Section 7-9G-2 NMSA 1978 - 
Advanced Energy combined reporting 
tax credit; gross receipts tax; 
compensating tax; withholding tax 
(Repealed 07/01/2023)
Repeal of entire part - Title 3: 
Taxation, Chapter 13: Business 
Credits, Part8: Other Tax Credits
3.13.8.1 NMAC - Issuing Agency
3.13.8.2 NMAC - Scope
3.13.8.3 NMAC - Statutory Authority
3.13.8.4 NMAC - Duration
3.13.8.5 NMAC - Effective Date
3.13.8.6 NMAC - Objective
3.13.8.7 NMAC - Definitions: 
Advanced Energy Tax Credit Defined
3.13.8.8 NMAC - Value of Eligible 
Generation Plant Costs
3.13.8.9 NMAC - Eligible Generation 
Plant Cost Must be “Subject to 
Depreciation”
3.13.8.10 NMAC - Application of the 
credit
3.13.8.11 NMAC - Carryforward of 
unused credit
3.13.8.13 NMAC - Limitation on 
other credits

Technical Information: No technical 
information was consulted in drafting 
these proposed rule changes.

Purpose of Proposed Rule:  The 
proposed rules are being repealed 
because the statutes that they relate to 
have been repealed during the 2023 
and 2018 legislative sessions.

Notice of Public Rule Hearing:  A 
public hearing will be held on the 
proposed rule changes on Wednesday, 
August 30th, 2023, from 10 AM to 11 
AM at the 3rd floor in the Montoya 
Building, 1100 South St. Francis 
Drive, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504.  
The hearing will be recorded, and oral 
comments can be made during the 
public hearing. Written comments can 
be submitted as outlined at the end of 
this notice.  Virtual meeting access 
also available using Zoom https://
us02web.zoom.us/j/84393332108?pw
d=bUdtVHMwUzhlWGZWMHhvWn
NaOUtUUT09 Meeting ID: 843 9333 
2108 Passcode: 004369.

The rule proposals were placed on 

file in the Office of the Secretary on 
July 17, 2023. Pursuant to Regulation 
3.1.2.9 NMAC under Section 9-11-
6.2 NMSA 1978 of the Taxation and 
Revenue Department Act, the final 
of the proposals, if filed, will be 
filed as required by law on or about 
September 15, 2023.

Individuals with disabilities who 
need any form of auxiliary aid to 
attend or participate in the public 
hearing are asked to contact Bobbie 
Marquez at BobbieJ.Marquez@tax.
nm.gov.  The Taxation and Revenue 
Department will make every effort to 
accommodate all reasonable requests 
but cannot guarantee accommodation 
of a request that is not received at 
least ten calendar days prior to the 
scheduled hearing.

Copies of the proposed rules may be 
found at https://www.tax.newmexico.
gov/all-nm-taxes/proposed-
regulations-hearing-notices/ or are 
available upon request by contacting 
the Tax Policy Office at policy.
office@tax.nm.gov.

Notice of Acceptance of Written 
Public Comment:  Written comments 
on the proposals can be submitted 
by email to policy.office@tax.
nm.gov or by mail to the Taxation 
and Revenue Department, Tax 
Information and Policy Office, Post 
Office Box 630, Santa Fe, New 
Mexico 87504-0630 on or before 8 
AM on Wednesday, August 30, 2023.  
All written comments received by 
the agency will be posted on https://
www.tax.newmexico.gov/all-nm-
taxes/proposed-regulations-hearing-
notices/ no more than 3 business days 
following receipt to allow for public 
review.
______________________________

WORKFORCE 
SOLUTIONS, 

DEPARTMENT OF

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

The New Mexico Department of 
Workforce Solutions (“Department” 
or “NMDWS”) hereby gives notice 
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that the Department will conduct 
a public hearing to receive public 
comments regarding proposed 
amendments to NMAC 11.1.2 (the 
Public Works Minimum Wage Act 
Policy Manual) in the Leo Griego 
Auditorium located in the State 
Personnel Office (Willie Ortiz 
Building) at 2600 Cerrillos Road in 
Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87505 on 
September 6, 2023 from 10:00 am to 
12:00 pm.

The purpose and summary of the 
public comment hearing will be to 
obtain input and public comment on 
proposed prevailing wage rates and 
subsistence and zone pay for Public 
Works projects for 2024.

Under Section 9-26-4, NMSA 1978, 
the Workforce Solutions Department 
is responsible for the administration 
of the labor relations division which 
oversees setting the prevailing 
wage and fringe benefit rates.  
Pursuant to Section 13-4-11, NMSA 
1978, the Director of the Labor 
Relations Division shall determine 
the prevailing wage rates and the 
prevailing fringe benefit rates and the 
Director shall issue rules necessary 
to administer and accomplish 
the purposes of the Public Works 
Minimum Wage Act.

Interested individuals are encouraged 
to submit written comments to 
the New Mexico Department of 
Workforce Solutions, P.O. Box 1928, 
Albuquerque, N.M., 87103, attention 
Andrea Christman prior to the hearing 
for consideration.  Written comments 
must be received no later than 5 p.m. 
on September 5, 2023.  However, the 
submission of written comments as 
soon as possible is encouraged.

Copies of the proposed rule may 
be accessed online at https://www.
dws.state.nm.us/  or obtained by 
calling Andrea Christman at (505) 
841-8478 or sending an email to 
Andrea.Christman@dws.nm.gov.  
The proposed rule will be made 
available at least thirty days prior to 
the hearing.

Individuals with disabilities who 
require this information in an 
alternative format or need any form of 
auxiliary aid to attend or participate 
in this meeting are asked to contact 
Ms. Christman as soon as possible.  
The Department requests at least ten 
(10) days advance notice to provide 
requested special accommodations.
______________________________

WORKFORCE 
SOLUTIONS, 

DEPARTMENT OF

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

The New Mexico Department of 
Workforce Solutions (“Department” 
or “NMDWS”) hereby gives notice 
that the Department will conduct a 
public hearing to receive comments 
regarding proposed amendments 
to NMAC 9.1.1 (Administrative 
Procedures for the Human Rights 
Bureau) at the Leo Griego Auditorium 
located in the State Personnel Office 
(Willie Ortiz Building) at 2600 
Cerrillos Road in Santa Fe, New 
Mexico, 87505 on September 6, 2023 
from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm.

Summary:  The proposed amendment 
updates language to conform with 
the 2023 legislative changes in 
the Human Rights Act to include 
removing gender specific language 
and the term “handicap”.  The 
amendment also proposes procedural 
changes to the complaint process and 
the administrative hearing process to 
include adding clarifications to due 
dates, methods of correspondence, 
and electronic communications.  

Under NMSA 1978 §§28-1-1 to 28-1-
14 and 28-23-1 through 28-23-6, the 
Department is the agency responsible 
for the Human Rights Bureau.  

Interested individuals are encouraged 
to submit written comments to 
the New Mexico Department of 
Workforce Solutions, P.O. Box 1928, 
Albuquerque, N.M., 87103, attention 
Andrea Christman prior to the hearing 
for consideration. Alternatively, 
written comments may be submitted 

via email to andrea.christman@dws.
nm.gov.  Comments must be received 
no later than 5 p.m. on September 5, 
2023.

Copies of the proposed rule may 
be accessed online at https://www.
dws.state.nm.us/  or obtained by 
calling Andrea Christman at (505) 
841-8478 or sending an email to 
Andrea.Christman@state.nm.us.  The 
proposed rule will be made available 
at least thirty days prior to the 
hearing.

Individuals with disabilities who 
require this information in an 
alternative format or need any form of 
auxiliary aid to attend or participate 
in this meeting are asked to contact 
Ms. Christman as soon as possible.  
The Department requests at least ten 
(10) days advance notice to provide 
requested special accommodations.
_____________________________

End of Notices of 
Rulemaking and 
Proposed Rules
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PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

At a public hearing on 7/06/2023, 
the Public Education Department 
agreed to repeal 6.19.7 NMAC, 
Demonstration of Competency 
for High School Graduation, filed 
7/24/2018, and replace it with 
6.19.7 NMAC, Demonstration 
of Competency for High School 
Graduation, to be adopted 7/20/2023 
and effective on 7/31/2023.

At a public hearing on 6/21/2023, 
the Public Education Department 
agreed to repeal 6.63.8 NMAC, 
Licensure in Athletic Coaching, 7-12, 
filed 6/15/1998, and replace it with 
6.63.8 NMAC, Licensure in Athletic 
Coaching, 7-12, adopted 7/20/2023 
and effective on 07/31/2023.
______________________________

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

TITLE 6 PRIMARY AND 
SECONDARY EDUCATION
CHAPTER 2 PUBLIC 
EDUCATION DEPARTMENT - 
COMMISSIONS AND ADVISORY 
BOARDS
PART 9        PUBLIC EDUCATION
COMMISSION STATE CHARTER 
SCHOOL PROCEDURES

6.2.9.1  ISSUING 
AGENCY:  New Mexico Public 
Education Department, hereinafter the 
department.
[6.2.9.1 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.2  SCOPE:  The rule 
shall apply to all procedures, forms, 
and protocols of the public education 
commission in relation to state-
chartered charter schools. 
[6.2.9.2 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.3  STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  This rule is being 
promulgated pursuant to Sections 
9-24-8, 22-2-1, 22-2-2, and 22-8B-5.3 
NMSA 1978.
[6.2.9.3 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.4  DURATION:  
Permanent.
[6.2.9.4 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.5  EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  July 31, 2023, unless a later 
date is cited in the history note at the 
end of a section.
[6.2.9.5 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.6  OBJECTIVE:  
The department promulgates this rule 
acted upon by the public education 
commission for its procedures, forms, 
and protocols in relation to state-
chartered charter schools.
[6.2.9.6 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.7  DEFINITIONS:
 A. “Act” means the 
Charter Schools Act Sections 22-8B-1 
through 22-8B-17.1 NMSA 1978, as 
may be amended.
 B. “Annual report 
notice” means any of the following 
notices, or combination thereof, 
issued by the commission that may 
result from a review of the annual 
report: 
  (1) Notice of 
exemplary performance;
  (2) Notice of 
satisfactory performance;
  (3) Notice of 
unsatisfactory performance;
  (4) Notice 
of uncorrected unsatisfactory 
performance; or
  (5) Notice 
of action to be initiated under the 
intervention ladder.

 C. “Applicant” 
means one or more teachers, parents, 
or community members or a public 
postsecondary educational institution 
or nonprofit organization who submits 
an initial or renewal application to a 
chartering authority.
 D. “Commission” 
means the public education 
commission.
 E. “Condition” 
means a requirement imposed by 
the commission on a state charter 
school as part of the approval of a 
new school application or renewal 
application that is appealable to the 
secretary, and, if not appealed or not 
overturned on appeal, becomes a 
material term of the charter contract.
 F. “Corrective action 
plan” consistent with Subsection 
F of Section 22-8B-12 NMSA 
1978 means a plan proposed by a 
state charter school and approved 
by the commission to correct 
identified uncorrected unsatisfactory 
performance as contemplated by the 
intervention ladder.
 G. “Days” means, 
unless otherwise specified in a 
provision in this rule or applicable 
statute, business days when the 
period referenced is 10 days or less, 
and calendar days when the period 
referenced is 11 days or more. In 
computing the number of days, 
exclude the day of the event that 
triggers the period, and include the 
last day of the period. If the last day is 
a day when the department is closed, 
the period continues to run until the 
end of the next business day that the 
department is not closed. Whenever 
a person or entity acts under this 
rule within a prescribed period after 
service of a notice or paper upon the 
person or entity, and the notice or 
paper is served by mail or courier 
service, three calendar days are added 
to the prescribed period.

Adopted Rules
Effective Date and Validity of Rule Filings

Rules published in this issue of the New Mexico Register are effective on the publication date of this issue unless 
otherwise specified. No rule shall be valid or enforceable until it is filed with the records center and published in the New 
Mexico Register as provided in the State Rules Act. Unless a later date is otherwise provided by law, the effective date of 

the rule shall be the date of publication in the New Mexico Register. Section 14-4-5 NMSA 1978.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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 H. “Department” 
means the New Mexico Public 
Education Department.
 I. “Division” means 
the charter schools division of the 
department statutorily required 
pursuant to Section 22-8B-17 NMSA 
1978 to provide staff support to the 
commission, make recommendations 
to the commission regarding the 
approval, denial, or revocation of 
the charter of a state charter school, 
review and approve state charter 
school budget matters, and provide 
technical support to all charter 
schools.
 J. “Final annual 
report” means the annual report 
presented by the division that is 
accepted by the commission at 
a public meeting which contains 
the final findings of the division 
regarding the performance of the 
state charter school, recommendation 
for commission action, and any 
unresolved response from the state 
charter school to the division’s phase 
2 annual report.
 K. “Final annual 
report completed in part” means 
a final annual report completed as 
to certain sections only when data 
necessary to complete other sections 
are delayed, and which indicates 
which sections of the annual report 
are being completed and which are 
being reserved.
 L. “Good standing” 
means a designation for a state charter 
school indicating that the state charter 
school does not have action pending 
under the intervention ladder or a 
current annual report notice that 
identifies uncorrected unsatisfactory 
performance.
 M. “Governing body” 
means the governing structure of 
a charter school as set forth in the 
charter school’s charter.
 N. “Head 
administrator” means the duly 
licensed school administrator who is 
the director of the charter school and 
the person with duties similar to those 
of a superintendent.
 O. “High stakes 
decision” means action of the 
commission that results in approval 

of a new charter application, approval 
of a new charter application with 
conditions or denial of a new 
charter school’s application, a state 
charter school’s renewal, renewal 
with conditions, non-renewal, or 
revocation. High stakes decisions are 
governed by law, rule, and the charter 
school contract.
 P. “Intervention 
concern” means unsatisfactory 
performance or a contract violation 
that may cause the division to 
recommend or the commission to 
begin an action under the intervention 
ladder.
 Q. “Intervention 
ladder” means procedures adopted 
by the commission to impose 
interventions intended to address a 
state charter school’s unsatisfactory 
performance or non-compliance with 
the contract.
 R. “Notice of possible 
non-renewal” means a written 
notice provided by the commission 
to a state charter school during 
the final two years of the charter 
contract term stating that there is 
sufficient uncorrected unsatisfactory 
performance, serious unsatisfactory 
performance, or contract violations by 
the state charter school to put the state 
charter school on notice that it may 
not be renewed for another charter 
term.
 S. “Notice of possible 
renewal with conditions” means a 
notice issued by the commission to a 
state charter school during the final 
two years of the charter term stating 
that there is sufficient uncorrected 
unsatisfactory performance, serious 
unsatisfactory performance, or 
contract violations by the state charter 
school to put the state charter school 
on notice that it may be renewed for 
another charter term with a condition 
placed on the state charter school to 
correct the unsatisfactory performance 
in the new charter term.
 T. “Notice of 
uncorrected unsatisfactory 
performance” means a notice by the 
commission, issued after acceptance 
of a final annual report, to a state 
charter school that unsatisfactory 
performance by the state charter 

school has not been corrected by 
the date set forth in the notice to 
correct unsatisfactory performance, 
that unsatisfactory performance 
is identified as unsatisfactory 
performance in two consecutive 
annual reports, or that any specific 
indicator in the performance 
framework has been rated as “does 
not meet” for two or more years 
during the charter term including the 
current year assessed.
 U. “Notice of 
unsatisfactory performance” means 
a notice issued by the commission 
to a state charter school that the 
division has identified unsatisfactory 
performance by the state charter 
school in the assessment of the 
performance framework.
 V. “Performance 
framework” means the performance 
provisions incorporated as a material 
term to the charter contract between 
the school and the commission 
negotiated using a commission-
approved framework that:
  (1) is approved 
by the commission following the 
protocols in 6.2.9.8 NMAC through 
6.2.9.10 NMAC;
  (2) clearly sets 
forth the academic, organizational, or 
financial performance indicators and 
performance targets that will guide 
the commission’s evaluation of each 
charter school; and
  (3) contains all 
elements required by Section 22-8B-
9.1 NMSA 1978 as amended.
 W. “Phase 1 annual 
report” means a draft annual report 
prepared by the division for each 
state charter school following the 
annual site visit that begins the 
documentation process of the state 
charter school’s performance of 
or compliance with (1) the charter 
contract terms, including any 
conditions, (2) the performance 
framework, and (3) outstanding 
corrective action plans or as issued 
by an agency with jurisdiction, if 
any, and reports or information on 
previously identified unsatisfactory 
performance all of which is uploaded 
to a data platform accessible by the 
state charter school to be updated 
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as more information is received by 
the division or provided by the state 
charter school.
 X. “Phase 2 annual 
report” means the annual report 
document subsequent to the phase 
1 annual report that is finalized by 
the division from the phase 1 annual 
report and provided to the state 
charter school for comment prior to 
submission to the commission as final 
report or a final report completed in 
part.
 Y. “Procedure” or 
“Procedures” means directives, 
instructions, templates and forms, 
and timelines adopted by commission 
that are consistent with the act and 
the state charter schools’ contracts, 
and which are implemented by the 
division or commission pursuant to 
which the commission provides state 
charter school oversight, including:
  (1) new 
charter school applications;
  (2) evaluation 
criteria for new charter applications 
adopted by the commission to be 
applied by the division prior to 
making a recommendation;
  (3) 
implementation year checklist;
  (4) form of 
annual report;
  (5) form for 
commission acceptance of annual 
reports and notification to a state 
charter school of an annual report 
notice;
  (6) renewing 
charter school applications;
  (7) 
evaluation criteria for renewal 
charter applications adopted by the 
commission and applied by division 
prior to making a recommendation 
and description of the assessment of 
the application by the division;
  (8) charter 
school contract and performance 
framework templates consistent with 
the requirements of the act;
  (9) 
amendment and notification forms 
and procedures as referenced in the 
charter contract; 
  (10) closure 
protocols for state charter schools;

  (11) 
consultation process to obtain 
input from state charter schools on 
procedures; and
  (12) such other 
forms and procedures adopted by the 
commission that are administrative 
in nature and that facilitate the 
commission’s implementation of the 
commission’s legal duties as defined 
by the act and applicable regulations.
 Z. “Secretary” means 
the New Mexico secretary of public 
education.
 AA. “State charter 
school” means a charter school 
authorized by the commission to 
operate as a public school.
 AB. “Technical 
support” means guidance which may 
be provided by the division relating to 
its authority under the act.
 AC. “Uncorrected 
unsatisfactory performance” means 
failure to correct unsatisfactory 
performance for which a state charter 
school has been given notice and 
opportunity to correct as reflected in 
two or more consecutive final annual 
reports accepted during the charter 
contract term.
 AD. “Unsatisfactory 
performance” means a designation 
by the division in the final annual 
report or final annual report 
completed in part that is neither 
“exceeds” nor “meets” the standard.
[6.2.9.7 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.8  SCHEDULE FOR 
STATE CHARTER SCHOOL 
PROCEDURE-MAKING:
 A. In support of 
high-stakes decisions made by 
the commission, the commission 
shall create procedures related to 
its ministerial responsibilities of 
oversight and monitoring state charter 
schools that will be used by the 
commission and division consistent 
with their authority under the act. 
The commission’s procedures may 
be modified following the procedures 
adopted in this rule. The commission 
shall post all procedures in a central 
location on the commission’s website 
or in an authorizing manual available 
to the public on the commission’s 
website.

 B. In adopting changes 
to procedures, the commission shall:
  (1) provide 
public notice to those who request 
notice of commission action that 
procedure changes are being 
considered by the commission 
pursuant to this rule;
  (2) provide 
written notice on commission meeting 
agendas of the two working sessions 
at which the commission will review 
each draft procedure and accept 
written and oral comments;
  (3) accept 
public written comments up to the 
start of the second working session 
and in-person or virtual comments 
during the two working sessions;
  (4) provide 
written notice on a commission 
meeting agenda indicating when the 
commission will consider adoption of 
each procedure; and
  (5) post the 
adopted forms and procedures on 
the commission website where all 
procedures are located.
[6.2.9.8 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.9  PROCEDURE 
REVIEW:
 A. The procedures 
of the commission are effective 
until amended or repealed; will 
only be revised as determined by 
the commission to be necessary, in 
a manner consistent with national 
best practices and conforming to 
legislative changes; will follow 
the schedule set forth here and are 
applicable prospectively.
 B. Any new or revised 
commission procedures shall be 
effective as of July 1 of the following 
fiscal year unless the commission 
identifies an exceptional circumstance 
requiring an immediate change or 
implementation. If a new or revised 
renewal application form is approved 
effective as of July 1, it will be 
used by schools that are scheduled 
to submit a renewal application 
fourteen months or later from the 
effective date. Schools that will be 
submitting a renewal application 
the next September, or two months 
from the effective date of the new or 
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revised renewal application form, will 
use the form that was in effect prior 
to July 1 unless otherwise agreed to 
between the renewing schools and the 
commission.
 C. A new procedure 
or revisions to an existing procedure 
may be proposed by a member of 
the commission, or the division 
director on behalf of the division or 
another division of the department. 
All procedure revisions contemplated 
by this section shall comply with the 
notice and comment procedures as set 
forth in 6.2.9.8 NMAC.
 D. This section does 
not apply to changes in scheduling 
dates, inclusion of legislative changes 
or the inclusion of minor changes that 
do not change the required provisions 
of the existing procedure such as 
corrective typographical errors or 
providing clarification. Such changes 
may be adopted by the commission at 
its discretion, with reasonable notice 
to those affected by the change(s) and 
posted to the website as set forth in 
6.2.9.8 NMAC.
[6.2.9.9 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.10  OUT-OF-
CYCLE PROCEDURE-
MAKING; EXCEPTIONAL 
CIRCUMSTANCES:
Exceptional circumstances 
for implementing a procedure 
immediately, or with an effective date 
other than those described in 6.2.9.9 
NMAC shall be found when needed 
to:
 A. protect the 
immediate heath, welfare, or 
education of state charter school 
employees, students and others doing 
business at state charter schools;
 B. address new case 
law affecting the commission or state 
charter schools;
 C. address statutory 
changes;
 D. address changes to 
public education department rules; or 
 E. address other 
exceptional or emergency 
circumstances as determined by the 
commission.
[6.2.9.10 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.11  RECORD OF 
STATE CHARTER SCHOOL 
PERFORMANCE AND 
STATE CHARTER SCHOOL 
EVALUATION:
 A. During the term of 
the charter contract, the state charter 
school, commission, and division 
will develop a record of the state 
charter school performance. This will 
include:
  (1) the charter 
contract between the commission and 
the state charter school;
  (2) all 
final annual reports prepared by 
the division and accepted by the 
commission;
  (3) all 
annual report notices issued by the 
commission; 
  (4) 
documentation provided by the 
state charter school to the division 
and commission or identified by the 
division of corrected or uncorrected 
unsatisfactory performance identified 
in a previous final annual report or 
commission notice; 
  (5) 
documentation of actions taken by the 
commission under the intervention 
ladder and the results of the corrective 
action imposed, including a return to 
good standing by the commission, if 
provided;
  (6) the 
state charter school’s complete 
initial or renewal application to the 
commission;
  (7) the 
division’s written analysis of the 
initial or renewal application, the 
division’s recommendation regarding 
approval or renewal of the application 
to the commission, and the response 
of the applicant for a new charter 
school or an existing renewing state 
charter school to the division’s 
analysis and recommendation(s); and
  (8) 
other documents, notices, or 
recommendations that are created 
pursuant to the processes set forth 
in this rule and provided by the 
commission or division to the state 
charter school regarding school 
performance.

 B. The record as 
established under this section shall 
not be deemed the complete record 
for purposes of appeal by a renewing 
charter school pursuant to Section 22-
8B-7 NMSA 1978.
[6.2.9.11 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.12  ANNUAL SITE 
VISIT AND ANNUAL REPORT:
 A. The division 
will conduct an annual site visit to 
provide technical assistance to the 
state charter school, and to evaluate 
the school’s annual progress toward 
the performance framework goals 
and compliance with the charter 
contract. The division will prioritize 
completing the annual site visits and 
presentation of final annual reports for 
those state charter schools that have 
submitted a renewal application and 
those state charter schools that have 
an unresolved annual report notice 
showing unsatisfactory performance 
or a corrective action plan in place.
 B. The division’s site 
visit will include review of whether 
the state charter school is:
  (1) complying 
with the terms of the charter contract, 
including any conditions;
  (2) meeting 
the indicators and targets as set forth 
in the performance framework;
  (3) correcting 
or has corrected unsatisfactory 
performance;
  (4) correcting 
or has corrected uncorrected 
unsatisfactory performance identified 
in an annual report notice; and
  (5) completing 
or has completed actions that 
cure intervention imposed by the 
commission pursuant to 6.2.9.13 
NMAC.
 C. Phase 1, phase 
2 and final annual reports will be 
completed by the division according 
to the following procedures and 
deadlines:
  (1) The 
division and state charter school may 
extend or revise deadlines in the 
process for phase 1 by documenting 
an agreement as to a new deadline in 
writing. If the school does not offer 
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an appropriate deadline for purposes 
of providing the division with the 
missing information, the division 
director will impose a deadline with 
which the school shall comply.
  (2) To create 
a phase 1 annual report, the division 
will include demographic and other 
information on the state charter school 
available to the division from the 
department and conduct an annual site 
visit.
   (a) 
The division will provide at least 
30 days prior written notice of each 
state charter school’s annual site visit 
and include a copy of, or a hyperlink 
to, the approved site visit protocol 
in the notice. Site visits will not be 
scheduled if a state charter school 
notifies the division that critical 
testing is scheduled for the date of 
the proposed site visit. If the division 
does not provide 30 days advance 
notice, the annual site visit will be 
rescheduled upon written request of 
the state charter school. If the annual 
site visit needs to be rescheduled for 
any reason, it may be rescheduled 
at any time after the initial 30-day 
period, and an additional 30-day 
notice is not required.
   (b) 
The division and the state charter 
school will conduct an exit meeting 
at the end of the annual site visit 
outlining the initial results of the 
division’s findings. If the division 
determines that the state charter 
school did not provide information 
necessary for the division to complete 
its annual site visit evaluation, the 
parties will memorialize a list of 
missing information and the time 
frame for providing the information to 
the division during the exit meeting.
   (c) 
Within 30 days following the exit 
meeting, the division will upload a 
phase 1 annual report based on the 
annual site visit findings to a data 
platform available for the state charter 
school to review at any time. The state 
charter school will provide missing 
information or correct the information 
to the division within the time frame 
agreed to by the division and the 
school.

  (3) In order to 
complete the final annual report, the 
following actions will take place:
   (a) 
No later than 45 days prior to a 
commission meeting to consider the 
final annual reports, the division will 
provide to the state charter school 
for review and comment a phase 2 
annual report reflecting performance, 
including all information that has 
been made available. The division 
will identify in the phase 2 annual 
report unsatisfactory performance, 
uncorrected unsatisfactory 
performance, the facts in support 
of unsatisfactory performance, and 
the division’s recommendation to 
the commission. The phase 2 annual 
report shall contain the division’s 
initial assessment as to school’s 
performance according to the rating 
set forth in each completed section 
of the performance framework, 
and may contain the division’s 
recommendation to the commission 
regarding the commission’s annual 
report notice, including the specific 
type of notice that the division is 
recommending be issued, its factual 
basis for that recommendation, and 
the recommended time frame for 
completion of the corrective action.
   (b) 
The state charter school may provide 
a written response to the division’s 
phase 2 annual report within 20 
days of receipt from the division, 
including the state charter school’s 
response to the division’s assessment 
regarding correction of unsatisfactory 
performance if the state charter school 
received an annual report notice from 
the commission for the previous 
school year. The response shall 
include documents or other evidence 
to support the state charter school’s 
response.
   (c) 
The division will consider the state 
charter school response and create a 
final annual report or a final annual 
report completed in part and include 
all unresolved state charter school’s 
responses, if any, to the phase 2 
annual report. The division will 
provide the final annual report to the 
school and the commission seven 

days prior to the commission meeting 
at which the final annual report or 
the final annual report completed 
in part will be considered by the 
commission. The division may move 
presentation of an annual report to the 
next meeting of the commission if it 
needs more time to consider changes 
proposed by a state charter school.
   (d) 
The division will present its final 
annual report or the final annual 
report completed in part to the 
commission at a public meeting, and 
the state charter school may attend 
the commission meeting at which the 
final annual report will be discussed.
  (4) If a final 
report has been completed in part, 
when the reserved sections can be 
completed, the annual report may be 
reopened and those reserved sections 
may be completed using the phase 
2 process set forth above related to 
the reserved sections; however no 
sections other than those reserved 
may be reopened.
 D. The commission 
shall take the following steps 
after consideration of the final 
annual report or final annual report 
completed in part.
  (1) The 
commission will:
   (a) 
accept the final annual report or final 
annual report completed in part at a 
public meeting of the commission;
   (b) 
issue an annual report notice; or
   (c) 
if circumstances exist to support 
revocation, take action to start a 
revocation process pursuant to this 
rule.
  (2) If the 
commission votes to issue an 
annual report notice other than 
notice of exemplary or satisfactory 
performance, or to commence action 
under the intervention ladder when the 
division recommended the issuance of 
a notice of exemplary or satisfactory 
performance, the commission’s notice 
shall include a notice to the state 
charter school that it may, within 10 
days of receipt of the notice, present a 
written response to the commission’s 
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action(s) to be included in the record 
of performance of the charter school. 
The state charter school may also 
request an opportunity to be heard at 
the next meeting of the commission 
and request reconsideration of the 
commission’s decision to impose 
corrective action.
  (3) Within 10 
days after the commission meeting the 
commission shall provide a written 
notice to the school if the commission 
has accepted the final annual report 
or final annual report completed 
in part, identify the annual report 
notice issued by the commission, 
and reference the annual report 
which identifies the unsatisfactory 
performance requiring corrective 
action with sufficient specificity such 
that the state charter school can take 
appropriate measures to correct its 
performance.
  (4) The final 
annual report or final annual report 
completed in part and the action of 
the commission shall be made part 
of the record of the state charter 
school performance. If a state charter 
school later corrects unsatisfactory 
performance, the final annual report 
or final annual report completed in 
part shall not be reopened and the 
rating changed; instead, the corrected 
unsatisfactory performance shall be 
noted in the final annual report for 
the next year or in the assessment 
of a renewal application, if the state 
charter school is submitting a renewal 
application that year.
  (5) Any 
action to revoke or not renew a state 
charter school’s charter contract 
will be in accordance with the state 
charter school’s charter contract, and 
applicable laws and rules.
 E. Acceptance of 
an annual report shall be by action 
taken by the commission at a public 
meeting that acknowledges receipt 
of an annual report from the division 
as part of the record of performance 
during the contract term.
[6.2.9.12 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.13  CORRECTIVE 
ACTION:
 A. The following 

actions are to be taken regarding the 
unsatisfactory performance by the 
state charter school or in response to 
an annual report notice.
  (1) If the 
performance framework reflects 
unsatisfactory performance on one or 
more indicator, but the commission 
did not find that an annual report 
notice for unsatisfactory performance 
or uncorrected unsatisfactory 
performance was warranted, the 
state charter school shall take action 
to improve its performance on the 
specific indicators and shall provide 
information to the division of 
improvements made no later than the 
next annual site visit unless otherwise 
indicated by the commission in the 
notification provided for in Subsection 
D of 6.2.9.12 NMAC. The division 
will provide an assessment of the 
improvement during the next annual 
report cycle, or earlier if the division 
deems it necessary to recommend 
action under the intervention ladder.
  (2) If an 
annual report notice for unsatisfactory 
performance or uncorrected 
unsatisfactory performance has been 
issued by the commission, the state 
charter school shall take action to 
correct unsatisfactory performance by 
providing information to the division 
of the corrected performance within 
the timeframe set in the commission’s 
notice. The division will provide 
updates to the commission at 
intervals as set forth in the annual 
report notice, and report to the 
commission if the unsatisfactory 
performance has been corrected. 
The division may recommend that a 
notice of uncorrected unsatisfactory 
performance be issued on the next 
final annual report or recommend at 
any time that action be taken under 
the intervention ladder if there is a 
lack of progress by the state charter 
school as contemplated by the annual 
report notice.
  (3) During 
the third or fourth year of the charter 
term, a governing body with renewal 
concerns based on unsatisfactory 
performance in the record of 
performance may request an informal 
pre-renewal review meeting. If 

the request is made, a group of the 
governing body for the state charter 
school making up less than a quorum 
of the governing body, staff from the 
state charter school, the division, and 
a group of commissioners making up 
less than a quorum of the commission 
identified by the executive committee 
of the commission will meet to 
provide input to the state charter 
school on suggested areas of 
improvement before submitting the 
renewal application. The meetings 
and discussions will be considered 
technical assistance and will not 
be made part of the record of 
performance.
 B. Throughout the 
term of the charter contract, the 
commission may take action when 
appropriate under the intervention 
ladder.
  (1) If the 
division is the entity that identifies an 
intervention concern:
                (a) 
the division will notify the 
school. Information establishing 
unsatisfactory performance giving 
rise to possible action under the 
intervention ladder may be obtained 
from sources such as other divisions 
and bureaus of the department or 
other state or federal agencies.
   (b) 
unless the division finds that the 
unsatisfactory performance requires 
immediate action by the commission, 
the division will provide the state 
charter school with an opportunity 
to remedy the unsatisfactory 
performance without commission 
intervention under the intervention 
ladder.
   (c) 
if the division determines that the 
intervention concern may require 
immediate intervention by the 
commission or that the state charter 
school has failed to remedy the 
intervention concern after notice from 
the division, the division will present 
information of the intervention 
concern to the commission at a public 
meeting.
  (2) If the 
commission decides to issue a notice 
of intent to commence action under 
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intervention ladder, whether the 
intervention concern is presented 
by the division or the commission 
determines that it will commence 
action based on an intervention 
concern presented at a commission 
meeting, the commission will provide 
written notice to the state charter 
school’s representatives of the date 
and time of the meeting at which the 
commission will consider whether 
to impose interventions pursuant 
to this section. The meeting shall 
be scheduled for the next regular 
meeting, no sooner than 10 days 
from the date of the commission’s 
notice to the state charter school, 
except in exigent circumstances 
implicating health, safety, or financial 
impropriety, that could jeopardize the 
ongoing operations of the state charter 
school.
  (3) At the 
commission meeting where it will 
consider commencing action under 
the intervention ladder, the division 
will present information supporting 
the position that commission 
intervention pursuant to this section 
is warranted. The state charter school 
may present written and oral rebuttal 
information to the commission prior 
to a commission decision to impose 
interventions.
  (4) The 
commission may decide whether to 
impose appropriate interventions, 
after considering the information 
provided by the division and the state 
charter school.
  (5) The 
commission may impose the 
following interventions related to an 
intervention concern:
   (a) 
issue a notice of concern identifying 
the uncorrected unsatisfactory 
performance that includes expected 
outcomes and deadlines for 
addressing all issues and a deadline 
by which the school shall present the 
division with a corrective action plan 
to address the identified issues;
   (b) 
issue a notice of breach of the state 
charter school’s charter contract 
for a state charter school’s failure 
to correct a notice of concern 

according to its terms if said failure 
constitutes a breach of contract, or for 
violating any material terms of the 
contract that are serious enough to 
justify a heightened response by the 
commission. If the commission issues 
a notice of breach, the written notice 
of breach shall include the specific 
contract sections the commission 
alleges have been violated, the 
evidence upon which the commission 
contends a breach of the charter 
contract has occurred, and a deadline 
by which the school shall present 
the division with a corrective action 
plan to address the identified contract 
violations; or
   (c) 
issue a notice of potential non-
renewal or potential renewal with 
conditions, if the state charter school 
is in the last two years of its charter 
term and the commission finds that 
the facts warrant the issuance of 
the notice. The commission shall 
identify the legal basis for the 
possible nonrenewal or renewal with 
conditions, and shall include in its 
notice of possible non-renewal or 
renewal with conditions, a summary 
of the evidence supporting that 
conclusion; the required action by 
the state charter school to remedy the 
unsatisfactory performance giving rise 
to the notice of potential non-renewal 
or potential renewal with conditions; 
and the timeline for satisfying the 
requirements.
  (6) Any 
corrective action plan required by 
this section shall be created and 
implemented as follows:
   (a) 
The state charter school shall develop 
a corrective action plan by the date 
specified in the notice that addresses 
the identified intervention concern 
and that aligns with the expected 
outcomes and deadlines set forth in 
the notice and provide the document 
to the division for comments and 
suggested clarifications. The plan 
shall be due no sooner than 10 days 
from the state charter school’s receipt 
of the notice of concern. An approved 
corrective action plan shall contain 
the following elements:

                 (i) 
name of state charter school 
representative responsible for 
ensuring completion of the corrective 
action plan and reporting to the 
division and commission;
                (ii) 
specific actions to be taken by the 
state charter school and the staff 
positions anticipated to complete the 
actions to address the unsatisfactory 
performance; and
               (iii) 
date(s) by which the state charter 
school is to submit report(s) to the 
commission and division on progress 
of or completion of the actions 
identified in the corrective action 
plan.
                  (b) 
The division, as part of its 
recommendation to the commission, 
will present its assessment of the 
adequacy of the plan and provide the 
division’s plan to monitor the school’s 
compliance. The division will create 
a corrective action monitoring tool to 
monitor and provide written progress 
reports periodically to the commission 
and state charter school and to be 
provided to the commission as part of 
the commission-approved corrective 
action plan.
   (c) 
The commission, or a subcommittee 
of the commission if designated 
by the commission, shall consider 
the state charter school’s proposed 
corrective action plan by a date 
specified in the notice of concern and, 
if the plan is found to be inadequate, 
may require the state charter school 
to improve the corrective action 
plan or take further action under the 
intervention ladder.
   (d) 
The time for completing an accepted 
corrective action plan shall commence 
from the date the commission 
approves the plan.
   (e) 
The state charter school may request 
amendment of the corrective action 
plan by providing notice to the 
division of the proposed changes. 
Non-substantive, minor changes 
to the commission-approved plan 
may be approved by the division in 
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writing. Substantive changes shall 
be approved by the commission at a 
public meeting.
 C. Nothing herein 
shall preclude the commission from 
commencing revocation proceedings 
as set forth in 6.2.9.17 NMAC if 
ongoing monitoring activities reveal 
circumstances that warrant revocation.
 D. The commission 
shall vote to reinstate a state charter 
school’s good standing upon the 
division providing information 
that the state charter school has 
corrected the concerns that gave rise 
to a notice of concern or notice of 
breach. Reinstatement of the school’s 
good standing shall be evidenced in 
writing, made a part of the record 
of performance for the state charter 
school, and the state charter school’s 
corrective actions may be used to 
support renewal or renewal with 
conditions.
 E. Action taken by the 
commission pursuant to this section 
shall be made part of the record of the 
state charter school performance.
[6.2.9.13 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.14  TRIBAL 
CONSULTATION:
 A. If a state charter 
school applicant wants to open a 
charter school on tribal land, it shall 
negotiate with and receive the tribal 
government’s approval for the public 
school before the commission acts 
on the application.  The applicant 
shall adhere to requirements for tribal 
consultation in Section 22-8B-12.2 
NMSA 1978.
 B. When the 
commission is contemplating closing 
a state charter school located on tribal 
land, for any reason, suspension, 
revocation, or non-renewal, it shall 
consult with tribal leaders and 
members and families of students 
attending the charter school, and shall 
adhere to the requirements of Section 
22-8B-12.2 NMSA 1978.
[6.2.9.14 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.15  NEW SCHOOL 
APPLICATION REVIEW:
 A. The division 
will analyze each new state charter 

school application, consider 
information and analysis provided in 
accordance with the act, and prepare 
a preliminary renewal analysis. The 
preliminary renewal analysis may 
include the division’s preliminary 
recommendation to the commission 
whether to approve, approve with 
conditions, or to not approve the 
school’s charter contract in addition 
to other information as directed by the 
commission.
 B. The applicant 
may provide a written response to 
the preliminary renewal analysis 
within 10 days of receipt of the 
analysis. If the division agrees with 
the applicant’s response, the division 
will modify the final analysis before 
submitting it to the commission and 
provide an updated analysis to the 
applicant. If the division disagrees 
with the applicant’s response in whole 
or in part, it will provide reasons 
why it disagrees with the applicant’s 
response in its final analysis and 
include the applicant’s response in the 
division’s final analysis submitted to 
the commission.
 C. No later than 30 
days prior to the new application 
hearing, the commission shall 
identify in writing for each applicant 
preliminary issues of concerns or 
requests for further information to 
allow the applicant to prepare for the 
hearing.
 D. The division will 
submit its final analysis as described 
in this section to the commission, 
seven days prior to the new 
application hearing.
 E. The commission 
shall determine if an application is 
approved, approved with conditions, 
or not approved in accordance with 
law and this rule.
 F. An applicant may 
appeal the decision to the secretary 
in accordance with Section 22-8B-
7 NMSA 1978 and provisions of 
6.80.4.13 NMAC.
[6.2.9.15 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.16  RENEWAL:
 A. The division will 
analyze each renewal application 
according to the criteria established 

by the commission and the act and 
will prepare a preliminary renewal 
analysis. The preliminary renewal 
analysis shall include the division’s 
preliminary recommendation to the 
commission whether to renew, renew 
with conditions, or to not renew.
 B. The school seeking 
to renew its charter as a state charter 
school may provide a written 
response to the preliminary renewal 
analysis within 10 days of receipt. If 
the division agrees with the school’s 
response, the division will modify 
the final renewal analysis before 
submitting it to the commission and 
provide an updated analysis to the 
state charter school. If the division 
disagrees with the school’s response 
in whole or in part, it will provide 
reasons why it disagrees with the 
school’s response in its final renewal 
analysis and include the school’s 
response in the division’s final 
renewal analysis submitted to the 
commission.
 C. No later than 30 
days prior to the renewal hearing, 
for each renewing school seeking to 
renew its charter as a state charter 
school, the commission shall identify 
in writing preliminary issues of 
concern, an indication of possible 
non-renewal if identified by the 
commission, and request for further 
information to allow the school to 
prepare for the renewal hearing.
 D. The division will 
submit its final renewal analysis 
as described in this section to the 
commission by no later than 10 days 
prior to the commission hearings on 
the renewal applications.
 E. Unless a non-
renewal hearing is requested as 
set forth below, for each renewing 
charter, the commission shall 
hold a renewal hearing according 
to an approved renewal process, 
allow public input, and allow oral 
presentations by the division and 
the school. The commission will 
then be allowed to ask questions of 
the division and the school related 
to the renewal application and oral 
presentations prior to making a 
decision regarding renewal.
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 F. If the division 
provides a recommendation of non-
renewal, if the commission has 
indicated to the school that it may 
consider non-renewal, or if the record 
of performance contains sufficient 
grounds for non-renewal, the school 
may request to invoke the non-
renewal hearing procedure described 
in Subsection G of this section. A 
state charter school’s request for 
the commission to follow the non-
renewal hearing procedure shall be 
provided to the commission chair and 
division director by no later than 10 
days after issuance of the division’s 
preliminary renewal analysis.
 G. If the school 
seeking to renew its charter as a 
state charter school timely requests 
that the commission follow the 
non-renewal hearing procedure, the 
commission shall provide the school 
with the following minimum process 
before voting on the division’s 
recommendation for nonrenewal.
  (1) Upon 
receipt of the school’s request for 
the commission to follow the non-
renewal hearing procedure, the 
commission shall provide notice of 
the date and time of the possible non-
renewal hearing no later than 10 days 
prior to the hearing, or indicate that 
the commission will utilize the same 
date and time set previously identified 
for a renewal hearing for the school. 
The full record of performance, 
renewal application, and analysis 
by the division will be considered 
as part of the record without further 
evidentiary foundation needed. Within 
five days, the chairperson of the 
commission, with counsel, shall meet 
with the parties and their counsel to 
confirm anticipated witnesses and 
documents to be presented, including 
how to address any new information 
that the parties may wish to present, 
and to memorialize the anticipated 
witnesses, documents, process 
and timelines as established in the 
meeting.
  (2) If the 
commission has indicated to the 
school that it may consider non-
renewal, the division or commission 
counsel may rely on the grounds 

provided to the school in the record of 
performance, the reasons provided in 
the division’s final renewal analysis 
that were previously disclosed to 
the school through the process 
contemplated under this rule, or in 
the written letter of concern from the 
commission provided to the school 
during the charter contract term.
  (3) The non-
renewal hearing shall be conducted as 
follows:
   (a) 
If the commission has indicated 
to the school that it may consider 
non-renewal, the division will 
have one hour in total to present its 
recommendation and supporting 
evidence to the commission, which 
may be through its counsel or 
commission counsel. The presenting 
party may present witness testimony 
or documentary evidence, and shall 
have the opportunity to question the 
state charter school representatives in 
appearance, excluding legal counsel.
   (b) 
The school, through counsel if it 
elects to have counsel, shall then have 
one hour in total to present evidence 
to defend its application for renewal. 
The school may present witness 
testimony or documentary evidence 
and shall have the opportunity to 
question division representatives or 
other representatives in appearance 
about information used to support a 
recommendation of nonrenewal.
   (c) 
Commission members may ask 
questions of the division, its 
attorney or witnesses, and the school 
representatives and witnesses, during 
the presentations, which shall not 
be subtracted from the division’s or 
school’s time, and may take up to 
one hour after the school and division 
finish their presentations to ask 
additional questions that are related 
to the renewal applications and the 
previously identified reasons given for 
possible nonrenewal.
 H. Attorneys may 
provide representation at the hearing, 
at each parties’ sole cost and expense.
 I. The hearing shall be 
recorded by a licensed stenographer 
and a copy of the transcript shall be 

presented to the parties within 10 days 
of the hearing unless additional time 
can be extended without prejudice to 
the school’s right to appeal.
 J. The hearing and 
deliberations of the commission shall 
be conducted pursuant to the Open 
Meetings Act.
 K. The commission 
shall vote on the state charter school’s 
renewal in a public meeting and 
articulate the legal grounds and 
supporting evidence for its decision 
on the record. The commission shall 
serve a written decision on the state 
charter school’s representatives 
within 14 days of the hearing. If 
the commission decides not to 
renew the charter contract, the 
decision shall include the legal basis 
for non-renewal and the factual 
reasons supporting findings of legal 
violations, required pursuant to 
Subsection K and Subsection M of 
Section 22-8B-12 NMSA 1978 during 
the public hearing.
 L. A school may 
appeal to the secretary pursuant to 
Section 22-8B-7 NMSA 1978 and 
provisions of 6.80.4.13 NMAC.
[6.2.9.16 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.2.9.17  REVOCATION:
 A. The commission 
may revoke the school’s charter 
contract if legal grounds exist 
pursuant to the act. If immediate 
revocation is warranted, or if 
the state charter school does not 
provide a corrective action plan 
accepted by commission, or if the 
state charter school fails to timely 
cure the violation as contemplated 
in the corrective action plan, the 
commission may vote to proceed with 
revocation.
 B. The commission 
shall provide the school with a notice 
of intent to revoke that includes 
the legal basis for revocation as 
contemplated in the act and a date, 
time, and place for a revocation 
hearing. The hearing shall be in Santa 
Fe or the county in which the school 
is located, as agreed upon between the 
parties. Unless a need for emergency 
revocation or suspension is identified, 
the hearing shall be held not more 
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than 60 nor less than 30 days from 
the date of service of said notice. The 
full record of performance, including 
any transcripts or commission 
meetings relating to discussion of 
unsatisfactory performance, will 
be considered as part of the record 
without further evidentiary foundation 
needed. Within five days, the 
chairperson of the commission, with 
counsel, will meet with the parties 
and counsel to confirm anticipated 
witnesses and documents to be 
presented, including how to address 
any new information that the parties 
may wish to present, and memorialize 
the anticipated witnesses, documents, 
process, and timelines as established 
in the meeting.
 C. The revocation 
hearing shall be conducted as follows:
  (1) Counsel 
presenting the case for revocation 
shall have one hour to present 
evidence for revocation to the 
commission. The counsel presenting 
the case for revocation may present 
witness testimony or documentary 
evidence, and may question the 
school representatives in appearance, 
excluding legal counsel.
  (2) After the 
commission’s counsel’s presentation, 
the school shall have one hour to 
present evidence to defend against 
the recommended revocation. 
The school may present witness 
testimony or documentary evidence, 
and may present witness testimony 
or documentary evidence, and may 
question the division representative 
in appearance or other representatives 
in appearance to defend against the 
revocation.
  (3) 
Commission members may ask 
questions of the division, the 
commission’s counsel or witnesses, 
the school, its attorney, and the 
school’s witnesses during the 
presentations and may take up to 
one hour after the commission’s 
counsel and the state charter school’s 
presentations to ask additional 
questions related to grounds for 
revocation.

