
New Mexico Register
The official publication for all official notices of rulemaking

 and filing of proposed, adopted and emergency rules.

Volume XXXVI - Issue 12 - June 24, 2025



COPYRIGHT © 2025
BY

THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED



The New Mexico Register
Published by the Commission of Public Records, 

Administrative Law Division
1205 Camino Carlos Rey, Santa Fe, NM 87507

The New Mexico Register is published twice each month by the Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division.  
The cost of an annual subscription is $270.00. Individual copies of any Register issue may be purchased for $12.00. Subscription 

inquiries should be directed to: The Commission of Public Records, Administrative Law Division, 1205 Camino Carlos 
Rey, Santa Fe, NM 87507. 

Telephone: (505) 476-7941; Fax: (505) 476-7910; E-mail: staterules@state.nm.us.
The New Mexico Register is available free at http://www.srca.nm.gov/new-mexico-register/



New Mexico Register
Volume XXXVI, Issue 12

June 24, 2025

Table of Contents
Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules

AGING AND LONG-TERM SERVICES DEPARTMENT
	 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking..........................................................................................................................446

AGRICULTURE, DEPARTMENT OF
	 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking  21.34.7 NMAC...............................................................................................446
	 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking  21.17.50 NMAC.............................................................................................447
	 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking  21.18.4 NMAC...............................................................................................448

ALBUQUERQUE-BERNALILLO COUNTY AIR QUALITY CONTROL BOARD
	 Notice of Rulemaking Hearing to Repeal and Replace Existing Rule 20.11.20-NMAC, 
	 Fugitive  Dust Control.........................................................................................................................................449

EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION AND CARE DEPARTMENT
	 Notice of Rulemaking and Public Rule Hearing..................................................................................................451

ENERGY, MINERALS AND NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
ENERGY CONSERVATION AND MANAGEMENT DIVISION
	 Notice of Public Hearing and Rulemaking...........................................................................................................452
FORESTRY DIVISION
	 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking...........................................................................................................................453

ENVIRONMENT, DEPARTMENT OF
	 New Mexico Environmental Improvement Board Notice of Rulemaking Hearing to Consider Adoption of 
	 Proposed New Rule 20.2.92 NMAC - Clean Transportation Fuel Program (EIB 25-23(R))..............................453
	 Junta De Mejora Ambiental De Nuevo Mexico Aviso De Audiencia De Reglamentaction Para Considerar 
	 La Adopcion De La Nueva Norma Propuseta 20.2.92 NMAC - Programa De Combustibles Limpios Para 
	 El Transporte (EIB 25-23(R))...............................................................................................................................455

FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF
LOCAL GOVERNMENT DIVISION
	 Notice of Extension of Comment Period.............................................................................................................458

GENERAL SERVICES DEPARTMENT
	 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking..........................................................................................................................458

HEALTH CARE AUTHORITY
INCOME SUPPORT DIVISION
	 Notice of Emergency Rulemaking (8.119.100 and 8.119.410)............................................................................459
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION
	 Notice of Rulemaking..........................................................................................................................................460

PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION
	 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking - DOCKET NO. 23-00119-UT.........................................................................461

SUPERINTENDENT OF INSURANCE, OFFICE OF
	 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking...........................................................................................................................461
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

iii



iv

Adopted Rules
A = Amended, E = Emergency, N = New, R = Repealed, Rn = Renumbered

ENERGY, MINERALS AND NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
STATE PARKS DIVISION
	 19.5.1 NMAC		  R	 General Provisions......................................................................................464
	 19.5.1 NMAC		  N	 General Provisions......................................................................................464
	 19.5.2 NMAC		  A	 Park Visitor Provisions................................................................................467
	 19.5.6 NMAC		  A	 Park Fees.....................................................................................................472

ENVIRONMENT, DEPARTMENT OF
	 20.6.8 NMAC		  N	 Ground and Surface Water Protection - Supplemental Requirements 
					     for Water Reuse...........................................................................................472

HEALTH, DEPARTMENT OF
	 7.29.5 NMAC		  R	 Certification of Community Health Workers..............................................476
	 7.29.5 NMAC		  N	 Certification of Community Health Workers..............................................476

HEALTH CARE AUTHORITY
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION
	 8.200.510 NMAC	 A	 Resource Standards.....................................................................................484
	 8.200.520 NMAC	 A	 Income Standards........................................................................................487
	 8.291.430 NMAC	 A	 Financial Responsibility Requirements.......................................................492
	 8.310.2 NMAC		  A	 General Benefit Description........................................................................493
	 8.312.2 NMAC		  A	 Nursing Facilities........................................................................................511

PUBLIC EDUCATION DEPARTMENT
	 6.30.19 NMAC		  N	 Purple Star Public Schools Program...........................................................518
	 6.35.2 NMAC		  A	 Implementing the Indian Education Act.....................................................520

PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSION
	 17.9.571 NMAC		  N	 Renewable Energy for Rural Electric Cooperatives...................................523

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF
	 18.3.4 NMAC		  R	 Safety Requirements...................................................................................528
	 18.3.4 NMAC		  N	 Safety Requirements...................................................................................528

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Other Material Related to Administrative Law
ENERGY, MINERALS AND NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
STATE PARKS DIVISION
	 Notice of Minor, Nonsubstantive Correction.......................................................................................................534

ENVIRONMENT,  DEPARTMENT OF
	 Notice of Minor, Nonsubstantive Corrections......................................................................................................534

SUPERINTENDENT OF INSURANCE. OFFICE OF
	 Notice of Minor, Nonsubstantive Correction.......................................................................................................534

_________________________________________________________________________________________________



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXVI, Issue 12/ June 24, 2025 446

Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules
AGING AND LONG-TERM 

SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

Public Notice:  The Aging and 
Long-Term Services Department 
(Department) will hold a public 
hearing on July 25, 2025, at 9:00 a.m. 
The meeting will be held in person 
in the Willie Ortiz Auditorium, 2600 
Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505.

Purpose of Rule Hearing:  The 
purpose of the public hearing is to 
receive public input on a proposed 
new rule, 9.2.25 NMAC - Kinship 
Caregiver Support Pilot Program.
Statutory Authority: Aging and 
Long-Term Services Department Act, 
Section 9-23-15 NMSA 1978.

Purpose of the Proposed New 
Rule: The purpose of this new rule, 
9.2.25 NMAC, is to establish the 
requirements for the administration 
of the Kinship Caregiver Support 
Pilot Program created by H.B. 252, 
57th Leg., 1st Sess. (N.M. 2025).  The 
purpose of the program is to assist 
kinship caregivers in learning about, 
finding and using programs and 
services to meet the needs of the 
children they are raising and their 
own needs, and promote effective 
partnerships among public and private 
agencies to ensure kinship caregiver 
families are served.  Program 
navigators will provide information 
and referrals, including legal 
assistance and monthly economic 
support through program partners.  
The pilot program will be offered 
in five to seven counties, serving 50 
participants per county.
Summary of Proposed Rule: The 
proposed rule lays out how the 
program will be administered by 
the Department. In administering 
the program, the Department will 
provide for navigators, and the 
tasks assigned to navigators are 
listed in the rule.  The proposed 
rule includes the requirements for 
participant eligibility, the selection 

of participating counties, the 
agreement between participants and 
the Department for participation in 
the program, continued eligibility 
in the program, termination from 
the program, program limits, 
notices issued by the Department to 
participants, and suspension of the 
program.

How to Comment on the Proposed 
Rules:  Public comment addressing 
the proposed rule can be submitted in 
writing to the Aging and Long-Term 
Services Department, Office of the 
Secretary, ATT: Kinship Caregiver 
Support Pilot Program Comments, 
2550 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, New 
Mexico 87505.  Interested persons may 
also send written comments via email 
to craig.hay@altsd.nm.gov by 5:00 
p.m., email comments must include 
the subject line, “Proposed Rule 
9.2.25 NMAC,” and the commenter’s 
name and contact information.  All 
written comments must be received 
no later than 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, 
July 24, 2025.  All written comments 
will be posted on the Department’s 
website within (3) three days of 
receipt.
Copies of Proposed Rules:  Copies 
of the proposed rules are available for 
download on the Aging and Long-
Term Services website at aging.
nm.gov/kcs-rulemaking.  A copy 
of the proposed rules may also be 
requested by contacting Craig Hay by 
phone at (505)603-9431 or by email 
craig.hay@altsd.nm.gov.

Special Needs:  Individuals who 
require this information in an 
alternative format or need any form of 
auxiliary aid to attend or participate 
in the public hearing are asked to 
contact Craig Hay at (505)603-9431 
as soon as possible to allow adequate 
time to provide the requested 
accommodation(s).
______________________________

AGRICULTURE, 
DEPARTMENT OF

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN 
that the New Mexico Department of 
Agriculture (NMDA), proposes to 
repeal and replace 21.34.7. NMAC, 
EGG INSPECTION FEES.

PURPOSE AND SUMMARY OF 
THE PROPOSED RULES:

Primary proposed amendments to 
the current Egg Inspection Fees rule 
language updates the outdated fee that 
supports egg inspections and licensing 
activities.

The departments obligation to the 
citizens of New Mexico is to assure 
that eggs sold in the state are fit for 
human consumption and labeled 
properly. The current inspection fees 
set in rule for a case of shell eggs are 
collected by the department to fulfill 
these statutory obligations. 

Proposed rule change will follow 
the repeal and replacement process 
rather than the amendment process 
for fees on eggs sold in New Mexico 
to the retailer or the consumer per 
case of 30 dozen (Subsection A of 
21.34.7.9 NMAC). These adjustments 
are necessary to help offset the 
increased cost of services, licensing, 
and inspections for inflation and 
mandatory adjustments to staff 
salaries. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 
Granted to the Board of Regents of 
New Mexico State University under 
the Egg Grading Act, Chapter 25, 
Article 6, Sections 1 through 16, New 
Mexico Statutes Annotated, 1978 
Compilation.

Copies of the Notice of Proposed 
Rulemaking and proposed rules 
(including any technical information) 
are available by electronic download 
from the New Mexico Department 
of Agriculture website (https://
nmdeptag.nmsu.edu) and at agency 
district and field offices.
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Tuesday, July 29 2025 at 9am 
NMDA will host a public video/
telephonic and in-person hearing at 
Gerald Thomas Hall Auditorium (Rm 
194), New Mexico State University, 
located at 940 College Drive in Las 
Cruces, NM, 88003.

Join via Video for Tuesday, July 29, 
2025, 9am hearing:
Meeting URL: 	 https://nmsu.zoom.
us/j/83992662632
Meeting ID: 	 777 178 7960
Passcode:	 328151
Or
Join via Phone for Tuesday, July 29, 
2025, 9am hearing:
+1 669 900 6833 or +1 719 359 4580
Meeting ID:	 777 178 7960
Passcode:	 328151

Thursday, July 31 2025 at 9am 
NMDA will host a public in-person 
hearing at the CNM workforce 
Training Center located at 5600 Eagle 
Rock Ave, NE in Albuquerque, NM, 
87113.

Oral comments will be accepted at the 
hearing from members of the public 
and any interested parties.  Written 
comments will be accepted until 
5:00pm on July 31, 2025.  Comments 
may be submitted via email to 
comments@nmda.nmsu.edu or may 
be filed by sending original copies to:

New Mexico Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Director
MSC 3189, PO Box 30005, 
1050 Stewart Street, Las 
Cruces, NM  88003-8005

Only signed statements, proposals 
or comments will be accepted.  
Scanned or electronic signatures 
conforming to federal and state court 
requirements will be accepted with 
the understanding that if there is 
any dispute regarding a signature, 
NMDA reserves the right to require 
that original signatures be provided 
to verify the electronic or facsimile 
signature. 

SPECIAL NEEDS: If you are an 
individual with a disability who needs 
a reader, amplifier, qualified sign 

language interpreter, or any other 
form of auxiliary aid or service to 
attend or participate in the hearing 
or meeting, pleases contact NMDA 
at (575) 646-3702 at least one week 
prior to the meeting or as soon as 
possible.

The Director will consider all oral 
comments and will review all timely 
submitted written comments and 
responses.
______________________________

AGRICULTURE, 
DEPARTMENT OF

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN 
that the New Mexico Department of 
Agriculture (NMDA), proposes to 
repeal and replace 21.17.50 NMAC, 
PEST, DISEASE AND WEED 
CONTROL.

PURPOSE AND SUMMARY OF 
THE PROPOSED RULES:

Primary proposed amendments to 
the current Pesticide rule language 
removes unwarranted definitions; 
amends licensing and registration 
expiration dates to ease the re-
registration efforts during the winter 
holiday season; and updates outdated 
fee schedules that support pesticide 
related services and statute mandated 
licensing and pesticide registration 
activities. 

The current Pesticide rule does 
not comply with current style and 
formatting requirements and is 
therefore required to follow the repeal 
and replacement process rather than 
the amendment process. Subsection 
C of 1.24.11.9 NMAC states “When 
an agency amends a part that was not 
filed in the current style and format, it 
shall reformat the entire part (or use 
the reformatting done by the records 
center) and officially adopt the current 
style and formatting requirements in 
conjunction with the amendment.”  
Style and formatting changes to 

the Pesticide rule in its entirety are 
included in the proposed amendments. 

Principal proposed rule amendments 
remove three unwarranted definitions 
(Subsections C, E and Y of 21.17.50.7 
NMAC); revises expiration dates for 
pesticide registration and pesticide 
applicator licenses from December 
31 to January 31 (Subsections A et. 
seq. of 21.17.50.9 NMAC); updates 
15-year old annual licensing fees for 
pesticide dealers, pest management 
consultants, commercial applicators, 
non-commercial applicators, 
pesticide operators and private 
applicators (Subsection B through G 
of 21.17.50.25 NMAC); and updates 
the 2010 pesticide registration, and 
examination fees (Subsection A and I 
of 21.17.50.25 NMAC).  

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 
Granted to the Board of Regents 
of New Mexico State University 
under the New Mexico Pesticide 
Control Act, Chapter 76, Article 4, 
Sections 1 through 39, NMSA 1978 
Compilation.

Copies of the Notice of Proposed 
Rulemaking and proposed rules 
(including any technical information) 
are available by electronic download 
from the New Mexico Department 
of Agriculture website (https://
nmdeptag.nmsu.edu) and at agency 
district and field offices.

Tuesday, July 29 2025 at 11am 
NMDA will host a public video/
telephonic and in-person hearing at 
Gerald Thomas Hall Auditorium (Rm 
194), New Mexico State University, 
located at 940 College Drive in Las 
Cruces, NM, 88003.

Join via Video for Tuesday, July 29, 
2025, 11am hearing:
Meeting URL: 	 https://nmsu.zoom.
us/j/83992662632
Meeting ID: 	 777 178 7960
Passcode:	 328151
Or
Join via Phone for Tuesday, July 29, 
2025, 11am hearing:
+1 669 900 6833 or +1 719 359 4580
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Meeting ID:	 777 178 7960
Passcode:	 328151

Thursday, July 31 2025 at 11am 
NMDA will host a public in-person 
hearing at the CNM workforce 
Training Center located at 5600 Eagle 
Rock Ave, NE in Albuquerque, NM, 
87113.

Oral comments will be accepted at the 
hearing from members of the public 
and any interested parties.  Written 
comments will be accepted until 
5:00pm on July 31, 2025.  Comments 
may be submitted via email to 
comments@nmda.nmsu.edu or may 
be filed by sending original copies to:

New Mexico Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Director
MSC 3189, PO Box 30005, 1050 
Stewart Street, Las Cruces, NM  
88003-8005

Only signed statements, proposals 
or comments will be accepted.  
Scanned or electronic signatures 
conforming to federal and state court 
requirements will be accepted with 
the understanding that if there is 
any dispute regarding a signature, 
NMDA reserves the right to require 
that original signatures be provided 
to verify the electronic or facsimile 
signature. 

SPECIAL NEEDS: If you are an 
individual with a disability who needs 
a reader, amplifier, qualified sign 
language interpreter, or any other 
form of auxiliary aid or service to 
attend or participate in the hearing 
or meeting, pleases contact NMDA 
at (575) 646-3702 at least one week 
prior to the meeting or as soon as 
possible.

The Director will consider all oral 
comments and will review all timely 
submitted written comments and 
responses.
______________________________

AGRICULTURE, 
DEPARTMENT OF

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN 
that the New Mexico Department of 
Agriculture (NMDA), proposes to 
repeal and replace 21.18.4.1 et. seq. 
NMAC, SEED STANDARDS AND 
CLASSIFICATIONS.

PURPOSE AND SUMMARY OF 
THE PROPOSED RULES:

Primary proposed amendments 
to the current Seed Standards and 
Classifications rule language updates 
the fee schedule for testing seeds 
that support the state seed laboratory 
for analyzing samples submitted 
by constituents.  The amendments 
update seed name and scientific 
names in the prohibited and restricted 
noxious weed seeds.  Lastly, the rule 
amendments update the germination 
standards for vegetable seed and 
methods of sampling, inspecting, 
analyzing, testing and examination of 
seed by referencing the Federal Seed 
act 7 CFR part 201. 

The departments obligation to the 
citizens of New Mexico is to assure 
that seeds sold in the state are labeled 
properly and meet the standards 
placed upon the label. The current 
fee schedule set in rule for seed 
testing by the department to recoup 
costs of testing and examine samples 
requested by outside persons or 
entities from the department. 

Proposed rule changes will follow 
the repeal and replacement process 
rather than the amendment process 
for seed standards and classifications. 
These adjustments are necessary to 
help offset the increased cost seed 
testing and analysis for inflation 
and mandatory adjustments to staff 
salaries.   The proposed changes also 
clean up the prohibited and noxious 
weed names and species as well as 
adopt the Federal Seed Act 7 CFR 
part 201 for methods of sampling 
and testing as well as germination 
standards which clean up the rule.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

Granted to the Board of Regents of 
New Mexico State University under 
the New Mexico Seed Law, Chapter 
76, Article 10, Sections 11 through 
22, New Mexico Statutes Annotated, 
1978 Compilation.

Copies of the Notice of Proposed 
Rulemaking and proposed rules 
(including any technical information) 
are available by electronic download 
from the New Mexico Department 
of Agriculture website (https://
nmdeptag.nmsu.edu) and at agency 
district and field offices.

Tuesday, July 29 2025 at 10am 
NMDA will host a public video/
telephonic and in-person hearing at 
Gerald Thomas Hall Auditorium (Rm 
194), New Mexico State University, 
located at 940 College Drive in Las 
Cruces, NM, 88003.

Join via Video for Tuesday, July 29, 
2025, 10am hearing:
Meeting URL: 	 https://nmsu.zoom.
us/j/83992662632
Meeting ID: 	 777 178 7960
Passcode:	 328151
Or
Join via Phone for Tuesday, July 29, 
2025, 10am hearing:
+1 669 900 6833 or +1 719 359 4580
Meeting ID:	 777 178 7960
Passcode:	 328151

Thursday, July 31 2025 at 10am 
NMDA will host a public in-person 
hearing at the CNM workforce 
Training Center located at 5600 Eagle 
Rock Ave, NE in Albuquerque, NM, 
87113.

Oral comments will be accepted at the 
hearing from members of the public 
and any interested parties.  Written 
comments will be accepted until 
5:00pm on July 31, 2025.  Comments 
may be submitted via email to 
comments@nmda.nmsu.edu or may 
be filed by sending original copies to:

New Mexico Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Director
MSC 3189, PO Box 30005, 1050 
Stewart Street, Las Cruces, NM  
88003-8005
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Only signed statements, proposals 
or comments will be accepted.  
Scanned or electronic signatures 
conforming to federal and state court 
requirements will be accepted with 
the understanding that if there is 
any dispute regarding a signature, 
NMDA reserves the right to require 
that original signatures be provided 
to verify the electronic or facsimile 
signature. 

SPECIAL NEEDS: If you are an 
individual with a disability who needs 
a reader, amplifier, qualified sign 
language interpreter, or any other 
form of auxiliary aid or service to 
attend or participate in the hearing 
or meeting, please contact NMDA 
at (575) 646-3702 at least one week 
prior to the meeting or as soon as 
possible.

The Director will consider all oral 
comments and will review all timely 
submitted written comments and 
responses.
______________________________

ALBUQUERQUE-
BERNALILLO COUNTY

AIR QUALITY CONTROL 
BOARD

ALBUQUERQUE-BERNALILLO 
COUNTY AIR QUALITY 

CONTROL BOARD
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING 
HEARING TO CONSIDER 

REPEAL AND REPLACE OF 
EXISTING RULE 20.11.20 NMAC- 

FUGITIVE DUST CONTROL

The Albuquerque-Bernalillo 
County Air Quality Control Board 
(AQCB) will hold a public hearing 
on August 13, 2025 at 5:30 p.m. to 
consider AQCB Petition No. 2025-
2, filed by the City of Albuquerque 
Environmental Health Department 
(EHD).  The hearing is expected to 
last no more than one hour, with the 
Board making a decision immediately 
following the hearing.  The hearing 
will be held in-person (with a remote 
option) at the Plaza del Sol Building, 
Basement Hearing Room, 600 Second 
Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102.  

Final details will be posted online no 
later than August 8, 2025.

Contact Information – to learn more, 
receive updates, or submit comments.
Websites: www.cabq.gov/airquality/
air-quality-control-board and www.
cabq.gov/airquality/regulation-
development/public-notices-and-
comment-opportunities.
Phone: Hearing Clerk, at (505)-768-
1915.
Email: airboard@cabq.gov.
In-Person Address: EHD, One Civic 
Plaza NW, 3rd Floor, Room 3023, 
Albuquerque, NM 87102  (8 am - 5 
pm). 
Postal Mail Address: EHD/AQP, PO 
Box 1293, Albuquerque, NM 87103.

Hearing Details.  The proposed 
regulatory change would repeal 
and replace existing rule 20.11.20 
NMAC- Fugitive Dust Control, to 
add language clarifying that asbestos 
inspectors must be accredited.  The 
proposed changes are limited to 
sections 20.11.20.7 NMAC and 
20.11.20.22 NMAC only.

The docket, including copies of 
the proposed regulatory change, 
is accessible at www.cabq.gov/
airquality/air-quality-control-board.  
A link to the record can also be found 
under the heading “Rulemaking 
Procedures” on the AQCB’s website. 
The proposed text is identified as 
Exhibit B to EHD’s petition.  Copies 
may also be obtained by contacting 
the AQCB Hearing Clerk. EHD 
charges fifty (50) cents per page for 
paper copies.

The hearing will be conducted in 
accordance with the Air Quality 
Control Act, NMSA 1978, Section 
74-2-6; the Joint Air Quality Control 
Board Ordinance, Revised Ordinances 
of Albuquerque 1994, Section 9-5-
1-6; Bernalillo County Code, Article 
II, Section 30-35; 20.11.82 NMAC, 
Rulemaking Procedures-AQCB; and 
other applicable procedures, including 
any pre-hearing orders. Pre-hearing 
orders will be included in the docket.

Public Participation.  AQCB hearings 

are open to the public.  All interested 
persons are encouraged to participate 
and will be given a reasonable 
opportunity to submit relevant data, 
views or arguments, orally or in 
writing, and to examine witnesses 
by filing a notice of intent to present 
technical testimony (“NOI”), filing an 
entry of appearance, or participating 
as a member of the general public.

Technical Testimony.  Persons 
intending to present technical 
testimony must file a written NOI 
at least fifteen (15) days before 
the hearing. In addition to any 
requirements in a pre-hearing order, 
an NOI shall: (1) identify the person 
for whom the witness(es) will testify; 
(2) identify each technical witness 
and state the qualifications of that 
witness, including a description of 
their education and work background; 
(3) include a copy of the direct 
testimony of each technical witness 
and state the anticipated duration of 
the testimony; (4) include the text of 
any recommended modifications to 
the proposed regulatory change; (5) 
list and attach an original copy of all 
exhibits anticipated to be offered by 
that person at the hearing, including 
any proposed statement of reasons for 
adoption of rules; and (6) be served 
pursuant to 20.11.82.16 NMAC and 
pre-hearing orders, including served 
on EHD.  Unless otherwise provided 
for in a pre-hearing order, a NOI filing 
shall be accomplished by delivering 
the document to the AQCB Hearing 
Clerk via the email, in-person address, 
or postal mail address listed in the 
Contact Information.

Entry of Appearance.  Any person 
who is or may be affected by the 
proposed regulatory change may file, 
and serve upon all parties, an entry of 
appearance at least fifteen (15) days 
prior to the hearing date and shall 
be a party.  A timely NOI shall be 
considered an entry of appearance.

Non-Technical Testimony/Public 
Comment.  Any member of the 
general public may present non-
technical testimony and/or offer 
non-technical exhibits. No prior 
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notification is required.  A member 
of the general public, who wishes 
to submit a non-technical written 
statement for the record instead of 
oral testimony, shall file the written 
statement prior to the hearing or 
submit it at the hearing.  Unless 
otherwise provided for in a pre-
hearing order, written statements 
submitted prior to the hearing shall be 
delivered to the AQCB Hearing Clerk 
in the same manner described above 
for filing a NOI. The public comment 
period will begin on June 25, 2025 
and conclude on July 25, 2025.

Notice to Persons with Disabilities 
or Special Needs.  If you have a 
disability or require special assistance 
to participate, including interpretation 
or an auxiliary aid, please contact 
the AQCB Hearing Clerk as soon as 
possible but no later than seventy-two 
(72) hours before the hearing. Those 
in need of hearing assistance can call 
711.

Nondiscrimination Notice.  The 
AQCB does not discriminate on the 
basis of race, color, national origin, 
sex, age or disability.  If you believe 
you have been discriminated against, 
you may submit a complaint at www.
cabq.gov/airquality/non-employee-
discrimination-complaints.

Nếu bạn muốn thông báo này được 
dịch sang tiếng Việt, vui lòng truy cập 
www.cabq.gov/airquality/regulation-
development/public-notices-and-
comment-opportunities và sử dụng 
tính năng Dịch ở đầu trang.

AVISO DE AUDIENCIA 
DE REGLAMENTACIÓN 
PARA CONSIDERAR LA 

DEROGACIÓN Y SUSTITUCIÓN 
A LA NORMATIVA VIGENTE 

20.11.20 NMAC- CONTROL DE 
POLVO FUGITIVO POR PARTE 

DE LA JUNTA DE CALIDAD 
DEL AIRE DEL CONDADO DE 

ALBUQUERQUE-BERNALILLO 

La Junta de Calidad del Aire del 
Condado de Albuquerque-Bernalillo 
(AQCB, por sus siglas en inglés) 
llevará a cabo una audiencia el 13 

de agosto de 2025, a las 5:30 pm, 
para considerar la Petición No. 2025-
2 de la AQCB, presentada por el 
Departamento de Salud Ambiental 
de la Ciudad de Albuquerque (EHD, 
por sus siglas en inglés). La audiencia 
durará aproximadamente una hora, 
con deliberaciones inmediatamente 
despúes. La audiencia presencial (con 
participación a través del internet) se 
realizará en el edificio Plaza del Sol, 
en la sala de audiencias del sótano, 
600 Second St. NW, Albuquerque, 
NM 87102. Los detalles finales serán 
publicados en línea a más tardar el 8 
de agosto de 2025.  

Información de contacto - para saber 
más, recibir actualizaciones, o enviar 
comentarios. 
Páginas web: www.cabq.gov/
airquality/air-quality-control-board 
and www.cabq.gov/airquality/
regulation-development/public-
notices-and-comment-opportunities. 
Teléfono: Secretaria de audiencia de 
la AQCB, al (505) 768-1915.
Correo electrónico: airboard@cabq.
gov.
Dirección en persona: EHD, One 
Civic Plaza NW, 3rd Floor, Room 
3023, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (8 am 
– 5 pm). 
Dirección de correo postal: EHD, PO 
Box 1293, Albuquerque, NM 87103.

Detalles de la Audiencia. El cambio 
normativo propuesto derogaría y 
sustituiría la normativa vigente 
20.11.20 del Código Administrativo 
de Nuevo México (NMAC, por sus 
siglas en inglés)- Control de Polvo 
Fugitivo, para incorporar texto que 
clarifique que los inspectores para 
amianto deben de ser acreditados.  
El alcanze de este cambio se limita 
a las secciones 20.11.20.7 NMAC y 
20.11.20.22 NMAC solamente.   

Se puede acceder al expediente 
normativo, incluyendo copias del 
cambio normativo propuesto, en 
https://www.cabq.gov/airquality/
air-quality-control-board. También 
se puede encontrar un enlace 
al registro normativo bajo el 
encabezado “Rulemaking Procedures” 
(Procedimientos de Normativas) 

en la página de la AQCB. El texto 
propuesto de se identifica como 
Anexo B a la petición del EHD.  Se 
puede obtener copias comunicándose 
con la Secretaria de Audiencias de la 
AQCB. El EHD cobra cincuenta (50) 
centavos por página.

La audiencia se llevará a cabo de 
acuerdo al Acta de Control de Calidad 
del Aire de los Estatutos Anotados 
de Nuevo México (NMSA, por sus 
siglas en inglés), 1978, Sección 74-2-
6; Ordenanza de la Junta de Calidad 
del Aire, Ordenanzas Revisadas 
de Albuquerque 1994, Sección 
9-5-1-6; Código del Condado de 
Bernalillo, Artículo II, Sección 30-
35; 20.11.82 NMAC, Procedimientos 
de Normativas-AQCB; y otros 
procedimientos aplicables, incluyendo 
todas las órdenes previas a la 
audiencia. Las órdenes previas a 
la audiencia se incluirán en el 
expediente normativo. 

Participación pública. Las audiencias 
de la AQCB están abiertas al público. 
Todas las personas interesadas se 
les alienta a participar y se otorgará 
una oportunidad razonable para 
presentar datos relevantes, opiniones 
o argumentos, de forma oral o 
escrita, e interrogar a testigos luego 
de completar un aviso de intención 
de presentar testimonio técnico 
(NOI, por sus siglas en inglés), una 
actuación de comparecencia, o al 
participar como miembro del público 
general.

Testimonio técnico. Las personas 
que pretendan presentar testimonio 
técnico deberán completar un NOI 
escrita al menos quince (15) días 
antes de la audiencia. Además de 
todos los requisitos que una orden 
previa a la audiencia debe tener, 
un NOI deberá: (1) identificar a la 
persona en favor de la cual testificará 
el testigo; (2) identificar a cada testigo 
técnico e indicar las calificaciones 
de ese testigo, incluyendo una 
descripción de sus antecedentes de 
educación y de trabajo; (3) incluir una 
copia del testimonio directo de cada 
testigo técnico e indicar la duración 
estimada del testimonio; (4) incluir 
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el texto de todas modificaciones 
recomendadas al cambio normativo 
propuesto; (5) enumerar y adjuntar 
una copia original de todas las 
pruebas que se espera que esa persona 
ofrezca en la audiencia, incluyendo 
todas las declaraciones de las razones 
propuestas para la adopción de las 
normativas; y (6) ser notificado de 
conformidad a 20.11.82.16 NMAC y 
a las órdenes previas a la audiencia, 
incluidas las del EHD. Salvo que se 
proporcionen en una orden previa a la 
audiencia, un NOI se debe completar 
y enviar a la Secretaria de Audiencia 
de la AQCB por medio de correo 
electrónico, la dirección en persona 
o correo postal que se detalla en la 
información de contacto.

Actuación de comparecencia. 
Cualquier persona que se vea o 
pueda verse afectada por el cambio 
normativo propuesto puede completar 
y presentar una personación a todas 
las partes al menos quince (15) días 
antes de la fecha de la audiencia y 
queda constituido como parte. Un 
NOI oportuno será considerado una 
actuación de comparecencia.

Testimonio no técnico/opinión 
pública. Cualquier miembro del 
público general puede presentar un 
testimonio no técnico y/o presentar 
pruebas no técnicas. No se necesita 
notificación previa. Un miembro del 
público general que desee entregar 
una declaración por escrito para el 
registro en lugar de testimonio oral 
deberá presentarlo antes o durante la 
audiencia. A menos que se entreguen 
en una orden previa a la audiencia, las 
declaraciones por escrito presentadas 
antes de la audiencia deberán 
entregarse a la secretaria de audiencia 
de la AQCB, de la misma forma en la 
que se debe enviar un NOI. El período 
de comentario público comenzará el 
25 de junio de 2025 y se acabará el 25 
de julio de 2025.

Aviso para personas con 
discapacidades o necesidades 
especiales. Si usted tiene una 
discapacidad o requiere de asistencia 
especial para participar, incluyendo 
interpretación o una asistencia 
auxiliar, comuníquese con la 

secretaria de audiencia de AQCB lo 
antes posible, pero no después de 
setenta y dos (72) horas antes de la 
audiencia. Aquellos que necesiten 
asistencia auditiva pueden llamar al 
711. 

Aviso de no discriminación. La 
AQCB no discrimina por motivos de 
raza, color, nacionalidad de origen, 
sexo, edad o discapacidad. Si usted 
cree que se lo ha discriminado, 
puede enviar una queja a www.
cabq.gov/airquality/non-employee-
discrimination-complaints.
______________________________

EARLY CHILDHOOD 
EDUCATION AND CARE 

DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING AND 
PUBLIC RULE HEARING

The New Mexico Early Childhood 
Education and Care Department 
(ECECD) hereby gives notice as 
required under Section 14-4-5.2 
NMSA 1978 and 1.24.25.11 NMAC 
that it proposes to adopt amendments 
to the following rules regarding 
SOCIAL SERVICES CHILD CARE 
LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 
GOVERNING THE CHILD CARE 
FACILITY LOAN ACT as authorized 
by Subsection (E) of Section 9-29-6 
NMSA 1978;

8.9.9 NMAC - REQUIREMENTS 
GOVERNING THE CHILD CARE 
FACILITY LOAN ACT

No technical scientific information 
was consulted in drafting these 
proposed rules. 

Purpose of proposed rules: ECECD 
is promulgating these rules to provide 
for its own agency regulations as 
well as to align to the New Mexico 
Finance Authority (NMFA) standard. 
NMFA changes were put in place 
to streamline the loan application 
process and to facilitate ease of 
access to the administration and 
implementation of the Child Care 
Facility Loan Act. 

Summary of Proposed Rules: 
In summary, the proposed rule 
amendment to 8.9.9 NMAC will 
update regulations to align with 
amendments made to the Child Care 
Facility Loan Act, NMSA 1978 § 24-
24-1 to -4, and to align regulations 
with NMFA procedures. These rules 
establish eligibility guidelines for 
applicants and projects, application 
requirements, and evaluation 
procedures for loans made to child 
care providers. Changes made include 
the addition of loans for the expansion 
and creation of new facilities as 
eligible projects; the addition of 
contracts for services as an eligible 
use of the fund and eligibility criteria 
for providers to qualify for contracts 
for services; additional prioritization 
categories for loan applications; 
the addition of persons, entities, or 
employers as eligible providers; rules 
for provisional loan licenses for the 
purposes of eligibility; and updated 
definitions.
As part of the amendment process, 
ECECD will hold a public rule 
hearing for the proposed amendments 
on July 24, 2025, from 9:00 a.m. to 
10:00 a.m.

Copies of the proposed amended 
rules may also be found at ECECD’s 
website at www.nmececd.org/
regulation-changes/ 30 days prior to 
the Public Hearing.

Notice of public rule hearing: The 
public rule hearing will be held on 
July 24, 2025, from 9:00 a.m. to 
10:00 a.m. for proposed rule update 
for 8.9.9 NMAC. The hearing will be 
held in Apodaca Hall of the PERA 
Building located at 1120 Paseo de 
Peralta, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87502 
and via virtual web platform (Zoom), 
email, and telephonic means. The 
public hearing will be conducted in 
a fair and equitable manner by an 
ECECD agency representative or 
hearing officer and shall be recorded. 
Any interested member of the 
public may attend the hearing and 
will be provided with a reasonable 
opportunity to offer public comment, 
either orally or in writing, including 
presentation of data, views, or 
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arguments, on the proposed rules 
during the hearing. Individuals with 
disabilities who need any form of 
auxiliary aid to attend or participate 
in the public hearing are asked to 
contact ECECD at ECECD-ECS-
PublicComment@ECECD.NM.Gov 
or call 505-670-8993. ECECD will 
make every effort to accommodate 
all reasonable requests but cannot 
guarantee accommodation of a 
request that is not received at least ten 
calendar days before the scheduled 
hearing.

Notice of acceptance of written 
public comment: Written public 
comment, including presentation of 
data, views, or arguments about the 
proposed rules, from any interested 
member of the public may be 
submitted via email to ECECD-ECS-
PublicComment@ECECD.NM.Gov 
with the subject line “8.9.9 NMAC 
Public Comment” or via first class 
mail to PO. Drawer 5619, Santa Fe, 
New Mexico 87502-5619. Written 
comments may be delivered to the 
Old PERA building at 1120 Paseo De 
Peralta on July 24, 2025, from 9:00 
a.m. to 10:00 a.m. The deadline to 
submit comments is at the end of the 
public hearing on July 24, 2025.

Any interested member of the public 
may attend the hearing in person, 
or via the virtual web platform or 
telephone, and offer public comments 
on the proposed rule during the 
hearing. To access the hearing by 
telephone: place call 1-253-205-0468, 
Meeting ID: 820 4248 9230. You 
will be able to hear the full hearing, 
and your telephone comments will 
be recorded. To access the hearing 
via the internet: please go to https://
nmececdorg.zoom.us/j/82042489230 
and follow the instructions indicated 
on the screen – Meeting ID: 820 4248 
9230. This will be a live stream of 
the hearing. You may also provide 
comment via chat during the live 
streaming.
______________________________

ENERGY, MINERALS 
AND NATURAL 

RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT

ENERGY CONSERVATION 
AND MANAGEMENT 

DIVISION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 
AND RULEMAKING

The State of New Mexico, Energy, 
Minerals and Natural Resources 
Department (EMNRD) hereby gives 
notice of the following proposed 
rulemaking. The proposed rulemaking 
aims to repeal and replace existing 
regulations for both personal and 
corporate income tax credits.
3.3.32 NMAC Geothermal Ground 
Coupled Heat Pump Personal Income 
Tax Credit, 7-2A-24 NMSA
3.4.19 NMAC, Geothermal Ground 
Coupled Heat Pump Corporate 
Income Tax Credit, 7-2-18.24 NMSA

Purpose of Rule. 
The Geothermal Ground-Coupled 
Heat Pump Income Tax Credit was 
enacted in 2024 to encourage New 
Mexico taxpayers to install high-
efficiency ground-coupled heat pumps 
in their residences, businesses, or 
agricultural enterprises. EMNRD 
aims to repeal the existing rule 
and replace it with a new version 
that aligns with recent legislative 
amendments. This process ensures 
that the rule remains compliant with 
updated policies and simplifies the 
application requirements for both 
applicants and EMNRD. 
The objective of Geothermal Ground 
Coupled Heat Pump Income Tax 
Credit, 3.3.32 NMAC, and 3.4.19 
NMAC, is to establish procedures 
for administering the certification 
program for the geothermal ground-
coupled heat pump income tax credit, 
including proposing application 
requirements meant to simplify 
and streamline the process for both 
applicants and EMNRD.

Legal Authority: EMNRD proposes 
the rules under the authority of the 
Income Tax Act, NMSA 1978, Section 

7-2A-24 and Corporate Income Tax 
Act, Section 7-2-18.24 

The full text of the proposed rule is 
available from the EMNRD, Energy 
Conservation and Management 
Division at the website: https://www.
emnrd.nm.gov/ecmd/ecmd-public-
notices/, or by contacting Claudette 
Montoya at ClaudetteR.Montoya1@
emnrd.nm.gov or emailing EMNRD.
taxcredits@emnrd.nm.gov.

Public Hearing and Comment. 
EMNRD will hold an in-person / 
virtual public hearing on the proposed 
rules scheduled at 10:00am on August 
12, 2025, where stakeholders can 
provide feedback on the proposed 
changes. If you’re interested in 
attending or submitting comments 
the public may attend in person at the 
EMNRD Wendell Chino Building, 
Pecos Hall, 1220 S. Saint Francis 
Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505. The 
public may also join the hearing 
virtually through Microsoft Teams 
using one of the following: 
Geothermal Ground Coupled Heat 
Pump Income Tax Credit, 2025 rule 
hearing 
Event Link: to join the meeting: 
https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-
join/19%3ameeting_NWMxMmEw
ODItMzRkMS00MGI0LThmMDEt
MDVmY2RkYTI5ZjUz%40thread.
v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a
%2204aa6bf4-d436-426f-bfa4-04b7
a70e60ff%22%2c%22Oid%22%3
a%227a2869ad-e8e9-4114-99d7-
c4dafba0a50c%22%7d

Meeting ID: 219 564 370 995 7
Passcode: FZ3ae2QW

Comments made online or in person 
will be accepted. 
Those wishing to comment on 
the proposed rule may make 
oral comments or submit written 
comments at the hearing, or may 
submit written comments by August 
11, 2025, by 5:00 p.m. by mail or 
e-mail. Please mail written comments 
to Claudette Montoya, EMNRD – 
ECAM, 1220 S. Saint Francis Drive, 
Santa Fe, NM 87505 or submit them 
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by e-mail to ClaudetteR.Montoya1@
emnrd.nm.gov.
______________________________

ENERGY, MINERALS 
AND NATURAL 

RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT

FORESTRY DIVISION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

The State of New Mexico, Energy, 
Minerals and Natural Resources 
Department (EMNRD), Forestry 
Division hereby give notice of the 
following proposed rulemaking. 
EMNRD proposes to amend their 
rule, 19.1.3 NMAC, Natural Heritage 
Conservation Act.

Purpose of Amendment.  EMNRD 
propose the amendments to (1) 
amend definition of in-kind to 
include mineral remoteness reports, 
baseline documentation reports, 
stewardship funding, and staff 
time for due diligence in the list 
of transaction costs; (2) amend 
the evaluation criteria and matrix 
of factors in Subsection B and 
C of 19.1.3.12 NMAC; (3) add 
Subsection E of 19.1.3.12 NMAC 
for any changes to project scope, 
budget or expected outcomes are 
to be reported to the department; 
(4) add the baseline documentation 
report to list of documents to be 
provided the department; (5) remove 
the requirement that a baseline 
documentation report to be recorded 
with applicable county clerk; (6) 
add mineral remoteness reports, 
baseline documentation reports, 
reasonable contributions to restricted 
stewardship funds or documented 
labor costs to qualify as transactional 
costs; (7) revise language to allow 
to increase the percentage of project 
value from three to thirty percent 
that can be awarded for transaction 
costs; (8) remove the requirement that 
transaction cost awards not exceed 
ten percent of the grant or $45,000, 
whichever is less; and (9) remove 
references to in-kind contribution as it 

relates to state tax incentive or credit.

Legal Authority.  EMNRD proposes 
the rule amendments under the 
authority of Sections 9-1-5 and 68-2-
16 NMSA 1978. 

The full text of the proposed rule 
amendments is available from 
Carmen Austin at (505) 617-0119 or 
carmelitam.austin@emnrd.nm.gov 
or can be viewed on the EMNRD, 
Forestry Division’s website at https://
www.emnrd.nm.gov/sfd/public-
meetings-hearings/ or at the Forestry 
Division’s office at 1220 South St. 
Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505 or 
at its offices in Chama, Cimarron, Las 
Vegas, Rio Rancho, Socorro, Capitan, 
and Silver City.

Public Hearing and Comment.  
EMNRD will hold a public hearing 
on the proposed rule amendments at 
11:30 a.m. on July 30, 2025, at the 
Wendell Chino Building, Office of 
the Secretary Conference Room, 3rd 
Floor, 1220 South St. Francis Drive, 
Santa Fe, NM 87505. Those wishing 
to attend and participate virtually 
may join through using one of the 
following:

Join Teams Meeting

Meeting ID: 239 988 137 870 9 
Passcode: wL9TK7eH

Dial in by phone 
+1 505-312-4308,,318398884# 
United States, Albuquerque 
Phone conference ID: 318 398 884#

Find your local number

Those wishing to comment on the 
proposed rule amendments may make 
oral comments or submit information 
at the hearing or may submit written 
comments by July 30, 2025, by 1:30 
p.m. by mail or email. Please mail 
written comments to Carmen Austin, 
EMNRD, Forestry Division, 1220 
South St. Francis Drive, Santa Fe, 
NM 87505 or submit comments by 
email to carmelitam.austin@emnrd.
nm.gov.

Technical Information that served 
as a basis for the proposed rule 
amendments includes:

Article 10 Natural Heritage 
Conservation Act , Sections 75-10-1 
to 75-10-9 NMSA 1978.

Copies of the technical information 
can be obtained from Carmen Austin 
at (505) 617-0119 or carmelitam.
austin@emnrd.nm.gov or can be 
viewed on the EMNRD, Forestry 
Division’s website at https://www.
emnrd.nm.gov/sfd/public-meetings-
hearings/.

If you are an individual with 
a disability who needs a reader, 
amplifier, qualified sign language 
interpreter, or any other form of 
auxiliary aid or service to attend or 
participate in the hearing, please 
contact Carmen Austin at (505) 617-
0119 or through the New Mexico 
Relay Network at 1-800-659-1779 
two weeks prior to the hearing. Public 
documents can be provided in various 
accessible formats. Please contact 
Carmen Austin at (505) 617-0119 
or by email at carmelitam.austin@
emnrd.nm.gov if a summary or other 
type of accessible format is needed.
______________________________

ENVIRONMENT,  
DEPARTMENT OF

NEW MEXICO 
ENVIRONMENTAL 

IMPROVEMENT BOARD
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING 
HEARING TO CONSIDER 

ADOPTION OF
PROPOSED NEW RULE 
20.2.92 NMAC - CLEAN 

TRANSPORTATION FUEL 
PROGRAM 

(EIB 25-23(R))

The New Mexico Environmental 
Improvement Board (“EIB”) will 
hold a public hearing beginning on 
September 22, 2025, at 9:00 am 
through October 3, 2025, resuming 
at 9:00 am on November 17, 2025 
and continuing as long as required 
to hear all testimony, evidence, and 
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public comment, to consider EIB 
25-23(R): In the Matter of Proposed 
Adoption of 20.2.92 NMAC – 
Clean Transportation Fuel Program 
(“Petition”) to adopt Proposed 
New Rule 20.2.92 NMAC Clean 
Transportation Fuel Program, Exhibit 
B to the Petition (“Proposed New 
Rule 20.2.92 NMAC”) as supported 
by the technical information set 
forth in the Statement of Reasons, 
Exhibit A to the Petition (“Statement 
of Reasons”). The hearing will 
be conducted in a hybrid format 
to allow for both in-person and 
virtual participation. The in-
person hearing will be held at the 
Willie Ortiz Building, Willie Ortiz 
Auditorium, 2600 Cerrillos Road, 
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505. The 
EIB may make a final decision on 
Proposed New Rule 20.2.92 NMAC 
at the conclusion of the hearing or 
may convene a later meeting for 
that purpose. The hearing will be 
conducted in accordance with 20.1.1 
NMAC, Rulemaking Procedures – 
Environmental Improvement Board; 
the Environmental Improvement Act, 
NMSA 1978, Section 74-1-9; and 
other applicable procedures, including 
pursuant to any orders from the EIB 
and appointed hearing officer.

Detailed information concerning 
the hearing, including the meeting 
room location, additional hearing 
details and access details such as 
times and how to participate or attend 
the hearing remotely, can be found 
on the New Mexico Environment 
Department (“NMED”) calendar 
(https://www.env.nm.gov/events-
calendar/) under the calendar entry 
corresponding to the hearing start 
date.  For more information, please 
contact the EIB Administrator at 
(505) 660-4305 or pamela.jones@env.
nm.gov.

Additionally, the NMED Office of 
Public Facilitation maintains NMED’s 
docketed matters website, which 
includes the Petition, Statement of 
Reasons, and Proposed New Rule 
20.2.92 NMAC, as well as any orders 
from the EIB and appointed hearing 
officer governing the conduct of the 

hearing.  The docket for EIB 25-
23(R) may be accessed by visiting 
the website (https://www.env.nm.gov/
opf/docketed-matters/), navigating 
to the ‘Environmental Improvement 
Board’ dropdown menu, and then 
accessing the files under the ‘EIB 
25-23: In the Matter of Proposed 
Adoption of 20.2.92 NMAC – Clean 
Transportation Fuel Program’ 
dropdown menu. Paper copies of the 
Petition, Statement of Reasons, and 
Proposed New Rule 20.2.92 NMAC 
are available at all of NMED’s offices 
statewide. The Petition, Statement 
of Reasons, and Proposed New 
Rule 20.2.92 NMAC are available 
electronically at (https://www.env.
nm.gov/opf/wp-content/uploads/
sites/13/2025/05/2025-05-16-EIB-25-
23-petition-to-Adopt-20.2.92-NMAC-
CTFP-pj.pdf).

The purpose of the hearing is for the 
EIB to consider and take possible 
action on the Petition by NMED 
requesting the EIB to adopt the 
Proposed New Rule 20.2.92 NMAC. 
The purpose of Proposed New Rule 
20.2.92 NMAC is to establish the 
Clean Transportation Fuel Program 
(“CTFP”), a market-based program, 
that sets the statewide, technology-
neutral Clean Transportation Fuel 
Standard (“CTFS”) to reduce the 
carbon intensity of transportation 
fuel produced in New Mexico, 
imported into New Mexico or 
dispensed for use in New Mexico 
by a minimum of 20% below 2018 
carbon intensity levels by 2030 and 
by a minimum of 30% below 2018 
carbon intensity levels by 2040, as 
set by the New Mexico Legislature 
in the Environmental Improvement 
Act, NMSA 1978, Section 74-1-18. 
The EIB is authorized to adopt rules 
regarding the carbon intensity of 
transportation fuel pursuant to the 
Environmental Improvement Act, 
NMSA 1978, Sections 74-1-5, 74-1-
8(A)(15), and 74-1-18. Environmental 
Improvement Act, NMSA 1978, 
Section 74-1-18 requires the EIB 
to promulgate rules to initiate the 
CTFP no later than July 1, 2026. 
Proposed New Rule 20.2.92 NMAC 
is also part of a broader state effort 

to reduce greenhouse gas emissions 
in keeping with Governor Lujan 
Grisham’s Executive Order 2019-003 
On Addressing Climate Change and 
Energy Waste Prevention (https://
www.governor.state.nm.us/wp-
content/uploads/2019/01/EO_2019-
003.pdf).

Proposed New Rule 20.2.92 NMAC 
assigns a carbon intensity to a 
transportation fuel based on the fuel’s 
greenhouse gas lifecycle analysis. The 
carbon intensity of a transportation 
fuel measures all greenhouse gas 
emissions from that fuel’s “well-
to-wheel” lifecycle, including 
production, blending, distribution, 
and use. Proposed New Rule 20.2.92 
NMAC applies to “transportation 
fuel,” which means “electricity or 
a liquid, gaseous or blended fuel, 
including gasoline, diesel, liquefied 
petroleum gas, natural gas and 
hydrogen, sold, supplied, used or 
offered for sale to power vehicles 
or equipment for the purposes of 
transportation.” Proposed New Rule 
20.2.92 NMAC sets conditions for 
how the CTFP assesses the carbon 
intensity of a transportation fuel 
against an applicable 2018 baseline 
and allows any regulated party 
producing, importing, or dispensing 
fuel with a carbon intensity below 
the standard, including innovative 
gasoline, diesel, and jet fuel 
variations, to earn credits. A regulated 
party producing, importing, or 
dispensing a transportation fuel with 
a carbon intensity above the standard 
generates deficits, which they must 
offset by purchasing enough credits 
from a credit generator to meet 
the current year’s carbon intensity 
standard. Additional information is 
available on NMED’s CTFP webpage 
(https://www.env.nm.gov/climate-
change-bureau/clean-fuel-program/).

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: The 
EIB’s hearings and meetings are 
open to the public, and the general 
public is encouraged to participate. 
All interested persons will be given a 
reasonable opportunity to participate 
by filing a notice of intent to present 
technical testimony, filing an entry 
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of appearance, or participating as 
a member of the general public. 
“Technical testimony” means 
scientific, engineering, economic or 
other specialized testimony, but does 
not include legal argument, general 
comments, or statements of policy or 
position concerning matters at issue in 
the hearing. “General public” includes 
any person attending a hearing who 
has not submitted a notice of intent to 
present technical testimony. 

