|

NEW MEXICO
Commission of Public Records

Your Access to Public Information

New Mexico Register

The official publication for all official notices of rulemaking
and filing of proposed, adopted and emergency rules.

Volume XXXVI - Issue 9 - May 6, 2025



COPYRIGHT © 2025
BY
THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED



The New Mexico Register

Published by the Commission of Public Records,
Administrative Law Division
1205 Camino Carlos Rey, Santa Fe, NM 87507
The New Mexico Register is published twice each month by the Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division.
The cost of an annual subscription is $270.00. Individual copies of any Register issue may be purchased for $12.00. Subscription
inquiries should be directed to: The Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division, 1205 Camino Carlos
Rey, Santa Fe, NM 87507.
Telephone: (505) 476-7941; Fax: (505) 476-7910; E-mail: staterules@state.nm.us.
The New Mexico Register is available free at http://www.srca.nm.gov/new-mexico-register/



New Mexico Register
Volume XXXVI, Issue 9
May 6, 2025

Table of Contents

Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT
Notice of Proposed RUIEMAKING. ......c..ooouiiiiiiiiiiiieei ettt st 300

ENERGY, MINERALS AND NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
STATE PARKS DIVISION
Notice of Proposed RUIEMAKING. ......c..eouiiiiiiiiieiiee ettt 300

ENVIRONMENT DEPARTMENT
New Mexico Environmental Improvement Board Notice of Rulemaking Hearing To Consider Repeal
and Replacement of 20.2.70 NMAC, Operating Permits and Title V Program Revision, EIB 25-10 (R)........... 302
Aviso De Audiencia De La Junta De Mejora Ambiental De Nuevo Mexico Sobre una Propuesta De
Reglamentaction Para Considerar La Derogacion Y Reemplazo De 20/2/70 NMAC, Permisos De
Operaction Y Revision Del Programa Del Titulo V, EIB 25-10 (R)....ccceiieiiiiieiiiieceec e 304

FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF
NOtICE OF RUICMAKING. ...ttt ettt bt et et et s bt e bt sbe e beeseebeeneenteans 307

GAME AND FISH DEPARTMENT
State Game Commission Meeting and Rule Making NOtICE. ........cocueriiiiiiiiiiiiieeeee e 309

GAMING CONTROL, BOARD OF

Notice of Proposed RUICMAKING. .......cc.oiiiiiiiiiiiieieee ettt eee 310
HEALTH, DEPARTMENT OF

NOtICE OF PUDIIC HEATING. ....c..ieeiiiieiieiiee ettt ettt ettt sttt ettt et ettt e seeeneeees 311
HIGHER EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (5.7.15 NIMAQC).....couiiiiiiiieiieieieeeee ettt 312

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (5.7.36 NIMAQC).....c.iiiiiiiieiieieteeeeee ettt 313

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (5.7.38 NIMAQC).....cutiiiiiiieiieieieeesttee sttt 314
PUBLIC EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

Notice of Proposed RUIEMAKING. .........coouiiiiiiiieiie ettt ae s 316
STATE PERSONNEL OFFICE

Notice of Proposed RUICMAKING. .......cc.eiiiiiiiiiiiiieiee ettt e e eeee 314
SUPERINTENDENT OF INSURANCE, OFFICE OF

Notice of Proposed RUICMAKING. .......cc.oiuiiiiiiiiiiiietetee ettt eees 315

Adopted Rules

A = Amended, E = Emergency, N = New, R = Repealed, Rn = Renumbered

GAMING CONTROL, BOARD OF
15.1.18 NMAC R Minimum Standards for Compulsive Gambling Assistance Plan
SEANAATAS. ... 318

il



15.1.18 NMAC N Minimum Standards for Compulsive Gambling Assistance Plan

SEANAATAS......ceeeiieiiitiiiee e 318
15.1.5 NMAC A Application for Licensure Under the Gaming Control Act...........cccceeneeee. 320
HEALTH, DEPARTMENT OF
7.30.15 NMAC N School Based Health Centers.........c..ccccueoieieininiininincnincsiencneceeenee 321
SUPERINTENDENT OF INSURANCE, OFFICE OF
13.10.40 NMAC R Vaccine Purchasing Fund..........c.cooooiiiiiiiiii e 326
13.10.40 NMAC N Vaccine Purchasing Fund..........c.cooooiiiiiiiiii e 326

Other Material Related to Administrative Law
SUPERINTENDENT OF INSURANCE, OFFICE OF

Notice of Minor, NonSubStantive COITECHION. ......c....ieuiieiieiieeeeeeeeeeeee et e e eeeeeeeee e e e eereeeeeaeeeeteeeenaeeeeeneeessaeeeas 332

v



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXVI, Issue 9/ May 6, 2025

300

Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules

ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

Public Hearing. The New Mexico
Economic Development Department
(EDD) hereby gives notice that

it will conduct a virtual public
hearing on Tuesday, June 10, 2025,
beginning at 9:00am. The purpose
of the public hearing is to receive
public commentary on the proposed
rulemaking to amend 5.5.50 NMAC,
Industrial Development Training
Program, and to address any other
proposed amendments suggested by
interested parties during the public
comment period. The Industrial
Development Board will also receive
public commentary on proposed
policy amendment to the upskills
training program, STEP-UP, under the
Job Training Incentive Program.

The purpose of the public hearing
is to receive public input on the
proposed amendments to 5.5.50
NMAUC, Industrial Development
Training Program (Job Training
Incentive Program) and address
additional changes that may have
been suggested by the Industrial
Training Board or other interested
parties during the public comment
period.

Rule Change Information: The
purpose of this proposed rule
change is to consider the revision
of policy related to the flat rates of
reimbursement based on company
location, for high-wage positions
filled by trainees who do not meet
the one-year residency requirement,
increasing the reimbursement rate
by 10% for urban, rural and frontier
areas. Additionally, the revision of
policy related to updating the wage
table, increasing the minimum wage
requirements per O¥*NET Job Zones
using the Consumer Price Index (CPI)
as the guideline.

Statutory Authorization:

Section 21-19-7 NMSA 1978 grants
the Industrial Training Board the
authority to promulgate and enforce
rule.

Public comment: Interested
individuals are strongly encouraged
to submit written comments regarding
the proposed policy amendments
relating to the Job Training Incentive
Program to Patrick Gannon, JTIP
Program Manager, at patrick.
gannon@edd.nm.gov. Written
comments must be received no later
than 5:00 pm on Friday, June 6, 2025.
EDD encourages the early submission
of written comments. Individuals may
also testify at the public hearing.

For instructions on how to attend
this meeting, visit the Department’s
website at: https://edd.newmexico.
gov/about-us/public-notices.

The proposed policy amendments
and current JTIP Policy Manual may
be accessed through EDD’s website
https://edd.newmexico.gov/about-us/
public-notices/ beginning May 6,
2025 or from Patrick Gannon at the
contact above.

Individuals with disabilities who
require this information in an
alternative format or need any form of
auxiliary aid to attend or participate

in this hearing are asked to contact
Patrick Gannon as soon as possible.
The EDD requests at least ten days
advance notice to provide requested
special accommodations.

ENERGY, MINERALS
AND NATURAL
RESOURCES
DEPARTMENT
STATE PARKS DIVISION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

The State of New Mexico, Energy,
Minerals and Natural Resources
Department (EMNRD), State Parks
Division (Division) hereby gives

notice of the following proposed
rulemaking. EMNRD proposes to
repeal and replace its rule 19.5.1
General Provisions and amend its
rules 19.5.2 Park Visitor Provisions
and 19.5.6 Park Fees.

Purpose of Amendment: EMNRD
proposes the amendments to include

a definition of active-duty military,
camping, developed camping,
primitive camping, NM resident
veteran, and utilities, clarify wording
related to permits vs. passes,

correct wording for Mesilla Valley
Bosque state park, delete language
allowing the division to require
visitors to pay fees for their entire
stay in advance, correct incorrect
references to NMAC sections that
have changed numbering, change the
time a reservation site is available for
other visitors if not occupied by the
visitor holding the reservation, clarify
language allowing the superintendent
to restrict the number or size of tents,
shade or screen shelters occupying

a campsite or day use site, clarify
language allowing the superintendent
to restrict the number or size of
vehicles, camping units or trailers
occupying a campsite, day use site

or parking area, add Rio Grande
Nature Center state park to parks
where annual day use passes are not
valid, add restrictions to the use of
annual day use passes, clarify that
tribal or federal photo identification
may be used for documentation in
purchasing passes, delete language
allowing a photocopy of the award
letter the United States department of
veterans affairs issues for the purchase
of a disabled annual camping pass,
change wording from active-duty
military or honorably discharged
veteran to active-duty military passes,
clarify identification requirements
for the purchase of active-duty
military passes, add Rio Grande
Nature Center state park to the parks
where an annual camping pass is

not valid, delete language related

to disabled veterans passes and add
language related to lifetime veteran
passes, implement requirements for
and procedures for issuing lifetime
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veteran passes, add language making
lifetime veteran passes free of charge.

EMNRD proposes to add the
definition of active-duty military in
19.5.1.7.B.

EMNRD proposes to add the
definition of camping in 19.5.1.7.D.

EMNRD proposes to add the
definition of developed camping in
19.5.1.7.R

EMNRD proposes to add the
definition of NM resident veteran in
19.5.1.7.AA.

EMNRD proposes to add the
definition of primitive camping in
19.5.1.7.LL.

EMNRD proposes to add the
definition of utilities in 19.5.1.7.UU.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.12.A to correct wording for
permits/passes and correct the name
of Mesilla Valley Bosque state park.

EMNRD proposes to delete
19.5.2.12.H.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.12.1 to correct numbering and
correct wording for permits/passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.12.J to correct numbering

and change the time reservation
campsites shall become available to
other visitors if the visitor holding the
reservation does not occupy the site.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.13.H to correct wording from
permits to passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.13.1 to clarify the
superintendent may restrict the
number or size of tents, shade or
screen shelters occupying a campsite
or day use site by posting on the
reservation website.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.14.C to clarify the

superintendent may restrict the
number or size of vehicles, camping
units or trailers occupying a campsite,
day use site or parking area by posting
on the reservation website.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.32.A to correct wording for
permits/passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.32.B to correct wording for
permits/passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.32.C(4) to correct numbering
referencing NMAC sections that have
been amended.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.32.D to correct wording for
permits/passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend 19.5.2.33
to correct wording for permits/passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.34.B(2) to correct wording
from permit to pass.

EMNRD proposes to amend 19.5.2.35
to correct wording for permits/passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.A(1) to add Rio Grande
Nature Center state park as a park
where annual day uses passes are not
valid.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.A to add specific
restrictions to the use of annual day
use passes including making them
non-transferable to individuals not
residing in the same household as the
original purchaser, specifying that
non-residents may not use resident
annual day use passes, and adding
language indicating annual day use
passes used in violation of park rules
are subject to confiscation.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.B to correct wording from
permits to passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.B(1) to correct wording for
permits/passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.B(2) to correct wording
from permits to passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.B(2)(a) to include tribal and
federal issued photo identification

as identification that may be used to
verify residency.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.B(2)(c) to remove reference
to a photocopy of the award letter

the United States department of
veterans affairs issues indicating they
have a one hundred percent service-
connected disability as a verification
document for purchasing a disabled
annual camping pass.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.B(2)(d) to change the
active-duty military and veteran
annual camping pass to just an active-
duty military annual camping pass
and clarify identification requirements
for purchasing the pass.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.B(3) to correct wording
from permit to pass.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.B(4) to correct wording
from permits to passes and add Rio
Grande Nature Center state park as a
park where the annual camping pass
is not valid.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.B(5) to correct wording
from permits to passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.C to correct wording from
permits to passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.D to correct wording from
permits to passes.

EMNRD proposes to amend
19.5.2.35.E to clarify the requirement
to provide proof of purchase when
purchasing a replacement pass and

to correct wording from permits to
passes.
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EMNRD proposes to amend 19.5.2.36 | https://www.emnrd.nm.gov/spd/ ENVIRONMENT
to change the title from disabled public-meetings/ or at the State Parks DEPARTMENT
veterans passes to lifetime veteran Division’s office in Santa Fe.
passes. NEW MEXICO
Public Hearing and Comment. ENVIRONMENTAL
EMNRD proposes to delete EMNRD will hold a public hearing IMPROVEMENT BOARD
19.5.2.36.A through 19.5.2.36.B. on the proposed rule amendments at NOTICE OF RULEMAKING
10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, June 10, 2025, HEARING TO CONSIDER

EMNRD proposes to amend 19.5.2.36
to add sections A through D adding
language indicating that New Mexico
resident veterans are eligible for free
lifetime veteran passes that provide
the individual with unlimited entry
into state parks or recreation areas
operated by the division and unlimited
use of camping areas operated by

the division subject to restrictions in
NMAC and outlining eligibility and
application requirements for the pass
as well as stating that the pass is not
valid for central reservation system
contractor’s services fees, group
shelter fees, or meeting, event and
lodging facility fees.

EMNRD proposes to amend 19.5.2.39
to correct numbering referencing
NMAC sections that will be amended.

EMNRD proposes to amend
section 19.5.6.10 deleting language
referencing the disabled veterans pass.

EMNRD proposes to amend section
19.5.6.11 correcting wording from
permit to pass, changing the New
Mexico active-duty military or
honorably discharged veteran pass
to just active-duty military pass, and
adding the lifetime veteran pass.

EMNRD proposes to amend section
19.5.6.12 to correct wording from
permit to pass.

Legal Authority: EMNRD proposes
this rule amendment under the
authority of NMSA 1978, Section
9-1-5 and NMSA 1978, Section 16-
2-7.

The full text of the proposed rule
amendment is available from Jared

Langenegger at 575-420-1733 or
jaredr.langnegger@emnrd.nm.gov
or can be viewed on the EMNRD,
State Parks Division’s website at

at the Wendell Chino Building, Pecos
Hall, 1220 South Saint Francis Drive,
Santa Fe, NM.

Those wishing to comment on the
proposed rule amendment may make
oral comments or submit information
at the hearing or may submit written
comments by June 10, 2025 at

12:00 p.m. by mail or e-mail. Please
mail written comments to Jared
Langenegger, EMNRD, State Parks
Division, 1220 South Saint Francis
Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505 or submit
comments by e-mail to emnrd-
parkscomments@emnrd.nm.gov.

Technical Information that served

as a basis for the proposed rule
amendments includes:

House Bill 161

Copies of the technical information
can be obtained from Jared
Langenegger at 575-420-1733 or
jaredr.langenegger@emnrd.nm.gov or
can be viewed on the EMNRD, State
Parks Division’s website at https://
www.emnrd.nm.gov/spd/public-
meetings/.

If you are an individual with
a disability who needs a reader,

amplifier, qualified sign language
interpreter, or any other form of
auxiliary aid or service to attend or
participate in the hearing, please
contact Jared Langenegger at 575-
420-1733 or through the New Mexico
Relay Network at 1-800-659-1779
two weeks prior to the hearing. Public
documents can be provided in various
accessible formats. Please contact
Jared Langenegger at 575-420-

1733, if a summary or other type of
accessible format is needed.

REPEAL AND REPLACEMENT
OF 20.2.70 NMAC, OPERATING
PERMITS AND TITLE V
PROGRAM REVISION,
EIB 25-10 (R)

The New Mexico Environmental
Improvement Board (“Board”) will
hold a public hearing beginning on
July 18,2025, at 9:00 a.m. to consider
EIB 25-10 (R) — In the Matter of
Proposed Repeal and Replacement of
20.2.70 NMAC — Operating Permits
and Title V Program Revision. The
Board may make a decision on the
proposed repeal and replacement and
Title V revision at the conclusion

of the hearing, or the Board may
convene a meeting after the hearing to
consider action on the proposal.

The hearing will be conducted in a
hybrid format to allow for both in-
person and virtual participation. The
in-person hearing will be held at the
New Mexico State Capitol Building
(Roundhouse), 490 Old Santa Fe
Trail, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505.
Detailed information concerning the
time and location and instructions

on how to join the hearing virtually
is available on the New Mexico
Environment Department (“NMED”)
events calendar at [https:/www.
env.nm.gov/events-calendar/?tru
mbaEmbed=view%3Devent%26e
ventid%3D182246140], under the
calendar entry corresponding to

the hearing start date. From now
until the conclusion of the hearing,
comments may be submitted via

the NMED public comment portal

at [https://nmed.commentinput.
com/?id=ciShWrFaZ] or via electronic
or physical mail to Pamela Jones,
Board Administrator, P.O. Box 5469,
Santa Fe, NM 87502, pamela.jones@
env.nm.gov._.
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The purpose of the hearing is for

the Board to consider and take
possible action on a petition by
NMED requesting the Board to
adopt New Mexico’s proposed

repeal and replacement of 20.2.70
NMAC, Operating Permits, to
address a mandate by the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency
(“EPA”) directing the removal of
certain affirmative defense provisions
in New Mexico’s Title V Operating
Permit Program at 20.2.70.304
NMAC, Emergency Provision. In
addition, EPA provided a comment to
the Department, indicating that one
of the “Applicable Requirements”
cited at 40 CFR 70.2.(7) is missing
from the definition of “Applicable
Requirement”, at Subsection E of
20.2.70.7 NMAC. To address this
deficiency, new text is proposed at
Paragraph (7) of Subsection E of
20.2.70.7 NMAC. The Department
has also identified an incongruity
between the federal rule at 40 CFR
70.2 Applicable Requirement, and
the current NM Title V operating
permit regulation at Paragraphs

(11) and (12) of Subsection E of
20.2.70.7 NMAC. There is also an
outdated reference to “total suspended
particulate matter” at Paragraph (1) of
Subsection AC of 20.2.70.7 NMAC.
Specifically, the limits for maximum
allowable concentrations of total
suspended particulate (“TSP”) in the
ambient air previously stipulated by
20.2.3 NMAC, Ambient Air Quality
Standards, at 20.2.3.109 NMAC,
Total Suspended Particulates, were
repealed, effective November 30,
2018. The Department must also
update the regulation to meet current
New Mexico Administrative Code
requirements at Subsection C of
1.24.11.9 NMAC, which requires that
“When an agency amends a part that
was not filed in the current style and
format, it shall reformat the entire
part (or use the reformatting done

by the records center) and officially
adopt the current style and formatting
requirements in conjunction with

the amendment”. The Department
will address these changes at the
same time as the affirmative defense
provisions are removed.