 D. Attorneys may 
provide representation at the hearing, 
at each parties’ sole cost and expense.
 E. The hearing shall be 
recorded by a licensed stenographer 
and a copy of the transcript shall be 
presented to the parties within 10 days 
of the hearing unless additional time 
can be extended without prejudice to 
the school’s right to appeal.
 F. The hearing and 
deliberations of the commission shall 
be conducted pursuant to the Open 
Meetings Act.
 G. The commission 
shall vote on the state charter school’s 
revocation in a public meeting and 
articulate the legal grounds and 
supporting evidence for its decision 
on the record. The commission shall 
serve a written decision on the state 
charter school’s representatives 
within 14 days of the hearing. If the 
commission decides to revoke the 
charter contract, the decision shall 
include the legal basis for revocation, 
and the factual reasons supporting 
findings of legal violations, required 
pursuant to Subsection K and 
Subsection M of Section 22-8B-
12 NMSA 1978 during the public 
hearing.
 H. Appeal.  A school 
may appeal to the secretary pursuant 
to Section 22-8B-7 NMSA 1978 and 
provisions of 6.80.4.14 NMAC.
[6.2.9.17 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

History of 6.2.9 NMAC:  
[RESERVED]
______________________________

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

TITLE 6 PRIMARY AND 
SECONDARY EDUCATION
CHAPTER 19 PUBLIC 
SCHOOL ACCOUNTABILITY
PART 7            DEMONSTRATION 
OF COMPETENCY FOR HIGH 
SCHOOL GRADUATION

6.19.7.1   ISSUING 
AGENCY:  Public Education 
Department, herein after the 
department.
[6.19.7.1 NMAC - Rp, 6.19.7.1 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.19.7.2   SCOPE:  This 
rule shall apply to public schools, 
state educational institutions, and 
state agencies enrolling high school 
students, except for institutions of 
higher education and the New Mexico 
military institute.  The rule shall apply 
beginning with the class of 2025.  If 
any part or application of this rule is 
held invalid, the remainder of the rule 
or its application in other situations 
shall not be affected.
[6.19.7.2 NMAC – Rp, 6.19.7.2 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.19.7.3   STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Sections 9-24-8, 22-
2-1, 22-2-2, 22-2C-4.1, and 22-13-1.1 
NMSA 1978.
[6.19.7.3 NMAC – Rp, 6.19.7.3 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.19.7.4   DURATION:  
Permanent.
[6.19.7.4 NMAC - Rp, 6.19.7.4 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.19.7.5   EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  July 31, 2023, unless a later 
date is cited at the end of a section.
[6.19.7.5 NMAC - Rp, 6.19.7.5 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.19.7.6   OBJECTIVE:  
The objective of this rule is to 
establish pathways for demonstrating 
competency in mathematics, reading, 
writing, science, and social studies for 
high school graduation.
[6.19.7.6 NMAC - Rp, 6.19.7.6 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.19.7.7   DEFINITIONS:
 A. “College readiness 
option” means college entrance 
exam, college placement exam, or 
the completion of core college-credit- 
bearing course or exam.
 B. “Core content 
areas” means mathematics, reading, 
writing, science, and social studies.
 C. “Demonstration of 
competency” means the passing of 
appropriate district-created, state, or 
national options used to demonstrate 
competency in mathematics, reading, 
writing, science, or social studies for 
high school graduation, as outlined in 
a department graduation manual.
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 D. “Local education 
agency” or “LEA” means a local 
school district or state-chartered 
charter school.
 E. “Program 
of study” means a progressive 
continuum of courses that may be 
offered across grades nine through 
12 to provide technical training, 
training to prepare for employment, 
and training to prepare for entry into 
postsecondary education.
 F. “Workforce 
readiness option” means workforce 
readiness exam, industry certificate, 
or completion of designated program 
of study.
[6.19.7.7 NMAC - Rp, 6.19.7.7 
NMAC 7/31/2023]

6.19.7.8   GENERAL 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
DEMONSTRATIONS OF 
COMPETENCY:
 A. The department 
shall annually develop and publish 
a graduation manual for each 
graduating class starting with the 
class of 2025.  The manual shall 
be published on the department’s 
website or available upon request.  
The graduation manual shall 
include information on graduation 
requirements and options for the 
demonstration of competency.
 B. Students 
must participate in federal Title 
1 assessments in addition as a 
prerequisite to demonstrating 
competency.
 C. Students may 
demonstrate competency in each 
of the core content areas using 
standards-based indicators including:
  (1) District-
approved, teacher- team-created 
course final exams, final projects, 
portfolios, or capstone projects; or
  (2) Results 
from national or state college or 
career readiness assessments, dual 
credit courses, or career technical 
certificates or programs of study.
  (3) 
Demonstrations of competency 
of state standards for high school 
graduation shall not include the 
following:

   (a) 
artifacts which are not the product of 
the student’s independent work;
   (b) 
collaborations in which an individual 
student’s contributions cannot be 
distinguished.
                (c) 
teacher or employer 
recommendations;
   (d) 
artifacts that are not related to content 
areas required for graduation;
   (e) 
letters of acceptance from higher 
education institutions; and
   (f) 
options that are not aligned with the 
department’s graduation manual.
 D. LEAs shall 
determine the number of opportunities 
that a student has to demonstrate 
competency for each option.
 E. LEAs and school 
boards may offer all or some of 
the demonstrations of competency 
outlined in Subsection C of this 
section except assessments required 
by the state.
 F. If at the end of 
grade twelve a student has not 
demonstrated competency of state 
standards in the core content areas, 
the student shall be issued a certificate 
indicating course credits earned and 
grade level completed.  Students 
issued a certificate may provide 
evidence of the demonstration of 
competency within five years of 
exiting a public school or state 
educational institution to satisfy 
competency in required core content 
areas and earn a New Mexico diploma 
of excellence.
 G. Students with an 
IEP that provides individualized 
graduation indicators shall adhere 
to the expectations for either the 
modified or ability program of study 
outlined in Items (ii) and (iii) of 
Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph (13) 
of Subsection J of 6.29.1.9 NMAC.  
Individualized passing scores on 
demonstration of competency options 
shall be determined by the IEP team. 
Individualized passing scores may 
be subject to department review.  
Students following the requirements 

for the modified or ability program 
of study who meet the competency 
requirements established in their 
IEP shall earn a diploma.  Students 
obtaining a diploma through modified 
or ability programs of study have the 
right to continue to receive special 
education and related services as 
part of their entitlement to a free 
appropriate public education until 
the student meets or exceeds all 
requirements to obtain a diploma 
through the standard program of study 
or until the end of the academic year 
in which the student becomes 22 
years of age.
 H. LEAs shall ensure 
that all high school students have the 
opportunity to participate in college 
readiness or workforce readiness 
options pursuant to Section 22-2C-4.1 
NMSA 1978.
[6.19.7.8 NMAC – Rp, 6.19.7.8 
NMAC 7/31/2023]

6.19.7.9   DATA 
REPORTING AND 
GRADUATION RATES:
 A. Data reporting.  
LEAs shall provide data to the 
department for each student regarding 
the content areas in which the student 
has demonstrated competency.  
The school shall retain records 
documenting the options utilized 
by the student to demonstrate 
competency.
 B. Department 
audits.  The department may conduct 
annual, randomized audits at the 
school and LEA level to monitor the 
implementation of this rule.  LEAs 
shall cooperate with department 
audits.
 C. Recordkeeping.  
Records of demonstrations of 
competency shall be kept by LEAs 
for no fewer than five years and in 
accordance with federal and state 
requirements.
[6.19.7.9 NMAC - Rp, 6.19.7.9 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

16.19.7.10 - 16.19.7.15 
[RESERVED]
[6.19.7.10 NMAC – 6.19.7.15 
NMAC, Repealed, 7/31/2023]
______________________________
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HISTORY OF 6.19.7 NMAC:
6.19.7 NMAC - High School 
Readiness Assessment System for 
Career and College, filed 1/30/2009 
was repealed and replaced by 
6.19.7 NMAC - Demonstration 
of Competency for High School 
Graduation, effective 7/24/2018. 
6.19.7 NMAC - Demonstration 
of Competency for High School 
Graduation, filed 7/24/2018 
was repealed and replaced by 
6.19.7 NMAC - Demonstration 
of Competency for High School 
Graduation, effective 7/31/2023.

History of Repealed Material:
6.19.7.10 NMAC through 6.19.7.15 
NMAC, filed 7/24/2023 were 
repealed, effective 7/31/2023.
______________________________

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

TITLE 6 PRIMARY AND 
SECONDARY EDUCATION
CHAPTER 31 SPECIAL 
EDUCATION
PART 3  GIFTED AND 
TALENTED STUDENTS

6.31.3.1  ISSUING 
AGENCY:  Public Education 
Department, hereinafter the 
department.
[6.31.3.1 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.2  SCOPE:  The 
requirements of these rules are 
binding on each New Mexico 
public agency that has direct or 
delegated authority to provide gifted 
education and related services, 
regardless of whether it provides 
gifted education and related services 
directly, by contract, or through other 
arrangements.
[6.31.3.2 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.3  STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Sections 9-24-8, 22-
2-1, 22-2-2, 22-13-6 and 22-13-6.1 
NMSA 1978.
[6.31.3.3 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.4  DURATION:  
Permanent.
[6.31.3.4 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.5  EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  July 31, 2023, unless a 
later date is specified at the end of a 
section.
[6.31.3.5 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.6  OBJECTIVE:  
This rule is promulgated to assist 
New Mexico public agencies in 
appropriately identifying and 
providing educational services for 
gifted students. The purposes of this 
rule are to ensure all gifted students 
have gifted education and related 
services to meet their individual 
needs; ensure that the rights of 
gifted students and their parents are 
protected; assist public agencies to 
provide for the education of all gifted 
students; and evaluate and ensure 
the effectiveness of efforts to educate 
those students.
[6.31.3.6 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.7  DEFINITIONS:
 A. “Aptitude” means 
capacity to acquire competence, skill, 
or behaviors that can be monitored, 
evaluated, or observed.
 B. “Articulation” 
means the communication and 
planning about student educational 
needs that occurs as students are 
promoted through the school system 
grade by grade.
 C. “Artistic ability” 
means having exceptional capability 
or potential in visual art, theater, 
music, or dance. Artistic ability is 
demonstrated by achieving at an 
advanced level on a performance 
assessment or scoring in the 
ninety-fifth percentile or above on 
standardized arts assessments.
[History notes go here.]
 D. “Commensurate 
growth” means the academic 
and affective progress that can be 
measured and should be expected of a 
gifted student given the student’s level 
of achievement, learning needs, and 
abilities matched with the appropriate 
instructional level.

 E. “Creative or 
divergent thinking” means having 
exceptional capability or potential to 
solve a problem or reach a decision 
using strategies that deviate from 
commonly used or previously taught 
strategies, which is demonstrated 
by achieving an advanced level on 
performance assessments or scoring 
in the ninety-fifth percentile or above 
on standardized tests of creative or 
divergent thinking.
 F. “General 
intellectual ability” means having 
exceptional capability or potential 
recognized through cognitive 
processes, such as memory, reasoning, 
rate of learning, spatial reasoning, 
ability to find and solve problems, 
ability to manipulate abstract ideas, 
and ability to make connections, 
which is demonstrated by scoring in 
the ninety-fifth percentile or above on 
standardized cognitive ability tests.
 G. “Gifted 
individualized education program” 
or “GIEP” means a written statement 
for a gifted student that is developed, 
reviewed, and revised to deliver 
appropriate educational services to 
meet the needs of gifted students.
 H. “Gifted 
individualized education program 
team” or “GIEP team” means a 
multidisciplinary team that includes:
  (1) the parents 
or guardians of the gifted student;
  (2) if the 
gifted student is participating in 
the general education environment, 
at least one of the gifted student’s 
general education teachers;
  (3) at least one 
of the gifted student’s gifted education 
teachers, and if appropriate, at least 
one of twice-exceptional student’s 
special education providers;
  (4) an LEA 
representative who is:
   (a) 
qualified to provide or supervise 
the provision of specially designed 
instruction to meet the unique needs 
of gifted students;
   (b) 
knowledgeable of the general 
education curriculum; and
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   (c) 
knowledgeable of the availability of 
resources of the department;
  (5) other 
individuals who have knowledge 
or special expertise regarding the 
student, including related services 
personnel as appropriate; and
  (6) whenever 
appropriate, the gifted student.
 I. “Gifted student” 
means a person between the ages of 
five and 21 whose abilities, talents, 
or potential for accomplishment are 
so exceptional or developmentally 
advanced that they require special 
provisions to meet their educational 
programming needs.
 J. “Identification 
process” means a procedure for 
screening, referral, evaluation, and 
identification of gifted students.
 K. “LEA” means a 
local education agency, being a public 
school district or a state-chartered 
charter school.
 L. “Leadership 
ability” means exceptional capability 
or potential to influence, inspire, 
and empower groups demonstrated 
by achieving an advanced level 
on leadership ability performance 
assessment or scoring in the 
ninety-fifth percentile or above on 
standardized leadership tests.
 M. “Performance 
assessment” means systematic 
analysis or evaluation of a student’s 
product, performance, or behaviors 
based on valid criteria, scoring rubric, 
or rating scale norms.
 N. “Pre-advanced 
placement” means a variety of 
programs and strategies that prepare 
students to take advanced placement 
courses before or during high school.
 O. “Precollege” means 
a variety of programs to help students 
plan, apply, and pay for college. 
Programs may be administered by 
schools, colleges and universities, 
or community organizations or 
businesses.
 P. “Problem-solving 
or critical thinking” means having 
outstanding capabilities to analyze 
a problem and engage in solutions-
oriented performance, which is 

demonstrated by achieving an 
advanced level on problem-solving 
or critical thinking performance 
assessments or scoring in the 
ninety-fifth percentile or above 
on standardized problem-solving 
assessments.
 Q. “Screening” means 
an assessment method used to provide 
evidence of exceptional potential 
ability or aptitude. Screening tools 
may be qualitative or quantitative. 
Screening data contribute to a body 
of evidence for making identification 
and instructional decisions.
 R. “Specific aptitude” 
means having exceptional capability 
in a subject area, such as having a 
strong knowledge base or the ability 
to ask insightful, pertinent questions 
within the discipline, and achievement 
at an advanced level on performance 
assessments or state standardized 
achievement tests. Specific aptitude 
subject areas include all subject areas 
for which educational standards for 
students have been adopted in Chapter 
29 of Title 6 NMAC.
 S. “Twice-
exceptional” means a student who is 
identified as a gifted student and is:
  (1) identified 
as a student with a disability pursuant 
to 6.31.2 NMAC; or
  (2) a qualified 
individual pursuant to Section 504 
of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 
U.S.C.A. §794.
[6.31.3.7 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.8  ADVISORY 
COMMITTEE:
 A. Each LEA shall 
create a gifted advisory committee 
of parents, community members, 
students, and school staff members. 
A school district may create as many 
advisory committees as there are 
high schools in the school district or 
may create a district-wide advisory 
committee.
 B. The membership of 
each advisory committee shall reflect 
the cultural diversity of the enrollment 
of the LEA or the schools which 
the advisory committee represents. 
Representation from all schools the 
committee is advising is required.

 C. The advisory 
committee shall:
  (1) regularly 
review the goals and priorities 
of the gifted program, including 
the operational plans for student 
evaluation, identification, placement, 
and service delivery;
  (2) 
demonstrate support for the gifted 
program;
  (3) provide 
information to the department about 
the impact that cultural background, 
linguistic background, socioeconomic 
status, and disability conditions 
within the community may have on 
the student identification process and 
service delivery;
  (4) advocate 
for students of underrepresented 
groups due to cultural or linguistic 
background, socioeconomic status, 
or disability conditions, in order to 
ensure that these students have equal 
opportunities to benefit from services 
for gifted students;
  (5) meet three 
or more times per year at regular 
intervals; and
  (6) work with 
the LEA administration to complete 
an annual report of the LEA’s gifted 
programming. The LEA shall submit 
the report to the department.
 D. The LEA shall 
maintain formal documentation of 
committee membership, activities, 
and recommendations.  If proposals 
are made by the committee, they shall 
be submitted in writing to the LEA.  
The LEA shall respond in writing to 
any proposed actions before the next 
scheduled meeting of the advisory 
committee.
[6.31.3.8 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.9  GIFTED 
EDUCATION PROGRAM PLAN:
 A. LEAs shall 
submit a gifted education program 
plan for the next fiscal year to the 
department every other year by a 
department-assigned date. A gifted 
education program plan shall be 
deemed complete if it addresses all 
elements specified in Subsection B 
of this section. The gifted education 
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program plan shall describe the efforts 
the LEA will make to identify gifted 
students from all demographic groups, 
including racially and ethnically 
diverse students, economically 
diverse students, culturally diverse 
students, students with limited 
English proficiency, and students with 
disabilities.
 B. A gifted education 
program plan shall:
  (1) describe 
how the LEA will communicate with 
parents and school personnel about 
the gifted program plan described in 
this subsection;
  (2) describe 
the identification process the LEA will 
use to identify gifted students. The 
identification process shall recognize 
a student’s exceptional abilities or 
potential, interests, and needs to guide 
student instruction and individualized 
programming.  The description of the 
identification process shall include:
                (a) 
procedures to equalize access 
to screening and to improve 
proportionality of representation for 
all demographic groups pursuant to 
Subsection A of this section;
   (b) 
referral and screening procedures;
   (c) 
multiple sources of qualitative and 
quantitative data;
   (d) 
qualification criteria;
   (e) 
GIEP team procedures;
                (f)     
methods and timeline for 
communicating with parents about 
results and next steps of a student’s 
eligibility, and GIEP development and 
review; and
   (g) 
dispute resolution processes to 
address parent disputes over gifted 
identification or parent disputes over 
gifted services. The dispute resolution 
process shall be pursuant to Section 
14 of this rule.
  (3) describe 
the programming components 
the LEA will use to address the 
educational needs of gifted students. 
Programming components shall 

use evidence-based programs and 
service models to produce advanced 
outcomes, develop the strengths 
and interests of gifted students, 
and address other educational 
needs as determined by GIEP 
teams. Anticipating these needs, 
programming components shall 
address:
   (a) 
alignment of current assessment 
data to services in the areas of gifted 
students’ needs;
   (b) 
structures by which gifted students’ 
anticipated individual needs shall be 
met at each grade level;
   (c) 
support for gifted students’ general 
education teachers in differentiated 
instruction methods; 
   (d) 
social, affective, and guidance support 
systems for gifted students;
   (e) 
alignment of general education and 
gifted education instructional content 
with gifted students’ areas of strength;
   (f) 
articulation to meet gifted students’ 
needs as they are promoted to the next 
grade;
                (g) 
articulation to meet gifted students’ 
needs as they graduate from 
high school and continue in a 
postsecondary learning setting;
   (h) 
pre-advanced placement or precollege 
support;
   (i) 
whole-grade and single-subject 
acceleration policy or procedures; and
   (j) 
GIEP development and annual review 
conducted through GIEP teams.
  (4) describe 
how the LEA will:
   (a) 
assess and monitor gifted students’ 
commensurate growth in academic 
achievement;
   (b) 
assess and monitor gifted students’ 
affective development;
   (c) 
ensure assessment and reporting of 
gifted students’ academic achievement 

are consistent with accreditation 
requirements;
   (d) 
periodically conduct a program 
evaluation of the gifted program, 
including evaluation feedback from 
the advisory committee pursuant to 
Section 8 of this rule, and review 
programming components including 
but not limited to gifted policy, goals, 
identification processes, programming 
components, staffing, budget and 
reporting practices, and the impact 
of programming on gifted student 
achievement and progress; and
   (e) 
inform parents, educators, and other 
required GIEP team members of the 
program evaluation.
  (5) describe 
the staffing plan and qualifications 
of those who provide instruction, 
counseling, coordination, and other 
support for gifted students.  Qualified 
gifted education personnel shall 
have professional knowledge about 
characteristics and needs of gifted 
students and appropriate instruction 
methods, and shall demonstrate 
professional competencies in gifted 
education pursuant to 6.64.18 NMAC;
  (6) describe 
how the LEA will manage and 
coordinate implementation of the 
program plan;
  (7) describe 
professional development activities 
to:
   (a) 
improve and enhance the skills, 
knowledge, and expertise of teachers 
and other personnel who provide 
instruction and other services to gifted 
students; and
   (b) 
recruit and train new qualified 
gifted education teachers to fill any 
anticipated vacancies, if applicable;
  (8) 
describe efforts to collaborate with 
postsecondary educational institutions 
to provide professional learning for 
gifted education teachers;
  (9) provide 
evidence of the LEA’s efforts to 
achieve equity by reporting:
   (a) 
the number of formally identified 
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gifted students served through gifted 
programming by grade level, gender, 
race, ethnicity, twice-exceptionality, 
and linguistic diversity;
   (b) 
the number of non-identified students 
served through gifted programming;
   (c) 
the percentage of all students 
identified as gifted through formal 
identification processes;
   (d) 
the number and proportion of gifted 
education teachers to gifted students; 
and
   (e) 
methods and tools used to monitor the 
effectiveness of services as evidenced 
by gifted students’ achievement and 
commensurate growth.
 C. Department 
approval or disapproval of a gifted 
education program plan shall remain 
in effect for two years or until a 
revised gifted education program plan 
is evaluated by the department.
 D. Nothing in this 
section shall preclude a school 
district or charter school from 
offering additional gifted programs 
for students who fail to meet the 
eligibility criteria. However, the state 
will only provide state funds for 
department-approved gifted programs 
for those students who meet the 
established criteria. 
[6.31.3.9 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.10 GIFTED 
FUNDING EDUCATION PLAN 
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS:  
LEA shall report annually the revenue 
and expenditure details regarding 
gifted education funds received 
through the state equalization 
guarantee formula, and gifted 
expenditures from Title I and Title II 
funds in the Education Plan pursuant 
to 6.29.1 NMAC.
[6.31.3.10 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.11 EVALUATION 
PROCEDURES FOR GIFTED 
STUDENTS:
 A. Areas of need. 
Student needs for individualized 
gifted education shall be based on 
evidence of:

  (1) general 
intellectual ability;
  (2) creative or 
divergent thinking;
  (3) problem 
solving or critical thinking;
  (4) specific 
aptitude or achievement;
  (5) artistic 
ability, creativity, problem solving, or 
achievement; or
  (6) leadership 
ability, creativity, problem solving, or 
achievement.
 B. Universal screening. 
Each LEA shall establish a procedure 
to ensure that every student’s potential 
to qualify as a gifted student is 
assessed by the end of grade three. 
Universal screening assessment 
results shall be used for referral for 
further assessment and may include 
group or individually administered 
assessments of academic achievement 
or cognitive ability.
 C. Analysis 
of qualification data. Prior to 
determination of eligibility by the 
GIEP team, district or charter school 
personnel determining a student’s 
qualification for gifted education shall 
consider documentation and analysis 
of qualitative and quantitative data 
from multiple sources to assess areas 
of strength. Sources shall include:
  (1) 
standardized quantitative assessment 
data;
  (2) 
qualitative data from the assessment 
of student abilities by qualified 
individuals evaluating evidence 
such as collections of work, audio 
and video recordings, interviews, or 
observations; and
  (3) if 
applicable, performance assessments 
or standardized assessments of artistic 
ability.
 D. Eligibility 
determination. A GIEP team shall 
determine that a student is eligible 
for gifted identification using both 
qualitative and quantitative gifted 
qualification data. The GIEP team 
shall consider: 
  (1) 
information regarding a student’s 

cultural, linguistic, and 
socioeconomic background; 
  (2) any 
disabling condition pursuant to 
Section 22-13.6.1 NMSA 1978; and
  (3) evidence 
of the areas of need in at least but not 
limited to Paragraphs (1) through (4) 
of Subsection A of this section.
 E. An LEA may apply 
to use an alternative identification 
process for all students subject to the 
approval of the department. Eligibility 
of a student will then be determined 
by a properly administered and 
collected, department-approved 
alternative protocol designed 
to evaluate a student’s potential 
giftedness in at least the four 
categories of need in Paragraphs (1) 
through (4) of Subsection A of this 
section.
[6.31.3.11 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.12 GIFTED 
INDIVIDUAL EDUCATION 
PROGRAM:
 A. To ensure the 
individual needs of each gifted 
student are met, the GIEP team shall 
create and update annually a GIEP 
document.  A GIEP shall include 
but not be limited to the following 
information:
  (1) student 
demographic information;
  (2) area(s) of 
original qualification;
  (3) 
qualification data used to determine 
gifted eligibility;
  (4) educational 
needs for growth in area(s) of 
strength;
  (5) educational 
needs for growth in other area(s);
  (6) short term 
goals to address areas of need;
  (7) long term 
goals to address areas of need;
  (8) teacher and 
parent input;
  (9) student 
input;
  (10) planned 
course of study; 
  (11) 
accommodations and modifications;
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  (12) schedule of 
services;
  (13) transition 
information; and
  (14) prior 
written notice of actions proposed 
and either accepted or rejected by the 
LEA with rationale for acceptance or 
rejection. 
 B. The IEP of a 
twice-exceptional student shall 
take the place of the GIEP when it 
provides the information required in 
Subsection A of this section.
[6.31.3.12 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.13 GIFTED 
CASELOAD REQUIREMENTS:  
To ensure the specific needs of each 
gifted student are met, LEAs shall 
follow the caseload requirements 
found in Subsection I of 6.29.1.9 
NMAC.
[6.31.3.13 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.14 GIFTED 
DISPUTE RESOLUTION:
 A. To ensure the 
specific needs of each gifted student 
are met, LEAs shall: 
  (1) Provide a 
copy of dispute resolution processes 
to parents and legal guardians at least 
once a year and when the following 
occurs:
   (a) 
the first time in a school year that an 
annual GIEP meeting is scheduled; or
   (b) 
a parent or legal guardian makes 
a request for a copy of the dispute 
resolution processes;
  (2) Provide 
explanations of a student’s record 
upon request.
  (3) Seek to 
establish and maintain productive 
working relationships with the 
parents of each child the LEA serves 
and to deal constructively with 
disagreements.
 B. Informal dispute 
resolution. If disagreements arise 
between a parent and an LEA over 
a student’s GIEP, either parents or 
the LEA may convene a new GIEP 
meeting at any time to attempt to 
resolve their differences at the local 
level without state-level intervention.

 C. Alternative dispute 
resolution. Parents and LEAs may 
request that the department provide a 
facilitated GIEP meeting or mediation 
in order to resolve issues in the 
complaint filed with the department.
  (1) 
Participation in alternative dispute 
resolution is voluntary, but 
participation in either mediation or a 
facilitated GIEP meeting is required 
prior to submitting a request for 
formal review pursuant to Subsection 
D of this section.
  (2) The LEA 
and the parents or legal guardians 
shall notify the department in writing 
within five business days of reaching 
their decisions to jointly request one 
of these alternative dispute resolution 
options.
  (3) A 
facilitated GIEP meeting or mediation 
session shall be completed not later 
than 30 days after the assignment 
of the facilitator or mediator by the 
department. The department may 
provide an extension of this deadline 
at the request of the parties.
  (4) Mediation 
requirements. If the parties choose 
to use mediation, the following 
requirements apply:
   (a) 
Any mediated agreement shall state 
that all discussions that occurred 
during the mediation process shall 
be confidential and may not be used 
as evidence in any hearings of civil 
proceedings. Any such agreement 
shall also be signed by both the parent 
and the representative of the LEA 
who has authority to bind the LEA.
   (b) 
If a mediated agreement involves 
GIEP issues, the agreement shall 
state that the LEA will subsequently 
convene a GIEP meeting to inform the 
student’s services providers of their 
responsibilities under that agreement 
and revise the GIEP accordingly.
   (c) 
The mediator shall transmit a copy of 
the written mediation agreement to 
each party within seven days of the 
meeting at which the agreement was 
concluded.

   (d) 
Each session in the mediation process 
shall be scheduled in a timely manner 
and shall be held in a location that is 
convenient to the parties in dispute.
 D. Formal Review. If 
the parties are unable to resolve the 
issues through alternative dispute 
resolution, a written request for 
review by the department may be filed 
by the parent or legal guardian of the 
student. The department may conduct 
a review of the issues between the 
parties and the actions of the LEA 
related to the provision of gifted 
education.
  (1) Requests 
for formal review by the department 
shall:
   (a) be 
in writing;
   (b) be 
submitted to the department;
   (c) be 
signed by the parent or legal guardian 
of the child and have the requestor’s 
contact information;
   (d) 
include the name and the school the 
child is attending;
   (e) 
include a statement that the LEA 
has violated a requirement of an 
applicable state law;
   (f) 
contain a statement of facts on which 
the allegation of violation is based; 
and
   (g) 
include a description of a proposed 
resolution of the problem to the extent 
known.
  (2) Any 
request that does not contain each of 
these elements will be declined, and 
a written explanation for the decision 
to decline will be provided to the 
requestor.
  (3) The 
department shall provide written 
notice to the parties of its decision to 
proceed with a review of the matter. If 
the department chooses not to proceed 
with a review it shall provide reasons 
for its decision not to proceed.
  (4) Parties 
may continue to negotiate a resolution 
of the issues during the pendency 
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of a review by the department.  If 
the issues are satisfactorily resolved 
through continued negotiations 
between the parties, the requestor 
shall submit to the department in 
writing a formal withdrawal of the 
request for review.
  (5) Review 
and suggested resolution.  If the 
department decides to review the 
matter, it shall request all necessary 
records and information from the LEA 
and parent or guardian to complete 
its review. The department, after 
review of relevant information, shall 
issue written findings regarding the 
LEA’s compliance with the state law 
and rules related to gifted education 
and provide a suggested resolution to 
address the identified non-compliance 
or to otherwise resolve the issues 
between the parties.
[6.31.3.14 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

6.31.3.15 ENFORCEMENT 
OF GIFTED RULE:  If an LEA 
fails or refuses to comply with the 
applicable law or rules, and if the 
noncompliance or refusal to comply 
cannot be corrected or avoided by 
informal means, compliance may 
be effected by the department or the 
student’s parent or guardian by any 
means authorized by state or federal 
laws or rules.
[6.31.3.15 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

HISTORY OF 6.31.3 NMAC:  
[RESERVED]
______________________________

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

TITLE 6  PRIMARY AND 
SECONDARY EDUCATION
CHAPTER 63 SCHOOL 
PERSONNEL - LICENSURE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR 
ANCILLARY AND
SUPPORT PERSONNEL
PART 8   LICENSURE IN 
ATHLETIC COACHING, 7-12

6.63.8.1   ISSUING 
AGENCY:  Public Education 
Department, hereinafter the 
department.

[6.63.8.1 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.1 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.2   SCOPE:  All 
persons seeking licensure in athletic 
coaching in grades seven through 12.
[6.63.8.2 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.2 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.3   STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Sections 9-24-8, 22-
2-1, 22-2-2, and 22-13-31.2 NMSA 
1978.
[6.63.8.3 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.3 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.4   DURATION:  
Permanent.
[6.63.8.4 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.4 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.5   EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  July 31, 2023, unless a later 
date is cited in the history note at the 
end of a section.
[6.63.8.5 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.5 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.6   OBJECTIVE:  
This regulation governs the 
requirements for persons seeking 
initial and continued licensure in 
athletic sports including cheer, dance, 
and drill coaching, in grades seven 
through 12.
[6.63.8.6 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.6 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.7   DEFINITIONS:
 A. “Athletic 
coaching” means athletic services in 
grades seven through 12 performed by 
a head coach or assistant coach, paid 
or volunteer, for any athletic sport, 
including cheer, dance, or drill.
 B. “Public 
schools” means school districts, 
charter schools, or state-supported 
educational institutions;
 C. “Superintendent” 
means a school district 
superintendent, charter school 
director, or the superintendent 
of a state-supported educational 
institution.
[6.63.8.7 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.7 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.8              REQUIREMENTS:  
All persons who perform athletic 
coaching in grades seven through 
12 in public schools shall hold valid 
licenses in athletic coaching issued by 
the department and maintain current 
certification in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR), including 
training in the use of an automated 
external defibrillator (AED). 
Certification shall include in-person, 
hands-on training.  Schools shall 
verify that their coaches maintain 
current certification in CPR with AED 
training.
 A. Persons seeking a 
level 1 license in athletic coaching 
pursuant to the provisions of this 
regulation shall:
  (1) possess a 
high school diploma or its equivalent;
  (2) 
complete the New Mexico activities 
association’s (NMAA’s) coaches’ 
training program to include state 
competencies established by the 
department in 6.63.8.14 NMAC 
  (3) provide 
verification of completion of first aid 
training as approved by NMAA; and
  (4) provide 
verification of current certification in 
CPR, including the use of an AED.
 B. Persons seeking a 
level 2 license in athletic coaching 
shall:
  (1) possess a 
valid level 1 athletic coaching license 
with at least three complete athletic 
seasons of coaching experience at 
level 1;
  (2) submit 
verification by the superintendent 
that the coach has satisfactorily 
demonstrated the coaches’ 
competencies established by the 
department in 6.63.8.14 NMAC; 
  (3) provide 
verification of completion of first aid 
training as approved by NMAA; and
  (4) provide 
verification of current certification in 
CPR, including the use of an AED.
 C. Persons seeking a 
level 3 advanced licensure in athletic 
coaching shall meet the following 
requirements:
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  (1) possess a 
valid level 2 athletic coaching license 
with at least three athletic seasons of 
coaching experience at level 2;
  (2) submit 
verification by the superintendent  
that the coach has satisfactorily 
demonstrated the coaches’ 
competencies established by the 
department in 6.63.8.14 NMAC;
  (3) possess 
one of the following:
   (a) a 
New Mexico teaching license with an 
endorsement in physical education; or
   (b) 
an undergraduate/graduate minor in 
coaching consisting of at least 24 
semester hours of post-secondary 
coursework at a regionally accredited 
college or university; or 
   (c) 
confirmation of successful completion 
of an advanced coaching principles 
course approved by the department;
  (4) provide 
verification of completion of first aid 
training as approved by NMAA; and
  (5) provide 
verification of current certification in 
CPR, including the use of an AED.
[6.63.8.8 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.8 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.9         IMPLEMENTATION:
 A. Level 1 initial 
licenses shall be valid for a maximum 
of three years and may not be 
continued or renewed. Level 2 and 3 
licenses are renewable and shall be 
valid for nine years.
 B. All athletic 
coaching licenses shall commence on 
July 1st of the year of issuance and 
expire June 30th of the year of their 
expiration.
[6.63.8.9 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.9 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.10 CONTINUING 
LICENSURE:  Persons holding 
a level 2 or 3 coaching license 
shall renew their license every 
nine years upon verification by 
the superintendent that the coach 
has satisfactorily demonstrated the 
coaches’ competencies established by 
the department in 6.63.8.14 NMAC.

[6.63.8.10 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.10 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.11 [RESERVED]
[6.63.8.11 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.11 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.12 [RESERVED]
[6.63.8.12 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.12 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.13 [RESERVED]
[6.63.8.13 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.13 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

6.63.8.14 REFERENCED 
MATERIAL:  Competencies for 
Athletic Coaches for grades seven 
through 12:
 A. Philosophy and 
ethics - coaches will:
  (1) develop 
and implement an athlete-centered 
philosophy;
  (2) identify, 
model, and teach athletes positive 
values learned through sport 
participation;
  (3) 
demonstrate ethical conduct in all 
facets of the sport program; and 
  (4) teach and 
reinforce responsible personal, social, 
and ethical behavior of all people 
involved in the sport program.
 B. Sport safety and 
injury prevention - coaches will:
  (1) prevent 
injuries by ensuring that facilities are 
safe for sport participation;
  (2) ensure 
that necessary protective equipment 
is available, properly fitted, and used 
appropriately;
  (3) monitor 
environmental conditions and modify 
participation as needed to ensure the 
health and safety of participants;
  (4) identify 
physical conditions that predispose 
athletes to injuries;
  (5) recognize 
injuries and provide immediate and 
appropriate care;
  (6) facilitate 
a coordinated sports health care 
program of prevention, care, and 
management of injuries; and

  (7) identify 
and address the psychological 
implications of injury.
 C. Physical 
conditioning - coaches will:
  (1) design 
programs of training, conditioning, 
and recovery that properly 
utilize exercise physiology and 
biomechanical principles;
  (2) be 
an advocate for drug-free sport 
participation and provide accurate 
information about drugs and 
supplements; and
  (3) plan 
conditioning programs to help athletes 
return to full participation following 
injury.
 D. Growth and 
development - coaches will:
  (1) apply 
knowledge of how developmental 
change influences the learning and 
performance of sport skills; and
  (2) facilitate 
the social and emotional growth of 
athletes by supporting a positive sport 
experience and life-long participation 
in physical activity.
 E. Teaching and 
communication - coaches will:
  (1) provide 
a learning environment that is 
appropriate to the characteristics of 
the athletes and goals of the program;
  (2)  develop 
and monitor goals for the athletes and 
program;
  (3) organize 
practice based on a seasonal or annual 
practice plan to maintain motivation, 
manage fatigue, and allow for peak 
performance at the appropriate time;
  (4) plan and 
implement daily practice activities 
that maximize time on task and 
available resources;
  (5) utilize 
appropriate instructional strategies 
to facilitate athlete development and 
performance;
  (6) teach and 
incorporate mental skills to enhance 
performance and reduce sport anxiety;
  (7) use 
effective communication skills to 
enhance individual learning, group 
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success and enjoyment in the sport 
experience; and
  (8) 
demonstrate and utilize appropriate 
and effective motivational techniques 
to enhance athlete performance and 
satisfaction.
 F. Sport skills and 
tactics - coaches will:
  (1) know the 
skills, elements of skill combinations, 
and techniques associated with the 
sport being coached;
  (2) identify, 
develop, and apply specific 
competitive sport strategies and 
specific tactics appropriate for the age 
and skill levels of the participating 
athletes; and
  (3) use 
scouting methods for planning 
practices, game preparation, and game 
analysis.
 G. Organization and 
administration - coaches will:  
  (1) 
demonstrate efficiency in contest 
management;
  (2) be 
involved in public relations activities 
for the sport program;
  (3) manage 
human resources for the program;
  (4) manage 
fiscal resources for the program;
  (5) facilitate 
planning, implementation, and 
documentation of the emergency 
action plan;
  (6) manage all 
information, documents, and records 
for the program; and
  (7) fulfill 
all legal responsibilities and risk 
management procedures associated 
with coaching.
 H. Evaluation - 
coaches will:  
  (1) implement 
effective evaluation techniques for 
team performance in relation to 
established goals;
  (2) use a 
variety of strategies to evaluate 
athlete motivation and individual 
performance as they relate to season 
objectives and goals; and

  (3) utilize an 
effective and objective process for 
evaluation of athletes to assign roles 
or positions and establish individual 
goals;
  (4) utilize an 
objective and effective process for the 
evaluation of self and staff.
[6.63.8.14 NMAC – Rp, 6.63.8.14 
NMAC, 7/31/2023]

HISTORY OF 6.63.8 NMAC:  
PRE-NMAC HISTORY:  
The material in this rule was derived 
from that previously filed with the 
State Records Center and Archives 
under: SBE Regulation No. 89-9 
Licensure in Coaching, K-12, filed 
November 17, 1989, and SBE 
Regulation No. 92-4 Licensure in 
Athletic Coaching, 7-12, filed May 
20, 1992.

History of Repealed Material:
6.63.8 NMAC – Licensure in Athletic 
Coaching, 7-12, filed 6/15/1998, 
was repealed and replaced by 6.63.8 
NMAC – Licensure in Athletic 
Coaching, 7-12, effective 7/31/2023.
______________________________

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

This is an amendment to 6.12.15 
NMAC, Sections 1, 6, and 8, 
effective July 31, 2023.

6.12.15.1 ISSUING 
AGENCY:  Public Education 
Department, hereinafter [referred to 
as] the department.
[6.12.15.1 NMAC – N, 10/13/2021; 
A, 7/31/2023]

6.12.15.6 OBJECTIVE:  
This rule establishes the requirements 
for [the operation of] public schools 
[during the COVID-19 pandemic] 
to adhere to public health orders, 
executive orders, and department 
guidance.
[6.12.15.6 NMAC – N, 10/13/2021; 
A, 7/31/2023]

6.12.15.8 REQUIREMENTS 
FOR SCHOOLS: 
 A. [School districts 

and schools shall] School districts 
and charter schools shall follow 
all public health orders, executive 
orders, and department guidance 
[including the COVID-19 response 
toolkit for New Mexico’s public 
schools] for the operation of schools, 
school sponsored activities, and 
school premises, including school 
transportation; and
 B. [School districts 
and schools shall] School districts 
and charter schools shall honor tribal 
sovereignty and abide by applicable 
tribal public health orders, tribal 
executive orders, and tribal council 
resolutions.
[6.12.15.8 NMAC – N, 10/13/2021; 
A, 7/31/2023]
______________________________

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

This is an amendment to 6.29.1 
NMAC, Sections 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 
11, effective July 31, 2023.

6.29.1.3  STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  This rule is being 
promulgated pursuant to Sections 
9-24-8, 22-2-1, 22-2-2, 22-2C-3, 22-
2C-4, 22-5-13, 22-13-1.1, and 22-13-
14 NMSA 1978.
[6.29.1.3 NMAC - Rp, 6.30.2.3 
NMAC, 6/30/2009; A, 12/15/2020; A 
7/31/2023]

6.29.1.6  OBJECTIVE:  
This rule provides for the 
implementation of educational 
standards and expectations for all 
students who attend public schools in 
the state.  [The New Mexico content 
standards with benchmarks and 
performance standards specify the 
goals for instruction.]
[6.29.1.6 NMAC - Rp, 6.30.2.6 
NMAC, 6/30/2009; A, 12/15/2020; A, 
7/31/2023]

6.29.1.7  DEFINITIONS:
 A. [“Ability program 
of study” means an alternative 
graduation option for students with 
disabilities.  This option is based on 
the student’s meeting or exceeding 
IEP goals and objectives, with or 
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without reasonable accommodations 
of delivery and assessment methods, 
referencing skill attainment at a 
student’s ability level, which provides 
a clear and coordinated transition 
to meaningful employment or 
other appropriate day habilitation 
or community membership and 
independent living, as appropriate to 
meet anticipated functional needs.
 B.] “Accreditation” means 
the official recognition that a school 
or school district meets required 
standards.  Schools are accredited 
by voluntary regional accrediting 
associations or by state government.  
Accreditation also refers to the 
process of certifying that institutions 
of higher education meet certain 
standards in relation to such matters 
as the qualifications of their faculty, 
the condition of their facilities, 
and the appropriateness of their 
curriculum.
 [C] B. “Advanced 
placement (AP)” means a course 
taught by high school teachers 
trained in advanced placement 
course delivery provided through 
the college board.  These courses are 
more difficult and involve more work 
than a standard class.  AP courses are 
considered college-level courses and 
may allow a student to earn college 
credit, depending on college or 
university policies.
 [D] C. “Bilingual 
multicultural education” means 
a program of instruction using two 
languages, including English and 
the home or heritage language, as a 
medium of instruction in the teaching 
and learning process.
 [E] D. “Career and 
technical education” means 
organized programs offering a 
sequence of courses, including 
technical education and applied 
technology education, which are 
directly related to the preparation 
of individuals for paid or unpaid 
employment in current or emerging 
occupations requiring an industry-
recognized credential, certificate, or 
degree.  This phrase is also referred to 
as “vocational education” at Section 
22-14-1 NMSA 1978.

 [F] E. “Career cluster” 
means a grouping of occupations in 
industry sectors based on recognized 
commonalities.  Career clusters 
provide an organizing tool for 
developing instruction within the 
educational system.
 [G] F. “Career 
pathways” means a sub-grouping 
used as an organizing tool for 
curriculum design and instruction of 
occupations or career specialties that 
share a set of common knowledge and 
skills for career success.
 [H.  “Career readiness 
program of study” means an 
alternative graduation option for 
students with disabilities.  This option 
is based on meeting the department’s 
employability and career education 
standards with benchmarks and 
performance standards as identified in 
the student’s IEP.
 I] G. “Caseload” means 
the total number of students receiving 
special education and speech-only 
services as special education, for 
whom a special education teacher 
or speech language pathologist 
has responsibility for developing 
and monitoring the students’ 
IEPs.  “Caseload” may also mean 
the number of students for which 
individual support services staff 
members are responsible.
 H. “Certified district 
reviewer” means an LEA employee 
who is certified to review and approve 
an LEA’s NM School DASH plans.
 [J] I. “Chartering 
authority” means a local school 
board or the commission that 
approves and oversees a charter 
school.
 [K] J. “Commission” 
means the public education 
commission.
 [L] K. “Class load” means 
the number of students for whom a 
teacher structures activities at a given 
time.
 [M] L. “Content 
standard” means a statement about 
performance that describes what 
students should know and be able 
to do in content areas at each grade 
level.