Any member of the general public 
may testify at the hearing. Any person 
who provides testimony at the hearing 
is subject to cross-examination on 
the subject matter of his or her direct 
testimony and matters affecting his or 
her credibility. Any person attending 
the hearing is entitled to conduct 
such cross-examination as may be 
required for a full and true disclosure 
of matters at issue in the hearing. 
All testimony will be taken under 
oath or affirmation which may be 
accomplished in mass or individually.

No person may discuss ex parte the 
merits of the proceeding with any 
EIB member or the appointed hearing 
officer.

TECHNICAL TESTIMONY: 
Any person who intends to present 
technical testimony at the hearing 
shall file a notice of intent to present 
technical testimony with the EIB 
Administrator at least 20 days prior to 
the hearing date or in accordance with 
an order from the EIB or appointed 
hearing officer and shall be a party. 
In addition to any requirements a pre-
hearing order may have, the notice of 
intent to present technical testimony 
shall: (1) identify the person for 
whom the witness(es) will testify; (2) 
identify each technical witness the 
person intends to present and state 
the qualifications of that witness, 
including a description of their 
educational and work background; 
(3) if the hearing will be conducted 
at multiple locations, indicate the 
location or locations at which the 
witnesses will be present; (4) include 
a copy of the direct testimony of 
each technical witness in narrative 

form; (5) include the text of any 
recommended modifications to the 
proposed regulatory change; and (6) 
list and attach all exhibits anticipated 
to be offered by that person at the 
hearing, including any proposed 
statement of reasons for adoption of 
rules; and (7) serve a copy on NMED.

ENTRY OF APPEARANCE: 
Any person may file an entry of 
appearance as a party. The entry of 
appearance shall be filed with the EIB 
Administrator no later than 20 days 
before the date of the hearing or in 
accordance with an order from the 
EIB or appointed hearing officer.

PUBLIC COMMENT: The general 
public may testify with a written 
public comment or orally at the 
hearing. A member of the general 
public who wishes to submit a 
written statement for the record, in 
lieu of providing oral testimony at 
the hearing, shall file the written 
statement prior to the hearing or 
submit it at the hearing. Those 
wishing to submit a written public 
comment prior to the hearing may 
submit the written public comment to 
the EIB Administrator: https://nmed.
commentinput.com?id=Q7EpmKPeC; 
pamela.jones@env.nm.gov, or 
EIB Administrator, New Mexico 
Environment Department- Harold 
Runnels Building, P.O. Box 5469, 
Santa Fe, NM 87502. Additionally, 
there will be an opportunity each 
day of the hearing for oral testimony 
from members of the general public. 
No prior notification is required to 
present non-technical testimony at 
the hearing. Any such member may 
also offer non-technical exhibits in 
connection with their testimony, so 
long as the exhibits are not unduly 
repetitious of the testimony and 
comply with 20.1.1.402 NMAC. 
The appointed hearing officer shall 
determine the process and times for 
the general public to testify during the 
hearing.

ACCESSIBILITY: If any person 
requires assistance, an interpreter, 
or an auxiliary aid to participate in 
this process, please contact the EIB 

Administrator at least 14 days prior 
to the hearing date at 1190 St. Francis 
Drive, P.O. Box 5469, Santa Fe, NM 
87502, telephone (505) 660-4305, 
or email pamela.jones@env.nm.gov 
(TDD or TTY users please access the 
number via the New Mexico Relay 
Network, 1-800-659-1779 (voice); 
TTY users: 1-800-659-8331).

NOTICE OF 
NONDISCRIMINATION: NMED 
does not discriminate on the basis of 
race, color, national origin, disability, 
age or sex in the administration 
of its programs or activities, as 
required by applicable laws and 
regulations.  NMED is responsible 
for coordination of compliance efforts 
and receipt of inquiries concerning 
non-discrimination requirements 
implemented by 40 C.F.R. Parts 5 
and 7, including Title VI of the Civil 
Rights Act of 1964, as amended; 
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 
of 1973; the Age Discrimination Act 
of 1975, Title IX of the Education 
Amendments of 1972, and Section 13 
of the Federal Water Pollution Control 
Act Amendments of 1972.  If you 
have any questions about this notice 
or any of NMED’s non-discrimination 
programs, policies or procedures, you 
may contact: Kate Cardenas, Non-
Discrimination Coordinator, New 
Mexico Environment Department, 
1190 St. Francis Dr., Suite N4050, 
P.O. Box 5469, Santa Fe, NM 87502, 
505-827-2855, nd.coordinator@
env.nm.gov.  If you believe that you 
have been discriminated against with 
respect to an NMED program or 
activity, you may contact the Non-
Discrimination Coordinator identified 
above.
______________________________

ENVIRONMENT 
DEPARTMENT

JUNTA DE MEJORA 
AMBIENTAL DE NUEVO 

MÉXICO
AVISO DE AUDIENCIA 

DE REGLAMENTACIÓN 
PARA CONSIDERAR LA 

ADOPCIÓN DE LA NUEVA 
NORMA PROPUESTA 20.2.92 
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NMAC - PROGRAMA DE 

COMBUSTIBLES LIMPIOS
 PARA EL TRANSPORTE (EIB 

25-23(R))

La Junta de Mejora Ambiental de 
Nuevo México (“EIB” por sus 
siglas en inglés) llevará a cabo una 
audiencia pública que comenzará el 
22 de septiembre de 2025 a las 9:00 
a. m. hasta el 3 de octubre de 2025, 
reanudando el 17 de Noviembre de 
2025 a las 9:00 a. m. y continuando 
mientras sea necesario para escuchar 
todos los testimonios, evidencias y 
comentarios públicos para considerar 
la EIB 25-23(R): En el Asunto de 
la Adopción Propuesta de 20.2.92 
NMAC - Programa de Combustibles 
Limpios para el Transporte 
(“Petición”) para adoptar la Nueva 
Norma Propuesta 20.2.92 NMAC 
Programa de Combustibles Limpios 
para el Transporte, Anexo B de la 
Petición (“Nueva Norma Propuesta 
20.2.92 NMAC”) según lo respaldado 
por la información técnica establecida 
en la Declaración de Motivos, Anexo 
A de la Petición (“Declaración de 
Motivos”). La audiencia se llevará 
a cabo en un formato híbrido para 
permitir la participación tanto en 
persona como virtual. La audiencia 
presencial se llevará a cabo en el 
Edificio Willie Ortiz, Auditorio Willie 
Ortiz, 2600 Cerrillos Road, Santa 
Fe, Nuevo México 87505. La EIB 
podrá tomar una decisión final sobre 
la Nueva Norma Propuesta 20.2.92 
NMAC al concluir la audiencia o 
podrá convocar una reunión posterior 
para ese propósito. La audiencia se 
llevará a cabo de conformidad con 
20.1.1 NMAC, Procedimientos de 
Reglamentación - Junta de Mejora 
Ambiental; la Ley de Mejora 
Ambiental, NMSA 1978, Sección 
74-1-9; y otros procedimientos 
aplicables, incluidas las órdenes de 
la EIB y el funcionario de audiencias 
designado.

La información detallada sobre la 
audiencia, incluidos la ubicación 
de la sala de reuniones, detalles 
adicionales sobre la audiencia y el 
acceso, como los horarios y cómo 
participar o asistir a la audiencia de 

forma remota, se puede encontrar 
en el calendario del Departamento 
de Medio Ambiente de Nuevo 
México (“NMED” por sus siglas en 
inglés) (https://www.env.nm.gov/
events-calendar/) bajo la entrada del 
calendario correspondiente a la fecha 
de inicio de la audiencia. Para obtener 
más información, comuníquese con la 
administradora de la EIB llamando al 
(505) 660-4305 o en pamela.jones@
env.nm.gov.

Además, la Oficina de Facilitación 
Pública del NMED mantiene el 
sitio web de asuntos archivados del 
NMED, que incluye la Petición, la 
Declaración de Motivos y la Nueva 
Norma Propuesta 20.2.92 NMAC, 
así como cualquier orden de la EIB 
y del funcionario de audiencias 
designado que rige la celebración 
de la audiencia. Se puede acceder 
al expediente de la EIB 25-23(R) 
visitando el sitio web (https://www.
env.nm.gov/opf/docketed-matters/), 
navegando al menú desplegable 
de “Junta de Mejora Ambiental” 
y luego accediendo a los archivos 
bajo el menú desplegable de “EIB 
25-23: En el Asunto de la Propuesta 
de Adopción de 20.2.92 NMAC - 
Programa de Combustibles Limpios 
para el Transporte”. Hay disponibles 
copias impresas de la Petición, 
la Declaración de Motivos y la 
Nueva Norma Propuesta 20.2.92 
NMAC en todas las oficinas del 
NMED en todo el estado. La 
petición, la Declaración de Motivos 
y la Nueva Norma Propuesta 
20.2.92 NMAC están disponibles 
electrónicamente en (https://www.
env.nm.gov/opf/wp-content/uploads/
sites/13/2025/05/2025-05-16-EIB-25-
23-petition-to-Adopt-20.2.92-NMAC-
CTFP-pj.pdf).

El propósito de la audiencia es 
que la EIB considere y tome las 
medidas necesarias respecto a la 
Petición del NMED, en la que 
se solicita a la EIB la adopción 
de la Nueva Norma Propuesta 
20.2.92 NMAC. El propósito de la 
Nueva Norma Propuesta 20.2.92 
NMAC es establecer el Programa 
de Combustibles Limpios para el 

Transporte (“CTFP” por sus siglas 
en inglés), un programa basado en un 
mercado que establece el Estándar 
de Combustibles Limpios para el 
Transporte (“CTFS” por sus siglas 
en inglés) estatal, tecnológicamente 
neutro, para reducir la intensidad 
de carbono del combustible para 
el transporte producido en Nuevo 
México, importado a Nuevo México 
o dispensado para su uso en Nuevo 
México en un mínimo del 20 % por 
debajo de los niveles de intensidad de 
carbono de 2018 para 2030 y en un 
mínimo del 30 % por debajo de los 
niveles de intensidad de carbono de 
2018 para 2040, según lo establecido 
por la Legislatura de Nuevo México 
en la Ley de Mejora Ambiental, 
NMSA 1978, Sección 74-1-18. La 
EIB está autorizada a adoptar normas 
sobre la intensidad de carbono del 
combustible para el transporte de 
conformidad con la Ley de Mejora 
Ambiental, NMSA 1978, Secciones 
74-1-5, 74-1-8(A)(15) y 74-1-18. La 
Ley de Mejora Ambiental, NMSA 
1978, Sección 74-1-18, exige que la 
EIB promulgue normas para iniciar 
el CTFP a más tardar el 1 de julio de 
2026. La Nueva Norma Propuesta 
20.2.92 NMAC también forma parte 
de un esfuerzo estatal más amplio 
para reducir las emisiones de gases de 
efecto invernadero, de conformidad 
con la Orden Ejecutiva 2019-003 de 
la gobernadora Lujan Grisham sobre 
el Cambio Climático y la Prevención 
del Desperdicio de Energía (https://
www.governor.state.nm.us/wp-
content/uploads/2019/01/EO_2019-
003.pdf).

La Nueva Norma Propuesta 20.2.92 
NMAC asigna una intensidad de 
carbono a un combustible para el 
transporte con base en el análisis 
del ciclo de vida de los gases de 
efecto invernadero del combustible. 
La intensidad de carbono de un 
combustible para el transporte mide 
todas las emisiones de gases de efecto 
invernadero del ciclo de vida “del 
pozo a la rueda” de ese combustible, 
que incluye la producción, mezcla, 
distribución y uso. La Nueva Norma 
Propuesta 20.2.92 NMAC se aplica 
al “combustible para el transporte”, 
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que significa “electricidad o un 
combustible líquido, gaseoso o 
mezclado, incluidos la gasolina, el 
diésel, el gas licuado de petróleo, el 
gas natural y el hidrógeno, vendido, 
suministrado, usado u ofrecido para 
la venta para impulsar vehículos o 
equipos con fines de transporte”. La 
Nueva Norma Propuesta 20.2.92 
NMAC establece condiciones sobre 
como el CTFP evalúa la intensidad 
de carbono de un combustible 
para el transporte en comparación 
con una línea base aplicable de 
2018 y permite que cualquier parte 
regulada que produzca, importe 
o dispense combustible con una 
intensidad de carbono por debajo del 
estándar, incluidas las variaciones 
innovadoras de gasolina, diésel y 
combustible para aviones, obtenga 
créditos. Una entidad regulada que 
produzca, importe o dispense un 
combustible de transporte con una 
intensidad de carbono superior al 
estándar genera déficits, lo cual debe 
compensarse mediante la compra de 
créditos suficientes a un generador 
de créditos para cumplir con el 
estándar de intensidad de carbono del 
año en curso. Puede encontrar más 
información en la página web del 
CTFP de NMED (https://www.env.
nm.gov/climate-change-bureau/clean-
fuel-program/).

PARTICIPACIÓN PÚBLICA: Las 
audiencias y reuniones de la EIB 
están abiertas al público y se anima 
al público en general a participar. 
Todas las personas interesadas 
tendrán una oportunidad razonable 
de participar presentando un aviso 
de intención de presentar testimonio 
técnico, presentando un registro de 
comparecencia o participando como 
miembros del público. “Testimonio 
técnico” se refiere a testimonios 
científicos, de ingeniería, económicos 
o especializados, pero no incluye 
argumentos legales, comentarios 
generales o declaraciones de política 
o posición sobre los asuntos tratados 
en la audiencia. “Público en general” 
incluye a cualquier persona que asista 
a una audiencia y no haya presentado 
un aviso de intención de presentar 
testimonio técnico.

Cualquier miembro del público 
podrá testificar en la audiencia. 
Toda persona que preste testimonio 
en la audiencia estará sujeta a 
contrainterrogatorio sobre el tema 
de su testimonio directo y sobre 
cuestiones que afecten su credibilidad. 
Toda persona que asista a la 
audiencia tendrá derecho a realizar el 
contrainterrogatorio que sea necesario 
para una divulgación completa y 
veraz de los asuntos tratados en la 
audiencia. Todos los testimonios se 
tomarán bajo juramento o afirmación, 
que podrá realizarse en masa o de 
forma individual.

Ninguna persona podrá discutir ex 
parte los méritos del procedimiento 
con ningún miembro de la EIB ni con 
el oficial de audiencia designado.

TESTIMONIO TÉCNICO: Toda 
persona que pretenda presentar 
testimonio técnico en la audiencia 
deberá presentar un aviso de intención 
de presentarlo a la administradora 
de la EIB al menos 20 días antes 
de la fecha de la audiencia o de 
conformidad con una orden de la 
EIB o del funcionario de audiencias 
designado, y será parte. Además 
de los requisitos que pueda exigir 
una orden previa a la audiencia, 
el aviso de intención de presentar 
testimonio técnico deberá: (1) 
identificar a la persona a la que 
el/los testigo(s) declarará(n); (2) 
identificar a cada testigo técnico que 
la persona pretenda presentar e indicar 
sus cualificaciones, incluidas la 
descripción de su historial académico 
y profesional; (3) si la audiencia se va 
a llevar a cabo en varias ubicaciones, 
indicar la ubicación o ubicaciones en 
las que estarán presentes los testigos; 
(4) incluir una copia del testimonio 
directo de cada testigo técnico en 
forma narrativa; (5) incluir el texto de 
cualquier modificación recomendada 
al cambio regulatorio propuesto; y 
(6) enumerar y adjuntar todos los 
documentos que se prevé que dicha 
persona presente en la audiencia, 
incluida cualquier declaración 
propuesta de motivos para la adopción 
de las normas; y (7) entregar una 
copia al NMED.

REGISTRO DE 
COMPARECENCIA: Cualquier 
persona puede presentar un registro de 
comparecencia como parte. El registro 
de comparecencia deberá presentarse 
ante la administradora de la EIB a 
más tardar 20 días antes de la fecha de 
la audiencia o de conformidad con la 
orden de la EIB o del funcionario de 
audiencias designado.

COMENTARIOS PÚBLICOS: El 
público en general podrá testificar 
mediante comentarios públicos 
por escrito o de forma oral en la 
audiencia. Quienes deseen presentar 
una declaración por escrito para 
que conste en actas, en lugar 
de prestar testimonio oral en la 
audiencia, deberán presentarla 
antes de la audiencia o durante la 
misma. Quienes deseen presentar 
comentarios públicos por escrito 
antes de la audiencia pueden 
hacerlo a la administradora de la 
EIB: https://nmed.commentinput.
com?id=Q7EpmKPeC; pamela.
jones@env.nm.gov, o por correo 
postal a: Administradora de la EIB, 
Departamento de Medio Ambiente 
de Nuevo México, Harold Runnels 
Building, P.O. Box 5469, Santa 
Fe, NM 87502. Además, cada día 
de la audiencia se proporcionará 
oportunidad para que el público 
general preste testimonio oral. No se 
requiere aviso previo para presentar 
testimonio no técnico en la audiencia. 
Dichos miembros también podrán 
presentar pruebas instrumentales 
no técnicas en relación con su 
testimonio, siempre que estas no sean 
repetitivas y cumplan con la sección 
20.1.1.402 NMAC. El funcionario 
de audiencias designado determinará 
el proceso y los horarios para que 
el público general preste testimonio 
durante la audiencia.

ACCESIBILIDAD: Si alguna 
persona requiere asistencia, un 
intérprete o un dispositivo auxiliar 
para participar en este proceso, 
comuníquese con la administradora 
de la EIB al menos 14 días antes de 
la fecha de la audiencia en 1190 St. 
Francis Drive, P.O. Box 5469, Santa 
Fe, NM 87502; por teléfono llamando 
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al teléfono (505) 660-4305; por correo 
electrónico en pamela.jones@env.
nm.gov (los usuarios de TDD o TTY 
pueden acceder al número a través de 
la Red de Retransmisión de Nuevo 
México, 1-800-659-1779 (voz); 
usuarios de TTY: 1-800-659-8331).

AVISO DE NO 
DISCRIMINACIÓN: El NMED 
no discrimina por motivos de raza, 
color, nacionalidad, discapacidad, 
edad o sexo en la administración 
de sus programas o actividades, 
según lo exigen las leyes y 
regulaciones aplicables. El NMED 
es responsable de coordinar los 
esfuerzos de cumplimiento y recibir 
consultas sobre los requisitos de no 
discriminación implementados por 
40 C.F.R. Partes 5 y 7, incluido el 
Título VI de la Ley de Derechos 
Civiles de 1964, en su forma 
enmendada; la Sección 504 de la 
Ley de Rehabilitación de 1973; 
la Ley de Discriminación por 
Edad de 1975, el Título IX de las 
Enmiendas a la Educación de 1972 
y la Sección 13 de las Enmiendas 
a la Ley Federal de Control de la 
Contaminación del Agua de 1972. 
Si tiene alguna pregunta sobre este 
aviso o cualquiera de los programas, 
políticas o procedimientos de no 
discriminación de NMED, puede 
comunicarse con: Kate Cardenas, 
coordinadora de no discriminación, 
Departamento de Medio Ambiente 
de Nuevo México, 1190 St. Francis 
Dr., Suite N4050, P.O. Box 5469, 
Santa Fe, NM 87502, 505-827-2855, 
nd.coordinator@env.nm.gov.  Si 
cree que ha sido discriminado con 
respecto a un programa o actividad 
del NMED, puede comunicarse con 
la coordinadora de no discriminación 
identificada anteriormente.
______________________________

FINANCE AND 
ADMINISTRATION, 
DEPARTMENT OF

LOCAL GOVERNMENT 
DIVISION

NOTICE OF EXTENSION OF 
COMMENT PERIOD

The Department of Finance 
and Administration’s (“DFA”) 
Infrastructure Planning and 
Development Division (the Division) 
is proposing to repeal and replace 
the New Mexico Administrative 
Code (NMAC) rule 2.110.2 NMAC, 
Procedures for Applying for a Small 
Cities Community Development Block 
Grant to address liability associated 
with non-compliance by grant 
recipients and align with updated 
requirements set out in federal 
regulations.

Section 9-6-21, NMSA 1978, as 
amended, requires Infrastructure 
Planning and Development 
Division to provide assistance to 
local governments, councils of 
governments, and tribal governments 
in administering funding to complete 
capital projects.

Adoption Date:  Proposed as July 1, 
2025
Technical Citations:  2.110.2 NMAC

The DFA held a public rule hearing 
on the above-referenced rule on 
May 28, 2025, at 9:00 am, via 
Microsoft Teams and in-person 
at Mabry Hall, New Mexico 
Public Education Department.  
Due to technical difficulties with 
the Microsoft Teams link, some 
members of the public were unable 
to join virtually.

To ensure full and fair opportunity 
for public participation, the DFA is 
extending the comment period by 
one additional week.

Written Comments will now be 
accepted through June 4, 2025, at 
12:00 p.m. MT

Comments may be submitted via:

Email: dfalegal@dfa.nm.gov
Mail: 407 Galisteo St, Santa Fe, NM 
87501
Phone: (505) 827-4985

All comments received by 
the extended deadline will be 
considered prior to finalizing the 
proposed rule.

Copies of all comments will be 
made available by the Division upon 
request by providing copies directly 
to a requestor or by making them 
available on the Division website or 
at a location within the county of the 
requestor.

For questions, please contact the 
Hearing Officer, Rudy Anaya, at rudy.
anaya@dfa.nm.gov.

These proposed rule changes will be 
contained in 2.110.2 NMAC.  The 
register and the proposed rule are 
available on the Division website at: 
https://www.nmdfa.state.nm.us/.  If 
you do not have internet access, a 
copy of the proposed register and 
rule may be requested by contacting 
DFA Office of General Counsel at 
dfalegal@dfa.nm.gov and (505) 827-
4985.

The IPDD proposes to implement this 
rule effective July 1, 2025.

Recorded comments may be left at 
(505) 827-4985.  Interested persons 
may also address comments via 
electronic mail to: dfalegal@dfa.
nm.gov.  Written mail, electronic 
mail and recorded comments must 
be received no later than 12:00 p.m. 
MT on June 4, 2025.  Written and 
recorded comments will be given the 
same consideration as oral testimony 
made at the public hearing.  All 
written comments received will be 
posted as they are received on the 
DFA website at https://www.nmdfa.
state.nm.us/  along with the applicable 
register and rule.  The public posting 
will include the name and any 
contact information provided by the 
commenter.
______________________________

GENERAL SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

The New Mexico General Services 
Department, Transportation Services 
Division, (“GSD” or “Department” 
or “TSD”) hereby gives notice that 
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the Department will conduct a public 
hearing as indicated to obtain input on 
the following rule revisions:

Amending 1.5.3.1 NMAC - 
ADMINSTRATION AND USE OF 
STATE VEHICLES current rule and 
replacing it with the following rule: 
(updated rule).

SUMMARY AND PURPOSE OF 
THE PROPOSED RULE:
Clarifying and updating the Rule on 
the administration and use of state 
vehicles and updating and amending 
provisions including provisions on 
GPS usage and documentation and 
utilization.

PUBLICATION: The proposed rule 
is posted at the GSD website, and, on 
the Sunshine Portal.

A public hearing regarding the rules 
will be held on July 29, 2025, at 10:00 
A.M., in the conference room of the 
Facilities Management (FMD) T-187 
Building, 2542 Cerrillos Rd., Santa 
Fe, New Mexico 87505.

HOW TO COMMENT ON THE 
PROPOSED RULE: Interested 
individuals may testify regarding 
the proposed rulemaking relating 
to Administration and Use of State 
Vehicles, 1.5.3.1 NMAC.  Written 
comments may also be submitted 
no later than the date of the public 
hearing to: Joe Vigil, PIO, Office of 
the Secretary, New Mexico General 
Services Department, Room 1004, 
1100 St. Francis Drive, Santa Fe, New 
Mexico 87505 or Joe.Vigil@gsd.
nm.gov.  All written comments will be 
posted on the agency website within 3 
days of receipt.

PROPOSED RULE COPIES: The 
public hearing agenda and the full text 
of the proposed rule may be accessed 
on the General Services Department 
website http://www.generalservices.
gsd.nm.gov
or obtained from the Office of the 
Secretary, New Mexico General 
Services Department, Room 1004, 
1100 St. Francis Drive, Santa Fe, 
New Mexico 87505 or by calling the 

main number at the General Services 
Department: 505-827-2000.

SPECIAL NEEDS: Individuals 
with disabilities who require this 
information in an alternative format 
or need any form of auxiliary aid to 
attend or participate in this hearing 
are asked to contact the main number 
at the office of the General Services 
Department (contact information 
provided above).  The Department 
requests at least seven days of 
advance notice (i.e., by close of 
business, 5:00 P.M., Tuesday, July 
8, 2025) for all requests regarding 
special accommodation for the public.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Section 
9-17-5 NMSA 1978, and Section 15-
8-1, et seq., NMSA 1978.
______________________________

HEALTH CARE 
AUTHORITY

INCOME SUPPORT DIVISION

NOTICE OF EMERGENCY 
RULEMAKING

The Health Care Authority (HCA) 
Income Support Division (ISD) 
implemented a temporary emergency 
rule which was effective May 1, 2025, 
this does not permanently amend or 
repeal the existing rule and will only 
remain in effect until this permanent 
rule takes effect under the normal rule 
making process.
On March 21, 2025, a Federal 
Register was issued by Health and 
Human Services (HHS) notice 
of change of Eligibility Period 
for Refugee Cash and Medical 
Assistance. The eligibility period 
is being changed from 12 months 
to four months for participants 
who become eligible for Office of 
Refugee Resettlement (ORR) benefits 
45 days after publication. ORR 
determined that it must shorten the 
RCA and RMA eligibility period to 
four months to avoid a significant 
budget shortfall.  The language 
update will mirror the language in 45 
CFR 400.211  https://www.ecfr.gov/
current/title-45/section-400.211.  This 

rule is necessary to ensure HCA is in 
compliance with federal regulations.

The proposed rule changes to the 
New Mexico Administration Code 
(NMAC) will be to 8.119.100 NMAC, 
8.119.410 NMAC.

This action is authorized under 
Chapter 9, Article 8, NMSA 1978 
(Repl. 1983), which grants the 
Department Secretary the authority 
to establish rules and regulations 
necessary for the Department and 
its divisions.  Regulations issued 
pursuant to the act are contained in 
45 CFR Parts 400.  Administration 
of the Health Care Authority (HCA), 
including its authority to promulgate 
regulations, is governed by Chapter 9, 
Article 8, NMSA 1978 (Repl. 1983).

The register and rule language 
is available on the HCA website 
at:  https://www.hca.nm.gov/
lookingforinformation/income-
support-division-registers-2/ .  If you 
do not have internet access, a copy 
of the final register and rules may be 
requested by contacting HCA Office 
of the Secretary at (505) 827-7750.

PUBLIC HEARING:
A hybrid public hearing to receive 
testimony on this proposed rule will 
be held, pursuant to Section 14-4-5.6 
NMSA 1978, on Friday July 25, 2025, 
at 10:00 a.m.,–11:00 a.m.  You may 
join in person, virtually, or by phone.
You may join in person at: HCA 
Income Support Division Office at 
4363 Jager Dr NE, Rio Rancho, NM 
87144.
You may join virtually from your 
computer, tablet or smartphone: 
Microsoft Teams Need help?
Meeting ID: 281 929 251 602 
8   Passcode: Qa7SJ9gt   Dial in by 
phone +1 505-312-4308,,783673944# 
United States, Albuquerque (888) 
506-1357,,783673944# United States 
(Toll-free) Find a local number
Phone conference ID: 783 673 944# 
For organizers:  Meeting options | 
Reset dial-in PIN
Get the app now and be ready when 
your first meeting starts: Join the 
meeting now.
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If you are a person with a disability 
and you require this information 
in an alternative format, or you 
require a special accommodation 
to participate in any HSD public 
hearing, program, or service, please 
contact the American Disabilities Act 
Coordinator, at Office-505-709-5468, 
Fax-505-827-6286 or through the 
New Mexico Relay system, toll free at 
#711.  The Authority requests at least 
a 10-day advance notice to provide 
the requested alternative formats and 
special accommodations.

Written comment may be dropped 
off during the scheduled hearing 
time at the HCA Income Support 
Division Office at 4363 Jager Dr 
NE, Rio Rancho NM 87144.  All 
written comments will be posted on 
the agency website within 3 days of 
receipt.

Individuals wishing to testify may 
contact the Income Support Division 
(ISD), P.O. Box 2348, Santa Fe, NM 
87504-2348, or by calling (505) 819-
8118.

Individuals who do not wish to attend 
the hearing may submit written or 
recorded comments.  Written or 
recorded comments must be received 
by 5:00 p.m. on the date of the 
hearing, July 25, 2025.  Please send 
comments to:
Income Support Division P.O. Box 
2348, Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348

Recorded comments may be left 
at (505) 819-8118. You may send 
comments electronically to: HCA-
isdrules@hca.nm.gov.  Written and 
recorded comments will be given the 
same consideration as oral testimony 
made at the public hearing.
______________________________

HEALTH CARE 
AUTHORITY

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
DIVISION

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

The New Mexico Health Care 
Authority (HCA), through the 
Medical Assistance Division 

(MAD), is proposing New Mexico 
Administrative Code (NMAC) rule 
8.321.12, Specialized Behavioral 
Health Services, Certified Community 
Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHC). 
CCBHC is a new Medicaid program, 
effective January 1, 2025.  This is a 
new section of the NMAC to establish 
rules for the CCBHC program in New 
Mexico.
Section 9-8-6 NMSA 1978, 
authorizes the Department Secretary 
to promulgate rules and regulations 
that may be necessary to carry out 
the duties of the Department and its 
divisions.

Notice Date: June 24, 2025
Hearing Date: July 25, 2025
Adoption Date: Proposed as 
December 1, 2025
Technical Citations: Section 223 of 
the Protecting Access to Medicare 
Act of 2014, Public Law 113-93, as 
amended by the Section 11001 of the 
Bipartisan Safer Communities Act of 
2022, Public Law 117-159

Background
These rules establish the CCBHC 
program, define the criteria and 
process that the HCA and the 
Children, Youth and Families 
Department shall use to recognize 
and verify CCBHCs and provides 
instruction for service provision under 
the New Mexico medical assistance 
program (MAP). These rules specify 
the standards for the CCBHC 
application, certification, payment and 
oversight process.

I. RULE
This register and the proposed rule 
are available on the HCA website 
at: https://www.hca.nm.gov/
lookingforinformation/registers/ and 
https://www.hca.nm.gov/comment-
period-open-2025/.  If you do not 
have internet access, a copy of the 
proposed register and rule may be 
requested by contacting MAD at 
(505) 827-1337.

II. EFFECTIVE DATE
The HCA proposes implementing this 
rule effective December 1, 2025.

III. PUBLIC HEARING
A public hearing to receive testimony 
on this proposed rule will be held on 
July 25, 2025, at 9:30 a.m. Mountain 
Time.  The hearing will be held at 
the Administrative Services Division 
(ASD), 1474 Rodeo Rd, Santa Fe, 
NM 87505 and via Microsoft Teams.

Join Teams Meeting
Meeting ID: 296 881 845 003
Passcode: N3Yy3xz6 

Dial in by phone
+1 505-312-4308, United States, 
Albuquerque
Phone conference ID: 203 861 540#

If you are a person with a disability 
and you require this information 
in an alternative format or require 
special accommodation to participate 
in the public hearing, please contact 
the MAD in Santa Fe at (505) 827-
1337.  The HCA requests at least ten 
(10) working days advance notice to 
provide requested alternative formats 
and special accommodations.

Copies of all comments will be made 
available by MAD upon request 
by providing copies directly to a 
requestor or by making them available 
on the MAD website or at a location 
within the county of the requestor.

IV. ADDRESS
Interested persons may address 
written comments to:

New Mexico Health Care Authority
Office of the Secretary
ATTN: Medical Assistance Division 
Public Comments
P.O. Box 2348
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348

Recorded comments may be left at 
(505) 827-1337.  Interested persons 
may also address comments via 
electronic mail to: HCA-madrules@
hca.nm.gov.  Written mail, electronic 
mail and recorded comments must 
be received no later than 5:00 p.m. 
MT on July 25, 2025.  Written and 
recorded comments will be given the 
same consideration as oral testimony 
made at the public hearing.  All 
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written comments received will be 
posted as they are received on the 
HCA website at https://www.hca.
nm.gov/lookingforinformation/
registers/ and https://www.hca.
nm.gov/comment-period-open-2025/ 
along with the applicable register and 
rule.  The public posting will include 
the name and any contact information 
provided by the commenter.
______________________________

PUBLIC REGULATION 
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

DOCKET NO. 23-00119-UT

The New Mexico Public Regulation 
Commission (“Commission”) 
gives notice of its initiation of a 
formal rulemaking to promulgate 
amendments to its procedural rules at 
Title 1, Chapter 2, Part 2 of the New 
Mexico Administrative Code.  A rule 
which may be adopted as the final rule 
by the Commission may include all, 
part, or none of the language in the 
proposed rule.

Summary and concise statement 
of proposed rule:  The objective 
of the Proposed Rule is to 
establish procedures for handling 
matters before the commission 
concerning its regulation of utilities, 
telecommunications providers, 
owners and operators of gas and 
hazardous liquid pipelines and 
underground facilities, excavators, 
and one-call notification systems 
subject to the jurisdiction of the 
commission in New Mexico.

Legal authority:  Sections 62-8-3, 62-
13-2, 62-14-9.1, 62-14-10, 62-19-9, 
62-19-21, 63-7-23, 63-9-11, 63-9A-
5.1, 63-9A-11, 63-9B-5, 63-9H-10, 
and 70-3-13 NMSA 1978.

How a copy of the full text of the 
proposed rule may be obtained:  A 
copy of the full text of the proposed 
rule and instructions on how to access 
the complete rulemaking record, 
reports, and other items filed in the 
commission’s e-docket system may 

be obtained from the Rulemaking 
Proceedings section of the 
Commission’s website at https://www.
prc.nm.gov/rulemaking-proceedings/ 
under Docket No. 23-00119-UT or by 
calling LaurieAnn Santillanes in the 
Office of General Counsel at (505) 
670-4830.

How a person may comment on the 
proposed rule, where comments will 
be received, and when comments are 
due:
Written initial comments may be filed 
no later than August 21, 2025, written 
response comments may be filed no 
later than September 8, 2025.  Filed 
comments shall refer to Docket No. 
23-00119-UT.  Comments may be 
electronically filed by sending them 
in PDF format to prc.records@prc.
nm.gov. All written comments will be 
posted on the Commission’s e-Docket 
website within three days of their 
receipt by the Commission’s Records 
Management Bureau.

The record of this case closes 
on September 29, 2025. From 
that date through the completion 
of this proceeding, rulemaking 
participants shall be forbidden from 
communicating with the Commission 
or its representatives concerning 
substantive issues in this proceeding.

When and where a public rule hearing 
will be held and how a person may 
participate in the hearing:  A public 
hearing on the proposed rule and 
any proposed alternatives, to be 
presided over by the Commission or 
its designee, shall be held beginning 
at 10:00 a.m. on August 28, 2025, 
at the Commission’s offices located 
at 142 W. Palace, Santa Fe, New 
Mexico, 87505, and via the Zoom 
video-conferencing platform.

Any interested person who wishes to 
make a comment at the hearing may 
contact Patrick Rodriguez via email 
at public.comment@prc.nm.gov or by 
phone at (505) 490-7910 as soon as 
possible before the start of the hearing 
to sign up as a commenter to sign up 
as a commenter.  The Commission 
shall email a Zoom invitation to all 

commenters.  The Zoom invitation 
shall include a call-in number for 
those commenters who are unable to 
access Zoom’s video-conferencing 
platform.  The public comment 
hearing shall be held to receive oral 
comments.  All commenters may be 
limited in time to speak, subject to 
the discretion of the Commission or 
its designee.  The Commission or its 
designee may also determine that a 
spokesperson should be designated to 
speak on behalf of an organization, a 
group, or a group of individuals that 
shares the same message or seeks the 
same goals, in order to maximize the 
efficiency of the public hearing.  No 
testimony or other evidence shall 
be taken at the hearing as this is a 
rulemaking proceeding.  The subject 
of public comments shall be relevant 
to matters within the Commission’s 
jurisdiction. A court reporter shall 
prepare a transcript of the hearing for 
filing in this docket.

Any person with a disability requiring 
special assistance to participate in the 
hearing should contact the Office of 
Director of Administrative Services 
of the Commission at (505) 827-
8019 as soon as possible prior to the 
commencement of the hearing. 

Technical information that served 
as a basis for the proposed rule and 
how the information can be obtained:  
N/A.
______________________________

SUPERINTENDENT OF 
INSURANCE, OFFICE OF

NOTICE OF PROPOSED 
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN 
that the Office of Superintendent of 
Insurance (OSI or Superintendent) 
will hold a public hearing in person, 
via video conference, and via 
telephone conference regarding 
a repeal of 13.10.34.24 NMAC, 
Continuing Education, repeal of 
13.10.36 NMAC, Health Care 
Affordability Fund, and new rule 
13.10.37 NMAC, Dental Plan 
Provider Requirements. This hearing 
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in this rulemaking will commence 
on Tuesday, July 29, 2025, at 10:00 
a.m., MDT.

PURPOSE OF THE PROPOSED 
RULE: The purpose of this 
rulemaking is to: 1) repeal the 
requirements in 13.10.34.24 NMAC, 
Continuing Education, this rule 
will be reconsidered and submitted 
in a future rulemaking; 2) repeal 
13.10.36 NMAC, Health Care 
Affordability Fund, because the 
authority for the fund was transferred 
to the Health Care Authority in 
Senate Bill 14 during the 2024 
legislative session, effective on July 
1, 2024; and 3) promulgate new 
rule 13.10.37 NMAC, Dental Plan 
Provider Credentialing Requirements 
to comply with the provisions in 
House Bill 402 enacted in the 2025 
legislative session. House Bill 
402 is effective on June 20, 2025.  
House Bill 402 will be codified at 
59A-23G-13 NMSA 1978.  

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 
Sections 14-4-1 et seq., NMSA 1978, 
State Rules Act, and Sections 59A-2-
8, 59A-2-9, and 59A-23G-13 NMSA 
1978. 

TO ATTEND THE HEARING IN 
PERSON: Office of Superintendent 
of Insurance - 1120 Paseo de Peralta, 
(PERA Building), 4th Floor Hearing 
Room, Santa Fe, NM 87501
PLEASE NOTE: The entrance to 
the PERA Building is on the ground 
floor.  All guests must sign in with the 
ground floor receptionist, then each 
guest will be escorted to the 4th Floor 
Hearing Room. Please give yourself 
extra time to check in before 10:00 
a.m.

TO ATTEND THE HEARING 
BY ELECTRONIC VIDEO 
CONFERENCE VIA MS TEAMS 
MEETING: 

Please copy the link below into your 
browser to get to the video conference 
meeting:

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-
join/19%3ameeting_MjczYjllYWQ

tZWM5Ny00OTMxLWE1MjYtNm
RlM2U3NTU3NjBm%40thread.v2
/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%
2204aa6bf4-d436-426f-bfa4-04b7
a70e60ff%22%2c%22Oid%22%3
a%2292f8d9f0-87c0-44c3-9357-
ba0eb6121f10%22%7d

Meeting ID: 259 794 478 970 9
Passcode: p2xy7Xu2

TO ATTEND VIA TELEPHONE:   
+1 505-312-4308  Phone Conference 
ID: 661 331 405#

PUBLIC COMMENT: The 
Superintendent designates Taskeen 
Naz as the hearing officer for this 
hearing.  Oral comments will be 
accepted at the public hearing from 
members of the public and other 
interested parties in-person or via 
electronic video conference. Copies of 
the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking 
and proposed rule are available by 
electronic download from the OSI 
eDocket (https://edocket.osi.state.
nm.us/case-view/6133).  You may 
also request copies if the Notice of 
Proposed Rulemaking and proposed 
rule by emailing Brenda Newell 
at:  brenda.newell@osi.nm.gov or 
by phone at: 505-487-0695, email 
communication is preferred.  Any 
copies of the Notice of Proposed 
Rulemaking, proposed rules, and any 
updates concerning the hearing date, 
time, or location will be available by 
visiting the OSI website at: https://
www.osi.state.nm.us/pages/bureaus/
legal/resources/laws-rules or on the 
Sunshine Portal at: https://statenm.
my.salesforce-sites.com/public/
SSP_RuleHearingSearchPublic (from 
the “Agency” drop down menu, 
select “Office of Superintendent of 
Insurance”)

Written comments will be accepted 
through 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, 
July 24, 2025. Responses to written 
comments or to oral comments 
delivered at the hearing will be 
accepted through 4:00 p.m. on 
Wednesday, July 30, 2025.  All 
comments shall be filed electronically 
through the OSI eDocket.  Please 
copy the following link into your 

browser to get to the eDocket: 
https://edocket.osi.state.nm.us/case-
view/6133 

Written comments may be sent via U. 
S. mail to: 
OSI Records and Docketing
NM Office of Superintendent of 
Insurance 
P.O. Box 1689, Santa Fe, NM 
87504-1689

Written comments must be received 
by OSI and stamped as accepted 
between the hours of 8:00 a.m. 
and 4:00 p.m. Monday through 
Friday except on state holidays. The 
Superintendent will consider all 
oral comments and will review and 
consider all timely submitted written 
comments and written responses. 
For help submitting a filing, please 
contact osi-docketfiling@state.nm.us. 
The docket number and title below, 
must be indicated on all written 
comments submitted to the OSI:

Docket No. 2025-0092 – Please 
copy the following link into your 
browser to get to the eDocket:  
https://edocket.osi.state.nm.us/case-
view/6133

IN THE MATTER OF REPEAL 
OF 13.10.34.24 NMAC, REPEAL 
OF 13.10.36 NMAC, AND NEW 
RULE 13.10.37 NMAC

SPECIAL NEEDS: Any person 
with a disability requiring special 
assistance to participate in the hearing 
should contact Andrea Padilla, at 
505-531-7171 no later than ten (10) 
business days prior to the hearing.
______________________________

End of Notices of 
Rulemaking and 
Proposed Rules
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ENERGY, MINERALS 
AND NATURAL 

RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT

STATE PARKS DIVISION

The Energy, Minerals and Natural 
Resources Department approved at its 
6/10/2025 hearing to repeal its rule 
19.5.1 NMAC, General Provisions, 
filed 1/1/2025, and replace it with 
19.5.1 NMAC, General Provisions 
adopted on 6/10/2025 and effective 
7/1/2025. 
______________________________

ENERGY, MINERALS 
AND NATURAL 

RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT

STATE PARKS DIVISION

TITLE 19	 NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND WILDLIFE
CHAPTER 5	 STATE PARKS 
AND RECREATION
PART 1		 GENERAL 
PROVISIONS

19.5.1.1		  ISSUING 
AGENCY:  Energy, Minerals and 
Natural Resources Department, State 
Parks Division.
[19.5.1.1 NMAC - Rp, 19.5.1.1 
NMAC, 07/01/2025]

19.5.1.2		  SCOPE:  19.5.1 
NMAC applies to persons using the 
New Mexico state parks system.
[19.5.1.2 NMAC - Rp, 19.5.1.2 
NMAC, 07/01/2025]

19.5.1.3		  STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  19.5.1 NMAC is 
authorized pursuant to Subsection 
E of Section 9-1-5 NMSA 1978 and 
Section 16-2-2 et seq. NMSA 1978.
[19.5.1.3 NMAC - Rp, 19.5.1.3 
NMAC, 07/01/2025]

19.5.1.4		  DURATION:  
Permanent.
[19.5.1.4 NMAC – Rp, 19.5.1.4 
NMAC, 07/01/2025]

19.5.1.5		  EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  July 1, 2025, unless a later 
date is cited at the end of a section.
[19.5.1.5 NMAC – Rp, 19.5.1.5 
NMAC, 07/01/2025]

19.5.1.6		  OBJECTIVE:  
19.5.1 NMAC’s objective is to 
identify general provisions and 
definitions, which apply to parts in 
Title 19, Chapter 5.
[19.5.1.6 NMAC – Rp, 19.5.1.6 
NMAC, 07/01/2025]

19.5.1.7		  DEFINITIONS:
	 A.	 “Authorized 
areas” means locations, places, 
sites, regions, zones or spaces 
identified by the director or, for 
purposes of hunting or fishing, the 
state game commission.  These 
areas may be defined with signs or 
other appropriate proclamation or 
means.  For purposes of bowfishing, 
authorized areas include all parks 
where fishing is allowed.
	 B.	 “Active-duty 
military” means a New Mexico 
resident who is currently enlisted, 
drafted, inducted or commissioned in 
the:
		  (1)	 armed 
forces of the United States and was 
accepted for and assigned to active 
duty in the armed forces of the United 
States; 
		  (2)	 army 
reserve, navy reserve, marine corps 
reserve, air force reserve, coast guard 
reserve, space force reserve, army 
national guard or air national guard 
and was accepted and assigned to 
duty; or
		  (3)	
United States public health 

service commissioned corps or the 
national oceanic and atmospheric 
administration commissioned officer 
corps and served in the capacity of a 
commissioned officer while on active 
duty in defense of the United States.
	 C.	 “Boating and 
rafting excursions” means a guiding 
service for boating or rafting trips 
offered to the general public.
	 D.	 “Camping” 
means the temporary use of division 
administered lands and waters for the 
purpose of overnight occupancy.
	 E.	 “Capital 
improvement” means a construction 
project by a concessionaire to the 
concession premises that is not 
maintenance or repair and that costs at 
least $1,000.
	 F.	 “Commercial 
activity” means for-profit sales or 
services but does not include the 
operation of vending machines unless 
the vending machine is operated as 
part of a larger concession operation.
	 G.	 “Commercial 
charter bus” means a bus 
transporting a group of persons who 
pursuant to a common purpose, and 
under a single contract at a fixed 
price, have acquired the exclusive use 
of a bus to travel together under an 
itinerary.
	 H.	 “Commercial 
filming” means the use of motion 
picture, videotaping, sound recording 
or other moving image or audio 
recording equipment that involves the 
advertisement of an event, product or 
service; or the creation of a product 
for sale including film, videotape, 
television broadcast or documentary 
of participants in commercial sporting 
or recreation events for the purpose of 
generating income.
	 I.	 “Commercial 
photography” means still images 
taken with a camera that the 
photographer intends to sell.

Adopted Rules
Effective Date and Validity of Rule Filings

Rules published in this issue of the New Mexico Register are effective on the publication date of this issue unless 
otherwise specified. No rule shall be valid or enforceable until it is filed with the records center and published in the New 
Mexico Register as provided in the State Rules Act. Unless a later date is otherwise provided by law, the effective date of 

the rule shall be the date of publication in the New Mexico Register. Section 14-4-5 NMSA 1978.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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	 J.	 “Concession” 
means commercial activity conducted 
within a park the department has 
authorized in writing.
	 K.	 “Concessionaire” 
means the owner or operator of a 
concession who operates pursuant 
to a department-issued concession 
contract.
	 L.	 “Concessions 
administrator” means a division 
employee who maintains records and 
documentation concerning concession 
contracts and concession permits.
	 M.	 “Concession 
contract” means an agreement 
between the department and a person, 
or business entity, which allows the 
concessionaire to provide services, 
merchandise, accommodations 
or facilities within a park.  The 
concessionaire may or may not 
occupy a permanent structure or 
location within the park.  The 
concession contract’s term shall not 
exceed 30 years pursuant to Section 
16-2-9 NMSA 1978.
	 N.	 “Concession 
permit” means a permit the 
department issues to a person or 
business entity to provide commercial 
activities, including services or 
goods in a park for a period of up to 
one year.  The fee for a concession 
permit is established in 19.5.6 
NMAC.  Services the division may 
authorize under a concession permit 
include guiding and outfitting services 
for fishing, boating and rafting 
excursions; educational and park 
resource protection services; and 
other services or goods, including 
commercial services, that enhance 
visitors’ experience and enjoyment, 
such as sales of firewood, propane, 
ice, food or refreshments.
	 O.	 “Concession 
permittee” means the holder of a 
department-issued concession permit.
	 P.	 “Cultural 
property” means a structure, 
place, site or object having historic, 
archaeological, scientific, architectural 
or other cultural significance.
	 Q.	 “Department” 
means the energy, minerals and 
natural resources department.

	 R. 	 “Developed 
Camping” a developed camping site 
is a designated area for camping that 
includes infrastructure and amenities 
like restrooms, fire pits, picnic tables, 
and sometimes even utility hookups.
	 S.	 “Director” means 
the director of the energy, minerals 
and natural resources department, 
state parks division.
	 T.	 “Director 
designee” means persons the director 
appoints including deputy directors, 
bureau chiefs, regional managers and 
park superintendents.
	 U.	 “Division” means 
the energy, minerals and natural 
resources department, state parks 
division.
	 V.	 “Flotation assist 
device” means a wet suit or wearable 
flotation device in good condition 
capable of providing flotation to the 
wearer on the water’s surface.
	 W.	 “Geocaching” 
means an outdoor treasure-hunting 
activity in which the participants use 
a global positioning system receiver 
or other navigational means to hide or 
find containers called “geocaches” or 
“caches”.
	 X.	 “Gross receipts 
from sales and services” means the 
total amount of receipts from sales 
and services.
	 Y.	 “Guide” means 
an individual or an employee of an 
outfitter who is hired to escort or 
accompany clients in fishing, rafting 
or boating.
	 Z.	 “Letter boxing” 
means an outdoor hobby that 
combines elements of orienteering, 
art and puzzle solving.  Letter boxers 
hide small, weatherproof boxes 
in publicly accessible places and 
distribute clues to finding the boxes 
in printed catalogs, on websites or 
by word of mouth.  The activity is 
characterized by the boxes containing 
a logbook and a rubber stamp.  Letter 
boxers stamp the box’s logbook with 
personal rubber stamps and use the 
box’s stamp to imprint their personal 
logbooks as proof they found the box.
	 AA.	 “NM resident 
veteran” means a New Mexico 
resident who:

		  (1)	 was 
regularly enlisted, drafted, inducted or 
commissioned in the:
			   (a)	
armed forces of the United States 
and was accepted for and assigned to 
active duty in the armed forces of the 
United States;
			   (b)	
army reserve, navy reserve, marine 
corps reserve, air force reserve, 
coast guard reserve, space force 
reserve, army national guard or air 
national guard and was accepted and 
assigned to duty for a minimum of six 
continuous years; or
			   (c)	
United States public health 
service commissioned corps or the 
national oceanic and atmospheric 
administration commissioned officer 
corps and served in the capacity of a 
commissioned officer while on active 
duty in defense of the United States; 
and
		  (2)	 was 
not separated from such service 
under circumstances amounting to 
dishonorable discharge.
	 BB.	 “Net receipts from 
sales and services” means the total 
amount of receipts from sales and 
services, less the amount of gross 
receipts taxes.
	 CC.	 “Off highway 
motor vehicle” means a motor 
vehicle designed by the manufacturer 
for operation exclusively off the 
highway or road and includes:
		  (1)	 “all-
terrain vehicle”, which means a 
motor vehicle 50 inches or less in 
width, having an unladen dry weight 
of 1,000 pounds or less, traveling on 
three or more low-pressure tires and 
having a seat designed to be straddled 
by the operator and handlebar-type 
steering control;
		  (2)	 “off-
highway motorcycle”, which means 
a motor vehicle traveling on not 
more than two tires and having a 
seat designed to be straddled by the 
operator and has handlebar-type 
steering control;
		  (3)	
“snowmobile”, which means a motor 
vehicle designed for travel on snow 
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or ice and steered and supported in 
whole or part by skis, belts, cleats, 
runners or low-pressure tires;
		  (4)	
“recreational off-highway vehicle”, 
which means a motor vehicle 
designed for travel on four or more 
non-highway tires, for recreational 
use by one or more persons, and 
having:
			   (a)	 a 
steering wheel for steering control;
			   (b)	
non-straddle seating;
			   (c)	
maximum speed capability greater 
than 35 miles per hour;
			   (d)	
gross vehicle weight rating no greater 
than 1,750 pounds;
			   (e)	
less than 80 inches in overall width, 
exclusive of accessories;
			   (f)	
engine displacement of less than 
1,000 cubic centimeters; and
			   (g)	
identification by means of a 
17-character vehicle identification 
number; or
		  (5)	 by rule 
of the department of game and fish, 
any other vehicles that may enter the 
market that fit the general profile of 
vehicles operated off the highway for 
recreational purposes.
	 DD.	 “Other power-
driven mobility device” means any 
mobility device powered by batteries, 
fuel or other engines – whether or 
not designed primarily for use by 
individuals with mobility disabilities 
– that is used by individuals with 
mobility disabilities for the purpose 
of locomotion including golf cars, 
electronic personal assistance 
mobility devices, such as the 
Segway® PT, or any mobility device 
designed to operate in areas without 
defined pedestrian routes, but that is 
not a wheelchair.
	 EE.	 “Outfitter” means 
a person or company who employs 
guides.
	 FF.	 “Park” means an 
area designated as a state park within 
the state parks system and that the 
division manages or owns.

