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TITLE 15 GAMBLING AND LIQUOR CONTROL 
CHAPTER 6 BOXING, WRESTLING, AND MARTIAL ARTS 
PART 5  REQUIREMENTS TO SAFEGUARD HEALTH 
 
15.6.5.1  ISSUING AGENCY: New Mexico Athletic Commission. 
[15.6.5.1 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002] 
 
15.6.5.2  SCOPE: The provisions in Part 5 apply to all licensees of the commission. 
[15.6.5.2 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002] 
 
15.6.5.3  STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Part 5 of Chapter 6 of Title 15 is promulgated pursuant to the 
Professional Athletic Competition Act, Sections 60-2A-1 through 60-2A-30, NMSA 1978 (1980 Repl. Pamp.); 
specifically Sections 60-2A-4, 60-2A-7, 60-2A-8, 60-2A-17, 60-2A-20, 60-2A-21, 60-2A-28, and 60-2A-29. 
[15.6.5.3 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002] 
 
15.6.5.4  DURATION: Permanent. 
[15.6.5.4 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002] 
 
15.6.5.5  EFFECTIVE DATE:  March 23, 2002, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. 
[15.6.5.5 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002] 
 
15.6.5.6  OBJECTIVE: The objective of Part 5 of Chapter 6 is to notify all commission licensees of the 
duties and conduct expected by the commission with regard to safeguarding the health and safety of contestants in 
events regulated by the commission. 
[15.6.5.6 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002] 
 
15.6.5.7  DEFINITIONS:  “Medical Professional” means a physician, physician’s assistant, emergency 
medical technician, registered nurse, or paramedic licensed in the state of New Mexico. 
[15.6.5.7 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 1/15/2015] 
 
15.6.5.8  MEDICAL EXAMINATION AND CERTIFICATION OF CONTESTANTS REQUIRED: 
 A. All unarmed combatants/contestants shall submit to a uniform pre-bout medical examination 
performed by a New Mexico licensed physician approved by the commission within 24 hours prior to entering the 
ring in the scheduled match or exhibition.  All unarmed combatants/contestants shall submit the required medical 
records no later than 96 hours before a scheduled event.  It shall be the duty of the licensed promoter to ensure 
compliance with this rule.  All deadlines in this rule relate back to the date of the scheduled match or exhibition. 
  (1) The documents required as part of the pre-bout medical examination include: 
   (a) negative blood test results, obtained not later than six months prior to the event, 
for: 
    (i) HIV; 
    (ii) hepatitis B, surface antigen (SA); 
    (iii) hepatitis C antibody; 
   (b) Dilated eye exam result:  Professional contestants must submit the results of a 
dilated eye exam performed by an ophthalmologist, optometrist or qualified physician no more than one year prior 
to any competition. 
   (c) Proof of compliance with any medical restrictions:  The commission requires 
proof of compliance with any previous medical restrictions imposed by another commission before medical 
approval for a bout. 
  (2) Female unarmed combatants:  All female unarmed combatants must provide a negative 
pregnancy test within 24 hours to each event, contest, or exhibition.  The pregnancy test shall be taken within those 
24 hours to the event, contest, or exhibition. 
  (3) The commission or ringside physician may order an electrocardiogram, MRI or 
MRI/MRA examination when a contestant has either: 
   (a) lost three or more bouts in a row by KO or TKO; 
   (b) lost six bouts in a row; or 
   (c) had an extensive losing record in the last two years; MRI or MRI/MRA 
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examination results will be accepted if conducted within five years, when: 
    (i) neurological clearance is needed for a pre-fight examination; 
    (ii) an unarmed combatant is competing in a five round title fight; or 
    (iii) a contestant is 35 years old or older. 
 B. Certification of fitness 
  (1) Immediately following the examination, the physician shall file with the commission a 
written report of the results of the examination on a form prescribed by the commission.  The physician shall certify 
as to the physical fitness of each contestant scheduled to participate in the match or exhibition and deliver the 
completed examination report to the commission’s representative; the completed examination report will be made 
available to the promoter of the match or exhibition before the commencement of the event. 
  (2) The promoter of the match or exhibition shall prohibit any unarmed combatant from 
entering the ring unless he has been certified by the examining physician to be physically fit to engage in the match 
or exhibition. 
  (3) It shall be unlawful for any physician to certify falsely to the physical condition of any 
contestant in a professional boxing or sparring match or martial arts exhibition. 
 C. Participation in non-commission sanctioned events:  Any unarmed combatant who participates 
in a non-commission sanctioned event in another jurisdiction must submit to a new array of blood tests, described in 
Paragraph (1) of this rule, unless the unarmed combatant can prove to the commission that the non-commission 
sanctioned event required all combatants to submit to pre-bout blood testing in a manner similar to the commission. 
Violation of this rule could result in a fine, license suspension, or license revocation. 
 D. Disqualifying conditions/ailments: 
  (1) The commission will not issue or renew the license of any applicant who wishes to 
compete in any sport regulated by the commission and who has suffered from any type of cerebral hemorrhage. 
  (2) If an applicant for a contestant license has suffered a serious head injury, including but 
not limited to concussions, the applicant must have the application reviewed by the commission before any license is 
issued or renewed. 
 E. Cost of the medical examination:  The cost of any physical examination shall be prescribed by a 
schedule of fees established by the commission. 
  (1) The cost of any medical examinations of event contestants shall be paid directly to the 
commission by the promoter of the event. 
  (2) The physician will be paid directly by the promoter in accordance with the fees 
established by rule by the commission. 
[15.6.5.8 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/26/2012; A, 1/15/2015; A, 1/15/2017] 
 