 [N] M. “Correspondence 
course” means a form of distance 
learning conducted via traditional 
mail.  A correspondence course is 
used to teach non-resident students by 
mailing them lessons and exercises, 
which upon completion, are returned 
to the correspondence school for 
grading.
 [O] N. “Dual credit 
program” means a program that 
allows high school students to enroll 
in college-level courses offered 
by a post-secondary educational 
institution that may be academic or 
career-technical but not be remedial 
or developmental, and simultaneously 
to earn credit toward high school 
graduation and a post-secondary 
degree or certificate.
 [P] O.  “[Educational 
plan for student success (EPSS)] 
Education plan” is the strategic plan 
written by all school districts, [and 
schools] locally chartered and state-
chartered charter schools to improve 
student performance.
 [Q] P. “English language 
learner” means a student whose first 
or heritage language is not English 
and who is unable to read, write, 
speak, or understand English at a level 
comparable to grade-level English 
proficient peers and native English 
speakers.
 [R] Q. “Free appropriate 
public education (FAPE)” means 
special education and related 
services that are provided at public 
expense, under public supervision 
and direction without charge, which 
meet the standards of the department 
in providing appropriate preschool, 
elementary or secondary education in 
New Mexico; and which are provided 
in conformity with an individualized 
education program (IEP) that meets 
the requirements of 34 CFR Sections 
300.320 through 300.324.
 [S] R. “Family 
Educational Rights and Privacy Act 
(FERPA)” means rights, pursuant 
to 20 U.S. Code 1232(g) and 34 
CFR Part 99, afforded to parents and 
students over 18 years of age with 
respect to the student’s education 
records, that include: the right to 
inspect and review the student’s 
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education records within 45 days, 
the right to request amendment to 
the student’s education records for 
various reasons, the right to consent 
or refuse to consent to disclosures of 
personally identifiable information in 
the student’s records (except for those 
records that FERPA authorizes for 
disclosure without consent) and the 
right to file a complaint with the U.S. 
department of education concerning 
non-compliance with FERPA.
 [T. “Gifted child” 
means a school-age person as defined 
in Subsection D of Section 22-13-6 
NMSA 1978 whose intellectual ability 
paired with subject matter aptitude/
achievement, creativity/divergent 
thinking, or problem-solving/critical 
thinking meets the eligibility criteria 
in 6.31.2.12 NMAC and for whom 
a properly constituted IEP team 
determines services are required to 
meet the child’s educational needs.
 U] S. “Heritage 
language” means a language other 
than English that is inherited from a 
family, tribe, community, or country 
of origin.
 [V] T. “Home language” 
means a language other than English 
that is the primary or heritage 
language spoken at home or in the 
community.
 [W] U. “Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Improvement 
Act of 2004 (IDEA)” means the 
federal Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Improvement Act of 2004, 
20 U.S. Code Secs. 1401 et seq., 
including future amendments.
 [X] V. “Individualized 
education program (IEP)” means 
a written statement for a child with a 
disability that is developed, reviewed, 
and revised in accordance with 34 
CFR Secs. 300.320 through 300.324.
 [Y] W. “Laboratory 
component” means an experience 
in the laboratory, classroom or the 
field that provides students with 
opportunities to interact directly 
with natural phenomena or with 
data collected by others using tools, 
materials, data collection techniques 
and models.  Throughout the process, 
students should have opportunities 
to design investigations, engage 

in scientific reasoning, manipulate 
equipment, record data, analyze 
results, and discuss their findings.
 [Z] X. “Local educational 
agency (LEA)” means a local 
educational agency as defined in 34 
CFR Sec. 300.28.  The LEA may 
be a public school district, a state-
chartered charter school, or a state 
educational institution.
 Y.   “MLSS Self-
assessment” means analysis of MLSS 
implementation that each school 
shall submit in a form and by a due 
date determined by the department. 
The MLSS Self-assessment shall 
contribute to a school’s NM 
School DASH, but it shall not be 
a component in the evaluation of a 
school by the department.
 [AA] Z.   “Multi-
layered system of supports 
(MLSS)” means a coordinated and 
comprehensive framework that uses 
increasingly intensive evidence-based 
academic and behavioral supports that 
address student needs as evidenced by 
student data.  It is a model for holistic 
school improvement that provides 
progress measures for additional 
supports such as school-based team 
structures, professional development, 
health and wellness, and family and 
community engagement. MLSS 
satisfies the definition of “multi-tiered 
system of supports” contained within 
the ESSA.
 AA. “NM School 
DASH” means the strategic plan 
written by schools to improve student 
outcomes. It contains the annual plan, 
both 90-day plans, and functions as a 
school site improvement plan.
 AB. “Performance 
standard” means the statement of a 
standard that describes the specific 
level of mastery expected in achieving 
the New Mexico content standards 
with benchmarks.
 AC.  “Prior written 
notice (PWN)” means the written 
notice that goes to parents from 
the school district, informing them 
the district proposes or refuses to 
initiate or change the identification, 
evaluation or educational placement 
of their child, or the provision of 
FAPE to the child, and which meets 

the requirements of 34 CFR Sections 
300.503 and 300.504.
 AD. [“School 
improvement framework” means a 
document written by the department 
that is used by public schools and 
districts to develop and monitor their 
school improvement plans.  The 
school improvement framework shall 
align with the district’s EPSS.
 AE] “Short-cycle 
assessment” is a formative 
assessment that is regularly used to 
assess student performance over a 
short time period.
 AE. “Small group 
setting” means a planned intervention 
group containing no more than 15 
students.
 AF. “Socioeconomic 
status” means the stratification of 
groups of people by status ascribed 
through social constructs such as 
race, gender, ethnicity, educational 
attainment, economic resources, 
language, and national origin.
 AG. [“Standard 
program of study” means a program 
of study that is based on the student’s 
meeting or exceeding all requirements 
for graduation as specified in Section 
22-13-1.1 NMSA 1978.
 AH] “State educational 
institution” means a school that is 
under the direction of a state agency 
other than the department or a 
separate board of regents.
 [AI] AH. “Student 
assistance team (SAT)” means a 
school-based group of people whose 
purpose is to provide additional 
educational support to students 
experiencing difficulties preventing 
them from benefitting from general 
education.
 [AJ] AI. “System of 
assessments” means the collection 
of instruments that assess student 
academic performance annually and 
the students’ progress toward meeting 
the New Mexico content standards 
with benchmarks and performance 
standards.
 [AK] AJ. 
“Transition plan” means a 
coordinated set of activities for a 
student with a disability, which 
specifies special education and 
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related services designed to meet a 
student’s unique needs and to prepare 
the student for future education, 
employment, and independent living.  
The use of individualized educational 
program (IEP) transition planning, 
graduation planning and post-
secondary transitions is described in 
Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (13) of 
Subsection J of 6.29.1.9 NMAC.
[6.29.1.7 NMAC - Rp, 6.30.2.7 
NMAC, 6/30/2009; A, 10/31/2011; A, 
12/15/2020; A, 7/31/2023]

6.29.1.8        IMPLEMENTATION:  
This regulation shall assist in the 
implementation of standards for 
excellence through the use of the 
[educational plan for student success 
(EPSS)] Education Plan for all school 
districts and charter schools.  At 
the school site level this regulation 
shall assist in the implementation of 
standards for excellence through the 
use of the NM School DASH, content 
standards with benchmarks and 
performance standards, and additional 
program and procedural requirements 
specified in this regulation. [The 
primary mechanism for planning and 
implementation is the educational 
plan for student success (EPSS).]
 A. District and charter 
school responsibilities for the [EPSS] 
Education Plan and NM School 
DASH.  The [EPSS is a strategic 
improvement plan that is] Education 
Plan and NM School DASH are 
strategic improvement plans that are 
written or revised based on trend data 
and the academic achievement of 
the school and district.  Each district 
and each charter school is required 
to develop, implement, monitor and 
evaluate the [plan] Education Plan 
on an annual basis.  Additionally, 
the district shall ensure that a site-
level [EPSS] NM School DASH is 
developed and implemented by each 
school within the district and by each 
charter school for which the district 
is the chartering agency.  LEAs 
shall have each NM School DASH 
evaluated and approved by a certified 
district reviewer.  State-chartered 
charter schools shall develop a site-
level [EPSS] NM School DASH.  

Districts with fewer than [600] 200 
students may write only one [EPSS] 
NM School DASH for the entire 
district; however, a district with 
a school in or receiving a school 
improvement status classification 
is not eligible for this option.  The 
[EPSS] Education Plan and NM 
School DASH shall be guided by [the 
following four questions:] questions 
determined by the department.
  [(1) What 
is the current level of performance 
compared with the annual measurable 
objectives (AMOs)?  This requires a 
review of student performance data 
using system of assessments trends, 
available short-cycle assessments and 
other assessments used at local sites.
  (2) Where 
does the district or charter school 
need to be, compared with the AMOs?  
This requires a review of overall 
goals/target areas (performance 
indicators).
  (3) How will 
the district or charter school achieve 
its stated goals/target areas?  This 
requires development of strategies 
and activities for improvement.
  (4) How does 
the district or charter school know it is 
meeting short-term and annual goals?  
This requires a review of available 
short-cycle and system of assessments 
data.
 B. The school 
improvement framework.  The 
school improvement framework is 
the document that is used by public 
schools and districts to develop, 
implement, monitor and evaluate 
schools in the school improvement 
process.  The department shall 
develop the framework in alignment 
with applicable state and federal 
laws.  It shall be revised annually or 
as necessary, and approved by the 
secretary.]
[6.29.1.8 NMAC - Rp, 6.30.2.9 
NMAC, 6/30/2009; A, 10/31/2011; A, 
12/15/2020; A, 7/31/2023]

6.29.1.9  PROCEDURAL 
REQUIREMENTS:
 A. Duties and powers 
of the local board of education or 
charter school governing body.  [In 

addition to the powers and duties set 
out in Section 22-5-4 NMSA 1978 
and Section 22-1-1 et seq. NMSA 
1978 of the Public School Code, 
the]  The local board of education or 
charter school governing body shall:
  (1) review, 
approve, and support [the district’s 
department approved improvement 
plan and] each school site-level 
department-approved [improvement 
plan, or the charter school’s 
department approved improvement 
plan] NM School DASH and MLSS 
Self-assessment for each school site in 
improvement status;
  (2) employ 
and evaluate the local superintendent 
or charter school administrator;
  (3) develop 
a planned program of training 
annually, in which each member of 
the board participates, to assist in 
the performance of specified duties; 
this planned program shall align 
with the [district’s EPSS] LEA’s 
Education Plan; training shall include 
the following requirements and 
procedures.
   (a) 
All local school board members shall 
receive a total of five hours of annual 
training provided by the New Mexico 
school boards association (NMSBA) 
and shall include a minimum of one 
hour of training during each term in 
office on equity and culturally and 
linguistically responsive practices.
   (b) 
Newly elected or appointed local 
school board members, who are 
in office for less than a year, shall 
receive three of the five hours from 
attending a training course developed 
by the department and sponsored 
by the NMSBA.  The additional 
two hours of annual training for 
new board members shall consist of 
sessions sponsored by the NMSBA 
and approved by the department.
   (c) 
All local school board members who 
have been in office for one or more 
years shall attend five hours of annual 
training sponsored by the NMSBA 
and approved by the department.
   (d) In 
order to be credited with attendance 
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at these courses, each attendee shall 
comply with written attendance 
procedures established by the 
department.  Prior to September 1 of 
each year, the NMSBA shall provide 
each local superintendent with a list 
of training hours earned annually by 
each local school board member.  The 
school district’s accountability report 
shall include the names of those local 
school board members who failed to 
attend annual mandatory training (see 
Subsection [G] E of Section 22-2C-11 
NMSA 1978);
  (4) delegate 
administrative and supervisory 
functions to the local superintendent 
or charter school administrator;
  (5) refrain 
from involvement in delegated 
administrative functions;
  (6) review 
district or charter school policies on 
an annual basis and revise as needed;
  (7) award 
high school graduation diplomas 
to students who have successfully 
completed graduation requirements;
  (8) ensure the 
alignment of district or charter school 
curricula with New Mexico content 
standards with benchmarks and 
performance standards;
  (9) ensure that 
district or charter school funds are 
appropriately managed and disbursed 
in accordance with laws, regulations 
and terms of grants;
  (10) approve 
the annual district or charter school 
budget;
  (11) be 
responsible for oversight of revenue 
and expenditures within the district or 
charter school budget; and
  (12) coordinate 
with the district’s superintendent 
to establish the procedures for 
discharging and terminating school 
employees pursuant to Section 22-
5-4 NMSA 1978 and the School 
Personnel Act (Chapter 22, Article 
10-A NMSA 1978).
 B. Duties and powers 
of the governing body of a charter 
school.  In addition to the powers 
and duties set out in Section 22-5-4 
NMSA 1978 and Section 22-1-1 et 

seq. NMSA 1978 of the Public School 
Code, the governing body of a charter 
school shall:
  (1) review, 
approve and support the district’s 
department-approved improvement 
plan and each school site-level MLSS 
Self-assessment and department 
approved improvement plan, or the 
charter school’s department approved 
improvement plan;
  (2) 
employ and evaluate thew local 
superintendent or charter school 
administrator;
  (3) develop a 
planned program of training annually, 
in which each member of the 
governing body participates, to assist 
in the performance of specified duties; 
this planned program shall align with 
all requirements of statute and any 
other department regulations;
  (4) delegate 
administrative and supervisory 
functions to the local superintendent 
or charter school administrator;
  (5) refrain 
from involvement in delegated 
administrative functions;
  (6) review 
district or charter school policies on 
an annual basis and revise as needed;
  (7) award 
high school graduation diplomas 
to students who have successfully 
completed graduation requirements;
  (8) ensure the 
alignment of district or charter school 
curricula with New Mexico content 
standards with benchmarks and 
performance standards;
  (9) ensure that 
district or charter school funds are 
appropriately managed and disbursed 
in accordance with laws, regulations 
and terms of grants;
  (10) approve 
the annual district or charter school 
budget;
  (11) be 
responsible for oversight of revenue 
and expenditures within the district or 
charter school budget; and
  (12) coordinate 
with the district’s superintendent 
to establish the procedures for 
discharging and terminating school 

employees pursuant to [Section 22-
5-4 NMSA 1978 and] the School 
Personnel Act (Chapter 22, Article 
10-A NMSA 1978).
 C. Duties and powers 
of the district superintendent or the 
administrator of a charter school.  In 
addition to the powers and duties set 
out in Section 22-5-14 NMSA 1978 
of the Public School Code, the local 
superintendent (or charter school 
administrator, where relevant) shall:
  (1) administer 
local board’s (or governing body of 
a charter school’s) policies, state and 
federal requirements and applicable 
laws, including the Public School 
Code;
  (2) be 
accountable for student achievement; 
budget management; expenditure 
of funds; dissemination of 
information; district or charter school 
communications; development, 
implementation and evaluation of the 
[EPSS] Education Plan and all other 
district or charter school business;
  (3) review, 
approve and support the district 
[EPSS] Education Plan and each 
school site-level  [EPSS] MLSS Self-
assessment and NM School DASH 
or the charter school’s[EPSS] MLSS 
Self-assessment and NM School 
DASH;
  (4) attend 
all local board or governing body 
of a charter school’s meetings or, 
when necessary, designate a licensed 
administrator to attend;
  (5) 
ensure that school patrons and the 
public are informed and involved 
in the acquisition, planning and 
development of school facilities 
and that students are provided with 
adequate facilities which conform to 
state and federal mandates;
  (6) be 
accountable for student safety (see 
6.12.6 NMAC - School District 
Wellness Policy):
   (a) 
ensure that all students are supervised 
while on school property and while 
attending or traveling to school events 
or activities on school-provided 
transportation;
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   (b) 
ensure that all buildings, grounds 
and facilities provide a safe and 
orderly environment for public use 
(see Subsection P of 6.29.1.9 NMAC 
- School Facilities and Grounds;  
Paragraph (8) of Subsection D of 
6.12.6.8 NMAC - School District 
Wellness Policy and 6.19.3 NMAC - 
Unsafe School Choice Option);
  (7) administer 
and implement the district’s or charter 
school’s approved staff accountability 
plan and procedures;
  (8) 
ensure that a process is in place to 
identify, train, assign and support 
the use of unlicensed content-area 
experts as resources in classrooms, 
team teaching, online instruction, 
curriculum development and other 
purposes as determined by the 
superintendent, which shall include, 
but not be limited to, the following:
   (a) 
establish the specific expertise of the 
person;
   (b) 
obtain a background check and 
fingerprint records;
   (c) 
provide the person with a three-hour 
training, prior to entering a classroom, 
about how the school operates, 
appropriate teaching methods and 
expectations of principal and assigned 
teacher;
   (d) 
establish a start date and ending date 
for the person;
   (e) 
ensure that the person is under the 
direct supervision of the teacher 
assigned when students are present; 
and
   (f) 
provide for an evaluation of services 
upon completion of the assignment;
  (9) shall 
issue the following notifications in 
accordance with Section 22-10A-16 
NMSA 1978, in addition to any other 
parental notification requirements 
contained in the federal Elementary 
and Secondary Education Act of 
1965, as amended; a school district 
or charter school shall issue these 

notifications in English and, to the 
extent possible, in the language of 
the parent or guardian (if it is known 
that the parent or guardian’s home 
or heritage language is not English); 
the district or charter school shall 
retain a copy of all notifications and 
shall ensure that information required 
under this paragraph is available to 
the public upon request.
   (a) 
Within 60 calendar days from the 
beginning of each school year, a 
school district or charter school shall 
issue a notice to parents informing 
them that they may obtain written 
information regarding:
    (i) 
the professional qualifications of their 
child’s teachers, instructional support 
providers and school principals or 
charter school administrators;
                (ii) 
other descriptive information, such 
as whether their teacher has met all 
qualifications for licensure for the 
grade level and subjects being taught;
               (iii)
whether their child’s teacher 
is teaching under a teaching or 
assignment waiver;
               (iv) 
the teacher’s degree major and any 
other license or graduate degree held 
by the teacher;
                (v) 
the qualifications of any instructional 
support providers that serve their 
child.
   (b) 
When, by the end of a consecutive 
four-week period, a child is still 
being taught by a substitute teacher 
or a teacher not holding the requisite 
licensure or licensure endorsement, 
the school district or charter school 
shall provide written notice to the 
parent or guardian that the child is 
being taught by a substitute teacher 
or a teacher not holding the requisite 
licensure or licensure endorsement.
   (c) 
No class may be taught by a substitute 
teacher, in lieu of a licensed teacher 
under contract, for more than 45 
school days during a school year.
   (d) 
The secretary shall consider 

deviations from the requirements of 
Subparagraph (c) of Paragraph (9) 
of Subsection C of 6.29.1.9 NMAC 
when a written request by a local 
superintendent or charter school 
administrator is submitted.  The 
request shall include:
    (i) 
the size of the school district;
                (ii) 
the geographic location of the district;
               (iii) 
demonstrated efforts to employ an 
appropriately licensed person in the 
area(s) of need;
               (iv) 
the historical use of substitutes in the 
district; and
                (v) 
an estimation of the number of days 
that a substitute will be utilized that 
exceed the 45 day limit.
 D. Licensed staff and 
administrators.
  (1) The 
licensed staff shall exercise duties 
specified in law and those assigned by 
the local district or charter school.
  (2) As 
required by state and federal law, all 
licensed staff and administrators shall 
be evaluated on an annual basis.
  (3) The 
detection and reporting of child 
abuse or neglect is required by both 
the Children’s Code (Section 32A-
4-3 NMSA 1978) and the Public 
School Code (Section 22-5-4.2 
NMSA 1978).  Abuse of a child 
under the Children’s Code refers 
to the physical, sexual, emotional 
or psychological abuse of a child 
by a parent, guardian or custodian.  
According to the Children’s Code, 
failure to report abuse or neglect of 
a child is a misdemeanor.  The terms 
“abuse” and “neglect” are defined 
in detail in Section 32A-4-2 NMSA 
1978 of the Children’s Code.  There is 
also the crime of child abuse, which 
consists of anyone who knowingly, 
intentionally, negligently or without 
cause, causes or permits a child to be 
placed in a situation of endangerment 
to the child’s life or health, torturing 
or cruelly confining a child, or 
exposing a child to the inclemency of 
weather.  To address the detection and 
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reporting of child abuse or neglect in 
public schools:
                (a) 
school districts and charter schools 
shall adopt written policies 
that establish a process for the 
coordination and internal tracking of 
child abuse or neglect reports made 
by district personnel;
   (b) 
school districts and charter schools 
shall include in their policies a 
requirement that all personnel 
shall immediately report suspected 
child abuse or neglect to either 
a law enforcement agency, the 
New Mexico children, youth and 
families department, or a tribal law 
enforcement or social services agency 
for any Indian child residing on tribal 
land;
   (c) 
school districts and charter schools 
shall not require their personnel to 
first report to or notify designated 
school personnel or go through their 
chain of command before making 
the mandatory report described in 
Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (3) of 
Subsection D of 6.29.1.9 NMAC;
   (d) 
no school district or charter school 
shall adopt a policy that relieves 
any personnel of their duty to report 
suspected child abuse or neglect;
   (e) 
school personnel detecting suspected 
child abuse or neglect, including the 
suspected crime of child abuse, shall 
immediately - i.e., the same day - 
report their observations to one of the 
offices designated in Subparagraph (b) 
of Paragraph (3) of Subsection D of 
6.29.1.9 NMAC;
   (f) all 
licensed school personnel, including 
substitute teachers, educational 
assistants, school nurses, school 
counselors, school psychologists and 
other instructional service providers 
shall complete training provided by 
the department in the detection and 
reporting of child abuse or neglect, 
within their first year of employment 
by, or providing services to, a school 
district or charter school;
   (g) 
all persons who have never received 

training required under Subparagraph 
(f) of Paragraph (3) of Subsection 
D of 6.29.1.9 NMAC shall make 
arrangements to receive training 
before the end of their current school 
year;
   (h) 
the department shall develop a 
training program to detect child 
abuse or neglect, in coordination with 
the New Mexico human services 
department and the New Mexico 
department of health.  This program 
shall be made available to all colleges, 
school districts and charter schools in 
the state offering teacher preparation 
courses;
   (i) 
nothing in Paragraph (3) of 
Subsection D of 6.29.1.9 NMAC 
shall be interpreted as preventing 
a school district or charter school 
from developing and providing its 
own training for all staff to detect 
and report suspected child abuse or 
neglect, in addition to the training 
offered by the department.
 E. Student intervention 
system.  The school and school 
district shall follow the multi-layered 
system of supports (MLSS), which 
is a three-layer model of student 
intervention as a proactive system for 
early intervention for students who 
demonstrate a need for educational 
support for learning or behavior or 
for students who demonstrate a need 
for advanced instruction. All students 
shall have access to Layer-1, Layer-2, 
and Layer-3 interventions without 
a need to convene a SAT team or a 
referral to special education or related 
services.  At any layer, [a referral 
from a parent, a school staff member, 
or if other information available to 
a school or district suggests that a 
particular student needs educational 
support for learning or behavior, 
then the student shall be referred to 
the SAT.  Likewise, at any layer,] a 
parent may request initial evaluation 
to determine whether a student is 
a child with a disability requiring 
special education and related 
service, in accordance with 6.31.2.10 
NMAC.  There are no additional 
documentation requirements under 

the MLSS outside of what is already 
required for education professionals.
  (1) In Layer-1, 
the school and school district shall 
ensure that adequate universal 
screening in the areas of general 
health and well-being, language 
proficiency status, and academic 
levels of proficiency has been 
completed for each student enrolled.  
If data from universal screening and 
progress monitoring suggests that 
a particular student is in need of 
additional behavioral and academic 
supports, then teacher teams shall 
make a determination on whether or 
not the student would benefit from 
layer-2 interventions.  Teacher teams, 
when making a determination for 
moving a student up or down a layer 
may consult with non-teacher staff 
such as counselors, paraprofessionals, 
administrators, and ancillary 
personnel to inform the teacher 
team on how to plan and implement 
relevant learner interventions in the 
general education environment.
  (2) In Layer-2, 
a properly constituted teacher team 
shall conduct the student study 
process and consider, implement, 
and document the effectiveness 
of appropriate evidence-based 
interventions utilizing curriculum-
based measures.  As part of this 
process, the teacher team shall 
address culture and acculturation, 
socioeconomic status, possible lack of 
appropriate instruction in reading or 
math, teaching and learning styles and 
instructional delivery mechanisms 
in order to rule out other possible 
causes of the student’s educational 
difficulties.
  (3) In Layer-3, 
students are provided with intensive 
academic and behavioral supports 
that are progress-monitored on a 
bi-weekly basis. At the end of each 
progress monitoring cycle, the teacher 
team shall evaluate the efficacy of the 
supports provided using all available 
data. At that time, the teacher team 
may decide whether to continue 
with the current support, change the 
intensity, or nature of support. If 
progress monitoring data suggests 
that the learner has benefited from 
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provided Layer-3 supports and does 
not show concern for [recidivism, 
than] regression, then the teacher 
team may decide to move the student 
out of receiving Layer-3 supports.
  (4) All 
students shall have access to the 
MLSS layers of screening and 
support [without a referral to SAT 
or an evaluation to determine 
eligibility for special education 
and related services].  Nothing 
in this section prevents a school 
district from evaluating a student 
during the provision of any layer 
of MLSS to determine whether the 
student is a child with a disability 
requiring special education and 
related services.  A parent may 
request an initial special education 
evaluation at any time during the 
public agency’s implementation of 
MLSS, and a school or school district 
may determine a referral to special 
education is necessary at any time 
during the implementation of MLSS 
if the student is suspected of having a 
disability.  If a school district rejects 
a request for initial special education 
evaluation, the parent may use the 
IDEA procedural safeguards in 34 
CFR Secs. 300.506 through 5007 to 
dispute the rejection of the request to 
evaluate.
  (5) The 
department’s manual, Multi-layered 
System of Supports, shall be the 
guiding document for schools and 
districts to use in implementing the 
student intervention system.
  (6) Schools 
shall complete the MLSS Self-
assessment annually.
  (7) Schools 
shall include a report on intervention 
systems in NM School DASH.
  (8) Schools 
shall provide time embedded within 
the regular school schedule for 
all students to access targeted and 
intensive learner interventions or 
advanced instruction described as 
follows:
   (a) in 
small group settings;
   (b) 
aligned with New Mexico standard; 
and

   (c) 
not to exceed twenty-five percent of 
instructional hours.
  (9) Student 
placement in embedded intervention 
or advanced instruction shall be 
reviewed each quarter and students 
shall be moved in or out of embedded 
intervention or advanced instruction 
based on quantitative and qualitative 
MLSS data.
  (10) Embedded 
intervention or advanced instruction 
time shall be provided to students 
without forgoing instruction in art, 
music, theater, dance, computer 
science, physical education, library, 
or other enrichment or experiential 
learning activities or courses.
  (11) Equitable 
access. Students in any layer shall 
have access to grade-appropriate, 
standards-aligned instruction 
seventy-five percent or more of 
their instructional hours unless 
instructional time is allocated 
differently in an IEP of a student 
receiving special education or gifted 
education services.
 F. Records and 
reports.
  (1) Each 
district and charter school shall 
maintain and treat all personally 
identifiable educational records 
in accordance with the Family 
Educational Rights and Privacy 
Act (FERPA), the implementing 
regulations set forth at 34 Code of 
Federal Regulations, Part 99 and 
Inspection of Public Records Act, 
Sections 14-2-1 through 14-2-12 
NMSA 1978.
  (2) All records 
shall be safe from fire and theft and 
stored in a retrievable manner.  All 
student records, including disciplinary 
and grading records, shall be retained 
and disposed of pursuant to 1.20.2 
NMAC.
  (3) Transcripts 
and copies of pertinent records of 
students transferring from one school 
to another, including disciplinary 
records with respect to suspension 
and expulsion, shall be forwarded 
promptly upon written request by the 
receiving school.

  (4) Local 
school boards and governing bodies 
of charter schools shall establish 
policies providing for inspection of 
education records by students and 
parents.
  (5) [Effective 
July 1, 2009, after] After the 
administration of the high school 
system of assessments, school 
districts and charter schools are 
required to record test results on 
each student’s official transcript.  The 
information recorded shall include the 
following:
   (a) 
district and high school administering 
the examination;
   (b) 
date of examination administration;
   (c) 
results of the examination for each 
subject area tested; and
   (d) 
reports of the results in a format and 
language that is understandable to 
parents.
 G. Organization 
of grade levels and establishing/
closing schools.  Any change in a 
school district or charter school’s 
organizational pattern, including the 
establishment or closing of a school, 
shall have the secretary’s approval 
prior to implementation.  Requests for 
change shall be submitted using the 
department’s organization of grade 
levels and establishing/closing school 
waiver request form.  This form shall 
include: name of superintendent; 
district/school; mailing address; 
phone; fax; email address; name 
of a secondary contact person 
including the same information; date 
of submission; local board policy 
requirement and approval, if required; 
date of board approval; statement of 
applicable district or charter school 
policy and rationale for request.  
The waiver request shall outline the 
expected educational benefits.
 H. Class loads.  Class 
loads shall be in compliance with the 
most current class load requirements 
in Section 22-10A-20 NMSA 1978 
and Section 22-5-15 NMSA 1978.
  (1) The 
individual class load for elementary 
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school teachers shall not exceed 20 
students for kindergarten, provided 
that any teacher in kindergarten with 
a class load of 15 to 20 students shall 
be entitled to the assistance of an 
educational assistant.
  (2) The 
average class load for elementary 
school teachers at an individual 
school shall not exceed 22 students 
when averaged among grades one, 
two and three, provided that any 
teacher in grade one with a class load 
of 21 or more shall be entitled to the 
full-time assistance of an educational 
assistant.
  (3) The 
average class load for an elementary 
school teacher at an individual school 
shall not exceed 24 students when 
averaged among grades four, five and 
six.
  (4) The 
daily teaching load per teacher for 
grades seven through 12 shall not 
exceed 160 students, except the 
daily teaching load for teachers of 
required English courses in grades 
seven and eight shall not exceed 135, 
with a maximum of 27 students per 
class; and the daily teaching load for 
teachers of required English courses 
in grades nine through 12 shall not 
exceed 150 students, with a maximum 
of 30 students per class.  The 
teaching load for teachers assigned to 
laboratories and shops shall adhere to 
the current workplace safety codes of 
the industry.
  (5) Students 
receiving special education services 
integrated into a regular classroom for 
any part of the day shall be counted in 
the calculation of class load averages.  
Students receiving special education 
services not integrated into the regular 
classroom shall not be counted in the 
calculation of class load averages.  
Only classroom teachers charged 
with responsibility for the regular 
classroom instructional program shall 
be counted in determining average 
class loads.  In elementary schools 
offering only one grade level, average 
class loads may be calculated by 
averaging appropriate grade levels 
between schools in the school district.

  (6) The 
secretary may waive the individual 
school class load requirements 
established in this section.  Waivers 
shall be applied for annually, and 
a waiver shall not be granted for 
more than two consecutive years.  
Requests for class load waivers shall 
be submitted using the department’s 
class size waiver request form.  
This form shall include: name of 
superintendent; district/school; 
mailing address; phone; fax; email 
address; name of a secondary 
contact person including the same 
information; date of submission; 
local board policy requirement and 
approval, if required; date of board 
approval; statement of applicable 
district or charter school policy and 
rationale for request.  Waivers may 
only be granted if a school district or 
charter school demonstrates:
   (a) no 
portable classrooms are available;
   (b) 
no other available sources of funding 
exist to meet the need for additional 
classrooms;
   (c) 
the district or charter school is 
planning alternatives to increase 
building capacity for implementation 
within one year; and
   (d) 
the parents of all children affected 
by the waiver have been notified 
in writing of the statutory class 
load requirements; that the school 
district or charter school has made a 
decision to deviate from these class 
load requirements; and of the school 
district’s or charter school’s plan to 
achieve compliance with the class 
load requirements.
  (7) If a waiver 
is granted pursuant to Paragraph (6) 
of Subsection H of 6.29.1.9 NMAC to 
an individual school, the average class 
load for elementary school teachers 
at that school shall not exceed 20 
students in kindergarten and grade 
one, and shall not exceed 25 students 
when averaged among grades two, 
three, four, five and six.
  (8) Each 
school district or charter school shall 
report to the department the size and 

composition of classes subsequent to 
the 40th day report and the December 
1 count.  Failure to meet class load 
requirements within two years shall 
be justification for the disapproval of 
the school district’s or charter school’s 
budget by the secretary.
  (9) The 
department shall report to the 
legislative education study committee 
by November 30 of each year 
regarding each school district’s or 
charter school’s ability to meet class 
load requirements imposed by law.
  (10) 
Notwithstanding the provisions 
of Paragraph (6) of Subsection H 
of 6.29.1.9 NMAC, the secretary 
may waive the individual class load 
and teaching load requirements 
established in this section upon 
demonstration of a viable alternative 
curricular plan and a finding by the 
department that the plan is in the 
best interest of the school district or 
charter school; and that, on an annual 
basis, the plan has been presented 
to and is supported by the affected 
teaching staff.  The department 
shall evaluate the impact of each 
alternative curricular plan annually.  
Annual reports shall be made to the 
legislative education study committee.  
Requests for alternative curricular 
plans shall be submitted using the 
department’s collaborative school 
improvement programs waiver 
request form.  This form shall include: 
name of superintendent; district/
school; mailing address; phone; fax; 
email address; name of a secondary 
contact person including the same 
information; date of submission; 
local board policy requirement and 
approval, if required; date of board 
approval; statement of applicable 
district or charter school policy and 
rationale for request.
 I. Student/staff 
caseloads in gifted and special 
education.
  (1) The 
student/staff caseload shall not exceed 
35:1 for a special education teacher 
and 60:1 for a speech-language 
pathologist for special education 
services or speech-only services, 
in which properly licensed special 
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education teachers or speech-language 
pathologists travel from class to 
class or school to school, providing 
services to students with disabilities 
whose individualized education 
programs (IEPs) require a minimal 
amount of special education.  (A 
minimal amount of special education 
services shall not exceed ten percent 
of the school day/week.)
  (2) The 
student/staff caseload shall not 
exceed 24:1 for a special education 
teacher and 35:1 for a speech-
language pathologist for special 
education services or speech-only 
services which properly licensed 
special education teachers or speech-
language pathologists provide to 
students with disabilities whose IEPs 
require a moderate amount of special 
education. (A moderate amount of 
special education services shall be 
less than fifty percent of the school 
day.)
  (3) The 
student/staff caseload shall not exceed 
15:1 for special education services 
in which properly licensed special 
education teachers provide services to 
students with disabilities whose IEPs 
require an extensive amount of special 
education for a portion of the school 
day as appropriate to implement the 
plan.  (An extensive amount of special 
education services shall be provided 
fifty percent or more of the school 
day.)
  (4) The 
student/staff caseload shall not 
exceed 8:1 for special education 
services in which a properly licensed 
professional provides services to 
students with disabilities whose IEPs 
require a maximum amount of special 
education.  (A maximum amount of 
special education services shall be 
provided in an amount approaching a 
full school day.)
  (5) The 
student/adult caseload shall not 
exceed 4:1 for center-based special 
education services in which one of 
the adults in the program is a properly 
licensed professional providing three- 
and four-year old children with the 
amount of special education needed to 
implement each child’s IEP.

  (6) The 
student/adult caseload shall not 
exceed 2:1 for center-based special 
education services in which three- and 
four-year old children have profound 
educational needs.
  (7) 
Adequate student/staff caseloads 
shall be provided to appropriately 
address needs identified in the IEPs.  
Paraprofessionals and assistants 
who are appropriately trained and 
supervised in accordance with 
applicable department licensure rules 
or written department policy may 
be used to assist in the provision of 
special education and related services 
to students with disabilities under Part 
B of IDEA.
  (8) If the 
student/staff caseload ratio exceeds 
the standards provided above, a 
request for waiver shall be submitted 
to the department for review and 
approval by the secretary.
 [J. Length of school 
day and year.
  (1) The 
district or charter school shall be in 
compliance with length of school 
day and year requirements as defined 
in Section 22-2-8.1 NMSA 1978.  
Within statutory requirements, the 
local board or governing body of a 
charter school determines the length 
of the school year, which includes 
equivalent hours.  The local board or 
governing body of a charter school 
may delegate this authority to the 
superintendent or charter school 
administrator who, in turn, may 
delegate to others.
  (2) Time 
for home visits/parent-teacher 
conferences.  The local board or 
governing body of a charter school 
may designate a prescribed number of 
hours within the school year for home 
visits, to develop next-step plans for 
students or parent-teacher conferences 
up to the following maximum hours: 
kindergarten: 33 hours; grades 1 
through 6: 22 hours; and grades 7 
through 12: 12 hours.
  (3) All 
students shall be in school-directed 
programs, exclusive of lunch, for a 
minimum of the following:

   (a) 
kindergarten, for half-day programs:  
two and one-half (2 and 1/2) hours 
per day or 450 hours per year; or, for 
full-day programs:  five and one-half 
(5 and 1/2) hours per day or 990 hours 
per year;
   (b) 
grades one through six:  five and one-
half (5 and 1/2) hours per day or 990 
hours per year; and
   (c) 
grades seven through twelve:  six 
hours per day or 1,080 hours per year.
  (4) Testing 
and assessments are considered part 
of instructional hours.  One group of 
students cannot be dismissed while 
another group of students is testing, 
unless the students being dismissed 
already have approved extended-
day plans in place for participating 
in the minimum instructional hours 
required.
  (5) Dismissing 
students or closing school for staff 
development and participation in 
other non-instructional activities 
does not count toward the minimum 
instructional hours required.  This 
time is to be built into a district 
and school schedule as an add-on.  
Early-release days may be built into 
a district or charter school calendar 
when the minimum instructional 
hours’ requirement is otherwise being 
met.
  (6) The 
student lunch period each day shall 
be at least 30 minutes.  Lunch recess 
shall not be counted as part of the 
instructional day.
  (7) Districts or 
charter schools may request a waiver 
from the secretary if the minimum 
length of school day requirement 
creates an undue hardship.  Such 
requests shall be submitted using 
the department’s instructional hours 
waiver request form. This form shall 
include: name of superintendent; 
district/school; mailing address; 
phone; fax; email address; name 
of a secondary contact person 
including the same information; date 
of submission; local board policy 
requirement and approval, if required; 
date of board approval; statement of 
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applicable district or charter school 
policy and rationale for request.  
Requests shall provide documentation 
that the following conditions exist:
   (a) 
the educational, societal or fiscal 
consequences of operating the 
minimum length of a school day/
year significantly impede the 
district’s ability to provide a quality 
educational program; and
   (b) 
the district or charter school has 
thoroughly investigated alternatives 
other than shortening the length of a 
school day/year in order to address 
the identified concerns.
  (8) When an 
emergency arises and the emergency 
affects the required hours, the local 
superintendent or charter school 
administrator shall request in writing 
approval from the secretary regarding 
the manner in which the lost 
instructional hours will be made up, 
or requesting an exemption from the 
required instructional hours.]
 [K] J. Graduation 
requirements.
  (1) The 
New Mexico high school system 
of assessments.  The district or 
charter school shall be in compliance 
with requirements as specified in 
Section 22-13-1.1 NMSA 1978 
and Subsection L of Section 66-7-
506 NMSA 1978 (offering driver 
education, service learning and 
financial literacy as electives).  The 
department specifies that students 
shall meet all graduation requirements 
[in order] to be eligible to receive 
a diploma.  This includes the 
requirement of passing the high 
school system of assessments.
  (2) The 
next step plan.  Each student shall 
complete a next step plan for each 
high school year.  For students with 
individualized education programs 
(IEPs), the transition plan substitutes 
for the next step plan.  The next step 
plan requires that:
   (a) 
each grade-level next step plan shall 
be completed within the last 60 school 
days of the preceding school year (for 
example, the 9th grade interim next 

step plan shall be made before the end 
of the 8th grade year);
   (b) 
only one grade-level next step plan 
shall be completed for a student each 
year;
   (c) 
the development of the next step plan 
shall include the student, the student’s 
parent or guardian and the advisor, 
but may include additional relevant 
parties;
   (d) 
 to write the next step plan, the 
advisor shall consult with the student 
and the student’s parent or guardian 
on academic choices that target 
the student’s interests and meet 
graduation requirements;
   (e) 
the next step plan shall address 
career clusters in career and technical 
education, academic support 
and study skills, extracurricular 
experiences and out-of-school 
activities, exposure to post-secondary 
education and career options, family 
and social supports, assessments, 
credentials and any other relevant 
information; as part of the next step 
plan, the advisor shall disseminate 
and share information concerning 
advanced placement, honors, dual-
credit and distance learning programs;
   (f) 
the next step plan determines whether 
or not the student is on track with 
graduation requirements; the plan 
ensures that gaps in courses and test-
taking are filled;
   (g) 
the next step plan may be made in 
large-group, small-group or individual 
student settings;
   (h) 
the advisor has the responsibility 
to see that the student is reasonably 
informed about curricular and course 
options, opportunities available that 
lead to broader post-high school 
options, and alternative opportunities 
available if the student does not finish 
a planned curriculum;
   (i) 
the next step plan shall be signed by 
the student, the student’s parent or 
guardian and the advisor;

   (j) 
the completed next step plan shall 
be filed with the school principal or 
charter school administrator and only 
the final next step plan shall be filed 
in the student’s cumulative file upon 
graduation;
   (k) 
during the development of the 
student’s next step plan for the 
eleventh grade, a plan allowing 
the student to complete a fourth 
mathematics course other than 
algebra 2 may be developed using 
data from the student’s high school 
short-cycle assessments, the student’s 
most recent system of assessments 
score in mathematics, other relevant 
assessment scores and coursework 
grades and educational career plans 
recorded in the student’s next step 
plan;
                 (l) 
for the student to take four 
mathematics courses that contain a 
lesser content than that recommended 
for inclusion in algebra 2 or its 
equivalent, the student’s parent shall 
provide written, signed permission on 
the student’s next step plan; parental 
signature on the next step plan for 
the eleventh grade indicating the 
mathematics courses the student will 
take shall serve as the required signed 
permission.
  (3) Transfer 
of credits.  For students enrolling or 
re-enrolling in public schools, local 
school boards or governing bodies of 
charter schools will establish policies 
as follows.
   (a) 
Credits shall be transferable with no 
loss of value between schools that 
are accredited by a state board of 
education in the United States, United 
States territories, Puerto Rico, the 
freely associated states and outlying 
areas of the United States, department 
of defense schools or other authorized 
body.
   (b) 
Policies of the local school board 
or the governing body of a charter 
school, for students transferring from 
home schools, private schools, or 
foreign schools to the public schools, 
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will be in accordance with Subsection 
D of Section 22-1-4 NMSA 1978.
   (c) 
Acceptance of credits earned through 
correspondence extension study, 
foreign study, home study courses 
or non-department accredited, non-
public schools is determined by the 
policy of the local school board or the 
governing body of a charter school.
  (4) 
Correspondence courses.  For students 
currently enrolled in public schools, 
local school boards or governing 
bodies of charter schools will 
establish policies addressing the use 
of correspondence courses to meet 
graduation requirements.
   (a) 
Policies should be based on the 
following circumstances:
    (i) 
when road conditions or distance 
from access to school transportation 
prohibit regular daily attendance;
                (ii)
when a student cannot attend school 
due to prolonged illness or recovery 
from injury, as part of the individual 
plan to address the student’s 
educational needs developed in 
accordance with applicable state and 
federal regulations governing the 
education of students with disabilities;
               (iii) 
when the occupation of the parent or 
student requires prolonged periods of 
time away from the school district;
               (iv) 
when a student is housed in a long-
term residential facility; or
                (v) 
to enhance or supplement graduation 
requirements based on a student’s 
individual need(s).
                (b) 
Schools counting credit for 
correspondence courses for enrolled 
students shall ensure that such 
courses are part of the student’s 
individual plan for graduation.  If 
applicable, such courses are part of 
the IEP developed in accordance 
with applicable state and federal 
regulations governing the education 
of students with disabilities, and 
schools shall ensure that assistance 
is available to students as needed to 

complete the correspondence courses.
   (c) 
Correspondence courses used to 
provide graduation credit to currently 
enrolled students shall be provided 
by:
    (i) 
a school accredited by the state board 
of education of the state in which the 
school is located, or
                (ii) 
a college or university with regional 
accreditation to perform such 
function.
  (5) Dual credit 
program.  “Dual credit program” 
means a program that allows high 
school students to enroll in college-
level courses offered by public post-
secondary educational institutions that 
may be academic or career-technical 
in nature, but may not be remedial or 
developmental, and through which 
students can simultaneously earn 
credit toward high school graduation 
and a post-secondary degree or 
certificate.  (Refer to 6.30.7.6 
NMAC.)
  (6) Distance 
learning courses.  “Distance learning” 
means the technology and the 
educational process used to provide 
instruction for credit or for a grade 
when the course provider and the 
distance-learning student are not 
necessarily physically present at the 
same time or place.  Distance learning 
does not include educational software 
that utilizes only on-site teaching.  
Any program involving distance 
learning shall be governed by the 
department’s distance learning rule, 
found at 6.30.8 NMAC.
  (7) 
Standardized grading system.  A 
standardized grading system is 
required to be implemented by each 
district and charter school.  The 
system shall include the following 
components:
   (a) a 
written report to parents regarding the 
performance of their children tested 
with the New Mexico standards-based 
assessments;
   (b) 
for grades 3-12, a standardized 
alphabetic grading system, based on 

the 4.0 scale (i.e., a minimum of 4.0 
or higher=A, 3.0=B, 2.0=C, 1.0=D); 
certain courses may be assigned a 
weighted score according to local 
policy;
   (c) 
alignment of all district and school 
curriculum to the New Mexico 
content standards with benchmarks 
and performance standards; and
   (d) all 
school report cards shall include the 
results of standards-based assessments 
and may augment the standardized 
grading system with a narrative 
or other method that measures a 
student’s academic, social, behavioral 
or other skills.
  (8) Final 
examination.  A final examination 
shall be administered to all students in 
all courses offered for credit.
  (9) Credit.  
Credit cannot be earned twice for the 
same course.
  (10) Other 
elective credit.  Elective credit 
courses shall meet all New Mexico 
content standards with benchmarks 
and performance standards, and shall:
   (a) 
include a written, sequential 
curriculum;
   (b) 
be taught by an instructor who is 
appropriately licensed and endorsed 
to teach the course;
   (c) 
include a final examination; and
   (d) be 
reviewed and approved by the local 
board of education or governing body 
of a charter school.
  (11) Alternative 
credit.  Local districts, charter schools 
or state educational institutions may 
design elective courses, known as 
alternative credit courses, to satisfy 
any of the specified credits required 
for graduation.
   (a) 
The process includes:
                 (i) 
review of the licensure and 
endorsements of affected staff;
                (ii) 
review of required course content 
standards with benchmarks and 
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performance standards with the 
proposed elective course, and 
summary of alignment between the 
two courses;
               (iii) 
determination of the amount of credit 
that will be generated;
               (iv) 
publication of information regarding 
what course is available for 
alternative credit and identification of 
course number;
                (v) 
inclusion of the availability of 
alternative credit in all next-step 
plans;
               (vi) 
note on the student transcript that 
the graduation requirement course 
was completed using the named 
alternative credit course;
              (vii) 
review and preliminary approval 
by the local board of education or 
governing body of a charter school.
   (b) 
Once the process has been completed, 
the district superintendent or 
administrator of a charter school 
or state educational institution 
shall submit a written request, with 
appropriate documentation, to the 
secretary for approval.
  (12) Excuses 
from physical education.  The 
physical education graduation 
requirement may be waived by the 
secretary, based upon a request 
by the local superintendent or 
charter school administrator with 
documentation from a licensed 
medical doctor, osteopath, certified 
nurse practitioner with prescriptive 
authority or chiropractor, that the 
student has a permanent or chronic 
condition that does not permit 
physical activity.  Such requests shall 
be submitted using the department’s 
physical education waiver request 
form.  This form shall include: 
name of superintendent; district/
school; mailing address; phone; fax; 
email address; name of a secondary 
contact person including the same 
information; date of submission; 
local board policy requirement and 
approval, if required; date of board 
approval; statement of applicable 

district or charter school policy and, 
for each student for whom the waiver 
is requested:  name, school and 
year of student graduation, district 
affirmation that it possesses required 
medical documentation, name and 
email address of school principal 
and rationale for the request.  A 
student receiving special education 
supports and services pursuant to the 
IDEA or Section 504 of the federal 
Rehabilitation Act may also be 
eligible to request this waiver, when 
appropriate medical documentation is 
provided in the IEP.
  (13) Graduation 
requirements for issuance of a 
conditional certificate of transition or 
a diploma for students with an IEP.  
The development of a program of 
study and the granting of a diploma, 
or use of a conditional certificate 
of transition in the form of a 
continuing or transition individualized 
educational program (IEP) for 
students receiving special education 
services, includes the following 
governing principles:
   (a) 
The IEP team is responsible for 
determining whether the student 
has completed a planned program 
of study based on the student’s 
strengths, interests, preferences, 
identified educational and functional 
needs and long-term educational 
or occupational goals, making the 
student eligible to receive either a 
diploma or a conditional certificate of 
transition.  A conditional certificate 
of transition allows the student to 
participate in graduation activities.  
If a student receives a conditional 
certificate of transition, the student 
shall then return to the program 
specified in the IEP to complete the 
student’s secondary program and 
meet the requirements for a diploma.  
Receipt of a conditional certificate 
of transition shall not end a student’s 
right to FAPE.  In addition, all 
IEPs shall provide a description of 
how the student’s progress toward 
meeting annual goals and graduation 
requirements will be measured, and 
at what intervals progress will be 
reported to parents or guardians.  A 
student shall be awarded a diploma 