The replacement rule, if adopted, will
be submitted to the EPA as a revision
to New Mexico’s Title V program.

On July 12,2023 (88 FR 47029,
7/21/23), the EPA removed the
“emergency” affirmative defense
provisions from Clean Air Act
(“CAA”) operating permit program
(Title V) regulations at 40 CFR
70.6(g), which is applicable to state,
local, and tribal permitting authorities,
and 71.6(g), applicable when EPA is
the permitting authority.

These provisions established an
affirmative defense that stationary
sources could have asserted to avoid
liability in enforcement cases brought
for noncompliance with technology-
based emission limits contained in the
source’s Title V permit, provided that
the source demonstrated that excess
emissions occurred due to qualifying
“emergency”’ circumstances.

These emergency affirmative defense
provisions have never been required
elements of state operating permit
programs or of individual operating
permits. Nonetheless, some state,
local, and tribal programs have
adopted such provisions and include
these affirmative defenses in Title V
permits.

The EPA is removing the emergency
affirmative defense provisions in 40
CFR 70.6(g) and 71.6(g) because they
are inconsistent with the EPA’s current
interpretation of the enforcement
structure of the CAA in light of prior
court decisions from the U.S. Court
of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit -
primarily the Court’s 2014 decision in
Natural Resources Defense Council
(“NRDC”) v. EPA, 749 F.3d 1055.
(D.C. Cir. 2014).

State, local and tribal permitting
authorities whose Title V programs
contain impermissible affirmative
defense provisions must submit
program revisions to the EPA to
remove such impermissible provisions
from their EPA-approved Title V
programs. The EPA expects that states
with Title V programs containing

impermissible affirmative defense
provisions will submit to the EPA
either a program revision, or a request
for an extension of time, within 12
months of the effective date of EPA’s
final rule. (i.e., by August 21, 2024).
On August 21, 2024, the Department
submitted a letter to EPA requesting
an extension of this deadline until
August 21, 2025. On September 17,
2024, this request was granted.

States must also remove Title V-based
affirmative defense provisions
contained in individual operating
permits. The EPA encourages states
to remove these provisions at their
earliest convenience. EPA expects
that any necessary permit changes
should occur in the ordinary course
of business as states process periodic
permit renewals or other unrelated
permit modifications. At the latest,
states must remove affirmative
defense provisions from individual
permits during the next permit
revision or periodic permit renewal
for the source that occurs following
either: (1) the effective date of EPA’s
final rule (i.e. August 21, 2023), for
permit terms based on 40 CFR 70.6(g)
or 71.6(g); or (2) the EPA’s approval
of state program revisions, for permit
terms based on an affirmative defense
provision in an EPA-approved title V
program.

The full text of the Bureau’s proposed
amendments to Part 70, and related
information, including technical
information, may be reviewed on
NMED'’s Proposed Air Quality
Regulations and Plans web page at [
https://www.env.nm.gov/air-quality/
proposed-regs/ ]; or in hard copy
during regular business hours at the
Bureau’s main office, 525 Camino de
los Marquez, Santa Fe, New Mexico,
87505; or by contacting Neal Butt at
(505) 629-2972, or neal.butt@env.
nm.gov .

The hearing will be conducted

in accordance with Rulemaking
Procedures - Environmental
Improvement Board, 20.1.1 NMAC;
the Environmental Improvement Act,
Section 74-1-9 NMSA 1978; the Air
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Quality Control Act, Section 74-2-6
NMSA 1978; and other applicable
procedures.

All interested persons will be given a
reasonable opportunity at the hearing
to submit relevant evidence, data,
views, and arguments, orally and in
writing; to introduce exhibits; and to
examine witnesses. Any person who
intends to present technical testimony
at the hearing shall file a Notice of
Intent to present technical testimony
with the Board Administrator. The
Notice of Intent shall: (1) identify the
person for whom the witness(es) will
testify; (2) identify each technical
witness the person intends to present
and state the qualifications of that
witness, including a description

of their educational and work
background; (3) if the hearing will
be conducted at multiple locations,
indicate the location or locations at
which the witnesses will be present;
(4) include a copy of the direct
testimony of each technical witness
in narrative form; (5) include the text
of any recommended modifications
to the proposed regulatory change;
and (6) list and attach all exhibits
anticipated to be offered by that
person at the hearing, including any
proposed statement of reasons for
adoption of rules.

Notices of intent to present technical
testimony must be received by the
Board no later than 5:00 pm on June
27,2025, and should reference the
docket number (EIB 25-10 (R)) and
date of the hearing (July 18, 2025).
Notices of intent to present technical
testimony shall be submitted to
Pamela Jones, Board Administrator,
P.O. Box 5469, Santa Fe, NM 87502,
pamela.jones@env.nm.gov.

Any member of the general public
may testify at the hearing. No prior
notification is required to present non-
technical testimony at the hearing.
Any such member may also offer
non-technical exhibits in connection
with their testimony, so long as the
exhibit is not unduly repetitious

of the testimony. A member of the
general public who wishes to submit

a written statement for the record,
in lieu of providing oral testimony
at the hearing, shall file the written
statement prior to the hearing or
submit it at the hearing.

Persons requiring language
interpretation services or having

a disability who need a reader,
amplifier, qualified sign language
interpreter, or any other form of
auxiliary aid or service to attend

or participate in the hearing should
contact Pamela Jones at least 14 days
prior to the hearing or as soon as
possible at (505) 660-4305 or pamela.
jones@env.nm.gov_. TDD or TDY
users please dial 7-1-1 or 800-659-
8331 to access this number via Relay
New Mexico.

NMED does not discriminate on

the basis of race, color, national
origin, disability, age or sex in the
administration of its programs or
activities, as required by applicable
laws and regulations. NMED is
responsible for coordination of
compliance efforts and receipt

of inquiries concerning non-
discrimination requirements
implemented by 40 C.F.R. Parts 5
and 7, including Title VI of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964, as amended;
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act
of 1973, the Age Discrimination Act
of 1975, Title IX of the Education
Amendments of 1972, and Section 13
of the Federal Water Pollution Control
Act Amendments of 1972. If you have
any questions about this notice or
any of NMED’s non-discrimination
programs, policies or procedures, you
may contact Kate Cardenas, Non-
Discrimination Coordinator, New
Mexico Environment Department,
1190 St. Francis Dr., Suite N4050,
P.O. Box 5469, Santa Fe, NM 87502,
(505) 827-2855, nd.coordinator@env.
nm.gov...

If you believe that you have been
discriminated against with respect to
an NMED program or activity, you
may contact the Non-Discrimination
Coordinator identified above or

visit https://www.env.nm.gov/non-
employee-discrimination-complaint-

page/ to learn how and where to file a
complaint of discrimination.

ENVIRONMENT
DEPARTMENT

AVISO DE AUDIENCIA
DE LA JUNTA DE
MEJORA AMBIENTAL
DE NUEVO MEXICO
SOBRE UNA PROPUESTA
DE REGLAMENTACION
PARA CONSIDERAR LA
DEROGACION Y REEMPLAZO
DE 20.2.70 NMAC, PERMISOS DE
OPERACION Y REVISION
DEL PROGRAMA DEL TIiTULO
V, EIB 25-10 (R)

La Junta de Mejora Ambiental de
Nuevo México (la “Junta”) celebrara
una audiencia publica a partir del 18
de julio de 2025 a las 9:00 a. m. para
considerar la EIB 25-10 (R) — En el
Asunto de la Propuesta de Derogacion
y Reemplazo de 20.2.70 NMAC —
Permisos de Operacion y Revision del
Programa del Titulo V. La Junta podra
tomar una decision sobre la propuesta
de derogacion y reemplazo, asi como
sobre la revision del Titulo V, al
finalizar la audiencia, o bien podra
convocar una reunion después de la
misma para considerar las medidas a
tomar sobre la propuesta.

La audiencia se realizard en formato
hibrido para permitir la participacion
tanto presencial como virtual. La
audiencia presencial se llevara a cabo
en edificio del Capitolio del Estado

de Nuevo México (Roundhouse),
ubicado en 490 Old Santa Fe Trail,
Santa Fe, Nuevo México 87505. La
informacion detallada sobre la hora,
el lugar y las instrucciones para
unirse virtualmente a la audiencia esta
disponible en el calendario de eventos
del Departamento de Medio Ambiente
de Nuevo México (“NMED”) en [
https://www.env.nm.gov/events-ca
lendar/?trumbaEmbed=view%3D
event%?26eventid%3D 182246140

], en la entrada del calendario
correspondiente a la fecha de inicio de
la audiencia. Desde ahora y hasta la
conclusion de la audiencia se pueden
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enviar comentarios a través del portal
de comentarios publicos del NMED
en [https://nmed.commentinput.
com/?id=ci5ShWrFaZ ] o por correo
electronico o correo postal a Pamela
Jones, administradora de la Junta,
P.O. Box 5469, Santa Fe, NM 87502,
pamela.jones@env.nm.gov.

El propdsito de la audiencia es que

la Junta considere y tome posibles
medidas sobre una peticion de NMED
que solicita a la Junta que adopte la
derogacién y el reemplazo propuestos
por Nuevo México de 20.2.70
NMAC, Permisos de Operacion, para
abordar un mandato de la Agencia

de Proteccion Ambiental de los
Estados Unidos (EPA, por sus siglas
en inglés), que ordena la eliminacion
de ciertas disposiciones de defensa
afirmativa en el Programa de Permisos
de Operacion del Titulo V de Nuevo
México, 20.2.70.304 NMAC,
Disposicion de Emergencia. Ademas,
la EPA presentd un comentario al
Departamento, indicando que uno de
los “Requisitos Aplicables” citados en
40 CFR 70.2.(7) falta en la definicion
de “Requisito Aplicable”, en la
Subseccion E de 20.2.70.7 NMAC.
Para abordar esta deficiencia, se
propone un nuevo texto en el Parrafo
(7) de la Subseccion E de 20.2.70.7
NMAC. El Departamento también ha
identificado una incongruencia entre
la norma federal en 40 CFR 70.2,
Requisito Aplicable y la regulacién
vigente de permisos de operacion del
Titulo V de Nuevo México, en los
parrafos (11) y (12) de la Subseccion
E de 20.2.70.7 NMAC. Asimismo,
existe una referencia obsoleta al
“total de material particulado en
suspension” en el parrafo (1) de la
Subseccion AC de 20.2.70.7 NMAC.
Especificamente, los limites para las
concentraciones maximas permisibles
de Particulas en Suspension Totales
(“TSP” por sus siglas en inglés)

en el aire ambiente, previamente
estipulados en 20.2.3 NMAC,
Estandares de Calidad del Aire
Ambiental, en 20.2.3.109 NMAC,
Particulas en Suspension Totales,
fueron derogados, a partir del 30 de
noviembre de 2018. El Departamento
también debe actualizar la regulacion

para cumplir con los requisitos
actuales del Codigo Administrativo
de Nuevo México, en la Subseccion
Cde 1.24.11.9 NMAC, que exige

que “Cuando una agencia enmiende
una parte que no se presento con el
estilo y formato vigentes, volvera

a formatear la parte completa (o
utilizard el reformateo realizado

por el centro de registros) y adoptar
oficialmente los requisitos de estilo

y formato vigentes junto con la
enmienday. El Departamento abordara
estos cambios al mismo tiempo que se
eliminen las disposiciones de defensa
afirmativa.

La norma de reemplazo, de ser
adoptada, se presentara a la EPA
como una revision del programa del
Titulo V de Nuevo México.

El 12 de julio de 2023 (88 FR

47029, 21/7/23), la EPA elimind las
disposiciones de defensa afirmativa de
“emergencia” de las regulaciones del
programa de permisos de operacion
de la Ley de Aire Limpio (“CAA”
por sus siglas en inglés) (Titulo V)
en 40 CFR 70.6(g), que se aplica a
las autoridades de permisos estatales,
locales y tribales, y 71.6(g), aplicable
cuando la EPA es la autoridad de
permisos.

Estas disposiciones establecian una
defensa afirmativa que las fuentes
estacionarias podrian haber hecho
valer para evitar la responsabilidad en
casos de aplicacion presentados por
el incumplimiento de los limites de
emisiones basados en la tecnologia
contenidos en el permiso del Titulo
V de la fuente, siempre que la
fuente demostrara que el exceso

de emisiones se produjo debido a
circunstancias de “emergencia” que
califican.

Estas disposiciones de defensa
afirmativa de emergencia nunca han
sido elementos obligatorios de los
programas estatales de permisos

de operacion ni de los permisos de
operacion individuales. No obstante,
algunos programas estatales, locales
y tribales han adoptado dichas
disposiciones e incluyen estas

defensas afirmativas en los permisos
del Titulo V.

La EPA esta eliminando las
disposiciones de defensa afirmativa
de emergencia de 40 CFR 70.6(g)

y 71.6(g) porque son inconsistentes
con la interpretacion actual de la EPA
de la estructura de aplicacion de la
CAA, ala luz de decisiones judiciales
previas del Tribunal de Apelaciones
de los Estados Unidos para el Circuito
de D.C., principalmente la decision de
2014 del Tribunal en el caso Consejo
de Defensa de los Recursos Naturales
(“NRDC” por sus siglas en inglés)
contra la EPA, 749 F.3d 1055 (D.C.
Cir. 2014).

Las autoridades estatales, locales y
tribales encargadas de la concesion
de permisos cuyos programas del
Titulo V contengan disposiciones

de defensa afirmativa inadmisibles
deben presentar revisiones del
programa a la EPA para eliminar
dichas disposiciones inadmisibles de
sus programas del Titulo V aprobados
por la EPA. La EPA espera que los
estados con programas del Titulo

V que contengan disposiciones de
defensa afirmativa inadmisibles le
presenten una revision del programa
o una solicitud de prérroga dentro de
los 12 meses posteriores a la fecha de
entrada en vigor de la norma final de
la EPA. (es decir, a mas tardar el 21
de agosto de 2024). El1 21 de agosto
de 2024, el Departamento presentd
una carta a la EPA solicitando una
prorroga de este plazo hasta el 21 de
agosto de 2025. El 17 de septiembre
de 2024, se concedid la solicitud.

Los estados también deben eliminar
las disposiciones de defensa
afirmativa basadas en el Titulo

V contenidas en los permisos de
operacion individuales. La EPA

insta a los estados a eliminar estas
disposiciones lo antes posible. La EPA
prevé que cualquier cambio necesario
en los permisos se produzca en el
curso normal de sus operaciones, a
medida que los estados procesan las
renovaciones periddicas de permisos
u otras modificaciones de permisos no
relacionadas. A mas tardar, los estados
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deben eliminar las disposiciones de
defensa afirmativa de los permisos
individuales durante la siguiente
revision del permiso o renovacion
periddica del permiso para la fuente
que se produzca después de cualquiera
de las dos: (1) la fecha de entrada en
vigor de la norma final de la EPA (es
decir, el 21 de agosto de 2023), para
los términos de los permisos basados
en 40 CFR 70.6(g) o 71.6(g); 0 (2) la
aprobacidn por parte de la EPA de las
revisiones del programa estatal, para
los términos del permiso basados en
una disposicion de defensa afirmativa
en un programa del Titulo V aprobado
por la EPA.

El texto completo de las enmiendas
propuestas por la Oficina a la

Parte 70, asi como la informacion
relacionada, incluida la informacién
técnica, puede consultarse en la
pagina web de Regulaciones y Planes
de Calidad del Aire Propuestos del
NMED: [https://www.env.nm.gov/
air-quality/proposed-regs/ |; o en
formato impreso durante el horario
normal de oficina, en la principal
Oficina ubicada en 525 Camino de
los Marquez, Santa Fe, NM, 87505; o
poniéndose en contacto con Neal Butt
llamando al (505) 629-2972 o en neal.
butt@env.nm.gov .