15.6.5.9  CONFIDENTIAL NATURE OF MEDICAL REPORTS: All medical reports submitted to the 
commission and all medical records of the commission’s medical advisory board or commission relative to the 
physical examination and medical condition of unarmed combatants boxers, wrestlers, or martial artists, shall be 
considered confidential in nature.  These records shall be open to examination only to the following: 
 A. to the unarmed combatants, boxer, wrestler, or martial artist wishing to examine his own medical 
records and upon his written application to the commission to examine said records; or 
 B. to a court of competent jurisdiction upon subpoena for an appropriate court case. 
[15.6.5.9 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/26/2012] 
 
15.6.5.10 [RESERVED] 
 
15.6.5.11 SPECIFICATIONS FOR HAND BANDAGES ON UNARMED COMBATANTS’ HANDS: 
 A. Hand bandages on the hands of a unarmed combatant shall be restricted to soft gauze not more 
than 60 feet in length and two inches in width; and held in place by not more than 10 feet of adhesive tape not more 
than one and one-half inches for each hand. Wrapping of hands is mandatory. 
 B. The use of adhesive tape over the knuckles is strictly prohibited.  The tape shall not cover any part 
of the knuckles when the hand is clenched to make a fist. One strip of tape one-quarter inch may be placed between 
each finger to secure the wraps.  Tape must be behind the knuckles one-half inch. 
 C. The use of water or any other liquid or material on the tape is strictly prohibited. 
 D. The hand bandages shall be placed and adjusted in the dressing room in the presence of a 
representative designated by the commission and, if requested, one representative of the other unarmed combatant. 
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 E. Under no condition are gloves to be placed on the hands of the contestant until the commission 
representative stamps or signs the commission’s approval on the hand bandages. 
 F. No spirits of ammonia may be used in the ring or cage. 
 G. Only discretionary use of petroleum jelly may be used on the face prior to the start of the fight. 
 H. In case of cuts, only the following solutions are allowed: 
  (1) a sealed solution of adrenaline 1/1000 at ringside; 
  (2) avetine; and 
  (3) thrombin. 
 I. All first aid equipment used by a second, trainer or manager shall in all cases and at all times be 
subject to inspection by the commission or its representative, or assigned physician and the decision as to the use 
shall be final. 
 J. No prescribed inhalers or any other type of aerosol inhaler may be used in the corner of any 
fighter.  A prescribed inhaler may be given to the ringside physician prior to the start of the bout. 
[15.6.5.11 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/26/2012; A, 1/30/2024] 
 
15.6.5.12 PHYSICIAN IN ATTENDANCE: 
 A. It shall be the duty of every promoter to have in attendance at every (1) professional unarmed 
combat event, contest, or exhibition, (2) amateur mixed martial arts event, contest, or exhibition, or (3) any amateur 
event in which protective headgear in not worn by the amateur combatants, a physician licensed by the state of New 
Mexico and designated by the commission. 
 B. It shall be the duty of every promoter to have in attendance at every amateur unarmed combat 
event, contest, or exhibition, not fitting into Section A, above, a medical professional. 
 C. The commission may establish a schedule of fees to be paid by the promoter to cover the cost of 
the medical professional’s attendance. 
 D. The promoter shall pay the medical professional directly, in accordance with rules established by 
the commission. 
[15.6.5.12 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/26/2012; A, 1/15/2015] 
 
15.6.5.13 THE RINGSIDE PHYSICIAN: 
 A. Duties of the ringside physician: The ringside physician shall: 
  (1) Observe the physical condition of the contestants during the course of the match. 
  (2) Advise the referee if the physician determines that a contestant requires first aid 
treatment. 
  (3) Render treatment to a contestant if requested to do so by the referee. 
  (4) Examine any contestant between rounds whenever the physician deems it appropriate. 
  (5) Advise the referee to terminate the match if the physician is of the opinion that any 
contestant is physically unfit to continue. 
  (6) Treat any contestant who appears injured at the conclusion of the match. 
  (7) Advise the commission representative in charge to terminate any match if, in the opinion 
of the physician, any contestant has received severe punishment or is in danger of serious physical injury. 
  (8) Render immediately any emergency treatment necessary, and recommend further 
treatment or hospitalization, if required. 
  (9) Determine whether the injured contestant and his manager should remain in the ring or on 
the premises after the contest for a period of time as deemed advisable by the physician. 
  (10) Present a full report on the matter to the commission within 24 hours of the match. 
 B. When the ringside physician may enter the ring: Barring anything contrary to this part, the 
ringside physician may enter the ring between rounds and terminate any match or bout to prevent severe punishment 
or serious injury to a contestant.  The referee may request an examination of the contestant during the match or bout, 
and is required to stop the contest upon the recommendation of the physician. 
[15.6.5.13 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002] 
 