upon completion of a planned 
program of study that meets the 
requirements of Paragraph (b).
   (b) 
A student may be awarded a diploma 
(Section 22-13-1.1 NMSA 1978) 
[using any of] through the following 
programs of study described in 
Items (i) through (iii).  All IEP team 
discussion points and decisions 
identified herein, including the 
identification of the student’s program 
of study and any student or parent 
proposals accepted or rejected by 
the IEP team (if the student has not 
reached the age of majority), shall be 
documented on the student’s IEP and 
in the prior written notice (PWN) of 
proposed action.
                 (i)
A standard program of study is 
based upon meeting or exceeding all 
requirements for graduation based 
on the New Mexico standards for 
excellence (Subsection [K] J of 
6.29.1.9 NMAC) with or without 
reasonable accommodations of 
delivery and assessment methods.  
In addition, a student shall 
pass all sections of the current 
state graduation examination(s) 
administered pursuant to Subsection 
I of Section 22-13-1.1 NMSA 1978 
under standard administration or 
with state-approved accommodations 
and shall meet all other standard 
graduation requirements of the 
district.  A diploma obtained through 
the standard program of study is 
considered a “regular high school 
diploma” as defined in 34 C.F.R. § 
300.102(a)(3)(iv).  Pursuant to 34 
C.F.R. § 300.102(a)(3)(i), students 
with disabilities who graduate from 
high school with a regular diploma 
through the standard program of study 
are no longer entitled to FAPE or 
continued receipt of special education 
and related services.
               (ii) 
A [career readiness alternative] 
modified program of study is 
developed to provide relevance and 
is based on a student’s career interest 
as it relates to one of the career 
clusters, with or without reasonable 
accommodations of delivery and 
assessment methods.  In addition, 
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a student shall take the current 
state [graduation examination(s) 
administered pursuant to Subsection 
K of Section 22-13-1.1 NMSA 
1978] standards-based assessments 
required for high school students, 
under standard administration or 
with state-approved accommodations 
as determined by the SEA.  Once 
the student has attempted the 
state [graduation examination and 
is unable to meet the minimum 
requirements on all sections of the 
assessments and achieve a level of 
competency, the IEP team can set the 
minimum passing scores] required 
high school assessments, the student 
shall achieve a level of competency 
pre-determined by the student’s IEP 
team on the current state-approved 
demonstration of competency options 
for graduation.  The student shall 
earn at least the minimum number 
of credits required by the district or 
charter school for graduation through 
standard or alternative courses 
that address the employability 
and career development standards 
with benchmarks and performance 
standards, as determined by the IEP 
team.  Course work shall include 
a minimum of four units of career 
development opportunities and 
learning experiences that may 
include any of the following:  career 
readiness and vocational course 
work, work experience, community-
based instruction, student service 
learning, job shadowing, mentoring 
or entrepreneurships related to the 
student’s occupational choices.  
Credits for work experience shall 
be related to the program of study 
that the school offers and specific 
to the district’s ability to offer 
work experience or community-
based instruction credits.  The 
student shall achieve competency 
in all areas of the employability 
and career development standards 
with benchmarks and performance 
standards, as determined by the IEP 
team and the student’s interest as it 
relates to the career clusters.  The 
program of study shall address the 
New Mexico content standards 
with benchmarks and performance 
standards in other subject areas as 

appropriate.  A diploma obtained 
through the modified program of 
study is not considered a “regular 
high school diploma” as defined in 34 
C.F.R. § 300.102(a)(3)(iv). Pursuant 
to 34 C.F.R. § 300.102(a)(3)(ii), a 
student’s right to FAPE does not end 
upon obtaining an alternative diploma 
through the modified program of 
study and a student may continue to 
receive special education and related 
services until student either meets 
the requirements to obtain a diploma 
through the standard program of study 
or until the end of the academic year 
in which the student becomes 22 
years of age.
               (iii)
An ability program of study was 
developed for students who have a 
significant cognitive disability or 
severe mental health issues.  The 
IEP goals and functional curriculum 
course work shall be based on 
the New Mexico standards with 
benchmarks and performance 
standards and employability and 
career development standards 
with benchmarks and performance 
standards. Students in this program of 
study shall earn the minimum number 
of credits or be provided equivalent 
educational opportunities required 
by the district or charter school, 
with course work individualized 
to meet the unique needs of the 
student through support of the IEP.  
In addition, a student shall take 
either the current state [graduation 
examination(s) administered pursuant 
to Subsection K of Section 22-13-
1.1 NMSA 1978] standards-based 
assessments required for high 
school students, under standard 
administration or with state-
approved accommodations, or the 
state-approved alternate assessment.  
Once the student has participated 
in the state-required high school 
assessments, [The] the student shall 
achieve a level of competency pre-
determined by the student’s IEP 
team on the current [graduation 
examination or the state-approved 
alternate assessment] state-approved 
demonstration of competency options 
for graduation and meet all other 
graduation requirements established 

by the IEP team.  A diploma obtained 
through the ability program of study 
is not considered a “regular high 
school diploma” as defined in 34 
C.F.R. § 300.102(a)(3)(iv).  Pursuant 
to 34 C.F.R. § 300.102(a)(3)(ii), a 
student’s right to FAPE does not end 
upon obtaining a diploma through the 
ability program of study and a student 
may continue to receive special 
education and related services until 
student either meets the requirements 
to obtain a diploma through the 
standard program of study or until the 
end of the academic year in which the 
student becomes 22 years of age.
   (c) 
[The new requirements for the career 
readiness and ability pathways 
become effective beginning with 
students graduating in 2009.] Students 
receiving a diploma through any of 
the programs of study are permitted to 
participate in all graduation activities.
   (d) 
Any special education student 
who obtains a diploma through the 
modified or ability programs of study 
may choose to exit high school after 
receiving the diploma but continues 
to have an entitlement to FAPE. A 
student may elect to resume their 
high school education at their school 
district of residence until student 
either meets the requirements to 
obtain a diploma through the standard 
program of study or until the end 
of the academic year in which the 
student becomes 22 years of age.
   [(d)] (e) 
By the end of the eighth grade, each 
student’s IEP shall contain a proposed 
individual program of study for 
grades nine through 12.  The program 
of study shall identify by name all 
course options the student may take 
and shall align with the student’s 
long-range measurable post-secondary 
goals and transition services to 
facilitate a smooth transition to high 
school and beyond.  This program 
of study shall be reviewed on an 
annual basis and adjusted to address 
the student’s strengths, interests, 
preferences and areas of identified 
educational and functional needs.  
The IEP team shall document on the 
IEP the student’s progress toward 
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earning required graduation credits 
and passing the current graduation 
examination.
                [(e)] (f) 
    A district or charter school shall 
provide each student, who has an IEP 
and who graduates or reaches the 
maximum age for special education 
services, a summary of the student’s 
academic achievement and functional 
performance, which shall include 
recommendations on how to assist 
the student in meeting post-secondary 
goals.
   [(f)] (g) 
Students graduating on the standard 
program of study shall meet the state’s 
minimum requirements on all sections 
of the graduation examination.  IEP 
teams shall document a plan of action 
on the IEP and the PWN to be carried 
out by both the student and the district 
or charter school, to ensure that the 
student will pass all sections of the 
graduation examination.
   [(g)] (h) To 
establish a level of proficiency on the 
current graduation examination or the 
state-approved alternate assessment 
for students on a [career readiness] 
modified program of study or ability 
program of study, IEP teams shall 
review the student’s performance 
on the first attempt and establish a 
targeted proficiency on all sections 
that are below the state’s minimum 
requirement.  For those students who 
meet participation criteria for the 
New Mexico alternate assessment, 
IEP teams shall set targeted levels 
of proficiency based upon previous 
performance on the test.  If the student 
has previously been administered the 
New Mexico alternate assessment 
and has achieved an advanced level 
of overall performance, the IEP 
team shall arrange for the student to 
participate in the general graduation 
examination and shall identify 
appropriate accommodations that 
the student may require.  IEP teams 
shall document the targeted levels 
of proficiency on the IEP and the 
PWN, outlining the plan of action to 
be taken by both the student and the 
district or charter school to ensure 
that the student will meet the targeted 
levels of proficiency.  Districts or 

charter schools may submit a written 
request for a waiver to the secretary 
in cases where a student has medical 
or mental health issues that may 
result in regression or that negatively 
influence the student’s ability to 
achieve targeted levels of proficiency.  
The written request shall be signed 
by the superintendent or charter 
school administrator and shall include 
documentation of the medical or 
mental health issues.
   [(h)] (i) 
Changes in programs of study.
    (i) 
Departures from the standard program 
of study for students receiving special 
education services and supports shall 
be considered in the order of the 
options listed in Subparagraph (b) of 
Paragraph (13) of Subsection [K] J 
of 6.29.1.9 NMAC.  Any modified 
program of study may depart from a 
standard program of study only so far 
as is necessary to meet an individual 
student’s educational needs as 
determined by the IEP team.  Districts 
and charter schools are obligated to 
meet the requirements of IDEA to 
provide students with IEPs on any 
one of the three programs of study, 
and access to the general curriculum 
in the least restrictive environment. 
When an alternative program of study 
is developed, a building administrator 
or designee who has knowledge about 
the student shall be a member of the 
IEP team
                (ii) 
Districts and charter schools shall 
document changes from the standard 
program of study on the PWN.  IEP 
teams shall identify the reasons for 
changing the student’s program of 
study, shall provide parents with 
clear concise explanations of the 
[career readiness] modified or ability 
programs of study, shall notify 
parents and students of the potential 
consequences that may limit the 
student’s post-secondary options, and 
shall make required changes to the 
IEP and course of study, to ensure that 
the student meets the requirements of 
that program of study.
               (iii)
The IEP team shall not change 
the program of study for a student 

entering the final year of high 
school (not the cohort with which 
the student entered high school) 
from the standard program of study 
to the [career readiness] modified 
program of study, nor from the [career 
readiness] modified program of 
study to the ability program of study, 
after the 20th school day of the final 
year of high school.  IEP teams may 
change a student’s program of study 
from the ability program of study 
to the [career readiness] modified 
program of study, or from the [career 
readiness] modified program of study 
to the standard program of study, 
if the student meets the graduation 
requirements of that program of 
study and if the change is made 
and documented appropriately in a 
revised IEP and PWN by a properly 
constituted IEP team in a properly 
convened meeting.
   [(i)] (j) 
A student who receives special 
education services may be granted a 
conditional certificate of transition in 
the form of a continuing or transition 
IEP when:
                 (i) 
the IEP team provides sufficient 
documentation and justification 
that the issuance of a conditional 
certificate of transition for an 
individual student is warranted;
                (ii) 
prior to the student’s projected 
graduation date, the IEP team 
provides a PWN stating that the 
student will receive a conditional 
certificate of transition;
               (iii) 
the district or charter school ensures 
that a conditional certificate of 
transition is not a program of study 
and does not end the student’s right to 
a FAPE;
               (iv) 
the district or charter school ensures 
that a conditional certificate of 
transition entitles a student who has 
attended four years or more of high 
school to participate in graduation 
activities, and requires that the student 
continue receiving special education 
supports and services needed to obtain 
the high school diploma;
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                (v) 
the district or charter school ensures 
that, prior to receiving a conditional 
certificate of transition, the student 
has a continuing or transition IEP;
               (vi) 
the student’s continuing or transition 
IEP outlines measures, resources, 
and specific responsibilities for both 
the student and the district or charter 
school to ensure that the student 
receives a diploma.
   [(j)] (k) 
A student who receives a certificate 
of transition but does not return to 
complete the program of study as 
outlined in the continuing or transition 
IEP will not be considered [as] a 
dropout.
   [(k)] (l) 
A student who receives a conditional 
certificate of transition is eligible to 
continue receiving special education 
services until receipt of a diploma or 
until the end of the academic year in 
which the student becomes 22 years 
of age.
   [(l)] (m) 
Graduation plans shall be a part of all 
IEPs:
    (i) 
by the end of eighth grade, or by the 
time the student turns 14 years of age, 
and concurrent with the development 
of the student’s transition plan in 
accordance with federal regulations at 
34 CFR 300.320;
                (ii) 
when a student returns to a school 
after an extended absence, and if an 
IEP program of study may have been 
developed but needs to be reviewed; 
or
               (iii) 
when evaluations warrant the need 
for a [modified] different program of 
study at any time after development 
of an initial graduation plan.
               [(m)] (n)
Graduation plans shall be a part of 
all of all IEPs and annual reviews 
and shall follow the student in all 
educational settings.  Receiving 
institutions that fall under the 
department’s jurisdiction will 
recognize these graduation plans, 
subject to revision by new IEP teams, 
if appropriate to meet a student’s 
changing needs.

            [(n)] (o) 
       At the exit IEP meeting, the 
team shall review the student’s 
transition plan, and shall confirm and 
document that all state and district 
requirements for graduation under 
the final IEP have been satisfied.  
A building administrator who has 
knowledge about the student shall 
be a member of this team, and shall 
sign specifically to verify and accept 
completed graduation plans, goals 
and objectives pursuant to (i) - (iii) 
of Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph 
(13) of Subsection [K] J of 6.29.1.9 
NMAC, or plans for a conditional 
certificate of transition with a 
continuing or transition IEP, pursuant 
to Subparagraph (i) of Paragraph 
(13) of Subsection [K] J of 6.29.1.9 
NMAC.  The IEP team shall ensure 
that the student has current and 
relevant evaluations, reports, or other 
documentation necessary to support 
a smooth and effective transition to 
post-secondary services for a student 
who will graduate on one of the three 
programs of study.  The school shall 
arrange for any necessary information 
to be provided at no cost to the 
students or parents.  The school shall 
submit a list of students who will 
receive the diploma through a [career 
readiness] modified or ability program 
of study to the local superintendent 
or charter school administrator, using 
the students’ identification numbers.  
This list shall be totaled and 
submitted to the local school board or 
governing body of a charter school.  
This information shall be treated as 
confidential in accordance with [the] 
FERPA.
           [(o)] (p)  
Students eligible for special education 
services are entitled to a FAPE 
through age 21.  If a student turns 22 
during the school year, the student 
shall be allowed to complete the 
school year.  If a student becomes 
22 prior to the first day of the school 
year, the student is no longer eligible 
to receive special education services.
   [(p) 
The receipt of a diploma terminates 
the service eligibility of students with 
special education needs.]

   (q) 
All diplomas awarded by a school 
district or charter school shall be 
identical in appearance and content 
[and effect], except that symbols or 
notations may be added to individual 
students’ diplomas to reflect official 
school honors or awards earned by 
students.
  (14) Future 
changes in graduation requirements.  
Refer to 6.29.1.13 NMAC.
 [L] K. Statewide 
accountability program.
  (1) 
Educational accountability.  The 
local board of education or charter 
school governing body and the district 
superintendent or charter school 
administrator are responsible for 
providing educational services that 
support student learning.  Educational 
accountability has two mechanisms 
and three indicators which impact 
the approval of the district’s budget 
and accreditation status.  The 
accountability mechanisms are 
accreditation and the program/
budget review process.  These two 
mechanisms shall align directly with 
the district or charter school’s [EPSS] 
Education Plan.  The indicators 
are community representation, 
local accountability indicators and 
statewide accountability indicators.
  (2) 
Accountability mechanisms.
   (a) 
Accreditation.  Accreditation will 
be conducted in accordance with 
Subsection F of Section 22-2-2 
NMSA 1978.  Verification of the 
district or charter school’s [EPSS] 
Education Plan and student progress 
will occur on a regular basis.  State 
and federal regulations which fall 
within the scope of accreditation will 
also be monitored.
   (b) 
Program/budget review and approval.  
The program/budget review 
and approval process, including 
assessment and evaluation, occurs 
annually.  Its purpose is to link the 
district or charter school’s program 
needs directly with budgetary 
resources.  In order for a district or 
charter school to obtain an approved 
budget, the district shall:
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                 (i) 
document the local board or 
charter school governing body’s 
determination of needs as defined in 
its [EPSS] Education Plan (Section 
22-8-18 NMSA 1978);
                (ii) 
document minimum budget 
requirements (Section 22-8-9 NMSA 
1978);
               (iii) 
document parent involvement in 
budget preparation (Section 22-8-11 
NMSA 1978);
               (iv) 
complete the annual program/budget 
questionnaire; and
                (v) 
comply with requirements specified in 
Section 22-8-5 NMSA 1978.
  (3) 
Accountability indicators.
   (a) 
Community representation.  
Community representatives shall be 
involved in the budget preparation 
process, the [EPSS] Education 
Plan process, the [EPSS] NM 
School DASH process, Education 
Plan evaluation (including the 
establishment of local student 
performance indicators) and the 
accreditation process.  Community 
representatives include parents, 
students and other community 
members who reflect the composition 
of the student population.  Evidence 
shall be provided to verify different 
forms of representation.
   (b) 
Local student performance indicators.  
Local student performance indicators 
shall:
                              (i) 
be identified by the local school 
district or charter school in 
conjunction with students, parents, 
community members and businesses;
                (ii) 
be part of the local [EPSS] Education 
Plan evaluation;
               (iii) 
measure and demonstrate student 
progress toward the New Mexico 
content standards with benchmarks 
and performance standards;
               (iv) 
demonstrate student progress toward 

identified [EPSS] NM School 
DASH process [goals/focus areas 
(performance indicators)] goals and 
desired outcomes;
                (v) 
be included as an integral part of the 
accreditation and program/budget 
review processes; and
               (vi) 
use any other indicators the district 
or charter school shall choose for its 
students.
   (c) 
Statewide student performance 
indicators.  Statewide student 
performance indicators shall:
                 (i) 
be included as an integral part of the 
accreditation and program/budget 
review processes;
                (ii) 
be part of the local [EPSS] Education 
Plan evaluation and NM School 
DASH monitoring;
               (iii) 
measure and demonstrate student 
progress toward the New Mexico 
content standards with benchmarks 
and performance standards;
               (iv) 
communicate clearly to parents 
and the general public the students’ 
progress toward meeting the goals 
established by the district and school, 
or charter school; and
                (v) 
describe performance levels across 
the grade levels and across the 
curriculum.
 [M] L. Statewide student 
assessment system.  As stated in 
Section 22-2-8.13 NMSA 1978, 
students’ knowledge and skills are 
assessed and evaluated though the 
New Mexico content standards 
with benchmarks and performance 
standards, the system of assessments, 
and local measures.
  (1) The 
statewide student assessment system.  
All public-school students, with 
the exceptions indicated below, 
shall participate in the system 
of assessments, which includes 
standards-based assessments in grades 
3 through 8 and high school.
  (2) 
Exceptions.  Exceptions include 

special provisions and requirements 
for the assessment of English 
language learners and students with 
IEPs.
   (a) 
English language learners.  Students 
who have limited English language 
skills (i.e., students who are “English 
language learners”) as determined 
by the department-approved English 
language proficiency screening 
assessment shall participate in the 
statewide assessment program.  The 
following considerations specify how 
assessment shall be conducted.
    (i) 
Length of enrollment in U.S. schools.  
The options for participation of 
English language learners in the New 
Mexico standards-based assessment 
program depend on the length of time 
that the student has been enrolled in 
U.S. public schools.  For students who 
are new to U.S. schools, the following 
applies:  Students who are enrolled 
for the first year in a U.S. school 
may receive an exemption from the 
system of assessments for English 
language arts, including all subtests 
therein.  In all other content areas of 
the system of assessments, the student 
shall participate in the Spanish-
language version of the assessment 
(if available and appropriate) or in 
the English-language version with 
accommodations provided, if they are 
determined to be appropriate by the 
local school’s team, as described in 
(iii) of Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph 
(2) of Subsection [M] L of 6.29.1.9 
NMAC.  For the subtests other than 
reading, the test completion status 
shall be student tested all sessions, 
and the types of accommodations 
that are provided, if any, shall be 
indicated in the student information 
system.  Students who have been in 
U.S. schools for at least 12 months 
and less than three consecutive years 
shall participate in the statewide 
assessment program in one of three 
ways:  the student may participate 
in the standard administration of 
the English-language version of the 
assessment without accommodations; 
the student may participate in 
the English-language version of 
the assessment with appropriate 



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIV, Issue14/ July 31, 2023745
accommodations; or the student 
may participate in the standard 
administration of the Spanish-
language version of the assessment, 
where available and appropriate.
                (ii) 
Waivers for home language 
assessment.  Students who have been 
in U.S. schools for three or more 
consecutive years shall participate in 
the English-language version of the 
assessment with or without allowable 
accommodations unless a request 
based on the determination of the 
local education agency to continue 
the testing of the student in the 
home language of Spanish and the 
request is approved by the secretary.  
If, after three consecutive years in 
U.S. schools, the district or charter 
school determines (on a case-by-case 
basis) that academic assessments 
in the student’s home language of 
Spanish would yield more accurate 
and reliable information about the 
student’s knowledge of a subject, 
the district or charter school may 
request a waiver from the secretary to 
continue to assess the student in the 
home language of Spanish.  Approved 
waivers are effective for the current 
year only; annual waiver requests 
may be approved for a maximum 
of two years.  The waiver request 
shall be submitted to the secretary 
for approval at least three months 
before the assessment, by the district’s 
superintendent or the charter school 
administrator.  The request shall 
include: student name, student state 
identification number, school in which 
the student is currently enrolled, 
student’s grade level, student’s most 
recent department-approved English 
language proficiency, assessment 
date and overall composite score, 
length of enrollment in U.S. schools, 
an indication of whether this is the 
first or second waiver request for the 
student, the reason or justification for 
the waiver request, and names of the 
school team members involved in the 
decision to request the waiver.
              (iii)
Accommodations.  Districts and 
charter schools shall provide 
accommodations to English 
language learners after consideration 

of their appropriateness for the 
individual student.  To determine 
the appropriateness of allowing 
accommodations, the district or 
charter school shall consider the 
student’s level of proficiency in all 
domains of language (listening, 
speaking, reading, writing and 
comprehension) and the nature of 
the school’s instructional program.  
The district or charter school 
shall ensure that students do not 
receive accommodations without 
current justification supported by 
data.  District and school staff may 
obtain the technical assistance on 
procedures for accommodations 
from the department’s district test 
coordinator’s manual or from the 
department.  Each school shall 
utilize a team to review individual 
student progress in order to determine 
accommodations.  For students 
being served on an individualized 
education program (IEP) or Section 
504 Plan, those teams (IEP or Section 
504) will respectively determine 
appropriate test accommodations.  
For all other students, the school 
may use its student assistance team 
(SAT) or form another school-based 
team for this purpose, but the team 
shall be comprised of at least three 
school staff, including staff who are 
familiar with the student’s abilities 
and language needs, standardized 
test procedures and valid ELL test 
accommodations. Team members 
may include:  the student’s bilingual 
multicultural education- or TESOL-
endorsed teacher, the bilingual 
multicultural education program 
coordinator, the student’s other 
teacher(s), administrators or school 
test coordinators, or the school 
counselor.  The student’s parent or 
guardian, the student and other staff 
members may be also included, as 
appropriate.  The team shall base 
its decisions about appropriate 
accommodations on the following:  
annual review of the student’s 
progress in attaining English 
proficiency, student’s current English 
language proficiency, including the 
student’s experience and time in 
U. S. schools, student’s expected 
date for exiting English language 

learner accommodations, student’s 
familiarity with the accommodation 
under consideration, the primary 
language of instruction used in the 
content area to be assessed and the 
length of time that the student has 
received instruction in that language, 
and the student’s grade level.  Written 
documentation of accommodation 
decisions made by the team shall be 
stored in the student’s cumulative 
file and shall be reported to the 
department’s bureau of assessment 
and evaluation.
   (b) 
Students with IEPs.  Students 
with IEPs who receive special 
education and related services shall 
participate in all statewide and 
district-wide assessments of student 
achievement or in state-approved 
alternate assessments.  Pursuant to 
Subsection E of 6.31.2.11 NMAC, 
34 CFR 300.320 (a)(2)(ii) and 34 
CFR 300.320(a)(6), the IEPs for 
such students shall specify which 
assessments each student will 
participate in and what, if any, 
accommodations or modifications 
in administration are needed to 
enable the student to participate.  
The IEPs for students who will not 
participate in a particular statewide or 
district-wide assessment shall meet 
state-approved criteria, methods and 
instruments.
   (c) 
Waiver of the high school system of 
assessments (graduation requirement 
assessment).
                              (i) 
With the approval of the local 
board of education or charter 
school governing body, the local 
superintendent or charter school 
administrator may request written 
approval from the secretary to award 
a diploma to a student who has not 
passed the high school system of 
assessments.  The district or charter 
school shall document student 
attainment of required competencies 
through an alternative assessment 
procedure and shall submit such a 
request using the department’s high 
school system of assessments waiver 
request form. This form shall include: 
name of superintendent; district/
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school; mailing address; phone; fax; 
email address; name of a secondary 
contact person including the same 
information; date of submission; 
statement of applicable district or 
charter school policy, list of students 
for whom the waiver request is being 
made including:  student name, 
school, date of board approval, 
and statement of whether or not 
competencies are documented through 
an alternative assessment; and 
rationale for request.
                (ii) 
With appropriate documentation, 
a passing score on another state’s 
graduation requirement assessment 
shall substitute for the high school 
system of assessments.
 [N] M. Indigent 
identification and guidelines.
  (1) A student 
who has been deemed eligible for 
free or reduced-price school meals, 
or a student who has been identified 
by the children, youth and families 
department as being in the custody of 
the state, shall be deemed indigent for 
the purposes of remediation programs 
and damage of instructional materials, 
as discussed in Sections 22-2C-6 and 
22-15-10 NMSA 1978.
  (2) A parent 
or guardian of a student who has 
not applied for free or reduced-price 
school meals shall be notified in 
writing by the local school board or 
governing body of a charter school 
of the availability of remediation 
at no charge upon an eligibility 
determination for free or reduced-
price school meals.
 [O] N. Emergency drills 
and practiced evacuations.
  (1) Emergency 
drills shall be conducted in each 
public school and private school in 
the state, as follows:
   (a) 
at least once per week during the first 
four weeks of the school year;
                 (i) 
one of these drills shall be a shelter-
in-place drill, which includes 
preparation to respond to an active 
shooter;
                (ii) 
one of these drills shall be an 
evacuation drill;

               (iii) 
two of these drills shall be fire drills;

(b) 
during the rest of the school year, 
each school shall conduct at least four 
more emergency drills, at least two of 
which shall be fire drills;
   (c) 
in locations where a fire department 
is maintained, a member of the fire 
department shall be requested to be 
in attendance during the emergency 
drills for the purpose of giving 
instruction and constructive criticism;
   (d) 
it shall be the responsibility of the 
person in charge of a school to 
carry out the provisions related to 
emergency drills.
  (2) 
Requirements to comply and penalties 
for non-compliance:
   (a) 
It shall be the responsibility of the 
superintendent of a school district, 
a charter school administrator or 
private school counterpart(s) to ensure 
that each school under the person’s 
authority follows the requirements set 
forth in Subsection [O] N of 6.29.1.9 
NMAC.
   (b) In 
the event that the person responsible 
for complying with Subsection [O] 
N of 6.29.1.9 NMAC fails or refuses 
to comply with this subsection, 
the department may, in the case of 
a public school, take any action 
designed to ensure prompt corrective 
action or future compliance, including 
reporting the non-compliance to either 
the state fire marshal or to a local fire 
department.  In the case of a private 
school, the department will report the 
non-compliance to either the state fire 
marshal or to a local fire department 
and may consider adverse licensure 
action.
   (c) 
Failure or refusal to comply with 
the requirements in Subsection [O] 
N of 6.29.1.9 NMAC for holding 
emergency drills shall constitute 
grounds to suspend or revoke the 
license of the person responsible 
for compliance.  The due process 
procedures under the Uniform 
Licensing Act (Sections 61-1-1 

through 61-1-31 NMSA 1978) shall 
apply.
 [P] O. School facilities 
and grounds.  Pursuant to Subsection 
C of 6.29.1.9 NMAC (Duties of the 
Superintendent); Subsection D of 
6.12.6.8 NMAC (School District 
Wellness Policy); and 6.19.3 NMAC 
(Unsafe School Choice Option), each 
school district or charter school shall 
ensure that all buildings, facilities and 
grounds provide a safe and orderly 
environment for public use; i.e., that 
they shall be:
  (1) safe, 
healthy, orderly, clean and in good 
repair;
  (2) in 
compliance with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act-Part III and state fire 
marshal regulations, Sections 59A-52-
1 through 59A-52-25 NMSA 1978;
  (3) safe for 
conducting experiments and school 
projects in all school laboratories and 
shops, as established in written school 
safety procedures which are reviewed 
annually; these procedures include, 
but are not limited to: 
   (a) 
personal protective equipment;
   (b) 
adequate ventilation and electrical 
circuitry;
   (c) 
material safety data sheets;
   (d) 
body and eye washes; and
   (e) 
training appropriate for each teaching 
situation;
  (4) the 
maximum number of occupants in 
a laboratory or shop teaching space 
shall be based on the following:
   (a) 
the number of work stations;
   (b) 
the building and fire safety codes;
   (c) 
the design of the laboratory or shop 
teaching facility;
   (d) 
appropriate supervision and the 
special needs of students; and
   (e) all 
applicable OSHA regulations;
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  (5) appropriate 
procedures for the storing, handling 
and removal of toxic or dangerous 
substances shall be established and 
implemented; all school programs 
(including those areas noted above 
and custodial areas, art room, 
library and cafeteria) shall comply 
with standard safety practices and 
all applicable state and federal 
regulations;
  (6) use of 
pesticides by districts and charter 
schools will be governed by the 
following standards:
   (a) 
Definitions as used in this section:
    (i) 
“Pesticide” means any substance or 
mixture of substances intended for 
preventing, destroying, repelling or 
mitigating any pest.
                (ii) 
“Pest” means any living organism 
injurious to other living organisms, 
except humans, viruses, bacteria 
or other microorganisms in or on 
other living organisms other than 
plants, which is declared to be a pest 
pursuant to the Pesticide Control 
Act, Sections 76-4-1 through 76-4-39 
NMSA 1978.
   (b) 
Districts and charter schools 
will develop procedures for the 
implementation of pest management 
with consideration for reducing the 
possible impact of pesticide use on 
human health and the environment, 
including people with special 
sensitivities to pesticides.  Procedures 
will include, but are not limited to, the 
following:
                 (i) 
No pesticide may be applied to public 
school property and no pest control 
device, as defined in the New Mexico 
Pesticide Control Act, may be used 
on public school property except 
those pesticides and devices currently 
registered for legal use in the state 
by the New Mexico department of 
agriculture.
                (ii) 
No pesticide may be applied to public 
school property except by those 
persons certified in the applicable 
category and currently licensed 

by the New Mexico department of 
agriculture or by employees under 
their direct supervision.
               (iii) 
Pesticides will only be applied in or 
on the outside of school buildings 
when a pest is present and will not 
be applied on a regular or calendar 
basis unless it is to treat an infestation 
and is a part of a pest management 
system being implemented to address 
a particular target pest.  A pest is 
considered to be present when it is 
observed directly or can reasonably 
be expected to be present based on 
finding evidence, such as droppings, 
body parts, or damage that is typically 
done by the pest.  This section of 
the regulation does not apply to pre-
construction termite treatments or the 
use of outdoor herbicides.
               (iv)
Pesticides that are applied in a liquid, 
aerosolized or gaseous form through 
spraying, aerosol cans, bombs, 
fumigation or injections into the 
ground, foundation or plants will not 
be applied on public school property 
when students, staff or visitors 
are present, or may reasonably be 
expected to be present within 6 hours 
of the application.  In emergency 
cases, where a pest infestation 
threatens the health or safety of 
the occupants of public school 
property, and which requires the 
immediate application of a pesticide 
to remediate, students, staff and other 
school occupants will be removed 
from the treatment area prior to the 
application.  Small amounts of gel 
or liquid pesticides applied to cracks 
and crevices or baits used to treat 
pest infestation are exempt from this 
section.
                (v) 
At the beginning of each year, and 
when new students register, schools 
will develop a list of parents and 
guardians who wish to be notified 
prior to pesticide application during 
the school year.  These parents/
guardians will be notified in writing 
prior to pesticide application.  General 
notification of anticipated pesticide 
applications will occur by posting 
or dissemination of notices, by oral 
communication or other means of 

communication.  In emergency cases 
where a pest infestation threatens 
the health or safety of the occupants 
of public school property, no pre-
notification is required.  Immediately 
following the application of a 
pesticide in emergency cases, 
signs will be posted indicating an 
application was made.
               (vi)
Written records of pesticide 
applications will be kept for three 
years at each school site and be 
available upon request to parents, 
guardians, students, teachers and staff.
              (vii) 
If any part of Paragraph (6) of 
Subsection [P] O of 6.29.1.9 NMAC 
is found to be in conflict with the 
provisions of the Pesticide Control 
Act, the remainder of the regulation 
will remain in full force and effect.
 [Q] P. School district 
budgeting.  Section 22-8-4 NMSA 
1978 requires the department to 
prescribe forms for, supervise and 
control the preparation of all budgets 
of all public schools and school 
districts, and to compile accurate 
information concerning public 
school finance and administration.  
Sections 22-8-5 through 22-8-
12.1 NMSA 1978 set out specific 
budget preparation and submission 
requirements for the department, 
public schools and public school 
districts.  Regulations governing 
budgeting and accounting for New 
Mexico public schools and school 
districts are set out in 6.20.2 NMAC.
 [R] Q. Final course and 
other student grade changes.  Any 
changes to students’ course or other 
grades shall be governed by the 
state rule, “Final Course and Other 
Student Grade Changes” (6.30.10 
NMAC).
[6.29.1.9 NMAC - Rp, 6.30.2.10 
NMAC, 6/30/2009; A, 02/12/2010; 
A, 10/31/2011; A, 2/28/2017; A, 
07/25/2017; A, 12/15/2020; A, 
5/24/2022; A, 7/31/2023]

6.29.1.11 PROGRAM 
REQUIREMENTS:
 A. Curriculum.
  (1) Local 
curricula shall be aligned with the 
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applicable New Mexico content 
standards with benchmarks and 
performance standards.  In accordance 
with Section 22-13-1.6 NMSA 1978, 
each school district shall align its 
curricula to meet the state standards 
for each grade level and subject area 
so that students who transfer between 
public schools within the school 
district receive the same educational 
opportunity within the same grade or 
subject area.  [Each school district’s 
aligned grade level and subject 
area curricula shall be in place for 
mathematics by the 2009 school year.]
  (2) Adopted 
instructional materials shall support 
the aligned local curricula.  The state 
standards revision cycle, the local 
curriculum cycle and the instructional 
materials cycle shall be aligned and 
sequenced to provide standards-
based curricula that are supported by 
aligned instructional materials.  At the 
completion of each standards revision 
cycle, the standards-based state 
assessment program shall be reviewed 
to determine the need for realignment.
  (3) All courses 
offered for credit shall have written, 
delivered, assessed and sequential 
curriculum.
  (4) Written 
and delivered curricula shall be 
congruent, state what students should 
know and be able to do, and include 
an assessment process.
  (5) [The 
curricula shall be assessed as part of 
the EPSS.
  (6)] The 
curricula shall support the [EPSS] 
Education Plan and NM School 
DASH.
 B. Subject areas.  
The district or charter school shall 
be in compliance with subject area 
requirements as specified in Section 
22-13-1 NMSA 1978.
  (1) The 
department shall require instruction 
in specific subject areas as provided 
in Paragraphs (2) through (7) of 
Subsection B of 6.29.1.11 NMAC.  
Any public school or school district 
failing to meet these minimum 
requirements shall not be accredited 
by the department.

  (2) All 
kindergarten through third grade 
classes shall provide daily instruction 
in reading and language arts skills, 
including phonemic awareness, 
phonics, and comprehension; 
and in mathematics.  Students in 
kindergarten and first grades shall be 
screened and monitored for progress 
in reading and language arts skills, 
and students in second grade shall 
take diagnostic tests on reading and 
language arts skills.
  (3) All first, 
second and third grade classes 
shall provide instruction in art, 
music and a language other than 
English, and instruction that meets 
content standards, benchmarks and 
performance standards shall be 
provided in science, social studies, 
physical education and health 
education.
  (4) In fourth 
through eighth grades, instruction 
that meets academic content and 
performance standards shall be 
provided in the following subject 
areas:
   (a) 
reading and language arts skills, with 
an emphasis on writing and editing 
for at least one year and an emphasis 
on grammar and writing for at least 
one year;
   (b) 
mathematics;
   (c) a 
language other than English;
   (d) 
communication skills;
   (e) 
science;
   (f) 
art;
   (g) 
music;
   (h) 
social studies;
   (i) 
New Mexico history;
   (j) 
United States history;
   (k) 
geography;
   (l) 
physical education; and

   (m) 
health education.
  (5) In eighth 
grade, algebra I shall be offered in 
regular classroom settings, through 
online courses or agreements with 
high schools.
  (6) In fourth 
through eighth grades, school districts 
and charter schools shall offer 
electives that contribute to academic 
growth and skill development 
and provide career and technical 
education.
  (7) In ninth 
through 12th grades, instruction 
that meets academic content and 
performance standards shall be 
provided in health education, 
including:
   (a) 
age-appropriate sexual abuse and 
assault awareness and prevention 
training that meets department 
standards developed in consultation 
with the federal centers for disease 
control and prevention that are based 
on evidence-based methods that have 
proved to be effective;
   (b) 
lifesaving skills training that follows 
nationally recognized guidelines 
for hands-on, compression only, 
psychomotor skills (skills that 
use hands-on practice to support 
cognitive learning) cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation training including:
                 (i) 
use of a course curriculum, 
which allows for demonstration 
of competency in performing 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
associated skills;
                (ii)
training that conforms to the most 
recent, national, evidence-based 
guidelines established by the 
American heart association, the 
American red cross, or another 
nationally recognized, NM public 
education department-approved non-
profit organization;
                (iii) 
training to recognize the signs of a 
heart attack;
               (iv) 
training on use of an automated 
external defibrillator; and
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                (v) 
training on how to perform the 
Heimlich maneuver for choking 
victims;
   (c) 
lifesaving skills training that may use 
the following instructors if qualified 
to teach hands-on psychomotor 
skills cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
training:
    (i) 
school nurses;
                (ii) 
health teachers;
               (iii) 
athletic department personnel as 
instructors; and
               (iv) 
any qualified volunteers, as defined by 
6.50.18.8 NMAC, providing training 
at no cost to the school district that 
the school district determines to 
be eligible to offer instruction as 
prescribed in Subparagraph (b) of 
Paragraph (7) of Subsection B of 
6.29.1.11 NMAC including, but 
not limited to, emergency medical 
technicians, paramedics, police 
officers, firefighters, representatives of 
the American heart association or the 
American red cross, or other similarly 
qualified individuals;
   (d) 
training and instructional materials 
related to Subparagraph (b) of 
Paragraph (7) of Subsection B of 
6.29.1.11 NMAC in both English and 
Spanish to include:
                 (i) 
materials, equipment, and services 
that are needed as part of the 
instruction obtained on loan from 
state-recognized organizations, such 
as the New Mexico heart institute; 
and
                (ii) 
materials, equipment, and services 
received by schools as in-kind 
donations; and
   (e) 
combined instruction, whereby school 
districts and charter schools may work 
with other school districts and charter 
schools to provide the training or with 
a regional education cooperative to 
provide or facilitate the training.
  (8) The 
requirements as prescribed in 

Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph (7) of 
Subsection B of 6.29.1.11 NMAC for 
health education shall not be required 
for students in grades nine through 12 
who are enrolled in a virtual charter 
school.
  (9) A school 
district or charter school may submit 
a waiver request to the department 
for the requirement as prescribed 
in Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph 
(7) of Subsection B of 6.29.1.11 
NMAC for health education for a 
student receiving special education 
supports and services pursuant 
to the IDEA or Section 504 of 
the federal Rehabilitation Act in 
grades nine through 12 with a 
disability as documented through an 
individualized education program 
(IEP) if the requirement as prescribed 
in Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph (7) 
of Subsection B of 6.29.1.11 NMAC 
cannot be reasonably met with 
accommodations for a given student.
  (10) In every 
grade, inquiry-based laboratory 
components are at the core of the 
science program and shall be woven 
into every lesson and concept strand.  
For required science units in grades 
nine through twelve, “laboratory 
component” means an experience 
in the laboratory, classroom or the 
field that provides students with 
opportunities to interact directly 
with natural phenomena or with 
data collected by others using tools, 
materials, data collection techniques 
and models.  Throughout the process, 
students shall have opportunities 
to design investigations, engage 
in scientific reasoning, manipulate 
equipment, record data, analyze 
results and discuss their findings.  
The laboratory component comprises 
at least 40 per cent of the unit’s 
instructional time. All science classes 
that include dissection activities as 
part of the curriculum shall provide 
virtual dissection techniques as 
alternative activities for any student 
who is opposed to real dissections for 
ethical, moral, cultural or religious 
reasons.  Alternative techniques 
shall approximate the experience of 
real dissection activities as closely 
and appropriately as possible.  A 

virtual dissection technique means 
carrying out dissection activities using 
computer two-dimensional or three-
dimensional simulations, videotape 
or videodisk simulations, take-apart 
anatomical models, photographs or 
anatomical atlases.
 C. Bilingual 
multicultural education.  Bilingual 
multicultural education programs 
shall be provided to meet the 
identified educational and linguistic 
needs of linguistically and culturally 
different students, including Native 
American children, and other students 
who may wish to participate, in 
grades K-12, with priority to be given 
to programs in grades K-3.  These 
programs shall:
  (1) provide 
services in accordance with the 
Bilingual Multicultural Education Act 
(Sections 22-23-1 through 6 NMSA 
1978) and the Bilingual Multicultural 
Education Program Regulation 
(Sections 6.32.2.7 through 6.32.2.11 
NMAC);
  (2) be 
implemented in accordance with 
the identified needs of qualifying 
culturally and linguistically different 
students and ensure equal educational 
opportunities;
  (3) be assessed 
as part of the [EPSS] Education Plan 
process; and
  (4) support 
the local curriculum and [EPSS] 
Education Plan and NM School 
DASH.
 D. Career and 
technical education (CTE).  Career 
and technical education programs for 
both elementary and secondary levels 
shall:
  (1) be in 
accordance with Section 22-14-1 
through 22-14-30 NMSA 1978 and 
the Carl Perkins Act;
  (2) provide 
exploratory and skill development 
program offerings;
  (3) ensure 
students’ mastery of the New Mexico 
career and technical education content 
standards with benchmarks and 
performance standards;
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  (4) include 
competency-based applied learning; 
and
  (5) [be 
assessed as part of the EPSS process; 
and
  (6)] support the 
local curriculum and the [EPSS] NM 
School DASH.
 E. School health.  
School health programs provide 
opportunities for all students to 
develop healthy behaviors.  Districts 
and charter schools shall provide or 
make provisions for school health 
programs that address the health 
needs of students and staff.  Districts 
and charter schools shall provide 
the following programs:  health 
education, physical education, 
health services and school 
counseling.  Additional programs 
may include: nutrition, staff 
wellness, family-school-community 
partnerships, healthy environment 
and psychological services.  These 
programs shall:
  (1) be in 
accordance with Section 22-10A-34 
and Section 24-5-1 through 24-5-6 
NMSA 1978;
  (2) provide 
education and skill development 
program offerings;
  (3) provide 
community partnerships which help 
to achieve the goal of healthy students 
and staff; and
  (4) [be 
assessed as part of the EPSS process; 
and
  (5)] support 
the local curriculum [and EPSS] 
Education Plan, and NM School 
DASH.
 F. Special education.  
Special education is specially 
designed instruction that is provided 
at no cost to parents to meet the 
unique needs of a student with a 
disability, as defined in the IDEA 
regulations (34 CFR Part 300 and 
state special education regulations 
(6.31.2 NMAC).  Special education 
programs shall:
  (1) provide 
specially designed instruction in 
career and technical education and 

travel training for students whose 
IEPs require such services;
  (2) provide 
instruction to students placed on 
homebound services as per their IEP; 
and
  (3) provide 
instruction in state-supported 
educational programs, hospitals, 
institutions and other settings.  As set 
forth in the state special education 
regulations at Paragraph (15) of 
Subsection C of 6.31.2.7 NMAC, 
special education may include 
speech-language pathology services 
consisting of specially-designed 
instruction that is provided to 
enable a student with a disability, 
as recognized under IDEA, to have 
access to the general curriculum and 
to meet the educational standards of 
the public agency that apply to all 
children;
  [(4) provide 
instruction, in accordance with 
Subsection D of Section 22-13-1 
NMSA 1978, for the unique needs of 
gifted and talented students;
  (5)] (4) be assessed 
as part of the [EPSS] Education Plan 
process; and
  [(6)] (5) support the 
local curriculum, Education Plan, and 
[EPSS] NM School DASH.
 G. Supplemental 
programs.  Programs which 
supplement, but do not replace, 
state operational programs may 
include, but are not limited to:  
Title I - Improving the Academic 
Achievement of the Disadvantaged; 
Title II - Preparing, Training and 
Recruiting High Quality Teachers 
and Principals; Title III - Language 
Instruction for Limited English 
Proficient and Immigrant Students; 
Title IV, Part A - Safe and Drug Free 
Schools and Communities; Title V - 
Promoting Informed Parental Choice 
and Innovative Programs;  Title VI 
- Flexibility and Accountability; Title 
VII - Indian, Native Hawaiian and 
Alaska Native Education; Title VIII 
- Impact Aid Program; the Johnson-
O’Malley Act; and Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Improvement 
Act (IDEA).  Supplemental programs 
shall:

  (1) provide 
services as required by federal laws 
and assurances, including Title VI of 
the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the 
Equal Educational Opportunities Act 
(EEOA) of 1974;
  (2) be assessed 
as part of the [EPSS] Education Plan 
process; and
  (3) support the 
local curriculum, Education Plan, and 
[EPSS] NM School DASH.
 H. Support services.  
Districts and charter schools shall 
provide support service programs 
which strengthen the instructional 
program.  Required support service 
programs are library media, school 
counseling and health services.  
Support services shall:
  (1) have 
a written, delivered and assessed 
program, K-12;
  (2) provide 
licensed staff to develop and supervise 
the program; and
  (3) [be 
assessed as part of the EPSS process; 
and
  (4)] support the 
local curriculum, Education Plan, and 
[EPSS] NM School DASH.
 I. Technology in 
education.  The Technology for 
Education Act establishes a fund 
and a system for equal distribution 
of funds based upon final funded 
student membership within each 
school district and charter school.  
The Technology for Education Act 
requires annual review and approval 
of each school district and charter 
school’s educational technology plan, 
through which every school district 
and charter school reports to the 
department the fiscal distributions 
received, expenditures made and 
educational technology obtained 
by the district or charter school, 
and other related information.  As 
districts and charter schools develop, 
refine and implement strategic long-
range plans for utilizing educational 
technology, each plan shall:
  (1) be in 
accordance with Section 22-15A-10 
NMSA 1978; and
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PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

This is an amendment to 6.31.2 
NMAC, Sections 6, 7, 11, 12 and 13, 
effective July 31, 2023.