La audiencia se llevara a cabo de
conformidad con los Procedimientos
de Reglamentacion de la Junta de
Mejora Ambiental, 20.1.1 NMAGC;
la Ley de Mejora Ambiental, 74-1-9
NMSA 1978; la Ley de Control de
la Calidad del Aire, Seccion 74-2-

6 NMSA; y otros procedimientos
aplicables.

Todas las personas interesadas
tendran una oportunidad razonable en
la audiencia para presentar pruebas,
datos, puntos de vista y argumentos
relevantes, oralmente y por escrito;
para presentar pruebas instrumentales;
e interrogar a los testigos. Cualquier
persona que tenga la intencion de
presentar testimonio técnico en la
audiencia debera presentar un Aviso
de Intencion de presentar testimonio
técnico ante la administradora de la
Junta. El Aviso de Intencion debera:

(1) identificar a la persona para quien
el testigo o los testigos testificaran;
(2) identificar a cada testigo técnico
que la persona tiene la intencion de
presentar y declarar las cualificaciones
de ese testigo, incluida una
descripcion de su historial académico
y laboral; (3) si la audiencia se llevara
a cabo en varias ubicaciones, indicar
la ubicacion o ubicaciones en las

que estaran presentes los testigos;

(4) incluir una copia del testimonio
directo de cada testigo técnico en
forma narrativa; (5) incluir el texto de
cualquier modificacion recomendada
al cambio regulatorio propuesto; y (6)
enumerar y adjuntar todas las pruebas
instrumentales que se prevé que esa
persona ofrezca en la audiencia,
incluida cualquier declaracion
propuesta de los motivos para la
adopcion de las normas.

Los avisos de intencion de presentar
testimonio técnico deberan ser
recibidos por la Junta a mas tardar a
las 5:00 p. m. del 27 de junio de 2025,
e indicar el nimero de expediente
(EIB 25-10 (R)) y la fecha de la
audiencia (18 de julio de 2025). Los
avisos de intencidn de presentar
testimonio técnico deberdn enviarse
a Pamela Jones, administradora de la
Junta, P.O. Box 5469, Santa Fe, NM
87502, pamela.jones@env.nm.gov

Cualquier persona del publico podra
testificar en la audiencia. No se
requiere aviso previo para presentar
testimonio no técnico. Las personas
también podran presentar pruebas
instrumentales no técnicas en
relacion con su testimonio, siempre
que la prueba instrumental no repita
indebidamente el testimonio. Si
desea presentar una declaracion por
escrito para que conste en actas, en
lugar de prestar testimonio oral en
la audiencia, debera presentar la
declaracion por escrito antes de la
audiencia o durante la misma.

Las personas que requieran servicios
de interpretacion de idiomas o
tengan una discapacidad y necesiten
un lector, amplificador, intérprete
de lenguaje de sefias cualificado

o cualquier otro tipo de servicio

o dispositivo auxiliar para asistir

o participar en la audiencia deben
comunicarse con Pamela Jones al
menos 14 dias antes de la audiencia
o lo antes posible llamando al (505)
660-4305 o en pamela.jones@env.
nm.gov. Los usuarios de TDD o TDY
pueden llamar al 7-1-1 o al 800-659-
8331 para acceder a este nimero a
través de Relay New Mexico.

El NMED no discrimina por

motivos de raza, color, nacionalidad,
discapacidad, edad o sexo en la
administracion de sus programas

o actividades, seguin lo exigen

las leyes y normativas aplicables.
NMED es responsable de coordinar
las iniciativas de cumplimiento y de
recibir consultas sobre los requisitos
de no discriminacion implementados
por 40 C.F.R. Partes 5y 7, incluido
el Titulo VI de la Ley de Derechos
Civiles de 1964, en su version
modificada. Seccion 504 de la Ley de
Rehabilitacion de 1973; la Ley contra
la Discriminacion por Edad de 1975;
el Titulo IX de las Enmiendas a la
Educacion de 1972; y la Seccion 13
de las Enmiendas a la Ley Federal de
Control de la Contaminacion del Agua
de 1972. Si tiene alguna pregunta
sobre este aviso o sobre cualquiera
de los programas, politicas o
procedimientos de no discriminacion
del NMED, puede comunicarse con
Kate Cardenas, coordinadora de no
discriminacion del Departamento de
Medio Ambiente de Nuevo México,
1190 St. Francis Dr., Suite N4050,
P.O. Box 5469, Santa Fe, NM 87502,
(505) 827-2855, nd.coordinator@env.
nm.gov.

Si cree que ha sido discriminado con
respecto a un programa o actividad
del NMED, puede comunicarse con
la coordinadora de no discriminacion
identificada anteriormente o

visitar https://www.env.nm.gov/
non-employeediscrimination-
complaint-page/ para saber como

y donde presentar una queja por
discriminacion.
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FINANCE AND
ADMINISTRATION,
DEPARTMENT OF

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

The Department of Finance and
Administration, Financial Control
Division has scheduled a public
hearing for the proposed amendment
of New Mexico Administrative Code
(NMAC) rule 2.42.2, Regulations
Governing the Per Diem and Mileage
Act. The proposed amendment seeks
to:

° Correct punctuation and
grammatical errors contained in the
rule;

° Set an allotment for meals
per overnight period;
° Remove the requirement

for itemized receipts for meals when
traveling on actuals;

° Increasing the threshold for
additional lodging approval from
$215 to $350; and

° Remove the ability to be
reimbursed for tips on meals.

Notice Date: May 6, 2025

Hearing Date: June 5, 2025
Adoption Date: Proposed as June 12,
2025

Effective Date: Proposed as June 24,
2025

Technical Citations: 2.42.2 NMAC

The Department is proposing to
amend 2.42.2 NMAC as follows:

Section 7:
skskesk

E. “Employee” means
any person who is [trthe-employof]
employed by any New Mexico state
agency or local public body within
New Mexico whose salary is paid
either completely or partially from
public money but does not include
jurors or jury commissioners.
ek

H. “Local public
body” means every political
subdivision of the state, whether
created under general or special
act including, but not limited [,] to,
counties, municipalities, drainage,
conservancy, irrigation, school,

or other districts, that receives or
expends public money from whatever
source derived.

k%

J. “Normal work
day” means eight hours within a nine-
hour period for all public officers and
employees, both salaried and non-
salaried, regardless of the officers’ or
employees’ regular work schedule.
k%

0. “Travel” means for
per diem purposes, being on official
business away from home as defined
in Subsection [F] G above and at least
50 miles from the designated post of
duty of the public officer or employee.
However, non-salaried public
officers are eligible for per diem for
attending meetings in accordance with
Subsection C of 2.42.2.8 NMAC.

Section 8:
k%

B. Per diem rate
computation: Except as provided
in Subsections C through I of this
section, per diem rates for travel by
public officers and employees shall be
computed as follows:

1) [Partial-
day| Same day travel per diem rate:
Public officers or employees who
occasionally and irregularly travel
shall be reimbursed for travel which
does not require overnight lodging,
but extends beyond a normal work
day as published on the department of
finance and administration website on
May 1 for the preceding fiscal year.

?2) Overnight
travel: Regardless of the number
of hours traveled, travel for public
officers and employees where
overnight lodging is required
shall be reimbursed as published
on the department of finance and
administration website on May 1 for
the preceding fiscal year or actual
lodging and meal expenses under
2.42.2.9 NMAC.

A3) Return
from overnight travel: On the last
day of travel when overnight lodging
is no longer required, partial day
reimbursement shall be made in
accordance with applicable rates, [Fo-
cateutate-the number-of-hours-inthe-

as published on the department of
finance and administration website on
May 1 for the preceding fiscal year.

“) Special
area designations: For all officers and
employees, the in-state special area
shall be Santa Fe county.
skeksk

D. Temporary
assignment: Public officers and
employees may be reassigned
temporarily to another duty station.

1 Routine
reassignment: Public officers and
employees subject to periodic
reassignment of duty stations or
districts as a normal requirement of
their employment will not be eligible
for per diem rates after the time of
arrival at the new duty station or
district.

?2) Non-
routine reassignment: Public officers
or employees not normally subject
to periodic reassignments who are
temporarily assigned to another
office of a state agency away from
home will receive per diem for
the first 30 calendar days of their

assignment only, unless [approvat-
ofthe-seeretary-tsgiventoextend]

the secretary approves extending

per diem payments upon showing
that the assignment is necessary

and temporary. Except in such
extraordinary circumstances, after 30
calendar days, the place where the
employee or officer is assigned will
be regarded as the designated post of
duty.

sksksk

E. New Mexico
department of transportation:
The New Mexico department of
transportation may adopt special
policies pertaining to payment
of per diem rates for temporary
assignments. Such policies shall be
subject to the [annaat-approvat-ofthe-
seeretary| secretary’s annual approval
and must not exceed the rates set

by the department of finance and
administration.
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F. Department of
public safety: The department of
public safety may adopt special
policies pertaining to payment of per
diem rates, mileage and subsistence
allowances authorized by law for
commissioned officers. Such policies

shall be subject to [annaat-approvatof
the-seeretary] the secretary’s annual
approval and must not exceed the

rates set by the department of finance
and administration.
kokk

H. Per diem in
conjunction with other leave:
While traveling, if a public officer
or employee takes sick[;annuat] or
authorized leave without pay for more
than four hours of the normal work
day, per diem shall not be allowed for
that day unless authorized in writing
by the agency head.

Section 9:

A. Applicability:
Upon written request of a public
officer or an employee, agency heads
may [grant-written-approval-for|
approve a public officer or employee
of that agency or local public body to
be reimbursed actual expenses in lieu
of the per diem rate where overnight
travel is required.

B. Overnight travel:
For overnight travel for state officers
and employees where overnight
lodging is required, the public officer
or employee will be reimbursed as
follows:

1) Actual

reimbursement for lodging: A
public officer or an employee
may elect to be reimbursed actual
expenses for lodging not exceeding
the single occupancy room charge
(including tax) in lieu of the per
diem rate set forth in 2.42.2.8
NMAC. Whenever possible, public
officers and employees should stay
in hotels which offer government
or discounted rates. Agencies,
public officers or employees who
incur lodging expenses in excess
of $[2+5:66] 350.00 per night must
obtain the signature of the agency
head or chairperson of the governing
board on the travel voucher prior to
requesting reimbursement and on the

encumbering document at the time of
encumbering the expenditure.

?2) Actual
reimbursement for meals: [Actaal
expensesformeats-aretmitedby| A
daily meal allotment is reimbursed
in accordance with Paragraph (2)
of Subsection K of Section 10-8-4
NMSA 1978 to the rates published
on the department of finance and
administration website on May 1st for
the preceding fiscal year.

A3) Receipts
required: The public officer or
employee must submit receipts for the
actual [mealand] lodging expenses
incurred. Under circumstances where
the loss of receipts would create a
hardship, an affidavit from the officer
or employee attesting to the expenses
may be substituted for actual receipts.
The affidavit must accompany the
travel voucher and include the
signature of the agency head or
governing board.

C. Return from
overnight travel: On the last day
of travel when overnight lodging
is no longer required, partial day
reimbursement shall be made in
accordance with Paragraph (2) of
Subsection K of Section 10-8-4
NMSA 1978 to the rates published

on the department of finance and

administration website on May 1st
for the preceding fiscal year. [fo-

No reimbursement for actual expenses
will be granted in lieu of partial day
per diem rates.

Section 12:

A. Public officers
and employees may be reimbursed
for the following expenses provided
that receipts for all such expenses
are attached to the reimbursement
voucher:

€)) taxi or
other transportation fares at the
destination of the traveler;

?2) gratuities
as allowed by the agency head or
designee, not to exceed twenty
percent per transaction, excluding
meals;

3 parking
fees;

) actual
costs for travel by common carrier,
provided such travel is accomplished
in the most economical manner
practical,

Q) rental
cars or charter aircraft, provided less
expensive public transportation is not
available or appropriate;

6) registration
fees for educational programs or
conferences, provided, if the fee
includes lodging or meals, then no
per diem rates shall be paid and only
actual expenses paid by the officer or
employee and not included in the fee
shall be reimbursed within the limits
0f2.42.2.9 NMAC; and

)
professional fees or dues that are
beneficial to the agency’s operations
or mission.

3 Under
circumstances where the loss of
receipts would deny reimbursement
and create a hardship, an affidavit
from the officer or employee attesting
to the expenses may be substituted
for actual receipts. The affidavit must
accompany the travel voucher and
include the signature of the agency
head or governing board.

Appendix A: [Peteted-inrits Entirety|
Appendix B: [Peteted-irits Entirety|

These proposed rule changes will
be contained in 2.42.2 NMAC. The
register and the proposed rule are
available on the DFA website at
https://www.nmdfa.state.nm.us/. If
you do not have internet access, a
copy of the proposed register and
rule may be requested by contacting
DFA’s General Counsel’s officer at
dfalegal@dfa.nm.gov.
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The DFA plans to adopt this rule on
June 12, 2025.

A public hearing to receive testimony
on this proposed rule will be held on
June 5, 2025, at 9:30 a.m. The
hearing will be held at the New
Mexico Department of Finance and
Administration, Bataan Memorial
Building, 407 Galisteo St. Santa Fe,
NM 87501, State Budget Conference
Room and via Microsoft Teams.
Join Microsoft Teams Meeting
Join the meeting now

Meeting ID: 257 637 764 205
Passcode: Fs7¢X3on

If you are a person with a disability
and you require this information in an
alternative format or require a special
accommodation to participate in the
public hearing, please contact our staff
to discuss your accessibility needs

at least one week prior, or as soon as
possible, by emailing the Department
of Finance and Administration,
General Counsel Office at: dfalegal@
dfa.nm.gov or 505-827-3985.

DFA will make copies of all
comments available upon request,
either by providing copies directly

to a requestor or by making them
available on the DFA website or at a
location within the requestor’s county.

Interested persons may address
written comments to:

Department of Finance and
Administration, Financial Control
Division

ATTN: 2.42.2 NMAC Public
Comments

407 Galisteo St.

Bataan Memorial Building

Santa Fe, NM 87501

Recorded comments may be left at
(505) 827-3985. Interested persons
may also address comments via
electronic mail to: dfalegal@dfa.
nm.gov. Written mail, electronic
mail, and recorded comments must
be received no later than 5:00 p.m.
MT on June 5, 2025. Written and
recorded comments will be given the
same consideration as oral testimony

made at the public hearing. All
written comments received will be
posted as they are received on the
DFA website at https://www.nmdfa.
state.nm.us/ along with the applicable
register and rule. The public posting
will include the name and any
contact information provided by the
commenter.

GAME AND FISH
DEPARTMENT

STATE GAME COMMISSION
MEETING AND RULE MAKING
NOTICE

The New Mexico State Game
Commission (“Commission”) will be
hosting a meeting and rule hearing
on Friday June 13, 2025 beginning at
9:00 a.m. in Red River, NM Please
check the Department’s website for
the exact location at https://wildlife.
dgf.nm.gov/event/nm-state-game-
commission-meeting-red-river/. The
purpose of this meeting is to hear and
consider action as appropriate on the
proposed changes to the Migratory
Game Bird Rule.

Synopsis:

Migratory Game Bird Rule

The proposal is to amend the
Migratory Game Bird Rule 19.31.6
NMAC which will become effective
September 1, 2025. The most recent
version of the rule expired on March
31,2025.

e  Changes to regular
waterfowl season dates based
on public comment and
calendar dates

e Based on population survey
data, possible adjustment
to sandhill crane permits in
draw hunts

e Bag limit for northern
pintail to increase from 1
to 3 per USFWS regulatory
framework

A full text of changes for all rules
will be available on the Department’s
website at: https://wildlife.dgf.
nm.gov/. Interested persons may
submit comments on the proposed

changes for the Migratory Game
Bird Rule to DGF-waterfowl@state.
nm.us. Individuals may also submit
written comments to the physical
address below. Comments are due
by 5:00 p.m. on June 11. 2025. The
final proposed rules will be voted on
by the Commission during a public
meeting on June 13, 2025. Interested
persons may also provide data, views
or arguments, orally or in writing, at
the public rule hearings to be held on
June 13, 2025.

Full copies of text of the proposed
new rules, technical information
related to proposed rule changes, and
the agenda can be obtained from the
Office of the Director, New Mexico
Department of Game and Fish, 1
Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, New Mexico
87507, or from the Department’s
website at https://wildlife.dgf.
nm.gov/commission/proposals-
under-consideration/. This agenda is
subject to change up to 72 hours prior
to the meeting. Please contact the
Director’s Office at (505) 476-8000,
or the Department’s website at https://
wildlife.dgf.nm.gov/ for updated
information.

If you are an individual with a
disability who is in need of a reader,
amplifier, qualified sign language
interpreter, or any other form of
auxiliary aid or service to attend or
participate in the hearing or meeting,
please contact the Department at (505)
476-8000 at least one week prior to
the meeting or as soon as possible.
Public documents, including the
agenda and minutes, can be provided
in various accessible formats. Please
contact the Department at 505-476-
8000 if a summary or other type of
accessible format is needed.

