TITLE 21 AGRICULTURE AND RANCHING
CHAPTER 17 PEST, DISEASE, AND WEED CONTROL

PART 43 SOUTH CENTRAL NEW MEXICO PINK BOLLWORM CONTROL COMMITTEE
ASSESSMENT
21.17.43.1 ISSUING AGENCY: South Central New Mexico Pink Bollworm Control Committee.

[21.17.43.1 NMAC - N, 08/15/2002]

21.17.43.2 SCOPE: This rule establishes the control committee assessment to be paid by cotton producers in
the South Central New Mexico Pink Bollworm Control District.
[21.17.43.2 NMAC - N, 08/15/2002]

21.17.43.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Granted to the South Central New Mexico Pink Bollworm
Control Committee under the Pink Bollworm Control Act, Chapter 76, Article 6B, Sections 1 through 12, NMSA
1978 Compilation.

[21.17.43.3 NMAC - N, 08/15/2002]

21.17.43.4 DURATION: Until the South Central New Mexico Pink Bollworm Control District ceases to
exist.
[21.17.43.4 NMAC - N, 08/15/2002]

21.17.43.5 EFFECTIVE DATE: August 15,2002, unless a later date is cited in the history note at the end
of a section.
[21.17.43.5 NMAC - N, 08/15/2002]

21.17.43.6 OBJECTIVE: The objective of Part 43, Chapter 17 is to establish the control district's
assessment upon cotton producers for the support of the pink bollworm control district.
[21.17.43.6 NMAC - N, 08/15/2002]

21.17.43.7 DEFINITIONS:
A. "Committee" means South Central New Mexico Pink Bollworm Control Committee.
B. "Control District" means South Central New Mexico Pink Bollworm Control District.
C. "Producer" means any person producing five or more acres of cotton plants.
D. "Bt cotton" means genetically-engineered cotton that contains toxins derived from Bacillus

thuringiensis effective against Pink Bollworm.
[21.17.43.7 NMAC - N, 08/15/2002]

21.17.43.8 ASSESSMENT:

A. The committee assessment rate is set forth at 10 dollars ($10) per bale of conventional cotton
produced by producers in the control district. The assessment will be collected at the gin. No assessment is due for
Bt cotton produced within the control district.

B. Bt cotton will be verified by the control district. Any discrepancies will be decided by the control
committee.
C. Payment of the assessment levied by a local control committee against a cotton producer will be

due and payable when the cotton producer receives an assessment statement from the control committee or their
authorized agent.

D. Failure to comply with payment of assessment to the committee may result in the recording of a
lien on the cotton crop and/or property in the County Clerk's office where the property is located. The lien will
remain in effect until foreclosure or balance subject to the lien is paid in full. Interest may be assessed at a rate of 8
1/2 percent per annum on the balance unpaid after 30 days.

[21.17.43.8 NMAC - N, 08/15/2002]
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