6.31.2.6  OBJECTIVE:  
The following rule is promulgated to 
assist New Mexico public agencies 
in appropriately identifying and 
providing educational services for 
children with disabilities [and gifted 
children].  The purposes of this rule 
are to ensure that all children with 
disabilities have available a free 
appropriate public education which 
includes special education and related 
services to meet their unique needs; 
to ensure that the rights of children 
with disabilities [and gifted children] 
and their parents are protected; to 
assist public agencies to provide for 
the education of all children with 
disabilities [and gifted children]; 
and to evaluate and ensure the 
effectiveness of efforts to educate 
those children.
[6.31.2.6 NMAC - Rp, 6.31.2.6 
NMAC, 7/14/2020; A, 7/31/2023]

  (2) [be 
assessed as part of the EPSS process; 
and
  (3)] support the 
local curriculum, Education Plan, and 
[EPSS] NM School DASH.
 J. Gifted education. 
Gifted education is specially designed 
instruction to meet the individual 
needs of gifted students pursuant 
to 6.31.3 NMAC. Gifted education 
programs shall:
  (1) provide 
gifted students appropriate instruction 
in required subject areas, in 
accordance with Article 13 of Chapter 
22 NMSA 1978;
  (2) be assessed 
as part of the Education Plan process; 
and
  (3) support the 
local curriculum, Education Plan, and 
NM School DASH.
[6.29.1.11 NMAC - Rp, 6.30.2.11 
NMAC, 6/30/2009; A, 2/28/2017; A, 
12/15/2020; A, 7/31/2023]
______________________________

6.31.2.7  DEFINITIONS:
 A. Terms defined by 
federal laws and rules.  All terms 
defined in the following federal laws 
and rules and any other federally 
defined terms that are incorporated 
there by reference are incorporated 
here for purposes of these rules.
  (1) The 
federal Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Improvement Act of 2004 
(IDEA), 20 USC Sec. 1400 et seq.
  (2) The IDEA 
rules, 34 CFR Parts 300 and 301.
  (3) Pursuant 
to the paperwork reduction provisions 
of IDEA, 20 USC Sec. 1408, all 
definitions, with the exception of 
those found in Subsection B of 
6.31.2.7 NMAC, contained in IDEA 
Parts 300 and 301 at 34 CFR Secs. 
300.1 through 300.45, will be adopted 
by reference.
 B. The following terms 
shall have the following meanings for 
purposes of these rules.
  (1) “CFR” 
means the code of federal regulations, 
including future amendments.
  (2) “Child 
with a disability” means a child who 
meets all requirements of 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.8 and:
   (a) 
is age three through 21 or who will 
turn age three at any time during the 
school year;
   (b) 
has been evaluated in accordance 
with 34 CFR Secs. 300.304 
through 300.311 and any additional 
requirements of these or other 
department rules and standards and as 
having one or more of the disabilities 
specified in 34 CFR Sec. 300.8 
including an intellectual disability; 
a hearing impairment, including 
deafness, speech or language 
impairment; a visual impairment, 
including blindness; emotional 
disturbance; orthopedic impairment; 
autism; traumatic brain injury; other 
health impairment; a specific learning 
disability; deaf-blindness; or being 
developmentally delayed as defined 
in Paragraph (4) of Subsection B of 
6.31.2.7 NMAC; and who has not 
received a high school diploma; and

   (c) 
at the discretion of each local 
educational agency and subject to the 
additional requirements of Paragraph 
(2) of Subsection F of 6.31.2.10 
NMAC, may include a child age three 
through nine who is evaluated as 
being developmentally delayed and 
who, because of that condition, needs 
special education and related services.
  (3) 
“Developmentally delayed” means 
a child age three through nine or who 
will turn age three at any time during 
the school year with documented 
delays in development which are 
at least two standard deviations 
below the mean on a standardized 
test instrument or thirty percent 
below chronological age and who 
in the professional judgment of the 
IEP team and one or more qualified 
evaluators needs special education 
and related services in at least one of 
the following areas: communication 
development, cognitive development, 
physical development, social 
or emotional development, or 
adaptive development.  Use of the 
developmentally delayed option by 
individual local educational agencies 
is subject to the further requirements 
of Paragraph (2) of Subsection F of 
6.31.2.10 NMAC.  Local educational 
agencies shall use appropriate 
diagnostic instruments and procedures 
to ensure that the child qualifies as a 
child with a developmental delay in 
accordance with the definition in this 
paragraph.
  (4) “Dual 
discrepancy” means the child does 
not achieve adequately for the child’s 
age or to meet grade-level standards 
established in New Mexico standards 
for excellence, 6.29.1 through 6.29.17 
NMAC; and
   (a) 
does not make sufficient progress to 
meet age or grade-level standards; or
   (b) 
exhibits a pattern of strengths 
and weaknesses in performance, 
achievement, or both, relative to age, 
grade level standards, or intellectual 
development.
  (5) “Dyslexia” 
means a condition of neurological 
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origin that is characterized by 
difficulty with accurate or fluent 
word recognition and by poor 
spelling and decoding abilities, which 
characteristics typically result from a 
deficit in the phonological component 
of language that is often unexpected 
in relation to other cognitive abilities 
and the provision of effective 
classroom instruction and may result 
in problems in reading comprehension 
and reduced reading experience that 
may impede the growth of vocabulary 
and background knowledge.
  (6) The 
“educational jurisdiction” of a 
public agency includes the geographic 
area, age range, and all facilities 
including residential treatment 
centers, day treatment centers, 
hospitals, mental health institutions, 
juvenile justice facilities, state 
supported schools, or programs 
within which the public agency is 
obligated under state laws, rules, or 
by enforceable agreements including 
joint powers agreements (JPAs) 
or memoranda of understanding 
(MOUs) to provide educational 
services for children with disabilities.  
In situations such as transitions, 
transfers, and special placements, 
the educational jurisdiction of two or 
more public agencies may overlap and 
result in a shared obligation to ensure 
that a particular child receives all the 
services to which the child is entitled.
  (7) A “free 
appropriate public education” or 
“FAPE” means special education 
and related services which meet 
all requirements of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.17 and which, pursuant to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.17(b), meet all 
applicable department rules and 
standards, including but not limited 
to these rules; the New Mexico 
standards for excellence; and 
department rules governing school 
personnel preparation, licensure, 
and performance; student rights 
and responsibilities; and student 
transportation.
  (8) The 
“general education curriculum,” 
pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.320, 
means the same curriculum that a 
public agency offers for nondisabled 

children.  For New Mexico public 
agencies whose non-special education 
programs are subject to department 
rules, the general curriculum includes 
the content standards, benchmarks, 
and all other applicable requirements 
of the New Mexico standards for 
excellence and any other department 
rules defining curricular requirements.
  (9) “LEA” 
means a local educational agency as 
defined in 34 CFR Sec. 300.28.
  (10) 
“Individualized education 
program” or “IEP” means a written 
statement for a child with a disability 
that is developed, reviewed, and 
revised in accordance with 34 CFR 
Secs. 300.320 through 300.324.
  (11) “IEP 
team” means, pursuant to 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.321, the public agency shall 
ensure that the IEP team for each 
child with a disability includes:
   (a) 
the parents of the child;
   (b) 
not less than one regular education 
teacher of the child (if the child is, or 
may be, participating in the regular 
education environment);
   (c) 
not less than one special education 
teacher of the child, or where 
appropriate, not less than one special 
education provider of the child;
   (d) 
a representative of the public agency 
who:
    (i) 
is qualified to provide, or supervise 
the provision of, specially designed 
instruction to meet the unique needs 
of children with disabilities;
                (ii) 
is knowledgeable about the general 
education curriculum; and
               (iii) 
is knowledgeable about the 
availability of resources of the public 
agency;
   (e) 
an individual who can interpret 
the instructional implications of 
evaluation results, who may be a 
member of the team described in 
Subparagraphs (b) through (e) of 
Paragraph (11) of Subsection B of 
6.31.2.7 NMAC;

   (f) 
at the discretion of the parent or 
public agency, other individuals who 
have knowledge or special expertise 
regarding the child, including related 
services personnel as appropriate; and
   (g) 
whenever appropriate, the child with a 
disability.
  (12) 
“Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Improvement Act” 
or “IDEA” means the federal 
Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Improvement Act of 2004, 
20 USC Secs. 1401 et seq., including 
future amendments.
  (13) “NMAC” 
means the New Mexico administrative 
code, including future amendments.
  (14) “NMSA 
1978” means the 1978 compilation 
of New Mexico statutes annotated, 
including future amendments.
  (15) “Parent” 
includes, in addition to the persons 
specified in 34 CFR Sec. 300.30, 
a child with a disability who has 
reached age 18 and for whom 
there is no court-appointed general 
guardian, limited guardian, or 
other court-appointed person who 
has legal custody or has otherwise 
been authorized by a court to make 
educational decisions on the child’s 
behalf as provided in Subsection K 
of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.  Pursuant to 34 
CFR Sec. 300.519 and department 
policy, a foster parent of a child 
with a disability may act as a parent 
under Part B of IDEA if: (i) the foster 
parent or the state children, youth, 
and families department (CYFD) 
provides appropriate documentation 
to establish that CYFD has legal 
custody and has designated the 
person in question as the child’s 
foster parent; and (ii) the foster parent 
is willing to make the educational 
decisions required of parents under 
IDEA, and has no interest that would 
conflict with the interests of the child.  
A foster parent who does not qualify 
under the requirements but who 
meets all requirements for a surrogate 
parent under 34 CFR Sec. 300.519 
may be appointed as a surrogate if the 
public agency responsible for making 
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the appointment deems such action 
appropriate.
  (16) “Public 
agency” means the state educational 
agency, local educational agencies 
(LEAs), educational services agencies 
(ESAs), or nonprofit public charter 
schools that are not otherwise 
included as LEAs or ESAs and are 
not a school of an LEA or ESA and 
any other political subdivisions of the 
state that are responsible for providing 
education to children with disabilities 
pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.33.
  (17) “Puente 
para los ninos fund” means a risk 
pool fund in New Mexico to support 
high cost students with disabilities 
identified by LEAs pursuant to 34 
CFR Sec. 300.704(c)(3)(i).
  (18) “SAT” 
means the student assistance team, 
which is a school-based group of 
people whose purpose is to provide 
additional educational support to 
students who are experiencing 
difficulties that are preventing 
them from benefiting from general 
education.
  (19) “SED” 
means the special education division 
of the department.
  (20) “Special 
education” means specially designed 
instruction, at no cost to the parents, 
to meet the unique needs of a child 
with a disability, including instruction 
conducted in the classroom, in the 
home, in hospitals and institutions, 
and in other settings; and instruction 
in physical education.
   (a) 
As authorized by 34 CFR Secs. 
300.8(a)(2)(ii) and 300.39(a)(2)
(i), “special education” in New 
Mexico may include speech-language 
pathology services.
   (b) 
Speech-language pathology services 
shall meet the following standards to 
be considered special education:
    (i) 
the service is provided to a child 
who has received appropriate tier I 
universal screening under Subsection 
D of 6.29.1.9 NMAC as it may be 
amended from time to time, before 
being properly evaluated under 34 

CFR Secs. 300.301 through 300.306 
and Subsection E of 6.31.2.10 
NMAC;
                (ii) 
the IEP team that makes the eligibility 
determination finds that the child 
has a communication disorder, such 
as stuttering, impaired articulation, 
a language impairment, or a voice 
impairment, that adversely affects a 
child’s educational performance;
               (iii) 
the speech language pathology 
service consists of specially designed 
instruction that is provided to enable 
the child to have access to the general 
curriculum and meet the educational 
standards of the public agency that 
apply to all children; and
               (iv) 
the service is provided at no cost 
to the parents under a properly 
developed IEP that meets the 
requirements of Subsection B of 
6.31.2.11 NMAC.
   (c) 
If all of the standards are met, the 
service shall be considered as special 
education rather than a related 
service.
   (d) 
Student/staff caseloads for special 
education shall meet the requirements 
of Paragraphs (1) and (2) of 
Subsection H of 6.29.1.9 NMAC.
  (21) A “state-
supported educational program” 
means a publicly-funded program 
that:
   (a) 
provides special education and related 
services to children with disabilities 
who come within the program’s 
educational jurisdiction;
   (b) 
is operated by, or under contractual 
arrangements for, a state school, state 
educational institution, other state 
institution, state hospital, or state 
agency; and
   (c) 
is primarily funded through direct 
legislative appropriations or other 
direct state support to a public agency 
other than a local school district.
  (22) “USC” 
means the United States code, 
including future amendments.

 C. Definitions related 
to dispute resolution.  The following 
terms are listed in the order that 
reflects a continuum of dispute 
resolution options and shall have the 
following meanings for the purposes 
of these rules.
  (1) 
“Facilitated IEP meeting” or “FIEP 
meeting” or “FIEP” means an IEP 
meeting that utilizes an independent, 
state-approved, state-funded, trained 
facilitator as an IEP facilitator to 
assist the IEP team to communicate 
openly and effectively, in order to 
resolve conflicts related to a student’s 
IEP.
  (2) 
“Mediation” means a meeting or 
series of meetings that utilizes an 
independent, state-approved, state-
funded, trained mediator to assist 
parties to reconcile disputed matters 
related to a student’s IEP or other 
educational, non-IEP-related issues.
 [D. The definitions 
in Subsection D of 6.31.2.7 NMAC 
apply only to 6.31.2.12 NMAC.
  (1) 
“Creativity/divergent thinking” 
means outstanding performance on a 
test of creativity/divergent thinking 
or in creativity/divergent thinking 
as documented by information 
from other sources as specified in 
Paragraph (2) of Subsection C of 
6.31.2.12 NMAC.
  (2) “Gifted 
child” means a school-age person 
as defined in Subsection D of 
Section 22-13-6 NMSA 1978 whose 
intellectual ability paired with 
subject matter aptitude/achievement, 
creativity/divergent thinking, or 
problem-solving/critical thinking 
meets the eligibility criteria in 
6.31.2.12 NMAC and for whom 
a properly constituted IEP team 
determines that services are required 
to meet the child’s educational needs.
  (3) 
“Intellectual ability” means a score 
two standard deviations above the 
mean as defined by the test author on 
a properly administered intelligence 
measure.  The test administrator shall 
also consider the standard error of 
measure (SEM) in the determination 
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of whether or not criteria have been 
met in this area.
  (4) “Problem-
solving/critical thinking” means an 
outstanding performance on a test of 
problem-solving/critical thinking or 
in problem-solving/critical thinking 
as documented by information 
from other sources as specified in 
Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph (2) of 
Subsection B of 6.31.2.12 NMAC.
  (5) “Subject 
matter aptitude/achievement” 
means superior academic 
performance on a total subject area 
score on a standardized measure 
or as documented by information 
from other sources as specified in 
Paragraph (2) of Subsection C of 
6.31.2.12 NMAC.]
 [E.] D. The definitions 
in Subsection [E] D of 6.31.2.7 
NMAC apply only to Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.
  (1) 
“Expedited hearing” means a 
hearing that is available on request by 
a parent or a public agency under 34 
CFR Sec. 300.532(c) and is subject 
to the requirements of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.532(c).
  (2) [“Gifted 
services” means services to gifted 
children as defined in Subsection A of 
6.31.2.12 NMAC.
  (3)] 
“Transmit” means to mail, send by 
electronic mail (email) or telecopier 
(facsimile machine), or hand deliver a 
written notice or other document and 
obtain written proof of delivery by 
one of the following means:
   (a) 
an email system’s confirmation 
of a completed transmission to an 
email address that is shown to be 
valid for the individual to whom the 
transmission was sent;
   (b) a 
telecopier machine’s confirmation of 
a completed transmission to a number 
which is shown to be valid for the 
individual to whom the transmission 
was sent;
   (c) 
a receipt from a commercial or 
government carrier showing to whom 
the article was delivered and the date 
of delivery;

   (d) a 
written receipt signed by the secretary 
of education or designee showing to 
whom the article was hand-delivered 
and the date delivered; or
   (e) 
a final decision to any party not 
represented by counsel for a due 
process hearing by the U.S. postal 
service, certified mail, return receipt 
requested, showing to whom the 
articles was delivered and the date of 
delivery.
 [F.] E. The definitions in 
Subsection [F] E of 6.31.2.7 NMAC 
apply only to Subsection B of 6.31.2.9 
NMAC and Subsection L of 6.31.2.11 
NMAC:
  (1) “Qualified 
student” means, pursuant to 
Paragraph (1) of Subsection A of 
Section 22-13-8 NMSA 1978, a 
public school student who:
   (a) 
has not graduated from high school;
   (b) is 
regularly enrolled in one-half or more 
of the minimum course requirements 
approved by the department for public 
school students; and
   (c) in 
terms of age:
                 (i) 
is at least five years of age prior to 
12:01 a.m. on September 1 of the 
school year or will be five years of 
age prior to 12:01 a.m. on September 
1 of the school year if the student is 
enrolled in a public school extended-
year kindergarten program that begins 
prior to the start of the regular school 
year;
                (ii) 
is at least three years of age at any 
time during the school year and is 
receiving special education pursuant 
to rules of the department; or
               (iii) 
has not reached the student’s 22nd 
birthday on the first day of the 
school year and is receiving special 
education in accordance with federal 
law.
  (2) “School-
age person” means, pursuant to 
Paragraph (2) of Subsection A 
of Section 22-13-8 NMSA 1978, 
a person who is not a qualified 

student but who meets the federal 
requirements for special education 
and who:
   (a) 
will be at least three years old at any 
time during the school year;
   (b) is 
not more than 21 years of age; and
   (c) 
has not received a high school 
diploma or its equivalent.
[6.31.2.7 NMAC - Rp, 6.31.2.7 
NMAC, 7/14/2020; A, 7/31/2023]

6.31.2.11 EDUCATIONAL 
SERVICES FOR CHILDREN 
WITH DISABILITIES:
 A. Preschool programs 
for children aged three through five.
  (1) Each 
public agency shall ensure that a 
free appropriate public education 
is available for each preschool 
child with a disability within its 
educational jurisdiction no later than 
the child’s third birthday and that an 
individualized education program 
(IEP) under Part B or an individual 
family services plan (IFSP) under 
Part C of IDEA is in effect by that 
date in compliance with 34 CFR Secs. 
300.101, 300.124, and 300.323(b).
  (2) Eligibility 
to enroll in Part B preschool 
program.  If a child turns three at 
any time during the school year and 
is determined to be eligible under 
Part B, the child may enroll in a 
Part B preschool program when the 
child turns three if the parent so 
chooses, whether or not the child 
has previously been receiving Part C 
services.
  (3) To ensure 
effective transitioning from IDEA-
Part C programs to IDEA-Part B 
programs, each public agency shall 
conduct a full and individual initial 
comprehensive evaluation, at no 
cost to the parent, and in compliance 
with requirements of 34 CFR Secs. 
300.300, 300.301, 300.302, 300.304, 
and 300.305, and other department 
rules and standards before the initial 
provision of Part B special education 
and related services to a child with a 
disability.
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   (a) 
The initial comprehensive evaluation 
process shall be conducted in all areas 
of suspected disability.
   (b) 
The Part B eligibility determination 
team shall review current assessments 
and shall determine the additional 
data and assessments needed for 
the comprehensive evaluation.  
Current assessments are defined 
as assessments, other than medical 
assessments, conducted no more 
than six months prior to the date of 
the meeting of the Part B eligibility 
determination team.
   (c) 
The Part B eligibility determination 
team shall consider educationally 
relevant medical assessments as part 
of the review of existing evaluation 
data.  The determination of eligibility 
may not be made solely on the basis 
of medical assessments.  If the team 
considers medical assessments 
conducted more than six months prior 
to the date of the meeting, the team 
shall document the appropriateness 
of considering such medical 
assessments.
  (4) Each 
public agency shall develop and 
implement appropriate policies and 
procedures to ensure a smooth and 
effective transition from Part C to Part 
B programs for preschool children 
with disabilities within the public 
agency’s educational jurisdiction, 
in compliance with 34 CFR Sec. 
300.124.  Each LEA and other 
public agencies as appropriate shall 
make reasonable efforts to establish 
productive working relations with 
local Part C programs and when given 
reasonable notice shall participate in 
the transition planning conferences 
arranged by local Part C providers.
  (5) In 
particular:
   (a) 
Each LEA shall survey Part C 
programs within its educational 
jurisdiction in its child find efforts to 
identify children who will be eligible 
to enter the LEA’s Part B preschool 
program in future years.
   (b) 
Each LEA shall promote parent and 

family involvement in transition 
planning with Part C programs, 
community programs, and related 
services providers at least six months 
before the child is eligible to enter the 
LEA’s Part B preschool program.
   (c) 
Each LEA shall establish and 
implement procedures to support 
successful transitions including parent 
training, professional development 
for special educators and general 
educators, and student and parent self-
advocacy training and education.
   (d) 
Each LEA shall assist parents in 
becoming their child’s advocates as 
the child makes the transition through 
systems.
   (e) 
Each LEA shall participate in 
transition planning conferences 
arranged by the designated Part C 
lead agency no less than 90 days 
prior to the anticipated transition or 
the child’s third birthday, whichever 
occurs first, to facilitate informed 
choices for all families.
   (f) 
Each LEA shall designate a team 
including parents and qualified 
professionals to review existing 
evaluation data for each child 
entering the LEA’s preschool program 
in compliance with 34 CFR Sec. 
300.305, and based on that review 
to identify what additional data, if 
any, are needed to determine the 
child’s eligibility for Part B services 
or develop an appropriate program 
in a manner that is consistent with 
Paragraph (3) of Subsection A of this 
section.  The notice of procedural 
safeguards shall be given to the 
parents as provided in Paragraph (3) 
of Subsection D of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
   (g) 
Development of IFSP, IEP or IFSP-
IEP.
                 (i) 
The IFSP, IEP, or IFSP-IEP will be 
developed by a team constituted 
in compliance with 34 CFR Sec. 
300.321, including parents.  For 
children transitioning from Part C 
programs to Part B programs, the 
team shall also include one or more 
early intervention providers who 

are knowledgeable about the child.  
“Early intervention providers” are 
defined as Part C service coordinators 
or other representatives of the Part C 
system.
                (ii) 
For each child transitioning from a 
Part C program to a Part B preschool 
program, the LEA shall initiate a 
meeting to develop the eligible child’s 
IFSP, IEP, or IFSP-IEP, in accordance 
with 34 CFR Sec. 300.124.  The IFSP, 
IEP or IFSP shall be developed and 
implemented no later than the child’s 
third birthday, consistent with 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.101(b).
   (h) 
In compliance with 34 CFR Sec. 
300.101(b)(2), if a child’s birthday 
occurs during the summer, the child’s 
IEP team shall determine the date 
when services under the IEP or IFSP 
will begin.  Each public agency shall 
engage in appropriate planning with 
the Part C lead agency so that the 
eligible child will be prepared to 
receive Part B special education and 
related services when the IEP team 
determines that the services under the 
IEP or IFSP will begin.
   (i) 
Each public agency shall develop 
policies and procedures to ensure 
a successful transition from Part 
B preschool for children with 
disabilities who are eligible for 
continued services in pre-kindergarten 
and kindergarten.
 B. Individualized 
education programs (IEPs).
  (1) Except 
as provided in 34 CFR Secs. 
300.130 through300.144 for children 
enrolled by their parents in private 
schools, each public agency shall: 
(1) develop, implement, review, and 
revise an IEP in compliance with all 
applicable requirements of 34 CFR 
Secs. 300.320 through 300.328, 
and these or other department rules 
and standards for each child with 
a disability within its educational 
jurisdiction; and (2) shall ensure that 
an IEP is developed, implemented, 
reviewed, and revised in compliance 
with all applicable requirements of 34 
CFR Sec. 300.320 through300.328, 
and these or other department rules 
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and standards for each child with a 
disability who is placed in or referred 
to a private school or facility by the 
public agency.
  (2) Each IEP 
or amendment shall be developed at 
a properly convened IEP meeting for 
which the public agency has provided 
the parent and, as appropriate, the 
child, with proper advance notice 
pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.322 
and Paragraph (1) of Subsection D 
of 6.31.2.13 NMAC and at which the 
parent and, as appropriate, the child 
have been afforded the opportunity 
to participate as members of the 
IEP team pursuant to 34 CFR Secs. 
300.321, 300.322, and 300.501(b) 
and (c) and Subsection C of 6.31.2.13 
NMAC.
  (3) Except as 
provided in 34 CFR Sec. 300.324(a)
(4), each IEP shall include the 
signature and position of each 
member of the IEP team and other 
participants in the IEP meeting to 
document their attendance.  Written 
notice of actions proposed or refused 
by the public agency shall also be 
provided in compliance with 34 
CFR Sec. 300.503 and Paragraph 
(2) of Subsection D of 6.31.2.13 
NMAC and shall be provided at the 
close of the IEP meeting.  Informed 
written parental consent shall also 
be obtained for actions for which 
consent is required under 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.300 and Subsection F of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.  An amended IEP 
does not take the place of the annual 
IEP conducted pursuant to CFR Sec. 
300.324(a)(4), which requires that 
members of a child’s IEP team shall 
be informed of any changes made to 
the IEP without a meeting.
  (4) Agreement 
to modify IEP meeting requirement.
   (a) In 
making changes to a child’s IEP after 
the annual IEP team meeting for a 
school year, the parent of a child with 
a disability and the public agency 
may agree not to convene an IEP team 
meeting for the purposes of making 
those changes and instead may 
develop a written document to amend 
or modify the child’s current IEP.

   (b) 
If changes are made to the child’s IEP 
in accordance with Subparagraph (a) 
of this paragraph, the public agency 
shall ensure that the child’s IEP team 
is informed of those changes.
  (5) For 
students with autism spectrum 
disorders (ASD) eligible for special 
education services under 34 CFR Sec. 
300.8(c)(1), the strategies described 
in Subparagraphs (a) through (k) of 
this paragraph shall be considered 
by the IEP team in developing the 
IEP for the student.  The IEP team 
shall document consideration of the 
strategies.  The strategies shall be 
based on peer-reviewed, research-
based educational programming 
practices to the extent practicable 
and, when needed to provide FAPE, 
addressed in the IEP:
   (a) 
extended educational programming, 
including extended day or extended 
school year services that consider the 
duration of programs or settings based 
on assessment of behavior, social 
skills, communication, academics, 
and self-help skills;
   (b) 
daily schedules reflecting minimal 
unstructured time and reflecting active 
engagement in learning activities, 
including lunch, snack, and recess 
periods that provide flexibility 
within routines, adapt to individual 
skill levels, and assist with schedule 
changes, such as changes involving 
substitute teachers and other in-school 
extracurricular activities;
   (c) 
in-home and community-based 
training or viable alternatives to 
such training that assist the student 
with acquisition of social or 
behavioral skills, including strategies 
that facilitate maintenance and 
generalization of such skills from 
home to school, school to home, 
home to community, and school to 
community;
   (d) 
positive behavior support strategies 
based on relevant information 
including:
    (i) 
antecedent manipulation, replacement 

behaviors, reinforcement strategies, 
and data-based decisions; and
                (ii)
a behavioral intervention plan 
focusing on positive behavior 
supports and developed from a 
functional behavioral assessment that 
uses current data related to target 
behaviors and addresses behavioral 
programming across home, school, 
and community-based settings;
   (e) 
futures planning for integrated living, 
work, community, and educational 
environments that considers skills 
necessary to function in current and 
post-secondary environments;
   (f) 
parent or family training and support, 
provided by qualified personnel with 
experience in ASD, that:
                 (i) 
provides a family with skills 
necessary for a child to succeed in the 
home or community setting;
                (ii) 
includes information regarding 
resources such as parent support 
groups, workshops, videos, 
conferences, and materials designed 
to increase parent knowledge of 
specific teaching and management 
techniques related to the child’s 
curriculum; and
               (iii) 
facilitates parental carryover of in-
home training, including, for example, 
strategies for behavior management 
and developing structured home 
environments or communication 
training so that parents are active 
participants in promoting the 
continuity of interventions across all 
settings;
   (g) 
suitable staff-to-student ratio 
appropriate to identified activities 
and as needed to achieve social or 
behavioral progress based on the 
child’s developmental and learning 
level and that encourages work 
towards individual independence as 
determined by:
    (i) 
adaptive behavior evaluation results;
                (ii) 
behavioral accommodation needs 
across settings; and
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               (iii) 
transitions within the school day;
   (h) 
communication interventions, 
including communication modes 
and functions that enhance effective 
communication across settings such 
as augmentative, incidental, and 
naturalistic teaching;
   (i) 
social skills supports and strategies 
based on social skills assessment 
or curriculum and provided across 
settings, including trained peer 
facilitators, video modeling, social 
stories, and role playing;
   (j) 
professional educator and staff 
support, including training provided 
to personnel who work with 
the student to assure the correct 
implementation of techniques and 
strategies described in the IEP; and
   (k) 
teaching strategies based on peer 
reviewed, research-based practices 
for students with ASD, including 
those associated with discrete-trial 
training, visual supports, applied 
behavior analysis, structured learning, 
augmentative communication, and 
social skills training.
  (6) Each local 
education agency in the state shall 
provide the parents of a student who 
is diagnosed as hearing impaired, 
deaf, blind, visually impaired, or 
deafblind with information about 
the educational programs offered by 
the New Mexico school for the deaf 
(NMSD) or New Mexico school 
for the blind and visually impaired 
(NMSBVI) prior to and at each 
IEP.  NMSD and NMSBVI shall 
provide LEAs relevant information 
as described in this paragraph.  At 
the parent’s or public agency’s 
request, NMSD, NMSBVI, or both 
shall be invited to the IEP meeting 
so that the full continuum of services 
is represented at the IEP meeting 
pursuant to 34 CFR Secs. 300.115 and 
300.321(a)(6).
 C. Least restrictive 
environment.
  (1) Except as 
provided in 34 CFR Sec. 300.324(d) 
and Subsection K of 6.31.2.11 NMAC 

for children with disabilities who are 
convicted as adults under state law 
and incarcerated in adult prisons, all 
educational placements and services 
for children with disabilities shall 
be provided in the least restrictive 
environment that is appropriate to 
each child’s needs in compliance 
with 34 CFR Secs. 300.114 through 
300.120.
  (2) In 
determining the least restrictive 
environment for each child’s needs, 
public agencies and their IEP teams 
shall ensure that the following 
requirements are met.
   (a) 
The requirements of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.114(a)(2) for each public agency 
to ensure that to the maximum extent 
appropriate, children with disabilities, 
including children in public or private 
institutions or other care facilities, 
are educated with children who are 
nondisabled, and that special classes, 
separate schooling, or other removal 
of children with disabilities from 
the general educational environment 
occurs only if the nature or severity 
of the disability is such that education 
in regular classes with the use of 
supplementary aids and services 
cannot be achieved satisfactorily.
   (b) 
The required continuum of alternative 
placements as specified in 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.115.
   (c) 
The requirement of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.116(c) that each child with a 
disability be educated in the school 
that he or she would attend if 
nondisabled unless the child’s IEP 
requires some other arrangement.
                (d) 
The requirement of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.116(e) that a child with a 
disability not be removed from 
education in age-appropriate regular 
classrooms solely because of 
needed modifications in the general 
curriculum.
   (e) 
The requirements of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.320(a)(4) that the IEP for each 
child with a disability include a 
statement of the special education and 
related services and supplementary 

aids and services, based on peer-
reviewed research to the extent 
practicable, to be provided to the 
child, or on behalf of the child, 
and a statement of the program 
modifications or supports for school 
personnel that will be provided for 
the child to be involved and progress 
in the general curriculum and to 
participate in extracurricular and 
other nonacademic activities with 
nondisabled children.
   (f) 
The requirement of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.324(a)(3) that the regular 
education teacher of a child with a 
disability, as a member of the IEP 
team, shall assist in determining the 
supplementary aids and services, 
program modifications or supports for 
school personnel that will be provided 
for the child in compliance with 34 
CRF Sec. 300.320(a)(4).
   (g) 
The requirement of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.320(a)(5) that the IEP include 
an explanation of the extent, if 
any, to which the child will not 
participate with nondisabled children 
in the regular class and the activities 
described in 34 CFR Secs. 300.320(a)
(4) and 300.117.
   (h) 
The requirements of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.503 that a public agency give the 
parents written notice a reasonable 
time before the public agency 
proposes or refuses to initiate or 
change the educational placement of 
the child or the provision of FAPE to 
the child and that the notice include 
a description of any other options 
considered and the reasons why those 
options were rejected.
   (i) 
The requirement of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.120 that the department carry out 
activities to ensure that Sec. 300.114 
is implemented by each public agency 
and that, if there is evidence that a 
public agency makes placements that 
are inconsistent with Sec. 300.114, 
the department shall review the 
public agency’s justification for 
its actions and assist in planning 
and implementing any necessary 
corrective action.
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 D. Performance goals 
and indicators.
  (1) Pursuant 
to the requirements of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.157(a), the content standards and 
benchmarks from the department’s 
standards for excellence (Chapter 29 
of Title 6 of NMAC) for all children 
attending public schools and state-
supported educational programs in 
New Mexico shall provide the basic 
performance goals and indicators 
for children with disabilities in the 
general education curriculum.
  (2) The IEP 
academic goals shall align with the 
New Mexico content standards and 
benchmarks, including the expanded 
performance standards for students 
with significant cognitive disabilities, 
however, functional goals do not 
have to align with the standards and 
benchmarks.
   (a) 
Beginning in the 2012-2013 school 
year, IEP academic goals in English 
language arts and mathematics for 
students in kindergarten through 
grade three shall align with the 
English Language Arts Common 
Core Standards (6.29.13 NMAC) 
and the Mathematics Common Core 
Standards (6.29.14 NMAC).
   (b) 
Beginning in the 2013-2014 school 
year, IEP academic goals in English 
language arts and mathematics for 
students in grades four through 
12 shall align with the English 
Language Arts Common Core 
Standards (6.29.13 NMAC) and 
the Mathematics Common Core 
Standards (6.29.14 NMAC).
  (3) Unless 
waivers or modifications covering 
individual public agencies’ programs 
have been allowed by the department 
or the secretary of education, the 
general education curriculum and the 
content standards and benchmarks 
shall only be adapted to the extent 
necessary to meet the needs of 
individual children with disabilities as 
determined by IEP teams in individual 
cases.
 E. Participation 
in statewide and district-wide 
assessments.  Each local educational 

agency and other public agencies 
when applicable shall include 
all children with disabilities in 
all statewide and district-wide 
assessment programs.  Each public 
agency shall collect and report 
performance results in compliance 
with the requirements of 34 CFR 
Secs. 300.157 and 300.160(f) and 
Sec. 1111(h) of the Elementary and 
Secondary Education Act, and any 
additional requirements established 
by the department.  Students with 
disabilities may participate:
  (1) in the 
appropriate general assessment in the 
same manner as their nondisabled 
peers; this may include the use 
of adaptations that are deemed 
appropriate for all students by the 
department; or
  (2) in the 
appropriate general assessment 
with appropriate accommodations 
in administration if necessary; 
public agencies shall use the current 
guidance from the department about 
accommodations as specified in the 
student’s IEP; or
  (3) in alternate 
assessments for the small number 
of students for whom alternate 
assessments are appropriate under the 
department’s established participation 
criteria; the IEP team shall agree and 
document that the student is eligible 
for participation in an alternate 
assessment based on alternate 
achievement standards according to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.320(a)(6).
 F. Behavioral 
management and discipline.
  (1) Behavioral 
planning in the IEP.  Pursuant to 34 
CFR Sec. 324(a)(2)(i), the IEP team 
for a child with a disability whose 
behavior impedes his or her learning 
or that of others shall consider, if 
appropriate, strategies to address that 
behavior, including the development 
of behavioral goals and objectives 
and the use of positive behavioral 
interventions, strategies, and supports 
to be used in pursuit of those goals 
and objectives.  Public agencies 
are strongly encouraged to conduct 
functional behavioral assessments 
(FBAs) and integrate behavioral 

intervention plans (BIPs) into the 
IEPs for students who exhibit problem 
behaviors well before the behaviors 
result in proposed disciplinary actions 
for which FBAs and BIPs are required 
under the federal rules.
  (2) 
Suspensions, expulsions, and 
disciplinary changes of placement.  
Suspensions, expulsions and other 
disciplinary changes of placement 
for children with disabilities shall be 
carried out in compliance with all 
applicable requirements of 34 CFR 
Secs. 300.530 through 300.536, and 
these or other department rules and 
standards, including particularly 
6.11.2.11 NMAC, governing interim 
disciplinary placements and long-term 
suspensions or expulsions of students 
with disabilities.
  (3) FAPE 
for children removed from current 
placement for more than 10 school 
days in a school year.  FAPE shall 
be provided in compliance with all 
applicable requirements of 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.530(d) and these or other 
department rules and standards 
for all children with disabilities 
who have been removed from their 
current educational placements for 
disciplinary reasons for more than 10 
school days during a school year, as 
defined in 34 CFR Sec. 300.536.
  (4) LEAs 
shall keep an accurate accounting of 
suspension and expulsion rates for 
children with disabilities as compared 
to children without disabilities to 
ensure that children with disabilities 
are not being expelled or suspended 
at a significantly higher rate than 
children without disabilities.
 G. Graduation planning 
and post-secondary transitions.
  (1) The IEP 
for each child with a disability in 
grades 8 through 12 is developed, 
implemented, and monitored in 
compliance with all applicable 
requirements of the department’s 
standards for excellence, (Chapter 29 
of Title 6 of the NMAC), and these or 
other department rules and standards.  
The graduation plan shall be 
integrated into the transition planning 
and services provided in compliance 
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with 34 CFR Secs. 300.320(b) and 
300.324(c).
   (a) 
Graduation plans shall include the 
course of study, projected date of 
graduation, and if the child is not on 
target for the graduation plan, the 
strategies and responsibilities of the 
public agency, child, and family shall 
be identified in the IEP.
   (b) 
Graduation options for children 
with disabilities at Paragraph (13) of 
Subsection [K] J of 6.29.1.9 NMAC 
shall align with state standards with 
benchmarks when appropriate.  In 
accordance with Paragraph (13) of 
Subsection J of 6.29.1.9 NMAC, 
alternative programs of study to 
obtain a diploma may be utilized 
when appropriate.
   (c) 
An alternative degree that does not 
fully align with the state’s academic 
standards, such as a certificate [or] 
high school equivalency credential, 
or diploma obtained through the 
modified and ability programs of 
study, does not end a child’s right 
to FAPE pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 
300.102(a)(3)(ii).
   (d) 
Prior to the student’s receipt of a 
conditional certificate of transition or 
graduation with a diploma obtained 
through the modified or ability 
programs of study, a public agency 
must issue a prior written notice 
indicating that the student continues 
to be entitled to receive FAPE until 
either student meets the requirements 
to obtain a diploma through the 
standard program of study or until the 
end of the academic year in which the 
student becomes 22 years of age.
  (2) 
Appropriate post-secondary transition 
planning for children with disabilities 
is essential.  Public agencies shall 
integrate transition planning into the 
IEP process pursuant to 34 CFR Secs. 
300.320(b) and 300.324(c) and shall 
establish and implement appropriate 
policies, procedures, programs and 
services to promote successful post-
secondary transitions for children 
with disabilities.  Transition services 
for students 14-21 include the 
following.

   (a) 
Transition services are a coordinated 
set of activities for a child with a 
disability that emphasizes special 
education and related services 
designed to meet unique needs and 
prepare them for future education, 
employment, and independent living.
   (b) 
Transition services are designed to be 
within a results oriented process that 
is focused on improving the academic 
and functional achievement of the 
child with a disability to facilitate 
the child’s movement from school 
to post-school activities, including 
post-secondary education, vocational 
education, integrated employment 
(including supported employment), 
continuing and adult education, 
adult services, independent living, or 
community participation.
   (c) 
Transition services shall be based on 
the individual child’s needs, taking 
into account the child’s strengths, 
preferences, and interests and 
includes:
    (i) 
instruction;
                (ii) 
related services;
               (iii) 
community experiences;
               (iv) 
the development of employment 
and other post-school adult living 
objectives; and
                (v) 
when appropriate, acquisition of daily 
living skills and the provision of a 
functional vocational evaluation.
   (d) 
Transition services for children with 
disabilities may be considered special 
education, if provided as individually 
designed instruction, aligned with the 
state standards with benchmarks, or 
related service, if required to assist a 
child with a disability to benefit from 
special education as provided in 34 
CFR Sec. 300.43.
  (3) State 
rules require the development 
of measurable post-school goals 
beginning not later than the first IEP 
to be in effect when the child turns 14, 
or younger, if determined appropriate 

by the IEP team, and updated annually 
thereafter.  Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 
300.320(b), the IEP shall include:
   (a) 
appropriate measurable post-
secondary goals based upon age 
appropriate transition assessments 
related to training, education, 
employment, and where appropriate, 
independent living skills;
   (b) 
the transition services (including 
courses of study) needed to assist the 
child in reaching those goals; and
   (c) 
a statement that the child has been 
informed of the child’s rights under 
this title, if any, that will transfer 
to the child on reaching the age of 
majority.
  (4) 
Measurable post school goals refer to 
goals the child seeks to achieve after 
high school graduation.  The goals 
shall be measurable while the child is 
still in high school.  In addition, the 
nature of these goals will be different 
depending on the needs, abilities, and 
wishes of each individual child.
  (5) For a child 
whose eligibility terminates due to 
graduation from secondary school 
with a regular high school diploma 
obtained through the standard 
program of study or due to reaching 
the child’s twenty-second birthday, 
the public agency shall provide the 
child with a summary of the child’s 
academic achievement and functional 
performance, which shall include 
recommendations on how to assist 
the child in meeting the child’s post-
secondary goals pursuant to 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.305(e)(3).
  (6) Students 
eligible for special education services 
are entitled to a FAPE through age 21.  
If a student turns 22 during the school 
year, that student shall be allowed to 
complete the school year and shall 
continue to receive special education 
and related services during that school 
year.  If the student turns 22 prior to 
the first day of the school year, the 
student is no longer eligible to receive 
special education and related services.
 H. Transfers and 
transmittals.  When IEPs shall be in 
effect.
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  (1) IEPs for 
children who transfer public agencies 
in the same state.  If a child with a 
disability (who had an IEP that was 
in effect in a previous public agency 
in New Mexico) transfers to a new 
public agency in New Mexico, and 
enrolls in a new school within the 
same school year the new public 
agency shall provide FAPE to the 
child.  The IEP shall include services 
comparable to those described in the 
child’s IEP from the previous public 
agency, until the new public agency 
either:
   (a) 
adopts and implements the child’s IEP 
from the previous public agency; or
   (b) 
develops and implements a new IEP 
that meets the applicable requirements 
in 34 CFR Secs. 300.320 through 
300.324.
  (2) IEPs for 
children who transfer from another 
state.  If a child with a disability 
(who had an IEP that was in effect in 
a previous public agency in another 
state) transfers to a public agency in 
New Mexico, and enrolls in a new 
school within the same school year, 
the new public agency shall provide 
the child with FAPE.  The IEP shall 
include services comparable to those 
described in the child’s IEP from the 
previous agency, until the new public 
agency:
   (a) 
conducts an evaluation pursuant to 34 
CFR Secs. 300.304 through 300.306 
(if determined to be necessary by the 
new public agency); and
   (b) 
develops and implements a new 
IEP, if appropriate, that meets the 
applicable requirements in 34 CFR 
Secs. 300.320 through 300.324.
  (3) Transmittal 
records.  To facilitate the transition 
for a child described in Paragraphs (1) 
and (2) of this section:
   (a) 
the new public agency in which the 
child enrolls shall take reasonable 
steps to promptly obtain the child’s 
records, including the IEP and 
supporting documents and any other 
records relating to the provision of 

special education or related services 
to the child, from the previous 
public agency in which the child was 
enrolled; and
   (b) 
the previous public agency in which 
the child was enrolled shall take 
reasonable steps to promptly respond 
to the request from the new public 
agency.
 I. Children in charter 
schools.
  (1) Pursuant to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.209, children with 
disabilities who attend public charter 
schools and their parents retain all 
rights under Part B of IDEA.
  (2) Charter 
schools that are public schools of the 
LEA:
   (a) 
the LEA shall serve children with 
disabilities attending those charter 
schools in the same manner as the 
LEA serves children with disabilities 
in its other schools, including 
providing supplementary and related 
services on site at the charter school 
to the same extent to which the LEA 
has a policy or practice of providing 
such services on the site to its other 
public schools; and
   (b) 
the LEA shall provide funds under 
Part B of IDEA to those charter 
schools on the same basis as the 
LEA provides funds to the LEA’s 
other public schools, including 
proportional distribution based on 
relative enrollment of children with 
disabilities, and at the same time as 
the LEA distributes other federal 
funds to the LEA’s other public 
schools, consistent with the state’s 
charter school law; and
   (c) 
if the public charter school is a school 
of an LEA that receives funding under 
34 CFR Sec. 300.705 and includes 
other public schools:
    (i) 
the LEA is responsible for ensuring 
that the requirements of this part are 
met, unless state law assigns that 
responsibility to some other entity; 
and
                (ii) 
the LEA shall meet the requirements 
of Paragraph (2) of this subsection.