Legal authority for this rulemaking
can be found in the General Powers
and Duties of the State Game
Commission 17-1-14, et seq. NMSA
1978; Commission’s Power to
establish rules and regulations 17-1-
26, et seq. NMSA 1978.




New Mexico Register / Volume XXXVI, Issue 9/ May 6, 2025

310

GAMING CONTROL
BOARD

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

The Gaming Control Board hereby
gives notice that the Board will
conduct a public comment hearing on
the described rules below.

The public comment hearing will be
held on Monday, June 16, 2025 from
9:00 am to 12:00 pm at the Gaming
Control Board, 4900 Alameda Blvd.
NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113. The
public may also participate via Zoom:

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/825555985
87?pwd=sZLcqquFExIPBNAPVDbfn
nRfYeFUtE.1

Meeting ID: 825 5559 8587
Passcode: 9nPa39

One tap mobile
+17207072699,,825555985874,,,,%06
6637# US (Denver)
+12532050468,,825555985874,,,,%06
6637# US

The public comment hearing allows
members of the public an opportunity
to submit data, testimony, and
arguments in person on the proposed
rule changes detailed below. All
comments will be recorded by a court
reporter and/or audio recording.

15.1.7.7 NMAC Definitions:

Purpose: Repeal and replace rule to
make it more current and applicable.

Summary of Full Text: In subsection
B changing “central site” to
“designated location” as “central site”
suggests a very fixed location, but
“designated location” can change in
case of emergency or other necessity.
In subsection J, removes second
sentence of definition of “gaming
media” because, even though it is not
an exhaustive list, it is unnecessary to
the definition.

In subsection L, the definition

of “Machine entry access log”

is restructured to make a little

more sense. The change does not
substantively change the definition of
“machine entry access log”.

In subsection T changes “ticket in/
ticket out” to “ticket-in-ticket-out”
and adds acceptance of “online”
tickets.

15.1.7.8 NMAC Evaluation of New
Gaming Machines and Modifications
to Previously-Approved Gaming
Machines:

Purpose: Provides clarifying
language.

Summary of Full Text: Adds to
subsection A that gaming machines
are to meet specifications of
prototypes approved by the board “or
a board approved independent gaming
test laboratory” which would include
GLIL

In subsection C changes “as set

forth in this rule” to “as determined
by the board” which provides more
flexibility for prompt adaptation to
changing circumstances.

15.1.7.9 NMAC Security and Audit
Specifications

Purpose: Cleans up language.

Summary: Clarifies language in
subsection B for what is required
for display of gaming machine
registration tags.

15.1.7.10 NMAC Security and Audit
Specifications

Purpose: Updates language for current
needs.

Summary: Subsections G and H are
modified to require gaming machines
to present a history of the outcome of
ten games prior to the present game as
opposed to four games.

15.1.7.11 NMAC General Ticketing
Standards

Purpose: Cleans up language to make
it more consistent with the rest of the
rules.

Summary: In subsection A, adds
“free play credits” to what can

be offered at TITO-enabled slot
machines.

Subsection B changes “casino’s”

to “racetrack licensee’s” to keep
language consistent with subsection
A.

A technical change in subsection C
removing the space between “a t”.
“Validation” removed from subsection
D as it is unnecessary and inconsistent
with the style of the remainder of

the rule; also changes “casino” to
“racetrack licensee” for consistency.
Subsection E removes “either” as it
is unnecessary for the meaning of the
subsection.

Subsection H changes “procedures”
to “standards” so it reads “minimum
internal control standards” which

is consistent with how they are
referenced everywhere else.

15.1.7.12 NMAC Accounting Meter
Specifications

Purpose: Removes obsolete language.

Summary: Removes all references
to anything “electromechanical” as
that term is obsolete. Also cleans up
language.

15.1.7.21 NMAC Display of Rules of
Play

Purpose: Removes obsolete language.

Summary: Removes in subsection E
“Except for posting of odds pursuant
to Section 15.1.10.21 NMAC”
because that section is reserved

and does not currently contain any
substantive material.

15.1.7.25 NMAC Ticket Printer
Specifications

Purpose: Clarifies language.

Summary: Changes subsection C
from “an approved system” to “a
system approved by the board” for
clarity.

15.1.7.28 NMAC Revocation of
License or Approval
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Purpose: Updates language.

Summary: Changes paragraph (2) of
subsection A to remove “frequently”
as to machine malfunctions.

Changes “must” to “shall” in
subsection B.

Authority: Section 60-2E-7 NMSA
1978 and Section 60-2E-8 NMSA
1978.

Details for Obtaining a Copy of
Rule and Submitting Oral or Written
Comments:

Copies of the proposed rules are
available on the Gaming Control
Board’s website at https://www.
gcb.nm.gov/rulemaking/ or can be
obtained by emailing GCB-PIO@
gcb.nm.gov. The proposed rules

are also available on the New
Mexico Sunshine Portal. Interested
individuals may provide comments at
the public hearing. Before the public
hearing, written comments may be
sent to GCB-PIO@gcb.nm.gov, or
by regular mail at Attn: Michelle
Pato - proposed rule, The Gaming
Control Board, 4900 Alameda Blvd.
NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113. The
deadline to receive written comment
is Monday, June 16, 2025. All written
public comments will be posted on
the website throughout the written
comment period at: https://www.gcb.
nm.gov/rulemaking/.

Any person with a disability who
needs a reader, amplifier, qualified
sign language interpreter, or auxiliary
aid or service to attend or participate
in the hearing should contact (505)
841-9700.

HEALTH,
DEPARTMENT OF

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The New Mexico Department of
Health will hold a public hearing on
the proposed repeal and replacement
of rules 7.27.2 (“Licensing of
Emergency Medical Services
Personnel”), 7.27.4 (“Emergency
Medical Services Fund Act”), 7.27.5

(“Certification of Air Ambulance™),
7.27.6 (“Emergency Medical Services
Advance Directives”), and 7.27.11
NMAC (“Supplemental Licensing
Provisions”). The hearing will be
held on Friday, June 6, 2025 at 9:00
a.m. via the Microsoft Teams Internet-
based video conferencing system, and
via telephone. Members of the public
who wish to submit public comment
regarding the proposed repeal and
replacement of the rule will be able

to do so via video conference and via
telephone during the course of the
hearing, and by submitting written
comment.

The Department proposes to repeal
and replace the entirety of rules
7.27.2,7.27.4,7.27.5,7.27.6, and
7.27.11 NMAC, to incorporate
various new and modified provisions
to sections including but not limited
to the following:

7.27.2.7 NMAC, Definitions;
7.27.2.8 NMAC, General Licensure;
7.27.2.9 NMAUC, Initial Licensure;
7.27.2.10 NMAC, Reciprocity;
7.27.2.11 NMAC, Licensure Renewal;
7.27.2.12 NMAC, Identification of
EMS Personnel;

7.27.2.13 NMAC, Fees;

7.27.2.14 NMAC, Enforcement;
7.27.2.15 NMAC, Hearings;
7.27.2.16 NMAC, Criminal History
Screening;

7.27.2.17 NMAC, Revocation;
7.27.2.18 NMAC, Disqualifying
Criminal Offenses (new section);

7.27.4.7T NMAC, Definitions;
7.27.4.8 NMAC, Duty of the Bureau;
7.27.4.9 NMAC, Annual Report;
7.27.4.10 NMAC, Extension of Time;
7.27.4.11 NMAC, Local EMS
Funding Program;

7.27.4.12 NMAC, Local EMS System
Improvement Projects, EMS Vehicle
Purchase Projects, Statewide EMS
System Improvement Projects, and
EMS Agency Support Programs;
7.27.4.13 NMAC, Statewide Trauma
Care System Program and Statewide
Emergency Medical Services System
Support;

7.27.4.14 NMAC, Administration;

7.27.5.7 NMAC, Definitions;
7.27.5.8 NMAC, Use of Terms and
Advertising;

7.27.5.9 NMAC, Disclosure to the
Public;

7.27.5.10 NMAC, Full Certification
Period;

7.27.5.11 NMAC, Reporting;
7.27.5.12 NMAC, Emergency
Information Required;

7.27.5.13 NMAC, Certification
Process and Procedures;

7.27.5.14 NMAC, Fees;

7.27.5.15 NMAC, Enforcement;
7.27.5.16 NMAC, Standards;
7.27.5.17 NMAC, Radio
Communication Frequencies;
7.27.5.18 NMAC, Application for Air
Ambulance Certification;

7.27.5.19 NMAC, Aircraft Equipment
Standards;

7.27.6.7 NMAC, Definitions;
7.27.6.8 NMAC, EMS Do Not
Resuscitate (DNR) Order;

7.27.6.9 NMAC, EMS Personnel and
Procedures;

7.27.6.10 NMAC, Enforceability and
Program Administration;

7.27.11.7 NMAC, Definitions;
7.27.11.8 NMAC, Scopes of Practice
for Licensed Emergency Medical
Services Personnel;

7.27.11.9 NMAC, Approved Training
Programs;

7.27.11.10 NMAC, Special

Skills Application and Reporting
Procedures; and

7.27.11.11 NMAC, EMS Personnel
Job Descriptions.

The legal authority authorizing the
proposed repeal and replacement of
these rules is at the Department of
Health Act, Subsection E of Section
9-7-6 NMSA 1978, which authorizes
the Secretary of the Department of
Health to “...make and adopt such
reasonable and procedural rules and
regulations as may be necessary to
carry out the duties of the department
and its divisions,”; the Emergency
Medical Services Act, Subsection

A of Section 24-10B-5 NMSA

1978, requiring the Department to
adopt rules concerning licensure
requirements for EMTs; Subsection
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H of Section 24-10B-4 NMSA

1978, requiring the Department to
adopt rules for the certification of

air ambulance services; Subsection

I of Section 24-10B-4, requiring the
Department to adopt rules pertaining
to authorization of providers to honor
advance directives to withhold or
terminate care in certain pre-hospital
or interfacility circumstances; and the
Emergency Medical Services Fund
Act at Section 24-10A-3.1, requiring
the Department to adopt regulations to
carry out the provisions of that Act.

The purpose of the proposed repeal
and replacement of rules 7.27.2,
7.27.4,7.27.5,7.27.6, and 7.27.11
NMAC is to satisfy the Department’s
regulatory obligations pursuant to
various sections of the Emergency
Medical Services Act and Emergency
Medical Services Fund Act, identified
above.

A free copy of the full text of the
proposed rules can be obtained online
from the New Mexico Department of
Health’s website at http://nmhealth.
org/about/asd/cmo/rules/ or by
contacting the Department using the
contact information below.

The public hearing will be conducted
to receive public comments on the
proposed rules. Any interested
member of the public may attend the
hearing and may submit data, views,
or arguments on the proposed rule
either orally or in writing during the
hearing.

To access the hearing via the Internet:
please go to https://www.microsoft.
com/en-us/microsoft-teams/join-a-
meeting, then enter the following
meeting i.d. code and passcode where
indicated on the screen: meeting i.d.
code 217 722 493 474 and passcode
hp6cN6gp and then click the “Join a
meeting” button.

To access the hearing by telephone:
please call 1-505-312-4308 and enter
phone conference i.d. 716 287 922#.

All comments will be recorded.

Written public comment regarding

the proposed rule can be submitted
either by e-mail to Stephanie Lopez at
stephanie.lopez@doh.nm.gov, or U.S.
postal mail to the following address:

Stephanie Lopez

NMDOH OGC

P.O. Box 26110

1190 St. Francis Dr., Suite N-4095
Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110

Written comments must be received
by the close of the public rule
hearing on June 6, 2025. All written
comments will be published on

the agency website at https://www.
nmbhealth.org/about/asd/cmo/rules/
within 3 days of receipt, and will

be available at the New Mexico
Department of Health for public
inspection.

If you are an individual with a
disability who is in need of special
assistance or accommodation to
attend or participate in the hearing,
please contact Stephanie Lopez by
telephone at (505) 690-3689. The
Department requests at least ten
(10) days’ advance notice to provide
special accommodation.

HIGHER EDUCATION
DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN
that the New Mexico Higher
Education Department (NMHED

or Department) will hold a public
rulemaking hearing on June 10, 2025.
The hearing will begin at 10:00 a.m.
and will be held via Microsoft Teams
and in person at the New Mexico
Higher Education Department. The
purpose of the hearing is to take
public comment regarding the repeal
and replacement of 5.7.15 NMAC,
GRADUATE SCHOLARSHIP
PROGRAM.

Join via Microsoft Teams:
https://teams.microsoft.com/1/
meetup-join/19%3ameeting OTM4
MmJiZTYtOGUxNC00ZDQSLWI3

YmQINWYyMjVhMzFkOEV;j%40t
hread.v2.0?context+%7b%22Tud%2
2%32a%?2204aa6bf4-d436-426f-bfad-
04b7a70e60f1%22%2¢%2201d%22
%32a%22c3271958-5970-4536-8f6b-
03d48b60d29¢%22%7d

Or call in (audio only):
+1 (505) 312-4308
Phone Conference ID: 794 694 193#

Purpose:

The purpose of the proposed repeal
and replacement of 5.7.15 NMAC

is to align the rule with criteria
established through the signing of
H.B. 89 58th Leg., Ist Sess. (N.M.
2025) which changed requirements of
the Graduate Scholarship Program.

Summary of proposed rule:

The proposed rule includes the
addition of scholarship eligibility
requirements relating to New
Mexico residency, completion of a
bachelor’s degree with a minimum
grade point average or employment
in a paid position supporting faculty
teaching or research activities, and
enrollment in at least six credit hours.
The requirements that a recipient
have U.S. citizenship or a permanent
resident Visa, provide service in an
unpaid internship or assistantship at
the higher education institution and be
enrolled full-time time are removed.
Updated criteria relating to eligible
institutions, requirements pertaining
to the enrollment and grade point
average of recipients, duration of
the scholarship, award amounts and
eligible graduate fields are included.
Various grammatical and stylistic
changes are included. Sections are
added, removed or combined to
ensure consistency with the criteria
established by H.B. 89. Lastly,
amendments are made to correct
outdated references.

Details for Obtaining a Copy,
Public Hearing and Comments:

The proposed rule is posted on

the NMHED website and may be
accessed at https://hed.nm.gov/ under
the “Data, Reports & Rules” section.
To request that a copy of the proposed
rule be sent to you by mail or e-mail,
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please contact HigherEd.Info@hed.
nm.gov or (505)476-8411.

A public hearing will be held on
June 10, 2025 from 10:00 a.m. until
11:00 a.m. via Microsoft Teams and
in person at the NMHED Office
located at 2044 Galisteo Street,
Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM 87505. Any
person who is or may be affected by
this proposed rule may participate.
Interested persons may submit written
comments to NMHED at 2044
Galisteo Street, Suite 4, Santa Fe,
NM 87505 or HigherEd.Info@hed.
nm.gov. Written comments must be
received no later than 4:00 p.m. on
June 6, 2025. Please note that any
written or verbal comments received
will become part of the rulemaking
record, be posted to the New Mexico
Sunshine Portal and be accessible

to the public. If submitting written
comments by email, please indicate
in the subject line the number and
section of each rule(s) for which

you are providing comments. Oral
comments will also be accepted

at the rule hearing, subject to time
limitations.

Legal authority for this rulemaking
can be found in Section 9-25-1 et seq.
NMSA 1978 and Section 21-21G et
seq. NMSA 1978.

Any person with a disability who is in
need of a reader, amplifier, qualified
sign language interpreter or auxiliary
aid or service to attend or participate
in the hearing should contact (505)
476-8411 or email HigherEd.Info@
hed.nm.gov ten (10) business days
prior to the hearing.

HIGHER EDUCATION
DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that
the New Mexico Higher Education
Department (NMHED or Department)
will hold a public rulemaking hearing
on June 10, 2025. The hearing will
begin at 9:00 a.m. and will be held

via Microsoft Teams and in person at
the New Mexico Higher Education
Department. The purpose of the
hearing is to take public comment
regarding the proposed amendment
0f 5.7.36 NMAC, COMMUNITY
GOVERNANCE ATTORNEY
PROGRAM.

Join via Microsoft Teams:
https://teams.microsoft.com/1/
meetup-Join/19%3ameeting ZGZIN
zQxY WUtMmQ4NCO00ZDEzLWIz
N2QtYWM4Y;YxMDdjOGUw%40
thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%?2
2%3a%?2204aa6bf4-d436-426f-bfa4-
04b7a70e60£t%22%2c%2201d%22
%3a%22c327f958-5970-4536-8f6b-
03d48b60d29e%22%7d

Or call in (audio only):
+1(505) 312-4308
Phone Conference ID: 725 894 881#

Purpose:

The purpose of the proposed
amendment of 5.7.36 NMAC is to
align the rule with criteria established
in H.B. 24 58th Leg., 1st Sess.

(N.M. 2025). H.B. 24 adjusts duties
for the Community Governance
Attorney Program which provides
financial support to qualified third-
year law students at the University
of New Mexico School of Law

and fifty percent of the salaries for
the recipients’ first two years of
employment providing legal services
to Acequias, Land Grants-Mercedes
or low-income residents of Colonias.
H.B. 24 updates requirements for

the qualifying employers entering
into contracts and clarifies that
attorney services provided under

the contracts shall be free. H.B.

