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TITLE 3: TAXATION 
CHAPTER 2: GROSS RECEIPTS TAXES 
PART 12: LIABILITY OF USER FOR PAYMENT OF COMPENSATING TAX 
 
3.2.12.1  ISSUING AGENCY: Taxation and Revenue Department, Joseph M. Montoya Building, 1100 
South St. Francis Drive, P.O. Box 630, Santa Fe NM 87504-0630 
[11/15/96; 3.2.12.1 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.9.1, 4/30/01] 
 
3.2.12.2  SCOPE: This part applies to each person using property in New Mexico. 
[11/15/96; 3.2.12.2 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.9.2, 4/30/01] 
 
3.2.12.3  STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Section 9-11-6.2 NMSA 1978. 
[11/15/96; 3.2.12.3 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.9.3, 4/30/01] 
 
3.2.12.4  DURATION: Permanent. 
[11/15/96; 3.2.12.4 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.9.4, 4/30/01] 
 
3.2.12.5  EFFECTIVE DATE: 11/15/96, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section, in which case 
the later date is the effective date. 
[11/15/96; 3.2.12.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 3 NMAC 2.9.5, 4/30/01] 
 
3.2.12.6  OBJECTIVE: The objective of this part is to interpret, exemplify, implement and enforce the 
provisions of the Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act. 
[11/15/96; 3.2.12.6 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.9.6, 4/30/01] 
 
3.2.12.7  DEFINITIONS: [Reserved.] 
[11/15/96; 3.2.12.7 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.9.7, 4/30/01] 
 
3.2.12.8  SEPARATE STATING OF THE TAX: A seller of property who is required to collect and pay 
over to the department the compensating tax due on the value of property sold for delivery into New Mexico must 
separately state the compensating tax on the invoice. If the compensating tax is not separately stated on the invoice, 
it will be presumed that it was not collected and paid over and the buyer must pay the compensating tax. The seller 
who is liable to collect and pay over the compensating tax may become liable for penalties and interest if the seller 
fails to collect and pay over. 
[7/26/76, 6/18/79, 4/7/82, 5/4/84, 4/2/86, 11/26/90, 11/15/96; 3.2.12.8 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.9.8, 4/30/01] 
 
3.2.12.9  GENERAL EXAMPLE: 
 A. The following example illustrates the application of Section 7-9-9 NMSA 1978. 
 B. Example:  A purchases a piece of equipment from X, an El Paso dealer, for $l,000. X is registered 
with the department as an agent for collection of compensating tax. X bills A as follows: 
 
   Equipment   $ 1,000 
   N.M. Comp. Tax          50 
       $ 1,050 
Since X is registered as an agent to collect and pay over compensating tax pursuant to Section 7-9-10 NMSA 1978 
and collected compensating tax from A, A is relieved of any compensating tax liability, even if X fails to remit the 
tax to the department. 
[2/15/85, 4/2/86, 11/26/90, 11/15/96; 3.2.12.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 3 NMAC 2.9.9, 4/30/01] 
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