  (3) Public 
charter schools that are LEAs.  If 
the public charter school is an 
LEA, consistent with 34 CFR Sec. 
300.28, that receives funding under 
34 CFR Sec. 300.705, that charter 
school is responsible for ensuring 
that the requirements of this part are 
met, unless state law assigns that 
responsibility to some other entity.  
Charter schools who are LEAs 
authorized under the public education 
commission shall satisfy child find 
requirements for children enrolled in 
the charter school.
  (4) Public 
charter schools that are not an LEA or 
a school that is part of an LEA.
   (a) 
If the public charter school is not an 
LEA receiving funding under 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.705, or a school that is part 
of an LEA receiving funding under 
34 CFR Sec. 300.705, the department 
is responsible for ensuring that the 
requirements of this part are met.
   (b) 
Subparagraph (a) of this paragraph 
does not preclude the governor from 
assigning initial responsibility for 
ensuring the requirements of this part 
are met to another entity, however, the 
department shall maintain the ultimate 
responsibility for ensuring compliance 
with this part, consistent with 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.149.
 J. Children in state-
supported educational programs.
  (1) Children 
placed or referred by other public 
agencies.
   (a) 
Applicability.  The rules in this 
Paragraph (1) of Subsection J of 
6.31.2.11 NMAC apply to children 
with disabilities who are being 
considered for placement in a state-
supported educational program or 
facility by another public agency as a 
means of providing special education 
and related services.
   (b) 
Responsibility.  Each public agency 
shall ensure that a child with a 
disability who is being considered 
for placement in a state-supported 
educational program by another 
public agency has all the rights of a 



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIV, Issue14/ July 31, 2023761
child with a disability who is served 
by any other public agency, including 
being provided special education and 
related services:
    (i) 
in conformance with an IEP;
                (ii) 
at no cost to the child’s parents; and
               (iii)
at a school or facility that is 
accredited by the department 
or licensed by the New Mexico 
department of health.
   (c) 
Service delivery.  With informed 
parent consent pursuant to 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.300 and Subsection F of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC, and pursuant 
to the procedures in 34 CFR Sec. 
300.304 and Subsection E of 
6.31.2.10 NMAC, the state-supported 
program may conduct such additional 
evaluations and gather such additional 
information as it considers necessary 
to assist the IEP team in making the 
placement decision.  The referring 
public agency and the receiving state-
supported educational program shall 
be jointly responsible for developing 
IEPs and ensuring that the child 
receives a free appropriate public 
education.
                (d) 
Joint IEPs and interagency 
agreements.  Responsibility for 
services for children placed in or 
referred to state-supported educational 
programs shall be defined by a jointly 
agreed upon IEP or other written 
agreement between the referring 
public agency and the state-supported 
program.
   (e) 
Annual review.  At least annually, 
the referring public agency, the state-
supported educational program, and 
the parent shall jointly review the 
child’s IEP and revise it as the joint 
IEP team deems appropriate.
  (2) 
Children enrolled in state-supported 
educational programs by parents or 
other public authorities.  A state-
supported educational program that 
accepts a child with a disability at 
the request of a parent or upon the 
request or order of a noneducational 
public authority, and without inviting 

the public agency that has primary 
responsibility for serving the child 
to participate in the IEP process, 
assumes all responsibility for ensuring 
the provision of FAPE.  The child’s 
LEA or another public agency with 
educational jurisdiction may agree to 
share the responsibility pursuant to a 
joint IEP or other written agreement 
between the state-supported program, 
the other public agency and, if 
appropriate, the parent.
 K. Children at the New 
Mexico School for the Deaf (NMSD).
  (1) NMSD is 
a state educational agency established 
to provide educational services to 
persons who are 21 years of age or 
younger on the first day of school, 
who are deaf or hard of hearing, and 
who may have one or more other 
disabilities.  The school serves as a 
special school on the continuum of 
placement options.  The school serves 
students who require specialized 
or intensive educational services or 
services related to hearing impairment 
or deafness.  NMSD provides a 
variety of services to the students 
and school districts around the state, 
including outreach, consultation, 
and training services.  NMSD also 
provides comprehensive services 
on a day or residential basis.  The 
comprehensive day and residential 
programs are not intended to 
serve students whose needs are 
appropriately addressed in a group 
home or hospital setting or in a 
residential treatment facility.
  (2) To be 
eligible to receive free services from 
NMSD, a student shall be deaf or 
hearing impaired as determined by 
an audiological evaluation and be a 
resident of New Mexico.
  (3) The 
student’s resident school district shall 
conduct child find, pursuant to 34 
CFR Sec. 300.111 and Subsection A 
of 6.31.2.10 NMAC.
  (4) In 
addition to the requirements of 
identification, evaluations, and 
eligibility determinations of students 
with disabilities pursuant to 6.31.2.10 
NMAC and 34 CFR Secs. 300.100 
through 300.230 and 300.300 through 

300.328, if a student’s resident school 
district finds, has reason to know, or 
receives documentation that a student 
is deaf, has a hearing impairment, or 
is deafblind, the following criteria 
shall apply
   (a) 
the resident school district shall 
convene the initial IEP team meeting;
   (b) 
the IEP team shall include members 
specified in Paragraph (11) of 
Subsection B of 6.31.2.7 NMAC, 
including staff from the NMSD if 
invited by the parent or the resident 
school district pursuant 34 CFR Sec. 
300.321(a)(6);
   (c) 
the resident school district shall 
provide the parents of the student 
with information on the continuum of 
alternative placements, including the 
alternative placements listed in the 
definition of special education under 
34 CFR Sec. 300.39 (instruction in 
regular classrooms, special classes, 
special schools, home instruction, 
and instruction in hospitals and 
institutions); and supplementary 
services, such as resource room or 
itinerant instruction, to be provided 
in conjunction with regular class 
placement;
   (d) 
in addition to the requirements of 
Subsection B of 6.31.2.11 NMAC, the 
IEP team shall be tasked with:
                 (i)
determining if the student has a 
hearing disability, which impacts the 
student’s ability to access education, 
ability to develop language or 
communication, social emotional 
development, and/or overall 
development; and
                (ii) 
determining the student’s placement 
in the least restrictive environment, 
in compliance with 34 CFR Secs. 
300.114 through 300.120 and 
Subsection C of 6.31.2.11 NMAC, 
which for the student may be an 
environment specifically designed for 
deaf and hard of hearing children, and 
whether this is the most appropriate 
setting in providing educational 
services and supports to meet the 
student’s IEP. 
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   (e) 
the student’s placement, whether in 
the resident school district, NMSD, or 
other educational entity, is the entity 
that shall have full responsibility 
for FAPE and all services defined in 
the student’s IEP unless the resident 
school district and NMSD agree 
to share services, responsibilities, 
and costs pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 
300.103; and
   (f) 
the composition of the IEP team after 
a student’s placement and service 
determinations shall:
    (i) 
include a representative from the 
resident school district at the request 
of the parent, NMSD, or the resident 
school district if the final placement 
for the student is at NMSD; and
                (ii) 
include a representative from NMSD 
at the request of the parent, the 
resident school district, or NMSD if 
the final placement for the student is 
at the resident school district or other 
educational entity.
 L. Children at the 
New Mexico school for the blind and 
visually impaired (NMSBVI).
  (1) NMSBVI 
is a state educational agency 
established to provide educational 
services for students who are 21 
years of age or younger on the 
first day of school and who have a 
diagnosed visual impairment and 
who may have one or more other 
disabilities.  The school serves as a 
special school on the continuum of 
placement options.  The school serves 
students who require specialized 
or intensive educational services 
or services related to the visual 
impairment or blindness and those 
who need extensive training related 
to the expanded core curriculum for 
blind and visually impaired students.  
NMSBVI provides a variety of 
services to the students and school 
districts around the state, including 
outreach, consultation, and training 
services.  NMSBVI also provides 
comprehensive services on a day or 
residential basis.  The comprehensive 
day and residential programs are not 
intended to serve students whose 

needs are appropriately addressed in a 
group home or hospital setting or in a 
residential treatment facility.
  (2) To be 
eligible to receive free services from 
the NMSBVI, a student shall have 
a visual impairment or blindness as 
determined by a medical eye exam 
and be a resident of New Mexico.
  (3) The 
student’s resident school district shall 
conduct child find, pursuant to 34 
CFR Sec. 300.111 and Subsection A 
of 6.31.2.10 NMAC.
  (4) In 
addition to the requirements of 
identification, evaluations, and 
eligibility determinations of students 
with disabilities pursuant to 6.31.2.10 
NMAC and 34 CFR Secs. 300.100 
through 300.230 and 300.300 through 
300.328, if a student’s resident school 
district finds, has reason to know, or 
receives documentation that a student 
is blind, has a visual impairment, or is 
deafblind, the following criteria shall 
apply:
   (a) 
the resident school district shall 
convene the initial IEP team meeting;
   (b) 
the IEP team shall include members 
specified in Paragraph (11) of 
Subsection B of 6.31.2.7 NMAC, 
including staff from NMSBVI if 
invited by the parent or the resident 
school district pursuant 34 CFR Sec. 
300.321(a)(6);
   (c) 
the resident school district shall 
provide the parents of the student 
with information on the continuum of 
alternative placements, including the 
alternative placements listed in the 
definition of special education under 
34 CFR Sec. 300.39 (instruction in 
regular classrooms, special classes, 
special schools, home instruction, 
and instruction in hospitals and 
institutions); and supplementary 
services, such as resource room or 
itinerant instruction, to be provided 
in conjunction with regular class 
placement;
   (d) 
in addition to the requirements of 
Subsection B of 6.31.2.11 NMAC, the 
IEP team shall be tasked with:

    (i) 
determining if the student has a visual 
disability, which impacts the student’s 
ability to access education, ability to 
develop language or communication, 
social emotional development, and/or 
overall development; and
                (ii) 
determining the student’s placement 
in the least restrictive environment, 
in compliance with 34 CFR Secs. 
300.114 through 300.120 and 
Subsection C of 6.31.2.11 NMAC, 
which for the student may be an 
environment specifically designed 
for blind or visually impaired 
children, and whether this is the 
most appropriate setting in providing 
educational services and supports to 
meet the student’s IEP.
   (e) 
the student’s placement, whether 
in the resident school district, 
NMSBVI, or other educational 
entity, is the entity that shall have 
full responsibility for FAPE and all 
services defined in the student’s IEP 
unless the resident school district and 
NMSBVI agree to share services, 
responsibilities, and costs pursuant to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.103; and  
   (f) 
the composition of the IEP team after 
a student’s placement and service 
determinations shall:
                 (i) 
include a representative from 
the resident school district at the 
request of the parent, NMSBVI, or 
the resident school district if the 
final placement for the student is at 
NMSBVI; and
                (ii) 
include a representative from 
NMSBVI at the request of the 
parent, the resident school district, or 
NMSBVI if the final placement for 
the student is at the resident school 
district or other educational entity.
 M. Children in 
detention and correctional facilities.
  (1) If a 
child with a disability is placed 
in a juvenile or adult detention or 
correctional facility, the facility shall 
provide the child with FAPE after the 
facility learns that the child had been 
eligible for special education and 
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related services in the last educational 
placement prior to incarceration or 
otherwise determines that the child is 
eligible.
  (2) Juvenile 
or adult detention or correctional 
facilities shall take reasonable steps 
to obtain needed educational records 
from a child’s last known school 
or educational facility within two 
business days, as required under 
Section 22-13-33 NMSA 1978, of 
the child arriving at the juvenile or 
correctional facility.  Record requests 
and transfers are subject to the 
rules under the Family Educational 
Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) at 
34 CFR Part 99 and the provisions 
of Paragraph (3) of Subsection L of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.  The educational 
program of a juvenile or adult 
detention or correctional facility is an 
educational agency for purposes of 
FERPA.
   (a) 
The previous public agency in which 
the child was enrolled shall take 
reasonable steps to promptly respond 
to the records request from the 
juvenile correctional facilities.
   (b) 
To assist juvenile correctional 
facilities in providing FAPE for 
children entering the facility during 
the summer months, school districts 
shall provide summer emergency 
contact information of a person 
who has access to special education 
records, to the state’s directors in 
the juvenile justice services division 
of the children, youth, and family 
department.
  (3) A 
detention or correctional facility that 
is unable to obtain adequate records 
from other public agencies, the child 
or the parents within the required 
two business days, as required under 
Section 22-13-33 NMSA 1978, after 
the child arrives at the facility, shall 
evaluate the child who is known 
or suspected to be a child with a 
disability as provided in Subsection 
F of 6.31.2.10 NMAC and develop 
an IEP for an eligible child without 
undue delay.
  (4) FAPE for 
eligible students in juvenile or adult 

detention or correctional facilities 
shall be made available in programs 
that are suited to the security 
requirements of each facility and 
eligible student.  The provisions of 34 
CFR Sec. 300.324(d) apply to IEPs 
for students with disabilities who are 
convicted as adults under state law 
and incarcerated in adult prisons.
  (5) A state-
supported educational program that 
serves a juvenile or adult detention 
or correctional facility shall be 
responsible for ensuring that FAPE is 
provided to eligible children in that 
facility.
  (6) The local 
school district in which a detention 
or correctional facility is located (that 
is not served by a state-supported 
educational program) shall be 
responsible for ensuring that FAPE 
is made available to eligible children 
in that facility.  A child’s LEA of 
residence or another public agency 
with educational jurisdiction may 
agree to share the responsibility 
pursuant to a written agreement 
between or among the public agencies 
involved.
  (7) Children 
with disabilities who are detained 
or incarcerated in detention or 
correctional facilities are wards of the 
state and may have surrogate parents 
appointed pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 
300.519 and Subsection J of 6.31.2.13 
NMAC to protect their rights under 
IDEA while in state custody.
  (8) The 
public agency that administers the 
educational program in a juvenile or 
adult detention or correctional facility 
shall ensure that surrogate parents are 
appointed in cases where no parent 
as defined in 34 CFR Sec. 300.30(a) 
and Paragraph (14) of Subsection 
B of 6.31.2.7 NMAC is reasonably 
available or willing to make the 
educational decisions required for 
children with disabilities who are 
housed in that facility.
  (9) Children 
placed in juvenile or adult detention 
or correctional facilities shall be 
provided learning opportunities 
and instruction that meet the state 
standards with benchmarks.

 N. Children in private 
schools or facilities.
  (1) Children 
enrolled by parents in private schools 
or facilities.
   (a) 
Parentally placed private school 
children with disabilities means 
children with disabilities enrolled 
by their parents in private schools, 
including religious schools or 
facilities, such as residential 
treatment centers, day treatment 
centers, hospitals, and mental health 
institutions, that include other 
children with disabilities who are 
covered under 34 CFR Secs. 300.145 
through 300.147.
   (b) 
A school district in which a private 
school or facility is located shall not 
be considered the resident school 
district of a school-age person if 
residency is based solely on the 
school-age person’s enrollment at the 
facility and the school-age person 
would not otherwise be considered a 
resident of the state.
   (c) 
Each LEA shall locate, identify, and 
evaluate all children with disabilities 
who are enrolled by their parents in 
private schools, including religious 
elementary schools and secondary 
schools located in the education 
jurisdiction of the LEA, in accordance 
with 34 CFR Secs. 300.131 and 
300.111.
   (d) 
Each public agency shall develop 
a “service plan” that describes the 
special education and related services 
the LEA will provide to a parentally 
placed child with a disability enrolled 
in a private school who has been 
designated to receive services, 
including the location of the services 
and any transportation necessary, 
consistent with 34 CFR Sec. 
300.132 and that is developed and 
implemented in accordance with 34 
CFR Secs. 300.137 through 300.139.  
The provision applies only to private 
schools and not to private facilities 
where an IEP shall be in place.
   (e) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.133, 
each LEA is obligated to spend a 
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proportionate amount of its federal 
IDEA-Part B funds to assist private 
school children with disabilities 
placed in a private school or private 
facility by a parent who assumes 
responsibility for such placement.  In 
doing so, LEAs shall use the formula 
for calculating proportionate amount 
and annual count of parentally 
placed private school children with 
disabilities in accordance with 34 
CFR Sec. 300.133.  The public 
agency shall not use IDEA funds to 
benefit private schools as provided 
in 34 CFR Sec. 300.141.  The state 
is not required to distribute state 
funds for such school-age persons.  
Furthermore, the constitution and 
laws of New Mexico prohibit public 
agencies from spending state funds to 
assist private schools or facilities or 
their students.
   (f) 
No parentally placed private school 
child with a disability has an 
individual right to receive some or all 
of the special education and related 
services that the child would receive if 
enrolled in a public school.  Pursuant 
to 34 CFR Sec. 300.137, the LEA 
shall make the final decisions with 
respect to the services to be provided 
to eligible parentally placed private 
school children with disabilities.
   (g) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Secs. 300.134 
and 300.135, LEAs shall ensure 
timely and meaningful consultation 
with private school representatives 
and representatives of parents of 
parentally placed private school 
children with disabilities.  If the LEA 
fails to engage in meaningful and 
timely consultation or did not give 
due consideration to a request from 
private school officials, private school 
officials have the right to submit a 
complaint to the department.  The 
private school official and the LEA 
shall follow the procedures outlined 
in 34 CFR Sec. 300.136.
   (h) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Secs. 300.140, 
the due process provisions of 
Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC 
are not applicable except for child 
find complaints which shall be filed 
in compliance with 34 CFR Sec. 

300.140(b).  Any complaint that the 
department or any LEA has failed 
to meet the requirements in 34 CFR 
Secs. 300.132 through 300.135 
and 300.137 through 300.144 shall 
be filed in accordance with the 
provisions described in Subsection H 
of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
  (2) Children 
placed in or referred to private 
schools or facilities by New Mexico 
public agencies.  Each public agency 
shall ensure that a child with a 
disability who is placed in or referred 
to a private school or facility by the 
public agency as a means of providing 
special education and related services 
is provided services in compliance 
with the requirements of 34 CFR 
Secs. 300.146 and 300.147.  Such a 
child has all the rights of a child with 
a disability who is served by a public 
agency.
  (3) Children 
placed in or referred to private schools 
or facilities by New Mexico public 
non-educational agencies.  For a 
qualified student or school-age person 
in need of special education placed 
in a private school or facility by a 
New Mexico public noneducational 
agency with custody or control of 
the qualified student or school-age 
person or by a New Mexico court of 
competent jurisdiction, the school 
district in which the facility is located 
shall be responsible for the planning 
and delivery of special education 
and related services, unless the 
qualified student’s or school-age 
person’s resident school district has 
an agreement with the facility to 
provide such services.  The school 
district shall make reasonable efforts 
to involve the qualified student or 
school-age person’s resident school 
district in the IEP process.
  (4) Children 
placed in or referred to private schools 
or facilities by public noneducational 
agencies other than New Mexico 
public agencies.  A school district in 
which a private school or facility is 
located shall not be considered the 
resident school district of a school-age 
person if residency is based solely on 
the school-age person’s enrollment at 
the facility and the school-age person 

would not otherwise be considered a 
resident of the state.
  (5) Children 
placed in private schools or facilities 
by parents when FAPE is at issue.  
The responsibility of a local 
educational agency to pay for the 
cost of education for a child with a 
disability who is placed in a private 
school or facility such as residential 
treatment centers, day treatment 
centers, hospitals or mental health 
institutions, by parents who allege 
that the LEA failed to offer FAPE is 
governed by the requirements of 34 
CFR Sec. 300.148.  Disagreements 
between a parent and a public 
agency regarding the availability 
of a program appropriate for the 
child, and the question of financial 
responsibility, are subject to the due 
process procedures of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.
  (6) If not 
otherwise governed by this rule, the 
department will determine which 
school district is responsible for the 
cost of educating a qualified student 
in need of special education who has 
been placed in a private school or 
facility outside the qualified student’s 
resident school district in accordance 
with the following procedures.
   (a) 
The receiving school district shall 
notify the SED of the department in 
writing no later than 30 days after 
the receiving school district receives 
notice of the placement.  The notice, 
as described on the department’s 
website, shall include:  name of 
student, date of birth of student, date 
of placement, information regarding 
the qualified student’s resident school 
district, documentation of placement, 
including student’s IEP, cost of 
placement, and any other information 
deemed relevant by the SED.  The 
receiving school district shall provide 
a copy of the notice to the school 
district identified as the student’s 
resident school district.
   (b) 
The school district identified as the 
student’s resident school district may 
provide any additional information 
it deems relevant.  Such additional 
information shall be provided no later 
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than 15 days after the resident school 
district receives its copy of the notice 
described in Subparagraph (a) of this 
paragraph.
   (c) 
No later than 60 days after its 
receipt of the notice described in 
Subparagraph (a) of this paragraph, 
the SED will issue its determination 
as to which school district is 
responsible for the cost of educating 
the student, together with the amount 
of any reasonable reimbursement 
owed to the receiving school district.  
The SED may extend the 60 day 
timeline for good cause.
  (7) The 
department shall assign a unique 
student identifier for school-age 
persons who have service plans, 
including those who are not residents 
of the state but who are attending 
private residential treatment facilities 
in the state.
  (8) Children 
schooled at home.  Each LEA shall 
locate, evaluate, and determine the 
eligibility of children with disabilities 
who are schooled at home pursuant 
to Subsection H of Section 22-2-2 
NMSA 1978.
[6.31.2.11 NMAC - Rp, 6.31.2.11 
NMAC, 7/14/2020; A, 7/31/2023]

6.31.2.12 [EDUCATIONAL 
SERVICES FOR GIFTED 
CHILDREN:
 A. Evaluation 
procedures for gifted children.
  (1) Each 
school district shall establish a 
child find procedure that includes 
a screening and referral process for 
students in public schools who may 
be gifted.
  (2) Analysis of 
data.  The identification of a student 
as gifted shall include documentation 
and analysis of data from multiple 
sources for subject matter aptitude/
achievement, creativity/divergent 
thinking, and problem solving/critical 
thinking including:
   (a) 
standardized measures, as specified 
in Subsection B of 6.31.2.12 NMAC, 
and

   (b) 
information regarding the child’s 
abilities from other sources, such 
as collections of work, audio/visual 
tapes, judgment of work by qualified 
individuals knowledgeable about 
the child’s performance (e.g., artists, 
musicians, poets, and historians, etc.), 
interviews, or observations.
  (3) The child’s 
ability shall be assessed in all four 
areas specified in Subsection B of 
6.31.2.12 NMAC.
 B. Standard method 
for identification.  Under the standard 
method for identification, students 
will be evaluated in the areas of 
intellectual ability, subject matter 
aptitude/achievement, creativity/
divergent thinking, and problem 
solving/critical thinking.  A student 
who meets the criteria established in 
Subsection B of 6.31.2.12 NMAC for 
intellectual ability and also meets the 
criteria in one or more of the other 
areas will qualify for consideration of 
service.  A properly constituted IEP 
team, including someone who has 
knowledge of gifted education, will 
determine if services are required to 
meet the child’s educational needs.
 C. Alternative method 
for identification.
  (1) A school 
district may apply to the department 
to utilize an alternative protocol 
for all students.  Eligibility of a 
student will then be determined by a 
properly administered and collected, 
department-approved alternative 
protocol designed to evaluate a 
student’s intellectual ability, subject 
matter aptitude/achievement, 
creativity/divergent thinking, and 
problem solving/critical thinking.
  (2) If an 
accurate assessment of a child’s 
ability may be affected by factors 
including cultural background, 
linguistic background, English 
language proficiency level, 
socioeconomic status, or disability 
condition(s), an alternative protocol 
as described in Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection E of 6.31.2.12 NMAC 
will be used in all school districts to 
determine the student’s eligibility.  
The impact of these factors shall 

be documented by the person(s) 
administering the alternative protocol.
  (3) The 
student assistance team (SAT) 
process requirements will not apply 
to students who meet the criteria 
established by the alternative 
protocols.  When a student’s overall 
demonstrated abilities are very 
superior (as defined by the alternative 
protocol author), a properly 
constituted IEP team, including 
someone who has knowledge of gifted 
education, will determine if special 
education services are required to 
meet the child’s educational needs.
 D. Applicability of 
rules to gifted children.
  (1) All 
definitions, policies, procedures, 
assurances, procedural safeguards, 
and services identified in 6.31.2 
NMAC for school-aged children 
with disabilities apply to school-aged 
gifted children within the educational 
jurisdiction of each local school 
district, including children in charter 
schools within the school district, 
except:
   (a) 
the requirements of 6.31.2.8 NMAC 
through 6.31.2.10 NMAC;
   (b) 
Subsections J, K, and L of 6.31.2.11 
NMAC regarding child find, 
evaluations, and services for private 
school children with disabilities, 
children with disabilities in state-
supported educational programs, 
children with disabilities in detention 
and correctional facilities, and 
children with disabilities who are 
schooled at home;
   (c) 
the requirements of 34 CFR Secs. 
300.530 through 300.536, Subsection 
I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC, and 6.11.2.11 
NMAC regarding disciplinary 
changes of placement for children 
with disabilities; and
   (d) 
the requirements of 34 CFR Secs. 
300.43 and 300.320(b) and Paragraph 
(2) of Subsection G of 6.31.2.11 
NMAC regarding transition planning.  
Students identified as gifted shall 
meet the requirements at Subsection 
B of 22-13-1.1 NMSA 1978, which is 
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the next step plan for students without 
disabilities.
  (2) Assuming 
appropriate evaluations, a child may 
properly be determined to be both 
gifted and a child with a disability and 
be entitled to a free appropriate public 
education for both reasons.  The rules 
in this section, 6.31.2.12 NMAC, 
apply only to gifted children.
  (3) Nothing 
in these rules shall preclude a 
school district or a charter school 
within a school district from 
offering additional gifted programs 
for children who fail to meet the 
eligibility criteria.  However, the 
state shall only provide funds under 
Section 22-8-21 NMSA 1978 for 
department-approved gifted programs 
for those students who meet the 
established criteria.
 E. Advisory 
committees.
  (1) Each 
school district offering a gifted 
education program shall create one or 
more advisory committees of parents, 
community members, students, and 
school staff members.  The school 
district may create as many advisory 
committees as there are high schools 
in the school district or may create a 
district-wide advisory committee.
  (2) The 
membership of each advisory 
committee shall reflect the cultural 
diversity of the enrollment of 
the school district or the schools 
the advisory committee advises.  
Representation from all schools the 
committee is advising is required.
  (3) Purposes.  
The advisory committee shall:
   (a) 
regularly review the goals and 
priorities of the gifted program, 
including the operational plans for 
student identification, evaluation, 
placement, and service delivery;
   (b) 
demonstrate support for the gifted 
program;
   (c) 
provide information regarding the 
impact that cultural background, 
linguistic background, socioeconomic 
status, and disability conditions within 

the community may have on the child 
referral, identification, evaluation, and 
service delivery processes;
   (d) 
advocate for children who have 
been underrepresented in gifted 
services due to cultural or linguistic 
background, socioeconomic status, 
or disability conditions, in order to 
ensure that these children have equal 
opportunities to benefit from services 
for gifted students; and
   (e) 
meet three or more times per year at 
regular intervals.
  (4) Formal 
documentation of committee 
membership, activities, and 
recommendations shall be maintained.  
If proposals are made by the 
committee to address any of the 
purposes as listed in Paragraph (3) of 
Subsection G of 6.31.2.12 NMAC, 
they shall be submitted in writing to 
the school district administration.  The 
school district administration shall 
respond in writing to any proposed 
actions before the next scheduled 
meeting of the advisory committee.] 
[RESERVED]
[6.31.2.12 NMAC - Rp, 6.31.2.12 
NMAC, 7/14/2020; Repealed, 
7/31/2023]

6.31.2.13 ADDITIONAL 
RIGHTS OF PARENTS, 
STUDENTS, AND PUBLIC 
AGENCIES:
 A. General 
responsibilities of public agencies.  
Each public agency shall establish, 
implement, and maintain procedural 
safeguards that meet the requirements 
of 34 CFR Secs. 300.500 through 
300.536, and all other applicable 
requirements of these or other 
department rules and standards.
 B. Examination of 
records.  Each public agency shall 
afford the parents of a child with a 
disability an opportunity to inspect 
and review all education records 
related to the child in compliance with 
34 CFR Secs. 300.501(a), 300.613 
through 300.620, 34 CFR Part 99, and 
any other applicable requirements of 
these or other department rules and 
standards.

 C. Parent and student 
participation in meetings.  Each 
public agency shall afford the parents 
of a child with a disability and, as 
appropriate, the child, an opportunity 
to participate in meetings with respect 
to the identification, evaluation, 
and educational placement or the 
provision of FAPE to the child, 
in compliance with 34 CFR Secs. 
300.322, 300.501(b), 300.501(c), and 
any other applicable requirements of 
these or other department rules and 
standards.
 D. Notice 
requirements.
  (1) Notice of 
meetings.  Each public agency shall 
provide the parents of a child with a 
disability with advance written notice 
that complies with 34 CFR Sec. 
300.322 for IEP meetings and any 
other meetings in which the parent 
has a right to participate pursuant to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.501.
  (2) Notice of 
agency actions proposed or refused.  
A public agency shall give written 
notice that meets the requirements 
of 34 CFR Sec. 300.503 to the 
parents of a child with a disability a 
reasonable time before the agency 
proposes or refuses to initiate or 
change the identification, evaluation, 
or educational placement of the child 
or the provision of FAPE to the child.  
If the notice relates to a proposed 
action that also requires parental 
consent under 34 CFR Sec. 300.300, 
the public agency may give notice 
at the same time it requests parental 
consent.
  (3) Notice of 
procedural safeguards.  A copy of the 
procedural safeguards available to 
the parents of a child with a disability 
shall be given to the parents, only one 
time a school year, except that a copy 
shall be given to the parents: (a) upon 
initial referral for evaluation; (b) upon 
receipt of the first state complaint 
under 34 CFR Secs. 300.151 through 
300.153; (c) upon receipt of the 
first due process complaint under 
34 CFR Sec. 300.507 of the school 
year; (d) in accordance with the 
discipline procedures in 34 CFR Sec. 
300.530(h); and (e) upon request of 
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the parents.  The notice shall meet all 
requirements of 34 CFR Sec. 300.504, 
including the requirement to inform 
the parents of their obligation under 
34 CFR Sec. 300.148 to notify the 
public agency if they intend to enroll 
the child in a private school or facility 
and seek reimbursement from the 
public agency.  A public agency may 
place a current copy of the procedural 
safeguards notice on its internet 
website if a website exists.
 E. Communications in 
understandable language.  Pursuant to 
34 CFR Secs. 300.9(a), 300.322(e), 
300.503(c), and 300.504(d), each 
public agency shall communicate with 
parents in understandable language, 
including the parent’s native language 
or other mode of communication, 
unless it is clearly not feasible to do 
so, if necessary for understanding, in 
IEP meetings, in written notices, and 
in obtaining consent where consent is 
required.
 F. Parental consent.
  (1) Informed 
parental consent as defined in 34 
CFR Sec. 300.9 shall be obtained 
in compliance with 34 CFR Sec. 
300.300 before: (a) conducting an 
initial evaluation or reevaluation; 
and (b) initial provision of special 
education and related services to 
a child with a disability.  Consent 
for initial evaluation shall not be 
construed as consent for initial 
provision of special education and 
related services.  If parental consent is 
not provided for the initial evaluation 
or the parent fails to respond to a 
request to provide consent, the public 
agency may, but is not required to, 
pursue the initial evaluation of the 
child by utilizing the due process and 
mediation procedures in Subsection I 
of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
  (2) Pursuant to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.300(d)(1), parental 
consent is not required before: (a) 
reviewing existing data as part of 
an evaluation or a reevaluation; or 
(b) administering a test or other 
evaluation that is administered to all 
children unless, before administration 
of that test or evaluation, consent is 
required of parents of all children.

  (3) Pursuant 
to 34 CFR Sec. 300.300(b), if the 
parents of a child with a disability 
refuse consent for the initial provision 
of special education and related 
services, the public agency may not 
use the due process and mediation 
procedures in Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC in order to obtain 
agreement or a ruling that the services 
may be provided to the child.  If 
the parent refuses consent or fails 
to respond to a request to provide 
consent for the initial provision 
of special education and related 
services, the public agency will not 
be considered to be in violation of the 
requirement to make FAPE available 
to the child and is not required to 
convene an IEP team meeting or 
develop an IEP under 34 CFR Secs. 
300.320 and 300.324.  All provisions 
of 34 CFR Sec. 300.300 shall be 
followed with respect to parental 
consent.
  (4) Pursuant 
to 34 CFR Sec. 300.300(c)(2), 
informed parental consent need not be 
obtained for reevaluation if the public 
agency can demonstrate that it has 
taken reasonable measures to obtain 
that consent by using procedures 
consistent with those in 34 CFR Sec. 
300.322(d) and the child’s parent has 
failed to respond.
  (5) Pursuant to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.300(d)(3), a public 
agency may not use a parent’s refusal 
to consent to one service or activity 
for which consent is required to deny 
the parent or child any other service, 
benefit, or activity of the public 
agency, except as required by 34 CFR 
Part 300.
  (6) Pursuant to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.300(b)(4), parents 
may revoke consent for the continued 
provision of all special education 
and related services for their child.  
The revocation of consent shall be 
in writing.  After providing prior 
written notice in accordance with 
34 CFR Sec. 300.503, the public 
agency shall cease the provision of 
special education and related services 
for that child.  The public agency 
may not use the due process and 
mediation procedures in Subsection I 

of 6.31.2.13 NMAC in order to obtain 
agreement or a ruling that services 
may be provided to the child.  The 
public agency will not be considered 
to be in violation of the requirement 
to make FAPE available to the child 
once consent has been revoked.  
The public agency will also not be 
required to convene an IEP team 
meeting or develop an IEP for the 
child for further provision of special 
education and related services.
 G. Conflict 
management and resolution.
  (1) Each 
public agency shall seek to establish 
and maintain productive working 
relationships with the parents of 
each child the public agency serves 
and to deal constructively with 
disagreements.  Each public agency 
is strongly encouraged to provide 
appropriate training for staff and 
parents in skills and techniques of 
conflict prevention and management 
and dispute resolution and to utilize 
an informal dispute resolution method 
as set forth under Subparagraph 
(a) of Paragraph (2) of Subsection 
G of 6.31.2.13 NMAC to resolve 
disagreements at the local level 
whenever practicable.
  (2) Spectrum 
of dispute resolution options.  To 
facilitate dispute prevention as well 
as swift, early conflict resolution 
whenever possible, the department 
and the public agency shall ensure 
that the following range of dispute 
resolution options is available to 
parents and public agency personnel.
   (a) 
Informal dispute resolution option.  
If a disagreement arises between 
parents and a public agency over a 
student’s IEP or educational program, 
either the parents or the public agency 
may convene a new IEP meeting at 
any time to attempt to resolve their 
differences at the local level without 
state-level intervention.
   (b) 
Third-party assisted intervention.  
The special education division (SED) 
of the department will ensure that 
mediation is available to parents and 
public agencies who request such 
third-party assisted intervention 
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before filing a state-level complaint 
or a request for a due process hearing.  
The SED will honor a request for 
mediation that:
    (i) 
is in writing;
                (ii) 
is submitted to the SED;
               (iii) 
is a mutual request signed by 
both parties or their designated 
representatives;
               (iv) 
includes a statement of the matter(s) 
in dispute and a description of any 
previous attempts to resolve these 
matters at the local level; and
                (v) 
any request that does not contain all 
of these elements will be declined, 
with an explanation for the SED’s 
decision and further guidance, as 
appropriate.
   (c) 
Formal dispute resolution.
    (i) 
A state-level complaint may be filed 
with the SED of the department by 
the parents of a child, or by another 
individual or organization on behalf 
of a child, as described under 
Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (2) of 
Subsection H of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.  
Once a complaint has been filed, the 
parties may agree to convene a FIEP 
meeting or mediation as described 
under Paragraph (3) of Subsection H 
of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
                (ii) 
A request for a due process hearing 
may be filed by parents or their 
authorized representative, or by a 
public agency, as described under 
Paragraph (5) of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.  A resolution 
session between the parties shall 
be convened by the public agency 
following a request for a due process 
hearing, unless the parties agree 
in writing to waive that option or 
to convene a mediation instead, as 
described under Paragraph (8) of 
Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
   (d) 
The Mediation Procedures Act, 
Section 44-7B-1 et seq. NMSA 
1978, does not apply to mediations 
conducted under 6.31.2 NMAC.

 H. State complaint 
procedures.
  (1) Scope and 
dissemination.
   (a) 
Subsection H of 6.31.2.13 NMAC 
prescribes procedures to be used 
in filing and processing complaints 
alleging the failure of the department 
or a public agency to comply 
with state or federal laws or rules 
governing programs for children with 
disabilities under IDEA [or with state 
laws or rules governing educational 
services for gifted children].
   (b) 
The SED shall disseminate 
information regarding state 
complaint procedures to parents 
and other interested individuals 
and organizations, as identified by 
the SED, including parent centers, 
information centers, advocacy 
agencies, independent living centers, 
and other appropriate entities 
throughout the state.
                 (i) 
The SED shall place documents 
regarding state complaint procedures 
in English and Spanish, including 
state complaint forms, in an easily 
accessible location on the SED 
website.
                (ii) 
The SED shall, on a yearly basis, 
send an email to the organizations and 
individuals identified in Subparagraph 
(b) of Paragraph (1) of Subsection 
H of 6.31.2.13 NMAC providing 
information regarding state complaint 
procedures and encouraging these 
organizations and individuals to post 
a link to the SED website on their 
website.
               (iii) 
Upon request by any individual or 
organization, the SED shall provide 
the information regarding state 
complaint procedures, as posted 
on the SED’s website, in print or 
electronic form.
  (2) 
Requirements for complaints.
   (a) 
The SED of the department shall 
accept and investigate complaints 
from organizations or individuals that 
raise issues within the scope of this 

procedure as defined in the preceding 
Paragraph (1) of Subsection H of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.  The complaint 
shall: (i) be in writing; (ii) be 
submitted to the SED (or to the 
secretary of education, in the case of 
a complaint against the department); 
(iii) be signed by the complainant 
or a designated representative and 
have the complainant’s contact 
information; (iv) if alleging violations 
with respect to a specific child, 
include the name and address of 
the child and the school the child is 
attending; (v) include a statement 
that the department or a public 
agency has violated a requirement 
of an applicable state or federal law 
or rules; (vi) contain a statement of 
the facts on which the allegation of 
violation is based; and (vii) include a 
description of a proposed resolution 
of the problem to the extent known.  
Any complaint that does not contain 
each of these elements will be 
declined, with an explanation for the 
SED’s decision and further guidance, 
as appropriate.
   (b) 
If the complaint alleges violations 
with respect to a specific child, 
the complaint shall include the 
information required by 34 CFR 
300.153(b)(4).
   (c) 
The party filing the complaint shall 
forward a copy of the complaint 
to the public agency serving the 
child at the same time the party files 
the complaint with the SED of the 
department.
   (d) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.153(c), 
the complaint shall allege a violation 
that occurred not more than one 
year before the date the complaint is 
received by the SED in accordance 
with Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph 
(2) of Subsection H of 6.31.2.13 
NMAC.
  (3) 
Preliminary meeting.
   (a) 
FIEP meeting: mediation.  Parties 
to a state-level complaint may 
choose to convene a FIEP meeting 
or mediation.  To do so, the public 
agency shall (and the parent may) 
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notify the SED of the department 
in writing within one business day 
of reaching their decision to jointly 
request one of these ADR options.  A 
FIEP meeting or mediation shall be 
completed not later than 14 days after 
the assignment of the IEP facilitator 
or mediator by the SED, unless a 
brief extension is granted by the SED 
based on exceptional circumstances.  
Each session in the FIEP or mediation 
process shall be scheduled in a timely 
manner and shall be held in a location 
that is convenient to the parties to the 
complaint.
   (b) 
Mediation requirements.  If the 
parties choose to use mediation, the 
following requirements apply.
                 (i) 
Discussions that occur during 
the mediation process shall be 
confidential and may not be used 
as evidence in any subsequent due 
process hearings or civil proceedings.
                (ii) 
Any mediated agreement shall state 
that all discussions that occurred 
during the mediation process shall 
be confidential and may not be used 
as evidence in any subsequent due 
process hearing or civil proceeding.  
Any such agreement shall also be 
signed by both the parent and a 
representative of the public agency 
who has the authority to bind 
such public agency, and shall be 
enforceable in any state court of 
competent jurisdiction or in a district 
court of the United States.
               (iii) 
If a mediated agreement involves 
IEP-related issues, the agreement 
shall state that the public agency will 
subsequently convene an IEP meeting 
to inform the student’s service 
providers of their responsibilities 
under that agreement, and revise the 
student’s IEP accordingly.
               (iv) 
The mediator shall transmit a copy of 
the written mediation agreement to 
each party within seven days of the 
meeting at which the agreement was 
concluded.  A mediation agreement 
involving a claim or issue that later 
goes to a due process hearing may be 
received in evidence if the hearing 

officer rules that part or all of the 
agreement is relevant to one or more 
IDEA issues that are properly before 
the hearing officer for decision.
                (v) 
Each session in the mediation process 
shall be scheduled in a timely manner 
and shall be held in a location that 
is convenient to the parties to the 
dispute.
               (vi) 
Any other requirement provided in 34 
CFR 300.506(b) that is not otherwise 
provided herein.
  (4) Complaints 
and due process hearings on the same 
issues, which are pursuant to 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.152(c).
   (a) 
The SED of the department shall set 
aside any part of a written complaint 
that is also the subject of a due 
process hearing under Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC until the conclusion 
of the hearing and any civil action.  
Any issue in the complaint that is not 
a part of the due process hearing or 
civil action will be resolved by the 
SED as provided in Subsection H of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.
   (b) 
If an issue is raised in a complaint 
that has previously been decided in 
a due process hearing involving the 
same parties, the hearing decision is 
binding and the SED shall inform the 
complainant to that effect.
   (c) A 
complaint alleging a public agency’s 
failure to implement a due process 
decision will be resolved by the SED 
as provided in this Subsection H of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.
  (5) Complaints 
against public agencies.
   (a) 
Impartial review.  Upon receipt of a 
complaint that meets the requirements 
of Paragraph (2) of Subsection H of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC, the SED of the 
department shall:
    (i) 
undertake an impartial investigation 
which shall include complete review 
of all documentation presented and 
may include an independent on-site 
investigation, if determined necessary 
by the SED;

                (ii) 
give the complainant the opportunity 
to submit additional information, 
either orally or in writing, about the 
allegations in the complaint;
               (iii) 
provide the public agency with 
the opportunity to respond to the 
allegations in the complaint; and
               (iv) 
review all relevant information and 
make an independent determination 
as to whether the public agency 
is violating a requirement of an 
applicable state or federal law or rule.
   (b) 
Decision.  A written decision 
which includes findings of fact, 
conclusions, and the reasons for the 
decision and which addresses each 
allegation in the complaint shall 
be issued by the SED and mailed 
to the parties within 60 days of 
receipt of the written complaint, 
regardless of whether or not the 
parties agree to convene a FIEP 
meeting or mediation.  Such decision 
shall further include procedures 
for effective implementation of the 
final decision, if needed, including 
technical assistance, negotiations, and 
if corrective action is required, such 
action shall be designated and shall 
include the timeline for correction 
and the possible consequences for 
continued noncompliance.
   (c) 
Failure or refusal to comply.  If the 
public agency fails or refuses to 
comply with the applicable law or 
rules, and if the noncompliance or 
refusal to comply cannot be corrected 
or avoided by informal means, 
compliance may be effected by the 
department by any means authorized 
by state or federal laws or rules.  The 
department shall retain jurisdiction 
over the issue of noncompliance 
with the law or rules and shall retain 
jurisdiction over the implementation 
of any corrective action required.
  (6) Complaints 
against the department.  If the 
complaint concerns a violation by 
the department and: is submitted in 
writing to the secretary of education; 
is signed by the complainant or a 
designated representative; includes 
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a statement that the department 
has violated a requirement of an 
applicable state or federal law or rule; 
contains a statement of facts on which 
the allegation of violation is based, 
and otherwise meets the requirements 
of Paragraph (2) of Subsection H of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC, the secretary of 
education or designee shall appoint an 
impartial person or impartial persons 
to conduct an investigation.
   (a) 
Investigation.  The person or persons 
appointed shall: acknowledge receipt 
of the complaint in writing; undertake 
an impartial investigation which 
shall include a complete review of 
all documentation presented and 
may include an independent onsite 
investigation, if necessary; give the 
complainant the opportunity to submit 
additional information, either orally 
or in writing, about the allegations in 
the complaint; provide the department 
with the opportunity to respond to the 
complaint; and review all relevant 
information and make an independent 
determination as to whether the 
department is violating a requirement 
of an applicable state or federal law or 
rule.
                (b) 
Decision.  A written decision, 
including findings of fact, 
conclusions, recommendations for 
corrective action, and the reasons 
for the decision and addressing each 
allegation in the complaint, shall 
be issued by the person or people 
appointed pursuant to this paragraph 
and mailed to the parties within 
60 days of receipt of the written 
complaint.  The person or people 
appointed pursuant to this paragraph 
has no authority to order rulemaking 
by the department.
  (7) Extension 
of time limit.  An extension of the 
time limit under Subparagraph (b) of 
Paragraph (5) or Subparagraph (b) of 
Paragraph (6) of this Subsection H of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC shall be permitted 
by the SED of the department only if 
exceptional circumstances exist with 
respect to a particular complaint or 
if the parent or any other party filing 
a complaint and the public agency 
involved agree to extend the time 

to engage in mediation or a FIEP 
meeting.
  (8) Conflicts 
with federal laws or rules.  If any 
federal law or rule governing any 
federal program subject to this 
rule affords procedural rights to a 
complainant which exceed those set 
forth in Subsection H of 6.31.2.13 
NMAC for complaints within the 
scope of these rules, such statutory or 
regulatory right(s) shall be afforded to 
the complainant.  In acknowledging 
receipt of such a complaint, the 
SED shall set forth the procedures 
applicable to that complaint.
 I. Due process 
hearings.
  (1) Scope.  
Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC 
establishes procedures governing 
impartial due process hearings for [the 
following types of cases
   (a) 
] requests for due process in IDEA 
cases governed by 34 CFR Secs. 
300.506 through 300.518 and 300.530 
through 300.532.[; and
   [(b) 
claims for gifted services.]
  (2) Bases for 
requesting hearing.  A parent or public 
agency may initiate an impartial due 
process hearing on the following 
matters:
   (a) 
the public agency proposes to 
initiate or change the identification, 
evaluation, or educational placement 
of the child or the provision of FAPE 
to the child;
   (b) 
the public agency refuses to initiate or 
change the identification, evaluation, 
or educational placement of the child 
or the provision of FAPE to the child.
   [(c) 
the public agency proposes or refuses 
to initiate or change the identification, 
evaluation, or educational placement 
of, or services to, a child who needs 
or may need gifted services.]
  (3) Bases for 
requesting expedited hearing.
   (a) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.532 and 
20 USC Sec. 1415(k)(3), a parent 
may request an expedited hearing 

to review any decision regarding 
placement or a manifestation 
determination under 34 CFR Secs. 
300.530 through 300.531.
   (b) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.532(c) 
and 20 USC Sec. 1415(k)(3), a public 
agency may request an expedited 
hearing if it believes that maintaining 
the current placement of a child is 
substantially likely to result in injury 
to the child or others.
  (4) Request 
for hearing.  A parent requesting a due 
process hearing shall transmit written 
notice of the request to the public 
agency whose actions are in question 
and to the SED of the department.  
A public agency requesting a due 
process hearing shall transmit written 
notice of the request to the parent(s) 
and to the SED of the department.  
The written request shall state with 
specificity the nature of the dispute 
and shall include:
   (a) 
the name of the child;
   (b) 
the address of the residence of the 
child (or available contact information 
in the case of a homeless child);
   (c) 
the name of the school the child is 
attending;
   (d) 
the name of the public agency, if 
known;
   (e) 
the name and address of the party 
making the request (or available 
contact information in the case of a 
homeless party);
   (f) 
a description of the nature of the 
problem of the child relating to the 
proposed or refused initiation or 
change, including facts relating to the 
problem;
   (g) 
a proposed resolution of the problem 
to the extent known and available to 
the party requesting the hearing at the 
time;
   (h) 
a request for an expedited hearing 
shall also include a statement of facts 
sufficient to show that a requesting 
parent or public agency is entitled to 
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an expedited hearing under 34 CFR 
Secs. 300.532(c) or 20 USC Sec. 
1415(k)(3);
   (i) 
a request for a hearing shall be in 
writing and signed and dated by 
the parent or the authorized public 
agency representative; an oral request 
made by a parent who is unable to 
communicate by writing shall be 
reduced to writing by the public 
agency and signed by the parent;
   (j) 
a request for hearing filed by or on 
behalf of a party who is represented 
by an attorney shall include a 
sufficient statement authorizing the 
representation; a written statement on 
a client’s behalf that is signed by an 
attorney who is subject to discipline 
by the New Mexico supreme court for 
a misrepresentation shall constitute a 
sufficient authorization; and
   (k) 
a party may not have a hearing on 
a due process complaint until the 
party, or the attorney representing the 
party, files a due process complaint 
that meets the requirements of this 
paragraph.
  (5) Response 
to request for hearing.
   (a) A 
request for a hearing shall be deemed 
to be sufficient unless the party 
receiving the notice of request notifies 
the hearing officer and the other party 
in writing that the receiving party 
believes the request has not met the 
requirements of Paragraph (5) of 
Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
   (b) 
Public agency response.
    (i) 
In general.  If the public agency has 
not sent a prior written notice to the 
parent regarding the subject matter 
contained in the parent’s due process 
hearing request, such public agency 
shall, within 10 days of its receipt 
of the request, send to the parent a 
response that meets the requirements 
of 34 CFR Sec. 300.508(e) and 20 
USC Sec. 1415(c)(2)(B)(i).  This 
requirement presents an additional 
opportunity for parties to clarify and 
potentially resolve their dispute(s).