24 also adjusts criteria for the

salary of program participants and
changes the Community Governance
Attorney Commission (Commission)
membership requirements. Lastly, the
requirement for the matching funding
from service providers to be “non-
state” funding is removed.

Summary of proposed rule:

The proposed amendment updates
duties of the Department, the
Commission and the University

of New Mexico (University). The
amendment also updates the make-
up of the Commission and criteria
for service providers and contracts.
A new section is added for the
responsibilities of the University.
Subsequent sections are renumbered,
and references are adjusted
accordingly. Definitions are added
and various grammatical and stylistic
changes are included.

Details for Obtaining a Copy,
Public Hearing and Comments:

The proposed rule is posted on

the NMHED website and may be
accessed at https://hed.nm.gov/ under
the “Data, Reports & Rules” section.
To request that a copy of the proposed
rule be sent to you by mail or e-mail,
please contact HigherEd.Info@hed.
nm.gov or (505)476-8411.

A public hearing will be held on
June 10, 2025 from 9:00 a.m. until
9:30 a.m. via Microsoft Teams and
in person at the NMHED Office
located at 2044 Galisteo Street,
Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM 87505. Any
person who is or may be affected by
this proposed rule may participate.
Interested persons may submit written
comments to NMHED at 2044
Galisteo Street, Suite 4, Santa Fe,
NM 87505 or HigherEd.Info@hed.
nm.gov. Written comments must be
received no later than 4:00 p.m. on
June 6, 2025. Please note that any
written or verbal comments received
will become part of the rulemaking
record, be posted to the New Mexico
Sunshine Portal and be accessible

to the public. If submitting written
comments by email, please indicate
in the subject line the number and
section of each rule(s) for which

you are providing comments. Oral
comments will also be accepted

at the rule hearing, subject to time
limitations.

Legal authority for this rulemaking
can be found in Section 9-25-1 et seq.
NMSA 1978 and Section 21-21Q-1 et
seq. NMSA 1978.

Any person with a disability who is in
need of a reader, amplifier, qualified
sign language interpreter or auxiliary
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aid or service to attend or participate
in the hearing should contact (505)
476-8411 or email HigherEd.Info@
hed.nm.gov ten (10) business days
prior to the hearing.

HIGHER EDUCATION
DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that
the New Mexico Higher Education
Department (NMHED or Department)
will hold a public rulemaking hearing
on June 10, 2025. The hearing will
begin at 9:30 a.m. and will be held
via Microsoft Teams and in person at
the New Mexico Higher Education
Department. The purpose of the
hearing is to take public comment
regarding the proposed adoption

of a new rule 5.7.38 NMAC,
VETERINARY MEDICAL LOAN
REPAYMENT PROGRAM.

Join via Microsoft Teams:
https://teams.microsoft.com/1/
meetup-join/19%3ameeting
ODJKNTe3M2UtOTQXxZS00ZDEzLT
kONWUtM2ESYjZkOGRmNDY2%4
Othread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%
22%3a%?2204aa6bf4-d436-426f-bfad-
04b7a70e6011%22%2c¢%2201d%22
%3a%22c327f958-5970-4536-8f6b-
03d48b60d29¢%22%7d

Or call in (audio only):
+1 (505) 312-4308
Phone Conference ID: 965 949 272#

Purpose:

The Department proposes adoption
of new rule 5.7.38 NMAC. The new
proposed rule establishes regulations
and procedures for the Veterinary
Medical Loan Repayment Program
created by S.B. 8, 58th Leg., 1st Sess.
(N.M. 2025). The purpose of the
program is to provide student loan
repayment assistance to food-animal
veterinarians who commit to working
in a designated under-served area of
New Mexico for at least four years.

Summary of proposed rule:

The proposed rule lays out the
various duties of the Department,
the Board of Veterinary Medicine,
and the Veterinarian Selection
Committee (Committee). The
rule provides membership criteria
for the Committee, requirements
for participant eligibility, award
criteria, contract terms and reporting
requirements.

Details for Obtaining a Copy,
Public Hearing and Comments:

The proposed rule is posted on

the NMHED website and may be
accessed at https://hed.nm.gov/ under
the “Data, Reports & Rules” section.
To request that a copy of the proposed
rule be sent to you by mail or e-mail,
please contact HigherEd.Info@hed.
nm.gov or (505)476-8411.

A public hearing will be held on
June 10, 2025, from 9:30 a.m. until
10:00 a.m. via Microsoft Teams and
in person at the NMHED Office
located at 2044 Galisteo Street,
Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM 87505. Any
person who is or may be affected by
this proposed rule may participate.
Interested persons may submit written
comments to NMHED at 2044
Galisteo Street, Suite 4, Santa Fe,
NM 87505 or HigherEd.Info@hed.
nm.gov. Written comments must be
received no later than 4:00 p.m. on
June 6, 2025. Please note that any
written or verbal comments received
will become part of the rulemaking
record, be posted to the New Mexico
Sunshine Portal and be accessible

to the public. If submitting written
comments by email, please indicate
in the subject line the number and
section of each rule(s) for which

you are providing comments. Oral
comments will also be accepted

at the rule hearing, subject to time
limitations.

Legal authority for this rulemaking
can be found in Section 9-25-1 et seq.
NMSA 1978.

Any person with a disability who is in
need of a reader, amplifier, qualified
sign language interpreter or auxiliary

aid or service to attend or participate
in the hearing should contact (505)
476-8411 or email HigherEd.Info@
hed.nm.gov ten (10) business days
prior to the hearing.

STATE PERSONNEL
OFFICE

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

Public Notice: The New Mexico
State Personnel Board will hold a
public hearing on Friday, June 13,
2025, at 9:00 a.m. The meeting will
be held in person in the Willie Ortiz
Auditorium, 2600 Cerrillos Road,
Santa Fe, NM 87505.

Purpose of Rule Hearing: The
purpose of the public hearing is to
receive public input on the proposed
amendments to 1.7.4 NMAC — Pay.

Statutory Authority: Personnel Act,
Sections 10-9-10 and 10-9-12 NMSA
1978.

Purpose of the Proposed
Amendments: The purpose of

these changes is to ensure uniform
application of the rules and to clarify
roles and obligations of the State
Personnel Office director.

Summary of Proposed Changes

to 1.7.4 NMAC Pay: The sections
being substantively amended are:
Section 1.7.4.7, removing definitions
for contributor proficiency zones

and shift work schedule; Section
1.7.4.9 changing the responsibility for
appointing job evaluation committee
members and providing job evaluation
training to the State Personnel Office
and eliminating the process for
converting job evaluation points to
the appropriate pay band; Section
1.7.4.12, establishing the compa-ratio
at which an entry salary must receive
approval from the State Personnel
Office director, capping in pay

band adjustments for demonstrated
performance, or skill and competency
development at 10% per fiscal year,
changing the requirement for State
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Personnel Office director approval

of a salary increase upon promotion
from 15% to 10%, removing pay
allowances for performing first line
supervisor duties, allowing for salary
decreases for employee transfers,

and requiring State Personnel Office
director approval for temporary salary
increases.

How to Comment on the Proposed
Rules: Public comment addressing
the proposed rule changes can be
made in person using the Public
Comment sign-in sheet, by mail to
Denise Forlizzi, State Personnel
Office, 2600 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe,
New Mexico 87505 or by emailing
your comment to DeniseM.Forlizzi@
spo.nm.gov by 5:00 p.m. Thursday,
June 12, 2025. Email comments
must include the subject line,

“Rule Changes to 1.7.4 NMAC”,
the commenter’s name and contact
information.

Copies of Proposed Rules: Copies
of the proposed rules are available

for download on the State Personnel
Office’s website at www.spo.state.
nm.us. A copy of the proposed rules
may also be requested by contacting
Denise Forlizzi by phone at (505)365-
3691 or by email DeniseM.Forlizzi@
$po.nm.gov .

Special Needs: Individuals who
require this information in an
alternative format or need any form of
auxiliary aid to attend or participate in
the public hearing are asked to contact
Denise Forlizzi at (505)365-3691 as
soon as possible to allow adequate
time to provide the requested
accommodation(s).

SUPERINTENDENT OF
INSURANCE, OFFICE OF

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN
that the Office of Superintendent of
Insurance (OSI or Superintendent)
will hold a public hearing in person,
via video conference, and via

telephone conference regarding a
repeal and replace for 13.1.1, NMAC
Administrative Provisions and 13.1.2
NMAUC, Insurance Bulletins, and
proposed corrections to 13.1.4.13
NMAC, Rulemaking Record and
Adoption of Rule, and 13.21.3.13
NMAC Rulemaking Record and
Adoption of Rule. This hearing will
commence on Tuesday, June 10,
2025, at 10:00 a.m., MDT.

PURPOSE OF THE PROPOSED
RULE: The purpose of this
rulemaking is to: 1) clean-up of the
format of a citations in the rules,
where necessary; 2) update of the
Issuing Agency, definitions, manner
of receipt of OSI forms, and addition
of procedure for electronic filing in
13.1.1 NMAC; and 3) update of the
Issuing Agency, definitions, gender
neutral references, procedure for
issuing bulletins in 13.1.2 NMAGC;
4) removal of 13.1.2.10 NMAC;
and 5) correction to 13.1.4.13
NMAC and 13.21.3.13 NMAC

to remove reference to the 10 day
response period that was removed in
rulemaking finalized on September
10, 2024.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Sections 14-4-1 et seq., NMSA

1978, State Rules Act. Sections and
Sections 59A-2-8, 59A-2-9, and 59A-
2-10 NMSA 1978.

TO ATTEND THE HEARING IN
PERSON: Office of Superintendent
of Insurance - 1120 Paseo de Peralta,
(PERA Building), 4" Floor Hearing
Room, Santa Fe, NM 87501
PLEASE NOTE: The entrance to
the PERA Building is on the ground
floor. All guests must sign in with the
ground floor receptionist, then each
guest will be escorted to the 4 Floor
Hearing Room. Please give yourself
extra time to check in before 10:00
a.m.

TO ATTEND THE HEARING

BY ELECTRONIC VIDEO
CONFERENCE VIA MS TEAMS
MEETING:

Please copy the link below into your

browser to get to the video conference
meeting:
https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-
join/19%3ameeting NTAOY2JhMT
YtYmFmMS00ZDIwLWEwNmUt
ZGY 1ZWFjY2NhZDE4%40thread.
v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a
%2204aa6bf4-d436-426f-bfad-04b7
a70e601f%22%2c%2201d%22%3
a%72292f8d910-87¢0-44¢3-9357-
baleb6121f10%22%7d

Meeting ID: 241 149 582 813 8
Passcode: Wx3Xt

TO ATTEND VIA TELEPHONE:
+1-505-312-4308 Phone Conference
1ID: 324 012 748#

PUBLIC COMMENT: The
Superintendent designates Placido D.
Gonzales, as the hearing officer for
this hearing. Oral comments will be
accepted at the public hearing from
members of the public and other
interested parties in-person or via
electronic video conference. Copies of
the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
and proposed rule are available by
electronic download from the OSI
eDocket_(https://edocket.osi.state.
nm.us/case-view/6070). You may
also request copies if the Notice of
Proposed Rulemaking and proposed
rule by emailing Gloria Regensberg
at: gloria.regensberg@osi.nm.gov
or by phone at: 505-500-9079, email
communication is preferred. Any
copies of the Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking, proposed rules, and any
updates concerning the hearing date,
time, or location will be available by
visiting the OSI website at: https://
www.osl.state.nm.us/pages/bureaus/
legal/resources/laws-rules or on the
Sunshine Portal at: https://statenm.
my.salesforce-sites.com/public/
SSP_RuleHearingSearchPublic (from
the “Agency” drop down menu,
select “Office of Superintendent of
Insurance”)

Written comments will be accepted
through 4:00 p.m. on Thursday,
June 5, 2025. Responses to written
comments or to oral comments
delivered at the hearing will be
accepted through 4:00 p.m. on
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Wednesday, June 11, 2025. All
comments shall be filed electronically
through the OSI eDocket. Please
copy the following link into your
browser to get to the eDocket:
https://edocket.osi.state.nm.us/case-
view/6070

Written comments may be sent via U.
S. mail to:

OSI Records and Docketing

NM Office of Superintendent of
Insurance

P.O. Box 1689, Santa Fe, NM
87504-1689

Written comments must be received
by OSI and stamped as accepted
between the hours of 8:00 a.m.

and 4:00 p.m. Monday through
Friday except on state holidays. The
Superintendent will consider all

oral comments and will review and
consider all timely submitted written
comments and written responses.

For help submitting a filing, please
contact osi-docketfiling@state.nm.us.
The below docket number and title
must be indicated on all written
comments submitted to the OSI:

Docket No. 2025-0029 — Please
copy the following link into your
browser to get to the eDocket:
https://edocket.osi.state.nm.us/case-
view/6070

IN THE MATTER OF THE
REPEAL AND REPLACE OF
13.1.1 NMAC, AND 13.1.2 NMAC,
AND CORRECTIONS TO
13.1.4.13 NMAC AND 13.21.3.13
NMAC

SPECIAL NEEDS: Any person

with a disability requiring special
assistance to participate in the hearing
should contact Andrea Padilla, at
505-531-7171 no later than ten (10)
business days prior to the hearing.

PUBLIC EDUCATION
DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

Public Hearing

The New Mexico Public Education
Department (PED) gives notice on
Tuesday, May 6, 2025, that it will
conduct a public hearing for the
following proposed rulemaking on
Thursday, June 5, 2025, from 1:30
p.m. to 2:30 p.m. (MDT) in Mabry
Hall, located in the Jerry Apodaca
Education Building, 300 Don Gaspar
Ave., Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501:

New rule 6.30.19 NMAC, Purple
Star Public Schools Program

The PED will give a verbal summary
statement, on record, at the hearing.

The purpose of the public hearing

is to receive public input on the
proposed rulemaking. Attendees who
wish to provide public comments on
the record will be given three minutes
to make a statement concerning the
proposed rulemaking. To submit
written comments, please see the
Public Comment section of this
notice.

Explanation of Purpose of
Rulemaking, Summary of Text, and
Statutory Authority

6.30.19 NMAC, Purple Star Public
Schools Program

Explanation: The proposed rule
provides standards and procedures for
the New Mexico Purple Star Public
Schools Program.

Summary: The proposed rule
establishes the criteria and application
process for the New Mexico Purple
Star Public Schools Program,

which supports the educational and
emotional transition of military-
connected students and recognizes
military service in schools. The rule
outlines required program elements
for schools with and without
military-connected students to obtain
designation as a Purple Star Public
School.

Statutory Authority: Sections 9-24-
8,22-2-1,22-2-2, and 22-13-34
NMSA 1978.

No technical information served as a
basis for this proposed rule.

Public Comment

Interested parties may provide
comments at the public hearing or
may submit written comments by mail
or e-mail.

Mailing Address
Policy and Legislative Affairs

Division

New Mexico Public Education
Department

300 Don Gaspar Avenue, Room 121
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501

E-Mail Address
Rule.Feedback@ped.nm.gov

Written comments must be received
no later than 5 p.m. (MDT) on
Thursday, June 5, 2025. The PED
encourages early submission of
written comments.

Public Comment Period

The public comment period is from
Tuesday, May 6, 2025, to Thursday,
June 5, 2025, at 5:00 p.m. (MDT).
The PED will review all feedback
received during the public comment
period and issue communication
regarding a final decision of the
proposed rulemaking at a later date.

Copies of the proposed rule may

be obtained from Denise Terrazas

at (505) 470-5303 during regular
business hours or may be accessed
through the PED Policy and
Legislative Affairs webpage titled,
“Proposed Rules,” at https://web.ped.
nm.gov/bureaus/policy-innovation-
measurement/rulemaking/rule-
notification/.

Individuals with disabilities who
require the above information in an
alternative format or need any form of
auxiliary aid to attend or participate

in the public hearing are asked to
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contact Denise Terrazas at (505) 470-
5303 as soon as possible before the
date set for the public hearing. The
PED requires at least 10 calendar days
advance notice to provide any special
accommodations requested.

End of Notices of
Rulemaking and
Proposed Rules
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Adopted Rules

Effective Date and Validity of Rule Filings

Rules published in this issue of the New Mexico Register are effective on the publication date of this issue unless
otherwise specified. No rule shall be valid or enforceable until it is filed with the records center and published in the New
Mexico Register as provided in the State Rules Act. Unless a later date is otherwise provided by law, the effective date of

the rule shall be the date of publication in the New Mexico Register. Section 14-4-5 NMSA 1978.

GAMING CONTROL,
BOARD OF

The New Mexico Gaming Control
Board approved the repeal of its

rule 15.1.18 NMAC - Compulsive
Gambling Assistance Plan Standards
(filed 3/16/2000) and replaced it

with 15.1.18 NMAC - Compulsive
Gambling Assistance Plan Standards
(adopted on 4/16/2025), and effective
5/06/2025.

GAMING CONTROL,

BOARD OF
TITLE 15 GAMBLING AND
LIQUOR CONTROL
CHAPTER1 GAMES
AND GAMING GENERAL
PROVISIONS
PART 18 COMPULSIVE
GAMBLING ASSISTANCE PLAN
STANDARDS
15.1.18.1 ISSUING

AGENCY: New Mexico Gaming
Control Board.

