#### New Mexico Register / Volume XXIX, Issue 13 / July 10, 2018

TITLE 10 POLICE AND TELECOMMUNICATORS
CHAPTER 29 LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY
PART 7 IN-SERVICE TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

**10.29.7.1 ISSUING AGENCY:** Department of Public Safety, New Mexico Law Enforcement Academy, 4491 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87507. [10.29.7.1 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.1 NMAC, 07/10/2018]

**10.29.7.2 SCOPE:** Applies to all New Mexico certified police officers and public safety telecommunicators.

[10.29.7.2 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.2 NMAC, 07/10/2018]

**10.29.7.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:** Section 29-7-7.1 NMSA 1978, (Repl. Pamp. 1994), Section 29-7-4 NMSA 1978, (Repl. Pamp. 1994), Section 29-7-5 NMSA 1978, (Repl. Pamp. 1994) [10.29.7.3 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.3 NMAC, 07/10/2018]

#### 10.29.7.4 **DURATION:** Permanent.

[10.29.7.4 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.4 NMAC, 07/10/2018]

**10.29.7.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:** July 10, 2018, unless a different date is cited at the end of a section. [10.29.7.5 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.5 NMAC, 07/10/2018]

**10.29.7.6 OBJECTIVE:** The purpose of Part 7 is to establish in-service training requirements for certified police officers and certified public safety telecommunicators. [10.29.7.6 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.6 NMAC, 07/10/2018]

### **10.29.7.7 DEFINITIONS:**

- **A**. "Academy" means the New Mexico law enforcement academy.
- **B.** "NHTSA" means the national highway traffic safety administration. [10.29.7.7 NMAC Rp, 10.29.7.7 NMAC, 07/10/2018]

#### 10.29.7.8 IN-SERVICE TRAINING CYCLE FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS:

- **A.** All New Mexico certified law enforcement officers shall receive a minimum of 40 hours of training bi-annually (every other year). Each two year in-service training cycle will begin on the first day of the subsequent even numbered year and conclude on the final day of the sequential odd numbered year.
- (1) A minimum of four hours training shall be in safe pursuit pursuant to Section 29-20-3 NMSA 1978.
- (2) A minimum of one hour training shall be in domestic violence incident training pursuant to Section 29-7-4.1 NMSA1978, annually.
- (3) A minimum of two hours training shall be in the detection, investigation and reporting of a crime motivated by hate pursuant to Subsection B of Section 31-18B-5 NMSA 1978.
- (4) For all officers who may be involved in the arrest of driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenders as a normal part of their duties, four hours training shall be in NHTSA approved standardized field sobriety testing (SFST) protocols or successful course completion of the NHTSA approved 16 hour advanced roadside impaired driving enforcement course.
- (5) A minimum of one hour training shall be in ensuring child safety upon arrest pursuant to Section 29-7-7.3 NMSA 1978, annually.
- (6) Four hours training of academy approved day and night firearms training on agency approved weapons systems including, but not limited to, duty handgun, backup handgun, shotgun, and rifle. No more than one hour training shall be classroom lecture. A minimum of three hours training, divided equally between day and night training, and shall consist of practical exercises using live fire, Simmunitions®, Airsoft® or other firearms training systems. Qualification testing may not be used as training to meet this requirement.

10.29.7 NMAC

- (7) A minimum of two hours training in child abuse incident training pursuant to Section 29-7-4.2 NMSA 1978, annually.
- (8) A minimum of one hour training shall be in missing persons and Amber alert training pursuant to Section 29-7-7.4 NMSA 1978, annually.
- (9) A minimum of two hours training shall be in academy accredited interaction with persons with mental impairments training pursuant to Section 29-7-7.5 NMSA 1978.
- (10) A minimum of 30 minutes training shall be in academy accredited tourniquet and trauma kit training pursuant to section 29-7-7.7 NMSA 1978, annually.
- (11) A minimum of two hours training shall be in legal update training to include changes in New Mexico state statutes and recent state and federal case law.
- (12) Remaining training hours shall be in maintenance or advanced areas to meet the agencies specific needs.
  - **B.** Required training may be received through the following means:
- (1) Where scheduling will allow, the New Mexico law enforcement academy will assign staff to instruct the course at the academy and regional training sites.
- (2) Curriculum developed by the New Mexico law enforcement academy will be provided to individual agencies upon request for their own certified instructors to present to their officers, provided the instructor is qualified in the subject matter.
- (3) Individual agencies or private contractors may develop curriculum for review and approval (accreditation) by the academy which meets the criteria established by the board.
- C. This three-pronged approach gives all agencies the flexibility they need to address individual training needs. It also allows the board to implement a planned program of in-service training that is responsive to the changing demands placed upon law enforcement and the opportunity to have statewide consistency in certain critical areas.
  - **D.** Implementation is to begin on January 1, of the first even numbered year of a training cycle.
- **E.** Officers obtaining certification within an even numbered year will be required to obtain one-half of the in-service training requirements. Officers obtaining certification within an odd numbered year will be required to meet the next two-year in-service training requirement which will go into effect on January 1 of the succeeding even numbered year. The in-service training requirements are applicable in subsequent two-year cycles (one even number year and the subsequent odd numbered year constitutes a two-year cycle. Officers transferring from one agency to another will carry with them the responsibility for in-service training. [10.29.7.8 NMAC Rp, 10.29.7.8 NMAC, 07/10/2018]

# 10.29.7.9 IN-SERVICE TRAINING CYCLE FOR PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATORS:

- **A.** All New Mexico certified public safety telecommunicators shall receive a minimum of 20 hours of training bi-annually (every other year). Each two year in-service training cycle will begin on the first day of the subsequent even numbered year and conclude on the final day of the sequential odd numbered year.
- (1) A minimum of two hours training in academy accredited interaction with persons with mental impairments training in line with requirements pursuant to Section 29-7-7.5 NMSA 1978.
- (2) Remaining training hours shall be in maintenance or advanced training areas to meet the agency's specific needs and abilities of the telecommunicator.
  - **B.** Required training may be received through the following means.
- (1) Where scheduling will allow, the academy will assign staff to instruct the course at regional training sites.
- (2) Curriculum may be developed by the academy and provided to individual agencies for their own certified instructors to present to their telecommunicators, provided the instructor is qualified in the subject matter.
- (3) Individual agencies or private contractors may develop curriculum for review and approval (accreditation) by the academy which meets the criteria established by the board.
- C. This three-pronged approach gives all agencies the flexibility they need to address individual training needs. It also allows the board to implement a planned program of in-service training that is responsive to the changing demands placed upon telecommunicators and the opportunity to have statewide consistency in certain critical areas.
  - **D.** Implementation is to begin on January 1, of the first even numbered year of a training cycle.
- **E.** Telecommunicators obtaining certification within an even numbered year will be required to obtain one-half-of the in-service training requirements. Telecommunicators obtaining certification within an odd

10.29.7 NMAC 2

numbered year will be required to meet the next two-year in-service training requirement which will go into effect on January 1 of the succeeding even numbered year. The in-service training requirements are applicable in subsequent two-year cycles (one even number year and the subsequent odd numbered year constitutes a two-year cycle). Telecommunicators transferring from one agency to another will carry with them the responsibility for inservice training.

[10.29.7.9 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.9 NMAC, 07/10/2018]

## **History of Repealed Material:**

10.29.7 NMAC Law Enforcement Academy - In-Service Training Requirements, filed 7-1-2001 - Repealed effective 07/10/2018.

10.29.7 NMAC 3