
TITLE 21 AGRICULTURE AND RANCHING 
CHAPTER 17 PEST, DISEASE, AND WEED CONTROL 
PART 48 SOUTH CENTRAL NEW MEXICO COTTON BOLL WEEVIL CONTROL  
  COMMITTEE ASSESSMENT 
 
21.17.48.1 ISSUING AGENCY:  South Central New Mexico Cotton Boll Weevil Control Committee 
[07/31/98; 21.17.48.1 NMAC - Rn & A, 21 NMAC 17.48.1, 06/14/2001] 
 
21.17.48.2 SCOPE:  This rule establishes the control committee assessment to be paid by cotton producers in 
the south central New Mexico cotton boll weevil control district. 
[07/31/98; 21.17.48.2 NMAC - Rn, 21 NMAC 17.48.2, 06/14/2001] 
 
21.17.48.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  Granted to the south central New Mexico cotton boll weevil 
control committee under the Cotton Boll Weevil Control Act, Chapter 76, Article 6A, Sections 1 through 16, NMSA 
1978 Compilation. 
[07/31/98; 21.17.48.3 NMAC - Rn, 21 NMAC 17.48.3, 06/14/2001] 
 
21.17.48.4 DURATION:  Until the south central New Mexico cotton boll weevil control district ceases to 
exist. 
[07/31/98; 21.17.48.4 NMAC - Rn & A, 21 NMAC 17.48.4, 06/14/2001] 
 
21.17.48.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 31, 1998, unless a later date is cited in the history note at the end of a 
section. 
[07/31/98; 21.17.48.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 21 NMAC 17.48.5, 06/14/2001] 
 
21.17.48.6 OBJECTIVE:  The objective of Part 48, Chapter 17 is to establish the control district’s 
assessment upon cotton producers for the support of the cotton boll weevil control district. 
[07/31/98; 21.17.48.6 NMAC - Rn, 21 NMAC 17.48.6, 06/14/2001] 
 
21.17.48.7 DEFINITIONS: 
 A. “Committee” means south central New Mexico cotton boll weevil control committee. 
 B. “Control district” means south central New Mexico cotton boll weevil control district. 
 C. “Producer” means any person producing five or more acres of cotton plants. 
[07/31/98; 21.17.48.7 NMAC - Rn, 21 NMAC 17.48.7, 06/14/2001] 
 
21.17.48.8 ASSESSMENT: 
 A. The committee assessment rate is set forth at 2 dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) per bale of cotton for 
all cotton produced by producers in the control district.  The assessment will be collected at the gin. 
 B. Payment of the assessment levied by a local control committee against a cotton producer will be 
due and payable when the cotton producer receives an assessment statement from the control committee. 
 C. Failure to comply with payment of assessment to the committee may result in the recording of a 
lien on the cotton crop and/or property in the county clerk’s office where the property is located.  The lien will 
remain in effect until foreclosure or balance subject to the lien is paid in full.  Interest may be assessed at a rate of 
8½ percent per annum on the balance unpaid after 30 days. 
[07/31/98; 21.17.48.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 21 NMAC 17.48.8, 06/14/2001; A, 09/30/2002; A, 10/01/2004] 
 
HISTORY of 21.17.48 NMAC:  [RESERVED] 
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