	 GG.	 “Park” or 
“parking” means the leaving of 
a vehicle, camping unit or trailer, 
whether occupied or not, in a location, 
other than when engaged in loading or 
unloading.
	 HH.	 “Park 
management and development 
plan” means a plan used as a guide 
for expansion, services, programs and 
development for the park.
	 II.	 “Park support 
group” means an organization as 
defined in Section 6-5A-1 NMSA 
1978, or an organized group of 
individuals that volunteers time, 
services or funds to promote and 
support the division or an individual 
park and whose principal purpose 
as authorized by the division is 
to complement, contribute to and 
support, aid the function of or forward 
the division’s or park’s purposes.
	 JJ.	 “Person” means 
an individual, partnership, firm, 
corporation, association, joint venture 
or other entity.
	 KK.	 “Personal flotation 
device” means a United States 
coast guard approved life preserver, 
buoyant vest, hybrid device, ring buoy 
or buoyant cushion.
	 LL.	 “Primitive 
camping” is a specific type of 
dispersed camping, where you camp 
within a state park or recreation area 
without designated campsites or 
certain amenities.
	 MM.	 “Rally” means a 
parking area or facility designated for 
group functions.
	 NN.	 “Receipts” means 
consideration in money and in trade 
received from sales and charges for 
services.
	 OO.	 “Regional 
manager” means a division employee 
responsible for several parks within a 
region.
	 PP.	 “Resident” means 
an individual with a valid New 
Mexico state identification card or 
NM license plate on the vehicle.
	 QQ.	 “Resource 
program” means a division 
employee or employees responsible 
for the natural and cultural resource 
protection program.

	 RR.	 “Sales and 
services” means transactions by a 
concessionaire, or a concessionaire’s 
agents or employees, for which the 
concessionaire receives consideration 
in money or money’s worth in 
connection with the concession 
business operated pursuant to the 
concession contract.
	 SS.	 “Secretary” means 
the secretary of the department.
	 TT.	 “Special event 
facility” means an entire building 
or structure such as a visitor center, 
lodge, pavilion or group shelter, or an 
area designated by the superintendent.
	 UU.	 “Utilities” means 
additional services above and 
beyond camping such as individual 
campsite electricity, water and sewer 
connections that parks may offer that 
enhance convenience and comfort for 
users.
	 VV.	 “Special use 
permit” means a permit the division 
has issued to a person for a non-
commercial activity or event in a 
park.
	 WW.	 “State parks 
system” means land and water in a 
park.
	 XX.	 “Superintendent” 
means a division employee who is 
in charge of a specific park; which 
includes a park superintendent or park 
manager.
	 YY.	 “Vehicle” means 
an automobile, car, van, sport-utility 
truck, pickup truck, motorcycle, 
wagon, buggy or similar device that 
is used or may be used to transport 
persons or property on a highway, 
except devices moved exclusively by 
human power.
	 ZZ.	 “Vending 
machine” means a coin-operated 
beverage, snack or service machine 
subject to division approval.
	 AAA.	 “Visitor” means a 
person who reserves park facilities or 
enters a park.  This definition does not 
include department employees who 
are on duty, concessionaires or their 
employees operating their concession 
or on duty employees of an entity that 
owns the property where the park is 
located.
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	 BBB.	 “Wheelchair” 
means a manually operated or power-
driven device designed primarily for 
use by an individual with a mobility 
disability for the main purpose of 
indoor or both indoor and outdoor 
locomotion.
	 CCC.	 “Working days” 
means Monday through Friday, 
excluding state holidays.
[19.5.1.7 NMAC – Rp, 19.5.1.7 
NMAC, 07/01/2025]

History of 19.5.1 NMAC:
Pre NMAC History:  The material 
in this part was derived from that 
previously filed with the commission 
of public records - state records center 
and archives.
SPRD 67-1, Rules and Regulations, 
07/17/1967;
SPRD 68-1, New Mexico Pleasure 
Boating Requirements and State Park 
Regulations, 10/17/1968;
SPRD 69-1, New Mexico Pleasure 
Boating Requirements and State Park 
Regulations, 09/11/1969;
SPRD 71-1, New Mexico Pleasure 
Boating Requirements and State Park 
Regulations, 11/10/1971;
SPRD 72-1, New Mexico Pleasure 
Boating Requirements and State Park 
Regulations, 06/05/1972;
SPRD 73-3, New Mexico Pleasure 
Boating Requirements and State Park 
Regulations, 09/14/1973;
SPRD 74-1, New Mexico Pleasure 
Boating Requirements and State Park 
Regulations, 02/19/1974;
SPRD 75-1, New Mexico State 
Park and Recreation Commission 
Regulations, New Mexico Boating 
Law, 1975 Edition, 02/24/1975;
SPRD 77-1, New Mexico State 
Park and Recreation Commission 
Regulations, New Mexico Boating 
Law, 1977 Edition, 04/15/1977;
SPRD 79-1, New Mexico Park 
Regulations and Boating Laws, 
07/31/1979;
SPRD 82-1, New Mexico Park 
Regulations and Boating Laws 
Revised in 1981, 05/17/1982;
SPRD 87-1, New Mexico State Park 
Regulations and Boating Laws, 
Revised in 1987, 05/06/1987;
EMNRD PRD 87-3, Rules 
Governing Motorboat Registration 

and Numbering, Boat Titling and 
Excise Tax Collections, Security 
Participation under The Boat Act, 
08/06/1987;
EMNRD PRD 89-1, Boat Act 
Regulations, 12/21/1989;
EMNRD PRD 89-2, New Mexico 
State Park Regulations, 12/21/1989;
EMNRD PRD 92.1, Boat Act 
Regulations, 05/20/1992.

History of Repealed Material:  
[RESERVED]

Other History:
Those portions of EMNRD PRD 
89-2, New Mexico State Park 
Regulations, filed 12/21/1989 
and EMNRD PRD 92.1, Boat Act 
Regulations, filed 05/20/1992 were 
renumbered, reformatted and replaced 
by 19 NMAC 5.1, General Provisions, 
filed 12/17/1996.
19 NMAC 5.1, General Provisions, 
filed 12/17/1996 renumbered, 
reformatted, amended and replaced by 
19.5.1 NMAC, General Provisions; 
effective 12/31/2002.
19.5.1 NMAC, General Provisions; 
filed 12/31/2002, was repealed and 
replaced by 19.5.1 NMAC, General 
Provisions; effective 01/01/2025.
19.5.1 NMAC, General Provisions; 
filed 01/01/2025, was repealed and 
replaced by 19.5.1 NMAC, General 
Provisions; effective 07/01/2025.
______________________________

ENERGY, MINERALS 
AND NATURAL 

RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT

STATE PARKS DIVISION

This is an amendment to 19.5.2 
NMAC, Sections 12, 13, 14, 32 
through 36, and 39, effective 
7/1/2025.

19.5.2.12	 CAMPING:
	 A.	 Visitors may 
camp in parks in designated areas, 
provided they obtain a valid camping 
permit or pass.  Visitors shall obtain 
permits or passes upon entry by 
paying appropriate fees.  See 19.5.6 
NMAC.  Use of park properties and 
facilities between the hours of 9:00 

p.m. and 6:00 a.m., or as posted 
by the superintendent, is camping.  
Check out time, the time the campsite 
is to be vacated, is 2:00 p.m. unless 
otherwise posted; however, the 
camping permit allows day use of 
the park until 9:00 p.m. or as posted 
by the superintendent, on the day the 
camping permit expires.  Camping is 
not available at Cerrillos Hills state 
park, Living Desert Zoo and Gardens 
state park, Rio Grande Nature Center 
state park, Mesilla Valley Bosque 
state park or Smokey Bear historical 
park.
	 B.	 Campers shall 
not leave unoccupied any type of 
vehicle, motorized camper, trailer, 
tent or other sleeping unit or facility 
or otherwise leave a campsite 
unoccupied for more than 24 hours 
without the superintendent’s prior 
approval.  Unoccupied means the 
camper is not present at the campsite 
for more than 24 hours.
	 C.	 Campers shall 
always maintain campsites in a clean 
and sanitary condition.  Campers shall 
clean campsites and place litter only 
in appropriate disposal containers.
	 D.	 Campers in areas 
or parks designated and posted by 
the superintendent as pack-in, pack-
out, shall carry out supplies and 
solid waste or other refuse, including 
human bioproducts, and properly 
dispose of these items in appropriate 
waste receptacles outside of the 
designated area or park.
	 E.	 From October 
1 through April 30 campers may 
reside in a park for a maximum of 14 
calendar days during any 20-calendar 
day period unless the director extends, 
decreases or waives this limit.  From 
May 1 through September 30 campers 
may reside in a park for a maximum 
of seven calendar days during any 
20-calendar day period unless the 
director extends, decreases or waives 
this limit. Campers shall completely 
remove camping equipment and 
gear from the park after reaching the 
maximum stay limit.
	 F.	 The division 
shall charge fees according to the 
facilities provided at each campsite, 
as provided in 19.5.6 NMAC, 
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regardless of whether the camper 
uses the facilities at the campsite.  
For example, camping at a site with 
electricity requires payment of the fee 
for a developed site with electrical 
hookup even if the camper uses no 
electricity.
	 G.	 Vehicles in a park 
between the hours of 9:00 p.m. 
and 6:00 a.m., or as posted by the 
superintendent, are individually 
subject to the appropriate camping 
fees.  The division considers motor 
homes towing a vehicle or vehicles 
towing a camper a single vehicle for 
19.5.2.12 NMAC’s purposes.
	 [H.	 The division may 
require visitors to pay fees for their 
entire stay in advance (rather than 
daily) for weekends, holidays or 
special events.
	 I] H.	 Anchoring a boat 
or vessel overnight within a park 
constitutes camping and requires a 
valid camping permit or pass for the 
anchored boat or vessel unless the 
visitor has paid camping fees for the 
towing vehicle.
		  (1)	 Visitors 
may not leave anchored boats or 
vessels vacant for more than 24 
hours without the superintendent’s 
permission.  From October 1 through 
April 30 anchored boats or vessels 
may remain within a park for a 
maximum of 14 calendar days during 
any 20-calendar day period unless the 
director extends, decreases or waives 
this limit.  From May 1 through 
September 30 anchored boats or 
vessels may remain within a park for 
a maximum of seven calendar days 
during any 20-calendar day period 
unless the director extends, decreases 
or waives this limit. Visitors shall 
completely remove boats or vessels 
from the park after reaching the 
maximum stay limit.
		  (2)	
[Subsection I] Subsection H of 
19.5.2.12 NMAC does not apply 
to boats or vessels only while they 
are moored overnight at concession 
operated facilities such as marinas 
or buoy lines.  Boats or vessels are 
subject to division camping permits 
or passes and camping fees when 
moored overnight at any other 

location in the park.  Time limits do 
not apply while boats or vessels are 
moored at the concession facilities.
	 [J] I.	 Reserved 
campsites shall become available to 
other visitors if the visitor holding 
the reservation does not occupy 
the reserved site or contact the 
reservations contractor or the park 
by [4:00 p.m] 8:00 a.m. the day after 
the scheduled arrival date.  At that 
time the site will be available to other 
visitors and reservations.  The visitor 
holding the reservation who failed to 
file a cancellation is not eligible for a 
refund.
[19.5.2.12 NMAC - Rp, 19.5.2.12 
NMAC, 1/1/2008; A, 1/1/2013; A, 
5/15/2018; A, 1/1/2025; A, 7/1/2025]

19.5.2.13	 USE OF 
FACILITIES:
	 A.	 Facilities are 
available on a first come, first served 
basis except at parks where the 
division has established a reservation 
program and a visitor has reserved 
the facility.  Campers shall not save 
or reserve camping spaces for other 
individuals even by purchasing 
additional permits.
	 B.	 Visitors using a 
park facility shall keep it in a clean 
and sanitary manner and shall leave it 
in a clean and sanitary condition.
	 C.	 Glass containers 
are prohibited outside vehicles, motor 
homes, campers, trailers and tents 
within the state parks system except 
on established commercial premises.
	 D.	 The division has 
developed and designated special 
accessible facilities for the use of 
individuals with disabilities.  These 
facilities are marked with standard 
ADA signage. Individuals with 
disabilities shall have preferential use 
of these facilities over other persons.
	 E.	 Visitors shall not 
remove water from the park for use 
outside the park or deposit trash 
generated outside the park within a 
park.
	 F.	 Advance 
reservations are required for the use 
of meeting rooms.  Meeting rooms 
are not available in all parks.  A 
person who reserves a meeting room 

is responsible for setting up the 
room, cleaning the room after use 
and leaving the room in the same 
condition it was in before use.  See 
19.5.6 NMAC for meeting room fees.
	 G.	 The director may 
designate areas within the state parks 
system including campsites, group 
shelters, group areas, cabins, yurts 
and lodges for use by reservation.
	 H.	 Advance 
reservations are required for the 
use of group shelters, group areas 
or reservation campsites.  Visitors 
shall pay the appropriate day use 
or camping fees in addition to 
the fees for use of the facility or 
area.  If visitors make reservations 
through the division’s reservation 
system contractor, visitors shall 
pay the reservation processing and 
cancellation fees the contractor 
charges.  The division may accept 
annual [permits] passes at reservation 
campsites if posted.  See 19.5.6 
NMAC for group shelter fees.
	 I.	 The superintendent 
may restrict the number or size 
of tents, shade or screen shelters 
occupying a campsite or day use 
site by posting the restriction or 
restrictions in the affected area or 
areas or by posting on the reservation 
website.
[19.5.2.13 NMAC - Rp, 19.5.2.13 
NMAC, 1/1/2008; A, 12/30/2010; A, 
1/1/2013; A, 5/15/2018; A, 1/1/2025; 
A, 7/1/2025]

19.5.2.14	 PARKING:
	 A.	 Visitors shall park 
vehicles, camping units or trailers 
only in established parking areas or 
parking turnouts where provided.  
Visitors shall not park any vehicle, 
camping unit or trailer in a manner 
that blocks access, restricts traffic or 
inhibits the free movement of other 
vehicles, persons or wheelchairs.  
Visitors shall not leave a trailer, 
boat or vessel that is not attached 
to a vehicle in parking areas or 
parking turnouts for a period of 
more than 24 hours without prior 
approval of the superintendent.  At 
the superintendent’s discretion, the 
division may remove vehicles so 
parked at the owner’s expense.
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	 B.	 Visitors shall not 
park a vehicle, camping unit or trailer 
in a designated disabled parking 
space unless the visitor’s vehicle has 
registration plates or a state-issued 
placard indicating disability.
	 C.	 The superintendent 
may restrict the number or size of 
vehicles, camping units or trailers 
occupying a campsite, day use site or 
parking area by posting the restriction 
or restrictions in the affected area or 
areas or by posting on the reservation 
website.
[19.5.2.14 NMAC - Rp, 19.5.2.14 
NMAC, 1/1/2008; A, 1/1/2013; A, 
1/1/2025; A, 7/1/2025]

19.5.2.32	 FEES AND 
CHARGES:
	 A.	 Upon entering 
a park, visitors shall pay fees and 
charges in accordance with 19.5.6 
NMAC.  The visitor shall display 
applicable permits or passes in 
accordance with instructions provided 
with the permit or pass.  If a visitor 
fails to obtain a permit or pass, state 
park officials may field collect fees.
	 B.	 Fees, charges and 
permit or pass display requirements 
do not apply to:
		  (1)	
government agencies or government 
officials or employees, including law 
enforcement and emergency service 
personnel, who are performing official 
duties (official duties do not include 
activities that do not have to occur in 
a park such as conferences, retreats or 
training);
		  (2)	 non-
governmental emergency service 
personnel, such as private ambulance 
companies, who are performing their 
official duties;
		  (3)	 persons 
traveling nonstop through a park on a 
state or federal highway, county road, 
federal road or municipal road or 
street;
		  (4)	 on duty 
news media personnel who are 
reporting on events or activities 
within a park and are only in the park 
to report on those events or activities; 
or

		  (5)	 individuals 
or groups who are entering the park to 
provide volunteer services and have 
signed a volunteer agreement with 
the division or have arranged with the 
division to provide volunteer services.
	 C.	 Fees and charges do 
not apply to:
		  (1)	 division 
contractors, suppliers or agents or 
other persons providing services to 
a park who are not using the park or 
its facilities for purposes other than 
providing services to the park;
		  (2)	
concessionaires, concession 
permittees or their employees or 
commercial contractors, suppliers and 
agents who are only traveling to and 
from the concession and are not using 
the park or its facilities for personal 
use;
		  (3)	 persons 
needing to pass through a park to 
access private property who are only 
passing through the park and are not 
using the park or its facilities;
		  (4)	 park 
support group members or volunteers 
who have a park pass issued pursuant 
to Subsection D of [19.5.2.36] 
19.5.2.39 NMAC; or
	 D.	 Visitors not subject 
to Subsection B of 19.5.2.32 NMAC 
shall display permits or passes at all 
times inside a park.
	 E.	 The superintendent 
or director may waive or reduce park 
fees for primary or secondary school 
groups, college or university groups, 
or other organized youth groups or 
for governmental entities holding 
such activities as trainings or other 
educational activities or projects, 
retreats or conferences at a park.
	 F.	 State park officials 
may issue rain checks for unused, 
prepaid daily camping activities or 
the cancellation of a group shelter 
reservation.
	 G.	 The division or 
its contractors may charge fees 
in addition to the appropriate use 
fee for reservation processing and 
cancellation.  The contractor or 
state park officials shall collect the 
reservation fee for those park sites 
where the division has established 

a reservation program.  See 19.5.6 
NMAC.  Visitors shall pay the 
reservation fee in advance with 
applicable fees for facilities, sites, 
day use, camping, electricity or 
other service for the total reservation 
period.
	 H.	 In addition to the 
appropriate use fees, the division may 
charge additional fees for special 
events such as concerts, festivals, etc.  
The additional fees shall not exceed 
the value of admission to the special 
events.
[19.5.2.32 NMAC - N, 1/1/2008; 
19.5.2.32 NMAC - Rn & A, 19.5.2.30 
NMAC, 1/1/2013; A, 5/15/2018; A, 
1/1/2025; A, 7/1/2025]

19.5.2.33	 PERMITS AND 
CONCESSIONS:  Concession-
operated campgrounds do not accept 
division-issued permits/passes.
[19.5.2.33 NMAC - Rp, 19.5.2.28 
NMAC, 1/1/2008; A, 12/30/2010; 
19.5.2.33 NMAC - Rn, 19.5.2.31 
NMAC, 1/1/2013; A, 1/1/2025; A, 
7/1/2025]

19.5.2.34	 DAY USE AND 
CAMPING PERMITS:
	 A.	 Day use permits.
		  (1)	 Day use 
permits authorize visitors to use park 
facilities that do not require other 
fees, such as meeting rooms or group 
shelters, from 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.; 
unless the superintendent has posted 
different hours.
		  (2)	 When 
purchasing the day use permit visitors 
shall comply with the instructions on 
the permit and provide, as requested, 
their name, address and vehicle 
license number as well as the date of 
purchase and the amount enclosed 
and, if applicable, their site number.  
Visitors shall also indicate they are 
visiting the park for day use.
		  (3)	 New 
Mexico residents are exempt from 
purchasing day use permits from 
October 1 through April 30 annually.
	 B.	 Camping permits. 
Visitors shall purchase camping 
permits to camp in a park.
		  (1)	 Subject 
to the availability of a campsite, 
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camping permits authorize visitors to 
camp in a park.
		  (2)	 When 
purchasing the camping permit 
visitors shall comply with the 
instructions on the permit and 
provide, as requested, their name, 
address and vehicle license number 
as well as their site number, the date 
of purchase, the amount enclosed and 
length of stay and, if applicable, their 
annual [permit] pass number.  Visitors 
shall also indicate they are camping.
[19.5.2.34 NMAC - N, 1/1/2008; 
19.5.2.34 NMAC - Rn, 19.5.2.32 
NMAC, 1/1/2013; A, 1/1/2025; A, 
7/1/2025]

19.5.2.35	 ANNUAL 
[PERMITS AND] PASSES:
	 A.	 Annual day use 
passes.
		  (1)	 Annual 
day use passes authorize the vehicle 
owner or individual to access and 
use the park at no additional charge 
during the times indicated in 19.5.2.11 
NMAC.  Visitors may use annual day 
use passes at all parks, except at the 
Living Desert Zoo and Gardens state 
park, Rio Grande Nature Center state 
park, and Smokey Bear historical 
park.
		  (2)	 When 
purchasing an annual day use pass 
visitors shall comply with the 
instructions on the pass and provide 
their name and address.
		  (3)	 The 
division does not issue extra vehicle 
passes for annual day use passes.
		  (4)	 Annual 
day use passes are non-transferable to 
individuals not residing in the same 
household as the original purchaser.
		  (5)	 Non-
residents may not use a resident 
annual day use pass.
		  (6)	 Annual day 
use passes that are used in violation of 
park rules are subject to confiscation.
	 B.	 Annual camping 
[permits] passes.
		  (1)	 Annual 
camping [permits] passes authorize 
the vehicle owner or individual 
to access and use the park at no 
additional charge except for utility 

hookups during the times indicated 
in 19.5.2.12 NMAC.  The annual 
camping [permit] pass allows the 
visitor one sleeping unit.  A motor 
home towing a vehicle or a vehicle 
towing a camping trailer is considered 
a sleeping unit.  The visitor shall 
pay the per night camping fee for 
additional vehicles.
		  (2)	 Annual 
camping [permits] passes are 
available for:
			   (a)	
New Mexico residents as documented 
with a current New Mexico driver’s 
license or other state of New Mexico, 
tribal, or federal issued photo 
identification;
			   (b)	
New Mexico residents 62 years of age 
or older as documented with a current 
New Mexico driver’s license or other 
state of New Mexico issued photo 
identification;
			   (c)	
New Mexico residents with 
disabilities who present a New 
Mexico handicap motor vehicle 
license plate issued to them; a 
parking placard for mobility impaired 
individuals with a placard holder 
identification card issued to them by 
the taxation and revenue department, 
motor vehicle division if the placard 
was issued before June 4, 2008; a 
parking placard for mobility impaired 
individuals with the photograph of 
the placard holder issued to them by 
the taxation and revenue department, 
motor vehicle division if the placard 
was issued on June 4, 2008 or after; a 
New Mexico department of game and 
fish lifetime hunting and fishing card 
containing their name; or a written 
determination from the United States 
social security administration finding 
that they are currently eligibile for 
social security disability benefits 
or supplemental security income 
disability benefits; [or a photocopy 
of the award letter the United States 
department of veterans affairs issues 
indicating they have a one hundred 
percent service-connected disability;]
			   (d)	
A New Mexico resident who 
is active-duty military. [or an 
honorably discharged veteran of the 

United States military as defined 
by the New Mexico department of 
veterans’ services. Orders or other 
documentation (excluding military 
ID cards) of current active-duty 
service must be presented to purchase 
an active-duty military pass. The 
applicant’s DD-214 must be presented 
to purchase a veteran pass.]  The 
applicant’s common access card in 
addition to a valid New Mexico state 
identification card must be presented 
to purchase an active-duty military 
pass. 
			   (e)	
all-out-of-state-residents.
		  (3)	 When 
purchasing an annual camping 
[permit] pass, visitors shall comply 
with the instructions on the [permit] 
pass and provide their name; 
address; if applicable, proof of age 
or residency; and the license plate 
number of the vehicle for which the 
visitor is purchasing the [permit] pass.
		  (4)	 Visitors 
may use annual camping [permits] 
passes at all parks, except at the 
Living Desert Zoo and Gardens state 
park, Rio Grande Nature Center state 
park, and Smokey Bear historical 
park.
		  (5)	 Annual 
camping [permits] passes are 
authorized for use by the person the 
[permit] pass is issued to as indicated 
on the [permit] pass receipt and are 
non-transferrable.
	 C.	 Annual day use 
passes and annual camping [permits] 
passes are valid from January 1 
through December 31 annually. 
Annual day use passes and annual 
camping [permits] passes for the 
next calendar year may be purchased 
beginning July 1 each year.  The 
division shall not make refunds or 
prorations for [permits or] passes 
that remain in effect for less than 12 
months.
	 D.	 Visitors may obtain 
replacement annual camping [permits] 
passes and stickers by submitting a 
signed affidavit describing the facts of 
the purchase and the [permit’s] pass’s 
loss or destruction and the original 
[permit] pass [or] and proof of 
purchase.  The division shall not issue 
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replacement annual camping [permits] 
passes without proof of purchase. The 
division does not issue replacements 
for annual day use passes.
	 E.	 The division may 
sell gift certificates for annual day use 
passes and annual camping [permits] 
passes.
[19.5.2.35 NMAC - N, 1/1/2008; 
19.5.2.35 NMAC - Rn & A, 19.5.2.33 
NMAC, 1/1/2013; A, 1/1/2025; A, 
7/1/2025]

19.5.2.36	 [DISABLED 
VETERANS] LIFETIME 
VETERAN PASSES:
	 [A.	 Disabled veterans 
camping passes.
		  (1)	 A disabled 
veterans camping pass authorizes 
New Mexico resident veterans with 
a fifty percent or greater service-
connected disability to camp at a 
park at no charge for three nights, 
consecutive or non-consecutive, 
within a 12-month period.
		  (2)	 To obtain 
the three one-night passes, an eligible 
veteran shall apply with the New 
Mexico department of veterans 
services for certification that verifies 
the veteran’s disability and residency 
(current address) and that the New 
Mexico department of veterans 
services forwards to the division.
		  (3)	 Disabled 
veterans may obtain replacement 
camping passes and stickers by 
submitting a signed affidavit 
describing the facts of the issuance 
and loss or destruction of the pass 
and, if available, the original pass or 
proof of issuance.
	 B.	 Disabled veterans 
annual day use passes.
		  (1)	 Disabled 
veterans annual day uses passes 
authorize New Mexico resident 
veterans with a permanent fifty 
percent or greater service-connected 
disability to obtain one annual day 
use pass at no charge for personal use 
only.  An eligible veteran desiring 
more than one annual day use pass 
shall purchase additional annual day 
use passes at full price.
		  (2)	 To obtain 
an annual day use pass, an eligible 

veteran shall apply with the New 
Mexico department of veterans 
services for certification that verifies 
the veteran’s disability and residency 
(current address) and that the New 
Mexico department of veterans 
services forwards to the division.
		  (3)	 The 
division does not issue replacements 
for disabled veterans annual day use 
passes.]
	 A.	 New Mexico 
resident veterans are eligible for a free 
lifetime veteran pass that provides 
the individual with unlimited entry 
into state parks or recreation areas 
operated by the division and unlimited 
use of camping areas operated by 
the division subject to restrictions 
outlined in 19.5.2.11 NMAC, 
19.5.2.12 NMAC, and 19.5.2.13 
NMAC.
	 B.	 To obtain a lifetime 
veteran pass, an eligible veteran 
shall apply with the New Mexico 
department of veterans services for 
certification that verifies the veteran’s 
status and residency.
	 C.	 Upon certification 
of eligibility, the New Mexico 
department of veterans services will 
issue all lifetime veteran passes.
	 D.	 Lifetime veteran 
passes are not valid for the following 
fees:
		  (1)	 central 
reservation system contractor’s 
service fees;
		  (2)	 group 
shelter fees;
		  (3)	 or meeting, 
event and loging facility fees.
[19.5.2.36 NMAC - Rp, 19.5.2.28 
NMAC, 1/1/2008; A, 12/30/2010; 
19.5.2.36 NMAC - Rn, 19.5.2.34 
NMAC, 1/1/2013; A, 7/1/2025]

19.5.2.39	 PARK PASSES:
	 A.	 Concessionaires.  
The director or director designee 
[(see Subsection Q of 19.5.1.7 
NMAC)] (See Subsection R of 
19.5.7 NMAC) may issue park 
passes to concessionaires, concession 
permittees or their employees or 
commercial contractors, suppliers 
and agents for access to and from 
the concession.  Concessionaires, 

concession permittees or their 
employees or commercial contractors, 
suppliers and agents using the park, 
lake or facilities away from the 
concession premise shall pay the 
appropriate fees.
	 B.	 Contractors.  The 
director or director designee [(see 
Subsection Q of 19.5.1.7 NMAC)] 
(See Subsection R of 19.5.7 NMAC) 
may issue park passes to division 
contractors, suppliers or agents or 
other persons providing services to a 
park for access to the park.  Division 
contractors, suppliers or agents or 
other persons providing services to 
a park using the park or its facilities 
for purposes other than providing 
services to a park shall pay the 
appropriate fees.
	 C.	 Access to private 
property.  The director or director 
designee may issue park passes to 
persons needing to pass through 
a park to access private property.  
Persons with such park passes shall 
only use the park passes to travel 
through the park.  If they use the 
park or its facilities they shall pay the 
appropriate fees.
	 D.	 Park support 
groups and volunteers.  The director 
or director designee may issue 
park passes to individuals who are 
members of a park support group that 
has entered into an agreement with the 
department or, as provided in division 
policy, to volunteers who significantly 
contribute to the division.
	 E.	 Complimentary 
park passes.  The director or director 
designee [(see Subsection Q of 
19.5.1.7 NMAC)] (See Subsection 
R of 19.5.7 NMAC) may issue 
complimentary passes as rainchecks 
to visitors for unused services or to 
resolve visitor complaints about park 
operation or maintenance.
	 F.	 Official use passes.  
The director may issue “official use 
only” passes to state government 
executive branch officials with 
direct oversight of the division, park 
advisory board members and state 
legislators for the performance of 
their official duties.
	 G.	 Advertising and 
promotions.  To promote the parks or 
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in exchange for advertising or promotion of parks, the director may issue free or discounted park passes or not charge 
fees if the director obtains the secretary’s approval after the division provides the secretary with written justification 
showing that the issuance of park passes for promotion or advertising or not charging fees for promotional purposes 
provides a benefit to the division.  Reduced rates for advertising must be equal to or exceed the value of the park passes 
the division provides in exchange for receiving the reduced rates.
[19.5.2.39 NMAC - Rn, 19.5.2.38 NMAC, 6/25/2019; A, 1/1/2025; A, 7/1/2025]
________________________________________________________________________________________________

ENERGY, MINERALS AND NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
STATE PARKS DIVISION

This is an amendment to 19.5.6 NMAC, Sections 10, 11 and 12, effective 7/1/2025.

19.5.6.10	 ANNUAL DAY USE PASS (per vehicle):
Resident annual day use pass $75.00
Non-resident annual day use pass $150.00

[Disabled veterans pass 
No Charge (New Mexico resident veteran with 
a fifty percent or greater service-connected 
disability)]

[19.5.6.10 NMAC - Rp, 19 NMAC 5.6.10, 5 /1/2004; A, 1/1/2008; A, 7/1/2025]

19.5.6.11	 ANNUAL CAMPING [PERMIT] PASS (per vehicle includes one tow vehicle upon request):
New Mexico resident with valid state issued ID $300.00
New Mexico senior resident – 62 years or older with valid state issued ID $150.00
New Mexico physically disabled resident (see Subsection B of 19.5.2.35 NMAC) $150.00
New Mexico active-duty military [or honorably discharged veteran] $150.00
Out-of-state resident $600.00
Lifetime veteran pass FREE

19.5.6.11 NMAC - Rp, 19 NMAC 5.6.11, 5/1/2004; A, 1/1/2008; A, 1/1/2013; A, 7/1/2025]

19.5.6.12	 REPLACEMENT OF ANNUAL CAMPING [PERMIT] PASS:  $25.00. 
[19.5.6.12 NMAC - Rp, 19 NMAC 5.6.12, 5/1/2004; A, 1/1/2008; A, 7/1/2025]
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

ENVIRONMENT
DEPARTMENT

TITLE 20       ENVIRONMENTAL 
PROTECTION
CHAPTER 6	 WATER 
QUALITY
PART 8		
GROUND AND SURFACE 
WATER PROTECTION 
– SUPPLEMENTAL 
REQUIREMENTS FOR WATER 
REUSE

20.6.8.1		  ISSUING 
AGENCY: Water Quality Control 
Commission
[20.6.8.1 NMAC - N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.2		  SCOPE: All 
persons subject to regulation 

implemented through the department 
pursuant to the Water Quality Act, 
Sections 74-6-1 et seq, NMSA 1978 
and specifically to persons intending 
to reuse wastewater and their 
operations.
[20.6.8.2 NMAC - N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.3		  STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY: Standards and 
regulations are adopted by the 
commission under the authority of the 
Water Quality Act, Sections 74-6-1 
through 74-6-17 NMSA 1978 and 
the Produced Water Act, Subsection 
B of Section 70-13-3 NMSA 1978 
and Subsection D of Section 70-13-4 
NMSA 1978.
[20.6.8.3 NMAC - N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.4		  DURATION: 
December 31, 2030.
[20.6.8.5 NMAC - N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.5		  EFFECTIVE 
DATE: July 12, 2025, unless a later 
date is indicated in the history note at 
the end of a section.
[20.6.8.6 NMAC - N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.6		  OBJECTIVE: 
The objective of 20.6.8 NMAC is to 
supplement the general requirements 
of 20.6.2.1200 through 20.6.2.2201 
NMAC and 20.6.4.8 through 
20.6.4.900 NMAC, and the general 
groundwater permitting requirements 
of 20.6.2.3000 through 20.6.2.3114 
NMAC to control the discharges of 
water contaminants specific to water 
reuse.
[20.6.8.6 NMAC - N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.7		  DEFINITIONS: 
The following terms as used in 
this part shall have the following 
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meanings: terms defined in the Water 
Quality Act, but not defined in this 
part, shall have the meaning given in 
the act.
	 A.	 Terms beginning 
with numerals or the letter “A,” 
and abbreviations for units. 
[RESERVED]
	 B.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “B”. [RESERVED]
	 C.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “C”. [RESERVED]
	 D.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “D”.
		  (1)	
“Department” means the New 
Mexico environment department.
		  (2)	 “Direct 
potable reuse” means the application 
of reclaimed wastewater for 
drinking water purposes through the 
delivery of purified water directly 
to a drinking water plant or a 
drinking water distribution system 
without an environmental buffer. 
Additional treatment, monitoring, or 
an engineered buffer would be used 
in place of an environmental buffer 
to provide equivalent protection of 
public health and response time if 
the purified water does not meet 
specifications.
		  (3)	
“Discharge permit” as defined in 
20.6.2 NMAC.
		  (4)	 “Disposal” 
as defined in 20.6.2 NMAC.
		  (5)	 “Domestic 
wastewater” means untreated 
wastewater containing human excreta 
and water-carried waste from typical 
residential plumbing fixtures and 
activities, including but not limited 
to, wastes from toilets, sinks, bath 
fixtures, clothes or dishwashing 
machines and floor drains.
	 E.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “E”. “Environmental 
buffer” means any ground water, 
streams, lakes, or impoundments used 
for reuse water storage or conveyance 
purposes related to an indirect potable 
application.
	 F.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “F”. “Feasibility 
study” means a study conducted 
by a person to determine if a new 
or modified domestic wastewater 

treatment technology will be 
technically, economically, or 
financially viable for use in a direct or 
indirect potable application.
	 G.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “G”. “Ground 
water” as defined in 20.6.2 NMAC.
	 H.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “H”. [RESERVED]
	 I.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “I”.
		  (1)	 “Indirect 
potable reuse” means the application 
of reclaimed wastewater for drinking 
water purposes with an intermediary 
environmental or constructed buffer.
		  (2)	
“Injection” as defined in 20.6.2 
NMAC.
	 J.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “J”. [RESERVED]
	 K.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “K”. [RESERVED]
	 L.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “L”. [RESERVED]
	 M.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “M”. [RESERVED]
	 N.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “N”.
		  (1)	 “National 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System” means the federal program 
for issuing, modifying, revoking, and 
reissuing, terminating, monitoring, 
and enforcing permits, and imposing 
and enforcing pretreatment 
requirements, under Sections 307, 
318, 402, and 405 of the federal Clean 
Water Act.
		  (2)	 “NPDES 
permit” means a national pollutant 
discharge elimination permit which 
is an authorization, license, or 
equivalent control document issued 
by the authorized permitting entity 
to implement the requirements of the 
federal program as identified in 40 
C.F.R. Sections 122, 123, and 124.
	 O.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “O”. [RESERVED]
	 P.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “P”.
		  (1)	 “Person” 
as defined in 20.6.2 NMAC.
		  (2)	 “Pilot 
project” means a representative 
engineering scale model or prototype 
system that is tested in a non-

laboratory environment. A pilot 
project represents an increase in the 
technological scale than otherwise 
achievable in a laboratory and often 
involves larger quantities of materials 
over longer periods of time.
		  (3)	 “Potable” 
means water that that meets state 
drinking water standards at 20.7.10 
NMAC and is otherwise suitable for 
human consumption.
		  (4)	
“Pretreatment” means the reduction, 
elimination, or alteration of pollutants 
in wastewater prior to or in lieu of 
discharging into a publicly owned 
treatment works (POTW) or other 
wastewater treatment facility. The 
reduction or alteration may be 
obtained by physical, chemical, 
or biological processes, process 
changes, or by other means. 
Appropriate pretreatment technology 
includes control equipment, such 
as equalization tanks or facilities, 
for protection against volumetric or 
pollutant surges or load variations 
that might interfere with or otherwise 
be incompatible with the treatment 
facility.
		  (5)	 “Produced 
water” means a fluid that is an 
incidental byproduct from drilling for 
or the production of oil and gas.
	 Q.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “Q”. [RESERVED]
	 R.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “R”.
		  (1)	
“Reclaimed wastewater” means 
domestic wastewater that has been 
treated to the specified levels for the 
defined applications and complies 
with other applicable local, state, or 
federal regulations.
		  (2)	 “Reuse 
water” means a treated wastewater 
originating from domestic, industrial, 
or produced water sources, that 
has undergone a level of treatment 
appropriate for an application such 
as agriculture, irrigation, potable 
water supplies, aquifer recharge, 
industrial processes, or environmental 
restoration. Reuse water has a 
water quality, based on application, 
determined to be protective of the 
environment and human health. 



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXVI, Issue 12/ June 24, 2025 474
For purposes of this Part, reuse is 
categorized by the source of the water.
	 S.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “S”.
		  (1)	 “State” 
means the state of New Mexico.
		  (2)	 “Surface 
water” means a “surface water(s) of 
the state” as defined in 20.6.4 NMAC.
	 T.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “T”.
		  (1)	 “Treated 
wastewater” means wastewater that 
has undergone treatment.
		  (2)	
“Treatment” means a process 
in which wastewater has been 
reconditioned by biological, 
mechanical, or chemical processes to 
remove or eliminate contaminants, 
creating an effluent that can be 
returned to the water cycle either 
through discharge, transfer, storage, 
disposal, or distribution.
	 U.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “U”.
		  (1)	
“Untreated produced water” 
means produced water that has not 
undergone treatment.
		  (2)	
“Untreated wastewater” means 
wastewater that has not undergone 
treatment. 
	 V.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “V”. [RESERVED]
	 W.	 Terms beginning 
with the letter “W”.
		  (1)	 “Water 
pollutant” as defined in 20.6.4 
NMAC.
		  (2)	 “Water 
pollution” as defined in Section 74-6-
2 NMSA 1978.
		  (3)	
“Wastewater” means water or 
other fluids associated directly 
with sewerage systems, industrial 
processes, or produced water that is 
disposed of, or undergoes treatment 
for discharge, transfer, storage, 
disposal, distribution, or reuse. 
Wastewater in this Part does not 
include dairy wastewater, as defined 
in 20.6.6 NMAC.
	 X-Z.	 Terms beginning 
with the letters “X” through “Z”. 
[RESERVED]
[20.6.8.7 NMAC – N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.8 – 20.6.8.99 [RESERVED]
[20.6.8.8-20.6.8.99 NMAC – N, 
07/12/2025]

20.6.8.100	 GENERAL 
PROVISIONS: Unless otherwise 
required by this Part, all persons are 
subject to the state’s Ground and 
Surface Water Protection Regulations 
at 20.6.2 NMAC.
[20.6.8.100 NMAC – N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.101 – 20.6.8.199 
[RESERVED]
[20.6.8.101-20.6.8.199 NMAC – N, 
07/12/2025]

20.6.8.200	 DOMESTIC 
WASTEWATER REUSE: 
[RESERVED]
[20.6.8.200 NMAC – N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.201	 DIRECT 
AND INDIRECT POTABLE 
APPLICATIONS:
	 A.	 Unauthorized 
applications. The department shall 
not approve a discharge permit or 
a discharge permit modification 
that includes the discharge of reuse 
water for direct or indirect potable 
applications except for those 
authorized applications identified in 
Subsection B of 20.6.8.201 NMAC.
	 B.	 Authorized 
applications. Feasibility studies: 
Persons proposing to conduct a 
feasibility study for direct or indirect 
potable applications shall;
		  (1)	 Comply 
with all applicable permitting 
requirements in 20.6.2 and 20.6.4 
NMAC.
		  (2)	 Ensure 
there is no connection between 
a potable water system and the 
water being studied and no cross 
connections exist between feasibility 
study-water and a community’s 
potable water supply.
		  (3)	 Ensure that 
all direct and indirect potable reuse 
feasibility studies are conducted in a 
manner that does not interfere with 
ongoing operations at the wastewater 
and drinking water facilities.
		  (4)	 Obtain 
approval from the department, 

through either a discharge permit or 
NPDES permit and comply with all 
conditions therein.
[20.6.8.201 – N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.202-299 [RESERVED]
[20.6.8.202-20.6.8.299 NMAC – N, 
07/12/2025]

20.6.8.300 	 INDUSTRIAL 
WASTEWATER REUSE: 
[RESERVED]
[20.6.8.300 NMAC – N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.301-399 [RESERVED]
[20.6.8.301-20.6.8.399 NMAC – N, 
07/12/2025]

20.6.8.400 	 PRODUCED 
WATER REUSE: As provided in 
the Water Quality Act, Subsection P 
of Section 74-6-4 NMSA 1978, and 
the Produced Water Act, Subsection 
B of Section 70-13-3 NMSA 1978, 
the following provisions apply to 
the discharge of produced water for 
activities unrelated to the exploration, 
drilling, production, treatment, or 
refinement of oil or gas.
	 A.	 General 
requirements.
		  (1)	 Untreated 
produced water discharge to surface 
water: No person shall cause or 
allow untreated produced water to 
discharge so that it may move directly 
or indirectly to a surface water. The 
department shall deny certification 
of any federal permit proposing to 
discharge untreated produced water to 
a surface water.
		  (2)	 Treated 
produced water discharge to surface 
water: No person shall cause or allow 
treated produced water to discharge so 
that it may move directly or indirectly 
to a surface water. The department 
shall deny certification of any federal 
permit proposing to discharge treated 
produced water to a surface water.
		  (3)	 Untreated 
produced water discharge to ground 
water: No person shall cause or 
allow untreated produced water 
to discharge so that it may move 
directly or indirectly into ground 
water. The department shall not issue 
a discharge permit or a discharge 
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permit modification that includes 
the discharge of untreated produced 
water.
		  (4)	 Treated 
produced water discharge to ground 
water:  No person shall cause or allow 
treated produced water to discharge so 
that it may move directly or indirectly 
into ground water. The department 
shall not issue a discharge permit 
or a discharge permit modification 
that includes the discharge of treated 
produced water.
	 B.	 Authorized pilot 
projects
Pilot projects determined by the 
department not to require a discharge 
permit because the pilot project will 
not discharge in a manner that may 
directly or indirectly affect ground 
or surface water, are subject to the 
following requirements:
		  (1)	 Persons 
intending to conduct a pilot project 
shall secure and comply with all 
applicable federal, state, and local 
statutes, permits, and certifications, 
including the Produced Water Act, 
Sections 70-13-1, et. seq NMSA 1978, 
and including payment of department 
fees and satisfying department 
financial assurance requirements.
		  (2)	 The pilot 
project shall be designed to provide 
information specific to untreated 
produced water quality, treatment 
technologies, treated produced water 
quality, treatment volumes, and 
toxicity studies for potential produced 
water reuse applications.
		  (3)	 Any person 
intending to conduct a pilot project 
shall submit to the ground water 
quality bureau of the department an 
application for a produced water pilot 
project permit prior to use.
		  (4)	 Pilot 
projects shall not commence until the 
department has issued a pilot project 
permit.
		  (5)	 Persons 
distributing, transporting, storing, 
treating, or utilizing untreated or 
treated produced water shall have 
written procedures at the locations 
where the pilot project is physically 
located to describe measures to 
prevent releases onto the ground, 

directly or indirectly into ground or 
surface water.
		  (6)	 All 
untreated and treated produced 
water shall be handled, transported, 
distributed, and stored in accordance 
with all applicable local, state, and 
federal regulations.
		  (7)	 Any 
release of untreated or treated 
produced water is subject to the 
notifications and corrective actions 
in 20.6.2.1203 NMAC except 
releases under the authority of the oil 
conservation commission pursuant to 
the provisions of the Oil and Gas Act, 
NMSA 1978, Section 70-2-12 and 
other laws conferring power on the oil 
conservation commission and the oil 
conservation division of the energy, 
minerals, and natural resources 
department to prevent or abate water 
pollution.
		  (8)	 Persons 
disposing of untreated or treated 
produced water, as part of the 
final disposition following a pilot 
project shall use an appropriate 
method approved by the department, 
which may include one of the 
following methods in accordance 
with the relative permit:  discharge 
to a produced water disposal 
well permitted pursuant to the 
oil conservation commission’s 
regulations for oil and gas injection at 
19.15.26 NMAC, delivery to a surface 
waste management facility permitted 
pursuant to the oil conservation 
commission’s regulations for oil 
and gas surface waste management 
facilities at 19.15.36 NMAC, or 
disposal in a permanent pit permitted 
pursuant to the oil conservation 
commission’s regulations for oil and 
gas pits, closed-loop systems, below-
grade tanks and sumps at 19.15.17 
NMAC. The department may consider 
alternative disposal options on a case-
by-case basis.
		  (9)	 Persons 
disposing of the components of a 
pilot project using untreated or treated 
produced water, as part of the final 
disposition must adhere to all local, 
state, and federal regulations, as 
applicable.

	 C.	 Produced water 
pilot project permit.
		  (1)	 Any person 
intending to use produced water for 
an authorized pilot project under 
Subsection B of 20.6.8.400 NMAC 
shall submit to the ground water 
quality bureau of the department an 
application for a produced water pilot 
project permit prior to use and shall 
not proceed with the project until the 
application is approved.
			   (a)	
Applications shall be on a form 
provided by the department and shall 
include the following information:
				    (i)	
the name and address of the person 
intending to conduct the pilot project;
			                (ii)	
the location of the intended pilot 
project;
		                            (iii)	
the concentration of water 
contaminants in the untreated 
produced water used in the pilot 
project;
			               (iv)	
the daily quantity of produced water 
treated in the pilot project;
			                (v)	
the pilot project research plan and 
objectives;
			               (vi)	
documentation that the pilot project 
design is consistent with the approved 
uses in Subsection B of 20.6.8.400 
NMAC;
			              (vii)	
the storage, secondary containment 
and spill prevention
methods that will be used to prevent 
accidental discharges; and the plans 
for a monitoring program and  devices 
to detect any such discharges;
			             (viii)	
 a plan to transport in and transport 
out any untreated
produced water or treated produced 
water in a safe manner, in accordance 
with state and federal regulations;
                                                        (ix)
plans for safe handling, 
characterization, and proper
disposal of produced water, treatment 
residuals and wastes, and any 
materials that come into contact with 
untreated produced water or treated 
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produced water, and any other waste 
generated by the project, including 
soils, plant material, treatment 
equipment, and containment area 
materials;
			                (x)	
plans to minimize the risk of human 
exposure to produced
water via any exposure pathway; and
			               (xi)	
financial assurance in place to cover 
the cost of cleanup
and remediation in the event of failure 
during operation and closure of the 
pilot project.
			              (xii)	
proposed locations and newspaper 
for providing notice of the pilot 
project consistent with the manner of 
notice required of discharge permit 
applications set out in Subsection A of 
20.6.2.3108 NMAC.
			   (b)	
The department, at its discretion, may 
request additional
information.
			   (c)	
Based on the information provided in 
the application, the department shall 
determine whether the application is 
administratively complete and notify 
the applicant of any deficiencies.
		  (2)	 Following 
a determination that an application 
is administratively complete, the 
applicant and department shall 
proceed with the further public notice 
and participation requirements set 
out in Subsections B through N of 
20.6.2.3108 NMAC and 20.6.2.3110 
NMAC; and the relevant evaluation 
and action requirements set out in 
20.6.2.3109 and 20.6.2.3111 NMAC. 
The plans required of the applicant in 
Paragraph (1) of Subsection C shall 
be incorporated into the pilot project 
permit as enforceable conditions.  The 
department shall provide in the permit 
a daily maximum produced water 
capacity and the term of any pilot 
project permit shall not exceed five 
years. Appeals from the secretary’s 
decisions and the commission’s 
decisions may be taken in accordance 
with 20.6.2.3112 and 20.6.2.3113 
NMAC.
 		  (3)	 Data 
Reporting Requirements

			   (a)	
Persons implementing pilot projects 
pursuant to Subsection B of 
20.6.8.400 NMAC shall submit to 
the department all research results, 
including lab analyses of all water 
contaminants in the untreated 
produced water and treated produced 
water, to assist the department in 
developing standards and assist 
the commission in promulgation 
of regulations for the use of treated 
produced water in a manner that 
prevents water pollution and protects 
human health and the environment.
			   (b)	
Persons implementing pilot projects 
pursuant to Subsection B of 
20.6.8.400 NMAC shall submit to the 
department monthly reports with the 
volume of water treated, water quality 
data for all liquid streams, and the 
volumes, mass, and characteristics of 
liquid and solid waste disposed of, as 
requested by the department.
			   (c)	
The department shall publish on its 
website all applications for produced 
water pilot project permits, all written 
procedures and plans required by 
Subsections B and C of this Section, 
the department’s determination, and 
supplemental information provided 
by the applicant at the department’s 
request.
[20.6.8.400 NMAC – N, 07/12/2025]

20.6.8.401-20.6.8.899 [RESERVED]
[20.6.8.401-20.6.8.899 NMAC – N, 
07/12/2025]

20.6.8.900	  REFERENCES: 
[RESERVED]
[20.6.8.900 NMAC – N, 07/12/2025]
History of 20.6.8 NMAC:  
[RESERVED]
______________________________

HEALTH, DEPARTMENT 
OF

The New Mexico Department of 
Health approved the repeal of its 
rule 7.29.5 NMAC - Certification of 
Community Health Workers (filed 
1/17/2015) and replaced it with 7.29.5 
NMAC - Certification of Community 
Health Workers adopted on 6/3/2025, 
and effective 6/24/2025.