[15.1.18.1 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.1
NMAC 5/06/2025]

15.1.18.2 SCOPE: This
rule applies to all gaming operator
licensees and applicants for gaming
operators’ licenses.

[15.1.18.2 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.2
NMAC 5/06/2025]

15.1.18.3 STATUTORY
AUTHORITY: Paragraph (3)

of Subsection B of Section 60-
2E-7 NMSA 1978 of the Gaming
Control Act authorizes the board to
develop, adopt and promulgate all
regulations necessary to implement
and administer the provisions of the
Gaming Control Act. Subsection A
of Section 60-2E-26 NMSA 1978
requires each applicant for licensure

as a gaming operator to submit with
the application a plan for assisting
in the prevention, education and
treatment of compulsive gambling.
[15.1.18.3 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.3
NMAC 5/06/2025]

15.1.18.4
Permanent.
[15.1.18.4 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.4
NMAC 5/06/2025]

DURATION:

15.1.18.5 EFFECTIVE
DATE: May 6, 2025, unless a later
date is cited at the end of a section.
[15.1.18.5 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.5
NMAC 5/06/2025]

15.1.18.6 OBJECTIVE: The
objective of this rule is to establish
standards for the development of
compulsive gambling assistance plans
by applicants for gaming operators’
licenses and the implementation and
maintenance of such plans by licensed
gaming operators.

[15.1.18.6 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.6

NMAC 5/06/2025]
15.1.18.7 DEFINITIONS:
[RESERVED]

[15.1.18.7 NMAC - Repealed
5/06/2025]

15.1.18.8 PLAN
REQUIRED FOR LICENSURE:
An applicant for a gaming operator’s
license shall submit a compulsive
gambling assistance plan with its
application. The plan shall meet or
exceed the minimum standards set
forth in this rule. The development of
such a plan by the applicant, and the
approval of the plan by the board, are
conditions of issuance of the original
gaming operator’s license. The
maintenance of the plan as approved
by the board is a condition of annual
renewal of the license.

[15.1.18.8 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.8
NMAC 5/06/2025]

15.1.18.9 MINIMUM
STANDARDS FOR COMPULSIVE
GAMBLING ASSISTANCE PLAN:

A. The compulsive
gambling assistance plan shall include
all of the following elements unless
the applicant or gaming operator
licensee obtains a written waiver of
any element from the board:

4y
identification of a plan manager or
other person responsible for ensuring
that the plan is implemented and
administered as approved by the
board and monitored to maintain the
minimum standards established by
this rule;

?2) a mission
statement that identifies the goals
of the gaming operator licensee in
administering the plan;

(&)
policies concerning the handling
of compulsive gambling problems,
commitment to training, intervention,
the employee’s role and duties,
management’s role and duties, and the
patron’s responsibilities;

“) specific,
detailed procedures to determine
appropriate intervention techniques
in a given circumstance, and carrying
out the intervention techniques;

Q) printed
materials to educate patrons about
compulsive gambling and inform
them of local and statewide resources
available to compulsive gamblers
and their families; the materials shall
include signs or posters located inside
the licensed premises and brochures
discussing compulsive gambling
issues and sources of treatment
and information, samples shall be
attached; the primary purpose of all
such printed material shall be for the
purpose of promoting a responsible
gambling message; the plan shall
also specify the source of the printed
materials, the authority for the use
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of said materials and the proposed
distribution methods and location;

(6) policy and
procedures that prohibit facilitating,
participating in, or allowing the
issuance of any loans or extension
of credit to a patron for gaming
purposes; printed materials provided
by racetrack operators shall be in both
English and Spanish;

@) a
comprehensive employee training
plan satisfactory to the board,
including training manuals and
other materials necessary to educate
employees about compulsive
gambling issues; the training plan
shall include instruction in the
psychology of the compulsive
gambler, methods of recognizing
compulsive gambling behavior,
intervention techniques and other
subjects as determined by the board;

®) form for
certifying, to the board’s satisfaction,
that each employee required to obtain
the training has done so within the
time period specified by this rule;

9 details
of a follow-up training program to
periodically reinforce employee
training;

(10) estimated
costs for implementation and
administration;

a1 timetable
and procedures for implementing the
compulsive gambling assistance plan;
the plan must be implemented no later
than 90 days from the date gaming
commences on the licensed premises;

(12) details
from licensee on the provider to
whom referrals are made;

(13) treatment
providers shall provide documentation
showing that they are licensed, in
good standing and have a documented
competency in the field of problem
gambling issues; and

(14) any other
policies and procedures recommended
by the state of New Mexico
department of health and approved by
the board or established by the board.

B. The board
shall submit the entire plan to the
responsible gaming coordinator

employed by the New Mexico gaming
control board for evaluation. The
responsible gaming coordinator shall
recommend to the board approval or
disapproval of the plan.

[15.1.18.9 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.9

NMAC 5/06/2025]
15.1.18.10 EMPLOYEE
TRAINING:

A. The compulsive

gambling assistance plan shall be
designed with employee training and
education as fundamental aspects of
the plan. The purpose of the training
is to develop awareness of compulsive
gambling and to provide resources

to assist the employee in handling
compulsive gambling issues.

B. The employee
training program shall include training
and materials on the following topics:

)
characteristics and symptoms of
compulsive gambling behavior;

?2) prevalence
of compulsive gambling in the general
population;

(©))
relationship of compulsive gambling
to other addictions;

“4) social
costs of compulsive gambling, such
as indebtedness, costs for treatment,
suicide, criminal behavior, lost jobs,
and counseling for family problems;

)
identification of vulnerable
populations, including women, low-
income patrons, the elderly, and
persons who abuse drugs and alcohol;

(6)
intervention techniques to be
employed where a compulsive
gambling problem is identified or
suspected; and

(@) assistance
and referral programs, including
specific resources and training on how
to discuss compulsive gambling with
a patron and give advice concerning
access to available services.

C. Training must
be conducted within 60 days of
the employee’s hire date and re-
certification must be done annually.
Certification and re-certification

of such training shall be submitted
on a form provided or approved by
the board. Failure to submit the
required certification may result in
administrative action against the
gaming operator licensee.

D. This rule shall not
be construed as requiring gaming
employees to identify compulsive or
other problem gamblers.

[15.1.18.10 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.10
NMAC 5/06/2025]

15.1.18.11 ANNUAL
REPORT OF ACTIVITIES: Each
gaming operator licensee shall submit
to the board, no later than March

31 annually, a report detailing the
licensee’s compulsive gambling
activities for the previous 12-month
period ending December 31. The
report shall be in form and content
prescribed or approved by the board.
[15.1.18.11 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.11
NMAC 5/06/2025]

15.1.18.12 COMPULSIVE
GAMBLING FUNDS
DISTRIBUTION: A racetrack
gaming operator shall spend all funds
required by statute to fund or support
programs for the treatment and
assistance of compulsive gamblers
each year within 120 days after the
close of the licensees fiscal year.

A. Racetracks shall
spend no more than fifteen percent
on administrative costs, including
the salary of the plan manager or
other person responsible for ensuring
that the plan is implemented and
administered and for marketing of
compulsive gambling issues.

B. Racetracks
shall spend the remainder of the
compulsive gambling funds on
compulsive gambling training for
employees, crisis intervention and
prevention programs, gambling
assistance and treatment, and a
helpline as identified in the plan and
approved by the board.

[15.1.18.12 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.18.12
NMAC 5/06/2025]

HISTORY OF 15.1.18 NMAC:
Pre NMAC History: None.
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History of Repealed Material:
15.1.18 NMAC, Compulsive
Gambling Assistance Plan Standards
(filed 3/16/2000) Repealed effective
5/06/2025.

Other History:

15 NMAC 1.18, Compulsive
Gambling Assistance Plan Standards,
effective 4/15/1999.

15 NMAC 1.18, Compulsive
Gambling Assistance Plan Standards
(filed 3/26/1999) reformatted,
renumbered, amended and replaced
by 15.1.18 NMAC, Compulsive
Gambling Assistance Plan Standards,
effective 3/31/2000.

15.1.18 NMAC, Compulsive
Gambling Assistance Plan Standards
(filed 3/16/2000) Replaced by 15.1.18
NMAC, Compulsive Gambling
Assistance Plan Standards effective
5/06/2025.

GAMING CONTROL,
BOARD OF

This is an amendment to 15.1.5
NMAC, Sections 15 and 23,
effective 5/06/2025.

15.1.5.15 COMPULSIVE

GAMBLING ASSISTANCE PLAN:

A. An applicant for
a gaming operator’s license shall
submit with the application a plan for
assisting in the prevention, education,
and treatment of compulsive
gambling. The plan shall include
all information required in 15.1.18
NMAC.

B. No gaming
operator’s application shall be
approved unless the board first
approves the applicant’s compulsive
gambling assistance plan.

C. Failure to
implement the compulsive gambling
assistance plan or to satisfactorily
maintain and administer the plan
once implemented shall be grounds
for suspension or revocation of the
gaming operator’s license, assessment
of a fine, or both.

D. The [board-shalt-

estabtish] applicant shall comply

with the minimum standards for the
content, structure and implementation
of, and periodic reporting
requirements on, the compulsive
gambling assistance plan as listed in
15.1.18.9 NMAC.

E. The board may
contract with the state of New
Mexico department of health or such
other entity deemed qualified by
the department of health to provide
technical assistance in reviewing and
recommending to the board approval
of compulsive gambling assistance
plans.

[15.1.5.15NMAC - Rp, 15.1.5.15
NMAC, 6/30/2016, A, 5/06/2025]

15.1.5.23
FEES:

A. The applicant
shall pay, in the amount and manner
prescribed by this rule, all license
fees and fees and costs incurred in
connection with the processing and
investigation of any application
submitted to the board.

B. Applicants shall
submit the following nonrefundable
fees with an application for licensure
or other approval:

) gaming
machine manufacturer’s license,
$10,000;

APPLICATION

?2) associated
equipment manufacturer’s license,
$2,500;

A3 gaming
machine distributor’s license, $5,000;

“4) associated
equipment distributor’s license,
[$1:660] $2.500;

Q) gaming
operator’s license for racetrack,
[$25:660] $37.500;

6) gaming
operator’s license for nonprofit
organization, [$166] $250;

@) gaming

machine license, [$166] $200 per
machine;
() work
permit, $75 work permit update $25;
)]
certification of finding of suitability,
$100 [for-eachpersonrequiring
mvestigation;] update to certification
of finding of suitability $50;

(10) limited use
distributor’s license, [$1606] $2.500;

and

an
replacement fee for identification
badge, $10.
C. In addition to any

nonrefundable license or approval
fee paid, the applicant shall pay all
supplementary investigative fees and
costs, as follows:

a an
applicant for a manufacturer’s license,
distributor’s license, or gaming
operator’s license for a racetrack
shall pay, in advance, an amount
equal to the license fee as a deposit
on fees and costs of the investigation;
upon completion of the investigation
and determination of the actual fees
and costs, the board shall refund
overpayments or charge the applicant
for underpayments in an amount
sufficient to reimburse the board for
actual fees and costs;

2) all other
applicants shall reimburse the board
in an amount sufficient to cover actual
fees and costs of the investigation
upon completion of the investigation;
and

A3 all
applicants shall fully reimburse
the board within 30 days of receipt
of notice of actual fees and costs
incurred by the board for any
underpayment or other amount owed
by the applicant.

D. Investigative
fees are charged at the rate of [$56]
$75 per hour for each hour spent
by investigators of the board or the
board’s agents in conducting an
investigation. In addition to fees,
costs to be paid by the applicant
include transportation, lodging, meals,
and other expenses associated with
traveling, which expenses shall be
reimbursed [based-on-state-mileage-
and-per-dtemrutes] actual cost, and

office expenses, document copying
costs, and other reasonable expenses
incurred. Checks shall be made
payable to the New Mexico gaming
control board.

E. In addition to
any nonrefundable application and
supplementary investigation fees



321

New Mexico Register / Volume XXXVI, Issue 9/ May 6, 2025

and costs, licensed manufacturers
and distributors shall pay a gaming
device inspection fee in an amount
not to exceed the actual cost of the
inspection. The manufacturer or
distributor shall pay the estimated cost
of the inspection in advance. Upon
completion of the inspection and
determination of the actual cost, the
board shall refund overpayments or
charge the manufacturer or distributor
for underpayments in an amount
sufficient to reimburse the board for
the actual cost. The manufacturer

or distributor shall fully reimburse
the board within 30 days of receipt
of notice of underpayment. Lab fees
are charged at the rate of [$50] $75
per hour for each hour spent by the
board’s technical personnel to inspect
or test a gaming device.

F. The board may
refuse to take final action on any
application unless all license,
approval, and investigation fees and
costs have been paid in full. The
board shall deny the application if
the applicant refuses or fails to pay
all such fees and costs. In addition to
any other limitations on reapplication,
the applicant shall be debarred from
filing any other application with the
board until all such fees and costs are
paid in full.

G. If the board
determines at any time during the
application process that the applicant
is not qualified, or cannot qualify,
to hold the license or other approval
sought, the board shall notify the
applicant, in writing. The board
[shal] may discontinue investigation
and processing of the application and
[shal] may issue a final, written order
denying the application.

H. The maximum fee
for processing any application shall
not exceed $100,000, regardless
of actual costs of supplemental
investigations.

L. The board may
contract with any state board or
agency to conduct any investigation
required or permitted to be conducted
under the act or board regulations, as
determined necessary by the board.

J. Neither the license
or approval fees nor any other fees or

costs arising in connection with the
application or investigation shall be
refunded or waived on the grounds
that the application was denied or
withdrawn or that processing was
otherwise terminated.

K. Gaming machine
licensing fees may be pro-rated if the
license is granted within three months
of December 31.

[15.1.5.23 NMAC - Rp, 15.1.5.21
NMAC, 6/30/2016, A, 5/06/2025]

HEALTH,
DEPARTMENT OF
TITLE 7 HEALTH

CHAPTER 30 FAMILY AND
CHILDREN HEALTH SERVICES

PART 15 SCHOOL-BASED
HEALTH CENTERS
7.30.15.1 ISSUING

AGENCY: New Mexico department
of health, public health division.
[7.30.15.1 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.2 SCOPE: These
rules apply to school-based health
centers in New Mexico that

are funded by the New Mexico
department of health, and all persons
who provide services within those
SBHCs.

[7.30.15.2 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.3 STATUTORY
AUTHORITY: These rules are
promulgated pursuant to the following
statutory authorities: the Department
of Health Act, Subsection E of
Section 9-7-6 NMSA 1978, which
authorizes the secretary of the
department of health to “...make and
adopt such reasonable and procedural
rules and regulations as may be
necessary to carry out the duties of
the department and its divisions™; and
the Public Health Act, Subsection

F of Section 24-1-44 NMSA 1978,
which authorizes the department to
adopt and promulgate rules for the
regulation, operation and oversight of
school-based health centers receiving
funding from the department.
[7.30.15.3 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.4
Permanent.
[7.30.15.4 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

DURATION:

7.30.15.5 EFFECTIVE
DATE: May 6, 2025, unless a later
date is cited at the end of a section.
[7.30.15.5 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.6 OBJECTIVE: The
purpose of this rule is to implement
Section 24-1-44 NMSA 1978 of

the Public Health Act. This rule
governs the regulation, operations

and oversight of school-based

health centers (SBHC) in New
Mexico receiving funding from the
department, and establishes minimum
standards for implementation of the
provisions of the statute. The school-
based health center program supports
communities in promoting the health
and well-being of the school-age
population and local community
through the evidence-based best
practice within a public health
framework. These rules establish the
procedure and criteria New Mexico
department of health shall use to
certify, suspend, and decertify school-
based health centers. Certification

of an SBHC by the state SBHC
program is voluntary; an operating
SBHC choose not to participate in
certification, only certified SBHCs are
eligible for funding from New Mexico
department of health.

[7.30.15.6 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.7 DEFINITIONS:
A. Definitions

beginning with “A”: [RESERVED]
B. Definitions

beginning with “B”: “Behavioral
health” means mental health, lifestyle
and health behaviors, substance
misuse, life stressors and crises.

C. Definitions
beginning with “C”: “Child” means
a person below the age of 18.

D. Definitions
beginning with “D”: “Department”
means the New Mexico department of
health.

E. Definitions
beginning with “E”: [RESERVED)]
F. Definitions

beginning with “F”: “FERPA”
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means Family Educational Rights and

Privacy Act.
G. Definitions
beginning with “G”: [RESERVED]
H. Definitions

beginning with “H”:

a “Health”
means a state of physical and mental
well-being, not merely the absence of
disease.

?2) “HIPAA”
means Health Insurance Portability
and Accountability Act.

L. Definitions
beginning with “I”: [RESERVED]

J. Definitions
beginning with “J”: [RESERVED)]

K. Definitions
beginning with “K”: [RESERVED]

L. Definitions
beginning with “L”: [RESERVED]

M. Definitions
beginning with “M”: “Medicaid”
means medical assistance eligibility,
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social
Security Act, by the medical
assistance division of the New
Mexico health care authority.

