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TITLE 16 OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
CHAPTER 5 DENTISTRY (DENTISTS, DENTAL HYGIENISTS, ETC.) 
PART 24 DENTAL HYGIENISTS, LICENSE EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 
 
16.5.24.1 ISSUING AGENCY:  New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care. 
[9/30/96; 16.5.24.1 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.24.1, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.2 SCOPE:  The provisions of Part 24 of Chapter 5 apply to all dental hygienists with a license to 
practice in New Mexico. 
[9/30/96; 16.5.24.2 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.24.2, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  Part 24 of Chapter 5 is promulgated pursuant to the Dental 
Health Care Act, Section 61-5A-16 NMSA 1978 (1996 Repl. Pamp.). 
[9/30/96; 16.5.24.3 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.24.3, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.4 DURATION:  Permanent 
[9/30/96; 16.5.24.4 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.24.4, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:  September 30, 1996, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section. 
[9/30/96; 16.5.24.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.24.5, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.6 OBJECTIVE:  To establish procedures for license issuance, expiration and renewal. 
[9/30/96; 16.5.24.6 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.24.6, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.7 DEFINITIONS:  [RESERVED] 
[9/30/96; 16.5.24.7 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.24.7, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.8 LICENSE EXPIRATION:  Initial licenses expire on July 1 in the third year of licensure.  No 
license will be issued for longer than 36 months or less than 25 months. 
[11/6/83, 9/30/96, 12/15/97, 8/16/99; 16.5.24.8 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.24.8, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.9 RENEWAL PERIOD AND EXPIRATION:  After the initial license period, dental hygiene 
licenses expire every three years on June 30.  Dental hygiene licenses not renewed by July 1 are considered expired. 
[3/14/73, 9/30/96, 8/16/99; 16.5.24.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.24.9, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.10 RENEWAL PROCESS:  A completed renewal application, accompanied by the required fee as 
set forth in 16.5.18.8 NMAC, along with the required proof of completion of 45 hours of continuing education as 
set forth in 16.5.1.15 NMAC. The completed renewal application must be post-marked on or before July 1, of the 
renewal year. 
[3/14/73, 9/30/96, 8/16/99; 16.5.24.10 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.24.10, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.11 LICENSEE RESPONSIBILITY:  The board assumes no responsibility for renewal applications 
not received by the licensee for any reason. It is the licensee’s responsibility to make timely request for the renewal 
form if one has not been received thirty days prior to license expiration. Incomplete renewal applications shall be 
returned to the licensee for completion and may result in the assessment of a late renewal fee as set forth in 
16.5.18.8 NMAC. 
[5/31/95; 16.5.24.11 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.24.11, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.12 RENEWAL AFTER JUNE 30:  Renewal applications post-marked after July 1, and prior to 
August 1, of the renewal year must be accompanied by the completed renewal application with the required proof of 
completion of 45 hours of continuing education as set forth in 16.5.23.8 NMAC, along with the triennial renewal 
fee, impairment fee and the late fee as set forth in 16.5.18.8 NMAC. 
[3/14/73, 9/30/96, 8/16/99; 16.5.24.12 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.24.12, 04/17/06] 
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16.5.24.13 RENEWAL AFTER AUGUST 1 AND BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1:  Renewal applications 
post-marked on or after August 1, but before September 1, of the renewal year, must be accompanied by the 
completed renewal application with the required proof of completion of 45 hours of continuing education as set 
forth in 16.5.23.8 NMAC, along with the triennial renewal fee, impairment fee, late fee and the cumulative late fee 
as set forth in 16.5.18.8 NMAC. 
[3/14/73, 5/31/95; 16.5.24.13 NMAC - Rn & A, 16 NMAC 5.24.13, 04/17/06] 
 
16.5.24.14 RENEWAL APPLICATION UNDELIVERABLE:  If the notice of renewal is returned to the 
office and the licensee has not sent a change of address, the revocation order will be considered undeliverable and 
will not be mailed. 
[5/31/95; 16.5.24.14 NMAC - Rn, 16 NMAC 5.24.14, 04/17/06] 
 
HISTORY OF 16.5.24 NMAC: 
Pre-NMAC History:  The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the commission of 
public records - state records center and archives as: 
Article VIII, Licensing of Dental Hygienists, filed 3/12/81. 
Article VIII, Licensing of Dental Hygienists, filed 1/12/82. 
Article VIII, Licensing of Dental Hygienists, filed 3/30/82. 
BOD Rule 7, Licensing of Dental Hygienists, filed 2/9/89. 
BODHC Rule DH 4-95, Dental Hygienists, Initial Licensing Period, Renewal, filed 5/5/95. 
 
History of Repealed Material:  [RESERVED] 
 
Other History: 
BODHC Rule DH 4-95, Dental Hygienists, Initial Licensing Period, Renewal (filed 5/5/95) was renumbered, 
reformatted, amended and replaced by 16 NMAC 5.24, Dental lHygienists, License Expiration and Renewal, 
effective 9/30/96. 
16 NMAC 5.24, Dental Hygienists, License Expiration and Renewal (filed 9/17/96) renumbered, reformatted, 
amended and replaced by 16.5.24 NMAC, Dental Hygienists, License Expiration and Renewal, effective 04/17/06. 
 


