TITLE 3: TAXATION

CHAPTER 2: GROSS RECEIPTS TAXES

PART 301: CREDIT - COMPENSATING TAX

3.2.301.1 ISSUING AGENCY: Taxation and Revenue Department, Joseph M. Montoya Building, 1100 South St. Francis Drive, P.O. Box 630, Santa Fe NM 87504-0630

[11/15/96; 3.2.301.1 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.79.1.1, 6/14/01]

3.2.301.2 SCOPE: This part applies to each person engaging in business in New Mexico.

[11/15/96; 3.2.301.2 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.79.1.2, 6/14/01]

3.2.301.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Section 9-11-6.2 NMSA 1978.

[11/15/96; 3.2.301.3 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.79.1.3, 6/14/01]

3.2.301.4 DURATION: Permanent.

[11/15/96; 3.2.301.4 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.79.1.4, 6/14/01]

3.2.301.5 EFFECTIVE DATE: 11/15/96, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section, in which case the later date is the effective date.

[11/15/96; 3.2.301.5 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.79.1.5 & A, 6/14/01]

3.2.301.6 OBJECTIVE: The objective of this part is to interpret, exemplify, implement and enforce the provisions of the Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act.

[11/15/96; 3.2.301.6 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.79.1.6, 6/14/01]

3.2.301.7 DEFINITIONS: [Reserved.]

[11/15/96; 3.2.301.7 NMAC - Rn, 3 NMAC 2.79.1.7, 6/14/01]

3.2.301.8 LIMIT ON CREDIT:

- A. The credit under Section 7-9-79 NMSA 1978 cannot exceed the amount of compensating tax assessed by New Mexico on the property on which the out-of-state tax was paid, and excess amounts cannot be applied to other out-of-state purchases.
- B. Example 1: Q, a New Mexico construction company, purchased a power unit in California for \$50,000 and a trenching implement in Texas for \$20,000. The sales tax rates applicable to the purchases were 5.5% in California and 3% in Texas. When bringing the equipment into New Mexico, a 5% compensating tax is imposed on Q. Q is allowed a credit for similar taxes paid in other states on the same property. The New Mexico compensating tax imposed on the California transaction is \$2,500 (\$50,000 x .05). Q paid \$2,750 (\$50,000 x .055) in California tax and therefore is entitled to a credit for the full amount of the New Mexico compensating tax. On the Texas transaction, the New Mexico compensating tax is \$1,000 (\$20,000 x .05). Q paid \$600 (\$20,000 x .03) in Texas tax and therefore the balance of the New Mexico tax liability on this transaction is \$400 (\$1,000 \$600). Q cannot use the excess credit on the California transaction to offset the balance of the liability on the Texas transaction.
- C. Example 2: B, a machine company, buys a lathe in Texas for \$50,000. The Texas sales tax is 6% at the time the purchase is made, and B pays \$3,000 Texas sales tax. B uses the lathe in Texas for six years and then brings it into New Mexico to use in a new shop it is opening. The value of the lathe at the time it enters New Mexico is \$25,000. The New Mexico compensating tax owed is \$1,250 (\$25,000 x .05). The maximum amount of tax credit allowed B will be \$3,000. B, therefore, does not owe New Mexico compensating tax on its use of the lathe. [12/5/69, 3/9/72, 11/20/72, 3/20/74, 7/26/76, 6/18/79, 4/7/82, 5/4/84, 4/2/86, 11/26/90, 11/15/96; 3.2.301.8 NMAC Rn, 3 NMAC 2.79.1.8 & A, 6/14/01]

3.2.301.9 CREDIT FOR COMPENSATING TAX PAID ON CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS:

- A. A credit, equal to the amount of compensating tax paid to the department on the value of a construction project by a person engaged in the construction business, is allowed against the gross receipts tax due from that person on the receipts from the sale.
 - B. Only the tax paid to the department by the person engaged in the construction business is

3.2.301 NMAC 1

creditable under Section 7-9-79 NMSA 1978. Penalty and interest assessed by the department on compensating tax not reported and paid on time will not be credited.

 $[7/26/76,\,6/18/79,\,4/7/82,\,5/4/84,\,4/2/86,\,11/26/90,\,11/15/96;\,3.2.301.9\,\,\text{NMAC}\,-\,\text{Rn},\,3\,\,\text{NMAC}\,2.79.1.9\,\,\&\,\,\text{A},\,6/14/01]$

HISTORY OF 3.2.301 NMAC:

Pre-NMAC History: The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the State Records Center: BOR 67-2, NM Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Regulations, September 1967, filed 9/29/67.

BOR 69-4, Regulations in Effect and Pertaining to the New Mexico Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act, 12-5-69, filed 12/5/69.

BOR 72-4, Regulations in Effect and Pertaining to the New Mexico Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act, 3/9/72, filed 3/9/72.

BOR 74-2, Regulations in Effect and Pertaining to the New Mexico Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act, 12/15/73, filed 3/20/74.

BOR 76-1, Regulations in Effect and Pertaining to the New Mexico Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act, 7/26/76, filed 7/26/76.

R.D.79-1, Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act Regulations, filed 6/18/79.

R.D. Rule No. 82, Regulations Pertaining to the Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act, Sections 7-9-1 to 7-9-80.1 NMSA 1978, filed 4/7/82.

R.D. Rule No. 84, Regulations Pertaining to the Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act, Sections 7-9-1 to 7-9-80.1 NMSA 1978, filed 5/4/84.

TRD Rule No. 9-86, Regulations Pertaining to the Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act, Sections 7-9-1 to 7-9-80.1 NMSA 1978, filed 4/2/86.

TRD Rule GR-90, Regulations Pertaining to the Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act, Sections 7-9-1 to 7-9-80.1 NMSA 1978, filed 11/26/90.

History of Repealed Material: [RESERVED]

NMAC History:

3 NMAC 2.79.1, Credit - Compensating Tax, filed 11/4/96.

3.2.301 NMAC, Credit - Compensating Tax, filed 6/4/2001.

3.2.301 NMAC 2