                (ii) 
Sufficiency.  A response filed by a 
public agency pursuant to Item (i) of 
Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph (6) 
shall not be construed to preclude 
such public agency from asserting 
that the parent’s due process hearing 
request was insufficient where 
appropriate.
   (c) 
Other party response.  Except 
as provided in Subparagraph (b) 
of Paragraph (6) of Subsection 
I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC, the non-
complaining party shall, within 10 
days of its receipt of the request for 
due process, send to the requesting 
party a response that specifically 
addresses the issues raised in the 
hearing request.  This requirement 
also presents an opportunity to clarify 
and potentially resolve disputed issues 
between the parties.
   (d) 
A party against whom a due process 
hearing request is filed shall have a 
maximum of 15 days after receiving 
the request to provide written 
notification to the hearing officer of 
insufficiency under Subparagraph 
(a) of Paragraph (6) of Subsection 
I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.  The 15-day 
timeline for the public agency to 
convene a resolution session under 
Paragraph (8) of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC runs at the same 
time as the 15-day timeline for filing 
notice of insufficiency.
   (e) 
Determination.  Within five days of 
receipt of a notice of insufficiency 
under Subparagraph (d) of Paragraph 
(6) of Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 
NMAC, the hearing officer shall make 
a determination on the face of the due 
process request of whether it meets 
the requirements of Paragraph (5) of 
Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC and 
shall immediately notify the parties in 
writing of such determination.
   (f) 
Amended due process request.  A 
party may amend its due process 
request only if:
    (i) 
the other party consents in writing 
to such amendment and is given the 
opportunity to resolve the complaint 

through a meeting held pursuant 
to Paragraph (8) of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC; or
                (ii) 
the hearing officer grants permission, 
except that the hearing officer may 
only grant such permission at any 
time not later than five days before a 
due process hearing occurs.
   (g) 
Applicable timeline.  The applicable 
timeline for a due process hearing 
under this part shall recommence at 
the time the party files an amended 
notice, including the timeline under 
Paragraph (8) of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.
  (6) Duties of 
the SED of the department.  Upon 
receipt of a written request for due 
process, the SED shall:
   (a) 
appoint a qualified and impartial 
hearing officer who meets the 
requirements of 34 CFR Sec. 
300.511(c) and 20 USC Sec. 1415(f)
(3)(A);
   (b) 
arrange for the appointment of a 
qualified and impartial mediator or 
IEP facilitator pursuant to 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.506 to offer ADR services to 
the parties;
   (c) 
inform the parent in writing of any 
free or low-cost legal and other 
relevant services available in the 
area; the SED shall also make this 
information available whenever 
requested by a parent; and
   (d) 
inform the parent that in any action 
or proceeding brought under 20 USC 
Sec. 1415, a state or federal court, in 
its discretion and subject to the further 
provisions of 20 USC Sec. 1415(g)
(3)(b) and 34 CFR Sec. 300.517, may 
award reasonable attorneys’ fees as 
part of the costs to a prevailing party;
   (e) 
the SED shall also:
    (i) 
keep a list of the persons who serve 
as hearing officers and a statement of 
their qualifications;
                (ii) 
appoint another hearing officer if the 
initially appointed hearing officer 
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excuses himself or herself from 
service;
               (iii) 
ensure that mediation and FIEP 
meetings are considered as voluntary 
and are not used to deny or delay a 
parent’s right to a hearing; and
                             (iv)     
ensure that within 45 days of 
commencement of the timeline for a 
due process hearing, a final written 
decision is reached and a copy 
transmitted to the parties, unless one 
or more specific extensions of time 
have been granted by the hearing 
officer at the request of either party 
(or at the joint request of the parties, 
where the reason for the request is to 
allow the parties to pursue an ADR 
option); and
   (f) 
following the decision, the SED 
shall, after deleting any personally 
identifiable information, transmit 
the findings and decision to the state 
IDEA advisory panel and make them 
available to the public upon request.
  (7) 
Preliminary meeting.
   (a) 
Resolution session.  Before the 
opportunity for an impartial due 
process hearing under Paragraphs (3) 
or (4) of Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 
NMAC, the public agency shall 
convene a resolution session with 
the parents and the relevant member 
or members of the IEP team who 
have specific knowledge of the facts 
identified in the due process request, 
unless the parents and the public 
agency agree in writing to waive 
such a meeting, or agree to use the 
mediation process instead.  The 
resolution session:
                 (i) 
shall occur within 15 days of the 
respondent’s receipt of a request for 
due process;
                (ii) 
shall include a representative of the 
public agency who has decision-
making authority on behalf of that 
public agency;
               (iii) 
may not include an attorney of the 
public agency unless the parent is 
accompanied by an attorney; and

               (iv) 
shall provide an opportunity for the 
parents of the child and the public 
agency to discuss the disputed issue(s) 
and the facts that form the basis of the 
dispute, in order to attempt to resolve 
the dispute;
                (v) 
if the parties desire to have their 
discussions in the resolution session 
remain confidential, they may agree in 
writing to maintain the confidentiality 
of all discussions and that such 
discussions cannot later be used as 
evidence in the due process hearing or 
any other proceeding; and
               (vi) 
if an agreement is reached following 
a resolution session, the parties shall 
execute a legally binding agreement 
that is signed by both the parent 
and a representative of the public 
agency who has the authority to 
bind that public agency, and which 
is enforceable in any state court of 
competent jurisdiction or in a district 
court of the United States; if the 
parties execute an agreement pursuant 
to a resolution session, a party may 
void this agreement within three 
business days of the agreement’s 
execution; further, if the resolution 
session participants reach agreement 
on any IEP-related matters, the 
binding agreement shall state that 
the public agency will subsequently 
convene an IEP meeting to inform 
the student’s service providers of 
their responsibilities under that 
agreement and revise the student’s 
IEP accordingly.
   (b) 
FIEP meeting; mediation.  Parties to 
a due process hearing may choose to 
convene a FIEP meeting or mediation 
instead of a resolution session.  To 
do so, the party filing the request for 
the hearing shall (and the responding 
party may) notify the hearing officer 
in writing within one business day of 
the parties’ decision to jointly request 
one of these options.  A FIEP meeting 
or mediation shall be completed not 
later than 14 days after the assignment 
of the IEP facilitator or mediator by 
the SED, unless, upon joint request 
by the parties, an extension is granted 
by the hearing officer.  Each session 

in the FIEP or mediation process 
shall be scheduled in a timely manner 
and shall be held in a location 
that is convenient to the parties 
to the hearing.  The requirements 
for mediation, as set forth at 
Subparagraph (c) of Paragraph (3) 
of Subsection H of 6.31.2.13 NMAC 
apply to mediation in this context as 
well.
   (c) 
Applicable timelines.
    (i) 
If the parties agree to convene a 
resolution session, the applicable 
timelines for the due process hearing 
shall be suspended for up to 30 days 
from the date the due process request 
was received by the SED (except in 
the case of an expedited hearing), and 
the meeting shall proceed according 
to the requirements set forth under 
Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (8) of 
Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
                (ii) 
If the parties agree to convene a FIEP 
meeting or mediation, the public 
agency shall contact the person or 
entity identified by the SED to arrange 
for mediation or a FIEP meeting, as 
appropriate.  Except for expedited 
hearings, the parties to the FIEP 
meeting or mediation process may 
jointly request that the hearing officer 
grant a specific extension of time for 
the prehearing conference and for 
completion of the hearing beyond 
the 45 day period for issuance of the 
hearing decision.  The hearing officer 
may grant such extensions in a regular 
case but may not exceed the 20 school 
day deadline in an expedited case.
               (iii)
If the parties agree to waive all 
preliminary meeting options and 
proceed with the due process hearing, 
the hearing officer shall send written 
notification to the parties that the 
applicable timelines for the due 
process hearing procedure shall 
commence as of the date of that 
notice.  The hearing officer shall 
thereafter proceed with the prehearing 
procedures, as set forth under 
Paragraph (12) of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.
   (d) 
Resolution.  Upon resolution of the 
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dispute, the party who requested the 
due process hearing shall transmit a 
written notice informing the hearing 
officer and the SED that the matter 
has been resolved and withdraw the 
request for hearing.  The hearing 
officer shall transmit an appropriate 
order of dismissal to the parties and 
the SED.
   (e) 
Hearing.  If the parties convene a 
resolution session and they have 
not resolved the disputed issue(s) 
within 30 days of the receipt of the 
due process request by the SED in a 
non-expedited case, the public agency 
shall (and the parents may) notify 
the hearing officer in writing within 
one business day of reaching this 
outcome.  The hearing officer shall 
then promptly notify the parties in 
writing that the due process hearing 
shall proceed and all applicable 
timelines for a hearing under this part 
shall commence as of the date of such 
notice.
   (f) 
Further adjustments to the timelines 
may be made as provided in 34 CFR 
Secs. 300.510(b) and 300.510(c).
   (g) 
The resolution of disputes by mutual 
agreement is strongly encouraged 
and nothing in these rules shall 
be interpreted as prohibiting the 
parties from engaging in settlement 
discussions at any time before, during, 
or after an ADR meeting, a due 
process hearing, or a civil action.
  (8) Hearing 
officer responsibility and authority.  
Hearing officers shall conduct 
proceedings under these rules with 
due regard for the costs and other 
burdens of due process proceedings 
for public agencies, parents, and 
students.  In that regard, hearing 
officers shall strive to maintain a 
reasonable balance between affording 
parties a fair opportunity to vindicate 
their IDEA rights and the financial 
and human costs of the proceedings 
to all concerned.  Accordingly, each 
hearing officer shall exercise such 
control over the parties, proceedings, 
and the hearing officer’s own 
practices as the hearing officer deems 
appropriate to further those ends 

under the circumstances of each case.  
In particular, and without limiting 
the generality of the foregoing, the 
hearing officer, at the request of a 
party or upon the hearing officer’s 
own initiative and after the parties 
have had a reasonable opportunity 
to express their views on disputed 
issues:
   (a) 
shall ensure by appropriate orders 
that parents and their duly authorized 
representatives have timely access 
to records and information under 
the public agency’s control which 
are reasonably necessary for a fair 
assessment of the IDEA issues raised 
by the requesting party;
   (b) 
shall limit the issues for hearing to 
those permitted by IDEA which the 
hearing officer deems necessary for 
the protection of the rights that have 
been asserted by the requesting party 
in each case;
   (c) 
may issue orders directing the timely 
production of relevant witnesses, 
documents, or other information 
within a party’s control, protective 
orders, or administrative orders to 
appear for hearings, and may address 
a party’s unjustified failure or refusal 
to comply by appropriate limitations 
on the claims, defenses, or evidence 
to be considered;
   (d) 
shall exclude evidence that is 
irrelevant, immaterial, unduly 
repetitious, or excludable on 
constitutional or statutory grounds or 
on the basis of evidentiary privilege 
recognized in federal courts or the 
courts of New Mexico;
   (e) 
may issue such other orders and make 
such other rulings, not inconsistent 
with express provisions of these rules 
or IDEA, as the hearing officer deems 
appropriate to control the course, 
scope, and length of the proceedings 
while ensuring that the parties have a 
fair opportunity to present and support 
all allowable claims and defenses that 
have been asserted; and
   (f) 
shall not permit non-attorneys to 
represent parties at due process 
hearings.

  (9) Duties 
of the hearing officer.  The hearing 
officer shall excuse himself or herself 
from serving in a hearing in which 
he or she believes a personal or 
professional bias or interest exists 
which conflicts with his or her 
objectivity.  The hearing officer shall:
   (a) 
make a determination regarding 
the sufficiency of a request for due 
process within five days of receipt of 
any notice of insufficiency and notify 
the parties of this determination in 
writing;
   (b) 
schedule an initial prehearing 
conference within 14 days of 
commencement of the timeline for 
a due process hearing or as soon as 
reasonably practicable in an expedited 
case pursuant to Paragraph (12) of 
Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC;
   (c) 
reach a decision, which shall include 
written findings of fact, conclusions 
of law, and reasons for these findings 
and conclusions and shall be based 
solely on evidence presented at the 
hearing;
   (d) 
transmit the decision to the parties 
and to the SED within 45 days of 
the commencement of the timeline 
for the hearing, unless a specific 
extension of time has been granted 
by the hearing officer at the request 
of a party to the hearing, or at the 
joint request of the parties where the 
reason for the request is to permit the 
parties to pursue an ADR option; for 
an expedited hearing, no extensions 
or exceptions beyond the time frame 
provided in Subparagraph (a) of 
Paragraph (19) of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC;
   (e) 
the hearing officer may reopen the 
record for further proceedings at 
any time before reaching a final 
decision after transmitting appropriate 
notice to the parties; the hearing is 
considered closed and final when the 
written decision is transmitted to the 
parties and to the SED; and
   (f) 
the decision of the hearing officer 
is final, unless a party brings a civil 
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action as set forth in Paragraph (24) 
of Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
  (10) 
Withdrawal of request for hearing.  
A party may unilaterally withdraw a 
request for due process at any time 
before a decision is issued.  A written 
withdrawal that is transmitted to the 
hearing officer, and the other party 
at least two business days before a 
scheduled hearing, shall be without 
prejudice to the party’s right to file 
a later request on the same claims, 
which shall ordinarily be assigned 
to the same hearing officer.  A 
withdrawal that is transmitted or 
communicated within two business 
days of the scheduled hearing shall 
ordinarily be with prejudice to the 
party’s right to file a later request on 
the same claims unless the hearing 
officer orders otherwise for good 
cause shown.  A withdrawal that is 
entered during or after the hearing 
but before a decision is issued shall 
be with prejudice.  In any event, 
the hearing officer shall enter an 
appropriate order of dismissal.
  (11) Prehearing 
procedures.  Unless extended by 
the hearing officer at the request 
of a party, within 14 days of the 
commencement of the timeline for a 
due process hearing and as soon as is 
reasonably practicable in an expedited 
case, the hearing officer shall conduct 
an initial prehearing conference with 
the parent and the public agency to:
   (a) 
identify the issues (disputed claims 
and defenses) to be decided at the 
hearing and the relief sought;
   (b) 
establish the hearing officer’s 
jurisdiction over IDEA [and gifted 
issues];
   (c) 
determine the status of the resolution 
session, FIEP meeting, or mediation 
between the parties and determine 
whether an additional prehearing 
conference will be necessary as a 
result;
   (d) 
review the hearing rights of both 
parties, as set forth in Paragraphs (15) 
and (16) of Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 
NMAC, including reasonable 

accommodations to address an 
individual’s need for an interpreter at 
public expense;
   (e) 
review the procedures for conducting 
the hearing;
   (f) 
set a date, time, and place for the 
hearing that is reasonably convenient 
to the parents and child involved; the 
hearing officer shall have discretion 
to determine the length of the hearing, 
taking into consideration the issues 
presented;
   (g) 
determine whether the child who 
is the subject of the hearing will be 
present and whether the hearing will 
be open to the public;
                 (h)          
set the date by which any 
documentary evidence intended to 
be used at the hearing by the parties 
shall be exchanged; the hearing 
officer shall further inform the parties 
that, not less than five business 
days before a regular hearing or, if 
the hearing officer so directs, not 
less than two business days before 
an expedited hearing, each party 
shall disclose to the other party all 
evaluations completed by that date 
and recommendations based on the 
evaluations that the party intends 
to use at the hearing; the hearing 
officer may bar any party that fails to 
disclose such documentary evidence, 
evaluation(s), or recommendation(s) 
by the deadline from introducing the 
evidence at the hearing without the 
consent of the other party;
   (i) 
as appropriate, determine the current 
educational placement of the child 
pursuant to Paragraph (25) of this 
subsection;
   (j) 
exchange lists of witnesses and, as 
appropriate, entertain a request from 
a party to issue an administrative 
order compelling the attendance of a 
witness or witnesses at the hearing;
   (k) 
address other relevant issues and 
motions; and
   (l) 
determine the method for having a 
written, or at the option of the parent, 

electronic verbatim record of the 
hearing; the public agency shall be 
responsible for arranging for the 
verbatim record of the hearing; and
   (m) 
the hearing officer shall transmit 
to the parties and the SED of the 
department a written summary of the 
prehearing conference; the summary 
shall include, but not be limited to, the 
date, time, and place of the hearing, 
any prehearing decisions, and any 
orders from the hearing officer.
  (12) Each 
hearing involving oral arguments 
shall be conducted at a time and place 
that is reasonably convenient to the 
parents and child involved.
  (13) In order to 
limit testimony at the hearing to only 
those factual matters which remain 
in dispute between the parties, on 
or before 10 days before the date of 
the hearing, each party shall submit 
a statement of proposed stipulated 
facts to the opposing party.  On or 
before five days before the date of 
the hearing, the parties shall submit 
a joint statement of stipulated facts 
to the hearing officer.  All agreed-
upon stipulated facts shall be deemed 
admitted, and evidence shall not 
be permitted for the purpose of 
establishing these facts.
  (14) Any party 
to a hearing has the right to:
   (a) be 
accompanied and advised by counsel 
and by individuals with special 
knowledge or training with respect 
to the problems of children with 
disabilities;
   (b) 
present evidence and confront, cross-
examine, and compel the attendance 
of witnesses;
   (c) 
prohibit the introduction of any 
evidence at the hearing that has not 
been disclosed to that party at least 
five business days before a regular 
hearing or, if the hearing officer so 
directs in the prehearing summary, 
at least two business days before an 
expedited hearing;
   (d) 
obtain a written, or, at the option of 
the parents, electronic verbatim record 
of the hearing; and
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   (e) 
obtain written, or, at the option of the 
parents, electronic findings of fact and 
decisions.
  (15) Parents 
involved in hearings also have the 
right to:
   (a) 
have the child who is the subject of 
the hearing present; and
   (b) 
open the hearing to the public.
  (16) The record 
of the hearing and the findings of fact 
and decisions shall be provided at no 
cost to the parents.
  (17) Limitations 
on the hearing.
   (a) 
The party requesting the due process 
hearing shall not be allowed to raise 
issues at the hearing that were not 
raised in the request for a due process 
hearing (including an amended 
request, if such amendment was 
previously permitted) filed under 
Paragraph (5) of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC, unless the other 
party agrees otherwise.
   (b) 
Timeline for requesting hearing.  A 
parent or public agency shall request 
an impartial due process hearing 
within two years of the date that the 
parent or public agency knew or 
should have known about the alleged 
action that forms the basis of the due 
process request.
   (c) 
Exceptions to the timeline.  The 
timeline described in Subparagraph 
(b) of Paragraph (18) of Subsection I 
of 6.31.2.13 NMAC shall not apply to 
a parent if the parent was prevented 
from requesting the hearing due to:
    (i) 
specific misrepresentations by the 
public agency that it had resolved the 
problem that forms the basis of the 
due process request; or
                (ii) 
the public agency’s withholding of 
information from the parent that was 
required under this part to be provided 
to the parent.
  (18) Rules 
for expedited hearings.  The rules 
in Paragraphs (4) through (18) of 

Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC 
shall apply to expedited due 
process hearings with the following 
exceptions.
   (a) 
The SED of the department and the 
hearing officer shall ensure that a 
hearing is held within 20 school days 
of the date the request for hearing is 
received by the SED, and a written 
decision is reached within 10 school 
days of the completion of the hearing, 
without exceptions or extensions, and 
thereafter mailed to the parties.
   (b) 
The hearing officer shall seek to hold 
the hearing and issue a decision as 
soon as is reasonably practicable 
within the time limit described in 
Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (19) 
of Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC, 
and shall expedite the proceedings 
with due regard for any progress in 
a resolution session, FIEP meeting, 
or mediation, the parties’ need for 
adequate time to prepare and the 
hearing officer’s need for time to 
review the evidence and prepare a 
decision after the hearing.
   (c) 
The parties shall decide whether to 
convene a resolution session, FIEP 
meeting, or mediation before the 
commencement of an expedited 
hearing in accordance with Paragraph 
(8) of Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 
NMAC and are encouraged to utilize 
one of these preliminary meeting 
options.  However, in the case of 
an expedited hearing, agreement by 
the parties to convene a resolution 
session, FIEP meeting, or mediation 
shall not result in the suspension 
or extension of the timeline for the 
hearing stated under Subparagraph 
(a) of Paragraph (19) of Subsection 
I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.  The timeline 
for resolution sessions provided in 
34 CFR Sec. 300.532(c)(3) shall be 
observed.
   (d) 
Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (6) 
of Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC 
relating to sufficiency of the request 
for the expedited due process hearing 
does not apply to expedited hearings.
   (e) 
The hearing officer may shorten 

the timeline for the exchange of 
proposed stipulated facts between the 
parties as the hearing officer deems 
necessary and appropriate given the 
circumstances of a particular case.  
The hearing officer may also shorten 
the timeline for providing agreed-
upon stipulated facts to the hearing 
officer to two school days before the 
hearing.
   (f) 
Decisions in expedited due process 
hearings are final, unless a party 
brings a civil action as provided in 
Paragraph (24) of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC.
  (19) Decision 
of the hearing officer.
   (a) 
In general.  Subject to Subparagraph 
(b) of Paragraph (20) of Subsection I 
of 6.31.2.13 NMAC, a decision made 
by a hearing officer shall be made 
on substantive grounds based on a 
determination of whether the child 
received a free appropriate public 
education (FAPE).
   (b) 
Procedural issues.  In matters alleging 
a procedural violation, a hearing 
officer may find that a child did not 
receive a FAPE only if the procedural 
inadequacies:
    (i) 
impeded the child’s right to a FAPE;
                (ii) 
significantly impeded the parents’ 
opportunity to participate in the 
decision-making process regarding 
the provision of a FAPE to the 
student; or
               (iii) 
caused a deprivation of educational 
benefits.
   (c) 
Rule of construction.  Nothing in 
this paragraph shall be construed 
to preclude a hearing officer from 
ordering a public agency to comply 
with procedural requirements under 
this section.
  (20) Rule 
of construction.  Nothing in this 
Subsection I shall be construed to 
affect the right of a parent to file 
a complaint with the SED of the 
department, as described under 
Subsection H of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
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  (21) 
Modification of final decision.  
Clerical mistakes in final decisions, 
orders, or parts of the record and 
errors therein arising from oversight 
or omission may be corrected by the 
hearing officer at any time on the 
hearing officer’s own initiative or 
on the request of any party and after 
such notice, if any, as the hearing 
officer orders.  Such mistakes may be 
corrected after a civil action has been 
brought pursuant to Paragraph (24) 
of Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC 
only with leave of the state or federal 
district court presiding over the civil 
action.
  (22) Expenses 
of the hearing.  The public agency 
shall be responsible for paying 
administrative costs associated with 
a hearing, including the hearing 
officer’s fees and expenses and 
expenses related to the preparation 
and copying of the verbatim record, 
its transmission to the SED, and any 
further expenses for preparing the 
complete record of the proceedings 
for filing with a reviewing federal 
or state court in a civil action.  Each 
party to a hearing shall be responsible 
for its own legal fees or other 
costs, subject to Paragraph (25) of 
Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC.
  (23) Civil 
action.
   [(a)]  Any 
party aggrieved by the decision of a 
hearing officer in an IDEA matter has 
the right to bring a civil action in a 
state or federal district court pursuant 
to 20 USC Sec. 1415(i) and 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.516.  Any civil action shall 
be filed within 30 days of the receipt 
of the hearing officer’s decision by the 
appealing party.
   [(b) 
A party aggrieved by the decision of 
a hearing officer in a matter relating 
solely to the identification, evaluation, 
or educational placement of or 
services to a child who needs or may 
need gifted services may bring a civil 
action in a state court of appropriate 
jurisdiction within 30 days of receipt 
of the hearing officer’s decision by the 
appealing party.]

  (24) Attorney 
fees.
   (a) 
In any action or proceeding brought 
under 20 USC Sec. 1415, the court, in 
its discretion and subject to the further 
provisions of 20 USC Sec. 1415(i) 
and 34 CFR Sec. 300.517, may award 
reasonable attorney fees as part of the 
costs to:
    (i) 
the parent of a child with a disability 
who is a prevailing party;
                (ii) 
a prevailing public agency against 
the attorney of a parent who files a 
request for due process or subsequent 
cause of action that is frivolous, 
unreasonable, or without foundation, 
or against the attorney of a parent 
who continued to litigate after the 
litigation clearly became frivolous, 
unreasonable, or without foundation; 
or
               (iii) 
a prevailing public agency against 
the attorney of a parent, or against 
the parent, if the parent’s complaint 
or subsequent cause of action 
was presented for any improper 
purpose, such as to harass, to cause 
unnecessary delay, or to needlessly 
increase the cost of litigation.
   (b) 
Any action for attorney fees shall be 
filed within 30 days of the receipt of 
the last administrative decision.
   (c) 
Opportunity to resolve due process 
complaints.  A meeting conducted 
pursuant to Subparagraph (a) of 
Paragraph (8) of Subsection I of 
6.31.2.13 NMAC shall not be 
considered:
    (i) 
a meeting convened as a result of 
an administrative hearing or judicial 
action; or
                (ii) 
an administrative hearing or judicial 
action for purposes of this paragraph.
   (d) 
Hearing officers are not authorized to 
award attorney fees.
   (e) 
Attorney fees are not recoverable 
for actions or proceedings involving 
[services to gifted children or other] 
claims based solely on state law.

  (25) Child’s 
status during proceedings.
   (a) 
Except as provided in 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.533 and Paragraph (4) of 
Subsection I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC, 
and unless the public agency and 
the parents of the child agree 
otherwise, during the pendency 
of any administrative or judicial 
proceeding regarding an IDEA 
due process request, the child 
involved shall remain in his or her 
current educational placement.  
Disagreements over the identification 
of the current educational placement 
which the parties cannot resolve by 
agreement shall be resolved by the 
hearing officer as necessary.
   (b) 
If the case involves an application 
for initial admission to public school, 
the child, with the consent of the 
parents, shall be placed in the public 
school until the completion of all the 
proceedings.
   (c) 
If a hearing officer agrees with 
the child’s parents that a change 
of placement is appropriate, that 
placement shall be treated as an 
agreement between the public agency 
and the parents for purposes of 
Subparagraph (a) of this paragraph.
 J. Surrogate parents 
and foster parents.
  (1) Each 
public agency shall ensure that a 
qualified surrogate parent is appointed 
in compliance with 34 CFR Sec. 
300.519 when needed to protect the 
rights of a child with a disability 
who is within the public agency’s 
educational jurisdiction.  A surrogate 
parent need not be appointed if a 
person who qualifies as a parent under 
34 CFR Sec. 300.30(b) and Paragraph 
(13) of Subsection B of 6.31.2.7 
NMAC can be identified.
  (2) A foster 
parent who meets all requirements of 
34 CFR Sec. 300.30 may be treated 
as the child’s parent pursuant to 
that rule.  A foster parent who does 
not meet those requirements but 
meets all requirements of 34 CFR 
Sec. 300.519 may be appointed as a 
surrogate parent if the public agency 
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that is responsible for the appointment 
deems such action appropriate.
  (3) Pursuant 
to 34 CFR Sec. 300.519, a surrogate 
parent may represent the child in all 
matters relating to the identification, 
evaluation, and educational placement 
of the child and the provision of 
FAPE to the child.
 K. Transfer of parental 
rights to students at age 18.
  (1) Pursuant 
to Secs. 12-2A-3 and 28-6-1 NMSA 
1978, a person’s age of majority 
begins on the first instant of his or 
her 18th birthday and a person who 
has reached the age of majority is an 
adult for all purposes not otherwise 
limited by state law.  A guardianship 
proceeding under the probate code 
is the only way an adult in New 
Mexico can legally be determined 
to be incompetent and have the right 
to make his or her own decisions 
taken away.  Public agencies and 
their IEP teams are not empowered 
to make such determinations under 
New Mexico law.  Accordingly, 
pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.520, 
when a child with a disability reaches 
age 18 and does not have a court-
appointed general guardian, limited 
guardian, or other person who has 
been authorized by a court to make 
educational decisions on the student’s 
behalf or who has not signed a power 
of attorney as provided under New 
Mexico law:
   (a) 
a public agency shall provide any 
notices required by 34 CFR Part 300 
to the child and the parents;
   (b) 
all other rights accorded to parents 
under Part B of IDEA, New Mexico 
law, or department rules and standards 
transfer to the child; and
   (c) 
the public agency shall notify the 
individual and the parents of the 
transfer of rights.
  (2) Pursuant to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.320(c), each annual 
IEP review for a child who is age 14 
or older shall include a discussion of 
the rights that will transfer when the 
child turns age 18 and, as appropriate, 
a discussion of the parents’ plans 

for obtaining a guardian before that 
time.  The IEP of a child who is age 
14 or older shall include a statement 
that the child and the parent have 
been informed of the rights that will 
transfer to the child at age 18.
 L. Confidentiality of 
information.
  (1) 
Confidentiality requirements.  Each 
public agency collecting, using, 
or maintaining any personally 
identifiable information on children 
under Part B of IDEA shall comply 
with all applicable requirements of 34 
CFR Secs. 300.610 through 300.626, 
and the federal Family Educational 
Rights and Privacy Act, 34 CFR Part 
99.
  (2) Parental 
rights to inspect, review, and 
request amendment of education 
records.  Each public agency shall 
permit parents or their authorized 
representatives to inspect and 
review any education records 
relating to their children that are 
collected, maintained, or used by 
the public agency under Part B of 
IDEA pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 
300.613.  A parent who believes that 
information in the education records 
is inaccurate or misleading or violates 
the privacy or other rights of the 
child may request the public agency 
that maintains the information to 
amend the information pursuant to 
34 CFR Sec. 300.618 and shall have 
the opportunity for a hearing on that 
request pursuant to 34 CFR Secs. 
300.619 through300.621 and 99.22.
  (3) Transfer of 
student records.
   (a) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 99.31(a)
(2), an educational agency may 
transfer child records without parental 
consent when requested by another 
educational agency in which a child 
seeks or intends to enroll as long 
as the sending educational agency 
has included the proper notification 
that it will do so in its required 
annual FERPA notice to children and 
parents.  In view of the importance 
of uninterrupted educational services 
to children with disabilities, each 
New Mexico public agency is hereby 

directed to include such language 
in its annual FERPA notice and to 
ensure that it promptly honors each 
proper request for records from an 
educational agency that has become 
responsible for serving a child with a 
disability.
   (b) 
State-supported educational programs 
and the educational programs 
of juvenile or adult detention or 
correctional facilities are educational 
agencies for purposes of the Family 
Educational Rights and Privacy Act 
(FERPA) and are entitled to request 
and receive educational records 
on children with disabilities on the 
same basis as local school districts.  
Public agencies shall promptly honor 
requests for records to assist such 
programs in providing appropriate 
services to children within their 
educational jurisdiction.
   (c) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 99.34(b), an 
educational agency that is authorized 
to transfer student records to another 
educational agency without parental 
consent under Sec. 99.31(a)(2) may 
properly transfer to the receiving 
educational agency all educational 
records the sending educational 
agency maintains on a child, 
including medical, psychological and 
other types of diagnostic and service 
information which the educational 
agency obtained from outside sources 
and used in making or implementing 
educational programming decisions 
for the child.
   (d) 
Pursuant to Paragraph (3) of 
Subsection E of 6.29.1.9 NMAC, 34 
CFR Sec. 300.229 and the federal 
Elementary and Secondary Education 
Act of 1965 at 20 USC 7221(g), 
any transfer of educational records 
to a private or public elementary or 
secondary school in which a child 
with disabilities seeks, intends, or is 
instructed to enroll shall include the 
following:
    (i) 
transcripts and copies of all pertinent 
records as normally transferred for all 
students;
                (ii) 
the child’s current individualized 
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education program with all 
supporting documentation, including 
the most recent multidisciplinary 
evaluations and any related medical, 
psychological, or other diagnostic 
or service information that was 
consulted in developing the IEP; and
               (iii) 
disciplinary records with respect to 
current or previous suspensions or 
expulsions of the child.
  (4) Parental 
refusals of consent for release of 
information.  If parental consent 
is required for a particular release 
of information regarding a child 
with a disability and the parent 
refuses consent, the sending or 
receiving public agency may use 
the impartial due process hearing 
procedures specified in Subsection 
I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC to determine 
if the information may be released 
without parental consent.  If the 
hearing officer determines that the 
proposed release of information is 
reasonably necessary to enable one or 
more public agencies to fulfill their 
educational responsibilities toward 
the child, the information may be 
released without the parent’s consent.  
The hearing officer’s decision in such 
a case shall be final and not subject to 
further administrative review.
  (5) 
Destruction of information.
   (a) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.624, 
each public agency shall inform 
parents when personally identifiable 
information collected, maintained, 
or used under 34 CFR Part 300 is no 
longer needed to provide educational 
services to the child.  As at other 
times, the parents shall have the right 
to inspect and review all educational 
records pertaining to their child 
pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.613.  
The information shall be destroyed at 
the request of the parents or, at their 
option, the records shall be given to 
the parents.  When informing parents 
about their rights to destruction of 
personally identifiable records under 
these rules, the public agency should 
advise them that the records may be 
needed by the child or the parents 
for social security benefits and other 
purposes.

   (b) 
If the parents do not request the 
destruction of personally identifiable 
information about their children, 
the public agency may retain that 
information permanently.  In either 
event, a permanent record of a 
student’s name, address, phone 
number, grades, attendance record, 
classes attended, grade level 
completed, and year completed may 
be maintained without time limitation.  
Additional information that is not 
related to the student’s IDEA services 
may be maintained if allowed under 
34 CFR Part 99.
  (6) 
Educational records retention and 
disposition schedules.
   (a) 
Definitions as used in this paragraph:
                 (i) 
“destruction” means physical 
destruction or removal of personal 
identifiers from educational records 
so that the information is no longer 
personally identifiable; and
                (ii) 
“educational records” means the 
type of records covered under the 
definition of “educational records” 
in 34 CFR Part 99 of the regulations 
implementing the Family Educational 
Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 
USC 1232g (FERPA).
   (b) 
Pursuant to 1.20.2.102 NMAC, the 
public agency shall notify the parents 
that the public agency shall retain 
specific information for five years to 
include:
    (i) 
most recent IEP;
                (ii) 
most recent 2 years of child progress 
reports or referral form;
               (iii) 
related services reports;
               (iv) 
summary of academic achievement 
and functional performance;
                (v) 
parent communication;
               (vi) 
public agency community action;
              (vii) 
writing sample; and

            (viii) 
staff reports on behavior.
   (c) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.624 
and Paragraph (5) of this subsection, 
federal rules and department rules 
require public agencies to inform 
parents of proposed destruction of 
special education records.
   (d) 
Pursuant to 34 CFR Sec. 300.624, the 
information shall be destroyed at the 
request of the parents.  However, a 
permanent record of a child’s name, 
address, phone number, his or her 
grades, attendance record, classes 
attended, grade level completed, and 
year completed may be maintained 
without time limit.  Notice of 
destruction of child records shall 
include:
                 (i) 
informing parents at the last IEP 
meeting of personally identifiable 
information that is no longer needed 
to provide special education and 
related service and information that 
shall be retained according to the 
state for five years under 1.20.1.102 
NMAC;
               (ii) 
documentation at the last IEP 
meeting and prior written notice of 
the information that is required to be 
maintained indefinitely;
               (iii) 
documentation at the last IEP meeting 
and the prior written notice that 
the parent accepted or rejected the 
proposed action to maintain records;
               (iv) 
if the parent requests that the public 
agency destroy information not 
required indefinitely, the public 
agency shall maintain the last IEP 
and prior written notice that states the 
parent required the public agency to 
destroy allowable information that 
shall be maintained for five years; and
                (v) 
the public agency shall inform the 
parents of the proposed date of 
destruction of records at the last IEP 
meeting and document on the prior 
written notice of action the proposed 
date of destruction of records.
 M. Computation of 
time.
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  (1) In 
computing any period of time 
prescribed or allowed by 6.31.2.13 
NMAC, the day of the act, event, or 
default from which the designated 
period of time begins to run shall 
not be included.  The last day of the 
period so computed shall be included 
unless it is a Saturday, a Sunday, or 
a legal holiday in which case the last 
day shall be the next business day.  
As used in this rule, “legal holiday” 
includes any day designated as a state 
holiday.
  (2) 
Notwithstanding Paragraph (1) of 
this subsection, if the due date of a 
decision referenced in Subsection 
H of 6.31.2.13 NMAC falls on a 
Saturday, a Sunday, or a legal holiday, 
the decision will be due on the 
previous business day.
  (3) 
Notwithstanding Paragraph (1) of 
this subsection, if the due date of a 
decision referenced in Subsection 
I of 6.31.2.13 NMAC falls on 
a Saturday, a Sunday, or a legal 
holiday, the decision shall be mailed 
no later than the actual due date.  A 
decision is considered “mailed” when 
addressed, stamped, and placed in a 
United States postal service mailbox.  
If a parent exercises the option of 
receiving the decision electronically, 
the decision is “mailed” when 
transmitted electronically.
[6.31.2.13 NMAC - Rp, 6.31.2.13 
NMAC, 7/14/2020; A, 7/1/2023; A, 
7/31/2023]
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
SIGNED LANGUAGE 

INTERPRETING PRACTICES 
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.28.2 
NMAC, Section 9 effective 
7/31/2023.

16.28.2.9 CONTINUING 
EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:
 A. [Community 
or educational signed language 
interpreters are required to 

comply with the RID certification 
maintenance program (CMP) 
requirements, regardless of their 
certifying body.] RID certified 
interpreters shall submit [a copy of 
their current RID membership card 
or verification letter from the RID 
member portal showing current 
certified membership status] proof 
of current RID certified member 
status documenting compliance 
with the requirements of the CMP 
which requires eight RID-approved 
continuing education units (CEUs) 
80 contact hours per four-year CMP 
cycle.  Should RID change its number 
of CEUs required an interpreter must 
comply with the new requirement in 
order to maintain licensure in New 
Mexico.  BEI certified interpreters 
[and educational] shall submit BEI 
transcripts showing four CEUs (40 
hours) of continuing education at each 
biennial renewal.  Educational signed 
language [interpreter] interpreters 
meeting the criteria in Subsection D 
of 16.28.3.11 NMAC but not holding 
the ED:K-12 credential must submit 
associate continuing education 
tracking (ACET) transcripts showing 
four [CEU’s] CEUs (40 hours) of 
continuing education at each biennial 
renewal.
 B. Provisional license: 
two CEUs (20 hours) of continuing 
education annually documented on 
the applicant’s associate continuing 
education tracking (ACET) transcript 
from RID.  Interpreting students 
should be aware that they need to 
become associate members of RID 
before the end of March in their year 
of graduation for CEU’s earned prior 
to July 1st to be tracked on their 
ACET transcripts.
 C. Provisional 
licensees who are within their first 
year may provide certificates of 
completion to the board office if the 
approved CEUs are not on ACET 
transcripts.
[16.28.2.9 NMAC - N, 07/21/2009; 
A, 08/18/2011; A, 01/15/2014; 
A, 12/16/2015; A, 6/18/2017; 
A, 3/27/2021; A, 02/26/2022, A, 
7/31/2023]
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
SIGNED LANGUAGE 

INTERPRETING PRACTICES 
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.28.3 
NMAC, Section 11 effective 
7/31/2023.

16.28.3.11 APPLICATION 
FOR LICENSURE:
 A. An application for 
any license to be issued or renewed by 
the board shall be made on the official 
form provided by the board for that 
purpose.
 B. All applications for 
licensure must include:
  (1) a 
completed and signed application;
  (2) applicant 
name;
  (3) proof 
of age indicating applicant is at 
least eighteen years of age (copy 
of birth certificate, driver’s license, 
state issued identification card, or 
baptismal certificate);
  (4) mailing 
address;
  (5) business 
address;
  (6) phone 
number;
  (7) non-
refundable application fee as required 
by the board;
  (8) 
photograph: applicants for original 
licensure shall attach a recent color 
photograph, front-view of face.
 C. An application 
for a community signed language 
interpreter license must also include:
  [(1) a copy 
of the applicant’s current RID 
membership card or
  (2) verification 
letter from the RID member portal 
showing that the applicant holds one 
or more certifications recognized 
by RID at the time of application 
for licensure with the exception of 
educational certificate: K-12 (ED-K-
12); or
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  (3) a copy 
of the applicant’s current BEI 
card showing one of the following 
certifications:
   (a) 
BEI Advanced;
   (b) 
BEI Master;
   (c) 
BEI IV;
   (d) 
BEI V;
   (e) 
BEI Level IV Intermediary;
   (f) 
BEI Level V Intermediary and.
  (4) a copy 
of the applicant’s current RID 
membership card or verification 
letter from the RID member portal 
showing that the applicant is an 
associate member for purposes 
of tracking continuing education 
units (CEU) requirements through 
the associate continuing education 
tracking (ACET) program as outlined 
in Subsection A of 16.28.2.9 NMAC.
 D. An application 
for an educational signed language 
interpreter license must also include: 
proof of educational interpreter 
performance assessment (EIPA) 
rating of 4.0 - 5.0 and a copy of the 
applicant’s current RID membership 
card or verification letter from the 
RID member portal showing that 
the applicant holds the ED: K-12 
certified member status by virtue 
of EIPA rating; or a copy of the 
applicant’s current RID membership 
card or verification letter from the 
RID member portal showing that 
the applicant holds one or more 
certifications currently recognized 
by RID, or proof of an educational 
interpreter performance assessment 
(EIPA) rating of 4.0 - 5.0, proof of 
passing the EIPA Written test, proof 
of satisfying the RID educational 
requirements, and a copy of the 
applicant’s current RID membership 
card or verification letter from the 
RID member portal showing associate 
membership status.
 E. An application 
for a provisional signed language 
interpreter license must also include: 
proof of completion of an interpreter 

education program or interpreter 
preparation program at an accredited 
institution; or proof of employment 
as a community signed language 
interpreter or an educational signed 
language interpreter at the time 
the act became effective (June 15, 
2007) and after the applicant reached 
the age of (18); and a copy of the 
applicant’s current RID membership 
card or verification letter from the 
RID member portal showing that 
the applicant is an associate member 
for purposes of tracking continuing 
education units (CEU) requirements 
through the associate continuing 
education tracking (ACET) program 
as outlined in Subsection  B of 
16.28.2.9 NMAC.  In lieu of proof of 
completion of an interpreter training 
program, deaf applicants may submit 
proof of satisfying the training 
requirement established by RID to 
take the certified deaf interpreter 
(CDI) written exam. If the applicant 
provides proof of completion of an 
interpreter education program or 
interpreter preparation program more 
than one year prior to their application 
for a provisional license, they 
must also submit a résumé and one 
professional letter of reference from 
an employer, internship supervisor, 
mentorship director, graduate 
school, or other applicable source 
documenting continued involvement 
in interpreting or the deaf community 
since the time of completion of the 
program.
 F. If an applicant 
submits an incomplete license 
application they will be requested to 
submit any missing documentation; 
failure to do so within six months 
of receipt of the original application 
will result in the application file 
being closed.  After the file has been 
closed, the applicant will be required 
to submit a new application and 
application fee to apply again.
 G. “Electronic 
Applications” In accordance with 
Section 14-16-1 thru 14-16-21 NMSA 
1978 of the Uniform Electronic 
Transactions Act, the board or its 
designee will accept electronic 
applications.
  (1) Any 

person seeking a New Mexico signed 
language interpreting license may 
do so by submitting an electronic 
application.  Applicants are required 
to also submit all required information 
as stated in 16.28.3.11 NMAC.
  (2) Any 
licensee may renew their license 
electronically through a designated 
website provided by the board.  All 
license holders renewing their signed 
language interpreting license are also 
required to submit all documentation 
as stated in 16.28.3.17 NMAC.
  (3) Any person 
whose license has been expired may 
apply electronically to the board for 
renewal of the license at any time 
within 60 days of the expiration. 
Any persons seeking renewal are 
also required to submit all supporting 
documents as stated in 16.28.3.17 
NMAC.
  (4) Any 
person whose license has been lapsed 
may apply electronically to the board 
for reinstatement of the license at 
any time.  Any persons seeking 
reinstatement are also required to 
submit all supporting documents as 
stated in 16.28.3.17 NMAC.
 H. “Electronic 
Signatures” Electronic signatures 
will be acceptable for applications 
submitted pursuant to Sections 14-16-
1 through 14-16-19 NMSA 1978.
 I. “Administrative 
Errors” In the event that a 
community or educational license is 
issued due to an administrative error, 
and if the Interpreter is qualified for a 
provisional license, the permitted five 
years for the provisional license shall 
began at the time of the issuance of 
the erroneously issued license.]
  (1) proof of 
current RID certified status showing 
that the applicant holds one or more 
certifications recognized by RID at 
the time of application for licensure 
with the exception of education 
certificates: K-12 (ED K-12); or
  (2) a copy 
of the applicant’s current BEI 
card showing one of the following 
certifications:
   (a) 
BEI Advanced;
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   (b) 
BEI Master;
   (c) 
BEI IV;
   (d) 
BEI V;
   (e) 
BEI Level IV Intermediary;
   (f) 
BEI Level V Intermediary and.
 D. An applicant 
for educational signed language 
interpreter license must include:
  (1) proof of 
educational interpreter performance 
assessment (EIPA) rating 4.0 - 5.0; 
and
  (2) proof of 
current RID certified member status 
showing that applicant holds the 
ED: K-12 certified member status by 
virtue of EIPA rating; or
  (3) proof 
of current RID certified member 
status showing that applicant holds 
one or more certifications currently 
recognized by RID; or
  (4) proof of an 
educational interpreter performance 
assessment (EIPA) rating 4.0 – 5.0, 
proof of passing the EIPA written 
test, proof of satisfying the RID 
educational requirements, and proof 
of current RID associate member 
status.
 E. An application 
for a provisional signed language 
interpreters license must include:
  (1) proof of 
completion of an interpreter education 
program or interpreter preparation 
program at an accredited institution; 
or
  (2) proof of 
employment as a community signed 
language interpreter or an educational 
signed language interpreter at the time 
the act became effective (June 15, 
2007) and after the applicant reached 
the age of 18; and
  (3) proof of 
current RID associate member status 
for the purpose of tracking continuing 
education units (CEU) requirements 
through the associate continuing 
education tracking (ACET) program 
as outlined in Subsection B of 
16.28.2.9 NMAC.

  (4) in lieu of 
proof of completion of an interpreter 
training program, deaf applicants may 
submit proof of having completed at 
least 40 hours of training in topics 
such as fundamentals of interpreting, 
ethics and cultural responsiveness, 
and the NAD-RID Code of 
Professional Conduct.
  (5) if 
the applicant provides proof of 
completion of an interpreter education 
program or interpreter preparation 
program more than three years prior 
to their application for a provisional 
license, they must also submit a 
resume and one professional letter 
of reference from an employer, 
internship supervisor, mentorship 
director, graduate school, or other 
applicable source documenting 
continued involvement in interpreting 
or the deaf community since the time 
of completion of the program.
 F. If an applicant 
submits an incomplete license 
application they will be requested to 
submit any missing documentation; 
failure to do so within six months 
of receipt of the original application 
will result in the application file 
being closed.  After the file has been 
closed, the applicant will be required 
to submit a new application and 
application fee to apply again.
 G. “Electronic 
Applications” In accordance with 
Section 14-16-1 thru 14-16-21 NMSA 
1978 of the Uniform Electronic 
Transactions Act, the board or its 
designee will accept electronic 
applications.
  (1) Any 
person seeking a New Mexico signed 
language interpreting license may 
do so by submitting an electronic 
application.  Applicants are required 
to also submit all required information 
as stated in 16.28.3.11 NMAC.
  (2) Any 
licensee may renew their license 
electronically through a designated 
website provided by the board.  All 
license holders renewing their signed 
language interpreting license are also 
required to submit all documentation 
as stated in 16.28.3.17 NMAC.
  (3) Any person 

whose license has been expired may 
apply electronically to the board for 
renewal of the license at any time 
within 60 days of the expiration. 
Any persons seeking renewal are 
also required to submit all supporting 
documents as stated in 16.28.3.17 
NMAC.
  (4) Any 
person whose license has been lapsed 
may apply electronically to the board 
for reinstatement of the license at 
any time.  Any persons seeking 
reinstatement are also required to 
submit all supporting documents as 
stated in 16.28.3.17 NMAC.
 H. “Electronic 
Signatures” Electronic signatures 
will be acceptable for applications 
submitted pursuant to Sections 14-16-
1 through 14-16-19 NMSA 1978.
 I. “Administrative 
Errors” In the event that a community 
or educational license is issued 
due to an administrative error, and 
if the Interpreter is qualified for a 
provisional license, the permitted five 
years for the provisional license shall 
began at the time of the issuance of 
the erroneously issued license.
[16.28.3.11 NMAC - N, 07/21/2009; 
A, 08/18/2011; A, 01/15/2014; 
A, 12/16/2015; A, 6/18/2017; A, 
3/27/2021, A, 7/31/2023]
______________________________

REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
SIGNED LANGUAGE 

INTERPRETING PRACTICES 
BOARD

This is an amendment to 16.28.7 
NMAC, Section 7, 8, 9 and 10 
effective 7/31//2023.

