TITLE 16OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSINGCHAPTER 10MEDICINE AND SURGERY PRACTITIONERSPART 9FEES

16.10.9.1 ISSUING AGENCY: New Mexico Medical Board, hereafter called the board. [16.10.9.1 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.1 NMAC, 3/24/2020]

16.10.9.2 SCOPE: This part applies to applicants and licensees. [16.10.9.2 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.2 NMAC, 3/24/2020]

16.10.9.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: This part is promulgated pursuant to and in accordance with the Medical Practice Act, Sections 61-6-1 through 61-6-35 NMSA 1978. [16.10.9.3 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.3 NMAC, 3/24/2020]

16.10.9.4 **DURATION:** Permanent.

[16.10.9.4 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.4 NMAC, 3/24/2020]

16.10.9.5 EFFECTIVE DATE: March 24, 2020 unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. [16.10.9.5 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.5 NMAC, 3/24/2020]

16.10.9.6 OBJECTIVE: This part sets fees for physicians, physician assistants, anesthesiologists assistants, genetic counselors, polysomnography technologists, naturopathic doctors and individuals requesting selected public information.

[16.10.9.6 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.6 NMAC, 3/24/2020; A, 2/8/2022]

16.10.9.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. **"FCVS"** means the federation credential verification service of the federation of state medical boards.

B. "HSC" means the hospital services corporation, a New Mexico corporation, and a certified credential verification organization serving hospitals and health plans located in New Mexico. [16.10.9.7 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.7 NMAC, 3/24/2020]

16.10.9.8 PHYSICIAN FEES:

A. Application fee of \$400.

B. Triennial license renewal fee of \$450 plus a triennial fee to support the impaired physicians program of \$150.

- C. Temporary license fee for a temporary camp or school license of \$50.
- **D.** Temporary license fee for a temporary teaching/research license of \$100.
- **E.** Processing fee of \$25 for placing a license on inactive status.

F. Late fee of \$100 for all physicians who renew their license to active status, or provide required documentation after June 30 but no later than August 15 of the year of expiration.

G. Late fee of \$200 for physicians who renew their licenses to active status, or provide required documentation between August 16 and October 1 of the year of expiration.

H. Reinstatement fee of \$400, for reinstatement of a suspended license, which shall be in addition to the triennial license renewal, impaired physicians program fee; and if required, nationwide criminal history screening fee.

I. Reinstatement fee of \$200 to reactivate from inactive status, which shall be in addition to the triennial license renewal, impaired physicians program fee; and if required, nationwide criminal history screening fee.

- **J.** Postgraduate training license fee of \$10.
- **K.** Public service license fee of \$50 annually.
- **L.** Telemedicine initial licensing and triennial renewal fee of \$400.

M. Nationwide criminal history screening fee equal to the current federal bureau of investigation and department of public safety fee.

N. Statewide criminal history fee equal to the current department of public safety fee. [16.10.9.8 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.8 NMAC, 3/24/2020]

16.10.9.9 PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT FEES:

- **A.** Application fee of \$150.
- **B.** Biennial renewal of licensure fee of \$150.
- **C.** Change of primary supervising physician fee of \$25.

D. Late fee of \$50 for physician assistants who renew their license, or provide required

documentation, after March 1 but by April 15 of the renewal year.

E. Late fee of \$75 for physician assistants who renew their license, or provide required documentation, between April 15 and May 30 of the renewal year.

F. Fee of \$25 for placing a physician assistants license on inactive status.

G. Reinstatement fee of \$100, for reinstatement of a physician assistant license, which shall be in addition to the biennial license renewal; and if required, nationwide criminal history screening fee.

H. Nationwide criminal history screening fee equal to the current federal bureau of investigation and department of public safety fee.

I. Statewide criminal history fee equal to the current department of public safety fee.

[16.10.9.9 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.9 NMAC, 3/24/2020; A, 2/8/2022]

16.10.9.10 ANESTHESIOLOGIST ASSISTANT FEES:

- **A.** Application fee of \$100.
- **B.** Biennial renewal fee of \$100.
- **C.** Change in supervision fee of \$25.

D. Late fee of \$25 for failure to renew license or provide required documentation by July 1 of the renewal year.

E. Reinstatement fee of \$50, for reinstatement of an anesthesiologist assistant license, which shall be in addition to the biennial license renewal; and if required, nationwide criminal history screening fee. [16.10.9.10 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.10 NMAC, 3/24/2020; A, 2/8/2022]

16.10.9.11 GENETIC COUNSELOR FEES:

- **A.** Application fee of \$150; includes temporary license while certification is pending.
- **B.** Biennial renewal fee of \$150.