HEALTH, DEPARTMENT 
OF

TITLE 7	 HEALTH
CHAPTER 29	 PRIMARY 
AND RURAL HEALTH CARE 
SERVICES
PART 5		 CERTIFICATION 
OF COMMUNITY HEALTH 
WORKERS

7.29.5.1		  ISSUING 
AGENCY:  New Mexico Department 
of Health.
[7.29.5.1 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.1 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.2		  SCOPE:  This 
rule applies to any person seeking 
to practice as a certified community 
health worker in the state of New 
Mexico.
[7.29.5.2 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.2 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.3		  STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  These rules 
are promulgated pursuant to the 
following statutory authorities:  the 
Department of Health Act, Subsection 
E of Section 9-7-6 NMSA 1978, 
which authorizes the secretary of the 
department of health to “...make and 
adopt such reasonable and procedural 
rules and regulations as may be 
necessary to carry out the duties of 
the department and its divisions,” and 
the Community Health Workers Act, 
Sections 24-30-1 through 24-30-7 
NMSA 1978, which authorizes the 
department to adopt regulations to 
carry out the provisions of the act.
[7.29.5.3 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.3 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.4		  DURATION:  
Permanent.
[7.29.5.4 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.4 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.5		  EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  June 24, 2025, unless a later 
date is cited at the end of a section.
[7.29.5.5 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.5 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.6		  OBJECTIVE:  The 
objective of this rule is to implement 
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the Community Health Workers 
Act.  This rule governs the voluntary 
certification of community health 
workers (CHWs) in New Mexico.
[7.29.5.6 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.6 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.7		  DEFINITIONS:
	 A.	 Definitions 
beginning with “A”:
		  (1)	 “Action 
against a certificate” means any 
formal action taken by the department 
that adversely affects certification 
status, including but not limited 
to denial of initial certification 
or re-certification, suspension or 
revocation or a certificate, probation 
or reprimand.
		  (2)	
“Applicant” means an individual 
applying for community health 
worker certification or recertification.
	 B.	 Definitions 
beginning with “B”: “Board” 
means the board of certification of 
community health workers established 
under these rules.
	 C.	 Definitions 
beginning with “C”:
		  (1)	
“Certificate” means the document 
issued by the department to qualified 
applicants who have successfully 
completed the application process 
for certification as community health 
workers.
		  (2)	
“Certification” means the voluntary 
process by which the department 
grants recognition and use of a 
credential to individuals who are 
eligible to practice as certified 
community health workers.
		  (3)	 “Certified 
community health worker” or 
“CCHW” means a community health 
worker to whom the department has 
issued a certificate to practice as a 
certified community health worker.
		  (4)	
“Community health worker” or 
“CHW” means a public health 
worker, also known as a tribal 
community health representative 
or a promotora, who applies an 
understanding of the experience, 
language, and culture of the 

populations that the individual serves 
and who provides services aimed at 
optimizing individual, family and 
community health outcomes.
	 	 (5)	
“Continuing education” means 
courses or training designed to 
develop and enhance knowledge, 
skills, and professional development 
to ensure that CCHWs are up to date 
with current practices in the field.
		  (6)	
“Conviction” means a plea or 
adjudication of guilt, a plea of nolo 
contendre, or an Alford plea, and does 
not include a conditional discharge or 
deferred adjudication that results in 
dismissal of a charge.
		  (7)	 “Core 
competencies” means a combination 
of qualities, practical skills and 
knowledge, defined by the department 
as essential to the provision of 
services by community health 
workers, demonstration of which is 
required for certification.
	 D.	 Definitions 
beginning with “D”: “Department” 
means the department of health.
	 E.	 Definitions 
beginning with “E”:  [RESERVED]
	 F.	 Definitions 
beginning with “F”:  [RESERVED]
	 G.	 Definitions 
beginning with “G”:  [RESERVED]
	 H.	 Definitions 
beginning with “H”:  [RESERVED]
	 I.	 Definitions 
beginning with “I”:  [RESERVED]
	 J.	 Definitions 
beginning with “J”:  [RESERVED]
	 K.	 Definitions 
beginning with “K”:  [RESERVED]
	 L.	 Definitions 
beginning with “L”:  [RESERVED]
	 M.	 Definitions 
beginning with “M”:  
[RESERVED]
	 N.	 Definitions 
beginning with “N”:  [RESERVED]
	 O.	 Definitions 
beginning with “O”:  [RESERVED]
	 P.	 Definitions 
beginning with “P”:  [RESERVED]
	 Q.	 Definitions 
beginning with “Q”:  [RESERVED]
	 R.	 Definitions 
beginning with “R”:  

“Recertification” means a renewal of 
certification.
	 S.	 Definitions 
beginning with “S”:
		  (1)	 “Scope 
of practice” means the roles and 
related tasks performed by CCHWs 
in the provision of services, 
including the knowledge, skills and 
attributes needed to perform work-
related functions, as defined by the 
department.
		  (2)	
“Secretary” means the secretary of 
the department of health.
	 T.	 Definitions 
beginning with “T”:  [RESERVED]
	 U.	 Definitions 
beginning with “U”:  [RESERVED]
	 V.	 Definitions 
beginning with “V”:  [RESERVED]
	 W.	 Definitions 
beginning with “W”:  
[RESERVED]
	 X.	 Definitions 
beginning with “X”:  [RESERVED]
	 Y.	 Definitions 
beginning with “Y”:  [RESERVED]
	 Z.	 Definitions 
beginning with “Z”:  [RESERVED]
[7.29.5.7 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.7 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.8		  BOARD 
OF CERTIFICATION OF 
COMMUNITY HEALTH 
WORKERS:
	 A.	 Board 
membership:
		  (1)	 The board 
shall be comprised of nine members 
who are residents of New Mexico, 
appointed by the secretary, and shall 
include:
			   (a)	
three currently practicing CHWs, 
including at least one tribal 
community health representative;
			   (b)	
the secretary or the secretary’s 
designee, who shall serve as chair of 
the board; and
			   (c)	
five additional members that the 
secretary shall endeavor to appoint 
from community health stakeholders 
including but not limited to health 
care providers, tribal representatives, 
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individuals from institutions of 
higher learning, or members of the 
community from various geographic 
regions of the state.
		  (2)	
Members of the board other than the 
department’s representative shall 
serve for staggered terms of four 
years.  The secretary shall appoint to 
the initial board three members to a 
four-year term, three members to a 
three-year term, and two members to 
a two-year term.  Each member shall 
hold office until his or her successor 
is appointed. Board members may be 
reappointed to multiple consecutive 
terms.
		  (3)	 Board 
members shall be reimbursed as 
provided for in the Per Diem and 
Mileage Act, Section 10-8-1 et seq. 
NMSA 1978 and shall receive no 
other compensation, perquisite or 
allowance.
	 B.	 Meetings: The 
board shall convene at least once per 
quarter at the call of the chair and as 
frequently as reasonably necessary to 
review and make recommendations 
regarding the CHW certification 
process.
		  (1)	 Meetings 
shall be conducted in accordance with 
the Open Meetings Act, Section 10-
15-1 through 10-15-4 NMSA 1978.  
A simple majority of the members of 
the board shall constitute a quorum 
for the purpose of transacting official 
business.
		  (2)	 Meeting 
arrangements and attendance 
requirements shall be determined 
by the board.  The board shall 
recommend to the secretary 
removal of board members for non-
participation or any other good cause.
	 C.	 Duties and 
responsibilities:  The board 
shall advise the secretary on the 
implementation of standards, 
guidelines, and requirements relating 
to the training and regulation of 
persons seeking certification or 
practicing as CCHWs.
		  (1)	 The board 
shall make recommendations to the 
secretary on the following matters:

			   (a)	
standards and requirements for 
the establishment and approval or 
acceptance of community health 
worker education and training 
programs in the state;
			   (b)	
standards and requirements for 
approval or acceptance of continuing 
education courses and programs as the 
board may require for recertification 
every two years;
			   (c)	
minimum education, training, 
experience, and other qualifications 
that a certified community health 
worker shall possess to qualify as a 
trainer in any education, training, or 
continuing education program for 
community health workers;
			   (d)	
the process to acknowledge, 
document, and assess relevant 
education, training and experience 
or other qualifications acquired by 
CHWs practicing in the state before 
the effective date of the Community 
Health Workers Act for purposes of 
certification while waiving minimum 
training and experience requirements 
established by the act (also known as 
“grandfathering”);
			   (e)	
the means to assess community health 
worker competency in connection 
with certification;
			   (f)	
the core competencies to be required 
for certification, in consideration of 
current New Mexico and national 
CHW workforce studies; and
			   (g)	
the scope of practice for CCHWs.
		  (2)	 The board 
may provide guidance to the program 
on issues or topics presented to the 
board at the program’s discretion.
		  (3)	 Board 
recommendations:  The board shall 
provide to the secretary written 
recommendations in accordance 
with the duties listed in this 
section, including any supporting 
documentation or public commentary.  
The secretary shall make a 
final determination on all board 
recommendations.
[7.29.5.8 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.8 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.9		  NEW MEXICO 
REGISTRY OF COMMUNITY 
HEALTH WORKERS:  The New 
Mexico registry of community health 
workers shall be maintained at the 
department.  The registry is voluntary 
and open to all persons who are 
CCHWs in the state of New Mexico.  
The registry shall contain the name, 
certification number, certification 
status, and geographic location of 
the CCHW.  Registry information is 
subject to public inspection.
[7.29.5.9 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.9 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.10	 COMMUNITY 
HEALTH WORKER 
CERTIFICATION:
	 A.	 Initial 
certification:
		  (1)	 All 
applicants for initial certification in 
New Mexico shall:
			   (a)	
submit to the department a completed 
application in a form specified by the 
department to include verification 
that applicant has met the eligibility 
requirements;
			   (b)	
submit to the department the 
designated application fee; and
			   (c)	
if an applicant otherwise meets the 
eligibility requirements, then in 
accordance with this rule, submit a 
request to the department of public 
safety (DPS) or a DPS vendor for a 
state and national criminal history 
screening.  The results of the criminal 
history screening shall be received by 
the department before a certificate can 
be issued.
		  (2)	 Applicants 
who were practicing CHWs prior to 
the effective date of the Community 
Health Workers Act shall submit:
			   (a)	
proof that applicant is at least 18 years 
of age;
			   (b)	
verification of proficiency in the 
state approved core competencies 
through training or experience, signed 
by a verifiable current or former 
supervisor within two years of date of 
application;
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			   (c)	
two letters of professional reference; 
and
			   (d)	
documentation of 2,000 hours of work 
or volunteer experience as a CHW 
in the two years prior to application, 
or documentation of at least half-
time paid or volunteer employment 
as a CHW in the five years prior to 
application.
		  (3)	 Applicants 
who were not practicing CHWs 
prior to the effective date of the 
Community Health Workers Act, 
or who otherwise do not meet the 
criteria for grandfathering by waiver 
of minimum training and experience 
requirements based on practice prior 
to the effective date of the Community 
Health Workers Act, shall submit:
			   (a)	
proof that applicant is at least 18 years 
of age;
			   (b)	
proof of completion of a department-
approved training program that 
contains an examination component 
for each of the core competencies; 
and
			   (c)	
proof of at least a high school 
diploma or certificate of high school 
equivalency.  Transcripts from 
schools outside the United States 
shall be assessed for U.S. equivalency 
by a current national association 
of credential evaluation services 
(NACES) educational credential 
evaluation service.  The completed 
assessment documentation must be 
attached to the application, and the 
applicant shall be solely responsible 
for any costs or fees associated with 
the assessment.
		  (4)	 In lieu 
of the documentation required in 
Subparagraph (d) of Paragraph (2) 
and Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph 
(3) of this section, an applicant 
may submit to the department 
documentation of current certification 
as a CHW in another U.S. state, 
territory, or commonwealth, which 
shall include the following:
			   (a)	
The name of each U.S. state, territory, 
or commonwealth that issued the 
certification;

			   (b)	
The certification number of each 
certification;
			   (c)	
The date each certification was issued;
			   (d)	
Documentation of the professional 
certificate or license issued to the 
applicant by each state, territory, or 
commonwealth in which the applicant 
holds a professional certificate or 
license; and
			   (e)	
A statement, signed and dated by the 
applicant, attesting that the applicant:
			                 (i)	
has been certified or licensed in 
another U.S. state, territory, or 
commonwealth for at least one year, 
with a scope of practice consistent 
with the scope of practice for which 
certification is being requested;
			                (ii)	
has met minimum education 
requirements specified in this section;
			               (iii)
has not voluntarily surrendered 
a certification or license in any 
other state or country while under 
investigation for unprofessional 
conduct; and
		                             (iv)	
does not have a complaint, 
allegation, or investigation pending 
before another regulatory entity in 
another state or country related to 
unprofessional conduct.
		  (5)	 Applicants 
may be certified at the following 
levels:
			   (a)	
generalist: an applicant who provides 
proof of completion of a department-
approved training program that 
contains an examination component 
for each of the core competencies, 
or an applicant who meets the 
requirements for certification through 
grandfathering;
			   (b)	
specialist I:  an applicant who meets 
the requirements for a generalist 
and who demonstrates additional 
education or training in at least one 
specialty area;
			   (c)	
specialist II:  an applicant who meets 
the requirements for a generalist 

and who demonstrates additional 
education or training in at least two 
specialty areas;
			   (d)	
specialist III:  an applicant who meets 
the requirements for a generalist 
and who demonstrates additional 
education or training in three or more 
specialty areas;
			   (e)	
specialty areas include but are not 
limited to basic clinical support 
skills, heart health, chronic disease, 
behavioral health, maternal and child 
health or developmental disabilities.
		  (5)	 The 
department shall issue certificates 
to applicants who satisfy the 
requirements of this rule, unless the 
application is disapproved.
		  (6)	 Certificates 
shall be valid for two years from the 
date of issuance.  A CCHW shall carry 
the CCHW certificate and present it 
upon request.
	 B.	 Recertification:  
An applicant for recertification shall:
		  (1)	 submit 
to the department a completed 
application in a form specified by the 
department to include proof of current 
certification;
		  (2)	 submit 
to the department the designated 
application fee;
		  (3)	 provide 
proof of completion of at least 
30 hours of department-approved 
continuing education; and
		  (4)	 submit 
a request to DPS or a DPS vendor 
for a current state and national 
criminal history screening every other 
recertification period (i.e., every four 
years), if the applicant otherwise 
meets eligibility requirements.
	 C.	 Reinstatement 
after lapse, suspension, or 
revocation:
		  (1)	 The 
requirements for reinstatement of 
a certificate that has lapsed are the 
same as those for recertification, with 
the payment of fees as identified for 
reinstatement after lapse in Subsection 
F of 7.29.5.10 NMAC and, if required 
as part of recertification, then in 
accordance with this rule, submission 
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of a request to DPS or a DPS vendor 
for a current state and national 
criminal history screening.
		  (2)	 The 
requirements for reinstatement of a 
certificate that has been suspended 
or revoked are the same as those 
for recertification, provided that 
the term of suspension has been 
completed or terminated or approval 
of reinstatement after revocation has 
been granted.  Applicant shall pay 
the designated fees for reinstatement 
after suspension or revocation in 
Subsection F of 7.29.5.10 NMAC 
and, in accordance with this rule, 
submit a request to DPS or a DPS 
vendor for a current state and national 
criminal history screening.
	 D.	 Disapproval:
		  (1)	 The 
department may disapprove an 
application if an applicant has not 
met the eligibility requirements as 
defined by the department or has 
submitted an incomplete application.  
The department shall send a notice of 
disapproval with the reasons why the 
applicant was disapproved and the 
requirements necessary to reapply.
		  (2)	 An 
applicant whose application has been 
disapproved under Paragraph (1) of 
Subsection D of 7.29.5.10 NMAC 
may not appeal the disapproval.  
The applicant shall be permitted to 
reapply and shall submit a current 
and complete application that meets 
the designated requirements within 
60 days of receipt of the notice of 
disapproval.  If the re-submitted 
application is received by the 
program within the 60 days, no new 
application fee is required.  If the 
re-submitted application is received 
after the 60 days, the applicant shall 
be required to pay the application fee 
designated in this rule.
	 E.	 Application 
processing:
		  (1)	
Applications, including associated 
fees, shall be sent to the department’s 
office of community health workers.
		  (2)	 The 
department shall review applications 
on a rolling basis.  Applicants shall be 
notified in writing within 30 working 

days of receipt of the application 
by the department whether their 
application has been approved or 
disapproved.
		  (3)	 If an 
application has been disapproved, 
applicants shall be notified of 
their ability to reapply pursuant to 
Paragraph (2) of Subsection D of 
7.29.5.10 NMAC.
		  (4)	 If an 
application has been approved, 
then applicants shall be directed to 
complete a state and national criminal 
history screening.  For applicants 
with no criminal history, or with no 
history of felony convictions, the 
department shall issue a certificate 
within 10 working days of receipt of 
the criminal history screening results.
		  (5)	
Applications with an associated 
criminal history shall be referred to 
the certification review committee and 
reviewed according to the procedure 
set forth in this rule.
	 F.	 Fees:
		  (1)	 The 
department shall charge the following 
fees for certification or approval 
services:
			   (a)	
initial certification: generalist		
		  $125;
			   (b)	
initial certification: specialist I		
		  $135;
			   (c)	
initial certification: specialist II		
		  $145;
			   (d)	
initial certification: specialist III		
		  $155;
			   (e)	
recertification for any level		
		  $125;
			   (f)	
reinstatement after lapse			 
		  $100;
			   (g)	
reinstatement after suspension or 
revocation	 $100;
			   (h)	
continuing education program initial 
approval 	 $300;
			   (i)	
continuing education program 
approval renewal	
		  $200;

			   (j)	
trainer endorsement and renewal of 
endorsement	 $250;
			   (k)	
replacement of a CCHW certificate		
		  $25.
		  (2)	 If an 
applicant is certified as a generalist, 
prior to his or her recertification the 
applicant may apply to be a specialist 
at any level and pay the difference 
between the specialist fee and the 
generalist fee.
		  (3)	 Payment 
of fees:  Payment of fees will be 
accepted in a form specified by the 
department.  Fees are not refundable.
		  (4)	 Use of 
fees: The department shall apply any 
fee it collects under these rules to 
cover the costs of administering the 
community health worker certification 
program established pursuant to the 
Community Health Workers Act.
	 G.	 Unauthorized 
training:
		  (1)	
 Continuing education units (CEUs) 
obtained from an unauthorized use 
of NMDOH CHW training shall 
not be deemed to satisfy continuing 
education requirements of this rule.
		  (2)	 Continuing 
education units (CEUs) obtained from 
an unauthorized use of NMDOH CEU 
provider training shall not be deemed 
to satisfy continuing education 
requirements of this rule.
	 H.	 Unauthorized 
practice:
		  (1)	 In order 
to use the title “certified community 
health worker,” the initials “CCHW” 
or other designation indicating 
that the individual is a certified 
community health worker, an 
individual shall be certified pursuant 
to the provisions of the Community 
Health Workers Act and these rules.
		  (2)	 To ensure 
compliance, the department may 
issue cease-and-desist orders to 
persons violating the provisions of the 
Community Health Workers Act or 
these rules.
		  (3)	 A CCHW 
shall engage only in those activities 
authorized pursuant to the Community 
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Health Workers Act and these rules.  
While engaging in practice as a 
CCHW, an individual shall not engage 
in or perform any act or service for 
which another professional certificate, 
license or other legal authority is 
required unless the individual holds 
the relevant professional certificate, 
license or other legal authority to 
perform that act or service.
[7.29.5.10 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.10 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.11	 CRIMINAL 
HISTORY SCREENING:
	 A.	 The department 
is authorized to obtain the criminal 
history records of applicants 
and to exchange fingerprint data 
directly with the federal bureau of 
investigation (FBI), DPS and any 
other law enforcement agency or 
organization.  The department shall 
require fingerprinting of applicants for 
the purposes of this section.
	 B.	 Procedure:
		  (1)	 If an 
applicant otherwise meets the 
eligibility requirements, then the 
department shall require the applicant 
to submit a request to DPS or a DPS 
vendor for a current state and national 
criminal history screening.
		  (2)	 The 
department shall provide applicants 
with the department’s originating 
agency identification (ORI) number 
or other department identifier for 
the purposes of criminal history 
screening.
		  (3)	
Applicant shall provide to DPS 
or a DPS vendor a background 
check request, fingerprints, and 
supporting documentation including 
an authorization for release of 
information to the department 
in accordance with DPS or the 
designated vendor’s procedures.
		  (4)	 DPS or 
the designated DPS vendor shall 
review state records and also transmit 
the fingerprints to the FBI for a 
national screening.  The results of the 
screening shall be made available to 
the department for review.
		  (5)	
The department shall make a 

determination whether the applicant 
has been convicted of a felony that 
bears upon the applicant’s fitness to 
provide services.
		  (6)	 Applicant 
shall bear any costs associated with 
ordering or conducting criminal 
history screening.  Fees are 
determined by and payable to DPS 
or the designated DPS vendor.  Fees 
cannot be waived by the department.
		  (7)	
The department shall comply 
with applicable confidentiality 
requirements of DPS and the 
FBI regarding the maintenance, 
dissemination, and destruction 
of criminal background check 
information.
		  (8)	 For 
applicants with no criminal history, or 
with no history of felony convictions, 
the department shall issue a certificate 
in accordance with this rule if all 
other requirements for certification 
have been satisfied.
[7.29.5.11 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.11 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.12	 TRAINER 
ENDORSEMENT:
	 A.	 Persons or entities 
who wish to be endorsed by the 
department of health to conduct 
CHW training shall annually submit 
a completed state endorsement 
application form and application 
packet to the department.  Department 
endorsement of a CHW trainer is 
valid for one year.
	 B.	 All application 
packet materials shall be submitted 
to the department in a 3-ring binder.  
Binders shall be organized to include 
a table of contents, a labeled divider 
for each application part, and such 
other content as required by this 
rule and the training endorsement 
application form.  Application 
packets shall be submitted in the 
manner identified on the application 
form.  Applicants are advised 
to retain a complete copy of the 
application materials for their records.  
Application materials for CHW 
training endorsement shall include the 
following:

		  (1)	 overview 
of training, to include, at a minimum, 
contact information, name of 
sponsoring organization, physical 
and mailing address, organization 
telephone and fax numbers, website 
address, organization type, and non-
profit status;
		  (2)	 list of core 
competency trainings for which the 
applicant seeks endorsement;
		  (3)	
training information, to include, 
at a minimum, the training title, 
description, and focus; target 
audience; plan for recruitment; 
eligibility, application, and 
registration criteria for participants; 
anticipated cost and available 
support; training location, format, 
and frequency; training language; 
a sample attendance record; 
information concerning training, 
approach, development, and 
delivery; involvement of CHWs 
in training; evaluation method(s); 
and organizational experience in 
providing trainings previously, to 
include information concerning 
individual trainings  and the core 
competencies addressed;
		  (4)	 instructor 
and trainer information, to include, 
at a minimum, names, job titles, 
telephone and fax numbers, e-mail 
addresses; education and work 
experience; CHW supervision 
history; training experience; the 
CHW core competencies in which the 
applicant provides training; specialty 
knowledge and skills; and training 
delivery methods;
		  (5)	 designee 
signature; and
		  (6)	 payment 
for all associated fees (see section 
7.29.5.10 NMAC).
[7.29.5.12 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.13	 CONTINUING 
EDUCATION PROGRAM 
APPROVAL:
	 A.	 The office of 
community health workers approves 
community health worker continuing 
education programs that meet specific 
criteria.  These approved programs 
may then be taken by community 
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health workers to meet the CEU 
requirement for certification renewal.  
Only continuing education programs 
that receive prior approval from 
the department can satisfy the CEU 
requirement for certification renewal.  
Department approval of a continuing 
education program is valid for one 
year.
	 B.	 A continuing 
education provider shall submit 
a completed CEU application for 
approval of a continuing education 
program, along with a non-refundable 
payment for all associated fees (see 
7.29.5.10 NMAC).  Applications must 
be received at least four weeks prior 
to the event; applications received 
after the event date will not be 
reviewed or approved.
	 C.	 A continuing 
education provider that seeks 
approved of a continuing education 
program must have:
		  (1)	 A means 
of responsibility for control over all 
aspects of the CEU program(s) to 
ensure that educational objectives and 
standards are met;
		  (2)	 A system 
for selection and supervision of 
qualified instructors; 
		  (3)	 A system 
for evaluation of each approved 
program by program participants; and
		  (4)	 Presenters 
who are certified CHWs and have 
three years of working experience, 
or non-CHWs who hold a bachelor’s 
degree or higher from an accredited 
institution and have three years of 
experience working with CHWs.
	 D.	 Retention of 
approved program materials by 
providers:  It is the responsibility of 
the continuing education provider to 
maintain CEU program information 
as well as attendance records for all 
participants, and to issue certificates 
of completion of each approved 
program.  Such records should be 
retained for a minimum of three 
years from the date of the program 
and be made available to participants 
upon request.  CEU providers are not 
required to submit attendance sheets 
to the department.

	 E.	 Evaluations:  The 
CEU provider shall collect program 
evaluations from participants, and 
shall utilize the program’s statement 
of objectives to ascertain whether 
desired goals have been reached.  
Evaluations are for the provider’s 
records only; however, if the program 
is more than 3 CEUs, an evaluation 
review (no more than one page) 
shall be submitted to the department 
within one month of the date that the 
program is held.
	 F.	 Internet-based 
learning:  For internet–based 
learning programs, contact hours 
are determined on content, time to 
review the content, and an appropriate 
number of test questions that reflect 
whether the learning objectives have 
been met.  Post-test on all distance 
learning products with a passing score 
of not less than seventy percent is 
required.
	 G.	 Credit hour 
determination:  One continuing 
education hour equals one clock-
hour of instruction. Breaks, lunches, 
introductions, and social events do not 
count toward CEUs.
	 H.	 Promoting CEU 
programs and issuing certificates:  
Continuing education providers may 
advertise an event as offering CHW 
continuing education credits only after 
the program is granted approval by 
the department.  CEU programs may 
be advertised, without a statement that 
the program offers CHW continuing 
education credits, if an application 
has been submitted but has not yet 
been reviewed.  Once the program 
is approved by the department, the 
following statement should be added 
to event materials and must be on 
CEU certificates: “CHW CEUs 
approved by DOH-OCHW.”
[7.29.5.13 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.14	 CERTIFICATION 
REVIEW COMMITTEE:
	 A.	 A certification 
review committee is hereby 
established.  The committee shall 
be appointed by the secretary and 
shall be comprised of five employees 
of the public health division, to 
include the division director, the 

director of the center for health and 
safe communities, and the CHW 
program manager.  The committee 
may conduct an individualized review 
of the grounds for action against 
a certificate and shall determine 
whether to pursue action against 
a certificate by a majority vote.  A 
certificate may be denied, suspended 
or revoked, or may be subject to any 
lesser action, including but not limited 
to reprimand or probation.
	 B.	 Grounds for action 
against a certificate:  A certificate 
may be denied, suspended, revoked, 
or subject to other adverse action, for:
		  (1)	 violation 
of, or failure to satisfy, a requirement 
of this rule;
		  (2)	 conviction 
of a felony that relates to the CHW 
scope of practice;
		  (3)	 fraud, 
deceit, or misrepresentation during the 
certification application process;
		  (4)	
failure to possess and apply the 
knowledge, skill or care that is 
ordinarily possessed and exercised 
by CCHWs or as defined by the core 
competencies; and
		  (5)	
unprofessional conduct, which 
includes but is not limited to:
			   (a)	
verbally or physically abusing a 
client;
			   (b)	
unauthorized practice or practice 
which is beyond the defined scope 
of practice for CCHWs, including 
unauthorized use of the CCHW 
designation;
			   (c)	
unauthorized disclosure of medical or 
other confidential information;
			   (d)	
obtaining or attempting to obtain 
any fee for client services for one’s 
self or for another through fraud, 
misrepresentation or deceit; or
			   (e)	
physical or mental incapacity which 
could result or has resulted in 
performance of CCHW duties in a 
manner which endangers the health 
and safety of others.
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	 C.	 Committee review 
of criminal history screening 
results:
		  (1)	
The committee may conduct an 
individualized review of applications 
with an associated history of felony 
convictions, and shall determine 
whether to pursue action against 
a certificate by a majority vote.  
Committee members shall meet any 
DPS or FBI requirements regarding 
individuals who handle criminal 
history information.
		  (2)	 The 
committee may request that applicants 
provide additional information in 
writing in order to make a final 
determination of certification, such 
as evidence of acquittal, dismissal, 
conviction of a lesser included crime 
or rehabilitation.
		  (3)	 In 
accordance with the Community 
Health Workers Act at Section 24-30-
7 NMSA 1978, the provisions of the 
Criminal Offender Employment Act, 
Section 28-2-1 through 28-2-6 NMSA 
1978 shall govern any consideration 
of criminal records required or 
permitted by the Community Health 
Workers Act.  The following factors 
may also be considered in order 
to make a final determination on 
certification:
			   (a)	
total number of felony convictions 
and type of crimes;
			   (b)	
time elapsed since last conviction or 
since discharge of sentence;
			   (c)	
circumstances of the crime including 
but not limited to whether violence 
was involved;
			   (d)	
activities evidencing rehabilitation, 
including but not limited to substance 
abuse or other rehabilitation 
programs;
			   (e)	
false or misleading statements in the 
application; and
			   (f)	
relation of crimes to the scope of 
practice.
		  (4)	 For the 
purposes of this section and pursuant 

to the Criminal Offender Employment 
Act, Section 28-2-4 NMSA 1978:  if 
an applicant has been convicted of 
a felony, and the conviction directly 
relates to the scope of practice, then 
the burden is on the applicant to 
demonstrate by a preponderance of 
the evidence that the applicant has 
been sufficiently rehabilitated.
		  (5)	 Applicants 
shall be notified in writing of the 
decision to pursue action against a 
certificate based on the results of a 
criminal history review, including a 
statement of the grounds or subject 
upon which the action is based.
		  (6)	 An 
applicant whose certification or 
recertification is denied, suspended 
or revoked based on information 
obtained in a criminal history 
background check, shall be entitled 
to review the information obtained 
and to appeal the decision pursuant to 
the procedure in accordance with this 
rule.
	 D.	 Committee review 
of other grounds for action:
		  (1)	
The committee may conduct an 
individualized review of the grounds 
for action against a CCHW or 
applicant and shall determine whether 
to pursue action against a certificate 
by a majority vote.
		  (2)	 The 
committee may request that applicants 
provide additional information in 
writing in order to make a final 
determination of certification.
		  (3)	 Applicants 
shall be notified in writing of the 
decision to pursue action against a 
certificate based on the results of 
the committee’s review, including a 
statement of the grounds or subject 
upon which the proposed action is 
based.
		  (4)	 An 
applicant whose certification or 
recertification is denied, suspended or 
revoked shall be entitled to review the 
information obtained and to appeal 
the decision pursuant to the procedure 
in accordance with this rule.
	 E.	 An applicant who 
is reprimanded, placed on probation, 
or who is otherwise subjected to 

any lesser form of action against a 
certificate than denial, suspension, 
or revocation may for good cause 
submit a verbal or written request to 
the certification review committee 
for a secondary review.  Requests for 
review must be submitted within 10 
working days of the original decision 
to take action against a certificate.  All 
decisions by the committee after a 
secondary review are considered final 
and are not subject to appeal.
[7.29.5.14 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.12 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.15	 HEARINGS:
	 A.	 Right to appeal:  
An applicant may appeal a decision 
by the department to deny, suspend, 
revoke, or take other adverse action 
against a certificate, by requesting a 
hearing by mailing a certified return 
receipt letter to the address provided 
in the notice of action within 20 days 
after service of notice.
	 B.	 Notice: The 
department shall serve upon an 
applicant written notice containing 
the action against a certificate and a 
statement of the grounds or subject 
upon which the action is based and 
instructions for requesting a hearing.
	 C.	 Notice of hearing:  
Upon receipt of a timely request for a 
hearing, the department shall appoint 
a hearing officer and schedule a 
hearing, to be held in Santa Fe, New 
Mexico within 60 working days of 
receipt of the request.
		  (1)	 Either 
party may request a continuance at 
least 10 days prior to the scheduled 
hearing, to be approved or denied by 
the hearing officer.
		  (2)	 If an 
applicant fails to appear after 
requesting a hearing, the hearing 
officer may proceed to consider 
the matter and render a report and 
recommendation.
		  (3)	 If no 
request for a hearing is made in 
the time and manner specified, the 
committee shall take the action 
against the certificate and such action 
shall be final.
	 D.	 Hearing officer 
duties:  The hearing officer shall 
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preside over the hearing, administer 
oaths, take evidence and decide 
evidentiary objections and rule on any 
motions or other matters that arise 
prior to the hearing.
	 E.	 Admissible 
evidence:  The hearing officer 
may admit evidence and may give 
probative effect to evidence that is 
of a kind commonly relied on by 
reasonably prudent persons in the 
conduct of serious affairs.  Rules of 
evidence shall not apply but may be 
considered in determining the weight 
to be given to any item of evidence.  
Action against a certificate must not 
be based solely on hearsay evidence.
	 F.	 Discovery:  Any 
party is entitled to obtain the names 
and addresses of witnesses who will 
or may be called by the other party 
to testify and to inspect and copy 
any documents or items which the 
other party will or may introduce in 
evidence at the hearing.  Additional 
discovery may be ordered at the 
hearing officer’s discretion.
	 G.	 Burden of proof:  
In accordance with the Criminal 
Offender Employment Act:
		  (1)	 When the 
action against a certificate is not based 
on a review of the applicant’s criminal 
history report, the department has the 
burden of proving by a preponderance 
of the evidence the basis for the 
action.
		  (2)	 When the 
action against a certificate is based on 
a review of the applicant’s criminal 
history report, and the applicant has 
been convicted of a felony directly 
related to the scope of practice, 
the applicant has the burden of 
proving sufficient rehabilitation by a 
preponderance of the evidence.
	 H.	 Conduct of 
hearing:  Hearings shall be open to 
the public but may be closed at either 
party’s request, at the discretion of the 
hearing officer.  The hearing officer 
shall state on the record the reasons 
for holding a closed hearing.
	 I.	 Legal 
representation:  An individual 
entitled to a hearing under this rule 
shall have the right to be represented 
by an attorney licensed to practice in 

New Mexico or by a member of his or 
her profession or occupation, or both.
	 J.	 Hearing 
officer written report and 
recommendation(s):  The hearing 
officer shall issue a report and 
recommended findings to the 
department secretary within 30 
working days of the final submission 
in the case.
	 K.	 Decision of the 
department:  The secretary shall 
render a final determination in 
writing, including the basis for the 
decision, within 30 calendar days 
of the submission of the hearing 
officer’s written report.  A copy of 
the final decision shall be mailed to 
the applicant by certified mail, return 
receipt requested to the most current 
address provided by the applicant.  It 
is the responsibility of the applicant to 
provide current contact information to 
the program.
	 L.	 Reinstatement of a 
suspended or revoked certificate:
		  (1)	 Requests 
for reinstatement for a revoked 
certificate shall not be considered 
by the department prior to the 
expiration of three years from the 
date of the revocation indicated 
in the department’s final decision.  
Requests for reinstatement of a 
suspended certificate shall not be 
considered by the department prior 
to the expiration of one year from the 
date of the suspension indicated in the 
department’s final decision.
		  (2)	 Individuals 
who request reinstatement of 
their certificate shall provide the 
department with substantial evidence 
to support their request in the form 
of notarized written reports or sworn 
statements from individuals who 
have personal knowledge of the 
individual’s activities and progress 
during the time that the certificate is 
suspended or revoked.
		  (3)	
Reinstatement of a suspended or 
revoked certificate requires proof 
of meeting the recertification 
requirements as set forth in this 
rule including payment of the 
reinstatement fee designated in this 
rule.

		  (4)	
If reinstatement of a suspended 
or revoked certificate is denied, 
individuals have a right to appeal 
in accordance with the hearing 
procedures set forth in this rule.
[7.29.5.15 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.13 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

7.29.5.16	 INSPECTION 
OF RECORDS:  The following 
records are not subject to public 
inspection, and shall be maintained in 
a confidential manner:
	 A.	 Health information 
protected by state and federal laws.
	 B.	 Materials associated 
with reviews conducted by the 
certification review committee, 
including but not limited to criminal 
history information.
	 C.	 Protected personal 
identifier information, as that term 
is used in the Inspection of Public 
Records Act at Section 14-2-1.1 
NMSA 1978, that are contained in an 
application, including all but the last 
four digits of a date of birth and social 
security numbers.
[7.29.5.16 NMAC - Rp, 7.29.5.14 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

HISTORY OF 7.29.5 NMAC:  
[RESERVED]

History of Repealed Material:  
7.29.5 NMAC, Certification of 
Community Health Workers filed 
1/7/2015, Repealed effective 
6/24/2025.

Other:  7.29.5 NMAC, Certification 
of Community Health Workers filed 
1/7/2015 Replaced by 7.29.5 NMAC, 
Certification of Community Health 
Workers effective 6/24/2025.
______________________________

HEALTH CARE 
AUTHORITY

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
DIVISION

This is an amendment to 8.200.510 
NMAC, Sections 11, 12, 13, and 15, 
effective 8/1/2025.
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8.200.510.11	 COMMUNITY 
SPOUSE RESOURCE 
ALLOWANCE (CSRA):  The 
CSRA standard varies based on when 
the applicant or recipient become 
institutionalized for a continuous 
period.  The CSRA remains constant 
even if it was calculated prior 
to submission of a formal MAP 
application.  If institutionalization 
began:
	 A.	 Between September 
30, 1989 and December 31, 1989, 
the state maximum CSRA is $30,000 
and the federal maximum CRSA is 
$60,000.
	 B.	 On or after January 
1, 1990, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$62,580.
	 C.	 On or after January 
1, 1991, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$66,480.
	 D.	 On or before 
January 1, 1992, the state minimum 
is $31,290 and the federal maximum 
CSRA is $68,700.
	 E.	 On or after January 
1, 1993, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$70,740.
	 F.	 On or after January 
1, 1994, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$72,660.
	 G.	 On or after January 
1, 1995, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$74,820.
	 H.	 On or after January 
1, 1996, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$76,740.
	 I.	 On or after January 
1, 1997, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$79,020.
	 J.	 On or after January 
1, 1998, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$80,760.
	 K.	 On or after January 
1, 1999, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$81,960.
	 L.	 On or after January 
1, 2000, the state minimum is $31,290 

and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$84,120.
	 M.	 On or after January 
1, 2001, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$87,000.
	 N.	 On or after January 
1, 2002, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$89,280.
	 O.	 On or after January 
1, 2003, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$90,660.
	 P.	 On or after January 
1, 2004, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$92,760.
	 Q.	 On or after January 
1, 2005, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$95,100.
	 R.	 On or after January 
1, 2006, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$99,540.
	 S.	 On or after January 
1, 2007, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$101,640.
	 T.	 On or after January 
1, 2008, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$104,400.
	 U.	 On or after January 
1, 2009, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$109,560.
	 V.	 On or after January 
1, 2010, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA 
remains $109,560.
	 W.	 On or after January 
1, 2011, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA 
remains $109,560.
	 X.	 On or after January 
1, 2012, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$113,640.
	 Y.	 On or after January 
1, 2013, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$115,920.
	 Z.	 On or after January 
1, 2014, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$117,240.

	 AA.	 On or after January 
1, 2015, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$119,220.
	 BB.	 On or after January 
1, 2016, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$119,220.
	 CC.	 On or after January 
1, 2017, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$120,900.
	 DD.	 On or after January 
1, 2018, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$123,600.
	 EE.	 On or after January 
1, 2019, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$126,420.
	 FF.	 On or after January 
1, 2020, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$128,640.
	 GG.	 On or after January 
1, 2021, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$130,380.
	 HH.	 On or after January 
1, 2022, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$137,400.
	 II.	 On or after January 
1, 2023, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$148,620.
	 JJ.	 On or after January 
1, 2024, the state minimum is $31,290 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$154,140.
	 KK.	 On or after January 
1, 2025, the state minimum is $31,584 
and the federal maximum CSRA is 
$157,920.
[8.200.510.11 NMAC - Rp, 
8.200.510.11 NMAC, 7/1/2015; 
A/E, 1/1/2016; A/E, 3/1/2017; 
A/E, 8/30/2018; A/E, 4/11/2019; 
A, 7/30/2019; A/E, 8/11/2020; 
A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 
9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 8/9/2022; 
A/E, 4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; A, 
8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]

8.200.510.12	 POST-
ELIGIBILITY CALCULATION 
(MEDICAL CARE CREDIT):  
Apply applicable deductions in the 
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order listed below when determining 
the medical care credit for an 
institutionalized spouse.
	 DEDUCTION			 
	 AMOUNT
	 A.	 Personal needs 
allowance for institutionalized spouse:
		  [July 1, 2023]		
	 [$91]
		  July 1, 2024		
	 $94
	 B.	 Minimum monthly 
maintenance needs allowance 
(MMMNA):
		  [July 1, 2023]		
	 [$2,465]
		  July 1, 2024		
	 $2,555
	 C.	 The community 
spouse monthly income allowance 
(CSMIA) is calculated by subtracting 
the community spouse’s gross income 
from the MMMNA:
		  (1)	 If 
allowable shelter expenses of the 
community spouse exceeds the 
minimum allowance then deduct 
an excess shelter allowance from 
community spouse’s income that 
includes: expenses for rent; mortgage 
(including interest and principal); 
taxes and insurance; any maintenance 
charge for a condominium or 
cooperative; and an amount for 
utilities (if not part of maintenance 
charge above); use the standard utility 
allowance (SUA) deduction used in 
the food stamp program for the utility 
allowance.
			   [July 1, 
2023]		  [$740]
			   July 1, 
2024		  $766.50
		  (2)	 Excess 
shelter allowance may not exceed the 
maximum:
			   (a)	
Jan. 1, 2025	 $1,393
			   [(a)] (b)	
Jan. 1, 2024	 $1,388.50
			   [(b)] (c)	
July 1, 2023	 $1,251
			   [(c)] (d)	
Jan. 1, 2023	 $1,427
			   [(d)] (e)	
July 1, 2022	 $1,146
			   [(e)] (f)	
Jan. 1, 2022	 $1,257

			   [(f)] (g)	
July 1, 2021	 $1,082
			   [(g)] (h)	
Jan. 1, 2021	 $1,105
	 D.	 Any extra 
maintenance allowance ordered 
by a court of jurisdiction or a state 
administrative hearing officer.
	 E.	 Dependent family 
member income allowance (if 
applicable) calculated as follows:  1/3 
X MMMNA - dependent member’s 
income).
	 F.	 Non-covered 
medical expenses.
	 G.	 The maximum total 
of the community spouse monthly 
income allowance and excess shelter 
deduction may not exceed $3,853.50.
[8.200.510.12 NMAC - Rp, 
8.200.510.12 NMAC, 7/1/2015; 
A/E, 3/1/2017; A/E. 8/30/2018; 
A/E, 4/11/2019; A, 7/30/2019; 
A/E, 1/16/2020; A/E, 8/11/2020; 
A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 
9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 8/9/2022; 
A/E, 4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; A, 
8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]

8.200.510.13	 AVERAGE 
MONTHLY COST OF NURSING 
FACILITIES FOR PRIVATE 
PATIENTS USED IN TRANSFER 
OF ASSET PROVISIONS:  Costs 
of care are based on the date of 
application registration.
		  DATE			 
		  AVERAGE COST 
PER MONTH
	 A.	 July 1, 1988 - Dec. 
31, 1989		 $1,726 per month
	 B.	 Jan. 1, 1990 - Dec. 
31, 1991		 $2,004 per month
	 C.	 Jan. 1, 1992 - Dec. 
31, 1992		 $2,217 per month
	 D.	 Effective July 1, 
1993, for application	 $2,377 per 
month
		  register on or after 
Jan. 1, 1993
	 E.	 Jan. 1, 1994 - Dec. 
31, 1994		 $2,513 per month
	 F.	 Jan. 1, 1995 - Dec. 
31, 1995		 $2,592 per month
	 G.	 Jan. 1, 1996 - Dec. 
31, 1996		 $2,738 per month
	 H.	 Jan. 1, 1997 - Dec. 
31, 1997		 $2,889 per month

	 I.	 Jan. 1, 1998 - Dec 
31, 1998		 $3,119 per month
	 J.	 Jan. 1, 1999 - Dec. 
31, 1999		 $3,429 per month
	 K.	 Jan. 1, 2000 - Dec. 
31, 2000		 $3,494 per month
	 L.	 Jan. 1, 2001 - Dec. 
31, 2001		 $3,550 per month
	 M.	 Jan. 1, 2002 - Dec. 
31, 2002		 $3,643 per month
	 N.	 Jan. 1, 2003 - Dec. 
31, 2003		 $4,188 per month
	 O.	 Jan. 1, 2004 - Dec. 
31, 2004		 $3,899 per month
	 P.	 Jan. 1, 2005 - Dec. 
31, 2005		 $4,277 per month
	 Q.	 Jan. 1, 2006 - Dec. 
31, 2006		 $4,541 per month
	 R.	 Jan. 1, 2007 - Dec. 
31, 2007		 $4,551 per month
	 S.	 Jan. 1, 2008 - Dec. 
31, 2008		 $4,821 per month
	 T.	 Jan. 1, 2009 - Dec. 
31, 2009		 $5,037 per month
	 U.	 Jan. 1, 2010 - Dec. 
31, 2010		 $5,269 per month
	 V.	 Jan. 1, 2011 - Dec. 
31, 2011		 $5,774 per month
	 W.	 Jan. 1, 2012 - Dec. 
31, 2012		 $6,015 per month
	 X.	 Jan. 1, 2013 - Dec. 
31, 2013		 $6,291 per month
	 Y.	 Jan. 1, 2014 - Dec. 
31, 2014		 $6,229 per month
	 Z.	 Jan. 1, 2015 - Dec. 
31, 2015		 $6,659 per month
	 AA.	 Jan. 1, 2016 - Dec. 
31, 2016		 $7,786 per month
	 BB.	 Jan. 1, 2017 - Dec. 
31, 2017		 $7,485 per month
	 CC.	 Jan. 1, 2018 - Dec. 
31, 2018		 $7,025 per month
	 DD.	 Jan. 1, 2019 - Dec. 
31, 2019		 $7,285 per month
	 EE.	 Jan. 1, 2020 - Dec. 
31, 2020		 $7,480 per month
	 FF.	 Jan. 1, 2021 - Dec. 
31, 2021		 $7,590 per month
	 GG.	 Jan. 1, 2022 - Dec. 
31, 2021		 $7,811 per month
	 HH.	 Jan. 1, 2023 - Dec. 
31, 2023		 $8,275 per month
	 II.	 Jan. 1, 2024 - Dec. 
31, 2024		 $8,919 per month
	 JJ.	 Jan. 1, 2025 -		
		  $8,947 per month
[8.200.510.13 NMAC - Rp, 
8.200.510.13 NMAC, 7/1/2015; 
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A/E, 1/1/2016; A/E, 3/1/2017; 
A/E, 8/30/2018; A/E, 4/11/2019; 
A, 7/30/2019; A/E, 8/11/2020; 
A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 
9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 8/9/2022; 
A/E, 4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; A, 
8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]

8.200.510.15	 EXCESS HOME 
EQUITY AMOUNT FOR LONG-
TERM CARE SERVICES:
	 A.	 Jan. 2025	
$730,000
	 [A.] B.	 Jan. 2024	
$713,000
	 [B.] C.	 Jan. 2023	
$688,000
	 [C.] D.	 Jan. 2022	
$636,000
	 [D.] E.	 Jan. 2021	
$603,000
	 [E.] F.	 Jan. 2020	
$595,000
	 [F.] G.	 Jan. 2019	
$585,000
	 [G.] H.	 Jan. 2018	
$572,000
	 [H.] I.	 Oct. 2017	
$560,000
	 [I.] J.	 Jan. 2017	
$840,000
	 [J.] K.	 Jan. 2016	
$828,000
	 [K.] L.	 Jan. 2015	
$828,000
	 [L.] M.	 Jan. 2014	
$814,000
	 [M.] N.	 Jan. 2013	
$802,000
	 [N.] O.	 Jan. 2012	
$786,000
	 [O.] P.	 Jan. 2011	
$758,000
	 [P.] Q.	 Jan. 2010	
$750,000
[8.200.510.15 NMAC - Rp, 
8.200.510.15 NMAC, 7/1/2015; A/E, 
1/1/2016; A/E, 3/1/2017; A, 3/1/18; 
A/E, 8/30/2018; A/E, 4/11/2019; 
A, 7/30/2019; A/E, 8/11/2020; 
A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 
9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 8/9/2022; 
A/E, 4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; A, 
8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]
______________________________

HEALTH CARE 
AUTHORITY

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
DIVISION

This is an amendment to 8.200.520 
NMAC, Sections 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 
and 20, effective 8/1/2025.

8.200.520.11	 FEDERAL 
POVERTY INCOME 
GUIDELINES:
	 A.	 One hundred 
percent federal poverty limits (FPL):
		  Size of budget 
group			   FPL per 
month
[			   1		
			   $1,255*
			   2		
			   $1,704*
			   3		
			   $2,152
			   4		
			   $2,600
			   5		
			   $3,049
			   6		
			   $3,497
			   7		
			   $3,945
			   8		
			   $4,394]
			   1		
			   $1,305*
			   2		
			   $1,763*
			   3		
			   $2,221
			   4		
			   $2,680
			   5		
			   $3,138
			   6		
			   $3,596
			   7		
			   $4,055
			   8		
			   $4,513
			   Add [$449] 
$458 for each additional person in the 
budget group.
			   *FPL 
must be below [100%] one hundred 
percent for an individual or couple for 
qualified medicare beneficiary (QMB) 
program.
	 B.	 One hundred twenty 

percent FPL:  This income level is 
used only in the determination of the 
maximum income limit for specified 
low income medicare beneficiaries 
(SLIMB) applicants or eligible 
recipients.
		  Applicant or 
eligible recipient 		 Amount
			   1	
Individual	 At least [$1,255] 
$1,305 per month but no more than 
[$1,506] $1,565 per month.
			   2	
Couple		  At least [$1,704] 
$1,763 per month but no more than 
[$2,044] $2,115 per month.
			   For 
purposes of this eligibility calculation, 
“couple” means an applicant couple 
or an applicant with an ineligible 
spouse when income is deemed.
	 C.	 One hundred thirty-
three percent FPL:
		  Size of budget 
group			   FPL per 
month
[			   1		
			   $1,670
			   2		
			   $2,266
			   3		
			   $2,862
			   4		
			   $3,458
			   5		
			   $4,055
			   6		
			   $4,651
			   7		
			   $5,247
			   8		
			   $5,844]
			   1		
			   $1,735
			   2		
			   $2,345
			   3		
			   $2,954
			   4		
			   $3,564
			   5		
			   $4,173
			   6		
			   $4,783
			   7		
			   $5,393
			   8		
			   $6,002
		  Add [$597] $609 
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for each additional person in the 
budget group.
	 D.	 One hundred thirty-
five percent FPL:  This income level 
is used only in the determination 
of the maximum income limit for a 
qualified individual 1 (QI1) applicant 
or eligible recipient.  For purposes of 
this eligibility calculation, “couple” 
means an applicant couple or an 
applicant with an ineligible spouse 
when income is deemed.  The 
following income levels apply:
		  Applicant or 
eligible recipient		  Amount
			   1	
Individual	 At least [$1,506] 
$1,565 per month but no more than 
[$1,695] $1,761 per month.
			   2	
Couple		  At least [$2,044] 
$2,115 per month but no more than 
[$2,300] $2,380 per month.
	 E.	 One hundred 
eighty-five percent FPL:
		  Size of budget 
group			   FPL per 
month
[			   1		
			   $2,322
			   2		
			   $3,152
			   3		
			   $3,981
			   4		
			   $4,810
			   5		
			   $5,640
			   6		
			   $6,469
			   7		
			   $7,299
			   8		
			   $8,128]
			   1		
			   $2,413
			   2		
			   $3,261
			   3		
			   $4,109
			   4		
			   $4,957
			   5		
			   $5,805
			   6		
			   $6,653
			   7		
			   $7,501

			   8		
			   $8,349
		  Add [$829] $848 
for each additional person in the 
budget group.
	 F.	 Two hundred 
percent FPL:
		  Size of budget 
group			   FPL per 
month
[			   1		
			   $2,510
			   2		
			   $3,407
			   3		
			   $4,304
			   4		
			   $5,200
			   5		
			   $6,097
			   6		
			   $6,994
			   7		
			   $7,890
			   8		
			   $8,787]
			   1		
			   $2,609
			   2		
			   $3,525
			   3		
			   $4,442
			   4		
			   $5,359
			   5		
			   $6,275
			   6		
			   $7,192
			   7		
			   $8,109
			   8		
			   $9,025
		  Add [$897] $916 
for each additional person in the 
budget group.
	 G.	 Two hundred thirty-
five percent FPL:
		  Size of budget 
group			   FPL per 
month
[			   1		
			   $2,950
			   2		
			   $4,003
			   3		
			   $5,057
			   4		
			   $6,110

			   5		
			   $7,164
			   6		
			   $8,218
			   7		
			   $9,271
			   8		
			   $10,325]
			   1		
			   $3,065
			   2		
			   $4,142
			   3		
			   $5,219
			   4		
			   $6,297
			   5		
			   $7,374
			   6		
			   $8,451
			   7		
			   $9,528
			   8		
			   $10,605
		  Add [$1,054] 
$1,077 for each additional person in 
the budget group.
	 H.	 Two hundred fifty 
percent FPL:
		  Size of budget 
group			   FPL per 
month
[			   1		
			   $3,138
			   2		
			   $4,259
			   3		
			   $5,380
			   4		
			   $6,500
			   5		
			   $7,621
			   6		
			   $8,742
			   7		
			   $9,863
			   8		
			   $10,984]
			   1		
			   $3,261
			   2		
			   $4,407
			   3		
			   $5,553
			   4		
			   $6,698
			   5		
			   $7,844
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_			   6					     $8,990
			   7					     $10,136
			   8					     $11,282
		  Add [$1,121] $1,146 for each additional person in the budget group.
[8.200.520.11 NMAC - Rp, 8.200.520.11 NMAC, 8/28/2015; A/E, 4/1/2016; A/E, 9/14/2017; A, 2/1/2018; A/E, 
5/17/2018; A, 9/11/2018; A/E, 4/11/2019; A, 7/30/2019, A/E, 8/11/2020; A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 9/1/2021; 
A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 8/9/2022; A/E, 4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; 8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]

8.200.520.12	 COST OF LIVING ADJUSTMENT (COLA) DISREGARD COMPUTATION:  The countable 
social security benefit without the COLA is calculated using the COLA increase table as follows:
	 A.	 divide the current gross social security benefit by the COLA increase in the most current year; the 
result is the social security benefit before the COLA increase;
	 B.	 divide the result from Subsection A above by the COLA increase from the previous period or year; the 
result is the social security benefit before the increase for that period or year; and
	 C.	 repeat Subsection B above for each year, through the year that the applicant or eligible recipient 
received both social security benefits and supplemental security income (SSI); the final result is the countable social 
security benefit.

