TITLE 16 OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

CHAPTER 4 CHIROPRACTIC PRACTITIONERS
PART 4 LICENSURE WITHOUT EXAMINATION

16.4.4.1 ISSUING AGENCY: New Mexico Chiropractic Board, PO Box 25101, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504.

[16.4.4.1 NMAC - Rp, 16.4.4.1 NMAC 8/10/2019]

16.4.4.2 SCOPE: Applicants for licensure as a chiropractic physician without examination. [16.4.4.2 NMAC - Rp, 16.4.4.2 NMAC 8/10/2019]

16.4.4.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: These rules of practice and procedure govern the practice of chiropractic in New Mexico and are promulgated pursuant to and in accordance with the Chiropractic Physician Practice Act, Section 61-4-8 NMSA 1978.

[16.4.4.3 NMAC - Rp, 16.4.4.3 NMAC 8/10/2019]

16.4.4.4 DURATION: Permanent.

[16.4.4.4 NMAC - Rp, 16.4.4.4 NMAC 8/10/2019]

16.4.4.5 EFFECTIVE DATE: August 10, 2019, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. [16.4.4.5 NMAC - Rp, 16.4.4.5 NMAC 8/10/2019]

16.4.4.6 OBJECTIVE: To establish requirements for licensure without examination. [16.4.4.6 NMAC - Rp, 16.4.4.6 NMAC 8/10/2019]

16.4.4.7 DEFINITIONS: (Refer to 16.4.1 NMAC).

[16.4.4.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.4.4.7 NMAC 8/10/2019]

16.4.4.8 LICENSURE:

- **A.** In accordance with Section 61-4-8 NMSA 1978, of the New Mexico Chiropractic Physician Practice Act, the board may, at its discretion, issue licenses to practice chiropractic in New Mexico to doctors who provide evidence of meeting the following minimal requirements:
- (1) is of good moral character and has maintained an active practice for at least seven of the last ten years prior to the filing of the application as a doctor of chiropractic in another state, territory, country or foreign jurisdiction whose licensure requirements are equal to or exceed those of New Mexico; and
- (a) has a doctor of chiropractic diploma from a council on chiropractic education accredited or board accepted equivalent chiropractic college;
- (b) for those who have served in the military services of the United States for two years or more within one year prior to application, two of the seven out of 10 years of active practice required can be substituted for and:
- (c) is an applicant showing evidence of having passed all examinations conducted by the NBCE that were in effect at the time of graduation from chiropractic college;
- (2) has had no disciplinary action imposed, nor criminal convictions entered against any chiropractic license the applicant held or holds; applicant agrees to a national practitioners databank and a federation of chiropractic licensing boards background check;
- (3) can attest that the applicant has never been found guilty of any action which, had it been committed in New Mexico, would be grounds for disciplinary action against the license;
- (4) provides national board transcripts that have been sent directly from each agency to the board.
- **B.** Applicant must complete application for licensure without examination, pay nonrefundable application fee of \$350.00, pay a licensing fee of \$350.00 once applicant is accepted for licensure, and should meet all other applicable requirements of New Mexico statutes pertaining to the practice of chiropractic and all other applicable provisions of the board's rules. The applicant will be required to complete the jurisprudence exam with a score of at least 75 percent.
- C. If an applicant does not meet the minimal requirements of 61-4-8.B NMSA 1978, applicant may at the discretion of the board, be required to take and pass part I, II, III or IV, or physiologic therapeutics or the special

16.4.4 NMAC

purpose examination (SPEC) of the national boards or request to be placed on the agenda at the next scheduled board meeting.

- **D.** Upon receipt of a completed application, including all required documentation as set forth in Subsection A of 16.4.3.8 NMAC and fees, as stated in Subsection B of 16.4.4.8 NMAC the board administrator or the delegate of the board will review and may approve the application. The results of the background check must either indicate no negative findings, or if there are negative findings, those findings will be considered by the board. The board may formally accept the approval of the application at the next scheduled meeting.
- **E.** The board may designate a professional background information service, which compiles background information regarding an applicant from multiple sources. [16.4.4.8 NMAC Rp, 16.4.4.8 NMAC 8/10/2019]

HISTORY OF 16.4.4 NMAC:

Pre-NMAC History: The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the State Records Center and Archives under:

Rule 17-95, Licensure By Endorsement, filed 2/20/1995.

History of Repealed Material: 16.4.4 NMAC, Licensure Without Examination filed 12/15/2004, Repealed effective 8/10/2019.

Other History:

Rule 17-95, Licensure By Endorsement (filed 2/20/1995) was renumbered, reformatted and replaced by 16 NMAC 4.4, Licensure By Endorsement, effective 11/16/1997.

16 NMAC 4.4, Licensure By Endorsement (filed 10/17/1997) was renumbered, reformatted, amended and replaced by 16.4.4 NMAC, Licensure By Endorsement, effective 1/15/2005.

16.4.4 NMAC, Licensure Without Examination filed 12/15/2004 was replaced by 16.4.4 NMAC, Licensure Without Examination, effective 8/10/2019.

16.4.4 NMAC 2