New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIII, Issue 16 / August 23, 2022

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the New Mexico Higher Education Department (NMHED or Department) will hold a public video/telephonic rulemaking hearing on September 27, 2022. The hearing will begin at 9:30 a.m. and will be held via Microsoft Teams. The purpose of the hearing is to take public comment regarding proposed rulemaking adopting a new rule **5.55.8 NMAC**, **STATEWIDE ADVANCED PLACEMENT POLICY**.

Join via Microsoft Teams:

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-

join/19%3ameeting_MzJhMzEwNDMtOTk5NC00NWZhLWI1ZTYtYWU1ZjUyMjBiMzY2%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2204aa6bf4-d436-426f-bfa4-04b7a70e60ff%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22c327f958-5970-4536-8f6b-03d48b60d29e%22%7d

Or call in (audio only) +1 (505) 312-4308 Phone Conference ID: 587 552 847#

Purpose:

The Department proposes adoption of new rule 5.55.8 NMAC. The new proposed rule establishes a statewide advanced placement exam policy as required by H.B. 420, 54th Leg., 1st Sess. (N.M. 2019).

Summary of proposed rule:

The proposed rule establishes a statewide advanced placement exam policy that includes a comprehensive list of courses for which a student shall receive credit when earning a qualifying score on an advanced placement exam. The rule provides guidance on application of credit and a process by which advanced placement exams are reviewed and approved by the Department in consultation with the New Mexico Curriculum and Articulation Committee. In addition, the proposed rule, provides procedures for maintenance and review of the courses that qualify for credit under the policy, a procedure for resolution of complaints related to the policy and institutional reporting requirements.

Details for Obtaining a Copy, Public Hearing and Comments: The proposed rule is also posted on the NMHED website and may be accessed at http://www.hed.state.nm.us/ under the "Events" section. To request that a copy of the proposed rule be sent to you by mail or e-mail, please contact HigherEd.Info@state.nm.us or (505)476-8411.

A public hearing will be held on September 27, 2022 from 9:30 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. via Microsoft Teams. Any person who is or may be affected by this proposed rule may participate. Interested persons may submit written comments to NMHED at 2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM 87505 or HigherEd.Info@state.nm.us. Written comments must be received no later than 4:00 p.m. on September 23, 2022. Please note that any written or verbal comments received will become part of the rulemaking record, be posted to the New Mexico Sunshine Portal, and be accessible to the public. If submitting written comments by email, please indicate in the subject line the number and section of each rule(s) for which you are providing comments. Oral comments will also be accepted at the rule hearing, subject to time limitations.

Legal authority for this rulemaking can be found in Section 21-2-5 NMSA 1978 and Section 21-1-47 NMSA 1978.

Any person with a disability who is in need of a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language interpreter, or auxiliary aid or service to attend or participate in the hearing should contact (505) 476-8411 or email HigherEd.Info@state.nm.us ten (10) business days prior to the hearing.