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NOTICE OF PUBLIC RULE HEARING AND BOARD MEETING

The New Mexico Counseling and Therapy Practice Board and the Regulation and Licensing Department will hold a
rule hearing on Friday, July 11, 2025, at 9:00 a.m. Immediately following the rule hearing, the Board will convene a
regular board meeting to consider adoption of rules and take care of regular business. The hearing and board
meeting will be held at the Regulation and Licensing Department, located at 2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM in
the Rio Grande Conference Room.

The hearing and subsequent Counseling and Therapy Practice board meeting may also be accessed virtually via
Microsoft Teams.

Meeting Link: https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-

join/19%3ameeting MjBjYjUSMTgtNGM4My00NzQ1LWIJiY2ItODZmY zZlyMzcOMDMz%40thread.v2/0?context
=%70%22T1d%22%3a%2204aa6bf4-d436-4261-bfa4-04b7a70e60ft%22%2c%2201d%22%32%220e369004-579¢-
46ef-9c0c-80e56d3f46b0%22%7d

Meeting ID: 292 719 553 524 4

Passcode: 82yU6w9h

Dial in by phone

+1 505-312-4308.,7313287474# United States, Albuquerque

Find a local number

Phone conference ID: 731 328 747#
The purpose of the rule hearing is to consider the initiation of rulemaking for the following rules:

16.27.1 — General Provisions

16.27.3 — Application Procedures, Initial Licenses, and License Period

16.27.4 — Requirements for Licensure as a Professional Clinical Mental Health Counselor (LPCC)
16.27.6 — Requirements for Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT)

16.27.7 — Requirements for Licensure as a Professional Art Therapist (LPAT)

16.27.9 — Requirements for Licensure as a Mental Health Counselor (LMHC)

16.27.11 — Requirements for Licensure with Examination as an Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor (LADAC)
16.27.13 — Requirements for Licensure as a Substance Abuse Associate (LSAA)

16.27.14 — Temporary License

16.27.15 — Examinations

16.27.16 — Continuing Education

16.27.17 — Fees

16.27.18 — Code of Ethics

16.27.19 — Approved Supervisors

16.27.22 — Requirements for Licensure as an Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT)

On Tuesday, June 10, 2025, copies of the proposed rules may be obtained through the New Mexico Counseling and
Therapy Practice Board website at https://www.rld.nm.gov/boards and commissions/individual boards and
commissions/counseling and therapy practice/statutes rules and rule hearings/, or by contacting the Board
Administrator for the Board at (505) 476-4622.

The New Mexico Counseling and Therapy Practice Board and the Regulation and Licensing Department will begin
accepting written public comment regarding the proposed rule changes beginning Tuesday, June 10, 2025, 8:00 a.m.



and ending Friday, July 11, 2025, 9:00 a.m. Written comments may be submitted either by email to
counseling.board@rld.nm.gov or by postal mail to the following address:

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department

Attn: New Mexico Counseling and Therapy Practice Board
P.O. Box 25101

Santa Fe, NM 87504

Written comments received during the public comment period (June 10, 2025 — July 11, 2025) will be posted to the
website page linked above. Public comment will also be accepted during the rule hearing and may be submitted in
writing or presented orally by those attending in-person. The members of the New Mexico Counseling and Therapy
Practice Board will not engage in substantive discussion of public comments during the rule hearing but will
consider all public comments during the regular board meeting immediately following the conclusion of the rule
hearing.

The agenda for the New Mexico Counseling and Therapy Practice Board regular meeting which will begin
immediately after the public rule hearing, will be posted and available at least 72 hours before the meeting on the
Board website at: https://www.rld.nm.gov/boards-and-commissions/individual-boards-and-commissions/counseling-
and-therapy-practice/board-information. Copies of the agenda may also be obtained by contacting Ruth Romero,
Board Administrator .