COLA Increase and disregard table

Period and year COLA increase = benefit before

1 2025 Jan - Dec 2.5 Jan 25
[1] 2 2024 Jan - Dec 3.2 Jan 24
[2] 3 2023 Jan - Dec 8.7 Jan 23
[3] 4 2022 Jan - Dec 5.9 Jan 22
[4] 5 2021 Jan - Dec 1.3 Jan 21
[5] 6 2020 Jan - Dec 1.6 Jan 20
[6] 7 2019 Jan - Dec 2.8 Jan 19
[7] 8 2018 Jan - Dec 2.0 Jan 18
[8] 9 2017 Jan - Dec 0.3 Jan 17
[9] 10 2016 Jan - Dec 0 Jan 16
[10] 11 2015 Jan - Dec 1.017 Jan 15
[11] 12 2014 Jan - Dec 1.015 Jan 14
[12] 13 2013 Jan - Dec 1.017 Jan 13
[13] 14 2012 Jan - Dec 1.037 Jan 12
[14] 15 2011 Jan - Dec 0 Jan 11
[15] 16 2010 Jan - Dec 1 Jan 10
[16] 17 2009 Jan - Dec 1 Jan 09
[17] 18 2008 Jan - Dec 1.058 Jan 08
[18] 19 2007 Jan - Dec 1.023 Jan 07
[19] 20 2006 Jan - Dec 1.033 Jan 06
[20] 21 2005 Jan - Dec 1.041 Jan 05
[21] 22 2004 Jan - Dec 1.027 Jan 04
[22] 23 2003 Jan - Dec 1.021 Jan 03
[23] 24 2002 Jan - Dec 1.014 Jan 02
[24] 25 2001 Jan - Dec 1.026 Jan 01
[25] 26 2000 Jan - Dec 1.035 Jan 00
[26] 27 1999 Jan - Dec 1.025 Jan 99
[27] 28 1998 Jan - Dec 1.013 Jan 98
[28] 29 1997 Jan - Dec 1.021 Jan 97
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[29] 30 1996 Jan - Dec 1.029 Jan 96
[30] 31 1995 Jan - Dec 1.026 Jan 95
[31] 32 1994 Jan - Dec 1.028 Jan 94
[32] 33 1993 Jan - Dec 1.026 Jan 93
[33] 34 1992 Jan - Dec 1.03 Jan 92
[34] 35 1991 Jan - Dec 1.037 Jan 91
[35] 36 1990 Jan - Dec 1.054 Jan 90
[36] 37 1989 Jan - Dec 1.047 Jan 89
[37] 38 1988 Jan - Dec 1.04 Jan 88
[38] 39 1987 Jan - Dec 1.042 Jan 87
[39] 40 1986 Jan - Dec 1.013 Jan 86
[40] 41 1985 Jan - Dec 1.031 Jan 85
[41] 42 1984 Jan - Dec 1.035 Jan 84
[42] 43 1982 Jul - 1983 

Dec
1.035 Jul 82

[43] 44 1981 Jul - 1982 
Jun

1.074 Jul 81

[44] 45 1980 Jul - 1981 
Jun

1.112 Jul 80

[45] 46 1979 Jul - 1980 
Jun

1.143 Jul 79

[46] 47 1978 Jul - 1979 
Jun

1.099 Jul 78

[47] 48 1977 Jul - 1978 
Jun

1.065 Jul 77

[48] 49 1977 Apr - 1977 
Jun

1.059 Apr 77

[8.200.520.12 NMAC - Rp, 8.200.520.12 NMAC, 8/28/2015; A/E, 1/1/2016; A/E, 3/1/2017; A/E, 5/17/2018; A, 
9/11/2018; A, 4/11/2019; A, 7/30/2019; A/E, 8/11/2020; A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 
8/9/2022; A/E, 4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024, 8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]

8.200.520.13	 FEDERAL BENEFIT RATES (FBR) AND VALUE OF ONE-THIRD REDUCTION (VTR):
Year Individual Institution Individual Couple Institution Couple

FBR FBR VTR FBR FBR VTR

1/89 to 1/90 $368 $30 $122.66 $553 $60 $184.33
1/90 to 1/91 $386 $30 $128.66 $579 $60 $193.00
1/91 to 1/92 $407 $30 $135.66 $610 $60 $203.33
1/92 to 1/93 $422 $30 $140.66 $633 $60 $211.00
1/93 to 1/94 $434 $30 $144.66 $652 $60 $217.33
1/94 to 1/95 $446 $30 $148.66 $669 $60 $223.00
1/95 to 1/96 $458 $30 $152.66 $687 $60 $229.00
1/96 to 1/97 $470 $30 $156.66 $705 $60 $235.00
1/97 to 1/98 $484 $30 $161.33 $726 $60 $242.00
1/98 to 1/99 $494 $30 $164.66 $741 $60 $247.00
1/99 to 1/00 $500 $30 $166.66 $751 $60 $250.33
1/00 to 1/01 $512 $30 $170.66 $769 $60 $256.33
1/01 to 1/02 $530 $30 $176.66 $796 $60 $265.33
1/02 to 1/03 $545 $30 $181.66 $817 $60 $272.33
1/03 to 1/04 $552 $30 $184.00 $829 $60 $276.33
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1/04 to 1/05 $564 $30 $188 $846 $60 $282.00
1/05 to 1/06 $579 $30 $193 $869 $60 $289.66
1/06 to 1/07 $603 $30 $201 $904 $60 $301.33
1/07 to 1/08 $623 $30 $207.66 $934 $60 $311.33
1/08 to 1/09 $637 $30 $212.33 $956 $60 $318.66
1/09 to 1/10 $674 $30 $224.66 $1,011 $60 $337
1/10 to 1/11 $674 $30 $224.66 $1,011 $60 $337
1/11 to 1/12 $674 $30 $224.66 $1,011 $60 $337
1/12 to 1/13 $698 $30 $232.66 $1,048 $60 $349.33
1/13 to 1/14 $710 $30 $237 $1,066 $60 $355
1/14 to 1/15 $721 $30 $240 $1,082 $60 $361
1/15 to 12/15 $733 $30 $244 $1,100 $60 $367
1/16 to 12/16 $733 $30 $244 $1,100 $60 $367
1/17 to 12/17 $735 $30 $245 $1,103 $60 $368
1/18 to 12/18 $750 $30 $250 $1,125 $60 $375
1/19 to 12/19 $771 $30 $257 $1,157 $60 $386
1/20 to 12/20 $783 $30 $261 $1,175 $60 $392
1/21 to 12/21 $794 $30 $264.66 $1,191 $60 $397
1/22 to 12/22 $841 $30 $280.33 $1,261 $60 $420.50
1/23 to 12/23 $914 $30 $304.66 $1,371 $60 $456.99
1/24 to 12/24 $943 $30 $314.33 $1,415 $60 $471.66
1/25 to 12/25 $967 $30 $322.33 $1,450 $60 $483.33

	 A.	 Ineligible child deeming allocation is [$472] $483.
	 B.	 Part B premium is [$174.70] $185 per month.
	 C.	 VTR (value of one third reduction) is used when an individual or a couple lives in the household of 
another and receives food and shelter from the household or when the individual or the couple is living on their own 
household but receiving support and maintenance from others.
	 D.	 The SSI resource standard is $2000 for an individual and $3000 for a couple.
[8.200.520.13 NMAC - Rp, 8.200.520.13 NMAC, 8/28/2015; A/E, 1/1/2016; A/E, 3/1/2017; A/E, 5/17/2018; A, 
9/11/2018; A/E, 4/11/2019; A, 7/30/2019; A/E, 8/11/2020; A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 
8/9/2022; A/E, 4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; 8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]

8.200.520.15	 SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) LIVING ARRANGEMENTS:
	 A.	 Individual living in their own household who own or rent:
			   Payment amount:		 [$943] $967	 Individual
						      [$1,415] $1,450	 Couple
	 B.	 Individual receiving support and maintenance payments:  For an individual or couple living in their 
own household, but receiving support and maintenance from others (such as food, shelter or clothing), subtract the value 
of one third reduction (VTR).
			   Payment amount:
						      [$943 - $314.33 = $628.67] $967 - $322.33 = $644.67 Individual
						      [$1,415 - $471.66 = $943.34] $1,450 – $483.33 = $966.67 Couple
	 C.	 Individual or couple living household of another:  For an individual or couple living in another 
person’s household and not contributing their pro-rata share of household expenses, subtract the VTR.
			   Payment amount:		
						      [$943 - $314.33 = $628.67] $967 - $322.33 = $644.67 Individual
						      [$1,415 - $471.66 = $943.34] $1,450 – $483.33 = $966.67 Couple
	 D.	 Child living in home with their parent:
			   Payment amount:		 [$943] $967
	 E.	 Individual in institution:
			   Payment amount:		 $30.00
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[8.200.520.15 NMAC - Rp, 8.200.520.15 NMAC, 8/28/2015; A/E, 3/1/2017; A/E, 5/17/2018; A, 9/11/2018; A/E, 
4/11/2019; A, 7/30/2019; A/E, 8/11/2020; A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 8/9/2022; A/E, 
4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; A, 8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]

8.200.520.16	 MAXIMUM COUNTABLE INCOME FOR INSTITUTIONAL CARE MEDICAID AND 
HOME AND COMMUNITY BASED WAIVER SERVICES (HCBS) CATEGORIES:  Effective January 1, 2024, 
the maximum countable monthly income standard for institutional care medicaid and the home and community based 
waiver categories is [$2,829] $2,901.
[8.200.520.16 NMAC - Rp, 8.200.520.16 NMAC, 8/28/2015; A/E, 3/1/2017; A/E, 5/17/2018; A, 9/11/2018; A/E, 
4/11/2019; A, 7/30/2019; A/E, 8/11/2020; A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 8/9/2022; A/E, 
4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; A, 8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]

8.200.520.20	 COVERED QUARTER INCOME STANDARD:
		  Date					     Calendar Quarter Amount
	 Jan. 2025 - Dec. 2025				    $1,810 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2024 - Dec. 2024				    $1,730 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2023 - Dec. 2023				    $1,640 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2022 - Dec. 2022				    $1,510 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2021 - Dec. 2021				    $1,470 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2020 - Dec. 2020				    $1,410 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2019 - Dec. 2019				    $1,360 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2018 - Dec. 2018				    $1,320 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2017 - Dec. 2017				    $1,300 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2016 - Dec. 2016				    $1,260 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2015 - Dec. 2015				    $1,220 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2014 - Dec. 2014				    $1,200 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2013 - Dec. 2013				    $1,160 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2012 - Dec. 2012				    $1,130 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2011 - Dec. 2011				    $1,120 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2010 - Dec. 2010				    $1,120 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2009 - Dec. 2009				    $1,090 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2008 - Dec. 2008				    $1,050 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2007 - Dec. 2007				    $1,000 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2006 - Dec. 2006				    $970 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2005 - Dec. 2005				    $920 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2004 - Dec. 2004				    $900 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2003 - Dec. 2003				    $890 per calendar quarter
	 Jan. 2002 - Dec. 2002				    $870 per calendar quarter
[8.200.520.20 NMAC - Rp, 8.200.520.20 NMAC, 8/28/2015; A/E, 1/1/2016; A/E, 03/01/2017; A/E, 5/17/2018; A, 
9/11/2018; A/E, 4/11/2019; A, 7/30/2019; A/E, 8/11/2020; A, 12/15/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 
8/9/2022; A/E, 4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; A, 8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]
________________________________________________________________________________________________

HEALTH CARE AUTHORITY
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION

This is an amendment to 8.291.430 NMAC, Section 10, effective 8/1/2025

8.291.430.10	 FEDERAL POVERTY LEVEL (FPL):  This part contains the monthly federal poverty level table 
for use in determining monthly income standards for MAP categories of eligibility outlined in 8.291.400.10 NMAC:

HOUSEHOLD 
SIZE 100% 133% 138% 190% 240% 250% 300%

1 [$1,255] 
$1,305

[$1,670] 
$1,735

[$1,732] 
$1,800

[$2,385] 
$2,478

[$3,012] 
$3,130

[$3,138] 
$3,261

[$3,765] 
$3,913

2 [$1,704] 
$1,763

[$2,266] 
$2,345

[$2,351] 
$2,433

[$3,237] 
$3,349

[$4,088] 
$4,230

[$4,259] 
$4,407

[$5,110] 
$5,288
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3 [$2,152] 
$2,221

[$2,862] 
$2,954

[$2,970] 
$3,065

[$4,089] 
$4,220

[$5,164] 
$5,330

[$5,380] 
$5,553

[$6,455] 
$6,663

4 [$2,600] 
$2,680

[$3,458] 
$3,564

[$3,588] 
$3,698

[$4,940] 
$5,091

[$6,240] 
$6,430

[$6,500] 
$6,698

[$7,800] 
$8,038

5 $3,138
[$3,049]

$4,173
[$4,055]

$4,330
[$4,207]

$5,962
[$5,792]

$7,530
[$7,316]

$7,844
[$7,621]

$9,413
[$9,145]

6 [$3,497] 
$3,596

[$4,651] 
$4,783

[$4,826] 
$4,963

[$6,644] 
$6,833

[$8,392] 
$8,630

[$8,742] 
$8,990 

[$10,490] 
$10,788

7 [$3,945] 
$4,055

[$5,247] 
$5,393

[$5,445] 
$5,595

[$7,496] 
$7,703

[$9,468] 
$9,730

[$9,863] 
$10,136

[$11,835] 
$12,163

8 [$4,394] 
$4,513

[$5,844] 
$6,002

[$6,063] 
$6,228

[$8,348] 
$8,574

[$10,544] 
$10,830

[$10,984] 
$11,282

[$13,180] 
$13,538

+1 [$449] 
$458

[$597] 
$609

[$618] 
$633

[$852] 
$871

[$1,076] 
$1,100

[$1,121] 
$1,146

[$1,345] 
$1,375

[8.291.430.10 NMAC - Rp, 8.291.430.10 NMAC, 11/16/2015; A/E, 4/1/2016; A/E, 9/14/2017; A, 2/1/2018; A/E, 
5/17/2018; A, 9/11/2018; A/E, 4/11/2019; A, 7/30/2019; A, 12/1/2020; A/E, 4/1/2021; A, 9/1/2021; A/E, 4/1/2022; A, 
8/9/2022; A/E, 4/1/2023; A/E, 4/1/2024; A, 8/1/2024; A/E, 4/1/2025; A, 8/1/2025]
_______________________________________________________________________________________________

HEALTH CARE
AUTHORITY

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
DIVISION

This is an amendment to 8.310.2 
NMAC, Sections 1, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 
and 14, effective 7/1/2025.

8.310.2.1	 ISSUING 
AGENCY:  New Mexico Health 
Care Authority (HCA).
[8.310.2.1 NMAC - Rp, 8.310.2.1 
NMAC, 1/1/2014; A, 7/1/2024; A, 
7/1/2025]

8.310.2.8	 MISSION 
STATEMENT:  [To transform lives.  
Working with our partners, we design 
and deliver innovative, high quality 
health and human services that 
improve the security and promote 
independence for New Mexicans in 
their communities.] We ensure that 
New Mexicans attain their highest 
level of health by providing whole-
person, cost-effective, accessible, and 
high-quality health care and safety-
net services.
[8.310.2.8 NMAC - Rp, 8.310.2.8 
NMAC, 1/1/2014; A, 8/10/2021; 
A/E, 1/1/2025; A, 7/1/2025]

8.310.2.9	 GENERAL 
PROGRAM DESCRIPTION:
	 A.	 The New Mexico 
medical assistance division (MAD) 

pays for medically necessary health 
care services furnished by a MAD 
enrolled medical provider.  See 42 
CFR 440.210; Section 27-2-16 NMSA 
1978 (Repl. Pamp. 1991).
	 B.	 MAD pays for 
medically necessary behavioral 
health professional services including 
assessments, evaluations, and 
therapy required by the condition 
of the medical assistance program 
(MAP) eligible recipient.  See 42 
CFR Sections 440.40, 440.60(a) and 
441.571.
	 C.	 MAD covers 
services which are medically 
necessary for the diagnosis or 
treatment of illnesses, injuries 
or conditions of a MAP eligible 
recipient, as determined by MAD 
or its designee.  All services must 
be furnished within the limits of the 
MAD New Mexico administrative 
code (NMAC) rules policies and 
instructions within the scope of 
practice defined by the provider’s 
licensing board, scope of practice 
act, or regulatory authority.  Any 
claim submitted for reimbursement 
is subject to review by MAD or 
its designee to verify the medical 
necessity of the service.  All claims 
are subject to pre-payment or post-
payment review and recoupment.
	 D.	 [HSD] HCA, 
through MAD, is responsible for 
the administration of the medicaid 

program and other health care 
programs.  This joint federal and 
state program provides payment for 
medically necessary health services 
furnished to MAP eligible recipients.
	 E.	 A provider must be 
eligible for participation as a MAD 
approved provider at the time services 
are furnished.  MAD does not cover 
services performed during a time 
period when the provider or facility 
did not meet required licensing or 
certification requirement.
	 F.	 If a MAP 
eligible recipient is enrolled with a 
MAD managed care organization 
(MCO), the provider must contact 
that member’s MCO for specific 
reimbursement information.  A MCO 
contracted with the state of New 
Mexico is not required to follow 
the MAD fee-for-service (FFS) 
fee schedules or reimbursement 
methodologies unless otherwise 
instructed by MAD.  Reimbursement 
arrangements are determined 
contractually between the MCO and 
the provider.
[8.310.2.9 NMAC - N, 1/1/2014; A, 
7/1/2025]

8.310.2.10	 RELATIONSHIP 
TO MEDICARE:  MAD covers 
medically necessary health services 
furnished to a MAP eligible recipient 
who meets specific income, resource 
and eligibility standards.  Medicare is 
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a federal program which offers health 
insurance coverage to MAP eligible 
recipient 65 years of age and older, 
to those who have received disability 
benefits for 24 consecutive months, 
to those who have end stage renal 
disease, and to other MAP eligible 
recipients as specified by other 
provisions of the Social Security Act.
	 A.	 New Mexico has 
entered into an agreement with the 
social security administration to pay 
a medicaid MAP eligible recipient’s 
premium for medicare part B, and 
under some circumstances, medicare 
part A premiums.
	 B.	 After medicare has 
made payment for services, MAD 
pays for the medicare co-insurance, 
deductible and copayment amounts 
for a MAP eligible recipient subject 
to the following reimbursement 
limitations.
		  (1)	 Medicaid 
payment for the co-insurance, 
deductible, copayment or other 
patient responsibility is limited such 
that the payment from medicare, 
plus the amount allowed by MAD 
for the co-insurance, copayment 
and deductible, shall not exceed the 
MAD allowed amount for the service.  
When the medicare payment exceeds 
the amount that medicaid would 
have allowed for the service, no 
payment is made for the co-insurance, 
copayment, deductible or other 
patient responsibility.  The claim is 
considered paid in full.  The provider 
may not collect any remaining 
portion of the medicare co-insurance, 
copayment or deductible from the 
MAP eligible recipient or [his or her] 
their authorized representative.  For 
services for which medicare part B 
applies a 50 percent co-insurance rate, 
medicare co-insurance, copayment 
and deductible amounts are paid at 
an amount that allows the provider 
to receive more than MAD allowed 
amount, not to exceed a percentage 
determined by [HSD] HCA.
		  (2)	 MAD 
will pay toward the medicare co-
insurance and deductible to the extent 
that the amount paid by medicare 
and the allowed medicare co-
insurance, deductible and copayment 

together do not exceed the MAD 
allowable amount.  MAD will pay 
the full medicare co-insurance and 
deductible when MAD does not have 
a specific amount allowed for the 
service.  When MAD does not use 
an equivalent payment methodology 
for a service, the full coinsurance, 
deductible and copayment amounts 
will be paid.  This occurs when 
providers are paid at encounter rates, 
percent of billed charges followed by 
cost settlements, or when providers 
are entitled to a full reimbursement 
rate such as for federally qualified 
health centers and hospital outpatient 
prospective payment system 
reimbursement.
[8.310.2.10 NMAC - Rp, 8.300.1.10 
NMAC, 1/1/2014; A, 7/1/2025]

8.310.2.12	 SERVICES:  
MAD covers services and procedures 
that are medically necessary for the 
diagnosis and treatment of an illness 
or injury as indicated by the MAP 
eligible recipient’s condition.  All 
services must be furnished within 
the limits of provider program rules 
and within the scope of their practice 
board and licensure.
	 A.	 Medical 
practitioner services:
		  (1)	 Second 
surgical opinions:  MAD covers 
second opinions when surgery is 
considered.
		  (2)	 Services 
performed in an outpatient setting:  
MAD covers procedures performed 
in the office, clinic or as outpatient 
institutional services as alternatives to 
hospitalization.  These procedures are 
those for which an overnight stay in a 
hospital is seldom necessary.
			   (a)	
A MAP eligible recipient may be 
hospitalized if they have existing 
medical conditions that predispose 
them to complications even with 
minor procedures.
			   (b)	
Claims may be subject to pre-payment 
or post-payment review.
			   (c)	
Medical justification for performance 
of these procedures in a hospital must 
be documented in the MAP eligible 
recipient’s medical record.

		  (3)	
Noncovered therapeutic radiology and 
diagnostic imaging services:  MAD 
does not pay for kits, films or supplies 
as separate charges.  All necessary 
materials and minor services are 
included in the service or procedure 
charge.  Reimbursement for imaging 
procedures includes all materials and 
minor services necessary to perform 
the procedure.  MAD does not pay an 
additional amount for contrast media 
except in the following instances:
			   (a)	
radioactive isotopes;
			   (b)	
non-ionic radiographic contrast 
material; or
			   (c)	
gadolinium salts used in magnetic 
resonance imaging.
		  (4)	 Midwives 
services:  MAD covers services 
furnished by certified nurse midwives 
or licensed midwives within the scope 
of their practice, as defined by state 
laws and rules and within the scope 
of their practice board and licensure.  
Reimbursement for midwife services 
is based on one global fee, which 
includes prenatal care, delivery and 
postpartum care.
			   (a)	
Separate trimesters completed and 
routine vaginal delivery can be 
covered if a MAP eligible recipient 
is not under the care of one provider 
for the entire prenatal, delivery and 
postpartum periods.
			   (b)	
MAD covers laboratory and 
diagnostic imaging services related 
to pregnancy.  These services can be 
billed separately.
			   (c)	
MAD covers gynecological or 
obstetrical ultrasounds without 
requiring a prior authorization of any 
kind.
			   (d)	
MAD covers a MAP eligible pregnant 
recipient’s labor and delivery services 
at a New Mexico department of health 
(DOH) licensed birth center through 
the “Birthing Options Program” 
(BOP).  MAD reimburses the birth 
center facility and the rendered 
services of a midwife separately.  
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BOP services are provided by an 
eligible midwife that enrolls as a BOP 
provider with the [human services 
department/medical assistance 
division (HSD/MAD)] health care 
authority/medical assistance division 
(HCA/MAD).  The facility must 
comply with all DOH licensing 
requirements, including limiting 
licensure.  The facility must maintain 
all clinical documentation, including 
schedules, for the period of time as 
required under 8.302.1 NMAC.  The 
program does not cover the full scope 
of midwifery services nor replace 
pediatric care that should occur at a 
primary care clinic.
			   (e)	
Non-covered midwife services:  
Midwife services are subject to the 
limitation and coverage restrictions 
which exist for other MAD services.  
MAD does not cover the following 
specific services furnished by a 
midwife:
				    (i)	
oral medications or medications, such 
as ointments, creams, suppositories, 
ophthalmic and otic preparations 
which can be appropriately self-
administered by the MAP eligible 
recipient;
			                (ii)	
services furnished by an apprentice; 
unless billed by the supervising 
midwife;
			               (iii)	
an assistant at a home birth unless 
necessary based on the medical 
condition of the MAP eligible 
recipient which must be documented 
in the claim.
	 B.	 Pharmaceutical, 
vaccines and other items obtained 
from a pharmacy:  MAD does not 
cover drug items that are classified 
as ineffective by the food and 
drug administration (FDA) and 
antitubercular drug items that are 
available from the public health 
department.  In addition, MAD does 
not cover personal care items or 
pharmacy items used for cosmetic 
purposes only.  Transportation to 
a pharmacy is not a MAD allowed 
benefit with the exception for justice-
involved MAP eligible recipients who 
are released from incarceration at a 

correctional facility within the first 
seven days of release.
	 C.	 Laboratory and 
diagnostic imaging services:  MAD 
covers medically necessary laboratory 
and diagnostic imaging services 
ordered by primary care provider 
(PCP), physician assistant (PA), 
certified nurse practitioner (CNP), or 
clinical nurse specialists (CNS) and 
performed in the office by a provider 
or under [his or her] their supervision 
by a clinical laboratory or a radiology 
laboratory, or by a hospital-based 
clinical laboratory or radiology 
laboratory that are a enrolled MAD 
provider.  See 42 CFR Section 440.30.
		  (1)	 MAD 
covers interpretation of diagnostic 
imaging with payment as follows:  
when diagnostic radiology 
procedures, diagnostic imaging, 
diagnostic ultrasound, or non-invasive 
peripheral vascular studies are 
performed in a hospital inpatient or 
outpatient setting, payment is made 
only for the professional component 
of the service.  This limitation does 
not apply if the hospital does not bill 
for any component of the radiology 
procedures and does not include the 
cost associated with furnishing these 
services in its cost reports.
		  (2)	
A provider may bill for the 
professional components of imaging 
services performed at a hospital or 
independent radiology laboratory 
if the provider does not request 
an interpretation by the hospital 
radiologist.
		  (3)	 Only one 
professional component is paid per 
radiological procedure.
		  (4)	 Radiology 
professional components are not 
paid when the same provider or 
provider group bills for professional 
components or interpretations and 
for the performance of the complete 
procedure.
		  (5)	
Professional components associated 
with clinical laboratory services 
are payable only when the work is 
actually performed by a pathologist 
who is not billing for global 
procedures and the service is for 

anatomic and surgical pathology 
only, including cytopathology, 
histopathology, and bone marrow 
biopsies, or as otherwise allowed by 
the medicare program.
		  (6)	 Specimen 
collection fees are payable when 
obtained by venipuncture, arterial 
stick, or urethral catheterization, 
unless a MAP eligible recipient is 
an inpatient of a nursing facility or 
hospital.
		  (7)	
Noncovered laboratory services:  
MAD does not cover laboratory 
specimen handling, mailing, or 
collection fees.  Specimen collection 
is covered only if the specimen is 
drawn by venipuncture, arterial stick, 
or collected by urethral catheterization 
from a MAP eligible recipient who 
is not a resident of a NF or hospital.  
MAD does not cover the following 
specific laboratory services:
			   (a)	
clinical laboratory professional 
components, except as specifically 
described under covered services 
above;
			   (b)	
specimens, including pap smears, 
collected in a provider’s office or 
a similar facility and conveyed to 
a second provider’s office, office 
laboratory, or non-certified laboratory;
			   (c)	
laboratory specimen handling or 
mailing charges;
			   (d)	
specimen collection fees other than 
those specifically indicated in covered 
services; and
			   (e)	
laboratory specimen collection fees 
for a MAP eligible recipient in NF or 
inpatient hospital setting.
	 D.	 Reproductive 
health services:  MAD pays for 
family planning and other related 
health services (see 42 CFR Section 
440.40(c)) and supplies furnished by 
or under the supervision of a MAD 
enrolled provider acting within the 
scope of their practice board or 
licensure.
		  (1)	 Prior to 
performing medically necessary 
surgical procedures that result in 
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sterility, providers must complete 
a “sterilization consent” or a 
“hysterectomy acknowledgment/
consent” form.  MAD covers a 
medically necessary sterilization 
under the following conditions.  See 
42 CFR Section 441.251 et seq:
			   (a)	
a MAP eligible recipient 21 years and 
older at the time consent is obtained;
			   (b)	 a 
MAP eligible recipient is not mentally 
incompetent; mentally incompetent 
is a declaration of incompetency 
as made by a federal, state, or local 
court; a MAP eligible recipient can be 
declared competent by the court for a 
specific purpose, including the ability 
to consent to sterilization;
			   (c)	
a MAP eligible recipient is not 
institutionalized; for this section, 
institutionalized is defined as:
		                              (i)	
an individual involuntarily confined 
or detained under a civil or 
criminal statute in a correctional or 
rehabilitative facility, including a 
psychiatric hospital or an intermediate 
care facility for the care and treatment 
of mental illness; 
		                             (ii)	
confined under a voluntary 
commitment in a psychiatric hospital 
or other facility for the care and 
treatment of mental illness;
			   (d)	
a MAP eligible recipient seeking 
sterilization must be given 
information regarding the procedure 
and the results before signing a 
consent form; this explanation must 
include the fact that sterilization is a 
final, irreversible procedure; a MAP 
eligible recipient must be informed of 
the risks and benefits associated with 
the procedure;
			   (e)	
a MAP eligible recipient seeking 
sterilization must also be instructed 
that their consent can be withdrawn 
at any time prior to the performance 
of the procedure and that they would 
not lose any other MAD benefits as 
a result of the decision to have or not 
have the procedure; and
			   (f)	
a MAP eligible recipient voluntarily 

gives informed consent to the 
sterilization procedure.  See 42 CFR 
Section 441.257(a); and
			   (g)	
a MAP eligible recipient’s informed 
consent to the sterilization procedure 
must be attached to the claim.
		  (2)	
Hysterectomies:  MAD covers only 
a medically necessary hysterectomy.  
MAD does not cover a hysterectomy 
performed for the sole purpose of 
sterilization.  See 42 CFR Section 
441.253.
			   (a)	
Hysterectomies require a signed, 
voluntary informed consent which 
acknowledges the sterilizing results of 
the hysterectomy.  The form must be 
signed by the MAP eligible recipient 
prior to the operation.
			   (b)	
Acknowledgement of the sterilizing 
results of the hysterectomy is not 
required from a MAP eligible 
recipient who has been previously 
sterilized or who is past child-
bearing age as defined by the medical 
community.  In this instance, the 
PCP signs the bottom portion of the 
hysterectomy form which states the 
MAP eligible recipient has been 
formerly sterilized, and attaches it to 
the claim.
			   (c)	
An acknowledgement can be signed 
after the fact if the hysterectomy is 
performed in an emergency.
		  (3)	 Birthing 
options services (BOP):  MAD covers 
a MAP eligible pregnant recipient’s 
labor and delivery services at a New 
Mexico department of health (DOH) 
licensed birth center through BOP.  
The BOP is an out-of-hospital birthing 
option for pregnant individuals 
enrolled in the medicaid program 
who are at low-risk for adverse birth 
outcomes.  BOP services are provided 
by an eligible midwife that enrolls as 
a BOP provider with [human services 
department/medical assistance 
division (HSD/MAD)] HCA/MAD.  
The BOP services are specifically for 
basic obstetric care for uncomplicated 
pregnancies and childbirth, including 
immediate newborn care that is 
limited to stabilization of the baby 

during this transition.  The program 
does not cover the full scope of 
midwifery services nor replace 
pediatric care that should occur at a 
primary care clinic.
		  (4)	 Doula 
services:  MAD covers doula services 
to prevent perinatal complication 
or promote the physical and mental 
health of the beneficiary.  MAD 
covers only those services furnished 
by a doula certified by the department 
of health (DOH).
			   (a)	
department of health certification of a 
doula will include the following:
				    (i)	
a uniform application process with 
timelines and procedures;
			                (ii)	
a certification review committee; and
			               (iii)	
a uniform hearing process to allow for 
an applicant to appeal a decision by 
the department of health.
			   (b)	 in 
addition to DOH certification eligible 
doula service providers must:
				    (i) 
be at least 18 years old;
			                (ii) 
maintain a current adult and infant 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
certification from the American Red 
Cross or American Heart Association; 
and
			               (iii) 
complete the basic Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 
1996 (HIPPA) training.
			   (c)	
doula services include the following:
			                 (i)	
prenatal and post-partum physical, 
emotional, and evidence-based 
education support and linkages to 
community-based resources;
			                (ii)	
non-medical labor and delivery 
(L&D) support; and
			               (iii)	
education related to pre-conception, 
pregnancy loss, infant loss, or 
termination of pregnancy.
		  [(4)] (5)	Other 
covered services:  MAD covers 
medically necessary methods, 
procedures, pharmaceutical supplies 
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and devices to prevent unintended 
pregnancy or contraception.
		  [(5)] (6)	
Noncovered reproductive health care:  
MAD does not cover the following 
specific services:
			   (a)	
sterilization reversal services;
			   (b)	
fertility drugs;
			   (c)	 in 
vitro fertilization;
			   (d)	
artificial insemination;
			   (e)	
hysterectomies performed for the sole 
purpose of family planning;
			   (f)	
induced vaginal deliveries prior to 39 
weeks unless medically indicated;
			   (g)	
caesarean sections unless medically 
indicated; and
			   (h)	
elective procedures to terminate a 
pregnancy.
	 E.	 Nutritional 
services:  MAD covers medically 
necessary nutritional services 
which are based on scientifically 
validated nutritional principles and 
interventions which are generally 
accepted by the medical community 
and consistent with the physical and 
medical condition of the MAP eligible 
recipient.  MAD covers only those 
services furnished by PCP, licensed 
nutritionists or licensed dieticians.  
MAD covers the following services:
		  (1)	 Nutritional 
assessments for a pregnant MAP 
eligible recipient and for a MAP 
eligible recipient under 21 years of 
age through the early and periodic 
screening, diagnosis and treatment 
(EPSDT) program.  Nutritional 
assessment is defined as an 
evaluation of the nutritional needs 
of the MAP eligible recipient based 
upon appropriate biochemical, 
anthropometric, physical and dietary 
data to determine nutrient needs and 
includes recommending appropriate 
nutritional intake.
		  (2)	 Nutrition 
counseling to or on behalf of a 
MAP eligible recipient under 21 
years of age who has been referred 

for a nutritional need.  Nutrition 
counseling is defined as advising 
and helping a MAP eligible recipient 
obtain appropriate nutritional intake 
by integrating information from the 
nutrition assessment with information 
on food, other sources of nutrients 
and meal preparation, consistent 
with cultural background and 
socioeconomic status.
		  (3)	
Noncovered nutritional services:  
MAD covers only those services 
furnished by a PCP, licensed 
nutritionist or licensed dietician.  
MAD does not cover the following 
specific services:
			   (a)	
services not considered medically 
necessary for the condition of the 
MAP eligible recipient as determined 
by MAD or its designee;
			   (b)	
dietary counseling for the sole 
purpose of weight loss;
		                 (c)	
weight control and weight 
management programs; and
			   (d)	
commercial dietary supplements or 
replacement products marketed for 
the primary purpose of weight loss 
and weight management;  see 8.324.4 
NMAC.
	 F.	 Transplant 
services:  Non-experimental 
transplant services are covered.  MAD 
covered transplantation services 
include hospital, a PCP, laboratory, 
outpatient surgical, and other MAD 
covered services necessary to perform 
the selected transplantation for the 
MAP eligible recipient and donor.
		  (1)	 Due to 
special medicare coverage available 
for individuals with end-stage renal 
disease, medicare eligibility must 
be pursued by the provider for 
coverage of a kidney transplant before 
requesting MAD reimbursement.
		  (2)	 MAD 
covers the MAP eligible recipient’s 
and donor’s related medical, 
transportation, meals and lodging 
services for non-experimental 
transplantation.
		  (3)	 MAD 
does not cover transplant procedures, 

treatments, use of a drug, biological 
product, a product or a device 
which are considered unproven, 
experimental, investigational or not 
effective for the condition for which 
they are intended or used.
		  (4)	 A written 
prior authorization must be obtained 
for any transplant, with the exception 
of a cornea and a kidney.  The prior 
authorization process must be started 
by the MAP eligible recipient’s 
attending PCP contacting the MAD 
UR contractor.  Services for which 
prior approval was obtained remain 
subject to UR at any point in the 
payment.
	 G.	 Dental services:  
Dental services are covered as an 
optional medical service for a MAP 
eligible recipient.  Dental services 
are defined as those diagnostic, 
preventive or corrective procedures 
to the teeth and associated structures 
of the oral cavity furnished by, or 
under the supervision of, a dentist 
that affect the oral or general health 
of the MAP eligible recipient.  See 42 
CFR Section 440.100(a).  MAD also 
covers dental services, dentures and 
special services for a MAP eligible 
recipient who qualifies for services 
under the EPSDT program.  See 42 
CFR Section 441.55.
		  (1)	 Emergency 
dental care:  MAD covers emergency 
care for all MAP eligible recipients.  
Emergency care is defined as 
services furnished when immediate 
treatment is required to control 
hemorrhage, relieve pain or eliminate 
acute infection.  For a MAP eligible 
recipient under 21 years of age, 
care includes operative procedures 
necessary to prevent pulpal death 
and the imminent loss of teeth, and 
treatment of injuries to the teeth or 
supporting structures, such as bone or 
soft tissue contiguous to the teeth.
			   (a)	
Routine restorative procedures and 
root canal therapy are not emergency 
procedures.
			   (b)	
Prior authorization requirements 
are waived for emergency care, but 
the claim can be reviewed prior to 
payment to confirm that an actual 
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emergency existed at the time of 
service.
		  (2)	 Diagnostic 
services:  MAD coverage for 
diagnostic services is limited to the 
following:
			   (a)	
for a MAP eligible recipient under 
21 years of age, diagnostic services 
are limited to one clinical oral 
examination every six months and 
upon referral one additional clinical 
oral examination by a different dental 
provider every six months;
			   (b)	
one clinical oral examination every 12 
months for a MAP eligible recipient 
21 years and older; and
			   (c)	
MAD covers emergency oral 
examinations which are performed 
as part of an emergency service to 
relieve pain and suffering.
		  (3)	 Radiology 
services:  MAD coverage of radiology 
services is limited to the following:
			   (a)	
one intraoral complete series every 60 
months per MAP eligible recipient; 
this series includes bitewing x-rays;
			   (b)	
additional bitewing x-rays once every 
12 months per MAP eligible recipient; 
and
			   (c)	
panoramic films performed can be 
substituted for an intraoral complete 
series, which is limited to one every 
60 months per MAP eligible recipient.
		  (4)	
Preventive services:  MAD coverage 
of preventive services is subject to 
certain limitations.
			   (a)	
Prophylaxis:  MAD covers for a MAP 
eligible recipient under 21 years of 
age one prophylaxis service every 
six months.  MAD covers for a MAP 
eligible recipient 21 years of age 
and older who has a developmental 
disability, as defined in 8.314.6 
NMAC, one prophylaxis service 
every six months.  For a MAP eligible 
recipient 21 years of age and older 
without a developmental disability, 
as defined in 8.314.6 NMAC, MAD 
covers one prophylaxis service once 
in a 12 month-period.

			   (b)	
Fluoride treatment:  MAD covers for 
a MAP eligible recipient under 21 
years of age, one fluoride treatment 
every six months.  For a MAP eligible 
recipient 21 years of age and older 
MAD, covers one fluoride treatment 
once in a 12-month period.
			   (c)	
Fluoride varnish:  MAD covers for a 
MAP eligible recipient under 21 years 
of age, one fluoride varnish treatment 
every six months.
			   (d)	
Molar sealants:  MAD only covers 
for a MAP eligible recipient under 21 
years of age, sealants for permanent 
molars.  Each MAP eligible recipient 
can receive one treatment per tooth 
every 60 months.  MAD does not 
cover sealants when an occlusal 
restoration has been completed on 
the tooth.  Replacement of a sealant 
within the 60-month period requires 
a prior authorization.  For a MAP 
eligible recipient 21 years of age and 
older, MAD does not cover sealant 
services.
			   (e)	
Space maintenance:  MAD covers 
for a MAP eligible recipient under 
21 years of age fixed unilateral and 
fixed bilateral space maintainers 
(passive appliances).  For a MAP 
eligible recipient 21 years of age and 
older, MAD does not cover space 
maintenance services.
		  (5)	 Restorative 
services:  MAD covers the following 
restorative services:
			   (a)	
amalgam restorations (including 
polishing) on permanent and 
deciduous teeth;
			   (b)	
resin restorations for anterior and 
posterior teeth;
			   (c)	
one prefabricated stainless steel 
crown per permanent or deciduous 
tooth;
			   (d)	
one prefabricated resin crown per 
permanent or deciduous tooth; and
			   (e)	
one recementation of a crown or inlay.
		  (6)	 Endodontic 
services:  MAD covers therapeutic 

pulpotomy for a MAP eligible 
recipient under 21 years of age if 
performed on a primary or permanent 
tooth and no periapical lesion is 
present on a radiograph.
		  (7)	 Periodontic 
services:  MAD covers for a MAP 
eligible recipient certain periodontics 
surgical, non-surgical and other 
periodontics services subject to 
certain limitations:
			   (a)	 a 
collaborative practice dental hygienist 
may provide periodontal scaling and 
root planning, per quadrant after 
diagnosis by a MAD enrolled dentist; 
and
			   (b)	 a 
collaborative practice dental hygienist 
may provide periodontal maintenance 
procedures with prior authorization.
		  (8)	 Removable 
prosthodontic services:  MAD covers 
two denture adjustments per every 12 
months per MAP eligible recipient.  
MAD also covers repairs to complete 
and partial dentures.
		  (9)	 Fixed 
prosthodontics services:  MAD covers 
one recementation of a fixed bridge.
		  (10)	 Oral 
surgery services:
			   (a)	
simple and surgical extractions:  
MAD coverage includes local 
anesthesia and routine post-operative 
care; erupted surgical extractions 
are defined as extractions requiring 
elevation of mucoperiosteal flap and 
removal of bone, or section of tooth 
and closure;
			   (b)	
autogenous tooth reimplantation of a 
permanent tooth:  MAD covers for a 
MAP eligible recipient under 21 years 
of age; and
			   (c)	
the incision and the drainage of an 
abscess for a MAP eligible recipient.
		  (11)	 Adjunctive 
general services:  MAD covers 
emergency palliative treatment 
of dental pain for a MAP eligible 
recipient.  MAD also covers general 
anesthesia and intravenous sedation 
for a MAP eligible recipient.  
Documentation of medical necessity 
must be available for review by 
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MAD or its designee.  For a MAP 
eligible recipient under 21 years of 
age, MAD covers the use of nitrous 
oxide analgesia.  For a MAP eligible 
recipient 21 years of age and older, 
MAD does not cover the use of 
nitrous oxide analgesia.
		  (12)	 Hospital 
care:  MAD covers dental services 
normally furnished in an office 
setting if they are performed in an 
inpatient hospital setting only with a 
prior authorization, unless one of the 
following conditions exist:
			   (a)	
the MAP eligible recipient is under 21 
years of age; or
			   (b)	
the MAP eligible recipient under 
21 years of age has a documented 
medical condition for which 
hospitalization for even a minor 
procedure is medically justified; or
			   (c)	
any service which requires a prior 
authorization in an outpatient setting 
must have a prior authorization if 
performed in an inpatient hospital.
		  (13)	 Behavioral 
management:  Dental behavior 
management as a means to assure 
comprehensive oral health care 
for persons with developmental 
disabilities is covered.  This code 
allows for additional compensation to 
a dentist who is treating persons with 
developmental disabilities due to the 
increased time, staffing, expertise, 
and adaptive equipment required for 
treatment of a special needs MAP 
eligible recipient.  Dentists who have 
completed the training and received 
their certification from DOH are 
eligible for reimbursement.
		  (14)	
Noncovered dental services:  MAD 
does not cover dental services that are 
performed for aesthetic or cosmetic 
purposes.  MAD covers orthodontic 
services only for a MAP eligible 
recipient under 21 years of age and 
only when specific criteria are met 
to assure medical necessary.  MAD 
does not cover the following specific 
services:
			   (a)	
surgical tray is considered part of 
the surgical procedure and is not 
reimburse separately for tray;

		                (b)	
sterilization is considered part 
of the dental procedure and is 
not reimbursed separately for 
sterilization;
			   (c)	
oral preparations, including topical 
fluorides dispensed to a MAP eligible 
recipient for home use;
			   (d)	
permanent fixed bridges;
			   (e)	
procedures, appliances or restorations 
solely for aesthetic, or cosmetic 
purposes;
			   (f)	
procedures for desensitization, re-
mineralization or tooth bleaching;
			   (g)	
occlusal adjustments, disking, 
overhang removal or equilibration;
			   (h)	
mastique or veneer procedures;
			   (i)	
treatment of TMJ disorders, bite 
openers and orthotic appliances;
			   (j)	
services furnished by non-certified 
dental assistants, such as radiographs;
			   (k)	
implants and implant-related services; 
or
			   (l)	
removable unilateral cast metal partial 
dentures.
	 H.	 Podiatry and 
procedures on the foot:  MAD 
covers only medically necessary 
podiatric services furnished by a 
provider, as required by the condition 
of the MAP eligible recipient.  All 
services must be furnished within the 
scope and practice of the podiatrist 
as defined by state law, the New 
Mexico board of podiatry licensing 
requirements, and in accordance 
with applicable federal, state, and 
local laws and rules.  MAD covers 
routine foot care if certain conditions 
of the foot, such as corns, warts, 
calluses and conditions of the nails, 
post a hazard to a MAP eligible 
recipient with a medical condition.  
MAD covers the treatment of warts 
on the soles of the feet (plantar 
warts).  Medical justification for the 
performance of routine care must 
be documented in the MAP eligible 

recipient’s medical record.  MAD 
covers the following specific podiatry 
services.
		  (1)	 Routine 
foot care:  Routine foot care services 
that do not meet the coverage criteria 
of medicare part B are not covered 
by MAD.  MAD covers services only 
when there is evidence of a systemic 
condition, circulatory distress or 
areas of diminished sensation in the 
feet demonstrated through physical 
or clinical determination.  A MAP 
eligible recipient with diagnoses 
marked by an asterisk(*) in the list 
below must be under the active care 
of a physician or physician assistant 
(PA). to qualify for covered routine 
foot care, and must have been 
assessed by that provider for the 
specified condition within six months 
prior to or 60-calendar days after the 
routine foot care service.  A CNP, PA 
and a CNS do not satisfy the coverage 
condition of “active care by a PCP”.
		  (2)	 Common 
billed diagnoses:  The following 
list of systemic diseases is not all-
inclusive and represents the most 
commonly billed diagnoses which 
qualify for medically necessary foot 
care:
			   (a)	
diabetes mellitus*;
			   (b)	
arteriosclerosis obliterans;
			   (c)	
buerger’s disease;
			   (d)	
chronic thrombophlebitis*;
			   (e)	
neuropathies involving the feet 
associated with:
				    (i)	
malnutrition and vitamin deficiency*;
			                (ii)	
malnutrition (general, pellagra);
			               (iii)	
alcoholism;
			               (iv)	
malabsorption (celiac disease, tropical 
sprue);
			                (v)	
pernicious anemia;
			               (vi)	
carcinoma*;
			              (vii)	
diabetes mellitus*;



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXVI, Issue 12/ June 24, 2025 500
			             (viii)	
drugs or toxins*;
			               (ix)	
multiple sclerosis*;
			                (x)	
uremia (chronic renal disease)*;
			               (xi)	
traumatic injury;
			              (xii)	
leprosy or neurosyphilis;
			             (xiii)	
hereditary disorders;
			             (xiv)	
hereditary sensory radicular 
neuropathy;
			              (xv)	
fabry’s disease; and
			             (xvi)	
amyloid neuropathy.
		  (3)	 Routine 
foot care services:  MAD covers 
routine foot care services for a MAP 
eligible recipient who has a systemic 
condition and meets the severity in 
the class findings as follows: one of 
class A findings; or two of class B 
findings; or one of the class B findings 
and two of the following class C 
findings:
			   (a)	
class A findings:  non-traumatic 
amputation of foot or integral skeletal 
portion thereof;
			   (b)	
class B findings:
				    (i)	
absent posterior tibial pulse;
			                (ii)	
absent dorsalis pedis pulse; and
		                            (iii)	
advanced trophic changes as 
evidenced by any three of the 
following: hair growth (decrease or 
increase); nail changes (thickening); 
pigmentary changes (discoloring); 
skin texture (thin, shiny); or skin color 
(rubor or redness);
			   (c)	
class C findings:
				    (i)	
claudication;
			                (ii)	
temperature changes (e.g., cold feet);
			               (iii)	
edema;
			               (iv)	
paresthesias (abnormal spontaneous 
sensations in the feet); or

