TITLE 15 OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

CHAPTER 6 BOXING, WRESTLING, AND MARTIAL ARTS

PART 17 LICENSURE PROVISIONS

**15.6.17.1 ISSUING AGENCY**: New Mexico Athletic Commission.

[15.6.17.1 NMAC - N, 03-23-2002]

**15.6.17.2 SCOPE**: The provisions in Part 17 of Chapter 6 apply to all license applicants of the New Mexico athletic commission.

[15.6.17.2 NMAC - N, 03-23-2002]

**15.6.17.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY**: Part 17 of Chapter 6 is promulgated pursuant to the Professional Athletic Competition Act, Sections 60-2A-1 through 60-2A-30, NMSA 1978 (1980 Repl. Pamp.). [15.6.17.3 NMAC - N, 03-23-2002]

#### **15.6.17.4 DURATION**: Permanent.

[15.6.17.4 NMAC - N, 03-23-2002]

**15.6.17.5 EFFECTIVE DATE**: March 23, 2002, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. [15.6.17.5 NMAC - N, 03-23-2002]

**15.6.17.6 OBJECTIVE**: The objective of Part 17 of Chapter 6 is to establish the requirements for licensure by the New Mexico athletic commission.

[15.6.17.6 NMAC - N, 03-23-2002]

### **15.6.17.7 DEFINITIONS**: [RESERVED]

[15.6.17.7 NMAC - N, 03-23-2002]

# 15.6.17.8 PREREQUISITE LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR PROFESSIONAL AND AMATEUR UNARMED COMBATANTS: Applicants must submit the following documentation to the commission.

- **A.** Completed application.
- **B.** A copy of driver's license or state issued identification card proving the applicant is at least 18 years of age.
- C. The applicable license fee as set forth in Subsection B of 15.6.14 NMAC. [15.6.17.8 NMAC N, 03-23-2002; A, 08-26-2012; A, 01-15-2015]

### **15.6.17.9 PREREQUISITE LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR REFEREES**: All applicants for a referee's license must.

- **A.** Submit a completed commission-approved application for licensure.
- **B.** Submit proof of a minimum of ten (10) fights as a referee trainee.
- C. Submit the applicable license fee as set forth in Paragraph (3) of Subsection B of 15.6.14 NMAC.
- **D.** Submit copy of driver's license or state issued identification card proving the applicant is a least 18 years of age.

[15.6.17.9 NMAC - N, 03-23-2002; A, 08-26-2012; A, 01-15-2015]

## **15.6.17.10** PREREQUISITE LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR JUDGES: All applicants for a judge's license must.

- **A.** Submit a completed commission-approved application for licensure.
- **B.** Submit the applicable license fee as set forth in Paragraphs (13) or (14) of Subsection B of 15.6.14 NMAC.
- C. Take and satisfactorily pass a written exam designated by the commission before being assigned to a required actual training period of no less than three unarmed combat events where he will actually score bouts under the supervision of a commission-designated instructor.
- **D.** The judge applicant shall be designated as a "judge-trainee" until completion of the training period.

15.6.17 NMAC

- **E.** Submit a copy of driver's license or state issued identification card proving the applicant is a least 18 years of age.
- **F.** Applicants who hold a judge's license in a jurisdiction other than New Mexico must submit a completed commission-approved application for licensure and requisite fee. These out-of-state judges need not (1) complete a written exam; (2) observe a training period; or (3) be designated as a "judge-trainee" unless the commission in its discretion deems any of these requirements necessary. [15.6.17.10 NMAC N, 03-23-2002; A, 08-26-2012; A, 01-15-2015]
- **15.6.17.11 FAILURE TO PASS THE EXAM**: Each applicant for licensure who takes the test and fails to pass it shall be eliminated from the list of officials and may not take the exam again for at least thirty (30) days. [15.6.17.11 NMAC N, 03-23-2002]
- **15.6.17.12 REGISTERED ADDRESS OF LICENSEE**: All commission notices and bulletins will be sent to the licensee at the last address on file in the commission office. The licensee shall be responsible for notifying the commission of any change in address.

  [15.6.17.12 NMAC N, 03-23-2002]
- **15.6.17.13 PERSONNEL CHANGES OF A CORPORATE LICENSEE**: The commission shall be notified immediately of any new or additional officers, stockholders, or directors of a corporate licensee; and any changes in such corporate licensees shall be upon notice to and with the approval of the commission. [15.6.17.13 NMAC N, 03-23-2002]
- **15.6.17.14 PREREQUISITE LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR ANNOUNCERS**: All applicants for an announcer's license must.
  - **A.** Submit a completed commission-approved application for licensure.
  - **B.** Submit the applicable license fee as set forth in Subsection B of 15.6.14 NMAC.
- **C.** Submit a copy of driver's license or state issued identification card proving the applicant is a least 18 years of age.

[15.6.17.14 NMAC - N, 08-26-2012]

- **15.6.17.15 PREREQUISITE LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR TIMEKEEPER**: All applicants for a timekeeper's license must.
  - **A.** Submit a completed commission-approved application for licensure.
- **B.** Take and satisfactorily pass a written exam designated by the commission before being assigned to a required actual training period of no less than three professional unarmed combat shows where they will actually keep time for bouts under the supervision of a commission-designated instructor.
  - C. Submit the applicable license fee as set forth in Subsection B of 15.6.14 NMAC.
- **D.** Submit a copy of driver's license or state issued identification card proving the applicant is a least 18 years of age.

[15.6.17.15 NMAC - N, 08-26-2012]

#### **HISTORY of 15.6.17 NMAC:**

### **Pre-NMAC History:**

Material in the part was derived from that previously filed with the commission of public records - state records center and archives:

NMAC 80-1, The Commission, Its Powers And Procedures, filed 9-24-80.

Those relevant portions of NMAC Rule 92-2, The Commission, Its Powers and Procedures, filed 8-17-92. NMAC 80-4, Conduct of Licensees, filed 9-24-80.

Those relevant portions of NMAC Rule 92-6, Conduct of Licensees, filed 8-17-92.

### **History of Repealed Material:**

NMAC Rule 92-2 (aka 15 NMAC 6.1), The Commission, Its Powers And Procedures, filed 8-17-92; repealed effective 03-23-2002.

NMAC Rule 92-6 (aka 15 NMAC 6.4), Conduct of Licensees, filed 8-17-92; repealed effective 03-23-2002.

### Other History:

15.6.17 NMAC 2

NMAC Rule 92-2 was recompiled into the first version of the New Mexico Administrative Code as 15 NMAC 6.1 and named General Provisions.

NMAC Rule 92-6 was recompiled into the first version of the New Mexico Administrative Code as 15 NMAC 6.4 and named Conduct of Licensees.

15.6.17 NMAC, License Provisions, replaced those relevant portions of 15 NMAC 6.1, General Provisions, and 15 NMAC 6.4, Conduct of Licensees, effective 03-23-2002.

15.6.17 NMAC 3