N. Definitions
beginning with “N”: [RESERVED]
0. Definitions
beginning with “O”: [RESERVED)]
P. Definitions
beginning with “P”:

1)

“Provider” means any individual or
entity furnishing health care at the
SBHC.

?2) “Primary
health care” means basic care of a
patient’s health needs across a wide
continuum, including preventive and
well care as well as minor and acute
illness or injury.

Q. Definitions
beginning with “Q”: [RESERVED)]
R. Definitions

beginning with “R”: “Reproductive
health” means state of wellbeing in
all matters related to the reproductive
system and to its functions and
process.

S. Definitions
beginning with “S”:

1) “School-
based health center (SBHC)”
means a health care clinic located in
a school, a school campus or and is

organized through school and health
provider agreements and offer both
physical and behavioral health care.

?2) “School-
based health center program
(program; SBHC program)”
means the New Mexico department
of health, school-based health center
program.

3) “SBHC
site” means an individual SBHC
clinic or access point.

“) “SBHC
system” means the SBHC sponsoring
agency and all the school-based health
centers operating under that entity.

)

“Sponsoring agency” means an
entity that provides, either directly

or via contract with another entity,
SBHC services that include (but need
not be limited to):

(@)
funding;

(b)
staffing;

(©)
clinical oversight;

()
liability insurance; and

(e)

billing support.

6) “Student”
means a child or adolescent who is
enrolled in school.

T. Definitions
beginning with “T”: “Telehealth”
means patient care via a two-way,
real-time interactive communication
between a patient and a medical or
behavioral health provider at a distant
site through telecommunications
equipment that includes, at a
minimum, audio and visual

equipment.
U. Definitions
beginning with “U”: [RESERVED]
V. Definitions

beginning with “V”: [RESERVED]
W. Definitions
beginning with “W”: [RESERVED)]
X. Definitions
beginning with “X”: [RESERVED]
Y. Definitions
beginning with “Y”: [RESERVED]
Z. Definitions
beginning with “Z”: [RESERVED]
[7.30.15.7 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.8 STANDARD OF
COMPLIANCE: The degree of
compliance required throughout these
rules is designated using the words
“shall”, “must”, or “may”. “Shall”
or “must” means mandatory. “May”
means permissive. The use of the
words, “proper” and “appropriate”
mean the degree of compliance that
is generally accepted throughout the
professional field and by those who
provide school-based health center
services to the public in facilities
governed by these rules. However,
if any other applicable statute or
rule requires mandatory or stricter
compliance for school-based health
center services than these rules, the
school and the SBHC sponsoring
agency must comply with the stricter
compliance requirements.

[7.30.15.8 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.9 SCHOOL-BASED
HEALTH CENTER OPERATIONS
AND SERVICES:

A. Location: A
school-based health center shall be
located within a designated clinic
space in a school, on a school campus,
or adjacent to a school campus within
a safe walking distance. School-based
health care may also be delivered in
a mobile clinic on or near a school
campus or offered via telehealth as
determined by the school and SBHC
sponsoring agency. An SBHC shall
operate within an appropriate physical
space and comply with all federal,
state, and local laws and regulations
governing health care practices.

B. Consent to
services: An SBHC shall obtain
parental, guardian, or student consent
for services in accordance with
applicable state and federal laws.

C. Non-
discrimination: In accordance with
state and federal non-discrimination
laws, an SBHC shall not discriminate
against patients based upon race,
color, sexual orientation, gender,
gender identity, religion, national
origin, immigration status disability,
health insurance status, or ability to
pay.

D. Hours of
operation: An SBHC shall be open
during hours accessible to students.
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E. Clinical services:
SBHC clinical services shall be
provided by professionally qualified
staff who are appropriately certified
and professionally licensed in
the state of New Mexico. SBHC
clinical providers shall provide age
appropriate, relevant health services
to children and students. Services
may include:

1)
Comprehensive primary health
care, including, health assessments,
diagnosis, and treatment of minor,
acute, and chronic medical conditions;
2) Well-

child examinations, referrals to and
follow-up for specialty care, mental
health and substance use disorder
assessments and treatment;

3) Crisis
intervention, counseling and
treatment;

“ Oral health
services;

Q) Vision
services; and

(6)

Reproductive health services,
including but not limited to diagnosis
and treatment of sexually transmitted
diseases, HIV testing and counseling,
and provision of contraceptives.

F. Storage of supplies
and medications: SBHC sites
shall abide by state regulations and
standards for the proper storage
of medical supplies, medications,
16.19.10 NMAC.

G. Referral for
services: SBHC shall refer to a
continuum of health services not
available at the SBHC, including
those related to physical health
conditions, mental health conditions,
substance abuse services, vision
and oral health services as needed,
services may include but are not
limited to:

1)
vaccinations;

?2) community
support programs,

3 inpatient
care; and

“) outpatient
care and programs.

H. Health coverage:
All school-based health centers shall
take steps to ascertain a student’s
insurance coverage, health plan,
and primary care provider to ensure
continuity of care.
[7.30.15.9 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.10 SCHOOL-
BASED HEALTH CENTER
CERTIFICATION: School-
based health centers must meet

all requirements for certification

in the New Mexico standards and
benchmarks for school-based health
Centers to be eligible to apply to
the program for certification. The
department may perform reviews
of SBHC:s as it deems necessary

to ensure continued compliance
with the New Mexico standards
and benchmarks for school-based
health centers. Reviews may include
site visits, reviews of records and
documents, or such other oversight
as determined necessary by the
department. An SBHC shall make
documents and premises available
for inspection upon the program’s
request.

[7.30.15.10 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.11 DATA
COLLECTION AND SHARING:
A. Medical record:

A school-based health center shall
maintain and store a medical record
for each patient in accordance

with applicable laws. See, e.g.,
16.10.17.10 NMAC (“Retention,
Maintenance and Destruction of
Medical Records™).

B. Data collection:
An SBHC shall participate in data
collection for statewide evaluation.
Data measures shall be determined
by the state of New Mexico school
based health center program. School-
based health centers shall ensure
confidentiality in the storage and
sharing of health information, in
accordance with applicable state and
federal confidentiality laws, including
HIPAA and FERPA.

C. Student
confidentiality: SBHCs shall follow
applicable state and federal laws
concerning student confidentiality

when billing for services.
[7.30.15.11 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.12
STAFFING:

A. AN SBHC shall
provide services through health
professionals who maintain up to date
New Mexico licensure, training, and
proper certification in their individual
discipline for the population to be
served.

B. The organizational
structure of the SBHC must be
adequate to provide for appropriate
clinic supervision of staff, and
to ensure that staff are assigned
responsibilities that are consistent
with their education and experience
and legally within their scope of
practice.

SBHC

C. Staffing of the
SBHC must include the designation
of an individual as having overall
responsibility for the management of
the SBHC.

[7.30.15.12 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]
7.30.15.13 FINANCIAL
SUSTAINABILITY:

A. The SBHC
sponsoring agency is responsible for
employing financial practices that
balance the long-term fiscal health of
the SBHC.

B. The SBHC
sponsoring agency shall maintain
financial policies and procedures that:

0)) Support
and guide a sound business plan
based on financial strategies that rely
on stable and predictable funding
sources, maximize patient revenue,
and minimize the role of grants to
support operations for the long-term;
and

?2) Require
billing Medicaid and other insurers
whenever possible.

[7.30.15.13 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.14 WAIVERS:

A. An SBHC system
must notify the program within 20
calendar days of any change that
brings an SBHC out of compliance
with the certification requirements.
An SBHC system must submit a
request to the program that includes
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an explanation of the non-compliant
requirement, a plan for corrective
action, and date for meeting
compliance.

B. The program will
review the waiver request and inform
the SBHC system of approval or
denial of the waiver within two weeks
of submission.

C. If the waiver is
approved, the SBHC must comply
with certification requirements by the
identified deadline for compliance.

D. If a waiver is
denied; an SBHC site or system
does not come into compliance by
the deadline for compliance stated
on the waiver; or an SBHC is out
of compliance with certification
requirements and has not submitted
a waiver, the program may, within its
discretion:

1) require
the SBHC to complete an additional
waiver with an updated plan for
corrective action and updated date for
meeting compliance;

?2) issue a
written warning with a timeline for
corrective action; or

3 issue
a notice of contemplated action
to suspend or revoke SBHC
certification(s) or take other
disciplinary action in accordance with
this rule.

E. An SBHC site with
its certification status suspended may
have its suspension lifted once the
program determines that compliance
with certification requirements has
been satisfactorily achieved.

F. An SBHC that has
been decertified may reapply.
G. If these rules are

amended in a manner that requires
an SBHC to make any operational
changes, the program will allow the
SBHC system until the beginning
of the next certification year or a
minimum of 90 days to come into
compliance.

H. The New Mexico
school based health center program
reserves the right to review any or
all selected standards for compliance
at all certified sites with a minimum
notification of at least five center

working days if issues of compliance
are raised or come into question.
[7.30.15.14 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.15 DISCIPLINARY
ACTION; RIGHT OF APPEAL:
A. Denial, suspension,

and revocation: SBHC certification
may be denied, suspended, or
revoked, or may be subject to

any other disciplinary action, for
violation of or failure to satisfy any
requirement of this rule, and on any of
the following grounds:

) abuse,
neglect, or exploitation;

?2) failure
to follow established procedures
regarding controlled substances;

“4) disclosure
of patient information in a manner not
consistent with applicable law(s);

A3 dispensing,
administering, or distributing
medications in a manner not
consistent with applicable law(s);

“4) failure to
comply with other applicable law(s);

A any false,
fraudulent, or deceptive statement
made to the program;

6) failure to
cooperate with the program’s review
of the SBHC; and

7 any
conduct that poses a substantial risk
of harm to public health or safety.

B. Notification; other
action: If final disciplinary action
is taken, the program may notify the
New Mexico health care authority,
licensing bodies, and others.

C. Notice of
contemplated action: The program
may issue a notice of contemplated
action to deny, suspend, or revoke
certification, or take other disciplinary
action against an SBHC. The notice
shall be served by certified U.S. postal
mail (return receipt requested). The
notice shall state the grounds for
taking the proposed action, and shall
state that the program will take the
proposed action unless the SBHC
or SBHC applicant mails, within 20
days after service of the notice, a
letter (via certified mail, return receipt
requested), requesting a hearing.

D. Right to appeal:
An SBHC or SHBC applicant may
request a hearing to be held before
a hearing officer appointed by
the cabinet secretary to contest a
proposed action under this rule, by
mailing a letter via certified mail,
return receipt requested, to the
program within 20 days after service
of the notice of contemplated action.
If an SBHC or SBHC applicant fails
to request a hearing in the time and
manner required, the SBHC or SBHC
applicant shall forfeit the right to a
hearing, and the proposed action shall
become final.
[7.30.15.15 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

7.30.15.16 HEARINGS:
A. Scheduling the
hearing:
@

Appointment of hearing officer:
Upon the program’s receipt of a
conforming request for hearing, the
department shall appoint a hearing
officer and schedule a hearing.

?2) Hearing
date: The hearing shall be held not
more than 60 days and not less than
15 days from the date of service of the
notice of the hearing.

A3 Notice of
hearing: The department shall notify
the SBHC or SBHC applicant of the
date, time, and place of the hearing
and the identity of the hearing officer
within 20 days of the program’s
receipt of the conforming request for
hearing.

“4) Hearing
venue: The hearing shall be held in
Santa Fe, New Mexico, or may be
held via internet-based web video
conference by agreement of the
parties.

B. Method of service:
Any notice or decision required to
be served under this section may be
served either personally or by certified
mail, return receipt requested, directed
to the SBHC or SBHC applicant at
the last known mailing address shown
by the records of the program. The
notice or decision shall be deemed to
have been served on the date borne by
the return receipt showing delivery, or
the date of the last attempted delivery
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of the notice or decision, or the date
of the addressee’s refusal to accept
delivery.

C. Hearing officer
duties: The hearing officer shall
conduct the hearing, rule on any
motions or
other matters that arise prior to the
hearing, and issue a written report and
recommendation(s) to the secretary
following the close of the hearing.

D. Official file: Upon
appointment, the hearing officer shall
establish an official file which shall
contain all notices, hearing requests,
pleadings, motions, written
stipulations, evidence, briefs, and
correspondence received in the case.
The official file shall also contain
proffered items not admitted into
evidence, which shall be so identified
and shall be separately maintained.
Upon conclusion of the proceeding
and following issuance of the final
decision, the hearing officer shall
tender the complete official file to
the department for its retention as an
official record of the proceedings.

E. Powers of hearing
officer: The hearing officer shall have
all the powers necessary to conduct
a hearing and to take all necessary
action to avoid delay, maintain
order, and assure development of a
clear and complete record, including
but not limited to the power to:
administer oaths or affirmations;
schedule continuances; direct
discovery; examine witnesses and
direct witnesses to testify; subpoena
witnesses and relevant books, papers,
documents, and other evidence; limit
repetitious and cumulative testimony;
set reasonable limits on the amount
of time a witness may testify; decide
objections to the admissibility of
evidence or receive the evidence
subject to later ruling; receive offers
of proof for the record; take notice
of judicially cognizable facts or
take notice of general, technical, or
scientific facts within the hearing
officer’s specialized knowledge
(provided that the hearing officer
notifies the parties beforehand and
offers the parties an opportunity to
contest the fact so noticed); direct
parties to appear and confer for

the settlement or simplification
of issues, and otherwise conduct
pre-hearing conferences; impose
appropriate evidentiary sanctions
against a party who fails to provide
discovery or who fails to comply with
a subpoena; dispose of procedural
requests or similar matters; and
enter proposed findings of fact
and conclusions of law, orders,
reports and recommendations. The
hearing officer may utilize his or her
experience, technical competence,
or specialized knowledge in the
evaluation of evidence presented.

F. Postponement or
continuance: The hearing officer,
at their discretion, may postpone or
continue a hearing upon his or her
own motion, or upon the motion of a
party, for good cause shown. Notice
of any postponement or continuance
shall be given in person, by telephone,
or by mail to all parties within a
reasonable time in advance of the
previously scheduled hearing date.

G. Conduct of
hearing: Hearings shall be open to
the public; provided, however, that
hearings may be closed in part to
prevent the disclosure of confidential
information, including but not limited
to health information protected by
state and federal laws.

H. Recording:
The hearing officer or a designee
shall record the hearing by means
of a mechanical sound recording
device provided by the department
for a record of the hearing. Such
recording need not be transcribed,
unless requested by a party who shall
arrange and pay for the transcription.

L. Burden of proof:
Except as otherwise provided in this
rule, the department has the burden
of proving by a preponderance
of the evidence the basis for the
proposed action. Exception in denied
application cases: in cases arising
from the denial of an application for
certification, the SBHC applicant shall
bear the initial burden of proving by
a preponderance of the evidence the
applicant’s qualifications.

J. Order of
presentation; general rule: Except
as provided in this rule, the order of

presentation for hearings in all cases
shall be:

0y
appearances: opening of proceeding
and taking of appearances by the
hearing officer;

?2) pending
matters: disposition by the hearing
officer of preliminary and pending
matters;

3 opening
statements: the opening statement of
the department; and then the opening
statement of the party challenging
the department’s action or proposed
action;

“) cases:
the department’s case-in-chief, and
then the case-in-chief of the party
challenging
the department’s action;

5) rebuttal:
the department’s case-in-rebuttal;

6) closing
argument: the department’s closing
statement, which may include legal
argument; and then the closing
statement of the party opposing the
department’s action or proposed
action, which may include legal
argument; and

@) close:
close of proceedings by the hearing
officer.

K. Order of
presentation in denied application
cases: The order of presentation in
cases arising
from the denial of an application for
certification shall be:

0y
appearances: opening of proceeding
and taking of appearances by the
hearing officer;

?2) pending
matters: disposition by the hearing
officer of preliminary and pending
matters;

3 opening
statements: applicant’s opening
statement; and then the opening
statement of the department;

“) cases: the
applicant’s case-in-chief, and then the
department’s case-in-chief;

5) rebuttal:
the applicant’s case-in-rebuttal,
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6) closing
argument: the applicant’s closing
statement, and then the department’s
closing statement; and

(@) close:
close of proceedings by the hearing
officer.

L. Admissible
evidence; rules of evidence not
applicable: The hearing officer
may admit evidence and may give
probative effect to evidence that is
of a kind commonly relied on by
reasonably prudent persons in the
conduct of serious affairs. Rules
of evidence, such as the New
Mexico rules of evidence for the
district courts, shall not apply but
may be considered in determining
the weight to be given any item of
evidence. The hearing officer may
at his or her discretion, upon his or
her motion or the motion of a party
or a party’s representative, exclude
incompetent, irrelevant, immaterial,
or unduly repetitious evidence,
including testimony, and may exclude
confidential or privileged evidence.

M. Objections: A
party may timely object to evidentiary
offers by stating the objection
together with a succinct statement
of the grounds for the objection.

The hearing officer may rule on the
admissibility of evidence at the time
an objection is made or may receive
the evidence subject to later ruling.