			                (v)	
burning.
		  (4)	 Subluxated 
foot structure:  Non-surgical and 
surgical correction of a subluxated 
foot structure that is an integral part 
of the treatment of foot pathology 
or that is undertaken to improve the 
function of the foot or to alleviate an 
associated symptomatic condition, 
including treatment of bunions, is 
covered when medical necessity 
has been documented.  Treatment 
for bunions is limited to capsular 
or bony surgery.  The treatment of 
subluxation of the foot is defined as 
partial dislocations or displacements 
of joint surfaces, tendons, ligaments 
or muscles in the foot.
		  (5)	 Foot warts:  
MAD covers the treatment of warts 
on the feet.
		  (6)	
Asymptomatic mycotic nails:  MAD 
covers the treatment of asymptomatic 
mycotic nails in the presence of a 
systemic condition that meets the 
clinical findings and class findings as 
required for routine foot care.
		  (7)	 Mycotic 
nails:  MAD covers the treatment 
of mycotic nails in the absence of a 
covered systemic condition if there 
is clinical evidence of mycosis of 
the toenail and one or more of the 
following conditions exist and results 
from the thickening and dystrophy of 
the infected nail plate:
			   (a)	
marked, significant limitation;
			   (b)	
pain; or
			   (c)	
secondary infection.
		  (8)	 Orthopedic 
shoes and other supportive devices:  
MAD only covers these items when 
the shoe is an integral part of a leg 
brace or therapeutic shoes furnished 
to diabetics who is a MAP eligible 
recipient.
		  (9)	
Hospitalization:  If the MAP eligible 
recipient has existing medical 
condition that would predispose 
[him or her] them to complications 
even with minor procedures, 
hospitalization for the performance of 

certain outpatient podiatric services 
may be covered.
		  (10)	
Noncovered podiatric services:  A 
provider is subject to the limitations 
and coverage restrictions that exist 
for other medical services.  MAD 
does not cover the following specific 
services or procedures.
			   (a)	
Routine foot care is not covered 
except as indicated under “covered 
services” for a MAP eligible recipient 
with systemic conditions meeting 
specified class findings.  Routine foot 
care is defined as:
			                 (i)	
trimming, cutting, clipping and 
debriding toenails;
			                (ii)	
cutting or removal of corns, calluses, 
or hyperkeratosis;
			               (iii)	
other hygienic and preventative 
maintenance care such as cleaning 
and soaking of the feet, application 
of topical medications, and the use 
of skin creams to maintain skin tone 
in either ambulatory or bedfast MAP 
eligible recipient; and
			               (iv)	
any other service performed in the 
absence of localized illness, injury or 
symptoms involving the foot.
			   (b)	
Services directed toward the care or 
the correction of a flat foot condition 
are not covered.  Flat foot is defined 
as a condition in which one or more 
arches of the foot have flattened out.
			   (c)	
Orthopedic shoes and other supportive 
devices for the feet are generally not 
covered.  This exclusion does not 
apply if the shoe is an integral part 
of a leg brace or therapeutic shoes 
furnished to a diabetic MAP eligible 
recipient.
			   (d)	
Surgical or nonsurgical treatments 
undertaken for the sole purpose of 
correcting a subluxated structure in 
the foot as an isolated condition are 
not covered.  Subluxations of the foot 
are defined as partial dislocations 
or displacements of joint surfaces, 
tendons, ligaments, or muscles of the 
foot.
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			   (e)	
MAD will not reimburse for services 
that have been denied by medicare for 
coverage limitations.
	 I.	 Anesthesia:  MAD 
covers anesthesia and monitoring 
services which are medically 
necessary for performance of surgical 
or diagnostic procedures, as required 
by the condition of the MAP eligible 
recipient.  All services must be 
provided within the limits of MAD 
benefit package, within the scope 
and practice of anesthesia as defined 
by state law and in accordance with 
applicable federal and state and local 
laws and rules.
		  (1)	 When a 
provider performing the medical or 
surgical procedure also provides a 
level of anesthesia lower in intensity 
than moderate or conscious sedation, 
such as a local or topical anesthesia, 
payment for this service is considered 
to be part of the underlying medical 
or surgical service and will not be 
covered in addition to the procedure.
		  (2)	 An 
anesthesia service is not covered if the 
medical or surgical procedure is not a 
MAD covered service.
		  (3)	 Separate 
payment is not allowed for qualifying 
circumstances.  Payment is considered 
bundled into the anesthesia allowance.
		  (4)	 Separate 
payment is not allowed for the 
anesthesia complicated by the 
physical status of the MAP eligible 
recipient.
	 J.	 Vision:  MAD 
covers specific vision care services 
that are medically necessary for the 
diagnosis of and treatment of eye 
diseases for a MAP eligible recipient.  
MAD pays for the correction of 
refractive errors required by the 
condition of the MAP eligible 
recipient.  All services must be 
furnished within the limits of the 
MAD benefits package, within the 
scope and practice of the medical 
professional as defined by state law 
and in accordance with applicable 
federal, state and local laws and rules.
		  (1)	 Vision 
exam:  MAD covers routine eye 
exams.  Coverage for an eligible adult 

recipient 21 years of age and older of 
age is limited to one routine eye exam 
in a 36-month period.  An exam for 
an existing medical condition, such 
as cataracts, diabetes, hypertension, 
and glaucoma, will be covered for 
required follow-up and treatment.  
The medical condition must be clearly 
documented on the MAP eligible 
recipient’s visual examination record 
and indicated by diagnosis on the 
claim.  Exam coverage for a MAP 
eligible recipient under 21 years of 
age is limited to one routine eye exam 
in a 12-month period.
		  (2)	
Noncovered vision services:  MAD 
does not cover vision services that are 
performed for aesthetic or cosmetic 
purposes.  MAD covers orthoptic 
assessments and treatments only when 
specific criteria are met to assure 
medical necessity.
	 K.	 Hearing:  All 
audiology screening, diagnostic, 
preventive or corrective services 
require medical clearance.  
Audiologic and vestibular function 
studies are rendered by an audiologist 
or a PCP.  Hearing aid dealers 
and dispensers are not reimbursed 
for audiological, audiometric or 
other hearing tests.  Only licensed 
audiologists and PCPs are reimbursed 
for providing these testing services.
	 L.	 Client medical 
transportation:  MAD covers 
expenses for transportation, meals, 
and lodging it determines are 
necessary to secure MAD covered 
medical or behavioral health 
examination and treatment for a MAP 
eligible recipient in or out of [his 
or her] their home community.  See 
42 CFR 440.170.  Travel expenses 
include the cost of transportation 
by long distance common carrier, 
taxicab, handivan, and ground or 
air ambulance, all as appropriate 
to the situation and location of the 
MAP eligible recipient.  When 
medically necessary, MAD covers 
similar expenses for an attendant 
who accompanies the MAP eligible 
recipient to the medical or behavioral 
health examination or treatment.  
MAD reimburses a MAP eligible 
recipient or the transportation 

provider for medically necessary 
transportation subject to the 
following.
		  (1)	
Free alternatives:  Alternative 
transportation services which may 
be provided free of charge include 
volunteers, relatives or transportation 
services provided by a nursing facility 
(NF) or another residential center.  A 
MAP eligible recipient must certify in 
writing that they do not have access to 
free alternatives.
		  (2)	 Least 
costly alternatives:  MAD covers 
the most appropriate and least costly 
transportation alternatives suitable 
for the MAP eligible recipient’s 
medical or behavioral health 
condition.  If a MAP eligible recipient 
can use a private vehicle or public 
transportation, those alternatives 
must be used before the MAP eligible 
recipient can use more expensive 
transportation alternatives.
		  (3)	 Non-
emergency transportation service:
			   (a)	
MAD covers non-emergency 
transportation services for a MAP 
eligible recipient who does not have 
primary transportation to a MAD 
covered service and who is unable 
to access a less costly form of public 
transportation.
			   (b)	
MAP eligible recipients released 
from incarceration at a correctional 
facility may be transported by a New 
Mexico medicaid transportation 
provider to a pharmacy to fill and 
retrieve prescribed medication.  The 
eligible recipient must have a valid 
prescription that is qualified to be 
filled or re-filled at the time of their 
release from incarceration.
		  (4)	 Long 
distance common carriers:  MAD 
covers long distance services 
furnished by a common carrier if the 
MAP eligible recipient must leave 
[his or her] their home community 
to receive medical or behavioral 
health services.  Authorization forms 
for direct payment to long distance 
bus common carriers by MAD are 
available through the MAP eligible 
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recipient’s local county income 
support division (ISD) office.
		  (5)	 Ground 
ambulance services:  MAD covers 
services for a MAP eligible recipient 
provided by ground ambulances 
when:
			   (a)	
an emergency which requires 
ambulance service is certified by the 
attending provider or is documented 
in the provider’s records as meeting 
emergency medical necessity as 
defined as:
			                 (i)	
an emergency condition that is 
a medical or behavioral health 
condition manifesting itself by acute 
symptoms of sufficient severity 
(including severe pain) such that a 
prudent layperson, who possesses 
an average knowledge of health and 
medicine, could reasonably expect 
the absence of immediate medical 
attention to result in placing the health 
of the MAP eligible recipient (or 
with respect to a pregnant individual, 
the health of the individual or their 
unborn child) in serious jeopardy, 
serious impairment to body function 
or serious dysfunction of any bodily 
organ or part; and
			                (ii)	
medical necessity for ambulance 
services is established if the MAP 
eligible recipient’s condition is such 
that the use of any other method of 
transportation is contraindicated and 
would endanger the MAP eligible 
recipient’s health.
			   (b)	
Scheduled, non-emergency 
ambulance services:  These services 
are covered when ordered by the 
MAP eligible recipient’s attending 
provider who certifies that the use of 
any other method of non-emergency 
transportation is contraindicated by 
the MAP eligible recipient’s medical 
or behavioral condition.
			   (c)	
Reusable items and oxygen:  MAD 
covers non-reusable items and oxygen 
required during transportation.  
Coverage for these items is included 
in the base rate reimbursement for a 
ground ambulance;

		  (6)	 Air 
ambulance services:  MAD covers 
services  for a MAP eligible recipient 
provided by an air ambulance, 
including a private airplane, if an 
emergency exists and the medical 
necessity for the service is certified by 
their attending provider.
			   (a)	
An emergency condition is a medical 
or behavioral health condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms 
of sufficient severity (including 
severe pain) such that a prudent 
layperson, who possesses an average 
knowledge of health and medicine, 
could reasonably expect the absence 
of immediate medical attention to 
result in placing the health of the 
MAP eligible recipient (or with 
respect to a pregnant individual, 
the health of the individual or their 
unborn child) in serious jeopardy, 
serious impairment to body function 
or serious dysfunction of any bodily 
organ or part.
			   (b)	
MAD covers the following services 
for air ambulances:
				    (i)	
non-reusable items and oxygen 
required during transportation;
			                (ii)	
professional attendants required 
during transportation; and
			               (iii)	
detention time or standby time 
up to one hour without provider 
documentation; if the detention or 
standby time is more than one hour, a 
statement from the attending provider 
or flight nurse justifying the additional 
time is required.
		  (7)	 Lodging 
services:  MAD covers lodging 
services if a MAP eligible recipient 
is required to travel to receive 
medical or behavioral health services 
and an overnight stay is required 
due to medical necessity or cost 
considerations.  If medically justified 
and approved, in-state lodging is 
initially set for up to five continuous 
days.  For a longer stay, the need 
for lodging must be re-evaluated by 
the fifth day to authorize up to an 
additional 15 days.  Re-evaluation 
must be made every 15-calendar 

days for extended stays, prior 
to the expiration of the existing 
authorization.  Approval of lodging 
is based on the attending provider’s 
statement of need.  Authorization 
forms for direct payment to a MAD 
approved lodging provider by MAD 
are available through local county 
ISD offices.  In addition, overnight 
lodging could include the following 
situations:
			   (a)	
a MAP eligible recipient who is 
required to travel more than four 
hours each way to receive medical or 
behavioral health services; or
			   (b)	
a MAP eligible recipient who is 
required to travel less than four hours 
each way and is receiving daily 
medical or behavioral health services 
and is not sufficiently stable to travel 
or must be near a facility because of 
the potential need for emergency or 
critical care.
		  (8)	 Meal 
services:  MAD covers meals if a 
MAP eligible recipient is required 
to leave [his or her] their home 
community for eight hours or more to 
receive medical or behavioral health 
services.  Authorization forms for 
direct payment to a meal provider 
by MAD are available through local 
county ISD offices.
		  (9)	 Coverage 
for attendants:  MAD covers 
transportation, meals and lodging 
in the same manner as for a MAP 
eligible recipient for one attendant if 
the medical necessity for the attendant 
is certified in writing by the MAP 
eligible recipient’s attending provider 
or the MAP eligible recipient who is 
receiving medical service is under 
18 years of age.  MAD only covers 
transportation services or related 
expenses for a MAP eligible recipient 
and as certified, [his or her] their 
attendant.  Transportation services 
and related expenses will not be 
reimbursed by MAD for any other 
individual accompanying the MAP 
eligible recipient to a MAD covered 
medical or behavioral health service.
		  (10)	 Coverage 
for a MAP eligible waiver recipient:  
Transportation of a MAP eligible 
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waiver recipient to a provider of a 
waiver service is only covered when 
the service is occupational therapy, 
physical therapy, speech therapy or an 
outpatient behavioral health therapy.
		  (11)	
Out-of-state transportation and 
related expenses:  All out-of-state 
transportation, meals and lodging 
must be prior approved by MAD or its 
designee.  Out-of-state transportation 
is approved only if the out-of-state 
medical or behavioral health service 
is approved by MAD or its designee.  
Documentation must be available to 
the reviewer to justify the out-of-state 
travel and verify that treatment is not 
available in the state of New Mexico.
			   (a)	
Requests for out-of-state 
transportation must be coordinated 
through MAD or its designee;
			   (b)	
Authorization for lodging and meal 
services by an out-of-state provider 
can be granted for up to 30-calendar 
days by MAD or its designee.  
Re-evaluation authorizations are 
completed prior to expiration and 
every 30-calendar days, thereafter.
			   (c)	
Border cities:  A border city is a 
city within 100 miles of a New 
Mexico border (Mexico excluded).  
Transportation to a border city is 
treated as in-state provider service.  A 
MAP eligible recipient who receives 
a MAD reimbursable service from 
a border area provider is eligible 
for transportation services to that 
provider.  See 8.302.4 NMAC, 
to determine when a provider is 
considered an out-of-state provider or 
a border area provider.
		  (12)	 Client 
medical transportation fund:  In a non-
emergency situation, a MAP eligible 
recipient can request reimbursement 
from the client medical transportation 
(CMT) fund through [his or her] 
their local county ISD office for 
money spent on transportation, meals 
and lodging by the MAP eligible 
recipient; for reimbursement from the 
CMT fund, a MAP eligible recipient 
must apply for reimbursement within 
30-calendar days from the date of 
appointment or the date they are 
discharged from the hospital.

			   (a)	
Information requirements:  The 
following information must be 
furnished to the ISD CMT fund 
custodian within 30-calendar days of 
the MAD approved provider visit to 
receive reimbursement:
			                 (i)	
submit a letter on the provider’s 
stationary which indicates that the 
MAP eligible recipient kept the 
appointment for which the CMT 
fund reimbursement is requested; for 
medical or behavioral health services, 
written receipts confirming the date 
of service must be given to the MAP 
eligible recipient for submission to the 
local county ISD office;
			                (ii)
proper referral with original 
signatures and documentation stating 
that the MAD services are not 
available within the community from 
the MAD requesting provider, when a 
referral is necessary;
			               (iii)	
verification of current eligibility of 
the recipient for a MAD service for 
the month the appointment and travel 
is made;
			               (iv)
certification that free alternative 
transportation services are not 
available and that the MAP eligible 
recipient is not enrolled in a [HSD] 
HCA contracted managed care 
organization (MCO);
			                (v)	
verification of mileage; and
			               (vi)	
documentation justifying a medical 
attendant.
			   (b)	
Preparation of referrals for travel 
outside the home community:  If a 
MAP eligible recipient must travel 
over 65 miles from [his or her] their 
home community to receive medical 
care, the transportation provider must 
obtain a written verification from the 
referring provider or from the service 
provider containing the following 
information for the provider to retain 
with their billing records:
				    (i)	
the medical, behavioral health or 
diagnostic service for which the MAP 
eligible recipient is being referred;

			                (ii)	
the name of the out of community 
medical or behavioral health provider; 
and
			               (iii)	
justification that the medical or 
behavioral health care is not available 
in the home community.
			   (c)	
Fund advances in emergency 
situations:  Money from the CMT 
fund is advanced for travel only if 
an emergency exists.  An emergency 
is defined in this instance as a non-
routine, unforeseen accident, injury 
or acute illness demanding immediate 
action and for which transportation 
arrangements could not be made five 
calendar days in advance of the visit 
to the provider.  Advance funds must 
be requested and disbursed prior 
to the medical or behavioral health 
appointment.
			                 (i)
The ISD CMT fund custodian or 
a MAD FFS coordinated service 
contractor or the appropriate 
utilization review (UR) contractor 
verifies that the recipient is eligible 
for a MAD service and has a medical 
or behavioral health appointment 
prior to advancing money from the 
CMT fund and that the MAP eligible 
recipient is not enrolled in a [HSD] 
HCA contracted MCO;
			                (ii)	
written referral for out of community 
service must be received by the 
CMT fund custodian or a MAD FFS 
coordinated service contractor or 
the appropriate UR contractor no 
later than 30-calendar days from the 
date of the medical or behavioral 
health appointment for which the 
advance funds were requested.  If 
a MAP eligible recipient fails to 
provide supporting documentation, 
recoupment proceedings are initiated; 
see Section OIG-900, Restitutions.
			   (d)	
MAP Eligible recipients enrolled in 
a [HSD] HCA contracted MCO:  A 
member enrolled in [HSD] HCA 
contracted MCO on the date of 
service is not eligible to use the 
client medical transportation fund for 
services that are the responsibility of 
the MAP eligible recipient’s MCO.
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		  (13)	
Noncovered transportation 
services:  Transportation services 
are subject to the same limitations 
and coverage restrictions which 
exist for other services.  A payment 
for transportation to a non-covered 
MAD service is subject to retroactive 
recoupment.  MAD does not cover the 
following services or related costs of 
travel:
			   (a)	
an attendant where there is not 
the required certification from the 
MAP eligible recipient’s medical or 
behavioral health provider;
			   (b)	
minor aged children of the MAP 
eligible recipient that are simply 
accompanying them to medical or 
behavioral health services;
			   (c)	
transportation to a non-covered MAD 
service;
			   (d)	
transportation to a pharmacy provider 
with the exception for justice-
involved MAP eligible recipients who 
are released from incarceration at a 
correctional facility within the first 
seven days of release; see 8.324.7 
NMAC.
	 M.	 Telehealth 
services:
		  (1)	
Telemedicine visits:  An interactive 
HIPAA compliant telecommunication 
system must include both interactive 
audio and video and be delivered on 
a real-time basis at the originating 
and distant sites.  If real-time audio/
video technology is used in furnishing 
a service when the MAP eligible 
recipient and the practitioner are 
in the same institutional or office 
setting, then the practitioner should 
bill for the service furnished as if it 
was furnished in person as a face to 
face encounter.  Coverage for services 
rendered through telemedicine shall 
be determined in a manner consistent 
with medicaid coverage for health 
care services provided through in 
person consultation.  For telemedicine 
services, when the originating-site is 
in New Mexico and the distant-site is 
outside New Mexico, the provider at 
the distant-site must be licensed for 

telemedicine to the extent required by 
New Mexico state law and regulations 
or meet federal requirements for 
providing services to IHS facilities or 
tribal contract facilities.  Provision of 
telemedicine services does not require 
that a certified medicaid healthcare 
provider be physically present 
with the MAP eligible recipient 
at the originating site unless the 
telemedicine consultant at the distant 
site deems it necessary.
			   (a)	
Telemedicine originating-site:  
The location of a MAP eligible 
recipient at the time the service is 
being furnished via an interactive 
telemedicine communications system.  
The origination-site can be any of 
the following medically warranted 
sites where services are furnished to a 
MAP eligible recipient.
			                 (i)	
The office of a physician or 
practitioner.
			                (ii)	
A critical access hospital (as described 
in section 1861 (mm)(1) of the Act).
			               (iii)	
A rural health clinic (as described in 
1861 (mm)(2) of the Act).
			               (iv)	
A federally qualified health center (as 
defined in section 1861 (aa)(4) of the 
Act).
			                (v)	
A hospital (as defined in section 1861 
(e) of the Act).
			               (vi)	
A hospital-based or critical access 
hospital-based renal dialysis center 
(including satellites).
			              (vii)	
A skilled nursing facility (as defined 
in section 1819(a) of the Act).
			             (viii)	
A community mental health center (as 
defined in section 1861(ff)(3)(B) of 
the Act).
			               (ix)	
A renal dialysis facility (only for 
the purposes of the home dialysis 
monthly ESRD-related clinical 
assessment in section 1881(b)(3)(B) 
of the Act).
			                (x)	
The home of an individual (only for 
purposes of the home dialysis ESRD-

related clinical assessment in section 
1881(b)(3)(B) of the Act).
			               (xi)	
A mobile stroke unit (only for the 
purposes of diagnosis, evaluation, or 
treatment of symptoms of an acute 
stroke provided in accordance with 
section 1834(m)(6) of the Act).
			              (xii)	
The home of an individual (only 
for the purposes of treatment of 
a substance use disorder or a co-
occurring mental health disorder), 
furnished on or after July 1, 2019, to 
an individual with a substance use 
disorder diagnosis.
			             (xiii)
The home of an individual when 
an interactive audio and video 
telecommunication system that 
permits real-time visit is used between 
the eligible provider and the MAP 
eligible recipient.
			             (xiv)	
A School Based Health Center 
(SBHC) as defined by section 2110(c)
(9) of the Act.
			   (b)	
Telemedicine distant-site:  The 
location where the telemedicine 
provider is physically located at the 
time of the telemedicine service.  
All services are covered to the same 
extent the service and the provider are 
covered when not provided through 
telemedicine.  For these services, use 
of the telemedicine communications 
system fulfills the requirement for a 
face-to-face encounter.
			   (c)	
Telemedicine reimbursement:  MAD 
covers both distant (where the eligible 
provider is located) as well as the 
originating sites (where the MAP 
eligible recipient is located, if another 
eligible provider accompanies the 
patient).  If audio/video technology 
is used in furnishing a service 
when the MAP eligible recipient 
and the practitioner are in the same 
institutional or office setting, then 
the practitioner should bill for 
the service furnished as if it was 
furnished in person and no additional 
reimbursement is made.
			   (d)	
Telemedicine providers:  
Reimbursement for professional 
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services at the originating-site and 
the distant-site are made at the same 
rate as when the services provided 
are furnished without the use of 
a telecommunication system.  In 
addition, reimbursement is made to 
the originating-site for a real-time 
interactive audio/video technology 
telemedicine system fee (where 
the MAP eligible recipient is 
located, if another eligible provider 
accompanies the patient) at the lesser 
of the provider’s billed charge, or the 
maximum allowed by MAD for the 
specific service of procedure.  If the 
originating site is the patient’s home, 
the originating site fee should not be 
billed if the eligible provider does 
not accompany the MAP eligible 
recipient.  The MAP eligible recipient 
is not reimbursed for their computer/
internet.
			   (e)	
A telemedicine originating-site 
communication system fee is covered 
if the MAP eligible recipient was 
present at and participated in the 
telemedicine visit at the originating-
site and the system that is used meets 
the definition of a telemedicine 
system.
		  (2)	 Telephone 
visits:  MAD will reimburse eligible 
providers for limited professional 
services delivered by telephone 
without video.  No additional 
reimbursement is made to the 
originating-site for an interactive 
telemedicine system fee.
		  (3)	 MAD 
will reimburse for services delivered 
through store-and-forward.  To be 
eligible for payment under store-
and-forward, the service must be 
provided through the transference of 
digital images, sounds, or previously 
recorded video from one location 
to another; to allow a consulting 
provider to obtain information, 
analyze it, and report back to the 
referring physician providing the 
telemedicine consultation.  Store-
and-forward telemedicine includes 
encounters that do not occur in 
real time (asynchronous) and are 
consultants that do not require face-
to-face live encounter between patient 
and telemedicine provider.

		  (4)	
Noncovered telemedicine services:  A 
service provided through telemedicine 
is subject to the same program 
restrictions, limitations and coverage 
which exist for the service when 
not provided through telemedicine.  
Telemedicine services are not covered 
when audio/video technology is used 
in furnishing a service when the MAP 
eligible recipient and the practitioner 
are in the same institutional or office 
setting.
	 N.	 Pregnancy 
termination services:  MAD does not 
cover the performance of ‘elective’ 
pregnancy termination procedures.  
MAD will only pay for services to 
terminate a pregnancy when certain 
conditions are met.
		  (1)	 Prior to 
performing pregnancy termination 
services providers must complete 
and file in the MAP eligible recipient 
medical record, a consent for 
pregnancy termination that includes 
written certification of a provider 
that the procedure meets one of the 
following conditions:
			   (a)	
the procedure is necessary to save the 
life of the MAP eligible recipient as 
certified in writing by a provider;
			   (b)	
the pregnancy is a result of rape or 
incest, as certified by the treating 
provider, the appropriate reporting 
agency, or if not reported, the MAP 
eligible recipient is not physically 
or emotionally able to report the 
incident; or
			   (c)	
the procedure is necessary to 
terminate an ectopic pregnancy; or
			   (d)	
the procedure is necessary because 
the pregnancy aggravates a pre-
existing condition, makes treatment 
of a condition impossible, interferes 
with or hampers a diagnosis, or has 
a profound negative impact upon the 
physical, emotional or mental health 
of the MAP eligible recipient.
		  (2)	
Psychological services:  MAD covers 
behavioral health services for a 
pregnant MAP eligible recipient.

		  (3)	 Oral 
medications:  MAD covers oral 
medications approved by the FDA 
have been determined a benefit by 
MAD for pregnancy termination.  
MAD will cover oral medications 
when administered by a provider 
acting within the scope of [his or her] 
their practice board and licensure.
		  (4)	 Informed 
consent:  Under New Mexico law, 
the provider may not require any 
MAP eligible recipient to accept 
any medical service, diagnosis, or 
treatment or to undergo any other 
health service provided under the plan 
if the MAP eligible recipient objects 
on religious grounds or in the case 
of a non-emancipated MAP eligible 
recipient, the legal parent or guardian 
of the non-emancipated MAP eligible 
recipient objects.
			   (a)	
Consent:  Voluntary, informed consent 
by a MAP eligible recipient 18 years 
of age and older, or an emancipated 
minor MAP eligible recipient must 
be given to the provider prior to the 
procedure to terminate pregnancy, 
except in the following circumstances:
		                              (i)	
in instances where a medical 
emergency exists; a medical 
emergency exists in situations where 
the attending PCP certifies that, based 
on the facts of the case presented, 
in [his or her] their best clinical 
judgment, the life or the health of the 
MAP eligible recipient is endangered 
by the pregnancy so as to require an 
immediate pregnancy termination 
procedure;
			               (ii)	
in instances where the MAP 
eligible recipient is unconscious, 
incapacitated, or otherwise 
incapable of giving consent; in such 
circumstances, the consent shall 
be obtained as prescribed by New 
Mexico law;
			              (iii)	
in instances where pregnancy results 
from rape or incest or the continuation 
of the pregnancy endangers the life of 
the MAP eligible recipient;
			               (iv)	
consent is valid for 30-calendar days 
from the date of signature, unless 
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withdrawn by the MAP eligible 
recipient prior to the procedure.
			   (b)	
Required acknowledgements:  In 
signing the consent, the MAP eligible 
recipient must acknowledge that they 
have received, at least, the following 
information:
				    (i)	
alternatives to pregnancy termination;
			                (ii)	
medical procedure(s) to be used;
			               (iii)	
possibility of  the physical, mental, 
or both, side effects from the 
performance of the procedure;
			               (iv)	
right to receive pregnancy termination 
behavioral health services from an 
independent MAD provider; and
			                (v)	
right to withdraw consent up until 
the time the procedure is going to be 
performed.
			   (c)	
Record retention:  A dated and signed 
copy of the consent, with counseling 
referral information, if requested, 
must be given to the MAP eligible 
recipient.  The provider must keep the 
original signed consent with the MAP 
eligible recipient’s medical records.
			   (d)	
Consent for a MAP eligible recipient 
under 18 years of age who is not 
an emancipated minor, in instances 
not involving life endangerment, 
rape or incest:  Informed written 
consent for an non-emancipated 
minor to terminate a pregnancy must 
be obtained, dated and signed by a 
parent, legal guardian, or another 
adult acting ‘in loco parentis’ to the 
minor.  An exception is when the 
minor objects to parental involvement 
for personal reasons or the parent, 
guardian or adult acting ‘in loco 
parentis’ is not available.  The treating 
PCP shall note the minor’s objections 
or the unavailability of the parent or 
guardian in the minor’s chart, and:
				    (i)	
certify in [his or her] their best 
clinical judgment, the minor is mature 
enough and well enough informed 
to make the decision about the 
procedure; in the circumstance where 
sufficient maturity and information is 

not present or apparent, certify that 
the procedure is in the minor’s best 
interests based on the information 
provided to the treating PCP by the 
minor; or
			                (ii)	
refer the minor to an independent 
MAD behavioral health provider in 
circumstances where the treating PCP 
believes behavioral health services 
are necessary before a clinical 
judgment can be rendered on the 
criteria established in Paragraph (1) 
above; the referral shall be made on 
the same day of the visit between the 
minor and the treating PCP where 
consent is discussed; the independent 
MAD behavioral health provider shall 
meet with the minor and confirm in 
writing to the treating PCP whether 
or not the minor is mature enough 
and sufficiently informed to make 
the decision about the procedure; in 
the circumstance where sufficient 
maturity and information is not 
present or apparent, that the procedure 
is in the minor’s best interests based 
on the information provided to the 
independent MAD behavioral health 
provider by the minor; this provider’s 
written report is due to the treating 
PCP within 72 hours of initial referral;
			               (iii)
a minor shall not be required to 
obtain behavioral health services 
referenced in Paragraph (2) above; 
however, if the treating PCP is unable 
or unwilling to independently certify 
the requirements established in 
Paragraph (1) above, the minor must 
be informed by the treating PCP that 
written consent must be obtained by 
the parent, legal guardian or parent 
‘in loco parentis’ prior to performing 
the procedure; or, that the minor must 
obtain a court order allowing the 
procedure without parental consent.
	 O.	 Behavioral health 
professional services:  Behavioral 
health services are addressed 
specifically in 8.321.2 NMAC.
	 P.	 Experimental 
or investigational services:  MAD 
covers medically necessary services 
which are not considered unproven, 
investigational or experimental for the 
condition for which they are intended 
or used as determined by MAD.  
MAD does not cover experimental or 

investigational medical, surgical or 
health care procedures or treatments, 
including the use of drugs, biological 
products, other products or devices, 
except the following:
		  (1)	 Phase 
I, II, III or IV:  MAD may approve 
coverage for routine patient care 
costs incurred as a result of the MAP 
eligible recipient’s participation in a 
phase I, II, III, or IV cancer trial that 
meets the following criteria.  The 
cancer clinical trial is being conducted 
with the approval of at least one of the 
following:
			   (a)	
one of the federal national institutes 
of health;
			   (b)	
a federal national institutes of health 
cooperative group or center;
			   (c)	
the federal department of defense;	
			   (d)	
the FDA in the form of an 
investigational new drug application;
			   (e)	
the federal department of veteran 
affairs; or
			   (f)	
a qualified research entity that meets 
the criteria established by the federal 
national institutes of health for grant 
eligibility.
		  (2)	 Review 
and approval:  The clinical trial has 
been reviewed and approved by an 
institutional review board that has a 
multiple project assurance contract 
approved by the office of protection 
from research risks of the federal 
national institutes of health.
		  (3)	
Experimental or investigational 
interventions:  Any medical, surgical, 
or other healthcare procedure or 
treatment, including the use of a drug, 
a biological product, another product 
or device, is considered experimental 
or investigational if it meets any of 
the following conditions:
			   (a)	
current, authoritative medical and 
scientific evidence regarding the 
medical, surgical, or other health care 
procedure or treatment, including the 
use of a drug, a biological product, 
another product or device for a 
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specific condition shows that further 
studies or clinical trials are necessary 
to determine benefits, safety, efficacy 
and risks, especially as compared with 
standard or established methods or 
alternatives for diagnosis or treatment 
or both outside an investigational 
setting;
			   (b)	
the drug, biological product, other 
product, device, procedure or 
treatment (the “technology”) lacks 
final approval from the FDA or any 
other governmental body having 
authority to regulate the technology;
			   (c)	
the medical, surgical, other health 
care procedure or treatment, including 
the use of a drug, a biological 
product, another product or device 
is the subject of ongoing phase 
I, II, or III clinical trials or under 
study to determine safety, efficacy, 
maximum tolerated dose or toxicity, 
especially as compared with standard 
or established methods or alternatives 
for diagnosis or treatment or both 
outside an investigational setting.
		  (4)	 Review 
of conditions:  On request of MAD 
or its designee, a provider of a 
particular service can be required to 
present current, authoritative medical 
and scientific evidence that the 
proposed technology is not considered 
experimental or investigational.
		  (5)	
Reimbursement:  MAD does not 
reimburse for medical, surgical, other 
health care procedures or treatments, 
including the use of drugs, biological 
products, other products or devices 
that are considered experimental or 
investigational, except as specified 
as follows.  MAD will reimburse 
a provider for routine patient care 
services, which are those medically 
necessary services that would be 
covered if the MAP eligible recipient 
were receiving standard cancer 
treatment, rendered during the MAP 
eligible recipient’s participation in 
phase I, II, III, or IV cancer clinical 
trials.
		  (6)	
Experimental or investigational 
services:  MAD does not cover 
procedures, technologies or therapies 

that are considered experimental or 
investigational.
	 Q.	 Smoking/Tobacco 
cessation:  MAD covers tobacco 
cessation services for all MAP eligible 
recipients.
		  (1)	 Eligible 
medical, dental, and behavioral health 
practitioner:  Cessation counseling 
services may be provided by one of 
the following:
			   (a)	
by or under the supervision of a 
physician; or
			   (b)	 by 
any other MAD enrolled health care 
professional authorized to provide 
other MAD services who is also 
legally authorized to furnish such 
services under state law;
			   (c)	
generally, eligible practitioners 
would be medical practitioners, 
including independently enrolled 
CNPs, behavioral health and dental 
practitioners; physician assistants and 
CNPs not enrolled as independent 
MAD providers, and registered 
nurses and dental hygienists may bill 
for counseling services through the 
enrolled entity under which their other 
services are billed, when under the 
supervision of a dentist or physician;
			   (d)	
counseling service must be prescribed 
by a MAD enrolled licensed 
practitioner.
		  (2)	 Eligible 
pharmacy providers:  For rendering 
tobacco cessation services, eligible 
pharmacists are those who have 
attended at least one continuing 
education course on tobacco cessation 
in accordance with the federal 
public health guidelines found in the 
United States department of health 
and human services; public health 
services’ quick reference guide for 
clinicians, and treating tobacco use 
and dependence.
		  (3)	 Tobacco 
cessation drug items:  MAD covers 
all prescribed tobacco cessation drug 
items for a MAP eligible recipient as 
listed in this section when ordered 
by a MAD enrolled prescriber 
and dispensed by a MAD enrolled 
pharmacy.  MAD does not require 

prior authorization for reimbursement 
for tobacco cessation products, but 
the items must be prescribed by a 
MAD enrolled practitioner.  Tobacco 
cessation products include, but are not 
limited to the following:
			   (a)	
sustained release buproprion products;
			   (b)	
varenicline tartrate tablets; and
			   (c)	
prescription and over-the-counter 
(OTC) nicotine replacement drug 
products, such as lozenges, patches, 
gums, sprays and inhalers.
		  (4)	 Covered 
services:  MAD makes reimbursement 
for assessing all MAP eligible 
recipient’s tobacco dependence 
including a written tobacco cessation 
treatment plan of care as part of an 
evaluation and management (E&M) 
service, and may bill using the 
E&M codes.  MAD covers face-
to-face counseling when rendered 
by an appropriate provider.  The 
effectiveness of counseling is 
comparable to pharmacotherapy 
alone.  Counseling plus medication 
provides additive benefits.  Treatment 
may include prescribing any 
combination of tobacco cessation 
products and counseling.  Providers 
can prescribe one or more modalities 
of treatment.  Cessation counseling 
session refers face-to-face MAP 
eligible recipient contact of either
			   (a)	
intermediate session (greater than 
three minutes up to 10 minutes); or
			   (b)	
intensive session (greater than 10 
minutes).
		  (5)	
Documentation for counseling 
services:  Ordering and rendering 
practitioners must maintain sufficient 
documentation to substantiate the 
medical necessity of the service and 
the services rendered, which may 
consist of documentation of tobacco 
use.  The rendering practitioner must 
maintain documentation that face-to-
face counseling was prescribed by 
a practitioner, even if the case is a 
referral to self, consistent with other 
NMAC rules and other materials.
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		  (6)	 Limitations 
on counseling sessions:  The services 
do not have any limits on the length 
of treatment or quit attempts per year.  
The program also allows participants 
to try multiple treatments and does 
not impose any requirement to enroll 
into counseling.  During the 12-month 
period, the practitioner and the MAP 
eligible recipient have flexibility 
to choose between intermediate or 
intensive counseling modalities of 
treatment for each session.
	 R.	 Screening, brief 
intervention and referral to 
treatment (SBIRT) service:  SBIRT 
is a community-based practice 
designed to identify, reduce and 
prevent problematic substance 
use or misuse and co-occurring 
mental health disorders as an 
early intervention.  Through early 
identification in a medical setting, 
SBIRT services expand and enhance 
the continuum of care and reduce 
costly health care utilization.  The 
primary objective is the integration of 
behavioral health with physical health 
care.  SBIRT is delivered through 
a process consisting of universal 
screening, scoring the screening tool 
and a warm hand-off to a SBIRT 
trained professional who conducts 
a face-to-face brief intervention for 
positive screening results.  If the need 
is identified for behavioral health 
treatment, the certified SBIRT staff, 
with the eligible recipient’s approval, 
assists in securing behavioral health 
services.  Only a physical health 
office, clinic, or facility who has been 
certified by a [HSD] HCA approved 
SBIRT trainer and uses the approved 
healthy lifestyle questionnaire (HLQ) 
can complete the screen.  The physical 
office, clinic or facility must be the 
billing provider, not the individual 
practitioner.  All practitioners must be 
SBIRT certified and are employees 
or contractors of a SBIRT physical 
health office, clinic or facility.  See 
the SBIRT policy and billing manual 
for detailed description of the service 
and billing requirements.
	 S.	 Other services:  
Other covered and noncovered 
services including hospitalization and 
other residential facilities, devices 

for hearing and vision correction, 
behavioral health services, home and 
community based services, EPSDT 
services, case management and other 
adjunct and specialty services are 
described in other NMAC rules.
[8.310.2.12 NMAC - Rp, 8.310.2.12 
NMAC, 1/1/2014; A, 8/10/2021; A, 
4/5/2022; A/E, 1/1/2025; A, 7/1/2025]

8.310.2.13	 GENERAL 
NONCOVERED SERVICES
	 A.	 General 
noncovered services:  MAD does not 
cover certain procedures, services, 
or miscellaneous items.  See specific 
provider or service rules or sections 
of this rule for additional information 
on service coverage and limitations.  
A provider cannot turn an account 
over to collections or to any other 
factor intending to collect from the 
MAP eligible recipient or [his or her] 
their authorized representative; see 
8.302.2 NMAC.  A provider cannot 
bill a MAP eligible recipient or [his 
or her] their authorized representative 
for the copying of the MAP eligible 
recipient’s records, and must provide 
copies of the MAP eligible recipient’s 
records to other providers upon 
request of the MAP eligible recipient.
	 B.	 Appointment, 
interest and carrying charges:  
MAD does not cover penalties on 
payments for broken or missed 
appointments, costs of waiting time, 
or interest or carrying charges on 
accounts.  A provider may not bill 
a MAP eligible recipient or [his or 
her] their authorized representative 
for these charges or the penalties 
associated with missed or broken 
appointments or failure to produce 
eligibility cards, with the exception of 
MAP recipient eligibility categories of 
CHIP or WDI who may be charged up 
to $5 for a missed appointment.
	 C.	 Contract services:  
Services furnished by a contractor, 
an organization, or an individual who 
is not the billing provider must meet 
specific criteria for coverage as stated 
in MAD or its designee’s NMAC 
rules, billing instructions, policy 
manuals; see 8.302.2 NMAC.
	 D.	 Cosmetic services 
and surgeries:  MAD does not 

cover cosmetic items or services 
that are prescribed or used for 
aesthetic purposes.  This includes 
items for aging skin, for hair loss, 
and personal care items such as 
non-prescription lotions, shampoos, 
soaps or sunscreens.  MAD does not 
cover cosmetic surgeries performed 
for aesthetic purposes.  “Cosmetic 
surgery” is defined as a procedure 
performed to improve the appearance 
of physical features that may or may 
not improve the functional ability of 
the area of concern.  MAD covers 
only a surgery that meets specific 
criteria and is approved as medically 
necessary reconstructive surgery.
	 E.	 Postmortem 
examinations:  MAD does not cover 
postmortem examinations.
	 F.	 Education or 
vocational services:  MAD does 
not cover literature, booklets, and 
other educational materials.  Dietary 
counseling is covered only for a 
MAP eligible recipient under 21 
years of age, as part of the EPSDT 
program and for a pregnant MAP 
eligible recipient.  MAD does 
not cover formal educational or 
vocational training services, unless 
those services are included as active 
treatment services for a MAP eligible 
recipient in intermediate care facility 
for individuals with intellectual 
disabilities (ICF-IID)or for a MAP 
eligible recipient under 21 years of 
age receiving inpatient psychiatric 
services. See 42 CFR 441.13(b).  
“Formal educational services” relate 
to training in traditional academic 
subjects.  Vocational training services 
relate to organized programs directly 
related to the preparation of a MAP 
eligible recipient for paid or unpaid 
employment.
	 G.	 Hair or nail 
analysis:  MAD does not cover hair 
or nail analysis.
	 H.	 Preparations 
dispensed for home use:  MAD 
does not cover oral, topical, otic, or 
ophthalmic preparations dispensed to 
a MAP eligible recipient by a PCP, 
a CNP, a P.A., or an optometrist for 
home use or self administration unless 
authorized by MAD to assure the 
availability of medications.
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	 I.	 Routine physical 
examinations:  MAD only covers a 
routine physical examination for:
		  (1)	 a MAP 
eligible recipient residing in a NF or 
an ICF-IID facility.
		  (2)	 a MAP 
eligible recipient under 21 years of 
age through the tot to teen health 
check screen, New Mexico’s EPSDT 
screening program.  Included in the 
coverage is the physical examinations, 
screenings and treatment.
	 J.	 Screening services:  
MAD does not cover screening 
services that are not used to make 
a diagnosis, such as chromosome 
screening, hypertension screening, 
diabetic screening, general health 
panels, executive profiles, paternity 
testing, or premarital screens.  MAD 
covers screening services for a 
MAP eligible recipient under 21 
years of age through the tot to teen 
healthcheck program.  MAD covers 
screening services ordered by a 
provider for cancer detection such 
as pap smears and mammograms 
for a MAP eligible recipient when 
medically appropriate.
	 K.	 Services not 
covered by medicare:  MAD does 
not cover services, procedures, or 
devices that are not covered by 
medicare due to their determination 
that the service is not medically 
necessary or that the service is 
experimental or not effective.
	 L.	 Bariatric surgery 
services: Bariatric surgery services 
are covered only when medically 
indicated and alternatives are not 
successful.
	 M.	 Services and tests 
which are not routinely warranted 
due to the MAP eligible recipient’s 
age:  MAD does not reimburse for 
routine screening, tests, or services 
which are not medically necessary 
due to the age of the MAP eligible 
recipient:
		  (1)	
Papanicolaou test (pap smear) for 
women under 21 years of age unless 
prior history or risk factors make the 
test medically warranted; and
		  (2)	 prostate 
specific antigen (PSA) test for men 

under age 40 unless prior history or 
risk factors make the test medically 
warranted.
	 N.	 Services for 
surrogate mothers:  MAD does 
not pay for services for pregnancy, 
complications encountered during 
pregnancy related conditions, prenatal 
care and postpartum care, or delivery 
for services to a surrogate mother 
for which an agreement or contract 
between the surrogate mother and 
another party exists.
[8.310.2.13 NMAC - Rp, 8.310.2.14 
NMAC, 1/1/2014; A, 8/10/2021; A, 
4/5/2022; A, 7/1/2025]

8.310.2.14	 PRIOR 
AUTHORIZATION AND 
UTILIZATION REVIEW:  All 
MAD services are subject to UR 
for medical necessity and program 
compliance.  Reviews can be 
performed before services are 
furnished, after services are furnished 
and before payment is made, or after 
payment is made.  The provider must 
contact [HSD] HCA or its authorized 
agents to request UR instructions.  
It is the provider’s responsibility 
to access these instructions or ask 
for hard copies to be provided, to 
understand the information provided, 
to comply with the requirements, and 
to obtain answers to questions not 
covered by these materials.  When 
services are billed to and paid by 
a coordinated services contractor 
authorized by [HSD] HCA, the 
provider must follow that contractor’s 
instructions for authorization of 
services.
	 A.	 Prior 
authorization:  Procedures or 
services may require a prior 
authorization from MAD or its 
designee.  Services for which a prior 
authorization was obtained remain 
subject to UR at any point in the 
payment process, including after 
payment has been made.  It is the 
provider’s responsibility to contact 
MAD or its designee and review 
documents and instructions available 
from MAD or its designee to 
determine when a prior authorization 
is necessary.

		  (1)	
Dental services:  MAD covers 
certain services, including some 
diagnostic, preventive, restorative, 
endodontic, periodontic, removable 
prosthodontics, maxillofacial 
prosthetic, oral surgery, and 
orthodontic services only when a 
prior authorization is received from 
MAD or its designee.  MAD covers 
medically necessary orthodontic 
services to treat handicapping 
malocclusions for a MAP eligible 
recipient under 21 years of age by 
prior authorization.
		  (2)	
Transplantation services:  A written 
prior authorization must be obtained 
for any transplant, with the exception 
of a cornea and a kidney.  The prior 
authorization process must be started 
by the MAP eligible recipient’s 
attending PCP contacting the MAD 
UR contractor.  Services for which 
prior approval was obtained remain 
subject to UR at any point in the 
payment process.
		  (3)	 Pregnancy 
termination services:  Services to 
terminate a pregnancy do not require 
a prior authorization from MAD or its 
designee.
		  (4)	
Eligibility determination:  The prior 
authorization of a service does 
not guarantee that an individual is 
eligible for MAD or other health care 
programs.  A provider must verify 
that an individual is eligible for a 
specific program at the time services 
are furnished and must determine if 
a MAP eligible recipient has other 
health insurance.
		  (5)	
Reconsideration:  A provider who 
disagrees with a prior authorization 
-request denial or another review 
decision can request reconsideration; 
see 8.350.2 NMAC.
	 B.	 Prior 
authorization and UR:  MAD has 
developed a UR process to regulate 
provider compliance with MAD 
quality control and cost containment 
objectives.  See 42 CFR Section 
456.  Specific details pertinent to a 
service or a provider are contained 
in NMAC rules or UR instructions 
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for that specific service or provider 
type.  MAD makes available on the 
[HSD/MAD] HCA/MAD website, 
on other program-specific websites, 
or in hard copy format, information 
necessary to participate in health 
care programs administered by 
[HSD] HCA or its authorized agents, 
including program rules, billing 
instruction, UR instructions, and other 
pertinent materials.  When enrolled, a 
provider receives instruction on how 
to access these documents.  It is the 
provider’s responsibility to access 
these instructions, to understand the 
information provided and to comply 
with the requirements.  The provider 
must contact [HSD] HCA or its 
authorized agents to obtain answers 
to questions related to the material or 
not covered by the material.  To be 
eligible for reimbursement, a provider 
must adhere to the provisions of 
[his or her] their MAD provider 
participation agreement (PPA) and all 
applicable statutes, regulations, rules, 
and executive orders.  MAD or its 
selected claims processing contractor 
issues payments to a provider using 
electronic funds transfer (EFT) only.  
A provider must supply necessary 
information in order for payment to 
be made.
	 C.	 Medical necessity 
requirements:  MAD reimburses a 
provider for furnishing MAD covered 
service to a MAP eligible recipient 
only when the service is medically 
necessary.  Medical necessity is 
required for the specific service, 
level of care (LOC), and service 
setting, if relevant to the service.  
A provider must verify that MAD 
covers a specific service and that the 
service is medically necessary prior 
to furnishing the service.  Medical 
necessity determinations are made 
by professional peers based on 
established criteria, appropriate to 
the service that are reviewed and 
approved by MAD.  MAD denies 
payment for services that are not 
medically necessary and for services 
that are not covered by MAD.  The 
process for determining medical 
necessity is called UR.  The UR of 
a MAD service may be performed 
directly by MAD or its designee, or 

another state agency designated by 
MAD.
	 D.	 Timing of UR:
		  (1)	 A UR may 
be performed at any time during the 
service, payment, or post payment 
processes.  In signing the MAD 
PPA, a provider agrees to cooperate 
fully with MAD or its designee in 
their performance of any review 
and agree to comply with all review 
requirements.  The following are 
examples of the reviews that may be 
performed:
			   (a)	
prior authorization review (review 
occurs before the service is 
furnished);
			   (b)	
concurrent review (review occurs 
while service is being furnished);
			   (c)	
pre-payment review (claims review 
occurring after service is furnished 
but before payment);
			   (d)	
retrospective review (review occurs 
after payment is made); and
			   (e)	
one or more reviews may be used by 
MAD to assess the medical necessity 
and program compliance of any 
service.
		  (2)	 Prior 
authorization reviews:  A claim 
for a service that requires a prior 
authorization are paid only if the 
prior authorization was obtained and 
approved by MAD or MAD’s UR 
contractor, prior to services being 
furnished.  A prior authorization 
specifies the approved number 
of service units that a provider is 
authorized to furnish to a MAP 
eligible recipient and the date the 
service must be provided.
			   (a)	 A 
prior authorization does not guarantee 
that an individual is eligible for a 
specific MAD service.  A provider 
must verify that individuals are 
eligible for a specific MAD service at 
the time the service is furnished.
			   (b)	
Information on the specific service 
or procedure that requires a prior 
authorization for a specific provider 
type are contained in the applicable 

MAD rules and the UR instructions 
for that provider type or service.
			   (c)	
A service that has been approved 
by MAD or its designee does not 
prevent a later denial of payment if 
the service has been determined to 
be not medically necessary or if the 
individual was not eligible for the 
service.
			   (d)	 A 
prior authorization review is used to 
authorize service for a MAP eligible 
recipient before a service is furnished.  
A request for a retroactive prior 
authorization may be approved only 
under the following circumstances:
		                              (i)	
approval is made as part of the 
process of determining MAD 
eligibility for certain categories, 
such as a MAD institutional care or 
home and community-based services 
waiver (HCBSW) programs.  In 
these situations, the determination of 
medical necessity for an institutional 
LOC of the service is a factor in 
establishing MAD eligibility and 
may be made after the MAP eligible 
recipient receives NF or HCBSW 
services;
			                (ii)	
the service is furnished before the 
determination of the effective date 
of the recipient’s MAP eligibility 
for a MAD service or the servicing 
provider’s MAD PPA; a retrospective 
request for a prior authorization is 
based on retrospective recipient or 
provider eligibility must be received 
in writing by MAD or its designee 
within 30 calendar days of the date of 
the eligibility determination;
			               (iii)	
in cases of medical emergency; a 
medical emergency is defined as a 
medical condition, manifesting itself 
by acute symptoms of sufficient 
severity that the absence of immediate 
medical attention could be reasonably 
expected to result in one of the 
following: an individual’s death; 
placement of an individual’s health in 
serious jeopardy; serious impairment 
of bodily functions; or serious 
dysfunction of any bodily organ or 
part;
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			               (iv)	
a service that is furnished to a 
medicare recipient who is also eligible 
for a MAD service and medicare 
has denied payment for a reason that 
is not based on medical necessity; 
requests for a retroactive prior 
authorization must be accompanied 
by a copy of the document from 
medicare that denied payment and 
states the reason for denial; a service 
denied payment by medicare because 
of lack of medical necessity is not 
covered by MAD.
		  (3)	 Concurrent 
review:  A concurrent review is 
conducted while the service is being 
furnished.  A continued stay or 
continued service review is concurrent 
review for medical necessity.
		  (4)	
Prepayment review:  A prepayment 
review is conducted after a service 
has been furnished and a claim 
for payment has been filed by the 
provider.  If a service is not a covered 
MAD benefit or not medically 
necessary, payment for that service 
will be denied.
		  (5)	
Retrospective review:  A retrospective 
review is conducted after the claim 
has been processed and payment is 
made.  Information from the paid 
claim is compared with the provider 
records detailing the service and 
medical necessity.
			   (a)	 If 
MAD determines the service specified 
on the claim was not performed or, 
was not a covered benefit or was 
not medically necessary, the MAD 
payment is recouped.
			   (b)	
Retrospective review involves the 
review of a specific portion or the 
entire record of service.  Depending 
on the service, validation of either 
or both the diagnosis or procedure, 
validation of diagnostic related 
groups (DRGs), and quality of care 
are examples of indicators or issues 
which may be reviewed.
			   (c)	
A retrospective review may be 
conducted by MAD or its designee 
on a random or selective basis.  In 
addition to reviews performed by 
a MAD staff or its designee, MAD 

analyzes statistical data to determine 
utilization patterns.  Specific 
areas of overutilization may be 
identified that result in recoupment 
or repayment from either or both a 
provider or the assignment of a MAP 
eligible recipient to a MAD medical 
management designated provider.
			   (d)	
A selective or scheduled review 
is conducted to focus on the 
overutilization and underutilization 
of a specific service or provider.  The 
service or procedure selected for 
this focused retrospective review is 
identified by MAD as potential or 
actual problems.
	 E.	 Denial of payment:  
If a service or procedure is not 
medically necessary or not a covered 
MAD service, MAD may deny a 
provider’s claim for payment.  If 
MAD determines that a service is not 
medically necessary before the claim 
payment, the claim is denied.  If this 
determination is made after payment, 
the payment amount is subject to 
recoupment or repayment.
	 F.	 Review of 
decisions:  A provider who disagrees 
with a prior authorization request 
denial or another review decision may 
request reconsideration from MAD 
or the MAD designee that performed 
the initial review and issued the 
initial decision; see 8.350.2 NMAC.  
A provider who is not satisfied with 
the reconsideration determination 
may request a [HSD] HCA provider 
administrative hearing; see 8.352.3 
NMAC.
[8.310.2.14 NMAC - Rp, 8.310.2.15 
NMAC, 1/1/2014; A, 7/1/2025]
______________________________

HEALTH CARE 
AUTHORITY

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
DIVISION

This is an amendment to 8.312.2 
NMAC, Sections 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 
16, 18, 19, 23, 24, and 25, effective 
8/1/2025.