16.28.7.7 DEFINITIONS:
 A. “License” means 
a license, registration, certificate of 
registration, certificate, permit or 
certification.
 B. “Licensing fee” 
means a fee charged at the time an 
application for a professional or 
occupational license is submitted to 
the state agency, board or commission 
and any fee for the processing of 
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an application for such license; 
“licensing fee’ does not include 
a fee for an annual inspection or 
examination of a licensee or a fee 
charged for copies of documents, 
replacement license or other 
expenses related to a professional or 
occupational license.
 C. “Military service 
member”: means a person who is:
  (1) serving 
in the armed forces of the United 
States as an active duty member or 
in an active reserve component of 
the armed forces of the United States 
including the national guard, or 
surviving spouse of a member who at 
the time of the member’s death was 
serving on active duty; or
  (2) the spouse 
of a person who is serving in the 
armed forces of the United State or 
in an active reserve component of the 
armed forces of the United States, 
including the national guard, or a 
surviving spouse of a member who at 
the time of the member’s death was 
serving on active duty; or
  (3) the child 
of a person who is serving in the 
armed forces of the United States 
as an active duty member, or in an 
active reserve component of the 
armed forces of the United States, 
including the national guard; provided 
that the child is also a dependent of 
that person for federal income tax 
purposes; and
 D. [(4)] “Veteran” 
means a person who has received an 
honorable discharge or separation 
from military service.
 [D. “Substantially 
equivalent” means the determination 
by the board that the education, 
examination, and experience 
requirements contained in the statutes 
and rules of another jurisdiction 
are comparable to, or exceed 
the education, examination, and 
experience requirements of the Signed 
Language Interpreting Practices Act 
Sections 61-34-1 through -17 NMSA 
1978.]
[16.28.7.7 NMAC - N, 1/15/2014; A, 
3/2/2022, A, 7/31//2023]

16.28.7.8 APPLICATION 
REQUIREMENTS:
 A. Applications for 
registration shall be completed on a 
form provided by the board.
 B. The completed 
application shall include the following 
information:
  (1) applicant’s 
full name;
  (2) current 
mailing address;
  (3) current 
electronic mail address, if any;
  (4) date of 
birth;
  (5) 
background check if required; and
  (6) proof as 
described in subsection C below.
 C. The applicant shall 
provide the following satisfactory 
evidence:
  (1) applicant 
is currently licensed and in good 
standing in another jurisdiction, 
including a branch of the United 
States armed forces;
  (2) [applicant 
has met the minimal licensing 
requirements in that jurisdiction and 
the minimal licensing requirements 
in that jurisdiction are substantially 
equivalent to the licensing 
requirements for New Mexico;
  (3)] the following 
documentation:
   (a) 
a copy of military orders for military 
service members;
   (b) 
a copy of military service member’s 
military orders and a copy of marriage 
license for spouses of military service 
members;
   (c) 
for spouses of deceased military 
members: a copy of the decedent’s 
DD 214 and a copy of marriage 
license;
   (d) 
for dependent children of military 
service members: a copy of military 
service member’s orders listing the 
dependent child, or a copy of military 
orders and one of the following: a 
copy of a birth certificate, military 
service member’s federal income 

tax return or other governmental or 
judicial documentation establishing 
dependency;
   (e) 
for veterans (retired or separated): 
a copy of DD 214 showing proof of 
honorable discharge.
 D. The license shall 
be issued by the board as soon as 
is practicable but no later than 30 
days after a qualified military service 
member, spouse, dependent child, or 
veteran files a complete application 
and pays any required fees.
 E. Military service 
members and veterans shall not pay, 
and the board shall not charge a 
licensing fee for the first three years 
for a license issued pursuant to this 
rule.
 F. A license issued 
pursuant to this rule shall be valid 
for the time period that is specified 
in the Signed Language Interpreting 
Practices Act, Sections 61-34-1 to -17 
NMSA 1978.
 G. A license issued 
pursuant to this section shall not be 
renewed unless the license holder 
satisfies the requirements for renewal 
set forth in 16.28.7.11 NMAC , 
Section 61-34-10 NMSA 1978.  As 
a courtesy, the board will send, via 
electronic mail, license renewal 
notifications to licensees or registrants 
before the license expiration date to 
the last known electronic mail address 
on file with the board. Failure to 
receive the renewal notification shall 
not relieve the licensee or registrant 
of the responsibility of timely renewal 
on or before the expiration date.
 H. Electronic 
signatures will be acceptable for 
applications submitted pursuant to 
Sections 14-16-1 through -19 NMSA 
1978.
[16.28.7.8 NMAC - N, 1/15/2014; A, 
3/2/2022, A, 7/31//2023]

16.28.7.9 FEES:
 [A. The fee for 
application for community and 
educational license is $65.00.
 B. The fee for 
application for provisional license is 
$40.00.
 C. The fee for renewal 
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of community and educational license 
is $50.00.
 D. The fee for 
compliance review of provisional 
license is $25.00.]
 A. The fee for renewal 
of community and educational license 
is $50.00.
 B. The fee for 
compliance review of provisional 
license is $25.00.
[16.28.7.9 NMAC - N, 1/15/2014, A, 
7/31//2023]

16.28.7.10 RENEWAL 
REQUIREMENTS:
 A. A license issued 
pursuant to this section shall not be 
renewed unless the license holder 
satisfies the requirements for the 
issuance and for the renewal of 
a license pursuant to Chapter 61, 
Articles 2 through 34 NMSA 1978.
  [(1) an 
application for a community signed 
language interpreter license must also 
include: a copy of the applicant’s 
current registry of interpreters for 
the deaf (RID) membership card or 
verification letter from the registry of 
interpreters for the deaf RID member 
portal showing that the applicant 
holds one or more certifications 
recognized by the RID at the time 
of application for licensure with the 
exception of educational certificate: 
K-12 (ED: K-12); or
  (2) a copy 
of the applicant’s current BEI 
card showing one of the following 
certifications:
   (a) 
BEI Advanced.
   (b) 
BEI Master.
   (c) 
BEI IV.
   (d) 
BEI V.
   (e) 
BEI Level IV Intermediary.
   (f) 
BEI Level V Intermediary.
  (3) and a 
copy of the applicant’s current RID 
membership card or verification 
letter from the RID member portal 
showing that the applicant is an 

associate member for purposes 
of tracking continuing education 
units (CEU) requirements through 
the associate continuing education 
tracking (ACET) program as outlined 
in Subsection A of 16.28.2.9 NMAC;
  (4) an 
application for an educational signed 
language interpreter license must 
also include: proof of educational 
interpreters performance assessment 
(EIPA) rating of 4.0 - 5.0 and a copy 
of the applicant’s current registry 
of interpreters for the deaf RID 
membership card or verification 
letter from the RID member portal 
showing that the applicant holds the 
ED: K-12 certified member status by 
virtue of EIPA rating; or a copy of the 
applicant’s current RID membership 
card or verification letter from the 
registry of interpreters for the deaf 
RID member portal showing that 
the applicant holds one or more 
certifications currently recognized by 
the registry of interpreters for the deaf 
RID, or has passed the educational 
interpreter performance assessment 
(EIPA) with a score of 4.0 - 5.0, has 
passed the EIPA written test, and is an 
associate member of RID;
  (5) an 
application for a provisional signed 
language interpreter license must 
also include: proof of completion of 
an interpreter education program or 
interpreter preparation program at 
an accredited institution; or proof of 
employment as a community signed 
language interpreter or an educational 
signed language interpreter at the 
time the act became effective (June 
15, 2007) and after the applicant 
reached the age of 18; and a copy 
of the applicant’s current registry 
of interpreters for the deaf RID 
membership card or verification letter 
from the registry of interpreters for 
the deaf RID member portal showing 
that the applicant is an associate 
member (for purposes of tracking 
continuing education units CEU 
requirements through the associate 
continuing education tracking 
(ACET) program as outlined in 
Subsection B of 16.28.2.9 NMAC.  
If the applicant provides proof of 
completion of an interpreter education 

program or interpreter preparation 
program more than one year prior 
to their application for a provisional 
license, they must also submit a 
résumé and one professional letter 
of reference from an employer, 
internship supervisor, mentorship 
director, graduate school, or other 
applicable source documenting 
continued involvement in interpreting 
or the deaf community since the time 
of completion of the program.
 B. Original and 
renewed community and educational 
license shall be valid for a period of 
two years.
 C. Original and 
completed compliance reviewed 
provisional license shall be valid for 
a period of one year, not to exceed 
four consecutive annual compliance 
review cycles.
 D. Prior to the 
expiration of the license, all licensed 
interpreters shall apply for license 
renewal and shall pay the renewal fee 
as set forth in 16.28.6.9 NMAC.]
 B. A renewal 
application for a community signed 
language interpreter license must 
include:
  (1) proof of 
current registry of interpreters for the 
deaf (RID) certified member status 
showing that the licensee holds one or 
more certifications recognized by the 
RID at the time of renewal with the 
exception of educational certification 
K-12 (ED: K-12); or
  (2)  a copy 
of the applicant’s current BEI 
card showing one of the following 
certifications:
   (a) 
BEI Advanced;
   (b) 
BEI Master;
   (c) 
BEI IV;
   (d) 
BEI V;
   (e) 
BEI Level IV Intermediary; or
   (f) 
BEI Level V Intermediary.
 C. A renewal 
application for an educational signed 
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language interpreter license must 
include:
  (1) proof of 
educational interpreters performance 
assessment (EIPA) rating 4.0-5.0: and 
  (2) Proof of 
current RID certified member status 
showing that the licensee holds the 
ED: K-12 certified member status by 
virtue of EIPA rating; or
  (3) proof 
of current RID certified member 
status showing that the applicant 
hold one or more certifications 
currently recognized by the registry of 
interpreters for the deaf (RID); or
  (4) proof of an 
educational interpreter performance 
assessment (EIPA) rating of 4.0 - 5.0, 
proof of passing the EIPA written 
test, proof of satisfying the RID 
educational requirements, and proof 
of current RID associate member 
status.
 D. A renewal 
application for a provisional signed 
language interpreters include:
  (1) proof of 
completion of an interpreter education 
program or interpreter preparation 
program in an accredited institution: 
or
  (2) proof of 
employment as a community signed 
language interpreter or an educational 
signed language interpreter at the time 
of the act became effective (June 15, 
2007) and after the applicant reached 
the age of 18; and
  (3) proof of 
current registry of interpreters for the 
deaf (RID) associate member status 
for the purpose of tracking continuing 
education units (CEU) requirements 
through the associate continuing 
education tracking (ACET) program 
as outlined in Subsection B of 
16.28.2.9 NMAC;
  (4) in lieu of 
completion of an interpreter training 
program deaf applicant may complete 
proof of having completed at least 40 
hours of training in topics such as the 
fundamentals of interpreting, ethics 
and cultural responsiveness, and 
the NAD-RID Code of Professional 
Conduct;
  (5) if 

the applicant provides proof of 
completion of an interpreter education 
program or an interpreters preparation 
program more than three years prior 
to their application for provisional 
license, they must also submit a 
resume and one professional letter 
of reference from an employer, 
internship supervisor, mentorship 
director, graduate school, or other 
applicable source documenting 
continued involvement in interpreting 
or the deaf community since the time 
of completion of the program.
 E. Original and 
renewed community and educational 
license shall be valid for a period of 
two years.
 F. Original and 
completed compliance reviewed 
provisional license shall be valid for 
a period of one year, not to exceed 
four consecutive annual compliance 
review cycles.
 G. Prior to the 
expiration of the license, all licensed 
interpreters shall apply for license 
renewal and shall pay the renewal fee 
as set forth in 16.28.6.9 NMAC.
[16.28.7.10 NMAC - N, 01/15/2014; 
A, 12/16/15; A, 6/18/2017; A, 
3/27/2021, A, 7/31//2023]
______________________________

SPACEPORT 
AUTHORITY

TITLE 18 
TRANSPORTATION AND 
HIGHWAYS
CHAPTER 61 SPACEPORTS
PART 3   SPACEPORT 
AUTHORITY BOARD OF 
DIRECTORS BYLAWS

18.61.3.1 ISSUING 
AGENCY: New Mexico Spaceport 
Authority.
[18.61.3.1 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.2 SCOPE: This rule 
applies to the New Mexico spaceport 
authority and members of the board 
of directors of the New Mexico 
spaceport authority.
[18.61.3.2 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.3 STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY: Section 58-31-5, 
NMSA 1978.
[18.61.3.3 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.4 DURATION: 
Permanent.
[18.61.3.4 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.5 EFFECTIVE 
DATE: July 31, 2023.
[18.61.3.5 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.6 OBJECTIVE: The 
objective of this rule is to codify the 
bylaws that govern the conduct of the 
board of directors of the New Mexico 
spaceport authority.
[18.61.3.6 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.7 DEFINITIONS:
 A. “The authority”, 
or New Mexico spaceport authority, 
means a state agency created by 
the Spaceport Development Act 
and administratively attached to the 
economic development department 
in accordance with Section 9-1-7 
NMSA 1978 and charged with the 
responsibility of carrying out the 
day-to-day business of the agency. 
The authority is also known as “the 
agency” in business relations with 
its partners, customers and other 
governmental entities as an executive 
agency of the state of New Mexico.
 B. “The board” 
means the board of directors, the 
entity created by Section 58-31-
4, NMSA 1978 comprised of nine 
members, among whom is the 
executive director who runs the 
agency. The board is responsible for 
making and implementing all rules 
and regulations necessary for the 
efficient administration of Spaceport 
America.
 C. “Spaceport 
America” is the trademarked identity 
of a commercial spaceport business 
operated, managed and maintained by 
the authority in Sierra county, New 
Mexico, located on state trust land 
pursuant to Business Lease No. BL-
1729, effective January 1, 2007.
 D. “Spaceport” means 
the physical property in Sierra county 
New Mexico, comprising 18,461.45 
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acres and the facilities, infrastructure, 
access roads and other improvements 
located thereon.
[18.61.3.7 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.8 TITLE: These 
rules shall be known as the “Bylaws 
of the Board of Directors of the 
New Mexico Spaceport Authority,” 
hereinafter referred to as the 
“bylaws.”
[18.61.3.8 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.9 THE 
AUTHORITY:
 A. Spaceport 
Development Act. The New Mexico 
spaceport authority (the authority) is 
a New Mexico state agency organized 
under the provisions of the Spaceport 
Development Act, Sections 58-31-1, 
et seq. NMSA 1978.
 B. Governance. The 
authority is governed by seven voting 
and two nonvoting members of the 
board of directors (the “board”).  
The board shall make all rules 
and regulations necessary for the 
administration of Spaceport America.
 C. Purpose. 
The authority shall implement 
the purposes of the Spaceport 
Development Act:
  (1) encourage 
and foster development of the 
state and its cities and counties by 
developing
spaceport facilities in New Mexico;
  (2) actively 
promote and assist public and private 
sector infrastructure development to 
attract new industries and businesses, 
thereby creating new job opportunities 
in the state;
  (3) create the 
statutory framework that will enable 
the state to design, finance, construct, 
equip and operate spaceport facilities 
necessary to ensure the timely, 
planned and efficient development of 
a southwest regional spaceport; and
  (4) promote 
educational involvement in spaceport 
activities and education and training 
of the workforce to develop the skills 
needed for spaceport operations.
[18.61.3.9 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.10 BYLAWS AND 
POLICIES: These bylaws govern 
the conduct of the board and its 
implementation and compliance 
with the Spaceport Development 
Act.  In addition to the bylaws, 
the board shall, from time to time, 
adopt policies and other resolutions 
governing specific matters to confirm 
and augment the bylaws, as well 
as govern use and operations at 
Spaceport America.
[18.61.3.10 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.11 EFFECT OF 
BYLAWS ON PAST ACTIONS 
AND OBLIGATIONS: The adoption 
of these bylaws or the repeal of a 
resolution by the bylaws shall not 
affect:
 A. Vested rights and 
obligations pertaining to any prior 
resolution; or
 B. Other matters of 
record referring to resolutions and not 
included within the bylaws.
[18.61.3.11 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.12 MAINTENANCE 
OF BYLAWS AND OTHER 
BOARD MATERIALS:
 A. Certified copies 
of the bylaws and all resolutions 
approved by the board, including 
those that adopt policies governing 
the Spaceport, shall be maintained 
on file in the Spaceport America 
offices and on the Spaceport America 
website.
 B. Other materials 
used by the board shall also be 
maintained on file at the Spaceport 
America offices, including agendas, 
minutes, final reports, presentations 
and other materials used by the board 
to carry out official business.
[18.61.3.12 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.13 MISSION OF 
BOARD OF DIRECTORS: The 
mission of the authority board of 
directors (the board) is to ensure 
operation of Spaceport America, 
as described in the Spaceport 
Development Act and in the best 
interests of the citizens of New 
Mexico; establish rules, regulations, 
and policies for the administration, 

governance, protection and 
maintenance of Spaceport America’s 
facilities; establish standards of 
operation; and operate the authority as 
an economic development engine for 
the state of New Mexico.
[18.61.3.13 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.14 MEMBERSHIP:
 A. Assuming office. 
A person may become a member 
of the board only by appointment 
or on an ex-officio basis. The board 
shall consist of seven voting and two 
nonvoting members, six of whom 
shall be appointed by the governor 
with the consent of the senate, 
provided that one of the appointed 
members shall be a resident of Sierra 
county.  No more than three appointed 
members shall belong to the same 
political party.  The seventh member 
shall be the secretary of economic 
development or the secretary’s 
designee.  The lieutenant governor 
shall serve as a nonvoting ex-officio 
member.  The executive director 
of the authority shall serve as a 
nonvoting member.
 B. Vacancies. If a 
vacancy occurs among the appointed 
voting members of the board, the 
governor shall appoint a replacement 
to serve out the term of the former 
member.  If an appointed member’s 
term expires, the member shall 
continue to serve until the member 
is reappointed or another person is 
appointed and confirmed by the senate 
to replace the member.
 C. Qualification and 
term. The members appointed by the 
governor shall be residents of the 
state and shall serve for terms of four 
years, except for the initial appointees 
who shall be appointed so that the 
terms are staggered after initial 
appointment.  Initial appointees shall 
serve terms as follows: two members 
for two years, two members for three 
years and two members for four years.
 D. The secretary 
of economic development or the 
secretary’s designee shall serve as the 
chairperson of the board (the chair).
 E. The members of the 
board shall not be compensated for 
their services but may be reimbursed 
by the agency for reasonable and 



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIV, Issue 14/ July 31, 2023 786
necessary expenses actually incurred 
for the benefit of the agency, upon 
presentation of proper documentation.
[18.61.3.14 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.15 ETHICS AND 
CONFLICT OF INTEREST 
CODE: It is the intent of the board 
to act in the highest ethical standard 
in carrying out its duties to the public 
and in the operation of its facilities.  
It is also the intent of the board 
to protect the authority’s interests 
when entering into a transaction 
or agreement, and not the private 
interests of any director, officer, 
or employee.  Accordingly, all 
board members shall adhere to the 
requirements of the Governmental 
Conduct Act (Chapter 10, Article 16, 
NMSA 1978) and the Governor’s 
Code of Conduct adopted thereunder, 
as well as any other applicable rules 
or laws governing their conduct 
as executive agency appointees, 
including but not limited to the 
Financial Disclosure Act (Chapter 10, 
Article 16A NMSA 1978), the Gift 
Act (Chapter 10, Article 16B NMSA 
1978), the Lobbyist Regulation Act 
(Chapter 2, Article 11 NMSA 1978), 
the Personnel Act (Chapter 10, Article 
9, NMSA 1978) and the Procurement 
Code (Chapter 13, Article 1 NMSA 
1978).
[18.61.3.15 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.16 MEETINGS:
 A. Open meetings. 
Meetings of the board shall be open 
and public, except as allowed by law, 
and unless otherwise provided, shall 
be conducted in accordance with 
Robert’s Rules of Order.  All meetings 
of the board and its committees shall 
be conducted in accordance with the 
“Open Meetings Act,” Sections 10-
15-1, et seq. NMSA 1978.  Members 
of the public shall be permitted to 
attend any portion of a meeting, 
except a closed session.  A quorum is 
established when a simple majority 
of the membership is in attendance, 
physically, telephonically or by 
videoconference, as permitted by law.  
Board actions shall be approved on a 
majority vote of the quorum present at 
the meeting.

 B. The board shall 
maintain written minutes of all 
meetings of the authority and 
maintain other appropriate records, 
including financial transaction records 
in compliance with law and adequate 
to provide an accurate record for audit 
purposes pursuant to the Audit Act.
 C. Regular meetings. 
The board shall meet at the call of 
the chairperson in regular session at 
least once every three months.  Such 
regular meetings shall comply with 
the procedural requirements of the 
Open Meetings Act, Subsections D 
and F of Sections 10-15-1 NMSA 
1978, including reasonable advance 
notice of not less than 10 days that 
informs the public of the meeting 
time, place and date, published 
or posted in a place and manner 
accessible to the public (main office 
or on website) and a final agenda 
shall be posted 72 hours prior to the 
meeting (inclusive of any weekend 
or holidays) on the Governance page 
of Spaceport America’s website at 
https://www.spaceportamerica.com/
governance/.  Notice requirements are 
met if notice of the date, time, place 
and agenda is provided by telephone 
to newspapers of general circulation 
in the state and posted in the offices of 
Spaceport America.  Telephone notice 
also shall be given to those broadcast 
stations licensed by the Federal 
Communications Commission and 
newspapers of general circulation that 
have made a written request for notice 
of public meetings.
 D. Special meetings. 
Special meetings may be called to 
discuss important topics that should 
not wait until a regular meeting, or 
for topics that, for good reason, could 
occupy an entire meeting.  If the need 
for such a meeting arises outside 
a regularly scheduled meeting, the 
board chair may schedule a meeting 
on reasonable advance notice of 
not less than three days which shall 
include an agenda for the meeting, or 
information on how the public may 
obtain a copy of the agenda.  Aside 
from the timeframe, the same notice 
procedures for regular meetings apply 
to special meetings.

 E. Emergency 
meetings. Emergency meetings will 
be called only under unforeseen 
circumstances that demand immediate 
action to protect the health, safety and 
property of citizens or to protect the 
authority from substantial financial 
loss.  The board will avoid emergency 
meetings whenever possible.  
Emergency meetings may be called 
by the chairperson or a majority of the 
board members with 24 hours prior 
notice, unless threat of personal injury 
or property damage requires less 
notice.  The notice for all emergency 
meetings shall include an agenda for 
the meeting or information on how 
the public may obtain a copy of the 
agenda.  Within 10 days after taking 
action on an emergency matter, the 
board chairperson will notify the 
attorney general’s office.  For the 
purposes of emergency meetings, 
notice requirements are met if notice 
of the date, time, place and agenda is 
provided by telephone to newspapers 
of general circulation in the state and 
posted in the offices of Spaceport 
America.  Telephone notice also 
shall be given to those broadcast 
stations licensed by the Federal 
Communications Commission and 
newspapers of general circulation that 
have made a written request for notice 
of public meetings.
 F. Prohibited 
meetings. A quorum of the board 
shall not discuss the business of the 
authority directly, serially, or through 
an intermediary, except at a properly 
noticed public meeting in compliance 
with the Open Meetings Act. Less 
than a quorum of the board (but not 
a standing committee) may discuss 
authority business, including the time, 
place, and agenda for a meeting, at 
any time.
 G. Closed meetings. 
The board may close a meeting to the 
public only if the subject matter of 
such discussion or action is excepted 
from the open meeting requirement 
under Subsection H of Sections 
10-15-1 NMSA 1978 of the Open 
Meetings Act.
  (1) If any 
meeting is closed during an open 
meeting, such closure shall be 
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approved by a majority vote of a 
quorum of the board taken during 
the open meeting.  The authority for 
the closed meeting and the subjects 
to be discussed shall be stated with 
reasonable specificity in the motion to 
close and the vote of each individual 
member on the motion to close shall 
be recorded in the minutes.  Only 
those subjects specified in the motion 
may be discussed in the closed 
meeting.
  (2) If a closed 
meeting is conducted when the 
board is not in an open meeting, the 
closed meeting shall not be held until 
public notice, appropriate under the 
circumstances, stating the specific 
provision of law authorizing the 
closed meeting and the subjects to be 
discussed with reasonable specificity, 
is given to the members and to the 
general public.
  (3) Following 
completion of any closed meeting, 
the minutes of the open meeting that 
was closed, or the minutes of the next 
open meeting if the closed meeting 
was separately scheduled, shall state 
whether the matters discussed in the 
closed meeting were limited only to 
those specified in the motion or notice 
for closure.
  (4) Except as 
provided in Subsection H of Sections 
10-15-1 NMSA 1978 of the Open 
Meetings Act, any action taken as 
a result of discussions in a closed 
meeting shall be made by vote of the 
board in an open public meeting.
[18.61.3.16 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.17 POWERS 
COMPULSIVE: The authority shall:
 A. hire, and be 
authorized to fire, an executive 
director, who shall employ the 
necessary professional, technical and 
clerical staff to enable the authority to 
function efficiently and shall direct the 
affairs and business of the authority, 
subject to the direction of the board;
 B. advise the governor, 
the governor’s staff and the New 
Mexico finance authority oversight 
committee on methods, proposals, 
programs and initiatives involving 
the Spaceport that may further 

stimulate space-related business and 
employment opportunities in New 
Mexico;
 C. initiate, develop, 
acquire, own, construct, maintain and 
lease space-related projects;
 D. make and execute 
all contracts and other instruments 
necessary or convenient to the 
exercise of its powers and duties;
 E. create programs to 
expand high-technology economic 
opportunities within New Mexico;
 F. create avenues 
of communication among federal 
government agencies, the space 
industry,
users of space launch services and 
academia concerning space business;
 G. promote legislation 
that will further the goals of the 
authority and development of space 
business;
 H. oversee and fund 
production of promotional literature 
related to the authority’s goals;
 I. identify science and 
technology trends that are significant 
to space enterprise and the state and
act as a clearinghouse for space 
enterprise issues and information;
 J. coordinate and 
expedite the involvement of the state 
executive branch’s space-related 
development efforts;
 K. perform 
environmental, transportation, 
communication, land use and other 
technical studies necessary or 
advisable for projects and programs 
or to secure licensing by appropriate 
United States agencies; and
 L. review summary 
scopes of work and approve of all 
purchases above $60,000, pursuant 
to procurement guidelines issued 
under Procurement Code Section 
13-1-125 NMSA 1978, developed by 
the general services department and 
the department of finance, provided 
to the authority and retained by the 
authority’s chief procurement officer 
for inspection by any board member 
at any time.
[18.61.3.17 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.18 POWERS 
PERMISSIVE: The authority may:

 A. advise and 
cooperate with municipalities, 
counties, state agencies and 
organizations, appropriate federal 
agencies and organizations and other 
interested persons and groups;
 B. solicit and accept 
federal, state, local and private grants 
of funds or property and financial or 
other aid for the purpose of carrying 
out the provisions of the Spaceport 
Development Act;
 C. adopt rules 
governing the manner in which 
its business is transacted and the 
manner in which the powers of the 
authority are exercised and its duties 
performed;
 D. operate spaceport 
facilities, including acquisition of 
real property necessary for spaceport 
facilities and the filing of necessary 
documents with appropriate agencies;
 E. construct, purchase, 
accept donations of or lease projects 
located within the state;
 F. sell, lease or 
otherwise dispose of a project upon 
terms and conditions acceptable to the
authority and in the best interests of 
the state;
 G. issue revenue 
bonds pursuant to the requirements 
of Sections 58-31-6 thru 58-31-10 
NMSA 1978 and borrow money for 
the purpose of defraying the cost 
of acquiring a project by purchase 
or construction and of securing the 
payment of the bonds or repayment of 
a loan;
 H. enter into contracts 
with regional spaceport districts and 
issue bonds on behalf of regional 
spaceport districts for the purpose of 
financing the purchase, construction, 
renovation, equipping or furnishing of 
a regional spaceport or a spaceport-
related project;
 I. refinance a project;
 J. contract with 
any competent private or public 
organization or individual to assist in 
the fulfillment of its duties;
 K. fix, alter, charge 
and collect tolls, fees or rentals and 
impose any other charges for the use 
of or for services rendered by any 
authority facility, program or service; 
and
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 L. contract with 
regional spaceport districts to receive 
municipal spaceport gross receipts tax 
and county regional spaceport gross 
receipts tax revenues.
[18.61.3.18 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.19 POWERS 
PROSCRIPTIVE: The authority 
shall not:
 A. incur debt as a 
general obligation of the state or 
pledge the full faith and credit of the 
state to repay debt; or
 B. expend funds or 
incur debt for the improvement, 
maintenance, repair or addition to 
property unless it is owned by the 
authority, the state or a political 
subdivision of the state.
[18.61.3.19 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.20 STANDING 
COMMITTEES: Committees of 
the board shall be standing or ad 
hoc. Upon the creation of a standing 
committee, the chair shall appoint, in 
consultation with the board, members 
of the committee, including two 
board members and, as appropriate, 
members of staff or the community 
appointed by the chair.  One of 
the board members shall act as the 
committee chair.  A majority of 
members of a committee shall count 
as a quorum for holding a meeting.  
All committees shall be advisory 
to the board, except as otherwise 
expressly specified by the board chair.
[18.61.3.20 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.21 AD HOC 
COMMITTEES: Ad hoc committees 
may be established by the chair, 
subject to approval of the board, for 
defined tasks of a limited duration (for 
instance, not to exceed six months).  
An ad hoc committee shall only 
perform those duties assigned by the 
chair, and upon their completion be 
discharged.  The chair, in consultation 
with the board, shall appoint the 
members of the committee and the 
chair of the committee.
[18.61.3.21 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.22 EXECUTIVE 
COMMITTEE: The chair, four other 

voting board members appointed by 
the chair and the executive director 
of the authority shall constitute 
the spaceport authority executive 
committee.  The committee shall have 
powers and duties as delegated to it 
by the authority.
[18.61.3.22 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.23 EXECUTIVE 
DIRECTOR:
 A. The executive 
director shall be appointed by and 
hold office at the pleasure of the 
board. The executive director shall 
receive such annual compensation 
as set by the board.  In addition, the 
executive director shall be reimbursed 
for actual, reasonable, and necessary 
expenses incurred in the performance 
of official duties and in accordance 
with 2.42.2 NMAC.  The performance 
of the executive director shall be 
reviewed annually by the board.
 B. Executive director 
authority. The executive director 
shall be the administrative head of 
the authority under the direction of 
the board.  The executive director 
shall be responsible for the efficient 
administration of affairs of the 
authority with the authority to:
  (1) enforce 
rules and regulations and ensure that 
contracts, permits, leases and any 
other privileges are enforced;
  (2) control, 
order, and give directions and 
guidance to subordinate employees;
  (3) hire, 
remove, promote, demote and 
establish the proper classification of 
employees, subject to all applicable 
resolutions, rules, and regulations;
  (4) direct, 
supervise and monitor daily business 
and aerospace operations;
  (5) ensure 
the agency complies with all local, 
state and federal laws, ordinances and 
regulations required to maintain an 
active spaceport launch and/or reentry 
license, as applicable;
  (6) lead, 
manage, operate and grow a sales, 
marketing, and business development 
team capable of attracting spaceport 
customers and projects, programs and 

undertakings suitable for Spaceport 
America;
  (7) work with 
customers and other federal and state 
agencies on aerospace operations with 
an understanding of scheduling issues, 
range instrumentation requirements 
(radar, weather, telemetry), and 
radiofrequency spectrum usage and 
deconfliction
  (8) plan, 
develop, operate, maintain and 
manage spaceport infrastructure and 
utilities facilities in an efficient and 
effective manner;
  (9) establish 
and manage operational and capital 
investment budgets;
  (10) attend 
board meetings, unless excused by the 
chair, and recommend to the board
measures and resolutions;
  (11) keep the 
board fully advised as to the financial 
condition and needs of the authority;
  (12) ensure 
all materials used by the board for 
the execution of official business, 
including agendas, minutes, 
resolutions, and other materials 
presented to the board are preserved, 
filed, organized and accessible as 
Spaceport America records and, 
where appropriate, published on the 
Spaceport America website.
  (13) take any 
other action consistent with the 
Spaceport Development Act, Sections 
58-31-1, et seq., NMSA 1978 the 
statutes governing the relationship 
between executive departments and 
administratively attached agencies, 
Sections 10-9-1, et seq. NMSA 1978, 
the State Personnel Act, Sections 10-
9-1 to 10-9-25 NMSA 1978 and the 
rules and regulations contained in 
1.7.1 NMAC.
 C. The board and 
its members shall deal with the 
administrative services of the 
authority only through the executive 
director.  Except for the purpose of 
inquiry, board members shall not 
give orders or instructions to any 
subordinate of the executive director.  
The executive director shall take 
orders and instructions from the 
board only when sitting in a duly 
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convened meeting of the board, and 
no individual board member shall 
give any orders or instructions to the 
executive director.
 D. The board 
shall assist the executive director 
in administering the affairs of 
the authority efficiently and 
harmoniously.
[18.61.3.23 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.24 PERSONNEL 
SYSTEM: The executive director 
shall:
 A. Prepare an 
organizational structure for board 
approval, make final determinations 
of the classified status of each 
employee and implement those 
decisions in accordance with the 
procedures of the state personnel 
office;
 B. Provide for 
publication of employment 
openings in accordance with state 
personnel office procedures, conduct 
interviews of candidates and make 
determinations for hiring the selected 
candidate;
 C. Annually evaluate 
the performance of each employee 
either directly or as delegated to a 
manager; and
 D. Recommend 
promotions.
[18.61.3.24 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.25 AUDITOR: The 
authority shall annually hire an 
independent auditor to audit the books 
and records of the authority and to 
certify as to the accuracy of the same.  
The independent auditor shall not be 
a director, officer, or employee of the 
authority.
[18.61.3.25 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.26 DIRECT BOARD 
SUPERVISION: The executive 
director shall be appointed by the 
board, report to the board and serve at 
the pleasure of the board.
[18.61.3.26 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.27 REVIEW OF 
BYLAWS: At least once every five 
years the board shall review these 
bylaws to ensure they comply with 

the Spaceport Development Act and 
all other applicable federal and state 
laws and regulations in keeping with 
the functions of the board.
[18.61.3.27 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

18.61.3.28 AMENDMENT 
OF BYLAWS: These bylaws may be 
altered, amended or repealed by two-
thirds majority vote of the members 
of the board present at any meeting 
called specifically for the purpose, 
among other things, of amending 
these bylaws.
[18.61.3.28 NMAC - N, 7/31/2023]

History of 18.61.3 NMAC:  
[RESERVED]
______________________________

WORKFORCE 
SOLUTIONS, 

DEPARTMENT OF

This is an amendment to 11.2.3 
NMAC Sections 10 and 29 to be 
effective 07/31/2023.

11.2.3.10 ORGANIZATION 
OF SAC:  The SAC provides advice 
and guidance to the department on the 
operation of the state’s apprenticeship 
system.
 A. The SAC shall 
consist of three persons known 
to represent employers, three 
persons known to represent labor 
organizations, and three public 
representatives, appointed by the 
cabinet secretary of workforce 
solutions. Persons appointed to 
the council shall be familiar with 
apprenticeable occupations.
 B. The secretary 
of workforce solutions and the 
secretary of public education, or their 
designees, shall be ex-officio, non-
voting members of the SAC.
 [B.] C. SAC members 
shall be appointed as provided for 
in Section 50-7-3 NMSA 1978.  If a 
SAC member misses two consecutive 
meetings, unless for just cause beyond 
the member’s control, the SAC shall 
recommend to the department that 
such member be replaced by a person 
who represents the same interest 
group.

 [C.] D. Officers of the SAC 
shall consist of a chairman and a 
vice-chairman. These officers will be 
elected annually at the third quarter 
regular meeting and shall assume 
office immediately upon election. 
The chairman and vice-chairman 
shall not be selected from the same 
interest group and shall not be eligible 
to succeed themselves. A former 
chairman or vice-chairman may be 
elected to the same office after having 
been out of that office for one year.
 [D.] E. The director shall 
serve as executive secretary and as an 
ex-officio, non-voting member of the 
SAC and as an ex-officio non-voting 
member of any committees created 
pursuant to Subsection E of 11.2.3.10 
NMAC.
 [E.] F. Committees may 
be appointed by the SAC chairman 
to study, research, and make 
recommendations to the SAC on 
such matters as may be deemed to be 
appropriate by the SAC.  Membership 
of such committees may be composed 
of SAC members, other interested 
persons, or a combination of SAC 
members and non-members.
[11.2.3.10 NMAC – Rp, 11.2.3.10 
NMAC, 1/30/2018; A, 7/31/2023]

11.2.3.29 ENERGY 
TRANSITION ACT 
COMPLIANCE 
 A. The construction 
of New Mexico facilities that 
generate electricity for New Mexico 
retail customers, and that are not 
located on the customer side of an 
electricity meter, shall be subject to 
the requirements of Subsection B 
of Section 62-13-16 NMSA 1978 if 
the facilities are built as a result of 
competitive solicitations issued after 
July 1, 2020.
 B. Subject to 
availability of qualified applicants, 
the construction of facilities that 
generate electricity for New Mexico 
retail customers shall employ 
apprentices from an apprenticeship 
program registered with [NMDWS] 
the department, the United Stated 
department of labor, OA, or another 
SAA if reciprocity was previously 
granted.  Apprenticeship programs 
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must be registered during the 
construction phase of a project at 
a minimum level as outlined in 
Subsection B of Section 62-13-16 
NMSA 1978 for all persons employed 
for the project.  
  (1) A “project” 
for the purposes of this Section 
means any construction of a facility 
that generates electricity or transmits 
electricity for New Mexico retail 
customers.
  (2) The 
number of apprentices required 
applies to each occupation or trade 
performing services during the 
project.
 C. NMDWS shall 
be responsible for monitoring the 
project for the appropriate level 
of apprentices on the project and 
ensuring compliance.
  (1) Upon 
receiving a funding award for 
construction of such a project, the 
general contractor shall submit a 
compliance plan including an outline 
for how the contractor will meet the 
required number of apprentices for 
the project and a list of subcontractors 
to NMDWS within 10 days of the 
award.  The list of subcontractors 
shall be updated quarterly.
  (2) Once 
a quarter, NMDWS shall initiate 
an investigation into the project to 
determine if the appropriate number 
of apprentices are being utilized for 
the project.
  (3) During the 
investigation, NMDWS may request 
certified payroll records from the 
contractor or subcontractor which 
must be submitted to the Department 
within 10 days of the request.
  (4) If during 
the investigation it is determined 
that a contractor or subcontractor is 
not compliant with these provisions, 
NMDWS shall issue a notice of 
non-compliance.  The contractor or 
subcontractor shall have 10 days to 
become compliant.
  (5) Failure 
to comply with the investigation 
or to adhere to the requirement for 
apprenticeship percentage will result 
in a referral to the Public Regulatory 

Commission with a recommendation 
to withhold future contract awards.
 D. NMDWS will 
continue to encourage diversity 
among apprenticeship program 
participants, participation by the 
underrepresented in the industry 
associated with that apprenticeship 
program and participation from 
disadvantaged communities.
[11.2.3.28 NMAC – N, 1/1/2020; A, 
7/31/2023]
______________________________

End of Adopted Rules
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Other Material Related to Administrative Law
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT
INCOME SUPPORT DIVISION

HUMAN SERVICES REGISTER

I. DEPARTMENT

Human Services Department

II. SUBJECT

Low Income Home Energy Assistance (LIHEAP) Program State Plan

III. PROGRAMS AFFECTED

Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program

IV. ACTION

Proposed State Plan

V. BACKGROUND

The Human Service Department is required by Federal Law to file a State Plan that describes how the 
Department will administer the State’s Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP).  The 
State Plan must be submitted every year to the United States Department of Health and Human Services 
(DHHS), Administration for Children and Families (ACF).  The Department is required to offer a 30-day 
comment period and conduct a public hearing for the LIHEAP State Plan that includes Weatherization 
prior to submittal.

VI. PROPOSED REPORT

The Department proposes the New Mexico LIHEAP State Plan covering the period of October 1, 2023, to 
September 30, 2024.  All comments received will be considered for the New Mexico LIHEAP State Plan.

The proposed State Plan is available on and can be printed from the Department’s website at: http://www.hsd.state.nm.us/
LookingForInformation/income-support-division-plans-and- reports.aspx.  A copy of the proposed LIHEAP State Plan 
is available in written format upon request. Please call the Income Support Division/LIHEAP unit at (505) 709-5391 to 
request a copy.  You may also send a request to:

    Human Services Department
    Income Support Division
    Attn:  Work and Family Support Bureau/LIHEAP
    PO Box 2348
    Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348

If you are a person with a disability and you require this information in an alternative format, or you require a special 
accommodation to participate in any HSD public hearing, program, or service, please contact the American Disabilities 
Act Coordinator, through the office of General Counsel at 505-827-7701 or through the New Mexico Relay system, at 
1-800-659- 1779. The Department requests at least a 10-day advance notice to provide requested alternative formats and 
special accommodations.

VII. EFFECTIVE DATE
Federal Fiscal Year 2024
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VIII. PUBLIC HEARING

A public hearing to receive comments on this proposed plan will be held on September 1, 2023 from 9:00 
a.m. to 10:00 a.m. The hearing will be held at 39-B Plaza La Prensa, Santa Fe, NM 87507.

IX. ADDRESS

Interested persons may address written or recorded comments to:

Human Services Department
Attn: CSBG Program Manager

P.O. Box 2348
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348

Interested persons may also address comments via electronic mail to: HSD-
isdrules@hsd.nm.gov.

Comments will be posted on the HSD website within 3 days of receipt.

X. PUBLICATION

Publication of this report approved on by:

KARI ARMIJO, ACTING CABINET SECRETARY
HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT
_______________________________________________________________________________________________

HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT
INCOME SUPPORT DIVISION

HUMAN SERVICES REGISTER

I. DEPARTMENT

Human Services Department

II. SUBJECT

Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) State Plan

III. PROGRAMS AFFECTED

Community Services Block Grant (CSBG)

IV. ACTION

Proposed CSBG State Plan

V. BACKGROUND

The Human Services Department is required by the Federal Community Opportunity Accountability Training and 
Education Services (COATES) Reauthorization Act of 1998 to submit a State Plan to the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services, Office of Community Services in order to receive a grant or allotment for the CSBG program. 
The Department is required to offer a 30-day comment period for the CSBG State Plan prior to submittal.
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VI.       PROPOSED STATE PLAN

The proposed CSBG State Plan covers October 1, 2023 to September 30, 2025 and is available on the Human Services 
Department website at: https://www.hsd.state.nm.us/wp-content/uploads/FFY-24-Community-Services-BlockGrant-
CSBG-State-Plan.pdf . If you do not have Internet access, a copy of the proposed State Plan may be requested by 
contacting the Income Support Division’s Work and Family Support Bureau (WFSB) at 505-670-4668.

VII. EFFECTIVE DATE

October 1, 2023

VIII. PUBLIC HEARING

A public hearing to receive comments on this proposed plan will be held at 9:00 am on September 1 st, 2023 at the HSD 
Santa Fe County Field Office which is located at 39-B Plaza La Prensa, Santa Fe, NM 87507.

Individuals wishing to testify may contact the Income Support Division, P.O. Box 2348, Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348, or 
by calling 505-670-4668.

If you are a person with a disability and you require this information in an alternative format, or you require a special 
accommodation to participate in any HSD public hearing, program, or service, please contact the American Disabilities 
Act Coordinator, at 505- 827-7701 or through the New Mexico Relay system, at 711 or toll free at 1-800-659- 1779. 
The Department requests at least a 10-day advance notice to provide requested alternative formats and special 
accommodations.

IX. ADDRESS

Interested persons may address written or recorded comments to:

Human Services Department
Attn: CSBG Program Manager

P.O. Box 2348
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348

Interested persons may also address comments via electronic mail to: HSD-isdrules@hsd.nm.gov

X. PUBLICATION

Publication of this proposed CSBG State Plan approved on _7/19/2023_______________________ by:

KARI ARMIJO, ACTING CABINET SECRETARY
HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT
________________________________________________________________________________________________

Continued Next Page
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REGULATION 
AND LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT
SIGNED LANGUAGE 

INTERPRETING PRACTICES 
BOARD

NOTICE OF MINOR, 
NONSUBSTANTIVE 

CORRECTION

The Regulation and Licensing 
Department, Signed Language 
Interpreting Practices  Board gives 
Notice of a Minor, Nonsubstantive 
Correction to 16.28.3 NMAC and 
16.28.7 NMAC.

Pursuant to the authority granted 
under State Rules Act, Subsection D 
of Section 14-4-3 NMSA 1978, please 
note that the following minor, non-
substantive corrections to spelling, 
grammar and format have been made 
to all electronic copies of the above 
rule:

For both rules, there was existing, 
unchanged language that was 
inadvertently left off the filed version 
of each cited section.  The existing, 
unchanged language was reinserted in 
all electronic versions.

16.28.3.11 NMAC:
***
 F. If an applicant 
submits an incomplete license 
application they will be requested to 
submit any missing documentation; 
failure to do so within six months 
of receipt of the original application 
will result in the application file 
being closed.  After the file has been 
closed, the applicant will be required 
to submit a new application and 
application fee to apply again.
 G. “Electronic 
Applications” In accordance with 
Section 14-16-1 thru 14-16-21 NMSA 
1978 of the Uniform Electronic 
Transactions Act, the board or its 
designee will accept electronic 
applications.
  (1) Any 
person seeking a New Mexico signed 
language interpreting license may 
do so by submitting an electronic 

application.  Applicants are required 
to also submit all required information 
as stated in 16.28.3.11 NMAC.
  (2) Any 
licensee may renew their license 
electronically through a designated 
website provided by the board.  All 
license holders renewing their signed 
language interpreting license are also 
required to submit all documentation 
as stated in 16.28.3.17 NMAC.
  (3) Any person 
whose license has been expired may 
apply electronically to the board for 
renewal of the license at any time 
within 60 days of the expiration. 
Any persons seeking renewal are 
also required to submit all supporting 
documents as stated in 16.28.3.17 
NMAC.
  (4) Any 
person whose license has been lapsed 
may apply electronically to the board 
for reinstatement of the license at 
any time.  Any persons seeking 
reinstatement are also required to 
submit all supporting documents as 
stated in 16.28.3.17 NMAC.
 H. “Electronic 
Signatures” Electronic signatures 
will be acceptable for applications 
submitted pursuant to Sections 14-16-
1 through 14-16-19 NMSA 1978.
 I. “Administrative 
Errors” In the event that a community 
or educational license is issued 
due to an administrative error, and 
if the Interpreter is qualified for a 
provisional license, the permitted five 
years for the provisional license shall 
began at the time of the issuance of 
the erroneously issued license.

16.28.7.10 NMAC:
***
 E. Original and 
renewed community and educational 
license shall be valid for a period of 
two years.
 F. Original and 
completed compliance reviewed 
provisional license shall be valid for 
a period of one year, not to exceed 
four consecutive annual compliance 
review cycles.
 G. Prior to the 
expiration of the license, all licensed 
interpreters shall apply for license 

renewal and shall pay the renewal fee 
as set forth in 16.28.6.9 NMAC.

A copy of this Notification will be 
filed with the official version of each 
of the above rules.

______________________________

End of Other Material 
Related to Administrative 

Law
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