TITLE 16 OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

CHAPTER 63 SOCIAL WORKERS

PART 3 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

16.63.3.1 ISSUING AGENCY: Regulation and Licensing Department, Board of Social Work Examiners P.O. Box 25101, Santa Fe, NM 87504

[16.63.3.1 NMAC - Rp, 16.63.3.1 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

16.63.3.2 SCOPE: All baccalaureate social workers, master social workers, and independent social workers.

[16.63.3.2 NMAC - Rp, 16 63.3.2 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

16.63.3.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: These parts are promulgated pursuant to the Social Work Practice Act, Subsection J of Section 61-31-8 and 61-31-14 NMSA 1978. [16.63.3.3 NMAC - Rp, 16.63.3.3 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

16.63.3.4 DURATION: Permanent

[16.63.3.4 NMAC - Rp, 16.63.3.4 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

16.63.3.5 EFFECTIVE DATE: March 13, 2022, unless a different date is cited at the end of a section. [16.63.3.5 NMAC – Rp, 16.63.3.5 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

16.63.3.6 OBJECTIVE: To outline the application process, parameters of practice, and the renewal procedure.

[16.63.3.6 NMAC - Rp, 16.63.3.6 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

16.63.3.7 **DEFINITIONS:** [RESERVED]

- **16.63.3.8 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE:** Applicants, other than those applying for licensure by credentials, must submit or cause to be submitted the following documentation to the board:
 - A. completed application;
 - **B.** two personal character references;
- C. one $2" \times 2"$ original photograph of the applicant taken within the preceding six months affixed to the application;
 - **D.** license fee as provided in Part 8;
- **E.** official transcripts directly from the university or college or by other means approved by the board verifying a bachelors or masters degree in social work;
- **F.** verification of supervision must be received directly from the supervisor or by other means approved by the board;
- **G.** if currently or previously licensed in another state you must submit verification of licensure, which must be sent directly to the board by the issuing jurisdiction;
- **H.** official exam scores; proof of passing the licensure exam must be received directly from the association of social work boards or from the jurisdiction in which the applicant is licensed; and
 - **I.** verification the applicant has completed one of the following:
 - (1) a three credit hour course in New Mexico cultures listed on the applicants transcripts;
 - a board approved course, workshop or seminar in New Mexico cultures;
 - (3) proof of previously passing the New Mexico cultural examination.
 - **J.** proof of passing the jurisprudence examination with a grade of no less than seventy percent;
- **K.** provide proof of any disqualifying criminal convictions as defined in 16.63.13.9 NMAC. [16.63.3.8 NMAC Rp, 16.63.3.8 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

16.63.3.9 PARAMETERS OF PRACTICE: The scope of practice for the independent social worker is set forth in 16.63.11.9 NMAC. The scope of practice for the master social worker is set forth in 16.63.10.9 NMAC. The scope of practice for the baccalaureate social worker is set forth in 16.63.9.9 NMAC.

[16.63.3.9 NMAC - Rp, 16.63.3.9 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

16.63.3 NMAC

16.63.3.10 INITIAL LICENSE/RENEWAL OF LICENSE:

- **A.** Initial license.
- (1) Initial licenses issued between January 1 and June 30 shall expire on July 1 of the next calendar year.
- (2) Initial licenses issued between July 1 and December 31 shall expire on July 1 of the second calendar year following the date of issuance.
 - **B.** No license will be issued for longer than 24 months.
 - **C.** Renewal of license.
- (1) Each licensed social worker shall apply for license renewal and pay the renewal fee as set forth in Part 8.
 - (2) Licenses that expire July 1, 2007 will renew according to the following schedule.
- (a) If the last digit of the license number ends in an even number the license will expire on July 1, 2008 and biennially thereafter. The renewal fee will be prorated.
- **(b)** If the last digit of the license number ends in an odd number the license will expire on July 1, 2009 and biennially thereafter.
- **D.** A 30-day grace period, running from July 1 July 30, of the renewal year allows the social worker to submit a renewal without a late penalty fee. However the social worker's license shall be considered expired and the social worker will refrain from practicing.
- **E.** From July 31 to September 29 of the renewal year the social worker may renew the license, however a penalty fee will be assessed (16.63.8.17 NMAC).
- F. If revoked for non-renewal, the licensee will be required to pay previous penalties, complete a new application and pay another application fee. Licensees revoked for non-renewal may be reinstated if revocation was due to extenuating circumstances. These extenuating circumstances include serious, physician-verified illness and military service. The extenuating circumstances must be presented in writing for the board's consideration and will be handled on a case-by-case basis. Licenses will only be reinstated if licensees are up to date with all current continuing education requirements and pass an exam prescribed by the board.
- **G.** Electronic signatures shall be accepted on all applications. [16.63.3.10 NMAC Rp, 16.63.3.10 NMAC, 3/13/2022]
- 16.63.3.11 QUALIFIED APPLICANTS: As per 16.63.4.12 NMAC "Qualified applicants who fail to obtain the minimum required score may retake the (ASWB) exam an unlimited number of times. Applicants must pay the examination fee for each administration of the examination." Prior to the re-examination a new application must be submitted to the board by the applicant. A non-refundable application fee must accompany the new application. Qualifications for examination will be evaluated based on the most recent application. Initial applications are valid for a period of 12 months; additional, applications shall be valid for a period not to exceed 12 months from the date of initial submission.

[16.63.3.11 NMAC – Rp, 16.63.3.11 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

16.63.3.12 EXAMINATION REQUIRED: No license, other than a provisional license, will be issued without passing exam scores for ASWB at the appropriate level. The scores of ASWB examination may be submitted by ASWB, or by the state board from which the applicant is currently licensed, directly to the New Mexico board of social work examiners.

[16.63.3.12 NMAC - Rp, 16.63.3.12 NMAC, 3/13/2022]

HISTORY OF 16.63.3 NMAC:

Pre-NMAC History: The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the Commission of Public Records-State Records Center and Archives:

Rule 3, Application for Licensure, 4/15/1991.

Rule 3, Application for Licensure, 5/22/1992.

Rule 3, Application for Licensure, 12/5/1994.

History of Repealed Material:

16.63.3 NMAC - Application for Licensure, filed 5/20/2002 was repealed and replaced by 16.63.3 NMAC Application for Licensure, effective 3/13/2022.

16.63.3 NMAC 2

Other History: 16.63.3 NMAC - Application for Licensure, (filed 5/20/2002) replaced by 16.63.3 NMAC - Application for Licensure, effective 3/13/2022.

16.63.3 NMAC 3