C. Reinstatement fee of \$100, for reinstatement of a genetic counselor license, which shall be in addition to the biennial license renewal; and if required, nationwide criminal history screening fee.

D. Temporary teaching or assisting license fee of \$150.

E. Temporary license renewal fee of \$50; for applicants renewing a temporary license while certification is pending.

F. Late fee of \$50 for failure to renew license or provide required documentation by March 1 of the renewal year.

[16.10.9.11 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.11 NMAC, 3/24/2020; A, 2/8/2022]

16.10.9.12 POLYSOMNOGRAPHY TECHNOLOGIST FEES:

- **A.** Application fee of \$150; includes temporary permit while certification is pending.
- **B.** Biennial renewal fee of \$150.

C. Reinstatement fee of \$100, for reinstatement of a polysomnography technologist license, which shall be in addition to the biennial license renewal; and if required, nationwide criminal history screening fee.

- **D.** Temporary permit renewal fee of \$50.
- **E.** Late fee of \$50 for failure to renew license or provide required documentation by March 1 of the renewal year.

[16.10.9.12 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.12 NMAC, 3/24/2020; A, 2/8/2022]

16.10.9.13 PHYSICIANS SUPERVISING PHARMACIST CLINICIANS:

- **A.** Registration application fee of \$100.
- **B.** Biennial renewal fee of \$100.
- C. Change of supervising physician fee of \$25, with no change in scope of practice or protocol.

D. Late fee of \$25 for failure to renew registration or provide required documentation by July 1 of the renewal year.

[16.10.9.13 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.13 NMAC, 3/24/2020]

16.10.9.14 MISCELLANEOUS FEES:

- **A.** Copying fee of up to \$1.00 per page for public records.
- **B.** License verification fee of \$30 per license for a letter of good standing to confirm the verification.
- **C.** Fee of \$20 per copy for annual directory of physicians.
- **D.** Returned check fee of \$25.
- **E.** List of licensees on CD \$100.
- F. Physician mailing labels \$250, physician assistant mailing labels \$50.
- G. Administrative reprocessing fee no greater than current initial licensing fee.
- H. Waiver. The board may waive or reduce miscellaneous fees but only for good cause shown and

documented. The NMMS, NMAPA, and UNMHSC will each be given one free list or CD annually.

[16.10.9.14 NMAC - Rp 16.10.9.14 NMAC, 3/24/2020; A, 2/8/2022]

16.10.9.15 NATUROPATHIC DOCTORS:

- **A.** Application fee of \$320.
- **B.** Triennial license renewal fee of \$360.
- **C.** Processing fee of \$20 for placing a license on inactive status.

D. Late fee of \$80 for all naturopathic doctors who renew their license to active status, or provide required documentation after March 1 but by April 15 of the renewal year.

E. Late fee of \$160 for naturopathic doctors who renew their license to active status, or provide required documentation after April 15 but by May 30 of the renewal year.

F. Reinstatement fee of \$200, for reinstatement of a naturopathic doctors' license, which shall be in addition to the biennial license renewal; and if required, nationwide criminal history screening fee.

G. Nationwide criminal history screening fee equal to the current federal bureau of investigation and department of public safety fee.

H. Statewide criminal history fee equal to the current department of public safety fee.

[16.10.9.15NMAC - N, 2/8/2022]

HISTORY OF 16.10.9 NMAC:

Pre-NMAC History: Material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the Commission of Public Records - State Records Center and Archives:

85-1, Fee for Late Registration, 10/2/1985.
Rule 7, Fees, 9/1/1989.
BME Rule 6, Fees, 12/19/1989.
BME Rule 6, Fees, 4/4/1991.
Rule 6, Fees and Change of Name, 6/21/1993.
Rule 6, Fees and Change of Name, 10/26/1994.

NMAC History:

16 NMAC 10.9, Fees, 3/5/1997.

History of the Repealed Material:

16 NMAC 10.9, Fees, filed 3/5/1997 - Repealed, 7/15/2001. 16.10.9 NMAC, Fees, filed 6/8/2001 - Repealed, 3/24/2020.

Other History:

16 NMAC 10.9, Fees filed 3/5/1997 replaced by 16.10.9 NMAC - Fees, effective 7/15/2001. 16.10.9 NMAC, Fees filed 6/8/2001 replaced by 16.10.9 NMAC - Fees, effective 3/24/2020.