For inclement weather: If New Mexico state offices are placed on a two-hour delay due to inclement weather, the
rule hearing will be pushed back two hours from the noticed hearing time. If New Mexico state offices are closed
due to inclement weather, the rule hearing will be rescheduled as soon as possible.

An individual with a disability who is in need of a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language interpreter, or other
form of auxiliary aid or service to attend or participate in the hearing, please contact Ruth Romero, Board
Administrator at (505) 476-4622 at least 7 days prior to the rules hearing and regular board meeting. Public
documents, including the proposed rules, meeting agenda and minutes, can be provided in various accessible
formats.

Statutory Authority:

The rule changes are authorized by the Counseling and Therapy Practice Act, NMSA 1978, Section 61-9A-1
through 61-9A-30, specifically authorizes the Board to adopt and file in accordance with the State Rules Act,
[Chapter 14, Article 4, 1978] rules necessary to carry out the provision of the Counseling and Therapy Practice Act,
in accordance with the provision of the Uniform Licensing Act”.

Purpose of the Proposed Rules: The proposed rule changes are intended to address changes to the Counseling and
Therapy Practice Act, to provide greater clarity and align rules with the process for online applications, implement
process for CE Audit, improve process for Temporary License holders and provide guidelines for ethical use of Al
in Counseling and Therapy Practice.

Summary of Proposed Changes: The Board summarizes its proposed changes to its administrative rules as
follows:

16.27.1 NMAC — General Provisions — Adds language for online process for a licensee requesting a name change or
address change.

16.27.3 NMAC — Application Procedures, Initial Licenses, and License Period — Removes language from
application for licensure by examination regarding how transcripts are to be submitted to the board office and aligns
with the current online application process and clarifies the current process for reinstating a license from retirement
or inactive status.

16.27.4 NMAC — Requirements for Licensure as a Professional Clinical Mental Health Counselor (LPCC) —
Removes outdated language and adds new language for documentation required for licensure by examination to
align with current online application process.



16.27.6 NMAC — Requirements for Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) — Removes, adds or
changes language for documentation required for licensure by examination to align with current online application
process.

16.27.7 NMAC — Requirements for Licensure as a Professional Art Therapist (LPAT) — Removes outdated language
and adds new language for documentation required for licensure by examination to align with current online
application process.

16.27.9 NMAC — Requirements for Licensure as a Mental Health Counselor (LMHC) — Removes “Mental Health
Specialty or Art Therapy Specialty” from Title of Subsection 16.27.9.9 and from description under 16.27.9.11
Examination. Other outdated language is removed to align with current online application process.

16.27.11 NMAC — Requirements for Licensure with Examination as an Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor
(LADAC) — Removes outdated language and adds language to align with current online application process.

16.27.13 NMAC — Requirements for Licensure as a Substance Abuse Associate (LSAA) — Removes outdated
language and adds language to align with current online application process.

16.27.14 NMAC — Temporary License — Changes the process to allow licensees to request extensions of their
temporary license until they pass the exam (up to 3 years) rather than expiring after one year and having to apply for
a new temporary license. This will make the process easier for licensees to have the same license number when
submitting proof to the credentialling agencies. Language is also removed for process that is no longer applicable.

16.27.15 NMAC — Examinations — Removes outdated language that no longer applies and adds language to align
with the current online application process.

16.27.16 NMAC — Continuing Education — Changes the process for continuing education requirements and updates
the rules to introduce the standard for auditing continuing education requirements for license renewal.

16.27.17 NMAC - Fees — Removes outdated language and changes fee for returned checks from $25.00 to $35.00.

16.27.18 NMAC — Code of Ethics — Adds language and subsection for guidance regarding ethical use of Al in
Counseling and Therapy Practice.

16.27.19 NMAC — Approved Supervisors — Removes requirement for 2”x 2’ photo which was applicable to paper
applications and corrects process to align with current online application process.

16.27.22 NMAC — Requirements for Licensure as an Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT) — Corrects
license type acronym under 16.27.22.8 NMAC and removes outdated language to align with the current online
application process.