15.6.5.14 WHEN A MANDATORY COUNT OF EIGHT IS REQUIRED: 
 A. In the event that one unarmed combatant is knocked-down, the referee shall give a mandatory 8-
count.  A unarmed combatant shall be deemed “down” when any part of his body, except his feet, is on the floor or 
he is hanging helplessly over or on the ropes. 
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 B. Should a contestant slip, or fall down, or be pushed, he shall be ordered to his feet immediately.  
Failure to rise may subject him to disqualification. 
[15.6.5.14 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/26/2012] 
 
15.6.5.15 [RESERVED] 
 
15.6.5.16 AUTOMATIC SUSPENSION OF UNARMED COMBATANT SUFFERING ACTUAL 
KNOCKOUT: 
 A. any contestant who has suffered an actual knockout shall be automatically suspended for at least 
60 days; 
 B. the contestant shall surrender his license card to the commission; and 
 C. the contestant shall not engage in any unarmed combatant, boxing or sparring contest or exhibition 
during the period of such suspension. 
[15.6.5.16 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/26/2012] 
 
15.6.5.17 EXAMINATION AND REPORT AFTER SEVERE INJURY OR KNOCKOUT: 
 A. Any contestant who has sustained any severe injury or actual knockout in a bout or match shall be 
thoroughly examined within 24 hours by a physician approved by the commission’s medical advisory board. 
 B. Upon the medical advisory board’s recommendation, the commission may suspend the unarmed 
combatant beyond the mandatory 60 days until he is fully recovered. 
 C. In the event that a contestant who has suffered a severe injury or a knockout has been treated by 
his own personal physician or has been hospitalized, he or his manager must promptly submit a full report from the 
attending physician or hospital to the commission’s medical advisory board. 
[15.6.5.17 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/26/2012] 
 
15.6.5.18 [RESERVED] 
 
15.6.5.19 SPECIAL MANDATORY MEDICAL EXAMINATIONS: 
 A. Contestant losing six consecutive matches: Any contestant who has lost six consecutive bouts or 
matches must be automatically suspended and cannot be reinstated until he has submitted to a medical examination 
of the type specified in Subsection A of 15.6.5.8 NMAC. 
 B. Physician panel: At the request of the commission, the medical advisory board shall appoint a 
panel of three physicians to specially examine any licensed unarmed combatant, boxer, wrestler, or martial artist as 
deemed necessary by the commission. 
[15.6.5.19 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/26/2012] 
 
15.6.5.20 MANDATORY RESTING PERIOD FOR BOXERS BETWEEN BOUTS: 
 A. If an unarmed combatant has competed anywhere in a six rounds or more bout, he shall not be 
allowed to box in New Mexico until seven days have elapsed since his last bout. 
 B. If an unarmed combatant has competed anywhere in a four round bout, he shall not be allowed to 
box in New Mexico until four days have elapsed since his last bout. 
[15.6.5.20 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/26/2012] 
 
15.6.5.21 [RESERVED] 
 
15.6.5.22 AMBULANCE AT LIVE EVENTS: The promoter shall ensure that there is an ambulance on 
stand-by at all professional and amateur mixed martial arts events, contests, or exhibitions. 
[15.6.5.22 NMAC - N, 3/23/2002; A, 8/16/2012; A, 1/15/2015] 
 
HISTORY of 15.6.5 NMAC: 
Pre-NMAC History: 
Material in the part was derived from that previously filed with the commission of public records - state records 
center and archives: 
NMAC 80-4, Conduct of Licensees, filed 9/24/1980. 
Those relevant portions of NMAC Rule 92-6, Conduct of Licensees, filed 8/17/1992. 
NMAC 80-5, Rules to Safeguard Health, filed 9/24/1980. 
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NMAC Rule 92-7, Rules to Safeguard Health, filed 8/17/1992. 
 
History of Repealed Material: 
NMAC Rule 92-6 (aka 15 NMAC 6.4), Conduct of Licensees, filed 8/17/1992; repealed effective 3/23/2002. 
NMAC Rule 92-7 (aka 15 NMAC 6.5), Requirements To Safeguard Health, filed 8/17/1992, repealed effective 
3/23/2002. 
 
Other History: 
NMAC Rule 92-6 was recompiled into the first version of the New Mexico Administrative Code as 15 NMAC 6.4 
and named Conduct of Licensees. 
NMAC Rule 92-7 was recompiled into the first version of the New Mexico Administrative Code as 15 NMAC 6.5 
and named Requirements To Safeguard Health. 
15.6.5 NMAC, Requirements To Safeguard Health, replaced 15 NMAC 6.5, Requirements To Safeguard Health, 
effective 3/23/2002. 