N. Official notice:
The hearing officer may take notice
of any facts of which judicial notice
may be taken, and may take notice
of general, technical, or scientific
facts within his or her specialized
knowledge. When the hearing officer
takes notice of a fact, the parties shall
be notified either before or during
the hearing of the fact so noticed and
its source, and the parties shall be
afforded an opportunity to contest the
fact so noticed.

0. Record content:
The record of a hearing shall include
all documents contained in the official
file maintained by the hearing officer,
including all evidence received during
the course of the hearing, proposed
findings of fact and conclusions of
law, the recommendations of the

hearing officer, and the final decision
of the secretary.

P Written evidence
from witnesses: The hearing officer
may admit evidence in the form of a
written statement made by a witness,
when doing so will serve to expedite
the hearing and will not substantially
prejudice the interests of the parties.

Q. Failure to appear:
If a party who has requested a hearing
or a party’s representative fails to
appear on the date, time, or location
announced for a hearing, and if no
continuance was previously granted,
the hearing officer may proceed to
hear the evidence of such witnesses
as may have appeared or may accept
offers of proof regarding anticipated
testimony and other evidence, and the
hearing officer may further proceed
to consider the matter and issue his
report and recommendation(s) based
on the evidence presented; and the
secretary may subsequently render a
final decision. Where a person fails
to appear at a hearing because of
accident, sickness, or other cause, the
person may within a reasonable time
apply to the hearing officer to reopen
the proceeding, and the hearing officer
may, upon finding sufficient cause,
fix a time and place for a hearing and
give notice to the parties.

R. Hearing
officer written report and
recommendation(s): The hearing
officer shall submit a written
report and recommendation(s)
to the secretary that contains a
statement of the issues raised at
the hearing, proposed findings of
fact and conclusions of law, and
a recommended determination.
Proposed findings of fact shall be
based upon the evidence presented at
the hearing or known to all parties,
including matters officially noticed
by the hearing officer. The hearing
officer’s recommended decision is a
recommendation to the secretary of
the New Mexico department of health
and is not a final order.

S. Submission for
final decision: The hearing officer’s
report and recommendation(s) shall
be submitted together with the
complete official file to the secretary

of the New Mexico department of
health for a final decision no later than
30 days after the last submission by a
party.

T. Secretary’s final
decision: The secretary shall render
a final decision within 45 calendar
days of the secretary’s receipt of
the hearing officer’s written report.

A copy of the final decision shall

be mailed to the SBHC or SBHC
applicant by certified mail, return
receipt requested, within 15 days after
the final decision is rendered and
signed.

[7.30.15.16 NMAC - N, 5/6/2025]

History of 7.30.15 NMAC:
[RESERVED]

SUPERINTENDENT OF
INSURANCE, OFFICE OF

The New Mexico Superintendent of
Insurance repealed its rule 13.10.40
NMAC, Vaccine Purchasing Fund,
filed 01/01/2023, and replaced it
with a new rule entitled Vaccine
Purchasing Fund, 13.10.40 NMAC,
adopted 04/16/2025 and effective
05/06/2025.

SUPERINTENDENT OF
INSURANCE, OFFICE OF
TITLE 13 INSURANCE
CHAPTER 10 HEALTH
INSURANCE
PART 40 VACCINE
PURCHASING FUND
13.10.40.1 ISSUING

AGENCY: Office of Superintendent
of Insurance.

[13.10.40.1 NMAC —Rp, 13.10.40.1
NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.2 SCOPE: These
rules apply to every “health insurer”
and “group health plan,” as defined

in the Vaccine Purchasing Act (VPA),
providing coverage to residents of
New Mexico, regardless of location
of the policy, and are therefore subject
to compliance obligations under
Sections 24-5A-1 through 24-5A-
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9 NMSA 1978. For purposes of this rule, a multiple employer welfare arrangement as defined in Section 59A-1-8.1
NMSA 1978 is considered a “group health plan” subject to the VPA.
[13.10.40.2 NMAC - Rp, 13.10.40.2 NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: This rule is issued pursuant to the State Rules Act, Sections 14-4-1 et
seq. NMSA 1978, Sections 24-5A-6, 24-5A-7, 24-5A-8 NMSA 1978 of the Vaccine Purchasing Act, and Section 59A-2-
9 NMSA1978.

[13.10.40.3 NMAC - Rp, 13.10.40.3 NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.4 DURATION: Permanent.
[13.10.40.4 NMAC — Rp, 13.10.40.4 NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.5 EFFECTIVE DATE: May 6, 2025, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section.
[13.10.40.5 NMAC — Rp, 13.10.40.5 NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.6 OBJECTIVE: To establish procedures to implement and enforce the provisions of the VPA.
[13.10.40.6 NMAC — Rp, 13.10.40.6 NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.7 DEFINITIONS: The following definitions apply to this rule and to the implementation of this rule
only:
A. “advisory committee or immunization practices” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection A
of Section 24-5A-2 NMSA 1978;
B. “billing cycle” means:
R . Insurer’s and Group Health
9
Billing Cycle Department’s Invoices Date Plan’s Due Date
July 1 to September 30 September 1 October 1
October 1 to December 31 December 1 January 1
January 1 to March 31 March 1 April 1
April 1 to June 30 June 1 July 1
C. “covered employer” means any employer who offers group health insurance coverage to a resident of
New Mexico through a group health plan or policy issued by a health insurer;
D. “covered lives” means the number of children who were enrolled in or participated in the plan

during any part of the prior year, and who were under the age of 19 as of December 31, excluding any children who
are not residents of New Mexico, were enrolled in Medicaid or in any medical assistance program administered by the
department or the human services department, and children who are members of a Native American tribe;

E. “day” or “days” shall be calculated as follows, unless otherwise specified:
4)) one to 10 days means only working days and excludes weekends and state holidays; and
?2) 11 or more days means calendar days, including weekends and state holidays;
F. “department” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection B of Section 24-5A-2 NMSA 1978;
G. “erroneous” means incorrect or inaccurate related to a report required to be filed pursuant to the VPA

that may include over reported covered lives or underreported covered lives.
H. “fund” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection C of Section 24-5A-2 NMSA 1978;

L “group health plan” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection D of Section 24-5A-2 NMSA
1978;

J. “health insurance coverage” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection E of Section 24-5A-2
NMSA 1978;

K. “health insurer” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection F of Section 24-5A-2 NMSA 1978;

L. “insured child” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection G of Section 24-5A-2 NMSA 1978;

M. “late report” means a report submitted after the due date established by the office of superintendent;

N. “non-report” means a group health plan or health insurer who fails to submit a report by the
established due date;

0. “office of superintendent” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection H of Section 24-5A-2
NMSA 1978;

P. “OSI” means the office of superintendent of insurance;

Q. “policy” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection I of Section 24-5A-2 NMSA 1978;

R. “provider” has the same meaning as defined in Subsection J of Section 24-5A-2 NMSA 1978;

S. “TPA” means a third party administrator:
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T. “VPA” means the
vaccine purchasing act, Chapter 24,
Article 5SA, NMSA 1978; and,

U. “vaccines for
children program” has the same
meaning as defined in Subsection K
of Section 24-5A-2 NMSA 1978.
[13.10.40.7 NMAC — Rp, 13.10.40.7
NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.8 REPORTING
REQUIRED: As directed in these
rules, every health insurer and group
health plan shall annually report to the
office of superintendent the number of
insured children who are residents of
New Mexico under each policy and
plan, who were under the age of 19 as
of the previous December 31 even if
that number is zero.

A. Report deadline.
The required report is due by the
date established by the office of
superintendent, but no later than July
31 of each year.

1) Late
reports: If a report is submitted after
the deadline set by the office of
superintendent, the group health plan
or health insurer is subject to penalties
as set forth below.

2) Non-
Reports: If a report is not submitted
by the due date set by the office of
superintendent, the group health plan
or health insurer is subject to penalties
as set forth below.

3) Failure
to report by this deadline shall result
in a $500 a day penalty pursuant
to Subsection B of Section 24-
5A-7 NMSA 1978. The office of
superintendent shall issue written
notice of failure to submit a timely
report which specifies the statutory
penalty to the designated contact
person for each health insurer or
group health plan.

B. Report contents.
The annual report shall include all
information requested by the office
of superintendent and, at a minimum,
shall provide:

(1) the number
of covered lives.

?2) the name
of a designated contact person(s) for
the reporting organization and the

group health plan, or health insurer,
including title, a current email
address, and office phone number.

(@
If the contact person(s) name, title,
email address or office phone number
changes prior to the billing cycle or
the following year’s reporting cycle,
then an updated contact shall be
provided to the department and the
office of superintendent as soon as
practicable after the change occurs,
but no later than 30 days after the
change.

(b)
Contact person(s) name, title, email
address, or office phone number
changes made to the OSI must be
submitted via the VPA reporting
system located on the OSI VPA page
website.

(©)
Communications to and from the
designated contact shall be treated as
communications between the office of
superintendent and the health insurer
or group health plans for all purposes
under the VPA. Failure to provide
or update contact information shall
not relieve a health insurer or group
health plan of any obligation under
the VPA.

(@)
Failure to provide or update contact
person(s) name, title, email address,
or office phone number shall not
relieve a group health plan or health
insurer of their obligations under the
VPA.

3) the names
of employers or groups on behalf of
whom the data is submitted.

“) ifa
group health plan or health insurer
did not cover any children during
the prior year, an attestation of that
circumstance.

5) the annual
report shall be submitted even if the
number of children to report is zero.

C. Method of
reporting. A health insurer or
group health plan shall report in the
method prescribed by the office of
superintendent.

D. Responsibility for
reporting. A health insurer or group
health plan is solely responsible for

reporting. A group health plan may
delegate reporting obligations to an
employer group or plan administrator,
but the group health plan or health
insurer remains responsible for any
late report or reporting error, and
corresponding statutory penalties.
The office of superintendent is

not obligated to remind a group
health plan or health insurer of their
obligations under the VPA.

E. Mid-year plan
termination. If an employer
terminates its plan with a health
insurer or group health plan mid-
year, the new health insurer or group
health plan shall be responsible for
reporting and shall be responsible for
reimbursing the vaccine purchasing
fund for coverage of the prior years’
insured children.

F. Report
amendments. An erroneous report
may be changed only as approved
by the office of superintendent or
upon determination of a good faith
discrepancy in accordance with
Subsection C of Section 24-5A-7
NMSA 1978:

1) A request
to amend a report shall be sent to:
vpa.data@osi.nm.gov.

2) A report
amendment must explain the
erroneous reporting to the number of
covered lives, reporting organization
name, contact person(s) name, title,
email address, or office phone number
to the reporting organization or TPA
or group health plan, FEIN’s for
group health plan.

A3) A report
amendment will only be accepted
if the dispute was submitted within
thirty days of the date of the first
quarter invoice.

“4) Requests
to amend a report for over or under
reported covered lives received by the
office of superintendent after the 30-
day date of the first quarter invoice,
will be rejected by the office of
superintendent and must be reconciled
by the group health plan or health
insurer on the following year’s VPA
report.

Q) The
office of superintendent will allow a
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reconciliation of the previous year’s
report only once, and will not accept
any report amendment requests for
any other reporting year but the year
that immediately precedes the current
reporting year unless there is an under
reporting of covered lives.

G. Penalties.

1) Report
discrepancies are subject to civil
penalty of five hundred dollars ($500)
for each report filed for which the
office of superintendent determines
there is such a discrepancy pursuant
to Subsection C of Section 24-5A-7
NMSA 1978.

?2) A failure
of a health insurer or group health
plan to make a timely payment of
an amount invoiced pursuant to
Subsection D of Section 24-5A-3
NMSA 1978 shall be subject to a
civil penalty of five hundred dollars
($500) for each day from the date the
payment is due pursuant to Subsection
D of 24-5A-7 NMSA 1978.

H. Receivership
report. Before any health insurer is
placed into receivership, it shall report
its latest count of covered children to
the office of superintendent.
[13.10.40.8 NMAC — Rp, 13.10.40.8
NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.9 BILLING AND
ENFORCEMENT:
A. Billing and initial

review of invoices shall be conducted
by the department pursuant to the
VPA and to 7.5.4.13 NMAC.

B. Referral. The
department shall refer to the office
of superintendent any health insurer
or group health plan that has failed
to fully reimburse the department,
including any applicable late
penalties, within 30 days of the date
of invoice. Referrals for invoices
subject to review shall be made within
30 days of the department’s decision.
The department is responsible for
resolving any questions or disputes
that involve:

4)) basis for
billing with covered entities that are
responsible for paying the annual
amount for the total covered lives
reported as of December 31; and

2) requests
for reconciling and payment of
invoices when a covered entity has
closed, is going out of business, has a
plan termination, is in receivership, or
when a health plan exits the market.

C. Notices. Within 10
days of receipt of report of delinquent
account, the office of superintendent
shall:

1 Inform a
delinquent health insurer or group
health plan of the failure to timely pay
the invoice, the invoice amount, the
$500 a day civil penalty, calculated
from the date payment on the invoice
was due, and any applicable interest.

?2) Notices
shall be delivered in writing to the
group health plan or health insurer’s
designated contact person and shall
include instructions about how to
remit payment.

3 The office
of superintendent shall provide a copy
of this notice to the department.
[13.10.40.9 NMAC —Rp, 13.10.40.9
NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.10 PUBLICATION:
The office of superintendent shall,

by January 31 of each calendar year,
make publicly available on their
website, a comprehensive list of all
health insurers and group health plans
that:

A. maintained
compliance with the VPA in the
preceding year;

B. failed to comply
with reporting requirements under the
VPA; or

C. failed to make
timely payments under the VPA.
[13.10.40.10 NMAC — Rp,
13.10.40.10 NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.11 ACCOUNTING
OF THE FUND:
A. Expenditures.

Money in the fund shall be expended

only for the purposes specified

in the VPA, by warrant issued

by the secretary of finance and

administration pursuant to vouchers

approved by the secretary of health.
B. Audit. The fund

shall be audited in the same manner as

other state funds are audited, and all
records of payments made from the
fund shall be open to the public.

C. Balance. Any
balance remaining in the fund shall
not revert or be transferred to any
other fund at the end of a fiscal year.

D. Investment. Money
in the fund shall be invested by the
state investment officer in accordance
with the limitations in Article 12
Section 7 of the constitution of New
Mexico. Income from investment of
the fund shall be credited to the fund.

E. Estimate. July 1 of
each year thereafter, the department
shall estimate the amount to be
expended annually by the department
to purchase, store, and distribute
vaccines recommended by the
advisory committee on immunization
practices to all insured children in
the state, including a reserve of ten
percent of the amount estimated.

F. Update. The
department may update its estimated
amount to be expended annually
and its reserve to take into account
increases or decreases in the cost of
vaccines or the costs of additional
vaccines that the department
determines should be included in the
statewide vaccine purchasing program
and adjust the amount invoiced to
each health insurer and group health
plan the following quarter.
[13.10.40.11 NMAC - Rp,
13.10.40.11 NMAC, 05/06/2025]

13.10.40.12 HEARING
RIGHTS: Any person aggrieved

by any action, threatened action,

or failure to act by the office of
superintendent shall have the same
right to a hearing before the office of
superintendent with respect thereto as
provided for in general under Chapter
59A, Article 4 NMSA 1978 and the
implementing rules. There shall be no
right to hearing by the department.

A. A health insurer
aggrieved pursuant to the VPA may
request an informal hearing or an
administrative review with the office
of superintendent pursuant to their
rules. The health insurer shall notify
the immunization program manager if
they are pursuing an informal hearing
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or administrative review with the
office of superintendent via email at
vpa.fund@doh.nm.gov.

B. A health insurer
aggrieved pursuant to the VPA may
appeal from an order of the
superintendent made after an informal
hearing or an administrative hearing
pursuant to Section 59A-4-20, NMSA
1978. The appeal from the office of
superintendent’s order shall be taken
to the district court pursuant to the
provisions of Section 39-3-1.1 NMSA
1978.

[13.10.40.12 NMAC - Rp,
13.10.40.12 NMAC, 05/06/2025]

History of 13.10.40 NMAC:
13.10.40 NMAC, Vaccine Purchasing
Fund, filed 01/01/2023 was repealed
and replaced by 13.10.40 NMAC,
Vaccine Purchasing Fund, effective
05/06/2025.

End of Adopted Rules
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Other Material Related to Administrative Law

SUPERINTENDENT OF
INSURANCE, OFFICE OF

NOTICE OF MINOR,
NONSUBSTANTIVE
CORRECTION

The Office of Superintendent of
Insurance gives Notice of a Minor,
Nonsubstantive Correction to
13.10.40 NMAC.

Pursuant to the authority granted
under State Rules Act, Subsection D
of Section 14-4-3 NMSA 1978, please
note that the following minor, non-
substantive corrections to spelling,
grammar and format have been made
to all electronic copies of the above
rule, as follows:

Section 7: There are two
Subsection B numbers. The second
Subsection B has been corrected
to Subsection C and all subsequent
Subsections have been renumbered
from C through T to D through U.

A copy of this Notification will be
filed with the official version of the
above amendment.

End of Other Material
Related to Administrative
Law
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