#### New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIII, Issue 24 / December 27, 2022

# TITLE 16OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSINGCHAPTER 5DENTISTRY (DENTISTS, DENTAL HYGIENISTS, ETC.)PART 5DENTISTS, FEES

**16.5.5.1 ISSUING AGENCY:** New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care. [16.5.5.1 NMAC - Rp, 16.5.5.1 NMAC, 12/27/2022]

**16.5.5.2 SCOPE:** The provisions of 16.5.5 NMAC apply to all applicants for licensure; to active, expedited, retired, expired and suspended licensees; and to anyone who requests a list or labels of licensed dentists, multiple copies of the law or rules, or copies of public records. [16.5.5.2 NMAC - Rp, 16.5.5.2 NMAC, 12/27/2022]

**16.5.5.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:** 16.5.5 NMAC is promulgated pursuant to the Dental Health Care Act, Section 61-5A-20 NMSA 1978 (1996 Repl. Pamp.). [16.5.5.3 NMAC - Rp, 16.5.5.3 NMAC, 12/27/2022]

**16.5.5.4 DURATION:** Permanent.

[16.5.5.4 NMAC - Rp, 16.5.5.4 NMAC, 12/27/2022]

**16.5.5.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:** December 27, 2022, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. [16.5.5.5 NMAC - Rp, 16.5.5.5 NMAC, 12/27/2022]

**16.5.5.6 OBJECTIVE:** To establish fees to generate revenue adequate to fund the cost of program administration.

[16.5.5.6 NMAC - Rp, 16.5.5.6 NMAC, 12/27/2022]

## 16.5.5.7 DEFINITIONS: [RESERVED]

[16.5.5.7 NMAC - Rp, 16.5.5.7 NMAC, 12/27/2022]

#### 16.5.5.8 FEES:

- A. All fees are non-refundable.
- **B.** Application for licensure by examination fee is \$600, which includes the initial licensing period.
- C. Application for licensure by credential fee is \$850, which includes the initial licensing period.

**D.** An applicant who does not obtain a passing score on the jurisprudence exam must submit an additional fee of \$100 to re-take the exam.

- **E.** Triennial renewal fee for all dental licensees is \$550.
  - (1) Impaired fee is \$30 per triennial renewal period plus renewal fee.
  - (2) Late renewal fee of \$100 after July 1 through September 1 plus renewal and impaired

fees.

(3) Cumulative late fee of \$10 per day from August 1 to the date of the postmark or handdelivery to the board office plus renewal, late and impaired fees.

**F.** Triennial renewal fee for inactive license is \$90.

- **G.** Temporary license fees:
  - (1) 48- hour license, application fee of \$50, license fee of \$50;
  - (2) six- month license, application fee of \$100, license fee of \$200;
  - (3) 12- month license, application fee of \$100, license fee of \$300;
  - (4) 12- license for student enrolled in residency program, application fee of \$25.00, license

fee of \$50.00.

H.

- Anesthesia permit fees:
  - (1) nitrous oxide permit fee is \$25;
  - (2) minimal sedation permit fee is \$25;
  - (3) moderate sedation permit fee is \$300;
  - (4) deep sedation and general anesthesia permit fee is \$300.

- I. Reinstatement fee is \$400.
- **J.** Application for licensure for inactive status is \$50.
- **K.** Non-dentist owner fees.
  - (1) Application for licensure fee is \$300, which includes the initial licensing period.
  - (2) Triennial renewal fee of \$150.
  - (3) Late renewal fee of \$100 after July 1 through September 1 plus renewal fee.

(4) Cumulative late fee of \$10 per day from August 1 to the date of the postmark or handdelivery to the board office plus renewal and late fee.

- L. Administrative and duplication fees:
  - (1) duplicate license fee is \$25;
  - (2) multiple copies of the statute or rules are \$10 each;
  - (3) copy fees are \$0.25 per page;

(4) list of current dental licensees is \$300; an annual list of current licensees is available to the professional association upon request at no cost; and

(5) mailing labels of current dental licensees is \$300.

M. Expedited licensure fees. The fees for expedited licensure submitted pursuant to Subsection B of Section 61-5A-14 NMSA 1978 are a \$100 application fee and a \$300 license fee. [16.5.5.8 NMAC - Rp, 16.5.5.8 NMAC, 12/27/2022]

# HISTORY of 16.5.5 NMAC:

# **Pre-NMAC History:**

Material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the commission of public records - state records center and archives as:

Article IV, Licensing of Dentist, filed 03/11/1981;

Article IV, Licensing of Dentist, filed 01/12/1982;

Article IV, Licensing of Dentist, filed 03/30/1982;

BOD Rule 4, Licensing of Dentists, filed 02/09/1989;

BODHC Rule DS 6-95, Dentistry, Fees, filed 05/05/1995.

History of Repealed Material: 16.5.5 NMAC, Dentists, Fees, filed 6/1/2001 Repealed 12/27/2022.

## **Other History:**

16 NMAC 5.5, Dentists, Fees, filed 09/17/1996;

16 NMAC 5.5, Dentists, Fees, filed 09/17/1996 - renumbered, reformatted and amended to 16.5.5 NMAC, Dentists, Fees, effective 06/14/2001.

16.5.5 NMAC, Dentists, Fees, filed 6/1/2001 Replaced by 16.5.5 NMAC, Dentists, Fees, effective 12/27/2022