8.312.2.7	 DEFINITIONS:
	 A.	 “Authorized 
representative” means the individual 

designated to represent and act 
on the claimant’s behalf.  The 
eligible recipient or managed care 
organization (MCO) member’s 
authorized representative must 
provide formal documentation 
authorizing the named individual or 
individuals to access the identified 
case information for a specified 
purpose and time frame.  An 
authorized representative may be 
an attorney representing a person or 
household, a person acting under the 
authority of a valid power of attorney, 
a guardian ad litem, or any other 
individual or individuals designated 
in writing by the eligible recipient or 
MCO member.
	 B.	 “Designee” means 
a state agency or an institution MAD 
has designated to be responsible for:
		  (1)	 conducting 
a preadmission screening and annual 
resident review (PASRR) level 1 
screening to identify if a medical 
assistance program (MAP) eligible 
recipient or a MCO member has 
a mental illness or an intellectual 
disability; or
		  (2)	 conducting 
a PASRR level 2 evaluation.
	 C.	 [“DOH-
DDSD”] “HCA DDSD” means the 
developmental disabilities support 
division of the [department of health] 
health care authority, which conducts 
the PASRR level II evaluation for 
a MAP eligible recipient or a MCO 
member that has been identified 
through a PASRR level 1 screen.
	 D.	 “[HSD] HCA 
administrative hearing” or 
“fair hearing” means an informal 
evidentiary hearing that is conducted 
by the [HSD fair hearings bureau 
(FHB)] HCA office of fair hearings 
so that evidence may be presented as 
it relates to an adverse action taken, 
or intended to be taken, by MAD, the 
MCO or their designees.
	 E.	 “MAD” means the 
medical assistance division, which 
administers medicaid and other 
medical assistance programs (MAP) 
under [HSD] HCA.
	 F.	 “MAP” means 
the medical assistance programs 
administered by MAD.
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	 G.	 “MCO” means a 
member’s [HSD] HCA contracted 
managed care organization.
	 H.	 “Member” means 
a MAP eligible recipient enrolled in a 
[HSD] HCA contracted MCO.  Once 
a member requests a [HSD] HCA 
administrative hearing, the member is 
referred to as a claimant.
	 I.	 “Notice of action” 
means the notice issued by MAD, 
the MCO or their designees of their 
intent to take an adverse action 
against an eligible recipient or a 
member in the form an adverse 
determination is made with regard to 
the preadmission or annual resident 
review requirements.
	 J.	 “Nursing facility 
(NF)” means a MAD enrolled, and 
as appropriate, a MCO contracted, 
nursing facility which meets the 
requirements as described in 8.312.2 
NMAC. The NF completes a PASRR 
level one screen for a MAP eligible 
recipient or a MCO member.
[8.312.2.7 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.7 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.8	 MISSION 
STATEMENT:  [To reduce the 
impact of poverty on people living 
in New Mexico by providing support 
services that help families break 
the cycle of dependency on public 
assistance.] We ensure that New 
Mexicans attain their highest level of 
health by providing whole-person, 
cost-effective, accessible, and high-
quality health care and safety-net 
services.
[8.312.2.8 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.8 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.10	 ELIGIBLE 
PROVIDERS: Health care to 
eligible recipients or members 
is furnished by a variety of 
providers and provider groups. 
The reimbursement and billing for 
these services is administered by 
MAD.  Upon approval of a New 
Mexico MAD provider participation 
agreement (PPA) by MAD or its 
designee, licensed practitioners, 
facilities and other providers of 

services that meet applicable 
requirements are eligible to be 
reimbursed for furnishing covered 
services to eligible recipients.  A 
provider must be enrolled before 
submitting a claim for payment to the 
MAD claims processing contractors 
or the MCO.  MAD makes available 
on the [HSD/MAD] HCA/MAD 
website, on other program-specific 
websites, or in hard copy format, 
information necessary to participate 
in health care programs administered 
by [HSD] HCA or its authorized 
agents, including program rules, 
billing instructions, utilization review 
(UR) instructions, and other pertinent 
materials.  When enrolled, a provider 
receives [instruction] instructions on 
how to access these documents. It is 
the provider’s responsibility to access 
these instructions, to understand the 
information provided and to comply 
with the requirements.  The provider 
must contact [HSD] HCA or its 
authorized agents to obtain answers 
to questions related to the material.  
To be eligible for reimbursement, a 
provider must adhere to the provisions 
of the MAD PPA and all applicable 
statutes, regulations, and executive 
orders.  MAD, its selected claims 
processing contractor or the MCO 
issues payments to a provider using 
electronic funds transfer (EFT) only. 
Eligible providers include:
	 A.	 nursing facilities 
(NF) which:
		  (1)	 are 
currently licensed and certified by the 
department of health (DOH) to meet 
MAD nursing facility conditions of 
participation; see 42 CFR Part 483, as 
amended;
		  (2)	 comply 
with the eligible recipient or MCO 
member resident’s personal funds 
rules;
		  (3)	 comply 
with MAD, its UR or the MCO UR 
processes and agree to operate in 
accordance with all MAD NMAC 
rules, including the performance of 
discharge planning;
		  (4)	 comply 
with the NMAC MAD rules for the 
pre-admission screening and resident 
review (PASRR) of mentally ill and 
intellectually disabled program;

		  (5)	 ensure 
the required nurse aide training is 
implemented; and
		  (6)	 ensure that 
facilities with 60 or more MAD beds 
certify a minimum of four distinct 
beds in the medicare program;
	 B.	 the above 
requirements can be waived if the NF 
meets one of the following conditions:
		  (1)	 the NF is 
located in a rural area and is unable 
to attract therapists as required by the 
medicare program.  For a waiver to 
be granted under this condition, the 
provider must prove that good faith 
efforts to hire or contract with the 
required therapists have been made;
		  (2)	 the NF has 
obtained a waiver of the registered 
nurse (RN) staffing requirement from 
DOH, in accordance with applicable 
federal regulations; or
		  (3)	 the NF is 
one of two or more NFs in the same 
town owned or operated by the same 
owner/manager and one of the other 
facilities is medicare-certified; in 
addition, the NF must demonstrate 
on a yearly basis that the waiver 
does not hinder access to medicare 
part A services for eligible recipients 
or members and that the facility 
is using, to the best of its ability, 
corridor billings to medicare for part 
B services(s);  if medicare removes 
the ability to do corridor billing, the 
waiver automatically ceases.
			   (a)	
Any requests for a waiver must 
contain sufficient documentation 
to support the request and must be 
submitted in writing to MAD;
			   (b)	
medicare is the primary payer for 
NF services covered under the 
medicare program; NF services must 
be provided within the scope of 
the practice and licensure for each 
provider; and must be in compliance 
with the statutes, rules and regulations 
of the applicable practice and with 
the New Mexico administrative code 
(NMAC) MAD rules.
[8.312.2.10 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.10 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXVI, Issue 12/ June 24, 2025513
8.312.2.11	 PROVIDER 
RESPONSIBILITIES:
	 A.	 A provider who 
furnishes services to a medicaid or 
other health care program eligible 
recipient or member must comply 
with all federal and state laws, 
regulations, and executive orders 
relevant to the provision of services 
as specified in the MAD PPA.  A 
provider also must conform to MAD 
program rules and instructions 
as specified in the MAD NMAC 
rule manual and its appendices, 
and program directions and billing 
instructions, as updated.  A provider 
is also responsible for following 
coding manual guidelines and centers 
for medicare and medicaid services 
(CMS) national correct coding 
initiatives (NCCI), including not 
improperly unbundling or upcoding 
services.
	 B.	 A provider must 
verify that an individual is eligible 
for a specific health care program 
administered by [HSD] HCA and its 
authorized agents, and must verify 
the recipient’s enrollment status at 
the time services are furnished.  A 
provider must determine if an eligible 
recipient or member has other health 
insurance. A provider must maintain 
records that are sufficient to fully 
disclose the extent and nature of 
the services provided to an eligible 
recipient or member.
	 C.	 When services 
are billed to and paid by a MAD 
fee-for-service coordinated services 
contractor authorized by [HSD] HCA, 
under an administrative services 
contract, the provider must also enroll 
as a provider with the coordinated 
services contractor and follow that 
contractor’s instructions for billing 
and for authorization of services; see 
8.302.1 NMAC.
[8.312.2.11 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.11 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.13	 COVERED 
SERVICES:
	 A.	 MAD covers NF 
services identified as allowable costs; 
see 8.312.3 NMAC.
	 B.	 MAD covers 

physical, occupational and speech 
therapy services furnished to an 
eligible recipient or member residing 
in a NF in the following manner:
		  (1)	 if the 
eligible recipient or member is also 
eligible for medicare and the NF does 
part B billing, the co-payment or 
deductible is processed by MAD or 
the MCO for services is paid by MAD 
or the MCO;
		  (2)	 if the 
eligible recipient or member receives 
high NF level services, services are 
included in the MAD facility rate; or
		  (3)	 if eligible, 
the recipient or member receives low 
NF level services, services are billed 
separately by participating therapy 
providers.
	 C.	 MAD covers a 
NF per diem add-on for ventilator 
services in long-term and skilled 
nursing facilities in New Mexico.
		  (1)	 The per 
diem add-on costs of providing 
services to the ventilator dependent 
resident or member shall be 
maintained separately (as a distinct 
part) of each facility’s annual cost 
report.
		  (2)	 Ventilator 
dependent per diem add-on rates will 
cover skilled nursing care services 
and will be all-inclusive.
		  (3)	 Ventilator 
dependent per diem add-on services 
must be prior authorized by the MCO. 
The resident’s or member’s clinical 
condition shall be reviewed every 90 
days to determine if the resident’s 
or member’s medical condition 
continues to warrant services at 
the ventilator dependent NF rate.  
Prior authorization (PA) through 
the MCO spans a 90-day maximum 
time period.  The NF is required to 
resubmit requests for continued stay 
prior to expiration of the current PA.  
If a resident or member no longer 
requires the use of a ventilator, the 
provider shall not receive additional 
reimbursement beyond the New 
Mexico medicaid nursing home per 
diem rate determined for the facility.
		  (4)	 Long-
term and skilled nursing facilities 
in New Mexico must be certified by 

the department of health to provide 
ventilator services.
		  (5)	 Eligible 
ventilator dependent recipients 
residing in a NF must meet the 
following criteria:
			   (a)	
Have a health condition that requires 
close medical supervision defined as 
24 hours a day of licensed nursing 
care along with specialized services or 
equipment;
			   (b)	
Require mechanical ventilation 
greater than or equal to six hours a 
day;
			   (c)	
Have tracheostomy (with daily care) 
and require mechanical ventilation for 
a portion of each day for stabilization;
			   (d)	
Require continuous pulse oximetry 
monitoring to check the stability of 
oxygen saturation levels;
			   (e)	
Require respiratory assessment and 
daily documentation by a licensed 
respiratory therapist or registered 
nurse;
			   (f)	
Have a provider’s order for 
respiratory care to include suctioning 
as needed;
			   (g)	
Have tracheostomy care with 
suctioning and room air mist or 
oxygen as needed, and one of the four 
treatment procedures listed below:
				    (i)	
total parenteral nutrition;
			                (ii)	
inpatient physical, occupational, or 
speech therapy;
			               (iii)	
tube feeding (nasogastric or 
gastrostomy); or
			               (iv)	
inhalation therapy treatments every 
shift and a minimum of four times per 
24-hour period.
			   (h)	
The recipient’s diagnosis must be 
consistent with ICD diagnosis codes 
for ventilator dependency;
			   (i)	
The skilled nursing facility must be 
approved for ventilator care; and
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			   (j)	
Providers must be specially trained 
and competent in respiratory and vent 
care.
[8.312.2.13 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.13 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.15	 ELIGIBLE 
RECIPIENT AND MEMBER 
PERSONAL FUND ACCOUNTS:
	 A.	 As a condition for 
MAD provider participation, each 
NF must establish and maintain an 
acceptable system of accounting 
for an eligible recipient or member 
resident’s personal funds when an 
eligible recipient or member requests 
that [his or her] their personal funds 
be cared for by the facility.  See 
42 CFR Section 483.10(c) and see 
7.9.2.22 NMAC.
		  (1)	 Requests 
for a NF to care or not care for 
an eligible recipient or member 
resident’s funds must be made in 
writing and secured by a request to 
handle recipient or member funds 
form or letter signed by the eligible 
recipient or member or [his or her] 
their authorized representative.  The 
form or letter is kept in the eligible 
recipient or member’s file at the 
facility.
		  (2)	 An eligible 
recipient or member’s personal fund 
consists of a monthly maintenance 
allowable, established by MAD.  If 
the eligible recipient or member 
resident receives any income in 
excess of this allowance, the excess 
is applied to the cost of the eligible 
recipient or member resident’s 
medical care at the NF.  This excess 
is reported as a medical care credit to 
the facility by the local county income 
support division (ISD) office, when 
applicable.
		  (3)	 A NF must 
have procedures on the handling of 
eligible recipient or member residents’ 
funds.  These procedures must not 
allow the facility to commingle 
eligible recipient or member residents’ 
funds with facility funds.
		  (4)	 A NF 
should use these applicable federal 
statutes, regulations and state rules 

to develop procedures for handling 
eligible recipient or member resident’s 
funds.
		  (5)	 An eligible 
recipient or member resident has 
the right to manage [his or her] their 
financial affairs and no NF can require 
an eligible recipient or member 
resident to deposit [his or her] their 
personal funds with the NF.
		  (6)	 A NF must 
purchase a surety bond or furnish self-
insurance to ensure the security of all 
personal funds deposited with the NF.
		  (7)	 Failure 
of a NF to furnish an acceptable 
accounting system constitutes a 
deficiency that must be corrected by 
the provider and verified by DOH 
survey teams.
	 B.	 Fund custodians:  
A NF must designate a full-time 
employee and an alternate to serve 
as fund custodians for handling 
an eligible recipient or member 
resident’s money on a daily basis; see 
7.9.2.22 NMAC.
		  (1)	
Another individual, other than 
those employees who have daily 
responsibility for the fund, must do 
the following:
			   (a)	
reconcile balances of each eligible 
recipient or member accounts with the 
collective bank account;
			   (b)	
periodically audit and reconcile the 
petty cash fund; and
			   (c)	
authorize checks for the withdrawal of 
funds from the bank account.
		  (2)	 A NF must 
ensure that there is a full, complete 
and separate accounting, based 
on generally accepted accounting 
principles, of each eligible recipient 
or member resident’s personal funds 
entrusted to [his or her] their NF 
on the eligible recipient or member 
resident’s behalf.
	 C.	 Bank account:  A 
NF must establish a bank account 
for the deposit of all money for each 
eligible recipient or member resident 
who requests the NF to handle [his or 
her] their funds. An eligible recipient 
or member resident’s personal funds 

are to be held separately and not 
commingled with the NF funds; see 
7.9.2.22 NMAC.
		  (1)	 A NF 
must deposit an eligible recipient 
or member’s personal funds of 
more than $50 in an interest bearing 
account that is separate from any 
of the NF operating accounts and 
which credits all interest earned on 
the eligible recipient or member 
resident’s account to that account. An 
eligible recipient or member resident 
must have convenient access to these 
funds.
		  (2)	 A NF 
must maintain an eligible recipient 
or member resident’s personal funds 
up to $50 in an interest bearing 
account or a petty cash fund that is 
separate from any of the NF operating 
accounts.  An eligible recipient 
or member resident must have 
convenient access to these funds.
		  (3)	 Individual 
financial records must be available on 
the request of an eligible recipient or 
member resident or [his or her] their 
authorized representative.
		  (4)	 Within 
30 calendar days of the death of an 
eligible recipient or member resident 
whose personal funds are deposited 
with the facility, a NF must convey 
the deceased eligible recipient or 
member resident’s funds and a final 
accounting of these funds to the 
individual or probate jurisdiction 
administering the deceased eligible 
recipient or member resident’s estate.
	 D.	 Establishment of 
individual accounts:  A NF must 
establish accounts for each eligible 
recipient or member resident in which 
all transactions can be recorded.  
Accounts can be maintained in a 
general ledger book, card file or loose 
leaf binder; see 7.9.2.22 NMAC.
		  (1)	 For 
money received, the source, amount 
and date must be recorded.  The NF 
must provide the eligible recipient or 
member resident or [his or her] their 
authorized representative receipts 
for the money.  The NF still retains 
a copy of the deposit in the eligible 
recipient or member resident’s 
individual account file.
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		  (2)	 The 
purpose, amount and date of all 
disbursements to or on behalf of an 
eligible recipient or member resident 
must be recorded.  All money spent 
either on behalf of the eligible 
recipient or member resident or 
withdrawn by the eligible recipient 
or member resident or [his or her] 
their authorized representative must 
be validated by receipts or signatures 
on each eligible recipient or member 
resident’s individual ledger sheet.
		  (3)	 The NF 
must notify each eligible recipient 
or member resident when the 
account balance is $200 less than the 
supplemental security income (SSI) 
resource limit for one person specified 
in Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (3) 
of Subsection B of Section 1611 of 
the Social Security Act.  If the amount 
of the account and the value of the 
eligible recipient or member resident’s 
other nonexempt resources reach the 
SSI resource limit for one person, the 
eligible recipient or member resident 
can lose eligibility for a medical 
assistance program (MAP) or SSI.
	 E.	 Personal fund 
reconciliation:  The NF must balance 
each eligible recipient or member 
resident’s individual accounts, the 
collective bank accounts and the petty 
cash fund at least once each month.  
The NF must furnish each eligible 
recipient or member resident or [his 
or her] their authorized representative 
with an accounting of the eligible 
recipient or member residents’ funds 
at least quarterly.  Copies of each 
eligible recipient or member resident’s 
individual account records can be 
used to furnish this information; see 
7.9.2.22 NMAC.
	 F.	 Petty cash fund:  
The NF must maintain a cash fund 
in the facility to accommodate the 
small cash requirements of an eligible 
recipient or member resident.  $5 
or less per each eligible recipient or 
member resident may be adequate.  
The amount of money kept in the 
petty cash fund is determined by 
the number of NF residents using 
the service and the frequency and 
availability of bank service.  A petty 
cash fund ledger must be established 

to record all actions regarding money 
in this fund; see 7.9.2.22 NMAC.
		  (1)	 To 
establish the fund, the NF must 
withdraw money from the collective 
bank account and keep it in a locked 
cash box.
		  (2)	 To use 
the petty cash fund, the following 
procedures should be established:
			   (a)	 an 
eligible recipient or member resident 
or [his or her] their authorized 
representative request small amounts 
of spending money;
			   (b)	
the amount disbursed is entered on 
each eligible recipient resident’s 
individual ledger record; and
			   (c)	
the eligible recipient or member 
resident or [his or her] their 
authorized representative signs an 
account record and receives a receipt.
		  (3)	 To 
replenish the petty cash fund, the 
following procedures should be used.
			   (a)	
The money left in the cash box is 
counted and added to the total of all 
disbursements made since the last 
replenishment; and the total of the 
disbursements plus cash on hand 
equals the beginning amount.
			   (b)	
Money equal to the amount of 
disbursements is withdrawn from the 
collective bank account.
		  (4)	 To 
reconcile the fund, the following 
procedures should be used once each 
month:
			   (a)	
count money at hand; and
			   (b)	
total cash disbursed either from 
receipts or each eligible recipient or 
member resident’s individual account 
records; the cash on hand plus total 
disbursements equals petty cash total.
		  (5)	 To close 
each eligible recipient or member 
resident account, the NF should do the 
following:
			   (a)	
enter date of and reason for closing 
the account;

			   (b)	
write a check against the collective 
bank account for the balance shown 
on each eligible recipient or member 
resident’s individual account record;
			   (c)	
get signature of the eligible 
recipient resident or [his or her] 
their authorized representative on 
the eligible recipient or member 
resident’s individual account record, 
as receipt of payment; and
			   (d)	
notify the local ISD office if closure 
is caused by death of an eligible 
recipient or member resident so 
that prompt action can be taken 
to terminate assistance; within 30 
calendar days of the death of an 
eligible recipient or member resident 
who has no relatives;  the NF conveys 
the eligible recipient or member 
resident’s funds and a final accounting 
of the funds to the individual or 
probate jurisdiction administering 
the eligible recipient or member 
resident’s estate; see 42 CFR Section 
483.10(c)(6).
	 G.	 Retention of 
records:  All account records are 
retained for at least six years or, in 
case of an audit, until the audit is 
completed.
	 H.	 Non-acceptable 
uses of residents’ personal funds:  
Non-acceptable uses of an eligible 
recipient or member resident’s 
personal funds include the following:
		  (1)	 payment or 
charges for services or items covered 
by MAD or medicare specified as 
allowable costs; see 8.312.3 NMAC;
		  (2)	 difference 
between the NF’s billed charge and 
the MAD payment; and
		  (3)	 payment 
for services or supplies routinely 
furnished by the NF, such as linens or 
nightgowns;
		  (4)	 a NF 
cannot impose charges against 
eligible recipient resident’s personal 
funds for any item or service for 
which payment is made by MAD or 
for any item the eligible recipient or 
member resident or [his or her] their 
authorized representative did not 
request;
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		  (5)	 a NF 
must not require eligible recipient or 
member resident or [his or her] their 
authorized representative to request 
any item or service as a condition of 
admission or continued stay;
		  (6)	 a NF 
must inform an eligible recipient 
or member resident or [his or her] 
their authorized representative 
who requests non-covered items or 
services that there is a charge for the 
item and the amount of the charge.
	 I.	 Monitoring of 
residents’ personal funds:  NFs must 
make all files and records involving 
an eligible recipient or member 
resident’s personal funds available 
for inspection by authorized state or 
federal auditors.  DOH survey teams 
verify that a NF has established 
systems to account for an eligible 
recipient or member resident’s 
personal funds, including the 
components described above. Failure 
to furnish an acceptable accounting 
system constitutes a deficiency that 
must be corrected; see 7.9.2.22 
NMAC.
[8.312.2.15 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.15 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.16	 RESERVE BED 
DAYS:  MAD pays to hold or reserve 
a bed for an eligible recipient or 
member resident in a NF to allow 
for the eligible recipient or member 
resident to make a brief home visit, 
for acclimation to a new environment, 
or for hospitalization according to the 
limits and conditions outlined below.
	 A.	 Coverage of 
reserve bed days:  MAD covers six 
reserve bed days per calendar year for 
every long term care eligible recipient 
or member resident for hospitalization 
without prior approval.  MAD covers 
three reserve bed days per calendar 
year for a brief home visit without 
prior approval.  MAD covers an 
additional six reserve bed days per 
calendar year with prior approval 
to support an eligible recipient or 
member resident to adjust to a new 
environment as part of the discharge 
plan.

		  (1)	 An eligible 
recipient or member resident’s 
discharge plan must clearly state the 
objectives, including how the home 
visits or visits to alternative placement 
relate to discharge implementation.
		  (2)	 The 
prior approval request must include 
the eligible recipient or member 
resident’s name, MAP identification 
number, requested approval dates, 
copy of the discharge plan, name and 
address for individuals who will care 
for the eligible recipient or member 
resident during the visit or placement 
and a written medical order for trial 
placement.
	 B.	 Documentation of 
reserve bed days:  When an eligible 
recipient or member resident is 
discharged from a NF for any reason, 
appropriate documentation must be 
placed in the eligible recipient or 
member resident’s chart. A medical 
order must be obtained if the eligible 
recipient or member resident is 
hospitalized, requests a home visit or 
a trial placement.
	 C.	 Re-admission 
review:  A new level of care (LOC) 
determination must be performed 
by MAD, its UR contractor or 
the MCO if an eligible recipient 
or member resident is gone from 
[this or her] their NF for more than 
three midnights.  A NF notification 
form must be completed, including 
information on the reason for the 
eligible recipient or member resident’s 
absence, outcome of the leave and 
any other pertinent information 
concerning the leave; see the MAD 
managed care policy manual.
	 D.	 Reimbursement 
and billing for reserve bed days:  
Reimbursement for reserve bed 
days to the NF is limited to the 
rate applicable for LOC medically 
necessary for the eligible recipient 
or member resident, as determined 
and approved by MAD, its UR 
contractor or the MCO.  The reserve 
bed day reimbursement is equal to 
50% of the regular payment rate for 
MAD fee-for-service or as otherwise 
negotiated between the NF provider 
and the MCO.  Billing for reserve 
bed days is based on the nursing 

census, which runs from midnight to 
midnight.  MAD or the MCO pays 
for the admission day but not for the 
discharge day.
[8.312.2.16 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.16 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.18	 PRE-
ADMISSION SCREENING 
AND RESIDENT REVIEW 
(PASRR) OF MENTALLY ILL 
AND INTELLECTUALLY 
DISABLED INDIVIDUALS:  As 
part of the initial NF communication 
form for a new admission or as part 
of a subsequent specified review 
as determined by PASRR, or a 
significant change review as indicated 
by the minimum data set (MDS) 
for an eligible recipient or member 
resident with identified mental 
illness or is intellectually disabled, 
the NF must complete a level I 
PASRR screening.  See Omnibus 
Reconciliation Acts of 1987 and 1990 
as codified at 42 CFR Section 483.100 
Subpart C.  See also P.L. 104-315 
which amends title XIX of the Social 
Security Act effective October 19, 
1996.  This requirement applies to all 
applicants or residents, regardless of 
payment source.
	 A.	 Pre-admission 
screens not required:  Pre-admission 
screens do not need to be performed 
on the following eligible recipient or 
member resident:
		  (1)	 when 
admitted from the hospital whose 
attending physicians certify before 
admission to the NF that the eligible 
recipient or member resident is likely 
to require NF care for less than 30 
days (as determined by PASRR 
review of [the his or her] their level I 
screen data which was done prior to 
NF admission);
		  (2)	 when 
readmitted to NFs from a hospital 
to which [he or she was] they 
were transferred for the purpose of 
receiving care; and
		  (3)	 when 
transferred from one NF to another 
without an intervening hospital stay.
	 B.	 Purpose of the 
screens:  The purpose of the PASRR 
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screen is to determine whether 
residents have a mental illness or 
an intellectual disability, need the 
level of services furnished in a NF 
and need specialized services based 
on the mental illness or intellectual 
disability.  A NF performs the level 
I screen which identifies an eligible 
recipient or member resident who 
has a mental illness or an intellectual 
disability.  When an eligible recipient 
or member resident is identified, the 
NF refers [him or her] them to the 
[DOH] HCA DDSD for a PASRR 
level II evaluation.
	 C.	 Level II screen 
determination:  The PASRR level II 
screen determines the following:
		  (1)	 the eligible 
recipient or member resident’s total 
needs are such that [his or her] their 
needs can be met in an appropriate 
community setting;
		  (2)	 the eligible 
recipient or member resident’s total 
needs are such that they can be met 
only on an inpatient basis, which 
can include the option of placement 
in a home and community-based 
service waiver program, but for which 
inpatient care is necessary;
		  (3)	 if inpatient 
care is appropriate and desired, the 
NF is an appropriate institutional 
setting for meeting those needs; or
		  (4)	 if inpatient 
care is appropriate and desired but 
the NF is not the appropriate setting 
for meeting the eligible recipient or 
member resident’s needs, another 
setting, such as an intermediate 
care facility for individuals with 
intellectual disabilities (ICF-IID) can 
be indicated.
	 D.	 Right to an 
administrative hearing:  An 
individual who has been adversely 
affected by the preadmission 
screening or resident review 
screening is entitled to a [HSD] HCA 
administrative hearing.  See 8.354.2 
NMAC for a detailed description 
of this specific type of [HSD] HCA 
administrative hearings.
		  (1)	 An eligible 
recipient or member or [his or her] 
their authorized representative may 
request a [HSD] HCA administrative 
hearing.

		  (2)	 MAD, the 
MCO or their designees do not pay 
fees or costs, including attorney’s 
fees, incurred by the individual or [his 
or her] their authorized representative 
as a result of a [HSD] HCA pre-
hearing conference or a [HSD] HCA 
administrative hearing, or if [he or she 
files] they file an appeal of the [HSD] 
HCA administrative hearing final 
decision.
	 E.	 Restriction on 
reimbursement for medicaid 
residents:  A NF is not reimbursed for 
any service furnished to an eligible 
recipient or member resident when 
pre-admission screens, subsequent 
specified reviews or significant 
change reviews are not performed in 
a timely manner.  MAD or the MCO 
pays only for services furnished after 
the screens or reviews are performed 
and will recoup amounts paid to a 
NF during periods of noncompliance.  
MAD or the MCO payment for 
services does not begin until a level 
II screening has been performed, if 
applicable.
[8.312.2.18 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.18 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.19	 MINIMUM 
DATA SET:
	 A.	 A long term care 
facility participating in the medicare 
and is an enrolled MAD provider is 
required to conduct a comprehensive, 
accurate, standardized, reproducible 
assessment of each eligible recipient 
or member resident’s functional 
capacity.  See Sections 4201 (a)
(3) and 4211 (a)(3) of the Omnibus 
Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1987.
	 B.	 The capacity 
assessment describes the resident’s 
ability to perform daily life functions 
and any significant impairment in 
functional capacity.  The assessment 
is based on a uniform MDS of core 
elements and common definitions 
specified by the secretary of the 
federal health and human services 
department. A NF is required to 
use the most current iteration of the 
MDS.  A section of the MDS requires 
a NF to identify eligible recipient 
or member residents who may be 

interested in transitioning back to [his 
or her] their community.
		  (1)	 The 
resident assessment instrument 
(RAI) is specified by the state.  State 
RAIs include at least the health 
care financing administration MDS, 
triggers, resident assessment protocols 
(RAPs) and utilization guidelines.
		  (2)	 On a 
date to be specified by the federal 
government, NFs will be required to 
encode the MDS in machine-readable 
form.  After that date, all MDS 
reporting will be done electronically.
[8.312.2.19 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.19 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.23	 RESIDENT 
RIGHTS TO REQUEST AN 
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING:  
An eligible recipient or member 
resident who believes that the NF 
has erroneously determined that [he 
or she] they should be transferred 
or discharged may request a [HSD] 
HCA administrative hearing.  A NF 
must provide an eligible recipient 
or member resident notice of the 
proposed transfer or discharge.  The 
notice must inform the eligible 
recipient or member resident of [his 
or her] their right to request a hearing, 
the method by which a hearing can 
be requested and [his or her] their 
right to present evidence in person or 
through [his or her] their authorized 
representative; see 8.354.2 NMAC 
and the MAD MCO policy manual.
[8.312.2.23 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.23 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.24	 PRIOR 
APPROVAL AND UTILIZATION 
REVIEW:  All MAD services are 
subject to utilization review for 
medical necessity, inspection of care, 
and program compliance. Reviews 
can be performed before services are 
furnished, after services are furnished, 
and before payment is made, or 
after payment is made; see 8.310.2 
NMAC.  The provider must contact 
[HSD] HCA or its authorized agents 
to request UR instructions.  It is the 
provider’s responsibility to access 
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these instructions or ask for paper 
copies to be provided, to understand 
the information provided, to comply 
with the requirements, and to obtain 
answers to questions not covered by 
these materials.
	 A.	 Prior approval:  
Certain procedures or services can 
require prior approval from MAD, the 
MCO or their designee.  Services for 
which prior approval was obtained 
remain subject to UR at any point in 
the payment process.
	 B.	 Eligibility 
determination:  Prior authorization 
of services does not guarantee 
that an individual is eligible for 
MAD services or other health care 
programs.  A provider must verify that 
an individual is eligible for a specific 
program at the time services are 
furnished and must determine if the 
eligible recipient or member has other 
health insurance.
	 C.	 Reconsideration:  
A provider who disagrees with a 
prior approval request denial or 
other review decisions can request a 
reconsideration of utilization review; 
see 8.350.2 NMAC.
[8.312.2.24 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.24 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A/E, 3/1/2025; A, 
8/1/2025]

8.312.2.25	
REIMBURSEMENT: A NF 
provider must submit claims for 
reimbursement on the long term care 
turn around document (TAD) or its 
successor; see 8.302.2 NMAC.
	 A.	 MAD reimburses a 
NF at the lesser of the following:
		  (1)	 the NF’s 
billed charges;
		  (2)	 the 
prospective reimbursement rates 
constrained by the ceilings established 
by MAD; see 8.312.3 NMAC; and
		  (3)	 the NF’s 
billed charge must be its usual and 
customary charge for services; 
“usual and customary charge” refers 
to the amount which the individual 
provider charges the general public 
in the majority of cases for a specific 
procedure or service.
	 B.	 Reimbursement 
limitations:  Payments are made only 

to a MAD enrolled, and as appropriate 
a [HSD] HCA MCO contracted NF.  
Payments to a NF are limited to those 
service costs which are included 
as allowable costs under approved 
provisions of the medicaid state 
plan or the MAD alternative benefit; 
see 8.312.3 NMAC.  All claims for 
payment from MAD or the MCO 
are subject to utilization review and 
control.
	 C.	 Reimbursement 
methodology:  See 8.312.3 NMAC 
for a detailed description of this 
methodology.
[8.312.2.25 NMAC - Rp, 8.312.2.25 
NMAC, 8/1/2014; A, 8/1/2025]
______________________________

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

TITLE 6	 PRIMARY AND 
SECONDARY EDUCATION
CHAPTER 30	 EDUCATIONAL 
STANDARDS – GENERAL 
REQUIREMENTS
PART 19	 PURPLE STAR 
PUBLIC SCHOOLS PROGRAM

6.30.19.1	 ISSUING 
AGENCY:  Public Education 
Department, hereinafter the 
department. 
[6.30.19.1 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

6.30.19.2	 SCOPE:  All 
school districts and charter schools.
[6.30.19.2 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

6.30.19.3	 STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Sections 9-24-8, 
22-2-1, 22-2-2, and 22-13-34 NMSA 
1978.
[6.30.19.3 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

6.30.19.4	 DURATION:  
Permanent.
[6.30.19.4 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

6.30.19.5	 EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  June 24, 2025, unless a later 
date is cited in the history note at the 
end of a section.
[6.30.19.5 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

6.30.19.6	 OBJECTIVE:  
This rule provides the criteria and 

application process for New Mexico’s 
purple star public schools program, 
which provides a mechanism for 
schools to ease the transition of 
students of military families into 
new schools by providing academic, 
social and emotional support to those 
students or, for schools that do not 
serve military-connected students, 
those schools that want to recognize 
and celebrate military service and the 
accomplishments of active military 
and veterans.
[6.30.19.6 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

6.30.19.7	 DEFINITIONS:  
	 A.	 “Military-
connected student” means a student 
enrolled in a school district or charter 
school who is a dependent of a current 
or former member of the United 
States military, New Mexico National 
Guard, or reserve force in the 
United States military or who was a 
dependent of a member of the United 
States military, New Mexico National 
Guard, or reserve force in the United 
States military who was killed in the 
line of duty.
	 B.	 “Military point 
of contact (MPOC)” means an 
individual, who may be a school 
counselor, teacher, administrator, or 
a school educational support staff 
member, who supports highly mobile 
students.
	 C.	 “Purple star public 
school” means a school approved by 
the department that meets the criteria 
established in Section 22-13-34 
NMSA 1978 and Sections 9 or 10 of 
this rule.
	 D.	 “School-based 
student-led transition program” 
means an initiative planned and 
carried out by students to support the 
successful integration and adjustment 
of new students, particularly during 
times of transition. This program 
promotes peer connection, inclusion, 
and leadership.
[6.30.19.7 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

6.30.19.8	 APPLICATION 
AND RENEWAL:  
	 A.	 Schools seeking 
designation as a New Mexico purple 
star public school shall submit 
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an application available on the 
department’s website.
	 B.	 Schools shall 
maintain records demonstrating 
completion and maintenance of the 
required program elements and shall 
provide those records to department 
staff upon request.
	 C.	 The purple star 
public school designation is valid 
for three school years. After three 
years, schools shall reapply to the 
department to maintain New Mexico’s 
purple star public school designation.
	 D.	 Schools not 
successfully designated purple star 
public schools after their application 
is submitted may reapply.
[6.30.19.8 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

6.30.19.9	 PROGRAM 
ELEMENTS FOR PURPLE 
STAR PUBLIC SCHOOLS WITH 
ACTIVE-DUTY MILITARY 
FAMILIES:  A public school that 
enrolls military-connected students 
shall submit to the department with 
their purple star school application 
evidence the school has fulfilled the 
following requirements:
 	 A.	 The public school 
applicant shall designate a staff 
member to serve as the school MPOC.
		  (1)	 The 
MPOC shall complete professional 
development provided by the school 
on the unique needs of military 
students and families utilizing training 
materials from the military child 
education coalition website.
		  (2)   	 The MPOC 
shall support military-connected 
students and their families by:
			   (a)	
serving as the point of contact and 
working collaboratively between 
military connected students, their 
families, the school, and military 
personnel;
			 
(b)	 maintaining familiarity 
with enrollment and withdrawal 
procedures, records transfer, existing 
community and installation resources, 
and student supports; and
			   (c)	
providing additional resources for 
school personnel on issues related to 

military-connected students.
 	 B.    	 The public school 
applicant shall include a page on 
the school website for resources and 
information for military families, 
which may include:
		  (1)	 Relocation 
information, such as overview of 
school environment, extracurricular 
activities, tutoring, student codes of 
conduct, and key staff contacts such 
as the MPOC;
		  (2)	 Details 
on enrollment and registration 
procedures, including:
			   (a)	
enrollment for military families;
			   (b)	
transfer information;
			   (c)	
documentation checklist for student 
records, transcripts, and residency; 
and
			   (d)	
eligibility requirements for free 
state funded public school pre-
kindergarten;
		  (3)	
Withdrawal procedures;
		  (4)	
Information on the interstate compact 
on educational opportunity for 
military children;
		  (5)	
Information on special education 
services and Section 504 of the 
rehabilitation act of 1973;
		  (6)	
Information on available student 
counseling and support services; and
		  (7)	
Opportunities for parental 
involvement and engagement.
	 C.	 The public school 
applicant shall provide a list of 
resources describing the available 
academic, social and emotional 
supports to assist military-connected 
students which may include, but are 
not limited to the following:
		  (1)	 academic 
advisement and interventions;
		  (2)	 school-
based, student-led transition 
programs;
		  (3)	 peer-
support systems;

		  (4)	 new 
student orientation to the school 
environment and procedures;
		  (5)	 social 
events or welcoming activities 
organized throughout the school year 
to help military-connected students 
and families learn about the school 
culture, routines, and surrounding 
community; and
		  (6)	 military 
recognition events.
	 D.	 The public school 
applicant shall submit a resolution 
supporting military students to its 
local school board or charter school 
governing council and the public 
school’s application to become a 
purple star public school.
[6.30.19.9 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

6.30.19.10	 PROGRAM 
ELEMENTS FOR PURPLE STAR 
PUBLIC SCHOOLS WITHOUT 
ACTIVE-DUTY MILITARY 
FAMILIES:  A school that does not 
enroll military-connected students 
may apply to be a purple star public 
school by:
	 A.	 emphasizing the 
importance and honor of military 
service, which may include: veterans 
day assemblies, armed forces 
day celebrations, hosting patriotic 
events, letter-writing campaigns, 
care package drives, partnerships 
with veterans organizations, 
inviting local military personnel to 
speak, maintaining a wall of honor, 
recognizing military appreciation 
month, and producing public service 
announcements that highlight the 
value of military service;
	 B.	 recognizing 
the service to the country, 
accomplishments of veterans active-
duty and reserve military personnel, 
and the national guard personnel in 
their communities;
	 C.	 sponsoring special 
events recognizing military service;
	 D.	 celebrating students 
who have committed to serving in the 
military; and
	 E.	 submitting a 
resolution to the local school board 
or charter school governing council 
supporting students of military 
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families, and the public school’s 
application to become a purple star 
public school.
[6.30.19.10 NMAC – N, 6/24/2025]

History of 6.30.19 NMAC:  
[RESERVED]
______________________________

PUBLIC EDUCATION 
DEPARTMENT

This is an amendment to 6.35.2 
NMAC, Sections 10, 11, 13, 14, and 
15, effective June 24, 2025.

6.35.2.10	
IMPLEMENTATION OF THE 
INDIAN EDUCATION ACT:
	 A.	 The secretary and 
the assistant secretary shall:
		  (1)	
collaborate, in cooperation with the 
Indian education advisory council, 
state and federal departments and 
agencies, and tribal governments to 
identify ways such entities can assist 
the department in the implementation 
of the Indian Education Act; and
		  (2)	 convene 
semiannual government-to-
government meetings for the purpose 
of receiving input on education of 
American Indian and Alaska Native 
students.
	 B.	 The assistant 
secretary shall:
		  (1)	 work to 
expand appropriate Indian education 
for American Indian and Alaska 
Native students in preschool through 
grade 20;
		  (2)	 coordinate 
with appropriate administrators and 
divisions to ensure that department 
administrators make implementation 
of the Indian Education Act a priority;
		  (3)	 in 
accordance with the rules of the 
department and after consulting 
with the Indian education advisory 
council and determining the resources 
available within the department:
			   (a)	
provide assistance, including advice 
on allocation of resources, to school 
districts and Indian nations, tribes, 
and pueblos to improve services 

to meet the educational needs 
of American Indian and Alaska 
Native students based on current 
published indigenous best practices in 
education;
			   (b)	
provide assistance to school districts 
and Indian nations, tribes, and pueblos 
in New Mexico in the planning, 
development, implementation, and 
evaluation of curricula in native 
languages, culture, and history 
designed for all students, including 
American Indian and Alaska Native 
students, as approved by Indian 
nations, tribes, and pueblos in New 
Mexico;
			   (c)	
develop or select for implementation 
a challenging, sequential, culturally 
relevant curriculum to provide 
instruction to American Indian 
and Alaska Native students in pre-
kindergarten through sixth grade 
to prepare them for pre-advanced 
placement and advanced placement 
coursework in grades seven through 
12;
			   (d)	
provide assistance to school districts, 
post-secondary institutions, and 
Indian nations, tribes, and pueblos 
in New Mexico to develop curricula 
and instructional materials in native 
languages, culture, and history in 
conjunction and by contract with 
native language practitioners and 
tribal elders, unless the use of written 
language is expressly prohibited by 
the Indian nation, tribe, or pueblo;
			   (e)	
conduct indigenous research and 
evaluation for effective curricula for 
American Indian and Alaska Native 
students;
			   (f)	
collaborate with the department 
to provide distance learning for 
American Indian and Alaska Native 
students in public schools to the 
maximum limits of the department’s 
abilities;
			   (g)	
establish, support, and maintain an 
Indian education advisory council;
			   (h)	
enter into agreements with each 
Indian nation, tribe, or pueblo in New 

Mexico or its authorized educational 
entity to share programmatic 
information and to coordinate 
technical assistance for public schools 
that serve American Indian and 
Alaska Native students;
			   (i)	
seek funds to establish and maintain 
an Indian education office in the 
northwest corner of the state, or other 
geographical location, to: implement 
agreements with each Indian nation, 
tribe, or pueblo in New Mexico or 
its authorized educational entity; 
monitor the progress of American 
Indian and Alaska Native students; 
and coordinate technical assistance 
at the public pre-kindergarten to 
post-secondary institutions that serve 
American Indian and Alaska Native 
students;
			   (j)	
seek funds to establish, develop, 
and implement culturally relevant 
support services for the purposes of 
increasing the number of American 
Indian and Alaska Native teachers, 
administrators, and principals and 
providing continued professional 
development, including training in 
cultural competency, for educational 
assistants, teachers, and principals 
serving American Indian and Alaska 
Native students; in conjunction with 
the Indian education advisory council, 
the assistant secretary shall:
			                 (i)	
support recruitment and retention 
of highly qualified teachers and 
administrators;
			                (ii)	
identify academic transition 
programs;
			               (iii)	
identify academic financial support;
			               (iv)	
support teacher preparation;
			                (v)	
support teacher induction; and 
			               (vi)	
support professional development;
			   (k)	
develop curricula to provide 
instruction in tribal history and 
government and develop plans to 
implement these subjects into history 
and government courses in school 
districts throughout the state;
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			   (l)	
ensure that native language bilingual 
programs are part of a school district’s 
professional development plan, as 
provided in Section 22-10A-19.1 
NMSA 1978;
			   (m)	
encourage participation in cultural 
competency training by educational 
assistants, teachers, and principals 
serving American Indian and Alaska 
Native students; and
			   (n)	
develop a plan to establish a post-
secondary investment system for 
American Indian and Alaska Native 
students to which parents, Indian 
nations, tribes, pueblos, and the state 
may contribute.
		  (4)	 require 
school districts to obtain a signature 
of approval by the tribal governments 
in New Mexico or their government 
designees residing within school 
district boundaries, verifying that 
the Indian nations, tribes, or pueblos 
agree to Indian education policies 
and procedures pursuant to federal 
requirements.
			   (a)	
If the district is unable to obtain 
the required signatures, the district 
[must] shall submit a written, signed 
explanation of the reasons.
			   (b)	
Tribal governments declining to 
provide a signature of approval will 
be afforded the opportunity to submit 
a written, signed explanation of the 
reasons for the refusal.
			   (c)	
A tribal leader or authorized designee 
of an Indian nation, tribe, or pueblo 
that has students attending a school 
district’s schools may file a written 
complaint with the United States 
department of education regarding 
any action of the school district 
pursuant to, or relevant to, the 
school district’s Indian policies 
and procedures in accordance with 
Subpart G of 34 CFR Part 222.
[6.35.2.10 NMAC - Rp, 6.35.2.10 
NMAC, 7/1/2020; A, 6/24/2025]

6.35.2.11	 AMERICAN 
INDIAN/ALASKA NATIVE 
STUDENT NEEDS ASSESSMENT:  

	 A.	 Beginning in the 
2020-2021 school year, a historically 
defined Indian impacted school 
district shall:
		  (1)	 by October 
15, and every three years thereafter, 
conduct an American Indian/Alaska 
Native student needs assessment 
to determine what supports are 
needed in school, at home, and in the 
community to help American Indian 
and Alaska Native students succeed 
in school, graduate with a diploma 
of excellence, and be prepared to 
enter post-secondary education or the 
workplace;
		  (2)	 seek best 
practices for conducting an American 
Indian/Alaska Native student needs 
assessment that is appropriate for 
localized needs, to include school, 
home, and the community;
		  (3)	 conduct 
a tribal consultation with [local] all 
Indian nations, tribes, and pueblos 
[located within the school district 
boundaries] located within the 
boundaries of the state of New 
Mexico whose students are enrolled 
in the district to prioritize and address 
the needs identified in the American 
Indian/Alaska Native student needs 
assessment;
		  (4)	 prioritize 
in its school district budget the needs 
of American Indian and Alaska 
Native students and closing the 
achievement gap between American 
Indian and Alaska Native students 
and all other student groups through 
the use of state and federal funding 
for American Indian and Alaska 
Native students, at-risk students, or 
economically disadvantaged students;
		  (5)	 apply 
for appropriate financial assistance, 
which may include state, federal, or 
private grants, to assist with meeting 
the requirements of 6.35.2.11 NMAC;
		  (6)	 develop 
an accountability tool, which shall be 
reevaluated annually, that measures 
the success or failure of a public 
school’s efforts pursuant to the 
systemic framework provided for in 
6.35.2.12 NMAC;
		  (7)	 hold a 
public meeting with members of the 

district’s American Indian and Alaska 
Native students’ tribal leadership, 
parents, and the Indian education 
division at least twice during each 
school year, once by November 30 
and once by April 30, to report on 
the American Indian/Alaska Native 
student needs assessment and the 
historically defined Indian impacted 
school district’s evaluation of 
progress; and
		  (8)	 conduct, 
submit to the department, and publish 
on its website an annual review on the 
evaluation of progress to determine 
if amendments are needed to the 
systemic framework or accountability 
tool.
	 B.	 A historically 
defined Indian impacted school 
district or an Indian nation, tribe, 
or pueblo may request amendments 
to the systemic framework or 
accountability tool as the result of the 
annual review on the evaluation of 
progress.
	 C.	 A historically 
defined Indian impacted school 
district shall reevaluate the American 
Indian/Alaska Native student needs 
assessment every three years, or more 
frequently if determined necessary 
because of a change in American 
Indian or Alaska Native student 
enrollment within the historically 
defined Indian impacted school 
district.
	 D.	 The American 
Indian/Alaska Native student needs 
assessment may be incorporated into 
a historically defined Indian impact 
school district’s existing school 
improvement structure.
	 E.	 Annually, the 
department shall:
		  (1)	 when 
approving school district budgets, 
consider whether a historically 
defined Indian impacted school 
district’s budget accomplishes the 
prioritized needs from the American 
Indian/Alaska Native student needs 
assessment; and
		  (2)	 require 
the historically defined Indian 
impacted school district to submit a 
written statement to the department, 
which will be published on the 
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department’s website, detailing the 
ways in which the historically defined 
Indian impacted school district’s 
budget successfully met or failed to 
meet the prioritized needs from the 
most recent American Indian/Alaska 
Native student needs assessment.  
The historically defined Indian 
impacted school district shall also 
submit the written statement to any 
Indian nation, tribe, or pueblo located 
within the exterior boundaries of the 
historically defined Indian impacted 
school district.  Prior to April 15 of 
each year, the historically defined 
Indian impacted school district shall 
submit to the department the written 
statement, along with its operating 
budget, for the ensuing fiscal year.  
The date for the submission of the 
written statement for each historically 
defined Indian impacted school 
district as required by this paragraph 
may be extended to a later date by the 
secretary.
[6.35.2.11 NMAC - N, 7/1/2020; A, 
6/24/2025]

