TITLE 16 OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
CHAPTER 13 NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS
PART 6 LICENSURE FOR MILITARY SERVICE MEMBERS, SPOUSES AND VETERANS

16.13.6.1 ISSUING AGENCY: New Mexico Nursing Home Administrators Board.
[16.13.6.1 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]

16.13.6.2 SCOPE: Part 6 of Chapter 13 sets forth application procedures to expedite licensure for military
service members, spouses and veterans.
[16.13.6.2 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]

16.13.6.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Part 6 of Chapter 13 is promulgated pursuant to and in
accordance with the Nursing Home Administrators Act, Sections 61-13-1 to - 17 NMSA 1978 (specific authority to
promulgate rules is 61-2-6(D)(2) and, Section 61-1-34 NMSA 1978.

[16.13.6.3 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]

16.13.6.4 DURATION: Permanent.
[16.13.6.4 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]

16.13.6.5 EFFECTIVE DATE: May 26, 2016 unless a later date is cited at the end of a section.
[16.13.6.5 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]

16.13.6.6 OBJECTIVE: The objective of Part 6 of Chapter 13 is to expedite licensure for military service
members, spouses and veterans pursuant to 61-1-34 NMSA 1978.
[16.13.6.6 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]

16.13.6.7 DEFINITIONS:

A “Military service member” means a person who is serving in the armed forces of the United States
or in an active reserve component of the armed forces of the United States, including the national guard.

B. “Recent veteran” means a person who has received an honorable discharge or separation from

military service within the two years immediately preceding the date the person applied for an occupational or
professional license pursuant to this section.
[16.13.6.7 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]

16.13.6.8 APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS:
A Applications for registration shall be completed on a form provided by the department.
B. The information shall include:

1) a completed application and corresponding fee pursuant to 16.13.3 NMAC, 16.13.5
NMAC and 16.13.2 NMAC;

2 satisfactory evidence that the applicant is currently licensed in another jurisdiction,
including a branch of armed forces of the United States, and holds a current license in good standing; the applicant
further must provide satisfactory evidence that he has met the minimal licensing requirement in that jurisdiction and
that they are substantially equivalent to the licensing requirements for New Mexico licensees in nursing home
administration; and

C. proof of honorable discharge (DD214), military ID card, or accepted proof of military spouse
status.
[16.13.6.8 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]

16.13.6.9 FEES:
A The fee for application registration is $200.
B. The fee for a new license is $200.
C. The fee for renewal of registration is $200.

[16.13.6.9 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]

16.13.6.10 RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS:
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A A license issued pursuant to this section shall not be renewed until the licensee satisfies the
requirements for the issuance of a license as set forth in 16.13.7 NMAC and for the renewal of a license set forth in
16.13.8 NMAC.

B. A license issued pursuant to this section shall be valid for one year or until March 31, whichever
comes first.
C. The board office mails license renewal notifications at least 45 days before the license expiration

date. Failure to receive the renewal notification shall not relieve the licensee of the responsibility to timely renew
the license by the expiration date.

D. The renewal application will be available online at the board’s website at
www.RLD.state.nm.us/boards or by calling the board office.
E. To renew a license, the licensee must submit a completed license renewal application, verification

of continuing education, a current CPR certification and the applicable fee at time of renewal. The licensee shall
also submit proof of passing the national association of long term care administrator board (NAB) exam and show
proof of taking and passing an administrator-in-training course.

[16.13.6.10 NMAC - N, 05-26-2016]
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