TITLE 16 OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING CHAPTER 5 **DENTISTRY (DENTISTS, DENTAL HYGIENISTS, ETC.)** PART 11 DENTISTS, LICENSE EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL

16.5.11.1 **ISSUING AGENCY:** New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care. [9/30/96; 16.5.11.1 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.11.1, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.2 SCOPE: The provisions of Part 11 of Chapter 5 apply to all dentists with a license to practice in New Mexico.

[9/30/96; 16.5.11.2 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.11.2, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.3 **STATUTORY AUTHORITY:** Part 11 of Chapter 5 is promulgated pursuant to the Dental Health Care Act, Section 61-5A-16 NMSA 1978 (1996 Repl. Pamp.). [9/30/96; 16.5.11.3 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.11.3, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.4 **DURATION:** Permanent

[9/30/96; 16.5.11.4 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.11.4, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE:** September 30, 1996, unless a different date is cited at the end of a section. [9/30/96; 16.5.11.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.11.5, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.6 **OBJECTIVE:** To establish procedures for license issuance, expiration and renewal. [9/30/96; 16.5.11.6 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.11.6, 04/17/06]

DEFINITIONS: [RESERVED] 16.5.11.7

[9/30/96; 16.5.11.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.11.7, 04/17/06]

LICENSE EXPIRATION: Initial licenses expire on July 1, in the third year of licensure. No 16.5.11.8 license will be issued for longer than 36 months or less than 25 months. [11/6/83...9/30/96; 12/15/97, 8/16/99; 16.5.11.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.11.8, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.9 **RENEWAL PERIOD AND EXPIRATION:** After the initial license period, dental licenses expire every three years on June 30. Dental licenses not renewed by July 1, are considered expired. [9/13/69...9/30/96; 8/16/99; 16.5.11.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.11.9, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.10 **RENEWAL PROCESS:** A completed renewal application, accompanied by the required fees as set forth in 16.5.5.8 NMAC, along with the required proof of completion of 60 hours of continuing education as set forth in 16.5.1.15 NMAC. The completed renewal application must be post-marked on or before July 1, of the renewal year.

[3/14/73...9/30/96; 8/16/99; 16.5.11.10 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.11.10, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.11 LICENSEE RESPONSIBILITY: The board assumes no responsibility for renewal applications not received by the licensee for any reason. It is the licensees responsibility to make timely request for the renewal form if one has not been received thirty days prior to license expiration. Incomplete renewal applications shall be returned to the licensee for completion, and may result in the assessment of a late renewal fee as set forth in 16.5.5.8 NMAC.

[6/4/95; 16.5.11.11 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.11.11, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.12 **RENEWAL AFTER JUNE 30:** Renewal applications post-marked after July 1, and prior to August 1, of the renewal year must be accompanied by the completed renewal application with the required proof of completion of 60 hours of continuing education as set forth in 16.5.10.8 NMAC, along with the triennial renewal fee, impairment fee and the late fee as set forth in 16.5.5.8 NMAC.

[3/14/73...9/30/96; 8/16/99; 16.5.11.12 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.11.12, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.13 RENEWAL AFTER AUGUST 1 AND BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1: Renewal applications post-marked on or after August 1, but before September 1, of the renewal year, must be accompanied by the completed renewal application with the required proof of completion of 60 hours of continuing education as set forth in 16.5.10.8 NMAC, along with the triennial renewal fee, impairment fee, late fee and the cumulative late fee as set forth in 16.5.5.8 NMAC.

[3/14/73...5/31/95; 16.5.11.13 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.11.13, 04/17/06]

16.5.11.14 RENEWAL APPLICATION UNDELIVERABLE: If the notice of renewal is returned to the board office and the licensee has not sent a change of address, the revocation order will be considered undeliverable and will not be mailed.

[5/31/95, 8/16/99; 16.5.11.14 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.11.14, 04/17/06]

HISTORY OF 16.5.11 NMAC:

Pre-NMAC History: The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the State Records Center:

Article IV, Licensing of Dentist, filed 3/11/81.
Article IV, Licensing of Dentist, filed 1/12/82.
Article IV, Licensing of Dentist, filed 3/30/82.
BOD Rule 4, Licensing of Dentist, filed 2/9/89.
BODHC Rule DS 4-95, Dentistry, License Renewal, filed 5/5/95.

History of Repealed Material: [RESERVED]

Other History:

BODHC Rule DS 4-95, Dentistry, License Renewal (filed 5/5/95) was renumbered, reformatted, amended and replaced by 16 NMAC 5.11, Dentists, License Expiration and Renewal, effective 9/30/96. 16 NMAC 5.11, Dentists, License Expiration and Renewal (filed 9/17/96) renumbered, reformatted, amended and replaced by 16.5.11 NMAC, Dentists, License Expiration and Renewal, effective 04/17/06.