6.35.2.13	 TRIBAL 
EDUCATION STATUS REPORT 
(TESR):  
	 A.	 [Beginning in 
school year 2020-2021] Annually, by 
September 30, each school district 
with tribal lands located within its 
boundaries shall provide an annual 
districtwide tribal education status 
report to all Indian nations, tribes, 
and pueblos located within the school 
district boundaries and to the assistant 
secretary.
	 B.	 [Beginning in 
school year 2020-2021] Annually, by 
September 30, each school district 
adjacent to tribal lands may provide 
an annual districtwide tribal education 
status report to all Indian nations, 
tribes and pueblos with tribal lands 
adjacent to the school district’s 
boundaries and to the assistant 
secretary.
	 C.	 A charter school 
with enrolled Native American 
students shall follow the same TESR 
provisions as the school district in 
which the charter school is physically 
located.  
	 [C] D.	 A report provided in 

accordance with Subsections A, [or] 
B, or C, of this section shall include 
the following information based upon 
data from the immediately preceding 
school year:
		  (1)	 student 
achievement as measured by a 
statewide test approved by the 
department, with results disaggregated 
by ethnicity; any cell with an n-size of 
9 or fewer shall be masked;
		  (2)	 school 
safety;
		  (3)	 the 
graduation rate;
		  (4)	 attendance;
		  (5)	 parent and 
community involvement;
		  (6)	 educational 
programs targeting American Indian 
or Alaska Native students;
		  (7)	 financial 
reports;
		  (8)	 current 
status of federal Indian education 
policies and procedures;
		  (9)	 school 
district initiatives to decrease the 
number of student dropouts and 
increase attendance;
		  (10)	 public 
school use of variable school 
calendars;
		  (11)	 school 
district consultations with district 
Indian education committees, 
school-site parent advisory councils, 
and tribal, municipal, and Indian 
organizations;
		  (12)	 indigenous 
research and evaluation measures 
and results for effective curricula for 
American Indian and Alaska Native 
students; and
		  (13)	 access to 
native language programs.
	 [D] E.	 The division shall 
submit a statewide tribal education 
report to all New Mexico Indian 
nations, tribes, and pueblos on or 
before November 15 of each year.  
The report will incorporate data 
submitted to the assistant secretary in 
accordance with Subsections A and B 
of this section and will further include 
reports by organizational units within 
the department regarding activities 
they are engaged in with Indian 

nations, tribes, and pueblos related to 
the education of American Indian and 
Alaska Native students.
[6.35.2.13 NMAC - Rp, 6.35.2.11 
NMAC, 7/1/2020; A, 6/24/2025]

6.35.2.14	 AWARDS:  
	 A.	 The fund shall 
consist of all appropriations, gifts, 
grants, donations, and income from 
investment of the fund.
	 B.	 Awards from the 
fund shall be used to support and 
advance the [purposes] provisions 
of the [act] Indian Education Act. 
Awards may include allocation-based 
and competitive funding.
	 [E] C.	 The 
recommendations of the advisory 
council, together with the 
recommendations of the assistant 
secretary, shall be provided to the 
secretary.  The secretary shall make 
the final determination of projects 
approved for grant awards.	
	 [C.	 At least annually, 
the department will establish 
and disseminate procedures 
for submission of requests for 
information and applications for 
grants from the fund, including the 
requirements that:
		  (1)	 requests 
for information and applications 
identify the program and goal to be 
achieved relevant to the act;
		  (2)	 requests 
for information and applications 
describe how the program will be 
sustained beyond the fiscal years 
being funded; and
		  (3)	 requests 
for information and applications 
describe how the effectiveness of 
the programs supported by the grant 
will be measured and reported to the 
department.]
	 D.	 The assistant 
secretary shall consult with the 
advisory committee regarding 
priorities for funding and the request 
for information and application 
process.
	 E.	 Allocation-based 
awards to pueblos, tribes, and nations 
shall not revert. If allocation-based 
awards are made available to school 
districts, charter schools, BIE schools, 



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXVI, Issue 12/ June 24, 2025523
and tribally controlled schools, then 
any unspent funds shall revert to the 
division at the end of the fiscal year in 
which the grant was awarded, unless 
otherwise prescribed in New Mexico 
state law.
	 [F.	 The grant 
agreements shall include provisions 
for periodic expenditure reports to the 
division, including a final expenditure 
report, and for reports measuring 
the effectiveness of the programs 
supported by the grants.]
	 F.	 If allocation-based 
awards are made available, then 
school districts, charter schools, 
BIE schools, and tribally controlled 
schools seeking an allocation-based 
award from the fund shall submit 
to the department applications that 
include information on the goals to 
be achieved relative to the Indian 
Education Act, program sustainability, 
and program evaluation measures. 
Applications shall be submitted in 
the manner and time specified by the 
assistant secretary. Allocation-based 
awards for school districts, charter 
schools, BIE schools, and tribally 
controlled schools shall be determined 
by the assistant secretary.
	 [G.	 All activities shall 
be completed no later than June 30 
of the fiscal year for which the award 
is made available.  Recipients shall 
submit requests for reimbursement or 
invoices for accounts payable no later 
than July 7 following the close of 
the fiscal year for which the award is 
made available.]
	 G.	 Allocation-based 
awards to pueblos, tribes, and nations 
shall consist of a fixed award amount 
and an amount dependent on the 
counts of students in pre-K-12 public 
schools from the 80-day reporting 
period of the previous year. Eighty 
percent of allocation-based funds shall 
be reserved for fixed award amounts; 
twenty percent of allocation-based 
funds shall be dependent on student 
counts. Allocation-based awards shall 
include a factor for students with 
disabilities and may include other 
factors as determined by the assistant 
secretary. Funding will be made 
available no later than September 1 
and shall not be on a reimbursement 

basis. Pueblos, tribes, and nations 
shall submit to the department an 
implementation plan that describes 
in detail how funds shall be spent to 
improve educational outcomes for 
students in a manner consistent with 
the Indian Education Act.
	 H.	 School districts, 
charter schools, BIE schools, and 
tribally controlled schools receiving 
an allocation-based award from the 
fund shall complete all grant activities 
no later than June 30 of the fiscal 
year for which the award is made 
available, unless otherwise prescribed 
in New Mexico state law.
	 I.	 The division may 
offer competitive awards each fiscal 
year, subject to the availability of 
funds. Pueblos, tribes, nations, school 
districts, charter schools, BIE schools, 
tribally controlled schools, tribal 
colleges, and state universities may 
be eligible for competitive awards. 
Competitive awards shall be on a 
reimbursement basis. Any qualified 
entity seeking a competitive award 
from the division shall submit to 
the department an application that 
includes information on the goals 
to be achieved relative to the Indian 
Education Act, program sustainability, 
and program evaluation measures. 
Applications shall be submitted in 
the manner and time specified by 
the assistant secretary. Competitive 
awards shall include a factor for 
students with disabilities and may 
include other factors as determined by 
the assistant secretary. Pueblos, tribes, 
and nations that receive a competitive 
award shall submit to the department 
an implementation plan that describes 
in detail how funds shall be spent to 
improve educational outcomes for 
students in a manner consistent with 
the Indian Education Act.
	 J.	 Unspent 
competitive award funds shall revert 
to the division at the end of the fiscal 
year in which the grant was awarded, 
unless otherwise prescribed in New 
Mexico state law. 
	 K.	 Pueblos, tribes, 
nations, school districts, charter 
schools, BIE schools, tribally 
controlled schools, tribal colleges, 
and state universities that receive 

funding shall be required to complete 
grant assurances, as determined by the 
assistant secretary. Grant assurances 
shall include, but are not limited to, 
provisions of periodic expenditure 
reports to the division, including those 
reports required under Subsection 
K of this section, and provision of 
reports measuring the effectiveness of 
the programs supported by the grants. 
	 L.	 Pueblos, tribes, 
nations, school districts, charter 
schools, BIE schools, and tribally 
controlled schools that receive award 
funding will submit to the assistant 
secretary a mid-year report no later 
than January 30 and a final report 
no later than June 30 of each year. 
The report shall address efforts made 
by grantees to improve educational 
outcomes for American Indian and 
Alaska Native students. The report 
shall meet the guidelines set forth by 
the assistant secretary, consistent with 
the provisions of the Indian Education 
Act.
[6.35.2.14 NMAC - Rp, 6.35.2.12 
NMAC, 7/1/2020; A, 6/24/2025]

6.35.2.15	 SEVERABILITY:  
In the event that any one or more of 
the sections of this rule, in whole 
or in part, should be held to be 
invalid, illegal or unenforceable in 
any respect, the validity, legality 
and enforceability of the remaining 
sections of this rule shall not in any 
way be affected or impaired.
[6.35.2.15 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]
______________________________

PUBLIC REGULATION 
COMMISSION

TITLE 17	 PUBLIC 
UTILITIES AND UTILITY 
SERVICES
CHAPTER 9	 ELECTRIC 
SERVICES
PART 571	 RENEWABLE 
ENERGY FOR RURAL 
ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES

17.9.571.1	 ISSUING 
AGENCY:  New Mexico public 
regulation commission.
[17.9.571.1 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]
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17.9.571.2	 SCOPE:  This 
rule applies to all cooperatives, rural 
electric cooperatives, distribution 
cooperatives, and generation and 
transmission cooperatives under the 
commission’s jurisdiction.
[17.9.571.2 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.3	 STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Sections 62-15-1 to 
-37 NMSA 1978 of the Rural Electric 
Cooperative Act, and Section 62-
16-8 NMSA 1978 of the Renewable 
Energy Act.
[17.9.571.3 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.4	 DURATION:  
Permanent.
[17.9.571.4 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.5	 EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  June 24, 2025, unless a later 
date is cited at the end of a section.
[17.9.571.5 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.6	 OBJECTIVE:  The 
objective of this rule is to implement 
the renewable energy provisions of 
the Rural Electric Cooperative Act, 
the voluntary tariff provisions of the 
Renewable Energy Act, and to bring 
significant economic development 
and environmental benefits to New 
Mexico.
[17.9.571.6 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.7	 DEFINITIONS:  
Unless otherwise specified, as used in 
this rule:
	 A.	 Definitions 
beginning with “A”:  [RESERVED]
	 B.	 Definitions 
beginning with “B”:  [RESERVED]
	 C.	 Definitions 
beginning with “C”:  “cooperative” 
means an electric utility that is 
organized under the Rural Electric 
Cooperative Act or the laws of 
another state as a cooperative 
nonprofit membership corporation; 
cooperative is synonymous with rural 
electric cooperative.
	 D.	 Definitions 
beginning with “D”:  “distribution 
cooperative” means an electric 
utility, with distribution facilities, 
that purchases wholesale power 
and delivers it to consumers in 

New Mexico and that is organized 
as a cooperative under the Rural 
Electric Cooperative Act or the 
laws of another state; a distribution 
cooperative is a rural electric 
cooperative, and may have generation 
facilities, transmission facilities, or 
both, but it is not a generation and 
transmission cooperative.
	 E.	 Definitions 
beginning with “E”:  [RESERVED]
	 F.	 Definitions 
beginning with “F”:  [RESERVED]
	 G.	 Definitions 
beginning with “G”:  “generation 
and transmission cooperative” 
means an electric utility, with 
generation facilities, transmission 
facilities, or both, but without 
distribution facilities, that 
sells electric power to member 
cooperatives in New Mexico and 
that is organized as a rural electric 
cooperative under the Rural 
Electric Cooperative Act or the 
laws of another state; a generation 
and transmission cooperative is a 
cooperative, but it is not a distribution 
cooperative.
	 H.	 Definitions 
beginning with “H”:  [RESERVED]
	 I.	 Definitions 
beginning with “I”:  [RESERVED]
	 J.	 Definitions 
beginning with “J”:  [RESERVED]
	 K.	 Definitions 
beginning with “K”:  [RESERVED]
	 L.	 Definitions 
beginning with “L”:  [RESERVED]
	 M.	 Definitions 
beginning with “M”:  
[RESERVED]
	 N.	 Definitions 
beginning with “N”:  [RESERVED]
	 O.	 Definitions 
beginning with “O”:  [RESERVED]
	 P.	 Definitions 
beginning with “P”:  plan year” 
means the calendar year for which 
approval is sought.
	 Q.	 Definitions 
beginning with “Q.”:  
[RESERVED]
	 R.	 Definitions 
beginning with “R”:
		  (1)	
“renewable energy certificate” or 
“REC” is as that term is defined in 
Section 62-15-37 NMSA 1978;

		  (2)	
“renewable portfolio standard” 
or “RPS” means the minimum 
percentage of retail sales of renewable 
energy by a distribution cooperative 
to customers in New Mexico that 
is required by the Rural Electric 
Cooperative Act; and
		  (3)	 “rural 
electric cooperative” means an 
electric utility that is organized 
under the Rural Electric Cooperative 
Act or the laws of another state as a 
cooperative nonprofit membership 
corporation; rural electric cooperative 
is synonymous with cooperative.
	 S.	 Definitions 
beginning with “S”:  [RESERVED]
	 T.	 Definitions 
beginning with “T”:  [RESERVED]
	 U.	 Definitions 
beginning with “U”:  [RESERVED]
	 V.	 Definitions 
beginning with “V”:  [RESERVED]
	 W.	 Definitions 
beginning with “W”:  WREGIS” 
means the western renewable energy 
generation information system.
	 X.	 Definitions 
beginning with “X”:  [RESERVED]
	 Y.	 Definitions 
beginning with “Y”:  [RESERVED]
	 Z.	 Definitions 
beginning with “Z”:  [RESERVED]
[17.9.571.7 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.8	 RENEWABLE 
PORTFOLIO STANDARD:
	 A.	 A distribution 
cooperative shall meet the RPS 
to include renewable energy in its 
electric energy supply portfolio as 
demonstrated by the retirement of 
RECs.
	 B.	 No later than 
January 1, 2025, renewable energy 
shall comprise no less than forty 
percent of a distribution cooperative’s 
total retail sales in New Mexico.
	 C.	 No later than 
January 1, 2030, renewable energy 
shall comprise no less than fifty 
percent of a distribution cooperative’s 
total retail sales in New Mexico.
	 D.	 No later than 
January 1, 2050, a distribution 
cooperative shall provide New 
Mexico retail customers with 
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electricity generated from at least 
eighty percent renewable energy 
resources, provided that:
		  (1)	 achieving 
the eighty percent RPS is technically 
feasible;
		  (2)	 the 
distribution cooperative is able to 
provide reliable electric service while 
implementing the eighty percent RPS; 
and
		  (3)	
implementing the eighty percent RPS 
shall not cause electric service to 
become unaffordable.
	 E.	 Renewable energy 
resources that are in a distribution 
cooperative’s energy supply portfolio 
on January 1, 2008, shall be counted 
in determining compliance with 
Section 62-15-34 NMSA 1978 and 
this rule.
	 F.	 Demonstration of 
compliance:
		  (1)	
A distribution cooperative shall 
demonstrate compliance with the 
RPS by retiring RECs associated with 
renewable energy assigned to the 
distribution cooperative. 
		  (2)	
A generation and transmission 
cooperative shall be responsible for 
meeting the RPS for all energy it 
supplies to its member distribution 
cooperatives in New Mexico.
		  (3)	 Energy 
from renewable energy resources 
that a generation and transmission 
cooperative supplies in compliance 
with the RPS shall be verified at 
the point where the generation and 
transmission cooperative produces 
or takes delivery of the energy on 
behalf of the member distribution 
cooperatives that the generation and 
transmission cooperative serves.
[17.9.571.8 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.9	 ZERO CARBON 
RESOURCE STANDARD:
	 A.	 No later than 
January 1, 2050, a distribution 
cooperative shall provide New 
Mexico retail customers with 
electricity generated from one 
hundred percent zero carbon 
resources, provided that:

		  (1)	 achieving 
the one hundred percent standard is 
technically feasible;
		  (2)	 the 
distribution cooperative is able to 
provide reliable electric service 
while implementing the one hundred 
percent standard; and
		  (3)	
implementing the one hundred percent 
standard shall not cause electric 
service to become unaffordable.
	 B.	 A generation and 
transmission cooperative shall be 
responsible for meeting the zero 
carbon resource standard for all 
energy it supplies to its member 
distribution cooperatives in New 
Mexico. 
	 C.	 Energy from zero 
carbon resources that a generation 
and transmission cooperative supplies 
in compliance with the zero carbon 
resource standard shall be verified at 
the point where the generation and 
transmission cooperative produces 
or takes delivery of the energy on 
behalf of the member distribution 
cooperatives that the generation and 
transmission cooperative serves.
[17.9.571.9 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.10	 REASONABLE 
COST THRESHOLD:
	 A.	 If, in any given 
year, a distribution cooperative 
determines that the average annual 
levelized cost of renewable energy 
that would need to be procured or 
generated for purposes of compliance 
with the RPS would be greater than 
$60.00 per megawatt-hour at the point 
of interconnection of the renewable 
energy resource with the transmission 
system, the distribution cooperative 
shall not be required to incur that 
excess cost.
		  (1)	 The 
reasonable cost threshold of $60.00 
per megawatt-hour shall be adjusted 
for inflation after 2020.
		  (2)	
Excused performance pursuant to 
the reasonable cost threshold in 
any given year shall not operate to 
delay compliance with the RPS in 
subsequent years.

	 B.	 The provisions 
of this subsection do not preclude 
a distribution cooperative from 
accepting a project with a cost that 
would exceed the inflation-adjusted 
reasonable cost threshold.
[17.9.571.10 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.11	 RENEWABLE 
ENERGY CERTIFICATES:
	 A.	 Renewable energy 
certificates:
		  (1)	 are owned 
by the generator of the renewable 
energy unless:
			   (a)	
the RECs are transferred to the 
purchaser of the energy through 
specific agreement with the generator;
			   (b)	
the generator is a qualifying facility, 
as defined by the federal Public 
Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 
1978, in which case the RECs are 
owned by the distribution cooperative 
purchaser of the renewable energy 
unless retained by the generator 
through specific agreement with the 
distribution cooperative purchaser of 
the energy;
			   (c)	 a 
contract for the purchase of renewable 
energy is in effect prior to January 
1, 2004, in which case the purchaser 
of the energy owns the RECs for the 
term of such contract; or
			   (d)	
the generator is a community solar 
facility, excluding a native community 
solar project, as those terms are 
defined in the Community Solar Act, 
in which case the RECs are owned 
by the distribution cooperative to 
whose electric distribution system 
the community solar facility is 
interconnected; 
		  (2)	 may 
be traded, sold, or otherwise 
transferred by their owner to any 
other party; such transfers and use 
of the certificate by a distribution 
cooperative for compliance with the 
renewable energy portfolio standard 
do not require physical delivery 
of the electric energy represented 
by the certificate to a distribution 
cooperative, so long as the electric 
energy represented by the certificate 
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was contracted for delivery in New 
Mexico, or consumed or generated 
by an end-use customer of the 
distribution cooperative in New 
Mexico, unless the commission 
determines that there is an active 
regional market for trading renewable 
energy and RECs in any region in 
which the distribution cooperative is 
located;
		  (3)	 that 
are used once by a distribution 
cooperative to satisfy the RPS and 
are retired, or that are traded, sold, 
or otherwise transferred by the 
distribution cooperative, shall not 
be further used by the distribution 
cooperative; and
		  (4)	 that are 
not used by a distribution cooperative 
to satisfy the RPS, or that are not 
traded, sold, or otherwise transferred 
by the distribution cooperative, may 
be carried forward for up to four years 
from the date of creation and, if not 
used by that time, shall be retired by 
the distribution cooperative.
	 B.	 A distribution 
cooperative is responsible for 
demonstrating that a REC used for 
compliance with the RPS is derived 
from eligible renewable energy 
resources and has not been retired, 
traded, sold, or otherwise transferred 
to another party.
	 C.	 A distribution 
cooperative shall maintain records 
sufficient to meet the requirements of 
17.9.571.13 NMAC. A distribution 
cooperative shall maintain such 
records for a minimum of 10 years.
	 D.	 The acquisition, 
sale or transfer, and retirement of any 
RECs used to meet the RPS shall be 
registered with WREGIS or its direct 
successor(s), except as provided in 
Subsection E of 17.9.571.13 NMAC.  
Certificates whose retirement has 
been registered by a distribution 
cooperative with WREGIS shall be 
deemed to meet the requirements of 
Subsection B of 17.9.571.13 NMAC.
	 E.	 A REC representing 
electricity delivered to New Mexico 
and registered with a tracking system 
other than WREGIS may be used to 
meet the RPS so long as WREGIS 
lacks the capability to import the REC 

from the other tracking system.
	 F.	 The requirement 
for registration and trading of RECs 
through WREGIS shall not constitute 
a finding by the commission that a 
regional renewable energy market is 
generally available.
	 G.	 Until such time 
as the commission has determined 
that there is a regional market for 
exchanging renewable energy and 
RECs that is generally available for 
all distribution cooperatives in the 
state, a distribution cooperative may 
seek approval from the commission 
to meet some or all of its RPS using 
individual RECs that represent energy 
generated by a renewable energy 
resource within a regional renewable 
energy market or trading system in 
any region where the distribution 
cooperative is located.
	 H.	 Any state having 
a mandatory RPS that accepts RECs 
for energy produced and delivered in 
New Mexico on a non-discriminatory 
basis for compliance with the state’s 
RPS shall be deemed to be part of an 
active regional market for distribution 
cooperatives for the purposes of 
Paragraph (2) of Subsection A of 
17.9.571.13 NMAC.
	 I.	 A non-WREGIS 
registered REC shall contain the 
following information:
		  (1)	 the name 
and contact information of the 
renewable energy generating facility 
owner or operator;
		  (2)	 the name 
and contact information of the 
distribution cooperative purchasing 
the REC;
		  (3)	 the type of 
generator technology and fuel type;
		  (4)	 the 
generating facility’s physical location, 
nameplate capacity in MW, location 
and ID number of revenue meter, and 
date of commencement of commercial 
generation;
		  (5)	 the 
distribution cooperative to which the 
generating facility is interconnected;
		  (6)	 the control 
area operator for the generating 
facility; and

		  (7)	 the 
quantity in kWh and the date of the 
REC creation.
[17.9.571.11 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.12	 VOLUNTARY 
RENEWABLE TARIFFS:
	 A.	  A distribution 
cooperative may offer its retail 
customers a voluntary program for 
purchasing renewable energy under 
rates and terms that are approved by 
the commission.
	 B.	 A distribution 
cooperative that offers its retail 
customers a voluntary program for 
purchasing renewable energy shall:
		  (1)	 report 
to the commission by April 30 of 
each year the demand for renewable 
energy pursuant to the voluntary 
program concerning the availability of 
renewable energy to the rural electric 
cooperative and the annual demand 
for renewable energy pursuant to their 
voluntary tariff; and
		  (2)	 comply 
with all requirements for the 
procurement of renewable energy set 
forth in the Rural Electric Cooperative 
Act.
[17.9.571.12 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.13	 ANNUAL 
RENEWABLE ENERGY 
PORTFOLIO REPORT:
	 A.	 By April 30 of each 
year, a distribution cooperative shall 
file with the commission a report 
on its purchases and generation 
of renewable energy during the 
preceding calendar year.
	 B.	 The report shall 
include:
		  (1)	 an 
executive summary;
		  (2)	 the cost 
of the renewable energy resources 
purchased and generated by the 
distribution cooperative to meet the 
RPS;
		  (3)	
an explanation of steps taken to 
minimize costs, including competitive 
procurement and comparison of the 
price of electricity from renewable 
energy resources in the bids received 
by the distribution cooperative to 
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recent prices for such electricity 
elsewhere in the southwestern United 
States;
		  (4)	 an annual 
compliance plan for meeting the RPS 
for the following three years;
		  (5)	 all 
renewable energy generation or REC 
purchases and sales itemized by 
source;
		  (6)	 where 
applicable, a reconciliation of any 
banking of RECs by providing a 
beginning REC balance, the REC 
activity affecting the beginning REC 
balance, and an ending REC balance;
		  (7)	 where 
applicable, the impact of any existing 
multipliers on the number of available 
RECs, including any documentation 
regarding the regulatory approval of 
such multipliers; 
		  (8)	 an 
attestation that, to the best of the 
distribution cooperative’s knowledge, 
no RECs used for RPS compliance 
have been double-counted;
		  (9)	 a list of all 
RECs, including acquired, issued, or 
retired certificates;
		  (10)	
information, from WREGIS or its 
successor, on RECs acquired, sold, 
retired, transferred, or expired; and 
the information shall include reports 
from WREGIS or its successor which 
allow the commission to determine, 
by fuel type, the number of RECs in 
each calendar year:
			   (a)	
acquired;
			   (b)	
sold;
			   (c)	
retired;
			   (d)	
transferred; and
			   (e)	
expired;
		  (11)	 a table 
with the following data:
			   (a)	
total amount of RECs;
			   (b)	
total retail sales in megawatt-hours; 
and
			   (c)	
RPS compliance percentage achieved;

		  (12)	 the report 
to the distribution cooperative’s 
membership including a summary 
of its purchases and generation 
of renewable energy during the 
preceding calendar year required by 
Subsection D of Section 62-15-34 
NMSA 1978; and
		  (13)	 renewable 
energy and conservation fee 
information, pursuant to 17.9.571.16 
NMAC, if applicable.
	 C.	 A distribution 
cooperative that is a member of 
a generation and transmission 
cooperative may file its annual report 
as part of a group filing package 
by the generation and transmission 
cooperative, provided that the 
distribution cooperative’s filing 
requirements shall be identified 
separately from other cooperatives in 
the group.
	 D.	 Staff may request 
additional information or clarification 
from a distribution cooperative.
	 E.	 A distribution 
cooperative, or a generation and 
transmission cooperative filing on 
behalf of a distribution cooperative, 
shall serve its annual report on the 
commissioners, commissioners’ 
advisors, office of general counsel, 
and staff.
[17.9.571.13 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

17.9.571.14	 RENEWABLE 
ENERGY AND CONSERVATION 
FEE:
	 A.	 A distribution 
cooperative may collect from its 
customers a renewable energy and 
conservation fee of no more than one 
percent of a customer’s bill.
		  (1)	 In no 
event shall a distribution cooperative 
annually collect more than $75,000 
from any single customer. 
		  (2)	 Money 
collected through the renewable 
energy and conservation fee shall be 
segregated in a separate renewable 
energy and conservation account 
from other distribution cooperative 
funds, and it shall be expended only 
on programs or projects to promote 
the use of renewable energy, load 
management, or energy efficiency.

	 B.	 Each distribution 
cooperative that collects a renewable 
energy and conservation fee from its 
customers shall deduct from the fees 
paid to the state pursuant to Section 
62-8-8 NMSA 1978 an amount 
equal to fifty percent of the amount 
of money collected through the 
renewable energy and conservation 
fee during the preceding calendar 
year.  The money shall be included 
in the account with other money 
from the renewable energy and 
conservation fee and expended only 
on programs or projects to promote 
the use of renewable energy, load 
management, or energy efficiency.
	 C.	 In its annual report 
to the public regulation commission 
by April 30 pursuant to 17.9.571.15 
NMAC, a distribution cooperative 
that collects a renewable energy and 
conservation fee from its customers 
shall include the information 
described below for the preceding 
calendar year:
		  (1)	 the 
total amount of money collected 
by the distribution cooperative 
from its customers during the 
preceding calendar year through the 
assessment of a renewable energy and 
conservation fee and the balance of 
funds in the distribution cooperative’s 
renewable energy and conservation 
fund, as of January 1 and December 
31 of the preceding calendar year;
		  (2)	 the amount 
of money withheld by the distribution 
cooperative from the inspection and 
supervision fees due to the state that 
was placed in the renewable energy 
and conservation fund as a partial 
match of the renewable energy and 
conservation fees collected during the 
preceding calendar year;
		  (3)	 the amount 
of money received by the distribution 
cooperative from any third party that 
was placed in the renewable energy 
and conservation fund;
		  (4)	 whether 
and to what extent the distribution 
cooperative will assess its customers 
for a renewable energy and 
conservation fee in the succeeding 
calendar year; and
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		  (5)	 a summary 
of each renewable energy project, 
energy efficiency program, or load 
management program upon which 
money from the renewable energy 
and conservation fund was expended 
during the preceding calendar year, 
which includes:
			   (a)	 a 
description of the anticipated benefits 
to the distribution cooperative’s 
members from each project or 
program;
			   (b)	
the amount of money spent on each 
project or program; and
			   (c)	
the status of each project or program.
[17.9.571.14 NMAC - N, 6/24/2025]

HISTORY OF 17.9.571 NMAC:  
[RESERVED]
______________________________

TRANSPORTATION, 
DEPARTMENT OF

At its meeting on May 15, 2025, the 
New Mexico State Transportation 
Commission, by the request of 
the New Mexico Department of 
Transportation, repealed rule Safety 
Requirements, 18.3.4 NMAC, filed 
7/01/2024, and replaced it with a new 
rule entitled Safety Requirements, 
18.3.4 NMAC, adopted 5/15/2025 and 
effective 6/24/2025.
______________________________

TRANSPORTATION, 
DEPARTMENT OF

TITLE 18	
TRANSPORTATION AND 
HIGHWAYS
CHAPTER 3	 MOTOR 
CARRIER GENERAL 
PROVISIONS
PART 4		 SAFETY 
REQUIREMENTS

18.3.4.1		  ISSUING 
AGENCY:  New Mexico Department 
of Transportation.
[18.3.4.1 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.1 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.2		  SCOPE:  This rule 
applies to all motor carriers subject to 
the jurisdiction of the department.
[18.3.4.2 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.2 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.3		  STATUTORY 
AUTHORITY:  Sections 65-2A-4, 
65-2A-19 and 65-6-4 NMSA 1978, 
and 2023 N.M. Laws, Chapter 100, 
Section 81.
[18.3.4.3 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.3 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.4		  DURATION:  
Permanent.
[18.3.4.4 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.4 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.5		  EFFECTIVE 
DATE:  June 24, 2025, unless a later 
date is cited at the end of a section.
[18.3.4.5 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.5 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.6		  OBJECTIVE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to implement 
Sections 65-2A-19 and 65-6-4 
NMSA 1978 by establishing safety 
requirements for drivers, motor 
vehicles, and motor carriers.
[18.3.4.6 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.6 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.7		  DEFINITIONS:  
As used in this rule:
	 A.	 CDL driver means 
a driver who is required by 49 CFR 
383.3 or Section 66-5-59 NMSA 1978 
to have a commercial driver’s license;
	 B.	 driver means a 
person who drives a motor vehicle as, 
for, or on behalf of a motor carrier;
	 C.	 MVD means 
the motor vehicle division of the 
New Mexico taxation and revenue 
department.
[18.3.4.7 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.7 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.8		  AVAILABILITY 
OF CITED MATERIAL:  The 
sections of the code of federal 
regulations cited in this rule may be 
found on the government printing 
office website at http://www.
gpoaccess.gov/cfr/.
[18.3.4.8 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.8 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.9		  SUBSTITUTION 
OF TERMS ADOPTED FROM 
FEDERAL LAW:  Wherever the 
following terms appear in a part 
or section of title 49 of the code 
of federal regulations (CFR), for 
purposes of this rule and as adopted 
by reference in this rule, these federal 
terms shall be read as if substituted by 
the terms provided below.
	 A.	 for the terms 
“commerce” and “interstate 
commerce”, substitute “intrastate 
commerce,” as it is defined in 49 CFR 
Section 390.5;
	 B.	 for the terms 
“commercial motor vehicle”, “bus”, 
“truck”, and “truck tractor”, substitute 
“motor vehicle,” as defined in Section 
65-2A-3 NMSA 1978, except for 
when these terms are used in 49 
CFR Section 391.21(b)(11).  For 
purposes of this rule, the term “motor 
vehicle” shall not be understood to 
include any limitations based on gross 
combination weight rating, gross 
vehicle weight rating, or passenger 
seating capacity; and
	 C.	 for the abbreviation 
“FMCSA” (federal motor carrier 
safety administration), substitute 
“department of transportation” or 
“DOT”.
[18.3.4.9 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.9 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.10	 REQUIREMENTS 
APPLICABLE TO ALL DRIVERS:  
Motor carriers shall require and 
ensure that all drivers in their service, 
including themselves, comply with 
the duties and prohibitions of these 
rules.
	 A.	 Drug and alcohol 
programs and testing for drivers:  
This rule adopts by reference 49 CFR 
Part 40 in its entirety, and 49 CFR 
Section 382, except for Sections 
382.117 and 382.119.
	 B.	 Hours of service:  
Ambulance services shall adopt and 
enforce a policy governing hours 
of service for their drivers.  For 
other motor carriers the following 
restrictions apply to:
		  (1)	 drivers 
operating for taxicab services, non-
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emergency medical transportation 
services, specialized passenger 
services, and intrastate shuttle service 
with passenger capacity of 15 or less, 
a driver shall not drive the service 
vehicle for more than 12 hours out of 
any 24 hour period;
		  (2)	 all other 
drivers, this rule adopts by reference 
49 CFR Part 395, except that section 
395.1(e)(1) is amended to add:  “or 
operates in intrastate commerce 
within a 150 air-mile radius of the 
normal work reporting location.”
	 C.	 Criminal and 
driver background reports:  Prior 
to hiring or contracting with a 
potential driver, and every five years 
thereafter, all motor carriers shall 
obtain a national fingerprint based 
background check and a nationwide 
motor vehicle report (MVR) to review 
that candidate’s prior record for any 
relevant public safety violations.  For 
household goods service carriers, a 
national fingerprint based background 
report is additionally required for each 
employee entering private dwellings.
[18.3.4.10 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.10 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.11	 REQUIREMENTS 
APPLICABLE ONLY TO CDL 
DRIVERS:
	 A.	 Commercial 
drivers’ licenses:  This rule adopts 
by reference the New Mexico 
commercial driver’s license act, 
Sections 66-5-52 through 66-5-72 
NMSA 1978.
	 B.	 Qualifications of 
drivers and longer combination 
vehicle (LCV) driver instructors:  
This rule adopts by reference 49 CFR 
Part 391, with the following changes:
		  (1)	 Section 
391.11(b)(1) is amended to add: “or 
is 18 years old and drives only in 
intrastate commerce motor vehicles 
that are not required to be placarded 
for hazardous materials;”
		  (2)	 Section 
391.15 is not adopted;
		  (3)	 Section 
391.49(a) is amended to add: “or the 
director of MVD has granted a waiver 
to that person pursuant to 18.19.5.33 
NMAC.”

	 C.	 Driving of 
commercial motor vehicles:  This 
rule adopts by reference 49CFR Part 
392 in its entirety.
	 D.	 Parts and 
accessories necessary for safe 
operation:  This rule adopts by 
reference 49 CFR Part 393 in its 
entirety.
	 E.	 Inspection, repair 
and maintenance:  This rule adopts 
by reference 49 CFR Part 396 in its 
entirety.
	 F.	 Transportation of 
hazardous material; driving and 
parking rules:  This rule adopts 
by reference 49 CFR Part 397 in its 
entirety.
[18.3.4.11 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.11 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.12	 REQUIREMENTS 
APPLICABLE ONLY TO NON-
CDL DRIVERS:
	 A.	 Operators’ 
licenses:  is rule adopts by reference 
the licensing provisions of the New 
Mexico motor vehicle code, Sections 
66-5-1 through 66-5-48, NMSA 1978.
	 B.	 Qualifications, 
investigations, inquiries, reporting, 
and records for all drivers of 
certificated motor carriers:
		  (1)	 Before 
allowing a transportation service 
driver to provide carriage, and every 
five years after hire:
			   (a)	
the prospective driver shall submit 
an application to the transportation 
service that includes the individual’s 
address, age, driver’s license number 
and state, and driving history;
			   (b)	
the transportation service shall obtain 
a local and national fingerprint based 
background check for the prospective 
driver that shall include:
				    (i)	
multistate or multi-jurisdiction 
criminal records locator or other 
similar commercial nationwide 
database with validation and primary 
source search; and
			                (ii)	
a national sex offender registry; and
			               (iii)	
the transportation service shall obtain 

and review a driving history research 
report for the prospective driver.
		  (2)	 A 
transportation service shall not permit 
a person to act as a transportation 
service driver who:
			   (a)	
has had more than three moving 
violations in the preceding three-
year period or one violation in 
the preceding three-year period 
involving any attempt to evade law 
enforcement, reckless driving or 
driving on a suspended or revoked 
license;
			   (b)	
has been convicted within the past 
seven years of:
				    (i)	
a felony;
			                (ii)	
misdemeanor driving under the 
influence, reckless driving, leaving 
the scene of an accident or any 
other driving-related offense or any 
misdemeanor violent offense or 
sexual offense; or
			   (c)	
more than three misdemeanors of any 
kind;
			   (d)	
is identified by a national sex offender 
registry;
			   (e)	
does not possess a valid license; or
			   (f)	 is 
not at least  18 years old.
		  (3)	 Provided 
that passenger services may 
voluntarily adopt and implement 
other more stringent policies and 
procedures for passenger vehicles 
and drivers of passenger vehicles, 
including full or modified forms of 
federal safety policies and procedures.
	 C.	 Qualifications 
of drivers:  This rule adopts by 
reference only the following specific 
sections of 49 CFR Part 391:
		  (1)	 general 
qualifications of drivers:  Section 
391.11(b)(8);
		  (2)	 application 
for employment:  Section 391.21;
		  (3)	
investigations and inquiries:  Section 
391.23, except that
Section 391.23(d)(2) the term “as 



New Mexico Register / Volume XXXVI, Issue 12/ June 24, 2025 530
specified in section 390.15(b)(1) of 
this chapter” is substitute for this rule 
by the term, “in the uniform crash 
report form prescribed by the state of 
New Mexico”;
		  (4)	 annual 
inquiry and review of driving record:  
Section 391.25, except that:
			   (a)	
Subsections 391.25(a) and (b) are 
amended to delete:  “Except as 
provided in subpart G of this part;”
			   (b)	
Section 391.25 shall not apply to 
volunteer drivers;
		  (5)	 record of 
violations:  Section 391.27, except 
that section 391.27(a) is amended 
to delete:  “Except as provided in 
subpart G of this part;”
		  (6)	 road test:  
Section 391.31, except that section 
391.31(a) is amended to delete:  
“Except as provided in subpart G;”
		  (7)	 equivalent 
of road test:  Section 391.33; except 
that an ambulance service may also 
accept from a person who seeks 
to drive an ambulance a copy of 
a certificate of completion from 
an emergency vehicle operator’s 
course approved by the emergency 
medical services (EMS) bureau of the 
department of health (DOH);
		  (8)	 physical 
qualifications for drivers:  Section 
391.41, except that drivers for 
ambulance are exempt from Section 
391.41(a);
		  (9)	 medical 
examinations; certificate of physical 
examination:  Section 391.43, 
except that for volunteer drivers 
of ambulance services only, the 
medical examiner (as defined in 49 
CFR Section 390.5) shall perform 
a medical examination sufficient 
to enable the medical examiner to 
certify, in accordance with Subsection 
C of 18.19.5.33 NMAC, whether or 
not the driver has a condition that may 
interfere with the safe operation of an 
ambulance;
		  (10)	 persons 
who must be medically examined 
and certified:  Section 391.45, except 
that this section shall not apply to 
volunteer drivers;

		  (11)	 general 
requirements for driver qualification 
files:  Section 391.51, except that 
Subsections 391.51(b)(8) and (d)(5) 
are not adopted;
		  (12)	 driver 
investigation history file:  Section 
391.53, except that this section shall 
not apply to commuter services.
	 D.	 Driving of 
commercial motor vehicles:  This 
rule adopts by reference the following 
sections of 49 CFR Part 392:
		  (1)	 ill or 
fatigued operator:  Section 392.3;
		  (2)	 drugs and 
other substances:  Section 392.4;
		  (3)	 alcohol 
prohibition:  Section 392.5;
		  (4)	 emergency 
equipment, inspection and use:  
Section 392.8, except that this section 
is amended to substitute “Section 66-
3-849 NMSA 1978”, certain vehicles 
to carry flares or other warning 
devices, for the federal reference to 
“Section 393.95”;
		  (5)	 inspection 
of cargo, cargo securement devices 
and systems:  Section 392.9, except 
that this section shall only apply to 
a motor vehicle with a gross vehicle 
weight rating of 10,000 pounds or 
more;
		  (6)	 hazardous 
conditions; extreme caution:  Section 
392.14, except that this section shall 
not apply to ambulance services;
		  (7)	 use of seat 
belts:  Section 392.16;
		  (8)	 obscured 
lamps or reflectors:  Section 392.33;
		  (9)	 ignition of 
fuel; prevention:  Section 392.50;
		  (10)	 safe 
operation, buses:  Section 392.62;
		  (11)	 towing 
or pushing loaded buses:  Section 
392.63;
		  (12)	 riding 
within closed commercial motor 
vehicles without proper exits:  Section 
392;
		  (13)	 carbon 
monoxide; use of commercial motor 
vehicle when detected:  Section 
392.66;

		  (14)	 radar 
detectors; use and/or possession:  
Section 392.71.
	 E.	 Equipment 
for vehicles, seatbelts and child 
restraints:  This rule adopts by 
reference Sections 66-3-801 through 
66-3-901 NMSA 1978.  In addition, 
passenger vehicles capable of 
transporting 15 or fewer persons 
including the driver shall provide a 
separate seat belt assembly for each 
passenger and shall ensure child 
restraint systems comply with all 
federal and state requirements.
	 F.	 Inspection, repair 
and maintenance for vehicles:  This 
rule adopts by reference the following 
sections of 49 CFR Part 396:
		  (1)	 inspection, 
repair and maintenance:  Section 
396.3, but this section shall not apply 
to commuter services;
		  (2)	
lubrications:  Section 396.5;
		  (3)	 driver 
vehicle inspection reports:  Section 
396.1;
		  (4)	 driver 
inspection:  Section 396.13;
		  (5)	 periodic 
inspection:  Section 396.17;
		  (6)	 inspector 
qualifications:  Section 396.19;
		  (7)	
periodic inspection recordkeeping 
requirements:  Section 396.21;
		  (8)	 equivalent 
to periodic inspection:  Section 
396.23(a);
		  (9)	
qualifications of brake inspectors:  
Section 396.25.
[18.3.4.12 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.12 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.13	 IDENTIFICATION 
OF EQUIPMENT:
	 A.	 Issuance:  The 
department shall assign a operating 
authority number to each motor 
carrier service when it issues an 
operating authority.  Any operating 
authority number issued shall be  
displayed as required by this rule.
	 B.	 Display:  The 
letters and numbers must be not less 
than one-half inch (1/2”) wide and not 
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less than two and one-half inches (2 
1/2”) high.  The operating authority 
number will be displayed in the 
following manner:  “NM 123”.
		  (1)	 Placement 
on limousines:  The NM operating 
authority number must be distinctly 
displayed on the front and rear 
bumpers of each limousine operated 
in New Mexico.
		  (2)	 Placement 
on all other motor vehicles:  The 
name or d/b/a name of the motor 
carrier or commuter service and the 
NM operating authority number 
must be distinctly displayed and 
permanently affixed to the right and 
left doors, or sides of the power 
unit, of each motor vehicle operated 
in New Mexico, except that for 
motor vehicles leased or rented for 
authorized operations the required 
display need not be permanently 
affixed.
	 C.	 Exceptions:
		  (1)	 Interstate 
motor carriers that display a federal 
operating authority number are not 
required to display the NM operating 
authority number.
		  (2)	 Intrastate 
motor carriers that display a New 
Mexico safety identification number 
issued by the MVD are not required 
to display the NM operating authority 
number.
[18.3.4.13 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.13 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.14	 EQUIPMENT 
STANDARDS:
	 A.	 Minimum 
Equipment Standards:  A motor 
carrier shall only use equipment 
for vehicles that is produced and 
constructed by a manufacturer of such 
equipment that regularly produces 
such equipment of guaranteed quality.  
The department may approve the use 
of non-guaranteed equipment only if 
the motor carrier submits a written 
request for use of such equipment 
accompanied by a verified statement 
from a reputable testing laboratory 
regularly engaged in the testing of 
the same equipment to certify that 
the equipment is appropriate for the 
intended purpose.  The motor carrier 

shall bear all costs of testing and 
certification.
	 B.	 Equipment, 
inspection, repair and maintenance 
for all certificated vehicles:
		  (1)	 A 
transportation service shall not use a 
passenger vehicle that:
			   (a)	
is not in compliance with all federal, 
state and local laws concerning the 
operation and maintenance of the 
motor vehicle;
			   (b)	
has fewer than four doors, except for 
shuttle service; or
			   (c)	
is designed to carry more than eight 
passengers, including the driver.
		  (2)	 A 
transportation service shall inspect 
or cause to be inspected every motor 
vehicle used by a driver to provide 
transportation services before 
allowing the driver to use the motor 
vehicle to provide transportation 
services and not less than once each 
year thereafter.
		  (3)	 Provided 
that passenger services may 
voluntarily adopt and implement 
other more stringent policies and 
procedures for passenger vehicles 
and drivers of passenger vehicles, 
including full or modified forms of 
federal safety policies and procedures.
[18.3.4.14 NMAC - Rp, 18.3.4.14 
NMAC, 6/24/2025]

18.3.4.15	 AMBULANCE 
SERVICE WAIVER:  Pursuant to 
Section 65-6-4 NMSA 1978, and 
upon written request showing good 
cause, the department may waive the 
requirements of this rule with respect 
to individual ambulance service 
providers.
[18.3.4.15 - N, 6/10/25]

History of 18.3.4 NMAC:
Pre-NMAC history.  The material in 
this rule was previously filed with the 
state records center as:
SCCMC Rule No. 3, Hours of 
Service, filed on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 6, Qualifications of 
Drivers, filed on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 7, Driving of 

Motor Vehicles, filed on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 8, Emergency 
Equipment, filed on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 9, Securing 
of Load and Equipment, filed on 
3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 11, Emergency 
Signals, filed on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 12, Head Lamps 
and Auxiliary Road Lighting Lamps, 
filed on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 13, Brakes, filed on 
3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 14, Equipment 
Required on Certain Vehicles, filed on 
3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 15, Windshields 
Must be Unobstructed and Equipped 
with Wipers, filed on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 16, Mirrors, filed 
on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 17, Horns and 
Warning Devices, filed on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 37, Slick Tires, 
filed on 3/5/1982;
SCCMC Rule No. 39, Identification 
of Equipment, filed on 3/5/1982;
SCC 68-16, N.M. Motor Carrier Act, 
Rules and Regulations, effective Sept. 
1, 1967, filed on 3/14/1968;
SCC 71-6, N.M. Motor Carrier Act, 
Rules and Regulations, effective July 
1, 1971, filed on 9/21/1971;
SCC 73-1, N.M. Motor Carrier Act, 
Rules and Regulations, filed on 
6/14/1973;
SCC 74-1, N.M. Motor Carrier Act, 
Rules and Regulations, effective July 
1, 1973, filed on 2/5/1974;
SCC 75-1, N.M. Motor Carrier Act, 
Rules and Regulations, effective Jan. 
1, 1975, filed on 4/17/1975;
SCC 75-3, N.M. Motor Carrier 
Act, Rules and Regulations (Rev.), 
effective Jan. 1, 1975, filed on 
9/19/1975;
SCC 76-1, N.M. Motor Carrier Act, 
Rules and Regulations, effective April 
1, 1976, filed on 4/15/1976;
SCC 77-1, N.M. Motor Carrier Act, 
Rules and Regulations, effective Jan. 
1, 1977, filed on 1/25/1977;
SCC Rule 207, Emergency Rule 
Governing Motor Carriers of 
Property, filed on 12/28/1994;
SCC Rule 231, General Compliance 
Requirements, filed on 1/5/1993;
SCC Rule 231, General Compliance 
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Requirements, filed on 10/27/1993.
SCC Rule 241, Records of Motor 
Transportation Entities, filed on 
1/5/1993.

History of repealed material.
SCC Rule 207, Emergency Rule 
Governing Motor Carriers of 
Property (filed 12/28/1994) repealed 
12/30/2002.
SCC Rule 231, General Compliance 
Requirements (filed 10/27/1993) 
repealed 12/30/2002.
SCC Rule 241 Records of Motor 
Transportation Entities (filed 
1/5/1993) repealed 12/30/2002.
18.3.4 NMAC, Qualifications of 
Drivers (filed 12/10/2002) repealed 
1/1/2005.
18.3.4 NMAC, Operating 
Requirements (filed 12/10/2002) 
repealed 1/1/2005.
18.3.4 NMAC, Operating 
Requirements (filed 12-16-2004) 
repealed 2/13/2015.
18.3.4 NMAC, Operating 
Requirements (filed 1/28/2015) 
repealed 7/1/2024.
18.3.4 NMAC, Safety Requirements 
(filed 6/13/2024) repealed 6/24/2025.

Other History:
That applicable portion of SCC 
Rule 231, General Compliance 
Requirements (filed 10/27/1993) 
replaced by 18.3.4 NMAC, 
Qualifications of Drivers effective 
12/30/2002;
SCC Rule 207, Emergency Rule 
Governing Motor Carriers of Property 
(filed 12/28/1994); that applicable 
portion of SCC Rule 231, General 
Compliance Requirements (filed 
10/27/1993); and SCC Rule 241 
Records of Motor Transportation 
Entities (filed 1/5/1993) all replaced 
by 18.3.5 NMAC, Operating 
Requirements, effective 12/30/2002;
18.3.4 NMAC, Qualifications of 
Drivers (filed 12/10/2002) and 18.3.5 
NMAC, Operating Requirements 
(filed 12/10/2002) both replaced by 
18.3.4 NMAC, Safety Requirements, 
effective 1/1/2005.
18.3.4 NMAC, Safety Requirements 
(filed 12/16/2004) was replaced by 
18.3.4 NMAC, Safety Requirements,
effective 2/13/2015.

18.3.4 NMAC, Safety Requirements 
(filed 1/28/2015) was replaced by 
18.3.4 NMAC, Safety Requirements,
effective 7/1/2024.
18.34.4 NMAC, Safety Requirements 
(filed 6/13/2024) was replaced by 
18.3.4, Safety Requirements, effective 
6/24/2025.
______________________________

End of Adopted Rules
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Other Material Related to Administrative Law
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

ENERGY, MINERALS 
AND NATURAL 

RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT

STATE PARKS DIVISION

NOTICE OF MINOR, 
NONSUBSTANTIVE 

CORRECTION

The Energy, Minerals and Natural 
Resources Department gives Notice of 
a Minor, Nonsubstantive Correction 
to 19.5.2 NMAC.

Pursuant to the authority granted 
under State Rules Act, Subsection D 
of Section 14-4-3 NMSA 1978, please 
note that the following minor, non-
substantive corrections to spelling, 
grammar and format have been made 
to all electronic copies of the above 
rule, as follows:

	 Section 35, Subsection 
B, paragraph (3):  There is deleted 
text “permit” that did not have 
surrounding brackets.  Brackets were 
put in place.
	 Section 39, Subsections 
A, B & E:  There is new text “…
(see Subsection R of 19.5.17)…” 
before deleted text “[…Q of 19.5.7 
NMAC…]” in every subsection that 
is incorrect as to format.  The deleted 
and new text was corrected in each 
subsection to: “… [(see Subsection Q 
of 19.5.7 NMAC)] (see Subsection R 
of 19.5.1.7 NMAC)…”.

A copy of this Notification will be 
filed with the official version of the 
above amendment.
______________________________

ENVIRONMENT,  
DEPARTMENT OF

NOTICE OF MINOR, 
NONSUBSTANTIVE 

CORRECTION

The Water Quality Control 
Commission c/o New Mexico 

Environment Department gives 
Notice of a Minor, Nonsubstantive 
Correction to 20.6.8 NMAC.

Pursuant to the authority granted 
under State Rules Act, Subsection D 
of Section 14-4-3 NMSA 1978, please 
note that the following minor, non-
substantive corrections to spelling, 
grammar and format have been made 
to all electronic copies of the above 
rule, as follows:

	 Section 400, Subsection C:
		  Change ‘Section’ 
to ‘Subsection’ in item (xii) of 
subparagraph (a) of paragraph (1);
		  Change ‘Sections’ 
to ‘Subsections’ in paragraph (2);
		  Change “Section 
C(1)” to “Paragraph (1) of Subsection 
C” in paragraph (2);
		  Change 
“Paragraphs” to “Subsections” in 
paragraph (3).

A copy of this Notification will be 
filed with the official version of the 
above amendment.
______________________________

SUPERINTENDENT OF 
INSURANCE, OFFICE OF

NOTICE OF MINOR, 
NONSUBSTANTIVE 

CORRECTION

The Office of Superintendent of 
Insurance gives Notice of a Minor, 
Nonsubstantive Correction to 13.4.3 
NMAC & 13.4.8 NMAC.

Pursuant to the authority granted 
under State Rules Act, Subsection D 
of Section 14-4-3 NMSA 1978, please 
note that the following minor, non-
substantive corrections to spelling, 
grammar and format have been made 
to all electronic copies of the above 
rules, as follows:

13.4.3 NMAC
	 Section 7:  There is a 
subsection A without a subsection B.  

the subsection A has been removed to 
conform to correct style and format.

13.4.8 NMAC
	 Section 5:  The effective date 
was incorrectly changed to “April 
1, 2025”.  The effective date for the 
rule should have remained as “July 1, 
2019”.

A copy of this Notification will be 
filed with each official version of the 
above rules.
______________________________

End of Other Material 
Related to Administrative 

Law
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